About High Street on Market

308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

High Street on Market serves Chef Eli Kulp"s contemporary American, hand-crafted, locally-inspired foods. Located on Market Street (formerly High Street during colonial times), High Street's dining room features local artisan work, milk-painted wood walls and factory windows. Counter seating in front of the completely open kitchen makes you feel at home. Eli's food is accompanied by a select wine list featuring winemakers whose work reflects the place and people from which the wine comes. Inventive cocktails include bottled and hand-crafted classics as well as new creations. High Street also serves from morning to afternoon house-baked breads from the local mill, sweet and savory pastries, sandwiches, salads and roman-stye pizza. Eli Kulp is also chef of Fork and was recently named a Food & Wine Magazine 2014 Best New Chef. Craig LaBan, Phiadelphia Inquirer, describes "[his] food [as] hauntingly good'. We hold seats for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

fit for foodies (63)
special occasion (33)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
hot spot (19)
great for brunch (15)
romantic (14)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (9)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Liked the i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Liked the idea of sharing - however - portions can be a bit larger.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great experience. We shared 11 courses ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A great experience. We shared 11 courses and all were unique and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Order the Chef's menu. It takes away al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Order the Chef's menu. It takes away all the decision making and leaves you with many delicious surprises; many of which are not on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All around, one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

All around, one of the best restaurants in Philly without being fussy or pretentious in any way. Excellent breads. Fairly priced wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really think lunch rather than dinner is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really think lunch rather than dinner is a better bet. Artisanal ingredients were great and chef's tasting selections were good but again, think lunch would be best.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Celebrating my son's graduation. We orde ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Celebrating my son's graduation. We ordered the "Leave it to Us" tasting menu. Watching only 3 chefs in a tiny, open kitchen space create such a variety and quantity of such interesting food was amazing. I can see why it makes the top restaurants list in Philly. Sure there were a few dishes that didn't quite work, at least for our group's palette [the Burrata appetizer (sorry I think the SF Bay area has better), the Blue Fish Tartine (I really liked it but most did not) and the Milk and Chocolate dessert] but most of the dishes were savory, delicious bites of soulful cooking, all beautifully presented. The Cauliflower Caramelle and the Angry Crab Spaghetti were favorite dishes. The breads were absolutely delicious! We ran late on arriving at our reservation time but the hostess was so understanding and welcoming when we arrived. Beautiful space. I was surprised that the next for restaurant, Fork is connected to High Street. We love the soulful creativity of High Street and look forward to returning again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Alright

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Plates were meant to share, but they were extremely small. Definitely overpriced. I enjoyed it, but I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great service, nice ambience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The dishes were unusual, perfect for sharing, and delicious. We all had plenty to eat, and fun sharing the interesting flavors and textures.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Street on Market a High Point on our Trip

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We ADORED this restaurant! The food was "farm to table" fresh, the flavors complex and nuanced, the ingredients unusual, the service unpretentious, and the prices reasonable. In other words, High St. on Market had everything we like in a restaurant. I was a bit taken aback when I looked at the wine list (NY state and places in CA you've never heard of as being wine producers), but I ordered a sauvignon blanc from NY and it was delightful. It's a small tight-knit group that runs the place and they take great pride in what they serve. There's a menu option where you just let them decide what to bring you; we opted for that and were very happy we did. The place is tiny (11 tables or so), so I'd definitely make and advance reservation. Also, it was raining when we left and they actually sent someone outside to hail a cab for us. Bravo on all fronts!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time at High Street, so ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This is my first time at High Street, so I went for the tasting menu. Started the meal in a light way to with the intense flavour of fermented soybean and the crispness of Kale. Followed this with aged beets. They were fairly good, but the taste of pickled radish was a bit overwhelming, personally.

Potted shrimp: Yum! Loved the flavor of lightly toasted potatoe bread melding into the freshness of shrimp finished with the creaminess of Foie Gras.

Loved the bread spread. The earthy flavours of the charred eggplant was particularly memorable. Not a fan of the sunflower seed risotto, too tangy.

