About Home Restaurant - Silver Lake

2500 Riverside Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90039
View Larger Map

Located on the eastern edge of Silver Lake in the space that used to house Rudolpho's, Home is an aptly named restaurant that specializes in homemade, down-home American comfort food. The restaurant features a full bar and a tree-lined outdoor patio, which is a tranquil oasis with its bubbling fountain and koi pond. The indoor bar's four large television screens are dedicated to round-the-clock sporting events. The decor is a melange of old-time photos, Dodgers posters and carhop culture, and the inside bar blends wood paneling with brick walls. Like its sister location in Los Feliz, Home is a "a kid and pet friendly" restaurant all day and night. Home also features Happy Hour Sunday through Friday from 3pm-8pm with All Night Happy Hour on Sundays and Mondays and a Late Night Happy Hour on Friday and Saturday nights from 9pm-midnight. Street parking and valet parking in an adjoining lot are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu 9 am - 10 pm
Fri 9 am - 11 pm
Sat 8 am - 11 pm
Sun 8 am - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Fletcher

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 665-0211

Website:
http://www.homerestaurantla.com/

Entertainment:
4 tv's
1 Big screen (projector)

Catering:
4 hours notice required
24 hours required for weekends
Buffet service available upon request

Parking Details:
Valet during the day $2.50
At night $3.50
Street parking also available

Public Transit:
96,603 - Fletcher/Riverside
Riverside/Fletcher

92,96 - Glendale/Fletcher
Glendale/Farwell

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private and semi-private dining for small and large groups, our menu can be customize for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Fabian Moncada: 3236650211x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Home Restaurant - Silver Lake Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Hollywood
Outdoor Dining
Hollywood
American
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Silver Lake ›

great for outdoor dining (34)
great for brunch (33)
good for groups (26)
See All
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (24)
kid-friendly (23)
fit for foodies (16)
hot spot (8)
special occasion (7)
romantic (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Thoroughly Mediocre

Dined on May 21, 2016

I would only come here if there were nowhere else to go. The food is just awful - the breakfast burrito is bland, the vegetables in my friend's dish were virtually raw when they had been described as "grilled", and the waiter was unwilling to assist with my allergy restrictions. Don't waste your money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try!! So so good. Friendly service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Must try!! So so good. Friendly service and great happy hour. Fantastic for Dodger fans as it is right near the stadium.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

You can go wrong with thier breakfast me ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

You can go wrong with thier breakfast menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's becoming a weekly thing

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We love the food, specialty drinks, spacious booths and chill outdoor vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Better luck if there is another time. Go ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Better luck if there is another time. Got early reservations in the morning for an early breakfast. Arrived at the restaurant at 8am. First time there so was unfamiliar with the entrance. Ordered the chicken and waffles and French toast. We were the first order placed in the kitchen. The waffles came out cold, so cold the butter couldn't melt on the waffle. The French toast was a tad warm. Heard great things about this place. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Home feels like home . . .

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food at Home is really great. This is a little gem of a restaurant that isn't overly crowded but offers a great list of delicious cocktails. The dishes range across the board from super healthy to absolutely indulgent, but all of them are very well done. I love the multigrain salad - I've had it with no protein, with chicken and with tuna - all are great. The ceviche tacos which are seasonal are excellent. The chicken piccata is excellent. The scene is super casual and yet also very hip. I only wish I lived closer - love this spot.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Patio ok to sit W/O KIDS who run wild rest GOOD.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The food and service was great as usual. While there, a family with 2 children allowed to run wild and very disturbing to several customers in the patio. When someone at the next table complained the father challenged them while the mother sat idle on her cell phone. He said that was OK because that is why they called it HOME. The other kids behaved as kids do. I had been there several times in the patio with friends who brought their small children never saw kids allowed to act this way. This family obviously didn't have boundaries with adults or children and treated your restaurant like a playground. If I go back, I'll go after bed time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the comfort food, vibe and drinks

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

GREAT specialty cocktails, salads, pasta and appetizers. Our 6 year old LOVES it. Excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great vibe for a Friday night.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great vibe for a Friday night.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food Always a Winner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We always eat on the patio since we bring our dog with us. Food is very good. They do not rush you out at all. Somebody is always walking around to fill up your coffee.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced mediocre hamburgers

Dined on March 27, 2016

Can't speak to the quality of other menu items at Home, but if they're going to serve hamburgers starting at $12 they need to use much better quality meat, properly cooked to the doneness requested. Guess there's a reason Home was empty and The Morrison nearby was booked up.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Home was great!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Delicious breakfast food. Also great tuna tartare app. Best iced coffee around!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfort food and delicious cocktails.

