About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Authentic (12)
Fun (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating our 30th anniversary we choose High Steaks. It was a great choice as their menu provided a good selection. The 12oz Prime Rib was cooked to perfection and the Deconstructed Beef Wellington was superb. The Garlic Mash potatoes tasted great, however were a bit to creamy for my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome! Service, food, setting... Nailed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner always fantastic and always have absolutely great service by Danya!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional service, excellent food, we were treated like royalty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 10th wedding anniversary. Loved the food and service! We will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our waiter was awesome!!! The steakhouse was very impressive

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wait time was great. Ambience was romantic. Service was impeccable. Food was ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Sorry for the poor review, but we will probably never come to this restaurant again. The waitress was unhelpful, and borderline rude. The food was basically thrown together. The best thing about the dinner was the bread. Dissapointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We made reservations 2 hours early for a pre show dinner. We were seated 25 minutes late. We received our appetizer and it was then 15 minutes before showtime and we had to leave. We were there 1.5 hours and got an appetizer and never received our entree. Very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 4, 2017

For the price the food wasn't as good as it use to be. The wait for the food was also double the normal time. Service was good as the waitress kept coming over to apologize for the delay. I've eaten here many times and it seems they are on a slow spiral downwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our first visit to High Steaks was amazing! We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and High Steaks did not disappoint! The Service was impeccable. Every need was anticipated and provided. The pacing of the food was excellent, from drinks to dessert. I did not have to remind anyone that it was a special occasion; even the hostess wished him HBD when we arrived. The food was a party in our mouths. We enjoyed a roasted half chicken, bone-in rib eye steak with bleu cheese accompaniment, mac and cheese, and broccoli. Everything was moist, flavorful, fresh, and out of this world delicious. We ate our leftovers the next day, and it was still delicious! The experience was amazing, from start to finish. We are already planning our next trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tapas, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Everything was wonderful except for the strong cigarette smell. We asked to be seated in a less cigarette smelling area. Except for that we were very well satisfied with everything else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The prime rib was almost inedible. For Prime Beef it was really tough. There was also raw fat on the cut which leads me to suspect that it wasn't slow-roasted. The person at the table to the left and to the right hand the same thing and left most of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was our first time eating at High Steaks and we were very impressed. The menu is pricey but we expected that. The atmosphere was very nice, old school steak house and the food was amazing! Our only disappointment was we had a lot of leftovers and because we were going to a concert right after dinner we had no where to keep our food so we had to let it go to waste. My husband had the ribeye and I had the prime rib, both were cooked perfectly to med rare and very tasty. Our server (wish I could remember his name) was very attentive and was always there to refill our wine and water. Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always very impressive! The staff is attentive and courteous. It's my first choice for entertaining clients and family... wonderful selection and presentation!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tapas, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Average steakhouse at premium prices. The smoky ambience and casino-uniformed servers don't help separate you from the casino right outside. The french onion soup is the best we've had in a long time. The salad seemed to have been dressed too early because the lettuce was not crisp when served. Great bread basket w/good variety. And the meat entrees were the expected portion sizes but cooked under requested temperature in each instance. I would probably try the Happy Hour next time but it's not available on concert days and holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We have been there three times now and has yet to disappoint. The steaks are very tasty and are cooked to your order!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Dinner amazing as always, waiter was great! Pre show dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The actual restaurant is very nice. I'd recommend sitting in the bar and enjoying happy hour- food is less expensive than sit down dinner. My husband and I had dinner in t he restaurant, for both of us, with one drink, salads and steak it was over $200. Everything they have on the menu is over priced, and is just "ok". The side dishes are all $9 and they are more than enough for two people. We ordered the mushrooms for our steaks- and it was overkill. No one can eat $9 worth of mushrooms. We will not eat in the restaurant again, too expensive- and the food is just alright.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food and service is top notch. It is definitely a place to celebrate any special occasion. My son was able to attend for the first time and stated, "Now I know what a great restaurant tastes like". The chef's salted toffee was amazing. Will definitely return with friends and family again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My favorite steak house in Sac great steaks and even better service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent restaurant ambiance. Food as always, was special. Ashley, our server was excellent.
Sasha, the other member of the Team was outstanding. Always on top of my almost empty water glass, and kept the table clear and roomy. Be back in early September

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We had a party of 12 and most of the party ordered either the rib eye, salmon or filet. All the dishes were wonderful. We especially enjoyed the mushroom and green bean side dishes.
We plan to celebrate future special birthdays at this restaurant.
The service was great. A tip of 18% was added, but the servers deserved and received more.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My grand daughter and I visited for my 58 birthday and I planned the evening a week ahead but forgot to make reservations, so about 2 hours before I called and ws given a table time, the time I requested 7:15 although late I was seated, the meal took over an hour to come and I'd wanted Maine aLobster bc I am from Maine and alway have the Maine Lobster for my birthday but the server knew I had time restrictions so she recommended not so I chose a NY Steak and it was longer than time required for lobster but I was 30 mins late for my seat time so I'll blame myself, everyone ws kind and my host Jeff had paid for the meal as it was my birthday and he had another birthday so thanks Thunder Valley n the Steak House for a nice evening Harold Hodsdon Jr

