Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Hoffman's Downtown

Hoffman's Downtown Santa Cruz serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 8am daily. Famous for our DELICIOUS Eggs Benedict, and with our fabulous NEW full bar, Hoffman's is the perfect place for everything from Sunday brunch to an evening martini with the cool jazz humming in the background. Now open even later on Fridays and Saturdays, stop in for a cocktail and a snack off our UN-spendy $3 Bar Bites Menu served until 11pm!

1102 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
8:00 am to 9:00 pm weekdays;
8:00 am to 11:00 pm weekends

Cross Street:
Cathcart

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 420-0135

Website:
http://www.hoffmanssantacruz.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz 7 nights a week starting at 6:30!

Parking Details:
Limited Parking available directly behind Hoffman's from Carthcart ave. Multi-level garages, public lots, and street parking available nearby.

Public Transit:
Metro station located less than 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Holzworth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hoffman's Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.0

ambience

3.1

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

58% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

While visiting Santa Cruz, I was excited to find a place that feautures live jazz every night. That's basically the only good thing that I took from my experience at Hoffman's Downtown. The place seems so mixed-up. Is it a bar type of restaurant? Is it a bakery focused restaurant? Is it more of a brunch spot? I'm not sure.
My date and I went for dinner. Artwork on walls is a nice conversational piece, parking was easy in lot next door. Server was nice but seemed very inexperienced as he didn't bring bread until we asked (half way through our meal), and he didn't clear plates when they were empty. The atmosphere feels like a bar, but booths (that are super dated and torn/falling apart) are a bright lively patterned color that is honestly distracting. My date said the fried chicken was good, my butternut squash ravioli was lacking flavor and cleary out of a freezer bag. The blue cheese cream sauce tasted nothing like blue cheese.
We ordered the apple pie dessert specifically because I did not want chocolate, and it was described on the menu as warm pie and ice cream. It came with chocolate all over it and the pie was not good - at all.
This review may seem harsh, but if you compare it to my other reviews, you can see I am not hard to please and love giving credit when it is due. I do not reccomend eating here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wait staff was great.
Food was not very generous for the prices. I had a club sandwich $11, with very little bits of bacon and the avocado was miniscule. It was just ok and a bit overpriced for what I got.

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never Again. Ordered salmon...15 minutes later told you are out. So, ordered the trout...15 minutes later told you were out.
So, ordered the Veggie burger...10 minutes later told you were out.
so, at least a half hour later I finally ordered a salad.
Also told you have no non-alcoholic beer.
Waiter had nothing else to offer...no suggestions or alternatives to a meat offering.

I love the music but there is no need for it to be so loud.

I've been to Hoffman's many times in the past...but...never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had dinner before a show. Saturday evening, 6:15PM. Out of three entrees: Steak, Salmon and Trout. poor planning, these were not difficult items to procure. We only discovered the salmon was out after we received a seafood salad missing the Salmon. After asking specifically for the salmon...
Service was OK, considering the server was unaware of what was available.
Appetizer was Crab and Artichoke dip, which was pretty tasty. I ordered Jagerschitzel, Which was OK, nothing special. Seafood salad was standard with only shrimp, the other seafood was not to be seen.

Overall, Meh. There are better choices in SC.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

a very nice place, excellent drinks and meals and great atmosphere!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have not had dinner here before so thought we'd try it out before the SC Warriors Game. We did get asked for a drink order immediately which was great. After looking at the menu we tried to order the steak and were told that they ran out (it was 5pm on a Friday)...so then my boyfriend asked about the friend chicken and what type of chicken...they shared that it is only breasts - he passed and settling on the french dip. I had the meatloaf and it was delicious. We also ordered a bottle of wine...and were told that they didn't have any of what we wanted in stock. It was a decent meal, but disappointing to order many items which they did not have available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Comfortable and familiar. The food is generally pretty good with good portion sizes.

