About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Restaurant Photos

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron
Beef Brisket
BBQ
BBQ ribs
The Pit Master
Turkey, Confetti Cole Slaw and Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash
Pork Chop
Peanut butter and jelly cupcake
Pecan Pie
Banana Cream Pudding
pork ribs
Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash
Skillet Cornbread
Moist Brisket
Mac & Cheese
Red Velvet Cupcake
Smoked Hickory Honey BBQ Wings
Sausage
Beef Shoulder
PB&J Cupcake
Braised Collard Greens With Bacon
Sausage And Lean Brisket
Macaroni and Cheese
Beer Can Game Hen
Potato Salad
bbq sauce
Baked Beans
Corn Pudding
Cinnamon Bread Pudding
Pork Spare Ribs
Brisket, Sausage, Pork Rib With Coleslaw And Baked Beans
Banana Pudding
Mac and Cheese
Green Bean Casserole
Corn Bread
Deviled Eggs
Meats
Collard Greens
Cole Slaw
Bread
Brisket, Beef Ribs, Original And Jalapeno Cheese Sausage
Black Eyed Caviar
Pork Rib & Prime Rib
Sweet Tea
Jalapenos, Texas Black-Eyed Caviar, Beer Braised Cowboy Pinto Beans
Pitmaster Combo
Beef Rib & Brisket Moist
Red Velvet Cake
kreuz market sausage
Moist Brisket, Beef Ribs, Mac&cheese, Collard Greens
Deserts
Mashed Sweet Potatoes
#Fyeahbbq #Googlehomesickbbq
Moist Brisket And Jalapeno Sausage
Big Red
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage, Pork Rib, And Chicken
All You Can Eat
BBQ Meats (brisket, Sausage, Pork Ribs)
Ribs
chocolate chip cookie
Bbq Porkbelly
Bbq Meats (Brisket, Pork & Beef Rib, Chicken)
Pork Spare Ribs And Market Chicken
Pork Belly
fried chicken
Iced tea
Cornbread
Baked Beans With Burnt Ends And Potatoes
The Two Step
Everything's Bigger In Texas Meal For Four
#ribs #bbq
Apple Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream
Anchor Porter
Assorted Meats
BBQ Moist Brisket
BBQ Chicken And Ribs
Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese
Bbq Beef Ribs
Beef Ribs, Prime Rib, Pork Chop
Pile Of Meat
Cornbread With Ancho Honey Butter, White Shoepeg Corn Pudding, And Campfire Baked Beans W/ Burnt Ends
Blue Bell's Praline Pecans And Cream Ice Cream
Chicken Wings
Moist Brisket, Pork Ribs, Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole, Cole Slaw, And Corn Bread
Brisket, Chicken And Rib Special
Spareribs
Moist Beef Brisket
Pork Ribs With Mac And Mash
Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Blondie
Red Velvet Cupcakes
BBQ Chicken
Smoked Upside Down Pineapple Cake
Pulled Pork
Side Dishes
BBQ Beef Sandwich
Cookies and Cream Cupcake
Prime Cut
Jalapeno Cheddar Sausage
Ancho Chili Chocolate Pudding
BBQ Brisket

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (106)
fit for foodies (47)
kid-friendly (43)
See All
great for lunch (42)
neighborhood gem (32)
special occasion (27)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (7)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Need to sink your teeth into something? ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Need to sink your teeth into something? Make it Hill Country Barbeque Market! Nothing better than picking your own. Sides are very good, slaw is great. Outdoor-like atmosphere indoors. Lots of space for groups! Even better for dates who don't mind stripping bones in front of you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Texas Hill Country themed restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Texas Hill Country themed restaurant! BBQ itself was decent, delicious side dishes.

Best of all was the live band in the basement!!!

