About Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub specializes in contemporary American Cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ocean fish, wild game and world class steaks. Hinterland E.S.G. also features handcrafted beer fresh from our brewery in Green Bay as well as an extensive wine list from around the world.

222 E Erie Street
Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Bar: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Water

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 727-9300

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Historic Third Ward public garage located on Chicago Street directly adjacent to the rear of the building. You may enter the restaurant's building on the first level of the parking garage through the parking garage's breeze way.

Executive Chef:
Dan Van Rite

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 20 people or 125, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to 30 people, our semi-private dining room is the perfect setting, or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector and screen. For groups up to 40 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 50 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Norris: (414) 727-9300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great Beer (8)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice ambiance. Helpful and attentive service. Menu options limited and almost contrived in complexity and edginess. Virtually nothing for those in your party looking for familiar fare. Beer and wine list are very good. Everything on the pricey side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We absolutely love Hinterland, it's always a great experience. This experience was just "Very Good" instead of excellent.

The server seemed a little off, not as knowledge or comfortable with the menu compared to past experiences. The cheese plate and Lemon Curd Pie were particularly good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We absolutely loved Hinterland! Between appetizers, salad, main course and desert, each was a new adventure in flavors. The meal was truly an experience to remember. Milwaukee is hotbed for local "farm to table", creative, seasonal cuisine, but Hinterland stands out for it's quality and uniqueness. We hope to be back many more times.

As a bonus - the staff was incredibly friendly and down the earth.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Favorite thing was the ambiance; most dishes were good to excellent. Dessert was a real treat (we had all three). The beef short ribs were only lukewarm, so maybe that needs to be revisited. Octopus was very tasty, and the charcuterie plate one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We LOVE Hinterland! It has been a favorite of ours for years and we are never disappointed. Always a treat to go there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Hinterland is my go-to for seasonal, local cuisine. My friends and I often go sit at the bar because of the friendly servers and excellent beer selection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Casual, Organic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had to wait for our food for a very long time. Our reservations were at 7:30. Of the 7 entrees, two were sold out. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My group of 8 arrived a few minutes before our reservation time and we were seated fairly quickly. We were told that 4 menu items were sold out which was disappointing. As we reviewed menus, we realized that some had one menu and others another, which was strange as some had seen the burger on online menus, but it wasn't on the menu they were looking at. When the waiter was asked about burgers, he said he'd have to see if they had any.

We placed our orders and 35 minutes later, our waiter returned to tell one of our party that what they had ordered was no longer available. That delayed the arrival of the rest of our meals which didn't come for more than an hour. During this time, no bread was offered, water was refilled infrequently, our group actually considered getting up and leaving as it didn't appear that our presence there as customers mattered to anyone.

When our meal was finally served, it was fine. An automatic 20% gratuity was put on our bill, which we asked to have removed for several reasons, some noted above.

What I found most disappointing was that Hinterland came highly recommended to me. Knowing ours was a larger group, I made a reservation in advance, yet the kitchen wasn't able to prepare 5 of the menu items for a 7:30 dinner seating. There are too many good restaurants in Milwaukee to think about returning to one that doesn't seem to care its customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Absolutely some of the best prepared food anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Interesting, well-prepared food with outstanding wine list and service. Expensive, but one of the best restaurants for a cozy date in Milwaukee.

The only negative element; does middle-of-the-road rock music really match the eclectic food and decor? I think the music should be jazz or world music, that's just my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good mix of contemporary and trad in Old Third Ward. Great location near Design School.
Easy to reach. Rustic setting, great use of building reclamation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinning experience. Their beers were fantastic...our appitiser of oysters was amazing! I even used the sauce on my fish fry entree. We also enjoyed a smoked salmon salad which was delicious. Our server was very knowledgable and friendly. The ambience was very warm and enviting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Hinterland Gastropub offers fresh farm to table fare in a chic setting. There is a variety of beer to sample. The food was delicious. Although fresh, local food tends to cost more, I feel the menu prices are a bit high for a brewery restaurant. The ambiance and menu in general are lacking at the $35-50 price point that the majority of the entrees are priced at. In retrospect, the $15 burger would probably have been the better menu choice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I dined here Thursday night for the second time. The place is fantastic. It has a great vibe, excellent decor and the service is top notch. I love that it feels authentic, and the service team is genuine and you can tell they enjoy their job. The food is a little on the pricey side, but the food is excellent, plentiful and uses local purveyors. The beer is also excellent. I like the spot, and I'll continue coming back. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrible service with overpriced food that was also terrible. Pretty much anything that could go wrong when you go to a restaurant happened when we went here. Go to the Irish pub down the street, MUCH BETTER

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Going down hill. I really liked this place for a lot of years. This time it was 40 minutes until the first drink. Appetizer had minimum octopus despite it being an octopus appetizer. And I did not like seeing other tables have options not available to us-bowls of mussels.
Entree was disappointing. For 46.00 the lamb should not taste like I made it at home in a croc pot.
I've always recommended this place, but I won't go back. Maybe it's an old idea, has new cooks or just was an off night for the entire staff, but I expect more when paying over 120.00 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I think that they were short staffed. So, I don't hold that against our server who was nice. The appetizers were great, but I expected bigger portions for that price. The steaks were well cooked and the potatoes were excellent. They kind of overdid it on salting the steaks, though. I liked it, but think that someone who doesn't really like salt would not like it.

