About Hoffman's Downtown

1102 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

Hoffman's Downtown Santa Cruz serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from 8am daily. Famous for our DELICIOUS Eggs Benedict, and with our fabulous NEW full bar, Hoffman's is the perfect place for everything from Sunday brunch to an evening martini with the cool jazz humming in the background. Now open even later on Fridays and Saturdays, stop in for a cocktail and a snack off our UN-spendy $3 Bar Bites Menu served until 11pm!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
8:00 am to 9:00 pm weekdays;
8:00 am to 11:00 pm weekends

Cross Street:
Cathcart

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 420-0135

Website:
http://www.hoffmanssantacruz.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz 7 nights a week starting at 6:30!

Parking Details:
Limited Parking available directly behind Hoffman's from Carthcart ave. Multi-level garages, public lots, and street parking available nearby.

Public Transit:
Metro station located less than 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Holzworth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Blueberry Pancakes - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Blackened Salmon Salad - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Mini Bennie - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Vinnie's Bronx Bun - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Eggs Benedict With Crab And Avocado - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Huevos Rancheros With Chorizo - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Huevos rancheros - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Brie, Pear And Sausage Omelet (Egg Whites Only!) - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Chorizo Scramble - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Blueberry Scones - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Dungeness Crab Roll - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Croissant Breakfast Sandwhich - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Hummus Plate - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Grilled Brie sandwich - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
white chocolate cheesecake - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA
Grilled Chicken Club - Hoffman's Downtown, Santa Cruz, CA

Hoffman's Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.1

ambience

3.4

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Santa Cruz ›

Great for Brunch (4)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
See All
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bless them for serving dinner on thanksg ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bless them for serving dinner on thanksgiving. The food was delicious. The service was spotty due to apparently being understaffed. They forgot a couple of the drinks and appetizers that we ordered, due to the lack of waitstaff and bussing staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We miss the great selection of Ed's bake ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

We miss the great selection of Ed's bakery desserts (e.g. marzipan) that used to be on the menu, but we realize that time marches on and even restaurants need to re-invent themselves to stay in business, as Hoffman's did when they replaced the bakery counter with the wine bar. The food was all delicious. I had the onion soup and the trout and my wife had the ravioli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not care that we had made a reservat ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Did not care that we had made a reservation and were not prepared for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant serves one of the best b ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant serves one of the best breakfasts in town. For dinner try the meatloaf it's also excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Food was good, not great. Pumpkin chees ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was good, not great. Pumpkin cheesecake was superb!! Live jazz was great. Would recommend Hoffman's for bar bits and desserts.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Used to be great but was disappointed as ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Used to be great but was disappointed as it's gone down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food & service was just okay. If you lik ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food & service was just okay. If you like bland food, then this is your place. The restaurant looks nice from the outside, but looks like a Fancy Denny's on the inside. The music is WAY too loud & obnoxious. The food texture was cooked right, but the taste was SO bland. I even tried taking half of my food home& adding a ton of spices to it, but still, meh. I'd rather go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We were very disappointed. First of all, ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

We were very disappointed. First of all, it was crowded due to restaurant week. A lady was talking to people at the next table & was encroaching on our table, leaning all over us.

We were interested in the salmon and for the last 3 visits it was unavailable.

The waiter completely ignored us and actually went to help others who came in far after we did.

There were few choices for us as we don't eat chicken or meat, only fish & pasta so it was very limited.

We don't plan to return here again in the near future as it was such a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food here was very good. My wife had ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food here was very good. My wife had the fried chicken dinner and enjoyed it. All white meat, cooked just right - nice and moist, tender. The chicken was more like chicken tenders than what I would consider to be called 'fried chicken', it was boneless, but whatev's it was chicken and it was fried. The breading was also very good, not heavy.

I had the special that evening - sirloin steak skewer. It was also very good. The meat was tender, did not need a knife. It was a delicious grilled steak, very tasty and filling.

