About Hinterland Brewery Restaurant

313 Dousman Street
Green Bay, WI 54303
View Larger Map

Hinterland…the hub of contemporary American cuisine in Green Bay, WI. Executive Chef, Kelly Qualley, and Sous Chef, Dan Fisher, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.



In order to accomplish this sojourn, we've partnered with fisherman in Honolulu, Seattle and Portland, Maine. These partnerships allow our chefs to procure fresh fish as often as two times a day. Other relationships with small, local growers and ranchers allow us to provide our customers with extraordinary game as well as hand-foraged mushrooms and heirloom produce. The result is a menu that evolves with every season and changes everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(920) 438-8050

Website:
http://www.hinterlandbeer.com/

Catering:
Let us bring the experience and sterling reputation of Hinterland directly to your door. Whether you're entertaining 20 guests or 500, Hinterland delivers the finest catering services available. Let your imagination wander, giant South African prawns, authentic wood fire grilled Kobe beef tenderloin, the sky's the limit. Not only will we provide a professional and friendly staff but you'll have our team of chef's at your complete disposal. We specialize in hors d' ouevre parties, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners and elegant weddings. Please call 1-888-604-BEER(2337) to reserve us today.

Parking Details:
Private lot directly in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Qualley

Private Party Facilities:
At Hinterland, the private dining options are endless. Whether your group’s size is 10 people or 200, we can provide the pinnacle experience and value for you and your guests. If your looking for an intimate space for up to twenty people, our private dining room is the perfect space set with candelabras and white linens. Or if a smaller business meeting is the agenda let us facilitate a private room with an LCD projector, screen and "board room" style tables. For groups of 20 to 70 guests, Hinterland’s lounge is the perfect space with its own private bar for reception and plenty of seating for a “sit-down” dinner or passed hors d’ oeuvre party. Also, the entire restaurant is available for private parties of 70 or more people for more formal wedding receptions, holiday parties, business meetings or for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Tressler: 9204388050x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wood Fire Grilled Pizza
Stout Barbecue Smoked Pulled Pork
Luna Chocolate Stout Cake
Grilled Twin Elms Asparagus
Greek Yogurt Panna Cotta
Polka Dot Pastures Ham Schnitzel
Bbq Pork Sliders With Apple Slaw
smoked pork belly
Wood-Fired Grilled Duck Breast
Sweet And Salty Blondie
House Smoked Ham Flatbread
House Smoked Ham Pizza
Pulled Pork & Mango Pizza
Sweet Grass Farms Beef Hamburger
Tempura White Tuna Roll
Hawaiian Sweet Crab And Ricotta Gnocchi
Half Cherry Wheat, Half Luna Stout
Momofuku Crack Pie
Stout Barbecue Glazed Gulf Shrimp
Burger
Taco Tuesday
Winterland Beer
Pork Pierogies And Porchetta
Stout Barbecue Pulled Pork Slider
Tacos
Luna Stout
Roasted Beet And Sunflower Sprouts Salad
Barbecue Glazed Pork Belly
Korean Barbecue Hanger Steak
Heirloom Kale & Frisee Salad
Stuffed Quail
Wisconsin Cheese And Charcuterie Plate
Wood-Fire Grilled Elk Tenderloin
Jamaican Jerk Chicken
Seared Diver Sca
Boudin Sausage Balls
Black Garlic Glazed Pork Lion
Pork belly with scallops
Sunset Farms Veal Veal Ragout

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Hinterland Brewery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Green Bay
Best Restaurants in Green Bay ›

special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (23)
romantic (14)
See All
good for groups (11)
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Loved this place! Beautiful insid ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great! Loved this place! Beautiful inside and great staff and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Herb encrusted Halibut was fantastic!! ...

Dined 7 days ago

Herb encrusted Halibut was fantastic!! Pear Vodka Old Fashioned is an extremely refreshing drink - new experience I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dinner, very good and affordable wi ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice dinner, very good and affordable wine list, very friendly and courteous wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Son's Find

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our son discovered Hinterland & recommended it to us knowing we most likely wouldn't have found it on our own - we are extremely pleased that we listened to him. Our initial greeting made us feel very welcome & the bartender made us feel right at home. (Drinks were great too) Our food was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly. Everything about our experience was fantastic & we plan to go back soon for dinner on our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

If you've only visited for the beer, mak ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

If you've only visited for the beer, make sure you return for the food!!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice place

