About Holland House Bar & Refuge

935 West Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

HHB&R, located in the heart of historic East Nashville, less than a mile from downtown Nashville, has proved a welcome addition to the local culinary scene. Located in the shell of a long-standing neighborhood grocery, Holland House Bar & Refuge is a re-imagined neighborhood haven that sources local and regional ingredients, and offers an expansive menu of cocktails, sipping spirits, and craft beer. Voted Best New Bar 2010 and Best New Restaurant (#2) 2010 by the people of Nashville in the Nashville Scene's Annual Reader's Poll, HHB&R has been embraced as the leader of the city's all-encompassing restaurant experience. With a New American culinary style consistent with the casual and the elegant, and the bar overseen by celebrated mixologists, HHB&R continues to evolve and prosper with an ever-changing roster of cocktails and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar opens at 4:00 daily. Happy Hour 4-6
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
*This is an 18 and up establishment

Cross Street:
McFerrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-4190

Website:
http://www.hollandhousebarandrefuge.com/

Parking Details:
HHB&R is a corner lot surrounded by parking spaces on three sides. There is additional parking on the residential streets adjacent.

Public Transit:
3 blocks east on Gallatin Road and West Eastland.

Executive Chef:
Hrant Arakelian

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Olives
Hot Shrim
Zaatar Spiced Fries
Mezze Platter
Hot Chicken
Eggs Benedict
Bloody Mary
Baked Provolone
head cheese
Biscuits With Preserves
Sous Vide Octopus
Maple Leaf Farm Duck Burger
Chelsea Sidecar
Blackberry Lemon Old-Fashioned
Kentucky Catfish And Mashed Potatoes
Baked Chevre
House Margarita
Pimm's Cup
Almond Crusted Mint Julep Cocktail
Bread Pudding
Meester Biscuit
Cheese Plate
Uptown Margarita
Grilled Hangar Steak Frites
Truffled Frites
Tom Collins
Crab Oscar
Tennessee Beignets
burger and fries
T's Southside
Mussels
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Catfish
Daisy If You Do

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The James Room at Holland House is designed in the style of a 19th century parlor, complete with turn-of-the- 20th century chandeliers and classic and elegant wall treatments. There are no booking fees or additional fees of any kind to reserve the James Room.

Holland House Bar & Refuge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, food quality was outs ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, food quality was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

it was soooo hot inside. needs more a/c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

it was soooo hot inside. needs more a/c. and i'm a low a/c person saying that. :(

.

food was okay.....but not as good as its cost considering all the great food you can get in the Nash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

The atmosphere is my favorite aspect of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphere is my favorite aspect of this restaurant, but the food was also very good! And of course, my friend who recommended them was not kidding - their cocktails are amazing! Service was pretty standard; fair, but nothing to write home about. I would definitely go there again for a meeting with friends or a special occasion, even if just for the great drinks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great service! Really good drinks, reaso ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service! Really good drinks, reasonable prices. Would have liked some better explanations on the entrees from servers other than, "it's really good."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The General Manager Andrew was amazing!! ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The General Manager Andrew was amazing!! Had a wonderful meal and an exceptional service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really unusual menu selection. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really unusual menu selection. Enjoyed everything that we tried. Even our 6 year old grandson enjoyed the different tastes. The combinations were thoughtful and delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They seemed to be out of many items. Ra ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They seemed to be out of many items. Ran out of brandy and substituted with a very expensive brandy, which doubled the normal price of our drink. Food was a disappointment, and the menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was as well prepared and presen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was as well prepared and presented. The dishes were unique, braised rabbit, asparagus w/ grits (spicy but excellent), and the pork loin are to name a few. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the ambience and drinks. Food is go ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love the ambience and drinks. Food is good too but the portion sizes are WAY too small. Is this a tapas bar? I paid $26 for fish that could barely fit in the small of my hand. The whole table laughed when they saw the food come out. I also think they need to change up their entree menu a little more often. This place has all the makings to be wonderful but need to find out why they still keep missing the mark. It used to be the service, but now I think it's the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great place for after work drinks, or a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place for after work drinks, or a hang out spot for cocktails. Their drinks are spectacular. Not a great place if you're hungry, small portions overall. We would visit again for their drink selection, but only after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was too hot to eat the air condition ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was too hot to eat the air condition could not keep up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I don't know if the AC was out, but it w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I don't know if the AC was out, but it was very hot when we all went in the other night, which made us want to rush our time there. The waiter we had wasn't great, just ok, and he seemed to be irritated at the amount of people we had. He forgot about 2 of our drinks and didn't check up on us very much. I have never had a bad experience, so this was a first for me! Kind of a disappointment, but I would still recommend this place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

