About Hostaria Piave

231 So. Pacific Coast Hwy
Redondo Beach, CA 90277
View Larger Map

Hostaria Piave's mission is to present the everyday dishes that you would find at the family table of the people living in the small islands in the Venetian lagoon and the near countryside. Experience a unique and captivating menu, simple recipes radicated in the Venetian popular tradition that show the passion and the genuine hospitality of your "hoste".


Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday 5.00pm - 9.00pm (Regular Menu & Sunday Supper prix-fixe Menu)

Cross Street:
Torrance Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 374-1000

Website:
http://www.hostariapiave.com/

Catering:
We are happy to offer catering, from small, intimate gatherings to full scale events.

Parking Details:
Parking spaces on the side and in the back of building

Executive Chef:
Angelo D. Calderan

Private Party Facilities:
Hostaria Piave is available for private events & buy-outs

Private Party Contact:
Angelo D. Calderan: 3103741000x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hostaria Piave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Los Angeles
Best Value
Beach Cities
Fit for Foodies
Beach Cities
1 More
Italian
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Redondo Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place. Never had a bad meal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I love this place. Never had a bad meal there. I keep going back. Yum-yum. I'm planning my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is very good. But some foods ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service is very good. But some foods are not really tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced and underwhelming. Ordered wi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Overpriced and underwhelming. Ordered wine & they brought the higher priced one (58.00 for mediocre wine). My daughter sent her soup back. Tasted rancid. Only 1 dish out of 6 was okay. Rest was awful. Portions small but high priced. Was a horrible birthday choice. Had to apologize to everyone. Lots of food left on plates & not for a good reason. One of the worst & we go out at least 2-3 x's period week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It is now one of our fave Italian restau ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It is now one of our fave Italian restaurants. Phenom food; very unique and veggies tasted like they were picked that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is perhaps the best restaurant in t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is perhaps the best restaurant in the South Bay. The food is excellent, the pastas are freshly made and the wine list is excellent. The wait staff is attentive without being overbearing and is knowledgeable with regard to food and wine pairings. The atmosphere is conducive to conversation and relaxed dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening meal with the Sunday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Delightful evening meal with the Sunday nite special $40. All piatti were good but the meat piece de resistance was excellent. Polite, friendly service, nothing hurried. The front area in the open was quiet & very pleasant. The vino rosso house wine was also exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful discovery! Both my din ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What a wonderful discovery! Both my dinner companion and I have been to Italy and HP was the closest thing to local Italian food.The owners Anna and Angelo are warm hosts and take great pride in their restaurant. The interior is warm and friendly. The tables are tucked in the space and similar to village cafes in Italy. Our waitress was attentive but not overly fussy. The food was beautifully prepared and you could taste the flavors of the high quality ingredients. The sauces popped and complimented the tuna and scallops we ordered. The gem at the end of the meal was a strawberry rhubarb rustic tart. It was freshly made and was a tasty buttery fruit filled goodness. The wine list was unique and offered many choices. The Barolo we chose was full bodied and had a smooth finish. We enjoyed our evening and left satiated and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Venetian food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We live not far from the restaurant and it is almost always our go-to when we have the urge to eat out in comfort with excellent food. Guests are made to feel like members of the family. The Sunday night supper is lovely. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Place in Redondo Beach

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We eat at Hostaria Piave on a regular basis. The food is terrific, the wine list is extensive and we enjoy the atmosphere. The owner welcomes us personally and recommends good wine to go with our food selection. This is a rare fine dining experience in the South Bay area. we make it our neighborhood go to place. Nice to sit on the patio in warm weather, too. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Presentation was unusual but appetizing ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Presentation was unusual but appetizing nonetheless, taste was OK, but some seasoning inconsistency (over-seasoned, under seasoned), pasta dish was the best of all our dishes, watch out for very, very crunchy bread (IMHO, if its fresh, you don't need to toast the heck out of it). Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful find! Not easy to find the dri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful find! Not easy to find the driveway but worth it. Good Northern Italian food, fantastic wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, Great Service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I went here for our Friday night "date night". The food was wonderful and the wine flights great. Most importantly the service is great. They totally accommodated some of our special food requirements. We definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An authentic Italian restaurant, great w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

