About Hillstone - Denver

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hillstone - Denver, Denver, CO

Report a photo problem

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Business Meals (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (18)
Fun (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Live Music (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fireplace (9)
Healthy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even if you have a reservation, this res ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Even if you have a reservation, this restaurant is usually mobbed and the parking lot is filled up by noon. I highly recommend to go after 1:15 for lunch. It took us 20 minutes to park for a 12:30 lunch reservation and we waited 20 minutes for a table. Food is good. Best trout in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hillstone is consistently good food, wel ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Hillstone is consistently good food, well prepared and well presented by professional servers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived prior to my dining companion a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I arrived prior to my dining companion and was seated at the time of our reservation. Hostess brought me water (as I requested) - and - then after about 10 minutes - I had to ask another server if she was my server - as no one had come to the table to inquire if I wanted anything while waiting. My server was eventually located - and - I ordered an appetizer to enjoy while I was waiting. After that - server was more attentive. My dining companion did have to send his pork chop back - as it was undercooked. Server left his baked potato (moving it to side plate) while she took pork chop back to kitchen on large plate to be further cooked. When pork chop was returned (cooked properly) my companion remarked that he was surprised they did not cook a new pork chop - but - instead took his pork chop with 1 bite out - and cooked it more. He's in the restaurant business - and remarked that he was surprised they would put a pork chop that had a bite taken out (cut out with knife & fork ... not a 'true' bite) - on the grill to be recooked (with other food on the grill). Noise level was extremely loud when I first arrived - as young family (4-top) with VERY UNRULY children (not restaurant's fault) was seated near our table. Thankfully - they left shortly after I was seated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Never had a bad meal at Hillstone. Grea ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Never had a bad meal at Hillstone. Great food and service always!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was the presence of yo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My only complaint was the presence of young children, who were quite noisy. It's a pretty posh place to have to deal with that kind of noise/disruption.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Thai noodle salad is amazing!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Thai noodle salad is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love going here. The food is wha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always love going here. The food is what we come for and the variety that is always done just right. Love the ribeye steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the service and food is outsta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As usual, the service and food is outstanding - everyone I have gone with has loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When we arrived the restaurant was about ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we arrived the restaurant was about 15 minutes behind on our reservations, which was a concern because we were on a tight schedule. However, the food arrived in a timely fashion once we were seated. The service was great. The food was cooked perfectly. What else is there to say?

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure dining at Hillstone. O ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at Hillstone. Our server was great and the food spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Cajun trout at Hillstone. My ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love the Cajun trout at Hillstone. My husband loves the burger, the thai beef salad. It is a great place for lunch and very comfortable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered an appetizer; the entrees came w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ordered an appetizer; the entrees came within just a few minutes of receiving the appetizer. Would have preferred to slow down the food just a bit so that we could enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was friendly and prompt. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was friendly and prompt. The food was delicious, we had ribs, the red fish special, and a cheeseburger. The spinach dip was good and they automatically brought more chips without our asking when we ran out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative we have ever had for t ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The only negative we have ever had for this restaurant is that there are only 2 tables for 6 and they are not flexible. So if we come and bring our adult children we can not sit together because there are 7 of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, always accommodating and th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place, always accommodating and the food and drinks are excellent. Wait staff always kind and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hillstone always delivers great consiste ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hillstone always delivers great consistent product. Unfortunately the service level is not as good or consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We love Hillstone. Feels indulgent ever ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love Hillstone. Feels indulgent every time we go. The Warm Bread Plate, Grilled Artichoke, Thai Tuna Roll, Thai Steak & Noodle Salad, Kale Salad, Crab Cakes & the French Dip are go to favorites. Live music and/or sports on the TV screen @ the bar accomodate all our needs! Top rate service & their own parking lot are reasons that make it a no-brainer to frequent this comfortable spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I split the rib dinner of ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I split the rib dinner often. Dec 29 was so crowded and hectic and we decided to not go to HIllstone during the holidays in the future. We had a reservation and waited an additional 30 minutes for a table. The food is delicious and service good but we prefer less energy. The bar area was packed, standing room only. A good sign of a popular restaurant. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is amazing

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, drinks and food quali ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service, drinks and food quality... one big miss: no gluten free bread options:/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good wasn't heated through. We couldn't ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good wasn't heated through. We couldn't get our water glasses filled. Saw our waiter 2x after drinks.

