Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About HOBNOB Restaurant

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Lunch: Saturday & Sunday only from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special. Enjoy the delicious cuisine with your guests as the attentive wait staff cater to your every need. Celebrating at the Charles Inn will ensure your event is one to remember.

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Historic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The food transformation are awesome. The Cullen art arts are well represented. They take the food seriously and the end result is spectacular. Imho. The best food in niagra on the lake!

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service by everyone!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Traditional menu with fab food nicely presented. Service was great. Would definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful place. Chef so helpful with food allergy and actually created a dish for my mom which she loved. Will return often!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We always enjoy our time at HobNob. The staff are so nice and the meals are always creative and delicious! It was a very nice Mother's day treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated her 50th birthday at Niagara on the Lake. Had the opportunity to eat at Hob Nob on Saturday evening and had a wonderful experience. We were early for our reservation so while waiting, we enjoyed a glass of wine in there beautiful lounge. Our waiter Darren was helpful and very attentive the whole evening. We both had the arugula salad to start and the grilled tenderloin for our entrée. Both dishes were outstanding. Will definitely eat at Hob Nob next time we visit NOL.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food in a relaxed historic inn - this is why I don't write reviews as object to having to write a minimum number of characters!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service felt rushed and server overwhelmed with number of tables he was covering. Some of the food was interesting but the overall experience left us feeling like we had paid for an expensive meal and it really wasn't a good dining experience. We had a nice table in the glass window porch area, which helped with ambiance, but service lacked finesse was rushed and mechanical.
We ordered a bottle of Pinot Gris and the waiter called it Pinot Grigio didn't really know the difference, we repeated Pinot Gris and he brought us a bottle of Reisling which he had to go back and get the right one. We both ordered the Beef Tenderlion one med rare and the other med well, both steaks arrived identical cooked the same. The waiter basically dropped the steaks at the table and then gave us a quick explanation and hurried off to another table (all of the courses were like that).
While waiting at the receptionist to get our jackets another table of 4 guests pushed past us in the hallway to get their jackets felt like staff could have managed hallway traffic better. Overall staff is young, inexperience and not well trained in giving service. Unlike the exceptional staff at Treadwell where we had dined the evening before who gave us an amazing dining experience, 5 star from the moment we walked in until the second we left. Hob Nob needs to step it, we wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have only been twice for anniversaries, but wish we lived closer to go more often. Wonderful service and food. Everything is delicious. It is worth every penny!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The Hob Nob Restaurant is a beautiful and romantic place to eat with two fireplaces, mirrors and lovely chandeliers. The food was delicious from the first to last course. The chicken dish was moist and tender and the beef entree ordered by my husband was done to perfection. The service by Allan was impeccable with just the right amount of attention without being intrusive. This has always been one of our favourite restaurants in Niagara on the Lake and will continue to be in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The best French restaurant we've ever been to. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and the most exquisite food we've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food, ambiance and service were fantastic. We each ordered and loved the tasting menu; everything was delicious, serving was perfectly timed and we were surprisingly satiated (given that it was a tasting menu). We're definitely planning on going back for another visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a delicious meal a la carte! The service was great and the ambiance was very cozy and romantic.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Friends visiting from out of town and Fabulicious was on. Had a great 3 course meal
For a very reasonable price. 3 choices per course so something for everyone.
Have dined here several other times, usually lunch and every time have had a good meal.
Would go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very much enjoyed the meal! The steak was cooked just right and the desert was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We celebrated my sister's 50th birthday this past Sat. The food was exceptional. The atmosphere and hospitality were the best none barred. The chef came out upon request to be thanked for his food, menu and presentation. I have nothing but good words for this establishment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

HobNob never fails to impress me. I have been dining at this beautiful and historic establishment for years and the service and food is always outstanding. Winterlicious and Fabulicious are always 'must do's' in November and February here. We look forward to coming back again soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service! The atmosphere is cozy and warm.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best fine dining restaurant in Niagara-on-the-Lake!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful reataurant with amazing unique food paired with special picked wines to complement each course. Fantastic service and atmosphere. One of our favorites

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have eaten at Hob Nob many times and have never been disappointed. I have been seated in the formal dining room, the bar, the porch and the patio. All locations are fabulous, depending on the occasion. The service and food are always exceptional. The wine list is super. Parking is close and free which is rare in Niagara-on-the-lake.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had dinner here as a treat to try some gourmet chef created food. A restaurant like this is normally well outside of our budget so this was a treat on our weekend getaway. The food was adventurous and had some unique pairings within the dishes. It was cooked perfectly and used some fun techniques! Like the pear crisp that looked like glass on the dessert - beautiful and delicious! The service was great and everyone we spoke with at the restaurant was pleasant and accommodating. The decor was a throwback to a different era but clean. Unfortunately we are not likely to be able to eat here again, but I would recommend it for that once and great while splerge on a culinary experience.

