About HoDo Restaurant

101 Broadway
Fargo, ND 58102
View Larger Map

All are welcome at the HoDo Restaurant, a casual fine-dining establishment where exquisitely creative, delicious cuisine and unparalleled, experienced service intersect. We use locally grown and harvested ingredients, humanely and sustainably-raised whenever possible. The dishes are prepared with raw ingredients; if we can make it here, we’ll make it here. From the house made breads and lavosh that start your meal, to the palate-cleansing sorbet you may enjoy before your entrée, to the hand-crafted desserts that add the finishing touch to your experience, the Hotel Donaldson will always be a memorable addition to your culinary repertoire.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 5pm in HoDo Lounge
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: Seating 5pm until 9pm;
Friday & Saturday: Seating 5pm until 10pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Sunday dinner served in the HoDo Lounge)
Brunch: Saturdays & Sundays 9am-2pm

Cross Street:
1st Ave N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 478-8888

Website:
http://www.hoteldonaldson.com/

Entertainment:
Ever-changing restaurant and art gallery. We host and promote the regions visual, culinary, performance and literary arts.

Parking Details:
Free on street parking on 1st Avenue and Broadway St. Off street parking available on the East side of the Hotel. Valet parking available - $15.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Nitschke

Private Party Facilities:
Great spaces do more than function. They inspire great actions and lasting memories. That's the philosophy behind the Hotel Donaldson's meeting rooms and related accommodations. Your personal celebrations or business functions will benefit from our approach to quality food, attentive service and attention to the details of your event. HoDo Restaurant can add as many personal touches as you need. Don't forget, the hotel rooms, restaurant and lounge are all under the same roof and can add another dimension to your retreat or function.

Check out the event spaces and see for yourself. You're sure to find something that will inspire you. Hotel Donaldson has room for you and up to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maranda Tandberg: 7014781000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chefs' personal tasting menus avaialable. Please call 701.478.1000 or visit hoteldonaldson.com. Click on Happenings.

HoDo Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Fargo
Best Restaurants in Fargo ›

Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New menu at the HoDo restaurant and it w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

New menu at the HoDo restaurant and it was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great selection of food wine and spirits ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great selection of food wine and spirits. Great pairings! Definitely recommend going for any occasion. The roof top bar after dinner is a great stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taylor was very helpful and had great su ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Taylor was very helpful and had great suggestions. Must try after dinner truffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful food, but dry. Service could improve.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went on a Saturday night with a reservation. Waited a while (maybe 15 minutes) for our first drink and water. Had a spoonful of sevitche compliments of the chef, delicious. Ordered fried pickled green tomatoes - quite good. Entrees were a grouper fish with octopus - beautifully presented and quite tasty, the fish was cooked perfectly but the octopus was dry, overcooked. Also ordered pork shank with spaetzle - this also was tasty except that the pork was very dry. I don't understand why the long wait for food and beverage to come to our table. Our server informed us that they were "slammed." Other than the long initial wait, the server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Reservations for Mother's Day 2016

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Even though the restaurant was NOT busy, our table was located in front of and adjacent to the main door on Broadway. The service was OK but the buffet items were not hot enough and with the odd placement of our table........this is one place we will not be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

I was hoping to celebrate mother's with ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was hoping to celebrate mother's with a great brunch. This was far from it. It rates up there with one of the most horrible meals I have ever had. The food was cold and over-cooked and the buffet was frequently out of key items such as bacon, sausage, salmon and desserts. I went back 4 times to get one piece of bacon. The "variety" of desserts consisted of pudding type items. They had chocolate cake when I first got there but that was gone and not ever replenished in the hour we were there. The waitstaff seemed stressed and eager to get us out of there. For the price charged, it was very over-priced and poor quality. I will never go back and it is unfortunate because the atmosphere was nice and could have potential. Don't waste your money or time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Nice experience. Good food. Pleasant wai ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice experience. Good food. Pleasant waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for a great evening.

