About Hooked

Hooked is an American Seafood House serving the freshest fish in an eclectic collection of hot and cold dishes.The amazing food and exciting ambience creates memories forever. Get Hooked!

122 The Plaza
Beaver Creek, CO 81620
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ice Skating Rink

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 949-4321

Website:
http://www.hookedbc.com/

Parking Details:
Beaver Creek offers 2 parking lots that are within walking distance from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)

Executive Chef:
Riley Romanin

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hooked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Romantic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was good but food was mediocre. Side vegetables were horrible and the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food with a creative menu - the fish is incredibly fresh and you can choose from 16 different preparations and spices. They also can serve the same fish half cooked/half sushi style. The sushi looked great, but everyone in our party had the fish which was amazing! This is a Beaver Creek gem. Small, so definitely make reservations ahead of time.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great concept but very over priced, when our main course of fish came there was hardly any fish, not worth 96 dollars for pound and a half whole fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service and food. Loved the preparation of the whole Amberjack. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This restaurant is a meal and entertainment in one. Because of the way they do their fish, it is a fascinating meal that flows for a relaxed eventful dining experience. It is so fun to have the fish you chose appear in multiple delectable presentations. The fishmonger will help you select the right size fish for your table after explaining each of their daily offerings and will suggest ways of preparation that enhance the flavor of that particular fish. First comes the cold course of sushi, sashimi, etc. made from half of your fish. Next comes the cooked portion with the intact second half of your fish, presented in an artistic, easily served way. Mmmm! They have a well stocked bar, the sides are very tasty and compliment the fish, and they have wonderful items of locally grown produce. We have not tasted the dessert because there just isn't room. We recommend that you "experience" Hook when in Beaver Creek.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a reservation but they had trouble finding it. We were asked 4X by 3 different people. This should have been a clue. The salads were delicious and they were the highlight. The three scallops (entree) mediocre and over priced for the portion. We asked the owner about wines and he pours us a $24.00 glass of wine when the menu prices range around $13.00-$15.00. If you want an average meal and bait and switch, try HOOKED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This was one of the most unique meals I have had in years. Highly recommend the whole fish experience. You pick a fish from the days selection. Fish is super fresh. Half of it is cooked with several choices of preparation and half is served raw, sushi and sashimi style. We left the preparation to the chefs. All the preparations were outstanding. So fun and so delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went here for my 60 th birthday and couldn't have been happier! Great and unique food and wonderful service! Will be a great memory!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We heard a lot about this restaurant and decided to try it. Unfortunately, all the hype was exactly that, nothing but hype. Its sushi was mediocre at best. The clam chowder was by far the most watery I ever had with very few clams and mostly undercooked potatoes. Similarly, the miso soup was watery and lacked flavor. My daughter had the shrimp scampi which again was subpar and probably some of the worst shrimp scampi we have ever had. As it relates to Service, we ordered some sourdough bread and the waiter came back to tell us that the kitchen was out of it. Some other waiter brought some sourdough bread to only find out that it was not for us. Our waiter came and literally yanked the bread basket out of my daughter's hands. The only good dish was the Korean barbecue ribs. All I can say is, buyer beware!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My 4th time to Hooked, with a party of 6. We bought a 7 lbs bonito. The raw preps were great. The flavors were good for the 5 cooked versions but the fish was way over cooked. It was gray, dry and sort of tough. For $60/lb, this was a big disappointment. Maybe just our bad luck tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beyond scrumptious every time!!! My favorite date night dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Nice place with a lot of seafood options but with all the choices I would expect the waitstaff to be more knowledgeable and forthcoming with suggestions and information when asked questions. Also, I'd recommend getting something other than the scallops for an entree....3 scallops for $22 dollars is a little rediculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

OpenTable didn't allow a 6 pm res, so I took 5:30. When we arrived we were totally alone. NO ONE else was there or came in during the next hour after we arrived. We left at 6:30. We were totally alone the entire time. This has happened at this same restaurant before. OT wouldn't allow booking at desired time, so I took earlier time, and when we left, half the tables were still empty. The waitress told us that they were NOT fully booked at 6, 6:30, 7, or 7:30, and if I had called I could have had any time I wanted. OT is costing Hooked money! Service was, of course, super fast and friendly. Food and beverages pricey, but very good. We will go back, but we will CALL for reservations next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Increíble. El concepto, la comida, el lugar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at Hooked a number of times. This last visit we decided to have a few appetizers and sushi rolls. All the apps were good but the Rolls, although tasty, fell apart and were impossible to eat without a knife and fork. I will definitely eat there again but may pass on this particular dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We are part time Avon residents who usually love to eat at Hooked. Sadly, the on our recent visit the service was horrible. We enjoy a relaxed meal but our meal for 4 ppl (on a night that saw the restaurants tables barely filled) took OVER 3 and 1/2 hours!!!!! REALLY. We asked the manager and all he said was one of the sushi cook had broken his leg. I am sorry for the injury (I'm not an uncaring person) but there was no apology no "would you like a drink/dessert on the house". Nothing. Hooked you have great food but don't get too sure of yourself - there are many new restaurants in the mountains.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Note: open table links this restaurant to Google maps however the address posted is not the actual address
Nowhere did it state that Hooked was in the middle of a shopping plaza
The staff was not helpful when it came to explaining an unusual menu.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Overpriced.fish restaurant with farm raisedfish?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hooked is my favorite restaurant anywhere! The shrimp nachos are amazing, and the Hooked Roll is the single best roll. You could spoon the maple butter served with the sweet potato fries and eat it by itself....love the vibe, and the whole fish presentation is something to experience.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really good food and service. Loved the Fish Monger. Gave great recommendations....my only issue was that even though I ordered off the "Large Plate"(Cioppino), I still left there hungry.
My kids loved the sushi and my wife loved the scallops.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great experience! Helpful, friendly people! Awesome food! Order an entire fish and then just sit back and enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We ate at Hooked the night before they were closing for a month break. They were out of items and seemed a bit disorganized. The food was fine, but not stellar, for the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best restaurant in Beaver Creek. Fresh fish. Great preparation. Get the Korean short ribs. And the signature prep of fish is the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great meal, fishmonger very knowledgeable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

