About HOBNOB Restaurant

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Lunch: Saturday & Sunday only from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special. Enjoy the delicious cuisine with your guests as the attentive wait staff cater to your every need. Celebrating at the Charles Inn will ensure your event is one to remember.

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Historic (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fireplace (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous. Great menu and food was supe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous. Great menu and food was superb. The wines were great. Our friends were from out of town and loved it saying they would definitely come again. Great since last time we went to another spot they were not impressed. Good recommendations as they are world travelers

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some things were great, but there were s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Some things were great, but there were some big misses too. The beef was also a bit overdone. It's a charming place, but it's just not consistently good enough to justify the prices. Can't compete with Trius or Peller.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was definitely one of the best meals ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was definitely one of the best meals we have ever had in Niagara-on-the Lake. Lost of fabulous dining experiences to enjoy...but this one was definitely 5 stars on all fronts.

The scallop and rabbit starter was absolutely divine AND the crispy Chinook Salmon was absolutely sensational! Can't wait for our next trip!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends there for dinner on a w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Met some friends there for dinner on a weekend get away. Charming atmosphere, creative menu, great service and food. With a few bottles of wine, maybe a bit more than I had expected to pay in Niagara.

All in all it was a great evening. I'd recommend it to anyone and I would return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had an absolutely lovely t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My wife and I had an absolutely lovely time at Hobnob for a very special occasion. We celebrated our baby's gender reveal with a romantic dinner for two. From reception, to hostess, to waiter and chef we couldn't have asked for a more perfect night to find out that we will be having a baby girl in the spring of 2017.

Chef Steve's creation was absolutely astounding from the first course to dessert as each provided a lovely melody of flavours and textures. We can't thank the staff of Hobnob enough for making our night so very special.

Matthew and Erika

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a favourite restaurant of mine a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a favourite restaurant of mine and my boyfriend's. We celebrated his birthday this past weekend and the staff at HobNob went out of their way to make it special, including glasses of sparkling wine on the table when we arrived with friends to help us kick off the celebrations.

The food here is as equally outstanding. The risotto, salmon and crime brûlée are the best we've ever had and the wine list, which is quite extensive, features many local wineries that we visit frequently and love.

Consistency, quality and hospitality are three words that always come to mind when I think of HobNob. I look forward to many more returns in the future!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hobnob at the St. Charle ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been to Hobnob at the St. Charles Inn on several occasions and it never disappoints. By far one of the best, if not the best restaurant in Niagara on the Lake. Classic food with the freshest and best ingredients, skillfully prepared and presented. NOTL has an off season promotion called, "Fabulicious" similar to "Winterlicious" in Toronto. Fantastic value for top notch restaurants in the area. It takes place twice a year. Be sure to check it out and make sure you try Hobnob. Congratulations to Chef Steve Sperling and his team.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Too expensive for the food you receive. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Too expensive for the food you receive. This was supposed to be fine dining, the server was not good...and was too busy attending to other guests. She did not even come back over after coffee was served, someone else cashed us out. Dissapointing

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The entire experience was wonderful BUT. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful BUT.... upon reviewing our bill, we were aghast to see that a $44 charge was added to cover the cost of 4, yes 4, scallops. The waitress presented the scallops as a chef's 'added feature' to the already set menu (which included an entrée, a main course and dessert for $39/pp). There was never a mention of an 'added cost' at any time. It's not that we minded paying for the 'added' feature but we felt that $44 was highway robbery and spoiled what would have otherwise been a perfect outing.

We would definitely recommend HobNob to our friends and would go back ourselves but with eyes wide open to the unexpected. Live and Learn!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful historic building. Food was fa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful historic building. Food was fantastic and wine was decent! It was a little too quite for my liking and I'm ok with a bit on the quite side but It felt a little awkward likeyou had to whisper in church!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Nice place: good tasting menu however a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice place: good tasting menu however a little out of balance; too rich a fish dish prior to the meat dish - we found that is where the balance was lost and that left little room to enjoy the

very nice beef dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and food, will highly ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service and food, will highly recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arturo was our server. The service was f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Arturo was our server. The service was friendly and professional. We flavours of our meal were spot on! The flavours totally complemented each other. The chef sent out a sample of rutabaga soup for us to taste. The flavours totally worked together perfectly. I would go back to this restaurant. We loved it!! It is worth the trip.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always book one meal at Hobnobs on ou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We always book one meal at Hobnobs on our trips to Niagara.....nice quiet dinners, excellent food and staff. Chicken was slightly overcooked this time, but the beet salad was absolutely lovely, as was the pork.

Would enjoy seeing one special on the menu, as it is limited......but another super meal overall!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding tasting menu before a play i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding tasting menu before a play in NOTL.

Each course was well explained and beautifully presented from amuse bouche through dessert.

Service was professional, knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've had many fine meals at Hobnob in t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've had many fine meals at Hobnob in the past, but this time, all the components of the entrée (meat, kale, potatoes and pork belly) were over salted) - tasty, but overly salty. As usual, the ambience and the service were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Shocked on how bad the food and service ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Shocked on how bad the food and service was.

