About HOBNOB Restaurant

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Lunch: Saturday & Sunday only from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special. Enjoy the delicious cuisine with your guests as the attentive wait staff cater to your every need. Celebrating at the Charles Inn will ensure your event is one to remember.

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Niagara
Special Occasion
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

Special Occasion (83)
Romantic (62)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Lunch (19)
Scenic View (15)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is definitely one of our favourite ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is definitely one of our favourite restaurants in NOTL. The Exec Chef is always very creative with his food. Like the ratatouille hidden inside a tomato. Even our French friend was very impressed. The Amuse-bouche is always a nice touch and so yummy!!! We had the duck this time. I had the Yellow Fin Tuna Tartare and I can eat a million of them. My main was the Cornish Game Hen and OMG, I loved it. Hubby had the Chinook Crisp Skin Salmon and it was divine. Our French friend had the Beef Tenderloin and she mopped up everything. Dessert was the Fruit Crumble for hubby and my friend and I had the Raspberry sorbet with the beautiful melted and smeared across mashmallow. It was stunny and delicious. We couldn't ask for a more lovely evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait for drinks, longer wait for st ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Long wait for drinks, longer wait for starter, over an hour wait for entree and bread which finally came with the entree

Server just went through the motions. No interaction and mostly ignored us throughout the meal. Most everything was done by the back servers. Even though the food was good, it was so overshadowed by the poor service that it ruined our meal. Other servers were cheerful and interactive, too bad we got a poor one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food at this property was good, the ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food at this property was good, the location and cleanliness was just fine. The Hostess was less than hospitable when we arrived 20 minutes late for our reservation - there were a number of tables open at the time. We had clients with us, so not particularly appreciated.

The main purpose of this review is to report the price gouging. The prices on our bill were almost ALL over the web site and local menu prices.

$CAD13.75 for a Manhattan? Queen's Landing - same town, same drink - was $CAD9.50

Again, with clients, we were in no position to argue.

In summary... WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It wasn't the first time we dined here a ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It wasn't the first time we dined here and as usual it didn't disappoint. The tasting menu was fabulous along with the wines chosen by our fabulous server Alan. My only disappointment was that all parties he able need to order the tasting menu in order for one person to order it. Although it is fabulous it can be of food for someone and not all people may be able or want to have it. I hope you revisit this policy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After asking to be seated in the main di ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

After asking to be seated in the main dining room rather than the patio area, and then asking to be moved from a table that was pushed up against an open door and had the A/C vent under it, we had a fabulous meal. Our server, Gillian, was very engaging and knew the menu very well. the meal was sumptuous and very well presented.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just off the main shopping area., nice i ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Just off the main shopping area., nice intimate patio ideal for lunch , we will be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meal was very enjoyable . I had read ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was very enjoyable . I had read mixed reviews and took a chance. I was very happy with our meal and service. I would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect, service, atmosph ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was perfect, service, atmosphere and especially the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space and atmosphere. The wait s ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely space and atmosphere. The wait staff was perfect. The menu, although good, seemed a little limited in offerings. What we did order was excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food (tasters menu) Staff knowala ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food (tasters menu) Staff knowalageble of they are serving

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hob Nob's always reliable. The servings ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Hob Nob's always reliable. The servings are generous. The menu has a narrow range but enough variety for anyone. And every dish is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal across the board. Only items ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Phenomenal across the board. Only items preventing five stars: fish was slightly overcooked, menu descriptions are thorough but omit some primary ingredients, and reserved table was cramped in spite of other more spacious tables available. Apart from this, the food and experience were top notch. I wouldn't hesitate to dine here again and to recommend it for anything from a semi-relaxed apps + wine session to a multi-course meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose The HobNob based on reviews onl ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We chose The HobNob based on reviews online, ane even though some of them were not so complimentary -not sure what that was all about- we were pleased with our experience. The menu is seasonal farm-to-table and quite unique in the ccombinations for each main dish. The wait staff was eager to please and attentive, the atmosphere was charming and all in all, it was a pleasurable experience. It is easy to hold a private conversation and enjoy the setting in the lovely old building. We would return no doubt about it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate on the patio overlooking the golf ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We ate on the patio overlooking the golf course. It was a delightful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both ordered the most expensive entre ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We both ordered the most expensive entree - the beef tenderloin, along with a bottle of wine. It was not an inexpensive evening!

