About Hiro 88 - Lincoln

601 R Street Ste 100
Lincoln, NE 68508
View Larger Map

Hiro 88 is an up-scale Pan-Asian restaurant on Lincoln's new Canopy Street in the Hay Market. Serving some of Lincoln's best sushi along with award winning Chinese food we have something for everyone's palate. We offer an extensive selection of sake, wine, beer and liquor. We can accommodate up to 25 guests in our private room and have experience with events ranging from rehearsal dinners to pharmaceutical presentations. In addition to our dining room and lounge we also have two large patios. Both Patios have full dinner and drink service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am-3:00pm

Dinner: Monday & Tuesday: 3:00pm-10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 3:00pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Canopy Street & R Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 261-9388

Website:
http://www.hiro88.com/

Catering:
We do offer catering for large off site parties. However, we do not have a catering staff. Food is brought in pans and sushi is set up in round trays that can be used for presentation. Call to set up a catering today!

Parking Details:
There is a public city parking lot right behind our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Milton Yin

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can accommodate up to 25 people with large flat screen TV. Minimum check for party room Sunday-Thursday is $600. Minimum for Friday and Saturday is $1000.

Private Party Contact:
Chadwick Fisher: (402) 261-9388

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hiro 88 - Lincoln Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went at 5 pm on Valentines Day, makin ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

We went at 5 pm on Valentines Day, making a reservation, and were seated immediately! The food was great, the service was great too...and we were eating and out of there to catch our movie within 40 minutes...so barely any wait time for the food...and it was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, server gave great rec ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great, server gave great recommendations and knew what he was talking about. Food was excellent, many options. Loved my first time and will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Great ambiance and feel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this place. Great ambiance and feel. I'm a repeat customer and the food is always good. Reverse Happy Hour starts at 10p Monday through Saturday and all day Sunday. Great prices too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm here 3-4 times a week. Food are alwa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I'm here 3-4 times a week. Food are alway delicious and more importantly, very consistent. I never have a single bad meal here for over a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation and felt we were sa ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I made a reservation and felt we were sat at the worst table in the place. I do realize I could have spoke up,but also feel if you make reservations you should good great seating.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

The food was great, service was prompt a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was great, service was prompt and proper. Everything came out as we ordered it and it all tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went to dinner before Red Hot Chili Pepp ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to dinner before Red Hot Chili Peppers concert. Location is perfect, we ate and then crossed the street and were at the venue. Food was great, service was excellent. Made reservations on line so we got right in. Really made the evening special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hiro 88 is one of my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Hiro 88 is one of my favorite restaurants for sushi. My kids love the fried rice options & are picky eaters, so we can all find something we love.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent selection of both traditional ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent selection of both traditional and specialty dishes. The menu features several great options for both adventurous and conservative diners. Everything I ordered was prepared with high quality, fresh ingredients. Super friendly staff too. I will keep going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at Hiro 88 on New Years Eve and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Hiro 88 on New Years Eve and had a great time! Our waiter was fabulous and very knowledgeable about the menu. All of his suggestions were great. The food came out promptly but not too quickly so we could not enjoy each course. The atmosphere was lively which made the evening seem even more festive! We look forward to returning to Hiro 88 and will be happy to recommend it to our friends and family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fantastic place to eat! The foo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a fantastic place to eat! The food is excellent as well as the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi place there is! Wish you guys ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best Sushi place there is! Wish you guys had a location in Fremont, NE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice dinner out with friends on ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a nice dinner out with friends on Saturday night. Our waiter was very knowledgeable which was very helpful. We like the atmosphere at hiro88 and try to eat here when we can.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our appetizers came after the mai ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 6, 2016

