About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board
  • Scallops
  • Crab Cakes
  • Seafood Platter
  • Lobster Chowder
Cheese Board
Scallops
Crab Cakes
Seafood Platter
Lobster Chowder

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Lincoln ›

Special Occasion (101)
Romantic (63)
Notable Wine List (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating our an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. The dinner wonderful. The best prime rib we have ever had. The service was fantastic!! The only draw back was how expensive it was.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love filet Mignon and High Steaks hone ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love filet Mignon and High Steaks honestly beats Ruth's Chris and Mortons. Awesome food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much better than I expected at a local c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Much better than I expected at a local casino. It compare with Vegas style restaurants in casino. We will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyable evening for six of us. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyable evening for six of us. Mike was great. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent! Waiter was fun and k ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was excellent! Waiter was fun and knew all the items on the menu. We were celebrating three birthdays and he brought us three diffent desserts. All of them so yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at High Steaks for our anniversar ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We ate at High Steaks for our anniversary and we have been to quite a few 5 star restaurants around the Sacramento Area. While we are VERY happy and satisfied with the Thunder Valley Casino, we were not impressed by the restaurant. The prices were what you can expect at a 5 star restaurant, but the ambiance, food and service were all somewhat disappointing. We ordered the cheese plate, 3 for $25. I expected really good expensive cheese, but we got common cheese we would buy at Costco or similar and very tiny pieces. If the prices were in line with quality we would probably revisit, but otherwise stick with the buffet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food, outstanding service by the w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food, outstanding service by the waiter (Mike), and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food. I could be h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, great food. I could be happy with just the bread basket. Wait staff kept checking with us without being intrusive. No better place for steaks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as always. The st ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was fantastic as always. The steaks, any cut, are cooked to your taste and are full of flavor. Cocktails were unique and High Steaks has a great variety.

Service throughout our visit was excellent. The wait staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and pace your meal perfectly. This visit was the best service we have had in our 5 years of eating here.

Highly recommend for a nice evening out. They do romantic occasions very well here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always have a great mean here. This t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I always have a great mean here. This time my medium well and a little too well.....

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as usual. We always orde ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food as usual. We always order oysters on the half shell and of course steak. Dessert was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything about the restaurant is excel ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything about the restaurant is excellent except the cigarette smoke from the casino. I wish there was a separate entrance so that we don't have to be exposed to it. Our sinuses were effected for days afterwards. It makes me want to consider other options even though the everything about the restaurant was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place, specially the service ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I love this place, specially the service, professional and consistent, the food is always tasty and the timing is just right between courses, My partner and me were happy with both our selections.!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tried the bar food during happy hour. T ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Tried the bar food during happy hour. The food was so good plus the serving was generous. Was able to try the Mac and cheese. I would come back for that and the Rombauer Chardonnay

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The biggest problem we had was that post ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The biggest problem we had was that post concert we went in to get a glass of wine. All of the chairs at the bar were taken but there were at least a dozen high top tables not in use adjacent to the bar as in most bar/restaurants. We were told that they were for restaurant customers not for the bar. We weren't happy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

pleasant ambiance, excellent service, ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

pleasant ambiance, excellent service, very good to excellently prepared food, adequate menu, overpriced.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We really enjoyed Hugh Steak. The servic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We really enjoyed Hugh Steak. The service was a little slow but we went on a concert night. Food was amazing , but it's really quite loud for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our third or fourth visit - awe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our third or fourth visit - awesome food and service!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally a class act. Great place for a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Totally a class act. Great place for a special occasion as it is pricey....but worth it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server rarely came by, seafood platter x ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Server rarely came by, seafood platter x 2 appetizer was ok. Not impressed with dining there and too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food too expensive. Ambiance was great ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food too expensive. Ambiance was great though. Server was awesome. Private room for 8 was amazing. Food was just so so

