About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (14)
Fun (13)
People Watching (11)
Casual (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was outstanding. The two top table size are awesome. The wine selection was great. We had the Chop Salad and Wedge Salad and both were very good. Fried mozzarella balls and a few were still cold on the inside. My Rib-Eye was good but not great and slightly warm. Gristle ran through it. My wife had the filet which she said was very good. High Steak potatoes were average and Creme brûlée sweet corn too sweet. We will definitely be back because of the outstanding service but will order different entrees and side dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything at High Steaks is Fantastic! The Staff is so friendly while still being professional. The food is sooo delicious it seems a shame to finish the meal! We have dined here often and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Lamb and gorgonzola mashed potatoes where delightful. Bacon could have been held off entree. Dessert was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

A really nice restaurant with great food and great service. Everyone from valet to those working inside were wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Atmosphere was enjoyable, our service was very good, our waiter was personable and personally I loved the New York steak. I'm getting a little long in the tooth and my hearing is questionable so it was a bit difficult for me to hear because of the room volume, but then that's me. I still enjoyed my dinner there. I've been there twice and will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Steaks were not pre pared right and had no flavor. We don't mind paying for good food but it was horrible. All six of us did not finish our meals. It was a Huge disappointment for being my daughters 21st Birthday celebration. I will not recommend this place at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have eaten at the restaurant twice. After dining the first time, I recommended the restaurant to many people. After eating there this past Saturday, I will not eat there again and I would not recommend the restaurant to anyone. The only good thing on Saturday was our waiter. He was excellent. But everything else was very disappointing. The 2 hostess were not friendly at all. In fact one was rude. As I would walk through the restaurant to use the restroom (twice) the wait staff would walk right in to people and acted as though customers needed to move for them even though they were not carrying anything. But most disappointing was the food. The first time I ate at this restaurant my prime rib and side dishes were excellent. This time I ordered the prime rib and it tasted like a cheap piece of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a great experience!! The food was really good and not badly priced. Definitely get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waiter was awful, actually forgot to take a order from a gentleman in our group...
There were 8 of us.
He told us he was moving to Oklahoma and that seem to be his priority for our evening .
Service was slow, ordered our main course and he took the menus and we had asked him what came with it and he said everything was ala carte after the fact that he took the menus, he didn't explain how worked in the beginning . We had to get our menus back to re-order our vegetables and salads or soups whatever we wanted .
We ordered a few veggies/potatoes we asked for mashed potatoes and two baked potatoes and we didn't receive the baked potatoes .
It was my husband's 50th birthday we arrived in a limo and wanted everything to be perfect but the service ruined it for us.
When we first arrived our reservations were at 5 o'clock the concert that we were attending started at seven, which we explained to him we needed to hurry things along BUT we missed the first song, actually had to eat quite quickly because we would have been extremely late to the concert because service was so slow.
Very disappointed in the service.
The food was yummy..

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Way too expensive for what you get. Every side dish (veggies, potatoes etc) is extra. Hubby liked his Beef Wellington but my Catch of the Day (Sea Bass) was dry and flavorless and cost $44!! There were some lucky gamblers just outside the restaurant hooping and hollering which made it pretty noisy. Won't go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The bread served with the meal was good and the surprise birthday dessert was excellent. My son said his rib eye steak for $56! (a la carte) was pretty good. The halibut my husband and I had was a great disappointment. It was smothered in a topping almost as though to hide the taste of the fish which did not taste fresh at all. The accompanying vegetables were not good either. Service was quite good. Had been to dinner here several years ago and don't remember the prices being so high or the food of poor quality. Don't mind paying more once in a while if warranted. It's tough to pay $250 for 3 people and not enjoy the meal. Sorry, if I sound negative. I don't normally write reviews good or bad, but this experience was disappointing enough that we are not planning on returning there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

No prices on menu...2 surf n turfs with one 6 piece oyster rockerfeller NO drinks $270.46 w/tip. A little too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Better option than the buffet for intimate dining. A bit pricey for regular dining out, but for a special occasion , it is perfect. Booking the reservation through Open Table made it very easy as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Don't no where to start. Everything was very Good! Good service,good vibes, phenomal food !