The only down side to the dinner - the service was not great. Took a bit longer than I would have expected for entrees to arrive (28 minutes). Also, there was no check back from our waiter to see if our meals were alright. No biggie since we were both happy.

Finally, we were going to order a dessert, but after waiting about 25 minutes after our dinner plates were removed for our waiter to check back, we decided to just get the bill and head somewhere else for dessert.

Still, overall, this was a good dining experience and we'll probably be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Will never set foot in the door again. T ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Will never set foot in the door again. THey have been consistently bad with food and service for many years. The last experience was the worst - dirty tables, dead flowers, dirty walls. Bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have tried this place for breakfast b ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have tried this place for breakfast brunch and dinner over the years. As a local restaurant want to keep trying but everytime it is just really bad. Even after Restaurant impossibl make over. Disgusting egg benedicts. This last trip for a dinner prior to a concert... dirty walls, dead rose in the "vaase" 20 mins to get our wine. Inedible food. Never going back. We have had it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We went with a group of 10 which isn't e ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went with a group of 10 which isn't easy. They fit us in. They didn't seem overly busy but the service was just ok. Maybe the waiter was having an off night. Some really liked their food, others did not. The fried chicken sandwich was not good. My daughter didn't like her burger and the kids meals(mini corn dogs ) weren't good either. The regular chicken sandwiches seem to be the best order option. Pricey for what it was and the service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We each ordered a salad and it was delic ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We each ordered a salad and it was delicious. Our server was very efficient and friendly and the food was delicious.. It was a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good custom cocktails and excellent food ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good custom cocktails and excellent food. Sitting outdoors and watching Santa Cruz walk by is the thing to do on a warm day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Slammed on Memorial Weekend Sunday

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hoffman's was not able to handle the crowd. Service was slow; some items never appeared; cafe au lait was lukewarm. Our waitress was covering both indoor and outdoor tables, doing her best to be pleasant and accommodating, but she was too overworked to be efficient. Two of the four in our group felt unwell afterward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This restaurant is well located and comfortable.

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated immediately and brought out bread and water while we waited for our friends. I ordered the Pacific Rim salad and it was delicious. My husband was less pleased with the sand dabs as they were somewhat dry. The sauce that was served with it was good and helped. The wait staff was very friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I go for the food and atmosphere. Servic ...

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I go for the food and atmosphere. Service is usually better but on my last visit the server seemed ambivalent -- I had to ask for drink refills, that kind of stuff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Downtown surprise

 
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Nice surprise, we were looking for a restaurant in the downtown Santa Cruz area. Went to open table to get some recommendations and Hoffmans came up. We've walked by several times but never stopped.

The restaurant is in a perfect location, outside dining is right on Pacific Ave. The bldg is well kept up inside and out.

My friend had the Salmon which was ok, I had the meatloaf dinner which was great. The crab and artichoke dip was a 10 and the jazz music added to the fun.

All in all a fun time, I will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful meal. Attentive service.

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Wonderful meal. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Yumm!!

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I love this place and dine here often. The crew here is always so on it, and the bloody mary I had was the best in a long time. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a favorite. The manager stalks aroun ...

 
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Not a favorite. The manager stalks around & peers over everyone's shoulders & onto their plates. One would think she could be a little more discreet. Hubbys beer refill took over half the meal to arrive. Live music in such a small venue is really loud & overbearing. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Waste of time

 
·Dined on December 21, 2015

My partner and I went to Hoffman's for the first time. We were greeted after a while by an annoyed woman, who promptly sat us next to a screaming homeless lady at the next table. We asked to move, and were promptly seated a few more tables over. Everything about this experience was odd. Between the irritated staff, to the dowdy decor (think Mel's diner), way too expensive for the experience. I trusted my instincts and fled next door to Assembly. They were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Meh

 
·Dined on November 27, 2015

This was my first trip to Hoffmans. I was excited to find a restaurant open on Thanksgiving. I did make a reservation which went smooth. I made it online with Open Table, I did get a confirmation but was concerned that the system wasn't programmed for Thanksgiving , so I called and confirmed with the host about my reservation, which was good to go.