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food. Good service. Was a very busy night. Stairs keep the staff well exercised. Enjoyed the salmon pate, Packer salad, and shrimp soup. Spouse had a great fish dish. Great presentation. Portions were just right. We enjoyed an angel food dessert--not traditional angel food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just excellent all around. Very accommod ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Just excellent all around. Very accommodating staff, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and food. Can't wai ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Can't wait to go back again. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Green Bay

Dined on May 1, 2016

Travelling from Charlottesville, VA, we are on a tour of the USA and scheduled a stop in Green Bay. As we travel we are looking for interesting things found locally including restaurants. Hinterland seemed to fit that criteria so we reserved there and found it was everything we hoped for. The food was exquisite, the atmosphere delightful and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beer brewed on-site was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Resturant in Green Bay

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been going to Hinterland for years and always have a great experience. The food is consistently amazing. Great atmosphere service exceptional (we always request Rob). Have been to all fine dining in Green Bay and Appleton and Hinterland is hands down the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Best beer in town

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent beer and delicious albeit expensive food. Did not like the smokey atmosphere (from smoking meat) and the service was a bit slow for just appetizers and drinks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome atmosphere - great food!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had friends in town from Minneapolis, and we wanted to give them an experience that was not a chain restaurant, with some local fare and overall good food. We were all impressed with the variety in the menu - the farm to table is a favorite for all of us, and Hinterland did not disappoint. Two of us had flatbread while one had pork belly and one had swordfish. All entrees were delicious! There is a great wine list, and we certainly enjoyed the Hinterland brews. Our server was personable and knowledgeable of the menu, and he made some great recommendations. We did indulge in some dessert as well - I had a cup of the S'mores coffee (it was a chilly evening, and that hit the spot), and my friends enjoyed the salted caramel gelato brownie sundae - they stop themselves from licking the bowl, but they definitely wanted to! Everything about the experience was great, and we look forward to our next visit to Hinterland!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on March 24, 2016

Rob G. Takes care of us for my Mom's birthday every year. He's real neat, just like your food. Thanks Rob!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thought food was excellent. Mahi was superb.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Service was great. Food was great. Drinks were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friends all call me a food snob and I ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

My friends all call me a food snob and I must say I was impressed with the food the other night. It was very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We've been here before and thoroughly en ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We've been here before and thoroughly enjoyed it each time. This visit, pork porterhouse was excellent. Barramundi was just ok, nothing exceptional, very little seasoning, a bit bland. Ambience was not what we were used to. It seems they're trying to be more of a hot, up-scale, young crowd craft brewery, but falling short on all fronts. I'd rather have the upscale menu and the atmosphere that goes with a high-end menu, with less focus on being trendy. Menu not as good as past visits, would like to see more seafood especially the scallops. Service was good but not great, had to ask for several things. Sat in the bar area not by request, just got seated there even though we had reservations. All in all, not bad, but not great. I'll think of other options before we try again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reliably great food

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food, interesting seafood selection, nice desserts, intriguing fusion of flavors, excellent, small portions. Good selection of after dinner drinks If you can get a seat next to the fireplace in winter it doubles the pleasure

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

Food service was a bit slow. Beer and fo ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Food service was a bit slow. Beer and food were excellent. Kids menu needs updating like a basic chicken breast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable Valentines Night Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had an excellent valentines night dinner with my fiance'. The service, freshness of the food and wine list were all top-notch.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable Food and Service!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Read quite a few reviews and decided to give Hinterland a try for Valentines Day. Made reservations with ease on-line for 8:15, arrived at 8:00 for cocktails and was seated by 8:10:) We were seated on the lower level across from the main bar...cozy and nice ambience. The service was excellent and the food was even better...we tried everything from salad to flat bread pizza to shrimp to tenderloin and every bite was awesome!! Compliments to the Chefs...they seemed to prepare the food like they care-much appreciated:). We will be back soon and follow to the new location when Titletown District is complete.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly and Tasty

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good character/ambience on both floors of this unique older brick building. The food has great flavor, using locally sourced products where possible. The brews made on premise are quality through and through. Our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wine menus. This place will remain on our repeater list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent and the place is cozy and inviting. Great place a date night

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

my entree good, guest dinners not as good

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

I had the Herb Crusted Cobia, which was very nice; i would order this again. My guests had the duck entree and another fish, maybe the Mahi Mahi. The duck was not the best quality of duck and the fish entree was really lacking in flavor. The two desserts ordered were good, but not outstanding; i wouldn't order either of them, one was a chocolate dessert and one was a pear dessert. I would give the exact name of the dishes, but the menu on open table is not current, nor is the one on the restaurant website. Also know, that this restaurant's acoustics make it very loud. Every visit I've had here has been a problem to hear discussions at my table. Do not bring anyone who is hard of hearing to a weekend dinner.

