About Holland House Bar & Refuge

935 West Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

HHB&R, located in the heart of historic East Nashville, less than a mile from downtown Nashville, has proved a welcome addition to the local culinary scene. Located in the shell of a long-standing neighborhood grocery, Holland House Bar & Refuge is a re-imagined neighborhood haven that sources local and regional ingredients, and offers an expansive menu of cocktails, sipping spirits, and craft beer. Voted Best New Bar 2010 and Best New Restaurant (#2) 2010 by the people of Nashville in the Nashville Scene's Annual Reader's Poll, HHB&R has been embraced as the leader of the city's all-encompassing restaurant experience. With a New American culinary style consistent with the casual and the elegant, and the bar overseen by celebrated mixologists, HHB&R continues to evolve and prosper with an ever-changing roster of cocktails and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar opens at 4:00 daily. Happy Hour 4-6
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
*This is an 18 and up establishment

Cross Street:
McFerrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-4190

Website:
http://www.hollandhousebarandrefuge.com/

Parking Details:
HHB&R is a corner lot surrounded by parking spaces on three sides. There is additional parking on the residential streets adjacent.

Public Transit:
3 blocks east on Gallatin Road and West Eastland.

Executive Chef:
Hrant Arakelian

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Olives
Hot Shrim
Zaatar Spiced Fries
Mezze Platter
Hot Chicken
Eggs Benedict
Bloody Mary
Biscuits With Preserves
head cheese
Sous Vide Octopus
Baked Provolone
Maple Leaf Farm Duck Burger
Chelsea Sidecar
Blackberry Lemon Old-Fashioned
Baked Chevre
Kentucky Catfish And Mashed Potatoes
House Margarita
Pimm's Cup
Almond Crusted Mint Julep Cocktail
Bread Pudding
Meester Biscuit
Cheese Plate
Uptown Margarita
Grilled Hangar Steak Frites
Truffled Frites
Tom Collins
Tennessee Beignets
Crab Oscar
burger and fries
T's Southside
Mussels
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Catfish
Daisy If You Do

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The James Room at Holland House is designed in the style of a 19th century parlor, complete with turn-of-the- 20th century chandeliers and classic and elegant wall treatments. There are no booking fees or additional fees of any kind to reserve the James Room.

Holland House Bar & Refuge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (24)
See All
special occasion (24)
great for outdoor dining (24)
romantic (16)
hot spot (13)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had 6:15 reservations. We arrived a b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had 6:15 reservations. We arrived a bit early for Happy Hour cocktails. We sat at the back bar and had the bartender recommend a couple of his special drinks. They were very light and tasty.

We then were escorted to our table for a very tasty combination of small plates and entrées.

It was a nice delightful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding grilled cabbage and braised ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding grilled cabbage and braised rabbit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good, service was average. nois ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good, service was average. noise level made conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The only sad part is that the Holland Ho ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The only sad part is that the Holland House sits right on a very busy intersection, which makes it hard to enjoy the outdoor seating. Our waitress was outstandingly friendly! The menu didn't have many items on it, but I am sure that all the ones that were offered, must have been as good as the trout and the chicken we had.

Definitely order the mussel appetizer. Quite a nice presentation in an incredible good broth.

Enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The small plates were good, however, por ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The small plates were good, however, portion sizes were very small and prices were high. Larger portions or lower prices would be better. The pork large plate was disappointing. The pork was overcooked and under seasoned. The duck bolognese was almost good, too acidic. That could be said about most of the dishes, some restraint with the vinegar would help. Dessert menu was sparse, repeating many of the flavor profiles found on the menu. Again, the prices were far too high for the serving size. After trying nearly everything on the menu I left with my wallet lighter and still hungry. The dining room and patio were charming and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic meal, drinks, and great date s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic meal, drinks, and great date spot. Waitress was very knowledgable on the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding menu, , quality, presentat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding menu, , quality, presentation and service. Best meal in Nashville, and I've sampled plenty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good rabbit, burger ordered medium and c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good rabbit, burger ordered medium and came well done, fish excellent, mussels good and sides OK.

Drinks very good.

Watch gratuity if 6 or more. It is already added. We tipped on top not noticing and waitress did not say anything.

