About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food...my husband's prime rib, my scallops, the spinach salad, and generous side baked potato (enough to share), was delicious. Only complaint was that it took a long time for our food to come out. It was Sunday on President's weekend, so they could have been busier than normal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This place completely blew away our (admittedly low) expectations. The steak was one of the best I have ever had and the service level was top notch. Everything was exceeded except the price which was very reasonable. Next time we pass through on the way to Tahoe this place is definitely going to get another visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food as always. Would be nice if they could turn the lights up just a little more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

My steak was cold to the touch. My lobster was over cooked. The chopped salad wasn't worth the price. It was actually kind of a let down. I had never been to thunder valley let alone this high class restaurant. I was excited. The service was great. But the food was definitely understated and not worth the price. There was what looked like a giant roly Polly looking garnish on my plate. I wouldn't recommend this place . I've had better meals at outback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Service and food was great. The smoke coming in from the casino was disgusting! We couldn't even stay for dessert because it was so smoky

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was awesome... the food was amazing... will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was our first time at High Steaks and we went for Valentine's Day dinner. Everything was perfect with the exception of the noise levels. It was very hard to have a conversation bc it was so loud in there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife's steak was excellent. Mine was tough, overcooked and a poor flavor. The creamed spinach was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service has improved. Glad to see they added a Porterhouse to their menu. Except they advertise a Porterhouse, charge you for a Porterhouse. but server a T bone.

Change your menu back to a T bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another excellent meal at high steaks it was Valentine's Day and it was the perfect spot

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Marvelous experience, very entertaining, fun with the servers who were excellent and very professional. The meal was top notch and with one surprise after another. Will definitely look for a reason to do this outing again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice restaurant for special occasions unless you have the money to eat there often. The steaks were cooked beautifully and the sides were very tasty. They have a solid wine and liquor selection to fit most all taste buds and there is a nice atmosphere inside the restaurant. I highly recommend it for date night with your loved one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

High Steaks never disappoints. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We eat here quite often, and have never gotten as bad as service as this time. Normally the food is cooked and served as requested, but this time it took over an hour and 15 minutes AFTER eating our salads to get to us. After asking our server, Tristan; what was taking so long, and him repeatedly telling us, "it's on its way" it then came way way overcooked. Well done, when i ordered it medium. So then, after Bruce had eaten, i still had not gotten another steak, the manager comes over with no explanation, and asks if i would like something else. What!? And eat all by myself?. We were so disappointed with High Stakes this time, we wont be going back for a while, nor will we be recommending them to friends. Sorry Tristan, you should have been on it like you normally are. The worst part was that two couples sat down AFTER us, ordered and got their meals and left before we even got our food!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent as was service. We 3 ladies were seated right next to kitchen so a bit noisy and distracting. That table should be removed it is too close to them.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took the staff to dinner to celebrate winning a large contract. Had a great time, food was excellent, service good and a nice private room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great for, great service; definitely planning to do this again!

Downside is the casino is too smokey, poor air quality as everyone seems to smoke.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was such a great birthday experience. The service and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have dined here previously. We made a special trip from the Bay Area to enjoy Birthday dinner for my husband. Our meal was once again spectacular and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday and had an incredible meal. It is expensive, but the quality is excellent and the side portions are very generous. I'd highly recommend this fine restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great table, great waitress, great food. oysters Rockefeller & steak were fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy eating at High Steaks, but this last time was probably the best meal we've ever had there! Everything came out hot and was prepared perfectly. I had the lamb chops and my husband had the bone in prime rib. Service was impeccable and extremely friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Really good. Way crazy expensive though. Getting an entree and having to pay more for sides was crazy to me, but i guess im just cheap

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was served appropriately and hot. Meat was finished as requested in all cases. Fish was excellent and fresh, not frozen. Carmela is an excellent server. She took good care of us, very attentive. We will return for an excellent, well prepared dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our service, food and entire evening was wonderful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steaks cooked to perfection. Great service. Classy. Great lobster corn chowder

