Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About Hiro 88 - Lincoln

Hiro 88 is an up-scale Pan-Asian restaurant on Lincoln's new Canopy Street in the Hay Market. Serving some of Lincoln's best sushi along with award winning Chinese food we have something for everyone's palate. We offer an extensive selection of sake, wine, beer and liquor. We can accommodate up to 25 guests in our private room and have experience with events ranging from rehearsal dinners to pharmaceutical presentations. In addition to our dining room and lounge we also have two large patios. Both Patios have full dinner and drink service.

601 R Street Ste 100
Lincoln, NE 68508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am-3:00pm

Dinner: Monday & Tuesday: 3:00pm-10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 3:00pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Canopy Street & R Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 261-9388

Website:
http://www.hiro88.com/

Catering:
We do offer catering for large off site parties. However, we do not have a catering staff. Food is brought in pans and sushi is set up in round trays that can be used for presentation. Call to set up a catering today!

Parking Details:
There is a public city parking lot right behind our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Milton Yin

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can accommodate up to 25 people with large flat screen TV. Minimum check for party room Sunday-Thursday is $600. Minimum for Friday and Saturday is $1000.

Private Party Contact:
Chadwick Fisher: (402) 261-9388

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hiro 88 - Lincoln Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Happy Hour (13)
See All
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the Diver Scallop appetizer as part of our meal and that dish was outstanding! Place is a bit pricey though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sat outside. Very noisy due to music from Railyard. We could have gone inside. Very slow to receive food however waiter was great. Food tastes OK. Have had better sashimi. They forgot the wasabi and ginger. Would not make a small change to my wife's nigiri order even though we would have been happy to pay. All around OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Love thus restaurant. Food & service are always amazing and we have never have had a bad experience dining at this location.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I took my son there for a special lunch before an event at the pinnacle bank arena. The waiter had no time for his questions and wouldn't let him alter his meal to his liking. He was not friendly at all. At the end of the meal We got up to go to the bathroom, after sending my credit card with the waiter and when we got out the table was cleaned. A neighboring table asked them to keep our to go boxes and I needed up paying and getting my card back at the hostess stand. It wasn't busy there were dozens of tables open, and we were in the restroom for just a few minutes. Disappointed. My son didn't eat a thing and they dumped his drink. Very expensive food and it tastes like any Chinese restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was just okay, especially considering the cost. Drinks are pricey and smaller than most places in the same area. Waiter was average. Beautiful decor in the restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had really good service and even on a busy night we only waited about 10 mins past our reservation time. All in all it was a great dinner. The only complaint I would have is how close the 2 person tables are to one another. The person next to us was extremely loud and it made it a little awkward, but no fault to the restaraunt for that part. I just prefer more private seating where you don't feel like you're having dinner with the strangers next to you 😊

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I book Hiro 88 prior to all concerts I attend at Pinnacle Bank Arena. It's always worked well in many regards....but as of late (last two concerts) the service has been very slow. I hope they amp up staff and bartenders for each concert....to make it a better experience. The food is terrific though. VERY loud in the back room we were in this time (nearest to bathrooms)....I prefer to sit up front by the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love the fact that they do take reservations. It makes it less stressful when there is an event at Pinnacle Bank Arena! Great dinner, great atmosphere, and we made it to our event on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food and service was really good. Thought it was a little tacky that they had to call and tell us our dining experience would be limited to 90 minutes. We wouldn't have stayed any longer anyway, but it just seemed unusual for a restaurant to do that. Also thought it was tacky that they weren't honoring happy hour because of the concert that night. That was one of the reasons we had selected that restaurant and an early reservation time. Despite that, we still had a very nice dinner. The food was all tasty and the server did a great job. Also enjoyed the ambiance and the location was very convenient to our hotel (Hyatt Place) and the PBA for the concert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We made reservations for 4:30 to have happy hour and when we got there, there was a sign on the door saying there was no happy hour that day. That really spoiled the reservation.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was delicious. Ambiance is much better with the tv's off. Everything was fresh tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter Shawn was excellent! The apps were great and the sushi was awesome. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Server seemed short wasn't even finished talking and he was gone. Didn't give the others any our table to say much else. Other then that it was great. Hopefully a one off situation