food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first time here and we were ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

This was our first time here and we were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was. The duck breast and mahi mahi were cooked perfectly. We definitely intend on going here again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything it's really good from the b ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything it's really good from the beer, the entree and dessert . The presentation is awesome, service is good and the design of the restaurant too with real wood fire placeI'm

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, a bit pricey

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is always great. But the wait to get you food may be an hour. Luckily they have great apps and drinks too. Expect to spend a minimum of $60 per person for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on January 23, 2016

First time here, and definitely enjoyed it. I was glad we went earlier, as it got fairly busy and loud a little later, but nothing too bad. If you want a nice quiet dinner plan early. Do try the lobster bisque soup, incredible! Overall everything was very good. Would definitely go again, just be prepared to spend over $100.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Restaurant

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

The carpaccio was absolutely delicious, as was the rest of our food. Terrific, warm atmosphere with excellent service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice downtown find

Dined on January 3, 2016

Small portions for large price, but high quality food. Great beer selection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Service

Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food and service. Came to town for the Packer game. We made our reservation a week before and the process was simple. Needed to change the time a few hours before hand and that wasn't a problem. Arrived 5 minutes early and we were seated in a flash. Had a few salads and the veal meatballs which were excellent. Meat and cheese appetizer was excellent. Had fresh fish as the main course which was excellent. Had creme brûlée for desert and it maybe the best desert I've ever had. 5 star.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Must visit in Green Bay

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went here on New Year's eve. It could not have been better! We were seated on time. They did not overbook the restaurant. The staff was attentive. The food was amazing And we were not rushed at all. Can't wait to go back! What a great start to the new year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was fantasic and so was the ser ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The meal was fantasic and so was the service! Especially considering it was New Year's Eve!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best and most elegant food in Green Bay

Dined on December 29, 2015

While you may be a bit inhibited at first when you look at the prices, you will quickly realize that the food is more than worth the prices listed. Besides the unique and tasty food dishes served, the atmosphere also adds to the ambiance. We requested a table by the fireplace and enjoyed a beautiful fire as we dined on our 31st anniversary. Hats off to the amazing chefs!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

3rd or fourth meal here

Dined on December 27, 2015

Creative menu. Remarkable use of local ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Do not visit on a Packer weekend

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

We have been to Hinterland twice - both times with a group of 8 on the Saturday night of a Packer weekend. The first time it took FOREVER. We waited a few years and tried again. Last Saturday night it took forever plus a few years. I cannot stress this enough - really good food, a server who was working really hard (although they seemed understaffed), good wine, etc. - but they simply cannot handle the number of people/large parties that they accept on a Packer weekend. I hope that they will reconsider their current plan because I would like to eat there again, but couldn't consider it at this point. Also a note for anyone with celiac disease, they were very accommodating of a gluten free request. However, when the main course FINALLY arrived, it was brought out by a group of servers that we hadn't seen before and they gave the wrong person the GF dish (multiple people had ordered the same entrée). The mistake was caught by his wife - luckily! My point - it doesn't matter if you can cook GF if you can't deliver GF.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and Relaxing

Dined on December 5, 2015

We had a nice night with great food, service and ambiance! I would highly recommend the Hinterland.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is incredible and the beer is to ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Food is incredible and the beer is too! Don't miss the opportunity to dine here!

food1
ambience4
service1

Poor Experience

Dined on November 26, 2015

I wouldn't recommend this at all to anybody. The ambiance and presentation was very good. However, the food was not cooked properly, way too salty, medium well steak was rare. Waitress customer service - no updates on food that took over 2 hours, waitress nowhere to be found so other staff trying to assist us. We had reservations, not sure what the issue was. It was our perception, the waitress forgot to put our order in and then never told us and our food was rushed through. 6 people were exposed to this poor experience. This was my first experience, and will be my last. A lot of competition for you in the Green Bay area. The drinks were good and the bar service was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Enjoyed our dinner! The fireplace was inviting and warm on a cold night. Service and staff were awesome. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

Dined on November 22, 2015

I've wanted to try the restaurant for some time and I wasn't disappointed. Went with the elk which was cooked perfectly. I sampled the pork tenderloin which was also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.