About High Street on Market

308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

High Street on Market serves Chef Eli Kulp"s contemporary American, hand-crafted, locally-inspired foods. Located on Market Street (formerly High Street during colonial times), High Street's dining room features local artisan work, milk-painted wood walls and factory windows. Counter seating in front of the completely open kitchen makes you feel at home. Eli's food is accompanied by a select wine list featuring winemakers whose work reflects the place and people from which the wine comes. Inventive cocktails include bottled and hand-crafted classics as well as new creations. High Street also serves from morning to afternoon house-baked breads from the local mill, sweet and savory pastries, sandwiches, salads and roman-stye pizza. Eli Kulp is also chef of Fork and was recently named a Food & Wine Magazine 2014 Best New Chef. Craig LaBan, Phiadelphia Inquirer, describes "[his] food [as] hauntingly good'. We hold seats for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Eli Kulp

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Friends and Family Dinners on Tuesday evenings from 9 PM on feature $25 prix fixe menus. See our website for more information!

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (47)
neighborhood gem (44)
See All
romantic (29)
hot spot (27)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (16)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (13)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique and fantastic dishes. Very helpfu ...

Dined 2 days ago

Unique and fantastic dishes. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff who are a pleasure to interact with.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Big disappointment ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Big disappointment was dessert - super small portions that left you unsatisfied. Not how you want to end your meal. The Carrot Cake was delicious but it was a deconstructed broken apart super small piece of cake. For $9 you would expect a full piece of cake to end the night. Same for the cheese cake and milk and chocolate. At most you got 4 or 5 spoon fulls.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and great food. Tri ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service and great food. Tried a bit of everything to share. All good. All very different.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Consistently great

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

disappointment

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been to High Street many times since it opened. The first few times were colossal, (along with Zahav, as usual) some of the best food we have eaten in Philadelphia since James on 8th closed. Then there was Chef Eli's horrific accident and resultant paralysis. We continued to go. Well, Fork was a favorite for years as was Fork etc - because we wanted to support Ellen and Eli's vision for High Street in Philadelphia. I regret to say that the two times in the last month or so we have gone were a real falling off from the astonishing opening meals. Not that they weren't OK or even good. Just not what they used to be. Fork, which was revitalised with Chef Eli's arrival, continues to impress, as does A Kitchen. I really wish I could say the same of Philadelphia's High Street. Have not yet been to High Street on Hudson in NYC, where we were told by our lovely server a couple times ago that he is on site and cracking his usual jokes. This is GREAT to hear, and I hope to visit HSH in the next weeks during Mostly Mozart. We have also been disturbed by Ellen's absence in the last few months in ANY of her three Philadelphia restaurants. She was such a welcome fixture before.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Interesting menu without being pretentio ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting menu without being pretentious. Service was great but place was a little noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Meal at High Street

Dined on May 1, 2016

The meal was really great and the servers were very attentive. There are several menu items that need explaining, which was not a hit among the older people in my group, but overall a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Experimental and Fun

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Found this restaurant via an article about Philly's 38 Essential Restaurants. We let the chef select our dishes with the Leave It To Us option, and enjoyed so many wonderful dishes! Our favorites were the Potato Toast, the Toasted Grain Paccheri, and the PA Brook Trout. The restaurant uses many unfamiliar ingredients, but in a very satisfying way. Worth a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 30, 2016

So good. I really loved the caramelized cauliflower stuffed pasta. Great, attentive waitress too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Extraordinary Taste and Creativity

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant. Very attractive interior and you could see the dedicated chefs at work. The food was expertly prepared. It wasn't your everyday menu; but, everything that we ordered was excellent. The menu is designed for sharing. I plan to go back when I have the $55 per person to engage in sharing with my date or a friend. Check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and Daring, but fun and Approachable

Dined on April 19, 2016

The tasting menu at High Street on Market was absolutely fantastic. The dishes were hearty and comforting, but were incredibly creative- creamed stinging nettles, caramelized cauliflower ravioli, and dehydrated beets were highlights. Would go back in an instant, and plan to.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Creative Veggie Choices

