About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: 847-671-2739x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (43)
Special Occasion (26)
Kid-friendly (19)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I to try out German food time. I had t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I to try out German food time. I had the Jagerschnitzel, pork chops with mushroom gravy and with bacon.They call it Hunter style .It came with sides.For dessert, I had a puff pastry with gelato filling.The food was so delicious and hearty.They make own beer there.I went on a Sunday and a live band of 2 men , were playing German music. The tables are set up as large benches, hall style.There is even a cute little souvenir shop at the entrance, where can take a post card of yourself and post it to Facebook. It is for families. will definitely return the Hobrauhaus.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Prettygood German food. Great beer and a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Prettygood German food. Great beer and atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great venue, lively, and energetic. Howe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great venue, lively, and energetic. However, the service ruined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The food portions were nice but the flav ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food portions were nice but the flavor of authentic German food was lost. The potatoes were bland as was the red cabbage and sausages. The server was good but the food came out literally 1 minute after the appetizer (goulash soup) came out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Witness was very engaging and made me fe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Witness was very engaging and made me feel welcome and unrushed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday over lunch and enj ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Celebrated a birthday over lunch and enjoyed the energetic atmosphere. The food portions are big and the authentic selection of food was a bonus. Really enjoyed the jagerschniztel and desserts!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great except the shot of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great except the shot of jager brought to our table for the birthday boy that we didn't order but expected to pay $7 for. That cut the waitresses tip by a third

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We love going to Hofbrauhaus. Each time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love going to Hofbrauhaus. Each time we go, we have a great time! This time we celebrated my daughter's 30th birthday party. I told our waitress that we were celebrating my daughter's 30th and asked that the band does something special. Not only did they announce her birthday and sang Happy Birthday, but they came over and played a couple of songs using bells. It was beautiful and a happy occasion. The sausage towers were delicious as usual. Will definitely go again! This was the first time that we heard this band from Germany. Very welcoming!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good time met up with a friend that ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good time met up with a friend that I last saw in Germany 32 years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They get ya on the parking.... $10 just ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

They get ya on the parking.... $10 just to park in thier own lot.... total scam, otherwise we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Over price. Hidden cost for meals; gravy ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Over price. Hidden cost for meals; gravy an extra charge! Loud-difficult to have a conversation. Will not recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not a good experience. Appetizers came ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not a good experience. Appetizers came out after the meal. The only response from the server was "the kitchen is busy". No attempt to correct the issue was made. When we didn't eat the appetizer because our meal was hot and ready there was no attempt made to take it off our bill. One of my party wanted to substitute french fries for potato salad and the other wanted to change potato salad for french fries. The house rule apparently was a strict no substitutions. They were going to charge us $10+ to switch the sides from one plate to another. Instead we did it our self. Ridiculous. Also, I wouldn't suggest this restaurant for business meals when there's a concert on. Very difficult to hear over the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

I had a great birthday dinner at Hofbrau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had a great birthday dinner at Hofbrauhaus! This was my first time there and the food and drink was great! I plan on going back soon! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved when the band member stood at tabl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved when the band member stood at table and played the long horn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place to go with a group, with your ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fun place to go with a group, with your family, or even by yourself.

Great beer and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and fun. There is music alway ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious and fun. There is music always and it's all fun. Tip the band, they were great! A fun family experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for our anniversary - had a gi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Came here for our anniversary - had a gift card. Had a very nice time. Live music, good beer, good food. Had the pretzel for an app - the mustards were so good! Also had the fish and schnitzel - also very good. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and really fun time on Saturd ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and really fun time on Saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wasn't expecting this, but was THRILLED

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went before a concert at Joes.... needless to say... it was so entertaining ,we can back after the show!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was excellent. They have live music. So much fun to listening live music. We were lucky to have our dinner outside. The weather was perfect for us to enjoy our food outside. Also they have a good choices of beer. This place is worth of try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very vibrant environment with excellen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A very vibrant environment with excellent food. The portions are a little bit on the small side for the price, but you're paying for the ambiance as well with that. Definitely a great novelty outing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Authentic food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Very Authentic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First time dining at Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I had expectations before going to Hofbrauhaus - Chicago for dinner this past week...all of them were met splendidly! The wait staff, music and atmosphere were fantastic. The food was authentic and scrumptious...was lucky to bring some home to savor and enjoy.

I can’t wait to bring my family and friends to Hofbrauhaus for a delicious and fun experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had no idea this place existed! Great po ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had no idea this place existed! Great potato pancakes and brats and apple strudel. Fun music and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prosit

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been to the original Hofbrauhaus in Munich, and this is the lighter version.

No servers speak German.....sadly.

But the German band is fluent and play many different songs from Deutschland.

Had fun and brought back many memories

Sitting outside in warm summer nights would be awesome

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Very loud!! Baby next to me spilled a dr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very loud!! Baby next to me spilled a drink on me. You have to share a table with other people.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Hofbrauhaus.... Jaaaa...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This place was off the chain good times. I went with my family of 8 for my son and I's birthday. We had an amazing time. Big tasty beers, suasage tower, magician for the kids and live music. My 7 year old son got to blow a giant 14 foot horn! I got to hold it for him. It was great. You won't be disappointed. Ziggy-socki, Ziggy-socki, Oy-oy-oy! !!! Prost!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't rate anything other than service, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Can't rate anything other than service, which was awful. Got seated and were actively ignored by everyone. After 25 minutes and no sign of a waitress we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Best German Restaurant in Chicago

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Awesome ambiance, its like if you were in Munich. the waitress dressed with their dirndls and the best beer in the world!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

enjoyable and a new experiance

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was great. The menu had tons of options and environment very lively. Loved the live band and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a great experience at the Hofbrauhaus - Chicago. The food and ambiance was festive. The sausages and potato salad were very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing food. We have been to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very disappointing food. We have been to Munich and this is not a good replication of the HBH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Good for a party

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We went here for a birthday celebration. There were six in our group. We got seated right away with reservations, even though our whole party wasn't there, which I liked.

The beer was good, the food was good, and the service was good. My husband complained that the portion size was a bit too small, but I didn't have any complaints.

The band was fun, and it was a fun atmosphere overall. I liked singing with the band and been encouraged to stand on the benches. I do think it was a bit pricey, but I guess that's common in that area. I'd go there again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this place! A bit noisy but gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We love this place! A bit noisy but great fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food robust and loud atmosphere.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Good food robust and loud atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great place to be

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

It was a great place to be

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great German beer hall experience from t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great German beer hall experience from the hall with wooden benches to the staff dressed in classic German outfits to the very good German food & beer. Could not speak highly enough about the experience and they brought me right back to my times in Germany.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Good German food! Fun music. Love sitting at the long tables!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Chicago Treasure

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I celebrated a birthday here with friends from Germany. We all absolutely loved it!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.