About Horizons Restaurant at the CN Tower

301 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 2T6
View Larger Map

Located on the LookOut level of Toronto's iconic CN Tower, Horizons offers upscale bistro fare and a spectacular view of the City from the vantage point of 346m (1,136feet) above the ground. Enjoy a fabulous menu selection reflecting Executive Chef Peter George's focus on regional and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
John Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 601-3834

Website:
http://cntower.ca/

Parking Details:
You will find plenty of parking all around the CN Tower. The closest lots are the south lot of the Metro Toronto Convention Centre (enter off Lower Simcoe from Bremner Blvd or Lakeshore Blvd) or the ImPark lot just west of the Rogers Centre (access from Navy Wharf).

Public Transit:
Your ultimate destination is Union Station. From there, the Tower is a short walk west along Front Street or Bremner Blvd. Visit www.ttc.ca for more information.

Executive Chef:
Peter George

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful early Valentines.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2016

I attended Horizons for Winterlicious and the menu options were great -- and delicious! I would definitely recommend Horizons for Winterlicious for the great price, food, service, and a beautiful view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our server.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Loved our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early Valentine's Day Date Night

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2016

I would rate my experience at Horizons 3.5/ stars. What makes the restaurant is its atmosphere and the scenic view. The food was average and the service was pretty good. I'd recommend going during the winterlicious event because the food is priced better to reflect its actual worth. From the menu, the bison sausage and the seafood soup were both delicious, but the apple pie was a bit overcooked. Overall, it was a nice experience for my partner and I.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great views and food.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We wanted a window table, so we had to wait more than a half-hour to be seated for our Winterlicious reservation. But one goes to the CN tower restaurant for the views, so we waited patiently. An added bonus was that the food was really good. Our party of four was not disappointed. We had wonderful views, perfect wait staff and great food, what's there not to like? And since we were seated after 2pm—nearing the end of the lunch service—we were allowed to linger a bit after our lunch without any push to get out. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was terrible but service was great

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was terrible... Beef was over cooked and hard and potato was under cooked.

Service was great though. We had an amazing view of the city.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

A great date night

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Making a reservation through open table was quick and easy. We were running about 15mins late but there was no problem when we arrived. Getting up the tower and seated was quick and easy. The winterlicious menu was excellent and fair pricing allowed me to have a nice date that I would normally not be able to afford. My only complaint was our server seemed a bit uninterested in being there or helping us (I'm not sure of his name- I don't remember that he even introduced himself). My date asked what was in the seafood stew (I thought that was a fair question) and he answered condescendingly as if to say "don't you know what a seafood stew is" while stumbling through, "... there's shrimp, muscles umm things like that". She ended up picking the cheese ravioli haha! He then later tried to clear her plate away before she was finished (a bit of a miscommunication but still). Other than that everything was lovely, great view, delicious food and good value with the winterlicious menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Horrible service. Someone needs to teach ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Horrible service. Someone needs to teach the staff to smile. They ARE representing Canada. Will never come back again. The food was not great either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Not Worth the price of admission

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was okay to good. However, they don't know how to make a sticky bread pudding. This item was a joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Extremely Disappointing

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I attended on the winterlicious menu. We were really looking forward to the experience, not only the CN Tower but the meal. It was horribly disappointing. The food was bland and boring. The salad and soup were average at best, as was the Fisherman's Stew. The chicken was dark meat with bones in it and lacked flavor, and the desserts were not much better. We were expecting something at least slightly upscale and were horribly disappointed. The server was slow and never offered coffee or refill on our drinks. It was like he couldn't wait to get rid of us. The restaurant wasn't very full but they sat my husband and I next to a family, we couldn't even converse!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Setting and ambiance is perfect for a Fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Setting and ambiance is perfect for a Friday night out. However, hugely disappointed with the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Overcharged

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2016

I was overcharged on my bill, which was kind of inconvenient because I did not notice until I was almost going down the elevator. I ordered a drink they were out of, so I got something else instead. But they still charged me for both of the drinks. They fixed the problem when I went back to the restaurant but it took longer than I would have liked. I had to stand in line and wait for all the people with reservations because only one person could fix this problem. Meanwhile, she kept answering the phone while trying to fix the problem.

