Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Hinterland Beer HallHinterland Beer Hall
(646)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Green Bay, Green Bay
Booked 5 times today
Hinterland High Gravity KitchenHinterland High Gravity Kitchen
(9)
$$$$
American | Green Bay, Green Bay
Booked 1 time today
Rare Steakhouse - MilwaukeeRare Steakhouse - Milwaukee
(325)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 10 times today
SmythSmyth
(936)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 3 times today
Harbor HouseHarbor House
(3942)
$$$$
Seafood | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 51 times today
CarnevorCarnevor
(1575)
$$$$
Steak | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 26 times today
Rock Bottom Brewery Restaurant - MilwaukeeRock Bottom Brewery Restaurant - Milwaukee
(616)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 10 times today
The Capital Grille - MilwaukeeThe Capital Grille - Milwaukee
(1267)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 9 times today
Ward's House of Prime MilwaukeeWard's House of Prime Milwaukee
(796)
$$$$
Prime Rib | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 3 times today
Coquette CafeCoquette Cafe
(1677)
$$$$
French | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 16 times today
Mason Street GrillMason Street Grill
(1653)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 5 times today
DanDan MilwaukeeDanDan Milwaukee
(310)
$$$$
Chinese | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 26 times today
DistilDistil
(196)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 1 time today
Mader's German RestaurantMader's German Restaurant
(313)
$$$$
German | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 8 times today
Bacchus - A Bartolotta RestaurantBacchus - A Bartolotta Restaurant
(1539)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 7 times today

About Permanently Closed - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub specializes in contemporary American Cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ocean fish, wild game and world class steaks. Hinterland E.S.G. also features handcrafted beer fresh from our brewery in Green Bay as well as an extensive wine list from around the world.

222 E Erie Street
Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Bar: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Water

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 727-9300

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Historic Third Ward public garage located on Chicago Street directly adjacent to the rear of the building. You may enter the restaurant's building on the first level of the parking garage through the parking garage's breeze way.

Executive Chef:
Dan Van Rite

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 20 people or 125, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to 30 people, our semi-private dining room is the perfect setting, or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector and screen. For groups up to 40 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 50 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Norris: (414) 727-9300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Great Beer (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our reservation was accepted and then we arrived at a closed restaurant ...not a classy move on anyone's part.... Hinterland's or Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was wonderfully prepared. I had the sea bass and is was perfectly prepared with some greens and a sweet onion jus. And, the chocolate potted cake for dessert was perfect. The bar is separated from the dining room, so there was no issue with noise. But, most importantly, our waiter was wonderful -- accommodating, knowledgeable and just really an expert at his craft.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Terrible servie, waited over 20 minutes for our drinks and there were only 3 tables occupied at the time. Very small and limited menu. Ford was good, once we got it but very small portions.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The chef prepared a vegan meal for me which was delicious. There is a real abundance of vegetables on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic service. Our waiter was very educated on the food and drinks. Showed us a great time. Food was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

There were four people in our party and we all tried different entrees. Each item was prepared wonderfully with interesting herbs, spices and cheeses. One was the Wild Boar and the sauce on it cut some of the gamey flavor. Another person had the Asparagus salad and it red onions, radishes, goat cheese and a wonderful balsamic vinegar dressing. Another person ordered the chicken and it was the most moist chicken that she eve had. The fourth person had the halabit with a cold cuscus and said it all was flavorful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have enjoyed Hinterland-MKE three times now. It has always been well above average, both in food quality and service. The menu evolves, based on what is available to the chefs, making it a fun culinary adventure. These meals and beverages are of high quality and should be savored rather than simply consumed. We recommend Hinterland-MKE to friends and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2017

No initial service for 5-10 minutes. We ultimately left before service ever showed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had a lovely meal here recently. The scallops were outstanding--we ordered them with a curry taken from another entree. The boar loin was perfectly cooked and satisfying, tho the accoutrements were just alright. Our server Ian was very informative & put together a fun and tasty beer flight and had good wine recs as well. Desserts were massive!! Tarte tartin was yummy but choco cake was too fluffy for me. (Personal preference for chocolate that's rich and dense.)

