About Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub

222 E Erie Street
Suite 100
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub specializes in contemporary American Cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ocean fish, wild game and world class steaks. Hinterland E.S.G. also features handcrafted beer fresh from our brewery in Green Bay as well as an extensive wine list from around the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Bar: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Water

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 727-9300

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Historic Third Ward public garage located on Chicago Street directly adjacent to the rear of the building. You may enter the restaurant's building on the first level of the parking garage through the parking garage's breeze way.

Executive Chef:
Dan Van Rite

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 20 people or 125, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to 30 people, our semi-private dining room is the perfect setting, or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector and screen. For groups up to 40 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 50 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Norris: 4147279300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
1 More
Contemporary American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (37)
romantic (35)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the most perfect dining experie ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was the most perfect dining experience I've ever had. The food was outstanding and we were able to sample several different dishes. Our waiter had the perfect personality for a sense of humor and handled our numerous questions in a professional and relaxed

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food was fantastic but our Server Ja ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fantastic but our Server Jasmine was less than average. She seemed to be overwhelmed with her workload that night. She was short with people in my group and when we asked if she minded splitting the bill up for us she said it would take her 20 minutes and suggested we do it. It took us 25-30 minutes doing it on paper without the help of a computer. I plan to go back there and I hope I don't get her as my server next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced and overrated

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

It had been about eight years since we had been here. I've heard some buzz about it in the past couple of years, likely because of their beer. I gotta tell you, for what you pay to eat here, you should love this place. I didn't. Nothing is more frustrating to me than dining in a restaurant where they are either understaffed or poorly managed. All of the staff seemed to be frantically running around...and yet I had to BEG for more water. Our server was enthusiastic but she seemed more interested in larger tables, perhaps sensing a larger tip? (She walked right by me with the water pitcher and when I reminded her that I had asked for water, she said: "Oh, I was looking for a pitcher." Um....?) Anyway, trying to be a bit adventurous, we had the pork rillettes as an appetizer (took FOREVER), salads, wild boar chop and antelope loin. For $42, I expected to LOVE the antelope. Nope. It's been a while since I've had to saw through a piece of meat. The boar chop was better, but not amazing. Back to the service: Even after mediocre food, I would have ordered dessert, but our server was just too busy...to bother with us and/or to even help us settle our check. Oh, and I almost forgot: They have what I find to be one of the more annoying items on a drink menu - "$10 for a Kitchen Round. Beers for the kitchen staff. Show some love for our talented crew." I'm sorry, what? I'm supposed to buy YOU a drink? Will you be drinking that before you prepare my food? How about if you first give me a great dining experience. Sorry, hate this. I don't go out of my way to slam a restaurant, but this place should be much, much better. Get more servers, train them better, give people more value for their money. Here's something positive: The beer is great. Sorry, Hinterland. You disappointed me.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch - Lite

Dined on May 8, 2016

Well, I thought it would be good to take my mother and my two kids (teenage) for a nice brunch on Mother's Day. Turns out, there are not a lot of options for teenagers and the one option, 3 blueberry pancakes, were appropriately sized for a toddler. Mom had sturgeon and it was excellent but pricey for a brunch item and small ($22). I had the fish tacos which were unusually salty. The older kid had the 3 eggs any style and bacon - which is just what she got - oh and some carbs (bread and hashbrowns) $120 later, I have decided that my kids would be better off served at George Webbs. Save Hinterland for a romantic dinner for two, which is really does nicely. Cool funky decor, innovative food and super drink choices are not to be missed in Milwaukee!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous brunch at Hinterland

Dined on May 8, 2016

Although I have been to Hinterland before and really enjoyed dinner, I'd never had brunch and it was such a treat! The menu was unusual and diverse with something for everyone. Each and every person in our group of 6 raved about the food. We started with oysters on the half shell which were fresh, small and neatly cut from the shell. For my entree, I had the vegetarian succotash and it was excellent. I also loved the biscuit with strawberry rhubarb jam. Our waitress was very nice but obviously lacking a bit in experience. She didn't take the women's orders first and she didn't speak loudly enough to be heard at the far end of the table. The only real negative was that Mother's Day at Hinterland was quite loud, with all the little people's voices and very little noise absorption in the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was unique and was excellently prepared and presented. My husband's pork was the best he has ever had. Very glad we tried this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good date night

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Menu is very different but delicious; opportunity to try try different items (duck, elk) Our waitress was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fab for a group.

