About Hooked

122 The Plaza
Beaver Creek, CO 81620
View Larger Map

Hooked is an American Seafood House serving the freshest fish in an eclectic collection of hot and cold dishes.The amazing food and exciting ambience creates memories forever. Get Hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ice Skating Rink

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 949-4321

Website:
http://www.hookedbc.com/

Parking Details:
Beaver Creek offers 2 parking lots that are within walking distance from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)

Executive Chef:
Riley Romanin

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hooked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Beaver Creek ›

Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Buy a fish and let the chef surprise you ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Buy a fish and let the chef surprise you. Great fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They seemed a bit understaffed. Service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

They seemed a bit understaffed. Service was pretty slow, but the food was great. The table we sat at was pretty small, and we got a bunch of apps and sushi rolls to share. We had no space for everything, so they brought a stool to extend our table space, but...people sit on those. I wasn't really into my food being put on a chair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I HATE giving a bad review. BUT unfortu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I HATE giving a bad review. BUT unfortunately the night we went they were understaffed and underprepared. Everything from soup to appetizers to beverages to sushi was presented out of sequence and delayed. It took 45 minutes to receive first drinks. The food was ok/good. We ordered sushi, sashimi, edamame, miso, short rib appetizer. we did not order the whole fresh fish and am told that is the way to go. I would give it another chance. The rest of my family--No.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Hooked is our favorite restaurant in Bea ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Hooked is our favorite restaurant in Beaver Creek, but this wasn't our best visit. We brought our family visiting from out of town, so we were a group of 6.

Food was great, but main issue was that we attempted to order the right amount of food for 6, and based on the style of ordering whole fish, we left it up to the server to decide proper sizes of 2 fish. Ultimately, it was just WAY too much for us (with 3 guys who eat EVERYTHING in SIGHT on most occasions!). We seriously couldn't finish 2 full dishes- and not so great to pack up raw fish (which oddly came out after the cooked preparations), so it went to waste. Price point was high for what we needed up eating (but let's face it, if you're in Beaver Creek, price point isn't of greatest concern =).

SO, don't make this mistake, but otherwise, enjoy, because they food is great and it's a cool change from other restaurants in the village.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

$320 lunch was so disappointing. Mussels ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

$320 lunch was so disappointing. Mussels just ok, sushi was lowest quality ever seen in a restaurant, strange rice and crazy expensive for what it was even in the mountains.

Not happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our order was wrong - really wrong

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our order was wrong - really wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Amazing! One restaurant in Beaver Creek ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing! One restaurant in Beaver Creek that should NOT be missed by any seafood lover visiting the Vail Valley. Get the whole fish - and let the kitchen choose how to prepare it (half raw, half cooked). We had a flounder for three and everything the chefs sent out was amazing. Five raw preparations, two seared app preparations, and three different cooked presentations. Every one was amazing, fabulous, wonderful. Trust the kitchen staff. They know their fish and will listen to your likes and dislikes and create special dishes just for you. Also - don't miss the cribster (seafood turducken: a lobster tail stuffed with shrimp stuffed with crab and then all wrapped in bacon). We'll be back next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions on adult fare, spicy fare ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Small portions on adult fare, spicy fare on children's menu-so spicy they couldn't eat it. Not bad, but not good either. I wouldn't return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Way way over priced. Service was slower ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Way way over priced. Service was slower than slow. Go to Matsuhisa instead. Go anywhere instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Amazing dinner out! Very memorable meal ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing dinner out! Very memorable meal - go for the whole fish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing whole fish option where half the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing whole fish option where half the fish is served cold as sushi, sashimi, and the other half is hot with a glaze.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Total lack of ambiance but awesome food! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Total lack of ambiance but awesome food! The fish is fresh and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

