About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Scallops - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Crab Cakes - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Seafood Platter - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Lobster Chowder - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Cheese Board - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Scallops - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Crab Cakes - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Seafood Platter - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Lobster Chowder - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento
1 More
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Lincoln ›

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Happy Hour (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
992 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten here several times and hav ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten here several times and have always had excellent food, drinks and service is always given with a smile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not great, cheese and fish tast ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was not great, cheese and fish tasted old, drinks were Ok really the worst experience I have had here generally I love the food, service and none of it was great I did not eat my appetizer or all my entree and ended up feeling ill all night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent food and presentation. The se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. The service exceeds ones expectation. I always recommend this restaurant to my friends for any occasion for a special touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been to this restaurant three ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we have been to this restaurant three times. food is always great, as well as service. but seating was not as requested, and the casino air conditioning blew directly on us. the hostess refused to provide a booth in bar area for two people, but we later saw two people seated there. she was not very pleasant about it, as well. we will think twice before visiting again, we don't mind paying a hefty price for an upscale meal, but do expect better ambiance, and that table requests be honored.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

The food, while pricey, was outstanding! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food, while pricey, was outstanding! We had the Beef Wellington Deconstructed, and the Kurobuta Pork Chop (which was HUGE). Both were extremely good, and we had room for nothing else. The bread basket had fantastic choices including a raisin bread and crisps. Please note, the pork chop takes some time to prepare! I wish the wait staff would've have let us know since there is no indication of the size of the chop on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall above average for a high end ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall above average for a high end steakhouse. The steaks were good not great. Had the crusted filet; a little flavorless but very tender. Plan on trying a different cut next time. Service top notch and decor beautiful. A little noisy. Not up to Morton's standards IMHO.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

4 of us went. We had prime rib and filet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

4 of us went. We had prime rib and filet mignon and few side dishes.

Excellent! Juicy but not bloody ,Cooked right.

I eat smaller portion usually so did not expect to finish all but I did eat 12 oz easily !

We shared ice burg lettuce salad and few appetizers, oyster Rockefeller and ahi poke.

Managed to still have desert! Wine was wonderful.

Our friends never dined here before but we were very happy to know that they enjoyed the evening here.

We are repeaters here. Plan to go back again for great steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good traditional steakhouse, consistent ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

good traditional steakhouse, consistent high quality

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was amazed by the delicious meals that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I was amazed by the delicious meals that we both had. The food, service, and atmosphere were fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok but over priced. It was a li ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was ok but over priced. It was a little noisy and the seating was not the best. If it had been half the price I would have had a much more positive review. However they charge like they are high class and that was not really the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was awesome, great service and wond ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was awesome, great service and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We go there more than a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love this place. We go there more than anywhere else. Food is really good and service too.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the scallops and they had no flavo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had the scallops and they had no flavor. Everything was way over priced for what you got. I have been to Michelin star restaurants that cost less. The other food was very good but way to pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was prepared as ordered. Waiter wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was prepared as ordered. Waiter was attentive but not in the way. He also informed us most menu items were enough for two. This is a wonderful place for a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was amazing as always . Great good ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Place was amazing as always . Great good and service. Thanks for making our anniversary special

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst time yet. Corn brûlée was watery ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Worst time yet. Corn brûlée was watery and service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This is our second time for dinner, pre- ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is our second time for dinner, pre-concert event at the casino. The food is very good and, but the service this second time was just so-so. We had to ask other waitresses for whatever we needed because our waitress was not to be found, or was talking with people at another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Took my wife here for our anniversary. W ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Took my wife here for our anniversary. We love the crab cakes the filet and the macaroni and cheese. We come here every chance we can. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love High Steaks for its excellently ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love High Steaks for its excellently prepared food, great service, ambiance and perfect cocktails. It's a great special occasion place as well as good for happy hour and upscale dinners. We've always had great experiences here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent steaks! Allen Ranch choice bee ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent steaks! Allen Ranch choice beef cooked with infrared... steaks cooked perfect.... second time there and it was as good of not better than the first visit....

