Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About HOBNOB Restaurant

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch every day from 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (50)
Good for a Date (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Scenic View (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
830 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service from our server Allan. Great choices of wine and food was amazing. Mushroom soup is the best I've ever had and comes highly recommended. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Really beautiful venue, service was very good and presentation of meals was excellent. Execution of dishes was poor, many components were either under or over cooked. Too salty or not enough seasoning, etc. The over all concept of the dishes were good and should have had great balance of flavor and textures, execution was more consistent with someone new or inexperienced in the kitchen.

Love the venue and the ambiance, but I cannot trust the quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We had lunch at the Hob Nob. Nice ambience and great service. My wife and I both had the shepherd ‘s pie which we had enjoyed on a previous visit. Their version is made with beef tips. This time however, there was very little meat in both pies. We found more hard carrots than meat. I could not even stick my fork into them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating our Anniversary, a fine dining experience was in order. We could not have picked a finer place to dine. Our service was excellent, and everything was served in perfect timing. The food was cooked to perfection! The ambiance couldn't have been better for a special night out! I would highly recommend HobNob & will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Tried the tasting menu with wine pairings while dining with a friend. Very impressed with our waiters knowledge about the wines and their notes. The meal was wonderful even though I was not impressed with the Chef's amuse Also portion of foie gras was a bit small and the portion of beef tenderloin large both tasted superb. Will definitely be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 12, 2017

excellent food, exceptional service,absolutely the perfect venue for our 60th wedding
anniversary Thank you, Maureen & Tim Slinger

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We were in Niagara on the Lake to celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving. We invited friends to join us. I had called a week prior to make sure turkey was on the menu and I was assured it was.
When we arrived, no turkey! How can you be open on Thanksgiving and not have turkey?

This has always been a favorite restaurant of ours and once again we were not disappointed in the food or service. However, no turkey on Thanksgiving was extremely disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Hob Nob is one of the restaurants in the Charles Inn, an 1823 Inn, just down Queen Street fro St. Mark's Anglican Church (1797), one of two buildings spared by marauding US troops who burned Niagara, during the War of 1812.
The elegant dining room served a limited fare for lunch, with an extensive list of local wines. Service by Oliver was professional, attentive and friendly. Signature dishes included an eight ounce ground sirloin, and a very tasty shepard's pie. Savory carrot and leak soup was a good starter, and coffee was served as a french press.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our fourth trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake but our first to this restaurant! We absolutely loved the dining experience! The staff went above and beyond to make this a special occasion. They were all very attentive and the menu was impeccable! We will make it a point to get back for another dinner when we’re back in Canada!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I am definitely not one to EVER take the time/effort to provide online feedback, but given our dining experience at HOB NOB, I now feel compelled to do so. The HOB NOB restaurant is a MUST, if you are looking to experience a serious culinary experience worth every dollar. My sister and I visited this restaurant in celebration of our birthdays and decided to go with the tasting menu+wine pairing. The food was outstanding (we could not pick a favourite dish), and the wine pairings were the perfect accompaniment. We both agreed that the dining experience was by far the best we had ever experienced - better than anything in Toronto (where we are from). The service was great - very friendly and pleasant wait staff! The ambiance was cozy and casual. All I have to say is that you will be raving about this place after you leave...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved all the changes to the restaurant since our last visit....the food was very inventive......the waiter superb and will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friend's home.
The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. We preferred the previous method in seasoning and preparation of the Duck. Loved the Shepard's pie.
Diane & Oliver's service was most commendable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I would definitely recommend the grilled tenderloin, the duck is very tasty, but if I could have it my way, would have had both.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food and service. Staff very hospitable and friendly. I enjoyed the unique menu and just how delicious everything tasted. This restaurant is great for any special occasion. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great meal. Mushroom soup was the best ever. Taste and service was great. Would go back next time we are in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Hobnob's was just a short walk from our B and B and recommended by our hosts. We were not disappointed. We were celebrating a birthday and our waiter brought a glass of bubbly to start us off compliments of the house. The fois gras was fabulous and the deconstructed 'smores were exceptional. Our mains were equally delightful. The staff were warm and helpful. It was a very pleasant evening from start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great tasting menu delivered by a very informative and knowledgeable waitress with a little assistance from the Kitchen staff in just the right speed to male the whole evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday and the dining experience we had was fantastic. We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing which we both really enjoyed. Our waitress Kim did a phenomenal job. She was pleasant, attentive, and explained each wine/food course as they came out. The food looked and tasted great. It was one of the best meals that I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Much to salty. Normally means the chef is tired of what he is doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The Hob Nob Was the best of the four restaurants that we sampled while in NOTL. The black skin cod was one of the best preparation of all time and the duck was very fine.The chef knows his/her way around the kitchen. Every dish that we sampled was good or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We enjoyed the lovely atmosphere The food was excellent. Loved the crispy cauliflower The complimentary champagne for our anniversary was a nice touch

