About Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub

222 E Erie Street
Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub specializes in contemporary American Cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ocean fish, wild game and world class steaks. Hinterland E.S.G. also features handcrafted beer fresh from our brewery in Green Bay as well as an extensive wine list from around the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Bar: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Water

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 727-9300

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Historic Third Ward public garage located on Chicago Street directly adjacent to the rear of the building. You may enter the restaurant's building on the first level of the parking garage through the parking garage's breeze way.

Executive Chef:
Dan Van Rite

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 20 people or 125, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to 30 people, our semi-private dining room is the perfect setting, or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector and screen. For groups up to 40 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 50 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Norris: 4147279300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Wood Fired Grilled Pork Belly - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
  • Lamb Meatball - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
  • Beer - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
  • Charcu - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
  • Kung Pao Veal Brain - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
Wood Fired Grilled Pork Belly - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Meatball - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
Beer - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
Charcu - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI
Kung Pao Veal Brain - Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub, Milwaukee, WI

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (7)
See All
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The duck was overdone. One of our apps ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The duck was overdone. One of our apps came out with the dinners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Overall I enjoy Hinterland. The only thi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall I enjoy Hinterland. The only thing I would improve is the actual side portion. Example: I ordered a steak and would have like to seen some mash potatoes or a nice veggie side included. I know it doesn't cost to take much to do this and it would increase the value of the main course.

Otherwise, Hinterland is a great place and one of my favorite places for chef's table.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on point. Staff was able to e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything on point. Staff was able to easily meet dietary restrictions of my companion, including a "mocktail" made with pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have visited Hinterland Er ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I have visited Hinterland Erie Street Pub multiple times. This time we were looking for a good meal after a wine event downtown. Our Open Table booking app worked perfectly. Arrived a few minute early and were seated right away. Great drinks, good wine and a beautiful wife = great evening. I ordered the Wood fired grilled NY Strip. My meal was outstanding as expected. My wife ordered the Pan Roasted Duck Breast. This was definitely an off night for the chef. The duck arrived cool and pink. In an attempt to re-fire, the duck came back rubbery and inedible. Her side dish of the squash was very good. My wife ate the squash and left the duck. When the wait staff person came to clear plates, we told her how bad the duck returned. I was a bit disappointed there was no mention of a correction. However, we did order the Parsnip cake to enjoy with coffee. This was quite different but very good. When the bill came our wait person credited the cost of the dessert. We will return again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Business Meals, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a fantastic night out for our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic night out for our Anniversary. Been meaning to come down to Hinterland for some time and very happy we did. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. You can tell they want their customers to enjoy the experience. Food was top notch! Unique and manageable menu. We loved the Scallops and Rack of Venison. We will recommend Hinterland without hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, food was amazingly good. Cock ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always, food was amazingly good. Cocktails excellent as well. We were attended by Ian, who was a great host. It took a bit to get our drinks to the table, but to no fault as it was prime time on a Friday night. Can't wait for the next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was disappointed in our visit this weeke ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Was disappointed in our visit this weekend. There was a wedding reception in the lounge and our waitress mentioned that fact at least four times. We asked for bread and butter and her response was "I'll put in the order in, but our kitchen is really busy tonight, so it will take a while." Bread and butter will take a while? Listen, I know that Hinterland does group events often - and I've been there when they have been going on - and they usually don't miss a beat. I was annoyed that the waitress kept telling us that we weren't as important as the event in the back. It was poor form for a place that is usually so spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

They couldn't find our Open Table reserv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

They couldn't find our Open Table reservation, even though I showed them my copy on my phone, but they were able to accommodate us nonetheless.

We were very disappointed to learn that they no longer allow customers to bring their own wine and pay a corkage charge, even though we had done that dozens of times in the past.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My friends and I were seated, then waite ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My friends and I were seated, then waited 30 minutes for someone to greet us at the table.

I can't remember when this has ever happened in my dining experience. We finally had to flag someone down. We were seated in the middle of the dining room, which had some empty tables. Service was very slow throughout the meal.