Dined on April 5, 2016

First timers here, we enjoyed a fantastic meal before the theatre: Food delicious; service excellent; and nice atmosphere. We began with the vollkornbrot, and a delicious, hearty pumpernickel. Crispy broccoli with chow-chow had a surprising but nicely spicy kick, and the mushroom dish and cauliflower caramelle were both amazing. We will highly recommend High Street on Market, and return, but allow more time - for sampling desserts. The parting cookies however were a very nice touch and quite yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a wonderful dinner! great service and food!!!!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

had a wonderful dinner! great service and food!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will definitely go back, soon

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

My husband and I went to Fork two weeks ago, absolutely loved it, and decided to follow it up by going to High Street on Market this past weekend. Best decision ever! I'm sure I'm not the first person to say this, but...THE BREAD IS AMAZING THERE! We sampled several small plates and then shared two pastas. All the food we tasted were not only delicious but also wonderfully innovative and fun. Compared with Fork, which again was equally amazing, High Street seems to be a little more light hearted, good-humored, but just as capable to deliver. We are what you'd call a couple of foodies, I suppose, and we used to be all about fine dining and tasting menus. As our experience grows and our relationship with food develops, however, nowadays we find ourselves more appreciative of this type of dining experience: surprising, intriguing, but most importantly honest and fun. We will be back very soon, High Street, you are officially one of my favorites in the ever changing Philly dining scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute restaurant with great food

Dined on April 2, 2016

I highly enjoyed my visit to this restaurant this past weekend. All of the food was amazing and beautifully plated. We started with the bread assortment, which I would very highly recommend. It comes with spreads/dips for the different types of breads and they were all great. We then got the mushroom entree and the trout which I also enjoyed. The decor is beautiful is very high end. I would certainly go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good solid experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

Came here for dinner to celebrate my 30th bday. The place is really cute inside. We chose the option of paying $55 per person and having the chef selection where they choose our meals for us. It was awesome trying new dishes, and everything was very tasty, but half the time we didn't know what we were eating because we couldn't hear the server tell us what it was. Literally only complaint, the noise level was very high. However, awesome menu! Overall, great experience. I would recommend checking it out!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pretty good, nice breads [of course]

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Nice server. We ordered well, on course, a ravioli, was described as"the best perogies you will ever eat", but sorry to say it was oversold. kitchen sent out a tripe course complimentary. Reticent at first, the crunchy intestine was bursting with porky fllavor and was very much appreciated, as well as the cookies offered on the way out. Limited bar selection is a bit diappoiting and the seating is less than comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Expected better

Dined on March 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere and good service. Small and limited electic menu. Food was good but portions were rather small. Wine pour bordered on ridiculous.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was excellent. Our waiter ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our experience was excellent. Our waiter Ryan was great. Food was very good. Bread board was delicious. Definitely will return again. Well worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as San Francisco

Dined on March 27, 2016

Having recently moved here from San Francisco, we were concerned about whether the food scene in Philly was equal to San Francisco's. High Street on Market is as good and innovative as any place we left behind- in our several visits we have always been pleased with the quality, creativity, service, and ambiance. It has quickly become one of our favorite places for dinner or just grabbing a loaf of Anadama bread.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High St

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

A wonderful meal. Breads and spreads are varied and delicious. Mushroom dish with mushroom broth was outstanding. Squid dish very good. Apple desert delicious. Service thoughtful and efficient. A real tribute to Eli Kulp

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's tasting menu is a treat

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our party of 4 went for the chef's tasting menu, which gives you a chance to experience a variety of interesting flavor combinations. In particular, the potato toast, kale chips, crispy broccoli, mushrooms, and roast pork were outstanding. The only dish that didn't hit a home run was a risotto served as a "breather" between courses - some in our party thought it lacked punch. Service was prompt and attentive, the atmosphere inviting. I highly recommend High Street on Market.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Most of the dishes in the tasting menu a ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Most of the dishes in the tasting menu are fantastic. Special standout courses include the angry crab pasta, the various breads, and the vegetables with the dishes (eg the carrots, smoky eggplant, cauliflower and black garlic, etc)

food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best places in philly for fam ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

One of the best places in philly for family style. Every single dish was amazing. Try the potato toast with shrimp or the crab pasta

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great city spot were sharing is encouraged.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Good ambiance and good food. Dishes for sharing. Portions can be small, which makes it a little pricey. Very attentive and helpful servers. Overall a fun experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We have dined here at least four times and enjoyed every one! The dishes are creative, the wait staff is engaging and enthusiastic. This last occasion we went with the chef's choice tasting...fun to see what they come up with and you can add favorites aka carte. While everyone at the table may not love every dish, the food is always perfectly prepared. Fun, different and reasonable for this level of dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was unique and interesting but ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

