About Hooked

122 The Plaza
Beaver Creek, CO 81620
View Larger Map

Hooked is an American Seafood House serving the freshest fish in an eclectic collection of hot and cold dishes.The amazing food and exciting ambience creates memories forever. Get Hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ice Skating Rink

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 949-4321

Website:
http://www.hookedbc.com/

Parking Details:
Beaver Creek offers 2 parking lots that are within walking distance from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)

Executive Chef:
Riley Romanin

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hooked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Beaver Creek ›

Fit for Foodies (18)
Special Occasion (11)
Hot Spot (10)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good time as always when in town. Greg ( ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Good time as always when in town. Greg (chef) rocked it like he always does!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The special ceviche appetizer with 3 lar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The special ceviche appetizer with 3 large prawns was great but mysteriously wasn't on the regular menu even though it was featured on the cover of a local food magazine. Sushi rolls were over -powered by a thick layer of spicy sauces, making them gooey and unappealing. Broccolini au gratin had a tasteless tomato sauce--not au gratin. Wine flights comprised of Portuguese whites sounded interesting but none of the six we had was outstanding and several were below average. Decor was very simple--like eating in a warehouse or storeroom. Very pricey--we left feeling like we were taken advantage of by a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Fantastic seafood!!! Best in the Valley ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic seafood!!! Best in the Valley, bar none! Very small dining area, so be sure to have a reservation. They do whole fish, where they will do half of the fish cooked and the other half raw. Really amazing presentations. Huge sushi list, 3 kinds of edamame, etc..... You can't go wrong here if you enjoy fresh seafood. Wine list is also very accommodating as is the sommelier. Go and enjoy!!!!! Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Third time I've ordered the scallops pre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Third time I've ordered the scallops prepared "Beachfront." I love the charred/grilled lemon slice on top of each scallop. I take a bite of that with each bite of scallop - happiness in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was above average and service was s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was above average and service was slightly above average. Every server but ours specifically seemed exceptional but it seemed they may have been new.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Unique venue with options for sushi, who ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Unique venue with options for sushi, whole fish prepared 1-8 ways (depending on group size), or regular seafood options. One of the best for seafood lovers. Staff and Chefs extremely accommodating to allergies and food preferences. If you like to be "surprised", they will bring you their best suggestions for preparation which can be fun if you are adventurous.

Great location to Vilar, ice skating rink and overall to be "in" the village.

Very intimate: seats 40 tops, so reservations a must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, menu was confusing as the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was good, menu was confusing as they are doing the whole fish different from what the menu said!

Found it to be very expensive

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had 630 reservation because we had sh ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had 630 reservation because we had show to see at 8. Assured we would be ok when we arrived at 620 entire table wasn't ready. 45 mins after our reservation we got our drink order. Food was expensive and we had 12 mins to finish meal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The whole-fish concept was great but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The whole-fish concept was great but the pricing wasn't made clear up front, so ask first. It's pricey but excellent preparation and tastes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Bbq spare ribs were phenomenal. Had to ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bbq spare ribs were phenomenal. Had to order seconds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat at a table for two with a padded ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We sat at a table for two with a padded bench with pillows. Sorry to say, it smelled musty on that bench. Probably would have been better seated at a table away from the cloth padding.

Service was good. We really enjoyed the New England clam chowder (tasty, thin broth, very nice and New England....not floury as some are.) We chose to have salmon rather than the flown-in daily fresh fish so I don't know the cost for the whole fish. They recommend making half the fish cooked and the other half raw (as in sushi.) Since we didn't want it, I never asked the price.

EVERYTHING was a la carte including bread ($8). Wine was a very small pour. Sides for the fish, all individual. The salmon was cooked properly, however, my blackened fish was very bland.

Overall, we weren't impressed and wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent food and service... just the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and service... just the right meal before the Vail Dance Festival performance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I visit Hooked every summer when I'm in ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I visit Hooked every summer when I'm in the Valley. One of my all time favorite fish restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sushi is amazing

