Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Street on Market

Described as “majorly inventive” by Bon Appetit, High Street on Market is that rare restaurant that offers uniquely delicious fare morning, noon, and night. Reservations are available for a dinner service built around handmade alt-grain pastas, local vegetables, and farmstead meats. Paired with an all domestic artisanal wine list and hand crafted seasonal cocktails High Street on Market is one of Philadelphia’s most coveted dinner reservations.




308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 8:15PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined 3 days ago

La comida es excelente y muy bien presentada
Mezcla de sabores exquisitos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for my birthday dinner and it did not disappoint. We started with some bread and the bluefish spread and the crunchy broccoli. The bread was amazing, the spread was perfectly balanced and the broccoli was such a treat! I had the duck egg carbonara and my husband enjoyed the squid ink pasta. Both dishes were so delicious. We started the meal with a local sparkling rosé from a Lehigh valley vineyard! Our waitress said that they try and feature local wines and you'll see a few throughout the list. My husband tried the unicorn cocktail much to my enjoyment and I had a glass of granache with my carbonara. We enjoyed the meal and will definitely recommend High Street to our friends and family. I may have to start buying the bread for at home. It was so good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I introduced two old friends to High Street, and they both loved it. The hits of the evening were the crispy broccoli with chow-chow, the Kennett Square mushrooms, and the bratwurst, but the spaghetti and the blistered beans were great too. The service was, as usual, friendly, attentive, and professional, and our courses were served with just the right pacing. This is SUCH a great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was a bit disappointed in the food. Especially, the plating, very mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Went here for restaurant week Sept 2017. Mediocre food, nothing special here. 0 satisfaction, spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is always excellent! Great flavors with i seasonal vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at HighStreet after the Temple football game on Saturday. The dining room was full, but we could still talk comfortably. We celebrated my birthday and I was happy to have many delicious menu options for my medically required gluten and dairy free diet, as well as gluten and nut free options for my sons. What a wonderful evening, finished off by sorbet with Gluten Free Graham cracker crumbs. I look forward to returning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Everyone on staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious! Unique local eats and wine list. Had a lovely dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Cool atmosphere, great food, but rude waitress! We went for a light dinner, and ordered a handful of dishes, everything was amazing! The broccoli was an overall standout, and a dish who's proceeds benefit the Hurricane Harvey victims was heartwarming.

The only complaint was our waitress, who was curt from the start. We originally chalked it up to a bad night, and of course left a nice tip. On our way out, after passing on dessert and the tray of cookies at the door, she quipped "you can have a cookie it won't kill you" to a coworker. We were all clearly within earshot and found it incredibly offensive, especially because we were on our way to grab ice cream! At such a highly reviewed restaurant, I would expect a pleasant experience until the customer is solidly out the door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Friendly environment , nice setting, excellent food, normal price, local and health ingredients, and the right amount of food to have a great experience. Quite and inviting place, ideal for a family dinner. Great negronis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a good experience here. Menu changes often and is never boring.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Been here many times and this was one of the best meals of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent -an inspired take on comfort food - the chef has produced a creative take on some classic comfort foods that is both exciting and comforting. We ate early so the restaurant was not full and the sound level was comfortable. don't know what it is later. Looks forward to returning soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We came in stated that we had a resv and the hostess said " Let me see what I got?" Look at the e-pad but didn't give us the OpenTable credit. The food was mostly small plates that tasted ok but not that memorable or interesting. We tried a few gin cocktails at the suggestion of our waitress and they were fine but nothing special. Another waitress brought over an app we told her we didn't order but she said "It's for you" -a smoked whitefish with some crusty bread. We could see a commotion near the open kitchen about the mistake and hear apologies to the couple at the table behind us. After the small plate apps we share one of the "larger dishes" a well prepared glazed chicken. Overall the place was meh and a little disappointing.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, delicious food, and outstanding bread! Portions are not huge, but the prices are fair. We felt ever so slightly rushed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

High Street provided a a terrific dining experience. We shared the smoked bluefish (I don't like bluefish, but this was a not-to-be-missed starter served with their house made bread), a ceviche with a strong citrus flavor that we loved and then I had the angry crab spaghetti (wow, a spectacular pasta dish) and my wife had one of the salad plates (she loved it). I would have a hard time not ordering the exact same items when I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

While traveling in Philadelphia for two weeks, I came to High Street three times! I came for lunch first and was convinced I had to try breakfast and dinner. The atmosphere is cozy and casual. During dinner it gets moderately loud. They have an open kitchen so it's fun to watch the staff at work. The menu is made for sharing and I highly recommend it, so you can try the variety they have to offer. The dishes are fresh, creatively put together and deliciously savory with each bite. Why can't every meal be like this! This place is reason enough to come back to Philadelphia.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 2, 2017

