About Hinterland Brewery Restaurant

313 Dousman Street
Green Bay, WI 54303
View Larger Map

Hinterland…the hub of contemporary American cuisine in Green Bay, WI. Executive Chef, Kelly Qualley, and Sous Chef, Dan Fisher, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.



In order to accomplish this sojourn, we've partnered with fisherman in Honolulu, Seattle and Portland, Maine. These partnerships allow our chefs to procure fresh fish as often as two times a day. Other relationships with small, local growers and ranchers allow us to provide our customers with extraordinary game as well as hand-foraged mushrooms and heirloom produce. The result is a menu that evolves with every season and changes everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(920) 438-8050

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Catering:
Let us bring the experience and sterling reputation of Hinterland directly to your door. Whether you're entertaining 20 guests or 500, Hinterland delivers the finest catering services available. Let your imagination wander, giant South African prawns, authentic wood fire grilled Kobe beef tenderloin, the sky's the limit. Not only will we provide a professional and friendly staff but you'll have our team of chef's at your complete disposal. We specialize in hors d' ouevre parties, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners and elegant weddings. Please call 1-888-604-BEER(2337) to reserve us today.

Parking Details:
Private lot directly in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Qualley

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 10 people or 200, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for you and your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to twenty people, our private dining room is the perfect space set with candelabras and white linens. Or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector, screen and "board room" style tables. For groups of 20 to 70 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 70 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Tressler: (920) 438-8050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Hinterland Brewery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Fireplace (15)
Great Beer (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (8)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hinterland is the best restaurant in Gre ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Hinterland is the best restaurant in Green Bay. The food is amazing, the beer is delicious, and I'm never disappointed. The price is steep compared to the rest of the city, so we usually save it for special occasions and celebrations, but you really can't find a better meal in this region. Thanks, Hinterland!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a delicious Valentine's dinner an ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a delicious Valentine's dinner and I was so impressed that although we were running 20 minutes late, they honored our reservation. We were promptly seated near the fireplace and it was a cozy, warm atmosphere. We were headed to a concert and they were very respectful of our time line. I would highly recommend HInterland and I look forward to my next visit. Although they're a brewery, I'm a wine drinker, but my date had a beer and gave it a thumbs-up!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all the way around. We had res ...

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent all the way around. We had reservations 2 weeks ahead and were seated inbar area-a little disappointing. The bread pudding desert is fantastic

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food is AMAZING. Each bite left us smili ...

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is AMAZING. Each bite left us smiling and shaking our heads. Great atmosphere. Some meals are a bit pricey but TOTALLY worth it to treat yourself.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with the shrimp, grits and po ...

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

We started with the shrimp, grits and pork belly appetizer - Excellent! Try the beer cocktails - you will be surprised with how good the components balance. Main meals were also very good - we had ribeye and duck breast. Service was very good as well. This was our second time at Hinterland and will return. It's a bit pricey, but worth the money for a nice treat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not up to par food was not the proper te ...

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Not up to par food was not the proper temperature

Staff was pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Phenomenal meal and the beer is outstand ...

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Phenomenal meal and the beer is outstanding. We had the duck and the barramundi entrees and each was perfect. It does not get any better in Green Bay than this.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hinterland is my favorite restaurant in ...

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Hinterland is my favorite restaurant in Green Bay! Their beer is out of this world!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, friendly service, creative drin ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing, friendly service, creative drinks and out of this world food.....really enjoyed our time here and will definitely be back....great job and thank you!!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Green Bay , Hands Dow ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best restaurant in Green Bay , Hands Down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the upstairs ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great except the upstairs seating area was rather cold. It was rather cold outside so maybe that was part of the problem.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I have been going to this restaurant sin ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant since it opened, some 20 years ago. It has changed and not for the best. The menu was not well balanced. The entrees were cooked well, but sauces were very crude. They no longer do bread service. When you hear something as pretentious as that, it's over. My biggest complaint is the wine list, which is very average and over priced. Rombauer Zin was $77. I just paid $50 in another restaurant. Seghesio Old Vine Zin was $97 and I just paid $52 in a much better restaurant. I'm willing to pay for quality, but enough with the stupid wine prices. Waiter was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The waitstaff was friendly and took our ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waitstaff was friendly and took our orders in a timely fashion. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Hinterland is top notch! Great serv ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Hinterland is top notch! Great service and the drinks and food are excellent. Not your typical bar food. A bit on the pricey side but totally worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Hinterland in over a y ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We hadn't been to Hinterland in over a year. We had anticipated the gracious dining experience we've seen in the past. We were seated in a noisy bar area, had a very stressed server, and were disappointed in the menu - it used to be far more creative with healthier options. Probably wouldn't come back except for beer and pizza nights. Sad to see this change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The beer, food and wine list were all fa ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The beer, food and wine list were all fantastic. Our waiter was very eager to serve and made our time great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food, the setting, the changing meal ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food, the setting, the changing meal. the service, the fireplace all contribute to an excellent dining experience. The changing menu is always interesting and anticipating. We enjoy the relaxing time of being at Hinterland. Thank You.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, great creative food, fantastic dri ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cozy, great creative food, fantastic drinks/beers, wonderful service and trendy/cool atmosphere (but not pretentious). Wonderfully unexpected find in Green Bay

