About Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

5500 Park Place
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Hofbräuhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbräuhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
River Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-2739

Website:
http://www.hofbrauhauschicago.com/

Entertainment:
Hofbräuhaus Chicago offers exceptional, traditional Bavarian music nightly. Each month a new band from the Bavarian/Austrian European region performs. Hofbräuhaus Chicago diners can party, sing and participate with traditional beer hall music.

Catering:
We have an extensive catering menu

Parking Details:
Ample parking space is available within 2 minutes walking distance in the adjacent parking garage. Valet is right next door.

Executive Chef:
Klaus Lotter

Private Party Facilities:
The famous Beer Hall (Schwemme) is the "historical heart" and main attraction of Hofbräuhaus Chicago. With its traditional beer hall design and live music nightly it is sure to be one of your favorite attractions in Chicago. The King Ludwig Room with its unique design and cozy athmosphere can accommodate up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Clark: 847-671-2739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hofbrauhaus - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Energetic

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Rosemont ›

good for groups (46)
special occasion (19)
kid-friendly (17)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was excellent. They have live music. So much fun to listening live music. We were lucky to have our dinner outside. The weather was perfect for us to enjoy our food outside. Also they have a good choices of beer. This place is worth of try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very vibrant environment with excellen ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A very vibrant environment with excellent food. The portions are a little bit on the small side for the price, but you're paying for the ambiance as well with that. Definitely a great novelty outing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Very Authentic food

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very Authentic food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Hofbrauhaus - Chicago

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had expectations before going to Hofbrauhaus - Chicago for dinner this past week...all of them were met splendidly! The wait staff, music and atmosphere were fantastic. The food was authentic and scrumptious...was lucky to bring some home to savor and enjoy. I can’t wait to bring my family and friends to Hofbrauhaus for a delicious and fun experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had no idea this place existed! Great po ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had no idea this place existed! Great potato pancakes and brats and apple strudel. Fun music and great service!

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Prosit

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been to the original Hofbrauhaus in Munich, and this is the lighter version. No servers speak German.....sadly. But the German band is fluent and play many different songs from Deutschland. Had fun and brought back many memories Sitting outside in warm summer nights would be awesome

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very loud!! Baby next to me spilled a dr ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very loud!! Baby next to me spilled a drink on me. You have to share a table with other people.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hofbrauhaus.... Jaaaa...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This place was off the chain good times. I went with my family of 8 for my son and I's birthday. We had an amazing time. Big tasty beers, suasage tower, magician for the kids and live music. My 7 year old son got to blow a giant 14 foot horn! I got to hold it for him. It was great. You won't be disappointed. Ziggy-socki, Ziggy-socki, Oy-oy-oy! !!! Prost!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Can't rate anything other than service, ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Can't rate anything other than service, which was awful. Got seated and were actively ignored by everyone. After 25 minutes and no sign of a waitress we left.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best German Restaurant in Chicago

Dined on April 16, 2016

Awesome ambiance, its like if you were in Munich. the waitress dressed with their dirndls and the best beer in the world!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

enjoyable and a new experiance

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was great. The menu had tons of options and environment very lively. Loved the live band and atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a great experience at the Hofbrauhaus - Chicago. The food and ambiance was festive. The sausages and potato salad were very tasty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

Very disappointing food. We have been to ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very disappointing food. We have been to Munich and this is not a good replication of the HBH.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good for a party

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went here for a birthday celebration. There were six in our group. We got seated right away with reservations, even though our whole party wasn't there, which I liked. The beer was good, the food was good, and the service was good. My husband complained that the portion size was a bit too small, but I didn't have any complaints. The band was fun, and it was a fun atmosphere overall. I liked singing with the band and been encouraged to stand on the benches. I do think it was a bit pricey, but I guess that's common in that area. I'd go there again for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! A bit noisy but gre ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

We love this place! A bit noisy but great fun!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food robust and loud atmosphere.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good food robust and loud atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great place to be

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

It was a great place to be

food4
ambience4
service4

Great German beer hall experience from t ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great German beer hall experience from the hall with wooden benches to the staff dressed in classic German outfits to the very good German food & beer. Could not speak highly enough about the experience and they brought me right back to my times in Germany.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was outstanding