Now for the main course, loved the pan seared duck with soured oats. I was able to taste each flavour individually. The angry crab spagetti was just amazing!! And finally for dessert had a combination of sweet and salty chocolate with cinnamon milk, pistachio, edible flowers and chocolate swirl. Only complaint is the corn syrup in the chocolate swirl overwhelmed the flavor of chocolate. Amazing service! Will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Unique and fantastic dishes. Very helpfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Unique and fantastic dishes. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff who are a pleasure to interact with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous. We did the tastin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fabulous. We did the tasting menu which we found to be overly plentiful and probably would not do it on our next visit. The staff was wonderful. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Big disappointment ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Big disappointment was dessert - super small portions that left you unsatisfied. Not how you want to end your meal. The Carrot Cake was delicious but it was a deconstructed broken apart super small piece of cake. For $9 you would expect a full piece of cake to end the night. Same for the cheese cake and milk and chocolate. At most you got 4 or 5 spoon fulls.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service and great food. Tri ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding service and great food. Tried a bit of everything to share. All good. All very different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently great

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Consistently great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointment

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been to High Street many times since it opened. The first few times were colossal, (along with Zahav, as usual) some of the best food we have eaten in Philadelphia since James on 8th closed. Then there was Chef Eli's horrific accident and resultant paralysis. We continued to go. Well, Fork was a favorite for years as was Fork etc - because we wanted to support Ellen and Eli's vision for High Street in Philadelphia.

I regret to say that the two times in the last month or so we have gone were a real falling off from the astonishing opening meals. Not that they weren't OK or even good. Just not what they used to be.

Fork, which was revitalised with Chef Eli's arrival, continues to impress, as does A Kitchen.

I really wish I could say the same of Philadelphia's High Street.

Have not yet been to High Street on Hudson in NYC, where we were told by our lovely server a couple times ago that he is on site and cracking his usual jokes. This is GREAT to hear, and I hope to visit HSH in the next weeks during Mostly Mozart.

We have also been disturbed by Ellen's absence in the last few months in ANY of her three Philadelphia restaurants. She was such a welcome fixture before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting menu without being pretentio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting menu without being pretentious. Service was great but place was a little noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Meal at High Street

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The meal was really great and the servers were very attentive. There are several menu items that need explaining, which was not a hit among the older people in my group, but overall a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Experimental and Fun

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Found this restaurant via an article about Philly's 38 Essential Restaurants. We let the chef select our dishes with the Leave It To Us option, and enjoyed so many wonderful dishes! Our favorites were the Potato Toast, the Toasted Grain Paccheri, and the PA Brook Trout. The restaurant uses many unfamiliar ingredients, but in a very satisfying way. Worth a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

So good. I really loved the caramelized cauliflower stuffed pasta. Great, attentive waitress too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary Taste and Creativity

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant. Very attractive interior and you could see the dedicated chefs at work. The food was expertly prepared. It wasn't your everyday menu; but, everything that we ordered was excellent. The menu is designed for sharing. I plan to go back when I have the $55 per person to engage in sharing with my date or a friend. Check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Creative and Daring, but fun and Approachable

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The tasting menu at High Street on Market was absolutely fantastic. The dishes were hearty and comforting, but were incredibly creative- creamed stinging nettles, caramelized cauliflower ravioli, and dehydrated beets were highlights. Would go back in an instant, and plan to.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Creative Veggie Choices

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

First timers here, we enjoyed a fantastic meal before the theatre: Food delicious; service excellent; and nice atmosphere. We began with the vollkornbrot, and a delicious, hearty pumpernickel. Crispy broccoli with chow-chow had a surprising but nicely spicy kick, and the mushroom dish and cauliflower caramelle were both amazing. We will highly recommend High Street on Market, and return, but allow more time - for sampling desserts. The parting cookies however were a very nice touch and quite yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a wonderful dinner! great service and food!!!!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

had a wonderful dinner! great service and food!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely go back, soon

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My husband and I went to Fork two weeks ago, absolutely loved it, and decided to follow it up by going to High Street on Market this past weekend. Best decision ever! I'm sure I'm not the first person to say this, but...THE BREAD IS AMAZING THERE! We sampled several small plates and then shared two pastas. All the food we tasted were not only delicious but also wonderfully innovative and fun. Compared with Fork, which again was equally amazing, High Street seems to be a little more light hearted, good-humored, but just as capable to deliver. We are what you'd call a couple of foodies, I suppose, and we used to be all about fine dining and tasting menus. As our experience grows and our relationship with food develops, however, nowadays we find ourselves more appreciative of this type of dining experience: surprising, intriguing, but most importantly honest and fun. We will be back very soon, High Street, you are officially one of my favorites in the ever changing Philly dining scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cute restaurant with great food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I highly enjoyed my visit to this restaurant this past weekend. All of the food was amazing and beautifully plated. We started with the bread assortment, which I would very highly recommend. It comes with spreads/dips for the different types of breads and they were all great. We then got the mushroom entree and the trout which I also enjoyed.