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Dinner was great! Steak cooked perfect. Added gorgonzola to our mash potatoes. They were very yummy. Waitress was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Items are priced appropriately for the quality of meals you receive. Unfortunately the service was lacking in the fine dining atmosphere, by no means was the service bad but I expect a more professional FOH staff and less of the casual/social attitude. I look forward to coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Sports, Live Music, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Didn't appreciate that every other family was being helped and taken care of more due to us looking fairly young. We get this type of treatment at every fancy restraunt we attend. I never have a problem paying a $100+ dinner for 2 and still leaving a 20% gratuity.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous food !!!
I have to be gluten free and didn't have any problems. The scallops, sweet potatoes and Rose wine was delicious and the portion size was very large.
I will be back !!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was outstanding. The two top table size are awesome. The wine selection was great. We had the Chop Salad and Wedge Salad and both were very good. Fried mozzarella balls and a few were still cold on the inside. My Rib-Eye was good but not great and slightly warm. Gristle ran through it. My wife had the filet which she said was very good. High Steak potatoes were average and Creme brûlée sweet corn too sweet. We will definitely be back because of the outstanding service but will order different entrees and side dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Adequate. If the portion size wasn't overly large, as it is, the price could be lower and more appropriate. Portion size i.e. 7-8 scallops for one person is over-kill and way too many.
Offering smaller portions, more realistic size portions and lower prices would improve everything.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Everything at High Steaks is Fantastic! The Staff is so friendly while still being professional. The food is sooo delicious it seems a shame to finish the meal! We have dined here often and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Lamb and gorgonzola mashed potatoes where delightful. Bacon could have been held off entree. Dessert was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A really nice restaurant with great food and great service. Everyone from valet to those working inside were wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Atmosphere was enjoyable, our service was very good, our waiter was personable and personally I loved the New York steak. I'm getting a little long in the tooth and my hearing is questionable so it was a bit difficult for me to hear because of the room volume, but then that's me. I still enjoyed my dinner there. I've been there twice and will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Steaks were not pre pared right and had no flavor. We don't mind paying for good food but it was horrible. All six of us did not finish our meals. It was a Huge disappointment for being my daughters 21st Birthday celebration. I will not recommend this place at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have eaten at the restaurant twice. After dining the first time, I recommended the restaurant to many people. After eating there this past Saturday, I will not eat there again and I would not recommend the restaurant to anyone. The only good thing on Saturday was our waiter. He was excellent. But everything else was very disappointing. The 2 hostess were not friendly at all. In fact one was rude. As I would walk through the restaurant to use the restroom (twice) the wait staff would walk right in to people and acted as though customers needed to move for them even though they were not carrying anything. But most disappointing was the food. The first time I ate at this restaurant my prime rib and side dishes were excellent. This time I ordered the prime rib and it tasted like a cheap piece of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a great experience!! The food was really good and not badly priced. Definitely get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our waiter was awful, actually forgot to take a order from a gentleman in our group...
There were 8 of us.
He told us he was moving to Oklahoma and that seem to be his priority for our evening .
Service was slow, ordered our main course and he took the menus and we had asked him what came with it and he said everything was ala carte after the fact that he took the menus, he didn't explain how worked in the beginning . We had to get our menus back to re-order our vegetables and salads or soups whatever we wanted .
We ordered a few veggies/potatoes we asked for mashed potatoes and two baked potatoes and we didn't receive the baked potatoes .
It was my husband's 50th birthday we arrived in a limo and wanted everything to be perfect but the service ruined it for us.
When we first arrived our reservations were at 5 o'clock the concert that we were attending started at seven, which we explained to him we needed to hurry things along BUT we missed the first song, actually had to eat quite quickly because we would have been extremely late to the concert because service was so slow.
Very disappointed in the service.
The food was yummy..

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Way too expensive for what you get. Every side dish (veggies, potatoes etc) is extra. Hubby liked his Beef Wellington but my Catch of the Day (Sea Bass) was dry and flavorless and cost $44!! There were some lucky gamblers just outside the restaurant hooping and hollering which made it pretty noisy. Won't go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The bread served with the meal was good and the surprise birthday dessert was excellent. My son said his rib eye steak for $56! (a la carte) was pretty good. The halibut my husband and I had was a great disappointment. It was smothered in a topping almost as though to hide the taste of the fish which did not taste fresh at all. The accompanying vegetables were not good either. Service was quite good. Had been to dinner here several years ago and don't remember the prices being so high or the food of poor quality. Don't mind paying more once in a while if warranted. It's tough to pay $250 for 3 people and not enjoy the meal. Sorry, if I sound negative. I don't normally write reviews good or bad, but this experience was disappointing enough that we are not planning on returning there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.