About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (59)
special occasion (54)
great for lunch (53)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
romantic (31)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (29)
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (24)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Love Love this place!

Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten here twice, every time I leave with NO complaints at all! The food, service and atmosphere is always amazing. To top it off the prices are fair and the wine list is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistently good but not cheap!

Dined 6 days ago

Always consistently good but not cheap!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We always like the food here and it is a ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We always like the food here and it is a very busy place. Be prepared to wait even if you have a reservation (this happens very frequently to us). It is pretty loud as well so it can be a challenge to hear your party sitting directly across from you. We sat at one of booths in the bar area and had really good service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Food; Abysmal Service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Both the French Dip and the apple cobbler were in my top five lists for each dish - ever! The food is excellent! Service, namely Bijan, my server, was awful. I was waiting for my girlfriend to join me, but her spa day ran long, so I decided to dine alone. My drink order was taken and delivered by another server - even refilled once. But Bijan didn't come to the table for well over twenty minutes. At that point, he was seemingly distracted, took my order - didn't offer any suggestions on side dishes, even when asked. This created some confusion as to whether the French Dip was à la carte, which I assumed to be the case, so I ordered a full salad as well. The (kale) salad was delivered with the entrée, as a side-salad/half-portion. I asked the roving manager about this and she clarified that the French Dip came with a side. At this point, I ordered a vegetable side to fill out the lunch. A while later, Bijan delivers the check, but I asked about the dessert menu, and decided on the apple cobbler. Both the entrée (French Dip) and apple cobbler were PHENOMENAL! We'll definitely be back - as long as Bijan isn't our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall my (our) experience was excellent - food and service very good. It was very busy and as a result it was much louder than I would have liked for a business lunch. But it is a great place and will come back many more times as I have in the past.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great server

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It is fine if you do not want to hear wh ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It is fine if you do not want to hear what your meal-mates have to say. It is very noisy. Ribs were delicious. Wine list is unusual, did not include familiar wineries.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food and Wine Menu

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was outstanding, one of the best restaurants in Cherry Creek for a delicious Ribeye and the Flying Chicken Tenders are some of the best! The wine list is not overwhelming and has a great selection. One of our favorite restaurants in Denver!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Former Houston's in Cherry Creek North

Dined on May 8, 2016

Decent menu, although perhaps a bit limited. Standard fare with burgers, sandwiches, and a few entrees. Service was average. Family of 5 was $150 ( a bit high IMO) including tip - we had an appetizer but no alcohol. One child ordered from the children's menu. Note - there are NO refills on drinks. If you want another Arnold Palmer, Lemonade, Coke, etc, you will be charged for an additional drink.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Challenging...

Dined on May 7, 2016

With a 7:30 reservation, we were not seated until around 8:00. We arrived early (about 25 minutes) and should have taken advantage of three bar spots which became available through the evening. Had we known we wouldn't be seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time, we would have. The noise level is too high...and not in a good way as the survey tries to describe it as "energetic". It is difficult to have a conversation. The decor is wonderful and the food is outstanding. Just needs some help with seating and the noise level.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and great food

Dined on May 5, 2016

Spent a date night here after hearing so many good things, and we were not disappointed. Service was amazing, and the food was just as good. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Superb food quality and service. A favorite in Cherry Creek.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast becoming our favorite restaurant

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Hillstone is becoming a regular stop for my wife and I on our visits to Chery Creek. It is very nice to see the wait staff so attentive and the noise level where one can still carry on a conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

AWESOME

Dined on April 30, 2016

Services was great, staff was attentive and the overall experience was pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place with nice Ambience.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place, with nice ambiance. Busy restaurant, has parking which is a huge plus in Cherry Creek. Love that you can add any Sushi roll to a Salad. We had the Crab Cake Salad, and the Ahi Tuna Roll on Kale Cashew Salad. The best Kale Salad I have ever had!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a relaxing and delicious dinner. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Always a relaxing and delicious dinner. The service is attentive and they are always very nice. We highly suggest making reservations.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around experience!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent all around experience!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

C+

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was decent. The waitress was forgettable. My wife likes this place so I'm sure we'll go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You Will Never be Disappointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

Hillstone never disappoints us. Their food, service, etc., is consistently excellent. They always get it right!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual

Dined on April 22, 2016

We go to Hillstone often and the last two visits we split an order of the ribs. We tried the Del Frisco ribs on their rib night Thursday but those ribs do not compare to Hillstone. We ended up getting a side salad of kale/cashews which replaced the fries and coleslaw. So we ordered a full side order of fries for an additional $6. Wow--those fries are truly amazing. If you're a big eater or super hungry, splitting may not be ideal but for my husband and me, the size of the split was perfect (5 fall off the bone ribs each). Our service was exceptional. The live jazz piano is annoying louder than we would prefer so we do not linger after our meal. We were in and out less than 1 hour (and glad to get away from the noise) The prices are high but we always know we will have a good meal. We also love the Thai beef tenderloin salad and have a difficult time choosing between the ribs and salad. We'll be back and always joke that maybe we'll get lucky to be served out food when the jazz group is taking a break!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent as always