We ordered the tenderloin medium rare, but it was served closer to medium well. Despite being overcooked, it did have good flavor.

The most disappointing aspect, however, was the horrible service. We were seated on the side porch, and apparently our server completely forgot about us after getting a larger party.

We didn't see him for over 45 minutes, which wasn't a huge issue because it was a beautiful evening and there was a pitcher of water on the sideboard, which we used to refill our glasses.

Another server came outside to turn on the porch lights and was startled to see us sitting there in the dark.

Although this restaurant came highly recommended, this is our second visit with sub-par service. With so many places to eat at NOTL, we will plan our next anniversary celebration at another venue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Four of us dined here after the theatre. ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Four of us dined here after the theatre.

The wine list features local Niagara wines which is terrific, given that we are in the heart of Ontario's Niagara wine country. Our server was very knowledgeable about all of them and his suggestions for food and wine pairings were excellent.

As usual, the food was top-notch. Chinook (King) salmon was on the menu, and as this fish is very difficult to find, three of us selected it and we weren't disappointed. It was prepared without a lot of fuss in order to showcase the beauty of the fish. The fresh morels were a lovely addition.

Our friend ordered the Cornish game hen which consisted of a breast and a buttermilk fried leg. It was served with warm corn bread and soy-infused baby bok toy which he enjoyed very much.

All portions were generous and beautifully prepared. A lovely evening, all in all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great. Beautiful day and sit ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was great. Beautiful day and sitting outside was perfect. We could see the golf course and the back with pretty gardens. I had the chicken pot ie but it is not the standard! The uff pastry was on the side- delicious!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience. Everything we o ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A wonderful experience. Everything we ordered was prepared perfectly. Wonderful service in an elegant environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time at hob nob. Definitely worth ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Second time at hob nob. Definitely worth many return trips. Beautiful room. Wonderful service. Great food. We make sure to book early when we come to the Shaw Festival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was horrible. The server wa ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was horrible. The server was brisk and not very nice. The food took forever to come out of the kitchen. It was good, but the server ruined the experience. As did the time to get our meals from the time we ordered. We were told a few minutes and 30 minutes later we were served. The couple next to us asked for bread and 20 minutes later they received the roles. Not what you expect from a fine dining restaurant in a destination resort and hotel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

A mixed review as they had a BAD night. ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A mixed review as they had a BAD night. We were there 90 minutes before the food arrived and two tables that arrived after us were served and one of them gone before we received our food. Big group plugged the kitchen and they should have told us yet I cannot see why those arriving after were served long before. Seemed very disorganized with no updates to us.

On the good side, they comped the meal ( we had 10 mins to eat it ) and called a shuttle to get us to the theatre on time.

Great food. Bad communication.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This restaurant has changed owners since ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant has changed owners since I was there last--two years ago. And it has changed, but not for the better. It used to be quite wonderful--not only were the food, wine, and cocktails superb, but the ambiance was very elegant. The bloom has definitely gone off the rose! Furniture is betting shabby, table linens are not as grand as they once were, general settings in the dining areas have deteriorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was outstanding

