About Hom Wood Fired Grill

5750 N Port Washington Rd
Glendale, WI 53217
View Larger Map

HoM Woodfired Grill is a farm-to-table restaurant highlighting the best of Wisconsin. Sourcing from local farms and artisans, including SURG Restaurant Group's own Hidden Creek Farm, HoM's scratch kitchen creates dishes emphasizing the comfort foods Wisconsinites love. The chefs use northwoods cherry and oak to impart unique flavors to menu items prepared on the wood fire grille. Guests may enjoy a Wisconsin craft beer at HoM's large bar while watching a local sporting event or relaxing on the outdoor patio, complete with a large fireplace. Friendly memorable service will round out every dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH/DINNER MONDAY–SATURDAY: 11AM-10PM
BRUNCH/DINNER: SUNDAY 11-9PM

Happy Hour - Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Bar and Patio only

Cross Street:
Bayshore Town Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 312-7043

Website:
http://www.homwoodfiredgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Televisions in Bar Area

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Chris Ghobrial

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow on facebook and twitter for beer and wine dinners along with other special events and tastings

Restaurant Photos

  • Hom Wood Fired Grill
Hom Wood Fired Grill

Hom Wood Fired Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a good experience, wish they had ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a good experience, wish they had more sandwich options...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food wonderful atmosphere! The staf ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food wonderful atmosphere! The staff was kind and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was great! This was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food and service was great! This was my first time dining at Hom and I will return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Hom for dinn ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Hom for dinner...their menu is large and very diverse...there is something for everyone...the beef stroganoff was excellent...lobster Mac and cheese delicious. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were delivered at a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and drinks were delivered at a very good pace. The appetizers were really good and our dinner was delicious. I had an odd request to have some alfredo sauce for my meal and my waitress was right on it. The decor is very rustic and different from most restaurants.

I would definitely go there again. There are more options on the menu I will want to try out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pot pie a bit plain, stroganoff has a di ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Pot pie a bit plain, stroganoff has a dill flavor and was not made to order, homemade but no substitutions (don't ask for no mushrooms). Cheese curds were amazing (dill ranch dressing - why dill?). Even the cornbread had a dill flavor. Sandwiches were good! Overall good experience, just not great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Plate sizes for kids meal are too big.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Plate sizes for kids meal are too big.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had a small family reunion and were g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a small family reunion and were given a private room. The food was delicious and the server was extremely patient as we had to wait for all to arrive. One of the cooks helped to deliver our orders. I give this restaurant five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I went there this weekend ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My friends and I went there this weekend. We had our bills separate and my friends ordered more food than we did. However, get my bank statement this week only to find that the charge that went through on my credit card was $10 more than what I had authorized (I threw away my slip though because this has never happened to me). After talking with my friend, we found out that he mixed up our payment cards and charged my friend what I authorized and charged me what she authorized. Pay in cash if you are going to go there with a group so you don't have to worry about this happening to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Hom has some great local ingredients whi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hom has some great local ingredients which make a fantastic dining experience! Can't wait to go back!! Also nice wines and great cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. Great foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Great food !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has a lot of potential...no v ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place has a lot of potential...no vibe and the food was below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The price charged for the type of food s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The price charged for the type of food served was quite high. In addition, while I have never had brown gravy with walleye, I am always willing to give new combinations a try. This combination was not a hit. I can see why there was near no one in the restaurant at 7:00 on a Saturday night. If those prices are going to be charged, I would suggest upping the quality of the foods served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Unique, local menu, loved the crab dip a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Unique, local menu, loved the crab dip and cocktail menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the wait for a waitress after being seat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the wait for a waitress after being seated was greater than 35 mins and we had a reservation. We had to ask 2 times for sugar for ice tea. We were charged for 5 meals even though we ordered 4 meals. We bought this to the waitress' attention and it was corrected. This was our first time there and it also will be our last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

My family & I were the 1st table to be s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family & I were the 1st table to be sat on Father's Day brunch and when our food was delivered I realized I never got my coffee... I asked our server to make sure it was not on our bill because I no longer wanted it since we were almost done eating. The waitress apologized but then proceeded to give me excuses as to why she didn't bring it.... busy work weekend & that the 'tables all run together sometimes' - I was not impressed as we were her 1st and only table when I put in my order. That was a minor detail. The brunch food was just moderate. Nothing special. AND not even any special offered for my husband on fathers day. Hmm, I won't go there for brunch. A bummer because it is a great location for us and the interior decor is so awesome... not to mention a cool patio. Oh well. Maybe just for drinks!?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My schnitzel was good, but way overcooke ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My schnitzel was good, but way overcooked. My daughter had the flat iron steak, which she loved. She wants to go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant got slammed, we waited a ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The restaurant got slammed, we waited a long time for our table even tho we had a reservation, ended up in a slightly odd place for a party of 4 and then Theresa came to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was not a buffet - ordered off menu. Service was very good, food was average. Bar looks nice and there was a great table for a big group (10-12) by the fireplace. There is a patio outside which looks like it would be pleasant on a warmer day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Bayshore Town Center HOM

