About Hilltop House Restaurant

1240 Fort Bragg Road
Fayetteville, NC 28305
View Larger Map

The Hilltop House is a fine dining restaurant located in an elegant home built in 1908 and is situated in the historic Haymount district of Fayetteville.This home features several beautifully decorated rooms where you and your guests will enjoy your next dinner, lunch or special occasion surrounded by timeless elegance. We offer Southern Cuisine with French influences. Come experience a "Difference in Dining".


Sit back and relax as you savor our creative, inspired, yet classic cuisine. Relish the unmatched flavors of the delectable cuisine as a highly trained staff attends to your every whim. You will find that the Hilltop House provides the perfect balance of superb cuisine, exceptional service and ageless, elegant ambience which all culminate into an unforgettable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 484-6699

Website:
http://hilltophousenc.com/

Catering:
The Hilltop House offers off~site catering at the venue of your choice. Simply meet with our catering coordinator to customize your entire event from the menu to tables and linens. We offer full service catering to meet any needs no matter how big or small. We have all off~site ABC permits to meet your catering needs as well. Contact us today and let us make your event a most memorable one!

Executive Chef:
Beth Shearin-Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Hilltop House offers private dining rooms for all types of special events. We offer special pricing for military functions. The entire house can be rented out for the evening for your special event. Whether you are having a company party, a wedding reception, or large military gathering the Hilltop House is the perfect venue for your special event. If you can dream it, we can do it. Contact us today for availability and pricing.

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
Filet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you like things small & intimate or prefer a grand gala,plan your event at the Hilltop House. We have private rooms of various sizes to meet your needs. With personal event planning,custom menus & an elegant atmosphere, the Hilltop House offers you the ultimate private dining experience.

Hilltop House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
1 More
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Fayetteville ›

Great for Brunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First bad experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ther were out of some menu items when we got there at 630. Seemed we were a bother. Had to ask for bread. Never asked if we wanted dessert so we paid then saw desserts on anither table and ordered them and got a second check.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Hilltop House was a pleasure,upon arrival door was locked at 4:50 but the wait staff unlocked quickly and apologized even though we were early. We were seated promptly. During the online reservation in special request put down it was my anniversary, and after the staff handed us the wine list she stated happy anniversary. The food was wonderful and was the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Thank you so much for accommodation to me and my family. Everything was delicious. My family was visiting from out of town and you did not disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at hilltop House ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first time at hilltop House. We had heard many good things about the Sunday brunch, but it was much better than we expected. In addition to the omelet/Belgian waffle station, there was an array of breakfast items, seafood items, sides, prime rib, and wonderful desserts. Service and atmosphere were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall it was a wonderful experience. We had a party of seven including two, 2 year olds. While the staff was wonderful with the kiddos and they enjoyed themselves I would not classify as toddler friendly. Very limited, though delicious, children's options and the ambience was definitely better for dates special occasions or older children. The food was delicious. My steak did come out over cooked, however the server inmediately brought it back to the kitchen and presented me with a new steak done to my preference. The chef checked in on us, and the service was prompt. The live music was very enjoyable, though I wish it had been slightly quieter as it was slightly difficult to hear my dining companions. The wine menu was diverse and had a good range in price and taste. The portion sizes were large (including the two children's meals) but the food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Christopher was amazing, prof ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Our server Christopher was amazing, professional, and customer friendly. The overall experience was great and the feel of home town fine dining is what my wife and I enjoyed as we celebrated our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place tfor a small or medium size luncheon

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have hosted both small and medium sized luncheons at the Hilltop House. In both cases I was more than satisfied with the surroundings, service and food. The latest visit was a small tribute luncheon with access to the buffet. The general opinion of my guests was "Oh, my goodness!" Could not have asked for a better place to entertain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The brunch Buffett was awesome. The food taste great. A definite must if you want great quality food. The price is reasonable considering the amount of food they have to offer for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friendly atmosphere

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The hostess welcomes you in a friend I y manner and was very accommodating and the server was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average, below the price.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was average, below the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A romantic restaurant for an upscale exp ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

A romantic restaurant for an upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed Patron

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I hadn't been to Hilltop House in years so was looking forward to dining there, however, was disappointed in the whole experience. The service was slow "because they had a large party" which had nothing to do with our party of four. We waited 1 1/2 hours to be served dinner. The food was mediocre at best and we had to flag down our server to get refills on our water as it was hot inside the restaurant. We were never asked if we needed anything or how was everything and we were not even offered dessert menus or coffee while surrounding tables received these offers.