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Old School Excellence! This might not b ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Old School Excellence! This might not be the place for diners who are chasing the latest fad in hip cuisine, but it is the place for me. From the traditional cocktails, freshly baked rolls, spritely salad, wonderfully finished filet mignon, excellent sides of asparagus and potatoes dauphinois, dinner could not have been better. A special shout out to the locally produced Flat Rock pinot noir. It is amazing. I ran right out to the liquor store in town to purchase a generous supply to take home with me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at this restaurant was very goo ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food at this restaurant was very good and was tastefully presented. I did feel that for the price they could have included more vegetables and perhaps a small stater salad. I had the Cornish hen and my husband had the salmon. We would recommend either of these dishes. The service was quite good but we did have to ask for the dinner rolls that had been promised before the meal. Although we had pleasant evening I am not sure I would return due to the reasons stated above.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hobnob was highly recommended by my boss ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Hobnob was highly recommended by my boss who has stayed at Charles House on a number of occasions. It was unfortunate that our experience was aweful. We were stuck in a corner when there was over 70% seating available and then promptly forgotten. People who were seated after us were being served their main course while we had not even received our bread and butter. It took forever to get water. Our appetizer was so so. My husband had Cornish hen that was really two legs one battered and fried and the other fried and both dried and tasteless. I had the salmon and it was very good. We planned our evening around a fine meal but did not expect our meal to take up our whole evening. From start to finish we where there almost two hours, paid over $100 for horrible service and mediocre food. I do not recommend Hobnob.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food choices. Very flavourful ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food choices. Very flavourful

Quiet but couldn't overhear other conversations. Nice

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat dinner prior to seein ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great place to eat dinner prior to seeing a play

Lambert

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for one of the Shaw Fest ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were in town for one of the Shaw Festival Plays so booked a room at the charming Charles Inn and dinner at the Hob Nob based on reviews we had read. Because we were staying at the Inn, we were offered a special $55 3-course dinner and could order anything on the menu. It was excellent value. All the courses were delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food in charming surroundings. ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food in charming surroundings. Pleasant and efficient service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited this restaurant ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband and I visited this restaurant in the past and it was tired with bland uninteresting food. That is not the case now. Chilled Asparagus Velour was fresh and flavorful and a real treat. Chinook Salmon with morels was very nice. My husband had Cornish Game Hen which he liked and a friend had it also was recommending it to others. HobNob at St Charles Inn is back and it is a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but prices are hi ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent but prices are high and portions are low. Lovely ambiance and good service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent dishes from an imaginative che ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent dishes from an imaginative chef. After the amuse bouche we enjoyed a salad and an asparagus veloute (soup), then split the lamb tenderloin. Lovely night, so we sat on the porch, where the atmosphere and the clientele is more casual. Food was top notch, service was unhurried but not slow.Nice selection of local wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was my birthday so I was treated to a ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was my birthday so I was treated to a glass of bubbly to start....nice touch HobNob! The food was amazing and the service great too. Lovely atmosphere and diningroom is pretty and comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food was good, the chef's inte ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

While the food was good, the chef's interpretation was evident. He felt that it was necessary to "deconstruct" each dish into its main ingredients. Portions were not generous, therefore my feeling the meal was overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Very lovely restaurant. We ate outside ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very lovely restaurant. We ate outside on the veranda. Unfortunately, we had a bee visit us once the wine came out but luckily he lost interest and left after a few minutes. I had a chicken dish which was very good and my husband enjoyed his halibut dish. The ambiance is nice and quiet and the veranda overlooks a lovely golf course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food, but husband ordered med ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful food, but husband ordered medium rare sirloin. It was well done. Waitress was

lovely, and immediately took the steak back. It was another short while until the

new steak was presented. Chef should not have overcooked the first steak ($46 steak).

My salmon was excellent. The fruit cobbler was delicious. The room is beautiful and the

waitress was delightful. I would definitely return. This was our 4 th time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We were thrilled that we chose HobNob, a ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were thrilled that we chose HobNob, among the many other restaurants, in Niagara on the Lake. It proved to be a gem of a dining experience. Stunning ambience - gracious, spacious, civilized without being at all stuffy. Wonderful food and service. We have already recommended it to friends - and highly recommend it to anyone looking for an exceptionally enjoyable

dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best tasting Salmon plate e ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Probably the best tasting Salmon plate ever! Still thinking about it a week later! I also think the bartender made me the most wonderful Cosmo I have ever had as well. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lmited selections of food and wine. ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very lmited selections of food and wine. Waitress was not knowledgable of wine. Table offered was noisy, in a traffic pattern, and cramped.

Unprofessional comments and overall a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.