Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Hom Wood Fired Grill

HoM Woodfired Grill is a farm-to-table restaurant highlighting the best of Wisconsin. Sourcing from local farms and artisans, including SURG Restaurant Group's own Hidden Creek Farm, HoM's scratch kitchen creates dishes emphasizing the comfort foods Wisconsinites love. The chefs use northwoods cherry and oak to impart unique flavors to menu items prepared on the wood fired grill. Guests may enjoy a Wisconsin craft beer at HoM's large bar while watching a local sporting event or relaxing on the outdoor patio, complete with a fireplace. Friendly memorable service will round out every dining experience.

5750 N Port Washington Rd
Glendale, WI 53217
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH/DINNER MONDAY–SATURDAY: 11AM-10PM, SUNDAY 11-9PM

Happy Hour - Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Bar and Patio only

Cross Street:
Bayshore Town Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 312-7043

Website:
http://www.homwoodfiredgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 3pm - 6pm
Televisions in Bar Area

Executive Chef:
Blake Bengsch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow on facebook and twitter for beer and wine dinners along with other special events and tastings

Hom Wood Fired Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Waterfront (0)
Organic (0)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Disabled Access (0)
Handcrafted Cocktails (0)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Spicy (0)
Live Sports (0)
Scenic View (0)
Sunday Lunch (0)
Seasonal (0)
Vegan (0)
Tapas (0)
Live Music (0)
Authentic (0)
Romantic (0)
People Watching (0)
Happy Hour (0)
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great selection of Wisconsin sourced farm to table meals. Our table of 7 had 7 different entrees and each of us loved our choice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Professional and comfy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I got the Rotisserie chicken and it was very dry. My boyfriend got the pot roast and it was dry as well. I advised our waitress and she did remove our appetizer from our bill. Not sure if we'll come back as they were also short staffed for the weekend. One waitress for a large section that included a large group in it. Do to this our waitress forgot to refill drinks or check on us in a timely manner which I felt was not her fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service and food awful. Service recovery good. Manager apologized and, wrote of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Awesome. Love the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Outstanding comfort food! Our server, Ally, was by far one of the best servers we had anywhere in a long time. Gave great suggestions on food and wine.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall our family had a wonderful time of fellowship since it was not loud and we could actually hear each other. Also the food was delicious and our server was quite gracious. We did notice where we sat (by the windows) that there appeared to have been some recent work done due to there being saw dust still on the window sills.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a great experience. Service was good, food was delicious. Manager provided special parking without our asking when he saw us with an infant in the rain. We were there celebrating her baptism, and everyone was so attentive. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice menu, food, service and value. Not exceptional, and yet very satisfying. Highlights were the grilled asparagus - done perfectly, the grilled tomatoes topping the asparagus, and the wood fired/smoked chicken , all excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day lunch!!!! The waitress was incredible!!! Will be going back for sure!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very decent place, good food and reasonably good value. The artisan cheese plate had some rather yellow cheddar cheese but was otherwise OK (probably best to skip). Rotisserie chicken was competently prepared. Parsnip potato soup was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Greeted by the hostess who said that we didn't have a reservation because Open Table books reservations for the closed Brookfield location (even though the map and reservation stated Bayshore). Wasn't a problem as we were earlier and only 1 table was filled. We had cheese curds, Tuna Rice Bowl, and Stuffed Shrimp Fettuccini. Atmosphere was nice, but food was average and there are better places for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything was great except we had a server who just did not get how to attend to multiple tables...felt like she forgot about us. I will go back but hope to not have her again:(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Tuna was over-cooked and my sea bass was mediocre. May not return.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wonderful! Everything was prepared as I asked and tasted wonderful. Great Service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I keep wanting to like HOM. I've been there a handful of times now and each time I leave disappointed. The ambiance is nice and the restaurant has neat decor, but overall the food is not good. The cheese curds appetizer and the skillet cookie dessert are the only items worth eating, and even then they are nothing special. Menu items that sound tempting based on the written description come out of the kitchen flavorless nearly inedible. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been coming here for years every time we come up to north side of Milwaukee

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The place Is very inviting when you enter, however when I sat down at the table, I got a sliver in my hand from the table and the the water glass was all crusty on the outside.
We had the cheese curd appetizer which was excellent. I had the Hom Burger , which was terrible. It had a strong bitter taste, the bacon was not fully cooked, the burger was not hot and the gluten free bun, which they charge 3.50 for was cold. In addition the lettuce on the plate was limp and the tomatoes were mushy. Sweet potatoe fries we're excellent. Creme Brûlée was good, but very sweet.
The waiter was very nice, but somewhat inexperienced.

Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The menu does not list non alcoholic drinks, nor prices for those drinks. What we thought was a bill that would be $55 turned out to be $78. Although we paid it, it was frustrating not to have a break down of the bill nor be told the prices for drinks before we purchased. Food was great, took a bit of time to get to the table but the manager and server both apologized to us. They did give a complementary dessert but to us we were so full from dinner, and I am allergic to what was brought that it was an empty gesture. Instead of the "free" dessert they could have comped the bill instead or asked us what we would have wanted. Overall a place we would return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Three of our four meals were very poor. Stroganoff was tasteless and the spare ribs had fat and grizzle I've never seen before. Mash potatoes were lumpy. When my wife complained about the spare rib quality the waitress brought out the prime rib and it was marginal. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

great pork and cocktails...the steaks however I'd avoid

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at Hom and we will definitely return. Would highly recommend you start with the cheese curds. The Mac and cheese was very good, as was the half chicken and the meatloaf. Server was friendly and very attentive. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were in town on business and used TripAdvisor to find this restaurant. Marvelous experience, we ordered several appetizers and small plates and enjoyed them all. Wait staff is efficient and friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pot roast was great. The chicken dinner ok but not outstanding. We were celebrating a birthday and I made that notation in my reservation. In the past we have received a yummy complimentary birthday dessert. I was a little disappointed that didn't happen this visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall experience was pretty good.....
Disappointed when our leftovers were thrown out.....we returned to retrieve the dinner we left behind in under 10 min and it had been thrown out with the amount of money we paid for everything I would of liked to enjoy it one more time...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing. Our appetizer (cheese curds) was really good - entrees, not so much. The salmon was dry and with little flavor. The roasted chicken was just ok and served with something resembling mashed potatoes. The wood fired vegetable salad was gross - it may have been ok if served warm, but would not recommend. Overall the food and service were marginal for a restaurant at this price point. While I like the atmosphere of Hom, we will likely choose to go elsewhere in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We came in for my husband's birthday. They do cater to food allergies, and the service was good, but we just didn't care for how our steaks were cooked. It was a mesquite or smoky taste to it that we just didn't care for. Nothing in the description on the menu indicated this. We did not send it back, but just decided that if we come back to try something else or we won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our appetizers were fantastic (tater tots, spinach artichoke dip with little pillows of flatbread- YUM!) Our meals were only OK and mine was downright horrible (South Side Chilaquiles. DO NOT order). My friends flatbread looked pretty good. My other friend's roasted vegetables/ steak just smelled like farts. Very unappetizing.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Did not enjoy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I took my mom out for her birthday. She had been there before, but had a bad experience. This time she liked it much better. She was impressed with the walleye and the quiet atmosphere. My tuna was dry but I had it gf without the sauce.
Rebecca was charming. Wine a little pricey.
Overall, very good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The ambiance is gorgeous. Low lighting, relaxing and quiet. The kind of place you can relax after a hard day or connect with someone. If this was just a casual bar I would give it ten stars, but this is a restaurant and the food was.....meh. Table of 3, we ordered a burger, the meatloaf and stroganoff with the spinach dip as an appetizer. The best thing was the appetizer. The burger had burnt onions on it (and a LOT of them), the stroganoff was bland and the meatloaf...well...I sent it back. Once I tried a bite of everybody else's food and found that theirs was just as unappetizing as mine, I decided not to even order anything to replace it. So for dinner I ended up having spinach dip and wine and our bill still ended up being almost 100 bucks. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was very good, but not outstanding. (Ribs & Lobster Mac & Cheese).
Had better of both in other restaurants.
Decor is friendly and relaxing. Lunch for these 2 entrees plus soup and 2 NA beverages, tax, tip was $80.00. FOR LUNCH???

Nice place to visit, but wouldn't want to live there.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We always enjoy eating at Hom - good service and good food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have been to Hom several times now, good food. We will be back again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had a good experience, wish they had more sandwich options...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food wonderful atmosphere! The staff was kind and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food and service was great! This was my first time dining at Hom and I will return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.