About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (41)
Comfort Food (34)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Fun (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Live Music (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Family Style (17)
Authentic (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Great Beer (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Sports (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is awesome

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had emailed a week in advance to get a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had emailed a week in advance to get a table, and when I showed up, while friendly, the table we were given was far away from the football game, which we were there to watch. We ordered drinks and food for hours as we watched better tables being held for more important guests, many of whom never showed up. Also, our server started out attentive and friendly, and then became disinterested in looking after us. Not mean, but faded quickly and could've been much better.

The bbq was good, especially the burnt ends and the green bean casserole, and the beer specials were solid.

Again, it was overall good, just had the potential to be much better with little extra effort.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

having a reservation meant absolutely NO ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

having a reservation meant absolutely NOTHING !!!

went to hear my friends band play the David Bowie tribute

this is the ONLY reason we went !!

was told they had no tables and were adding more

waited on line and got our food

was told they had a table for us

proceeded to walk down the stairs carrying our coats and trays of food and drinks

'hostess' disappeared

stood there.. looked around nothing

proceeded to walk UP the stairs carrying our coats and trays of food and drinks

ended up sitting at the bar and listened to the band there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was my first time at Hill Country and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was my first time at Hill Country and I think it was pretty good but I was expecting more. The burnt ends were the best thing I ate. The brisket and turkey were good. I didn't care for the ribs that much. There were meaty but too much pepper for my taste. I tried some of the spicy sausage but I didn't care for it that much. I only had one side which was the cucumber squad and that was very good. Next time I go back I will skip the ribs. Also if you have not been there you order all your meats by the pound. When you ask for a half pound of brisket or half pond of anything the cutter will obviously cut a little more so the bill you're expecting winds up a little higher than the bill you have in your head.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was delicious once you understand the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was delicious once you understand the ordering. Wanted to eat more!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic barbecue! The moist brisket, s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic barbecue! The moist brisket, spare ribs, sweet potatoes, and baked beans were all outstandingly delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Texas Dry Rub BBQ east of the Missi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best Texas Dry Rub BBQ east of the Mississippi!

Feels like being in Lockhart, TX, but neater

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Traveled to NYC from Austin TX. We know ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Traveled to NYC from Austin TX. We know good BBQ and this is it! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing great food!!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing great food!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a texas inspired bbq place, it i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a texas inspired bbq place, it is not a real restaurant, food is sold by weight, you have to go to the counter ask for the meat you want to have and then go the sides counter and do the same. The guy behind the counter will immediately give you the food and you can bring it to your table. The only thing for which you are really served is drinks. This doesn't want to sound as a critic, I liked it, it is a different place with a different approach in NYC.

Regarding the quality of food, I had the moist brisket, it was simply amazing, tender and juicy, smoked to perfection, while my wife had the pork ribs, that unfortunately weren't as goods as the brisket.

The local is noisy, with loud music.

I'll recommend it if you want to have a different night in NYC, and especially recommend the brisket.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

People who served us food were fantastic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

People who served us food were fantastic /very generous because they were closing soon and the guy was SUPER friendly helping us in a rush. We went downstairs to eat and no server helped us; it was kind of awkward with all these workers and no one acknowledged us. Food was great though. Not the best BBQ but it is up there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Cool place but don't over order !! Meat ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cool place but don't over order !! Meat is fantastic and varied options

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a group, food was awesom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great place for a group, food was awesome, solid drinks, and was perfect to meet the needs of our group which included a young kid, some teens, and some adult beverage-needing folks. Would definitely go again! Only downside was our waitress made very few and infrequent appearances so if you wanted more than one drink or were in a bit of a rush you were out of luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

You can't go wrong with this casual BBQ ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

You can't go wrong with this casual BBQ joint - and you'll never go home hungry. Excellent option for large groups and family style meals since you can order to meet your group size. Cafeteria style - you get up and get your own food - but excellent service for drinks at your table. Nice TX style decor. Don't miss the moist brisket, cucumber salad, coleslaw and the half chicken. If you don't know what to try, get the sampler meal, it's enough for two.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service could have been better and I thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service could have been better and I think slightly overpriced, but good overall and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good. Service a little weird. B ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was good. Service a little weird. Basically it's a cafeteria type services and the wait staff brings drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent bbq; I preferred the brisket a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent bbq; I preferred the brisket and burnt ends

Sides were also great

scotch choices were somewhat meager

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My son and I love this place! It's like ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My son and I love this place! It's like the Texas BBQ I grew up on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I've always been a fan of Hill Country. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I've always been a fan of Hill Country. The moist brisket is simply the best around. The prime rib was also amazing. Very casual setting. Love the fact you can go to the butcher counter and pick out the meat(s) you want. There's something very simple yet comforting to the atmosphere and concept of Hill Country. Live music didn't hurt. Will be back. Great for groups.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was so impressed by how quickly we ate a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Was so impressed by how quickly we ate and how delicious all of the food was!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun concept, delicious food, great drink ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Fun concept, delicious food, great drinks, very filling and fulfilling; great place for a group to celebrate where strict decorum is not required

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

You get your own food at the counter and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