Tags: Family Style, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nice food. Thanks! It was my first time to have breakfast here but I'd do it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

There was plenty of staff but service is so below average. Food was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Attentive service, nice options for brunch (inventive scrambles and old standbys such as eggs). Good food and a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner here to celebrate New Year's Eve with family. Food was fantastic, service was great, and we had a wonderful evening! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waiter was non existent and unhelpful. The woman bartender was more helpful. The food was ok but christmas menu was a surprise and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bless them for serving dinner on thanksgiving. The food was delicious. The service was spotty due to apparently being understaffed. They forgot a couple of the drinks and appetizers that we ordered, due to the lack of waitstaff and bussing staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We miss the great selection of Ed's bakery desserts (e.g. marzipan) that used to be on the menu, but we realize that time marches on and even restaurants need to re-invent themselves to stay in business, as Hoffman's did when they replaced the bakery counter with the wine bar. The food was all delicious. I had the onion soup and the trout and my wife had the ravioli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Did not care that we had made a reservation and were not prepared for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant serves one of the best breakfasts in town. For dinner try the meatloaf it's also excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was good, not great. Pumpkin cheesecake was superb!! Live jazz was great. Would recommend Hoffman's for bar bits and desserts.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Used to be great but was disappointed as it's gone down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food & service was just okay. If you like bland food, then this is your place. The restaurant looks nice from the outside, but looks like a Fancy Denny's on the inside. The music is WAY too loud & obnoxious. The food texture was cooked right, but the taste was SO bland. I even tried taking half of my food home& adding a ton of spices to it, but still, meh. I'd rather go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We were very disappointed. First of all, it was crowded due to restaurant week. A lady was talking to people at the next table & was encroaching on our table, leaning all over us.
We were interested in the salmon and for the last 3 visits it was unavailable.
The waiter completely ignored us and actually went to help others who came in far after we did.
There were few choices for us as we don't eat chicken or meat, only fish & pasta so it was very limited.
We don't plan to return here again in the near future as it was such a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was very good. My wife had the fried chicken dinner and enjoyed it. All white meat, cooked just right - nice and moist, tender. The chicken was more like chicken tenders than what I would consider to be called 'fried chicken', it was boneless, but whatev's it was chicken and it was fried. The breading was also very good, not heavy.

I had the special that evening - sirloin steak skewer. It was also very good. The meat was tender, did not need a knife. It was a delicious grilled steak, very tasty and filling.

The only down side to the dinner - the service was not great. Took a bit longer than I would have expected for entrees to arrive (28 minutes). Also, there was no check back from our waiter to see if our meals were alright. No biggie since we were both happy.

Finally, we were going to order a dessert, but after waiting about 25 minutes after our dinner plates were removed for our waiter to check back, we decided to just get the bill and head somewhere else for dessert.
Still, overall, this was a good dining experience and we'll probably be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Will never set foot in the door again. THey have been consistently bad with food and service for many years. The last experience was the worst - dirty tables, dead flowers, dirty walls. Bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have tried this place for breakfast brunch and dinner over the years. As a local restaurant want to keep trying but everytime it is just really bad. Even after Restaurant impossibl make over. Disgusting egg benedicts. This last trip for a dinner prior to a concert... dirty walls, dead rose in the "vaase" 20 mins to get our wine. Inedible food. Never going back. We have had it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went with a group of 10 which isn't easy. They fit us in. They didn't seem overly busy but the service was just ok. Maybe the waiter was having an off night. Some really liked their food, others did not. The fried chicken sandwich was not good. My daughter didn't like her burger and the kids meals(mini corn dogs ) weren't good either. The regular chicken sandwiches seem to be the best order option. Pricey for what it was and the service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We each ordered a salad and it was delicious. Our server was very efficient and friendly and the food was delicious.. It was a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good custom cocktails and excellent food. Sitting outdoors and watching Santa Cruz walk by is the thing to do on a warm day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hoffman's was not able to handle the crowd. Service was slow; some items never appeared; cafe au lait was lukewarm. Our waitress was covering both indoor and outdoor tables, doing her best to be pleasant and accommodating, but she was too overworked to be efficient. Two of the four in our group felt unwell afterward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated immediately and brought out bread and water while we waited for our friends. I ordered the Pacific Rim salad and it was delicious. My husband was less pleased with the sand dabs as they were somewhat dry. The sauce that was served with it was good and helped. The wait staff was very friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2016