don't go on a warm night as i don't thin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

don't go on a warm night as i don't think the AC works, had to be 85 degrees in the restaurant. Service was ambivalent at best and the food is a B.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had 6:15 reservations. We arrived a b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had 6:15 reservations. We arrived a bit early for Happy Hour cocktails. We sat at the back bar and had the bartender recommend a couple of his special drinks. They were very light and tasty.

We then were escorted to our table for a very tasty combination of small plates and entrées.

It was a nice delightful night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding grilled cabbage and braised ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding grilled cabbage and braised rabbit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good, service was average. nois ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good, service was average. noise level made conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The only sad part is that the Holland Ho ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The only sad part is that the Holland House sits right on a very busy intersection, which makes it hard to enjoy the outdoor seating. Our waitress was outstandingly friendly! The menu didn't have many items on it, but I am sure that all the ones that were offered, must have been as good as the trout and the chicken we had.

Definitely order the mussel appetizer. Quite a nice presentation in an incredible good broth.

Enjoy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The small plates were good, however, por ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The small plates were good, however, portion sizes were very small and prices were high. Larger portions or lower prices would be better. The pork large plate was disappointing. The pork was overcooked and under seasoned. The duck bolognese was almost good, too acidic. That could be said about most of the dishes, some restraint with the vinegar would help. Dessert menu was sparse, repeating many of the flavor profiles found on the menu. Again, the prices were far too high for the serving size. After trying nearly everything on the menu I left with my wallet lighter and still hungry. The dining room and patio were charming and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic meal, drinks, and great date s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic meal, drinks, and great date spot. Waitress was very knowledgable on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding menu, , quality, presentat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding menu, , quality, presentation and service. Best meal in Nashville, and I've sampled plenty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good rabbit, burger ordered medium and c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good rabbit, burger ordered medium and came well done, fish excellent, mussels good and sides OK.

Drinks very good.

Watch gratuity if 6 or more. It is already added. We tipped on top not noticing and waitress did not say anything.

I'm sure it was an over site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Hand-crafted cocktails. Small menu, but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Hand-crafted cocktails. Small menu, but always something I want on it. Portions are small, but oh so yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good enough but not for the pri ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was good enough but not for the price tag. Interesting parings to to challenge the norm. A group of 8, we had a good assortment of food to put a test at our table. The blueberry and caramelized onions on the butchers cut steak was really good. The steak was a little overcooked but still flavorful. Kale and strawberry salad was voted over the table voted at 75%. Inside was louder but outside was quieter and and relaxing with the unseasonably nice night despite the lights being out. The bolognese had a strong flavor of some spice-garlic or fennel maybe-that was a little too over the top. Overall-slower wait staff and it was a good meal but not worth the $75/person price tag. Louder, brighter, not as refined - the Pharmacy next door has very tasty food at a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We used to love Holland House, but we we ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We used to love Holland House, but we were let down this time. The menu is not as strong as it once was, my partner and I both had a hard time deciding what to get. He settled on a burger, which was fine and I had the clams small plate and the cabbage small plate. The cabbage was great but the clams were fine. Not sure it was worth the price, but will certainly give it another shot given the past good experiences we had. They used to have an awesome hot chicken app which was gone. What a shame.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to Holland House twice. Once w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been to Holland House twice. Once was fine and the most recent was disappointing on every level. I hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Pil pil was divine!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Came for happy hour patio date with the hubby and we were floored with the quality of the happy hour appetizers. We had the croquettes de jamon, frites, and the pil pil spicy pepper dish. We can't wait to come back for dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holland House is a cozy environment feat ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Holland House is a cozy environment featuring wood furnishings, a large central bar,

