About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Live Music (13)
Fireplace (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice atmosphere and great food. Not ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and great food. Not too loud or quiet, good selection of wine and good menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great comfort food, efficient service, g ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Great comfort food, efficient service, good value!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As always the standard in service and at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the standard in service and attention in the food industry plus the best BB ribs in the world , what else can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has always been one of our favorite ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants. Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Hillstone numerous times ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have dined at Hillstone numerous times and I have always enjoyed the food, quality of the cocktails and the service whether that be from lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. A little bit of every ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great restaurant. A little bit of everything on the menu. Jazz on Saturday night. Love that there are two full bars. Not too fancy but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Nice restaurant. Cocktai ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Nice restaurant. Cocktails s bit expense

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Hillstone is great however, it is a mad ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Hillstone is great however, it is a mad house around noon. I have started to go at 1 pm or later as you are able to find a parking spot. Last time we went at noon, it took 20 min. to part and we waited another 20 minutes for our noon reservation. I love the Cajun trout!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We eat here often. Good wine, great Sush ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We eat here often. Good wine, great Sushi, and the French Dip is our favorite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service, really consistently great ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service, really consistently great food. Missing my grilled artichoke but looking forward to coming back again. Parking seems busier than restaurant.. they may need to figure out a way to monitor it.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hillstone never disappoints! Everything ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Hillstone never disappoints! Everything is awesome but we always wind up sharing the ribs and the prime rib sandwich because we can never choose. Drinks are strong and tasty. A perfect treat for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at Hillstone is perfect.... e ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything at Hillstone is perfect.... except the bloody mary's! They are notoriously bad. What's the deal?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food consistently very good and service ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food consistently very good and service by Shawny sp? was excellent !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great place to enjoy good food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a great place to enjoy good food and good friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Even if you have a reservation, this res ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Even if you have a reservation, this restaurant is usually mobbed and the parking lot is filled up by noon. I highly recommend to go after 1:15 for lunch. It took us 20 minutes to park for a 12:30 lunch reservation and we waited 20 minutes for a table. Food is good. Best trout in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hillstone is consistently good food, wel ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hillstone is consistently good food, well prepared and well presented by professional servers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived prior to my dining companion a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I arrived prior to my dining companion and was seated at the time of our reservation. Hostess brought me water (as I requested) - and - then after about 10 minutes - I had to ask another server if she was my server - as no one had come to the table to inquire if I wanted anything while waiting. My server was eventually located - and - I ordered an appetizer to enjoy while I was waiting. After that - server was more attentive. My dining companion did have to send his pork chop back - as it was undercooked. Server left his baked potato (moving it to side plate) while she took pork chop back to kitchen on large plate to be further cooked. When pork chop was returned (cooked properly) my companion remarked that he was surprised they did not cook a new pork chop - but - instead took his pork chop with 1 bite out - and cooked it more. He's in the restaurant business - and remarked that he was surprised they would put a pork chop that had a bite taken out (cut out with knife & fork ... not a 'true' bite) - on the grill to be recooked (with other food on the grill). Noise level was extremely loud when I first arrived - as young family (4-top) with VERY UNRULY children (not restaurant's fault) was seated near our table. Thankfully - they left shortly after I was seated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Never had a bad meal at Hillstone. Grea ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Never had a bad meal at Hillstone. Great food and service always!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was the presence of yo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My only complaint was the presence of young children, who were quite noisy. It's a pretty posh place to have to deal with that kind of noise/disruption.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Thai noodle salad is amazing!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Thai noodle salad is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love going here. The food is wha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always love going here. The food is what we come for and the variety that is always done just right. Love the ribeye steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the service and food is outsta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As usual, the service and food is outstanding - everyone I have gone with has loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When we arrived the restaurant was about ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we arrived the restaurant was about 15 minutes behind on our reservations, which was a concern because we were on a tight schedule. However, the food arrived in a timely fashion once we were seated. The service was great. The food was cooked perfectly. What else is there to say?

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure dining at Hillstone. O ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at Hillstone. Our server was great and the food spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Cajun trout at Hillstone. My ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love the Cajun trout at Hillstone. My husband loves the burger, the thai beef salad. It is a great place for lunch and very comfortable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered an appetizer; the entrees came w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ordered an appetizer; the entrees came within just a few minutes of receiving the appetizer. Would have preferred to slow down the food just a bit so that we could enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was friendly and prompt. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was friendly and prompt. The food was delicious, we had ribs, the red fish special, and a cheeseburger. The spinach dip was good and they automatically brought more chips without our asking when we ran out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative we have ever had for t ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The only negative we have ever had for this restaurant is that there are only 2 tables for 6 and they are not flexible. So if we come and bring our adult children we can not sit together because there are 7 of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, always accommodating and th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place, always accommodating and the food and drinks are excellent. Wait staff always kind and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hillstone always delivers great consiste ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hillstone always delivers great consistent product. Unfortunately the service level is not as good or consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We love Hillstone. Feels indulgent ever ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love Hillstone. Feels indulgent every time we go. The Warm Bread Plate, Grilled Artichoke, Thai Tuna Roll, Thai Steak & Noodle Salad, Kale Salad, Crab Cakes & the French Dip are go to favorites. Live music and/or sports on the TV screen @ the bar accomodate all our needs! Top rate service & their own parking lot are reasons that make it a no-brainer to frequent this comfortable spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I split the rib dinner of ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I split the rib dinner often. Dec 29 was so crowded and hectic and we decided to not go to HIllstone during the holidays in the future. We had a reservation and waited an additional 30 minutes for a table. The food is delicious and service good but we prefer less energy. The bar area was packed, standing room only. A good sign of a popular restaurant. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is amazing

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, drinks and food quali ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service, drinks and food quality... one big miss: no gluten free bread options:/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good wasn't heated through. We couldn't ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good wasn't heated through. We couldn't get our water glasses filled. Saw our waiter 2x after drinks.

Trout special was cool and had zero flavor even though it was Cajun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

My wife and I love the Hillstone in Wint ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I love the Hillstone in Winter Park, so we had to try the Cherry Creek location. Similar menus with variations that make it unique while still keeping the Hillstone quality and feel, we loved it! The shrimp macadamia sushi was delicious, and the veggie burger my wife had was great too. We will be back whenever we are in the Denver area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very best restaurants in Cher ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the very best restaurants in Cherry Creek, if not all of Denver. Every item I've ever ordered there has been excellent: Especially the rack of ribs. And I think the lighting during dinner service, and overall ambiance, is truly exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a busy holiday evening but my bur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was a busy holiday evening but my burger was over cooked, that is just something you should be able to get right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Long wait despite reservation.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Long wait despite reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Try the ribs !!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Try the ribs !!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.