About Hillstone - Denver

303 Josephine St
Denver, CO 80206
View Larger Map

Hillstone offers a refined casual dining experience in a rich atmosphere. Enjoy our made-from-scratch interpretations of American classics or try our freshly-rolled sushi. Join us in the Cherry Creek neighborhood where we feature live jazz nightly. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thurday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 333-4688

Website:
http://www.hillstone.com/hillstone

Entertainment:
Live Jazz nightly starting at 6pm.

Parking Details:
Parking lot located just north of the restaurant. Find access from either University or Josephine streets.

Executive Chef:
Tony Suisman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hillstone - Denver, Denver, CO
Hillstone - Denver, Denver, CO

Hillstone - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Exclusive
Most Booked
Exclusive
American
Exclusive
1 More
Most Booked
Exclusive

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Fun (10)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Worst restaurant experience in years PIT ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Worst restaurant experience in years

PITA staff

Terrible steak

Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome as usual.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but scarce. I had the vege ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was good but scarce. I had the vegetarian meal and is wax a half of a small squash. Not worth what paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Sat at bar and suffered through constant ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Sat at bar and suffered through constant cold air drafts from 3rd Street (South Facing) entrance.

Asked Manager but certain you won't try fix it as its been a problem since opening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Love the food, love ambiance, great se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love the food, love ambiance, great service and beautiful menu. Just wish it was quieter. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good wherever you travel. C ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Consistently good wherever you travel. Consider Hillstone most predictable food quality/service/cost equation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at Hillstone. An ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Hillstone. Anthony, our server, was attentive and made everything right for us. The steaks were fabulous - tender and flavorful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone never disappoints! The menu is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Hillstone never disappoints! The menu is the perfect size, full of unique items with vibrant and fresh ingredients. The open kitchen is beautiful and the kitchen staff is organized and energetic. I always enjoy watching the waitstaff- they are on purpose and deliver exceptional service. Very comfortable yet sexy ambiance. After your meal, ask if they have any fresh cookies.. they go fast, but if you are lucky enough to get a few after your meal, you will love the cookies!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone has been our absolute favorite ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Hillstone has been our absolute favorite restaurant for many years. Going all the way back to when it was Houston's. The food, service, atmosphere and value cannot be beat. The only complaint we ever have had has been the noise level of the other guests which is clearly a result of the level of comfort they enjoy and is totally out of the staff's hands. We have recommended Hillstone to dozens of people and have taken many other couples to experience everything we enjoy there and have never had a single complaint from first timers. Please do not change a thing for you cannot improve upon perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always consistent wit ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This restaurant is always consistent with great food and service. You can't go wrong with anything you order. Best ribs and best burgers. Tuna rolls are awesome. Salads are great as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best place in denver hands down love com ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Best place in denver hands down love coming here never fails love that apple walnut crumble the best for last

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Hillstone. It's not inexpens ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always love Hillstone. It's not inexpensive, but the quality of the food that they buy is the best, and so is the preparation and service. Crab cakes, grilled artichokes, fish of the day, red cabbage with goat cheese... those are some of our favorites. Can't go wrong with the brownie and ice cream with a cappuccino for dessert. It's a great place to relax and have a long lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Hillstone! The food is always gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We love Hillstone! The food is always great...and so is the service. Best ribs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fresh and well prepared. . ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was fresh and well prepared. ...as always... Our waitron was super cute.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is what is driving my review of ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food is what is driving my review of Hillstone up. Because it was phenomenal! The service for such a nice place, at these price points was at best lacking. Everything else about Hillstone was great-including the drink menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, the food was excellent, only ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always, the food was excellent, only to be out done by the great service. The restaurant is fast becoming our favorite place to enjoy an evening out. We also love the live jazz that is played during dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for my dad's 80th birthday ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were there for my dad's 80th birthday and it was amazing! And I was so happy that you had the grilled artichokes. 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice find where you can order an entre ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

