About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Restaurant Photos

  • Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC
  • Brisket
  • Chili Mac
  • Arnold Palmer
  • Chopped Brisket Sandwich
  • 1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib
  • Chopped Brisket Sliders
Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC
Brisket
Chili Mac
Arnold Palmer
Chopped Brisket Sandwich
1/4 Chicken (dark), Brisket (moist), Pork Spare Rib
Chopped Brisket Sliders

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (37)
Kid-friendly (22)
Hot Spot (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am from South Texas, and this place wa ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I am from South Texas, and this place was so close to a true taste of home. The folks working there were busy but helpful. The selection of meats was perfect. I was surprised they didn't have okra, but the green bean casserole made up for it. Mac and cheese was dry, so if you want comfort food don't get it. They had bottles of Big Red and Coke from Mexico. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard about this place for years, ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I had heard about this place for years, and had always had it on my list of places to try. It did not disappoint. The quality of meat, the taste of the food, if you love BBQ, you'll love this (no sauce needed), but a drawback for me, was that I do like an array of sauces and I love a good Carolina based sauce, and also they didn't have any ingredients for a drink that I ordered, but our waiter was very friendly and ensured that we enjoyed our experience . Will def go back

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent and the happy ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent and the happy hour was good value -$ 5 drink during happy hour and not just at bar seating. Side dishes were tasty but the ribs were not cooked well - still too fatty and chewy when I like/expected them to be tender and falling off the bone, plus they were expensive to boot.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

great ribs and burnt ends. Order what yo ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

great ribs and burnt ends. Order what you will eat and it is cut to order. Nice feature. Sides were good and I liked that you could order them in three sizes so you don't over do it. The service at tables was not as good as in the market or bar. Noise level is high so be ready.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Hill Country BBQ is a carnivore's deligh ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Hill Country BBQ is a carnivore's delight. With the exception of a few specials, BBQ is priced by the pound with a variety of tasty sides available to mix and match. Best to order for the table and let everyone share. The good: very tasty food and enough variety to serve all your carnivore needs. Try a mix of lean and moist brisket. The bad: Noise level a little too loud for my taste. The ugly: I would have preferred dining on a ceramic plate or perhaps a paper plate, but none were offered. We ended up eating on gray cardboard serving containers and butcher paper--not very civilized. At least good utensils were provided. Beverages were served in mason jars. This is quaint, I guess, but I'd prefer a regular drinking glass.

Wait staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful with beverages, but that's about all: they don't bring the food. Rather, diners fetch their own meals from a serving line at the back of the restaurant, cafeteria style. Restrooms are downstairs where a band played live music and there was a very loud bar scene, definitely not kid friendly.

With these considerations, I will be delighted to meet adult friends here for dinner again, but I wouldn't bring young children and I wouldn't choose this venue for a business meeting over dinner.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome food and great service. One of m ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Awesome food and great service. One of my favorite restaurants in DC! Make sure one of your sides is the Mac n Cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We would not recommend this location sim ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We would not recommend this location simply because of the noise- it was very loud and we could not hear each other across the table. The food was decent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Enjoy eating here reminds me of Texas

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoy eating here reminds me of Texas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good smoke smell walking in, even back b ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good smoke smell walking in, even back by meat pick up. BUT, chicken tasted baked with only ok flavor (no smoke flavor), rib was tender and moist but again no smoke flavor. Brisket had smoke flavor but dry! Really disappointing.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband is a born and raised Texan, a ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband is a born and raised Texan, and a true BBQ connoisseur He refuses to go anywhere else in the area for brisket. I am convinced no one else makes better mac n cheese. We love that the atmosphere is truly country casual, so you can pop in after a day of cycling, sightseeing, or just sitting at your desk.

