Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.52mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

About Hilltop House Restaurant

The Hilltop House is a fine dining restaurant located in an elegant home built in 1908 and is situated in the historic Haymount district of Fayetteville.This home features several beautifully decorated rooms where you and your guests will enjoy your next dinner, lunch or special occasion surrounded by timeless elegance. We offer Southern Cuisine with French influences. Come experience a "Difference in Dining".


Sit back and relax as you savor our creative, inspired, yet classic cuisine. Relish the unmatched flavors of the delectable cuisine as a highly trained staff attends to your every whim. You will find that the Hilltop House provides the perfect balance of superb cuisine, exceptional service and ageless, elegant ambience which all culminate into an unforgettable dining experience.

1240 Fort Bragg Road
Fayetteville, NC 28305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 484-6699

Website:
http://hilltophousenc.com/

Catering:
The Hilltop House offers off~site catering at the venue of your choice. Simply meet with our catering coordinator to customize your entire event from the menu to tables and linens. We offer full service catering to meet any needs no matter how big or small. We have all off~site ABC permits to meet your catering needs as well. Contact us today and let us make your event a most memorable one!

Executive Chef:
Beth Shearin-Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Hilltop House offers private dining rooms for all types of special events. We offer special pricing for military functions. The entire house can be rented out for the evening for your special event. Whether you are having a company party, a wedding reception, or large military gathering the Hilltop House is the perfect venue for your special event. If you can dream it, we can do it. Contact us today for availability and pricing.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you like things small & intimate or prefer a grand gala,plan your event at the Hilltop House. We have private rooms of various sizes to meet your needs. With personal event planning,custom menus & an elegant atmosphere, the Hilltop House offers you the ultimate private dining experience.

Hilltop House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Private Room (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was the worst dining experience EVER for me! I took my father and family to Hilltop for Father's Day. I noticed the sign upon entering that said gratuity charged for every meal. I was fine with that because I assumed this was because of the Father's Day Brunch. I also noticed that the brunch was 25.90. As we are seated I noticed how warm it was in the area. The waitress came over and asked our drink order. When we asked the options she gave us this odd look and simply said they were coke products. I knew from the website Hilltop was serving mimosas so I asked about other alcoholic beverages to which she replied we can make anything.. and then she walked off. She came back and took our drink order and left again - no mention of how to get to the buffet or what was being served. We figured it out and walked over. As I get to the first food station I was immediately repulsed by the flies. The deli meat tray was consumed with flies and the potato salad and fruit salad had flies as well. I wanted some crab legs but was turned once again because the server was putting fresh crab legs on the tray using his hands. The server at the prime rib carving station had an attitude because I asked for a slice that was well done. The fried chicken was raw and our waitress only came back to our table to take the plates. She never offered to refill our drinks. I paid almost 200 bucks for service and a meal that was beyond sub par. Do not dine at this establishment. I promise if you do you will be severely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Sunday brunch buffet has excellent food options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Salmon overcooked- Poor plate presentation.
This place has seen its day some time ago. We were there at 6 PM on a Friday and ONLY people there . That should tell you something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was looking forward to bringing Mother and Grandmother on Saturday before Mother's day to lunch. Called to make reservation on Friday and was told to do it online, so I did. Online it said Mother's day brunch was for Sunday, so we checked out the menu items and that's what we wanted and expected. However, when we arrived we were told you had to eat the Mother's day "brunch". There was very little to choose from and where I come from brunch means breakfast and lunch food. It was like a micro Golden Corral. The price per person was $32.95 which was waaaayyyyy over priced. So after myself and another table spoke with the manager, they adjusted it to $13.95. Better price but not what we expected or wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As always our family enjoyed this experience. We needed seating accommodations and they did so without any issues. The food was amazing as always.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Healthy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I made a reservation for a party of seven and we were given a spacious table and everyone was comfortable. The food was delicious. My friends and I already have our sights on Sunday brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at the Hilltop House Restaurant on 15 April 2017. It was NOT a good experience. The staff was not adequately manned, the service was slow, and three of the limited main dishes were not available from the menu. I can't understand how you can charge high prices for food and not have three main dinner items. I requested to speak with the manager but only could speak with the waiter. Unfortunately for the limited restaurant staff, they accepted all the blame from multiple customers. That is the job of management. This is unacceptable restaurant management. At the very least we should have been given a chance to talk to the owner, management, given a reduced bill. We could have eaten anywhere but chose to dine at Hilltop House Restaurant. We won't make that mistake again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service, good food- buffet are and adjoining room very hot. Pretty decor

