About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Restaurant Photos

  • Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC
  • Brisket
  • Chili Mac
  • Arnold Palmer
  • Chopped Brisket Sandwich
  • 1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib
  • Chopped Brisket Sliders
Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC
Brisket
Chili Mac
Arnold Palmer
Chopped Brisket Sandwich
1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib
Chopped Brisket Sliders

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (41)
Great for Lunch (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Special Occasion (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I wen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I went out with coworkers and we had a blast - especially with the $20 pitchers of margaritas during Happy Hour! I had the pitmaster and it was worth every cent. Try the corn pudding, you won't regret it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Hill Country but not the l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time at Hill Country but not the last! The brisket and sides were wonderful. The spare ribs were a bit tough however. We ate early and I was surprised at how noisy the place was even though the dining room was still mostly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved this place and I will be returni ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved this place and I will be returning soon. The food and prices are commendable. They have am elevator for the disabled which is an A+ in my book anytime. LUIS was our waiter and he did a fabulous job. Since it was our first time I wished a manager would have checked on us at least once.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Two or us started at the bar and moved t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Two or us started at the bar and moved to a table for dinner. The bartenders are awesome, as are the wait/server and food prep staff. Very informative, answered many questions for us newbies, and attentive. Overall, I would highly recommend Hill Country BBQ for a terrific time and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Ju ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Just true blue Texas BBQ.

Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it' ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it's straight from Texas. Their food is great and service is fast. Make a reservation in case there'll be crowds or you have a larger party, though generally easy to get a seat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Hill country is always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our experience at Hill country is always good.

However Hill Co did not log is in for out 5pm reservation.

So we get an email that we did not so up. TOTALLY WRONG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food overall was average and a bit price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food overall was average and a bit pricey. Spareribs were tough and hot sausage link was very greasy. The chicken was fair but the brisket and sides (longhorn cheddar mac and cheese and green beans) were delicious. Bottled softdrinks were also expensive. Fountain drinks are a better deal. Would recommend ordering ala carte instead of ordering Pitmaster combo. Get as much as you like of what you like instead of spending $28 for this combo and getting things that might not taste good. Dining room was extremely noisy and didn't have much ambience. We ate here because we had tickets for a concert. The show was what we really came for and it was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-service for the cut-to-order meat selections -- beware of the temptation to order too much! Reservations just about essential if one wishes to avoid a long wait. Place was packed on the evening we visited -- fun atmosphere, but difficult to have a conversation for the noise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I found everything to be overly salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was decent, but food was so-so. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was decent, but food was so-so. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very good food and the side dishes even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very good food and the side dishes even better.

A little loud but nicely decorated and the service was good.

Make a reservation !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Being able to order just how much you wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Being able to order just how much you want to eat is awesome when you're not in a position to cart home leftovers. Good BBQ but not great - brisket and pork loin were both a little dry, although short rib was really good. Only one option for sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food is good but having to get it yourse ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is good but having to get it yourself is a pain in the rear. They have this system where you go with a card to get stuff and wait in line for it. If I wanted to wait in line I would go to chipotle. Then we had issues with them marking extra stuff that showed up on our bill and had to have that corrected. it was annoying. they should stick to the basics at the restaurant and have waiter that wait the tables not the patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good BBQ but unbearably noisy. Arriving ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good BBQ but unbearably noisy. Arriving at Hill Country you are immediately confronted with the wonderful smoky smell of first class smoked meat and the assaultive, intolerable noise from the music and the crowds. The smoky scent is great but the noise permeates every area and really ruined the experience for me. If you make it past the noise and enjoy the self-serve style, you will be rewarded with fine smoked beef and pork. The ribs were excellent, truly smoky and tender. The lean brisket was just a little dry but also smoky and completely lean. The pork is thick sliced, not pulled. It's also lean but a bit too salty. BBQ sauce would have helped the flavor but the sauce on the table was just sweet with no spice or smokiness. We mixed the bbq sauce with the hot sauce and that helped but was still inferior. The side cole slaw was very good. The market salad was bland and boring and the purported chipotle dressing was of no help. Our server delivered drinks, adequate beer but nothing great. I do agree this may be the best bbq in DC, but DC is not a bbq town. For me, it's wasn't worth losing my voice and my hearing in the relentless din. Also, very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