I will not find there for dinner ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Insert clever title here

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I had Sunday brunch here a couple of months ago and came back for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was great, the tables were a little close to each other, but it didn't feel too crazy crowded. We will be back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Birthday Celebration

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We ate dinner at Hilltop for the first time last weekend. It was my husband's birthday, and upon being seated, we noticed a very elegant display sitting on our table wishing my husband a Happy Birthday. The food, service, and company made for a very special night for my family, most importantly, my husband. The ambiance was perfect! Love the Christmas trees and holiday lighting...it provides a very romantic feel to the house. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Expensive, charge for gratuity, wait for service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

We had been to this restaurant many years ago. We did not remember a buffet and wanted to experience it. We had to wait a few minutes just to be acknowledged for drinks even though the waiter was consistently nearby at two other tables. The food was not worth $24.95. Most of it was cold or lukewarm with the exception of the corn casserole. It was also bland. The seafood tasted fishy. Therefore, it wasn't fresh and the oysters tasted as though they hadn't been cleaned thoroughly. Finally, the check came and a 20% gratuity was added to the bill. I can see why they would add it considering the service isn't worth more than 10%. The staff was slow and not as friendly as one would hope for the price. I will definitely not recommend this restaurant to friends, nor will we be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Slow no replenishment at Sunday Buffet i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Slow no replenishment at Sunday Buffet in the middle of serving hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellence

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

The food is fantastic. We have visited for midweek lunch and Sunday brunch, having their buffet each time. While they have a larger selection in Sunday, the food and selection is always excellent. My favorites include the shrimp and grits, fried chicken, and mixed fruit cobbler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an enjoyable evening, the food wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

It was an enjoyable evening, the food was great and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant was great for a ladies brunch. THe food was excellent and a good variety. I was a little put off by the 20% tip that the waitress added on the final bill though especially since the service was good, but not great. Also, it was a buffet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fine dining...loosely termed here

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The Hilltop House is categorized as fine dining. Now that I have been there, it must be because they have linen table clothes. Outside of that, there was nothing fine about the experience. In my opinion the fine dining category permits them to overcharge for bland food and horrible service. We went for Sunday brunch, which runs until 2pm. We booked an available reservation for 1pm. Apparently we should have went earlier because by the time we were there, food trays were either empty, old, or cold. Sauce dishes sat empty and items were not replenished for that last hour. Yet, we were charged the same buffet amount (nearly $30 per person) for which seemed like leftovers. The uniforms of the staff did not resemble fine dining but more a BBQ pit. Our server was hard to find and only checked on us once we were halfway done with the meal. We asked for two items (jam and ketchup) and he brought one. For brunch, the restaurants offers a choice of endless mimosa or sangria. I ordered the mimosa and my wife ordered the sangria. She did not even finish a glass (disliked the taste) and asked to switch her beverage to the mimosa. The server acted as if he was doing us a favor by permitting her to switch her beverage. When he brought check, he did not ask if we needed anything else. Seems like he just wanted to get his "suggested gratuity" and move on. We would never recommend the brunch at Hilltop House. I cannot speak to their other menus, but I am pessimistic that it would be much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Looking Pretty Good

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I did a sunday brunch with family at Hilltop house. The selection and quality of food was very good. The only down side was the dining room was quite a bit colder than it should be.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dinner was Awesome!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Made reservations for an evening dinner and everything was perfect! Surprisingly we were the only couple there so it made the experience even better! The staff and food was excellent!!!! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit. The first vi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

This was our second visit. The first visit was in December. The food this time was nothing like before. I had the herb crusted salmon and mashed potatoes. Both were very bland. My husband had a filet and it was also bland. The presentation of the food was impressive, it would help if the taste was consistent. Overall, great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great place for Sunday brunch.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Great place for Sunday brunch. Bring your appetite. Food is excellent. Great value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

#PaceChanger

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

It's a nice change of pace /

With good buffet choices and timely courteous service/

Will definitely be coming back sometime this year/

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best in Fayetteville!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