You get your own food at the counter and the wait staff will bring you drinks. While I'm all for tipping hardworking waiters/waitresses I think they need to do a little more for the customer than just bring them drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food and ambiance but employees see ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and ambiance but employees seem like they didn't want to be there and was being forced to serve and act friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great barbecue for NYC. We were a party ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great barbecue for NYC. We were a party of 8. They seated us right away, even though 1 person wasn't there yet. They explain exactly how everything works very clearly. One thing to note, it's that it's almost like cafeteria style. They have 2 counters, meats & sides. You take the menu to the counter, and get your food that way (they don't serve you or bring you your food). But it's delicious, very easy, and worth every penny!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I absolutely love their beef brisket. An ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I absolutely love their beef brisket. And the green bean casserole

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my fifth time at Hill Country. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was my fifth time at Hill Country. Food was fine. Not the best I've had there, but still good. Service has been pretty average the last three times. They just don't seem to care much - both the table servers and the BBQ counter people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Server was rude and inattentive. Everyt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Server was rude and inattentive. Everything else was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Not a huge fan of barbecue, but the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not a huge fan of barbecue, but the food was definitely good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We enjoyed dining here and found the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed dining here and found the food to be delicious and very fresh. The ribs and brisket were both excellent as were the sides. The kids loved the mac and cheese. My only complaint was the cost of the meats. 3 ribs and a 1/2 lb of brisket set us back $34. The sides were all fairly reasonable but to spend $95 on BBQ for the family was pretty steep.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to Hill Country on a date, took my ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Hill Country on a date, took my girl who is a big Country Western fan . The food was good Barbecue, the band was very good. However because it was so close to the Holiday there were not many patrons, but the over all experience was good none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Ambiance and food are great, service is ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Ambiance and food are great, service is so dismal. This group of starving artists have no joy in delivering any kind of Texas charm or hospitality. This was my second time visiting and if it weren't for my love of BBQ and TexAs I might never return. Service is so poor, they starting closing up a full hour before close, I literally felt like an unwanted guest. One nice guy did offer me an extra apple pie, probably so he wouldn't have to put it back in the fridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

For Thanksgiving, you could have as much ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

For Thanksgiving, you could have as much as you wanted of any and all meats and sides and desserts for $50. Only drinks were extra. This is a Texas style BBQ, meaning that it is cafeteria style. You use your menu to go to the various counters and receive your food. Waiters bring you water, clean your table, and give you the check. We thought the food was delicious and abundant. The atmosphere was friendly. The waiters were accommodating. Worth it. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great thanksgiving day all you can eat m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great thanksgiving day all you can eat meal. It was all you can eat for 49$ a person and we had more food that we could finish. Items included: turkey, green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, ribs, beef brisket, smoked chicken, tri tip, Mac n cheese, sweet potatoes, corn, collard greens, pumpkin pie, banana cream pie and bourbon walnut pie. I'm probably leaving stuff off bc this place was so great.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did quite a bit of research prior to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We did quite a bit of research prior to Thanksgiving to find something that would be family friendly, good food, closer to our normal large family dinner, comfortable and also reasonably priced. Our Thanksgiving dinner was perfect. The turkey, brisket and sausage were excellent and large portions, sides were plentiful and everything was very good. Mini pies for dessert were delicious. Servers and staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful meal!! Excellent value

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Thanksgiving dinner with family. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect Thanksgiving dinner with family. Food was great and it was all you could eat. Not fancy, a fair price. Paper trays to eat on, would have liked a plate! Dessert was a little disappointing but overall, a good pick for casual family Thanksgiving with traditional food. Never felt hurried, we were there for 2.5 hours. (Need mashed potatoes next year! ) Service was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving. Food was very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. Food was very good however overpriced for the buffet style menu. Service was fair. Nice girl , just didn't give us much attention. They good have given much better service since we basically served ourselves for $50 per person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Our food was delicious, but the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our food was delicious, but the service was very poor which lead to just an ok experience at this restaurant. We went for Thanksgiving & had a reservation. We were seated right away but our waitress never came to greet us or take a drink order. After about 10 minutes of waiting we finally went to find someone. The waitress claimed the hostess had not told her we were seated. The way you get your food here is different from other restaurants & that was never explained well to us so we were very confused when we went to order our food. Our drinks were never refilled & we had to get up from the table & go to the waitress stand ourselves to refill our drinks. We were very disappointed with the service & we weren't the only table that was disappointed around us.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

This was our first time and thought the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our first time and thought the food and atmosphere were excellent. The service was terrible. Our waitress never came back to our table. I had to keep asking are you our waitress until someone else helped us but by then we were ready to leave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Service was spotty...woman at entrance w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was spotty...woman at entrance was not friendly...hardly smiled ....waitress forgot a drink order during meal....food was mediocre ...not tasty....sorry to say

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Amazing concept! The food was delicious! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing concept! The food was delicious! Loved the interior, it felt a bit like Texas:)

The only bad thing I could think about is where the staff choosed to put me and my date. It wasen´t the best decision putting a table for two between two large and drunk groups. Other then that, nothing to complain about.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.