Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Fog Harbor Fish House
1276 reviews
Seafood | Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Crab House at Pier 39
1108 reviews
Seafood | Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Il Fornaio - San Francisco
1127 reviews
Italian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Pier 23 Cafe
716 reviews
Seafood | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
FOG CITY
685 reviews
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Original Joe's - San Francisco
1037 reviews
American | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Park Tavern
1461 reviews
American | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Cotogna
1349 reviews
Italian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Baonecci Ristorante
252 reviews
Italian | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Vicoletto
749 reviews
Italian | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Pier Market Seafood Restaurant - Pier 39 SF
214 reviews
Seafood | Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Players Sports Grill & Arcade
60 reviews
Contemporary American | Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Rose Pistola
1288 reviews
Italian | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Caffe Delucchi
218 reviews
Italian | North Beach, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Pescatore
367 reviews
Italian | Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
Reserve Now

About Hillstone - Embarcadero

1800 Montgomery St
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Hillstone San Francisco offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics. Join us on the on the Embarcadero just across from Pier 31, where we feature live jazz nightly. Please Note: We ask guests to allow a 15 minute grace period to seat reservations during peak periods. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Francisco

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 392-9280

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Nightly.

Parking Details:
There is Street Parking along Montgomery and Francisco Streets. We also offer Validated parking for 50% off the posted rate at the Garage located at 80 Francisco street, just up the block.

Executive Chef:
Anna Garay

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

Not sure why it changed names but it sti ...

Dined on June 18, 2014

Not sure why it changed names but it still seems as good as before. The artichoke is still out of this world, but the ribs were a little disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2

The Hillstone

Dined on June 17, 2014

The Hillstone had a great atmosphere, however the service from my waitress, Kaitlyn, was horrible. Very pushy, disrespectful, and worst of all sour. Having me and my date in and out in 30 mins. When I was trying to go an 8:30 dinner. It just seemed like she wanted to get off her shift.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice restaurant, very busy

vip
Dined on June 16, 2014

Loved the look and the sound of Hillstone, the feel of the chairs (although we loved the ability to move on wheels) was less perfect as we are short people and it seemed like our chins were on the table. Very convenient for shoveling ribs to mouth effectively, they were delicious. The coleslaw was outstanding and the aioli dip for the fries great. The ahi and sides were really excellent. The prime rib was overdone but delicious on day 2 for sandwiches. Our overall experience was good, our only hesitation to a second visit would be how far in advance one needs to plan to get reservations.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT FOOD

Dined on June 16, 2014

SERVICE, FOOD, EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL AND WE LOVE THIS RESTAURANT! GET THE HOT FUDGE SUNDAE AND AND THE PRIME RIB FRENCH DIP - BOTH TO DIE FOR. WE WILL BE EATING THERE AGAIN VERY SOON!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2

Father's Day lunch

Dined on June 15, 2014

Took my elderly dad and we ate well the focaccia is the best I've had anywhere as are the grilled artichokes cheeseburger was very good but my Hawaiian ribeye was grossly undercooked after I had requested medium they brought it back TWICE and the wait staff seemed to be distracted or rushed it seemed to me they also took my dad's wheelchair away but as we were leaving the wheel chair never reappeared and I had to ask for it..normally I sit at the bar where the service level is much better this visit was disappointing given the significance of the day I did ask to talk with the manager and she offered a gift card which was appropriate but in general I thought the service was inadequate especially for the price of the food

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on June 15, 2014

The kale salad with peanut dressing was excellent. The dressing wasn't cloying or thick. It was very lightly dressed but just enough to give it a great flavor and still let the taste of the kale and greens come through. Had a gigantic portion of prime rib. I could only eat half of it. I went here because I never really eat red meat, especially at home. My body was craving protein and this was the exact thing it needed. Would definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

vip
Dined on June 14, 2014

We have been coming to Hillstone for some time now. We live in San Jose, so every chance we get, we make a trip to Hillstone in The City. The food is always wonderful and the service is excellent. This latest visit, we were celebrating our friend's 63rd birthday. The Server, Liz, was exceptional! She had a great personality, was friendly and very efficient. The food, as usual, was fantastic! We had the oak-grilled artichokes, shrimp cocktail, and "the nice little salad" for appetizers. Main course, the ribs, were perfect! For dessert, we split the ice cream sundae and the brownie and ice cream selection - sublime! Overall, another memorable visit to Hillstone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular!

