About Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub

222 E Erie Street
Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub specializes in contemporary American Cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ocean fish, wild game and world class steaks. Hinterland E.S.G. also features handcrafted beer fresh from our brewery in Green Bay as well as an extensive wine list from around the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Bar: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Water

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 727-9300

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Historic Third Ward public garage located on Chicago Street directly adjacent to the rear of the building. You may enter the restaurant's building on the first level of the parking garage through the parking garage's breeze way.

Executive Chef:
Dan Van Rite

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 20 people or 125, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to 30 people, our semi-private dining room is the perfect setting, or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector and screen. For groups up to 40 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 50 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Norris: 4147279300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Wood Fired Grilled Pork Belly
  • Lamb Meatball
  • Beer
  • Charcu
  • Kung Pao Veal Brain
Wood Fired Grilled Pork Belly
Lamb Meatball
Beer
Charcu
Kung Pao Veal Brain

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
1 More
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (27)
romantic (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food and very good service. B ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food and very good service. But the rest of the customers were HIGHLY obnoxious 20-somethings whose behavior would have been unacceptable at a food truck, let alone a relatively nice, sit-down restaurant. We will not go back, only because the other customers (clearly who this restaurant caters to, otherwise why would they all be the same?) made the experience so unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I was so disappointed! I had read about ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was so disappointed! I had read about Hinterland and was very anxious to go. The restaurant was 1/3 full at the most and even still the service was terrible. Our waiter was inattentive and forgetful. The food was incredibly disappointing. The fish fry did not taste good. The fries were mushy. Just an unbelievably bad meal. Can't believe I was the one to recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Can't recommend this place enough! My h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Can't recommend this place enough!

My husband and I came here once before and enjoyed ourselves so much that we knew we had to come back. The food is fantastic--we had the cheese plate, oysters, and salmon and finished with chocolate cake and 10-year-old port wine. It was all so very, very good. It is definitely worth the trek from Chicago! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Maggie was very accommodati ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our waitress Maggie was very accommodating and keep reading what she was yanking about as to sustainability.

She really made our dinner special.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and suggestions with t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful service and suggestions with this unassuming find in the Third Ward. You can't go wrong with their recommended beer pairings (do a flight of 6 for the biggest variety!), nor should you miss the Octopus, & Beef Tartar for starters. The antelope is a crowd favorite as was mine and should certainly be on your must-try list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place to taste Milwaukee beer with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice place to taste Milwaukee beer with nice food. I would have given all stars if the dishes are little bit big.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

outstanding food, great ambiance really ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

outstanding food, great ambiance really enjoyed the night out!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service and food! Great atmosp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful service and food! Great atmosphere. Fantastic anniversary dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kudos once again to Chef Kerley on anoth ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Kudos once again to Chef Kerley on another outstanding dinner. As usual we ordered lots of food & ate almost all of it. Always amazing flavors & excellent presentation!!! Certainly one of our favorites for amazing dinner. Grazie...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We ordered the gnocchi for $ 22. It was more of an appetizer size than a entree. About one cup size serving on an over large plate. It had good potential with the flavor combination but was also too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

back again

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Considering that we fell upon downtown dining week, we didn't know how things would turn out for us at Hinterland. The service started slowly, but by the end of the meal, all was forgiven. Our food was outstanding, and I appreciated a generous wine pour after waiting perhaps a bit too long for our drinks. I ended up getting their special prix fixe menu, and I loved my salmon and panzanella salad...roasted tomatoes gave the dish extra depth. My chocolate "pot" dessert was indulgent, but so good I could stop eating it. All in all, A+.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food; excrutiating slow service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had not been here before but knew of Hinterland. Excited to try it for Downtown Dining week. Arrived early for 6:45 reservation on a Saturday. Seated immediately and they were only moderately busy. Loved the tomato soup and the skirt steak was better than I've had elsewhere. But we waited more than 45 minutes for desserts. I understand busy but would have been happier if the long wait was explained or if our drinks were comped. Something...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food and experience were both great! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and experience were both great! Mike is the best server I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've heard a lot of great things about H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've heard a lot of great things about Hinterland so we decided to check it out. We were there for 2 hours. It took 30 minutes to get our drinks, another 30 to get dinner, and then almost 50 to get the dessert my boyfriend ordered. The table next to us got their desserts, ate them, got their plates cleared and received their bill before we even got our water glasses refilled. And for a Friday night, it wasn't that busy. About half the tables were occupied. If I could have given some things no stars I would have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The antelope was fantastic! The cocktail ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The antelope was fantastic! The cocktails were excellent. The staff was above par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hinterland in transition