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sushi is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish is excellent but menu is way too co ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fish is excellent but menu is way too complicated - it shouldn't take 15 minutes to explain it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Though highly rated, could not understan ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Though highly rated, could not understand the food order system, and hence did not get the meal we anticipated. Overpriced for the total event, while elements of the dinner were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I must say this is one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I must say this is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. They have this down to a literal science and the food tastes AMAZING!! My only complaint is that we've been here at least 30 times since they've opened and NO ONE CAN REMEMBER US. We've brought probably over 100 people total with different friends and family when they are in town as this is a must eat. But when I have only been to another great sushi restaurant in Breck once and our server can remember where we sat the last time we were in. It doesn't speak well towards the staff. I like them, but it would seem that they couldn't care less about you. Don't get me wrong we go for the food, but it seems like they could work on this at least a little. Otherwise they are very friendly and I would still highly recommend this place as a MUST EAT!! ESPECIALLY FOR FOODIES!! Sit at the bar because the chefs are awesome. Greg is the best sushi chef I have ever come across hands down. He really loves his work and it shows. Great cocktails here as well. You really can't go wrong here, but be playful as some of their items may not be your average sushi rolls or apps, but they are the best part and best tasting items on the menu. If you're in the mood for a devilish desert after consuming your weight in sushi order the sweet potato fries with a BOWL of the mascarpone. Excellent finisher to a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Way too expensive for what we ate. Won' ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way too expensive for what we ate. Won't return. We did have a good waiter...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Food is excellent.....but extremely over ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is excellent.....but extremely over priced for the ambiance offered. If your a foodie, it's great. I just like the whole package.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

We arrived to find the restaurant half e ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We arrived to find the restaurant half empty . Mike our waiter took our drink order and when we asked about specials said he'd send Tapee over to explain. Tapee arrived carrying a tray filled with "fresh" fish. He explained our options and when we baulked at his suggestions he very persuasively insisted that the chef would create a special preparation using the fish we selected. He would fillet half the fish and prepare it sashimi style and use another portion for a special roll. The remainder would be fried and prepared in a spicy preparation to our liking. We also, at his suggestion, ordered the calamari which he promised was crispy and lightly battered . We accepted his recommendations with the caveat that we wanted time to enjoy our drinks and a request not to rush the food. Despite his assurances moments later we were looking down at soggy calamari which looked like it just came out of a microwave. Unfortunately, it didn't get much better thereafter. The sashimi was bland (as we anticipated - Bronzino apparently doesn't lend itself to sashimi - you rarely see it on a sashimi menu). The roll showed no sign of having any Bronzino in it and was otherwise bland. Hooked , unfortunately is one of a few restaurants in the Vail valley specializing in fish and clearly missed the marked this evening leaving us to feel we'd been "hooked."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was amazing... Fresh seafood at its ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was amazing... Fresh seafood at its finest! Service was decent. Just not a very comfortable restaurant to sit in. We were sitting at a small table right as you walk in... There was a large booth/table directly next to us and at a higher level... Felt like we were looking at their feet and butts the whole time. But the FOOD is incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

I love fish and sushi, so along with Hoo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love fish and sushi, so along with Hook's unique menu and serving style, it was a dinner to remember. Definitely order the whole fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great plaice for fish, pardon the pun. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great plaice for fish, pardon the pun. Party of 4 for a family reunion. Enjoyed the evening the whole table had fillet fish and each had it cooked to their own preference. The waitress explained everything very well as this was our first experience. We spadix the have to wait too long for the meals to arrive and all had clean plates. It is great to find a fish restaurant in a land locked area. The dining experience is very casual but with a vested interested I it quality fish.

We would return again and try a different type of cooking method just for the fun of it. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Possibly the BEST seafood I have had in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Possibly the BEST seafood I have had in my life! We've even eaten at one of the top 10 seafood restaurants in the U.S. The suggestions for selections and the preparation was fantastic! We WILL visit there, again, before we leave the Beaver Creek, Colorado area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we walked through the pa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the moment we walked through the patio dining area into the restaurant we felt welcome. Every employee greeted us with a smile.

The food was prompt and delicious.

Wish we had more time to spend at hooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most special meals ever. Or ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the most special meals ever. Order the whole fish and let the chef choose the sauces and extras. Very pricey but a truly unique and special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food. Always a great experien ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food. Always a great experience. Best dining event for a group we have had in Beaver Creek. Chef knows his craft.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hooked offers an incredible menu in a re ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hooked offers an incredible menu in a relaxed and cool setting. The CRIMPSTER is amazing, as was everything we ordered. A must when you're in Beaver Creek!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our dishes were thoroughly delici ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

All of our dishes were thoroughly delicious and thoughtfully prepared, these included a whole lobster, sweet-potato fries, my fish filet prepared Szechuan style, rice, and brussel sprouts, as well as a ceviche appetizer served with tortilla chips.

A few minor quibbles:

1) My fish arrived several minutes after my fish and my wife's lobster - and I really did want to have the rice with the fish!

2) There was an intermittantly screaming toddler in the restaurant throughout our dinner (I realize this is a challenging issue for restaurant staff.)