I'm sure it was an over site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Hand-crafted cocktails. Small menu, but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Hand-crafted cocktails. Small menu, but always something I want on it. Portions are small, but oh so yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good enough but not for the pri ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was good enough but not for the price tag. Interesting parings to to challenge the norm. A group of 8, we had a good assortment of food to put a test at our table. The blueberry and caramelized onions on the butchers cut steak was really good. The steak was a little overcooked but still flavorful. Kale and strawberry salad was voted over the table voted at 75%. Inside was louder but outside was quieter and and relaxing with the unseasonably nice night despite the lights being out. The bolognese had a strong flavor of some spice-garlic or fennel maybe-that was a little too over the top. Overall-slower wait staff and it was a good meal but not worth the $75/person price tag. Louder, brighter, not as refined - the Pharmacy next door has very tasty food at a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We used to love Holland House, but we we ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We used to love Holland House, but we were let down this time. The menu is not as strong as it once was, my partner and I both had a hard time deciding what to get. He settled on a burger, which was fine and I had the clams small plate and the cabbage small plate. The cabbage was great but the clams were fine. Not sure it was worth the price, but will certainly give it another shot given the past good experiences we had. They used to have an awesome hot chicken app which was gone. What a shame.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to Holland House twice. Once w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been to Holland House twice. Once was fine and the most recent was disappointing on every level. I hope it was just an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Pil pil was divine!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Came for happy hour patio date with the hubby and we were floored with the quality of the happy hour appetizers. We had the croquettes de jamon, frites, and the pil pil spicy pepper dish. We can't wait to come back for dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holland House is a cozy environment feat ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Holland House is a cozy environment featuring wood furnishings, a large central bar,

and beautiful chandelier light throughout. The waitstaff seem knowledgeable. Our cocktails were light and refreshing. The littleneck clam plate was good, but not highly flavorful. The rabbit with peas and parmesan and the small whole quail plates were both excellent. The desert menu was limited; just two items offered on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great drinks, bad food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been coming to Holland House since they opened. It's always been a pricey, but classy joint. While the cocktails and frites remain so good it's reason alone to go there, they food we had this past week was so bad, it just seemed like there was no understanding of good food. One dish we were served was raw snapper with raw jalepeno slices and raw corn kernels. On paper I was excited for the dish, but in person it had no flavor. And the textures were gag-inducing. We were also served some "meh" steak and chicken dishes. It was the straw that broke the camels back. Won't be returning anytime soon. (Except for the frites!)

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The steak I ordered was bad. The servi ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The steak I ordered was bad.

The service was good.

The ambiance was spoiled by the 85-90 degree heat. As we left the restaurant, it felt cooler in some other areas of the restaurant. But it was miserably hot and humid at the table at which we were seated (inside). We would have preferred outdoor seating but there was a threat of rain, so we were seated inside. We couldn't feel any air conditioning or fan to cool things down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Lovely dinner

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here, which was acknowledged with a cava on the house. Between us we tried five small plates. Everything was tasty and the service was attentive. The asparagus was my favorite. This was my first visit to Holland House, which is definitely a place to which I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Server wasn't the friendliest; seemed annoyed that we were there. Dropped our check off without saying anything and didn't ask or offer another drink or dessert. Sorry we bothered you by coming in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food?

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent $60 on two "entrees". No sides. No salad. No bread. Six bites of thin steak with some onion and parsley pieces... $26. Then a piece of fish resting on top of what seemed to be campbells's tomato soup... $25. Again, no sides. Not even enough to be considered a cheap appetizer. The fish and steak actually tasted good. But I will not ever pay that to eat for two minutes again. I appreciate a good steak, having paid $50 for an individual steak dinner multiple times. If I spent $25 on a 4oz cut of steak, there had better be enough of something to go with it that I don't have to stop and buy more food on the way home. The service was good. The water was room temperature. It was definitely a learning experience for us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Good ambiance. Limited food choice.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you like mixed drinks, Holland House has an impressive bar. The ambiance is very warm and intimate with good decor. I had ordered a chicken, which I was told was white meat. But, it turned out to be a tiny drumstick (I don't normally eat red meat) which was all of $25!! Although they offered to change it when told, it was too late as I had started eating, and I don't like to waste food. The wait staff should be better informed.

I

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place to dine overall!!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to dine overall!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dinner at Holland House

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed dinner very much. Had the chicken with sweet potatoes. Absolutely delicious! They have great specialty drinks. I had the Bees Knees. Happy hour from 4-6! Great atmosphere and wonderful service, would definitely recommend and will go back for sure!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic drinks and much improved food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is definitely a spot where you can count on some of the best drinks in town, up there with I would say only other 5 places. They have been improving a lot their food too, and they now offer a more comprehensive and healthy menu, with enough variety and classics at the same time. The outdoor space is tremendously lovely as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Meh

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the menu change. 6 large plates- meaning 6 entre choices? We left after my one cocktail. Disappointed, as I used to really dig this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Usually our go to restaurant for special ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Usually our go to restaurant for special occasions. However this time was a little disappointing. The menu was very small, it was not the typical Holland House menu. Our server said they scaled down for the evening. I wish there was some way to know when they would use their scaled down version. We would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great place!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fresh, local and creative. They are known for their creative cocktails but they also had a great wine list. GO!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The frites aren't always on the menu but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The frites aren't always on the menu but are honestly the best thing on the menu! And if you love specialty cocktails, this place is masterful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Cool vibe, good food.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

First time visitors to Nashville and this was recommended by Our Airbnb hosts. Did not disappoint, from pre-dinner service-running late due to rideshare service and call to hostess Jeanette was very friendly and understanding. Server, Kelsey, very knowledgeable and prompt. Food was great-shrimp pil pil, Brussels, scallops, kale salad, dips, sunflower risotto...cleaned the plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food has gone downhill

