Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About HoDo Restaurant

All are welcome at the HoDo Restaurant, a casual fine-dining establishment where exquisitely creative, delicious cuisine and unparalleled, experienced service intersect. We use locally grown and harvested ingredients, humanely and sustainably-raised whenever possible. The dishes are prepared with raw ingredients; if we can make it here, we’ll make it here. From the house made breads and lavosh that start your meal, to the palate-cleansing sorbet you may enjoy before your entrée, to the hand-crafted desserts that add the finishing touch to your experience, the Hotel Donaldson will always be a memorable addition to your culinary repertoire.

101 Broadway
Fargo, ND 58102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Farm-to-table, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 5pm in HoDo Lounge
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: Seating 5pm until 9pm;
Friday & Saturday: Seating 5pm until 10pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Sunday dinner served in The HoDo Lounge)
Brunch: Sundays 9am-2pm

Cross Street:
1st Ave N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 478-8888

Website:
http://www.hoteldonaldson.com/

Entertainment:
Ever-changing restaurant and art gallery. We host and promote the regions visual, culinary, performance and literary arts.

Parking Details:
Free on street parking on 1st Avenue and Broadway St. Off street parking available on the East side of the Hotel. Valet parking available - $15.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Shearer

Private Party Facilities:
Great spaces do more than function. They inspire great actions and lasting memories. That's the philosophy behind the Hotel Donaldson's meeting rooms and related accommodations. Your personal celebrations or business functions will benefit from our approach to quality food, attentive service and attention to the details of your event. HoDo Restaurant can add as many personal touches as you need. Don't forget, the hotel rooms, restaurant and lounge are all under the same roof and can add another dimension to your retreat or function.

Check out the event spaces and see for yourself. You're sure to find something that will inspire you. Hotel Donaldson has room for you and up to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jody Extrand: (701) 478-2939

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chefs' personal tasting menus avaialable. Please call 701.478.1000 or visit hoteldonaldson.com. Click on Happenings.

HoDo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Ordered the filet mignon, which came with an interesting (in a bad way) sauce drenched on top. Anyways, after my unsatisfactory meal, I threw it all up. $40 plate wasted. Too expensive for how drenched my food was in sauce.. it should be good on its own. Crab cake and dessert was delicious however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Was recommended HoDo from a friend and we were not disappointed. My manager and I started with the scallops appetizer which was loaded with flavor and cooked perfectly. We each ordered the smojed bison hanger steak, but I got plain white rice instead of risotto. Steak was tender and yummy. Our server was exceptional and guided us in our entire meal including my dessert of rainbows and unicorn ice cream sandwich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the HoDo Restaurant. We had outstanding service and the food and beverages were fantastic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 28, 2017

It's nice to find a more upscale restaurant in Fargo. Both the bison and the walleye that we had were locally sourced and creatively cooked and presented. Very flavorful on both. The wait staff was excellent. The only glitch was minor, in terms of finding the restaurant, we were meeting up and didn't immediately realize the lounge and restaurant were separate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I took my wife to the HoDo for her birthday. The appetizers were excellent and we shared the main course which was walleye. Everything was outstanding, a truely enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Poor service. The server had the remnants of a black eye. Took over an hour to receive our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Organic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The chef at the HoDo always does a wonderful meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had to wait a few times for plates and some food items on the mother's day buffet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Well paced and maintained fancy Mother's Day Brunch for this visit. Server may have been new, not entirely attentive (had to ask for cutlery and more coffee). Typically service is outstanding. Food for normal service never disappoints and they pulled off the same caliber for a buffet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent food. The vegan option is always delicious and one of the many reasons I continue to visit the Hodo. Jessica was our server and she did a phenomenal job. It had been months since I was last here and she remembered me and my previous reason for visiting the Hodo. I was very impressed with her memory and her customer service abilities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had spent the days before in western ND and were tired of bar food. This place was just what the doctor ordered.

The staff were were very good. The ambiance was pleasant. The meals were very good. The prices were reasonable.

Not sure when we might return to Fargo, but this will be on our list

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. Never had such friendly hosts, or as amazing food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 24, 2017

While everything was very good and I will recommend the HoDo, it seems to me that it has slipped in both the quality of the food and service. Granted I was there on a Monday night and there were only 3 tables including mine, I remembered the HoDo as top notch and I feel it's slipped a bit. The presentation of the food was fantastic as always but lacked flavor (we had the lamb and walleye) both seem under seasoned, and though the service was good I didn't expect our server to be in faded jeans and apron.
As I stated above; I'll still recommend the HoDo but I certainly won't build it up the way I have in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food: innovative presentations, great variety. The only thing better would be to offer half portions (bites?) so I could try even more of the very interesting menu. Exceptional service, just right. Thanks for a great meal and great experience in Fargo.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was in Fargo on family business and ate in several of what are recognized as Fargo's fine dining restaurants. The Ho Do restaurant was by far the most imaginative food and best and most complete wine list. The service was good and since the restaurant is separate from the bar you could hear. I would without a doubt say this was the best fine dining in Fargo without being overly formal. I will heartily recommend it to anyone I know