3) Are the TV's on the wall really necessary? Seems sort of down-market ambiance for a rather pricey restuarant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

good food, cramped quarters, a little pr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

good food, cramped quarters, a little pricey but good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved this place and our server, Ann, ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We loved this place and our server, Ann, was extremely personable and shared her extensive knowledge of the menu and even gave us tips on the local area. They have cocktails made with local spirits, some local beers, and a decent wine list but the variety of choices on the menu whether you want seafood or meat are extensive and fun. We had a couple of Colorado Mules which are made with local vodka and a dollop of ginger foam. Magnificent! I would recommend picking a fresh whole fish, which they brought out three choices for us to choose from by the way, and have the chef prepare it Omikase style. We chose a Loup de Mer and in addition to sashimi style we had some with an out of this world ponzu sauce and then some nigiri style and two different sushi rolls that were dynamite! I have to say the best was the cooked part which he did partially Mediterranean style baked with fresh lemons, olive oil, and sea salt with the skin on and the texture was marvelous. We also had some sautéed with a lemon Beurre Blanc sauce that was very good as well. I will definitely come back here as we had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Portions for the price are very small.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Pay more for the experience of cooking the whole fish and picking the way its cooked than the actual food you get. Portions are very small. Hooked for locals and neighbors is better for happy hour. Happy hour is legit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Unique Sushi/Seafood

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I never miss this restaurant when I am in Beaver Creek! Definitely try the whole fish and allow the chef to choose the preparations (do half raw and half cooked). The fish is fantastic and prepared in ways I would have never thought to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible. Have to try the who ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was incredible. Have to try the whole fish and let the chef be creative with the preparation. Half cooked and half raw, delicious and worth the price. Awesome dining experience. We are going back again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible concept. Get the whole fish ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Incredible concept. Get the whole fish what a treat. Kitchy Fun and our fave in Beaver Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Really special-- enjoyed the whole fish ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Really special-- enjoyed the whole fish two ways and the kids were happy to order sushi and fish and chips. Very small place so had to go a bit early to get in. It was worth it! Great service and delicious food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow, can I just say wow!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

So on our last evening in Beaver Creek had a reservation for me, my wife and our two sons 10 and 12, to dine at Hooked. From the beginning to the end, the meal was just amazing.

We took the suggestion to pick out a fish and have it both partly cooked as well as partly prepared as sushi/sashimi and other appetizers (ceviche). My younger son who absolutely loves seafood rated it a 10, and my wife and I concurred. Our older son who is a bit more finicky gave it a high score as well, which is amazing since usually he is even a more picky eater.

Everything about the evening was an absolute delight. To say it, the fish we chose, let alone the preparation, was fantastic - the fish was called Shimaaji or striped horsemackerel. It was just delicious and the boys, my wife and I fought for every bite.

We live in NYC and have excellent restaurant choices, but for fish we would rate this equivalent to some of the top places we have had the opportunity to dine.

Well done Hooked, we can't wait to return not just for the skiing, but also to dine again at your wonderful establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of the best in the valley

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Really good sushi, and also their whole fish preparations are amazing. Not cheap, but this kind of quality should not be. The decor is rustic, and it can be kind of loud, particularly at or near happy hour. If you want a quiet dinner, maybe go later. The food is fantastic though- we repeat this restaurant fairly often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a great value

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The salmon filet was wonderful and the mushroom side was yummy. Three scallops doesn't really make an entree although they were cooked very nicely. The broccoli gratin side wasn't great. The broccoli was tough and the gratin fell off. Bread pudding needed sauce as it was hard. Taste of it was good but it was hard to cut. Overall the meal was very pricey for what we got. Better values else where. Fun spot and probably would go back for the salmon but otherwise would not.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

we were disappointed with our visit to Hooked...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Our last trip to Hooked, we were intrigued with their approach to ordering a whole fish, cooked or prepared several different ways. Although the selection is wide and the fish looks very fresh, the prices are not only 'unannounced' but exorbitant. It's a clever 'Hook' they have with a 'fish-specialist' displaying and suggesting the type and size a fish for your party, without mentioning what each little fishy costs! I mean, $50+/pound? ... seriously?

We were NOT informed that this was going to the price of our selected fish until our waiter came back around and asked if we knew that was what we ordered. Stop the presses - we cancelled and settled for some shrimp and appetizers- and walked out paying $120.

Wont be back unless it's for a couple of sushi rolls

The other point of contention - if you're a smaller table (2 ppl) you are seated in what feels like a 'walkway' - either right by the door or right by the bus-station. Seriously BAD seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.