About Holland House Bar & Refuge

935 West Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

HHB&R, located in the heart of historic East Nashville, less than a mile from downtown Nashville, has proved a welcome addition to the local culinary scene. Located in the shell of a long-standing neighborhood grocery, Holland House Bar & Refuge is a re-imagined neighborhood haven that sources local and regional ingredients, and offers an expansive menu of cocktails, sipping spirits, and craft beer. Voted Best New Bar 2010 and Best New Restaurant (#2) 2010 by the people of Nashville in the Nashville Scene's Annual Reader's Poll, HHB&R has been embraced as the leader of the city's all-encompassing restaurant experience. With a New American culinary style consistent with the casual and the elegant, and the bar overseen by celebrated mixologists, HHB&R continues to evolve and prosper with an ever-changing roster of cocktails and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar opens at 4:00 daily. Happy Hour 4-6
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
*This is an 18 and up establishment

Cross Street:
McFerrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-4190

Website:
http://www.hollandhousebarandrefuge.com/

Parking Details:
HHB&R is a corner lot surrounded by parking spaces on three sides. There is additional parking on the residential streets adjacent.

Public Transit:
3 blocks east on Gallatin Road and West Eastland.

Executive Chef:
Hrant Arakelian

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The James Room at Holland House is designed in the style of a 19th century parlor, complete with turn-of-the- 20th century chandeliers and classic and elegant wall treatments. There are no booking fees or additional fees of any kind to reserve the James Room.

Holland House Bar & Refuge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Restaurants in East Nashville ›

fit for foodies (40)
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (29)
See All
special occasion (29)
romantic (26)
hot spot (22)
great for outdoor dining (18)
late-night find (13)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (8)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
705 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Food?

Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent $60 on two "entrees". No sides. No salad. No bread. Six bites of thin steak with some onion and parsley pieces... $26. Then a piece of fish resting on top of what seemed to be campbells's tomato soup... $25. Again, no sides. Not even enough to be considered a cheap appetizer. The fish and steak actually tasted good. But I will not ever pay that to eat for two minutes again. I appreciate a good steak, having paid $50 for an individual steak dinner multiple times. If I spent $25 on a 4oz cut of steak, there had better be enough of something to go with it that I don't have to stop and buy more food on the way home. The service was good. The water was room temperature. It was definitely a learning experience for us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good ambiance. Limited food choice.

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you like mixed drinks, Holland House has an impressive bar. The ambiance is very warm and intimate with good decor. I had ordered a chicken, which I was told was white meat. But, it turned out to be a tiny drumstick (I don't normally eat red meat) which was all of $25!! Although they offered to change it when told, it was too late as I had started eating, and I don't like to waste food. The wait staff should be better informed. I

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Great place to dine overall!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to dine overall!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Holland House

Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed dinner very much. Had the chicken with sweet potatoes. Absolutely delicious! They have great specialty drinks. I had the Bees Knees. Happy hour from 4-6! Great atmosphere and wonderful service, would definitely recommend and will go back for sure!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic drinks and much improved food

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is definitely a spot where you can count on some of the best drinks in town, up there with I would say only other 5 places. They have been improving a lot their food too, and they now offer a more comprehensive and healthy menu, with enough variety and classics at the same time. The outdoor space is tremendously lovely as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Meh

Dined on April 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the menu change. 6 large plates- meaning 6 entre choices? We left after my one cocktail. Disappointed, as I used to really dig this place.

food3
ambience3
service4

Usually our go to restaurant for special ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Usually our go to restaurant for special occasions. However this time was a little disappointing. The menu was very small, it was not the typical Holland House menu. Our server said they scaled down for the evening. I wish there was some way to know when they would use their scaled down version. We would have gone elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fresh, local and creative. They are known for their creative cocktails but they also had a great wine list. GO!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service4

The frites aren't always on the menu but ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The frites aren't always on the menu but are honestly the best thing on the menu! And if you love specialty cocktails, this place is masterful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool vibe, good food.

