Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Hillstone - Denver

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Open Kitchen (23)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Business Meals (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Fireplace (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Live Music (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love the Hillstone. We always enjoy our meal and the atmosphere is great! You have the most efficient wait staff around!

Carolyn Degrafinried

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always love Hillstone. Consistently delicious food & excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hillstone is always exceptional

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 14, 2017

They burned my fish. They burned my fish. They burned my fish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great; as always! This and Cherry Creek Grill are best in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Dinner with my son and his wife. It was perfect, as usual.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been here several times and it is consistently good. The menu offers something for everyone and we have really enjoyed everything.
Service is very attentive. Lighting is dim but not too dim and atmosphere is very cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Went there for a business late lunch. The service was great and so was the food.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was outstanding. I had the crab cake salad (perfect portion) and not drenched in mayo. My friend had the spicy tuna salad and she loved it. They have their own parking which is a huge plus. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Definitely would visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place!! We have come to Hillstone to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary for many years. The food is always amazing and the service is top quality. I've never left disappointed and always look forward to coming back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have been living in Wash Park ever since Hillstone opened in 2008. Unfortunately we never made it there until the other night. The hostesses were warm and friendly, even offering to carry my cocktail to our table. The bartender was also friendly and introduced herself by name, asking what ours were in return. Our server was very professional and knowledgeable, and the food was outstanding. The portions were larger than expected, and I was able to take half of my dinner home (I purposely made room for dessert). I have been to various upscale dining venues in Denver, and nothing compares to this experience. They have won our business - we'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I bring my boss who is in a power chair. The staff is always so accommodating and kind. Not to mention the variety of the menu. Thank you all so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We always enjoy our meals at Hillsrone, our go-to neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Experience was awesome as always. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our first visit, lunch, nice wines by the glass and great salads . Attentive and friendly service. Will definitely return. Parking behind the restaurant is a big bonus in Cherry Creek.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and great food. Not too loud or quiet, good selection of wine and good menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great comfort food, efficient service, good value!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always the standard in service and attention in the food industry plus the best BB ribs in the world , what else can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants. Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have dined at Hillstone numerous times and I have always enjoyed the food, quality of the cocktails and the service whether that be from lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hillstone is always a great spot for good food, great ambience, well-made cocktails and access to the rest of Cherry Creek.

The french dip is amazing, while the food is generally pricier than most casual places it is an excellent value. All of the Hillstone restaurants are consistent with their approach to food, service, and drink.

I'm rather particular about my old-fashioned cocktails and they make it to spec every time!

We love going here on a whim or scheduling a reservation and take out of town guests all the time. Great spot to stop when you're shopping Cherry Creek North.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great restaurant. A little bit of everything on the menu. Jazz on Saturday night. Love that there are two full bars. Not too fancy but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Nice restaurant. Cocktails s bit expense

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Hillstone is great however, it is a mad house around noon. I have started to go at 1 pm or later as you are able to find a parking spot. Last time we went at noon, it took 20 min. to part and we waited another 20 minutes for our noon reservation. I love the Cajun trout!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We eat here often. Good wine, great Sushi, and the French Dip is our favorite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service, really consistently great food. Missing my grilled artichoke but looking forward to coming back again. Parking seems busier than restaurant.. they may need to figure out a way to monitor it.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Hillstone never disappoints! Everything is awesome but we always wind up sharing the ribs and the prime rib sandwich because we can never choose. Drinks are strong and tasty. A perfect treat for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything at Hillstone is perfect.... except the bloody mary's! They are notoriously bad. What's the deal?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food consistently very good and service by Shawny sp? was excellent !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a great place to enjoy good food and good friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Even if you have a reservation, this restaurant is usually mobbed and the parking lot is filled up by noon. I highly recommend to go after 1:15 for lunch. It took us 20 minutes to park for a 12:30 lunch reservation and we waited 20 minutes for a table. Food is good. Best trout in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hillstone is consistently good food, well prepared and well presented by professional servers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I arrived prior to my dining companion and was seated at the time of our reservation. Hostess brought me water (as I requested) - and - then after about 10 minutes - I had to ask another server if she was my server - as no one had come to the table to inquire if I wanted anything while waiting. My server was eventually located - and - I ordered an appetizer to enjoy while I was waiting. After that - server was more attentive. My dining companion did have to send his pork chop back - as it was undercooked. Server left his baked potato (moving it to side plate) while she took pork chop back to kitchen on large plate to be further cooked. When pork chop was returned (cooked properly) my companion remarked that he was surprised they did not cook a new pork chop - but - instead took his pork chop with 1 bite out - and cooked it more. He's in the restaurant business - and remarked that he was surprised they would put a pork chop that had a bite taken out (cut out with knife & fork ... not a 'true' bite) - on the grill to be recooked (with other food on the grill). Noise level was extremely loud when I first arrived - as young family (4-top) with VERY UNRULY children (not restaurant's fault) was seated near our table. Thankfully - they left shortly after I was seated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Never had a bad meal at Hillstone. Great food and service always!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My only complaint was the presence of young children, who were quite noisy. It's a pretty posh place to have to deal with that kind of noise/disruption.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Thai noodle salad is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always love going here. The food is what we come for and the variety that is always done just right. Love the ribeye steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As usual, the service and food is outstanding - everyone I have gone with has loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we arrived the restaurant was about 15 minutes behind on our reservations, which was a concern because we were on a tight schedule. However, the food arrived in a timely fashion once we were seated. The service was great. The food was cooked perfectly. What else is there to say?

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.