I would go back there for the live music and the fun atmosphere (if you are after the best BBQ, you may be disappointed.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Something (anything) could have been pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Something (anything) could have been proposed for a birthday (a cake with candles for example)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great BBQ spread. Short rib and burnt en ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great BBQ spread. Short rib and burnt ends are top shelf. Attentive service staff and friendly ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hi I m from Argentina but I m living in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hi

I m from Argentina but I m living in new jersey

This restaurant it the best one

When we have family or friend from my country we go there all the time

I hope you open one in new jersey too

Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The BBQ was definitely some of the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The BBQ was definitely some of the best I've had-- not just in NYC but nationally! I would definitely like to try out the live music scene sometime!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The moist brisket and burnt ends were de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The moist brisket and burnt ends were delicious. The lean brisket was a bit dry. The Kreuz sausage was cold and felt undercooked. They were out of the short ribs (sigh). The cosmos were delicious, ask for them with coconut. We had a bartender filling in for a waiter and he was charming and helpful. Be ready for an extremely (unpleasantly) noisy spot so forget about conversation, but if you plan to eat barbecue and get drunk enough to yell above the din, you'll love this spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing, I highly recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was amazing, I highly recommend this as the best BBQ in manhattan.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Too pricy for what they offer. The downs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Too pricy for what they offer. The downstairs area is pretty cool.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

The pulled pork was unbelievably delicio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The pulled pork was unbelievably delicious...can't stop thinking about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pretty good BBQ spot in NYC. Favorite me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pretty good BBQ spot in NYC. Favorite meat to eat is the Moist Brisket and the Jalepeno Cheese Sausage. Also, a good selection of sides to choose from.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My group was looking for a fun, kid-frie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My group was looking for a fun, kid-friendly restaurant . Usually "kid-friendly" results in sacrificing in high quality eats, and that was not the case at Hill Country. Food was excellent, vibe was just right. Be forewarned, though, that the $20 happy hour pitchers of margarita are potent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good, but disappointed about two ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall good, but disappointed about two things: 1. You no longer offer that delicious, spicy corn succotash. Please bring it back!! 2. The moist brisket was dry and overcooked.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great experience. Loved the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was a great experience. Loved the food and my server, Jarrell, was very kind and patient. Had no idea Brisket could taste that amazing and I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Try getting 20 people into one restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Try getting 20 people into one restaurant at prime dining hours and your selections are limited. Hill Country not only accommodated us but did a phenomenal job juggling our needs of 85 year olds to 8 year olds. Specific Shout our to our server - Edwin, he was really great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great relaxed setting with fun delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great relaxed setting with fun delicious choices. Can't wait to sample more!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great bbq place. Interesting concept to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great bbq place. Interesting concept to purchase meat by the weight, similar to a butcher. Enjoyed the food and can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meet :-) Nothing like this in Ital ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great meet :-) Nothing like this in Italy

Just one thing: I like to eat food in a plate, not on a piece of paper...

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Sides were great. Too much fat on the mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Sides were great. Too much fat on the moist brisket.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Group-dining and BBQ - what else you need?

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Simple and varied selection of meats (pork, beef, chicken, sausage) and could ask for lean or fatty. Must try the sides also - just as good as the meats. Recommendations are the mac and cheese, beans, and cole slaw (mayo-based)

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music was great and food was also great! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Music was great and food was also great! George the manager was great! He was very helpful and made night better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best BBQ in NYC GREAT AMBIENCE FRIENDL ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best BBQ in NYC

GREAT AMBIENCE

FRIENDLY STAFF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is average. We find it to be a meat a bit salty and the brisket was too fatty.

They charge the meat by weight and the ribs have huge bones!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Came here on a Monday for all you can ea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Came here on a Monday for all you can eat. We were so beyond stuffed.

With the all you can eat you can get beef brisket, chicken, and pork ribs. Brisket is the best in my opinion. Very fatty and juicy and salty. The chicken is incredibly juicy and delicious too. The ribs are hard to eat because there isn't much meat on them. Make sure to walk over to the counter where they have all the sides and get the cucumber salad (it's very vinegary so it helps cut all the fat with some acid) and the green bean casserole and the bourbon sweet potato mash.

The servers are the cutest :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent barbecue. Limited sel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent barbecue. Limited selections - for example, no pulled pork on day we were there. No kids menu. Drinks served by server. Rest of meal obtained by going to carving and sides stations. You eat off butcher paper on trays. Nice thing is that you order only as much as you want. Don't lose your meal tickets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great Dining Experience; Good Food & Drink.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We visited thanks to a recommendation from our son who had eaten there on several occasions.

After entering, I started talking to one of the bartenders who was talking to another customer about different bourbons, my drink of choice, and he welcomed me into the conversation. We were promptly seated and greeted by our waitress. We ordered drinks, bourbon for me, iced tea for her.