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The decor of the place is warm and inviting, and the service was really attentive. The food was, of course, had a great balance of flavors, and the presentation did not disappoint. We ordered three appetizers and one main dish for two, and it was perfect--Mushroom Veloute, Foie Gras, Pork Belly/Scallop, and Duck: all classic french dishes done right.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The service could be a little more attentive and professional. The food was fantastic, except for the use of course salt as a finishing salt. Getting a bite of food with a large chunk of salt on it, detected from, not enhanced the food. Kosher salt or a flaky sea salt would have been a better choice, but both a minor issues.

**Also, vegetarians and vegans will be out of luck here.

Couldn't ask for better decor, and they pay a lot of attention to detail, which I loved, so visit this almost-perfect gem.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Limited but very well executed menu. Service was friendly and efficient. The ambiance was a let down given the promise of the place. The front portico seating needs improvement as the lack of ambiance certainly distracted from the quality of the food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We, three couples, enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings. Each course was exquisite with beautifully presented, interesting and delicious flavour combinations. The wine pairings made it all that much more enjoyable. It was a lovely evening at Hobnob; a beautiful beginning to a wonderful weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

HobNob continues to be Niagara-on-the-Lake's best restaurant. The staff are always welcoming and cheerful (but not intrusive). The food's reliable, the portions generous.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent meal and outstanding service by a very knowledgable waiter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great food, presentation and service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I've been here twice now. They have the most amazing food. I highly recommend eating here!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Chose this restaurant based on opentable reviews and was not disappointed.

We went with the tasting menu. Food was very, VERY good. Service was great.

Amazing experience overall. Would recommend to friends/family and would come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Late lunch at Hobnob ended a beautiful day at Niagara on the Lake. The great service and good food, paired with a very decent wine list, made the trip from Niagara City worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

FABULOUS!!!
We are major foodies and frequently drive (from Buffalo) to eat out wherever the food is good. HobNob has an amazingly creative chef who prepares mouth-watering dishes that are just the right amount.

The service was impeccable. Our waiter knew the menu, the wine, and noted my allergy and had the chef make a special vegetable dish without the sauce.

The atmosphere is an old house, so the rooms of the restaurant are many. The nice thing... it cuts down on the noise. The rose painted walls and heavy drapes also seem to make people talk in lower volume. The bar is intimate and quiet. Didn't care for the side room off the bar but the main dining rooms in the house are spectacular.

The other thing (a pet peeve of mine) is that the background music was good. They played some 1930's jazz, quietly, in the background. It suited the atmosphere and was not intrusive to our conversation.

Can't rave enough about HobNob and will go back frequently.

Worth every bit!

-Madalyn Flielser

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary enjoying a fabulous lunch. The food was excellent and the service was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was delicious, service was excellent. We were treated very well, a fantastic place to spend our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a late afternoon lunch before attending the theatre. Service was prompt and friendly. The food was very good. Would highly recommend the Cobb salad. The chicken served with the salad was absolutely scrumptious. Dining room is very pretty. A great venue for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent meal prior to play at Shaw Theater Festival. Salmon for one guest; chicken for the other. Service impeccable. We were totally pleased with our experience for this restaurant we found on Open Table!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was delicious with a good selection. Our waiter, Alan, was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

What a great place. The place is old, beautiful and clean.
The fish was cooked perfect , the sides were matched perfect and the presentation was great. It is expensive but after you taste the food you will forget about the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was very good food , we both had an app and our meal and then finished with dessert. Did not leave hungry, but the pocket was a little lighter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Truly excellent as always. A bit expensive ($40-50 per entree), but is very much worth it. An anniversary tradition for us; the tastings menu is delectable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.