My parents live in Fayetteville, and it's a chore to find a good restaurant there when we're visiting them. This time I researched it, and found the Hilltop House. What a wonderful change after all the chain restaurants! We went there for brunch and it was great. My parents are in their mid to late 80's -- my mother has trouble walking and my father is partially deaf. They seated us away from the crowd, so no worries about my mother tripping up or my father not hearing us. The staff was just wonderful. The brunch buffet was great also! I'm recently on a low-sodium diet, and I had no trouble finding things I could eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hilltop Tops in Fayetteville

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Ate here for Mother's Day Brunch and it was extremely busy as could be expected. After reading some other reviews was a little suspect about how it might be on just average Sundays. Never disappoints! Best brunch option in town!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prices not comparable to quality of food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Prices not comparable to quality of food. It was good, but not Southern Prime or Ruth Chris Steakhouse good. This may explain why there were only about 5 other couples in the entire restaurant at 7 pm. It took about 5 minutes to receive a glass of wine and a coke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Over priced for service and quality of food

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

It looks good on the outside, and looking at the general display, but as far as price = food...not worth it in my opinion. Id rather spend my money at a nice steak house.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great atmosphere and great food!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 9, 2015

We had our wedding reception here. It's a beatiful home. There is always good service and good food. Online reservations make it easy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful, Romantic, Amazing!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

My husband and I came across this restaurant while looking online for a romantic restaurant for our anniversary that also offered a wide, appetizing menu. We definitely chose the right spot! Not only did they take the time to add a special touch to our table, but every person working there was so kind, attentive, and eager to let us enjoy our evening. The food was AMAZING (def try the Crab cake and fried green tomatoes, the seafood Mac and cheese, and the collards!), the portions large, and the quality above par!

We highly recommend this gem of Fayetteville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

poor quality of steak

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

I ordered the New York strip steak and it was probably the toughest steak I've ever eaten in my life. It tasted pretty good but it was very very tough. The owner took care of my bill but I won't be going back! This was a special occasion and I was Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Brunch to remember

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

This restaurant is an experience that you must try if in Fayetteville. The building is a beautiful colonial and the grounds are very well taken care of. The front desk girl was very nice but the waiter was a bit rude. He loved to walk right past us on multiple occasions, probably because we ordered the bottomless mimosas. The food definitely made up for his substandard performance. They have an amazing brunch selection from Belgian waffles to half shelled oysters. The selection of food was remarkable and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

poor seating, slow service.

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

we where one of 4 tables on a Saturday night and yet they put us right next to an extremely noisy table. It took about 15 minutes for the bartender to figure out they where out of the wine we ordered and then served it slowly. we had to constantly wait for more water and they never brought us our bread basket after asking a few times for it. The food was ok...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Disappointed

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

We went here last year for our Anniversary and was so pleased with the service and food that we knew we wanted to return. We were surprised how much everything had changed in a years time. We got there and had to wait several minutes for a Hostess to even come out. She was less than polite or professional. They had a party going on the other side of the house and it seems all their manpower and attention was being over there. We sat for nearly 10 min before our waitress finally showed up. The food was less than par. We will definitely not be returning. I don't know if they switched Chefs, but they went down hill in my book.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Delicious brunch! Everything imaginable!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Went for a bridal shower, where we were seated in the "Sun room." It was quiet a lovely ambiance and atmosphere. Very large house with lots of different rooms for almost any setting that you may desire. The brunch was incredible and delicious. So many different options it was hard to decide the next thing to try without getting too full :P It was a real treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience at Hilltop House

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

Everyone t HilltopHouse was friendly and pleasent. The atmosphere was great forthe occasion, quiet comfortable and private. Foodwas filling and prepared nicely.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great but not what I expected

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

We had a great time, but the buffet was really crowded with no real organization. It was almost impossible to get to the omelet bar or anything else without hitting elbows with everybody. Along with being crowded, the food trays were running empty and not refilled very quickly. The servers are great, and the mimosas are delicious! It's good...just not if your really hungry.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

This was a wonderful place to celebrate Mother's Day! The food was exceptional and the service was wonderful. I hope this will be a yearly treat for me. I can't wait for our next visit! I will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.