Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Hostaria Piave

Hostaria Piave's mission is to present the everyday dishes that you would find at the family table of the people living in the small islands in the Venetian lagoon and the near countryside. Experience a unique and captivating menu, simple recipes radicated in the Venetian popular tradition that show the passion and the genuine hospitality of your "hoste".


Buon Appetito!

231 So. Pacific Coast Hwy
Redondo Beach, CA 90277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday 5.00pm - 9.00pm (Regular Menu & Sunday Supper prix-fixe Menu)

Cross Street:
Torrance Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 374-1000

Website:
http://www.hostariapiave.com/

Catering:
We are happy to offer catering, from small, intimate gatherings to full scale events.

Parking Details:
Parking spaces on the side and in the back of building

Executive Chef:
Angelo D. Calderan

Private Party Facilities:
Hostaria Piave is available for private events & buy-outs

Private Party Contact:
Angelo D. Calderan: (310) 374-1000

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hostaria Piave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was sub par for the prices and the kitchen must have been understaffed as took 90 mins from when we sat down until our pasta and risotto was served. Waiter was nice but couldn't do much. The restaurant should have really made an effort to placate customers. Not coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good for foodies. Great little restaurant in a super beach city location. Relaxed.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

ONCE AGAIN, HOSTARIA PIAVE DOES NOT DISAPPOINT. AN EXCELLENT RESTAURANT, EVERY TIME. OUR FAVORITE IN LOS ANGELES!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good service and wine list but food was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was AMAZING!! It was fresh and perfectly flavorful. They were able to make items Vegan for us, even the soup, which is made to order by the bowl! The dessert was equally beautiful, just the right level of seeetness, and perfect textures. The best description of this cuisine is fresh, thoughtful, clean and PERFECT!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have come here often for either just the 2 of us, or to bring friends for a fabulous evening. Friday night we were with good friends and we had a fabulous experience. The special branzino was outstanding, as was the soup and antipasto plate that came before. The deserts here are always special. The wine was a perfect match to the meal. Anna was amazing with her hospitality. Don't miss this Italian gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Recently went with a friend who also has an interest in food. We ordered the pre fix meal and was not disappointed. The taste was great, the portions generous and the quality of the ingredients was evident. We also ordered a very nice bottle of Brunello di Montalcino per the owners recommendation. It was perfect for the meal. I am looking forward to returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food preparation and a great wine from my wife's home town in northern Italy! We will be back tomorrow with clients.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We love this restaurant and try to go at least once a month. This is the first time we were able to make the Sunday night pre-fixe dinner. The menu changes every week and is fresh, creative and very satisfying. I also enjoy not having to make any decisions as to what I will order. We always enjoy wine at Hosteria and find we get very good advice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! I think anyone that didn't enjoy Hostaria doesn't understand the regional differences between northern and southern Italian cuisine. This is not the place for pizza and spaghetti and meatballs. Everything was delicious-especially the smoked carpaccio and the fennel salad with apples. The one thing that wasn't spot-on was the gnocchi. It had an instant mashed potato consistency and wasn't "toothy" enough for my taste. The almond cake was lovely and just the perfect finish to our meal.

The whole experience was elevated by Anna who made sure we were so well taken care of from the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out 2 hours later. We love to take our time and enjoy everything at a very relaxed pace. Don't go if you're into a quick, fast, in a hurry bite to eat. Hostaria is for dining, not just dinner. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing, authentic Italian cuisine impeccably crafted. Note this not a NYC pasta joint like Charlie's (good but completely different) up the road. Same place not on PCH would cost twice as much easily.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have been coming here since they opened. The food just gets better every time. The pasta is so fresh and tasty and the menu provides a good selection from which to choose. While the is our neighborhood go-to place, I would recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic northern Italian meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

So disappointed with our experience at this restaurant. We picked it because of positive reviews and $$ moderate prices and it was within walking distance of where we were staying. Well only the walking distance proved to be true. Only one out of our party of six was happy with their main dish. I ordered the Carbonara. My first attempt to take a bite was met with the entire bowl of pasta raising off the dish as one large clump! I asked the waiter to take a look and he said " this is fresh pasta, not the kind of dry pasta you get in a store" . I told him I have travelled all over northern Italy and eaten "fresh" past too many times to count and never had this type of experience. The owner did come over and looked at my plate and said he was going to have them remake the dish. The new dish was properly cooked and tasted as anticipated. The others in the party were equally unimpressed with they pasta dishes as well. Two in the party had wide noodles with calamari that was so spicy that they could not taste the calamari. Our moderately priced restaurant ended up costing over $50 per person for pasta, three beers and two glasses of Cabernet, total. Hopefully for the owner, the staff and chefs just had a bad night. We will not return- there are too many other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We are regular patrons of Hostria Piave. Great Northern Italian food in a lovely place. We have eaten here many times and the food and service is always terrific. Angelo greets us with the Italian two-cheek kiss and gives us the same table each time if available. He knows what wine to serve and has not been wrong yet. They have both small and full portions so you can order to your level hunger. You can eat inside or on their patio. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was good. Our service, however, was not, and we were overcharged on our bill. Our server was just not very good, especially considering the prices. We explained that one of our guests was gluten free, and he had no idea what that meant, even though they advertise Gluten free pasta is available in big letters on the menu. He took our younger kids drink order, they both ordered a coke. About 5 minutes later they asked about their drinks, he said he had one coke coming, they could share. Apparently you only had one coke in the restaurant on a Friday night. Really? Then my daughter ordered the risotto. At that point he told us they were out of several items on the menu (he should have alerted us to this when we sat down). Then we asked if they could just make spaghetti with pesto and chicken for her. He said this was Northern Italian and didn't have pesto. The only other item she wanted was the steak, so I reluctantly let her order it (wasn't thrilled about going from a $20 pasta to $37 steak). Lo and behold, when the steak, which was overcooked, came out, it was served with pesto! Our waters also sat empty most of the night. When our bill came, we were charged $32 for the chicken dish, on the menu it is $27. I noticed this on my way out, but at that point just wanted to leave. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