I go for the food and atmosphere. Service is usually better but on my last visit the server seemed ambivalent -- I had to ask for drink refills, that kind of stuff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 18, 2016

Nice surprise, we were looking for a restaurant in the downtown Santa Cruz area. Went to open table to get some recommendations and Hoffmans came up. We've walked by several times but never stopped.
The restaurant is in a perfect location, outside dining is right on Pacific Ave. The bldg is well kept up inside and out.
My friend had the Salmon which was ok, I had the meatloaf dinner which was great. The crab and artichoke dip was a 10 and the jazz music added to the fun.
All in all a fun time, I will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Wonderful meal. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2016

I love this place and dine here often. The crew here is always so on it, and the bloody mary I had was the best in a long time. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Not a favorite. The manager stalks around & peers over everyone's shoulders & onto their plates. One would think she could be a little more discreet. Hubbys beer refill took over half the meal to arrive. Live music in such a small venue is really loud & overbearing. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2015

My partner and I went to Hoffman's for the first time. We were greeted after a while by an annoyed woman, who promptly sat us next to a screaming homeless lady at the next table. We asked to move, and were promptly seated a few more tables over. Everything about this experience was odd. Between the irritated staff, to the dowdy decor (think Mel's diner), way too expensive for the experience. I trusted my instincts and fled next door to Assembly. They were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2015

This was my first trip to Hoffmans. I was excited to find a restaurant open on Thanksgiving. I did make a reservation which went smooth. I made it online with Open Table, I did get a confirmation but was concerned that the system wasn't programmed for Thanksgiving , so I called and confirmed with the host about my reservation, which was good to go.

Even though I made a reservation, my husband and I squeezed between a party of 4 and party of 2. We sat so close I could not speak with my husband privately. I could also clearly hear our neighbors conversations and pretty much sample their dinners. It wasn't the atmosphere I had hoped for.

My salad cost $12 but I guarantee it probably cost less than $3 to make. The entrees came out super early which tells me they were just sitting ready to serve.

The food was not bad. I enjoyed the rice and 3 asparagus I got. The salmon was good too.

I order a slice of pecan pie that took about 15 mins to be brought out. When I came out it came out in a Togo box and all broken and half fallen apart. The ice cream was good.

I will not go there again for a holiday dinner.

I'm am glad they were available to serve us folks who worked thanksgiving and didn't have a place to go. But I had hoped for something a little nicer.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Waitress was new and couldn't keep up with her tables. Had to order olive oil for the bread 3 times before it showed up. Salad was from a bag of greens plopped on a plate. The only saving factor was when we moved to the bar after dinner and enjoyed a little live jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Reservations. Arrived on time-was given worst possible seat in far back.
Wait staff very efficient. Scones to die for!
Smoked salmon omlette was awful-
Charges to substitute potatoes. Potatoes were not tasty or crisp. Soggy

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2015

We have been dining at Hoffman's for years. It is our go to restaurant whenever we are in town. I spent my 50th birthday here and had the most delicious bottle of wine! They have a very well rounded wine list by the bottle and by the glass. The food is always satisfying. There is often live music and we are just great fans of Hoffman's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2015

The food is good. We go as a rather large family group roughly once per month. The service is good and the ambience is very relaxing. I've eaten dinner there also. The food is well prepared and comfortable. I don't worry about getting a bad plate...

Try them out...They can be a welcome change to some of the more...eclectic dining experiences downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2015

It was a hot afternoon so I sat out on the patio and 'people watched' - mostly tourists and grungy homeless. Even the locals did not look very upscale.
An interesting grapefruit juice margarita; a wonderful "Ordinaire" absinthe.
A good salad; a nice piece of King salmon; plain steamed broccoli. I went across the street for a unique and delicious sorbet for dessert.
I had an early dinner which is undoubtedly why it was quiet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.