About High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort

1200 Athens Avenue
Lincoln, CA 95648
View Larger Map

High Steaks steakhouse prepares the finest cuts of Prime beef broiled to perfection alongside unique appetizers and side dishes such as our signature Bacon-Wrapped Prawns or Sweet Corn Brûlée. Complement your meal with an award-winning wine selection, featuring some of the most notable vintners, while you savor traditional steakhouse dining amid an atmosphere of style, class and sophistication.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5PM to 10PM. Friday and Saturday: 5PM to 11PM.

Cross Street:
Industrial Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 408-8327

Website:
http://www.thundervalleyresort.com/Dining/High-Steaks

Entertainment:
Live piano-bar-style entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheese Board
  • Scallops
  • Crab Cakes
  • Seafood Platter
  • Lobster Chowder
Cheese Board
Scallops
Crab Cakes
Seafood Platter
Lobster Chowder

High Steaks - Thunder Valley Casino Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very good, service staff were o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good, service staff were on-point, and the dining experience well worth the price. I highly recommend giving High Steaks a visit soon.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was beautiful, wonderful atmosp ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The room was beautiful, wonderful atmosphere. Food was mediocre and the prices were too high. Value for money paid was poor. Service was good except for, I advised it was my husbands Birthday in advance and they didn't acknowledge it AT ALL. Very disappointing. Will not eat there again, nor will I recommend it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Excellent dining experience at High Stea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent dining experience at High Steak. Thank you Mike for the excellent service and making our anniversary memorable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and cooked to perfect ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was excellent and cooked to perfection really enjoyed the ambience the wait staff was excellent a little pricey but I would definitely eat there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall great experience. The oysters we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

overall great experience. The oysters were some of the BEST I've had. The Chandon Rose we had was excellent! I ordered the lobster, which was good, but overpriced. My husband had the prime rib. He thought it was OK. complimentary dessert was very sweet of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

VERY pricy, but a nice place for a speci ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

VERY pricy, but a nice place for a special occasion. Food is very good, service outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was a bit disappointed in the food exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was a bit disappointed in the food experience based on the advertising giving such a high rating of taste and quality, which I did not find to meet that expectation. I would rate the overall experience and food as good. The price is a bit steep for the quality of food. I was rather disappointed in the seafood platter that did not taste as fresh as it good have been & a bit bland and tough. I would give the quality of the steaks we had as a 6 on a scale of 1-10 (ten being great). Bar recommendations on the menu was very good and I enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Date night with the wife. Looking forwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Date night with the wife. Looking forward to a nice night out, with a great dinner. Salad was great, then went down hill. My wife got scallops and the where awful, my steak was very good, but I've had better, there before. The service was good but not great. Disappointed this time. But other times been very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu selection and food presentation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The menu selection and food presentations are great. It's Always a pleasant all-around experience dining here.... Very attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service from Tom and Jasmina was fantast ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service from Tom and Jasmina was fantastic even on a very crowded Friday night. Jenkins always makes sure thing are running smooth.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The meal was excellent and the service was fast, friendly and fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacon wrapped shrimp, Cesar salad & Wedg ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bacon wrapped shrimp, Cesar salad & Wedge salad then Baked potato with all the extras, Scallops and 11 oz Filet Mignon. OMG no room for desert. It was wonderful. We both loved it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High Steaks added a Porterhouse to their ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

High Steaks added a Porterhouse to their menu. Or so they say....

It was a T Bone that was served, not a Porterhouse . They just raised the price of the T Bone.

Steak was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Had an amazing experience. We came to ce ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had an amazing experience. We came to celebrate my fiance getting into the Hall of Fame for Pool and they made it so special. A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate light with a 5 cheese platter and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ate light with a 5 cheese platter and two Rombauer wine flights. Absolutely delicious and ample. Excellent. Enough for four if you're not starving. Way too much for two. Definitely will order again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was decent but not worth the pr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was decent but not worth the price plus the kitchen didn't prepare my meat correctly and I had to wait an inordinate amount of time

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food and service was excellent. Waiters/ ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Waiters/servers were professional but personable. This was our third visit to High Steaks and each time we were completely satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away in the dining ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were seated right away in the dining room. Our waitress was great, she gave us time to visit before taking our order, then brought us more bread & butter, etc. All three of our meals were excellent. It was a very nice experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service, friendly help ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food, great service, friendly helpful wait staff..

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, except my po ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was outstanding, except my porter house steak was ordered medium and came out charred on the outside and raw in the middle. I ended up leaving most of it on the plate, which is disappointing for a $62 steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

My husband and I go to this restaurant f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My husband and I go to this restaurant for a special date night out. We shared the porterhouse steak, which we asked for medium. (Warning, anything with a bone, the meat close to the bone will be closer to rare when you ask for medium.) The steak flavor was equisite; the corn and lobster chowder was divine. Most notably, the server recommended the 2014 Rombauer Zinfandel, which was the tastiest zinfandel I have ever had and went perfectly with the meal. So many times we go out and the servers are either too young or don't drink alcohol and so can't recommend a decent wine. Not so this time.

The decor and ambiance is so visually romantic and tasteful, it continues to be our favorite steak house to go to, even though it is in a casino.

With the wine, our bill came out to $140 including tip. It was well worth the experience.