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Fun place

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Good German food! Fun music. Love sitting at the long tables!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Chicago Treasure

Dined on March 13, 2016

I celebrated a birthday here with friends from Germany. We all absolutely loved it!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a Great Time!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had a Great Time!

food5
ambience5
service5

The sauerbraten was delish! Pork chops i ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The sauerbraten was delish! Pork chops in the stew were a bit tough but who cared? The beer was fantastic!!

food4
ambience5
service5

It's a fun experience for some tradition ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

It's a fun experience for some traditional German food. Nothing fancy but a good feel.

food2
ambience3
service3

Glad we saw it, but after experiencing t ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Glad we saw it, but after experiencing the Hofbrahaus in Munich, the Rosemont branch pales in comparison. The food was very mediocre. We ordered the pork shank special with dumplings and it was very average. The red cabbage side another person ordered was bland. The prices were very high for the quality of the food served. A hot German pretzel appetizer was in excess of $13 - for a pretzel! The atmosphere and entertainment was indeed reminiscent of Germany so we did enjoy ourselves but we won't be going back again anytime soon.

food2
ambience5
service4

Food is just meh. This place is more abo ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food is just meh. This place is more about the experience. Seems to be more like cafeteria food at best. We enjoyed our experience, but it is not a place we will take out of towners again.

food4
ambience4
service4

the first time there; not reakly what i ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

the first time there; not reakly what i expexted, but in a good way. the food was very good and so was the atmoshere, we will come back, but next time with friends

food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good and we had fun

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was good and we had fun

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

For Beer and Oompah Fans

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

It's a good thing that I didn't expect an experience even close to that of the original in Germany, as this version is just an echo of that. The beer was tasty and the music, if you're into oompah, was energetic. And that's as far as I'll go.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the Jager schnitzel...apple strudel. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had the Jager schnitzel...apple strudel....amazing!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Extremely disappointing

Dined on February 14, 2016

A server dumped a platter of food on me. The server never returned to check on me or his mess. The manager did stop by and make sure I was okay. OUR waitress commented that she expected something like this to happen from the server in question. The restaurant did not comp us anything for our troubles. (I shouldn't have to ask. I just expected them to do the right thing. Boy, was I wrong.)

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gute Essen

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great German food and beer in a beer hall setting. Seatings at long tables so good for groups. Wait staff was very proffesional and fun. Live music while we were there. A constant party while you eat. We were celebrating a Birthday and was a good choice to have fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Huge crispy skin pork shank (schweinshax ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Huge crispy skin pork shank (schweinshaxen?) Was amazing! Just like in Munich!

food5
ambience5
service5

I have only ever been to the Hofbrauhaus ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

I have only ever been to the Hofbrauhaus in Munich Germany and this experience was like going back in time and a long flight. It was great. The food was delicious.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

On the plus side it is much like the bee ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

On the plus side it is much like the beer hall in Munich, and is a much cheaper alternative to flying to Germany. Fun place to go for the experience, once. Food is average, a little pricy for what you get. Beer is good. Go once and say you have been to Germany.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good time

Dined on January 31, 2016

This is a great place for food and entertainment. The service was good and there's non stop music and customer participation. The beer and food was excellent

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I love German food and music

Dined on January 24, 2016

The music was good but way too laud, could not hear waitress or each other. Food was medium to low quality food that does not go with the price they are charging.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great all around German!

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great all around German!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beat the Winter Blues

Dined on January 24, 2016

Excellent place to beat the winter blues. Great beers and Food. Music and entertainment cap off a great place to be- if you can't go to Germany!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Go Here if you want the Hofbrauhaus Experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

This place is only good if you are looking for a festive experience - crowded, loud, nonstop music. Beer is good, food is only average. Good for a party or family with young kids. It doesn't feel authentic like the original one in Munich, but I haven't been to Munich in over 20 years, so that one might feel touristy now too. Overall, it's fun if you want to dance, sing along, and continuously raise your glass for a rousing toast.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.