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful. Great variety. I highly recommend the Prime Rib! My husband and I shared it and we had food to take home. The Lemon Cheesecake is Amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I take my kids here every year for their Birthday dinners!! They love it!! The staff is so accommodating to my boys!! They go out of their way to make each Birthday boys happy and it is always a great experience!! Even if not on the menu the make whatever the boys ask for!! I.e. Grilled cheese sandwich!! My boys look forward to it all year!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was great, we ordered 3 different appetizers to share and a bottle of wine. Our server was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was marginal at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Maybe my expectations were too high, but i left a little disapointed. The service was ok. A little slow for our drinks. Server had no recomendations and failed to mention the seared tuna was sold out until 7 or 8 minutes after leaving table. I also saw the couple next to us order the same and was told the tuna was out only after going to the kitchen. Shouldnt the chef inform the servers so that it can be mentioned before taking orders? Most of the food was really good except the king crab my wife ordered. Seemed a little soggy and rubbery. I will go back again and give it another try, but expect to have a high end experience for a high end price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fabulous steak , nice wine list and the sides are large enough to share and then some.

Staff were very knowledgeable ,friendly and helpful.

Only negative is the strong aroma of cigarette smoke from the casino.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love filet Mignon and always order it when I go out. Mortons and Ruth's Chris used to be my "go to" restaurants until I had a High steaks filet. Absolute best I've ever had!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Are service was very bad. Saw other tables looking around like us, like what's going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were celebrating my mother's 80th birthday, and so enjoyed the great food and outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our food was fantasic. we will be returning!! We had the filet Oscar, French onion soup and au gratin potatoes

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfect except for the CIGARETTE SMOKE interfering. I feel so sorry for the hostesses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Worst meal ever!! My wife and I both had Prime Rib, hers was stone cold and mine was over done and very dry. Waited for ever for our drinks and had to ask twice for butter. Happy in the past, but this time not. I never send food back, so I was stuck with overpriced bad meal. Would have to think hard about next time as there are many great places to dine for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I have dined in your establishment times, worked at TV 3 times, enjoy the High Steaks for a quiet dinner and wonderful service, for a quick meal I dine at the Thunder Cafe, Food excellent in both places. Beats the TDR. Thank you again for the wonderful experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Years Eve and it was everything that we were looking for. Great drinks, great food, great service and a lovely ambiance. We were there until about 1030 when we went out into the casino.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a table for five adults and One child. While High Steaks did not have a children's menu, they did make chicken fingers and french fries for the child diner. She thought they were the best she's ever tasted. The entrée selections are on the high side in price, the quality is very good. This is one of our go to restaurants and have been more times than we can count. The food is always scrumptious and the service is terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great experience. Second time here and the food was once again perfect and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love the feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more dishes. The onion soup was amazing. Most of us had prime rib. It is sooo tender that you can cut it with a fork. Service was well-timed and friendly as also. Had had Tristin for our server and we also ask to be seated in his section. He is the best! Always attentive but never hovers. Everyone we have taken here has said how good the food is and the excellence of the service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This meal was wonderful. Everything cooked well and hot. Last time we were there $300 out of $640 worth of food was cold and prepared in properly . And something I ate made me violently ill . Very disappointed. They sent me $200 certificate. This was not adequate compensation. However this time everything was very good. Would of like to be offered complementary desert or cocktail from the last terrible experience. We have eaten here quite a few times with one very bad experience. Would not of gone back had they not sent the certificate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was awesome as usual. We've eaten here several times and have never been let down.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Because it's so expensive, we only come here on special occasions. But we come here because the food is great, perfectly cooked to our taste, especially the beef entrees and sides. We plan on trying the pork chops the next time. And the chicken after that. The service has been great every time. You have some great servers. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The prime filet Oscar style was phenomenal, best beef I've had in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent meal, great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was our 37 wedding anniversary, we came last year too, so that was the driving force. We really enjoyed it last year and decided to surprise the wife and come again. The food was spectacular; wonderful flavor, abundant, right temperature. My wife said the salmon had a terrific flavor & very grilled, crisp. I had a steak, which was cooked to the right temperature. Waiter was terrific (I think it was Harold). Atmosphere was very warm and romantic. Thank you for another great experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Come for the steaks. Parties at our table sampled porterhouse, filet mignon and rib-eye steaks.

All came perfectly cooked as ordered and it was a serious treat to enjoy the aged beef.

A good variety of side dishes and desserts made for a special and decadent dinner for valued employees and guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.