About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hillstone - Denver
Hillstone - Denver

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (62)
great for lunch (60)
special occasion (54)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
vibrant bar scene (34)
hot spot (27)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the main reasons we drive from Ca ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the main reasons we drive from Castle Rock to Hillstone is for the Grilled Artichoke. According to our waitress they are no longer serving this. She didn't know why they were no longer available. Artichokes are in season now and look great. Very disappointing.

Also our waitress kept interrupting our conversation. She would preface with "pardon me for interrupting", then keep right on going. She did this at least 5 times. Was irritating.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food and the servers are always so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food and the servers are always so nice and attentive. This is a regular go to for us and we have 3 kids 10 and under who like it as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable good food and ambience. We have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Reliable good food and ambience. We have been to many restaurants but always return to Hillstone or Cherry Creek Grille. Best French dip of anywhere I have ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Millstone has become the place where we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Millstone has become the place where we celebrate birthdays or other special occasions. Great service, good food and nice and cool for summer dining. We made Open Table reservations and we were seated within 10 minutes of arriving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always dependable. Love the crab cake sa ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always dependable. Love the crab cake salad. My friend hadn't been and she loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent. Food is always good. S ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always excellent. Food is always good. Staff is always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate that I don't remember our server' ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I hate that I don't remember our server's name, but she was AWESOME!

I have been going to Houston's for years, and love Hillstone, Cherry Creek Grill and one in OKC and love it!

I love that the Prime Rib is always available! :)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

IT WAS A WEIRD MENU, BUT THE FOOD WAS AL ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

IT WAS A WEIRD MENU, BUT THE FOOD WAS ALRIGHT.

AS A RESTAURANT PERSON, I THOUGHT THE MENU WAS

PRETTY EXPENSIVE.

IT WAS LOUD, NOT A PLACE TO HAVE A ROMANTIC EVENING!

THE LIVE MUSIC WAS AN UNEXPECTED BONUS.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Always good. One of our favorite places. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always good. One of our favorite places. The jazz combo in bar is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening with friends!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A great evening with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a great neighborhood restaurant with great food and service. My only complaint is that they should provide Splenda sweetener as an option. This is a standard at most restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally I would rate this higher. We l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally I would rate this higher. We love Hillstone and the service is normally first class. They had a few challenges that evening but the management and the wait staff did everything possible to make our dinner enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We went with our two teenage sons. Had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went with our two teenage sons. Had a marvelous meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food with a menu that offers p ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very good food with a menu that offers plenty of options without overwhelming you with them. The service although quite professional was a little slow due to the volume. I would definitely repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Don't take the trout off the menu. Wait ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Don't take the trout off the menu. Wait staff was professional and personable. I wish I could remember her name -getting too old.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We always love Hillstone. Make reservat ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We always love Hillstone. Make reservations in advance. Unless you go really early, it is hard to get in without reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems like every time we visit Hillst ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It seems like every time we visit Hillstone, it's about 100 degrees! The low light adds to the coolness and we have always been treated very well by all the staff at Hillstone. The meals are reasonable, they have a good beer selection and the ambiance is soothing on a very hot night which last Saturday was. If you are up for a beautiful evening, great food and great service, I highly recommend a visit to Hillstone.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Older crowd; sophisticated; jazz-like am ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Older crowd; sophisticated; jazz-like ambience; conversationally friendly; excellent wait-staff; reliably good food. The only problem is parking - as usual in Cherry Creek -- but they do have an overflow lot off off of Josephine Street to the west.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone is an over-priced, unimaginati ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Hillstone is an over-priced, unimaginative dining experience. This was the most "boring" Denver dining experience in three years. While many diners seemed to be choosing sushi, the "regular" menu is very boring, and pricey, for "blah". I don't know why Denver diners would choose a basic Filet Mignon with mashed potatoes for $45.00, when there are so many great chefs in town, with far more innovative menus, not only in Cherry Creek, but LoDo and Downtown. The menu caters to a "meat and potatoes" crowd, so if your palate is like that of a "10 yr old", then this place is for you. If you are a "foodie" like me, then go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Took our son for birthday dinner. He hat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Took our son for birthday dinner. He hated his steak and we all thought it was mushy and weird. I had a veggie burger which tasted nutty and sweet - only ate half. My husband had pasta which was meh. We had the artichoke dip for an appetizer, which was very good. Service was fast, despite how busy they were. We'd heard such god things about Hillstone so were quite disappointed. Their sister restaurant Cherry Creek Grill was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A very nice birthday dinner