Trout special was cool and had zero flavor even though it was Cajun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

My wife and I love the Hillstone in Wint ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I love the Hillstone in Winter Park, so we had to try the Cherry Creek location. Similar menus with variations that make it unique while still keeping the Hillstone quality and feel, we loved it! The shrimp macadamia sushi was delicious, and the veggie burger my wife had was great too. We will be back whenever we are in the Denver area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very best restaurants in Cher ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the very best restaurants in Cherry Creek, if not all of Denver. Every item I've ever ordered there has been excellent: Especially the rack of ribs. And I think the lighting during dinner service, and overall ambiance, is truly exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a busy holiday evening but my bur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was a busy holiday evening but my burger was over cooked, that is just something you should be able to get right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Long wait despite reservation.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Long wait despite reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Try the ribs !!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Try the ribs !!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being a regular to Houston's in Boca Rat ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Being a regular to Houston's in Boca Raton, Ft Lauderdale and Los Angeles, we knew that you can't go wrong with Hillstone restaurants. We were right. Slight name differences on the menu, but the taste/flavor were similar. Perfect experience.Our favorites cocktails are Cosmopolitan, Manhattan with Knob Creek and Pork Ribs(Campfire Ribs), kale salad, sushis...

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! First time guests there Sunday even ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wow! First time guests there Sunday evening and we were not disappointed! The restaurant is beautiful, the ambiance is perfect and the live music is an incredible touch! We were greeted with such hospitality from all members of the service team as we walked through their open kitchen and then had the pleasure of Jamie, the manager getting us sat. We told her it was our first time and asked for her recommendations. She perfectly described each item we asked and although she tempted us with sushi we ultimately decided with the Brussel sprouts starter, which was fabulous! Then minutes later a sushi roll got dropped at our table! We thought it was a mistake but the young waitress informed us it was on them as a thank you for being first time guests. Incredible touch Hillstone! Your managers and service team sure know how to treat a guest!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service! We love ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always great food and service! We love Hillstones!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently excellent. Filet cooked ex ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Consistently excellent. Filet cooked exactly as I requested. Cocktails served promptly and mixed right.

We've been enjoying the Hillstone Group's restaurants for 30+ years, starting with Houston's (Dallas, Florida, etc), then Hillstone, then Cherry Creek Grill, and the one near San Jose - can't remember name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table was 25 minutes delayed; waiter was ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Table was 25 minutes delayed; waiter was aggressive; emphasis was on "turning " table not on patron satisfaction-table cloth was removed while we were seated. Disappointing experience as compared to two prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyed the comfort food. It was a great ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Enjoyed the comfort food. It was a great atmosphere with very attentive staff. Seems to cater to an older more sophisticated crowd. Good selection of alcohol and the menu covered many areas. The prices seemed reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I always enjoy going to Hillstone for a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I always enjoy going to Hillstone for a special occasion. The staff is always on top of our tables needs without ever being over present. The food is exceptional and the grilled Brussel Sprouts were to die for.

Thank you for adding so much to this special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food has really marginalized... menu dow ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food has really marginalized... menu downright boring for the price

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome as always. The fact that they h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awesome as always. The fact that they have private parking makes it a no-brainer to begin with. But the food is always amazing, portions are great. Service is reserved yet omnipresent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great! It was so good we couldn ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was great! It was so good we couldn't resist trying dessert which was well worth it. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going here. It's one of our go t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love going here. It's one of our go to places. And Kate is an absolute gem.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been Hillstone several times for lu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Have been Hillstone several times for lunch. They never disappoint. I always recommend to out of town guests.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone is such a cozy gem! We've din ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Hillstone is such a cozy gem! We've dined here many times and it has never disappointed. Imagine being invited into the home of your kindest friend for dinner, and that's Hillstone. Impeccable service (and never a wait when you have a reservation), great live jazz, easy drinks and delicious food. It's the sort of place where you feel like you can really kick back, while the service/food is still being at the top of its game. Many thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst restaurant experience in years PIT ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Worst restaurant experience in years

PITA staff

Terrible steak

Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.