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Hinterland remains one of my MKE favorites despite being in a transition with chef and staff - the new team is awkwardly attempting to make an impression but think it's going to take a few - hopefully - not too many more - attempts to get the cadence just right - not to say anything is bad - but it could be so much more - especially since they have a great venue and history of offering truly unique dining experiences...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Every dish in our group was on point. Se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Every dish in our group was on point. Sevice was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the most perfect dining experie ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was the most perfect dining experience I've ever had. The food was outstanding and we were able to sample several different dishes. Our waiter had the perfect personality for a sense of humor and handled our numerous questions in a professional and relaxed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic but our Server Ja ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fantastic but our Server Jasmine was less than average. She seemed to be overwhelmed with her workload that night. She was short with people in my group and when we asked if she minded splitting the bill up for us she said it would take her 20 minutes and suggested we do it. It took us 25-30 minutes doing it on paper without the help of a computer. I plan to go back there and I hope I don't get her as my server next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Overpriced and overrated

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It had been about eight years since we had been here. I've heard some buzz about it in the past couple of years, likely because of their beer. I gotta tell you, for what you pay to eat here, you should love this place. I didn't.

Nothing is more frustrating to me than dining in a restaurant where they are either understaffed or poorly managed. All of the staff seemed to be frantically running around...and yet I had to BEG for more water. Our server was enthusiastic but she seemed more interested in larger tables, perhaps sensing a larger tip? (She walked right by me with the water pitcher and when I reminded her that I had asked for water, she said: "Oh, I was looking for a pitcher." Um....?)

Anyway, trying to be a bit adventurous, we had the pork rillettes as an appetizer (took FOREVER), salads, wild boar chop and antelope loin. For $42, I expected to LOVE the antelope. Nope. It's been a while since I've had to saw through a piece of meat. The boar chop was better, but not amazing.

Back to the service: Even after mediocre food, I would have ordered dessert, but our server was just too busy...to bother with us and/or to even help us settle our check.

Oh, and I almost forgot: They have what I find to be one of the more annoying items on a drink menu - "$10 for a Kitchen Round. Beers for the kitchen staff. Show some love for our talented crew." I'm sorry, what? I'm supposed to buy YOU a drink? Will you be drinking that before you prepare my food? How about if you first give me a great dining experience. Sorry, hate this.

I don't go out of my way to slam a restaurant, but this place should be much, much better. Get more servers, train them better, give people more value for their money.

Here's something positive: The beer is great. Sorry, Hinterland. You disappointed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Mother's Day Brunch - Lite

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Well, I thought it would be good to take my mother and my two kids (teenage) for a nice brunch on Mother's Day. Turns out, there are not a lot of options for teenagers and the one option, 3 blueberry pancakes, were appropriately sized for a toddler. Mom had sturgeon and it was excellent but pricey for a brunch item and small ($22). I had the fish tacos which were unusually salty. The older kid had the 3 eggs any style and bacon - which is just what she got - oh and some carbs (bread and hashbrowns) $120 later, I have decided that my kids would be better off served at George Webbs. Save Hinterland for a romantic dinner for two, which is really does nicely. Cool funky decor, innovative food and super drink choices are not to be missed in Milwaukee!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous brunch at Hinterland

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Although I have been to Hinterland before and really enjoyed dinner, I'd never had brunch and it was such a treat! The menu was unusual and diverse with something for everyone. Each and every person in our group of 6 raved about the food. We started with oysters on the half shell which were fresh, small and neatly cut from the shell. For my entree, I had the vegetarian succotash and it was excellent. I also loved the biscuit with strawberry rhubarb jam.

Our waitress was very nice but obviously lacking a bit in experience. She didn't take the women's orders first and she didn't speak loudly enough to be heard at the far end of the table.