I also was annoyed because the bottom of the receipt gave a suggested tip amount in percentages. When I selected this option in the machine, it gave me a higher dollar amount for the suggested percentage than on the bottom of the receipt. These should both match up.

Before the problem, the food was awesome and the waiter Beejay was nice. They had bigger portions than what I expected for winterlicious but it was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They had me at "Welcome."

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2016

We flew in to Toronto, for a day trip, just to visit the CN Tower. When I went to their website to see what was available at the Tower, I saw they had a dining special and immediately booked it. From the time I stepped off the elevator, the restaurant staff was cordial, efficient and very professional. Our server "Bee-Jay" was very attentive and served the multi course meal in perfect timing allowing me and my wife to enjoy the ambience of the restaurant and to marvel in the view from the CN Tower. I will encourage all my friends visiting Toronto, taking advantage of the strong U.S. dollar to stop at this lovely restaurant as a "must do" while in town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was just OK

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Great view, but 360 is a better place to eat at the CN tower.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent View with food to match

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2016

Most people know about 360, the revolving restaurant at the CN tower. Horizon is its downstairs cousin, Doesn't revolve; however view and food is excellent. Reasonably priced.W

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't happy with this venue at all. I ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2016

I wasn't happy with this venue at all. I went with my friend; she was about 10 minutes early and I was running 5 minutes late. Our reservation was for 7pm and it was 6:55 when the person at the front desk at the ground level told my friend that I was late and that we should request to have our reservation pushed. So my friend requested to have it moved to 7:15...I showed up about 7:05. I'm not sure what the big deal was. The place was not busy at all. There were so many empty tables when we arrived.

The food was disappointing overall. The best part of the meal was the salad with crispy polenta, but it was just okay. The polenta could have been warm and crispier. I ordered the chicken option of the Winterlicious menu. It was over cooked. Although it was sitting in sauce it was still very dry and tough. There was bacon in it which was so over cooked, I mistook the pieces for small chicken bones at first. For the amount of sauce, it needed something like rice to accompany it. The potatoes and vegetables were not enough to bring the flavors together. And lastly, the sticky toffee pudding was in the form of a muffin-like shape and placed on a plate with some caramel sauce and a little bit of whipped cream. It wasn't horrible, but I expected something much better from this restaurant.

Our server wasn't great either. Nice guy, but not attentive enough. He did not offer a second beverage when we finished ours, nor did he offer any tea or coffee with our dessert. It took him forever to come back to our table after our meal was done. We felt like we had to chase him down to ask for the bill.

Probably my worst Winterlicious experience so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Winterlicious at Horizon's

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2016

The view is spectacular, and the dining area can accommodate large and small parties easily. Beverage list has good selection and the food was very tasty and well plated/presented.

Where Horizon's lost me was the service. I realize it was Winterlicious - special prix fixe menu - but that does not excuse service that takes forever to get to the table to take order, clear plates, ask how meal is going, long wait to get bill, etc. In addition, service of food was made without spoons for soups, runners asking 'who had the chicken', serving men before women and women before kids. In all, it felt like the service staff was the least experienced servers and runners. Not an experience that resulted in me wanting to come back when not Winterlicious/prix fixe.

In all, a disappointing experience but great view and good food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

It was good

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2016

But the wintericious menus were bad...

I wont try their wintericious menu never again haha.. But over all price was cheap and scenery was good :) thanks

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

Fine Print

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Overall, the experience was decent. The food was tasty; however, the desserts seemed "out of a box".

The $10 per person "elevation fee" is tacky and inappropriate. Build the price of elevation into the food. Hitting customers with this fee as they check-in sours the experience and could turn larger groups away.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

It was good, but can be better

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Even though the menu was fixed, our entrees were fixed also. We ordered extra mushrooms in the salad and barely got any. The flavor of the lamb was excellent, but the seafood stew was bland, and needed more flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was great! From the ambiance ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2015

Everything was great! From the ambiance to the cood and service, and most especially the price!!! Can't wait for the next one!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2015

The food was great, the ambience was great, the view was amazing... the only thing I found lacking: the waiters/servers 'personalities'. The greeter was fun and energetic but the servers could learn how to be more engaging and "present".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Review

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2015

Service is quite good as people there is willing to hange a seat for us .

