About Hom Wood Fired Grill

5750 N Port Washington Rd
Glendale, WI 53217
View Larger Map

HoM Woodfired Grill is a farm-to-table restaurant highlighting the best of Wisconsin. Sourcing from local farms and artisans, including SURG Restaurant Group's own Hidden Creek Farm, HoM's scratch kitchen creates dishes emphasizing the comfort foods Wisconsinites love. The chefs use northwoods cherry and oak to impart unique flavors to menu items prepared on the wood fire grille. Guests may enjoy a Wisconsin craft beer at HoM's large bar while watching a local sporting event or relaxing on the outdoor patio, complete with a large fireplace. Friendly memorable service will round out every dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH/DINNER MONDAY–SATURDAY: 11AM-10PM
BRUNCH/DINNER: SUNDAY 11-9PM

Happy Hour - Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Bar and Patio only

Cross Street:
Bayshore Town Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 312-7043

Website:
http://www.homwoodfiredgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Televisions in Bar Area

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Chris Ghobrial

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow on facebook and twitter for beer and wine dinners along with other special events and tastings

Restaurant Photos

  • Hom Wood Fired Grill
Hom Wood Fired Grill

Hom Wood Fired Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (13)
special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
great for lunch (12)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My family & I were the 1st table to be s ...

Dined 6 days ago

My family & I were the 1st table to be sat on Father's Day brunch and when our food was delivered I realized I never got my coffee... I asked our server to make sure it was not on our bill because I no longer wanted it since we were almost done eating. The waitress apologized but then proceeded to give me excuses as to why she didn't bring it.... busy work weekend & that the 'tables all run together sometimes' - I was not impressed as we were her 1st and only table when I put in my order. That was a minor detail. The brunch food was just moderate. Nothing special. AND not even any special offered for my husband on fathers day. Hmm, I won't go there for brunch. A bummer because it is a great location for us and the interior decor is so awesome... not to mention a cool patio. Oh well. Maybe just for drinks!?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My schnitzel was good, but way overcooke ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My schnitzel was good, but way overcooked. My daughter had the flat iron steak, which she loved. She wants to go back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant got slammed, we waited a ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

The restaurant got slammed, we waited a long time for our table even tho we had a reservation, ended up in a slightly odd place for a party of 4 and then Theresa came to our table.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was not a buffet - ordered off menu. Service was very good, food was average. Bar looks nice and there was a great table for a big group (10-12) by the fireplace. There is a patio outside which looks like it would be pleasant on a warmer day.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Bayshore Town Center HOM

Dined on April 13, 2016

The dinner was very good, meat cooked to order and quiet ambiance. The waiter was excellent and attended to all of our needs. He kept our wine and water glasses filled. The only minus was that the order took a long time to be served and could have been a little warmer. That wasn't to much of a problem though because it gave us a chance to nice visit with some longtime friends. They did make it right by offering to comp some desserts. We would definitely recomend to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hom Restaurant; Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I booked this as a special Easter brunch for my family. Because of the website mentioning a great Easter Brunch buffet and all the special offerings I was looking forward to this being a wonderful occasion. There was a brunch, but no buffet. The children liked their pancakes. The chicken sandwiches were fair. The poached eggs over corned beef hash was greasy. I was very disappointed. The server was good.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

delicious - all local ingredients

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the layout of the restaurant. Healthy servings- good selection of local products.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, poor service

Dined on March 12, 2016

I was very excited about dining here for the first time. I love abd very much appreciate restaurants that source local ingredients and I sought out this restaurant specifically for that. The food was very good. However, our waiter was hardly ever there and barley spoke two words to us. I was brought the completely wrong dinner, but I didn't even get a chance to tell the waiter cause he hardly even stopped at the table after our food arrived. We probably didn't see him for 20 after we finished earing. We just sat there with our empty plates waiting for him to come see if we needed anything. Overall very disappointing service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family (party of 9) celebrated two b ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our family (party of 9) celebrated two birthdays along with an anniversary on March 5th @ the Bayshore HOM. Our service was amazing - from the Manager, to the Bartenders and our Server...we were treated like royalty. The Head Chef even stopped by to make sure our meals were to our liking; and the desserts were amazing! We will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1

