About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Restaurant Photos

  • Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chili Mac - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Arnold Palmer - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chopped Brisket Sandwich - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • 1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chopped Brisket Sliders - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chili Mac - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Arnold Palmer - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chopped Brisket Sandwich - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chopped Brisket Sliders - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Casual (22)
Comfort Food (20)
See All
Fun (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Live Music (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The brisket (we chose "moist" as opposed ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The brisket (we chose "moist" as opposed to "lean") was wonderfully tender and flavorful with a smokey bark that goes well with their barbecue sauce. My only other wish would be more sauce selections (they had house and Pete's). Oh, that, and they were out of Prime Rib and Shoulder....a bit early at 7pm to be out but we'll give it another shot for those two another time. Collard greens were good; cornbread was actually corn muffins (and at $3.25 a bit much for two small muffins.)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. Service was good too. Thi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good. Service was good too. This was a thanksgiving buffet and a little pricey.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's like a southern style hometown barb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It's like a southern style hometown barbecue place, but with a twist. You take your ordet card to the meat counter and hand it to the meat carvers. They give you what you order by weight, add your price to your card, and then you order your sides. You can taste meat before you order. Everything has great flavor. Brisket is a little on the dry side, but has great flavor and with barbecue sauce added is great. The servers are all really nice and help explain the ordering process. Must try the cinnamon whipped butter that comes with the corn muffins.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Texas BBQ in DC. But it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is the best Texas BBQ in DC. But it doesn't hold a candle to the real stuff in Texas. Even a chain BBQ joint in Texas is a cut above. Look, the food was real good, the chicken was moist and flavorful. The brisket. Was good but I prefer it without the fat. The ribs were a little tough. But all had a good taste. The sides were plentiful and tasty. I'd go back, but I'm not going out of my way for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food to include well prepare ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding food to include well prepared sides. Tables in so areas a little tight to get in and out of without disrupting those next to you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As far as barbecue goes, the food was de ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

As far as barbecue goes, the food was delicious. Service was good, ambiance was great, and it was an enjoyable experience overall. The only criticism I have is how expensive this place is! I have never had more expensive barbecue. Isn't the whole point of barbecue for it to be casual and inexpensive? My husband and I shared a few sides, got two ribs, and 1/4 pound of brisket and paid $60! It was well worth it because the food was so good, but not something we could do often.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The vibe was fun and upbeat. The meat wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The vibe was fun and upbeat. The meat was mediocre at best. The chicken & turkey were the best. The sides were terrific: Cole slaw, mac & cheese, corn pudding, sweet potatoes, collard greens, baked beans, green bean casserole & cornbread. Didn't care for the hot apple crisp. The topping tasted like granola. The banana pudding was excellent. Wanted to try the pb&j cupcake & the brownie but ran out of room. The lager on tap was wonderful!! Service was great. I thought it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brisket good, chicken fair, sides excell ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Brisket good, chicken fair, sides excellent, service good. Pork ribs very bad and way overpriced, any self-respecting BBQ pit master would be embarrassed to serve. Could only survive in Northern city. Just stick to the brisket and sides (and maybe turkey, which they were out of) if you have to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Amazing quality food with a great enviro ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing quality food with a great environment! Best barbecue in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good food.Good food.Good food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food. Good food.Good food.Good food.Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went on a Friday night and it was pac ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went on a Friday night and it was packed but we expected that. This was our first time dining at Hill Country so we were unfamiliar with the cafeteria style ordering format. It was so noisy in the restaurant that we had a hard time understanding our server's instructions. But we eventually got our food and got seated back at our table to dine.

So about the food. Fair warning, we are from Kansas City and know oustanding barbeque when we taste it. The chicken was smoked well and had a good flavor to the dry rub. The brisket was not tender and a bit on the bland side. The macaroni and cheese tasted like it was made with Velveeta instead of real cheese. The cornbread was ok. The burnt ends in the baked beans was really just cubed beef, not truly burnt ends and the beans themselves were on the bland side.

All in all, we were disappointed with barbecue in DC. But then again if you want good beef you have to go where they raise good beef, and that's not DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This was my first visit there and I enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was my first visit there and I enjoyed it tremendously. The food is great and the serving staff was superb, both at the table and the carving stations where you select your menu. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This place gets super crowded on Friday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place gets super crowded on Friday nights, but it's nice during off times. They often run out of the best menu items, too. We went on a Saturday to catch a Texas football game. Great food, decent beer selection, and not too crowded. Would have preferred a few more TVs though. Oh. And I ate too much.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great meal at Hill Country.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always a great meal at Hill Country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Be aware-food is served basically cafete ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Be aware-food is served basically cafeteria style. You get in line and order main and sides-- very casual . Ok for big group if young people..

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I was disappointed. The concierge at our ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was disappointed. The concierge at our hotel recommended it, and I'd read good reviews. But they were out of my first TWO choices, so it was downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best brisket we've found in the area, pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best brisket we've found in the area, pretty good pulled pork, but the rest was just decent. The bbq chicken was fairly flavorless, the pork ribs were too tough to eat, and the sides were fair but not great. The peanut butter and jelly cupcake and banana pudding were nowhere near great and the sweet tea was so freshly brewed that it still had that sort of bitter fresh taste which is not the right way to serve sweet tea! We had heard rave reviews about this place from friends and were sorely disappointed! I will say that we had a fantastic server that knew we were short on time and was always one step ahead of us to keep us on track!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am from South Texas, and this place wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I am from South Texas, and this place was so close to a true taste of home. The folks working there were busy but helpful. The selection of meats was perfect. I was surprised they didn't have okra, but the green bean casserole made up for it. Mac and cheese was dry, so if you want comfort food don't get it. They had bottles of Big Red and Coke from Mexico. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard about this place for years, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I had heard about this place for years, and had always had it on my list of places to try. It did not disappoint. The quality of meat, the taste of the food, if you love BBQ, you'll love this (no sauce needed), but a drawback for me, was that I do like an array of sauces and I love a good Carolina based sauce, and also they didn't have any ingredients for a drink that I ordered, but our waiter was very friendly and ensured that we enjoyed our experience . Will def go back

