About Hooked

122 The Plaza
Beaver Creek, CO 81620
View Larger Map

Hooked is an American Seafood House serving the freshest fish in an eclectic collection of hot and cold dishes.The amazing food and exciting ambience creates memories forever. Get Hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ice Skating Rink

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 949-4321

Website:
http://www.hookedbc.com/

Parking Details:
Beaver Creek offers 2 parking lots that are within walking distance from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)

Executive Chef:
Riley Romanin

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hooked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Beaver Creek ›

fit for foodies (32)
hot spot (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
See All
special occasion (11)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (8)
notable wine list (5)
great for lunch (5)
romantic (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Portions for the price are very small.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Pay more for the experience of cooking the whole fish and picking the way its cooked than the actual food you get. Portions are very small. Hooked for locals and neighbors is better for happy hour. Happy hour is legit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique Sushi/Seafood

Dined on March 30, 2016

I never miss this restaurant when I am in Beaver Creek! Definitely try the whole fish and allow the chef to choose the preparations (do half raw and half cooked). The fish is fantastic and prepared in ways I would have never thought to order.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. Have to try the who ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was incredible. Have to try the whole fish and let the chef be creative with the preparation. Half cooked and half raw, delicious and worth the price. Awesome dining experience. We are going back again tonight!

food4
ambience3
service4

Incredible concept. Get the whole fish ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Incredible concept. Get the whole fish what a treat. Kitchy Fun and our fave in Beaver Creek.

food5
ambience4
service5

Really special-- enjoyed the whole fish ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Really special-- enjoyed the whole fish two ways and the kids were happy to order sushi and fish and chips. Very small place so had to go a bit early to get in. It was worth it! Great service and delicious food. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow, can I just say wow!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

So on our last evening in Beaver Creek had a reservation for me, my wife and our two sons 10 and 12, to dine at Hooked. From the beginning to the end, the meal was just amazing. We took the suggestion to pick out a fish and have it both partly cooked as well as partly prepared as sushi/sashimi and other appetizers (ceviche). My younger son who absolutely loves seafood rated it a 10, and my wife and I concurred. Our older son who is a bit more finicky gave it a high score as well, which is amazing since usually he is even a more picky eater. Everything about the evening was an absolute delight. To say it, the fish we chose, let alone the preparation, was fantastic - the fish was called Shimaaji or striped horsemackerel. It was just delicious and the boys, my wife and I fought for every bite. We live in NYC and have excellent restaurant choices, but for fish we would rate this equivalent to some of the top places we have had the opportunity to dine. Well done Hooked, we can't wait to return not just for the skiing, but also to dine again at your wonderful establishment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

one of the best in the valley

Dined on March 24, 2016

Really good sushi, and also their whole fish preparations are amazing. Not cheap, but this kind of quality should not be. The decor is rustic, and it can be kind of loud, particularly at or near happy hour. If you want a quiet dinner, maybe go later. The food is fantastic though- we repeat this restaurant fairly often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Not a great value

Dined on March 21, 2016

The salmon filet was wonderful and the mushroom side was yummy. Three scallops doesn't really make an entree although they were cooked very nicely. The broccoli gratin side wasn't great. The broccoli was tough and the gratin fell off. Bread pudding needed sauce as it was hard. Taste of it was good but it was hard to cut. Overall the meal was very pricey for what we got. Better values else where. Fun spot and probably would go back for the salmon but otherwise would not.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

we were disappointed with our visit to Hooked...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Our last trip to Hooked, we were intrigued with their approach to ordering a whole fish, cooked or prepared several different ways. Although the selection is wide and the fish looks very fresh, the prices are not only 'unannounced' but exorbitant. It's a clever 'Hook' they have with a 'fish-specialist' displaying and suggesting the type and size a fish for your party, without mentioning what each little fishy costs! I mean, $50+/pound? ... seriously? We were NOT informed that this was going to the price of our selected fish until our waiter came back around and asked if we knew that was what we ordered. Stop the presses - we cancelled and settled for some shrimp and appetizers- and walked out paying $120. Wont be back unless it's for a couple of sushi rolls The other point of contention - if you're a smaller table (2 ppl) you are seated in what feels like a 'walkway' - either right by the door or right by the bus-station. Seriously BAD seating!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh Seafood

Dined on March 12, 2016

Neat atmosphere! Very small so reservations recommended. The menu has so many choices from grilled fish, tempura shrimp, classic fish and chips, to sushi. All fresh and really really good. The service was great and would definitely recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Creative and well done, but too much

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

We dined at Hook for a second time on our visit to Beaver Creek. The fish is excellent, and the preparations are very creative. The whole fish is wonderful, but they push too large of a fish on you. This runs up the price and it is simply way too much food. Do the whole fish, but discount the recommended size by about a third.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the most amazing meals we've ever had!

