About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Lincoln ›

special occasion (64)
romantic (44)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service mak ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and excellent service make this one of my favorite places to eat out. I highly recommend it! Way better than Ruth Chris.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waiter was excellent but service was rea ...

Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was excellent but service was really slow. There was a lot of dead time. The menu has changed a lot since the last time I was there and the items I was looking forward to having are no longer available.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely Impressed

Dined 7 days ago

The team at High Steaks make you feel special when you visit. From the time you arrive to the time you leave they make you feel important. Mike our server was extremely helpful, his recommended wine was for our appetizers and our main course. Jenkins our room manager went above and beyond to make sure me and my date were well taken care of. I ordered the Prime Rib special and my date ordered the 8oz Filet Mignon, both were perfectly cooked, as ordered. I would recommend High Steaks to anyone looking to impress someone. They also offer complimentary valet; you can walk right up to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The atmosphere was nice. Sides were grea ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The atmosphere was nice. Sides were great, but the main part of the meal......the steaks were flavorless. Kind of a bummer. I had the bone in 20oz ribeye that didn't taste like anything and was chewy. My wife had the 11oz filet which was cooked perfectly, but again, no flavor. Looked great, sounded great, left wanting better. Spent $200 and the side dishes and the free anniversary dessert were the best part.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just what we needed...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great dinner at High Steaks - from the rolls to the palate cleansers to the main entrees (both of us got the Filet Mignon), everything was done to perfection. They even made special sides (truffle-crusted mac/cheese & potatoes) and a chocolate broulee for dessert which wasn't on the menu. Coupled with the ease of reservations and the very reasonable prices given the quality, we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The entrees were very good; the rest...not so much

Dined on May 21, 2016

Side dishes were decidedly disappointing.Charged for them anyway, even though untouched. Did not feel worth the overall cost. Many better options nearby in the price range.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The experience was fantastic! We enjoyed ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The experience was fantastic! We enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Turn Up the Lights

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great. The service was great. But the lights are sooo dim we really had a hard time reading the menu. I have 20/20. Maybe a flashlight?? No reservations were actually needed, and dress is very casual. The Halibut was awesome!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit very much. Our serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed our visit very much. Our server Danya, was very friendly, and knowledgable. We ate on the patio, it was nice and quiet and pleasant. The food was very good, and the presentation was very eye appealing. The manager, Jenkins was very friendly too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JUST GREAT ALL AROUND

Dined on May 10, 2016

JUST WONDERFUL PLACE TO EAT AND DRINK!!! WE CELEBRATED A BIRTHDAY AND THE STAFF WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Did not meet expectations

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was not up to our expectations based on previous reviews. Appetizers and salads were nothing special...pretty average. We both ordered ribeye steaks and one was quite good and the other was not very good at all. We ordered the High Steaks potatoes as our side and they were awful. Desserts were pretty good. Creme Brule was average but the Molten Chocolate cake was really great. So one great steak and dessert but otherwise the food was very average. Service was awesome. We won't be going back and wouldn't recommend High Steaks. Really disappointing when spending over $250 for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful restaurant.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food as always was wonderful. Does it really have to be that high priced??? The waiter was poor. He rushed by bringing our food too fast, removed plates while people were still eating and did not box all of the leftovers for us. We always call eating at High Steaks a dining experience. However, this was lacking by service only

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best filet in years. They even beat out ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best filet in years. They even beat out Morton's. The Stag's Leap by the glass was awesome. Service was top notch, bread was ok. But, I recommend buying dessert at the dessert shop on the way out. $3.99 for a European style dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, drink and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

Thunder Valley High Steaks was beyond awesome, the food, wine and service were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wort the cost; one of the best steaks I ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wort the cost; one of the best steaks I have ever had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ONLY top notch steakhouse in Sacramento region

Dined on April 10, 2016

We ordered the seafood platter, filet mignon, and deconstructed beef wellington. It was all excellent. The best steaks we've had in years. High Stakes really captures the classic, high-end steakhouse ambiance and menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We came here on recommendation from family and we were not disappointed. We got the 32oz Bone-in prime rib and had to split between two people! The sides were great and the Filet my father had was excellent. The BREADS are amazing, be careful not to fill up on them because they are out of this world good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Last minute reservations for birthday dinner; very accommodating and had a nice time.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Steaks!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at High Steaks twice now, and both times the food was outstanding and the service was exemplary. We will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have eaten at High Steaks several times. They never fail to impress! This last visit we took another couple with us. They were thoroughly impressed as well! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Lobster was not to our liking undercooke ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Lobster was not to our liking undercooked and tough

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Tristan was awesome!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server Tristan was awesome!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

excellent experience

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was very good. Ronnie, our server was excellent. We will request her service in our future visits.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Will Not Return

Dined on March 14, 2016

Tried to make a reservation for five on Social Tables, but it would only accept three, so we showed up anyway and the hostesses were very nice. Seated at a nice table, with empty tables all around us, so not sure why I could not book 5 guests. Anyway, the pricing is just way too high for the value. I ordered Scallops. Although the portion was generous, they were tasteless and had sand in them. The Macaroni and Cheese was very "Kraft Boxed" tasting, so I only had a few bites. I told the waitness and got an I'm sorry, but it was not taken off the bill. We were celebrating a birthday and the creme brulee was cold, not tempered, but was a nice touch. Over all, much too expensive to return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & service

Dined on March 11, 2016

This is the second time I've been to High Steaks restaurant . Both times the Food was great the service is very good. It's a great restaurant for that special occasion or big night out. It's not for the weak at hart when the bill comes ( around $200, drinks, diner and tip for two) but in reality thats about the price for an excellent diner and service .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

