Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About HoDo Restaurant

All are welcome at the HoDo Restaurant, a casual fine-dining establishment where exquisitely creative, delicious cuisine and unparalleled, experienced service intersect. We use locally grown and harvested ingredients, humanely and sustainably-raised whenever possible. The dishes are prepared with raw ingredients; if we can make it here, we’ll make it here. From the house made breads and lavosh that start your meal, to the palate-cleansing sorbet you may enjoy before your entrée, to the hand-crafted desserts that add the finishing touch to your experience, the Hotel Donaldson will always be a memorable addition to your culinary repertoire.

101 Broadway
Fargo, ND 58102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Farm-to-table, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 5pm in HoDo Lounge
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: Seating 5pm until 9pm;
Friday & Saturday: Seating 5pm until 10pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Sunday dinner served in The HoDo Lounge)
Brunch: Sundays 9am-2pm

Cross Street:
1st Ave N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 478-8888

Website:
http://www.hoteldonaldson.com/

Entertainment:
Ever-changing restaurant and art gallery. We host and promote the regions visual, culinary, performance and literary arts.

Parking Details:
Free on street parking on 1st Avenue and Broadway St. Off street parking available on the East side of the Hotel. Valet parking available - $15.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Shearer

Private Party Facilities:
Great spaces do more than function. They inspire great actions and lasting memories. That's the philosophy behind the Hotel Donaldson's meeting rooms and related accommodations. Your personal celebrations or business functions will benefit from our approach to quality food, attentive service and attention to the details of your event. HoDo Restaurant can add as many personal touches as you need. Don't forget, the hotel rooms, restaurant and lounge are all under the same roof and can add another dimension to your retreat or function.

Check out the event spaces and see for yourself. You're sure to find something that will inspire you. Hotel Donaldson has room for you and up to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jody Extrand: (701) 478-2939

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chefs' personal tasting menus avaialable. Please call 701.478.1000 or visit hoteldonaldson.com. Click on Happenings.

HoDo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My past visits to HoDo were always very pleasant, and I always left feeling pleased with the meal and service. This past visit was a little different. The food was fine, but not great (as it was in the past). I've never really minded the higher prices in the past, as the food seemed well worth it. This time, it just seemed over-priced for the small portions and average-quality food. I know that every restaurant will have a few "off" nights, but it kind of sucks to drop $100 on a so-so meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellence in service, taste and ambiance! A wonderful restaurant with an incredible chef that created a 5-course Tasting Menu (paired with excellent wines) that MUST be tried. The menu looked amazing so can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was very good, food was excellent, it was quiet and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great Restaurant...big surprise to find such a great fine dinning restaurant in FARGO...the Beet salad was the best I ever had...Beats with Horseradish Mascarpone cheese topped with a Bacon Chutney ball was awesome...
Bison Hanger steak was great as well...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A family brunch with good food. The greatest treat of all was our server, Nina: supremely hospitable, attentive, joyful and responsive. She made this brunch both pleasant and memorable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service were outstanding! Be prepared to spend a hefty amount on the food, but it is to be expected when going to a fancy restaurant of this nature. I would definitely return for another bite to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The HoDo is always a great place to go with friends or clients. The food is locally sourced and the chef is creative. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great Beer, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The beet salad and lemon ricotta dessert were both delicious and beatiful, and the restaurant is classy, but the service and flair have gone downhill. No garnish and no fun presentation on the entree (bison hangar with risotto). Service was less than attentive. I was expecting more from the HoDo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great drinks. Was a wonderful Valentine's Day experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made reservations at the HoDO for Valentines Day. Not sure why we needed one. We were sat at a horrible table at the front of the bar next to some sofas. The covering on the bar stools was cracked it looked like the table was drug out of storage. We ordered a cocktail from their "special menu" which was not great. We finished our app and drinks and then sat there and watched other people who came after us get their dinner while we waited. I believe the server forgot to put in our dinner order. No apology for the wait. When we did get our dinner my husband had some kind of biscuit thing on his plate that was completely inedible. The rest of dinner was disappointing as well. The standards at the HoDo have gone down hill. Don't think we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great menu, service, drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was fantastic, but the service was unbelievably slow for a restaurant that was over half empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is Fargo's finest restaurant. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere elegant but comfortable and the service exemplary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great! Had a good time ordering a Tiramisu Martini and glad to hear that it will be on the menu!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fabulous flavors. Very unique but satisfying dishes. Must try the scallops appetizer. Main course ribeye with burnt hay. Desert the gelato flight!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The server,Sarah, was great.

With regards to the food it was okay. Nothing special at all. Very forgettable.

