Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About HOBNOB Restaurant

The Dining Room is located in the old parlour and still features its original crystal chandeliers. The room is now painted a warm persimmon colour and offers comfortable upholstered banquettes and wing back chairs along with the more traditional dining chair. Whether taking afternoon tea and scones or savouring a multi-course meal prepared by Chef de Cuisine Steve Sperling, dining at the HOBNOB Restaurant is always special.

Our wine list features the best that Niagara has to offer including a wonderful selection of ice wines to accompany that special dessert. During the warmer months, a candle lit dinner can be enjoyed on the side verandah which overlooks the gardens as well as North America's oldest golf course.

After dinner, guests are welcome to enjoy a glass of port or ice wine or perhaps a specialty coffee in the adjoining lounge or sit on the verandah to enjoy the evening sky.

The dining room is open seven days a week.

209 Queen St.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch every day from 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Simcoe St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-4588

Website:
http://www.niagarasfinest.com/restaurants/hobnob/

Executive Chef:
Steve Sperling

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

HOBNOB Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and excellent service. The air conditioner was broken when we were there so it was somewhat difficult to enjoy our time it was extremely hot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Hobnob post matinee of "Dracula" at the Shaw. We have made the choice to go there yearly for the last 3 y. 1917 was not a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful veranda table overlooking the NOTL golf course and were very professionally waited on. HobNob aspires to the greatness of downtown Toronto restaurants like Alo and it succeeds quite well. A bottle of Tawse Winery's best Chardonnay topped off an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Niagara on the Lake is beautiful, but attracts bus loads of tourists. Hob Nob was a welcome escape from the hoards. We were seated on a glass enclosed veranda, a perfect spot for summer dining. Because we were staying at a connected hotel, we were eligible for a three course special at $55 pp plus wine, gratuity and tax. Otherwise, the tab could become pricey. I ordered the foie gras, black cod in miso and creme brulee-- all wonderful, as was the selection of wine by the glass, and the service. I could find no fault with anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful experience with delicious appetizers and main course. Service was very good from knowledgable and friendly staff. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The menu is not extensive but what they have there would please virtually anyone. My wife had the duck and I had the black cod. We were very pleased with our choices. Presentation, taste were five star

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My husband and I had lunch at Hob Nob on our way out of Niagra On the Lake after 5 days vacationing there. We had a lovely lunch on the porch. Our waitress was wonderful and after we expressed our interest in a stay at the hotel, she arranged for us to see a guest room. The service and food were wonderful. We had the shepards pie, green salad and scallops. We topped it off with the s'mores dessert. The meal was outstanding from start to finish. We will be back next year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was excellent with explanations of both wines and food and how they complement one another. Friendly faces from all we met. Food delicious along with setting made for a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Unfortunately my first experience here was not a good one. The waitress took our order and we never saw her again until we had to ask other servers a few times for our Bill. Although others delivered our meal - no one filled our water,, checked how we were doing and how our meal was. I don't expect this is acceptable here. We left the waitress a 10% tip to show our displeasure and we usually top 18%. She did not apologize or ask any questions of us when we were settling our Bill so I think she realized her service was sub par.
Was disappointed in the food - found it very bland .
This experience soured it for me at HobNob.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our ( group of 6 ) in our 4th year eating dinner While at the Shaw Festval. Looking forward to next year. Always a great experience and dinner

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We truly enjoyed our visit to Hob Nob. The menu is not extensive, but everything was very good. A small comment would be that the plates could have been served a little warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

excellent. Seating on porch lovely. Food very delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious food, great service, romantic atmosphere

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Ate on the patio over looking the golf course. Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The four of us had the tasting menu. Food was quite decent, both the scallop & pork belly and the foie gras appetizers were really good. The miso cod and the beef was average. But the major issue is they were really really slow. Our dinner started at 7:30pm , for a 6 course meal (counting cheese plate & dessert as two courses), we finished at 11:20pm. There was 30-40 mins wait between each course! Their seats are not that comfy, my back was in pain at the end of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was a delicious night and even if we reserved a table not specifying we wanted it outside, they had space on the patio and they sit us out there.
We had the fixed menu but I could change one entrees and the dessert, which was nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We both enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. Substitutions for some items were easily accommodated. Food was fresh, well presented, delicious. Wine pairing could benefit from better wines (most too sweet for my liking). Great overall dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The atmosphere was very relaxed. The décor was beautiful. The scallops and the crème brulee were delicious. The service was excellent. Would definitely eat here again. Highly recommend the HOBNOB Restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Thouroughly enjoyed the food at this restaurant. The chef was able to bring out the flavours and blend them to create an outstanding food experience. Our server, Sydney was very good and added to the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This elegant restaurant is at the far north end of the business district and tends to be unnoticed because of it. Pity, it may be the best restaurant in town. The six course tasting menu is almost irresistible, but if you can resist, many of the same dishes are on the ala carte menu. My wife had Black Cod with a miso broth and soba noodles. I had the Crispy Roast Chicken with spinach and two forms of celeric, roasted and pureed. Excellent wine menu as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