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I love Holland House and am in there regularly because it's around the corner from my house and they have a fantastic happy hour. I love their bar snacks and always find them to be delicious, and their cocktails are divine. I hadn't had a full meal there since 2011 (which I remembered being excellent), so I decided to book a spot for my 28th birthday. My boyfriend and I ordered the carrots and shrimp pil pil to start. Neither of us loved the carrots and it seemed a strange pairing, but that's subjective so I'll let that one slide. The shrimp were the highlight of the meal and had interesting flavors, although they were overcooked. We both ordered the market fish with a "provencal tomato broth," as explained by our kind and lovely waitress, Chelsea. What came out was gloopy and honestly tasted like jarred pizza sauce that someone had added a bit of acidity to. The fish was well cooked, though bland. Undercooked and unseasoned potatoes were drowning in the gloop. I also learned that endive should never be soaked in sauce. They were so sad.

I love Holland House and will be back regularly to enjoy those divine house fries and pumpkin seed dip, but I was so disappointed in my birthday meal after having such a delightful dining experience previously. The dish felt rushed, uninspired, and lacking in a thoughtful understanding of taste and texture.

Tags: neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Lovely decor and building! Food and serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Lovely decor and building! Food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance of this place! Interes ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place! Interesting menu items that were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Portions were entirely to small! My wif ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Portions were entirely to small! My wife ordered the chicken plate(24$), it came with a small leg and thigh on top of a pureed sweet potato...and that's it. My market catch(red snapper 25$) was maybe 4oz. with humus...and that's it. The flavor of both entrees were mediocre at best. They didn't even have sweet tea! I've never been to a restaurant south of the Mason Dixon line, not to mention in Tennessee, that didn't have sweet tea. Atmosphere was very neat, but the food just didn't deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Perfect for a foodie.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Creative, seasonal menu, well-executed. Charming casual and cozy atmosphere. Knowledgeable service. A great find in Nashville for a foodie from Dallas.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was dreadful and the food wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was dreadful and the food was very average. The lamb shank was terrible. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Cold inside. Food was below average. D ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Cold inside. Food was below average. Drinks were good but small. Would not recommend this place but it was not a bad experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Excellent recommendation from a friend. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Excellent recommendation from a friend. A bit off the beaten path but well worth the whopping $8 uber drive. Happy hr until 6 is fantastic with cocktails & apps! Musts are the Frites & Croquettes! The lamb shank was pretty good as well, just needed a pinch of salt! Just wish we saved room for the donuts! The services was outstanding! Our waiter (I think Cole) was so friendly and genuinely excited to explain the menu and see that we had an amazing culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Top Notch Food

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. Holland House should be on every top restaurant list in Nashville. The reason for the 4 on service was that we were there for a little bit longer than we had planned on it. I wish things had moved a bit faster, but only because we were craving the next dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful ambiance but a bit pricey

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We headed to Holland House for a last minute Valentines date night. We checked out the menu thought it looked awesome and were really excited to try it. We were a little disappointed when we arrived to find that the normal menu was not in place and there was a set 4 course valentines menu. No big deal, however it would have been nice if advertised on open table. The wine was incredible, we had the beef tartare, and sashimi as an appetizer. I wouldn't recommend the tartare however the sashimi was great! We ordered the steak and fish entrees both were delicious! And the chocolate pudding for desert was heavenly. We loved the meal and were ecstatic about the whole night until getting the bill. $200 for two people with dinner and wine. Again had this been advertised or prices even placed on the menu we wouldn't be so bothered. But it felt a little like a bait and switch. We'll definitely be back, the food and service were great we'll just make sure our wallets are a little better prepared next time!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7th anniversary here. I had requested the fireplace table in the comments section of the open table reservation. Within a few days they called to confirm that we had that table. The servers and management went above and beyond to take care of us, and make it one of the most memorable meals we've ever had. The food was amazing and very creative. We had the fish special and butchers cut of steak. The drinks were also very innovative as they put their own twist on the classics. This is one of the best restaurants in town and truly a hidden gem in the East Nashville neighborhood. I would definitely recommend a night out here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience at H ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This was my first dining experience at Holland House. The atmosphere was the best part of the evening. This is a warm and aesthetically appealing place to enjoy time with friends. I feel the menu was limited in respect to entrees and focused mainly on small plates. The smoked olive dip was great as was the kale salad. I was impressed with the steelhead sushi as well. My entree was the burger of the day. The burger was just average which was a little disappointing but the Parmesan Rosemary fries were well worth indulging in. For our sweet tooth, we tried the apricot tart and the ginger spiced doughnuts with caramel dipping sauce. The doughnuts were divine! The server was attentive but not spot on with memory. Overall I will say it was an average dining experience but I'm not in a hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.