About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: 847-671-2739x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Energetic

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (26)
Fun (23)
Casual (20)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Live Music (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
People Watching (10)
Family Style (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was VERY difficult to find and we end ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was VERY difficult to find and we ended up paying to park because we couldn't figure out how to get there without doing so. When we finally found it, we could have parked for free. It was a fun and lively scene, but with 9 people it was hard to talk because the noise level was so high. The food was great (limited options for our vegetarian friends, but the rest of us carnivores had lots to choose from.) Service was also great. I called ahead to see if something special could be done for my husband who was having a birthday and was transferred to the chef who never called me back. At the last minute, I picked up a cake which they were happy to store and serve, so that was nice. It was fun to visit, but probably won't go often.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Traffic getting there was rough and it w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Traffic getting there was rough and it was crowded (we went on Black Friday so not the restaurant's fault). We and my 3 friends had to wait at the hostess stand a few minutes but were seated right away. Out waiter was nice enough, but we could never find him. Though the food I ordered was very tasty, the value for price wasn't quite there. For example, I had the pork schnitzel which came with German potato salad and cranberries which was $18.99. The menu specifically says no substitutions so I ordered a side is spatzle which was $4.99. When the food runner brought the food out, I received my pork which was a decent size but probably only 6-7 oz. at the very most, a small 2 oz. plastic dip container half-filled with cranberry sauce., and a small bowl (1 cup) of spatzle. I didn't say anything about the potato salad because I thought maybe the waiter was nice and had substituted for me. When I got the bill I was charged for both the main entree which I didn't receive all of and my side dish. It took so long to get the bill from our waiter and for him to pick it up that I didn't argue it. We paid cash because we had an event to get to and were already running late. It took almost 2-hours for the experience mostly because we were waiting for the waiter to get back to us for everything. Like once our orders were in we received our drinks/food in a timely manner it was just long for him to get back to take the next step in the process. All in all I would go back again. I would go at a less busy time and not have anything planned after.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, service, and entertainment... ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food, service, and entertainment...but parking was such a pain that its going to be a long time till I go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I went for Thanksgiving dinner and was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I went for Thanksgiving dinner and was served the traditional fare in a 3 tier plated presentation. The 3 man band was lively German music, and the dessert was apple cobbler and pumpkin pie duo. The servers were friendly and it was a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Live Music, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and atmosphere! Friendly staf ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Friendly staff and freshly brewed beer

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Uncomfortable bench seating. Music so l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Uncomfortable bench seating. Music so loud that conversation was difficult. Food served cool, not hot. Waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

It was hoping the night we went (Saturda ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was hoping the night we went (Saturday). A live band and many participants - group karaoke is what we duped it! If you wanted a quick place to have conversation with a group this would not have been the place. Great energy and we enjoyed the crowd, the beer, and the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was really disappointed with the servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was really disappointed with the service. Our food was left sitting for 15 mins with the waitress nowhere to be found. The restaurant has so much potential but the spotty service calls weighs on the value and enjoyment.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The German band was very loud and we cou ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The German band was very loud and we could not carry on a conversation at our table until their breaks. Good for parties or celebrations, but the noise level is very high for normal dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We had a great time. Had family from out ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a great time. Had family from out of town and decided to take them to dinner and entertainment here. The food was great and a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food great beer a little pricey ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome food great beer a little pricey but live German music makes up for it

Wish thy lowered their beer prices ...... charged 9 dollars for a half liter .... again it was good but still they should come down some

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fun atmosphere and authentic German musi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Fun atmosphere and authentic German music was great. Just too expensive. Especially kids meals which did not include drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great environment. Fun. It is loud so if ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great environment. Fun. It is loud so if your looking for a quiet dinner this is not the place. Beer was one the best I have ever had and food is simple but delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and ambiance. Not to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. Not to mention the great live German music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my b-day on recommendation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went here for my b-day on recommendation from a friend. My mom is from Germany and this was just like being back in Europe. Wait staff was friendly and helpful, music was good, food was excellent. Little pricey but it was well worth for trying out different things they offer. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

we were looking for someplace pre theate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

we were looking for someplace pre theater and decided to try the Hofbrauhaus restaurant. We expected smaller tables, but there were many long tables and we were seated with another family. The noise level was extremely high, not good for table talk. The FOOD was delicious and we would like to try other dishes without a time constraint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Due to Octoberfest we were seated in a t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Due to Octoberfest we were seated in a tent that was attached to the east side of the restaurant. The tent heater was either off in our area or not functioning. All customers seated in our area had to wear coats and the Octoberfest entertainment never entered the tent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Well you can't really compare to the ori ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Well you can't really compare to the original in Munich, and there are places as good that are closer, and less expensive. But if you are in the area, if you enjoy the food and ambiance that this type of place enjoys, bring a group of friends, let your figurative hair down, throw your diet out the window, and indulge. Prost!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had a fine beer and a decent lunch the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I had a fine beer and a decent lunch there recently. The beer hall ambiance makes it a fine choice for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