Dined on June 14, 2014

We arrived almost half an hour early for our reservations, and were seated with no problem. The staff is friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. The food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Fathers Day Dinner

Dined on June 13, 2014

I brought my dad here for an early Fathers Day celebration. Food was great. This is my second time dining here and we all enjoyed ourselves very much. Only con was that it was a little too warm in there. The fireplace and open kitchen are excellent to create that nice romantic tone but it was just a tad too warm. I don't remember it being like that last time and we sat right next to the fireplace. This time we were at complete opposite ends of the fireplace and I was sweating! Nonetheless, I will definitely be returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food

Dined on June 13, 2014

We were visiting San Fran and were at Alcatraz and happened to see this place across the street from the ferry. The service was incredible...the staff were incredibly attentive and provided great food recommendations. The food did not disappoint. The ribs were especially delicious...fall off the bone tender.

food4
ambience4
service3

Food and service were very good and were ...

Dined on June 7, 2014

Food and service were very good and were happy to substitute blue cheese on the burger. Had to wait for half an hour to be seated which was disappointing since we had made a reservation. I believe it is so that you are made to spend more on drinks at the bar! As locals we will return as it is currently the best restaurant in the neighborhood, but hope to get seated more promptly next time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite Neighborhood Spot

vip
Dined on June 6, 2014

I visit Hillstone very frequently. Not only because it is close to my apartment, but because I love the live music, the ambiance, the fireplaces and the free corkage on one special bottle of wine. The food and service is consistently good. If you are coming with one friend and can find a spot at the bar, it is a nice place to have appetizers and drinks. Love this place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed a business lunch on the outsi ...

Dined on June 5, 2014

We enjoyed a business lunch on the outside patio during the week. We all ordered different salads and each was amazing. The presentation was fantastic for each plate. I had the Ahi tuna salad and it was phenomenal. I order a lot of ahi tuna or salmon salads on the road, and this was a top 3 salad of any place I've been in the states. The server was attentive but not intrusive, which is important when having a business meeting over lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service4

Love the ambience but the food was not h ...

Dined on June 5, 2014

Love the ambience but the food was not how it once was, I was not impressed with the menu options or what I ordered.

food5
ambience4
service4

Consistently Excellent Food

vip
Dined on June 5, 2014

This restaurant is part of a chain which is very surprising because chains do not generally provide such consistency, particularly with their food. But Hillstone never disappoints, has a consistent menu that varies slightly by season (fresh produce mostly) & provides a lovely atmosphere in which to dine. The staff is attentive, but not overly so. At some of their other locations (Los Altos Grill, for instance), you feel rushed through your dinner and it seems like just about every employee is waiting on you, which can be off-putting and less than relaxing. But at Hillstone, they have mastered the balance between seeing to your dining needs & leaving you alone to enjoy your meal & dining companions. An all around great place for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Reliable quality

vip
Dined on June 4, 2014

Hillstone has consistently high quality food, from great burgers to ribs and salads.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2

Disappointing

Dined on June 3, 2014

Service was terrible. Server was polite and friendly, but in attentive. They would remove empty glasses from our table but not provide new ones, so two people ate their meAls with no drinks. When food came - nobody came to ask if everything was ok and it wasn't - we sent a steak back twice (first over done and then nearly raw) they did offer to give us the steak for free which was nice considering everyone had finished eating their meals by the time an acceptable steak arrived. Disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fall off the bone RIBS!

Dined on June 1, 2014

We came to Hillstone on a recommendation and it did not disappoint! A friend said it was the BEST ribs he's ever had and we took him on his word! The meat literally fell off the bone! Delicious from beginning to end! To our pleasant surprise, there was a jazz band playing! Service was top notch, food spoke for itself and ambiance topped it off! Great date night!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

vip
Dined on June 1, 2014

This restaurant in addition to great food and ambience, had an expertly trained staff who executed their performance with grace and dignity!!

food3
ambience2
service3

Very noisy. Hard to have a conversation ...

Dined on May 31, 2014

Very noisy. Hard to have a conversation across the table.

food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed our meal. We were seated pro ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. We were seated promptly even though we were 15mins. late for the reservation. We missed the jazz combo though. I was looking forward to hearing them. We'll have to come again soon.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3

Might of been my last dinner here!

Dined on May 26, 2014

Been going here once a month for two years. The place has kind of gone down hill as far as the kitchen. As far as the bar and wait staff are great still. The food has been coming out cold or not cooked to order in several times now. The manager was more then nice about it and took care of the bill the first time. We didn't complain the waitress got him to come and ask us what was wrong with our food. This time my food was over cooked asked for rare and received med well. Then they brought me a new cut of meat it was a little less cooked but still over med. Then someone forgot my drink had to as a few times for it. When it showed up it was the wrong drink. They took off the drink and appetizer in the bill.

food3
ambience4
service4

Love the jazz!