and beautiful chandelier light throughout. The waitstaff seem knowledgeable. Our cocktails were light and refreshing. The littleneck clam plate was good, but not highly flavorful. The rabbit with peas and parmesan and the small whole quail plates were both excellent. The desert menu was limited; just two items offered on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great drinks, bad food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been coming to Holland House since they opened. It's always been a pricey, but classy joint. While the cocktails and frites remain so good it's reason alone to go there, they food we had this past week was so bad, it just seemed like there was no understanding of good food. One dish we were served was raw snapper with raw jalepeno slices and raw corn kernels. On paper I was excited for the dish, but in person it had no flavor. And the textures were gag-inducing. We were also served some "meh" steak and chicken dishes. It was the straw that broke the camels back. Won't be returning anytime soon. (Except for the frites!)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The steak I ordered was bad. The servi ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The steak I ordered was bad.

The service was good.

The ambiance was spoiled by the 85-90 degree heat. As we left the restaurant, it felt cooler in some other areas of the restaurant. But it was miserably hot and humid at the table at which we were seated (inside). We would have preferred outdoor seating but there was a threat of rain, so we were seated inside. We couldn't feel any air conditioning or fan to cool things down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Lovely dinner

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here, which was acknowledged with a cava on the house. Between us we tried five small plates. Everything was tasty and the service was attentive. The asparagus was my favorite. This was my first visit to Holland House, which is definitely a place to which I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Server wasn't the friendliest; seemed annoyed that we were there. Dropped our check off without saying anything and didn't ask or offer another drink or dessert. Sorry we bothered you by coming in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food?

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent $60 on two "entrees". No sides. No salad. No bread. Six bites of thin steak with some onion and parsley pieces... $26. Then a piece of fish resting on top of what seemed to be campbells's tomato soup... $25. Again, no sides. Not even enough to be considered a cheap appetizer. The fish and steak actually tasted good. But I will not ever pay that to eat for two minutes again. I appreciate a good steak, having paid $50 for an individual steak dinner multiple times. If I spent $25 on a 4oz cut of steak, there had better be enough of something to go with it that I don't have to stop and buy more food on the way home. The service was good. The water was room temperature. It was definitely a learning experience for us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Good ambiance. Limited food choice.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you like mixed drinks, Holland House has an impressive bar. The ambiance is very warm and intimate with good decor. I had ordered a chicken, which I was told was white meat. But, it turned out to be a tiny drumstick (I don't normally eat red meat) which was all of $25!! Although they offered to change it when told, it was too late as I had started eating, and I don't like to waste food. The wait staff should be better informed.

I

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place to dine overall!!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to dine overall!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dinner at Holland House

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed dinner very much. Had the chicken with sweet potatoes. Absolutely delicious! They have great specialty drinks. I had the Bees Knees. Happy hour from 4-6! Great atmosphere and wonderful service, would definitely recommend and will go back for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic drinks and much improved food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is definitely a spot where you can count on some of the best drinks in town, up there with I would say only other 5 places. They have been improving a lot their food too, and they now offer a more comprehensive and healthy menu, with enough variety and classics at the same time. The outdoor space is tremendously lovely as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Meh

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the menu change. 6 large plates- meaning 6 entre choices? We left after my one cocktail. Disappointed, as I used to really dig this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Usually our go to restaurant for special ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Usually our go to restaurant for special occasions. However this time was a little disappointing. The menu was very small, it was not the typical Holland House menu. Our server said they scaled down for the evening. I wish there was some way to know when they would use their scaled down version. We would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great place!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fresh, local and creative. They are known for their creative cocktails but they also had a great wine list. GO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The frites aren't always on the menu but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The frites aren't always on the menu but are honestly the best thing on the menu! And if you love specialty cocktails, this place is masterful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.