About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very good, but it is outrageously expensive for a casual Indian casino.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

This was the first time my wife and I had visited High Steaks, I had heard that it was a nice place for us to go. We started with drinks at the bar, the bartender was really curtious and my wife really enjoyed her Margarita. The dinner was over the top!! My bone in Ribye was seasoned perfectlly and cooked exactly med rare!! My wife had the prime rib and she said it was perfectly cooked and seasoned as well. I would like to thank our waitress for her service, the Chief for his talent but also the manager (Jenkins Davis) for stopping by to make sure everything was up to standards! Great job to the team and I can honesty say, I can not wait till we return! Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Ordered the two inch thick New York to share. It came and was pre cut but was about one half in thick. Seriously. And super salty. Could eat it. Tough too. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The overall experience was very nice. The meal seemed to be late in coming and the waitress did not check on us. We had to ask for her to see why everyone else who had come in after us was already served.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have ever had! Amazing food and amazing service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant and we will definitely be going back. As far as a steakhouse, it has my vote for best one in town. Even liked it more than Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was great service was fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best steaks in the Sacramento area. Well worth the drive from Elk Grove.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Cigarette smoke from the Casino spews in through the reception doors very badly. Don't know how the health dept let's them get away with it. Everything else perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants to celebrate! Whatever the occasion. I love the food, the feeling, the service is always outstanding. We had a great server and a great busman. We spent hours there catching up - we would watch to make sure we were not holding up a table (it was a Monday night) and we would have left if it got busy but it was a quiet night and a wonderful place for two very good friends to catch up. We never felt rushed and were so very well taken care of. The filets were amazing. I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Sunday March 5th was my second time dining at High Steaks, and once again it was exceptional. Wonderful friendly waiters, amazing food. Perfect ambiance, definitely will be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food always delicious - never disappoints. Ambience in restaurant is always pleasant and elegant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The bathrooms were filthy and we had a 7:00 pm reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Came here for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. We j
Enjoyed the intimate atmosphere, great food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love dining at High Steaks ! The food is over the top ! I personally love their lobster and filet mignon.I tried the butter poached 2+lb whole lobster it was so moist the best I've ever had .The Kings estate pinot gris 2015 wine perfectly matched the lobster.Patrick the bus boy was very attentive our server not so much InIthe past service was always excellent maybe

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Awesome meal awesome service! High Steaks staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience and a great time! You will not regret coming here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

good quality food. I like the location. My prime rib was very good, even though I had to send back my first one. I ordered rare and got medium rare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Although good food, very over priced for amount of food received. Everything al la cart and basically a steak on a plate. Ridiculous for 1 person to pay $72 plus tip for steak, salad and side of mushrooms split 3 ways

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very good food...my husband's prime rib, my scallops, the spinach salad, and generous side baked potato (enough to share), was delicious. Only complaint was that it took a long time for our food to come out. It was Sunday on President's weekend, so they could have been busier than normal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This place completely blew away our (admittedly low) expectations. The steak was one of the best I have ever had and the service level was top notch. Everything was exceeded except the price which was very reasonable. Next time we pass through on the way to Tahoe this place is definitely going to get another visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food as always. Would be nice if they could turn the lights up just a little more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very busy on a Saturday night!!! Remember to reserve; we still had to wait 10-15 min but no biggie. Great service from waiter and super fine dining!!! Will go again if another special occasion occurs!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My steak was cold to the touch. My lobster was over cooked. The chopped salad wasn't worth the price. It was actually kind of a let down. I had never been to thunder valley let alone this high class restaurant. I was excited. The service was great. But the food was definitely understated and not worth the price. There was what looked like a giant roly Polly looking garnish on my plate. I wouldn't recommend this place . I've had better meals at outback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service and food was great. The smoke coming in from the casino was disgusting! We couldn't even stay for dessert because it was so smoky

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was awesome... the food was amazing... will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was our first time at High Steaks and we went for Valentine's Day dinner. Everything was perfect with the exception of the noise levels. It was very hard to have a conversation bc it was so loud in there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife's steak was excellent. Mine was tough, overcooked and a poor flavor. The creamed spinach was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service has improved. Glad to see they added a Porterhouse to their menu. Except they advertise a Porterhouse, charge you for a Porterhouse. but server a T bone.
Change your menu back to a T bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another excellent meal at high steaks it was Valentine's Day and it was the perfect spot

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Marvelous experience, very entertaining, fun with the servers who were excellent and very professional. The meal was top notch and with one surprise after another. Will definitely look for a reason to do this outing again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice restaurant for special occasions unless you have the money to eat there often. The steaks were cooked beautifully and the sides were very tasty. They have a solid wine and liquor selection to fit most all taste buds and there is a nice atmosphere inside the restaurant. I highly recommend it for date night with your loved one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

High Steaks never disappoints. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed, service was very bad, food was not good, how can you screw up a rib eye steak (very expensive) but they did and I had to ask for hot butter and tools to eat my king crab not what I would expect from a highly rated restaurant. Definitely will never go back and never recommend to any friends or family--should have gone to Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We eat here quite often, and have never gotten as bad as service as this time. Normally the food is cooked and served as requested, but this time it took over an hour and 15 minutes AFTER eating our salads to get to us. After asking our server, Tristan; what was taking so long, and him repeatedly telling us, "it's on its way" it then came way way overcooked. Well done, when i ordered it medium. So then, after Bruce had eaten, i still had not gotten another steak, the manager comes over with no explanation, and asks if i would like something else. What!? And eat all by myself?. We were so disappointed with High Stakes this time, we wont be going back for a while, nor will we be recommending them to friends. Sorry Tristan, you should have been on it like you normally are. The worst part was that two couples sat down AFTER us, ordered and got their meals and left before we even got our food!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent as was service. We 3 ladies were seated right next to kitchen so a bit noisy and distracting. That table should be removed it is too close to them.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took the staff to dinner to celebrate winning a large contract. Had a great time, food was excellent, service good and a nice private room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great for, great service; definitely planning to do this again!
Downside is the casino is too smokey, poor air quality as everyone seems to smoke.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was such a great birthday experience. The service and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have dined here previously. We made a special trip from the Bay Area to enjoy Birthday dinner for my husband. Our meal was once again spectacular and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday and had an incredible meal. It is expensive, but the quality is excellent and the side portions are very generous. I'd highly recommend this fine restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great table, great waitress, great food. oysters Rockefeller & steak were fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.