The decor is beautiful is very high end. I would certainly go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good solid experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Came here for dinner to celebrate my 30th bday. The place is really cute inside. We chose the option of paying $55 per person and having the chef selection where they choose our meals for us. It was awesome trying new dishes, and everything was very tasty, but half the time we didn't know what we were eating because we couldn't hear the server tell us what it was. Literally only complaint, the noise level was very high. However, awesome menu! Overall, great experience. I would recommend checking it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty good, nice breads [of course]

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Nice server. We ordered well, on course, a ravioli, was described as"the best perogies you will ever eat", but sorry to say it was oversold. kitchen sent out a tripe course complimentary. Reticent at first, the crunchy intestine was bursting with porky fllavor and was very much appreciated, as well as the cookies offered on the way out. Limited bar selection is a bit diappoiting and the seating is less than comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Expected better

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere and good service. Small and limited electic menu. Food was good but portions were rather small. Wine pour bordered on ridiculous.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience was excellent. Our waiter ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our experience was excellent. Our waiter Ryan was great. Food was very good. Bread board was delicious. Definitely will return again. Well worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as San Francisco

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Having recently moved here from San Francisco, we were concerned about whether the food scene in Philly was equal to San Francisco's. High Street on Market is as good and innovative as any place we left behind- in our several visits we have always been pleased with the quality, creativity, service, and ambiance. It has quickly become one of our favorite places for dinner or just grabbing a loaf of Anadama bread.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High St

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A wonderful meal. Breads and spreads are varied and delicious. Mushroom dish with mushroom broth was outstanding. Squid dish very good. Apple desert delicious. Service thoughtful and efficient. A real tribute to Eli Kulp

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef's tasting menu is a treat

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Our party of 4 went for the chef's tasting menu, which gives you a chance to experience a variety of interesting flavor combinations. In particular, the potato toast, kale chips, crispy broccoli, mushrooms, and roast pork were outstanding. The only dish that didn't hit a home run was a risotto served as a "breather" between courses - some in our party thought it lacked punch. Service was prompt and attentive, the atmosphere inviting. I highly recommend High Street on Market.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the dishes in the tasting menu a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Most of the dishes in the tasting menu are fantastic. Special standout courses include the angry crab pasta, the various breads, and the vegetables with the dishes (eg the carrots, smoky eggplant, cauliflower and black garlic, etc)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best places in philly for fam ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

One of the best places in philly for family style. Every single dish was amazing. Try the potato toast with shrimp or the crab pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great city spot were sharing is encouraged.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Good ambiance and good food. Dishes for sharing. Portions can be small, which makes it a little pricey. Very attentive and helpful servers. Overall a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Love this restaurant!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We have dined here at least four times and enjoyed every one! The dishes are creative, the wait staff is engaging and enthusiastic. This last occasion we went with the chef's choice tasting...fun to see what they come up with and you can add favorites aka carte. While everyone at the table may not love every dish, the food is always perfectly prepared. Fun, different and reasonable for this level of dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was unique and interesting but ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food was unique and interesting but some dishes was a bit salty for my liking.

We had the wild mushrooms, crab pasta, trout, cauliflower ravioli

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Slow service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed the meal, and I understand the slow food movement, so am not complaining about the length between ordering and the food being on the table. However, after our entrees were served, our initial waiter told us she was leaving, but that her colleague would be helping us for the rest of our evening. After the entree plates were cleared, we expected someone would come with dessert menus or to ask about coffee, or at least to bring the bill. But we just sat (the restaurant was not full) for over 25 minutes before someone came up to offer coffee - but still didn't mention dessert - we had to ask about this. Because if this in attentiveness, our dinner ran much later than expected, and meant an otherwise great meal ended on a very frustrating note.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Forks baby brother. Just as cool if not ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Forks baby brother. Just as cool if not cooler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.