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a party of 6 - 3 folks from out of town. None of us had ever been to Hinterland before. We were all really impressed. The cocktails were solid, food was excellent and the service was spot on. I have already recommended Hinterland to my local work colleagues and plan to bring my wife on the next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

great food!

Dined on March 31, 2016

great food, nice atmosphere, definitely great location!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the first time dining here and it was a Fabulous experience ... I will definitely return!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Lovely spot for dinner, intimate. Good ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Lovely spot for dinner, intimate. Good good all around and fun decor. Good beer list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hinterland always has great, consistent ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Hinterland always has great, consistent non-traditional faire. A majority of the food is local which is another plus. Fun cocktails and great atmosphere in cooler weather. Always wonderful service. Back room is great for small parties! We have returned to Hinterland many times and never had a bad experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING !!!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Chef Kerley is certainly back in his element. Thrilled to have him cooking in more accessible venue. Forgot how much we missed his culinary prowess. Charcuterie platter was excellent with unique salumi & cheese selections. Beet salad was one of best I have ever tasted. Charred kale salad was very close second. Mediterranian bass was awesome and truly complimented by lentil & greens with caper vinaigrette. Duck breast with coffee rubbed fingerlings & carrots was delectable. Double stack burger was a home run as well. Approachable menu items mixed with adventurous makes for an amazing combination. Cannot wait to come back & visit one the best chefs of Milwaukee. Kudos to Matt & the team. Our new favorite restaurant in town. Grazie

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food/service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the food,atmosphere and service. Had the sea bass and chicken was very tasty . The chef came out to talk also was very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, staff and food

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my second time at Hinterland, and I threw a surprise dinner party for a larger group. Though my first time at the restaurant was for a quiet dinner date, I felt the ambiance would work well for a dinner party too. The staff truly made the night a great success -- from calling ahead to assist with the surprise, placing us in a perfect spot in the restaurant, to finding candles for the birthday cake. They went above and beyond to make our dinner special and were very attentive throughout the night. In addition to the service, our food was phenomenal (the scallops and hanger streak were a huge hit). My guests were all impressed at the overall experience, and many plan to come back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hinterland warmed up our Valentines!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food, terrific service. Went for a quick dinner before an event and loved everything about the evening here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

An exclusive feeling waste of money

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was not worth the price. The steak ordered medium well was rare at best. The root vegetable curry came with mostly potatoes and overcooked mushy white rice. If you are going to charge over $20 for an entree I would expect you could at least get rice right. Terrible. The happy hour specials listed on the chalkboard looked appealing but who wants to go to a place that makes you feel like you don't belong there? I'll take my money elsewhere, thanks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends

Dined on February 13, 2016

This foodie restaurant did a great job. Yes, the expected limited and changing menu, but the prices were as expected based on the sample menu online. Great quality. Good server.. not too in our face since it was clear we were there to be our own entertainment. My guests loved the beer - i was happy with my wine. All in all we'd go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always delicious

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had another great meal at Hinterland on Saturday night. Started with the fried brussel sprouts (amazing!!), entrees of sturgeon & elk and finished with the vanilla cake dessert. Had the Hinterland Groundbreaker beer - super smooth and yummy. Not one complaint - everything was delicious as always. One of our favorite Milwaukee restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food

Dined on February 5, 2016

Service great, salad great, entree was too salty for one of us. Nothing about the meals themselves sounded worth coming back for. Second there. !st time a few years back service was horrible. Excuse not exceptable since the main reason was thee was a backroom party but the loor itself was very quiet. hWe had a coupon and figured give it another shot. 2 times is enough.

food5
ambience5
service5

A true dining experience

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

A true dining experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hardly a pub

Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food and service! Chef Dan has great menus and superb wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good experience. Good food and service.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Had a Saturday evening reservation. Wait staff was very efficient and helpful. Appetizers and main courses very good. On tap Hinterland beer, especially the Stovepipe, outstanding. We were surprised by the number of empty tables (about half?) even after 7 but it made for a nice quiet dinner. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always interesting. Always enjoyable.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Hinterland has a weird menu. Which is a good thing for the food adventurer. There's always something to appease the tamer palette, too. My personal fav, beet salad. I dream about it. My husband had sturgeon for the first time. He loved it. And he's not easy to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A fall from greatness

Dined on January 15, 2016

We don't get the opportunity to go out alone very often, and we live about 30 minutes away so when we had the chance on friday we were thrilled to go back to the Hinterland. I started with oysters which were very small and several had sand in them. My wife enjoyed her broccoli and garden salad with the pecan dressing. When our entrees arrived the duck I ordered was chewy and dry. My wife enjoyed the pork but said it was a little dry as well. The server was good and seemed to be very attentive although for most of our meal there were only 2 other couples there.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great choice for date night