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Sunday brunch is absolutely AMAZING. The service and food was great. The best dining experience in Fayetteville

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing Sunday brunch and the best service I have had on a long time! Super friendly staff and the brunch items were classy. I liked everything I tried. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was good. Not my first time here. However, it was a little embarrassing when one of my friends mentioned she really wanted the beef tips but the dish was empty. I assured her that they would refill it and we brought it to the attention of one of the servers. My friend finished her whole meal, waited, and that particular dish was never refilled (it's a buffet brunch!). It was my Friend's 1st time eating there (at my invitation). We were seated at 11:00 am and lingered over coffee and dessert. No one came to apologize. On our way out, someone refilled the beef tips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed the variety of food during the Sunday brunch. Excellent service!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My 2nd visit & my husband's first. He loved it! We were celebrating our anniversary weekend. The food was good and a vast variety of choices. Sunday brunch is my favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was wonderful! The service was exceptional as was the food! We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Made reservations at 7pm for a 8pm Saturday night dinner. Arrived at 8 pm and was told the kitchen was closed for the night as they weren't busy. Would recommend calling them before arrival to see if they are open and if they will serve for a dinner reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

way too small amount of food for the price and the menu is tiny as hell. Everything we wanted to get they didn't have. our bill was $100 and it wasn't even worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our experience at Hilltop House was fantastic. It was quiet and the wait staff was knowledgable and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was decent, but nothing special. Buffet style brunch. My main malfunction was getting a bill for almost $75 for two diners. I hope they have defibrillators onsite. Those prices are heart attack inducing. The quality of the food was nowhere NEAR commensurate with that bill.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service and atmosphere were good. The wine list and menu are good. We were underwhelmed by the food. I have had good experiences and great food here in the past and hope we came on an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed at the time it took to prepare our food. My fiancé and I waited two hours for our food to arrive at our table. We paid the kids daycare for 3 hours and used over half the time sitting at the table with no food. Our valentines night was ruined, not even to mention we paid $140.00 and wasn't even satisfied.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very romantic! Friendly service!! Great food!! Enjoyed the ambiance!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for valentines day. We waited over 30 minutes for our food. I requested medium rare and got medium. The food was bland and defiantly not worth the price and on top of that they charge a mandatory 20% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unfortunately this was not a great experience at all, long story short are food came out cold and very over cooked I had to ask about 4 times for some bread which didn't end up coming until we were finished with the meal. No one came to refill our waters or even ask if we needed anything after initially placing our orders. When explaining the concern the waiter just said ok and received our check, no questions or apology.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a reservation for Valentine's Day. Service, food and atmosphere was not that great. Pre-pepared food, overcooked and cold. We had reservations and were seated in the bar area which was not ideal for this occasion very cold and crowded. We dined at this restaurant for brunch in the past and was pleased with the food service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff was very pleasant, and made sure you had a great experience. The food was hot off plate, and very well plated. Taste was amazing, defiantly worth a drive to Fayetteville to trip for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was very excited to get the opportunity to visit Hilltop House on Valentine's Day with my date. Unfortunately, the excitement quickly ended when I arrived. Upon coming in I was greeted and seated awaiting my date who is nurse just like myself. Unfortunately she was caught in traffic near the hospital when she got off and I went to the restaurant ahead of time to ensure our reservation was not lost although the restaurant was far beyond at capacity and had plenty of open tables. I explained to the manager the situation and it was fine so I sat down and date was only about 10 minutes late and the manager came over and said we don't hold reservations and if your party isint here in the next few minutes we would not be able to accompany you. Soon my date arrived and we were seated. Our waiter was immediately rude and seemed to look at us different because we were an interracial couple. We ordered and it took over an hour to get our food and after learning the table beside us had already sent their food back twice because it was incorrect we were not at all surprised. Due to the long time we had to wait for our food my dates food was amazing and was correct. My entree was the shrimp and grits. Or should I say "grits with about five extremely small shrimp" I had a huge slab of grits which looked extremely un-appetizing and cold. The whole atmosphere of my evening was ruined and clearly I was not the only one after speaking with the table beside mine. Save your money and before spending $150 like I did and get metiocre food I would have been better served at my local Outback Steakhouse.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I call this the best restaurant in Fayetteville. The owner, Beth, always comes to our table to speak to us. She makes us feel like family. We are a lesbian couple and we are not used to this type of treatment around this area, but Beth has always made us feel respected in her establishment. The food has always been amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Business Meals, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, People Watching, Historic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, ambience, and service. I was able to dine in private with my queen and we were very pleased. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The server seemed indifferent. He did not know the chefs pasta special. When he came back he could not explain the dish well. We had bread plates, but we're not offered bread. When we inquired he stated that it would take 15 mimutes, but he never brought bread. He did a few other things that don't warrant mentioning as it comes of whiny. However, on the way out, he was the only employee around and he did not say goodnight. We only noticed him because he started turning off the lights as we were walking to the door.

