About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Restaurant Photos

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron
Beef Brisket
BBQ
BBQ Brisket
BBQ ribs
The Pit Master
Turkey, Confetti Cole Slaw and Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash
Pork Chop
Peanut butter and jelly cupcake
Pecan Pie
Banana Cream Pudding
pork ribs
Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash
Skillet Cornbread
Mac & Cheese
Moist Brisket
Red Velvet Cupcake
Smoked Hickory Honey BBQ Wings
Sausage
Beef Shoulder
PB&J Cupcake
Braised Collard Greens With Bacon
Sausage And Lean Brisket
Macaroni and Cheese
Beer Can Game Hen
Potato Salad
bbq sauce
Corn Pudding
Baked Beans
Cinnamon Bread Pudding
Pork Spare Ribs
Brisket, Sausage, Pork Rib With Coleslaw And Baked Beans
Banana Pudding
Green Bean Casserole
Mac and Cheese
Corn Bread
Deviled Eggs
Meats
Collard Greens
Bread
Cole Slaw
Brisket, Beef Ribs, Original And Jalapeno Cheese Sausage
Pork Rib & Prime Rib
Black Eyed Caviar
Sweet Tea
Pitmaster Combo
Jalapenos, Texas Black-Eyed Caviar, Beer Braised Cowboy Pinto Beans
Beef Rib & Brisket Moist
Red Velvet Cake
kreuz market sausage
Moist Brisket, Beef Ribs, Mac&cheese, Collard Greens
Deserts
Mashed Sweet Potatoes
#Fyeahbbq #Googlehomesickbbq
Moist Brisket And Jalapeno Sausage
Big Red
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage, Pork Rib, And Chicken
All You Can Eat
BBQ Meats (brisket, Sausage, Pork Ribs)
Ribs
chocolate chip cookie
Bbq Porkbelly
Bbq Meats (Brisket, Pork & Beef Rib, Chicken)
Pork Spare Ribs And Market Chicken
Pork Belly
fried chicken
Iced tea
Cornbread
Baked Beans With Burnt Ends And Potatoes
The Two Step
Everything's Bigger In Texas Meal For Four
#ribs #bbq
Apple Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream
Assorted Meats
Anchor Porter
BBQ Moist Brisket
BBQ Chicken And Ribs
Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese
Bbq Beef Ribs
Beef Ribs, Prime Rib, Pork Chop
Pile Of Meat
Cornbread With Ancho Honey Butter, White Shoepeg Corn Pudding, And Campfire Baked Beans W/ Burnt Ends
Brisket, Chicken And Rib Special
Blue Bell's Praline Pecans And Cream Ice Cream
Spareribs
Moist Brisket, Pork Ribs, Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole, Cole Slaw, And Corn Bread
Chicken Wings
Moist Beef Brisket
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Pork Ribs With Mac And Mash
Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Blondie
BBQ Chicken
Smoked Upside Down Pineapple Cake
Side Dishes
Pulled Pork
BBQ Beef Sandwich
Cookies and Cream Cupcake
Prime Cut
Ancho Chili Chocolate Pudding
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Barbecue
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Chelsea ›

Good for Groups (66)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Kid-friendly (32)
See All
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (5)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun, energetic environs. Great and uniqu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fun, energetic environs. Great and unique BBQ. Great vibe though kinda loud. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Truly amazing barbecue from top to botto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Truly amazing barbecue from top to bottom. If you are a fan of true BBQ, you owe it to yourself to come down and try the sampling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brisket! Go for the brisket, stay for t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Brisket! Go for the brisket, stay for the side dishes and wait staff.