Dined on April 9, 2016

First time visitors to Nashville and this was recommended by Our Airbnb hosts. Did not disappoint, from pre-dinner service-running late due to rideshare service and call to hostess Jeanette was very friendly and understanding. Server, Kelsey, very knowledgeable and prompt. Food was great-shrimp pil pil, Brussels, scallops, kale salad, dips, sunflower risotto...cleaned the plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food has gone downhill

Dined on April 8, 2016

I love Holland House and am in there regularly because it's around the corner from my house and they have a fantastic happy hour. I love their bar snacks and always find them to be delicious, and their cocktails are divine. I hadn't had a full meal there since 2011 (which I remembered being excellent), so I decided to book a spot for my 28th birthday. My boyfriend and I ordered the carrots and shrimp pil pil to start. Neither of us loved the carrots and it seemed a strange pairing, but that's subjective so I'll let that one slide. The shrimp were the highlight of the meal and had interesting flavors, although they were overcooked. We both ordered the market fish with a "provencal tomato broth," as explained by our kind and lovely waitress, Chelsea. What came out was gloopy and honestly tasted like jarred pizza sauce that someone had added a bit of acidity to. The fish was well cooked, though bland. Undercooked and unseasoned potatoes were drowning in the gloop. I also learned that endive should never be soaked in sauce. They were so sad. I love Holland House and will be back regularly to enjoy those divine house fries and pumpkin seed dip, but I was so disappointed in my birthday meal after having such a delightful dining experience previously. The dish felt rushed, uninspired, and lacking in a thoughtful understanding of taste and texture.

Tags: neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely decor and building! Food and serv ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Lovely decor and building! Food and service was great.

food4
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance of this place! Interes ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place! Interesting menu items that were delicious!

food2
ambience5
service3

Portions were entirely to small! My wif ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Portions were entirely to small! My wife ordered the chicken plate(24$), it came with a small leg and thigh on top of a pureed sweet potato...and that's it. My market catch(red snapper 25$) was maybe 4oz. with humus...and that's it. The flavor of both entrees were mediocre at best. They didn't even have sweet tea! I've never been to a restaurant south of the Mason Dixon line, not to mention in Tennessee, that didn't have sweet tea. Atmosphere was very neat, but the food just didn't deliver.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for a foodie.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Creative, seasonal menu, well-executed. Charming casual and cozy atmosphere. Knowledgeable service. A great find in Nashville for a foodie from Dallas.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

The service was dreadful and the food wa ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was dreadful and the food was very average. The lamb shank was terrible. I would not return.

food2
ambience2
service5

Cold inside. Food was below average. D ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Cold inside. Food was below average. Drinks were good but small. Would not recommend this place but it was not a bad experience overall.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent recommendation from a friend. ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Excellent recommendation from a friend. A bit off the beaten path but well worth the whopping $8 uber drive. Happy hr until 6 is fantastic with cocktails & apps! Musts are the Frites & Croquettes! The lamb shank was pretty good as well, just needed a pinch of salt! Just wish we saved room for the donuts! The services was outstanding! Our waiter (I think Cole) was so friendly and genuinely excited to explain the menu and see that we had an amazing culinary experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Top Notch Food

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. Holland House should be on every top restaurant list in Nashville. The reason for the 4 on service was that we were there for a little bit longer than we had planned on it. I wish things had moved a bit faster, but only because we were craving the next dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance but a bit pricey

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We headed to Holland House for a last minute Valentines date night. We checked out the menu thought it looked awesome and were really excited to try it. We were a little disappointed when we arrived to find that the normal menu was not in place and there was a set 4 course valentines menu. No big deal, however it would have been nice if advertised on open table. The wine was incredible, we had the beef tartare, and sashimi as an appetizer. I wouldn't recommend the tartare however the sashimi was great! We ordered the steak and fish entrees both were delicious! And the chocolate pudding for desert was heavenly. We loved the meal and were ecstatic about the whole night until getting the bill. $200 for two people with dinner and wine. Again had this been advertised or prices even placed on the menu we wouldn't be so bothered. But it felt a little like a bait and switch. We'll definitely be back, the food and service were great we'll just make sure our wallets are a little better prepared next time!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7th anniversary here. I had requested the fireplace table in the comments section of the open table reservation. Within a few days they called to confirm that we had that table. The servers and management went above and beyond to take care of us, and make it one of the most memorable meals we've ever had. The food was amazing and very creative. We had the fish special and butchers cut of steak. The drinks were also very innovative as they put their own twist on the classics. This is one of the best restaurants in town and truly a hidden gem in the East Nashville neighborhood. I would definitely recommend a night out here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

This was my first dining experience at H ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was my first dining experience at Holland House. The atmosphere was the best part of the evening. This is a warm and aesthetically appealing place to enjoy time with friends. I feel the menu was limited in respect to entrees and focused mainly on small plates. The smoked olive dip was great as was the kale salad. I was impressed with the steelhead sushi as well. My entree was the burger of the day. The burger was just average which was a little disappointing but the Parmesan Rosemary fries were well worth indulging in. For our sweet tooth, we tried the apricot tart and the ginger spiced doughnuts with caramel dipping sauce. The doughnuts were divine! The server was attentive but not spot on with memory. Overall I will say it was an average dining experience but I'm not in a hurry to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great food, service and drink!