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was awesome as was the wine. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was awesome as was the wine. We over did on the desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we had reservations ad were sea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Although we had reservations ad were seated promptly the wait for our meal was over an hour. We asked for the check and requested our order to be cancelled and were told that our order would be up next and that there had been a mix-up. For the price, I would have expected at least a side of veggies with the filet mignon. The potatoes we ordered were considered an extra side dish and tasted like cold, basic instant mashed potatoes with a gooey/sticky texture. We expected much better for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Crab Cakes and Pre-dinner drinks were gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Crab Cakes and Pre-dinner drinks were great! Service was outstanding, however, my $50 Maine lobster was tough and chewy...ugh! Husbands scallops were great. Brought our own super Alpha Omega Wine, but they had a great list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It truly is an exceptional restaurant, w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It truly is an exceptional restaurant, with great service, food, ambiance. This is one of my top places to eat when I travel through the area, highly recommend this great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 2nd time to this restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was our 2nd time to this restaurant and it was amazing!! They always make it a special experience. Great food and friendly staff! Looking forward to our next trip!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at the High Steaks Steakhouse was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Dining at the High Steaks Steakhouse was an absolute pleasure. Everything about it was first rate, the service was great and a pleasure dealing with the waiters and bartender. My wife and I shared a 11 ounce filet mignon, it was just enough for the both of us and it was very delicious, came the exact way we ordered it and the way we both like it. We were celebrating our anniversary with another couple and both are already making plans to go back again. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go there on Tuesdays for their prime ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We go there on Tuesdays for their prime rib special. The meat has a great flavor and with the straight horseradish really good. The salads were good and nice portion although we really didn't need the with size of the prime rib. The high steaks potatoes were very thick sliced cooked potatoes then fried crisp. They were not bad but I prefered the sauteed mushrooms we had last time better. The dining room is really nice quiet, soft lighting you would ndver know there was a bustling casino steps away. It's a bit of a jaunt for us to go out there but the prime rib is worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined here for years to celebrat ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have dined here for years to celebrate events, and have always had a great experience with exceptional servers food. However, our visit there on Saturday, August 20th will put an end to our visits there. I made reservations on Open Table almost a week in advance, and called the day before to note one of our party of four was celebrating a Birthday. When we arrived they were going to seat us at a table opposite the front entrance where the odor of cigarette smoke from the casino was prominent. On request the hostess reluctantly moved us to a booth next to the bar area. Our waiter was not particularly personable and asked if we would like to start with a drink...we mentioned we would like a sparkling wine but instead of bringing a wine menu to look at he mentioned the three “sparklings” available but did not know the price point so brought us a menu. We ordered a bottle. After the waiter poured it the last glass came out less filled than the others. We brought our own bottle of red wine but he tried to interest us in a white wine with our salads and did not offer to open our red wine. I requested a decanter for our red wine as we were about ready for our entrée and the wine had not yet been opened. The courses were well paced and food was generally good, except the pork chop and filet were not adequately seasoned. We had to request salt and pepper shakers. Another concern was the waiter’s “topping off” wine without asking the person if they would like more. When the waiter asked if we would like dessert, I mentioned the birthday and it appeared that the waiter was not aware of it. He did “comp” one dessert, but compared to all our past visits when the plate was decorated with writing and a candle there was no “special” touch. We were not offered coffee...but were asked whether we would like an after dinner drink. We felt the waiter was trying to “upsell” us and combined with his “flat” personality it was not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was very good, service staff were o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good, service staff were on-point, and the dining experience well worth the price. I highly recommend giving High Steaks a visit soon.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was beautiful, wonderful atmosp ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The room was beautiful, wonderful atmosphere. Food was mediocre and the prices were too high. Value for money paid was poor. Service was good except for, I advised it was my husbands Birthday in advance and they didn't acknowledge it AT ALL. Very disappointing. Will not eat there again, nor will I recommend it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Excellent dining experience at High Stea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent dining experience at High Steak. Thank you Mike for the excellent service and making our anniversary memorable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and cooked to perfect ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was excellent and cooked to perfection really enjoyed the ambience the wait staff was excellent a little pricey but I would definitely eat there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall great experience. The oysters we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

overall great experience. The oysters were some of the BEST I've had. The Chandon Rose we had was excellent! I ordered the lobster, which was good, but overpriced. My husband had the prime rib. He thought it was OK. complimentary dessert was very sweet of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

VERY pricy, but a nice place for a speci ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

VERY pricy, but a nice place for a special occasion. Food is very good, service outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was a bit disappointed in the food exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was a bit disappointed in the food experience based on the advertising giving such a high rating of taste and quality, which I did not find to meet that expectation. I would rate the overall experience and food as good. The price is a bit steep for the quality of food. I was rather disappointed in the seafood platter that did not taste as fresh as it good have been & a bit bland and tough. I would give the quality of the steaks we had as a 6 on a scale of 1-10 (ten being great). Bar recommendations on the menu was very good and I enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Date night with the wife. Looking forwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Date night with the wife. Looking forward to a nice night out, with a great dinner. Salad was great, then went down hill. My wife got scallops and the where awful, my steak was very good, but I've had better, there before. The service was good but not great. Disappointed this time. But other times been very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu selection and food presentation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The menu selection and food presentations are great. It's Always a pleasant all-around experience dining here.... Very attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service from Tom and Jasmina was fantast ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service from Tom and Jasmina was fantastic even on a very crowded Friday night. Jenkins always makes sure thing are running smooth.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The meal was excellent and the service was fast, friendly and fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.