Our waiter, Josh I think, was great. He brought refills of our beverages before we even had to ask. When he cleared away some of our empty plates, he brought back new silverware. The people working the counters are super nice and helpful. They can guide you to what you want if you aren't sure.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you like Texas style BBQ (basically ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you like Texas style BBQ (basically Oak Smoke) This place is will save you a trip Austin. atmosphere is super casual market style service (get your own) servers bring drinks. Lower level usually has great music if you like Country

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food - spare ribs and brisket - at H ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food - spare ribs and brisket - at Hill Country BBQ was awesome. Excellent taste. The ordering process however is plain stupid. Takes too long and is unnecessarily complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We ordered moist brisket, but it was rea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We ordered moist brisket, but it was really dry and very lean. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was solid, the noise level is out o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was solid, the noise level is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service and energy were great - the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service and energy were great - the food, on the other hand, was just mediocre. If you've had really great Central TX BBQ, you won't be impressed. If you're new to BBQ, it's a solid place to start. The already cut ribs and brisket hanging out under the heating lamp was a bad look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

I tried the brisket (moist and lean), pu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I tried the brisket (moist and lean), pulled pork, pork spare ribs, hot link, jalapeno cheese sausage and the mac n cheese. I found the sausages to be very greasy but other than that, everything was incredible... Definitely one of the best mac n cheeses I've had. I usually like to lather my bbq in bbq sauce but everything was so tender and well seasoned with dry-rub that it really didn't need any bbq sauce.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really delicious and mouth-watering as a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Really delicious and mouth-watering as always but overpriced for portion size. I somehow spent $30 + tip on 8 oz of meat, two small sides and a soda.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

fantastic food and helpful service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

fantastic food and helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband loves barbecue and ribs. This ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband loves barbecue and ribs. This is his favorite place!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time as w group for a bir ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great time as w group for a birthday party. The waiter was nice and attentive, there was live music and the food was awesome!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and plentiful. I'll have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was great and plentiful. I'll have to remember next time not to overdo it. Even the small side dishes are filling (and delicious, especially the creamed corn). Even though tables are not waited on, the service staff was exceptional. We took home doggie bags and still left feeling full. Wish I had room for dessert, but I'll have to go back for the banana pudding.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic food and a funny Way to order ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic food and a funny Way to order and gett served. Was to early for the live music downstairs, but im sure It Would be a lively and fun atmosphere.Thanks :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but could be better, the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was good but could be better, the spare ribs were little dry but brisket is good and the portions. Service was a little slow

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my first time at Hill Country. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was my first time at Hill Country. The food was good. HOWEVER, I'm not a fan of bbq joints that don't marinate their meats in sauce. Hill Country is one of them (and there are others). I know I get to add my own sauce to the meat, and that's cool. But it is NOT the same as having the meat marinating in the sauce and cooking in the sauce. It's like adding ketchup to a previously cooked hamburger--that's just not proper bbq to me. Additionally, I'm not a fan of going to "stations" to pick up my food. It's disjointed and has an odd "Morrison's Cafeteria" feel to it. And what do you tip the waiter who brings you only drinks? Overall, the food was good but I won't be back. Not with Blue Smoke right around the corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We are from Texas and moved to NYC 4 yea ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are from Texas and moved to NYC 4 years ago. During our adult lives in Texas we often used the weekends to travel to barbecue "pits" to find the best. We know barbecue.

With that pedigree, we find Hill Country Barbecue to be authentic with, literally, some of the best barbecue we've ever eaten. It is wonderful barbecue that is at the top of the list for ALL pits.

HCB is a GREAT place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely time glad I went food excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a lovely time glad I went food excellent and so was everything Eles glad I took co-worker advice and went😨👍💔❤️

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Can't wait to get back ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great experience. Can't wait to get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're looking for a romantic table f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic table for two to share some down home barbecue you're in the wrong place. However, if you are out to enjoy some delicious Texas barbecue, this is most certainly the place.