I haven't found a better steak in NorCal ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

I haven't found a better steak in NorCal ... Such a great steakhouse. The waiter was awesome. Just a little crazy dealing with the casino ... Highly recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our waiter, Matt, was amazing. He was very attentive and made our dinner very enjoyable. His wonderful food suggestions and attitude we spot on. I hope next time we go we have him as our waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When You Want The Best

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food is always delicious, perfectly prepared, perfectly presented. The steak is tender, melt in your mouth delicious. The Meyer Lemon cheese cake is over the top delicious. The mashed potatoes are the smoothest ever. The roasted asparagus, so flavorful.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Prime Rib

Dined on February 24, 2016

We were a group of 10. We were seated in a private room. We had a wonderful server and great food. It was a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Mortons and Ruths Chris are better value

Dined on February 22, 2016

The hostess, wait staff were professional, friendly, efficient and not overly solicitous or hovering. Despite entering via an outside entrance, we had to walk thru the restaurant to the hostess station at the opposite casino-side entrance and thus were exposed to the heavy cigarette smoke. Not good even if the exposure was brief. We were, however, thankfully seated away form the casino entrance so the smoke smell was tolerable. Restaurant decor is very nice but nothing remarkable. The breads were very good. The salads were good. For some reason, the sides are served family style. The gargantuan baked potato arrived sliced lengthwise four ways. It was unattractive and unappealing. The mashed potatoes bordered on mushy and heavy on the roasted garlic (which was not detailed on the menu) but which delivered a lot of flavor. The asparagus was good but nothing special even with a light hollandaise served with it. The spinach was wonderful! It was deftly prepared and tasted bright and fresh. It was the high point of the sides. The very generous sized filets arrived on an essentially bare plate except for a formless bit of roasted tomato and a sole cipollini onion. Our filets were all ordered medium rare and arrived well beyond seared but not so charred that we sent them back. We all agreed that the steaks were "meh".- we expected better. Desserts were good but unremarkable. Good but unremarkable pretty well sums up the food. Quantity seems to be the theme as servings are all very generous. You will not leave hungry. Kudo tot h well trained staff.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Missing the mark

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've been here about 25 times. It's my special place to take special people or even treat myself. The last 2 times I dined there my steak was burnt. Other then that it's been great. I don't think the new head chef is paying attention to detail lime the last chef nicki. When I was served by Nicky I would pay 100 dollars for a steak. Now....I dont want one. The last dine I had they compted the dinner because of the stakes. The other day I didn't want to complain with my best friend was there her shish cabobs was great. I noticed the prime rib butter sauce was really thick. . I think just more then anything I wish I could get the same steak I went there for years to taste again. I miss the old chef nicky..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't bother

Dined on February 15, 2016

Steaks was dry, food was meh. DO NOT order foie gras, overcooked & chewy, I don't think it was even foie gras that was being served to us. Whole experience was a waste of time & money. Would not go back or recommend the place to anyone.

food5
ambience2
service1
value1

Not worth the $400 bill

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very disappointed. I've been a HUGE fan of Thunder Valley for years, but the service and level of disrespect was horrible. The "special" of the night was sold out and had been for hours before we had arrived, yet we weren't told tell we tried to order it.... VERY POOR SERVICE

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Definitely outshines the casino

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was decent and they had a great selection of bourbon, but we were very disappointed to be sat at a high top table in the bar, despite month in advance reservations.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Customers should be advised that the siz ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Customers should be advised that the size of side fishes serve more than one person

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not on Valentines Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Good service, nice setting. Reservation was honored On-time and booth, as requested. It's our anniversary also. Everything but the kitchen worked well. Food was slow to appear and both meals [prime rib and filet] were not cooked to our order [med-rare and medium]. Although the filet was taken back to the fire, it again took too long to reappear. Our waiter tried to smooth things out -- he brought another side of mushrooms with the re-fire. The prime rib lacked flavor, texture and had a large piece of fat. As it was Valentines Day, they were slammed. We have dined here a number of times and had never been disappointed. We will go back at some point, just not on Valentines Day. For the price, the value and experience was not there!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't live up to our expectations

Dined on February 15, 2016

I procrastinated making reservations for Valentine's day so we couldn't get in to Morton's or Ruth's Chris. We had heard great things about High Steaks touting it as on par with the aforementioned restaurants so we decided to give it a try. I'm much more a service guy than the quality of food but there needs to be a good balance. The food was fantastic. I had the rib-eye and the wife ordered a small filet. Both outstanding. My disappointment was in the wait staff service. They were very "stuffy" almost as if put out of their way when I asked for something. If they were at least attentive, I may have been able to dismiss the arrogance of the staff and just enjoyed my company but they weren't. Water glasses ran empty, poured my own wine for my wife when her glass went empty. Not what I expected for a restaurant competing against top steakhouses in the area. Most likely won't be back and really can't recommend them to anyone else. Too bad because the food was actually very good. I guess if you don't mind poor service and only care about the quality of food, enjoy.

food5
ambience5
service5

The steak is AMAZING!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak is AMAZING!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal at High Steaks!

Dined on February 10, 2016

Thanks for the great service and always good to see Jenkins! Wonderful Lobster Corn Chowder and I had the Chopped Salad and it was wonderful. The Appetizer Prawns are the freshest I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pricey

Dined on February 3, 2016

Although the food was ok...it was a lil over priced. I've been to steak houses before that were either same price of cheaper for bigger portions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.