Even though I made a reservation, my husband and I squeezed between a party of 4 and party of 2. We sat so close I could not speak with my husband privately. I could also clearly hear our neighbors conversations and pretty much sample their dinners. It wasn't the atmosphere I had hoped for.

My salad cost $12 but I guarantee it probably cost less than $3 to make. The entrees came out super early which tells me they were just sitting ready to serve.

The food was not bad. I enjoyed the rice and 3 asparagus I got. The salmon was good too.

I order a slice of pecan pie that took about 15 mins to be brought out. When I came out it came out in a Togo box and all broken and half fallen apart. The ice cream was good.

I will not go there again for a holiday dinner.

I'm am glad they were available to serve us folks who worked thanksgiving and didn't have a place to go. But I had hoped for something a little nicer.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mediocre at best.

 
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Waitress was new and couldn't keep up with her tables. Had to order olive oil for the bread 3 times before it showed up. Salad was from a bag of greens plopped on a plate. The only saving factor was when we moved to the bar after dinner and enjoyed a little live jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Sundays are busy

 
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Reservations. Arrived on time-was given worst possible seat in far back.

Wait staff very efficient. Scones to die for!

Smoked salmon omlette was awful-

Charges to substitute potatoes. Potatoes were not tasty or crisp. Soggy

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A Santa Cruz Favorite

 
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We have been dining at Hoffman's for years. It is our go to restaurant whenever we are in town. I spent my 50th birthday here and had the most delicious bottle of wine! They have a very well rounded wine list by the bottle and by the glass. The food is always satisfying. There is often live music and we are just great fans of Hoffman's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hoffman's is a nice restaurant in downtown.

 
·Dined on August 23, 2015

The food is good. We go as a rather large family group roughly once per month. The service is good and the ambience is very relaxing. I've eaten dinner there also. The food is well prepared and comfortable. I don't worry about getting a bad plate...

Try them out...They can be a welcome change to some of the more...eclectic dining experiences downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice

 
·Dined on July 27, 2015

It was a hot afternoon so I sat out on the patio and 'people watched' - mostly tourists and grungy homeless. Even the locals did not look very upscale.

An interesting grapefruit juice margarita; a wonderful "Ordinaire" absinthe.

A good salad; a nice piece of King salmon; plain steamed broccoli. I went across the street for a unique and delicious sorbet for dessert.

I had an early dinner which is undoubtedly why it was quiet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was hesitant about dining at Hoffman's ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2015

I was hesitant about dining at Hoffman's due to the I I Hesitated to dine here due to negative comments about noise levels and service. I found just the opposite. The noise level was not bothersome; in fact, there was a delightful jazz trio playing to enhance our dining experience. The wait person was very friendly, prompt, and accommodated my particular food needs, being on a special food plan. I would wholeheartedly recommend Hoffman's for dinner. Try it out; you may find it as pleasing as we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We went there for breakfast. The servic ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2015

We went there for breakfast. The service was slow. Folks who were seated afyer us had thre orders taken before us.

The waitress came by at one point and asked if we had gotten the scones (everyone around us had a basket of scones). We said no. She said she had to get us some, then never bought them.

I can put up with poor service, but the food was bad. I ordered crab and avocado benedict. The base was sourdough beaRd - room temp and not toasted. The eggs we cold - like they had b=en cold in big batched hours before ans assembled when ordered. The only thing on the plate that was warm was the crab.

At the table next to us, we heard the woman order 3 times before they finelybweren't "out of that".

Don't waste you money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Solid Place

 
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Nice solid place

Jazz music some nights

Great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Service almost ruined our celebration

 
·Dined on May 21, 2015

We chose Hoffmans for a celebratory dinner after having had a fine experience there once before. There were 5 of us. We had a 5pm reservation because my grandmother is elderly and needs to eat early. The meal took 2 hours and we were perfectly neglected by all servers and bussers.

