Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Street on Market

Described as “majorly inventive” by Bon Appetit, High Street on Market is that rare restaurant that offers uniquely delicious fare morning, noon, and night. Reservations are available for a dinner service built around handmade alt-grain pastas, local vegetables, and farmstead meats. Paired with an all domestic artisanal wine list and hand crafted seasonal cocktails High Street on Market is one of Philadelphia’s most coveted dinner reservations.




308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Open Kitchen (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Not up to my other visits there. Although they assured me the chicken was cooked to temperature, I do not feel comfortable eating pink chicken. They took it back to cook further and it was still pink,due to the cooking process. Not my favorite

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dinner was fantastic and creative, service was attentive, professional and friendly, drinks were excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took a bunch of friends from out of town here for dinner. They adored it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent attentive service. food is interesting and creative, some dishes are a little overpriced to eat here regularly but for occasional treat and to impress friends, can't be beat.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Servers are extremely knowlegeable and helpful. Great neighborhood joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Totally underwhelmed. Service was very good, attentive and knowledgeable. Food was regrettably a bummer. Greasy and underseasoned. Cheddar bratwurst and fatty pork chop left us looking for Tums. Great cocktails and crispy broccoli though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived at 5:30 and were immediately seated. The first ones to arrive in fact and quickly the restaurant filled up. We had a glass of wine with our plate of bread and schmears. Delicious. Then we had the mushroom melange which was wonderful and topped off our dining with the Angry Crab pasta - spaghetti - spicy with peekytoe crab - wonderful. But the highlight of the meal was the dessert. chocolate ice cream with an almost creme fraiche and candied ginger pieces with chocolate chunks. and crunchy rye cumbles - oh I wish I could remember the name but it was wonderful. Service was great! When we left, the place was packed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was awesome. Best meal in a while, creative menu and lots of variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Quite simply, we just love this place. High Street on Market (and its sibling, High Street on Hudson) are two of my favorite restaurants anywhere. The cuisine is so creative without being weird. The intensity of the flavors - in literally every dish - was astonishing...and between the four of us we had almost every dish. We plan to return, over and over again!!!

Tags: Organic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, People Watching, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was overly salty, overdone flavoring. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I came here with family that was visiting from out of town. I had been for breakfast before and had a fantastic meal and really enjoyed the restaurant so I was looking forward to trying it for dinner. While the food was very tasty, we were unimpressed with the service. For example, my $13 dollar glass of wine was not even filled halfway and our server repeatedly insisted that we order more food, despite our telling her that we were happy with our order. I felt that as a whole the restaurant is pretty stingy with portion sizes. I don't mind paying top dollar for high quality food but the whole menu felt overpriced to me. I would definitely return for breakfast but I would not recommend this place for dinner when there are so many other incredible restaurants in Philly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was an outstanding dinner, woke up the next morning thinking about each dish!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

the menu was so limited. Variety of choices limited, We left without ordering and went next door to Fork. No one asked why we were leaving,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We loved it! The grapefruit sorbet at the end of a delightfully unique pasta dinner with hummus and signature breads was just perfect. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I had an excellent experience. High street had their own gluten free bread and pasta which was phenomenal. The waitstaff was knowledgeable, accommodating and funny. The Kennett Square Mushrooms dish is one of the best that I have had in Philadelphia. Superb all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always a great experience and one of the best meals in Philadelphia. Can't wait to try the New York restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Impressed with the creativity of the chef's creations for healthy meals.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything was great. One of the best dining experiences I have had in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was excellent, staff was outstanding, we had a great time and can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

awesome- one of Philadelphia's gems

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

After having a refreshing, well prepared, and relatively inexpensive brunch al fresco here in fall 2016 I was very excited to come back during restaurant week and give the dinner menu a try. Unfortunately everything we ordered was coated in salt. We ordered many diverse dishes - burrata, mushroom salad, cauliflower pasta, duck breast; all very salty. Even our desserts were salted (and very small). Salted chocolate short bread and salted caramel ice cream and salted caramel syrup. As we were leaving they even offered us complimentary salted chocolate chip cookies. I have never felt ripped off by a higher end restaurant before, this was the first. When I got the bill I couldn't believe it was so expensive for such a disappointing meal. We loved our luncheon here and were shocked at the difference in performance. The best part of the dinner was the complimentary rye bread served at the start.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Unique flavor combinations made for a tasty dinner. Our server was excellent and knowledgeable about the offerings. Great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

