Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Street on Market

Described as “majorly inventive” by Bon Appetit, High Street on Market is that rare restaurant that offers uniquely delicious fare morning, noon, and night. Reservations are available for a dinner service built around handmade alt-grain pastas, local vegetables, and farmstead meats. Paired with an all domestic artisanal wine list and hand crafted seasonal cocktails High Street on Market is one of Philadelphia’s most coveted dinner reservations.




308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 8:15PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Cozy (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (10)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tapas (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 hours ago

Flat out amazing with a delicious seasonal menu great for sharing. Casual chic space that's expensive but well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food is creative and quite delicious, good cocktails
Duck egg carbonara should win an award of some sort
Staff very friendly and helpful
One of the best new-ish restaurants in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

First time dining at High Street. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Came here for a dinner with my boss (who im good friends with) as I'm leaving, and I don't think we could've picked a better place. I'm pescatarian and have a lactose allergy, which didn't even pose a problem. We got 4 plates for sharing, starting off with the carrot hummus. I literally have never had such an intense reaction to taste when i had the vollkenbrot (german multigrain bread soaked in butter and toasted) with that hummus. The flavors in my mouth made me want to savor it forever. It was SOO delicious. We also got the summer lettuces which were really great. I then got the squid ink agnolotti with clams and chorizo spices and was super excited to try squid ink pasta for the first time - amazing. it rivaled the carrot hummus in the best way. I also have to add that our server, Aaron K, was spectacular. He was so accommodating and made specialty drinks for us (off the menu) and had some interesting convos with him too. Great guy. Then we got the Kenneth Square Mushrooms with egg and it was BOMB. like everything was perfect and working, and i was genuinely sad that I felt full. finished off a meal that fantastic with some english breakfast tea and a specialty baileys drink, plus a taylor fladgate 10yr port. honestly one of the best dining experiences of my life, just beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was excellent.
We ordered chef's tasting and the food came too fast- felt like there was a rush. We also did not like the fact that the server who takes the order is not the one who brings the food - makes for a very disjointed experience for the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Aaron was absolutely fabulous. We did the tasting menu for our anniversary, and were delighted with the options the kitchen chose and the number and frequency of the portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant is absolutely delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went as a pre-concert early dinner and were out in plenty of time before the show. Food is awesome - lots of choices from apps to mains. We over ordered - 6 dishes for the two of us was definitely on the high end as portions are very generous. Would go again for sure.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Small place. Food was interesting and good. A lot of unique twists in things. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Was in Philly on a business trip. Experienced great service and even better food...can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Outstanding food and the service is the best in town!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance is fun and the food is really delicious. Nice parings of flavors. Someone is really thinking. But the portions are very, very small and so you have to order several plates to make a meal. We are light eaters and definitely value quality over quantity, but these portions were really small by any measure. Glad we tried it and we had a nice time, but we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Delicious food wonderfully seasoned and servers were very helpful and knowledgeable about all the choices and the ingredients. Everything we tasted was really outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious dinner: great presentation and wonderful combinations of tastes in innovative dishes. But a Bit pricey and small portions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food and good atmosphere. For those averse to salt -beware. I understand that salt is a flavor enhancer, however I feel as though the food would have been very flavorful without the abundance of extra salt.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Maybe the best meal of the many Andrew and I have had since HSonM opened! Hannah was a first-rate server, too.
Congratulations once again to Ellen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The chef's choice tasting menu is an amazing deal! Went with a group of six, and was able to try almost everything on the menu. This restaurant is truly a gem and the highlight of my trip to philly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

wait staff was great at explaining all the minutiae of the menu items. everything was excellent -- creatively conceived and expertly executed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

As usual this place doesn't disappoint. The tasting menu (leave it to them) is one of the best I've had in the city and one of the most creative. I love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Early dinner before theatre, food was good, salad inventive with (a lot of) dressing made with fresh ramps, served 'upside down' with stem intact. Bread over the top delicious with carrot hummus, also good.
Glass of wine was the skimpiest pour, perhaps that's seen as upscale, barely 5 oz for $13 which was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Stinging nettle pasta was awesomely tasty. Service was attentive but not stuffy. Excellent dishes and cocktail! Will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I was at High Street before and loved it, especially the baked goods. This time was a disappointment. The food was ok, but not great. Chicken way salty. Unsubtle overall. There was a weird contrast between the lackluster fare and the ceremony with which each course was served. I think three people at once came out, each bearing a single plate. Nothing against the staff--they were attentive and fine...it's just that the food wasn't worth all their fuss--not this time anyway.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food at High Market was beautifully prepared and the flavors delicious. When the staff saw that my friend was delayed and I'd been sitting on my own for a while, they brought me free bread with their delicious carrot hummus. My only critique is that some of the dishes were too salty for my taste, specifically the mushroom dish and the cheese inside the cheese dumplings. Next time, I'd just ask them to take down the salt level because I really loved the flavors in both dishes. The space itself is beautiful and I appreciate the open kitchen. Thank you for a lovely meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The dining experience was terrific the food and wait staff are exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Loved everything we ate at High Street. Great service and truly unique flavors! Local produce, wine, and amazing bread. SO good !

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful Creative Dishes, Beautifully Prepared ... Foodie Heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Amazing meal! Can't wait to try their NYC restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner on Saturday at High St on Market. We had a reservation and were seated when we arrived. Service was pleasant, helpful and attentive. We had the breads & spreads, the mushroom dish, the smoked mackerel and beef bolognese; all were very tasty. Nice desert options as well. We enjoyed enough to return for breakfast the following day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was disappointing. expected to be wowed. but it was ok and not stunning.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Interesting menu & creative wine list. We followed our server's suggestions and were very pleased. The pork chop was excellent as was the spicy crab spaghetti! Would certainly recommend this restaurant & be sure to make reservations.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A nice meal for a Wednesday evening. Plates are small, but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The work that they are doing with the products and experimentation with local materials and global inspiration is simply amazing.

The restaurant is incredibly gorgeous and the service is spot on! The chef was pleasantly available for a quick chat at the end of the service, highly recommended experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Worthy of 3.5 stars. Food was good but overly contrived and pricey for the small portion size. Bottle of wine starts at $50. Ambiance was cool and service was attentive. But won't rush back given all the other great Philly options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

What a gem! Wonderful service and great tasting menu. Reminded me a bit of Chez Panisse. Cozy ambiance, great for a date or small group.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The menu changes but the style and execution remain consistent. Great to have Jon Nodler back in Philly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was our first time at High Street , we had a gift certificate, and we loved it. Other than the chicken dish that we thought was a bit overpriced, everything else that we ate was absolutely great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Loved the whole experience. Great good, atmosphere and service. As a vegetarian - lots of options!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The tasting menu allowed us to sample what seemed like the entire menu! The breads were delicious and so unique. Multiple pastas showed delicious variety with smoked duck and angry peekytoe crab both being very good. The half chicken was perfectly cooked and very flavorful. High Street served as a wonderful return to the Philadelphia food scene for us and did not disappoint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always executed perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very creative and good BUT for a bakery - there were no baked desserts plus the bread was nothing to really write about. Overall a good experience but the bread was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.