About Hilltop House Restaurant

1240 Fort Bragg Road
Fayetteville, NC 28305
View Larger Map

The Hilltop House is a fine dining restaurant located in an elegant home built in 1908 and is situated in the historic Haymount district of Fayetteville.This home features several beautifully decorated rooms where you and your guests will enjoy your next dinner, lunch or special occasion surrounded by timeless elegance. We offer Southern Cuisine with French influences. Come experience a "Difference in Dining".


Sit back and relax as you savor our creative, inspired, yet classic cuisine. Relish the unmatched flavors of the delectable cuisine as a highly trained staff attends to your every whim. You will find that the Hilltop House provides the perfect balance of superb cuisine, exceptional service and ageless, elegant ambience which all culminate into an unforgettable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 484-6699

Website:
http://hilltophousenc.com/

Catering:
The Hilltop House offers off~site catering at the venue of your choice. Simply meet with our catering coordinator to customize your entire event from the menu to tables and linens. We offer full service catering to meet any needs no matter how big or small. We have all off~site ABC permits to meet your catering needs as well. Contact us today and let us make your event a most memorable one!

Executive Chef:
Beth Shearin-Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Hilltop House offers private dining rooms for all types of special events. We offer special pricing for military functions. The entire house can be rented out for the evening for your special event. Whether you are having a company party, a wedding reception, or large military gathering the Hilltop House is the perfect venue for your special event. If you can dream it, we can do it. Contact us today for availability and pricing.

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet - Hilltop House Restaurant, Fayetteville, NC

Report a photo problem

Filet - Hilltop House Restaurant, Fayetteville, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a Most Memorable Valentine's Evening in a beautiful old home built in 1908.
Make reservations with the one you love for a Romantic Evening of exceptional food and wine. Reservations available from 5pm until 10pm Tuesday Feb.14, 2017.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you like things small & intimate or prefer a grand gala,plan your event at the Hilltop House. We have private rooms of various sizes to meet your needs. With personal event planning,custom menus & an elegant atmosphere, the Hilltop House offers you the ultimate private dining experience.

Hilltop House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fireplace (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved our waitress and the ambiance w ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our waitress and the ambiance was nice. However, the food was below par and well below our expectations. The staff had a large party and us single table patrons paid the price in timelines and the quality of our food. My cowboy ribeye road in on horseback after too long of a wait, was tough, tasteless, and only semi-warm. The other entrées were ok only. When teenage boys complain about taste and temp of food, it is certainly an indicator. The wait staff was apologetic but so disappointing for a family New Years dinner. Frankly I was surprised based on reviews and previous functions at Hilltop. Never a manager or chef came by and the young waitress was left to apologize for the lackluster kitchen performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food was average not bad but not gre ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Food was average not bad but not great. The Service was the most horrible service I have since I can remember. The waiter came got our drink order (which he got wrong) came back to get the food order and I didn't see him again after I ask another waiter for the check. Drop the check and didn't even ask if we need it anything else like water to down our food. will not come back and do not recommend the place a bit pricy for average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Had a great meal and the atmosphere was ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a great meal and the atmosphere was perfect. Christmas trees around with a small band serenaded the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was amazing. The service was incredible, the food was great, and the venue was beautiful.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for xmas lunch with a friend. Atmo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Came for xmas lunch with a friend. Atmosphere was festive. Service good. Food was good. My issue was that they were serving from a buffet, which I enjoyed, however, they allowed the dessert selection to completely dwindle. My friend and I were looking forward to dessert and coffee after our meal. I decided to go ahead and order dessert off menu and was told there was only one option; cheesecake. I was surprised at the limited choice, but, ordered it anyway. Goodness! I certainly should have inquired as to the price! $11!!! The entire buffet was only $13 or $14. And to add insult to injury, that was the skinniest slice of cheesecake I have ever received at a restaurant. I have dined here several times, and have always been happy with my experience. I will probably do so again. I don't mind paying for a good meal, but I was a bit taken aback on my value for this meal, I am sad to say.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Local favorite. Variety on buffet but be ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Local favorite. Variety on buffet but better than standard buffet. Charming southern atmosphere

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was not as pleased with the recent Sunda ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was not as pleased with the recent Sunday Brunch for our 36th wedding anniversary. There were missing usual Sunday Brunch foods, I.e. Smoked salmon and antipasto. The roast beef was not freshly cooked but warmed over to be carved. The room we were seated in had no heat, so we were uncomfortable, ate and visited less, left earlier than normal.