The food was good, but the lack of service made the dinner one to forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Waited 45 mins to get entrees which show ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Waited 45 mins to get entrees which showed up cold. Food probably would have been great had it not sat a long time before serving. Place is completely understaffed in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Awful Service. After our meal, my fiancé ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Awful Service. After our meal, my fiancé and I had to wait 55min. for the bill. Within the 55min, no one asked how we were doing, no one asked if we wanted refills of our drinks or waters, and it just seemed like we weren't appreciated. We will never be going back, and I will tell all my friends and family to avoid eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I went to dinner with someone who wanted ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I went to dinner with someone who wanted choice and was maybe less adventurous than I am foodwise. Hinterland proved to be a good pick for her and for me. I had this carrot fest for a starter -- the plating and originality were excellent. There was a coffee flavored concoction underneath that was next-level. I had the duck breast for entree -- tasty and well prepared, not as unique as the carrot dish. My friend enjoyed her meal also. The wine and the service were very good. The clientele seemed to be people in their 30s, and we did not fit the demographic of the diners we saw, but we were treated well and had an excellent evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for late dinner with friends. Cool ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for late dinner with friends. Cool atmosphere, cool decor. Took a long time to get drinks. Steak was good, but I was expecting more for the price. Same with appetizers, they looked gorgeous and presentation was outstanding but there was not much to eat for four people (we ordered the cheese board AND charcuterie board as a result). Service was slow. Overall would likely not come back, but I was not disappointed. Was worth a try. Oddly seemed mostly empty on a Saturday night (about 800pm).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a wonderful time. Ian was our waite ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Ian was our waiter and he took great care of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Waitress Jasmine wasn't attentive to our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Waitress Jasmine wasn't attentive to our table, and didn't follow our orders well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

After making a reservation I emailed the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

After making a reservation I emailed the restaurant to let them know we would be celebrating our anniversary, dissappointed there was no mention of it. At 630the restaurant was not busy at all, yet we were seated next to a table of 6. Other than that table service and food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too expensive for what you get. Drinks w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too expensive for what you get. Drinks were way too expensive, especially the wine. It was so loud our group of 5 gave up trying to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Very good food and very good service. B ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food and very good service. But the rest of the customers were HIGHLY obnoxious 20-somethings whose behavior would have been unacceptable at a food truck, let alone a relatively nice, sit-down restaurant. We will not go back, only because the other customers (clearly who this restaurant caters to, otherwise why would they all be the same?) made the experience so unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I was so disappointed! I had read about ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was so disappointed! I had read about Hinterland and was very anxious to go. The restaurant was 1/3 full at the most and even still the service was terrible. Our waiter was inattentive and forgetful. The food was incredibly disappointing. The fish fry did not taste good. The fries were mushy. Just an unbelievably bad meal. Can't believe I was the one to recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Can't recommend this place enough! My h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Can't recommend this place enough!

My husband and I came here once before and enjoyed ourselves so much that we knew we had to come back. The food is fantastic--we had the cheese plate, oysters, and salmon and finished with chocolate cake and 10-year-old port wine. It was all so very, very good. It is definitely worth the trek from Chicago! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Maggie was very accommodati ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our waitress Maggie was very accommodating and keep reading what she was yanking about as to sustainability.

She really made our dinner special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and suggestions with t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful service and suggestions with this unassuming find in the Third Ward. You can't go wrong with their recommended beer pairings (do a flight of 6 for the biggest variety!), nor should you miss the Octopus, & Beef Tartar for starters. The antelope is a crowd favorite as was mine and should certainly be on your must-try list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place to taste Milwaukee beer with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice place to taste Milwaukee beer with nice food. I would have given all stars if the dishes are little bit big.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

outstanding food, great ambiance really ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

outstanding food, great ambiance really enjoyed the night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service and food! Great atmosp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful service and food! Great atmosphere. Fantastic anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kudos once again to Chef Kerley on anoth ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Kudos once again to Chef Kerley on another outstanding dinner. As usual we ordered lots of food & ate almost all of it. Always amazing flavors & excellent presentation!!! Certainly one of our favorites for amazing dinner. Grazie...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We ordered the gnocchi for $ 22. It was more of an appetizer size than a entree. About one cup size serving on an over large plate. It had good potential with the flavor combination but was also too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

back again

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Considering that we fell upon downtown dining week, we didn't know how things would turn out for us at Hinterland. The service started slowly, but by the end of the meal, all was forgiven. Our food was outstanding, and I appreciated a generous wine pour after waiting perhaps a bit too long for our drinks. I ended up getting their special prix fixe menu, and I loved my salmon and panzanella salad...roasted tomatoes gave the dish extra depth. My chocolate "pot" dessert was indulgent, but so good I could stop eating it. All in all, A+.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food; excrutiating slow service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had not been here before but knew of Hinterland. Excited to try it for Downtown Dining week. Arrived early for 6:45 reservation on a Saturday. Seated immediately and they were only moderately busy. Loved the tomato soup and the skirt steak was better than I've had elsewhere. But we waited more than 45 minutes for desserts. I understand busy but would have been happier if the long wait was explained or if our drinks were comped. Something...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food and experience were both great! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and experience were both great! Mike is the best server I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've heard a lot of great things about H ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've heard a lot of great things about Hinterland so we decided to check it out. We were there for 2 hours. It took 30 minutes to get our drinks, another 30 to get dinner, and then almost 50 to get the dessert my boyfriend ordered. The table next to us got their desserts, ate them, got their plates cleared and received their bill before we even got our water glasses refilled. And for a Friday night, it wasn't that busy. About half the tables were occupied. If I could have given some things no stars I would have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The antelope was fantastic! The cocktail ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The antelope was fantastic! The cocktails were excellent. The staff was above par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hinterland in transition

