About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: (847) 671-2739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Come joins us for a classic Easter celebration German style. Chef Gill is going to prepare some great dishes! We also will have a visit from the Easter Bunny 1-3pm!

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Energetic

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (38)
Great Beer (37)
Fun (32)
See All
Live Music (29)
Authentic (28)
Casual (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
People Watching (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Family Style (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Dancing (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Good fun. Pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

VERY LOUD ENERGETIC PLACE FILLED WITH MUSIC, DANCING AND BEER DRINKING. IT FEELS LIKE THE GERMAN BEER HALL IT IS. FOOD WAS FAIR/GOOD. THE BEST ITEMS ARE THE POTATO PANCAKES AND THE APPLE STRUDEL.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our worst experience ever at this restaurant. My food was inedible. We spent over $120 for horrible sludge. We will never ever be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome experience! Great food and beer. Fast service

Tags: Quick Bite, Private Room, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome as always! The pretzel is a staple to get, and the food is very authentic. It's a great place to bring kids of all ages! It's so loud and festive that if a child does get upset, you won't hear them!!
An experience everyone should check out!! Love, love it! Have been to this location at least 7 times in the past 2 years...and its always delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love Hofbrau but be forewarned that your pockets will not. It's great once or twice a year and the food and beer combined with the live band is so great, just not a price point that will keep me coming back more than 2x a year.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was very hard to understand where to park and even how to find the restaurant. Signage going into the parking structure was less than informative.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The music was slightly too loud as the waitress would only seat us near the stage while there were empty tables further back. The food is very authentic and definitely a good experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My kids (4.5 and 1.5 years) love the entire experience of food, music and people.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Reminds me of my days stationed in Germany spending my weekends in Munich. Food was good, beer was great. A must-see if you are in Chicago.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Just a bit too raucous for my taste. Tough to speak to your fellow diners with all those big horns blowing. But it should be experienced at least once. I may go back just for dessert, as the pretzel bread pudding sounds amazing and I am a sucker for a good apple strudel (after all, It counts as a serving of fruit, right?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Just great German food. Nice atmosphere. Fun at dinner with live music.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was a beautiful day out with my beautiful man and Our server was soooo great, wonderful energy and very patient, we were annoying I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very authentic German experience! Very pricey but worth it in the long run as a once in awhile kind of destination. Better in groups, not a 'couple's' outing

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Dancing, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The restaurant was great to celebrate for my dad's birthday. Very fun and quirky activities that get the guests involved. Food and beer was also good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Haufbrau House was a lot of fun. Great for a group who wants to drink some beer , sing and have a fun time. Drinks are a little on the pricey side. Your definitely going to drop some coin but it's a unique experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was obnoxiously loud first off. Plus I'm not one who likes to be seated with random people.

The food was ehhh at best. The schnitzel was more like an unseasoned porkchop, mashed had a funny parsnip taste, but the pretzel w/ cheese sauce was very good.

Service was good. Our waiter was super friendly and prompt even with it being a zoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love you guys..... great service, great food, great times

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, service was Ok. It is a very loud place with communal seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came here for a friend's birthday on a Friday evening for dinner/drinks. I made a reservation, and upon arrival it was clear there was plenty of seating left. There was an energetic live band which created a great "festive" mood. TIP: Be sure to order a round of shots! They serve it on a paddle and guests can choose a lucky "birthday boy" to get spanked by the waitress!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

More than just a meal. It's a beer hall like in Germany. You sit at 6 (?) person tables. Recommend the giant pretzel and beer cheese with a Dunkel. My Jagerschnitzel and sauerkraut were very good. So was the pretzel bread pudding with almond gelato. Prost!

