About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board
  • Scallops
  • Crab Cakes
  • Seafood Platter
  • Lobster Chowder
Cheese Board
Scallops
Crab Cakes
Seafood Platter
Lobster Chowder

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Lincoln ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (12)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic little steak house. I've been ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic little steak house. I've been to my share, and these were the best filets I've ever had. Add on the shellfish appetizer (amazing). Great, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice place .. to have a nice upsca ...

Dined 5 days ago

very nice place .. to have a nice upscale dinner with friends, family or significant other. with excellent price . !!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt my favorite restaurant , ...

Dined 6 days ago

Without a doubt my favorite restaurant , great food, great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent, service wonderfully p ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is excellent, service wonderfully personal, wine and drinks very very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the prime rib excellent flavor an ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

We had the prime rib excellent flavor and perfect preperation. One diner had the neatballs and polenta appetizer as the entree and it was a very large portion. She said the meatballs were great. They carry Allen Bros. meat very high quality butcher. Even though you are in a casino the space was very nice and not too loud. I would definately return. Wine list was extensive a little pricey but not way out of whack.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. Overa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Overall ambience was fine except some smoke smell did permeate into the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent, but this is a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Everything was excellent, but this is a very special pnce

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere was enjoyable and our ser ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The atmosphere was enjoyable and our service was exceptional. One issue was getting to the restuarant we walked thru the casino as we did not know about the front entrance. The smoke was so bad it made your eyes water. Make sure to enter thru the front entrance to the restaurant to avoid the overwhelming smoke of the casino.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here after one of the concerts to c ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here after one of the concerts to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Service was great and the rib eye steak was so good!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Birthday Meal

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service, ambiance, and food were excellent! Amazing birthday dinner!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The ambiance was fun and romantic. The f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The ambiance was fun and romantic. The food was really delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner before the Concert

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great restaurant for a Special Night Out. My wife and I were up for a concert and booked a reservation prior to the show. The menu has great selections, the service was excellent and the food was perfect. We actually over ordered:) The Cheese Plate was great, by the time we finished it and our salad, plus a bottle of wine, we were pretty full. Then came our main course; Dover for me and Filet for my wife with two sides and we had more than enough food. We plan to be back a couple more times for concerts this summer and we will book reservations here for our next trips up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Convenient and good restaurant when atte ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Convenient and good restaurant when attending a concert at the outdoor venue. We entered the restaurant from their valet front entrance rather than walking through the smoke filled casino AND still had to deal with the heavy smoke fumes. Once inside and acclimated to the scent, it becomes unnoticeable. Very good steak! When walking in from the valet front entrance, noticed a very nice, good size room for a private party.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak

Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife loved her Filet Mignon. I ordered the bone in New York steak and it was very sour tasting where her filet did taste good. I am a butcher and have managed for grocery chains before retiring, so yes, I know meat!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-Concert Dinner menu was fast and delicious.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food, cocktails and service!! We chose from the Pre-Concert dinner menu as we were pressed for time due to the Tesla/Y&T concert. The food arrived quickly, and was delicious. Our waitress anticipated our every need and we had a great time. Highly recommend High Steaks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed.

Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been dining here for over 10 years now and never have been disappointed in the food or service. Seafood Platter is to die for and steaks always cooked to perfection. Martini's the best in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE IS GREAT. BUT,,,,,

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was excellent but one of our friend's crab cakes had a very fishy smell and had shell pieces in it. Our prime rib was very good. I ordered a small split of champagne and was charged $42. 00 . I did inquire about the price and was told it was $29, which I would have gladly paid. I did not contest the charge as I was with friends from Georgia, but I wish I had now. Thank you. Ellen M. AZBILL Ellen AZBILL 582 Peach Lane Newcastle, Ca 95658

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The first time we went was amazing this ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The first time we went was amazing this time just good found my halibut over cook just seemed not as impressive

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for wife's B-day dinner. Food was v ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Went for wife's B-day dinner. Food was very good. After meal was finished waited 15 min. stopped passing waitress (not ours) and asked if we could have a desert menu. After onother 10 to 15 min. stopped another waitress (not ours) ordered desert. After another 10 to 15 min. stopped another waitress asked if our waitress had gone home! She said she would get her. Our waitress showed up asked if we wanted to order desert---told her we already ordered she said that since wife's B-day she would get free desert. Just expected more from High Stakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service mak ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service make this one of my favorite places to eat out. I highly recommend it! Way better than Ruth Chris.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waiter was excellent but service was rea ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Waiter was excellent but service was really slow. There was a lot of dead time. The menu has changed a lot since the last time I was there and the items I was looking forward to having are no longer available.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely Impressed