And don't forget, it's one of the only places in the Metro area where you can get Blue Bell Ice Cream!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food--especially the smoked brisket ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food--especially the smoked brisket and sausage is fabulous. However, the confused way of ordering and the noise level makes me want to do a drive by and pick up the next time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

It was not what we were looking for .mea ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was not what we were looking for .meat overpriced. I am sure there are better restaurants in Washington, D.C. To eat ribs.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I wen ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely fantastic place to eat. I went out with coworkers and we had a blast - especially with the $20 pitchers of margaritas during Happy Hour! I had the pitmaster and it was worth every cent. Try the corn pudding, you won't regret it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Hill Country but not the l ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

First time at Hill Country but not the last! The brisket and sides were wonderful. The spare ribs were a bit tough however. We ate early and I was surprised at how noisy the place was even though the dining room was still mostly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved this place and I will be returni ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved this place and I will be returning soon. The food and prices are commendable. They have am elevator for the disabled which is an A+ in my book anytime. LUIS was our waiter and he did a fabulous job. Since it was our first time I wished a manager would have checked on us at least once.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Two or us started at the bar and moved t ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Two or us started at the bar and moved to a table for dinner. The bartenders are awesome, as are the wait/server and food prep staff. Very informative, answered many questions for us newbies, and attentive. Overall, I would highly recommend Hill Country BBQ for a terrific time and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Ju ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is the best BBQ in DC right now. Just true blue Texas BBQ.

Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it' ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Can't beat the brisket - tastes like it's straight from Texas. Their food is great and service is fast. Make a reservation in case there'll be crowds or you have a larger party, though generally easy to get a seat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Hill country is always ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our experience at Hill country is always good.

However Hill Co did not log is in for out 5pm reservation.

So we get an email that we did not so up. TOTALLY WRONG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food overall was average and a bit price ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food overall was average and a bit pricey. Spareribs were tough and hot sausage link was very greasy. The chicken was fair but the brisket and sides (longhorn cheddar mac and cheese and green beans) were delicious. Bottled softdrinks were also expensive. Fountain drinks are a better deal. Would recommend ordering ala carte instead of ordering Pitmaster combo. Get as much as you like of what you like instead of spending $28 for this combo and getting things that might not taste good. Dining room was extremely noisy and didn't have much ambience. We ate here because we had tickets for a concert. The show was what we really came for and it was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-serv ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A meat lover's Valhalla! It's self-service for the cut-to-order meat selections -- beware of the temptation to order too much! Reservations just about essential if one wishes to avoid a long wait. Place was packed on the evening we visited -- fun atmosphere, but difficult to have a conversation for the noise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Out of pulled pork? How can that be? I found everything to be overly salty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was decent, but food was so-so. ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was decent, but food was so-so. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very good food and the side dishes even ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very good food and the side dishes even better.

A little loud but nicely decorated and the service was good.

Make a reservation !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Being able to order just how much you wa ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Being able to order just how much you want to eat is awesome when you're not in a position to cart home leftovers. Good BBQ but not great - brisket and pork loin were both a little dry, although short rib was really good. Only one option for sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food is good but having to get it yourse ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is good but having to get it yourself is a pain in the rear. They have this system where you go with a card to get stuff and wait in line for it. If I wanted to wait in line I would go to chipotle. Then we had issues with them marking extra stuff that showed up on our bill and had to have that corrected. it was annoying. they should stick to the basics at the restaurant and have waiter that wait the tables not the patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good BBQ but unbearably noisy. Arriving ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good BBQ but unbearably noisy. Arriving at Hill Country you are immediately confronted with the wonderful smoky smell of first class smoked meat and the assaultive, intolerable noise from the music and the crowds. The smoky scent is great but the noise permeates every area and really ruined the experience for me. If you make it past the noise and enjoy the self-serve style, you will be rewarded with fine smoked beef and pork. The ribs were excellent, truly smoky and tender. The lean brisket was just a little dry but also smoky and completely lean. The pork is thick sliced, not pulled. It's also lean but a bit too salty. BBQ sauce would have helped the flavor but the sauce on the table was just sweet with no spice or smokiness. We mixed the bbq sauce with the hot sauce and that helped but was still inferior. The side cole slaw was very good. The market salad was bland and boring and the purported chipotle dressing was of no help. Our server delivered drinks, adequate beer but nothing great. I do agree this may be the best bbq in DC, but DC is not a bbq town. For me, it's wasn't worth losing my voice and my hearing in the relentless din. Also, very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

A fun place with food that tastes like s ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A fun place with food that tastes like something your grandparents would have made.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cafeteria-style dining with really fun decor!