All in all an enjoyable meal with great service. Recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My wife and I stopped in on the occasion of Milwaukee Downtown Dining week. We were greeted with an interesting and delicious menu. Specifically, as regards my meal, my salad included pickled grapes. It never would have occurred to me to pickle a grape much less to put it in an arugula salad. But now that I've had some, I feel I need to figure out how to properly pickle grapes so I can have them all the time. That's the way I feel about most of the menu. There were lots of opportunities to explore different taste combinations.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Absolutely fantastic evening. From the appetizer to the dessert, the meal was outstandingly. We intend to return on our next visit to MKE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Wonderful setting. Outstanding food. Great service. Compliments to the chef and owner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Hinterland never disappoints! We had the Downtown Dining week specials, each trying one of the options, and were very pleased.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

More upscale than a typical brew pub. Excellent food and drinks.

Tags: Spicy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. The food was fresh, unique and delicious and our server was very attentive and professional.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is one of me and my husband's favorite restaurants of all time. We have visited here many times, and we don't normally double back any restaurant we ever go to because we are always trying new places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice ambiance. Helpful and attentive service. Menu options limited and almost contrived in complexity and edginess. Virtually nothing for those in your party looking for familiar fare. Beer and wine list are very good. Everything on the pricey side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We absolutely love Hinterland, it's always a great experience. This experience was just "Very Good" instead of excellent.

The server seemed a little off, not as knowledge or comfortable with the menu compared to past experiences. The cheese plate and Lemon Curd Pie were particularly good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We absolutely loved Hinterland! Between appetizers, salad, main course and desert, each was a new adventure in flavors. The meal was truly an experience to remember. Milwaukee is hotbed for local "farm to table", creative, seasonal cuisine, but Hinterland stands out for it's quality and uniqueness. We hope to be back many more times.

As a bonus - the staff was incredibly friendly and down the earth.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Favorite thing was the ambiance; most dishes were good to excellent. Dessert was a real treat (we had all three). The beef short ribs were only lukewarm, so maybe that needs to be revisited. Octopus was very tasty, and the charcuterie plate one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We LOVE Hinterland! It has been a favorite of ours for years and we are never disappointed. Always a treat to go there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Hinterland is my go-to for seasonal, local cuisine. My friends and I often go sit at the bar because of the friendly servers and excellent beer selection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Casual, Organic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My group of 8 arrived a few minutes before our reservation time and we were seated fairly quickly. We were told that 4 menu items were sold out which was disappointing. As we reviewed menus, we realized that some had one menu and others another, which was strange as some had seen the burger on online menus, but it wasn't on the menu they were looking at. When the waiter was asked about burgers, he said he'd have to see if they had any.

We placed our orders and 35 minutes later, our waiter returned to tell one of our party that what they had ordered was no longer available. That delayed the arrival of the rest of our meals which didn't come for more than an hour. During this time, no bread was offered, water was refilled infrequently, our group actually considered getting up and leaving as it didn't appear that our presence there as customers mattered to anyone.

When our meal was finally served, it was fine. An automatic 20% gratuity was put on our bill, which we asked to have removed for several reasons, some noted above.

What I found most disappointing was that Hinterland came highly recommended to me. Knowing ours was a larger group, I made a reservation in advance, yet the kitchen wasn't able to prepare 5 of the menu items for a 7:30 dinner seating. There are too many good restaurants in Milwaukee to think about returning to one that doesn't seem to care its customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had to wait for our food for a very long time. Our reservations were at 7:30. Of the 7 entrees, two were sold out. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Absolutely some of the best prepared food anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Interesting, well-prepared food with outstanding wine list and service. Expensive, but one of the best restaurants for a cozy date in Milwaukee.

