About Hinterland Brewery Restaurant

313 Dousman Street
Green Bay, WI 54303
View Larger Map

Hinterland…the hub of contemporary American cuisine in Green Bay, WI. Executive Chef, Kelly Qualley, and Sous Chef, Dan Fisher, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.



In order to accomplish this sojourn, we've partnered with fisherman in Honolulu, Seattle and Portland, Maine. These partnerships allow our chefs to procure fresh fish as often as two times a day. Other relationships with small, local growers and ranchers allow us to provide our customers with extraordinary game as well as hand-foraged mushrooms and heirloom produce. The result is a menu that evolves with every season and changes everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(920) 438-8050

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Catering:
Let us bring the experience and sterling reputation of Hinterland directly to your door. Whether you're entertaining 20 guests or 500, Hinterland delivers the finest catering services available. Let your imagination wander, giant South African prawns, authentic wood fire grilled Kobe beef tenderloin, the sky's the limit. Not only will we provide a professional and friendly staff but you'll have our team of chef's at your complete disposal. We specialize in hors d' ouevre parties, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners and elegant weddings. Please call 1-888-604-BEER(2337) to reserve us today.

Parking Details:
Private lot directly in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Qualley

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 10 people or 200, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for you and your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to twenty people, our private dining room is the perfect space set with candelabras and white linens. Or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector, screen and "board room" style tables. For groups of 20 to 70 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 70 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Tressler: 9204388050x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wood Fire Grilled Pizza
Stout Barbecue Smoked Pulled Pork
Luna Chocolate Stout Cake
Grilled Twin Elms Asparagus
Greek Yogurt Panna Cotta
Polka Dot Pastures Ham Schnitzel
Bbq Pork Sliders With Apple Slaw
smoked pork belly
Wood-Fired Grilled Duck Breast
Sweet And Salty Blondie
House Smoked Ham Flatbread
House Smoked Ham Pizza
Pulled Pork & Mango Pizza
Sweet Grass Farms Beef Hamburger
Tempura White Tuna Roll
Hawaiian Sweet Crab And Ricotta Gnocchi
Half Cherry Wheat, Half Luna Stout
Momofuku Crack Pie
Stout Barbecue Glazed Gulf Shrimp
Burger
Taco Tuesday
Winterland Beer
Pork Pierogies And Porchetta
Stout Barbecue Pulled Pork Slider
Tacos
Luna Stout
Roasted Beet And Sunflower Sprouts Salad
Barbecue Glazed Pork Belly
Korean Barbecue Hanger Steak
Heirloom Kale & Frisee Salad
Stuffed Quail
Wisconsin Cheese And Charcuterie Plate
Wood-Fire Grilled Elk Tenderloin
Jamaican Jerk Chicken
Seared Diver Sca
Boudin Sausage Balls
Black Garlic Glazed Pork Lion
Pork belly with scallops
Sunset Farms Veal Veal Ragout

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Hinterland Brewery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Green Bay
Best Restaurants in Green Bay ›

special occasion (19)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (9)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed. My steak was r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed. My steak was rubbery , very vert rare- I ordered it med rare, and not that tender , we loved the walleye but the serving size was way too small and I tried the pork and did not like the breading and it tasted fatty. The salad was way too small and tasted very bitter. We ate upstairs and could not hear each other. Lots of echoing up there. Hard on ears. I ate there awhile back and loved it then, but I will not be back based on this experience. I ate at Pla Bistro lunch, A Bravo and Caliente's and all three surpassed you on salads and desserts and entrees during restaurant week. I hope you make some changes, or else just stay in the beer business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Service was very slow, both for food and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was very slow, both for food and drinks. They were crowded, but it did not seem overly busy. The strange thing is that even though they are a brewery and have all selections on tap, it took forever to get a beer delivered to our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was very good but, price was too ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was very good but, price was too expensive for us to return

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

WOW!!! Went for birthday lunch with sist ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