The only real negative was that Mother's Day at Hinterland was quite loud, with all the little people's voices and very little noise absorption in the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was unique and was excellently prepared and presented. My husband's pork was the best he has ever had. Very glad we tried this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good date night

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Menu is very different but delicious; opportunity to try try different items (duck, elk)

Our waitress was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fab for a group.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a party of 6 - 3 folks from out of town. None of us had ever been to Hinterland before. We were all really impressed. The cocktails were solid, food was excellent and the service was spot on. I have already recommended Hinterland to my local work colleagues and plan to bring my wife on the next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

great food, nice atmosphere, definitely great location!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the first time dining here and it was a Fabulous experience ... I will definitely return!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot for dinner, intimate. Good ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Lovely spot for dinner, intimate.

Good good all around and fun decor. Good beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Hinterland always has great, consistent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Hinterland always has great, consistent non-traditional faire. A majority of the food is local which is another plus. Fun cocktails and great atmosphere in cooler weather. Always wonderful service. Back room is great for small parties! We have returned to Hinterland many times and never had a bad experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING !!!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Chef Kerley is certainly back in his element. Thrilled to have him cooking in more accessible venue. Forgot how much we missed his culinary prowess. Charcuterie platter was excellent with unique salumi & cheese selections. Beet salad was one of best I have ever tasted. Charred kale salad was very close second. Mediterranian bass was awesome and truly complimented by lentil & greens with caper vinaigrette. Duck breast with coffee rubbed fingerlings & carrots was delectable. Double stack burger was a home run as well. Approachable menu items mixed with adventurous makes for an amazing combination. Cannot wait to come back & visit one the best chefs of Milwaukee. Kudos to Matt & the team. Our new favorite restaurant in town. Grazie

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food/service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the food,atmosphere and service. Had the sea bass and chicken was very tasty . The chef came out to talk also was very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, staff and food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my second time at Hinterland, and I threw a surprise dinner party for a larger group. Though my first time at the restaurant was for a quiet dinner date, I felt the ambiance would work well for a dinner party too. The staff truly made the night a great success -- from calling ahead to assist with the surprise, placing us in a perfect spot in the restaurant, to finding candles for the birthday cake. They went above and beyond to make our dinner special and were very attentive throughout the night. In addition to the service, our food was phenomenal (the scallops and hanger streak were a huge hit). My guests were all impressed at the overall experience, and many plan to come back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hinterland warmed up our Valentines!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food, terrific service. Went for a quick dinner before an event and loved everything about the evening here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An exclusive feeling waste of money

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was not worth the price. The steak ordered medium well was rare at best. The root vegetable curry came with mostly potatoes and overcooked mushy white rice. If you are going to charge over $20 for an entree I would expect you could at least get rice right.

Terrible. The happy hour specials listed on the chalkboard looked appealing but who wants to go to a place that makes you feel like you don't belong there? I'll take my money elsewhere, thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great dinner with friends

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This foodie restaurant did a great job. Yes, the expected limited and changing menu, but the prices were as expected based on the sample menu online. Great quality. Good server.. not too in our face since it was clear we were there to be our own entertainment. My guests loved the beer - i was happy with my wine. All in all we'd go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always delicious

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had another great meal at Hinterland on Saturday night. Started with the fried brussel sprouts (amazing!!), entrees of sturgeon & elk and finished with the vanilla cake dessert. Had the Hinterland Groundbreaker beer - super smooth and yummy. Not one complaint - everything was delicious as always. One of our favorite Milwaukee restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Service great, salad great, entree was too salty for one of us. Nothing about the meals themselves sounded worth coming back for. Second there. !st time a few years back service was horrible. Excuse not exceptable since the main reason was thee was a backroom party but the loor itself was very quiet. hWe had a coupon and figured give it another shot. 2 times is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A true dining experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

A true dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hardly a pub

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food and service! Chef Dan has great menus and superb wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good experience. Good food and service.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Had a Saturday evening reservation. Wait staff was very efficient and helpful. Appetizers and main courses very good. On tap Hinterland beer, especially the Stovepipe, outstanding. We were surprised by the number of empty tables (about half?) even after 7 but it made for a nice quiet dinner. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.