Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Street on Market

High Street on Market offers uniquely delicious fare morning, noon, and night. Reservations are available for dinner built around handmade alt-grain pastas, local vegetables, and farmstead meats. The meal is paired with an all domestic artisanal wine list and hand crafted seasonal cocktails.




308 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 625-0988

Website:
http://www.highstreetonmarket.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available at the Ritz at the Bourse Movie Theater, Bourse Parking Garage, 400 Ranstead Street on 4th between Market and Chestnut, for $6.50.

Public Transit:
5th or 2nd Street, Blue Line; Septa Market Street Line

Executive Chef:
Jon Nodler

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 8:15PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Street on Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort by
S
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 11 hours ago

Nice place...for the most part friendly service. Tasting meal was a good variety of dishes. BUT, most dishes were just too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2018

I have been at High Market a few times. However, I was a little disappointed by the sort of slow service on Saturday night. They were busy but not that busy. It was raining and it seemed slow. I like to come here because they use local, fresh ingredients. Not only the service but also I just didn't like few of the dishes. I tried their oysters - too salty. Mind you, I like salt. My other dish was the Burnt grains campanelle and again, way too salty. If it wasn't for the salt, it would've easily been my favorite dish. I couldn't finish it and refused to take it with me because I wasn't going to choke myself on salt. That same night, I woke up in the middle of the night and drank 24oz of water at once for feeling so dehydrated. Dessert was fabulous.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Commendable service and excellent food. Loud, blaring music made the patrons shout at each other across each table, raising the noise level even more. We asked to have the background music turned down; it wasn't. Great place to eat by yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2018

we've enjoyed several meals here, and our last one was no exception. for the occasion of our friend's birthday we all ordered tasting menus and everything was phenomenal. thank you again for a wonderful and delicious evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Wonderful restaurant week dinner! Very small and intimate, with great service. Get the mushrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on January 23, 2018

My first time here and loved it. Made a reservation, we were a party of 7, and we ended up coming during restaurant week, and got great value for the $35 3-course meal. Loved our server as well, super happy with the delicious food. Next I want to come for breakfast!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2018

It was spectacular, absolutely sublime. I had the baked oysters and the shredded boar pasta, my boyfriend had the mushroom salad and the steak. Both were divine, one of the best tasting and good looking meals I’ve had in a while. The servers were really friendly and attentive as well as lively. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2018

First time we visited and it was for winter restaurant week. The food was absolutely outstanding, as was the service. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Always great food and quick service. Portions could be slightly larger though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2018

I love this place and alot of thought goes into the dishes with creativity.
Indulged in the tasting menu and we wont do it again-
Too fast to really savor the different dishes, although the chef came up with a lovely subxtitute for one of us who had an issue with one dish- handled quickly and graciously, thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Went to dinner with my boyfriend and chose the Leave It To Us option. BEST MEAL I’VE EVER HAD. Chef chose one plate from the menu and one from off the menu for each course. Definitely a very fun way to dine out if you’re looking for a new experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

This was our favorite restaurant in Philadelphia for years. After our last visit we will be looking for a new dining spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Lovey brunch! We will definitely be back to try more items on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2017

The server was too busy to respond requests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2017

There were 6 of us ranging in ages from 14-85. We had a very positive experience. We shared 4 appetizers, everyone was completely satisfied! The entrées were beautiful to look at and even better to eat. I do not recall being so satisfied after a meal. My only disappointment was that no one wanted dessert! Aha, a reason to return! And, a shout out to our waitperson - who exhibited so much patience when I explained our dietary restrictions!

Cheers for the mushroom/egg dish. The lamb sausage was aromatic and tasty! Great job on the bread served with the carrot hummus. Loved everything, even the crumbs!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

High Street on Market was a great surprise. We had no idea what to expect and everything was delicious. Each dish was thoughtful and beautifully presented. It made our trip to Philadephia worthwhile.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The menu sounded amazing but when the food came, it was all fine but nothing blew us away. Had the price point been lower, we would have been more satisfied.

We had a small piece of bone in a dish which we did not complain about but they kept making a big deal of and yet did not compensate us in any way.

Service was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Decided upon High Street on Market for our weekly date night. Restaurant was very warm and inviting with it’s fresh garland and twinkle light Christmas decor. Service was excellent! I don’t think it matters what you order as all of our dishes were delicious! Smoked Bluefish was excellent and the squid ink pasta was also delightful! Dessert was a sinfully light but decadent chocolate slice. If celebrating, I highly recommend their ‘drink pairing’ if you are going to have a couple of drinks. After 30 years of marriage I ‘celebrate’ often! It was a lovely evening and we will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

High Street on Market is always a pleasure and truly delicious. I have not had a thing there that I did not like and the service is always really nice, laid back but attentive. The ambiance is also really nice although some of the seating can be cramped at times. It is pretty expensive for just an every day night out (especially if you are drinking) so I like to keep it for friends/relatives in town or special celebratory dinners.