The food was unique and interesting but some dishes was a bit salty for my liking. We had the wild mushrooms, crab pasta, trout, cauliflower ravioli

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow service

Dined on March 3, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed the meal, and I understand the slow food movement, so am not complaining about the length between ordering and the food being on the table. However, after our entrees were served, our initial waiter told us she was leaving, but that her colleague would be helping us for the rest of our evening. After the entree plates were cleared, we expected someone would come with dessert menus or to ask about coffee, or at least to bring the bill. But we just sat (the restaurant was not full) for over 25 minutes before someone came up to offer coffee - but still didn't mention dessert - we had to ask about this. Because if this in attentiveness, our dinner ran much later than expected, and meant an otherwise great meal ended on a very frustrating note.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Forks baby brother. Just as cool if not ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Forks baby brother. Just as cool if not cooler

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was creative and original. I did th ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was creative and original. I did the tasting menu and every course as fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The breads, kale chips, pastas: all so very good. Try the bread assortment with the dips as a starter. The cocktails are innovative and delicious. The wines are excellent. The pasta dishes are very creative and I plan to try a different one at each visit. Bought a bread to take home.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is amazing. The food is incre ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

This place is amazing. The food is incredibly done. Everything I have tried is unique and different. Always impresses!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy Valentines

Dined on February 14, 2016

High Street on Market was absolutely delicious. This was a fixed tasting menu for valentines. It seemed expensive, but not when we were done. Really interesting flavor profiles and wide array of ingredients. I would not call this experimental, because everything was very well thought through and planned. We both talked about the balance in the dishes. All 5, or 6, of the essential tastes were covered well. A bit of sweet to offset the tart, etc... Probably the tasting menu was a great way to explore here but I'm sure the daily menu is yummy. The open kitchen is terrific. You can really see the work going in to each presentation. Service was professional and intelligent without talking down to the guests. We also did not feel rushed, despite some queueing folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentines dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

had the tasting menu for 4 people. The hits were the shrimp pot, octopus, pork loin and the star was the angry crab spaghetti. The rest were just OK...the squid ink bread for the lamb tartar did not taste any different. A bread course in the middle of a meal was a little strange. It was heavy and multigrain. The desserts were OK. The wine selection was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique food pairings, casual but elegant vibe

Dined on February 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We booked the early seating, but arrived 15 min late due to traffic and so we couldn't linger as they needed the table. Our fault, not theirs. Wait staff was well informed and made us feel welcome. The food was outstanding, especially the shrimp toast, charred squid, rabbit, wild mushrooms and desserts. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative Food and attentive service

Dined on February 3, 2016

We tried the Chef's tasting menu and were extremely happy that we did! The selection was fabulous and varied. For every course, the chef added a tasty bite of something interesting... so in the end we were stuffed and had tried so many new dishes with interesting flavors. The meal was well-paced and the wait staff explained what we were eating and answered all of our questions. This is an intimate, small restaurant, but they do have a larger table that could be used for a group of @ 8. Although it is the more casual sister of Fork next door, the food is not in the least bit compromised.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Simply excellent

Dined on February 1, 2016

We tried the "Leave it to us" option, and we were not disappointed. It felt like as soon as we'd finished a small plate or two, another one appeared before us like magic. I was initially concerned with the small serving size, but we tried so many dishes, we were all pleasantly stuffed by the end of the meal, and had to struggle with dessert. The two top dishes were the mushrooms and the brick parsnip, and they were simply heavenly. Other outstanding dishes included the vollkornbrot, grilled carrots, the sour cream ice cream (sweet dessert). Everything else was very good, and I wouldn't say no to another round of any of them. One thing that we all found very interesting was the way everything seemed to pay attention to textures, as well as the usual flavor and color concerns. We had a couple of people in our group who are sensitive to food textures, and we all thought everything was very well done and balanced on that front. All in all, it was an excellent meal, and while it's a bit above my normal price point, I have no regrets whatsoever, and will very likely dine here again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on January 30, 2016

Absolutely incredible food and service. Gluten free options available.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Extraordinary Creations

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Each dish was extraordinary and skillfully created with much creativity.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious! Wonderful experien ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Wonderful experience. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and knowledgeable. I will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.