A fun place with food that tastes like s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A fun place with food that tastes like something your grandparents would have made.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cafeteria-style dining with really fun decor!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the décor at this DC gem! The menu is all Texas with delicious BBQ and yummy sides. Interesting ordering style, though. You take a card through a cafeteria-style line and you get a price tag for everything you put on your tray. Be sure to sample the sides--they will gladly accommodate your request--as they are all very good and some are unique. For dessert, we tried banana cream pudding and strawberry crisp--both delicious. They had live music later in the evening in a lower level area. Wish we could've stayed to enjoy that. Overall, highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but it is very expensive. Not sure when I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best Brisket Around

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Hill Country has the best brisket this side of Lockhart, Texas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BBQ Spot

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I first visited Hill Country Barbeque Market 2 years ago, and have been hooked ever since.

The food is simply delicious. You'd be hard pressed to find better barbeque. Plus the sides are very generous and filling. You buy your meats by the lb which can get a little pricey, but if you talk with your servers at the serving counter's they'll help you stay on budget.

All in all, I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a vegetarian I was surprised at the v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As a vegetarian I was surprised at the variety of side options available at this mainly meat-based restaurant. I wouldn't recommend this to vegans though- all sides (except the beans and salad) had dairy. Everything tasted great! Semi-cafeteria style service but the table service we did have was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Meats were very good, exc ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was good. Meats were very good, except for sausage it has a different texture and was dry. Sides were good but, not super fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Texas girl in DC

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The BBQ meats tastes like authentic Texas BBQ. However, the food is expensive for BBQ. Everything is weighed by the pound. It's ridiculous. Either set a price for all you can eat or have platters, i.e., 3-rib platter, beef brisket platter, mixed-meat platter, etc. While the meats are great, the side dishes are mediocre at best. Expensive for the amount you receive. The service of the wait staff is good but the meat servers could be more enthusiastic. At least look like they want to work there. Overall, it is a good place to dine, especially if a Texan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

casual dining with gourmet BBQ

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Sometime you are just in the mood for BBQ, smoked meats and hearty sides. Hill country is the place to go. It can get a bit pricey, but the food is excellent and choices are plentiful. My favorites: moist brisket, ribs and smoked turkey. Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Texas BBQ in DC.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to school in Texas and love to go to Hill Country to remind me of being there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Loud

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fun atmosphere, but too loud to talk. As warned, they ran out of pulled pork by 7pm. Chicken was great. For the price, we prefer other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good atmosphere and great food ... for a BBQ venue

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Was a good BBQ but the size of the portions is too small. Service was very friendly and the waiter was really helpful with us.

On the points to improve : just plan to have a good shower when going back home. The smoke smell is quite persistant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We expected better

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Friend & I made an Open Table reservation before going to the theater. Called that we were arriving late due to traffic. We arrived, they found us and seated us immediately. Friendly waiter described how it worked - essentially to to the rear for the various food stations and return. He was prompt with our drinks. So far, so good until we went for food. Long lines and just a few people working behind the counters. There were lots of people standing behind the counters, but only one at each station actually serving people. And of course, they had run out of various items.