I made a reservation for 3 which includ ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I made a reservation for 3 which included a child. In the completely empty restaurant we were seated at a teeny table for 2. We asked for another table and were refused because of other reservations (again no other diners the entire time we are there.) Asked for a straw, waiter brought one bare handed and stuck it in my water , fingers grazed my beverage. Ridiculous experience where you are treated as if you should be honored to be granted access at all. Never going back, cannot say enough bad things about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I've been anxious to try Hooked for some ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I've been anxious to try Hooked for some time and went specifically to try the Colorado stripped bass that is currently on special for restaurant week. The food was superb albeit a wee bit hard to eat as it was plated. What I didn't like at all was the service: we sat for over 5 minutes before being greeted and then were showered with attitude from there on. Although someone (manager, perhaps) came around and was quite pleasant, our server had an attitude that left me with a sour taste. Truth is, it's an attitude I see more and more and I don't like it one bit. Don't like serving? Then get a job doing something else. I've walked out of restaurants with no intention of returning because of it. Will have to ponder whether to return to Hooked since arrogant service doesn't pair well with delicious food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We had a terrific dinner at Hooked in Be ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Hooked in Beaver Creek. It's a lot smaller than I would have guessed so reservations are definitely recommended. But great food and superior service!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good time as always when in town. Greg ( ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good time as always when in town. Greg (chef) rocked it like he always does!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The special ceviche appetizer with 3 lar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The special ceviche appetizer with 3 large prawns was great but mysteriously wasn't on the regular menu even though it was featured on the cover of a local food magazine. Sushi rolls were over -powered by a thick layer of spicy sauces, making them gooey and unappealing. Broccolini au gratin had a tasteless tomato sauce--not au gratin. Wine flights comprised of Portuguese whites sounded interesting but none of the six we had was outstanding and several were below average. Decor was very simple--like eating in a warehouse or storeroom. Very pricey--we left feeling like we were taken advantage of by a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Fantastic seafood!!! Best in the Valley ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic seafood!!! Best in the Valley, bar none! Very small dining area, so be sure to have a reservation. They do whole fish, where they will do half of the fish cooked and the other half raw. Really amazing presentations. Huge sushi list, 3 kinds of edamame, etc..... You can't go wrong here if you enjoy fresh seafood. Wine list is also very accommodating as is the sommelier. Go and enjoy!!!!! Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Third time I've ordered the scallops pre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Third time I've ordered the scallops prepared "Beachfront." I love the charred/grilled lemon slice on top of each scallop. I take a bite of that with each bite of scallop - happiness in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was above average and service was s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was above average and service was slightly above average. Every server but ours specifically seemed exceptional but it seemed they may have been new.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Unique venue with options for sushi, who ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Unique venue with options for sushi, whole fish prepared 1-8 ways (depending on group size), or regular seafood options. One of the best for seafood lovers. Staff and Chefs extremely accommodating to allergies and food preferences. If you like to be "surprised", they will bring you their best suggestions for preparation which can be fun if you are adventurous.

Great location to Vilar, ice skating rink and overall to be "in" the village.

Very intimate: seats 40 tops, so reservations a must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, menu was confusing as the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was good, menu was confusing as they are doing the whole fish different from what the menu said!

Found it to be very expensive

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had 630 reservation because we had sh ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had 630 reservation because we had show to see at 8. Assured we would be ok when we arrived at 620 entire table wasn't ready. 45 mins after our reservation we got our drink order. Food was expensive and we had 12 mins to finish meal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The whole-fish concept was great but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The whole-fish concept was great but the pricing wasn't made clear up front, so ask first. It's pricey but excellent preparation and tastes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Bbq spare ribs were phenomenal. Had to ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bbq spare ribs were phenomenal. Had to order seconds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat at a table for two with a padded ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We sat at a table for two with a padded bench with pillows. Sorry to say, it smelled musty on that bench. Probably would have been better seated at a table away from the cloth padding.

Service was good. We really enjoyed the New England clam chowder (tasty, thin broth, very nice and New England....not floury as some are.) We chose to have salmon rather than the flown-in daily fresh fish so I don't know the cost for the whole fish. They recommend making half the fish cooked and the other half raw (as in sushi.) Since we didn't want it, I never asked the price.

EVERYTHING was a la carte including bread ($8). Wine was a very small pour. Sides for the fish, all individual. The salmon was cooked properly, however, my blackened fish was very bland.