The only negative element; does middle-of-the-road rock music really match the eclectic food and decor? I think the music should be jazz or world music, that's just my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Good mix of contemporary and trad in Old Third Ward. Great location near Design School.
Easy to reach. Rustic setting, great use of building reclamation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinning experience. Their beers were fantastic...our appitiser of oysters was amazing! I even used the sauce on my fish fry entree. We also enjoyed a smoked salmon salad which was delicious. Our server was very knowledgable and friendly. The ambience was very warm and enviting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Hinterland Gastropub offers fresh farm to table fare in a chic setting. There is a variety of beer to sample. The food was delicious. Although fresh, local food tends to cost more, I feel the menu prices are a bit high for a brewery restaurant. The ambiance and menu in general are lacking at the $35-50 price point that the majority of the entrees are priced at. In retrospect, the $15 burger would probably have been the better menu choice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I dined here Thursday night for the second time. The place is fantastic. It has a great vibe, excellent decor and the service is top notch. I love that it feels authentic, and the service team is genuine and you can tell they enjoy their job. The food is a little on the pricey side, but the food is excellent, plentiful and uses local purveyors. The beer is also excellent. I like the spot, and I'll continue coming back. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Terrible service with overpriced food that was also terrible. Pretty much anything that could go wrong when you go to a restaurant happened when we went here. Go to the Irish pub down the street, MUCH BETTER

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Going down hill. I really liked this place for a lot of years. This time it was 40 minutes until the first drink. Appetizer had minimum octopus despite it being an octopus appetizer. And I did not like seeing other tables have options not available to us-bowls of mussels.
Entree was disappointing. For 46.00 the lamb should not taste like I made it at home in a croc pot.
I've always recommended this place, but I won't go back. Maybe it's an old idea, has new cooks or just was an off night for the entire staff, but I expect more when paying over 120.00 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I think that they were short staffed. So, I don't hold that against our server who was nice. The appetizers were great, but I expected bigger portions for that price. The steaks were well cooked and the potatoes were excellent. They kind of overdid it on salting the steaks, though. I liked it, but think that someone who doesn't really like salt would not like it.

Tags: Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent date night here. The staff was very friendly and helpful with food allergies and the chef's did an excellent job accomodating. Would absolutely eat here often and recommend this restaurant. Unfortunately there were a couple of obnoxious people also dining that evening that should have been escorted out. Doubt they will be there during your visit so definitely don't let that stop you. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We were disappointed by the food, especially given the price. Burger was soggy and poorly cooked, overall flavor profiles were not impressive. Server also delivered a never-ending soliloquy when we arrived--completely unnecessary and off-putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pretty room. Good service. Menu was laughably pretentious. Menu is impossible to decider. Complicated concoctions and descriptions of mediocre overpriced food. Drinks were also goofy concoctions, tiny and overpriced. Felt like I was living a scene in a sitcom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not very attentive waiter. He was busy chatting with guests at another table. I believe that we were a paying customer deserving the same attention.The place was not busy on saturday evening but service was poor in my opinion. Doubt if I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I have been going to hinterland since my daughter moved to Milwaukee 3 years ago. I love the ambiance and the food. They always come up with something unusual to try on the menu and the food is always great. The specials are good too , especially the Monday Pho.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Nice vibe & decor - very loud in dining room though
Many 86 items - trout - mussels - gnocchi on a slow Monday
Escarole salad was a joke - so small - maybe 3 bites for $10??
Tagiatelle pasta was good - very good charcuterie plate
Brussels sprout app was very tasty
Scallop entree excellent - strawberry dessert meh
Table Maintenance non-existent - had to stack our own plates & pour our own wine
Did not consider it a value at all

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of my favorite Milwaukee dining experiences! Service is wonderful, attentive and welcoming without being too over the top. The cocktails are delicious and very unique, and everything we ordered was absolutely great. Of course the signature Hinterland beers shouldn't be missed either. The ambiance and decor is lovely. We're holding a private event in the back room later this summer and are really looking forward to it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.