HobNob never disappoints. The outstanding restaurant in Niagara-on-the-Lake.
The service is always excellent, the staff always friendly and prompt. Special call-out to Jillian, one of the best of a team of great servers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Guests went to celebrate an 80th birthday. The server was kind enough to make a big deal out of it, that was really appreciated. Food was excellent as was the service. Bravo.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server "Jill" was very attentive and friendly. She and the food made our experience incredible. The food was amazing and well worth the money spent! We would definitely recommend the Hobnob for anyone looking for a high end dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our entire experience was wonderful #

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We have been to the hobnob several times and enjoyed it each time. The food is fantastic

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at HobNob. We were seated outside on a lovely evening and it could not have been nicer. Our server was very efficient and knowledgeable. Everything we had to eat was really great. The mushroom soup was amazing. We had the chicken entree and the cod dish and they were both great. We liked our experience so much we booked another reservation in August for us and 2 other couples. We've been to many top restaurants in the area and this has been our favorite dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My husband and I ate at Hob Nob on a recent trip to Niagara-On-The-Lake. We sat outside on the veranda overlooking the golf course on a beautiful evening. We started with a complimentary amuse bouche of vichyssoise which was delicious. We shared the sea scallop and pork belly appetizer which was amazing. My husband had the beef tenderloin and was a bit disappointed because he asked for medium rare it was not evenly cooked. The outside edges were well done. For $48 I would expect a better job on temperature. I had crispy skinned black cod with tofu and it was delicious. Overall, a very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Alan was very accommodating to seat us on the patio on a beautiful summer evening. Great food and service
Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonder meal pleasant surroundings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Highly recommend this place for people looking for a fine dining experience. Wines highlight local Niagara on the Lake varieties.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great experience, excellent food and service!!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was a splendid recommendation from Open Table users. Took the trip with my wife for a Sunday evening early supper and was not disappointed. Good atmosphere and always a pleasant time in NOTL. The Charles Inn might be a nice place to stay and we will have to try that someday but it was just dinner this time. I have uploaded some pics of the meal and everything was great. Not outstanding but Great and i would heartily recommend it.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and service - limited choices on menu, but all were very appealing to us and our selections (salmon and duck) were prepared perfectly. We ate dinner out on the patio, and it was very pleasant. Our server (Kim) was outstanding - very helpful in making selections and describing the dishes when they were served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband and I ventured to NOTL for an overnight to celebrate my 60th birthday. I googled restaurants in the area within walking distance of where we were staying. I choose HobNob on the reviews I found. We both enjoyed our meals. He had duck and they prepared it exactly how he asked them to and my salmon was done that way too. I found my meal tasty. The only thing was that we chose a bottle of wine that was $65 dollars and when we found it at the winery it was priced at $25. Now I know there's going to be an increase in all restaurants on wine, but that was horrifying! I'm glad we didn't know that before we ordered the bottle LOL! All in all, I would recommend this restaurant because the waiter was great and the food was tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best dining in Niagara on the Lake; consistently delicious, creative, and superbly executed dishes. Excellent local wines. Top-notch service. Comfortably elegant, tho' well-worn dining room; recorded jazz doesn't interfere with conversation. Been dining here while on vacation for more than 10 years. Worth every penny. No restaurant we've tried--including the much-vaunted Treadwell and Tiara at Queen's Landing--compares to the fabulous food and drink, peaceful atmosphere, and excellent waitstaff at Hob Nob.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch. Service was outstanding and this was a neighborhood gem. The only problem was they were having work performed outside and it was very noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

What a lovely historic restaurant to enjoy dinner in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We sat on the patio with lovely, green golf course around us. The Baby Arugula Salad was a nice start to the meal. The Grilled Tenderloin of Ontario beef was outstanding with the sides as a perfect compliment. My husband's beef tenderloin burger was tasty as well. Would definitely recommend Hobnob.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Friends from out of town, had a lovely evening and great food....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had an abbreviated meal as we were heading to a reception later that evening, so we shared the pork belly and scallops appetizer, outstanding. My husband had the roasted chicken, which was moist and tender and I had the black cod, which was cooked to perfection. The servers were well trained, and ours was particularly friendly. The restaurant is in a historical building and if full of charm. We would return without hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My husband and I went to Niagara on the Lake for Canada 150. :) The service was friendly and the food was great! It made our visit that much more enjoyable!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.