About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Scallops - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Crab Cakes - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Seafood Platter - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
  • Lobster Chowder - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA

Report a photo problem

Cheese Board - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Scallops - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Crab Cakes - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Seafood Platter - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA
Lobster Chowder - High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort, Lincoln, CA

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (41)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Happy Hour (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Fireplace (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous steak , nice wine list and the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous steak , nice wine list and the sides are large enough to share and then some.

Staff were very knowledgeable ,friendly and helpful.

Only negative is the strong aroma of cigarette smoke from the casino.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Are service was very bad. Saw other tab ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Are service was very bad. Saw other tables looking around like us, like what's going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Our food was fantasic. we will be return ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our food was fantasic. we will be returning!! We had the filet Oscar, French onion soup and au gratin potatoes

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect except for the CIGARETTE SMOKE i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfect except for the CIGARETTE SMOKE interfering. I feel so sorry for the hostesses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Worst meal ever!! My wife and I both had ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Worst meal ever!! My wife and I both had Prime Rib, hers was stone cold and mine was over done and very dry. Waited for ever for our drinks and had to ask twice for butter. Happy in the past, but this time not. I never send food back, so I was stuck with overpriced bad meal. Would have to think hard about next time as there are many great places to dine for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

I have dined in your establishment times ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I have dined in your establishment times, worked at TV 3 times, enjoy the High Steaks for a quiet dinner and wonderful service, for a quick meal I dine at the Thunder Cafe, Food excellent in both places. Beats the TDR. Thank you again for the wonderful experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for New Years Eve and it w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Years Eve and it was everything that we were looking for. Great drinks, great food, great service and a lovely ambiance. We were there until about 1030 when we went out into the casino.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a table for five adults and One chil ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a table for five adults and One child. While High Steaks did not have a children's menu, they did make chicken fingers and french fries for the child diner. She thought they were the best she's ever tasted. The entrée selections are on the high side in price, the quality is very good. This is one of our go to restaurants and have been more times than we can count. The food is always scrumptious and the service is terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Second time here and t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great experience. Second time here and the food was once again perfect and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the feel of this place . I defini ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love the feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more dishes. The onion soup was amazing. Most of us had prime rib. It is sooo tender that you can cut it with a fork. Service was well-timed and friendly as also. Had had Tristin for our server and we also ask to be seated in his section. He is the best! Always attentive but never hovers. Everyone we have taken here has said how good the food is and the excellence of the service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was wonderful. Everything cook ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This meal was wonderful. Everything cooked well and hot. Last time we were there $300 out of $640 worth of food was cold and prepared in properly . And something I ate made me violently ill . Very disappointed. They sent me $200 certificate. This was not adequate compensation. However this time everything was very good. Would of like to be offered complementary desert or cocktail from the last terrible experience. We have eaten here quite a few times with one very bad experience. Would not of gone back had they not sent the certificate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was awesome as usual. We've eat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was awesome as usual. We've eaten here several times and have never been let down.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because it's so expensive, we only come ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Because it's so expensive, we only come here on special occasions. But we come here because the food is great, perfectly cooked to our taste, especially the beef entrees and sides. We plan on trying the pork chops the next time. And the chicken after that. The service has been great every time. You have some great servers. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime filet Oscar style was phenomen ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The prime filet Oscar style was phenomenal, best beef I've had in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, great service as always.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent meal, great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 37 wedding anniversary, we ca ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was our 37 wedding anniversary, we came last year too, so that was the driving force. We really enjoyed it last year and decided to surprise the wife and come again. The food was spectacular; wonderful flavor, abundant, right temperature. My wife said the salmon had a terrific flavor & very grilled, crisp. I had a steak, which was cooked to the right temperature. Waiter was terrific (I think it was Harold). Atmosphere was very warm and romantic. Thank you for another great experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come for the steaks. Parties at our tabl ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Come for the steaks. Parties at our table sampled porterhouse, filet mignon and rib-eye steaks.

All came perfectly cooked as ordered and it was a serious treat to enjoy the aged beef.

A good variety of side dishes and desserts made for a special and decadent dinner for valued employees and guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Six of us celebrated 2 birthdays! Every ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Six of us celebrated 2 birthdays! Everyone had an awesome dining experience. We have been coming here a few times a year for several years. Customer service is always top notch from start to finish. Our waiter, Jim, took excellent care of us. We shared oysters and bacon wrapped shrimp for starters. Entrees included filets, a bone-in ribeye, short ribs, and crab legs. We also shared a few side dishes. (The baked potato was perfection). Everything was absolutely delicious!!! All six in our party were quite satisfied and full.