What a treat this was. I was joined by several friends/colleagues for a conference in Philadelphia. We wanted to try some recommended local restaurants, and High Street on Market came bearing great reviews. The cuisine was delicious and different, and service was top notch. We entrusted menu choices to our server and she absolutely didn't disappoint. Don't fret the small plates concept; this is a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Perfect place to go after catching an indie flix at any of the nearby Ritz Theaters. A varied menu of sharable plates of breads, spreads, pastas, salads, fish and meat. Every dish offering a fresh surprise; that's fresh as in right from the farm. Extremely tasty. Good choices of American wines. Nifty desserts. Not just the lesser sister to Fork. Forgot about "Maudie"; could not stop taking about the food and what a find High Street was.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Flat out amazing with a delicious seasonal menu great for sharing. Casual chic space that's expensive but well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food is creative and quite delicious, good cocktails
Duck egg carbonara should win an award of some sort
Staff very friendly and helpful
One of the best new-ish restaurants in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

First time dining at High Street. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Came here for a dinner with my boss (who im good friends with) as I'm leaving, and I don't think we could've picked a better place. I'm pescatarian and have a lactose allergy, which didn't even pose a problem. We got 4 plates for sharing, starting off with the carrot hummus. I literally have never had such an intense reaction to taste when i had the vollkenbrot (german multigrain bread soaked in butter and toasted) with that hummus. The flavors in my mouth made me want to savor it forever. It was SOO delicious. We also got the summer lettuces which were really great. I then got the squid ink agnolotti with clams and chorizo spices and was super excited to try squid ink pasta for the first time - amazing. it rivaled the carrot hummus in the best way. I also have to add that our server, Aaron K, was spectacular. He was so accommodating and made specialty drinks for us (off the menu) and had some interesting convos with him too. Great guy. Then we got the Kenneth Square Mushrooms with egg and it was BOMB. like everything was perfect and working, and i was genuinely sad that I felt full. finished off a meal that fantastic with some english breakfast tea and a specialty baileys drink, plus a taylor fladgate 10yr port. honestly one of the best dining experiences of my life, just beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was excellent.
We ordered chef's tasting and the food came too fast- felt like there was a rush. We also did not like the fact that the server who takes the order is not the one who brings the food - makes for a very disjointed experience for the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Aaron was absolutely fabulous. We did the tasting menu for our anniversary, and were delighted with the options the kitchen chose and the number and frequency of the portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant is absolutely delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went as a pre-concert early dinner and were out in plenty of time before the show. Food is awesome - lots of choices from apps to mains. We over ordered - 6 dishes for the two of us was definitely on the high end as portions are very generous. Would go again for sure.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Small place. Food was interesting and good. A lot of unique twists in things. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Was in Philly on a business trip. Experienced great service and even better food...can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Outstanding food and the service is the best in town!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance is fun and the food is really delicious. Nice parings of flavors. Someone is really thinking. But the portions are very, very small and so you have to order several plates to make a meal. We are light eaters and definitely value quality over quantity, but these portions were really small by any measure. Glad we tried it and we had a nice time, but we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Delicious food wonderfully seasoned and servers were very helpful and knowledgeable about all the choices and the ingredients. Everything we tasted was really outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious dinner: great presentation and wonderful combinations of tastes in innovative dishes. But a Bit pricey and small portions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food and good atmosphere. For those averse to salt -beware. I understand that salt is a flavor enhancer, however I feel as though the food would have been very flavorful without the abundance of extra salt.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Maybe the best meal of the many Andrew and I have had since HSonM opened! Hannah was a first-rate server, too.
Congratulations once again to Ellen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The chef's choice tasting menu is an amazing deal! Went with a group of six, and was able to try almost everything on the menu. This restaurant is truly a gem and the highlight of my trip to philly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

wait staff was great at explaining all the minutiae of the menu items. everything was excellent -- creatively conceived and expertly executed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

As usual this place doesn't disappoint. The tasting menu (leave it to them) is one of the best I've had in the city and one of the most creative. I love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Early dinner before theatre, food was good, salad inventive with (a lot of) dressing made with fresh ramps, served 'upside down' with stem intact. Bread over the top delicious with carrot hummus, also good.
Glass of wine was the skimpiest pour, perhaps that's seen as upscale, barely 5 oz for $13 which was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.