Overall, we weren't impressed and wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent food and service... just the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and service... just the right meal before the Vail Dance Festival performance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I visit Hooked every summer when I'm in ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I visit Hooked every summer when I'm in the Valley. One of my all time favorite fish restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sushi is amazing

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sushi is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish is excellent but menu is way too co ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fish is excellent but menu is way too complicated - it shouldn't take 15 minutes to explain it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Though highly rated, could not understan ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Though highly rated, could not understand the food order system, and hence did not get the meal we anticipated. Overpriced for the total event, while elements of the dinner were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I must say this is one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I must say this is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. They have this down to a literal science and the food tastes AMAZING!! My only complaint is that we've been here at least 30 times since they've opened and NO ONE CAN REMEMBER US. We've brought probably over 100 people total with different friends and family when they are in town as this is a must eat. But when I have only been to another great sushi restaurant in Breck once and our server can remember where we sat the last time we were in. It doesn't speak well towards the staff. I like them, but it would seem that they couldn't care less about you. Don't get me wrong we go for the food, but it seems like they could work on this at least a little. Otherwise they are very friendly and I would still highly recommend this place as a MUST EAT!! ESPECIALLY FOR FOODIES!! Sit at the bar because the chefs are awesome. Greg is the best sushi chef I have ever come across hands down. He really loves his work and it shows. Great cocktails here as well. You really can't go wrong here, but be playful as some of their items may not be your average sushi rolls or apps, but they are the best part and best tasting items on the menu. If you're in the mood for a devilish desert after consuming your weight in sushi order the sweet potato fries with a BOWL of the mascarpone. Excellent finisher to a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Way too expensive for what we ate. Won' ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way too expensive for what we ate. Won't return. We did have a good waiter...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Food is excellent.....but extremely over ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is excellent.....but extremely over priced for the ambiance offered. If your a foodie, it's great. I just like the whole package.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

We arrived to find the restaurant half e ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We arrived to find the restaurant half empty . Mike our waiter took our drink order and when we asked about specials said he'd send Tapee over to explain. Tapee arrived carrying a tray filled with "fresh" fish. He explained our options and when we baulked at his suggestions he very persuasively insisted that the chef would create a special preparation using the fish we selected. He would fillet half the fish and prepare it sashimi style and use another portion for a special roll. The remainder would be fried and prepared in a spicy preparation to our liking. We also, at his suggestion, ordered the calamari which he promised was crispy and lightly battered . We accepted his recommendations with the caveat that we wanted time to enjoy our drinks and a request not to rush the food. Despite his assurances moments later we were looking down at soggy calamari which looked like it just came out of a microwave. Unfortunately, it didn't get much better thereafter. The sashimi was bland (as we anticipated - Bronzino apparently doesn't lend itself to sashimi - you rarely see it on a sashimi menu). The roll showed no sign of having any Bronzino in it and was otherwise bland. Hooked , unfortunately is one of a few restaurants in the Vail valley specializing in fish and clearly missed the marked this evening leaving us to feel we'd been "hooked."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was amazing... Fresh seafood at its ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was amazing... Fresh seafood at its finest! Service was decent. Just not a very comfortable restaurant to sit in. We were sitting at a small table right as you walk in... There was a large booth/table directly next to us and at a higher level... Felt like we were looking at their feet and butts the whole time. But the FOOD is incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

I love fish and sushi, so along with Hoo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love fish and sushi, so along with Hook's unique menu and serving style, it was a dinner to remember. Definitely order the whole fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great plaice for fish, pardon the pun. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great plaice for fish, pardon the pun. Party of 4 for a family reunion. Enjoyed the evening the whole table had fillet fish and each had it cooked to their own preference. The waitress explained everything very well as this was our first experience. We spadix the have to wait too long for the meals to arrive and all had clean plates. It is great to find a fish restaurant in a land locked area. The dining experience is very casual but with a vested interested I it quality fish.

We would return again and try a different type of cooking method just for the fun of it. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Possibly the BEST seafood I have had in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Possibly the BEST seafood I have had in my life! We've even eaten at one of the top 10 seafood restaurants in the U.S. The suggestions for selections and the preparation was fantastic! We WILL visit there, again, before we leave the Beaver Creek, Colorado area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we walked through the pa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the moment we walked through the patio dining area into the restaurant we felt welcome. Every employee greeted us with a smile.

The food was prompt and delicious.

Wish we had more time to spend at hooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.