An authentic Italian restaurant, great wines at reasonable prices, delicious food. We had salad, a pasta dish, risotto and a chocolate dessert, all excellent. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I've had dinner at Hostaria many times and decided to bring along some friends who were new to the restaurant. We shared a number of dishes and everything was fantastic. I find the service can be slow at times however this time around they were on point and everything was flawless, and it was a very busy night for the restaurant as well! We'll be back soon....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant find in RB!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We ate here for Easter brunch. The food and service were amazing. It was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though it's off pch a nice part of pch, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Though it's off pch a nice part of pch, you might as well be in northern Italy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Angelo was a gracious and warm host for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Angelo was a gracious and warm host for a most wonderful luncheon on a rainy day. We feasted on garlic roasted crab and other delights of roasted octopus and stuffed calamari. The bread was warm and crisp and the wine tasty too. He presents a notable wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Easter supper

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Today, my wife and I joined friends for Easter supper at Hostaria Piave, which we continue to visit regularly although we have moved to Sacramento. We are never disappointed when we partake of the food that Angelo and his team create, but today was beyond even the best we have had at the restaurant. First, because the meal was served family style, each of us was able to taste a range of different appetizers, first courses, and second courses. But the selection at each stage was memorable. There were two plates of appetizers. The first was an antipasto di laguna and included smoked steelhead, grilled calamari, octopus salad, a deviled egg topped with shrimp (not your grandmother's deviled egg!). The second plate of appetizers included a veal tenderloin, prosciutto with kiwi, a house-smoked carpaccio with Grana Padano cheese, and pieces of Dungeness crab roasted with garlic and rosemary. Such wonderful combinations and we were just getting started. Next was a light, savory risotto with scallops and asparagus that was a great reminder that it is spring, after all, as well as paglia e fieno or egg and spinach noodles with butter, sage, and cheese. So simple, but so satisfying. Then, as we savored our wine, we were treated to seared steelhead trout and tender lamb chops accompanied by sun chokes and potato salad. It was a feast of flavors. Desert after such a meal is a challenge, and in this case, appropriately understated with a semifreddo of berries, colomba, which is a leavened Easter bread, and chocolate eggs. The meal was an unforgettable tour de force.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Venetian Italian cuisine

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband and I dine out on Sundays and really enjoy Hosteria Piave, its owner Angelo and server Erin. We typically order the Sunday Supper which is a 4 course (5 if optional cheese course is ordered). On this occasion, we had a chicory and artichoke salad, a colorful pasta course , pork shoulder and pork belly entrée and mixed berry parfait. We did share the cheese course which was goat cheese and truffle. It is a warm welcoming atmosphere and we feel like we are dining in someone's home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

If you blink driving south on PCH you can miss this gem. We went for a Valentine treat and were very pleased with the service, food and ambiance. While priced moderately, the portions lend to the smaller side but preparation was superb. It was busy and service was attentive and a bit more relaxed which was fine with us to be able to enjoy the night and a second glass of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very diversified Italian menu and wine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

A very diversified Italian menu and wine list. My friend, Cynthia Stribling, and I loved the food, wine, desert, and service. Worth another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Transported back to n.e. Italy's lagoons and lands

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Hostaria Piave's chef transported us back to memories of real local Venetian cooking. Each course of the special Sunday menu had us in ecstasy, as each dish represented the essence of a region he had grown up in. There were no stereotypes on the menu at all, but each dish was fresh and original.

First, a platter of pork sausage, braised cabbage, horseradish...a bowl of chicory shoots, garlic, anchovies, pepperoncino...cured pork loin...eggplant, roasted tomato, smoked ricotta...smoked albacore, accompanied by Santa Barbara Syrah.

Second: spaghetti, roast cauliflower, anchovies, breadcrumbs ...and flat folded maltagliati pasta with mushrooms and pancetta, accompanied by 2012 Barbera. Tasty!

Third: pan seared wild scallop with porcini...and braised oxtail with bitter chocolate sauce, polenta, accompanied by 2012 Montalcino.

We took home the apple and almond cake to devour later! It was fine-grained and subtle, not sweet. The espresso was our substitute at the moment for dessert.

I think it will remain in my memory as the best meal of the year, or longer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deliciously Different Italian

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I'm no expert on Northern Italian cooking, but most of what we ate was delicious. The portions are not large so it is worth paying the extra $5 to increase a pasta dish to entree size. The roasted eggplant and tomato salad was wonderfully flavorful. The ravioli a little bland. But the lamb shank and polenta was amazing. We were not impressed with the bread pudding dessert -- wish we had ordered something else. We will return to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I love this place. Have eaten there man ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I love this place. Have eaten there many times and never had a bad meal. Every dish is yummy and well thought out. I'm already planning my return visit. If you've not eaten there as yet ..... Get going !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great eats

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Attentive helpful staff. Noise level is high so be prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Maybe too Italian?