Picked this place for a late dining ,9:3 ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Picked this place for a late dining ,9:30pm, after attending an all day sporting event . Called ahead and told the hostess that we were celebrating a 21st birthday. Arrived exhausted and hungry. Promptly seated, only three tables of guests at this hour. A young man promptly came to fill our water glasses. We asked him what entrees he enjoyed and he was very polite and made some suggestions. I wish he would have been our server. Unfortunately, we got Alyssa. She took our order for appetizer and drinks. I was the only one who ordered a Manhattan. 20 minutes later it found our table. We were the only table. Things got better when the food arrived. Two of us has the sirloin, roasted chicken and ribs. The flavor of the meat was great, sides were ample and also delicious . This restaurant promotes local suppliers for their ingredients and the finished product reflected to great tastes. Now, back to Alyssa. When asked about a desert to finish this experience, she politely mentioned the kitchen was closed. Didn't I call ahead that a 21st Birthday was to be hosted? If you management is going to promote special events are welcome at this establishment they better back it up.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wisconsin Pride Restaurant

Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant was full of amazing Wisconsin-grown foods. We thoroughly enjoyed the uniqueness of the foods on the menu and would highly recommend this restaurant for those looking to enjoy all that Wisconsin has to offer. The service was excellent, the restaurant was clean and the food was delicious. The chef even came to our table to see how the food tasted. I would highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great service

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and service great. Nice ambience for couples. Our server is knowledgeable to all questions we asked and most of all attentive - brian.Just a suggestion hope there's flexibility in side dishes and more selection with desserts.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Walleye - best dish ever!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Walleye - best dish ever!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hom Grill is worth a try!

Dined on February 2, 2016

Food was out of the kitchen fast and hot. The chef came by our table about 10 minutes after we received our entrées just to chat and see how we liked the food and feel of Hom grill. I am definitely recommending Hom Grill for your next date night.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on February 1, 2016

Love that we can get consistently good food here with friendly waiters and good mixed drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Place for Gluten Free

Dined on January 25, 2016

Food and SErvice were excellent. I have food allergies and they were accommodated easily.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

I ordered a seltzer from the bar. You k ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

I ordered a seltzer from the bar. You know, water with carbonation. I got a pineapple schnapps in return. You know, alcohol. So I sent it back. Then I got a tonic... Which is also not plain water with carbonation. The server blamed that all clear drinks look alike. Then the server threw the bartender under the bus stating he was new, didn't know what he was doing, etc. so I just said forget it, I'll drink flat tap water, just don't charge me for all the mixed up drinks. THEN I didn't have silverware. THEN the cornbread was raw. THEN I got charged for the drink I told the server to just take back and not charge me for. For the price the service was really bad, and the staff badmouthing the other staff was the worst!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfort food

Dined on January 10, 2016

We've been there a few times and each time I think "I need to come more often - there are too many things I want to try." This time we had the shrimp pasta and the ribs. The pasta was a bit too salty, but everything else was fresh and tasty. Good, reliable comfort food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hom - Bayshore

Dined on January 2, 2016

Food and alcohol options are good - even above average. Cozy atmosphere - very pleasant. Service was very good. All of our dining experiences at Hom have been consistently good. We'll continue to come here - it's close to home and reasonably priced. Note: finding a ground-level parking space near the restaurant can be tough. There is a parking ramp a short distance away.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and waited for our table in the bar. The bar was not over crowded and the bartenders were pleasant. We were shown to our table for dinner exactly on time. Since Hom is farm to table the menu changes to reflect seasonally, locally grown, food. So, even though, we had been there before, the menu choices were different this time. I like this and it brings me back to see what's new a couple of times a year. The service was excellent and so was the food. The atmosphere was pleasant and, even on this busy holiday night, it was quiet enough to have a conversation at the table. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Will definitely be eating there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went to Hom for our wedding anniversary. Overall a good experience with the exception of my wife's meal. She ordered a steak cooked medium well and the steak came out relatively raw. Sent it back and re-cooked to her request. Wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on January 1, 2016

Being the first time to Hom, it was a very good experience. I will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hom is consistent in service & food. The ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Hom is consistent in service & food. The menu will change slightly but with enough offerings to please most. We have found this to be a great "go to" spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice ambience, booths give a feel of privacy.

