About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: (847) 671-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Energetic

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (24)
Live Music (23)
Fun (20)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Dancing (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Very little flavor or creativity. Fried mushrooms were over cooked. Veal was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for a late lunch to celebrate my birthday.

The food was good as always but I /we don't like the beer there.

Fun place but just too expensive .

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

There was a large private party in the front of the restaurant and patio. So, regular diners like our party of 7 were sandwiched together on the other side of the restaurant. Just felt like we weren't important to the restaurant, like add ons. Service was terrible. Our server was very preoccupied and distracted. Food was ok, too expensive for the experience. I think if a private party is that big and that important to the staff, then shut down the entire restaurant and not make "regular " diners feel unimportant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Just what it should have been for a German restaurant! Good German beer (dunkle), pork (schnitzel), and potatoes. Comfort food. My wife had the salmon and was very happy with her meal too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere with good food and beer. Prices a little salty though. Wish they were a little less expensive. Good time overall.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Our grandchildren love to go here and to me it is very kid friendly. Just a fun place to sit, eat and enjoy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the atmosphere. Great entertainment. Food was very good - loved the sauerkraut and red cabbage. Dumplings were also very good. Sauerbraten was excellent. Although our server was "in training"she was very friendly and provided excellent service.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Terrible service, probably could get better at a McDonalds. Manager doesn't seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Father day

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went to the original Hofbrauhaus in Munich 2 years ago. While this wasn't exactly like the original, it was pretty authentic. The beer was great, the atmosphere was lively with the live German/Austrian band and the food was delicious and plentiful (we had leftovers for another meal or 2). The waitress was pleasant but possibly given too many tables. After we placed our order we didn't see her much. I would recommend people to try this place.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was excellent! Live music = high noise level, if you want to have conversations with the person or people your with, then sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Too loud and I wasn't impressed with the food at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I love German food and this was very good. However they have it set up like the German atmosphere with long tables and picnic benches which for us were very uncomfortable. I would recommend it for a quick meal and a nice beer but not if you're looking for a leisurely dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place for live German music and food. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It's just too loud. We didn't even sit that close to the stage, and it was a two-man band. Yet, we literally couldn't hear our family across the table. I don't know if it's the acoustics or the bands are just loud, but surely there's a better level. I love everything else about this place, but every time I go, I'm reminded why it's been so long since the last time.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I cannot say enough NEGATIVE things about my experience here. From the time we checked in at the desk( which by the way they failed to record because open table was contacted to say we did not show) to the extremely rude server and culminating in the inedible food. Our server, Amanda, was surly and combative. The food was horrible, tasted like it had been dipped in salt. The manager did come out to apologize, but nonetheless, extremely disappointed. Unless you want to dance on the tables and drink beer, I would NOT SUGGEST THUS VENUE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great spot to let kids be kids

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Exceptional service, super attractive bartender didn't hurt. She knew the menu and after a liter beer and a big meal I left happy. Niemand bei der Restaraunt spricht Deutch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Such a fun and engaging atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I brought my brother and his wife to Hofbrauhaus to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. The live music was very lively and fun. The atmosphere was like a big family party, but not too loud where you couldn't have a conversation. The food was authentic and tasty and the portions were very generous. The potato pancakes were a big hit with our husbands and my sister-in-law and I thoroughly enjoyed the half chicken dinner. The server treated us to a dessert as he learned we were celebrating a special occasion. A return visit is definitely in our future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great beer and service. While we were there the German band was playing. They were much fun. Service was very good, food solid German food. Would definitely go back. Had potatoe pancake which was very good and crispy pork shank also very good and tender

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ambiance great. Music and dancing really great. American food, like a burger was OK. German food was terrible.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome atmosphere. Great daily specials. Attentive service. Validated free parking in covered garage on a rainy night is handy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, service and beer. The band was awesome. We had a great time!

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

So, I waited to calm down to write my review. We had a very nice time at dinner (the six of us) for my wife's birthday with our grandchildren. On our way out, I stopped to purchase two little red felt hats for my grandchildren. No one was at counter, so one of the girls from hostessing helped. My wife & I left..my daughter w/the grandchildren (4yrs & 1 1/2) were waiting for my son-in-law to get car, as she began to leave a man, who was supposed to be the one behind counter, accused her of STEALING the hats! She had to text me in my car to have me speak to said man. After spending all the money on dinner and having a nice time; for someone to ACCUSE my daughter...do not think we shall be returning if this is how your establishment deals with it's customers. We certainly hope that the owners are informed; we believe it was the manager of the evening pushing the blame off on an imaginary employee...(my daughter was watching who was around at the time) VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had a great rainy Saturday afternoon here. Bavarian beer and cuisine in a beer hall! What could be more fun?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated my birthday. We had a great experiance . The food band and beer work great

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and beer was great. Service was extremely slow. Had 3 different servers at one point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was good, but highly over priced. Beer selection was great. Live performance was excellent, but far too loud. In order to hold a conversation, we felt like we were yelling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was horrible!
Live music was way too loud.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Munich style beer hall. Loud, noisy, withband in lederhosen. Beer good, not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best thing about our meal was that they brought out my daughter's food before mine. I always appreciate it when restaurants go the extra mile for their smallest customers- it means a lot to the one's paying the check! The food was good, service was adequate but I wouldn't say exceptional. The beer was tasty and cold and the band was very entertaining!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was just ok. Waitress forgot items a couple of time. Main sausage platter was literally half hot dogs which was disappointing. Most German restaurants have far better sausage. Shnizel (sp?) was very good. Strudel for dessert was very good. The heifenweisen beer is very good but the other beers are only so so. Overall I was a little disappointed. There are better and more authentic German options available.

Tags: Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

First time there and we had an Amazing time !!! Food was delish, staff was pleasant, and music was unique.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fun place, good food, great beer. Service was great too. We took a cab there but did not realize you can't get one back out. Lyft to the rescue.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good food. Good fun. Pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and fun. A large hall setting with German music and great German food and spirits. Noisy and lots going. A great place to enjoy yourself, dinner and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

VERY LOUD ENERGETIC PLACE FILLED WITH MUSIC, DANCING AND BEER DRINKING. IT FEELS LIKE THE GERMAN BEER HALL IT IS. FOOD WAS FAIR/GOOD. THE BEST ITEMS ARE THE POTATO PANCAKES AND THE APPLE STRUDEL.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our worst experience ever at this restaurant. My food was inedible. We spent over $120 for horrible sludge. We will never ever be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.