WE went to the counter and ordered, ribs and brisket, the bourbon sweet potato mashed, cucumber salad, baked beans, potato salad and corn bread. They were all very good. The ribs were a little fatty, but really tasty. The brisket was excellent as were he sides and corn bread.

The waitress brought us a couple of complimentary cookies for dessert and on the way out the bartender allowed me to sample a couple of unfamiliar bourbons. Overall, a super experience and one that will cause us to revisit when in NYC and to recommend Hill Country to others who will be visiting the city.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good brisket, and nicely done sides.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Moist brisket was savory, tender and tasty. Mac n cheese side was very nicely done - cheesy and the pasta was al dente. Collard greens were very good as well - flavorful but not very spicy and not greasy. Would have them again. Frankly ready for me.

Place is very noisy though and it's not the best place for conversation - mostly for eating and drinking and making noise.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bring Your Appetite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went to Hill Country after a day of sightseeing in NYC with my family including 4 teenagers. Everyone enjoyed their meal and had a great time. We ordered a ton of food and shared it all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Hill Country BBQ Market is a wooden styl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Hill Country BBQ Market is a wooden style authentic very easy going restaurant with self service and cool live music downstairs. We were sitting outside and It is aperfect hang out if you would like to enjoy good food out of cardboard shells with plastic forks and knives. If I would be a student again I would go there often with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The bbq was delicious and the ambience w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The bbq was delicious and the ambience was perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the best bbq in NYC

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Having had some phenomenal BBQ from Blue Smoke in Manhattan and Hometown BBQ in Brooklyn, perhaps my expectations were a bit too high. HIll Country seems a bit confused in concept of their restaurant. I understand the idea of market style food service ( waiting in line, weighing your meat, finding a table) but it becomes a bit confusing when you are getting up to leave your table frequently to get more sides or meat and making sure someone is watching your table while you're up to get food. THat being said, perhaps the lack of flow in the restaurant is what made the concept less successful. The whole space is packed in with tables and strollers, so there is a lot of balancing going on as you squeeze between tables. Also I was SO SURPRISED at the lack of BBQ sauce! They only had hot sauce on our table. So bizarre! It's fine for a very casual night out, but if you're in Manhattan, I would recommend heading to Blue Smoke an avenue over for a 100x better meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value5

The bbq is good but the standout is the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The bbq is good but the standout is the banana pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This place is super cute, very atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place is super cute, very atmospheric and comfortable. I enjoyed my meal (I got an assortment of BBQ'd meats, with collard greens and cornbread) a lot--the only issue I had was with the chicken thigh I got, which probably could've been cooked quite a bit more. Next time, I will likely just get the brisket, which was delicious!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently awesome.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Consistently awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We attended for our graduation dinner. We were wearing our caps and were enjoying the time with our family and friends. The manager came and comped the two graduates dinners. It was such a nice gesture. The food was delicious; a different kind of experience like you were eating in an old school butcher's shop. The drink's were on point. The best part was the servers, bartender, and hostesses. They all were happy to make room for our growing party (from four people to seven people) with reasonable time. The servers were pleasant and interested in making us happy. The people behind the sides counter and butcher shop answered our million questions without being annoyed or shutting us down.

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE WAS MADE BETTER BY YOUR STAFF FROM THE TOP DOWN! KEEP THEM AND TREAT THEM WELL!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ok food great band

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was basic but ok. Band were fabulous The Nashville Attitude and made it worthwhile going.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I always get the chicken breast and my h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I always get the chicken breast and my husband gets the ribs. I think this most recent visit was the best! I tried the Coke slaw side... Was perfect. The pecan pie dessert?? Omg yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not a good experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was good but didn't like getting a meal ticket and going up to counter to get food. Didn't like that there was no kids menu so its not kid friendly also my ribs were not cooked properly. They were chewy and very tough. The Mac & Cheese as well as the chicken were good and so was the chili. Overall not a favorable place to eat since the food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great with a family

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The standard for Texas BBQ in Manhattan. Great food, fun market-style and a large space make for fun with your kids and family.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I didn't like that I was paying alot of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I didn't like that I was paying alot of money and I had to go and get my own food. I went there for the ribs and didn't like them at all. The brisket was delicious but it was cold by the time I got to eat after waiting on the meat line and then waiting on the line for sides. I thought I was in Whole Foods. My suggestion is pick up the brisket and then go home and eat it after you heat it up.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.