WOW!!! Went for birthday lunch with sister and the waitress described the food dead on "farm to table"! All the food was amazing and presented in an aesthetically pleasing way. The beer also was delicious and different then craft beers I had tried during my tour in Green Bay. It will be sad that they have to part from that building on their move because it has such personality! Would recommend and plan on going again to try out their supper menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything we had... from drink ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We loved everything we had... from drinks, appetizer, main meal & dessert. Was a little pricey but you get what you pay for! Delicious and memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great! Loved this place! Beautiful insid ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great! Loved this place! Beautiful inside and great staff and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Herb encrusted Halibut was fantastic!! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Herb encrusted Halibut was fantastic!! Pear Vodka Old Fashioned is an extremely refreshing drink - new experience I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner, very good and affordable wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice dinner, very good and affordable wine list, very friendly and courteous wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Son's Find

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our son discovered Hinterland & recommended it to us knowing we most likely wouldn't have found it on our own - we are extremely pleased that we listened to him. Our initial greeting made us feel very welcome & the bartender made us feel right at home. (Drinks were great too) Our food was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly. Everything about our experience was fantastic & we plan to go back soon for dinner on our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you've only visited for the beer, mak ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If you've only visited for the beer, make sure you return for the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food. Good service. Was a very busy night. Stairs keep the staff well exercised. Enjoyed the salmon pate, Packer salad, and shrimp soup. Spouse had a great fish dish. Great presentation. Portions were just right. We enjoyed an angel food dessert--not traditional angel food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just excellent all around. Very accommod ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Just excellent all around. Very accommodating staff, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food. Can't wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Can't wait to go back again. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem in Green Bay

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Travelling from Charlottesville, VA, we are on a tour of the USA and scheduled a stop in Green Bay. As we travel we are looking for interesting things found locally including restaurants. Hinterland seemed to fit that criteria so we reserved there and found it was everything we hoped for. The food was exquisite, the atmosphere delightful and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beer brewed on-site was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Resturant in Green Bay

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been going to Hinterland for years and always have a great experience.

The food is consistently amazing. Great atmosphere service exceptional (we always request Rob).

Have been to all fine dining in Green Bay and Appleton and Hinterland is hands down the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best beer in town

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent beer and delicious albeit expensive food. Did not like the smokey atmosphere (from smoking meat) and the service was a bit slow for just appetizers and drinks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome atmosphere - great food!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had friends in town from Minneapolis, and we wanted to give them an experience that was not a chain restaurant, with some local fare and overall good food. We were all impressed with the variety in the menu - the farm to table is a favorite for all of us, and Hinterland did not disappoint. Two of us had flatbread while one had pork belly and one had swordfish. All entrees were delicious! There is a great wine list, and we certainly enjoyed the Hinterland brews. Our server was personable and knowledgeable of the menu, and he made some great recommendations. We did indulge in some dessert as well - I had a cup of the S'mores coffee (it was a chilly evening, and that hit the spot), and my friends enjoyed the salted caramel gelato brownie sundae - they stop themselves from licking the bowl, but they definitely wanted to!

Everything about the experience was great, and we look forward to our next visit to Hinterland!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a great experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Rob G. Takes care of us for my Mom's birthday every year. He's real neat, just like your food. Thanks Rob!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought food was excellent. Mahi was superb.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Service was great. Food was great. Drinks were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends all call me a food snob and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

My friends all call me a food snob and I must say I was impressed with the food the other night. It was very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here before and thoroughly en ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We've been here before and thoroughly enjoyed it each time. This visit, pork porterhouse was excellent. Barramundi was just ok, nothing exceptional, very little seasoning, a bit bland. Ambience was not what we were used to. It seems they're trying to be more of a hot, up-scale, young crowd craft brewery, but falling short on all fronts. I'd rather have the upscale menu and the atmosphere that goes with a high-end menu, with less focus on being trendy. Menu not as good as past visits, would like to see more seafood especially the scallops. Service was good but not great, had to ask for several things. Sat in the bar area not by request, just got seated there even though we had reservations. All in all, not bad, but not great. I'll think of other options before we try again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

reliably great food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food, interesting seafood selection, nice desserts, intriguing fusion of flavors, excellent, small portions. Good selection of after dinner drinks

