Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Hom Wood Fired Grill

4.2
268 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Comfort Food
  • Local Ingredients
HoM Woodfired Grill is a farm-to-table restaurant highlighting the best of Wisconsin. Sourcing from local farms and artisans, including SURG Restaurant Group's own Hidden Creek Farm, HoM's scratch kitchen creates dishes emphasizing the comfort foods Wisconsinites love. The chefs use northwoods cherry and oak to impart unique flavors to menu items prepared on the wood fired grill. Guests may enjoy a Wisconsin craft beer at HoM's large bar while watching a local sporting event or relaxing on the outdoor patio, complete with a fireplace. Friendly memorable service will round out every dining experience.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH/DINNER MONDAY–SATURDAY: 11AM-10PM, SUNDAY 11-9PM

Happy Hour - Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Bar and Patio only
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 312-7043
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bayshore Town Center
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Televisions in Bar Area
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Follow on facebook and twitter for beer and wine dinners along with other special events and tastings
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 268 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I enjoyed the ambiance and the opportunity to have quiet conversation. I actually had higher expectations for how the food tasted based on previous recommendations, but found the food to be not as distinct as I hoped. It was not bland, but not as bold as I expected.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner.. the service was poor and slow

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day!! It was perfect! Quick service and great atmosphere! The only downside, not serving Skirt Steak anymore (personal preference).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My family and I went to HOM for their Mother’s Day brunch. The food was good, but our server could have been more attentive. They told us they were booked for brunch, but there were several open tables and I was shocked they were turning away walk ins.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Mother's Day brunch was not as good as I had expected. The food was average, cold, and not worth the money. I had never eaten there before. It seems like a nice place. I would like to go back and try their regular menu at some time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Birthday for child. Nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The hom tots are the best!
Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My husband and I met our son and his girlfriend at Hom Wood Fired Grill for an early dinner this past Sunday. Always a nice atmosphere at Hom, quiet enough for a great conversations. I had the chicken pot pie, which was delicious. Nice flaky crust and plenty of chicken in the mix. The others in my party all said their entrees were good, tasty and hot.

My one negative is that when we were seated I noticed that our table was not clean. Lots of crumbs, etc., on the seat and table. I had to ask for a clean water glass as the one I was given had something all over it.

All in all, we had a nice time and the food was good. Attention to cleanliness needs to be addressed.

On a totally different topic: OpenTable: you have a typo up above, should be "experience" not "experince".

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Again, we were disappointed in the bar service. In the past couple of months, something has changed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Food was plentiful and delicious! My entire family loved their meals.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Prime rib was ok. Enjoyed the grilled flavor. Walleye was very good with fresh vegetables. Pot pie was non-traditional and didn't care for seasoning. Overall it is a good place to gather.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Lunch was great! Service by Mark was very good-attentive and accurate with the order taking. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Bar service and ability to mix drinks is spotty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had an uncharacteristically poor meal. One of the daily specials on March 17, St. Patricks's Day was Corned Beef and Cabbage. Sounded like a winner until the food was brought to the table. The meat was under-cooked and very fatty. So much so, that neither of us could eat much at all. A huge disappointment.

To their credit, the manager took one of the meals off our check. The others in our party had the Bacon wrapped Tenderloin and the Salmon. Both of those turned out fine. We like HOM and probably average a visit once a month for the past three years. The servers are always wonderful. However, this was the second time we've been disappointed with the food. One more strike and they're out?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The food options and quality have changed for the better here! Reuben sandwich is a great lunch option, and their extensive dinner menu does not disappoint either. Great options for wine by the glass and cocktails as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Enjoyed delicious food and drink. The service was great. A wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Good food and quiet atmosphere for two business executives.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent service and good value for the money. The ambiance is great. 1st time there and will definitely be back. Staff was great. Our waiter was Mike---excellent!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

The only problem we had with our visit was that we couldn't have everything on the menu. Not only was the regular menu tempting, but the specials for Valentines week were amazing, as well.
For just two people, we had two appetizers, a soup, a salad, and two entrees... and only skipped dessert because we had somewhere to be!
The service was wonderful, the old fashioneds were perfect, and the food was absolutely amazing. I can't wait to go back so I can try a few more things from the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Cute restaurant inside. Booths are separated so it feels very private and you can carry on a conversation. Appreciate the fact that all ingredients are locally sourced. Server took our order right away, but we waited forever for our food. Food was so-so. Burger was not very tasty or juicy. Husband had the prime rib special. Some strange sauce on top of the meat. Many restaurants to choose from in that price range with better food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