Had heard nothing but good reviews about this restaurant and my

experience was Terrible.

Thanksgiving dinner was unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food, innovative cuisine. Our se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, innovative cuisine. Our server, Arturo, was most professional and helpful in explaining dishes. Hob Nob is a great place for special occasions or just a most enjoyable meal.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice cozy atmosphere fitting Niagara on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice cozy atmosphere fitting Niagara on the Lake. Quality food but on the expensive side for a burger and shepard's pie. Our waitress was a little off and seemed bored and like she didn't want to be there. Mixed up orders despite specifying an allergy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband and I loved the tasting menu ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My husband and I loved the tasting menu at Hobnob. It was very articulated, creative and abundant. After a nice amuse-gueule, we had two appetizers, one fish plate, one meat plate, and a copious dessert (we skipped the cheese). Apart from the dessert, each plate consisted of a variety of small treats. We particularly appreciated the wine pairing, a wide sampling of Niagara region wines, well chosen and perfectly matched to each plate. Certain choices, such as the inniskillin ice wine were fantastic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was over-priced. Service was prete ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food was over-priced. Service was pretentious. My wife and I each had fish (different species), both were barely warm and undercooked. They took mine back and microwaved it. Offered us coffee and dessert on the house-declined. Took 20% off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We were seated on the veranda because our reserved table was not available. There was a loud mouthed woman dining by us. It really took away from the experience. I would have preferred the elegance of the dining room and chandeliers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous tasting meal - almost too much ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous tasting meal - almost too much food - but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants over the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants over the years, this dinner was awful. Shouting imbibers at an adjoining table. Cornish hen was crusty morsels on al dente green beans! A horrendous combination. Fois gras was bloody and runny. No salt and pepper on the table. Waiter told us many times that warm bread was on the way - - it arrived just before our meal was served. Kitchen and wait staff weren't up to the task of serving good food to a full house for Friday night dinner. Probably owners/management really are the ones to be blamed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Lovely restaurant when one is visiting N ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Lovely restaurant when one is visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake for the Shaw festival or just wine tasting. Very attentive staff and very good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

a bit pricey for the quality. one person ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

a bit pricey for the quality. one person is not allowed to order the tasting menu - the whole table has to have it or none

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Really slow service on a Saturday night. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Really slow service on a Saturday night. Took two hours to get a salad and the main course. Skipped dessert and coffee as a result. Food not bad but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was fantastic - modern twists on tr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was fantastic - modern twists on traditional with accents of unique. Dont go if you are in a hurry as it was just over a half hour for appetizer, then another half hour before entree arrived. Would we go here again? For sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

If September is the busiest month in NOT ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

If September is the busiest month in NOTL perhaps more than one server for the entire restaurant is required.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was simply outstanding, and the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was simply outstanding, and the service was informative, friendly, and courteous. I would strongly recommend this restaurant as dining for a more mature or refined clientele. A little pricier, but certainly a good value which would meet expectations for that tyoe of dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We arrived at this establishment which s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We arrived at this establishment which said it had a wine bar. Unfortunately there is not a bar at this place. There is a limited menu and when I ordered the recommended "staple dish" it was overcooked. They made another which was too rare. You would think with only a handful of items on the menu they could prepare the only beef option correctly. So I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Been coming here for the past few years, ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Been coming here for the past few years, and even before the name change. Food has been consistently good, nothing too adventurous but always an interesting twist, ie quails egg on bread pudding. Service is solid and friendly. Lovely dining room with period furniture and fireplace. All said well done. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good and the room we w ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was very good and the room we were in was very comfortable. Then came an animated group who forced us to want another table. We had to focus on our food and speak loudly to be heard. No fault of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

So so disappointed. Musty smell on pati ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 9, 2016

So so disappointed. Musty smell on patio. No room inside. Sent out back. Service was poor as was food. No more for me! Too many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I was a big fan of The Charles Inn but t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was a big fan of The Charles Inn but the last 2 visits have been disappointing. Over cooked food, bad service and the dining room smelled musty with the addition of a fishy smell. There is something going on in the kitchen and with the staff that is not standing up to this restaurants past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The tasting menu with wine pairing was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The tasting menu with wine pairing was exceptional . The attention to details and services was amazing.

Thanks to all at Hob Nob for making this such a special evening .

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service great surroundings, se ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service great surroundings, server was attentive & knowledgeable about the food he was serving, the food was excellent fine dining at its best, well done

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have returned to this restaurant time ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have returned to this restaurant time and time again for special occasion dining. The Inn is historic and beautiful and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined in a porch and the cobwebs hang ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We dined in a porch and the cobwebs hanging from the lights and other places were detrimental to one's appetite. Food and service were impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Wonderful waitress, but all of the food, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful waitress, but all of the food, especially the seafood, was TOO SALTY! We asked the waitress to convey this to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.