About HOBNOB Restaurant

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Lunch: Saturday & Sunday only from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special. Enjoy the delicious cuisine with your guests as the attentive wait staff cater to your every need. Celebrating at the Charles Inn will ensure your event is one to remember.

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Romantic (60)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Scenic View (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Historic (11)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

a bit pricey for the quality. one person ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

a bit pricey for the quality. one person is not allowed to order the tasting menu - the whole table has to have it or none

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really slow service on a Saturday night. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really slow service on a Saturday night. Took two hours to get a salad and the main course. Skipped dessert and coffee as a result. Food not bad but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was fantastic - modern twists on tr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was fantastic - modern twists on traditional with accents of unique. Dont go if you are in a hurry as it was just over a half hour for appetizer, then another half hour before entree arrived. Would we go here again? For sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

If September is the busiest month in NOT ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

If September is the busiest month in NOTL perhaps more than one server for the entire restaurant is required.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was simply outstanding, and the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was simply outstanding, and the service was informative, friendly, and courteous. I would strongly recommend this restaurant as dining for a more mature or refined clientele. A little pricier, but certainly a good value which would meet expectations for that tyoe of dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We arrived at this establishment which s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We arrived at this establishment which said it had a wine bar. Unfortunately there is not a bar at this place. There is a limited menu and when I ordered the recommended "staple dish" it was overcooked. They made another which was too rare. You would think with only a handful of items on the menu they could prepare the only beef option correctly. So I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Been coming here for the past few years, ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Been coming here for the past few years, and even before the name change. Food has been consistently good, nothing too adventurous but always an interesting twist, ie quails egg on bread pudding. Service is solid and friendly. Lovely dining room with period furniture and fireplace. All said well done. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good and the room we w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was very good and the room we were in was very comfortable. Then came an animated group who forced us to want another table. We had to focus on our food and speak loudly to be heard. No fault of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

So so disappointed. Musty smell on pati ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

So so disappointed. Musty smell on patio. No room inside. Sent out back. Service was poor as was food. No more for me! Too many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I was a big fan of The Charles Inn but t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was a big fan of The Charles Inn but the last 2 visits have been disappointing. Over cooked food, bad service and the dining room smelled musty with the addition of a fishy smell. There is something going on in the kitchen and with the staff that is not standing up to this restaurants past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The tasting menu with wine pairing was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The tasting menu with wine pairing was exceptional . The attention to details and services was amazing.

Thanks to all at Hob Nob for making this such a special evening .

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service great surroundings, se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service great surroundings, server was attentive & knowledgeable about the food he was serving, the food was excellent fine dining at its best, well done

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have returned to this restaurant time ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have returned to this restaurant time and time again for special occasion dining. The Inn is historic and beautiful and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined in a porch and the cobwebs hang ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We dined in a porch and the cobwebs hanging from the lights and other places were detrimental to one's appetite. Food and service were impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Wonderful waitress, but all of the food, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful waitress, but all of the food, especially the seafood, was TOO SALTY! We asked the waitress to convey this to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We have eaten here many times, but the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have eaten here many times, but the food this evening was truly extraordinary. Incredible flavors, creatively presented, exception regional wines, and expert wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining room in 19th century b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful dining room in 19th century building. However, We were chosen to sit in narrow glass enclosed veranda. We chose to sit outside on patio. Food was ok at best. There was a twist on French frizzy salad which had frizzy salad flanked by runny poached egg and piece of pork belly. I would say it was not successful. Then there was a twist on chicken pot pie which had pulled chicken and vegetables in a sauce with a piece ofpastry dough on top. It was fairly tasteless. My wife ordered a hamburger which was over cooked and dry. All in all, better places to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent and attentive service, lovely ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent and attentive service, lovely atmosphere. Food was good but not great. I've had better filets elsewhere for the price. But it was a splurge with good friends.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We were four for lunch- I had the Shephe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We were four for lunch- I had the Shepherds Pie which was actually a deconstructed version with tender sirloin tips. Our friends had the salmon with lentils and fennel, they said it was delicious. My husband had the burger, which was huge and very fresh.

We sat outside on the front patio and were fortunate enough to have perfect weather. Service was good.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our way to a play, we dined at this f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

On our way to a play, we dined at this fabulous restaurant. We had duck breast with Asian flavours wonderful. Service was awesome and her humorous and attentiveness added to the quality of dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb cuisine, service and overall dini ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Superb cuisine, service and overall dining experience in a very nice setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was phenomenal. Service was great. Portions were quite large for a tasting menu so arrive hungry.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed the wine and fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the wine and food pairing.

The chefs presentations and flavours were superb.