Dined on January 9, 2016

The atmosphere was comfortable and the food was great. From the helpful drink suggestions, the well-timed service, excellent dinner entrees and a wonderful dessert Hinterland was a great choice for our date night. With a menu that changes frequently we’ll for sure be back to try something else new.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot in Milwaukee

Dined on January 5, 2016

Rather you want an after hour drink or a 5 course wine pairing dinner, they have what your looking for. Excellent wine choices, diverse menu and multiple craft beer choices. We stop by every time we're in Milwaukee

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Choice for Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We very much enjoyed the unique taste combinations in the various menu options. This restaurant isn't like every other restaurant--very creative.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!!!

Dined on December 27, 2015

First time to the Hinterland, wanted a quick bite before seeing a show nearby. Was thoroughly impressed by the staff the food and the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find Near Milwaukee's Third Ward

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Hinterland had a nice, warm ambiance in a cool loft building, good service, and excellent food. We ordered the quail and brussel sprouts appetizers. Quail can be tricky given it absorbs flavor easily being so small - the chef hit it spot on, it was seasoned perfectly. The brussel sprouts were slightly carmelized and tasted great. For our main course, we had the elk steak and the sturgeon. The elk steak was ordered medium and prepared just right, we were first timers for trying elk, it was amazing - far better than regular steak. The sturgeon had a nice grilled/slightly smoked flavor - it was served with short ribs, which were ok, but unnecessary...the way they prepped the fish, it was the star of the dish and could have easily shined better alone. For dessert we had the peanut butter cup, very rich, even half of it was satisfying. Loved this place! Hands down, a new go-to for Milwaukee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and drink are the draw

Dined on December 18, 2015

Everything that this place can put on the table is excellent. The food is well-thought and well-wrought, the service is cheerful, helpful and attentive. The beer is lovely and the cocktails border on inspired. Anyplace that's willing to put a fruity scotch drink on the menu is willing to put a foot over the line and deserves some attention paid. Yet it's still one of the place that's confused noisy for vibrant. Even if you're the only table there at opening, there's music to compete with the echoing reverberation of every shifted plate and chair, and if the place is full, well... I hope you can get a lot of bonding through a smile and a nod.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Elk entree was awesome and the Brussels ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Elk entree was awesome and the Brussels sprout appetizer was incredible.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mid-week team dinner

Dined on December 16, 2015

Had my team in for a meeting in Milwaukee. Everyone is always skeptical that Milwaukee has good dining and entertainment options. Hinterland was easily able to accommodate our party of 10 on a Tuesday night. The team was blown away by how good the food was and appreciated the fun drink names on the menu. One person claimed it was the best meal she ever had. Interesting options (elk, sturgeon, etc.) delivered on appeal. Would definitely recommend. Nice work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance is great but you go for the food

Dined on December 6, 2015

This is one of my husband and my favorite spots. We always come away with a renewed interest in learning how to cook proficiently. Hinterland demonstrates, in a way that commands attention, how superb food can be when made with high quality ingredients and prepared expertly. Décor is modern-rustic, whatever that means. Not a place for kids but a great place to take out of state guests who may be harboring lingering doubts about where Milwaukee is today.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Extremely pleasant atmosphere with great cusine.

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

I've been to the Hinterland Gastroupub, when in Milwaukee, two to three times and the meals have always been well prepared with great presentations. The food combinations and taste have all been fantastice. Recommend this to foodies and wine lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Excellent

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

HGP is very reliable for an excellent dinner. Great location near the Broadway Theater Center. Perfect spot for a meal before a show. Always has an interesting selection of well prepared entrees and a nice wine by the glass menu. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

21st Birthday Celebration

Dined on November 29, 2015

We took our twin boys here for their 21st Birthday dinner. The staff went out of their way to make the evening very special. Our waitress was outstanding and added to what was a very enjoyable evening. The food was exceptional and everybody's meal was perfect. Well done Hinterland. We have never been disappointed when we come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was delicious and presentation was lovely. The server kept her eyes on us, offering suggestions when asked, but never intruded. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, fantastic food that is ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

Great atmosphere, fantastic food that is always cooked perfectly, great drinks and drink list as well

food4
ambience4
service4

We had the charcuterie, hangar steak, an ...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

We had the charcuterie, hangar steak, and the trumpet mushroom entrees. Food was really good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.