Tags: Historic, Disabled Access, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

My mom was in town from Wisconsin and we ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My mom was in town from Wisconsin and we enjoyed a relaxing Thanksgiving. No dishes or cooking!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed with Hilltop House. Food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

So disappointed with Hilltop House. Food was not great. The environment was unfriendly and empty. The waiter had no clue and by 8 p.m. they made it clear they wanted to close. Will never go there again nor will recommend the Fayetteville restaurant to anyone. Save your money, time, an taste buds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food quality has gone down hill sinc ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food quality has gone down hill since the last time we visited. It used to be fantastic and we were so looking forward to this since this was a double birthday celebration for my father and my husband. We will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The Hilltop restaurant is an incredibly ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Hilltop restaurant is an incredibly good place to have a true southern style Sunday Brunch! Everything from smoked fish to sliced roast beef is included. There is an omelet station, fried chicken, fish n grits, hush puppies, etc, etc, etc. great service too!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very presentable, professi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The staff was very presentable, professional and made the experience good. the food was cold and not to standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

My husband made reservations for a birth ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband made reservations for a birthday dinner at The Hill Top House . The bread basket was just ok, it wasn't warm or fresh, so we ordered the spinach and artichoke dip, which was hot, very tasty. I ordered filet mignonette with asparagus and was unable to substitute the fries/baked potato for a sweet potato (I prefer baked sweet potato with beef as a complement to asparagus when served with a premium cut of beef). My husband ordered the crab cakes with succotash. We were unable to sample the shrimp bisque as it was not available 25 mins after we ordered (reservations were less than 90 mins after dinner hr commenced) however our server did offer the blackened chowder and a menu.

The entrees arrived about 50 mins after we ordered, the crab cakes and steak were superb, but the presentation and plating of vegetable sides indicated over cooking as the asparagus and succotash had lost their color and flavor. No snap test on the asparagus, the chef steamed entire thing, stringy stalk and all. The succotash was a heap of yellow with green dots of baby lima beans . Not very appetizing to look at and no taste.

Overall, the experience in this historic house was amazing and I am sure with a little constructive feedback and tweeking, the food can be prepared, presented and plated in an esthetic and aromatic fashion that will keep you coming back for more!!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Will never go back, never got our main c ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Will never go back, never got our main course waited over an hour. Staff walked out on their shift. Couldnt make requesterequested cocktails, had to settle for a warm beer n cold appetizers before we had enough and left

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The was our first time at the restaurant ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The was our first time at the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The steaks were cooked perfectly and my son's shrimp and grits were fantastic. Our server was very attentive and very helpful. We definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family and I were celebrating our Mom ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My family and I were celebrating our Mom's 80th Birthday and we had a reservation for sixteen. Everything was ready and set up when we arrived. Our server did an outstanding job with a little help from other staff members. The owner came to our table several times to greet and visit with us. I can not say enough good things about our food. Everything from steaks to seafood, salads and our side items was excellent. Our server knew that we were attending a play at our local theater and he was very conscience of the time frame we were in. I look forward to dining at the Hilltop House very soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Fayetteville several times each ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We visit Fayetteville several times each year and always try to have Sunday Brunch at the Hilltop. Always delicious and the oysters are great. This time, they were extremely delicious. All of the food was great as usual, and it is a great value for our dining dollar. Nice ambience and the service was great. One suggestion would be to give the house wine pours a little more volume.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superior customer ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and superior customer service. The staff really helped make my 17th wedding anniversary a wonderful occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First bad experience

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ther were out of some menu items when we got there at 630. Seemed we were a bother. Had to ask for bread. Never asked if we wanted dessert so we paid then saw desserts on anither table and ordered them and got a second check.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Hilltop House was a pleasure,upon arrival door was locked at 4:50 but the wait staff unlocked quickly and apologized even though we were early. We were seated promptly. During the online reservation in special request put down it was my anniversary, and after the staff handed us the wine list she stated happy anniversary. The food was wonderful and was the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Thank you so much for accommodation to me and my family. Everything was delicious. My family was visiting from out of town and you did not disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at hilltop House ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first time at hilltop House. We had heard many good things about the Sunday brunch, but it was much better than we expected. In addition to the omelet/Belgian waffle station, there was an array of breakfast items, seafood items, sides, prime rib, and wonderful desserts. Service and atmosphere were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall it was a wonderful experience. We had a party of seven including two, 2 year olds. While the staff was wonderful with the kiddos and they enjoyed themselves I would not classify as toddler friendly. Very limited, though delicious, children's options and the ambience was definitely better for dates special occasions or older children. The food was delicious. My steak did come out over cooked, however the server inmediately brought it back to the kitchen and presented me with a new steak done to my preference. The chef checked in on us, and the service was prompt. The live music was very enjoyable, though I wish it had been slightly quieter as it was slightly difficult to hear my dining companions. The wine menu was diverse and had a good range in price and taste. The portion sizes were large (including the two children's meals) but the food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Christopher was amazing, prof ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Our server Christopher was amazing, professional, and customer friendly. The overall experience was great and the feel of home town fine dining is what my wife and I enjoyed as we celebrated our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place tfor a small or medium size luncheon

