About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: (847) 671-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (34)
Live Music (33)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Fun (29)
Authentic (27)
Casual (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Special Occasion (16)
People Watching (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Dancing (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Exceptional service, super attractive bartender didn't hurt. She knew the menu and after a liter beer and a big meal I left happy. Niemand bei der Restaraunt spricht Deutch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Such a fun and engaging atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I brought my brother and his wife to Hofbrauhaus to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. The live music was very lively and fun. The atmosphere was like a big family party, but not too loud where you couldn't have a conversation. The food was authentic and tasty and the portions were very generous. The potato pancakes were a big hit with our husbands and my sister-in-law and I thoroughly enjoyed the half chicken dinner. The server treated us to a dessert as he learned we were celebrating a special occasion. A return visit is definitely in our future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great beer and service. While we were there the German band was playing. They were much fun. Service was very good, food solid German food. Would definitely go back. Had potatoe pancake which was very good and crispy pork shank also very good and tender

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ambiance great. Music and dancing really great. American food, like a burger was OK. German food was terrible.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome atmosphere. Great daily specials. Attentive service. Validated free parking in covered garage on a rainy night is handy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, service and beer. The band was awesome. We had a great time!

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

So, I waited to calm down to write my review. We had a very nice time at dinner (the six of us) for my wife's birthday with our grandchildren. On our way out, I stopped to purchase two little red felt hats for my grandchildren. No one was at counter, so one of the girls from hostessing helped. My wife & I left..my daughter w/the grandchildren (4yrs & 1 1/2) were waiting for my son-in-law to get car, as she began to leave a man, who was supposed to be the one behind counter, accused her of STEALING the hats! She had to text me in my car to have me speak to said man. After spending all the money on dinner and having a nice time; for someone to ACCUSE my daughter...do not think we shall be returning if this is how your establishment deals with it's customers. We certainly hope that the owners are informed; we believe it was the manager of the evening pushing the blame off on an imaginary employee...(my daughter was watching who was around at the time) VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had a great rainy Saturday afternoon here. Bavarian beer and cuisine in a beer hall! What could be more fun?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated my birthday. We had a great experiance . The food band and beer work great

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and beer was great. Service was extremely slow. Had 3 different servers at one point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was horrible!
Live music was way too loud.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was good, but highly over priced. Beer selection was great. Live performance was excellent, but far too loud. In order to hold a conversation, we felt like we were yelling.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Munich style beer hall. Loud, noisy, withband in lederhosen. Beer good, not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best thing about our meal was that they brought out my daughter's food before mine. I always appreciate it when restaurants go the extra mile for their smallest customers- it means a lot to the one's paying the check! The food was good, service was adequate but I wouldn't say exceptional. The beer was tasty and cold and the band was very entertaining!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was just ok. Waitress forgot items a couple of time. Main sausage platter was literally half hot dogs which was disappointing. Most German restaurants have far better sausage. Shnizel (sp?) was very good. Strudel for dessert was very good. The heifenweisen beer is very good but the other beers are only so so. Overall I was a little disappointed. There are better and more authentic German options available.

Tags: Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

First time there and we had an Amazing time !!! Food was delish, staff was pleasant, and music was unique.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fun place, good food, great beer. Service was great too. We took a cab there but did not realize you can't get one back out. Lyft to the rescue.

Tags: Family Style, Live Music, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good food. Good fun. Pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

VERY LOUD ENERGETIC PLACE FILLED WITH MUSIC, DANCING AND BEER DRINKING. IT FEELS LIKE THE GERMAN BEER HALL IT IS. FOOD WAS FAIR/GOOD. THE BEST ITEMS ARE THE POTATO PANCAKES AND THE APPLE STRUDEL.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and fun. A large hall setting with German music and great German food and spirits. Noisy and lots going. A great place to enjoy yourself, dinner and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our worst experience ever at this restaurant. My food was inedible. We spent over $120 for horrible sludge. We will never ever be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome experience! Great food and beer. Fast service

Tags: Quick Bite, Private Room, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome as always! The pretzel is a staple to get, and the food is very authentic. It's a great place to bring kids of all ages! It's so loud and festive that if a child does get upset, you won't hear them!!
An experience everyone should check out!! Love, love it! Have been to this location at least 7 times in the past 2 years...and its always delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love Hofbrau but be forewarned that your pockets will not. It's great once or twice a year and the food and beer combined with the live band is so great, just not a price point that will keep me coming back more than 2x a year.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was very hard to understand where to park and even how to find the restaurant. Signage going into the parking structure was less than informative.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The music was slightly too loud as the waitress would only seat us near the stage while there were empty tables further back. The food is very authentic and definitely a good experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My kids (4.5 and 1.5 years) love the entire experience of food, music and people.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Reminds me of my days stationed in Germany spending my weekends in Munich. Food was good, beer was great. A must-see if you are in Chicago.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Just a bit too raucous for my taste. Tough to speak to your fellow diners with all those big horns blowing. But it should be experienced at least once. I may go back just for dessert, as the pretzel bread pudding sounds amazing and I am a sucker for a good apple strudel (after all, It counts as a serving of fruit, right?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Just great German food. Nice atmosphere. Fun at dinner with live music.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was a beautiful day out with my beautiful man and Our server was soooo great, wonderful energy and very patient, we were annoying I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very authentic German experience! Very pricey but worth it in the long run as a once in awhile kind of destination. Better in groups, not a 'couple's' outing

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Dancing, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The restaurant was great to celebrate for my dad's birthday. Very fun and quirky activities that get the guests involved. Food and beer was also good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Haufbrau House was a lot of fun. Great for a group who wants to drink some beer , sing and have a fun time. Drinks are a little on the pricey side. Your definitely going to drop some coin but it's a unique experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was obnoxiously loud first off. Plus I'm not one who likes to be seated with random people.

The food was ehhh at best. The schnitzel was more like an unseasoned porkchop, mashed had a funny parsnip taste, but the pretzel w/ cheese sauce was very good.

Service was good. Our waiter was super friendly and prompt even with it being a zoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love you guys..... great service, great food, great times

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, service was Ok. It is a very loud place with communal seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came here for a friend's birthday on a Friday evening for dinner/drinks. I made a reservation, and upon arrival it was clear there was plenty of seating left. There was an energetic live band which created a great "festive" mood. TIP: Be sure to order a round of shots! They serve it on a paddle and guests can choose a lucky "birthday boy" to get spanked by the waitress!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.