About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Restaurant Photos

  • Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chili Mac - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Arnold Palmer - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chopped Brisket Sandwich - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • 1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
  • Chopped Brisket Sliders - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC

Report a photo problem

Brisket - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chili Mac - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Arnold Palmer - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chopped Brisket Sandwich - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC
Chopped Brisket Sliders - Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Casual (24)
See All
Fun (20)
Authentic (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Family Style (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress was very friendly and helpf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The waitress was very friendly and helpful but I was disappointed in the staff working the cafeteria style food line. The meats guy noted the menu wasn't accurate so there are things on the menu that they don't sell. Not his fault but he wasn't pleasant about it. It took a couple of minutes to get the attention of the cold sides guy and when he got around to serving us, he wasn't very happy either. The hot sides server was at least faster in getting us the sides but, overall, the folks working this part of the operation acted like they didn't care whether or not we had a good experience.

The meats were well prepared, we had the ribs, brisket, and sausages. They only serve one type of sauce but it was very good and went well with every meat dish we got. The sides I'd rate very good. The cucumber salad and cole slaw were tasty and not too juicy. The campfire beans were excellent.

We also caught the live music show downstairs. For no cover charge, they (Man About A Horse) were very talented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had a great time with Folk Soul Revival, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time with Folk Soul Revival, my wife and I travel to DC annually to see this great band and enjoy fantastic food ...5 star fun!!! We love Hill Country!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Hill Country BBQ. The atmosphere ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Hill Country BBQ. The atmosphere is super fun and the food is delicious! Make sure to make a reservation since it can be hard to get into during peak dinner times. And come with an appetite!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was great and quick since you o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great and quick since you order cafeteria style. I loved the banana pudding for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

GREAT BBQ! we'll be back soon. Must tr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

GREAT BBQ! we'll be back soon. Must try the mac & cheese

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, pitmasters were friendly, be ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food, pitmasters were friendly, be prepared for large portions.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great food, server was slow and not atte ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

great food, server was slow and not attentive to our table.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Three of the four of us were first-timer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Three of the four of us were first-timers -- my wife and I and our son's date. Our 28 year old son had been before and loved it . And so did we other three. I knew my wife would prefer something more haute but this was just perfect. We had a reasonably quiet table in a pretty noisy place; all service agents were friendly and forthcoming. I couldn't quite find the right beer until my third try which seemed perfectly o.k. with my wait person. The food was terrific. All the barbecue cuts you might want, all the sides imaginable with barbecue cuisine. The brisket was the best ever -- the juicier of the choices. The string beans and onions as a side was first rate. Sweet potatoes to die for if they don't kill you first. This is not heart-healthy fare but what it is and the place where it was served were just terrific. Larry C

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really disappointed in the ribs. The bri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Really disappointed in the ribs. The brisket wasn't anything special. For a place where you have to get your own food, the food service was incredibly slow.

Overall, a high price to pay for a mediocre dining experience. The only advantage is, this place has gone so far downhill that you can easily walk up and get a table before a Caps game (when every other restaurant is packed).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food and excellent sides. Affo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and excellent sides. Affordable and nicely styled (wooden). Best place for food (meat) in DC!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious bbq, friendly staff, great ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious bbq, friendly staff, great service and the karaoke w/live band was awesome!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend - food was very ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Recommended by a friend - food was very delicious and service was good. Unfortunately, almost half of the meat selection was not available. This should not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

no fuss bbq. great flavor, good service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

no fuss bbq. great flavor, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is always great here. Food is g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Service is always great here. Food is good but it can get noisy

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The cafeteria-style serving line is a bi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The cafeteria-style serving line is a bit overwhelming for a first-timer who doesn't know the system, but staff are very helpful (and so are other patrons who are regular lunchtime visitors). Casual atmosphere, which was fine with me because I was meeting a former colleague for lunch; might not be the best spot for a more formal business lunch. I had a salad with BBQ pork loin on top. The meat serving was generous. My meat was a bit dry, but I expected that because I purposely chose a lean option (I suspect brisket would have been much better). The salad was also generous, and there were lots of custom toppings available. Compared to other lunch options in the area, this salad offered a decent value for the serving size, with a good amount of protein. Ambiance is fun but LOUD -- not the best place if you're trying to have a meaningful conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Had a fun experience at Hill Country and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a fun experience at Hill Country and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went here before our theater performa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We went here before our theater performance and enjoyed our meal. VERY loud, but good service, great food, cute decor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really good Texas-style barbecue - smoke ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really good Texas-style barbecue - smokey beef brisket, chicken, sausage, pulled pork and brontosaurus-size ribs. Very tasty sides, too. Especially love the collard greens and corn pudding. Downsides: You have to go get your own food (just like at Texas BBQ joints) and the near-deafening noise level during busy periods. You can barely have a conversation with fellow diners. Service was prompt and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Smell of great BBQ starts this experienc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Smell of great BBQ starts this experience. Texas BBQ with appropriate sides (beans with beef tips.....outstanding). Great place to grab a bite before heading to the Verizon Center! Will go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The brisket (we chose "moist" as opposed ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The brisket (we chose "moist" as opposed to "lean") was wonderfully tender and flavorful with a smokey bark that goes well with their barbecue sauce. My only other wish would be more sauce selections (they had house and Pete's). Oh, that, and they were out of Prime Rib and Shoulder....a bit early at 7pm to be out but we'll give it another shot for those two another time. Collard greens were good; cornbread was actually corn muffins (and at $3.25 a bit much for two small muffins.)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. Service was good too. Thi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good. Service was good too. This was a thanksgiving buffet and a little pricey.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's like a southern style hometown barb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It's like a southern style hometown barbecue place, but with a twist. You take your ordet card to the meat counter and hand it to the meat carvers. They give you what you order by weight, add your price to your card, and then you order your sides. You can taste meat before you order. Everything has great flavor. Brisket is a little on the dry side, but has great flavor and with barbecue sauce added is great. The servers are all really nice and help explain the ordering process. Must try the cinnamon whipped butter that comes with the corn muffins.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Texas BBQ in DC. But it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is the best Texas BBQ in DC. But it doesn't hold a candle to the real stuff in Texas. Even a chain BBQ joint in Texas is a cut above. Look, the food was real good, the chicken was moist and flavorful. The brisket. Was good but I prefer it without the fat. The ribs were a little tough. But all had a good taste. The sides were plentiful and tasty. I'd go back, but I'm not going out of my way for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food to include well prepare ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding food to include well prepared sides. Tables in so areas a little tight to get in and out of without disrupting those next to you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As far as barbecue goes, the food was de ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