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The dinner was very good, meat cooked to order and quiet ambiance. The waiter was excellent and attended to all of our needs. He kept our wine and water glasses filled. The only minus was that the order took a long time to be served and could have been a little warmer. That wasn't to much of a problem though because it gave us a chance to nice visit with some longtime friends. They did make it right by offering to comp some desserts. We would definitely recomend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hom Restaurant; Easter brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I booked this as a special Easter brunch for my family. Because of the website mentioning a great Easter Brunch buffet and all the special offerings I was looking forward to this being a wonderful occasion. There was a brunch, but no buffet. The children liked their pancakes. The chicken sandwiches were fair. The poached eggs over corned beef hash was greasy. I was very disappointed. The server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

delicious - all local ingredients

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the layout of the restaurant. Healthy servings- good selection of local products.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, poor service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I was very excited about dining here for the first time. I love abd very much appreciate restaurants that source local ingredients and I sought out this restaurant specifically for that. The food was very good. However, our waiter was hardly ever there and barley spoke two words to us. I was brought the completely wrong dinner, but I didn't even get a chance to tell the waiter cause he hardly even stopped at the table after our food arrived. We probably didn't see him for 20 after we finished earing. We just sat there with our empty plates waiting for him to come see if we needed anything. Overall very disappointing service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Our family (party of 9) celebrated two b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our family (party of 9) celebrated two birthdays along with an anniversary on March 5th @ the Bayshore HOM. Our service was amazing - from the Manager, to the Bartenders and our Server...we were treated like royalty. The Head Chef even stopped by to make sure our meals were to our liking; and the desserts were amazing! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Picked this place for a late dining ,9:3 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Picked this place for a late dining ,9:30pm, after attending an all day sporting event . Called ahead and told the hostess that we were celebrating a 21st birthday. Arrived exhausted and hungry. Promptly seated, only three tables of guests at this hour. A young man promptly came to fill our water glasses. We asked him what entrees he enjoyed and he was very polite and made some suggestions.

I wish he would have been our server. Unfortunately, we got Alyssa. She took our order for appetizer and drinks. I was the only one who ordered a Manhattan. 20 minutes later it found our table. We were the only table. Things got better when the food arrived. Two of us has the sirloin, roasted chicken and ribs. The flavor of the meat was great, sides were ample and also delicious . This restaurant promotes local suppliers for their ingredients and the finished product reflected to great tastes.

Now, back to Alyssa. When asked about a desert to finish this experience, she politely mentioned the kitchen was closed. Didn't I call ahead that a 21st Birthday was to be hosted?

If you management is going to promote special events are welcome at this establishment they better back it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Wisconsin Pride Restaurant

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant was full of amazing Wisconsin-grown foods. We thoroughly enjoyed the uniqueness of the foods on the menu and would highly recommend this restaurant for those looking to enjoy all that Wisconsin has to offer. The service was excellent, the restaurant was clean and the food was delicious. The chef even came to our table to see how the food tasted.

I would highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and service great. Nice ambience for couples. Our server is knowledgeable to all questions we asked and most of all attentive - brian.Just a suggestion hope there's flexibility in side dishes and more selection with desserts.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walleye - best dish ever!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Walleye - best dish ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hom Grill is worth a try!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Food was out of the kitchen fast and hot. The chef came by our table about 10 minutes after we received our entrées just to chat and see how we liked the food and feel of Hom grill.

I am definitely recommending Hom Grill for your next date night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Love that we can get consistently good food here with friendly waiters and good mixed drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Place for Gluten Free

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Food and SErvice were excellent. I have food allergies and they were accommodated easily.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a seltzer from the bar. You k ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I ordered a seltzer from the bar. You know, water with carbonation. I got a pineapple schnapps in return. You know, alcohol. So I sent it back. Then I got a tonic... Which is also not plain water with carbonation. The server blamed that all clear drinks look alike. Then the server threw the bartender under the bus stating he was new, didn't know what he was doing, etc. so I just said forget it, I'll drink flat tap water, just don't charge me for all the mixed up drinks.

THEN I didn't have silverware. THEN the cornbread was raw.

THEN I got charged for the drink I told the server to just take back and not charge me for.

For the price the service was really bad, and the staff badmouthing the other staff was the worst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Comfort food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We've been there a few times and each time I think "I need to come more often - there are too many things I want to try." This time we had the shrimp pasta and the ribs. The pasta was a bit too salty, but everything else was fresh and tasty. Good, reliable comfort food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hom - Bayshore

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Food and alcohol options are good - even above average. Cozy atmosphere - very pleasant. Service was very good.

All of our dining experiences at Hom have been consistently good. We'll continue to come here - it's close to home and reasonably priced.

Note: finding a ground-level parking space near the restaurant can be tough. There is a parking ramp a short distance away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Eve

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and waited for our table in the bar. The bar was not over crowded and the bartenders were pleasant. We were shown to our table for dinner exactly on time. Since Hom is farm to table the menu changes to reflect seasonally, locally grown, food. So, even though, we had been there before, the menu choices were different this time. I like this and it brings me back to see what's new a couple of times a year. The service was excellent and so was the food. The atmosphere was pleasant and, even on this busy holiday night, it was quiet enough to have a conversation at the table. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Will definitely be eating there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went to Hom for our wedding anniversary. Overall a good experience with the exception of my wife's meal. She ordered a steak cooked medium well and the steak came out relatively raw. Sent it back and re-cooked to her request. Wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Being the first time to Hom, it was a very good experience. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hom is consistent in service & food. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Hom is consistent in service & food. The menu will change slightly but with enough offerings to please most. We have found this to be a great "go to" spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice ambience, booths give a feel of privacy.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Service was great, food was very good, served warm as desired. Prices are very affordable and menu gave just the right amount of variety. I look forward to a return trip in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Recent menu change

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The menu was different than what was posted online. Crabcakes were dry and not fitting for this quality of restaurant. Manager apologized and replaced. Options were fewer than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.