The good was average. The service was disappointing. Maybe he did not care because the restaurant has a guaranteed gratuity policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Every time we have friends come to visit Fayetteville we make sure they are able to get by the HillTop for brunch

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One great Sunday Brunch option. Buffet stays fresh because its all good and people leep eating it all up. But its better for a "date" brunch! *wink, wink*

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Hilltop House restaurant is one of the few options in Fayetteville for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our waitress and the ambiance was nice. However, the food was below par and well below our expectations. The staff had a large party and us single table patrons paid the price in timelines and the quality of our food. My cowboy ribeye road in on horseback after too long of a wait, was tough, tasteless, and only semi-warm. The other entrées were ok only. When teenage boys complain about taste and temp of food, it is certainly an indicator. The wait staff was apologetic but so disappointing for a family New Years dinner. Frankly I was surprised based on reviews and previous functions at Hilltop. Never a manager or chef came by and the young waitress was left to apologize for the lackluster kitchen performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Food was average not bad but not great. The Service was the most horrible service I have since I can remember. The waiter came got our drink order (which he got wrong) came back to get the food order and I didn't see him again after I ask another waiter for the check. Drop the check and didn't even ask if we need it anything else like water to down our food. will not come back and do not recommend the place a bit pricy for average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a great meal and the atmosphere was perfect. Christmas trees around with a small band serenaded the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was amazing. The service was incredible, the food was great, and the venue was beautiful.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Came for xmas lunch with a friend. Atmosphere was festive. Service good. Food was good. My issue was that they were serving from a buffet, which I enjoyed, however, they allowed the dessert selection to completely dwindle. My friend and I were looking forward to dessert and coffee after our meal. I decided to go ahead and order dessert off menu and was told there was only one option; cheesecake. I was surprised at the limited choice, but, ordered it anyway. Goodness! I certainly should have inquired as to the price! $11!!! The entire buffet was only $13 or $14. And to add insult to injury, that was the skinniest slice of cheesecake I have ever received at a restaurant. I have dined here several times, and have always been happy with my experience. I will probably do so again. I don't mind paying for a good meal, but I was a bit taken aback on my value for this meal, I am sad to say.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Local favorite. Variety on buffet but better than standard buffet. Charming southern atmosphere

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was not as pleased with the recent Sunday Brunch for our 36th wedding anniversary. There were missing usual Sunday Brunch foods, I.e. Smoked salmon and antipasto. The roast beef was not freshly cooked but warmed over to be carved. The room we were seated in had no heat, so we were uncomfortable, ate and visited less, left earlier than normal.

Tags: Historic, Disabled Access, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.