Our table was uninspiring.Given the nature of the meal,a more intimate setting would have been preferred,rather than being located on the veranda.Our server though very well informed about the wine and food,appeared to be run off his feet.He was so intent on our enjoying the moment that it was not relaxing.He did not appear to have confidence in the rest of the servers around him which created an agitated atmosphere.It was unfortunate for him as well.

The over abundance of fruit flies,especially in our wine was unappealing.Perhaps leaving the door to the outside garden open was not a good choice.Or perhaps the bottles themselves were left open for too long between other patrons.

The food was ample.In fact we were unable to eat the fish portion of the meal.We left with a small portion and dessert which we enjoyed the following day on a picnic in Port Hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food- awesome dessert, good for a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food- awesome dessert, good for a quiet evening together with someone special

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Worth the $$$

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service. Worth the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very well done, well presented meal. gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

very well done, well presented meal. great atmosphere, always a delight

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food,as usual, was great. Prices , howev ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food,as usual, was great. Prices , however, have gone up immensely and, with the exception of the Hen dish, are at least $5-$10 too high. Not too sure I will return so quickly in the near future due to the new owners prices hikes in the Main restaurant. We have been regulars in the Restaurant. Regrettable and the dining room was not full as it normally is.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Opt for the lounge menu at this unexpect ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Opt for the lounge menu at this unexpectedly outstanding restaurant. 5 or 6 mains well below $20 and each one treated with care and invention: the cool lentil salad with the grilled salmon unilatéral, the delicious, tender sirloin tips in a deconstructed shepherd's pie, the parmesan truffle mac and cheese!

Menu available on the front patio as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointed poor service it took 2 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very disappointed poor service it took 2 hours for dinner . We waited an hour for first course . Server very sorry for poor service understaffed. Asked to speak to the manager he had left for the evening .Meal was ok but nothing special for the cost

NOTL restaurants are getting pretty pricey close to Toronto prices and no where near the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The meal we had with our friends was abs ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The meal we had with our friends was absolutely delicious. We had a lovely evening and were able to hear each other which at a lot of restaurants doesn't happen these days. We had a lovely evening and we all commented on how great the food was.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is definitely one of our favourite ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is definitely one of our favourite restaurants in NOTL. The Exec Chef is always very creative with his food. Like the ratatouille hidden inside a tomato. Even our French friend was very impressed. The Amuse-bouche is always a nice touch and so yummy!!! We had the duck this time. I had the Yellow Fin Tuna Tartare and I can eat a million of them. My main was the Cornish Game Hen and OMG, I loved it. Hubby had the Chinook Crisp Skin Salmon and it was divine. Our French friend had the Beef Tenderloin and she mopped up everything. Dessert was the Fruit Crumble for hubby and my friend and I had the Raspberry sorbet with the beautiful melted and smeared across mashmallow. It was stunny and delicious. We couldn't ask for a more lovely evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait for drinks, longer wait for st ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Long wait for drinks, longer wait for starter, over an hour wait for entree and bread which finally came with the entree

Server just went through the motions. No interaction and mostly ignored us throughout the meal. Most everything was done by the back servers. Even though the food was good, it was so overshadowed by the poor service that it ruined our meal. Other servers were cheerful and interactive, too bad we got a poor one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food at this property was good, the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at this property was good, the location and cleanliness was just fine. The Hostess was less than hospitable when we arrived 20 minutes late for our reservation - there were a number of tables open at the time. We had clients with us, so not particularly appreciated.

The main purpose of this review is to report the price gouging. The prices on our bill were almost ALL over the web site and local menu prices.

$CAD13.75 for a Manhattan? Queen's Landing - same town, same drink - was $CAD9.50

Again, with clients, we were in no position to argue.

In summary... WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It wasn't the first time we dined here a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It wasn't the first time we dined here and as usual it didn't disappoint. The tasting menu was fabulous along with the wines chosen by our fabulous server Alan. My only disappointment was that all parties he able need to order the tasting menu in order for one person to order it. Although it is fabulous it can be of food for someone and not all people may be able or want to have it. I hope you revisit this policy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After asking to be seated in the main di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

After asking to be seated in the main dining room rather than the patio area, and then asking to be moved from a table that was pushed up against an open door and had the A/C vent under it, we had a fabulous meal. Our server, Gillian, was very engaging and knew the menu very well. the meal was sumptuous and very well presented.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just off the main shopping area., nice i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Just off the main shopping area., nice intimate patio ideal for lunch , we will be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meal was very enjoyable . I had read ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was very enjoyable . I had read mixed reviews and took a chance. I was very happy with our meal and service. I would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect, service, atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was perfect, service, atmosphere and especially the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space and atmosphere. The wait s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely space and atmosphere. The wait staff was perfect. The menu, although good, seemed a little limited in offerings. What we did order was excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food (tasters menu) Staff knowala ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food (tasters menu) Staff knowalageble of they are serving

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.