Tags: Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent date night here. The staff was very friendly and helpful with food allergies and the chef's did an excellent job accomodating. Would absolutely eat here often and recommend this restaurant. Unfortunately there were a couple of obnoxious people also dining that evening that should have been escorted out. Doubt they will be there during your visit so definitely don't let that stop you. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were disappointed by the food, especially given the price. Burger was soggy and poorly cooked, overall flavor profiles were not impressive. Server also delivered a never-ending soliloquy when we arrived--completely unnecessary and off-putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Pretty room. Good service. Menu was laughably pretentious. Menu is impossible to decider. Complicated concoctions and descriptions of mediocre overpriced food. Drinks were also goofy concoctions, tiny and overpriced. Felt like I was living a scene in a sitcom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not very attentive waiter. He was busy chatting with guests at another table. I believe that we were a paying customer deserving the same attention.The place was not busy on saturday evening but service was poor in my opinion. Doubt if I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I have been going to hinterland since my daughter moved to Milwaukee 3 years ago. I love the ambiance and the food. They always come up with something unusual to try on the menu and the food is always great. The specials are good too , especially the Monday Pho.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Nice vibe & decor - very loud in dining room though
Many 86 items - trout - mussels - gnocchi on a slow Monday
Escarole salad was a joke - so small - maybe 3 bites for $10??
Tagiatelle pasta was good - very good charcuterie plate
Brussels sprout app was very tasty
Scallop entree excellent - strawberry dessert meh
Table Maintenance non-existent - had to stack our own plates & pour our own wine
Did not consider it a value at all

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of my favorite Milwaukee dining experiences! Service is wonderful, attentive and welcoming without being too over the top. The cocktails are delicious and very unique, and everything we ordered was absolutely great. Of course the signature Hinterland beers shouldn't be missed either. The ambiance and decor is lovely. We're holding a private event in the back room later this summer and are really looking forward to it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was disappointed that the menu on line was nothing like the menu handed to us in the restaurant. The one on line was extensive. The one in the restaurant was limited...very limited, and contained little of what the menu on line did.
Other than that it was a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved it. First time visit. Won't be the last. Great decor

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was unique, and impressively delicious! Excellent service was friendly and well-informed about the food and the wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Ian was outstanding. A great and knowledgeable waiter- a real asset to Hinterland.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and atmosphere were GREAT!! The waitress didn't seem experienced enough for the value of the food. She kept forgetting to grab plates and didn't know much about the food. Very nice girl though! We were disappointed because there were only 5 entrees on the menu and when we ordered, they ran out of the scallops by 8pm on a Saturday. We had to go to another restaurant to eat more:(

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hinterland offers a wide variety of items that will please all tastes and preferences. We enjoyed multiple courses over three hours, each plate prepared to perfection and delivered with care. The perfect venue for either intimate or social dining. A wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hinterland was a nice change of pace with a very cool decor that befits their name. The beer selection and the cocktails were excellent. The food was fine and very interesting. I had antelope that was delicious and my partner had chicken which was very nice, also. Any dining experience is defined by the interplay of food, drink and interactions. While our waiter was nice and capable, describing the main course as "shot from a helicopter" is crazy, as if he was making a political statement. It was pointed and I wondered whether he was happy with his position. Asking, "How is your deer?" also seemed askew. Our server, on the other hand was sharp as a tack in style and ability. If Hinterland takes their brand seriously as we experienced with decor, drinks and menu, maybe they would do well to train and coach their staff to suit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We arrived and no one was at the bar for service. Had to wait about 10 minutes for a menu, server left again, then another 10 minutes for bar order. Bartender was not engaging at all.
One person was servicing the dining room- she was very pleasant considering her work load. Once again had to wait for a menu as well as drink order. One of our meals was cold, the other was amazing. We were not tempted to order anything other than appetizers considering the wait time, nor did the waitress ask us if we wanted to order anything additional.
I have patroned this location a few times prior and have had great food and service. This last time left a bad taste in my mouth and will no go back considering the high price tag on food and beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food drinks and service. Will definitely come back again

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Hinterland offers a pleasant, fancy/casual space with interesting and satisfying menu selections. We are never disappointed here. (Don't forget to buy a round for the kitchen.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Tied with c1880 as WORST dining experience in a decade or longer!!!
Hinterland misses on every level, from ambience, to menu, to food preparation and presentation, to service.
A total disappointment and waste of time & money!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food. Wonderful evening. Wish we could have lingered longer. Had to get to the theatre.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall a wonderful birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Oh dear. It has gone a bit down since Dan left. I had the deconstructed onion soup which was pretty good; husband had the mussels that were better. The scallops were cooked beautifully but had so much finishing salt in the preparation it felt like I was eating a salt lick. Also, the pomegranate seeds did not flow and just felt jarring to the dish. My husband had the pork chop. It was fine, but not interesting. I will say that their the wine pairings were outstanding by the waiter. Strange there was no bread service and they did not replace silverware once used for the next course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was our first time to dine here. We chose it because days are running out on my City Tins coasters so we thought we would try this. We were NOT disappointed. Although the menu is very pricey, I'm sooooo glad to have experienced this place. I think our friends would agree (it was their first time as well). I would like for my daughter and husband to eat here but there's no way in their budget that they can afford this. Maybe they can at least come for a beer. The wait staff is superb, very professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the ingredients. I feel so fortunate to tell others that I have eaten here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Outstanding business dinner for the group I hosted. Unusual, interesting and very tasty entrees combined with the house beer selection made for a great night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.