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a great time at Ho Do. It had been a year since our last visit and the server remembered us. We got a great wine on her recommendation and the food was first rate from the new menu. All in all, a lovely time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My past visits to HoDo were always very pleasant, and I always left feeling pleased with the meal and service. This past visit was a little different. The food was fine, but not great (as it was in the past). I've never really minded the higher prices in the past, as the food seemed well worth it. This time, it just seemed over-priced for the small portions and average-quality food. I know that every restaurant will have a few "off" nights, but it kind of sucks to drop $100 on a so-so meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fargo has a real gem in this resto. Go, taste a little romance and flavor beyond the usual steak joints and chains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellence in service, taste and ambiance! A wonderful restaurant with an incredible chef that created a 5-course Tasting Menu (paired with excellent wines) that MUST be tried. The menu looked amazing so can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was very good, food was excellent, it was quiet and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great Restaurant...big surprise to find such a great fine dinning restaurant in FARGO...the Beet salad was the best I ever had...Beats with Horseradish Mascarpone cheese topped with a Bacon Chutney ball was awesome...
Bison Hanger steak was great as well...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A family brunch with good food. The greatest treat of all was our server, Nina: supremely hospitable, attentive, joyful and responsive. She made this brunch both pleasant and memorable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service were outstanding! Be prepared to spend a hefty amount on the food, but it is to be expected when going to a fancy restaurant of this nature. I would definitely return for another bite to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The HoDo is always a great place to go with friends or clients. The food is locally sourced and the chef is creative. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great Beer, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The beet salad and lemon ricotta dessert were both delicious and beatiful, and the restaurant is classy, but the service and flair have gone downhill. No garnish and no fun presentation on the entree (bison hangar with risotto). Service was less than attentive. I was expecting more from the HoDo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and great drinks. Was a wonderful Valentine's Day experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We made reservations at the HoDO for Valentines Day. Not sure why we needed one. We were sat at a horrible table at the front of the bar next to some sofas. The covering on the bar stools was cracked it looked like the table was drug out of storage. We ordered a cocktail from their "special menu" which was not great. We finished our app and drinks and then sat there and watched other people who came after us get their dinner while we waited. I believe the server forgot to put in our dinner order. No apology for the wait. When we did get our dinner my husband had some kind of biscuit thing on his plate that was completely inedible. The rest of dinner was disappointing as well. The standards at the HoDo have gone down hill. Don't think we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great menu, service, drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was fantastic, but the service was unbelievably slow for a restaurant that was over half empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is Fargo's finest restaurant. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere elegant but comfortable and the service exemplary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was great! Had a good time ordering a Tiramisu Martini and glad to hear that it will be on the menu!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fabulous flavors. Very unique but satisfying dishes. Must try the scallops appetizer. Main course ribeye with burnt hay. Desert the gelato flight!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The server,Sarah, was great.

With regards to the food it was okay. Nothing special at all. Very forgettable.

Mid week and fairly slow. Would be interesting to see it on the weekend or busier time of year.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food. 3of 4 had a beef dish. 4th had lobster, which was average at best.
Highly recommend the steak options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As compared to our visit last year, it was much less impressive on all accounts. We went for dinner for our anniversary. The restaurant was very cold, and every time the door opened, we got another blast of cold air on top of that.
The bar menu would likely have been a better value for the price. The food portion size to price was not equal. My walleye dinner, while tasty didn't came in a bowl of average size. No salad, and we only received bread when we asked for it.
My kids got the bison burger for much less price and comparable volume. It was frankly disappointing to go and get an average meal and spend over $100 with a tip.
Our waitress was less available than we'd hoped - we got our drinks topped off by the host instead. This was surprising because we saw two servers, a host, and there were less than 3 other tables besides us with guests.
Previously, there was more volume of food which better justified the steep restaurant prices.
I will not be going back to the restaurant, but will likely still go to the bar for casual dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've had great experiences in the past at the Bar side, but this last restaurant experience fell flat. We dined for new years eve, making reservations two weeks in advance. The food was overpriced for what it was, and that's coming from someone who's prepared to pay Minneapolis fine dining prices. The waiter was forgetful, very informal, and served us the food without care, taking a very long time to check in each time. The Knoephla soup soup had a single dumpling in the entire cup. The Sea Bass wasn't evenly cooked, which for $40, was a disappointment. The Lavash of the day was skimpy on the toppings. The drinks, although good, were a very long wait. Probably because the bar was so busy, but still, it shouldn't take 20 minutes. On the upside, the host was very friendly. I don't think I'll be back to the restaurant side. It's the bar or nothing when it comes to the HoDo!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I enjoyed the meal and service at the HoDo. However, our table was in the bar and we were surrounded by people standing waiting to take our table.

Also, I received three separate reminder calls and two emails regarding this reservation. It was a bit excessive and I felt like I was being scolded.

Waitress was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I was disappointed with the food. My Bison Hanger steak was very good. My partner's Salmon was very dry. The service was sloppy and uneven. For the price, as I would say it wasn't a good value. There are plenty of restaurants in the area that are more interesting and have better variety.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Over-priced food that was just "okay" with limited menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.