But, honestly, I think it's the best restaurant in Old City!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great food and service-always creative.The mushrooms are amazing,as are the pastas. Be sure to order something that comes with the wonderful homemade bread(like carrot hummus)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. I really appreciate the transparency of the kitchen in the consumer's point of view. Delicious food

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2017

I have been to High Street on Market a number of times and always love the food, wine, and service. I chose it as a place to take a few of my foodie friends who were in town for a visit. Everyone loved the food and thought it was great value for the high quality. I highly recommend coming here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This was our first visit and I will definitely return. We had the tasting menu and everything was delicious and generous portions for the two of us. Highlights were the Kennett Square mushrooms, the sumac lamb pasta, the squid ink with octopus pasta, and crispy broccoli.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Visited High Street on Market with two friends who were in from out of town. The service was great! Our waitress was very helpful and fun. We did the ‘Leave it to Us’ menu option so the kitchen sent an array of dishes. We did not leave hungry! Everything was wonderful but some stand outs were the crispy broccoli, Primal Supply bratwurst, Kennett Square mushroom, squid ink gnocchetti and smoked celery ravioli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Delicious food, knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. The ravioli was sublime. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had a great dinner. Staff was friendly and very helpful with the menu. Everything we ordered was great and we would order again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Very good as usual. Service was top knotch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The tasting menu is a good value. We enjoyed the smoked celery ravioli, the black pasta with octopus, and the lightly breaded broccoli. The bread is outstanding.

Diners are asked if there is anything they can't eat but not told what they will receive. While the surprise is fun, not knowing can result in your receiving things you just don't like. In our case, it was seared tuna. The staff was annoyed when we indicated neither of us liked tuna. They did provide an alternative. Also, one of us told the server she could not eat anything spicy. The first dish was a carrot with jerk spice in yogurt.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

High Street is an outstanding restaurant. We went there based on recommendation of a friend who is a chef. Quickly, it became apparent why he chose this establishment. The room
The tapas inspired menu offerings were fascinating and delicious. By coincidence my companion and I selected 4 vegetarian dishes ranging from a wonderful rye pasta carbonara to one of the most spectacular mushroom assortments which was combined with eggplant and served salad style. One last thought: do not avoid sampling the house backed breads. It will be worth the additional carbs!.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Tasting menu was generous, too generous in portion size that the protein at the end wasn’t appreciated and returned to the kitchen only half eaten. However everything was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was great from start to finish. Received complementary sparkling rose' for our anniversary. Nice, unexpected, touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on September 23, 2017

La comida es excelente y muy bien presentada
Mezcla de sabores exquisitos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

(Went for dinner on a Friday night) The food was very good - some of the dishes were conventional but very well done. Other dishes were more creative and also very well done. But the service was really weak - the restaurant was only half full but the waitstaff seemed barely able to service the room (mixed up multiple orders that I could see and had tables waiting for dishes too long - mine included). The prices at dinner are quite high and given the cost I expect much better service.

I've had lunch multiple times and always had a great experience but given that the prices for dishes at lunch are much less than at dinner my expectations are also lower.

So I would highly recommend for lunch but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We went here for my birthday dinner and it did not disappoint. We started with some bread and the bluefish spread and the crunchy broccoli. The bread was amazing, the spread was perfectly balanced and the broccoli was such a treat! I had the duck egg carbonara and my husband enjoyed the squid ink pasta. Both dishes were so delicious. We started the meal with a local sparkling rosé from a Lehigh valley vineyard! Our waitress said that they try and feature local wines and you'll see a few throughout the list. My husband tried the unicorn cocktail much to my enjoyment and I had a glass of granache with my carbonara. We enjoyed the meal and will definitely recommend High Street to our friends and family. I may have to start buying the bread for at home. It was so good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I introduced two old friends to High Street, and they both loved it. The hits of the evening were the crispy broccoli with chow-chow, the Kennett Square mushrooms, and the bratwurst, but the spaghetti and the blistered beans were great too. The service was, as usual, friendly, attentive, and professional, and our courses were served with just the right pacing. This is SUCH a great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was a bit disappointed in the food. Especially, the plating, very mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Went here for restaurant week Sept 2017. Mediocre food, nothing special here. 0 satisfaction, spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is always excellent! Great flavors with i seasonal vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at HighStreet after the Temple football game on Saturday. The dining room was full, but we could still talk comfortably. We celebrated my birthday and I was happy to have many delicious menu options for my medically required gluten and dairy free diet, as well as gluten and nut free options for my sons. What a wonderful evening, finished off by sorbet with Gluten Free Graham cracker crumbs. I look forward to returning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Everyone on staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.