Mid week and fairly slow. Would be interesting to see it on the weekend or busier time of year.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food. 3of 4 had a beef dish. 4th had lobster, which was average at best.
Highly recommend the steak options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As compared to our visit last year, it was much less impressive on all accounts. We went for dinner for our anniversary. The restaurant was very cold, and every time the door opened, we got another blast of cold air on top of that.
The bar menu would likely have been a better value for the price. The food portion size to price was not equal. My walleye dinner, while tasty didn't came in a bowl of average size. No salad, and we only received bread when we asked for it.
My kids got the bison burger for much less price and comparable volume. It was frankly disappointing to go and get an average meal and spend over $100 with a tip.
Our waitress was less available than we'd hoped - we got our drinks topped off by the host instead. This was surprising because we saw two servers, a host, and there were less than 3 other tables besides us with guests.
Previously, there was more volume of food which better justified the steep restaurant prices.
I will not be going back to the restaurant, but will likely still go to the bar for casual dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've had great experiences in the past at the Bar side, but this last restaurant experience fell flat. We dined for new years eve, making reservations two weeks in advance. The food was overpriced for what it was, and that's coming from someone who's prepared to pay Minneapolis fine dining prices. The waiter was forgetful, very informal, and served us the food without care, taking a very long time to check in each time. The Knoephla soup soup had a single dumpling in the entire cup. The Sea Bass wasn't evenly cooked, which for $40, was a disappointment. The Lavash of the day was skimpy on the toppings. The drinks, although good, were a very long wait. Probably because the bar was so busy, but still, it shouldn't take 20 minutes. On the upside, the host was very friendly. I don't think I'll be back to the restaurant side. It's the bar or nothing when it comes to the HoDo!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I enjoyed the meal and service at the HoDo. However, our table was in the bar and we were surrounded by people standing waiting to take our table.

Also, I received three separate reminder calls and two emails regarding this reservation. It was a bit excessive and I felt like I was being scolded.

Waitress was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was disappointed with the food. My Bison Hanger steak was very good. My partner's Salmon was very dry. The service was sloppy and uneven. For the price, as I would say it wasn't a good value. There are plenty of restaurants in the area that are more interesting and have better variety.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Over-priced food that was just "okay" with limited menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Three of us had the vegan chef's creation...tempura coconut balls and they were excellent!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great Beer, Historic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant!! The food was subpar for the price and the service, while pleasant, was very slow. I was disappointed in the overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Was visiting Fargo and looking for a nice restaurant to meet up with relatives. Went on a Monday night - probably only 3 other tables that evening. Service was very very casual - we wondered if our server was high the whole night. Very interesting menu - but the food did not live up to it's expectations. Salmon with maple glaze was dry, although the vegetables were interesting - but they did not live up to the promise of the menu. For the price, there have to be better options - Fine Dining prices with mediocre service and food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent menu, friendly knowledgeable staff, chef came to our table made personal recommendations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had an impromptu early Saturday evening dinner with our son and his significant other We had a delightful time food and drinks were so good and my sons girlfriend just happens to agree with my choice of wine. It was all good. We will return

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had the BEST service from a woman named Nina. I will come back to HoDo ina aheartbeat just to see her!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were disappointed with our dinners....I was there about 2 months ago and it was much better......The walleye was "barely there".....Rice was o.k. but would not go back for dinner again....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have eaten in many fine restaurants across the US and Europe and this restaurant stands up to fine restaurants we have experienced in much larger cities. I had the bison and my husband had the filet and both were excellent. The presentation of the food was lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We dined at the HoDo to celebrate an anniversary with my parents, who are not easily impressed. Everyone had a perfectly lovely meal; my dad polished his plate, and we all agreed that the truly amazing dessert was the capstone of the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My second time in Fargo, ND and had to return to HoDo as the food and service was great last year and once again, it was excellent. There do not seem to be many high quality restaurants in the Fargo, ND area; however, Hodo is just that. I had the Caprese salad with the hanger steak entree and a glass of red wine. The service was friendly and not rushed and the food was very tasty and enjoyable. The wine list, if you are getting a bottle, is quite extensive with a good wine selection. Overall, it is priced well and a good spot for a good meal in Fargo. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2016

New menu at the HoDo restaurant and it was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great selection of food wine and spirits. Great pairings! Definitely recommend going for any occasion. The roof top bar after dinner is a great stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Taylor was very helpful and had great suggestions. Must try after dinner truffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went on a Saturday night with a reservation. Waited a while (maybe 15 minutes) for our first drink and water. Had a spoonful of sevitche compliments of the chef, delicious. Ordered fried pickled green tomatoes - quite good. Entrees were a grouper fish with octopus - beautifully presented and quite tasty, the fish was cooked perfectly but the octopus was dry, overcooked. Also ordered pork shank with spaetzle - this also was tasty except that the pork was very dry. I don't understand why the long wait for food and beverage to come to our table. Our server informed us that they were "slammed." Other than the long initial wait, the server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Even though the restaurant was NOT busy, our table was located in front of and adjacent to the main door on Broadway. The service was OK but the buffet items were not hot enough and with the odd placement of our table........this is one place we will not be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was hoping to celebrate mother's with a great brunch. This was far from it. It rates up there with one of the most horrible meals I have ever had. The food was cold and over-cooked and the buffet was frequently out of key items such as bacon, sausage, salmon and desserts. I went back 4 times to get one piece of bacon. The "variety" of desserts consisted of pudding type items. They had chocolate cake when I first got there but that was gone and not ever replenished in the hour we were there. The waitstaff seemed stressed and eager to get us out of there. For the price charged, it was very over-priced and poor quality. I will never go back and it is unfortunate because the atmosphere was nice and could have potential. Don't waste your money or time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice experience. Good food. Pleasant waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a nice evening with friends, great steaks, and a nice Scotch menu. The service was good and the noise level perfect for talking. Just great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.