An example: we sat down just before 5pm when it was still the lunch menu. We asked whether we might order the cheese plate from the dinner menu, just to get something started. Server said she'd check. She came back at 5:20 to tell us they were out of the listed cheese plate but another one was available. We ordered it. Another 15 min pass before she returned to tell us they don't have that either...

It's now after 5:30; no appetizer and we have not placed our order because no one has Been to the table to take the order since she cheese plate fiasco. Oh, it's worth noting that we were one of two tables in the joint—hardly a busy time and they had probably 5 employees on the floor. Order finally placed around 5:40, nearly an hour after sitting down...

Dinner arrived at 6:17 (we took note note for the review). The food was mostly good all around. Steak frites was not a very good cut of meat, but the fries and sauce were great. Ravioli were quite good. No one else raved but no one else seemed worried about their food.

On the whole, the service made this an unpleasant and stressful experience on a night that was supposed to be a nice celebration. Can't see myself going back to Hoffmans after this, which is a shame because the food is pretty good, location is great, and the bar is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Family dining a success!

 
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Four of us for pre Mothers Day breakfast. Service was terrific, as were the complimentary scones. The various eggs Benedict and cinnamon rolls were the hits with our group. Coffee was excellent too. We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food awful service

 
·Dined on January 31, 2015

We had lunch at Hoffmans were looking forward to it since we'd seen it on Restaurant Impossible. The food was good but our service was just awful. The restaurant had very few patrons for a Saturday at noon, which should have been our first clue. We had three different servers, none of whom checked in on us during our meal. When we requested a dessert menu, our waitress never returned to ask if we had any questions or if we wanted to order something. Every server in the restaurant was more interested in gossiping at the bar than tending to their guests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Superb Restaurant

 
·Dined on January 18, 2015

We had planned an out of town adventure for my little girls since there Dad works in San Hose 6 days a week. We choose Forbes since we were traveling back to his apartment from the Monterey Back Aquarium yesterday. Our girls, 7 & 5 years old, have never been to a fine dining establishment. They blew us away with behavior & manners, which far exceeded our guests across from us in their early 50's. Our dinner was over 2 hours long and the staff made us feel welcome, and made our experience even better. Jim was an amazing server as well as our sommelier Tim. Food was outstanding! And their attention to our needs was superb. Thank you for making our family Sunday dinner nothing short of amazing. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hoffman's is a great place for breakfast

 
·Dined on January 9, 2015

but forget about it for dinner. Untrained servers were not polite or helpful. They were out of staples such as romaine lettuce at the beginning of dinner hour. Their basic American food - burgers, salads are alright but nothing special. They do have wonderful breakfast-brunch dishes and good coffee. Save them for daytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Live music, good food and expansive bar

 
·Dined on January 1, 2015

We went on New Years Eve, it was early so not too crazy. We decided to go with light meals because we were going to a party that was serving food. The French Onion Soup was fabulous and the salad was nice and fresh with spicy pomegranates, both were tasty. We also had a cheese plate which was nice, the quince paste was really good and a great complement to the cheese. The live Jazz made it even better. It's great to see restaurants that contribute to the arts. Will definitely come back, particularly on Friday nights to hear the music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Very good brunch

 
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Service was fantastic, seating was plentiful, and the food was tasty! I heard it got loads better since they've been on Restaurant Impossible, but this was my first time there so I can't attest to that.

We had noted in our resv that we were celebrating a birthday, but they didn't do anything for that. It was brunch time and NYE, so maybe that had something to do with it.

Nonetheless, I'd recommend Hoffman's Downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Unique on Pacific

 
·Dined on November 30, 2014

Hoffman's has a great combination of a bar and a family atmosphere! I especially like their German specialty dish (Schnitzel and Spatzle with braised cabbage)!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for restaurant week. Incredible foo ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2014

Went for restaurant week. Incredible food. Generous portions. The bread pudding is spectacular. I will come back for sure !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.