I had not eaten there for several years, but came with a friend. We each had a burger and they were great, cooked to perfection. Our server was great and we will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Took awhile for wait staff to come to our tablr. Food was ok in general. Nothing spectacular except the kids mac n cheese. Love the multitude of gluten free items and love the location and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The burgers were great as were the fries.
The beet salad was delicious with the chicken which was not dried out. Might avoid the steak wrap - a little tough (flank steak) lots of filler. Caesar salad was good with chicken.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2018

It was a very quiet Tuesday, likely due to the extreme cold, but food and service were both very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food is always fantastic! And love that they are farm to table

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

On my open table reservation I requested a booth. We were seated at a table. It was a little loud due to the family with children sitting next to us. It was not the atmosphere we were hoping for and feel that a booth would have been better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Everything was great but bring back the monster cookie skillet!! My girlfriend cried because of it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

The food was good but bland. Service was ok. Atmosphere was great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Our first time trying Hom was taking my mother in law for Christmas dinner (on the 23). The place was pretty dead, which made for a quiet evening. The food was good, although I asked for Chicken Parmesan and I got a sandwich. Apparently this happens a lot - but the server did not clarify what I wanted. So I had to wait for my dish while everyone else had theirs. Now for the bad: Spencer was one of the worst waiters I’ve ever had. When he first came to our table he dropped off (what we thought) was cornbread and mumbled something and walked away quickly. No smile, no eye contact or welcome. It was terrible! When he came back my husband said we had never been here and asked about the cornbread, giving him an opportunity to welcome us and tell us about the place. FAIL! He just said yea it’s cornbread we offer it complimentary and then walked away! Each interaction with him was awkward and he didn’t seem to be very attentive even though the place was dead. Later on he did apologize for being gone so long because the place was shutting down for 2 days and they all had to do dishes (?!) but that’s no excuse for poor customer service. Anyways, he really put a damper on the evening and I won’t come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Family dinner night at one of our favorite restaurants

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Quiet on a Saturday night of the Big10 Championship, but enough people that servers were busy. Mike was a pro, though, and took very good care of us. Prime rib with roasted brussels sprouts instead of potatoes was cooked perfectly, the veggies hot but not overcooked. Big slice of beef and lots of veggies made for enough to bring a bit home. Chopped salad was fresh, and bacon mac&cheese was the real deal. Great comfort food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Been here before and been underwhelmed but it's close so we came back. Sounds like a new chef running menu now - not sure how new - but everything was great! Should be in our regular rotation now.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 10, 2017

Decent. Good food, nothing spectacular, didn't make my taste buds jump for joy, or die off.
For the price of the meals, it's not really worth it.
This is a one an done restaurant, went there an tried it,
Will not go back though
We got the 32$ steak, dry twice baked potatoe, grill Brussel sprouts which had odd taste.
And
Salmon fillet meal.
Nice large fillet, pretty good flavor, had better, with some fancy greens, and and some very plain tiny balls, think it was rice, supposed to be a bed of asparagus, but it was a the rice ball stuff and maybe 8 cut up chunks of asparagus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Birthday .. lunch was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Found this place on yelp. Very good service for a Saturday evening. Cheese curds were fantastic with ranch dipping sauce. The corn bread was awesome. Wood fired pizza not quite wood fired but still good. Husband had the salmon dish. Very well prepared. Would go again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing food and great service. The pot roast and fish fry were fantastic! Grapefruit margarita also a hit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

I like the concept of this restaurant and the food was quite good but the service fell far short of a good experience. We had the beet salad, chicken pot pie, and a small side of mac and cheese. Everything was tasty and I would definitely order it again. I liked that they had lighter options like the beet salad to match the heavier options like the pot pie and stroganoff.

Our waitress was unfortunately not great. She took our dinner order and we basically never saw her again. Our drinks and water ran out and neither she nor any other server the place stopped by to see if we needed anything. She also forgot something from our order but we were pretty full from sharing the pot pie so, while we still would've been happy to take it home, it never came. Luckily we were not charged for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

We've been here several times and have always had great food, nice atmosphere and great service. Good selection of unique fare and many items are grown/raised on the owners farm. One downside we've run into twice is, depending on your seating and time of day there can be a glare of sunshine and the blinds they have are not particularly good at creating shade for all areas. They have a great combination of seating which includes a bar area, tables, booths and outdoor.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 29, 2017

We chose Hom for an anniversary dinner. Nice location and theme, and the service was amazing. The food however was less than acceptable and pricey for how bad it was. I wouldn't recommend it for future visits as you could get more bang for buck and actually enjoy your meal for a lot cheaper somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

The shrimp flat bread and Brussels sprouts were excellent. The beef in both dishes was low quality and not that well prepared. Wine was OK but the glass was priced Chicago style rather than at Wisconsin supper club level. An lunch we had there was flawless, but this dinner was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Hom Wood Fired Grill