About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Restaurant Photos

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Beef Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Turkey, Confetti Cole Slaw and Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
The Pit Master - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Chop - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Peanut butter and jelly cupcake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pecan Pie - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Banana Cream Pudding - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
pork ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Skillet Cornbread  - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Mac & Cheese - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Moist Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cupcake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Smoked Hickory Honey BBQ Wings - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Sausage - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Beef Shoulder - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
PB&J Cupcake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Braised Collard Greens With Bacon - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Sausage And Lean Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Macaroni and Cheese - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Beer Can Game Hen - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Potato Salad - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
bbq sauce - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Corn Pudding - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Baked Beans - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Cinnamon Bread Pudding - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Spare Ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Brisket, Sausage, Pork Rib With Coleslaw And Baked Beans - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Banana Pudding - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Green Bean Casserole - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Mac and Cheese - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Corn Bread - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Deviled Eggs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Meats - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Collard Greens - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Bread - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Cole Slaw - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Brisket, Beef Ribs, Original And Jalapeno Cheese Sausage - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Rib & Prime Rib - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Black Eyed Caviar - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Sweet Tea - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pitmaster Combo - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Jalapenos, Texas Black-Eyed Caviar, Beer Braised Cowboy Pinto Beans  - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Beef Rib & Brisket Moist - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
kreuz market sausage - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Moist Brisket, Beef Ribs, Mac&cheese, Collard Greens - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Deserts - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Mashed Sweet Potatoes - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
#Fyeahbbq #Googlehomesickbbq - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Moist Brisket And Jalapeno Sausage - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Big Red - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage, Pork Rib, And Chicken  - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
All You Can Eat - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Meats (brisket, Sausage, Pork Ribs) - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
chocolate chip cookie - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Bbq Porkbelly - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Bbq Meats (Brisket, Pork & Beef Rib, Chicken) - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Spare Ribs And Market Chicken - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Belly - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
fried chicken - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Iced tea - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Cornbread - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Baked Beans With Burnt Ends And Potatoes - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
The Two Step - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Everything's Bigger In Texas Meal For Four - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
#ribs #bbq - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Apple Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Assorted Meats - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Anchor Porter - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Moist Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Chicken And Ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Bbq Beef Ribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Beef Ribs, Prime Rib, Pork Chop - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pile Of Meat - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Cornbread With Ancho Honey Butter, White Shoepeg Corn Pudding, And Campfire Baked Beans W/ Burnt Ends - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Brisket, Chicken And Rib Special  - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Blue Bell's Praline Pecans And Cream Ice Cream - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Spareribs - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Moist Brisket, Pork Ribs, Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole, Cole Slaw, And Corn Bread - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Chicken Wings - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Moist Beef Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cupcakes - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pork Ribs With Mac And Mash - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Blondie - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Chicken - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Smoked Upside Down Pineapple Cake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Side Dishes - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Pulled Pork - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
BBQ Beef Sandwich - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Cookies and Cream Cupcake - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Prime Cut - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Ancho Chili Chocolate Pudding - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage - Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Restaurants in Chelsea ›

Good for Groups (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Casual (32)
See All
Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Authentic (15)
Live Music (15)
Family Style (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great Beer (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Live Sports (4)
Business Meals (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was rude and inattentive. Everyt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Server was rude and inattentive. Everything else was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Not a huge fan of barbecue, but the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not a huge fan of barbecue, but the food was definitely good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We enjoyed dining here and found the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed dining here and found the food to be delicious and very fresh. The ribs and brisket were both excellent as were the sides. The kids loved the mac and cheese. My only complaint was the cost of the meats. 3 ribs and a 1/2 lb of brisket set us back $34. The sides were all fairly reasonable but to spend $95 on BBQ for the family was pretty steep.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to Hill Country on a date, took my ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Hill Country on a date, took my girl who is a big Country Western fan . The food was good Barbecue, the band was very good. However because it was so close to the Holiday there were not many patrons, but the over all experience was good none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Ambiance and food are great, service is ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Ambiance and food are great, service is so dismal. This group of starving artists have no joy in delivering any kind of Texas charm or hospitality. This was my second time visiting and if it weren't for my love of BBQ and TexAs I might never return. Service is so poor, they starting closing up a full hour before close, I literally felt like an unwanted guest. One nice guy did offer me an extra apple pie, probably so he wouldn't have to put it back in the fridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