They were so accommodating of our allergies and having a 2.5 year old granddaughter with us. The sushi choices seemed limited because of our allergies but the waiter/kitchen made excellent modifications. Just wish it had been the first meal we ate in Beaver Creek as I would have been back a couple of times before we left the resort.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

So the food, sushi, was outstanding. The fish was fresh and the roll ideas they had were unique. We even tried their "Hooked Tacos" as an appetizer. They were quite good.

The waiter we had was okay. He wasn't ignoring us but we needed things a couple of times and we couldn't even catch his eye. When I asked for additional things, the waiter would say yes but tone of voice and body language communicated that we were putting him out. If it weren't for the food and the manager (talk about him next), I would have left after the appetizer.

Now, where we were seated, I could not see the list of the "beers on tap" well. I had to really move around to see it. The manager (I believe his name was Ethan) came to my rescue. He acknowledged that he understood the problem and patiently explained the beer list to me. He even brought my beer and alcohol order out right away after I ordered (he personally did this). I was impressed with him and his ability to grasp good customer service.

Over all good. A nice date night in the Beaver Creek Village.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hooked is a pretty epic experience - if you go with more than 2 people:) While the regular menu is just lovely - what you REALLY want to do is have them make you a whole fish. Which they don't even offer to tables of two (you could get it if you wanted, but at $250 for our fish without anything else it's not really a smart value).

That said - if you have 4 or more people - by all means get the whole fish! This isn't like any other whole fish you've had before ... you don't have to have it all cooked one way. In fact, they suggest doing about 1/2 the fish sushi style - which in our case resulted in 5 different delicious variations that were raw and then the other 1/2 of the fish they cooked for us - but even that had three different delectable preparations, ensuring we never got bored of the tasty jack!

Each preparation was a bit more unique than the last with faves such as the cucumber and apple wrapped in sashimi and the chimichurri crusted cooked jack.

Cocktails are good and sake options are plentiful. Expect to spend at least $80-100 per person even if you don't get apps and desserts ... more if you go all out.

Have fun and let the kitchen surprise you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic fresh fish! A very small restaurant so it gets noisy quickly and spaces tend to encroach each other. The kitchen is small so service is small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

FUN AND GREAT FOOD, ONE OF THE BEST DINNING EXPERIENCES IN THE AREA.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food and menu.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great restaurant! Service was exceptional. Highly recommend picking your fish and letting the chefs prepare for you. Very pleasantly surprised at the creativity and deliciousness of the preparations

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Phenomenal! The whole fish is a fun experience. Super fresh!

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We make a point to eat here every time we come out to the Vail Valley. Even when we are staying in Snowmass to ski, we make a point to stop on the way for a meal at Hooked. The food is fantastic. The fish is incredible and is prepared in multiple fabulous ways. We have a hard time deciding how to have them prepare the fish. The fish is flown overnight from a Japan fish market. Our kids oder the fish and chips, which is also spectacular. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. The fish is not inexpensive, but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Old reliable restaurant which never disappoints. Most memorable seafood restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The seafood is very fresh, the preparations are extraordinary but not so fancy you cant eat them. Service is a bit slow but knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Restaurant has high and low tables. I did not know you have to reserve a low table. Having babies at a high table is really a problem. I booked months in advance and really would have enjoyed the experience more if I had been told this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved the place. Very interesting mix of food, but definitely an Asian influence. The rolls were great, dinner was great, just nothing really to complain about. Fairly tight and a bit noisy in the dining room, but service was still prompt and attentive. Have quite the sake list if it is your thing. Also, have quite the fish selection and they prepare it at least 16 different ways, depending on your liking (and of course some types of seafood seem to match some of the preparations better).

Try some of the specialty sushi rolls!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Exceptional service combined with unique preparation and presentation of the meal ordered. A must when visiting Beaver Creek. The sommelier was also excellent and helpful!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazing fish cooked perfectly in multiple different ways in a cool casual atmosphere. Service was outstanding!! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

What a unique place to dine in Beaver Creek! The sushi is amazing and the menu extensive. The whole fish selection each eavening adds to the uniqueness....and you can get them prepared in many ways. I had the Cioppino.... best ever. A must go to place.
Place p

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.