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Once again we had a great time at the Hoff. The Tower appetizer is nice to share - ample servings of several different sausages, sauerkraut, cold potato salad, and pretzels with 2 different types of mustard. For dinner, combo platters are satisfying and fun to try many items. Mashed Potatoes are a must have - very classic and very good. Pork Roast and gravy excellent, Schnitzel is a good and so is smoke pork chop and Sauerbraten. Kids meals are ok - basic choices such as mac and chse, hot dog or chicken strips. Nothing special but kids do like the soft pretzels and cheese. Coffee is very good but service tends to be slow so you will wait for refills. Servers are very good but they seem to have a long walk back and forth to kitchen. Live entertain never disappoints. Always enjoyable. This time the drummer sang the National Anthem and it was just beautiful! Great place -

Tags: Great Beer, Dancing, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time at Hofbrauhaus and I must say that it was so much more than I expected. The atmosphere was lively, welcoming, and electric. The wait staff are friendly and proud of the authentic German cuisine and beverages; they'll even give you their honest perspective on the menu items, because let's admit, not many of us are familiar with German eating. There was a live band performing traditional German & Austrian entertainment. The best part was witnessing the band getting the WHOLE restaurant involved with the entertainment. I truly felt like I was transplanted into an Oktoberfest celebration. So much fun! I will definitely be coming back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved it! German band was fun. Very energetic place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had the duck and it wasn't very good. The snitzel was avg. the appetizers were good as was the beer and the band. Just too expensive

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

desserts we thought were expensive. $10 for a slice of cake.
the waiter was hard to find (even though the restaurant was not busy).
the food was not spectacular. just fair.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great beer and food. The atmosphere is very lively and entertaining. Definitely coming back

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If you've not been here, it's a must! Great for a group, Great atmosphere, food is very authentic. A lively atmosphere every time we come here! Danke Schoen!

Tags: People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good live music.
Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went with friends before a concert. Everything was great - wished we had more time to enjoy. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great time. Very entertaining! Little bit pricey though! Be prepared to spend!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

All of the wait staff seemed tired. Food was overpriced and not very good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

THE FOOD WAS AUTHENTIC, SPEAKING AS SOMEONE RAISED ON GERMAN FOOD. THE POTATO
PANCAKES SMELLED AND TASTED JUST LIKE MOM'S. THE RED CABBAGE WAS DREAMY, THE BACON SALAD...DELICIOUS !....MY "KRISPY" PORK SHANK CERTAINLY WAS AS ADVERTISED AND
WAS A SUPERB PIECE OF PORK!......WE WERE NOT INTERESTED IN BEER, AND THE HOUSE COCKTAILS WERE ACCEPTABLE, YET EXTREMELY OVERPRICED !...AMONG THE HIGHEST I HAVE PAID FOR ANYWHERE ! ! SO BE PREPARED......DINNER FOR TWO WITH AN APPETIZER AND A COUPLE OF COCKTAILS EACH WILL SET YOU BACK $ 150 +......STILL THE EXPERIENCE EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS AND I WOULD LOOK FORWARD TO A RETURN VISIT !

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was an experience visiting your restaurant. We never had German food before, so we were not sure what to expect. We didn't know what to order, so we appreciated getting help from the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I had heard about HofBrauhaus and wanted to try it. Our waiter was inattentive considering the restaurant was fairly empty, there might have been 40 people in the whole place. When the waiter showed up, it looked like he just woke up! We ordered five entrees, and two beers. The food was average, we had a couple chicken sandwiches that were bland. A plate of white sausage that seemed to be just reheated and was cold. The sauerbraten was tough, chewy, and not much taste and most of it ended up in my paper napkin. I guess I've been spoiled at Bergoff Cafe. The $13.00 pretzel was good, and the beer was excellent. There are a lot places I can go to get good food and good beer for a lot less than $200.00! We probably won't be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

So much fun. Food and drink is awesome. The wait staff are incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was average flavor. The Apple Strudel dessert was not good. It lacks the german flavor and taste.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Extensive menu, good service and great food. Definitely worth the trip to Rosemont.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Expensive and very average food. Way too noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great place to go once in awhile for the ambiance. The food was okay but on the pricey side. I wouldn't make this a restaurant I go to all of the time. The singers made it fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.