For Thanksgiving, you could have as much ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

For Thanksgiving, you could have as much as you wanted of any and all meats and sides and desserts for $50. Only drinks were extra. This is a Texas style BBQ, meaning that it is cafeteria style. You use your menu to go to the various counters and receive your food. Waiters bring you water, clean your table, and give you the check. We thought the food was delicious and abundant. The atmosphere was friendly. The waiters were accommodating. Worth it. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great thanksgiving day all you can eat m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great thanksgiving day all you can eat meal. It was all you can eat for 49$ a person and we had more food that we could finish. Items included: turkey, green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, ribs, beef brisket, smoked chicken, tri tip, Mac n cheese, sweet potatoes, corn, collard greens, pumpkin pie, banana cream pie and bourbon walnut pie. I'm probably leaving stuff off bc this place was so great.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did quite a bit of research prior to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We did quite a bit of research prior to Thanksgiving to find something that would be family friendly, good food, closer to our normal large family dinner, comfortable and also reasonably priced. Our Thanksgiving dinner was perfect. The turkey, brisket and sausage were excellent and large portions, sides were plentiful and everything was very good. Mini pies for dessert were delicious. Servers and staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful meal!! Excellent value

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Thanksgiving dinner with family. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect Thanksgiving dinner with family. Food was great and it was all you could eat. Not fancy, a fair price. Paper trays to eat on, would have liked a plate! Dessert was a little disappointing but overall, a good pick for casual family Thanksgiving with traditional food. Never felt hurried, we were there for 2.5 hours. (Need mashed potatoes next year! ) Service was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving. Food was very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. Food was very good however overpriced for the buffet style menu. Service was fair. Nice girl , just didn't give us much attention. They good have given much better service since we basically served ourselves for $50 per person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Our food was delicious, but the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our food was delicious, but the service was very poor which lead to just an ok experience at this restaurant. We went for Thanksgiving & had a reservation. We were seated right away but our waitress never came to greet us or take a drink order. After about 10 minutes of waiting we finally went to find someone. The waitress claimed the hostess had not told her we were seated. The way you get your food here is different from other restaurants & that was never explained well to us so we were very confused when we went to order our food. Our drinks were never refilled & we had to get up from the table & go to the waitress stand ourselves to refill our drinks. We were very disappointed with the service & we weren't the only table that was disappointed around us.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

This was our first time and thought the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our first time and thought the food and atmosphere were excellent. The service was terrible. Our waitress never came back to our table. I had to keep asking are you our waitress until someone else helped us but by then we were ready to leave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Service was spotty...woman at entrance w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was spotty...woman at entrance was not friendly...hardly smiled ....waitress forgot a drink order during meal....food was mediocre ...not tasty....sorry to say

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Cafeteria style dining is cool! Convenie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cafeteria style dining is cool! Convenient for dining with groups so everyone foots their own bill. Food was good except for the sweet potato mash. The brisket was phenomenal and so was the mac&cheese.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Amazing concept! The food was delicious! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing concept! The food was delicious! Loved the interior, it felt a bit like Texas:)

The only bad thing I could think about is where the staff choosed to put me and my date. It wasen´t the best decision putting a table for two between two large and drunk groups. Other then that, nothing to complain about.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good BBQ - less choice than before.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good BBQ - less choice than before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, Fantastic service, Fanta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic food, Fantastic service, Fantastic live music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a dreadful pool of slop served in a honk ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

a dreadful pool of slop served in a honky tonk setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We have been fans of Hill Country for ye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We have been fans of Hill Country for years. Every trip is a delight. This meal included moist brisket, ribs, sausage, pork belly, mac/cheese and collards. All top shelf.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Quite a bit overprice for so-so food. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Quite a bit overprice for so-so food. Will never go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, good fun! The wait is long, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, good fun! The wait is long, reservations recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The system as far as table service and p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The system as far as table service and paying of the bill is a little confusing, and somewhat inconvenient. Prefer the set up of the Brooklyn location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always awesome food and great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always awesome food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Authentic Texas BBQ. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great atmosphere. Authentic Texas BBQ. Fun place. Perfect for a birthday celebration with kids.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many of the sides were out or not prepar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Many of the sides were out or not prepared. So we had limited choices. It was early in the evening too. Moist brisket was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Still remains my favorite BBQ restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Still remains my favorite BBQ restaurant in NYC. Brisket is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited here on trip to NYC, staying my ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Visited here on trip to NYC, staying my nearby.