Dined on February 2, 2016

This is a great place for a good meal, as well as a great place to spend time with friends. Consistency is the key here. I have yet to have a bad experience at Holland House. I love how the menu is changed based on the current season and ingredients. They look for new ways to inspire you to try many things you wouldn't think of trying. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food and drinks were very slow. Other th ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food and drinks were very slow. Other than that great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$5 Old Fashioned? Yes Please!

Dined on January 22, 2016

My first Holland House experience was during Nashville Restaurant Week. I made a reservation online, which was quick & easy. The restaurant called and confirmed my reservation with me. The menu was delicious, and (as a pleasant surprise) they had a $5 Old Fashioned special! After a delicious meal, we grabbed seats at the bar and sampled a specialty cocktail. Overall a 5-star experience! Thank you, Holland House!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Great hipster bar and restaurant

Dined on January 3, 2016

Loved the cocktails (even though it took 25 minutes to get one drink), and the steak was seasoned exceptionally well. The short ribs were flavorful but not a great price for the portion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Always enjoy Holland House, but this par ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Always enjoy Holland House, but this particular visit was on New Year's Eve. They 4-course menu was relishes, wait staff was great, and the fireworks show at the restaurant was a nice bonus.

food1
ambience3
service1

After waiting 35 minutes for our waiter ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

After waiting 35 minutes for our waiter just to bring drinks, (which never showed up), our table of 5 walked out. Never coming here again.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Limited Choices

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Menu on 12/23/15 had only four (4) entrée choices. Not the same Holland House of a few years ago. Disappointing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Drinks are great, but don't go if you're hungry...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Try the Golden Ticket. It's a great drink! Don't show up if you're hungry. There is nothing on the food menu that I would suggest, and I've tried lots of different options trying to find something to enjoy...

food3
ambience4
service3

I went there with my wife on a Friday ni ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

I went there with my wife on a Friday night. We got the three dip plate as an appetizer. It was very good, definitely recommend. On entrees I got the meester burger while my wife got the steak frites. I liked my burger while my wife thought her steak was a little chewy. Service was okay, just felt like it could have been quicker on the drinks. I think the happy hour pricing is a really great deal for a few drinks and appetizers but I don't think I'll go for a full dinner again.

food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing ambiance. Great food. Fantastic ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Amazing ambiance. Great food. Fantastic chef!

food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our one year anniversary and ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

We went for our one year anniversary and Holland House made it very special for us. They had a bottle of wine on the table when we arrived and the gm also brought us two glasses of champagne. Had a great night!

food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed.

Dined on November 21, 2015

I heard great reviews about this restaurant; however, I must admit it did not live up to its reputation. We made reservations a few days in advance, but still had to wait over 30 minutes for our table. However, the manager did apologize which I appreciate. The bar service was incredibly slow, literally the bartenders work at a glacial pace. Once getting to the table, our service was not bad, but it also was not good. Our server was nice but not nearly as attentive as you would like for the price you pay. For instance, we had to ask for water re-fills the whole night/flag her down every time we wanted another drink from the bar. Also, the food was so-so. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. The portions were good, but overall the food lacked in flavor. I think the majority of our table wanted to order the lamb-steak, but it was already out for the evening which was disappointing. Overall, would not recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was amazing! A truly w ...

Dined on November 20, 2015

This restaurant was amazing! A truly wonderful atmosphere and the food was superb. Their drinks are really one of a kind as are their very unique ice cubes! They definitely have the ambiance of a speak easy and it is very cozy, not crowded like downtown bars. Will absolutely be back in the near future!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Holland House is our favorite. Service ...

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Holland House is our favorite. Service is always impeccable and the food is on point. We are never disappointed with our experience.

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing

Dined on November 6, 2015

We were one of three couples in our group on a Thursday evening. It was not busy; however, two of the items on a short menu were not available. The beef that was ultimately ordered was unacceptably tough. To their credit the bill was reduced by half.

food5
ambience5
service3

Great food and nice ambiance

Dined on November 5, 2015

The food was excellent and the ambiance was very good as well. Our waitor was very unfriendly which was the only drawback. He seemed very distant and was not very friendly, kind of strange.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Favorite in Nashville

Dined on October 31, 2015

This is one of my favorite restaurants for special occasions. They have changed the menu since I was there last, and I was a bit apprehensive. But the food was delicious, and when we ordered dessert they brought a candle for my mom. Now, what I love about this place is the ambiance and, of course, the drinks. Even the mocktails were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Holland house- Heck Yes

Dined on October 25, 2015

The Holland house blew me away with their ambiance, their food choices, their drink selection (cocktail menu), the service, decor, etc. It was all so great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.