About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (9)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Sports (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual everything was perfect. Have been coming here since Day 1 (Austin’s). The server was great but service/ attentiveness seemed slower this trip. But no complaints overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

First time in and the food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and beverages, great service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Met a client that truly enjoy the upscale environment and privacy. The staff was professional and attentive. I was very happy with the service I received.
You will not go wrong at this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service and food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was amazing! I love the jalapeno cheese rolls they give you and asked for extra. For appetizers, we had steak tartare and half a dozen oysters. I absolutely loved the tartare! It was my first time trying it. My bacon wrapped filet mignon was delicious and juicy. My husband's scallops we're tender and not rubbery. Finished off with the lemon cheesecake which was amazing and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We celebrate our birthdays along with another couple (so normally 4 times a year we indulge). We normally order your delicious and mouth-watering steaks. We ordered them this time as well, but the texture was that of a roast, not a high end steak. It was disappointing!! Also, the asparagus was very limp. The mushrooms were delicious!! Also, our waiter was awesome—we loved his sense of humor!! Please thank him for us!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

This was not my first visit. My girlfriend and I were wearing black pants. We got white napkins (5-Star Restaurant?). Server forgot my iced tea. It would have been nice to know the house was out of oysters when we were seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food is outstanding. Noise level is way to high to be considered a fine steak house. Poor special occasion place due to noise.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We we're there to celebrate a girlfriend's 40th birthday and they were very accommodating to our every need and want. It was very nice, the service was outstanding, the food was delicious and we would all definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I was dining with my family and kids. The food was exceptional. I have a salmon it was cooked to perfection. The service was perfect. Our waiter was right on time with everything was very attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Ate at High Steaks to celebrate my Mom's birthday while staying at the Thunder Valley Hotel. The ambiance was really nice and classy and the service was excellent. We started with the happy hour for a drink and a couple of appetizers. The happy hour prices are very good and the place was bustling . We ordered the prawns with cocktail sauce and the oysters on the half shell with mignonette sauce and cocktail sauce. There seemed to be a problem with the oysters being too small because we had a couple of oysters that were minuscule as did the couple sitting next to us. After telling our bartender of the problem, he quickly sent two new one over.
The restaurant was not busy so it made for a nice quiet dinner. We ordered the seafood platter, the poke' plate, and the aged rib eye steak for dinner. The had a nice amuse bouche of pork cheeks and a nice basket of warm breads with butter which were very nice and complimentary. The poke was on a bed of seaweed salad and served with won ton chips. I've made poke' and the seaweed salad is usually packaged so it wasn't very impressive to me. The seafood platter of lobster, lump crab, king crab, oysters, and prawns were just ordinary. They should all be succulent and they were served cold and a little stiff as if they were taken out of a container and plated. The steak was 20 oz and very expensive (over $50) so I expected a lot since I've had aged steak before. I have to say it was cooked well, but it just didn't have a lot of flavor for an aged steak and it wasn't as tender as it should be. However, the service was very nice and I wanted my Mom to have a good time so I had a nice glass of wine and enjoyed our time together. My Mom enjoyed the meal and was very happy so I was content. My suggestion would be to think through the preparation a bit more and make things spectacular to match the prices and the ambiance, then the place would be busier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was excellent. A bit pricey as everything was ala carte. Food was very good. However, our steak was a bit gristly and their special potatoes weren't worth the hype the waiter portrayed. They were thick sliced fried potatoes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very accommodating, I hit traffic and was able to push my reservation out a bit. Great cocktails and dinner was amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant is always on the top of the game. Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We were seated and served promptly. The steaks were excellent and served to order, from rare to medium. Heaven for meat eaters! Side dishes were family style and large, broccoli, mushrooms, and asparagus. If you love beets, you have to have the beet salad. Mouth watering. Thank you for a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Prompt service. Wait staff smiling but not because they had to. Food prepared to our preference. Service of food quiet, polite, efficient. Dessert design terrific. Dessert very rich!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent steaks and the French onion soup is outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The excellent steaks were only outdone by the fantastic service from Evan, our waiter. He was personable, knowledgeable and quick. This experience was as good as any high end steak house I've ever been.