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food! Mike was our fabulous waiter..knowledgeable and nice! Our food took longer than expected but Mike gave us a couple extra side dishes and thanked us for our patience! We were going to see George Lopez and had to have our food boxes up. He offered for us to come back after and it would be ready to go, so we did. We then had some amazing deserts. The S'mores were out of this world!
We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Graduation dinner, very intimate and special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Overall, very good experience and the food was outstanding. Mike (the italian), the server was the best and he continues to exceed our expectations. We will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I brought my husband here for a special birthday dinner. We both enjoyed our filet mignon, they were cooked exactly as we asked. I mentioned to our waiter that we were celebrating a birthday and at the end of dinner, he brought out 2 delicious lemon cheesecakes. Great service and will definitely be back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great!!!!👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The ambiance was very nice. The salmon was a little under cooked. My steak was fantastic. I would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with great food and outstanding service. Though pricy, the portions are very generous and we always have leftovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First impression was not well received. We didn't​ have reservations so we were told it was be a 1.5 hour wait so we left. We to Open Table made a reservation for 10 minutes from the time we logged in. Just saved ourselves 1 hour and 20 minutes. We came back said we have reservations and the girl didn't even acknowledge us as having been there a few minutes earlier. We watched as she did the same over and over to others. Once seated through out our meal there were plenty of open tables but they continued to turn people away. Not good. The rest of the experience was great. Our waiter Tristan was attentive, providing great recommendations and outstanding service. The Filet Mignon was cooked perfectly and rest of meal was very good.

Recommend making a reservation!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Was there for my Birthday dinner, food was great and we really liked our server, her made our evening special..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner celebration at High Steaks! Great lobster and wonderful steaks! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Antonio was our server and he was fantastic. Made it a memorable birthday dinner for my mom.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great service as always, and great food. Ribeye is the way to go. Filet can't go wrong either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very satisfied with food, drinks, desserts and customer service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Mike was the perfect server, as usual. We took my parents for the first time and they are still talking about the experience - the food, the service and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very accommodating. Great Barr awesome staff. They made the birthday experience a great one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delicious beef and fish/seafood selection. Very good service and friendly and attentive staff. Delicious bread too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday. It's one of her favorite restaurants.
Always excellent beef and great service.

This might be the 3rd time Valda has been our server. Excellent service and a great, yet quite professional sense of humor.
We will request her section next time, too

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were wonderful. Amanda was excellent as a server and communicator. We had a Blasr!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The steaks were cooked to perfection and the ambience on the patio was relaxing, but at the same time made you feel like you were in Las Vegas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I'll be back for sure . Wonderful experience overall .

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place to get a steak in Sacramento area. Suitable for a business meal, or for a date, or special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was our second visit to High Steaks and somehow it just couldn't match our fantastic experience the first time. When booking, I requested to be seated in Eban's (server) section; when we arrived, though, we were told he was on vacation and were seated in the same general area with a female server. She seemed much more interested in catering to the neighboring table of five guests, while we asked twice before a second table napkin was delivered to our table!
Because Oysters Rockefeller were recommend, we ordered the smaller portion. Neither of us was enthralled--especially at a price of $17 for six of them!
The halibut entree, however, was outstanding. It was served in a large soup-like bowl and accompanied by bok choy leaves in a mild broth. This order was split and was more than adequate! We didn't even need the side of green beans almondine.
This will be worth another visit, most likely for a special occasion, as it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Ordered prime rib medium came to table end cut well done.Should have never been brought to the table. Manager was the person who served us, he did correct the problem. When we started to eat both pieces were tough. We were seated close to bar in a restaurant 70% empty.A restaurant of this rating it left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything we thought it would be. Had a great 41st Anniversary dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

High Steaks is probably one of the best restaurants in this region for high-end dining. It is expensive. but for certain occasions, it is worth the expense.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.