About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hillstone - Denver
Hillstone - Denver

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (64)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Outdoor seating was perfect- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Outdoor seating was perfect- much quieter and cozier than inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Hillstone on a regular basis, a ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We go to Hillstone on a regular basis, always good food, always good service. Good wines by the glass or by the bottle at a decent price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is great for lunch or din ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant is great for lunch or dinner. Food is has always been great, and nice atmosphere. Please leave your kids at home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hillstone has great food, but the servic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hillstone has great food, but the service is much too robotic. The servers do not seem to care and just go through the motions. We tip on "service" and that includes a little friendliness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Hills tone should honor my request for e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hills tone should honor my request for e mail change which you have failed to solve

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fourth time dining at Hillstone and each ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fourth time dining at Hillstone and each time it has been excellent from the wait staff to the delicious food. Its romantic, neighborhoody, trendy, vibrant bar scene, with live jazz (only on weekends I believe). Its a real cool place...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I always love getting ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I always love getting the BBQ ribs and a bottle of the Prisoner. These are probably some of the best ribs in town...and some of the best that we've ever had in general. We ALWAYS order these...and honestly, I'm not even sure what else is on their menu!!The ambiance and service is always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great but the food quality f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was great but the food quality fell short of expectations for such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. My 14-year old ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. My 14-year old son and I split the salmon and fried chicken dishes. He liked the food so much he went on-line to see if they were also in Texas, where we live.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy meeting my friends for lu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I always enjoy meeting my friends for lunch here. We pretty much order the same thing every time. When you find something you love on the menu, why not?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

sat down and got a free spinach artichok ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

sat down and got a free spinach artichoke dip appetizer. yay hillstone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit, and as usual, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our fourth visit, and as usual, everything was exceptional.

One guest said her salmon was the best she has ever had, and our other guest agreed with me that the French Dip was by far the best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful time at this restaura ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a wonderful time at this restaurant. The food is all delicious, with a good selection for everyone. I am especially partial to their delicious ribs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The fish special on Friday night, 7/29/1 ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The fish special on Friday night, 7/29/16 was absolutely one of the best dishes I have had in Denver...30+years here. Alden, our server was lovely and efficient. It was extremely noisy being a Friday night until happy hour folks started to clear out. Drink prices were high I thought.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We heard nothing but great things and we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We heard nothing but great things and we love Cherry Creek Grill, so we decided to give it a try. Just really wasn't impressed at all. My husband and I stopped in about 3 months ago for a drink, we were never acknowledged by any staff and the environment was very cold and unfriendly. We decided to try it again for my husbands Birthday and was disappointed. When we were seated, he ordered his favorite beer and they just ran out. The service was slow and it took forever to get a drink. My food was not good. My husband did like what he ordered. Overall we tried and will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Need more appetizers on the menu!!!!! E ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Need more appetizers on the menu!!!!! Especially since they never have the grilled artichoke which is why we came!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hilltop is the sister restaurant of the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Hilltop is the sister restaurant of the Cherry Creek Grill. It has excellent food just like the CCG. In fact I was surprised by the sushi. Also, the parking is nice for that part of Cherry Creek. You won't be disappointed in this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good choice when traveling ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Consistently good choice when traveling to Denver. I always enjoy R&D, Houston's, and Hillstone in Dallas too! I ate at Cherry Grill the next night and it was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the main reasons we drive from Ca ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the main reasons we drive from Castle Rock to Hillstone is for the Grilled Artichoke. According to our waitress they are no longer serving this. She didn't know why they were no longer available. Artichokes are in season now and look great. Very disappointing.