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

When I have an important business lunch, Hillstone is one of my go-to choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 8, 2016

This place just gets it in every way. We have eaten here so many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous dinner last night- eve ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner last night- even as the power went out! Our meals miraculously came out just after the power went out and we dined by candlelight. The staff was so friendly! We were the last ones in the restaurant at 815 - what a night!

food5
ambience4
service5

The Filet was wonderful. Cooked right an ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

The Filet was wonderful. Cooked right and an excellent sauce.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gooood as always

Dined on April 2, 2016

Had lunch with friends late last week and, as always, Hillstone delivered. Really good food (this is a constant), very attentive service, and great values in wine list. Going back twice in the next few days, so that pretty much says it all.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good, but nothing special

Dined on April 2, 2016

We have loved Cherry Creek Grille for years, although it's been going down hill of late, and we thought we'd finally try Hillstone. The always-favorite French Dip came out cold and my $44 New York Strip, while well-cooked and well-seasoned, but was not a special piece of meat -- chewy and bland in the middle. The "Classic" Caesar was anything but classic, with a sweet vinaigrette-type dressing similar to how they dress their Kale salad. On top of the food woes, the service was bad. Things took too long (almost 10 minutes to get a beverage) and our server, while pleasant, was more robotic and than friendly. Really got the sense that asking for small plates to share the large Caesar was a bit de-classe. For the price, there are much better options.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the artichokes!! Come just for thos ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Love the artichokes!! Come just for those sometimes for lunch. However, everything I have had there has tasted wonderful. Hillstone is my favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Again

Dined on April 1, 2016

I love this place every time we come to town. The smoked salmon appetizer is a must...we had to have two it was so good. The servers are always upbeat and energetic and the bar is filled with great looking people having a good time. This is just a fun, energetic place to come with great food. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just great food and service done right.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Just great food and service done right.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food and atmosphere at Hillstone are always outstanding. It's the service that sets this restaurant a step above.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambiance

Dined on March 26, 2016

We go there for the mood and setting. The food is of good quality, though not a large menu. When my wife questioned the wine as it seemed off, a new glass was brought immediately and without asking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful food, service and experience. Our waitress was very patient with our party but very attentive (despite our slow speed). Started with the spinach artichoke dip - amazing. Had the Prime Filet - it was cooked perfectly and loved that sides were all flexible. Had the brownie for dessert - phenomenal. Will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another good meal

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We are always happy to dine at Hillstone. The service and food are consistently good

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone's

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We love this restaurant! In particular, the KALE SALAD. It is the BEST you will ever eat. The SERVICE is excellent. FIVE STAR service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is a great restaurant to go to if you want a comfortable restaurant, with good American food and attentive service. The restaurant is beautiful and works well. This time, we were seated quickly (close to our reservation time). It is important to make reservations because the restaurant can get crowded.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Under new management?

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

I'm wondering if Hillstone is under new management since the last time I went there. It was ironic, because at the beginning of the meal, I told my friends about the wonderful experience I had there a couple of years ago. They took a little longer than normal to bring our meals, and without us even saying anything, they comped our meal. It was very unexpected and very impressive. Unfortunately, it may have set our expectations a little high. First, we ordered cocktails, and it took at least 15 minutes for them to finally arrive. Our third friend was running late, so our drinks arrived when she got there, and it took another 10-15 mins for her drink to arrive. Then, we ordered an appetizer that never came. After we mentioned it, they finally brought it out, but we already had our meals so it made for a rather messy table. I had to ask more than once if I could have more water. With so many other restaurant options in Denver (too many to keep up with), it's rare to go back to the second place twice unless the food and service are outstanding (or it's super convenient). I doubt I'll be coming back to Hillstone.

food4
ambience4
service5

The food is always good here and I can't ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is always good here and I can't wait for the grilled artichokes to be back on the menu. I had the special...an ahi tuna burger and it was delicious with a crunch.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was so delicious!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Only reason I gave service three stars is because I ordered one more drink but it was missed. Otherwise though she was pleasant informative. Try the Hawaiian Ribeye! We had a four top and everyone enjoyed their food !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OVERALL VERY GOOD

Dined on March 7, 2016

My background is food/beverage...sat at the bar, great bartender at 4 pm last Sunday. Had the small house salad which was outstanding ..very original, fresh, well laid out, tons of interesting ingredients..fried ship a bit of a disappointment, though the tabbouleh side was to die for. Shrimp had thick breading (was expecting more of a cornmeal type breading) and was not served hot. All in all, 4 stars and a nice alternative to sister property Cherry Creek Grill, a ling time favorite of mine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

birthday dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

We frequently dine at Hillstone- it's one of my favorite restaurants in Denver. I had my first disappointing experience on my birthday of all days. We had a 7:00 reservation & didn't get seated until 8:00. The hostess didn't even apologize or thank us for waiting. My husband let the staff know it was my birthday & I was surprised that nothing was offerred (appetizer or dessert).

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.