How did this restaurant make it on the top 100 list of top restaurants in the nation for foodies? We booked last minute and every time slot was open on a Friday night. We should have known. Food was horrible. I had to send my entree back. I ordered the swordfish. It was not edible. I tried!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall, pretty mediocre experience. Food was good, but nothing really stood out and was quite expensive for portions provided. Ambiance and service were subpar, at times being a little cold and apathetic. Only thing I would recommend this restaurant for is grabbing a drink on a date.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is wonderful with many varied options. The service is attentive without being intrusive. Extensive wine list and menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed a special evening out to dinner with our daughter. The special Christmas Eve meal was wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent very good food
Interesting combination of food

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Eating Gluten Free in an Italian restaurant can be a challenge. Not here though- my carefully selected menu choices were perfectly executed. Presentations were beautiful. I had the filet medallions. The filets, mushrooms and potatoes were cooked to perfection. The radicchio, watercress, romaine salad was perfectly dressed and desserts we selected were both great too. Gluten free almond cake- Torta di mandorle- was light, yet flavorful And the pan Scott's with pomegranate seeds was light and flavorful. Great menu. Great restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It's authentic northern Italian crusine, so don't expect any red sauce. We had 5 different dishes between the two of us. Four were outstanding. The flavor combinations on one the seafood dishes (with cod, mussels, clams) just didn't work for either of us. Nevertheless, we expect to go back as the overall quality and value was high. Service was also very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing. We went for lunch the place was empty I don't understand why maybe it's the time of year. I hope more people try this place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always enjoy ourselves here and it is the go-to restaurant that has things on the menu for everyone. The staff is always on top of things and friendly.Because the food is cooked to order this is not a place to go when you are in a rush. This is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was ok. They make no allowance for customer preferences. We inquired about the possibility of extra garlic. The manager said they don't use garlic. In an Italian restaurant! What's worse is he showed no desire to accommodate us with this small request. No "I'm sorry". Nothing. Rather cold & prickly. The waitress took 30 minutes to notice us only because I flagged her down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent. The food is the star. Wonderful dishes. Extensive Italian wine list. Reasonably priced and a real find.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was my first time at Hostaria Piave and it was wonderful. I went with my girlfriends to celebrate two birthdays and we all chose a different dish and they were all very tasty. Two girls were from Manhattan Beach and three from Palos Verdes so we met half way and will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

What a meal! Hostaria Piave serves up authentic northern Italian fare in a cute little space, and features a truly impressive wine list. Unfortunately our meal was marred by substandard, borderline incompetent service. It's no exaggeration to say that every time she came to our table, she had to apologize for something! Forgotten items, lack of utensils, delivering the wrong wine, it went on and on. And while the apologies were nice, we would have much preferred a meal where they were not necessary. There are many other wonderful Italian restaurants in the area, so I'm not sure we'll be back here given the consistent service lapses that defined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Friendly staff including the owner who seems to live on premises. Venetian menu with good food and matching wines. Subdued classical music played.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Angelo the owner is one of the most gracious hosts. The food is fresh and simply delicious. Highly recommend Hostaria Piave

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went on Saturday night, 10/15/16. It took 50 minutes to be served some bread, 70 minutes to get our starters and another 45 minutes to get the entrees, which should have been left in the kitchen or thrown in the trash. No apologies from the waitress, the owner, or the owner's wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A very authentic Italian experience. The owner is fantastic and makes the extra effort to visit every table!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Absolutely the most delicious meal I've had in months. Oysters were plump & juicy and radicchio salad was exquisite. Wonderful service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was just ok. Saw that it was selected as one of top 100 restaurants in country. I don't get it. Baked chicken was dry. I asked for a side dish as an appetizer and was told no. However, the side dishes were delivered first so it was an appetizer. The food took 35 minutes to get to the table but the restaurant was empty. Water was never served. It was a bit pricey for Redondo. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A fabulous unique Italian experience since the authentic cuisine and the owner are from the Veneto region of Italy. There are not only fish dishes like you would expect from Venice, but also a good representation of dishes from the forest (wild boar, venison, rabbit) in the style from the mountains of the north Veneto. And the pasticcio is outstanding, rich and savory, as are all the pasta dishes that have a very northern Italian flare. The proprietor and his wife are generous with their attention to how your evening is going and the staff are knowledgeable and friendly. The wine list is extensive and most regions of Italy are well represented. We have been there for dinner many times and have always been pleased and impressed. There is excellent parking beside and behind the restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very slow service, especially for small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was good not great huge wine list great atmosphere food was just over priced for quality vs other italian resturants in the area

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service good, food average and not well presented. Out of everything we came for :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for a Saturday lunch for our first visit and enjoyed it very much. There is a nice patio seating area but we opted for a table inside. I noticed another OT review that mentioned that fresh bread need not be overly toasted but I saw it differently - it was fresh but was warmed just right where yes, it was crunchy but I love it that way. Service provided by the owner was cordial yet friendly. I enjoyed my veal and my husband found his Pasticcio Di Mamma Maria to be great comfort food. We will go back before long!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I love this place. Never had a bad meal there. I keep going back. Yum-yum. I'm planning my next visit.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.