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Unfortunately it took 25 minutes for our server to wait on us and it took an hour to get our food. We had to pick up our son and didn't have time to eat, we had to take our food to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had a really great meal there....! Food was excellent...! Service excellent, Cocktails excellent...! Salad super fresh, had the deconstructed Beef Wellington, must say probably one of the best cuts of meat I have ever had at a restaurant. My wife had the seared Albacore, she was very pleased. Had a just fantastic meal...! Excellent server, attentive but not in your face and did not rush us. Never been here before but I surely will go back. And I am not a big casino guy, I tend to stay away from smokey places but I will put up with it to go here again someday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very slow service. Hope you have a lot of time to wait. It was not extremely busy but took forever to get our meal. When we got our meal it was cool. Side items are a rip off - just do not order. Extremely expensive food with under par service served in a nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Enjoyed the time, celebrating two birthdays, and the food. Our Waitress was excellent. We chose the experience to precede our concert experience. Great evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We came to have dinner before the show at the Amphitheater. We have never been here before, but we will be back. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. My wife and our friends had lemon drop martinis and they all said they were the best they have ever had. My French onion soup was as good as I have had a many years. All in all a fun experience.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing place.... the food is great, service is amazing but most importantly bone in New York Steak.... amazing!!!!! You have to try it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Exceptional! The food, service, atmosphere and ambiance were all top notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Been here several times before in the last few years and it's always been rock solid. But after this dinner and the next evening's dinner I can no longer refer to High Steaks as the area's best steak house. I ordered the 32 oz steak which is only offered on Fridays and Saturdays and normally perfection. This steak was 35% fat with the center 50% fat mass. Now I expect some marbled sections for sure but this was just a bad cut of meat. I did not realize kust how much fat there was until I reached the center but I was surprised considering tjis was their most expensive and specialty steak. I chalked it up to a one time deal. However when I returned the following evening, i discovered that my Kurobuta pork chop was raw in the center. Not rare, but one step away from blue folks. This time spoke up and was comped my dessert. I do not know what's happened (New chef, line cooks?) but I'm hesitant to go back. This is a major disappointment because I love this restaurant but I now question the quality of some of the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a great meal & our server was awesome .His name was Steffano.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of the worst dinners I've had in a long time for $200... Bone in ribeye was overlooked; so was wife's filet. Oscar topping on filet and asparagus were inedible. Baked potato was like warm, as we're the steaks... Took forever to get the main course served; maybe that is why they were not hot. Rolls were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great experience and service. Food was exceptional. I know it is associated with a casino, but the smell of cigarettes in the dining are was disappointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Mike our server was just fantastic! Food was awesome, love High Steaks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was excellent. Everything was served perfectly. Antonio was an amazing waiter. He made sure we were well taken care of. Great dining experience. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Have visited TVHS many times. I choose this restaurant for special occasions. Great food and service. My favorites are the fine cuts of meat and fish which are prepared in the old style of fine dining. Atmosphere is subdued and has the feeling of dining in a great club. Staff is friendly and responsive to any special requests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

the steaks were great, the salmon was great, the sides were great. love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Simply define! From the app to the dessert Chef Peter and Chef Freddy really know how to take care of the guest. James was very help in his descriptions of the dishes and really helped us pick out freeway dishes, although I'm sure you can't go wrong with anything in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's birthday! High Steaks is a great dining choice! We enjoyed our dining experience! The service, and food was terrific!
Amanda, our server was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great place to enjoy meal with friends. Nice feel for an cozy date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The half roasted chicken was surprisingly moist, tender, and still crispy on the outside. The flavor was delicious and not over seasoned. I also had a delightful gaspacho soup that was perfectly seasoned and did not give me heartburn. Slightly pricey at $45 without wine, but a good choice for our pre concert meal. I would recommend it for a special occasion, too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food (entrees were salmon and pork chop) and service were great. Our server was friendly, answered questions, and anticipated our needs. It was a birthday celebration for my wife and the complimentary dessert capped off a wonderful pre show dinner. My wife is already requesting we go back for dinner as she wants to recover her gambling loss.....$11.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delicious food and superb service. The prime rib and deconstructed beef Wellington were excellent. Cobb salad was really good as well. The waiter asked if we were attending a concert, which we were. He got us out in time without our feeling rushed. It was a really good experience overall. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.