Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Street on Market

Described as “majorly inventive” by Bon Appetit, High Street on Market is that rare restaurant that offers uniquely delicious fare morning, noon, and night. Reservations are available for a dinner service built around handmade alt-grain pastas, local vegetables, and farmstead meats. Paired with an all domestic artisanal wine list and hand crafted seasonal cocktails High Street on Market is one of Philadelphia’s most coveted dinner reservations.




308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Tapas (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Organic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at High Market was beautifully prepared and the flavors delicious. When the staff saw that my friend was delayed and I'd been sitting on my own for a while, they brought me free bread with their delicious carrot hummus. My only critique is that some of the dishes were too salty for my taste, specifically the mushroom dish and the cheese inside the cheese dumplings. Next time, I'd just ask them to take down the salt level because I really loved the flavors in both dishes. The space itself is beautiful and I appreciate the open kitchen. Thank you for a lovely meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything we ate at High Street. Great service and truly unique flavors! Local produce, wine, and amazing bread. SO good !

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful Creative Dishes, Beautifully Prepared ... Foodie Heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing meal! Can't wait to try their NYC restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner on Saturday at High St on Market. We had a reservation and were seated when we arrived. Service was pleasant, helpful and attentive. We had the breads & spreads, the mushroom dish, the smoked mackerel and beef bolognese; all were very tasty. Nice desert options as well. We enjoyed enough to return for breakfast the following day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was disappointing. expected to be wowed. but it was ok and not stunning.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Interesting menu & creative wine list. We followed our server's suggestions and were very pleased. The pork chop was excellent as was the spicy crab spaghetti! Would certainly recommend this restaurant & be sure to make reservations.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A nice meal for a Wednesday evening. Plates are small, but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The work that they are doing with the products and experimentation with local materials and global inspiration is simply amazing.

The restaurant is incredibly gorgeous and the service is spot on! The chef was pleasantly available for a quick chat at the end of the service, highly recommended experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Worthy of 3.5 stars. Food was good but overly contrived and pricey for the small portion size. Bottle of wine starts at $50. Ambiance was cool and service was attentive. But won't rush back given all the other great Philly options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a gem! Wonderful service and great tasting menu. Reminded me a bit of Chez Panisse. Cozy ambiance, great for a date or small group.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The menu changes but the style and execution remain consistent. Great to have Jon Nodler back in Philly.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was our first time at High Street , we had a gift certificate, and we loved it. Other than the chicken dish that we thought was a bit overpriced, everything else that we ate was absolutely great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Loved the whole experience. Great good, atmosphere and service. As a vegetarian - lots of options!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The tasting menu allowed us to sample what seemed like the entire menu! The breads were delicious and so unique. Multiple pastas showed delicious variety with smoked duck and angry peekytoe crab both being very good. The half chicken was perfectly cooked and very flavorful. High Street served as a wonderful return to the Philadelphia food scene for us and did not disappoint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always executed perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very creative and good BUT for a bakery - there were no baked desserts plus the bread was nothing to really write about. Overall a good experience but the bread was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food! Attentive service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great spot for a intimate dinner date, or small friends gathering! Plates are meant for sharing, but portions are relatively small, but we surprisingly filled up. There were 3 of us and we got a few apps/plates and a bottle of wine for $45 a person. Delicious, high quality ingredients and unique dishes. Loved the hummus !

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Once again, High Street outpaced our expectations. I just love this place for its creativity and imagination. Oh, and the fact that every dish was wonderful makes for an amazing evening. Our server Avery was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was delicious! We had the crispy broccoli, carbonara, and mushroom dish. Even though it was a small plates style restaurant, we left feeling full

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Not up to my other visits there. Although they assured me the chicken was cooked to temperature, I do not feel comfortable eating pink chicken. They took it back to cook further and it was still pink,due to the cooking process. Not my favorite

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dinner was fantastic and creative, service was attentive, professional and friendly, drinks were excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took a bunch of friends from out of town here for dinner. They adored it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent attentive service. food is interesting and creative, some dishes are a little overpriced to eat here regularly but for occasional treat and to impress friends, can't be beat.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Servers are extremely knowlegeable and helpful. Great neighborhood joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Totally underwhelmed. Service was very good, attentive and knowledgeable. Food was regrettably a bummer. Greasy and underseasoned. Cheddar bratwurst and fatty pork chop left us looking for Tums. Great cocktails and crispy broccoli though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived at 5:30 and were immediately seated. The first ones to arrive in fact and quickly the restaurant filled up. We had a glass of wine with our plate of bread and schmears. Delicious. Then we had the mushroom melange which was wonderful and topped off our dining with the Angry Crab pasta - spaghetti - spicy with peekytoe crab - wonderful. But the highlight of the meal was the dessert. chocolate ice cream with an almost creme fraiche and candied ginger pieces with chocolate chunks. and crunchy rye cumbles - oh I wish I could remember the name but it was wonderful. Service was great! When we left, the place was packed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was awesome. Best meal in a while, creative menu and lots of variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Quite simply, we just love this place. High Street on Market (and its sibling, High Street on Hudson) are two of my favorite restaurants anywhere. The cuisine is so creative without being weird. The intensity of the flavors - in literally every dish - was astonishing...and between the four of us we had almost every dish. We plan to return, over and over again!!!

Tags: Organic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, People Watching, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was overly salty, overdone flavoring. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I came here with family that was visiting from out of town. I had been for breakfast before and had a fantastic meal and really enjoyed the restaurant so I was looking forward to trying it for dinner. While the food was very tasty, we were unimpressed with the service. For example, my $13 dollar glass of wine was not even filled halfway and our server repeatedly insisted that we order more food, despite our telling her that we were happy with our order. I felt that as a whole the restaurant is pretty stingy with portion sizes. I don't mind paying top dollar for high quality food but the whole menu felt overpriced to me. I would definitely return for breakfast but I would not recommend this place for dinner when there are so many other incredible restaurants in Philly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was an outstanding dinner, woke up the next morning thinking about each dish!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

the menu was so limited. Variety of choices limited, We left without ordering and went next door to Fork. No one asked why we were leaving,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We loved it! The grapefruit sorbet at the end of a delightfully unique pasta dinner with hummus and signature breads was just perfect. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I had an excellent experience. High street had their own gluten free bread and pasta which was phenomenal. The waitstaff was knowledgeable, accommodating and funny. The Kennett Square Mushrooms dish is one of the best that I have had in Philadelphia. Superb all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always a great experience and one of the best meals in Philadelphia. Can't wait to try the New York restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Impressed with the creativity of the chef's creations for healthy meals.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything was great. One of the best dining experiences I have had in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.