Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Hinterland Brewery Restaurant

Hinterland…the hub of contemporary American cuisine in Green Bay, WI. Executive Chef, Kelly Qualley, and Sous Chefs, Dan Fisher, Adam Schierl, and Olen Rice, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.


In order to accomplish this sojourn, we've partnered with fisherman in Honolulu, Seattle and Portland, Maine. These partnerships allow our chefs to procure fresh fish as often as two times a day. Other relationships with small, local growers and ranchers allow us to provide our customers with extraordinary game as well as hand-foraged mushrooms and heirloom produce. The result is a menu that evolves with every season and changes everyday.

1001 Lombardi Avenue
Green Bay, WI 54304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Open daily at 11am

Kitchen closes at 10pm

Cross Street:
S Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(920) 438-8050

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Catering:
Let us bring the experience and sterling reputation of Hinterland directly to your door. Whether you're entertaining 20 guests or 500, Hinterland delivers the finest catering services available. Let your imagination wander, giant South African prawns, authentic wood fire grilled Kobe beef tenderloin, the sky's the limit. Not only will we provide a professional and friendly staff but you'll have our team of chef's at your complete disposal. We specialize in hors d' ouevre parties, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners and elegant weddings. Please call 1-888-604-BEER(2337) to reserve us today.

Parking Details:
Private lot directly in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Qualley

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 10 people or 200, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for you and your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to twenty people, our private dining room is the perfect space set with candelabras and white linens. Or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector, screen and "board room" style tables. For groups of 20 to 70 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 70 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Tressler: (920) 438-8050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Hinterland Brewery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Great Beer (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
See All
Fireplace (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Historic (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Live Sports (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Hinterland is no longer fine dining it is an upper end class sports bar..tv's on and very loud like an ordinary sports bar. Food is fine with good selection of beers. Wine list for wine by the glass is very limited and does not even include a simple Merlot. If you want beer and noise this is your place.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Only the casual bar area of the restaurant was open. It was pretty busy and extremely loud. We were informed that the fine dining area will not be open for a couple of weeks. I hope it is quieter and has some of the ambiance of the old Hinterland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food still excellent. Cool space. Incredibly loud and not conducive to conversation. I miss the intimacy of the old location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our server Isaac was super friendly and helpful with choices. He even checked to see if there was fresh mint to see if they could make me a mojito.
The food was great and my husband loved the Hinterland beer!
Yummy cheese curds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I am hopeful that the restaurant will improve over time. My wife and I loved the old Hinterland (cozy and warm). I found the new location to be too noisy with a sports bar ambiance. The food is decent but not mind blowing. I would have found more value at a lower price point , given the bar atmosphere. The service was ok. The beer is fantastic! I do believe Hinterland will be a wonderful game day experience next to Lambeau, but just ok for date night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The entire experience was great! From drinks at the bar to our dining it was beyond expectations. Wait staff was quick friendly and informative. The appetizer, dinner and dessert were very good.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very noisy the menu is limited the service was slow did not get served standing at the bar over 20 minutes then I finally gave up. Seemed like a cafeteria scored low on ambiance

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It's a beautiful place with great food. I can tell that when it gets warmer, the noise level will be reduced as well, so nothing to complain about on those fronts. The only downside to our meal was that our first waitress was not good at all. She took our drink order and came back for our food order ten minutes later with no drinks. Then we waited another 25 minutes before, still not even having drinks, we went to speak with the front of house staff. From​that point on we had other staff taking our order and taking assisting the other tables she covered. From then on, service was superb, quick, and friendly. We'll still go back sometime. Again, the food and ambience were great and service greatly improved to what looked like their norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

