HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Hostaria Piave

4.4
243 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List (5)
  • Fit for Foodies (4)
  • Special Occasion (4)
Hostaria Piave's mission is to present the everyday dishes that you would find at the family table of the people living in the small islands in the Venetian lagoon and the near countryside. Experience a unique and captivating menu, simple recipes radicated in the Venetian popular tradition that show the passion and the genuine hospitality of your "hoste".


Buon Appetito!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday 5.00pm - 9.00pm (Regular Menu & Sunday Supper prix-fixe Menu)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 374-1000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Angelo D. Calderan
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Hostaria Piave is available for private events & buy-outs
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Angelo D. Calderan: (310) 374-1000
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are happy to offer catering, from small, intimate gatherings to full scale events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Torrance Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking spaces on the side and in the back of building
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Dinners
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 243 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipTedA (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful Italian food, my favorite.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Denver)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Nice people, good food, horrible funeral music.

Only three tables of 4 and they sat everyone together.

It used to be so much more.....made us saf

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Delicious, friendly, wines are expensive, but good

Report
Helpful
RN84 (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

The 5 course New Years Eve dinner prepared by Angelo was simply fabulous! Authentic Venetian style cooking at its finest. the lentil soup with cappone broth was a rare find here in LA and was executed perfectly. The veal osso buco was the best I've had in years. Excellent service in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere made for a memorable evening. The wine list is well appointed and extensive. We enjoyed a delightful Rosso di Montefalco with dinner and welcomed in the New Year with an excellent Bisol prosecco from Valdobiaddine. Having lived in Northern Italy for 8 years and visited almost yearly for the past 30, I've sampled my fair share of Italian cuisine. Give Osteria Piave a try; it's my favorite Italian restaurant in the South Bay!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was excellent but service was super slow! Noise level was excessive . Parents and staff ignored a screaming 3 year old next to our table. What are people like this thinking?
Screaming children make dining uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
HilaryC (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Angelo continues his impeccable tradition of exceptionally delicious and creative Venetian cuisine. New Year's Eve's prix fix menu included remarkable house-smoked ahi, light but flavorful lentil soup, house-made fine pasta with uni and tiny bay scallops, a choice of fish or the best osso bucco ever, and a light-as-air cake bursting with chocolate flavor! Anna's wine recommendations complimented the meal perfectly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on December 8, 2017

too expensive, not worth this money; food is good, all fine but overpriced

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
3.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Gnoche was fabulous, great wine selection, but the duck confit was over cooked and dry.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on November 16, 2017

This place never disappoints . The service is always excellent and accommodating. The waiters make good recommendations . The wine selection is incredible and reasonably priced . The ambiance is very pleasant . Food is always delicious . Highly recommend !

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on November 11, 2017

Wine selection is extensive. Food options abundant; however my choice of entree was not available. Jay was an engaging and attentive server, he addressed the entire party with brief description of menu offerings as well as suggested wine pairings with our choices.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Food very good. Scallops great, ravioli and swordfish would’ve benefited with better seasoning.

Ambience not improved by hard interior. Nothing to muffle raucous laughter which made it hard to communicate across a table for two.

Report
Helpful
vipTggw (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on October 14, 2017

We have dined here several times and were always pleased. This time our food was not so great. My husband had the black ink squid pasta dish and he said it was awful. I had a lamb shank and it was just okay not spectacular. I did not partake in the calamari appetizer but they were not thrilled with it. It was just a mediocre dinner and not up to its past reputation.

Report
Helpful
vipFrankM (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on September 24, 2017

I was hopin to love this place, but it was just "a-ok". Nothing bad, just nothing great ... except the service - the people and servers were excellent. This was our second time dining there ... and just like the first time, it wasn't bad, just wasn't great or memorable ... no "wow" at all tonight, nor was there the first time. Maybe 3rd time will be the charm ... The service was excellent, we were greeted with a big welcome, given a nice table, and service was just perfect. The ambiance is "ok", decorated nicely, a patio, right on PCH .... I had the "Sunday Night Dinner", a 4 course meal prix fixe. Salad of cucumber and radish ... nice, ok ... pasta, homemade, but they too al dente to a new level of chewy, but ok. The the salmon main was pretty good, with very tasty zucchini on the side, finally a lemon tart was ok as well. My fiancé had an heirloom tomato and cucumber salad that was tasty and lamb chops that were ok as well ... I guess I am saying pretty much everything was ok, nothing bad, but nothing very interesting and memorable. I wanted so bad to love this place, but it deserves lots of love for great and nice and attentive people, maybe if the food was a little more special I would give it a few more kudos for the food.

Report
Helpful
vipDrSyl (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on September 17, 2017

Love this place. The best Italian food in this area! Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
Hungry4u (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on September 2, 2017

One of my favorite South Bay restaurants. This time, there were four of us. For antipasto we had the seared veal tenderloin and the frito misto. Both were incredible. The veal is cut crepe thin, as you would carpaccio. Delicious on bread. The frito misto were calamari, shrimp, anchovies and white fish, all slightly battered and fried. Everyone loved that, especially those little anchovies. Even if you don't like anchovies, they are great battered and fried. Later, we ordered the pasticcio, northern Italy version of lasagna. Delicious homemade pasta layered with beef, pork and lamb. The beet and celery root ravioli, we thought may be interesting , but no one liked that. The gnocchi were delicious, soft and fluffy in a tasty ragu.

Report
Helpful
Suzy (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on August 31, 2017

Very good regional Venetian cuisine with a large wine selection

Report
Helpful
Inkredtaurant (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on July 31, 2017

Nice place with very good food. Nice attitude from the helpful servers. Chef came by and answered any questions. Nice

Report
Helpful
vipReneeandCarlos (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on July 8, 2017

We opted for this restaurant based on the Yelp reviews. My husband, step-son and I had dinner on a Saturday evening. Intrigued by the promise for traditional Italian cuisine, we were curious whether it would compare to what we'd had throughout Italy so long ago. We were delighted to see a menu that offered choices beyond the repetitive 'Americanized Italian" that we find at most other Italian restaurants.
We were hosted by the chef's wife, who was charming and very helpful in choosing a wine. We enjoyed sharing several appetizers, including smoked halibut, beef carpaccio and an arugula salad. The flavors in each were tasty and robust - not for a faint pallet. Our dinner entrees, inclusive of a cod special, the steak dish, and the scallop risotto, were equally as enjoyable. Portion sizes were perfect (not the oversize portions commonly found elsewhere,) and the combination of flavors/ingredients in each dish was just right.
This restaurant is perfect for those who want well prepared, fine dining quality dishes, dining at a leisurely pace and appreciate the value of the food and ambiance. If you're looking for the standard Italian favorites, in large portions for a bargain price, you might want to look somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
redondofan (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was great. We had lamb and pork chops and both were easily the best I have had. The fritto misto appetizer was expertly fried and had a good variety of seafood. Our waitress Tatiana was expert at timing and making sure we had our wine refilled. One of the great secret Italian places.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on June 23, 2017

A must for those who seek good authentic Italian cuisine. Food is unique and of high quality. I have dined there several times and have never been disappointed ; in fact always pleasantly surprised.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13