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We lived that we could get a reservation! Great happy hour menu. It is loud and casual so if you are wanting something more intimate, this isn't the right place. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Everything was great. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious as always. The happy menu is a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were over an hour early for our reservation and they were kind enough to seat us within 20minutes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Go during their happy hour for great deals on sushi rolls, appetizers, and drinks!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went at 5 pm on Valentines Day, making a reservation, and were seated immediately! The food was great, the service was great too...and we were eating and out of there to catch our movie within 40 minutes...so barely any wait time for the food...and it was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great, server gave great recommendations and knew what he was talking about. Food was excellent, many options. Loved my first time and will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this place. Great ambiance and feel. I'm a repeat customer and the food is always good. Reverse Happy Hour starts at 10p Monday through Saturday and all day Sunday. Great prices too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great service and sushi as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I'm here 3-4 times a week. Food are alway delicious and more importantly, very consistent. I never have a single bad meal here for over a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I made a reservation and felt we were sat at the worst table in the place. I do realize I could have spoke up,but also feel if you make reservations you should good great seating.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was great, service was prompt and proper. Everything came out as we ordered it and it all tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to dinner before Red Hot Chili Peppers concert. Location is perfect, we ate and then crossed the street and were at the venue. Food was great, service was excellent. Made reservations on line so we got right in. Really made the evening special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Hiro 88 is one of my favorite restaurants for sushi. My kids love the fried rice options & are picky eaters, so we can all find something we love.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent selection of both traditional and specialty dishes. The menu features several great options for both adventurous and conservative diners. Everything I ordered was prepared with high quality, fresh ingredients. Super friendly staff too. I will keep going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Hiro 88 on New Years Eve and had a great time! Our waiter was fabulous and very knowledgeable about the menu. All of his suggestions were great. The food came out promptly but not too quickly so we could not enjoy each course. The atmosphere was lively which made the evening seem even more festive! We look forward to returning to Hiro 88 and will be happy to recommend it to our friends and family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a fantastic place to eat! The food is excellent as well as the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best Sushi place there is! Wish you guys had a location in Fremont, NE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a nice dinner out with friends on Saturday night. Our waiter was very knowledgeable which was very helpful. We like the atmosphere at hiro88 and try to eat here when we can.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 6, 2016

One of our appetizers came after the main meal was served, but it was all so delicious that we didn't care. Very great place to go before a concert at the Pinnacle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent sushi restaurant with great options for non sushi lovers. Wait staff was amazing and attentive. Our waiter suggested a house drink and a couple of different rolls, and all were delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Hiro 88 is nice and clean and situated close to parking. When we arrived the restaurant was not even close to being even moderately busy but we were seated directly adjacent to the kitchen. It was loud. So, after being reseated we ordered sushi. It was good, not great. Service was passable. I did order the steak, my bad. Not a steakhouse so being a little overdone wasn't a huge issue but it was essentially a steak soup with LOTS of teriyaki sauce. I'd go again if asked as part of a group but I think I'll give it a pass when I have a choice. If I do go again it'll be to eat just your typical broccoli beef type "Chinese" food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Make sure to reserve a spot on weekends, since they get extremely busy after six PM. Food was amazingly good, the sushi prices were reasonable for the high quality. Our server was training someone, so one of our orders was forgotten.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Typically I have had great experiences here. This latest one wasn't as stellar. Lousy service mainly is the negative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate previously at Hiro and had a great experience with the food, service, and atmosphere. As such we reserved a table for six after the husker game. Some of us flew in from NY others from CO.
After being seated 10 minutes early for our reservation it was all down hill. Very loud. Slow to non existent service as one girl had the entire room. The drinks were lousy. The food was fair at best.
May give them one more chance but definitely not on game day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Hiro has great food and service. More people should go there before Nebraska football games. Great place in the Haymarket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dined here for my dad's 60th birthday celebration (posted it in the open table notes), no acknowledgement of his birthday at all! Server did not know menu, asked for items to come out at different times, everything came out at once. Food good, just poor experience from host and server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food choices were very nice with a wide variety of choices. Presentation of dishes was very pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.