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent and the happy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was excellent and the happy hour was good value -$ 5 drink during happy hour and not just at bar seating. Side dishes were tasty but the ribs were not cooked well - still too fatty and chewy when I like/expected them to be tender and falling off the bone, plus they were expensive to boot.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

great ribs and burnt ends. Order what yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

great ribs and burnt ends. Order what you will eat and it is cut to order. Nice feature. Sides were good and I liked that you could order them in three sizes so you don't over do it. The service at tables was not as good as in the market or bar. Noise level is high so be ready.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Hill Country BBQ is a carnivore's deligh ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Hill Country BBQ is a carnivore's delight. With the exception of a few specials, BBQ is priced by the pound with a variety of tasty sides available to mix and match. Best to order for the table and let everyone share. The good: very tasty food and enough variety to serve all your carnivore needs. Try a mix of lean and moist brisket. The bad: Noise level a little too loud for my taste. The ugly: I would have preferred dining on a ceramic plate or perhaps a paper plate, but none were offered. We ended up eating on gray cardboard serving containers and butcher paper--not very civilized. At least good utensils were provided. Beverages were served in mason jars. This is quaint, I guess, but I'd prefer a regular drinking glass.

Wait staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful with beverages, but that's about all: they don't bring the food. Rather, diners fetch their own meals from a serving line at the back of the restaurant, cafeteria style. Restrooms are downstairs where a band played live music and there was a very loud bar scene, definitely not kid friendly.

With these considerations, I will be delighted to meet adult friends here for dinner again, but I wouldn't bring young children and I wouldn't choose this venue for a business meeting over dinner.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome food and great service. One of m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Awesome food and great service. One of my favorite restaurants in DC! Make sure one of your sides is the Mac n Cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We would not recommend this location sim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We would not recommend this location simply because of the noise- it was very loud and we could not hear each other across the table. The food was decent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Enjoy eating here reminds me of Texas

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoy eating here reminds me of Texas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good smoke smell walking in, even back b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good smoke smell walking in, even back by meat pick up. BUT, chicken tasted baked with only ok flavor (no smoke flavor), rib was tender and moist but again no smoke flavor. Brisket had smoke flavor but dry! Really disappointing.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband is a born and raised Texan, a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband is a born and raised Texan, and a true BBQ connoisseur He refuses to go anywhere else in the area for brisket. I am convinced no one else makes better mac n cheese. We love that the atmosphere is truly country casual, so you can pop in after a day of cycling, sightseeing, or just sitting at your desk.

And don't forget, it's one of the only places in the Metro area where you can get Blue Bell Ice Cream!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food--especially the smoked brisket ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food--especially the smoked brisket and sausage is fabulous. However, the confused way of ordering and the noise level makes me want to do a drive by and pick up the next time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

It was not what we were looking for .mea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was not what we were looking for .meat overpriced. I am sure there are better restaurants in Washington, D.C. To eat ribs.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I wen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I went out with coworkers and we had a blast - especially with the $20 pitchers of margaritas during Happy Hour! I had the pitmaster and it was worth every cent. Try the corn pudding, you won't regret it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Hill Country but not the l ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2016

First time at Hill Country but not the last! The brisket and sides were wonderful. The spare ribs were a bit tough however. We ate early and I was surprised at how noisy the place was even though the dining room was still mostly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved this place and I will be returni ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved this place and I will be returning soon. The food and prices are commendable. They have am elevator for the disabled which is an A+ in my book anytime. LUIS was our waiter and he did a fabulous job. Since it was our first time I wished a manager would have checked on us at least once.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Two or us started at the bar and moved t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Two or us started at the bar and moved to a table for dinner. The bartenders are awesome, as are the wait/server and food prep staff. Very informative, answered many questions for us newbies, and attentive. Overall, I would highly recommend Hill Country BBQ for a terrific time and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Ju ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Just true blue Texas BBQ.

Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it' ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it's straight from Texas. Their food is great and service is fast. Make a reservation in case there'll be crowds or you have a larger party, though generally easy to get a seat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Hill country is always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our experience at Hill country is always good.

However Hill Co did not log is in for out 5pm reservation.

So we get an email that we did not so up. TOTALLY WRONG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food overall was average and a bit price ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food overall was average and a bit pricey. Spareribs were tough and hot sausage link was very greasy. The chicken was fair but the brisket and sides (longhorn cheddar mac and cheese and green beans) were delicious. Bottled softdrinks were also expensive. Fountain drinks are a better deal. Would recommend ordering ala carte instead of ordering Pitmaster combo. Get as much as you like of what you like instead of spending $28 for this combo and getting things that might not taste good. Dining room was extremely noisy and didn't have much ambience. We ate here because we had tickets for a concert. The show was what we really came for and it was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-service for the cut-to-order meat selections -- beware of the temptation to order too much! Reservations just about essential if one wishes to avoid a long wait. Place was packed on the evening we visited -- fun atmosphere, but difficult to have a conversation for the noise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I found everything to be overly salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was decent, but food was so-so. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was decent, but food was so-so. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.