I had the pork ribs and my husband had the beef ribs. It was by far some of the best barbecue we've ever had! The meat was flavorful and very tender. As a side we had collard greens, potato salad and macaroni and cheese. The greens and potato salad were delicious, I've had better macaroni and cheese. The focus however was on the barbecue. It was really outstanding.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Excellent food. Stay away from the beef ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Stay away from the beef ribs unless you want to buy enormous bones with very little, albeit tasty, meat. Delicious brisket, chicken, pork ribs, sides.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I am a BBQ connaisseur, having lived and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am a BBQ connaisseur, having lived and travelled throughout the South of the USA This is the Mecca for brisket!!! The ribs aren't bad either. My 15 year old niece wants me to put in a positive review of the mac and cheese. Several other of the side dishes are pretty good as well: the bourbon pureed sweet potatoes and the collard greens. I was having an informal birhtday party, the atmosphere was fun and festive. And save some room for their desserts: they are homemade and very fresh- my family raved about the banana pudding, the chocolate blackout pudding and the pecan pie! You order your meats by the pound and sides at the counter and waitresses bring you drinks and desserts. It all made for a memorable party!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you like Texas barbecue it is the bes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

If you like Texas barbecue it is the best place in town and you feel like you haven't left Luling, TX.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reception chaotic. The line to get food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Reception chaotic. The line to get food gets long as service is so slow so you take cold food back to your table. Really don't want to stand in a line to get food. If I go to a restaurant I want it delivered to my table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Really enjoyed the BBQ! It is truly Texa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Really enjoyed the BBQ! It is truly Texas style barbecue, and yes I say that as a Texan. We had brisket, turkey, sausage and burnt ends. We also had Mac and cheese and skillet cornbread as sides. Everything tasted great!! The servers were very friendly and plentiful, so our every need was quickly met. My one complaint is the seating, the tables are extremely close together, we might as well be at a community table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for dinner before a show in midtown ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for dinner before a show in midtown. The process is very traditional texas so if you're looking for authenticity this is pretty close. Some things did not have as much flavor as I would have liked but the BBQ sauce on the table makes up for that and the creamed corn was fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Hill Country BBQ! It's pricey fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love Hill Country BBQ! It's pricey for what you get, but well worth it for non-everyday occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, but you have to order at two ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, but you have to order at two separate congested counters and carry it to your table. Very easy to order too much food (by the pound) and to rack up huge bill. Wine prices high. Service OK. They messed up our reservation - tried to sit us in crowded corner. Again great food, but.......

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Place is overrated and beyond expensive. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Place is overrated and beyond expensive. Tiny portions and expect to pay through the nose for what you order.

Honestly, just a much better experience and food at Dinosaur BBQ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Need to sink your teeth into something? ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Need to sink your teeth into something? Make it Hill Country Barbeque Market! Nothing better than picking your own. Sides are very good, slaw is great. Outdoor-like atmosphere indoors. Lots of space for groups! Even better for dates who don't mind stripping bones in front of you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Texas Hill Country themed restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Texas Hill Country themed restaurant! BBQ itself was decent, delicious side dishes.

Best of all was the live band in the basement!!!

I would go back there for the live music and the fun atmosphere (if you are after the best BBQ, you may be disappointed.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Something (anything) could have been pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Something (anything) could have been proposed for a birthday (a cake with candles for example)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great BBQ spread. Short rib and burnt en ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great BBQ spread. Short rib and burnt ends are top shelf. Attentive service staff and friendly ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hi I m from Argentina but I m living in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hi

I m from Argentina but I m living in new jersey

This restaurant it the best one

When we have family or friend from my country we go there all the time

I hope you open one in new jersey too

Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The BBQ was definitely some of the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The BBQ was definitely some of the best I've had-- not just in NYC but nationally! I would definitely like to try out the live music scene sometime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The moist brisket and burnt ends were de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The moist brisket and burnt ends were delicious. The lean brisket was a bit dry. The Kreuz sausage was cold and felt undercooked. They were out of the short ribs (sigh). The cosmos were delicious, ask for them with coconut. We had a bartender filling in for a waiter and he was charming and helpful. Be ready for an extremely (unpleasantly) noisy spot so forget about conversation, but if you plan to eat barbecue and get drunk enough to yell above the din, you'll love this spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing, I highly recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was amazing, I highly recommend this as the best BBQ in manhattan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Too pricy for what they offer. The downs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Too pricy for what they offer. The downstairs area is pretty cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

The pulled pork was unbelievably delicio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The pulled pork was unbelievably delicious...can't stop thinking about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.