One of our appetizers came after the main meal was served, but it was all so delicious that we didn't care. Very great place to go before a concert at the Pinnacle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent sushi restaurant with great op ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent sushi restaurant with great options for non sushi lovers. Wait staff was amazing and attentive. Our waiter suggested a house drink and a couple of different rolls, and all were delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hiro 88 is nice and clean and situated c ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Hiro 88 is nice and clean and situated close to parking. When we arrived the restaurant was not even close to being even moderately busy but we were seated directly adjacent to the kitchen. It was loud. So, after being reseated we ordered sushi. It was good, not great. Service was passable. I did order the steak, my bad. Not a steakhouse so being a little overdone wasn't a huge issue but it was essentially a steak soup with LOTS of teriyaki sauce. I'd go again if asked as part of a group but I think I'll give it a pass when I have a choice. If I do go again it'll be to eat just your typical broccoli beef type "Chinese" food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Make sure to reserve a spot on weekends, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Make sure to reserve a spot on weekends, since they get extremely busy after six PM. Food was amazingly good, the sushi prices were reasonable for the high quality. Our server was training someone, so one of our orders was forgotten.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Typically I have had great experiences h ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Typically I have had great experiences here. This latest one wasn't as stellar. Lousy service mainly is the negative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

We ate previously at Hiro and had a grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate previously at Hiro and had a great experience with the food, service, and atmosphere. As such we reserved a table for six after the husker game. Some of us flew in from NY others from CO.

After being seated 10 minutes early for our reservation it was all down hill. Very loud. Slow to non existent service as one girl had the entire room. The drinks were lousy. The food was fair at best.

May give them one more chance but definitely not on game day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Hiro has great food and service. More pe ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Hiro has great food and service. More people should go there before Nebraska football games. Great place in the Haymarket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for my dad's 60th birthday ce ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dined here for my dad's 60th birthday celebration (posted it in the open table notes), no acknowledgement of his birthday at all! Server did not know menu, asked for items to come out at different times, everything came out at once. Food good, just poor experience from host and server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food choices were very nice with a w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food choices were very nice with a wide variety of choices. Presentation of dishes was very pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an enjoyable time until my body m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had an enjoyable time until my body made it clear that the gluten free rolls we ordered and then made clear that we needed them to be gluten free clearly were not. I was sick the rest of the night and the next two days from a gluten reaction. I would happily return if they actually made rolls marked as gluten free on the menu and requested to be gluten free actually were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Very pleasant experience. Great server a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Great server and good food, well presented and generously portioned. Will definitely go again when I have the chance. If you have a salad, you won't regret choosing the carrot-ginger house dressing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

They don't ever seem to be prepared for ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 27, 2016

They don't ever seem to be prepared for a crowd. It took nearly 20 minutes before we could order and the food arrived after we needed to leave for a show. I love their food and normally the service but no more going before events for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great food! Great service. We will go b ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food! Great service. We will go back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful table for reservation fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a wonderful table for reservation for six. Service was great and the happy hours prices were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, excellent food. One of ou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service, excellent food. One of our favorite date night restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately even though w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were seated immediately even though we were early for our reservation. The ambiance was perfect. The menu was explained since there is a menu with cooked dishes and raw dishes. There was a wide variety of sake as well as other alcoholic beverages. There was a full bar. I had a sake colada. It was fun and delicious. The men is large but not overwhelming. We had crab rangoon which was basic but still great and we also ordered some brussel sprouts that were sautéed in a sauce that was to die for. I could've had that for dinner. The environment was modern and the waiter knew the menu and was amazing. We finished with a dessert that was great. They didn't have two but what they had to choose from was enough. It's definitely a place to go back to when returning to Lincoln.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Modern feel to the place ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food. Modern feel to the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Dining here twice a week, always great s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Dining here twice a week, always great service and fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my boys (8-11) who wanted to t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2016

I brought my boys (8-11) who wanted to try sushi. We had a wonderful experience. The waiter was very patient. We'll go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The 2/3 item Bentos are the best value

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The 2/3 item Bentos are the best value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful. Will be return ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great happy hour choi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food and great happy hour choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really enjoyed Hiro! As a native Floridi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Really enjoyed Hiro! As a native Floridian I wasn't expecting a sushi restaurant in Lincoln Nebraska to be all that great. However I was pleasantly surprised! The sushi options were extremely varied and all very fresh! When in Lincoln and desiring sushi, definitely go to Hiro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Visit here 2-3 times a week. Always good

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Visit here 2-3 times a week. Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Three Item Bento is the best choice ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2016

The Three Item Bento is the best choice for weekday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Mongolian Beef was really good! I wo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Mongolian Beef was really good! I would definitely order that again. Overall experience was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Always great. Never go wrong

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Always great. Never go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.