We also tried the truffles with candied blood oranges on offer from the HOB NOB at the ice wine festival and they, as our dinner, were phenomenal! The crew in the kitchen here really put their hearts into their food! Such a treat :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Second time having lunch here. Fantastic menu and absolutely the best service. This place is too good to pass by. My new fav place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Wonderful service and a great atmosphere. I highly recommended the tasting menu with the wine pairings. Exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A special New Years dinner, great 7-course meal with wine pairings, service was excellent, atmosphere was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the best meal my wife and I have had in our 25 years of marriage.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We recently celebrated a post-Christmas season getaway in Niagara on the Lake and chose this fabulous restaurant based on previous reviews. I was such a fabulous find! From the ambiance, quiet jazz music, subtle holiday lighting, and gracious staff... to the phenomenal food ... beginning with a complementary butternut squash/apple soup taster that had just the right amount of heat, to our appetizers - mushroom risotto and beet salad, to the fabulous entrees - Salmon and Chicken Coq au Vin... all coupled with wines from the Niagara on the Lake region... we truly couldn't have chosen a more wonderful place to enjoy our gift to ourselves.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our 2nd Christmas dinner at HOBNOB and we were not disappointed. Friendly staff, no waiting for seating and we were given the table we requested; good service, timing between courses perfect. Our dinner was delicious. An enjoyable, relaxing Christmas dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Booked our family Christmas lunch her. Delicious, well presented, flavorful dishes with attentive friendly staff. It is a little pricey, but for a special occasion it was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Totally brilliant. The food was delicious and the atmosphere so friendly and relaxed. All round enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were hoping to try their regular lunch menu, but it was Christmas Day, so only the holiday menu was offered. The food was beautifully prepared and well thought out using local ingredients. However, it was a bit heavy on salt. One of the dessert was also a bit dry. The restaurant is located in a historic Inn, so it was great if you are looking for an intimate dinning location with romantic ambiance. We will come back again to try their regular menu next time.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (München)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful meal and service. Moderately expensive, but good value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always excellent! The new lunch menu was a welcome surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous. Great menu and food was superb. The wines were great. Our friends were from out of town and loved it saying they would definitely come again. Great since last time we went to another spot they were not impressed. Good recommendations as they are world travelers

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Some things were great, but there were some big misses too. The beef was also a bit overdone. It's a charming place, but it's just not consistently good enough to justify the prices. Can't compete with Trius or Peller.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was definitely one of the best meals we have ever had in Niagara-on-the Lake. Lost of fabulous dining experiences to enjoy...but this one was definitely 5 stars on all fronts.
The scallop and rabbit starter was absolutely divine AND the crispy Chinook Salmon was absolutely sensational! Can't wait for our next trip!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Met some friends there for dinner on a weekend get away. Charming atmosphere, creative menu, great service and food. With a few bottles of wine, maybe a bit more than I had expected to pay in Niagara.
All in all it was a great evening. I'd recommend it to anyone and I would return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My wife and I had an absolutely lovely time at Hobnob for a very special occasion. We celebrated our baby's gender reveal with a romantic dinner for two. From reception, to hostess, to waiter and chef we couldn't have asked for a more perfect night to find out that we will be having a baby girl in the spring of 2017.
Chef Steve's creation was absolutely astounding from the first course to dessert as each provided a lovely melody of flavours and textures. We can't thank the staff of Hobnob enough for making our night so very special.

Matthew and Erika

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a favourite restaurant of mine and my boyfriend's. We celebrated his birthday this past weekend and the staff at HobNob went out of their way to make it special, including glasses of sparkling wine on the table when we arrived with friends to help us kick off the celebrations.

The food here is as equally outstanding. The risotto, salmon and crime brûlée are the best we've ever had and the wine list, which is quite extensive, features many local wineries that we visit frequently and love.

Consistency, quality and hospitality are three words that always come to mind when I think of HobNob. I look forward to many more returns in the future!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been to Hobnob at the St. Charles Inn on several occasions and it never disappoints. By far one of the best, if not the best restaurant in Niagara on the Lake. Classic food with the freshest and best ingredients, skillfully prepared and presented. NOTL has an off season promotion called, "Fabulicious" similar to "Winterlicious" in Toronto. Fantastic value for top notch restaurants in the area. It takes place twice a year. Be sure to check it out and make sure you try Hobnob. Congratulations to Chef Steve Sperling and his team.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.