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

GREAT food. Amazing burgers, pasta and wraps. LOVE the Taco Salad with Beef, Tequila Lime Pasta, and grilled cheese for the kids.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Relaxing brunch. Great food, drinks esp ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Relaxing brunch. Great food, drinks especially the bloody mary. Server was great. Didn't feel rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

The service was top notch. The food speaks for itself. We were celebrating my wife's birthday, and the staff helped make it a great event. We'll be back again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Laid back meal

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was a great find for both breakfast with the family or a casual dinner with mama and I! I found cocktails and wine reasonable in price and quite tasty! Frumpy diner meets fresh dining. Wife had the Beet salad and I did fish and chips for dinner, each with cocktail/wine and split a nice area cheesecake and coffee. 2 days later came back for breakfast with three kids and all of us pigged out, cleaning our plates. Kids menu limited but my little people (7,11,14) all cleaned their plates.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So happy for open table

Dined on February 7, 2016

Found Home on open table with great pictures and reviews. It did not disappoint. Great brunch from the service to the food. If we lived closer we would come back often

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Really Good Food

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

To be fair, they were having an issue with the computer system the night we went. Not sure why this was such an issue for them, but it was. Our server was overly-flustered and informed us that she didn't know how they would get tickets done, or how long things would take. She mentioned that she had no idea how to add up the potential bill and add appropriate taxes... And then, she asked if we were prepared for a very long wait and seemed to hope we'd just leave. She wasn't rude, but rather wanted to avoid having to be creative. She took our drink order. Then, nearly 10 minutes later came to check on if we still wanted to stay and took our food order. Another 10 minutes went by and our food came. We asked the food-runner if the drinks we ordered would be coming. 5 minutes later, we had drinks. When we finished, the server just brought the check and said that the system was working, "for now." We didn't want dessert, but it wasn't even an option I guess. Oh well, she was nice enough, it just threw her game off. Food was delicious. Drinks good. Service, as mentioned, was really quick (for the food, anyway) which was good. Definitely recommend and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and fun ambiance!

Dined on January 25, 2016

The food here was absolutely beyond compare great healthy choices and regular choices fun ambience and great waiting staff my only complaint is the drinks that we ordered were watered down and bad mixers but please go for the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food/fun place

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food at HOME was wonderful. We were a group of 4 for brunch on a Sunday. The Huevos Rancheros were excellent as was the Veggie Lover (which we had with Soyrizo). The only negative was the decaf coffee, which was very weak and just not up to snuff. The food was incredibly affordable, given the quality. Presentation was nice. Our server was adorable. Altogether a great experience. Would definitely return (but probably not order the decaf!)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We are repeat customers: great food, fri ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

We are repeat customers: great food, friendly service and dog friendly! I chose the All-American and upgraded to the banana walnut French toast. Best decision I could've made :)

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Enjoyed the large menu and drink menu...Service was very friendly and fast. Valet parking in the back with outdoor dining and quaint indoor eating area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dog friendly patio

Dined on January 3, 2016

I don't know about you but our dog, Jake, loves to visit new places, especially restaurants. Home has a nice big patio area for two and four legged diners! We had breakfast there and the portions and taste were great! The wait staff was attentive but not obtrusive too. Come enjoy the food, ambience and attention at Home. You won't be disappointed. There's plenty of parking on the street next to the restaurant also for those who don't like to valet their car.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

they told us to leave

Dined on December 14, 2015

made reservations on open table. we got there on time. we were told to leave because they were hosting a private party. no one called or emailed me about a cancelation. it was raining. we had to find something else. I would call this bad service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving For All

Dined on November 26, 2015

Decided to stop by for Thanksgiving because it was close to home. Also because there are options for all of our preferences (traditional, veggie, carnivore who doesn't like turkey). Food was good, portions abundant and prices reasonable. We definitely had a Happy Thanksgiving!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and fresh. I love ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

The food was very good and fresh. I loved sitting on the patio at night.

food5
ambience5
service4

Skip the DTLA crowds - perfect brunch right here!