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my first time at Hillstone and I really enjoyed it. Very nice atmosphere. Upscale but not uptight. The staff was friendly and the server was appropriately attentive. Made a reservation online and the table was ready upon arrival. Wine was good, steak was better, and the key lime pie was yummy (glad we shared because it was large).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I go to Cherry Creek Grill once a week food is great service is perfect this was not. I was so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Went for an early dinner and regretted i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for an early dinner and regretted it. So many kids so very loud. requested a quieter table but just moved to another area with as many kids. Pretty much ruined the meal for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Love everything about Hillstone.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

They get the big picture as well as understand the details.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as usual. Good wines by ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was great as usual. Good wines by the glass. Little loud in there even though I had early dinner w/ parents...I was basically yelling the whole dinner. Other than the acoustic situation, I love it there! Good for lunch or dinner or wine at the bar.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The grilled Salmon was fabulous. Bring ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The grilled Salmon was fabulous. Bring back the Arctic char!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Hillstone many times and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I have eaten at Hillstone many times and have always had a great experience. This time was no exception except twice we had to flag someone down to ask for something. Our server was very nice---I think it was just a very busy time. We will be back for sure.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for service and atmosphere. The sa ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great for service and atmosphere. The satisfaction with the food is inversely proportional to the price. My wife had the tuna and kale salad and it was exceptional. I ordered the most expensive item, the filet, which was a rather tough and tasteless. The side vegetables were good, but not commanding of $45. The service was exceptional. We had a reservation but still waited over 30min for the table. The website warns you of this so I wasn't surprised. Its obviously popular and worth it, just order food in the middle of the price range.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love Love Love this place!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I have eaten here twice, every time I leave with NO complaints at all! The food, service and atmosphere is always amazing. To top it off the prices are fair and the wine list is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good but not cheap!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always consistently good but not cheap!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always like the food here and it is a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We always like the food here and it is a very busy place. Be prepared to wait even if you have a reservation (this happens very frequently to us). It is pretty loud as well so it can be a challenge to hear your party sitting directly across from you. We sat at one of booths in the bar area and had really good service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Love This Hillstone !

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I've been to other Hillstones in NY and Santa Monica. This one has a nicer vibe to it, maybe the piano music does that.

The menu is perfect and I personally love the Crabcake Salad for lunch and the Salmon entree for dinner.

I'll be back often !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food; Abysmal Service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Both the French Dip and the apple cobbler were in my top five lists for each dish - ever! The food is excellent!

Service, namely Bijan, my server, was awful. I was waiting for my girlfriend to join me, but her spa day ran long, so I decided to dine alone. My drink order was taken and delivered by another server - even refilled once. But Bijan didn't come to the table for well over twenty minutes.

At that point, he was seemingly distracted, took my order - didn't offer any suggestions on side dishes, even when asked. This created some confusion as to whether the French Dip was à la carte, which I assumed to be the case, so I ordered a full salad as well. The (kale) salad was delivered with the entrée, as a side-salad/half-portion. I asked the roving manager about this and she clarified that the French Dip came with a side. At this point, I ordered a vegetable side to fill out the lunch.

A while later, Bijan delivers the check, but I asked about the dessert menu, and decided on the apple cobbler. Both the entrée (French Dip) and apple cobbler were PHENOMENAL! We'll definitely be back - as long as Bijan isn't our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall my (our) experience was excellent - food and service very good.

It was very busy and as a result it was much louder than I would have liked for a business lunch.

But it is a great place and will come back many more times as I have in the past.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is fine if you do not want to hear wh ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It is fine if you do not want to hear what your meal-mates have to say. It is very noisy.

Ribs were delicious. Wine list is unusual, did not include familiar wineries.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome Food and Wine Menu

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was outstanding, one of the best restaurants in Cherry Creek for a delicious Ribeye and the Flying Chicken Tenders are some of the best! The wine list is not overwhelming and has a great selection. One of our favorite restaurants in Denver!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Former Houston's in Cherry Creek North

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Decent menu, although perhaps a bit limited. Standard fare with burgers, sandwiches, and a few entrees. Service was average. Family of 5 was $150 ( a bit high IMO) including tip - we had an appetizer but no alcohol. One child ordered from the children's menu. Note - there are NO refills on drinks. If you want another Arnold Palmer, Lemonade, Coke, etc, you will be charged for an additional drink.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Challenging...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

With a 7:30 reservation, we were not seated until around 8:00. We arrived early (about 25 minutes) and should have taken advantage of three bar spots which became available through the evening. Had we known we wouldn't be seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time, we would have. The noise level is too high...and not in a good way as the survey tries to describe it as "energetic". It is difficult to have a conversation. The decor is wonderful and the food is outstanding. Just needs some help with seating and the noise level.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Great service and great food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Spent a date night here after hearing so many good things, and we were not disappointed. Service was amazing, and the food was just as good. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.