Dined on March 7, 2016

We chose Hooked while on a ski weekend in Beaver Creek because, as New England transplants to Colorado, we love seafood and the menu looked interesting, so we thought we'd give it a try. They only had an early (5:15pm) reservation, the apres-ski crowd still filled the patio when we arrived & there are only about 10 tables, plus some bar seating in this kind of hole-in-the-wall type spot - don't let that deter you. The wait staff was great - one explained how menu works (a little confusing with so many prep options), one took drink order, one brought out fish and gave detailed description & when we asked follow-up questions, he mentioned he had a baby yellowtail in the back so we made all the prep decisions (you buy the fish and then get 1/2 prepared cooked and 1/2 prepared raw), but then the original waiter came back out to tell us the yellowtail was "a premium fish" and would be $200. Don't get me wrong, we're used to spending a few hundred $$$ on a good meal (usually with a cocktail for each of the two of us plus a bottle of wine), but were somewhat surprised as the menu said $85up ($200 seemed like a big jump). It sounded so fantastic, so we decided to go for it, though I was a bit apprehensive. We enoyed a VERY strong mai tai (delicious though, with a bit of pineapple cream and a brandied cherry) while we watched the sushi chef create each item (they show on a large screen at the front of the bar). WOW - NO disappointment - MOST amazing fish ever! We had the raw half prepared in ceviche (with avocado, onion, cilantro and fresh lime juice), just as sushi (with a sesame/soy/onion topping), and in a roll with a bit of rice topped with macadmia nuts and onion - the fish was SO fresh - each bite and item was better than the last. The other half of the fish was kept on the bone (with head and tail intact) and prepared chef's choice and a seared rare - we just pulled the chunks off the bone. The entire experience and meal were well worth the price - we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service2

We had the whole fish, an amazing experi ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had the whole fish, an amazing experience! Half of the fish is filleted for raw preparations and half is scored and cooked with three different rubs. Our favorite was blackened! A unique and very fun way to eat fish. Our only disappointment was the hostess. She sat a group who came in after us ahead of us because one of the group members was her friend, even though our party included a starving 8 year old and one member who needed to leave in under an hour.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Hooked on Hooked

Dined on March 3, 2016

Lets start with the good . . . Hooked is conveniently located in Beaver Creek Village . . . an easy walk or bus ride for anyone staying in Beaver Creek. It was a very cool experience. I would recommend ordering a whole fish and having it prepared multiple ways. The MiSO preparation was a favorite of both my wife and I. We had the fish prepared 3 ways and I don't have anything negative to say about any of the preparations. The service was very good and the host and wait staff were very attentive. Now on to the neutral feedback and constructive criticisms. The restaurant itself was small and seating is "tight" as there were some tables elevated and hovering just above a couple tables for two. In the table we had, it felt like other guests were sitting on top of us (literally). Because of the closeness of some of the tables and the elevation, there was one gentleman who refused to take the table he was assigned as he told the wait staff it was "way too close" to other diners (and it was). The white rice side dish was very bland. Will not be ordering that again. And, here's the biggest surprise . . . the bill was not even close to what I expected. We ordered a small whole fish. I asked the waiter what type of fish would he recommend. I don't recall what it was but we went with his recommendation for a light, flaky textured fish. When we got the bill, it was double the price on the menu. Apparently the fish he recommended was considered "Market Priced", not menu priced. That little fact was never shared with us, nor communicated to us during our dining experience. Be careful and inquire about the price of the fish before you order (regardless of what it says on the menu). Ultimately, however, I would go back as both my wife and I enjoyed the fish preparations and now we know that prices are not what they appear to be so we will need to inquire before finalize our order.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique Delicious Dining Experience

Dined on March 3, 2016

Hidden Gem in Beaver Creek. Fishmonger flys in unique fish each day for the freshest selection. We chose a fish and the cooks prepared as they saw fit. They served us raw sashimi, sushi rolls, ceviche and 4 different cooked options -- it was amazing! Drinks were good too ;)

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hooked on Hooked

Dined on March 1, 2016

The menu here is so unique! This was our third time dining here. They have the most awesome selection of Moscow Mule cocktails. Allow the waitress to guide you in the ordering. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great server Lauren!