Dined on December 27, 2015

Service was great, food was very good, served warm as desired. Prices are very affordable and menu gave just the right amount of variety. I look forward to a return trip in the near future.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Recent menu change

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

The menu was different than what was posted online. Crabcakes were dry and not fitting for this quality of restaurant. Manager apologized and replaced. Options were fewer than expected.

food4
ambience4
service1

The food was good if pricy (we had been ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

The food was good if pricy (we had been there before and expected that though). Really good cheese curds. But the server was inattentive and not very professional. He never offered a drink refill and brought our check without asking if we wanted dessert. The manager ended up boxing up our leftovers and running my card to pay the bill. The server apologized because it was so busy, but there were empty tables and he has other problems besides seeming busy.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, excellent service!

Dined on December 18, 2015

Overall we really enjoy Hom Wood Fired Grill. We went to celebrate my wife's birthday, and I made the reservation on Open Table. We are seated quickly, the server was very good and attentive. Both my wife and I enjoyed our meals, they recently changed the menu, but most of the staples are still available. I was a little disappointed that my wife's birthday wasn't acknowledged, but we ordered a dessert to celebrate anyway. The food at Hom is really good, and we will be back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A little over priced for a cod fish fry ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

A little over priced for a cod fish fry food was advantage.

food5
ambience4
service4

first time at Hom

Dined on November 29, 2015

We loved the bar at Hom, and the drinks and bartenders were excellent. Appetizers were wonderful at the bar as well. Our food for dinner was great, service was so so. Could have been better. Especially after we were all done with our entree's and wanted to order coffee and desert, our waitress kind of disappeared. That is the one thing that can change our evening, we find a great restaurant, and once you are done with the entree's service slips and they forget about you. My husband had to find our waitress to get coffee and desert ordered. We were a party of 5 with out of town guests. Thank you for asking about our experience. We truly enjoyed the bar area and the tasty food. Vicki Parker

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Comfort food at its best

Dined on November 20, 2015

From the minute you walk in the door here, you feel welcome and comfortable. A warm and inviting atmosphere, fun and friendly bartenders, and excellent wait staff. The food was fresh and tasty...so many good things on the menu it's hard to pick what to order.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

Pleasant Atmosphere and Suprise

Dined on October 17, 2015

The ambiance was great. The food was very good. However, I was most impressed with the reasonable prices and the diverse menu. I plan to definitely return again soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

Dined on October 11, 2015

This was at least the fourth time we have been to HOM. Previous dinners had been very enjoyable but last week we had troubles with the food quality. The pumpkin soup my wife ordered was awful so it was returned for a chopped salad...a very ordinary and not particularly good salad. My daughter had beef stroganoff it it was just OK. I had the meatloaf which I enjoyed. We will give them another try but Saturday evening was a disappointment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

very cozy - yummy food

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

went to dinner with friends. Nice roomy booth. Entire place in hard wood and felt very comfortable. Great beer and wine list. Variety of meals. None noted for kids (though we didn't ask). Please check this place out!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable evening in every way.

Dined on October 10, 2015

From the staff to the food to the atmosphere, Hom is a winner! Prices are very decent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

Fool me twice

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

We were seated right on time. The food arrived 55 minutes later. Undercooked brussel sprouts. Unremarkable chicken. So so salad. We will not return.

food3
ambience4
service3

Would like to go back

Dined on September 11, 2015

Great comfort food, and fantastic cocktails. The best cheese curds ever!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3

Convenient location and reliable

Dined on August 25, 2015

The food here is good and it's a bonus that they locally source much of it. The location is ideal for large groups providing easy access from the freeway but parking can really be a problem.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Food quality average. Had prime rib. T ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Food quality average. Had prime rib. Too much fat and tendon throughout. Not a prime cut.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good, delicious, but only 3 scallops?

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

Everything was great, everyone was happy with the taste: Saturday night Prime rib, beer cheese soup, salmon, scallops, salads. White Cosmo was one of the best drinks I've ever had. Ordered 2! My only issue was I ordered the scallops and received 3 scallops. Why? I thought for $21 I get 3 sea scallops and a bunch of corn. It was delicious but seriously felt I was cheated. The side salad is not included either, that is an extra $3.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Diverse Selections

vip
Dined on July 30, 2015

What a treat to enjoy a great meal on your patio! I definitely appreciate all of the Wisconsin and locally sourced ingredients, as well as the gluten free options. The ribs were very meaty and flavorful. And our server connected well with all diners. I felt like we were guests in his home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.