High Street was wonderful! We had an amazing time. I love how unique the dishes and cocktails were-- duck fat cocktail? So interesting, never seen that before either. Everything was really tasty-- a few dishes were borderline too salty, but creativity, freshness can't be beat. It was fun to have a vegetable-centric menu and I felt that the food was this great blend of rustic, homemade feeling with refinement and elevated. Service was very attentive, no complaints. I can't wait to go back again for brunch/lunch/dinner/anytime I wish i lived closer that's all!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food, drinks, creative menu, our server was helpful and enthusiastic. The hummus and mushrooms were the highlights but everything was wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed everything we ordered, but were not particularly blown away by anything. This is not a good place for someone trying to avoid gluten! Our server dropped the check when dessert was dropped, which made us feel rushed (and it was not close to closing time).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Liked the idea of sharing - however - portions can be a bit larger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

A great experience. We shared 11 courses and all were unique and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Order the Chef's menu. It takes away all the decision making and leaves you with many delicious surprises; many of which are not on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We did the chef tasting and the food was incredible! They told us it would be 3-4 courses and it ended up being about 9!!! We were so full and happy by time we left there, I thought someone would have to roll me out of the Resturant! Cheers to the chefs and servers for making our dining experience truly exceptional! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2016

All around, one of the best restaurants in Philly without being fussy or pretentious in any way. Excellent breads. Fairly priced wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really think lunch rather than dinner is a better bet. Artisanal ingredients were great and chef's tasting selections were good but again, think lunch would be best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Celebrating my son's graduation. We ordered the "Leave it to Us" tasting menu. Watching only 3 chefs in a tiny, open kitchen space create such a variety and quantity of such interesting food was amazing. I can see why it makes the top restaurants list in Philly. Sure there were a few dishes that didn't quite work, at least for our group's palette [the Burrata appetizer (sorry I think the SF Bay area has better), the Blue Fish Tartine (I really liked it but most did not) and the Milk and Chocolate dessert] but most of the dishes were savory, delicious bites of soulful cooking, all beautifully presented. The Cauliflower Caramelle and the Angry Crab Spaghetti were favorite dishes. The breads were absolutely delicious! We ran late on arriving at our reservation time but the hostess was so understanding and welcoming when we arrived. Beautiful space. I was surprised that the next for restaurant, Fork is connected to High Street. We love the soulful creativity of High Street and look forward to returning again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Plates were meant to share, but they were extremely small. Definitely overpriced. I enjoyed it, but I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The dishes were unusual, perfect for sharing, and delicious. We all had plenty to eat, and fun sharing the interesting flavors and textures.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2016

We ADORED this restaurant! The food was "farm to table" fresh, the flavors complex and nuanced, the ingredients unusual, the service unpretentious, and the prices reasonable. In other words, High St. on Market had everything we like in a restaurant. I was a bit taken aback when I looked at the wine list (NY state and places in CA you've never heard of as being wine producers), but I ordered a sauvignon blanc from NY and it was delightful. It's a small tight-knit group that runs the place and they take great pride in what they serve. There's a menu option where you just let them decide what to bring you; we opted for that and were very happy we did. The place is tiny (11 tables or so), so I'd definitely make and advance reservation. Also, it was raining when we left and they actually sent someone outside to hail a cab for us. Bravo on all fronts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2016

This is my first time at High Street, so I went for the tasting menu. Started the meal in a light way to with the intense flavour of fermented soybean and the crispness of Kale. Followed this with aged beets. They were fairly good, but the taste of pickled radish was a bit overwhelming, personally.
Potted shrimp: Yum! Loved the flavor of lightly toasted potatoe bread melding into the freshness of shrimp finished with the creaminess of Foie Gras.
Loved the bread spread. The earthy flavours of the charred eggplant was particularly memorable. Not a fan of the sunflower seed risotto, too tangy.
Now for the main course, loved the pan seared duck with soured oats. I was able to taste each flavour individually. The angry crab spagetti was just amazing!! And finally for dessert had a combination of sweet and salty chocolate with cinnamon milk, pistachio, edible flowers and chocolate swirl. Only complaint is the corn syrup in the chocolate swirl overwhelmed the flavor of chocolate. Amazing service! Will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Unique and fantastic dishes. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff who are a pleasure to interact with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fabulous. We did the tasting menu which we found to be overly plentiful and probably would not do it on our next visit. The staff was wonderful. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Big disappointment was dessert - super small portions that left you unsatisfied. Not how you want to end your meal. The Carrot Cake was delicious but it was a deconstructed broken apart super small piece of cake. For $9 you would expect a full piece of cake to end the night. Same for the cheese cake and milk and chocolate. At most you got 4 or 5 spoon fulls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.