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a great experience. Serv ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall, we had a great experience. Server was so friendly and knowledgeable! Getting our table set up seemed chaotic-they were busy, but didn't seem ready for the influx of people. Food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu changes (nightly?). So the menu we ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Menu changes (nightly?). So the menu we read online was not the menu we were presented the evening we dined. Very limited menu and chef would not prepare anything except what was on the menu that evening. We were unfamiliar with the area, or would have gone somewhere else. Some people are really into goat cheese and hummus. I guess you could say we are pretty much meat/chicken/fish and potatoe people. Really had no idea what we were eating. EXPENSIVE. Courses started at $30. Atmosphere was very nice and our server was absolutely great. We were in Green Bay, WI....not the top of the Ritz in New York. Yes....we LOVE Green Bay :) It was my birthday, and we definitely would not have gone, had I known there was a "daily" menu. The night before a Packer game, I wanted good, fun food. And like I said....we could have walked out, but had no idea what (if anything) was around and our Uber driver had already left. Our server made the evening, but we would not go back. Wish the chef would have been as accomodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Always a great experience at Hinterland!

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always a great experience at Hinterland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upstairs bar was unique and fun. Great b ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Upstairs bar was unique and fun. Great beer and other drinks. Pork chop and barramundi were delicious. Will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. The restaurant is way too lo ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. The restaurant is way too loud. We went for our anniversary and could not even hear each other. Not recommended if you want a nice quiet dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Picked the place based on Open Table inf ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Picked the place based on Open Table info and the website as we are from out of town. The menu looked great and we all decided it was a good choice. When we arrived, we found that the bar was showing a great football game. We asked if we could sit in the lounge and have dinner so we could watch the game. The host was not overly thrilled with our request, mentioned something about many reservations but eventually agreed to seat us in the bar. The menu was very limited compared to what we saw online. Maybe because they were going to be really busy. Although everything sounded great, nothing really matched what we were looking for. We did have the charcuterie plate and the rangoon dip. Both were awesome as was the Pilsner.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in Green Bay for ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Green Bay for years. Chef Kelli and the team is always creative and great at putting together the perfect combo of textures and flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinnner as always. Our server was ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great dinnner as always. Our server was a little quirky, but was a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great drinks, Casey was well ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, great drinks, Casey was well informed & more than happy to answer any questions.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived there was no reservation ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

When we arrived there was no reservation under OpenTable. Host stated the system was not working. Service was extremely slow it took 40 minutes to get our appetizers. Food was tasty atmosphere was excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

One of the best meals we have ever had w ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

One of the best meals we have ever had with an extensive range of excellent craft beers that our waiter could knowledgably advise as to suitability for our menu selections. The portion sizes were quite large and we could not find room for the delicious sounding desserts. So we chose the “Buy a round for the kitchen” option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had 3 appetizers - Bison meatballs, s ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had 3 appetizers - Bison meatballs, shrimp and a meat and cheese platter, All were excellent.

My entrée was a bone in tenderloin. The cut was not good thick at one end and very thin at the other so the temperature of the steak ran from rare to well done.

The people who ordered the fish were pleased

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited menu choices. Fish not fantasti ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Limited menu choices. Fish not fantastic. Prices unreasonable high. Do not like automatic addition of 20% tip. Won't recommend or return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Love hinterland and I can't wait for it ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

Love hinterland and I can't wait for it to move near my house next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

So we really liked Hinterland. Food was ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

So we really liked Hinterland. Food was amazing, drinks were good, atmosphere and decor interesting, server friendly and helpful. Would we return? Without a doubt! We wanted to go back the next day but we were headed to the Lackers game and they are closed Sundays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a sampling of the appetizers and ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a sampling of the appetizers and salads. All were very good. The shrimp and grits, Korean beef and Brussel sprouts were memorable. We were seated in the bar area even with a reservation. Not a complaint necessarily, but it was quite loud. If you have any issues hearing I'd definitely recommend asking for restaurant seating.

Our server was new and the place was very busy when we came in. Our initial service was slow and a bitty spotty at first. It improved considerably as things calmed down a bit later in the evening. I think our server would have been fine if she'd received a little assistance.

I'd be happy to go back. I recommend their Milwaukee site as well and would love to see one in Madison.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The beers were excellent, as was the cha ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

The beers were excellent, as was the charcuterie and cheese plate. Taco Tuesday was delish! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hinterland Brewery is a gem in Green Bay ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Hinterland Brewery is a gem in Green Bay. Great urban atmosphere. Wonderful, creative, locally sourced food, with friendly, knowledgable staff. Great craft beer, with a knockout wine list. WHAT A FIND!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 22nd annive ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 22nd anniversary and wanted a nice restaurant. Hinterland was recommended by a foodie friend from Dallas, TX. and did not disappoint. Great appetizers, service, wine, beer and meal. The atmosphere was that of friends and couples enjoying conversation and an nice evening out. We enjoyed our evening, thank you Hinterland!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hinterland in Green Bay is always a stop ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Hinterland in Green Bay is always a stop for dinner on our way to door county. One of our favorite restaurants in Wisconsin, great beer and amazing food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brewery restaurant in downtown ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wonderful brewery restaurant in downtown Green Bay. On site craft beers and unique menu of fish, steak and pork.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service in unique old buil ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food and service in unique old building/brewery

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.