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the décor at this DC gem! The menu is all Texas with delicious BBQ and yummy sides. Interesting ordering style, though. You take a card through a cafeteria-style line and you get a price tag for everything you put on your tray. Be sure to sample the sides--they will gladly accommodate your request--as they are all very good and some are unique. For dessert, we tried banana cream pudding and strawberry crisp--both delicious. They had live music later in the evening in a lower level area. Wish we could've stayed to enjoy that. Overall, highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but it is very expensive. Not sure when I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best Brisket Around

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Hill Country has the best brisket this side of Lockhart, Texas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BBQ Spot

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I first visited Hill Country Barbeque Market 2 years ago, and have been hooked ever since.

The food is simply delicious. You'd be hard pressed to find better barbeque. Plus the sides are very generous and filling. You buy your meats by the lb which can get a little pricey, but if you talk with your servers at the serving counter's they'll help you stay on budget.

All in all, I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a vegetarian I was surprised at the v ...

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As a vegetarian I was surprised at the variety of side options available at this mainly meat-based restaurant. I wouldn't recommend this to vegans though- all sides (except the beans and salad) had dairy. Everything tasted great! Semi-cafeteria style service but the table service we did have was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Meats were very good, exc ...

 
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was good. Meats were very good, except for sausage it has a different texture and was dry. Sides were good but, not super fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Texas girl in DC

 
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The BBQ meats tastes like authentic Texas BBQ. However, the food is expensive for BBQ. Everything is weighed by the pound. It's ridiculous. Either set a price for all you can eat or have platters, i.e., 3-rib platter, beef brisket platter, mixed-meat platter, etc. While the meats are great, the side dishes are mediocre at best. Expensive for the amount you receive. The service of the wait staff is good but the meat servers could be more enthusiastic. At least look like they want to work there. Overall, it is a good place to dine, especially if a Texan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

casual dining with gourmet BBQ

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Sometime you are just in the mood for BBQ, smoked meats and hearty sides. Hill country is the place to go. It can get a bit pricey, but the food is excellent and choices are plentiful. My favorites: moist brisket, ribs and smoked turkey. Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Texas BBQ in DC.

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to school in Texas and love to go to Hill Country to remind me of being there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Loud

 
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fun atmosphere, but too loud to talk. As warned, they ran out of pulled pork by 7pm. Chicken was great. For the price, we prefer other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good atmosphere and great food ... for a BBQ venue

 
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Was a good BBQ but the size of the portions is too small. Service was very friendly and the waiter was really helpful with us.

On the points to improve : just plan to have a good shower when going back home. The smoke smell is quite persistant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We expected better

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Friend & I made an Open Table reservation before going to the theater. Called that we were arriving late due to traffic. We arrived, they found us and seated us immediately. Friendly waiter described how it worked - essentially to to the rear for the various food stations and return. He was prompt with our drinks. So far, so good until we went for food. Long lines and just a few people working behind the counters. There were lots of people standing behind the counters, but only one at each station actually serving people. And of course, they had run out of various items.

At the sides station, they had run out of cole slaw (really?) and gal said she would bring me my dish. Well, that never happened and we had the server take it off our bill. No, I don't want to take a to go portion of cole slaw with me! The place is "vibrant" which also means loud and hard to have a conversation but good for gangs of friends. The brisket was tasty but needed lots of sauce available on the tables. I've been to many better BBQ places, but not in downtown DC (uptown, yes). I can see sending out of towners here to try it, as a fun, loud casual place, but we won't be back. And of yes, OT sent me an email the next day saying we were no shows. Kind of added insult to a not great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.