About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (15)
Great Beer (15)
Good for Groups (12)
See All
Authentic (11)
Live Music (11)
Casual (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, beer and service. Very loud though because of the live music. Overall a fun and lively place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Love the pitcher beers, almost time to try the Octoberfest next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Good food, great beer, usually good service, and it's a bit entertaining at times. Parking at Rosemont still is confusing....they need to make this easier for customers (i.e. directions - and getting free parking isn't automatic).

The night I was there the volume on the band was too loud for conversation at the table....and the entertainment was a bit bizarre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The noise was nearly deafening; the server couldn't hear our order ("please point to your choice on the menu"), our group shouted most of our conversation, and my ears rang until noon the following day. My dinner was supposed to include a salad, but it was never served, and the server did not provide an explanation. My dish was lukewarm when it was served, the melted cheese congealed into a tough, rubbery blob. We all suffered from gassy bloating after the meal. Watching people being hit with a paddle was unappetizing, not amusing. And then, out of the blue, the musicians began playing the national anthem, and we were compelled to rise from our dinner to sing—as I observed that the flag hung on the wall had large poles resting against it, a violation of the uniform flag code ("the flag should always be permitted to fall freely"). There are several places in the Chicago area to get an immersive German experience while enjoying authentic and delicious food, so in the future I will patronize other restaurants instead of Hofbrauhaus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Had a great time celebrating a birthday German style!

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Really great place! Great beer. Great pretzels!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Nice place after a flight to meet friends. The band can be loud but if you eat outside it is very pleasant.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Waitress could use a bit more energy. Food was good. It was served very quickly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was great! Atmosphere was fantastic! Waiter was AWFUL, had to wait for a long time to order, never asked if we would like more drinks, dessert, etc. The restaurant was not busy either

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

A fun experience! The faint pretzel was lack luster, the cheese was almost frozen and mustards just ok. Wiener schnitzel was great but the veggie pasta entree was terrible. Spatzel was mushy and flavorless with Swiss cheese mixed in. Chocolate cake was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great German food and beer. Very fun restaurant. Live music is fun and interactive. Great for any age and any size group.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Meal was outstanding! Felt a bit rushed by the waiter though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Hofbrauhaus is a pretty unique restaurant for the US. With its German decor and menu, this extremely large restaurant is great for big parties who're looking for a fun time. Lunch is quieter than dinner and less crowded, but the fun is at night when the restaurant is packed with diners and drinkers. The beers are great, the food is delicious, and the live music, drinking cheers, and drinking games make for a fun social atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent time and service. Will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great find!!! Friendly service. Lively atmosphere. We enjoyed the triple tower appetizer...absolutely perfect if you want to try a little of everything. The stone ground mustard with the pretzel was amazing! The potatoe soup was good and hot. I could have done without the wieners in it but hey...when in Germany do as the Germans!
Entrees included the saurbraten which my husband commented reminded him of his mothers. Tender and flavorful. Came with red cabbage and spaetzels.
Too full for dessert, next time we must try the streudel, flown in from 🇩🇪. Live music started at 6pm. Very open, energetic atmosphere. Great for groups! Parking free in garage or $10 valet.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great place to go with friends!! Love the Food and Music!!!

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Stopped in for a quick lunch. Very big and nice place. Food was good. Kind of a German sports bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Always good food. Fun atmosphere. Get the Pretzel!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

How can you run out of pork shank at 6:00 pm....everything else was great but pork shank was major disappointment!!!!! I wish the gm paid more attention to the special that they advertise than turning tables...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is a must ... the food was great...the band, the fun was great...definitely would do again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We were at the Hoffbrauhouse to celebrate my sister-in-law's 84th birthday which I had noted on the reservation.
When we arrived for a 1:00 pm reservation, there were only approximately 20 people in the restaurant. Our waiter was very pleasant, but perspiring profusely. Not sure why, because he wasn't exceptionally busy and the AC was working well. Our service was extremely slow.

The lunch menu that we received was significantly different from what we had seen on line and rather then German fare, it was primarily American with a hint of packaged German accents.

I would not under any circumstances recommend this restaurant to anyone and furthermore, they did not so much as wish my sister-in-law a happy birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Very little flavor or creativity. Fried mushrooms were over cooked. Veal was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for a late lunch to celebrate my birthday.

The food was good as always but I /we don't like the beer there.

Fun place but just too expensive .

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

There was a large private party in the front of the restaurant and patio. So, regular diners like our party of 7 were sandwiched together on the other side of the restaurant. Just felt like we weren't important to the restaurant, like add ons. Service was terrible. Our server was very preoccupied and distracted. Food was ok, too expensive for the experience. I think if a private party is that big and that important to the staff, then shut down the entire restaurant and not make "regular " diners feel unimportant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Just what it should have been for a German restaurant! Good German beer (dunkle), pork (schnitzel), and potatoes. Comfort food. My wife had the salmon and was very happy with her meal too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere with good food and beer. Prices a little salty though. Wish they were a little less expensive. Good time overall.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Our grandchildren love to go here and to me it is very kid friendly. Just a fun place to sit, eat and enjoy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the atmosphere. Great entertainment. Food was very good - loved the sauerkraut and red cabbage. Dumplings were also very good. Sauerbraten was excellent. Although our server was "in training"she was very friendly and provided excellent service.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Terrible service, probably could get better at a McDonalds. Manager doesn't seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Father day

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went to the original Hofbrauhaus in Munich 2 years ago. While this wasn't exactly like the original, it was pretty authentic. The beer was great, the atmosphere was lively with the live German/Austrian band and the food was delicious and plentiful (we had leftovers for another meal or 2). The waitress was pleasant but possibly given too many tables. After we placed our order we didn't see her much. I would recommend people to try this place.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was excellent! Live music = high noise level, if you want to have conversations with the person or people your with, then sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Too loud and I wasn't impressed with the food at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I love German food and this was very good. However they have it set up like the German atmosphere with long tables and picnic benches which for us were very uncomfortable. I would recommend it for a quick meal and a nice beer but not if you're looking for a leisurely dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place for live German music and food. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It's just too loud. We didn't even sit that close to the stage, and it was a two-man band. Yet, we literally couldn't hear our family across the table. I don't know if it's the acoustics or the bands are just loud, but surely there's a better level. I love everything else about this place, but every time I go, I'm reminded why it's been so long since the last time.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I cannot say enough NEGATIVE things about my experience here. From the time we checked in at the desk( which by the way they failed to record because open table was contacted to say we did not show) to the extremely rude server and culminating in the inedible food. Our server, Amanda, was surly and combative. The food was horrible, tasted like it had been dipped in salt. The manager did come out to apologize, but nonetheless, extremely disappointed. Unless you want to dance on the tables and drink beer, I would NOT SUGGEST THUS VENUE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great spot to let kids be kids

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Exceptional service, super attractive bartender didn't hurt. She knew the menu and after a liter beer and a big meal I left happy. Niemand bei der Restaraunt spricht Deutch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.