Great atmosphere, friendly people & quality BBQ! Wish we'd finally be it earlier in the trip as we'd have gone twice! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was great. Moist brisket, burnt end ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was great. Moist brisket, burnt ends, & mac & cheese are the way to go.

Seating and service was horrible. They put us right up against the ordering counter with at least 30 empty tables. Service was slow and spotty. I wish I lived near by as take out may be the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Complete lack of authenticity. Bruno Mar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Complete lack of authenticity. Bruno Mars instead of Country music. No live music because of a private party downstairs... Expensive for rather mediocre food. To be avoided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We had a great night of real Texas bbq a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great night of real Texas bbq and live honky tonk music downstairs. We will be back next time with a bigger group!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Dancing, Live Music, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot for dinner before the Knicks ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great spot for dinner before the Knicks game with my son who is a BBQ lover. Everything was delicious! The staff treated us so well. Food was very reasonably priced and we left stuffed! Make sure to make a reservation. It's a long wait otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It's my go to for visiting family & frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It's my go to for visiting family & friends/first time NYers. Love the food. Love the vibe.

Recommendation: The meat gets cold by the time you get to the table. In addition, our Prime Rib wasn't rare...it was raw. The spare ribs (under the lamp) are never hot enough...they were cold by the time we got to the table. Anything you can do to improve that would be awesome.

We got the last piece of the duck which was on special. It was amazing. The sides are insanely good. You should NEVER run out of the Bourbon Mash. So disappointed that it wasn't available.

The staff at the host desk could be friendlier. The party should start the minute you walk in the door. The bartenders, staff behind the counters, waiters are awesome. The host stand needs to lighten up!

All in all great.

Will continue coming back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good meat! Too noisy!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very good meat! Too noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our second time at the Hill Coun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is our second time at the Hill Country Barbecue Market and we will be back yet again! We had the burnt ends, mac 'n cheese and collard greens and all were delicious. This is a cool place to eat because there is only wait service for drinks. You get up and go to the counter to order your meats. Go to another counter for sides. All are served on brown paper or in paper containers - no fuss and nothing upscale. It is just pure lick your fingers barbecue and comfort food. Go there for a good time and some great food!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been going to Hill Country for 3 y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I had been going to Hill Country for 3 years now and this is the first time I have ever been disappointed. The food was so-so, ex. - meat was dry (moist brisket), cole slaw was only the shredded cabbage (no sauce added), and it looks like Hill Country couldn't maintain the robust selection of meats or sides that they used as the menu was smaller.

The most disappointing part was the lousy service. Sat down, waited a long time for the drinks (tea and water) and the place wasn't even full. NO REFILLS OR ANYONE CHECKING AT THE TABLE FOR THE ENTIRE MEAL !!! I finally had to get up and walk over to the wait station where several servers stood there hanging out and not working. They ignored me so I started rummaging through the work area looking for a pitcher of tea myself. Finally, one of them asked if I needed something and I said "yes, I need some iced tea and my whole table has none and hasn't had any service during the entire meal". He didn't like it, stormed off, came back several minutes later with one glass of iced tea. I asked him about all my friends and coworkers sitting there and he pretended not to hear me and walked off. WORST SERVICE EVER. My team and I are going to one of the other places in Manhattan from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great dinner, but service was a bit slow ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great dinner, but service was a bit slow. We had to cancel a couple of orders because it took too long. However, we got compensated for it. All-in-all a great BBQ dinner

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great place! Food has stayed the same hi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great place! Food has stayed the same high quality year after year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, authentic Texas style BBQ. F ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delicious, authentic Texas style BBQ. Food is passionately prepared and the staff is eager to please! Brisket was wonderful, as was the Tri Tip, spicy cold smoked sausages, Collards and Slaw. Great ambiance and high energy here. It's a lively, fun environment. Loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! It is like being in Texas, on ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fantastic! It is like being in Texas, only you are in NYC! Great quality food. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Didn't appreciate the (lack of) ambience ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Didn't appreciate the (lack of) ambience and (insufficiently cooked and fatty food. Vastly over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.