If you can get a seat next to the fireplace in winter it doubles the pleasure

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food service was a bit slow. Beer and fo ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food service was a bit slow. Beer and food were excellent. Kids menu needs updating like a basic chicken breast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Enjoyable Valentines Night Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had an excellent valentines night dinner with my fiance'. The service, freshness of the food and wine list were all top-notch.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable Food and Service!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Read quite a few reviews and decided to give Hinterland a try for Valentines Day. Made reservations with ease on-line for 8:15, arrived at 8:00 for cocktails and was seated by 8:10:) We were seated on the lower level across from the main bar...cozy and nice ambience. The service was excellent and the food was even better...we tried everything from salad to flat bread pizza to shrimp to tenderloin and every bite was awesome!! Compliments to the Chefs...they seemed to prepare the food like they care-much appreciated:). We will be back soon and follow to the new location when Titletown District is complete.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly and Tasty

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good character/ambience on both floors of this unique older brick building. The food has great flavor, using locally sourced products where possible. The brews made on premise are quality through and through. Our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wine menus. This place will remain on our repeater list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent and the place is cozy and inviting. Great place a date night

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my entree good, guest dinners not as good

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I had the Herb Crusted Cobia, which was very nice; i would order this again. My guests had the duck entree and another fish, maybe the Mahi Mahi. The duck was not the best quality of duck and the fish entree was really lacking in flavor. The two desserts ordered were good, but not outstanding; i wouldn't order either of them, one was a chocolate dessert and one was a pear dessert. I would give the exact name of the dishes, but the menu on open table is not current, nor is the one on the restaurant website. Also know, that this restaurant's acoustics make it very loud. Every visit I've had here has been a problem to hear discussions at my table. Do not bring anyone who is hard of hearing to a weekend dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our first time here and we were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our first time here and we were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was. The duck breast and mahi mahi were cooked perfectly. We definitely intend on going here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything it's really good from the b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything it's really good from the beer, the entree and dessert . The presentation is awesome, service is good and the design of the restaurant too with real wood fire placeI'm

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, a bit pricey

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is always great. But the wait to get you food may be an hour. Luckily they have great apps and drinks too. Expect to spend a minimum of $60 per person for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

First time here, and definitely enjoyed it. I was glad we went earlier, as it got fairly busy and loud a little later, but nothing too bad. If you want a nice quiet dinner plan early.

Do try the lobster bisque soup, incredible! Overall everything was very good. Would definitely go again, just be prepared to spend over $100.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Restaurant

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The carpaccio was absolutely delicious, as was the rest of our food. Terrific, warm atmosphere with excellent service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice downtown find

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Small portions for large price, but high quality food. Great beer selection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food and Service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food and service. Came to town for the Packer game. We made our reservation a week before and the process was simple. Needed to change the time a few hours before hand and that wasn't a problem. Arrived 5 minutes early and we were seated in a flash. Had a few salads and the veal meatballs which were excellent. Meat and cheese appetizer was excellent. Had fresh fish as the main course which was excellent. Had creme brûlée for desert and it maybe the best desert I've ever had. 5 star.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must visit in Green Bay

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went here on New Year's eve. It could not have been better! We were seated on time. They did not overbook the restaurant. The staff was attentive. The food was amazing And we were not rushed at all. Can't wait to go back! What a great start to the new year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The meal was fantasic and so was the ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The meal was fantasic and so was the service! Especially considering it was New Year's Eve!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best and most elegant food in Green Bay

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

While you may be a bit inhibited at first when you look at the prices, you will quickly realize that the food is more than worth the prices listed. Besides the unique and tasty food dishes served, the atmosphere also adds to the ambiance. We requested a table by the fireplace and enjoyed a beautiful fire as we dined on our 31st anniversary. Hats off to the amazing chefs!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd or fourth meal here

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Creative menu. Remarkable use of local ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Do not visit on a Packer weekend

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We have been to Hinterland twice - both times with a group of 8 on the Saturday night of a Packer weekend. The first time it took FOREVER. We waited a few years and tried again. Last Saturday night it took forever plus a few years. I cannot stress this enough - really good food, a server who was working really hard (although they seemed understaffed), good wine, etc. - but they simply cannot handle the number of people/large parties that they accept on a Packer weekend. I hope that they will reconsider their current plan because I would like to eat there again, but couldn't consider it at this point. Also a note for anyone with celiac disease, they were very accommodating of a gluten free request. However, when the main course FINALLY arrived, it was brought out by a group of servers that we hadn't seen before and they gave the wrong person the GF dish (multiple people had ordered the same entrée). The mistake was caught by his wife - luckily! My point - it doesn't matter if you can cook GF if you can't deliver GF.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.