As far as barbecue goes, the food was delicious. Service was good, ambiance was great, and it was an enjoyable experience overall. The only criticism I have is how expensive this place is! I have never had more expensive barbecue. Isn't the whole point of barbecue for it to be casual and inexpensive? My husband and I shared a few sides, got two ribs, and 1/4 pound of brisket and paid $60! It was well worth it because the food was so good, but not something we could do often.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The vibe was fun and upbeat. The meat wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The vibe was fun and upbeat. The meat was mediocre at best. The chicken & turkey were the best. The sides were terrific: Cole slaw, mac & cheese, corn pudding, sweet potatoes, collard greens, baked beans, green bean casserole & cornbread. Didn't care for the hot apple crisp. The topping tasted like granola. The banana pudding was excellent. Wanted to try the pb&j cupcake & the brownie but ran out of room. The lager on tap was wonderful!! Service was great. I thought it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brisket good, chicken fair, sides excell ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Brisket good, chicken fair, sides excellent, service good. Pork ribs very bad and way overpriced, any self-respecting BBQ pit master would be embarrassed to serve. Could only survive in Northern city. Just stick to the brisket and sides (and maybe turkey, which they were out of) if you have to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Amazing quality food with a great enviro ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing quality food with a great environment! Best barbecue in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Good food.Good food.Good food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food. Good food.Good food.Good food.Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went on a Friday night and it was pac ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went on a Friday night and it was packed but we expected that. This was our first time dining at Hill Country so we were unfamiliar with the cafeteria style ordering format. It was so noisy in the restaurant that we had a hard time understanding our server's instructions. But we eventually got our food and got seated back at our table to dine.

So about the food. Fair warning, we are from Kansas City and know oustanding barbeque when we taste it. The chicken was smoked well and had a good flavor to the dry rub. The brisket was not tender and a bit on the bland side. The macaroni and cheese tasted like it was made with Velveeta instead of real cheese. The cornbread was ok. The burnt ends in the baked beans was really just cubed beef, not truly burnt ends and the beans themselves were on the bland side.

All in all, we were disappointed with barbecue in DC. But then again if you want good beef you have to go where they raise good beef, and that's not DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This was my first visit there and I enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was my first visit there and I enjoyed it tremendously. The food is great and the serving staff was superb, both at the table and the carving stations where you select your menu. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This place gets super crowded on Friday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place gets super crowded on Friday nights, but it's nice during off times. They often run out of the best menu items, too. We went on a Saturday to catch a Texas football game. Great food, decent beer selection, and not too crowded. Would have preferred a few more TVs though. Oh. And I ate too much.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great meal at Hill Country.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always a great meal at Hill Country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Be aware-food is served basically cafete ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Be aware-food is served basically cafeteria style. You get in line and order main and sides-- very casual . Ok for big group if young people..

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I was disappointed. The concierge at our ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was disappointed. The concierge at our hotel recommended it, and I'd read good reviews. But they were out of my first TWO choices, so it was downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best brisket we've found in the area, pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best brisket we've found in the area, pretty good pulled pork, but the rest was just decent. The bbq chicken was fairly flavorless, the pork ribs were too tough to eat, and the sides were fair but not great. The peanut butter and jelly cupcake and banana pudding were nowhere near great and the sweet tea was so freshly brewed that it still had that sort of bitter fresh taste which is not the right way to serve sweet tea! We had heard rave reviews about this place from friends and were sorely disappointed! I will say that we had a fantastic server that knew we were short on time and was always one step ahead of us to keep us on track!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am from South Texas, and this place wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I am from South Texas, and this place was so close to a true taste of home. The folks working there were busy but helpful. The selection of meats was perfect. I was surprised they didn't have okra, but the green bean casserole made up for it. Mac and cheese was dry, so if you want comfort food don't get it. They had bottles of Big Red and Coke from Mexico. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance! Terrific casual dining & ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great ambiance! Terrific casual dining & food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had heard about this place for years, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I had heard about this place for years, and had always had it on my list of places to try. It did not disappoint. The quality of meat, the taste of the food, if you love BBQ, you'll love this (no sauce needed), but a drawback for me, was that I do like an array of sauces and I love a good Carolina based sauce, and also they didn't have any ingredients for a drink that I ordered, but our waiter was very friendly and ensured that we enjoyed our experience . Will def go back

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent and the happy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was excellent and the happy hour was good value -$ 5 drink during happy hour and not just at bar seating. Side dishes were tasty but the ribs were not cooked well - still too fatty and chewy when I like/expected them to be tender and falling off the bone, plus they were expensive to boot.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.