New location but very few hiccups. Great food. Wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good, very good even. This is not the quiet, quaint Hinterland of old. This is now a big loud bar. I was hoarse by the end of our meal. There were 6 of us, and it was very hard for me to hear what the third person away from me was saying. Still, I wouldn't "not go there" for that reason - that is just what it is now. If you want the same dining experience of the old Hinterland - you aren't going to get that here.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As expected prices were high but portions were so small it was laughable. My piece of pork was the same size as a stick of gum, add 3 shrimp and charge $17. I am not a big eater but I left hungry. We had a party of 6 and it was so loud it was hard to have a conversation with anyone not sitting right next to you. Our waiter was super nice and friendly but never brought the napkins or hot sauce that was requested. I would go back for a few beers and maybe try a pizza but not for anything else.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I miss the former Hinterland and the quieter rustic ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was a nice location but not much of a family setting. We asked if there was a kids menu and the said there was a plain burger with cheese. So we ordered it for our 3year old and it was cooked medium rare and cost $ 12.00. Not what we were expecting for price or that no one even asked what we would like it cooked at.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The noise issue should be addressed. I had a hard time hearing my server and it was difficult to have a conversation with the rest of our table without speaking loudly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The place is fun, open, and energetic. Food was fantastic, and arrived in a nice timely manner. We both had the fish plate tonight. Waitress was awesome. Hostess was unfriendly and short. Was kind of worried when we walked in. Snapped at the couple ahead of us and us. But as soon as our waitress showed up it was great. Love to be able to see the brew part through the windows. Once everything is done around the Hinterland building I think it will be amazing and can't wait to go back then.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Appetizer and drinks were amazing! Great menu for foodies & loved the atmosphere of the new spot by the stadium. My food was way over salted and the waitress wouldn't let us pay for it. We didn't even ask and she took it off the bill! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were there the first day they opened. Our reservation was right on time, service
was prompt and efficient. Food very good. The pizza was a little charred and tasting
bitter, but everything else was excellent. The restaurant was so loud, that conversation
was impossible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Went opening night and place was very loud.
It is an industrial style atmosphere.
Also the place was strong smoke smelling because it has an open kitchen and the wood fire cooking.
Food was decent.
They have some high end/priced offerings but would like to have a better atmosphere if wanting the finer dinning.
Beer selection was good and they offer other local micro brews in addition to Hinterlands.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Limited menu, no gluten free options, food was ok, service was good.
Very expensive for what you receive. Extensive wine and beer menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was fantastic like always!!! Be spontaneous to try new things and always get it as the chef suggests to make it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My first time here with a friend. Such an inviting building (although moving soon) got to sit right be the fireplace & it was so cozy. Food was terrific, but not a good place to eat for those who aren't adventurous. Our server was very friendly & fun to talk to, albeit it a bit self-conscious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hinterland is the best restaurant in Green Bay. The food is amazing, the beer is delicious, and I'm never disappointed. The price is steep compared to the rest of the city, so we usually save it for special occasions and celebrations, but you really can't find a better meal in this region. Thanks, Hinterland!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a delicious Valentine's dinner and I was so impressed that although we were running 20 minutes late, they honored our reservation. We were promptly seated near the fireplace and it was a cozy, warm atmosphere. We were headed to a concert and they were very respectful of our time line. I would highly recommend HInterland and I look forward to my next visit. Although they're a brewery, I'm a wine drinker, but my date had a beer and gave it a thumbs-up!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and excellent service. My steak was the best steak I have had from anyone, anywhere; perfectly seasoned and perfectly grilled. I can't wait to go back and I am looking forward to going to their new location in the Titletown District next to historic Lambeau Field. This is the best restaurant in Green Bay.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent all the way around. We had reservations 2 weeks ahead and were seated inbar area-a little disappointing. The bread pudding desert is fantastic

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although we had a reservation we were seated in the bar area at a high top. Lots of open tables around us that appeared to be for walk ins. Great for any other time but not Valentine's Day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is AMAZING. Each bite left us smiling and shaking our heads. Great atmosphere. Some meals are a bit pricey but TOTALLY worth it to treat yourself.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always amazing! Food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We started with the shrimp, grits and pork belly appetizer - Excellent! Try the beer cocktails - you will be surprised with how good the components balance. Main meals were also very good - we had ribeye and duck breast. Service was very good as well. This was our second time at Hinterland and will return. It's a bit pricey, but worth the money for a nice treat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Not up to par food was not the proper temperature
Staff was pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Phenomenal meal and the beer is outstanding. We had the duck and the barramundi entrees and each was perfect. It does not get any better in Green Bay than this.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Hinterland is my favorite restaurant in Green Bay! Their beer is out of this world!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing, friendly service, creative drinks and out of this world food.....really enjoyed our time here and will definitely be back....great job and thank you!!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best restaurant in Green Bay , Hands Down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great except the upstairs seating area was rather cold. It was rather cold outside so maybe that was part of the problem.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant since it opened, some 20 years ago. It has changed and not for the best. The menu was not well balanced. The entrees were cooked well, but sauces were very crude. They no longer do bread service. When you hear something as pretentious as that, it's over. My biggest complaint is the wine list, which is very average and over priced. Rombauer Zin was $77. I just paid $50 in another restaurant. Seghesio Old Vine Zin was $97 and I just paid $52 in a much better restaurant. I'm willing to pay for quality, but enough with the stupid wine prices. Waiter was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waitstaff was friendly and took our orders in a timely fashion. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Hinterland is top notch! Great service and the drinks and food are excellent. Not your typical bar food. A bit on the pricey side but totally worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We hadn't been to Hinterland in over a year. We had anticipated the gracious dining experience we've seen in the past. We were seated in a noisy bar area, had a very stressed server, and were disappointed in the menu - it used to be far more creative with healthier options. Probably wouldn't come back except for beer and pizza nights. Sad to see this change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.