About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board
  • Scallops
  • Crab Cakes
  • Seafood Platter
  • Lobster Chowder
Cheese Board
Scallops
Crab Cakes
Seafood Platter
Lobster Chowder

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (81)
romantic (47)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (28)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Food was exceptional and service was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Food was exceptional and service was spot on. The restaurant has a nice feel of comfort and luxury. We will be adding High Steaks to our list of go to places for dinner. My reason for rating ambience low is because I do not appreciate having to witness internal restaurant issues. Closed door meetings are one thing but being privy to something going on with staff gathering in the hallway in view of patrons obviously going over issues is not really what I want at my dinner table. Maybe, I have higher standards for professionalism but that is my expectation for Thunder Valley's premier restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Very nice meal and great service. Split ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice meal and great service. Split a large porterhouse steak that was cooked to perfection. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been here twice in the past 2 we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been here twice in the past 2 weeks! Both times my companyion and I split a surf and turf that was way overpriced. The quality and size on the Saturday we came was great! Not so much on Thursday. I dined there twice last summer. Both times we had our own meals with 2 sides and a cocktail. The price was a good $60.00 less at that time. This is NOT Silicon Valley or San Francisco. The thing we did enjoy was drinks on the patio listening to Jazz.

Because of the outrageous price I would not recommend it to anyone and I will not be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The restaurant was very busy and noisy. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and noisy. The service was good but the steaks left a lot to be desired. I ordered the Rib Eye steak medium rare. Although the middle of the stead was pink, the outside charred so much that was all you could taste.

I would not waste my money on this steakhouse. I have had better steaks at Sizzler!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We went to High Steaks before a concert ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went to High Steaks before a concert and were truly disappointed. The prices are comparable to Ruth Chris and Mortons but the food quality and preparation were not. The chop salads were very good, well prepared but the rest of the dinner was poor at best. My wife's steak was just ok but her baked potato was entirely undercooked, hard as a rock and inedible. How tough is it to cook a potato? My steak, ordered medium rare was unevenly cooked and at best rare. My rib steak was tough and grisley, clearly not choice as advertised. I never complain but this dinner was so awful I felt I had to and the manager comped my meal which of course I appreciated but I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent, but for the price, I wasn't particularly impressed. Given that they had aged steaks I probably should have ordered an aged rib eye or New York steak, but instead, I got the filet mignon which was very lean and yet extremely tender but also pretty lacking in flavor. The noise level was extreme, but then, they were extremely busy. I passed through the restaurant later in the evening when it was less busy and the noise level was fine. I went there prior to a concert at the Thunder Valley Casino complex and that turned out to be a nice combination because I was able to valet park very conveniently...a nice benefit when compared with the crowds filing into the parking lots. It was also quick and easy to get my car after the show. So if you're going to see a concert, I would definitely recommend High Steaks. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it very enthusiastically, but if you go, I definitely recommend getting one of their aged steaks -- not the filet mignon.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall service was good food to table t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall service was good food to table took over an hour thats the only flaw in the evening because we were going to a concert venue was crowded .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Expensive eats. Steak was good. Servic ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Expensive eats. Steak was good. Service was better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Came here once before, did not make a re ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Came here once before, did not make a reservation and the wait was over an hour. The bar had seats, so we ate and enjoyed it. This time, we went online and booked a table with Open Table. Reservation was there, booth for 3 and a reserved sign waiting for us. We were there for a concert and wanted to eat prior. Great meal, food cooked well and the service was top shelf. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fabulous food and drinks and as u ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always fabulous food and drinks and as usual Mike S. is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Dinner at the High Steaks ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Another Great Dinner at the High Steaks Restaurant:) This was our second visit to Thunder Valley to attend an outdoor concert and we love this restaurant. Great Food and wonderful Service. We will be back in September and already have dinner reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service, drinks. Great p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic food, service, drinks. Great place for a nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our expectations were not met; and while ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our expectations were not met; and while dinner was acceptable, it was not special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is awesome!! The servers have ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is awesome!! The servers have personality and are customer service centric. Very attentive and prompt. Every course i had was exceptional. It was worth the value! Their chef is amazing. I have eaten there several time, always being the best experience! Thank you for that

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times in the past a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have eaten here many times in the past and had always had an excellent steak. Ordered the porterhouse which is a bit pricey and requested it be "pink" in the middle. Both my wife's steak (filet) and mine came out close to well done. We mentioned this to our server and she told us that she'd have the manager come over which never happened. We were at Thunder Valley for a concert and so we didn't have a lot of time........so we had to settle for well done. The cob salads we had were good and as expected. We likely won't eat at this restaurant when there is a concert.........too busy and not sure that our meal will meet our expectations..........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The valet parking was the best ever with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The valet parking was the best ever with a very cordial reception. Our wait for a table was just a couple of minutes. Where we were first seated, however, was unacceptable due to the nearness to the bar (was noisy) and an odor of smoke from the casino. We asked to be re-seated and we were immediately in a better location: quieter and no smoke smell. I would suggest requesting a table as far from the bar area as you can get. The wait staff was very attentive. I ordered a wedge salad and it was excellent. My wife ordered a spinach salad and she said it was excellent as well. Before our meal was delivered we were treated to an additional small appetizer as an unexpected extra. I ordered the rib eye steak which was outstanding and cooked to perfection. My wife ordered the pork chop and she just praised it over and over again. The asparagus was excellent too. We had mentioned when we arrived that we were celebrating our anniversary, so we were treated to a special desert for each of us. That was unexpected and appreciated. I might add that my wife and I are not wine experts, but we know what we like. The wait staff provided a glass of Merlot that perfectly satisfied my wife and a Cabernet that perfectly satisfied me. We walked out with a small shopping bag of goodies: the bread we could not finish (a large assortment was provided at the beginning of the meal), the portion of the pork chop my wife could not finish and the portion of the steak I could not finish, plus the portion of the asparagus we could not finish. Also on top of all this was a large portion of chocolate. At the end of the meal we were given two pieces of really good chocolate. We commented on that fact and as a result we were given a large container of this chocolate. The wait for our car at the valet was not too long and we had nothing but great memories. When we got home we were surprised to see that all these take home items where packaged in plastic tupper-ware-type boxes. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great setting, fantastic meal! Deconstru ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great setting, fantastic meal!