Venison was the special and was excellent.... sides are for 4 people not 2..... great service... excellent drinks.... superb overall experience!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here several times and was b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I've eaten here several times and was both surprised and disappointed with my last visit. It took forever to get a drink, my appetizer had a substitute tomato, my side dish completely forgotten!! We had to flag a server for more beverages and salt and pepper. The banana misu was a huge disappointment and was not even close to the menu description. The saving grace is the meat. always well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Romantic ambience, delicious food, all w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Romantic ambience, delicious food, all while feeling like Cheers (where everybody knows your name). The staff is welcoming and the managers go above and beyond. My friends and I love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food service and ambiance would ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing food service and ambiance would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here several times and the ste ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been here several times and the steak is some of best you'll find in the world. I prefer High Steaks over Morton's, Ruth Chris', Metropolitan Grill, or any other national name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to get caught up with an old ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great place to get caught up with an old friend. Friendly and attentive staff!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Myself and 10 guests dined at High Steak ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Myself and 10 guests dined at High Steaks and 8 out of 10 were disappointed with their meal. The steaks were under cooked the scallops were over cooked and the venison tasted "off".

One guest sent his under cooked meat back and replacement was just as raw.

The service was hit and miss. We were in a private dining room and did not see our server much during our visit. She was not very attentive or professional. More like a waitress at Denny's.

For the price this place charges we were expecting a five star meal and got a two star experience. I would not be able to recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Dined on our anniversary and was not dis ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Dined on our anniversary and was not disappointed. Very classy decor and ambience. The steaks were very well prepared and the sides substantial. Two can share the sides with some to spare. Service was superb, friendly, efficient and perfect timing between plates. Very nice wine selection covering most types. Overall a great experience and we will be returning. Just keep in mind that this is first class dining with first class prices. However an excellent value with respect to the overall evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here several times. Never ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have dined here several times. Never disappoints! Hubby got his usual filet and I ordered the venison special. Delicious! Service is always perfect, too:)

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bar was extremely noisy and busy. T ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The bar was extremely noisy and busy. The service was slow. The website states that the dress code is business casual but several customers had on shorts and tennis shoes. When we moved into the restaurant area, it was considerably quieter. The service was good and the food was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent and our family of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent and our family of 4 enjoyed our evening. The restaurant was beautiful and the staff was all very friendly. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated our anniversary and had an ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and had an outstanding dinner. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive - highly recommend the Ahi for main course!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very upscale dining experience, but well ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very upscale dining experience, but well worth it. Food was excellent with a large offering. Service was unbeatable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best food I have ever eaten that's all a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

best food I have ever eaten that's all and had a very relaxing vibe

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food were excellent and big portions ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food were excellent and big portions. Our server was very pleasant and cheerful, made very good recommendation. Atmosphere and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea bass & wife's lamb chop cooked just ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sea bass & wife's lamb chop cooked just right. Lobster bisque not very good, no chunks of lobster.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything, from the service, the salads ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything, from the service, the salads and entrees were above and beyond. It may cost a little more but well worth it. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I loved everything except the pricing. I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I loved everything except the pricing. I have never in my career (I am a Food Editor/Critic) seen a hamburger sell for $29! This was for a teenager who didn't want a huge steak. I would recommend this restaurant but I would make sure to mention don't bring the kids.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

A perfect dinner. The waiter couldn't h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A perfect dinner. The waiter couldn't have been better. Attentive and pleasant. The food was wonderful. We actually split a filet and it was plenty. Au graten potatoes and green beans yummy. The complimentary chocolate covered salted Carmel was to die for. 2 hours before concert. Perfect time for relaxing dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed! Our entrees were rather u ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not impressed! Our entrees were rather unspectacular. I had the most bland tasting filet mignon ever! My wife had the fried chicken, which she said was too oily. The augratin potatoes were the worst I've ever had. A little blah cheese over the top of some bland, dry potatoes. My French onion soup was very good though. Service was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.