Food is fine but dessert is disappointing. As the chocolate lava cake that I have ordered is just a normal chocolate cake with no molten chocolate.

The view is good and worth to pay to have a meal with toronto view

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Nice view, not much else

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2015

The wait staff were slow, not friendly, and inattentive.

The food was okay but nothing special.

The view was spectacular and your reservation (along with the $10 elevation charge) allows you access to the glass floor and observation deck.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Delicious Winterlicious!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2015

My wife and I went to Horizons for dinner during Winterlicious 2015 and we had one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had! The food was outstanding: beautifully presented, good-sized portions, and very tasty. The scenic view added to the overall dining experience. We will plan on going again and recommend Horizons to other diners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A "wham-bam-thank-you-now-you-can-go" deal

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2015

As it was a Winterlicious menu, I felt that it was more of a "wham-bam-thank-you now you can go" kind of deal. Although the food tasted great, the courses where handed out quickly and without anything else. e.g. perhaps some bread on the table.

The price was fine considering the location but I was angry that I had to pay another $10 to get up to the restaurant. So that made it too expensive I think.

I will not go again, but glad that I had the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

great food, horrible service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2015

I took my mom out for the Winterlicious event for lunch. The ride up the CN tower was fun and exciting. As we entered the restaurant we were presented with the amazing view of Toronto from the top. When we were seated our server arrived and informed us that the kitchen was closing in the next 45 mins and we better make our decision quickly, which I think was a total lie because there was a family of 3 that came in 20mins after and were seated close by us and I never heard him mention to them that the kitchen was closing!!! He didn't even offer if we wanted anything to drink for starters!! And to top it off when he handed us the bill he just stood there waiting for us to get out our money to pay for our meal, like he literally stood there by our table waiting!!!! We felt rushed and un-welcomed!!!!. Which is a total shame because the food and the atmosphere were totally amazing. I would be willing to go again just not with the same server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Not worth the price, no good view in winter

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2015

We used the Winterlicious promotion and we felt this was a great opportunity to have an amazing meal and experience at a reduced cost. It was still pricey, with lunch, drink and tip averaging $40 pp. Our lunch fell short of expectations; the food was mediocre at best. It would’ve felt worse if we paid full price for a meal there. The obvious draw is the view, not the food. However, the view was limited due to it being a snowy day and there was ice on the windows, not a good place to visit during winter.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

World's tallest doesn't get a pass by default

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2015

We waited awkwardly for the arrogant family of four to move aside to let other patrons through at the front. The hostess (just as awkwardly) decided to do nothing except give us a fleeting sympathetic smile. When we were finally permitted to enter the restaurant (thanks for moving family of four wall of people), we saw at least 3 empty tables for two clearly waiting for people like us with reservations.

We were promptly asked for our drink orders and it didn't take long to peruse the Winterlicious menu (why don't restaurants see this as a opportunity for guests to return and provide the regular menu too?). The waiter was efficient but friendly. We got to check out every dish our neighbours were served because he brought it all up at the same time and it was uncanny that we ate and lingered at the same rate.

The most notable thing about the duck confit salad was the pistachios. The duck was overcooked and didn't do the greens any favours. The lamb shank should have been more tender, but the flavour was mild. I don't mind the gnocchi dry with a slightly seared crust, but for $35, I would expect the gnocchi and tortellini to be handmade. I don't have anything against apple crumble, but it is never my preference for dessert. I think it was the better choice up against the lava cake. The cake had a nice crust, but the sweetness was a little teeth-jarring.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

My family and I were at the Horizon on Saturday evening for Winterlicious. We were disappointed that we could not see out due to the weather. Understanding that this is out of your control. The food however was a bit disappointing. My husband did not have his main course he thought it did not taste right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Disappointed by the service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

We were really disappointed by service. After we were seated we had to wait 15 minutes for the server to bring some water. He just ignored us. Then after he took our order we felt rushed through the dinner. We had a group sitting beside our table, they were eating their main when we were seated and they left after we finished, it felt as if our server wanted to get rid of us.

I just don't understand, even in the simplest restaurant the first thing they do is offer you water and then make sure your glass is full. We had to ask the server to bring more water. Is that to much to ask, for some water??