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have hosted both small and medium sized luncheons at the Hilltop House. In both cases I was more than satisfied with the surroundings, service and food. The latest visit was a small tribute luncheon with access to the buffet. The general opinion of my guests was "Oh, my goodness!" Could not have asked for a better place to entertain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The brunch Buffett was awesome. The food taste great. A definite must if you want great quality food. The price is reasonable considering the amount of food they have to offer for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly atmosphere

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2016

The hostess welcomes you in a friend I y manner and was very accommodating and the server was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average, below the price.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was average, below the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A romantic restaurant for an upscale exp ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2016

A romantic restaurant for an upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed Patron

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I hadn't been to Hilltop House in years so was looking forward to dining there, however, was disappointed in the whole experience. The service was slow "because they had a large party" which had nothing to do with our party of four. We waited 1 1/2 hours to be served dinner. The food was mediocre at best and we had to flag down our server to get refills on our water as it was hot inside the restaurant. We were never asked if we needed anything or how was everything and we were not even offered dessert menus or coffee while surrounding tables received these offers.

I will not find there for dinner ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Insert clever title here

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I had Sunday brunch here a couple of months ago and came back for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was great, the tables were a little close to each other, but it didn't feel too crazy crowded. We will be back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Birthday Celebration

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2015

We ate dinner at Hilltop for the first time last weekend. It was my husband's birthday, and upon being seated, we noticed a very elegant display sitting on our table wishing my husband a Happy Birthday. The food, service, and company made for a very special night for my family, most importantly, my husband. The ambiance was perfect! Love the Christmas trees and holiday lighting...it provides a very romantic feel to the house. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Expensive, charge for gratuity, wait for service

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2015

We had been to this restaurant many years ago. We did not remember a buffet and wanted to experience it. We had to wait a few minutes just to be acknowledged for drinks even though the waiter was consistently nearby at two other tables. The food was not worth $24.95. Most of it was cold or lukewarm with the exception of the corn casserole. It was also bland. The seafood tasted fishy. Therefore, it wasn't fresh and the oysters tasted as though they hadn't been cleaned thoroughly. Finally, the check came and a 20% gratuity was added to the bill. I can see why they would add it considering the service isn't worth more than 10%. The staff was slow and not as friendly as one would hope for the price. I will definitely not recommend this restaurant to friends, nor will we be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Slow no replenishment at Sunday Buffet i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Slow no replenishment at Sunday Buffet in the middle of serving hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellence

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2015

The food is fantastic. We have visited for midweek lunch and Sunday brunch, having their buffet each time. While they have a larger selection in Sunday, the food and selection is always excellent. My favorites include the shrimp and grits, fried chicken, and mixed fruit cobbler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an enjoyable evening, the food wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2015

It was an enjoyable evening, the food was great and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant was great for a ladies brunch. THe food was excellent and a good variety. I was a little put off by the 20% tip that the waitress added on the final bill though especially since the service was good, but not great. Also, it was a buffet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fine dining...loosely termed here

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2015

The Hilltop House is categorized as fine dining. Now that I have been there, it must be because they have linen table clothes. Outside of that, there was nothing fine about the experience. In my opinion the fine dining category permits them to overcharge for bland food and horrible service. We went for Sunday brunch, which runs until 2pm. We booked an available reservation for 1pm. Apparently we should have went earlier because by the time we were there, food trays were either empty, old, or cold. Sauce dishes sat empty and items were not replenished for that last hour. Yet, we were charged the same buffet amount (nearly $30 per person) for which seemed like leftovers. The uniforms of the staff did not resemble fine dining but more a BBQ pit. Our server was hard to find and only checked on us once we were halfway done with the meal. We asked for two items (jam and ketchup) and he brought one. For brunch, the restaurants offers a choice of endless mimosa or sangria. I ordered the mimosa and my wife ordered the sangria. She did not even finish a glass (disliked the taste) and asked to switch her beverage to the mimosa. The server acted as if he was doing us a favor by permitting her to switch her beverage. When he brought check, he did not ask if we needed anything else. Seems like he just wanted to get his "suggested gratuity" and move on. We would never recommend the brunch at Hilltop House. I cannot speak to their other menus, but I am pessimistic that it would be much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.