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I love an authentic meal but I was hard pressed to find a couple of items that sounded good to me. The odd meats and combinations are definitely for a foodie. The service and ambiance was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent, fresh, seasonal dishes!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

We would definitely go back to this restaurant. The chef recommended the homemade pappardalle with porcini mushrooms,and ground sausage that was delicious. It had the right amount of spice and was well seasoned. We started with a tasty roasted butternut squash, mushrooms,with montasio . It was a delicious meal and the wine that the chef chose was a great pairing. My guest had the venetian spaghetti with sardines and onions. We both decided that mine was the winner but the spaghetti was different, tasty, and rarely see this on the menu. I appreciate the suggestions made by the chef and everything was presented beautifully. The portions were large but we managed to polish them off. Great find in Redondo Beach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

I went here several times in 2013 and it was impressive; the food was great and service fantastic. I went again last week and it was quite a shock. The squid appetizer was very fishy, on the border of inedible. The entree portions were tapas-size and the dessert was frozen in the middle. The service, although pleasant, was very slow. It took almost 2 hours to get an appetizer, 2 entrees and dessert. Even after providing my credit card it took 15 minutes for them to bring it back for a signature. It'll be some time before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Hostaria Piave: A Special Place in Redondo Beach

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Hostaria Piave is a very special place. My wife and I go there to celebrate special events - birthdays and holidays.

The food is wonderful and the staff make us feel at home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Family Dinner doesn't mean bring family

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

I need to start with the fact that my husband and I have dined here on numerous occasions and enjoyed it. With the advertisement of "Sunday Family Dinner" we assumed that meant our 2 year old son would be welcomed. Our reservation was for 5:45 and specified that we would be bringing a toddler and needed a booster. From the moment we got there it was clear our son was not welcomed. The booster was not ready, the owner made several comments about enjoying "quiet" dinners. Note, my son was not loud and there was a good deal of noise in the restaurant. Dinner took over an hour and a half to even arrive at our table. Perfect for fine dining, but not for a family style dinner. Even the bread took 20 minutes. The tasting menu was also extremely sophisticated for a family dinner. Calamari steaks and smoked trout for anyone under 15? We did take our son outside to play during the waits and even there the owner made comments about my son moving chairs or "touching" things. Look, he's two. He's very well behaved for a two year old but... And in hindsight, I realized that there was nothing family focused about this dinner and would have never brought him back, but the owner's consistent comments were rude and uncalled for. On our own experience, we would not have returned with my son. Based on the owner's attitude and comments, we will simply not return.

Regarding the food... the beef carpaccio was excellent as was the smoked trout. The calamari steaks were over cooked and rubbery. The pasta fasioli was very good, but not traditional. A thicker broth and fewer beans than I am accustomed to. Also, the pasta in it was a papparedelle not a smaller noodle. Flavorful broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great as usual.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Great place to take friends and visitors or just us for a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant is the South Bay. Exten ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Best Restaurant is the South Bay. Extensive wine list. Despite being close to Pacific Coast, the outdoor patio is very comfortable and nicely screened . We have eaten there at least 6 times and brought guests each time and everyone loved it. The owners really care about their food and to make sure the guests have a great experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

What a gem!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

You can easily overlook this restaurant while driving south on PCH. The ambiance and décor inside is nice. I went with two other ladies. We each had the Sunday Supper, prix fixe dinner. It included an appetizer (smoked beef carpaccio with marche salad), two courses (homemade pasta w/ sausages, veal) and a dessert (chocolate with pear). The veal was on the dry side, but overall, everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant surprise!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We really liked this place! The food seemed like authentic Italian and it was delicious. The pasta seemed so fresh and was very tasty as was the apple tart! The service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great neighborhood place!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Had a wonderful meal, Chef and his wife are terrific hosts and hostesses, and the food was terrific - not your typical Italian food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All their pasta is homemade along with t ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

All their pasta is homemade along with their cured fish. The quality is exc

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We took our grand children and their par ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

We took our grand children and their parents here and had wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Risotto was excellent.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Risotto was excellent. Veal was great (a bit on small portion side though). Cappa appetizer was a little fishy and weak.

Wine was superb.

Service was a bit weak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It's great we keep going back.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

We love this restaurant. Always surprising with new things hidden on the various menus. We will be going back for more very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian in the South Bay

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Second time I've dined there. Food is amazing. Extensive wine list. Friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.