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Great server Lauren!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sushi and Sashimi

Dined on February 27, 2016

Everyone told us that we should get the whole fish, but we ended up ordering a bunch of raw food. Sushi and Sashimi was fantastic. Highly recomended. They havea somolier with great wine choices. For what you eat and drink and condisering you are in the heart of Beaver Creek Village, the price was very fair and worth every penny. Owner made an effort to come to the table and ask our satisfaction.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Seafood!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We always eat at Hooked when we go to Beaver Creek. We particularly like the whole fish option and eat it down to the bone. Our most recent experience was not satisfying not because of the food, good as always, but because the server was rushing us. We spent a boatload of money on dinner and were entitled to enjoy it. We were there less than 2 hours, not an unreasonable amount of time.

food2
ambience2
service2

We were a party of three. It was a littl ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We were a party of three. It was a little confusing on ordering. The staff kept telling us leave it to them, has we were telling them what we liked and didn't like. It was not what we wanted. Are total bill was $390.00. They could not get us out fast enough. Taking everything off the table, but the glasses in our hand and we still had a full bottle of wine. We were at our table for a little over an hour. Not a great dining experience. Will not be going back.

food2
ambience2
service3

Overpriced....way overpriced.

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Overpriced....way overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First-rate fresh seafood

Dined on February 18, 2016

Definitely worth a visit to your table by the restaurant's fish monger to display and explain the fresh fish.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unique

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Our food was very good. Our service was strong as well. The drinks were weak. But, we'll go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Ordered the whole fish. Deferred to chef ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Ordered the whole fish. Deferred to chef's choice re: preparation which consisted of raw and cooked portions. Raw preparation was pretty good. The fish however was over cooked, dry and bland. Very disappointing considering the $165 price tag for the fish alone. The sushi was underwhelming and the rice itself was subpar - my mother is Japanese, I grew up eating sushi/Japanese rice and the rice at Hooked was inedible.

food5
ambience5
service5

We live in Dallas,TX and have eaten at m ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We live in Dallas,TX and have eaten at many fine restaurants. Our experience at Hooked was one of the BEST dining experiences we have ever had. We only wish they had something similar in Dallas.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Better than Nobu

Dined on February 6, 2016

So creative, amazing fish selection, so fresh, delicious, great atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and experience.

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Not your average, over-priced, ski-village restaurant. Hooked stands apart. The food is unique, creative and most importantly DELICIOUS. As a local for over 5 years, it takes a lot to keep me coming back to high-end village restaurants and Hooked has me HOOKED! You will enjoy everything about this hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wishing we had more info befor we ordered

Dined on February 3, 2016

My husband and I were a little confused by the menu and our server gave us no instructions. After we had ordered, the table next to us- a group of 7- was given an extensive visual explanation of the possibilities available on the menu. We felt cheated. While my entree was very good, my husband was grossly disappointed with his selection. Thought the menu was overpriced for what we received, the noise level was highand would not go back. That being said, it seemed like a very popular place.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Heard good things about the restaurant s ...

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Heard good things about the restaurant so we gave it two tries, but we were disappointed both times. Good but not great, and overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place in Beaver Creek

Dined on February 1, 2016

The food was excellent, the fish monger comes to the table and explains all of the different fish they have fresh that day. You then choose both hot preparations as well as sushi choices. They then take the fish and filet half of it for sushi and prepare the other side hot. It is served on a platter with the head and tail and is a really fancy presentation. The sushi is also delivered on a separate platter. My wife and I truly enjoyed it.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't get "Hooked." A waste of poor fish.