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Hinterland remains one of my MKE favorites despite being in a transition with chef and staff - the new team is awkwardly attempting to make an impression but think it's going to take a few - hopefully - not too many more - attempts to get the cadence just right - not to say anything is bad - but it could be so much more - especially since they have a great venue and history of offering truly unique dining experiences...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Every dish in our group was on point. Se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Every dish in our group was on point. Sevice was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the most perfect dining experie ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was the most perfect dining experience I've ever had. The food was outstanding and we were able to sample several different dishes. Our waiter had the perfect personality for a sense of humor and handled our numerous questions in a professional and relaxed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic but our Server Ja ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fantastic but our Server Jasmine was less than average. She seemed to be overwhelmed with her workload that night. She was short with people in my group and when we asked if she minded splitting the bill up for us she said it would take her 20 minutes and suggested we do it. It took us 25-30 minutes doing it on paper without the help of a computer. I plan to go back there and I hope I don't get her as my server next time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Overpriced and overrated

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

It had been about eight years since we had been here. I've heard some buzz about it in the past couple of years, likely because of their beer. I gotta tell you, for what you pay to eat here, you should love this place. I didn't.

Nothing is more frustrating to me than dining in a restaurant where they are either understaffed or poorly managed. All of the staff seemed to be frantically running around...and yet I had to BEG for more water. Our server was enthusiastic but she seemed more interested in larger tables, perhaps sensing a larger tip? (She walked right by me with the water pitcher and when I reminded her that I had asked for water, she said: "Oh, I was looking for a pitcher." Um....?)

Anyway, trying to be a bit adventurous, we had the pork rillettes as an appetizer (took FOREVER), salads, wild boar chop and antelope loin. For $42, I expected to LOVE the antelope. Nope. It's been a while since I've had to saw through a piece of meat. The boar chop was better, but not amazing.

Back to the service: Even after mediocre food, I would have ordered dessert, but our server was just too busy...to bother with us and/or to even help us settle our check.

Oh, and I almost forgot: They have what I find to be one of the more annoying items on a drink menu - "$10 for a Kitchen Round. Beers for the kitchen staff. Show some love for our talented crew." I'm sorry, what? I'm supposed to buy YOU a drink? Will you be drinking that before you prepare my food? How about if you first give me a great dining experience. Sorry, hate this.

I don't go out of my way to slam a restaurant, but this place should be much, much better. Get more servers, train them better, give people more value for their money.

Here's something positive: The beer is great. Sorry, Hinterland. You disappointed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Mother's Day Brunch - Lite

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Well, I thought it would be good to take my mother and my two kids (teenage) for a nice brunch on Mother's Day. Turns out, there are not a lot of options for teenagers and the one option, 3 blueberry pancakes, were appropriately sized for a toddler. Mom had sturgeon and it was excellent but pricey for a brunch item and small ($22). I had the fish tacos which were unusually salty. The older kid had the 3 eggs any style and bacon - which is just what she got - oh and some carbs (bread and hashbrowns) $120 later, I have decided that my kids would be better off served at George Webbs. Save Hinterland for a romantic dinner for two, which is really does nicely. Cool funky decor, innovative food and super drink choices are not to be missed in Milwaukee!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous brunch at Hinterland

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Although I have been to Hinterland before and really enjoyed dinner, I'd never had brunch and it was such a treat! The menu was unusual and diverse with something for everyone. Each and every person in our group of 6 raved about the food. We started with oysters on the half shell which were fresh, small and neatly cut from the shell. For my entree, I had the vegetarian succotash and it was excellent. I also loved the biscuit with strawberry rhubarb jam.

Our waitress was very nice but obviously lacking a bit in experience. She didn't take the women's orders first and she didn't speak loudly enough to be heard at the far end of the table.

The only real negative was that Mother's Day at Hinterland was quite loud, with all the little people's voices and very little noise absorption in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was unique and was excellently prepared and presented. My husband's pork was the best he has ever had. Very glad we tried this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.