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a nice evening with friends, great steaks, and a nice Scotch menu. The service was good and the noise level perfect for talking. Just great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HoDo... kind of disappointed

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

For the cost of the meal @ 100 bucks for me and my lady, the food should have been much better. The appetizer was good (Mac n cheese croquettes) and the setting is pretty good but the entree was below average for the price and expectation. I would not go back personally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Downtown Fargo Gem

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The HoDo is my favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is always beautifully prepared and well served. I like the fact that the noise level is low, and that it caters to adults rather than families with children. I always recommend it when people ask where they ought to go for a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful...as always!

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch. The food was great. The Service was wonderful as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Our granddaughter picked HoDo for her birthday dinner with us. Everything was just about perfect, and the birthday treat they brought was personalized just for her. We could not have asked for a better evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best.

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I have nothing negative to say about the Ho Do...the food, service, and whole dining experience was outstanding. Thanks and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gone downhill?

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I've been here three times in the past five years (I'm from out of town), and this time was a huge disappointment. I've eaten in the main restaurant and the lounge, but this time we were in the lounge. I brought my boyfriend here after raving about it for years, and we and our two friends were very underwhelmed. The drinks were OK, but not worth their prices. They were weak versions of drinks I've had at other establishments in Minneapolis/Portland/Seattle. I was very disappointed in my food, as was my friend who ordered the same item. I got the "Vegetarian Sauté" and it was a HUGE plate (annoyingly huge--it took up way too much space on the tiny table) of sautéed vegetables with a light sauce on them. It was an appetizer's amount of food, but they tried to pass it off as a main entree. As a vegetarian, there weren't a ton of options on the menu for me in the first place, so I was mad that this was billed as an entree, when really it was a glorified appetizer. My boyfriend got the Braised Bison Short Ribs, which was off the main restaurant's menu. He said it was OK, but the bison was fatty. Our friend got the cheesy panini sandwich, which looked really good, and he was happy. But it's kind of difficult to mess up a grilled-cheese sandwich.

Service was OK. The ambiance is actually terrible. It's so early 90s in there, and really needs an update. We won't be back, unfortunately.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Worth the try

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great spot recommended by a friend. If you are in town for a night or two, give it a whirl! You must try the Bison! Meatball appraiser is a winner as well. Good night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The soft acoustic music and good service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The soft acoustic music and good service added to the overall dining experience! Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Perfection squared. Micheal, the host, w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Perfection squared. Micheal, the host, was a seasoned professional. Food was a multi-faceted delight. Frequent visits is the only way to enjoy the scope of this gems offerings. I was amused in every way. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My boyfriend and I went at 5pm for a Val ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I went at 5pm for a Valentine's dinner. I always love the atmosphere at the HoDo. It's has quirky art and a very sophisticated, yet welcoming vibe. Our server was so sweet and gave us just the right amount of attention. The food was amazing! I'm never disappointed with a meal here or the service. 5 stars all the way around :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a waste of money

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 2, 2014

It's the fanciest restaurant in Fargo, but you could eat out at a nice restaurant in NY or DC for the same price and the food would actually be *good*. My point is, either the prices are too high, or the food is not really that great, and I'm not sure which it is. I think mostly they have a captive market because there is just not much else around it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

HoDo is a gem

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2014

This restaurant has a very modern vibe with great food and very attentive service. I had halibut and it was perfect ly cooked. If I lived in Fargo, it would be my favorite place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brilliant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

All alone driving cross country and decided to treat myself the night before Thanksgiving. What bliss! The appetizers alone (foie gras and cheese plate complete with descriptive placards) were worth the trip from Boston to Fargo. I had the elk for a main dish and it was perfectly cooked and paired with locally sourced vegetables and greens. The service was exceptional, the presentation sumptuous, and the overall experience divine. Dining alone can sometimes be uncomfortable but they made me feel like a queen. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HODO at the Hoterl Donaldson

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on October 5, 2013

Beautifully themed restaurant, blown glass, Eno/Byrne/Shankar inspired atmospheric music, EXCELLENT SERVICE. The food was new to me - elk, bison, duck, angus very palatable for game. Great apps, soups, salad - had one selection from each course and tasting menus are available. Great Cucumber Martinis - just all around very good place overall. Fair prices for a four-diamond establishment. Good cocktails. Give them a try - there'll be SOMETHING you like there! Promise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

An Incredible Dining Experience!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 11, 2013

My wife and I have traveled around the country and have tried many fine establishments, the whole experience at the HoDo Restaurant seems magical now.

