About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Casual (9)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, service and ambiance were wonderful. Amanda was excellent as a server and communicator. We had a Blasr!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

The steaks were cooked to perfection and the ambience on the patio was relaxing, but at the same time made you feel like you were in Las Vegas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I'll be back for sure . Wonderful experience overall .

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to get a steak in Sacramento area. Suitable for a business meal, or for a date, or special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was our second visit to High Steaks and somehow it just couldn't match our fantastic experience the first time. When booking, I requested to be seated in Eban's (server) section; when we arrived, though, we were told he was on vacation and were seated in the same general area with a female server. She seemed much more interested in catering to the neighboring table of five guests, while we asked twice before a second table napkin was delivered to our table!
Because Oysters Rockefeller were recommend, we ordered the smaller portion. Neither of us was enthralled--especially at a price of $17 for six of them!
The halibut entree, however, was outstanding. It was served in a large soup-like bowl and accompanied by bok choy leaves in a mild broth. This order was split and was more than adequate! We didn't even need the side of green beans almondine.
This will be worth another visit, most likely for a special occasion, as it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Ordered prime rib medium came to table end cut well done.Should have never been brought to the table. Manager was the person who served us, he did correct the problem. When we started to eat both pieces were tough. We were seated close to bar in a restaurant 70% empty.A restaurant of this rating it left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything we thought it would be. Had a great 41st Anniversary dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

High Steaks is probably one of the best restaurants in this region for high-end dining. It is expensive. but for certain occasions, it is worth the expense.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A touch of 1940s glamour--the table pulls out from the booth and you are seated without having to slide around. Very attentive servers who are friendly and courteous. Chefs who can cook delicious filet mignon extra well done as ordered with a side of ketchup and serve a fresh cold seafood platter. This was a Mother's Day treat for my wife. Our daughter had dinner here both Friday and Saturday nights and wanted us to enjoy the experience as much as she had. The only downside is the restaurant is at the back of the casino, which is quite a hike from the parking lot. Thunder Valley should consider having an outside entrance into the restaurant, which would make it a 5 star rating.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Seated on time. VERY helpful waiter. Food was excellent. Prime Rib, lamb chops and filet where all cooked the way we like. Waiter helped with selection of wine. Dessert was fantastic This was our 4th time here and have never been disappointed. It can be pricey for four people but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Took my wife out for Mother's Day. As always the staff was attentive, the food was flawless and the atmosphere was great. The consistently wonderful experience is why we keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had made the reservation for 4 but they originally said it was made for two--not a big deal as they remedied the situation but it could've ended badly had we not arrived so early for our reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place was amazing! Went with a friend to have a Mothers Day dinner, drinks and gambling. We had caesar salad, filet mignon/rib eye, au gratin potatoes and creme brulee. Oh we also had a pomegranate martini. Everything was excellent and we loved our waiter. Definitely recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Pricey. Only one item is served for every dish. for example. the 60 dollar or 77 dollar streak is only the streak, no risotto, or vegetables, nothing just a small half tomato . You have to even order the dinner salad separate. They can't afford to throw in a small dinner salad? Our kids ate the bread basket with the small pat of butter they placed on the table. omg. . we took four kids in their early 20's who can really eat. what a mistake. Our bill was around 450 dollars and with the 55 dollar tip is was over 500 dollars. Maybe for high rollers that's nothing but for us it was too much. Never again. On the way home we stopped and got the kids milk shakes and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

What a fabulous evening! Food was wonderful, as always - cooked to perfection. No one cooks your filets just right, consistently. Tristan, os so expert at what he does - friendly, but never crosses over that delicate line. He helped make an enjoyable evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went for our 26th wedding anniversary. James is the best waiter in town. The food was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the menu choices; excellent wine list; service was superb. Great restaurant in the middle of the casino.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our server Mike was fantastic. His recommendations were spot on!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance.... but pricy!
We had a reservation... but they were about 30 min behind and the bar seating was full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Absolutely horrible! $70 for Safeway quality crab! My husband ordered prime Rib that was burnt black! We will not be back!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great big room to reserve for parties!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great ambience .... love the service and the great food! Never disappointed in the menu choices. Lots to choose from and prompt knowledgeable wait staff. And the yummy toffee after dinner is a very nice touch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Awesome service, excellent food! Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The meat was good, the sides were average, the clientele was mostly large parties (lots of alcohol flowing) and the smell of cigarettes wafting in from the depressing and trashy casino floor was inescapable. My wife and kids were accosted by a drunk panhandler in the drop-off circle. After the meal, we shuttled our kids from the restaurant to the elevator quickly to avoid exposure to the toxic air and human sadness milling about the casino. We enjoyed the steaks but will probably not be returning to this establishment. Too bad there isn't a direct entrance to the exterior of the building - disconnecting the restaurant from the casino somewhat would probably make a huge difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrating my cousins birthday. Was very good. However ordered brochettes medium well and turned out medium. Hard to eat brought rest home.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Steaks are on the level of a Morton's or Ruth's Chris. Luxurious decor, friendly and attentive staff and insane wine and craft beer selections. I highly recommend the Deconstructed Beef Wellington.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service. Most food was great, prime rib was over cooked. Still delicious and tender but barely pink on a medium request.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another great meal at High Steaks. We go there often and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was very poor - Waitress Amanda took order wrong and very little attention was provided to us as customers. She was never around. Food came out slow and I don't think it was the kitchen but the server. Very disappointed...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best Steaks around, great service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The service was excellent! To put it plainly we had a really good time. They brought my wife a free, really good birthday cake. Good night, good food, good drinks, good time!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Steak was very undercooked. Service was extremely slow. Overall food was ok. Expect better service and food for such an expensive price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

High Steaks never disappoints! Every visit is as good as the last. Service is excellent, food is consistently high end and always served just as I ordered. You must try the mouthwatering House Garlic Cilantro sauce for your steak; a surprisingly crisp yet earthy sauce that compliments the beef so well! I always, always order the filet on a skillet so it is hot from start to finish! Best steak house around! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Incredible meal
Not that I didn't expect it to be pricey, but a $150 bill isn't going to have me returning often.

Certainly great for a nice occasion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server spoke very quickly and quietly. It was difficult to understand what she was saying most of the time. She got messy with the pepper grinder more than once. All over the table cloth! The food was underwhelming. Underseasoned and boring. The brocolli were the same as the steam in the bag you can get at Safeway for $2.50. Putting hollandaise on it doesn't change the fact that it was plain and unseasoned. Not what I expect from a steakhouse serving $100 dishes. Champage by the glass selection needs some expanding and the chef needs to step up his game.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was impeccable...the food was mediocre at best. Very disappointed in the steak...it was a poor cut of meat, and undercooked. Crab cakes were stringy and under seasoned, and the Caesar salad was limp and bland. Some of the bread was stale as well....BUT our server was great and the atmosphere was fun! Don't think I'd recommend dinner here, especially for the price...but for happy hour I'll definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

pork chop was excellent good choices of wine bar tenders do a great job

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

!AAAAAAMAZING EVERY TIME!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.