A nice find where you can order an entree and get sides with it for one price! The grilled artichoke was fantastic! The steaks were spot on as was the dinner salad. Spendy, but have it on my list of fine dining places I hope to go back to. Nice wine list if you know your wines!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Some menu items were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was very good. Some menu items weren't available, but wait staff was accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server, Kate, was a delight. She wa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server, Kate, was a delight. She was knowledgeable and interested in having everything right for us. We loved the food and the presentation. A great place to dine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always great at Hillstones! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It's always great at Hillstones! The food is consistently good as well as the service. It is always busy so it is wise to make a reservation. Although sitting at the bar can be fun, too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an outstanding experience! have ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always an outstanding experience! have dined with Hillstone many,many times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. My daughter ord ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was delicious. My daughter ordered something she was not crazy about and the waitress noticed she did not eat much of her meal. She offered to redo or get her something else and credited the meal off our bill. You could tell it was important to her, that everyone was satisfied. The waitress went above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sound level was really high at lunch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The sound level was really high at lunch. Food and service were great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hillstone never disappoints. Love the f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Hillstone never disappoints. Love the food and the service is always great.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a huge menu, but everything looked a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Not a huge menu, but everything looked amazing and the food we ordered was excellent. Artichoke was awesome. The service was great. All around great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Denver! Nothi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Denver!

Nothing on the menu is bad.

Service is amazing.

My favorites :

  • ALL of their sushi!

  • Cheeseburger

  • Spinach Dip

  • Cashew Kale Salad

  • Chicken Tenders

  • Ribs

  • Caesar Salad

Honestly, order anything. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. The food is al ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My 23 year old son and I were celebratin ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My 23 year old son and I were celebrating the fact that after 1 1/2 years he is cancer free. He has been fighting leukemia and the food was perfect for him now that he has an appetite.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great and reliable. Their affilia ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always great and reliable. Their affiliates around the country are too. No reason to spend more for a fun night.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great. One snag is af ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food is always great. One snag is after we order our cocktails, it takes over 10 minutes to get them, and the bar was not busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food excellent, sushi excellent, porch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food excellent, sushi excellent, porch great, friendly service, timely seating per reservation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was very enjoyable ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our dining experience was very enjoyable. This restaurant is well managed. The staff is friendly and competent. Our server, Bijan, was impressive. He was attentive and made sure everything was right for us. Laura, Lauren, Christina and Amber also made our evening very pleasant. Thanks to all of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Hillstone. The ...

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Another great dinner at Hillstone. The service was professional and friendly. Server had a charming sense of humor. The receptionist was prepared, efficient, friendly and professional , as well. My friend and I enjoyed both of our meals tremendously....almost licked the plates.

I appreciate the willingness of the servers to make substitutions for the sides. Thank you Hillstone!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very frustrating to have a reserva ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It is very frustrating to have a reservation and not be seated for 45 minutes after your set reservation. This is a constant problem with Hillstone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Friends and I had been there before. It ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Friends and I had been there before. It was a birthday and my ffiends just loved the smoked salmon appetizer. I love your steak. My friend loved the veggie burger! Other friend love the Tai Steak salad!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elevated american steak house, finally p ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Elevated american steak house, finally pairing high quality sushi with the typical red-meat fare.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hillstone never disappoints with the tas ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Hillstone never disappoints with the taste of the food. We had Caesar salad and french dip sandwich. Although I feel Hillstone does creative cutting of the sandwich in half in order to hide the shrinking portion. I was disappointed that they didn't have any artichokes even though it was on the menu. I love their food overall and will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of energy at this neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lots of energy at this neighborhood gem. Loved the menu. Yummy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place to dine, but even with a re ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place to dine, but even with a reservation made several weeks ago, we had to wait 45 minutes for our table!!! One party had a broken leg and the other two had back problems. We weren't even offered a complimentary cocktail. I was quite embarrassed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.