Dined on May 23, 2016

The team at High Steaks make you feel special when you visit. From the time you arrive to the time you leave they make you feel important. Mike our server was extremely helpful, his recommended wine was for our appetizers and our main course. Jenkins our room manager went above and beyond to make sure me and my date were well taken care of. I ordered the Prime Rib special and my date ordered the 8oz Filet Mignon, both were perfectly cooked, as ordered. I would recommend High Steaks to anyone looking to impress someone. They also offer complimentary valet; you can walk right up to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The atmosphere was nice. Sides were grea ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The atmosphere was nice. Sides were great, but the main part of the meal......the steaks were flavorless. Kind of a bummer. I had the bone in 20oz ribeye that didn't taste like anything and was chewy. My wife had the 11oz filet which was cooked perfectly, but again, no flavor. Looked great, sounded great, left wanting better. Spent $200 and the side dishes and the free anniversary dessert were the best part.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just what we needed...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great dinner at High Steaks - from the rolls to the palate cleansers to the main entrees (both of us got the Filet Mignon), everything was done to perfection. They even made special sides (truffle-crusted mac/cheese & potatoes) and a chocolate broulee for dessert which wasn't on the menu. Coupled with the ease of reservations and the very reasonable prices given the quality, we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The entrees were very good; the rest...not so much

Dined on May 21, 2016

Side dishes were decidedly disappointing.Charged for them anyway, even though untouched. Did not feel worth the overall cost. Many better options nearby in the price range.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The experience was fantastic! We enjoyed ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The experience was fantastic! We enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Turn Up the Lights

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great. The service was great. But the lights are sooo dim we really had a hard time reading the menu. I have 20/20. Maybe a flashlight?? No reservations were actually needed, and dress is very casual. The Halibut was awesome!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit very much. Our serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed our visit very much. Our server Danya, was very friendly, and knowledgable. We ate on the patio, it was nice and quiet and pleasant. The food was very good, and the presentation was very eye appealing. The manager, Jenkins was very friendly too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JUST GREAT ALL AROUND

Dined on May 10, 2016

JUST WONDERFUL PLACE TO EAT AND DRINK!!! WE CELEBRATED A BIRTHDAY AND THE STAFF WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Did not meet expectations

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was not up to our expectations based on previous reviews. Appetizers and salads were nothing special...pretty average. We both ordered ribeye steaks and one was quite good and the other was not very good at all. We ordered the High Steaks potatoes as our side and they were awful. Desserts were pretty good. Creme Brule was average but the Molten Chocolate cake was really great. So one great steak and dessert but otherwise the food was very average. Service was awesome. We won't be going back and wouldn't recommend High Steaks. Really disappointing when spending over $250 for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful restaurant.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food as always was wonderful. Does it really have to be that high priced??? The waiter was poor. He rushed by bringing our food too fast, removed plates while people were still eating and did not box all of the leftovers for us. We always call eating at High Steaks a dining experience. However, this was lacking by service only

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best filet in years. They even beat out ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best filet in years. They even beat out Morton's. The Stag's Leap by the glass was awesome. Service was top notch, bread was ok. But, I recommend buying dessert at the dessert shop on the way out. $3.99 for a European style dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, drink and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

Thunder Valley High Steaks was beyond awesome, the food, wine and service were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wort the cost; one of the best steaks I ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wort the cost; one of the best steaks I have ever had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ONLY top notch steakhouse in Sacramento region

Dined on April 10, 2016

We ordered the seafood platter, filet mignon, and deconstructed beef wellington. It was all excellent. The best steaks we've had in years. High Stakes really captures the classic, high-end steakhouse ambiance and menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We came here on recommendation from family and we were not disappointed. We got the 32oz Bone-in prime rib and had to split between two people! The sides were great and the Filet my father had was excellent. The BREADS are amazing, be careful not to fill up on them because they are out of this world good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Last minute reservations for birthday dinner; very accommodating and had a nice time.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Steaks!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at High Steaks twice now, and both times the food was outstanding and the service was exemplary. We will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have eaten at High Steaks several times. They never fail to impress! This last visit we took another couple with us. They were thoroughly impressed as well! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Lobster was not to our liking undercooke ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Lobster was not to our liking undercooked and tough

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.