About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hillstone - Denver
Hillstone - Denver

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (52)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Romantic (23)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is very frustrating to have a reserva ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

It is very frustrating to have a reservation and not be seated for 45 minutes after your set reservation. This is a constant problem with Hillstone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Friends and I had been there before. It ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Friends and I had been there before. It was a birthday and my ffiends just loved the smoked salmon appetizer. I love your steak. My friend loved the veggie burger! Other friend love the Tai Steak salad!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elevated american steak house, finally p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Elevated american steak house, finally pairing high quality sushi with the typical red-meat fare.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hillstone never disappoints with the tas ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Hillstone never disappoints with the taste of the food. We had Caesar salad and french dip sandwich. Although I feel Hillstone does creative cutting of the sandwich in half in order to hide the shrinking portion. I was disappointed that they didn't have any artichokes even though it was on the menu. I love their food overall and will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of energy at this neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lots of energy at this neighborhood gem. Loved the menu. Yummy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place to dine, but even with a re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place to dine, but even with a reservation made several weeks ago, we had to wait 45 minutes for our table!!! One party had a broken leg and the other two had back problems. We weren't even offered a complimentary cocktail. I was quite embarrassed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

During lunch and after 5:30pm the noise ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

During lunch and after 5:30pm the noise can become an impediment to a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at this spectacular resta ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our first time at this spectacular restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was over the top. Kudos to Meghan, our server. She was charming, knowledgeable and competent. Amber, Roberto and Taylor were very attentive. They all helped to make it a memorable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. The prime ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great service and great food. The prime rib sandwich and fries are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent and amazing!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always consistent and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best night! Patio seating, great f ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The best night! Patio seating, great food, fabulous server and wonderful date!

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu needs an update...not enough starte ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Menu needs an update...not enough starters. Never have artichokes anymore and that is what brought us in. Too many restaurants in Denver now that offer small plates. Please add some!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always joy ding here, whether a burge ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We always joy ding here, whether a burger, ribs, fish or crab cakes. Lunch or dinner,

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience at Hillstone's i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The overall experience at Hillstone's is consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our neighborhood favorites. Cons ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of our neighborhood favorites. Consitently good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent, but on the pricey si ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent, but on the pricey side. The noise level in the bar at 5:30 p.m. on a Friday was pretty high, but then that should be expected, right?

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Outdoor seating was perfect- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food. Outdoor seating was perfect- much quieter and cozier than inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Hillstone on a regular basis, a ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We go to Hillstone on a regular basis, always good food, always good service. Good wines by the glass or by the bottle at a decent price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is great for lunch or din ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant is great for lunch or dinner. Food is has always been great, and nice atmosphere. Please leave your kids at home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hillstone has great food, but the servic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hillstone has great food, but the service is much too robotic. The servers do not seem to care and just go through the motions. We tip on "service" and that includes a little friendliness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Hills tone should honor my request for e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hills tone should honor my request for e mail change which you have failed to solve

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fourth time dining at Hillstone and each ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fourth time dining at Hillstone and each time it has been excellent from the wait staff to the delicious food. Its romantic, neighborhoody, trendy, vibrant bar scene, with live jazz (only on weekends I believe). Its a real cool place...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I always love getting ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I always love getting the BBQ ribs and a bottle of the Prisoner. These are probably some of the best ribs in town...and some of the best that we've ever had in general. We ALWAYS order these...and honestly, I'm not even sure what else is on their menu!!The ambiance and service is always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great but the food quality f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was great but the food quality fell short of expectations for such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. My 14-year old ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. My 14-year old son and I split the salmon and fried chicken dishes. He liked the food so much he went on-line to see if they were also in Texas, where we live.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy meeting my friends for lu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I always enjoy meeting my friends for lunch here. We pretty much order the same thing every time. When you find something you love on the menu, why not?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

sat down and got a free spinach artichok ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

sat down and got a free spinach artichoke dip appetizer. yay hillstone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit, and as usual, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our fourth visit, and as usual, everything was exceptional.

One guest said her salmon was the best she has ever had, and our other guest agreed with me that the French Dip was by far the best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful time at this restaura ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a wonderful time at this restaurant. The food is all delicious, with a good selection for everyone. I am especially partial to their delicious ribs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The fish special on Friday night, 7/29/1 ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The fish special on Friday night, 7/29/16 was absolutely one of the best dishes I have had in Denver...30+years here. Alden, our server was lovely and efficient. It was extremely noisy being a Friday night until happy hour folks started to clear out. Drink prices were high I thought.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We heard nothing but great things and we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We heard nothing but great things and we love Cherry Creek Grill, so we decided to give it a try. Just really wasn't impressed at all. My husband and I stopped in about 3 months ago for a drink, we were never acknowledged by any staff and the environment was very cold and unfriendly. We decided to try it again for my husbands Birthday and was disappointed. When we were seated, he ordered his favorite beer and they just ran out. The service was slow and it took forever to get a drink. My food was not good. My husband did like what he ordered. Overall we tried and will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Need more appetizers on the menu!!!!! E ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Need more appetizers on the menu!!!!! Especially since they never have the grilled artichoke which is why we came!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hilltop is the sister restaurant of the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Hilltop is the sister restaurant of the Cherry Creek Grill. It has excellent food just like the CCG. In fact I was surprised by the sushi. Also, the parking is nice for that part of Cherry Creek. You won't be disappointed in this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good choice when traveling ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Consistently good choice when traveling to Denver. I always enjoy R&D, Houston's, and Hillstone in Dallas too! I ate at Cherry Grill the next night and it was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the main reasons we drive from Ca ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the main reasons we drive from Castle Rock to Hillstone is for the Grilled Artichoke. According to our waitress they are no longer serving this. She didn't know why they were no longer available. Artichokes are in season now and look great. Very disappointing.

Also our waitress kept interrupting our conversation. She would preface with "pardon me for interrupting", then keep right on going. She did this at least 5 times. Was irritating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food and the servers are always so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food and the servers are always so nice and attentive. This is a regular go to for us and we have 3 kids 10 and under who like it as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable good food and ambience. We have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Reliable good food and ambience. We have been to many restaurants but always return to Hillstone or Cherry Creek Grille. Best French dip of anywhere I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Millstone has become the place where we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Millstone has become the place where we celebrate birthdays or other special occasions. Great service, good food and nice and cool for summer dining. We made Open Table reservations and we were seated within 10 minutes of arriving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always dependable. Love the crab cake sa ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always dependable. Love the crab cake salad. My friend hadn't been and she loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent. Food is always good. S ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always excellent. Food is always good. Staff is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.