Deconstructed Beef Wellington was one of the best we've eaten. Good wine selection , good service, amoosh booce was great. This meal was accompanied with seasoned mashed potatoes and Crimini mushrooms. Sat on the patio for a evening cocktail, great setting, 4 times we've ate here, great each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. My only recommendati ...

vip
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was excellent. My only recommendation would be is where you get seated. Our table was way to large for two people And we didn't ask to be moved but it was very iterating it was just very akward

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!! The service, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Everything was excellent!! The service, the food, the drinks. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and our server was waiting with the wine list and menus. The mixed drinks were served exactly as ordered (other restaurants usually miss the point) and refills were offered when necessary. Great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special occasion was for a retiremen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The special occasion was for a retirement party for my wife. We had 6 people at the table and the dinner and service was outstanding. The appetizers, salad, steaks, and dessert were all delicious. The service coordinated by Mike was superior and outstanding. We all had a great time and we will be back for dinner and any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic little steak house. I've been ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic little steak house. I've been to my share, and these were the best filets I've ever had. Add on the shellfish appetizer (amazing). Great, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very nice place .. to have a nice upsca ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

very nice place .. to have a nice upscale dinner with friends, family or significant other. with excellent price . !!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt my favorite restaurant , ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Without a doubt my favorite restaurant , great food, great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent, service wonderfully p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is excellent, service wonderfully personal, wine and drinks very very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the prime rib excellent flavor an ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had the prime rib excellent flavor and perfect preperation. One diner had the neatballs and polenta appetizer as the entree and it was a very large portion. She said the meatballs were great. They carry Allen Bros. meat very high quality butcher. Even though you are in a casino the space was very nice and not too loud. I would definately return. Wine list was extensive a little pricey but not way out of whack.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and excellent service. Overa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Overall ambience was fine except some smoke smell did permeate into the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent, but this is a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Everything was excellent, but this is a very special pnce

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere was enjoyable and our ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The atmosphere was enjoyable and our service was exceptional.

One issue was getting to the restuarant we walked thru the casino as we did not know about the front entrance. The smoke was so bad it made your eyes water. Make sure to enter thru the front entrance to the restaurant to avoid the overwhelming smoke of the casino.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went here after one of the concerts to c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here after one of the concerts to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Service was great and the rib eye steak was so good!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Meal

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service, ambiance, and food were excellent! Amazing birthday dinner!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance was fun and romantic. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The ambiance was fun and romantic. The food was really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Dinner before the Concert

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great restaurant for a Special Night Out. My wife and I were up for a concert and booked a reservation prior to the show. The menu has great selections, the service was excellent and the food was perfect. We actually over ordered:) The Cheese Plate was great, by the time we finished it and our salad, plus a bottle of wine, we were pretty full. Then came our main course; Dover for me and Filet for my wife with two sides and we had more than enough food. We plan to be back a couple more times for concerts this summer and we will book reservations here for our next trips up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient and good restaurant when atte ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Convenient and good restaurant when attending a concert at the outdoor venue. We entered the restaurant from their valet front entrance rather than walking through the smoke filled casino AND still had to deal with the heavy smoke fumes. Once inside and acclimated to the scent, it becomes unnoticeable. Very good steak!

When walking in from the valet front entrance, noticed a very nice, good size room for a private party.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Steak

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife loved her Filet Mignon. I ordered the bone in New York steak and it was very sour tasting where her filet did taste good. I am a butcher and have managed for grocery chains before retiring, so yes, I know meat!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pre-Concert Dinner menu was fast and delicious.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food, cocktails and service!! We chose from the Pre-Concert dinner menu as we were pressed for time due to the Tesla/Y&T concert. The food arrived quickly, and was delicious. Our waitress anticipated our every need and we had a great time. Highly recommend High Steaks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been dining here for over 10 years now and never have been disappointed in the food or service. Seafood Platter is to die for and steaks always cooked to perfection. Martini's the best in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE IS GREAT. BUT,,,,,

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was excellent but one of our friend's crab cakes had a very fishy smell and had shell pieces in it.

Our prime rib was very good.

I ordered a small split of champagne and was charged $42. 00 . I did inquire about the price and was told it was $29, which I would have gladly paid. I did not contest the charge as I was with friends from Georgia, but I wish I had now. Thank you. Ellen M. AZBILL

Ellen AZBILL

582 Peach Lane

Newcastle, Ca

95658

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time we went was amazing this ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The first time we went was amazing this time just good found my halibut over cook just seemed not as impressive

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for wife's B-day dinner. Food was v ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went for wife's B-day dinner. Food was very good. After meal was finished waited 15 min. stopped passing waitress (not ours) and asked if we could have a desert menu. After onother 10 to 15 min. stopped another waitress (not ours) ordered desert. After another 10 to 15 min. stopped another waitress asked if our waitress had gone home! She said she would get her. Our waitress showed up asked if we wanted to order desert---told her we already ordered she said that since wife's B-day she would get free desert. Just expected more from High Stakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food and excellent service mak ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service make this one of my favorite places to eat out. I highly recommend it! Way better than Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.