They had quick and prompt service from t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

They had quick and prompt service from the hostess to bus boy. Our server was always checking in and was very engaging. The live band from Germany was the topping on a otherwise great meal experience. Plus the steins are great

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very lively place with good beer. The p ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very lively place with good beer. The pretzels are super but pricy. Service was slow to start but got better as the night went on. Hard to have s conversation with the cheesy pretending to be German band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The good was excellent and the staff was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The good was excellent and the staff was super friendly! This is our third time at HBH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food & service just ok, overpriced. Liv ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food & service just ok, overpriced. Live "so called german" band...Very loud. Family style picnic table seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A great place for hearty German food and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A great place for hearty German food and drink. The poached Weisswürst is an absolute treasure, but the sauerkraut could be less sweet and more sour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Dancing, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Not spectacular but good food. Fun atmo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Not spectacular but good food. Fun atmosphere with servers that, at times, appear to be overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Cafeteria style food. Warehouse look. Ge ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Cafeteria style food. Warehouse look. German band plays everything but German music even during Octoberfest. Too loud to carry on a conversation. Too expensive for the low quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Fun place the food was very poor And poo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fun place the food was very poor

And poorly presented. However

The music was excellent and provided a fun evening.

They really need to improve there

Food for the price they charge.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The only thing we were very disappointed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The only thing we were very disappointed with was that there were not beer samplers. They had many many beers to choose from but how do you know unless you've taken a taste. How much beer would they be losing if there were samplers? There are in wine bars where the wine is much more expensive. Pretty cheep of ownership if you ask me. Are you supposed to buy a 1/2 liter or liter and find out you don't like it. Appears so.

Other than that everything was good though.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our food dishes were really good, though ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our food dishes were really good, though priced a little high. But the NOISE level was just ridiculous! You had to literally scream at the person next/across from you so that they might hear you!! The atmosphere was fun, and I realize with live entertainment it can be a little loud. However, even my 28yr old daughter left with a headache from the over the top noise level, and she frequents live concerts. I would ask if there's a time when music is NOT playing before I'd return, as we did enjoy the food. No conversation here!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Enjoyed special Octoberfest menu item wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Enjoyed special Octoberfest menu item with roast pork, beef pot roast, gravy, vegetables and spatzele. German band and music always fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first experience at this res ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my first experience at this restaurant, and I was meeting up with a long time friend who I have not seen in a year to catch up. I wanted authentic food with good beer. I definitely was pleased with the food and beer served, however.... we were shouting to each other to have a conversation due to the extreme noise with music and constant chanting going on at this place. Also.... it is set up just as it's setup at the Beer Garden in Germany at Epcot... shared seating, live band, etc... the only difference being at Epcot.... the band would play 2 songs every hour on the hour... vs this restaurant playing music every 15 minutes, followed by constant chanting and standing on top of tables and chairs. I would definitely go back to this restaurant... for FUN.... but not to catch up and try and have conversation

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Hofbrauhaus is so special, the food & be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Hofbrauhaus is so special, the food & beer are excellent- we are really fortunate to have this in the Chicagoland area, you must go!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good indoor beer garden. Second visit an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Good indoor beer garden. Second visit and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was a little on the slow sid ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The service was a little on the slow side, but not surprising since the place was packed! The food was served perfectly, in spite of the huge crowd, and the server was friendly. While I can't claim the meal tasted just like what my grandmother used to make, it was reasonably authentic and 100% delicious. I will definitely visit again in the future!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a wonder, energetic place. We went ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

What a wonder, energetic place. We went to the Hofbrauhaus when we were in Germany and we loved it there and now we love it here. The people are wonderful; the experience was worth the trip. We would absolutely recommend Hofbrauhaus!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time during their October ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a great time during their Octoberfest celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Place and food are always great, service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Place and food are always great, service is below average and could be better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Fun experience!!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fun experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed the atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We truly enjoyed the atmosphere and the music. It was a fun experience. The appetizer we chose was the large pretzel which was wonderful. Our drinks were very good too. If you have a large party, it would be a very fun place to go to enjoy the beer and the music and the fun. Our service was fast, but not too fast. We were not as pleased with our dinners, the pork tenderloin and spaetzel was very bland, and the German potato salad was vinegar-y. We did not have dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, energy and entertainment for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, energy and entertainment for Oktoberfest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.