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

A disappointing experiment to say the least. While the prices are high-brow as one expects in Beaver Creek village, the execution of the food left a great deal to be desired and was better suited to a sushi restaurant in a strip mall. If you know good sushi, you should definitely ski right past. The illusion of choice leads the day where they "wow" you with a whole fish preparation and promise to provide it to you in "multiple preparations" The chef lacks a deft hand though and what you'll get is the same thing that everyone else gets. The edamame came out spicy as requested, but was covered in some terrible BBQ rub that stuck to the beans in a fashion far less than uniform. They also did not salt the pods prior to service and no oil or other mixing device was used to keep the flavor powder from clumping all over the dish. To the waitress's credit, she quickly replaced it with plain pods that were well salted and decently steamed although a little under cooked. Two raw preparations that are pre-made and the same for every fish. The sashimi prep was heavy handed involving way too many flavors in one dish that showed a complete lack of skill. Too much onion led the way on one dish and the other preparation used Yuzu and instead of letting the fish and flavor stand alone, a heavy hand and too many ingredients again ruined the flavors of the dish. Then the theoretical 3rd and 4th preparations consisted of the other half of the fish being fried with two different sets of spices rubbed into the side of the fish. The disappointment came when I saw other tables get the exact same dishes while using different fish. Despite heavy promise and a great premise, Hooked does not have the technical skill to be a good restaurant. Their only saving grace is that they are a tourist trap in a destination town where people do not have to be exposed to their poor taste more than once.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excelle

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Small relaxed space with tv's. You can watch your food being prepared via tv. Pricey but it's food you cannot get anywhere else in the valley and is delicious! Staff is educated and delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We're hooked.

Dined on January 14, 2016

We were craving seafood. Not just the everyday sushi and sashimi that we're used to, but real fish. It's hard to come by in the mountains so we decided to accept the challenge and go out searching. Having been to hooked once before for sushi, I remembered seeing whole fish being presented on platters throughout the restaurant. We figured we'd give it a try! This was one of the more exciting and delicious dining experiences we've had in the Vail valley. The meal began with the chef coming out to our table with the "catches of the day." Four very different looking fish, which he proceeded to explain in great detail. We chose two to have the fish prepared "chef's choice." We also chose to start with the poke trio and shrimp nachos. The nachos were very tasty but nothing to write home about. The poke was delicious but desperately needed salt. Both were great starts to the meal. They used the whole fish to prepare a variety of raw and cooked specialties. Depending on the size, each fish can have between 2-8 preparation styles. The options seemed endless. Chef chose some sashimi preparations along with a roll and some cooked preparations as well. We were blown away when they flash fry the remainder of what's left on the fish to let you pick away any of the good "bits" you may want. The presentations we gorgeous and the food was tastier! My only major complaint about the food: the ceviche was terrible. It actually shocked us seeing as how everything else was to die for!!! The chefs decided on ceviche using both fish; we could hardly find the teenie tiny pieces in what appeared to be an avocado salad. There were huge chunks of avocado and a bit of onion and the "ceviche" was drown in olive oil, not lime. It was terrible. Since we had so much other outstanding food, we decided to not eat the ceviche and focus on the other amazing dishes. Overall, we will DEFINITELY be returning to hooked. Great bang for the buck. We can't wait for our next Hooked experience!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

fresh fish!

Dined on January 8, 2016

If you go the whole fish is the best! Choose a fresh fish then give the chef free range to prepare it as sushi, tempura, ceviche, miso flash fried etc. great for groups of 3-4 or more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1/2 raw + 1/2 cooked = Completely awesome!

Dined on January 4, 2016

Love the entire concept of having half a fish raw and the other half cooked (practically anyway you can dream it!). The fish is so fresh, unbelievably delicious and presented beautifully. My only suggestion would be... Please open a Hooked in NYC! On our most recent trip, we dined here two nights during our 6 night stay in Beaver Creek and loved our experience both times. Even our children were begging to go back. If you like fresh fish and imaginative cooking, you have just found your new favorite restaurant. And did I mention they have great cocktails too? A win all around!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Really great fish. Choose a whole fish a ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Really great fish. Choose a whole fish and have the chef prepare a variety of his recommended dishes. You will not be disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food if you can wait

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

I keep coming back to this restaurant despite getting frustrated with the service. The fresh fish options are amazing. However, be prepared to spend longer than necessary waiting for the food to show up.

Tags: child friendly, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

We ordered the Whole Fish! What's fun ex ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

We ordered the Whole Fish! What's fun experience.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A unique dining experience

Dined on December 26, 2015

We had the Honeymoon and Matrix sushi rolls which were amazing! Our family of 5 had a 6 lb Japanese Tai fish (which was plenty of fish) and we enjoyed all of the chef's preparations of our big fish. This was our 1st time at Hooked and it was a very unique dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our favorite dinner in Beaver C ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

This was our favorite dinner in Beaver Creek!! Loved the dining experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.