Also our waitress kept interrupting our conversation. She would preface with "pardon me for interrupting", then keep right on going. She did this at least 5 times. Was irritating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food and the servers are always so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food and the servers are always so nice and attentive. This is a regular go to for us and we have 3 kids 10 and under who like it as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable good food and ambience. We have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Reliable good food and ambience. We have been to many restaurants but always return to Hillstone or Cherry Creek Grille. Best French dip of anywhere I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Millstone has become the place where we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Millstone has become the place where we celebrate birthdays or other special occasions. Great service, good food and nice and cool for summer dining. We made Open Table reservations and we were seated within 10 minutes of arriving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always dependable. Love the crab cake sa ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always dependable. Love the crab cake salad. My friend hadn't been and she loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent. Food is always good. S ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always excellent. Food is always good. Staff is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate that I don't remember our server' ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I hate that I don't remember our server's name, but she was AWESOME!

I have been going to Houston's for years, and love Hillstone, Cherry Creek Grill and one in OKC and love it!

I love that the Prime Rib is always available! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

IT WAS A WEIRD MENU, BUT THE FOOD WAS AL ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

IT WAS A WEIRD MENU, BUT THE FOOD WAS ALRIGHT.

AS A RESTAURANT PERSON, I THOUGHT THE MENU WAS

PRETTY EXPENSIVE.

IT WAS LOUD, NOT A PLACE TO HAVE A ROMANTIC EVENING!

THE LIVE MUSIC WAS AN UNEXPECTED BONUS.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Always good. One of our favorite places. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always good. One of our favorite places. The jazz combo in bar is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening with friends!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A great evening with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a great neighborhood restaurant with great food and service. My only complaint is that they should provide Splenda sweetener as an option. This is a standard at most restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally I would rate this higher. We l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally I would rate this higher. We love Hillstone and the service is normally first class. They had a few challenges that evening but the management and the wait staff did everything possible to make our dinner enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We went with our two teenage sons. Had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went with our two teenage sons. Had a marvelous meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food with a menu that offers p ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very good food with a menu that offers plenty of options without overwhelming you with them. The service although quite professional was a little slow due to the volume. I would definitely repeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Don't take the trout off the menu. Wait ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Don't take the trout off the menu. Wait staff was professional and personable. I wish I could remember her name -getting too old.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We always love Hillstone. Make reservat ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We always love Hillstone. Make reservations in advance. Unless you go really early, it is hard to get in without reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems like every time we visit Hillst ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It seems like every time we visit Hillstone, it's about 100 degrees! The low light adds to the coolness and we have always been treated very well by all the staff at Hillstone. The meals are reasonable, they have a good beer selection and the ambiance is soothing on a very hot night which last Saturday was. If you are up for a beautiful evening, great food and great service, I highly recommend a visit to Hillstone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Older crowd; sophisticated; jazz-like am ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Older crowd; sophisticated; jazz-like ambience; conversationally friendly; excellent wait-staff; reliably good food. The only problem is parking - as usual in Cherry Creek -- but they do have an overflow lot off off of Josephine Street to the west.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone is an over-priced, unimaginati ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Hillstone is an over-priced, unimaginative dining experience. This was the most "boring" Denver dining experience in three years. While many diners seemed to be choosing sushi, the "regular" menu is very boring, and pricey, for "blah". I don't know why Denver diners would choose a basic Filet Mignon with mashed potatoes for $45.00, when there are so many great chefs in town, with far more innovative menus, not only in Cherry Creek, but LoDo and Downtown. The menu caters to a "meat and potatoes" crowd, so if your palate is like that of a "10 yr old", then this place is for you. If you are a "foodie" like me, then go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Took our son for birthday dinner. He hat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Took our son for birthday dinner. He hated his steak and we all thought it was mushy and weird. I had a veggie burger which tasted nutty and sweet - only ate half. My husband had pasta which was meh. We had the artichoke dip for an appetizer, which was very good. Service was fast, despite how busy they were. We'd heard such god things about Hillstone so were quite disappointed. Their sister restaurant Cherry Creek Grill was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A very nice birthday dinner

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my first time at Hillstone and I really enjoyed it. Very nice atmosphere. Upscale but not uptight. The staff was friendly and the server was appropriately attentive. Made a reservation online and the table was ready upon arrival. Wine was good, steak was better, and the key lime pie was yummy (glad we shared because it was large).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I go to Cherry Creek Grill once a week food is great service is perfect this was not. I was so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.