Overall a disappointing experience, if the servers don't like their job then just change the job don't spoil other people's experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Enjoyable

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Dinner was very leisurely and our waiter, Beejay, provided just enough attentiveness! Though we had snowy weather :( , the view would have been very scenic. We will have to go again just for the view.

The food presentation was very well done, the food was good and very generous portions.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great Food, no view

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The restaurant is on the same level as the observation deck. We hoped to go up the tower before our 5 pm dinner reservation to enjoy the view and while the sky was still clear and it was still light. The management would not permit this unless we paid the full $32 per person to go up (we only had to pay $10 with the dinner reservation). This was disappointing as we chose this restaurant for the view. By the time we got up the tower the sky had fogged over and soon it was dark. There was no view.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Winterlicious 2015

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

What was good: scenic view over the city; cheaper ride to check up the CN tower itself ($10+tax) as a complementary deal of the Winterlicious package

What wasn't as good: food - bland, nothing to make you say 'wow'; service - pretty ignorant; level of noise - ridiculous, had a really loud family beside us and couldn't enjoy neither our food nor the ambiance; made the reservation ahead of time but the day was cloudy, so the visibility was reduced to the downtown proximity (not resto's fault, but it affected our overall experience)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointing Winterlicious Experience

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Very disappointed with the quality of the food for their lunch menu. The duck confit in the salad was extremely tough. The crab legs in the fisherman stew barely had any meat in it and the lava cake was much too sweet. I also tried a piece of my friend's pumpkin cheesecake. It was okay, but I could probably find cheesecake at my grocery store that is of equivalent quality. I would avoid this restaurant for Winterlicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Terrible Service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Made a reservation and yet we had to wait another fifteen minutes to be seated. The service after that was horrendous and we waited another 20 minutes for someone to take our order.

Orders were messed up, service never came by our table, and overall it was a very poor dining experience. The food was alright but the servise ruined the experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Wait staff are very robotic, they just t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Wait staff are very robotic, they just take orders & bring food & then the bill & leave. No personality or chit chat here. Food was gorgeous looking & tasted great, except salmon was a little over cooked. Food was both good quantity. & quality & view was really nice. Would only come here again for a special occasion with out of town guests. The cost of going up the tower even at discount was steep on top of paying for dinner & drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

javed was a fantastic, attentive waiter. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2015

javed was a fantastic, attentive waiter. His service made the experience significantly better

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

delicious. Very flavorful.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2015

The butternut squash soup burst with such rich flavour. The salmon tart was a great mix of warmth and freshness which included crisp toppings. Almost every bit of seafood was included in this seafood dish, both flavorful and fun to eat. The Choriza in the chicken dish mixed with potatoes and vegetables is worth a visit back. We finished the meal with apple pie a la mode. Fresh crisp apples served with ice cream, and the perfect amount of pie shell embedded in the syrup. Finally the chocolate Lindt lava cake was unlike any I have ever tasted. A taste of heaven for sure. Rich, silky and smooth. We sat at a window seat making the experience even more enjoyable. I can't express enough how fantastic these lunch meals were. I tell everyone who is looking for a sure thing to enjoy the CN Tower winterlicious fest before it ends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the money

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2015

Was surprised to find out we had to pay for the elevator up. We had to go through 4 different check points to go to a restaurant including security which just seemed ridiculous. The view and observation deck were the best part of my meal (aside from the wine). The soup was luke warm at best, the salmon was dry and the lava in the lava cake was cold and hard. The gnocchi in the lamb shank was absolutely terrible and chewy - it did not get eaten. The service felt like we were at a banquet hall, no interaction, no asking how our meal was, and we felt we were being pushed out quickly from the restaurant. We ordered a bottle of wine and the server filled out glasses TWICE and the bottle was done. We felt rushed, the food felt like it was sitting under a heat lamp all night and the extra cost for the elevator made the experience worth forgetting. It's unfortunate because we had high hopes, and it wasn't a cheap meal - $145 for two people. Would recommend re-evaluating going here if you are considering it. We live in the city and eat out frequently, and this would go on our "do not recommend" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Had fantastic birthday dinner!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2015

even though i went to this restaurant for winterlicious, it was a bit expensive but worth! breath taking view and amazing food made my birthday wonderful. Thank you so much!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.