Dining at a quality steak house is a special treat for me, and I personally rate High Steaks food and service as the best out there!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was excellent. A very good meal. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was excellent. A very good meal. We started with mozzarella balls which were ok, I would not order again. The wedge salad was lackluster and again, I would not reorder. The tuna poke was delicious, the bacon wrapped prawns were fantastic. The bone in rib eye, creamed spinach and baked potato were definite do agains. Exceptional wine list and very good service. We were there on a Sunday night (7:30 seating) and it was quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great and friendly service, good timing ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great and friendly service, good timing between courses and you can ask for your kind of drink if you do not find what you like on the list.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent as was the bar servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was excellent as was the bar service but we had a horrible waiter. We sat for 20 minutes without even a drink order taken. We had to go ask someone to find our waiter. He was apologetic and even brought us complimentary dessert but that was after he put the wrong order in for my husband. This was our second visit. We returned because of the impeccable service the first time. This young man was not ready to be a waiter at this type of establishment

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great appetizers and very large selectio ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great appetizers and very large selection of dinner choices We had a hard time making a decision as we wanted everything

Food was great and a very fun and enjoyable evening

Great wine selections

Well worth the drive from granite bay

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was okay. I ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was excellent, service was okay. I waited over 10 minutes for someone to come by our table so they can bring me hot sauce. Food got cold while waiting for tobacco.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have eaten here several times and hav ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We have eaten here several times and have always had excellent food, drinks and service is always given with a smile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not great, cheese and fish tast ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was not great, cheese and fish tasted old, drinks were Ok really the worst experience I have had here generally I love the food, service and none of it was great I did not eat my appetizer or all my entree and ended up feeling ill all night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent food and presentation. The se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. The service exceeds ones expectation. I always recommend this restaurant to my friends for any occasion for a special touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been to this restaurant three ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we have been to this restaurant three times. food is always great, as well as service. but seating was not as requested, and the casino air conditioning blew directly on us. the hostess refused to provide a booth in bar area for two people, but we later saw two people seated there. she was not very pleasant about it, as well. we will think twice before visiting again, we don't mind paying a hefty price for an upscale meal, but do expect better ambiance, and that table requests be honored.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

The food, while pricey, was outstanding! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food, while pricey, was outstanding! We had the Beef Wellington Deconstructed, and the Kurobuta Pork Chop (which was HUGE). Both were extremely good, and we had room for nothing else. The bread basket had fantastic choices including a raisin bread and crisps. Please note, the pork chop takes some time to prepare! I wish the wait staff would've have let us know since there is no indication of the size of the chop on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall above average for a high end ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall above average for a high end steakhouse. The steaks were good not great. Had the crusted filet; a little flavorless but very tender. Plan on trying a different cut next time. Service top notch and decor beautiful. A little noisy. Not up to Morton's standards IMHO.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

4 of us went. We had prime rib and filet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

4 of us went. We had prime rib and filet mignon and few side dishes.

Excellent! Juicy but not bloody ,Cooked right.

I eat smaller portion usually so did not expect to finish all but I did eat 12 oz easily !

We shared ice burg lettuce salad and few appetizers, oyster Rockefeller and ahi poke.

Managed to still have desert! Wine was wonderful.

Our friends never dined here before but we were very happy to know that they enjoyed the evening here.

We are repeaters here. Plan to go back again for great steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good traditional steakhouse, consistent ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

good traditional steakhouse, consistent high quality

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was amazed by the delicious meals that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I was amazed by the delicious meals that we both had. The food, service, and atmosphere were fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok but over priced. It was a li ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was ok but over priced. It was a little noisy and the seating was not the best. If it had been half the price I would have had a much more positive review. However they charge like they are high class and that was not really the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was awesome, great service and wond ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was awesome, great service and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We go there more than a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love this place. We go there more than anywhere else. Food is really good and service too.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the scallops and they had no flavo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had the scallops and they had no flavor. Everything was way over priced for what you got. I have been to Michelin star restaurants that cost less. The other food was very good but way to pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was prepared as ordered. Waiter wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was prepared as ordered. Waiter was attentive but not in the way. He also informed us most menu items were enough for two. This is a wonderful place for a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was amazing as always . Great good ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Place was amazing as always . Great good and service. Thanks for making our anniversary special

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst time yet. Corn brûlée was watery ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Worst time yet. Corn brûlée was watery and service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This is our second time for dinner, pre- ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is our second time for dinner, pre-concert event at the casino. The food is very good and, but the service this second time was just so-so. We had to ask other waitresses for whatever we needed because our waitress was not to be found, or was talking with people at another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.