Dined on May 26, 2014

Although not impressed with the focaccia appetizer, our mains were very appetizing. My husband got the Hawaiian rib eye. The marinade was great and the steak itself cooked just right. I got the ahi tuna. It was drizzled with a sauce of Asian flavors and had a nice side salad with greens, avocados and mangos. Our friends got the prime rib and the arctic char. They had no complaints and ate everything off their plates. Their dessert menu isn't impressive so we drove down to Ghiradelli Square for sundaes. I love that this place is casual and not stuffy. The live jazz will definitely bring me back. Service was attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Best burger I have ever had. Our waitr ...

Dined on May 24, 2014

Best burger I have ever had. Our waitress Megan was fantastic. She allowed us to try several sample of wine, until we got the perfect one, Bello Glos Pinot Noir -Dairyman. I will make Hillstones a monthly trek over the bridge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food

Dined on May 24, 2014

Great food but portion for ribs seemed much smaller than in the past which is good for the waistline but considering the price, was quite expensive. Had planned on leftovers but there were none to be had.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful lunch

Dined on May 23, 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were late for our reservation but we called and the hostess was very gracious which was a good start. Our waitress was personable and gave us great recommendations from start to finish. The margaritas are a house specialty and they were delicious as was the artichoke. We had the grilled halibut special and that was well presented and delicious if a bit basic. The hot fudge sundae was over the top delicious and it was plenty to share.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome

vip
Dined on May 12, 2014

I love Hillstone. I wasn't aware until recently that this restaurant is affiliated with Rutherford Grill in Napa (Rutherford). Now I don't have to drive all the way to Napa for Smoked Salmon, or the amazing Kale Salad. The last time I was here was for Mother's Day, at my mom's request. She had the Hawaiian Rib-Eye and I ordered the Flying Tuna Platter in addition to the 2 'staples' above. Both were on point like always.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

loved it!

Dined on May 12, 2014

The place was so nice, very clean, workers professional, courteaus, seated right away, ambiance was great, location perfect...luv it...will go back.!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great spot!

Dined on May 11, 2014

We have gone to Hillstone for special occasions many times, and are never disappointed! The food is wonderful and the service is fantastic! It is always a great spot to frequent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Tell some friends :)

Dined on May 10, 2014

This restaurant was clean and in a great location. The prime rib was very tender and delicious! I will be back and this restaurant will be highly recommended to my friends ☺

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

First timer!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2014

Place was great! Service was awesome! Food was delicious!!!! I had the ribs, fall off the bone melt in your mouth yummy. My guy had the Hawaiian rib eye, the marinade was unbelievable...tender! GET THE ICE CREAM SUNDAE!!! The melted chocolate topping was finder licking amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

Dined on May 10, 2014

I took a friend for her Birthday, good food and overall good place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Alive!

Dined on May 10, 2014

We had to wait a few minutes for our table to be ready, but our friends were a few minutes late anyway. We had a drink while we waited, which passed the time quickly.. After being seated, our service was quick and attentive. Our food was yummy as usual.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for foodies!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2014

I keep telling my foodie friends that Hillstone is my favorite restaurant in sf and they never believed me because it is a chain. After I arranged a birthday party for eight people, they all now agree with me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for the whole group

Dined on May 5, 2014

We met for a business lunch, and those with diet restrictions loved it, as well as the guys who wanted a burger. Everyone was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the presentation and outstanding flavor. Our table was ready, no waiting with reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Chain

Dined on May 5, 2014

Good food, excellent burger but the ribs are stellar. Eat at the bar.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Split a french dip with a friend

Dined on May 3, 2014

We dropped by for a quick lunch, sharing spinach artichoke dip and the french dip. It's familiar food made with uncommon quality.

food5
ambience4
service4

Almost Perfect!

Dined on May 3, 2014

We had a minor problem, which was taken care of immediately, and to our satisfaction. The Food was Great! The Service was Outstanding! Will go back when we are in that area of San Francisco.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best sandwich in town

Dined on May 2, 2014

People often overlook the venerable French Dip. Hillstone reinvigorates it. It's simple and simply well executed. Refreshing especially when you've had enough of the city's over-thought "artisanal" sandwiches of the week.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

Food's good, but ehh...

Dined on April 30, 2014

My husband and I had been to this restaurant when it was Houston's and we enjoyed it. The food is good, the service is fine, the ambiance is ok, but there's just nothing that stands out with this restaurant. San Francisco has so many fantastic dining options, this place comes up a bit short. The best area of this restaurant is the bar, but the seating is limited and the outside tables are not served. They have a nice jazz trio playing, but they're set up in the back of the restaurant; they're too loud for the closed-in location. The appetizer selection is a bit limited especially if you're looking for a light nibble. Their ribs are still the best in town and are certainly not light. The ribs are worth every delicious calorie.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.