Dined on September 27, 2015

Went here with family to celebrate my fiance's birthday - we all loved it! Fabulous patio seating, not too noisy, great service, generous portions and above all, everything tasted great. They've got some interesting twists on classic brunch food too; like red velvet pancakes and various egg benedicts on potato pancakes instead of English muffins. This location also has a pretty good-sized parking lot and it's right off the highway. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for food and happy hour!

Dined on September 18, 2015

Took my friend here for mimosas and all day breakfast! Good service, place thank God wasn't packed, try Sunday brunch but be ready for a wait...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very happy to celebrate my 28th birthday there!

Dined on September 3, 2015

My entire party was satisfied with their order. Waitress was super friendly and would love to return to try other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Home Is Our Go-To Spot

Dined on August 30, 2015

My husband, my son and I love celebrating milestones at Home. We always think we should try something new and different, but we always end up agreeing that Home is the place we feel comfortable, where we know we will eat well and affordably, and we always end up coming Home. It's good for drinks, snacks or full meals, and the staff, while at times a little slow to deliver, are always friendly and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT brunch spot!

Dined on August 30, 2015

I found this place through Open Table - how did I not know of it before!?! It has indoor and outdoor seating, indoor decor is cozy and kitsch, and they take RESERVATIONS! Do you know how key that is for a breakfast group made up of hubgry children and hungover adults?!? Critical. I had the California omelette - delish. Husband and friend had breakfast burrito and daughter had the kids pancake breakfast (with eggs and a sausage). This place was great - perfect for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Been twice-very happy

Dined on August 23, 2015

My wife loves tuna tartare, and it was great to find it at a neighborhood restaurant that also serves ribs and great burgers. The outdoor patio is very homey, like being in someone's back yard

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant I tried out for my group

Dined on August 16, 2015

Everything was good. I'd go back for sure. But not as a group. They don't do separate checks for groups - I was willing to overtip to make up for the hassle - but it's against policy. So now my great of 10-20 that meet every other month are now looking for another place. Our regular spot closed unfortunately.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite local restaurant and local 2nd home

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

Always treated so great here. Very dog friendly and the whole staff knows our lab Luna. Always great service, especially Josue, and the manager Fabian rocks. All the bus and service staff are excellent and always helpful and quick. Great for comfort food, breakfast. Wonderful happy hour. Best outdoor LA hang.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Fun Outdoor Eating

Dined on August 2, 2015

Great place for brunch, lunch, and evening snacking. Fun outdoor courtyard with fountain and ambient lighting. Food is always delicious and options for everyone including vegetarian and gluten-free.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Great, Fun Breakfast or Lunch Spot

vip
Dined on July 19, 2015

My hopes for a nice dining experience dimmed when we entered the parking lot at noon on a hot Sunday in July and found valet parking, lots of cars and tons of people. It was our first time there and we clearly didn't know what we were getting into, even if 40 years ago we lived in the neighborhood. We were seated inside, which had a bit of AC and from then on all was perfect. There were three of us and after perusing a very lengthy menu, we made our choices. I don't know if everything on the menu is as good as what we ended up with, but I suspect the restaurant is just that "spot on," all was delicious and perfectly plated and served. There were a couple of times the server stumbled, but given the crowds and all, I'm cutting him some slack. Probably shouldn't even mention it. Excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

I've always loved HOME since it opened. ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

I've always loved HOME since it opened. Sadly the salads have shrunk to about half the size they used be for the same price.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

Terrible location, food was just OK, ser ...

vip
Dined on June 28, 2015

Terrible location, food was just OK, service was terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great! Service is great! Beautif ...

Dined on June 25, 2015

Food is great! Service is great! Beautiful patio with a beautiful piano inside, what's not to love?!

food4
ambience5
service4

Love it!

Dined on June 20, 2015

Food is delicious and service is almost always excellent! Outdoor patio is great and even in the heat, it's covered and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.