We live in the Sacramento CA area and were back to celebrate our son's graduation from NDSU.

The drink menu included many interesting cocktails and martinis that we couldn’t help but try as we waited for the rest of our party to arrive.

The menu had many fine choices, some of the highlights for us were the Duck and the Bison.

Desert was lovely.

The bill was reasonable!

It truly wasone of the best dining experiences we have had, right up there next to the other James Beard nominees and winners we have tried in Omaha NE, Sacramento and Plymouth CA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worthwhile indulgence

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2012

Expect to spend about $75 for food, drinks, tip, and tax. So budget accordingly. We had appetizers, 1 drink each, sparkling water, and entrees. OK, I got caught off guard with the price. Now having gotten that off my chest, I must say that the experience over-all was excellent. Food was excellent, service was friendly and fantastic. Also, we were repeatedly treated to "nice" surprises all of which are a reflection of an establishment that is committed to excellence. The quality of this establishment deserves no less than 5 stars. If quality, flavor, presentation, and service are important to you, then you certainly get what you pay for. I would highly recommend. Just budget accordingly. I hope to visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

in the summer the rooftop

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2012

in the summer the rooftop is definitely the place to be seated. Food is spectacular. Very eclectic scene. Live music on weekends at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We did the

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 17, 2012

Excellent food. We did the 5 plate sampler which was all chef's choice, and the dishes we were presented with were all tasty and unique.

The server had a good suggestion for wine to accompany our food, which also was very delicious.

Excellent!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service, restaurant and bar.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2012

The food was delicious, I love the fingerling potatoes. I had the soup of the day and it was excellent, my friend had Curry Chicken and she loved it. Service was prompt and nice. On the pricier side so if you're looking for something cheap and quick, this may not be the place, it's great for a date night or if you're looking for something more upscale. (bar on the otherside is a lot of fun too!)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What is all the hype about

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 4, 2011

What is all the hype about this place. The bar was slow and boring and no TV to watch a game on Sundays. Maybe they try too hard but the follow through was B at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Really enjoyed our dinner

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 26, 2011

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Very nice ambiance -- great art. Food was excellent. Don't ever think that Fargo doesn't have good restaurants because this is definitely one of them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a memorable treat

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 24, 2011

As always a memorable treat for the family. Many fond memories, many more to come.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Fargo

 
·Dined on September 23, 2011

Good organic food, the portions were just right and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Expecting More..

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2011

Good wine list. Interesting menu with a nice variety and selection of both unique, local, national foods. After multiple visits to the HoDo, I've found their chef to be inconsistent in their food preparation (mostly with meat/steaks). Otherwise a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good Food - Not a Memorable Meal

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2011

This place could have a lot of potential. The food was great, but the ambiance and service didn't match up. It was good food, but not necessarily a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Best Soup Ever

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 27, 2011

This isn't the first time I've eaten at the HoDo. I really enjoyed eating dinner here, although you have to be careful about what you order if you don't have a lot of experience trying new things. The lunch menu is the best, especially the soups. They are to die for. Overall, I could eat here everyday but the price of the food, though fair considering it is fresh and local, is kinda high, but worth every penny. Try it today!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for a fine dinner.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2011

Great place for a fine dinner. Although we don't go there often, it is a favorite. The food is always excellent with special menu items. Great place to take clients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This is a place I will visit

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2010

This is a place I will visit again, very fresh local ingredients and unique dishes that we thoroughly enjoyed. Check this one out I can't see how you could be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to Hodo to celebrate

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2010

Went to Hodo to celebrate one of my lifetime goals of visiting every US state. North Dakota was my 50th and the meal at Hodo was a great way to celebrate. Great food, nice atmosphere and beautiful restaurant! Many thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome!!!!! I was shocked

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 7, 2010

Awesome!!!!! I was shocked to find a restaurant like HoDo in Fargo! I had the Bison Tenderloin. and we had the cheese experience for an a starter. Everything was local from a tri state area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful restaurant in the

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2009

Beautiful restaurant in the hub of the city. Great food and nice staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience for myself,

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 16, 2009

Wonderful experience for myself, husband and daughter. We all had things that were new to us but totally delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.