At the sides station, they had run out of cole slaw (really?) and gal said she would bring me my dish. Well, that never happened and we had the server take it off our bill. No, I don't want to take a to go portion of cole slaw with me! The place is "vibrant" which also means loud and hard to have a conversation but good for gangs of friends. The brisket was tasty but needed lots of sauce available on the tables. I've been to many better BBQ places, but not in downtown DC (uptown, yes). I can see sending out of towners here to try it, as a fun, loud casual place, but we won't be back. And of yes, OT sent me an email the next day saying we were no shows. Kind of added insult to a not great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing food and great service. We will ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Amazing food and great service. We will be back soon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious BBQ, fun atmosphere

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The BBQ is delicious! Go for the pork spare ribs, mac and cheese, and potato salad. Stay for live music downstairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was great!! Very tasty! Can't wait to return !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best out of 3

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I've recently dined at Texas Jack's in Arlington, Epic Smokehouse in Arlington, and Hill Country Barbecue. Of the 3 places, I would rate Hill Country first, Texas Jack's a very close second, and Epic as the clear third-place trailer.

I base this on the following:

Hill Country's food was excellent. I sampled the brisket, prime rib, turkey, and their jalapeno sausage. I did not try the chicken. Everything I tasted had an excellent smoke flavor and was cooked perfectly for my taste. The service was excellent. I did think that Hill Country was a bit pricey. Hill Country embraces a rather communal dining concept that includes many tables in a big room. I believe this is an intentional nod toward the barbecue joints of Texas Hill Country and echoes their ambiance. If you're looking, however, for swank surroundings, this is not your place. My wife likened it to dining in a "cafeteria" even though she greatly enjoyed the food.

Regarding the other two establishments: Texas Jack's has excellent food and you won't be disappointed, but the smoky flavor of their meats seemed to fall just barely short of Hill Country's. I will say, however, that Texas Jack's makes a phenomenally good plate of Nachos AND you can get the same queso on their brisket sandwich. So if you are looking for cheese with your Q, that could be a decisive factor. Epic was...well, meh, it was fine, but I personally would choose one of the other two for a return visit. Sorry Epic, but I have to call them like I see them. Nice folks there though...maybe drop in before you go to the Costco...what the heck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We dropped in after seeing "!984" at the nearby Lansburgh Theatre . As usual, the music was very loud. I tried a couple HC Hot Links and found them dry and bland. She got a Lean Brisket (which might have also passed for "Moist") and a couple ribs. The corn pudding side was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A little bit of Texas in DC!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

I have lived in DC my whole life and was looking for someplace like this and I've finally found it! We were a group of 4 and got the $99 platter. This is the first time I have ordered a platter for 4 and actually had leftovers! The food was awesome and the sides were even better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back once I'm done with the leftovers :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was excellent and very at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The wait staff was excellent and very attentive, and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First and probably last time

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were referred this place for their bbq but we had a very bad first time experience. Upon arrival we were quickly seated then instructed on where to go for food. The line was pretty long but it was no big deal. Upon reaching the front we were informed that they were out of everything but turkey and chicken. We settled for what they had but thought it was crazy that a restaurant in one of the busiest parts of town would run out of food almost 3 hours before they close. The turkey was pretty good but we ordered a pitcher of beer and there was also something very wrong with the beer. It tasted like soap. We weren't sure if it was the glasses or the pitcher but needless to say we did not finish it. We asked for the check and still left the waiter an 18% tip as the issues were no fault of his own but we do not think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I never imagined I'd find a Texas-style BBQ place outside of Texas that is THIS unbelievably delicious. It actually beats out many joints that I've frequented while growing up in Texas. The moist brisket? May as well be dining in Lockhart - absolutely the best. Superb. Pork ribs are outstanding, too. Beans? Done very nicely.

Go for the food. Atmosphere tries hard to convey authentic Austin-area feel, but comes off a bit more like a chain. They tried, though. The food makes up for everything, and a lot more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Yummy BBQ

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

I don't have good bbq near me, so I don't have much to compare it to, however, this was really yummy. Order by the pound, which is a new concept for me. Loved the pork ribs, lamb ribs, chicken, cucumber salad and cornbread. Even my very picky children found something to like with this bbq.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Authentic Texas BBQ

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Authentic Texas BBQ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Okay food, what was available

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Went for dinner at 5PM on a Friday and they were out of 3 items off the menu, including the special that was on the board at the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.