5 stars all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Mike was fantastic. He knew t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server Mike was fantastic. He knew the menu, excellent recommendations, fun personality that could hang with the 2 husbands In our party who are quite the jokesters. I would request him every time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Food was exceptional and service was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Food was exceptional and service was spot on. The restaurant has a nice feel of comfort and luxury. We will be adding High Steaks to our list of go to places for dinner. My reason for rating ambience low is because I do not appreciate having to witness internal restaurant issues. Closed door meetings are one thing but being privy to something going on with staff gathering in the hallway in view of patrons obviously going over issues is not really what I want at my dinner table. Maybe, I have higher standards for professionalism but that is my expectation for Thunder Valley's premier restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Very nice meal and great service. Split ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice meal and great service. Split a large porterhouse steak that was cooked to perfection. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been here twice in the past 2 we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have been here twice in the past 2 weeks! Both times my companyion and I split a surf and turf that was way overpriced. The quality and size on the Saturday we came was great! Not so much on Thursday. I dined there twice last summer. Both times we had our own meals with 2 sides and a cocktail. The price was a good $60.00 less at that time. This is NOT Silicon Valley or San Francisco. The thing we did enjoy was drinks on the patio listening to Jazz.

Because of the outrageous price I would not recommend it to anyone and I will not be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

I have been to many high end steak house ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been to many high end steak houses and High Steaks is my favorite! It was my birthday this last visit and we drove 1 1/2 hours for just dinner because it's my favorite. I can't say enough about the service, food, surroundings at the restaurant. It's even quite unless your facing the windows to see the casino you would never know you were there.

Love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy and noisy. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and noisy. The service was good but the steaks left a lot to be desired. I ordered the Rib Eye steak medium rare. Although the middle of the stead was pink, the outside charred so much that was all you could taste.

I would not waste my money on this steakhouse. I have had better steaks at Sizzler!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We went to High Steaks before a concert ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went to High Steaks before a concert and were truly disappointed. The prices are comparable to Ruth Chris and Mortons but the food quality and preparation were not. The chop salads were very good, well prepared but the rest of the dinner was poor at best. My wife's steak was just ok but her baked potato was entirely undercooked, hard as a rock and inedible. How tough is it to cook a potato? My steak, ordered medium rare was unevenly cooked and at best rare. My rib steak was tough and grisley, clearly not choice as advertised. I never complain but this dinner was so awful I felt I had to and the manager comped my meal which of course I appreciated but I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was very good and the service w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent, but for the price, I wasn't particularly impressed. Given that they had aged steaks I probably should have ordered an aged rib eye or New York steak, but instead, I got the filet mignon which was very lean and yet extremely tender but also pretty lacking in flavor. The noise level was extreme, but then, they were extremely busy. I passed through the restaurant later in the evening when it was less busy and the noise level was fine. I went there prior to a concert at the Thunder Valley Casino complex and that turned out to be a nice combination because I was able to valet park very conveniently...a nice benefit when compared with the crowds filing into the parking lots. It was also quick and easy to get my car after the show. So if you're going to see a concert, I would definitely recommend High Steaks. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it very enthusiastically, but if you go, I definitely recommend getting one of their aged steaks -- not the filet mignon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall service was good food to table t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall service was good food to table took over an hour thats the only flaw in the evening because we were going to a concert venue was crowded .

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Expensive eats. Steak was good. Servic ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Expensive eats. Steak was good. Service was better.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Came here once before, did not make a re ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Came here once before, did not make a reservation and the wait was over an hour. The bar had seats, so we ate and enjoyed it. This time, we went online and booked a table with Open Table. Reservation was there, booth for 3 and a reserved sign waiting for us. We were there for a concert and wanted to eat prior. Great meal, food cooked well and the service was top shelf. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fabulous food and drinks and as u ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always fabulous food and drinks and as usual Mike S. is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Dinner at the High Steaks ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Another Great Dinner at the High Steaks Restaurant:) This was our second visit to Thunder Valley to attend an outdoor concert and we love this restaurant. Great Food and wonderful Service. We will be back in September and already have dinner reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service, drinks. Great p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic food, service, drinks. Great place for a nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our expectations were not met; and while ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our expectations were not met; and while dinner was acceptable, it was not special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is awesome!! The servers have ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is awesome!! The servers have personality and are customer service centric. Very attentive and prompt. Every course i had was exceptional. It was worth the value! Their chef is amazing. I have eaten there several time, always being the best experience! Thank you for that

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times in the past a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have eaten here many times in the past and had always had an excellent steak. Ordered the porterhouse which is a bit pricey and requested it be "pink" in the middle. Both my wife's steak (filet) and mine came out close to well done. We mentioned this to our server and she told us that she'd have the manager come over which never happened. We were at Thunder Valley for a concert and so we didn't have a lot of time........so we had to settle for well done. The cob salads we had were good and as expected. We likely won't eat at this restaurant when there is a concert.........too busy and not sure that our meal will meet our expectations..........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The valet parking was the best ever with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The valet parking was the best ever with a very cordial reception. Our wait for a table was just a couple of minutes. Where we were first seated, however, was unacceptable due to the nearness to the bar (was noisy) and an odor of smoke from the casino. We asked to be re-seated and we were immediately in a better location: quieter and no smoke smell. I would suggest requesting a table as far from the bar area as you can get. The wait staff was very attentive. I ordered a wedge salad and it was excellent. My wife ordered a spinach salad and she said it was excellent as well. Before our meal was delivered we were treated to an additional small appetizer as an unexpected extra. I ordered the rib eye steak which was outstanding and cooked to perfection. My wife ordered the pork chop and she just praised it over and over again. The asparagus was excellent too. We had mentioned when we arrived that we were celebrating our anniversary, so we were treated to a special desert for each of us. That was unexpected and appreciated. I might add that my wife and I are not wine experts, but we know what we like. The wait staff provided a glass of Merlot that perfectly satisfied my wife and a Cabernet that perfectly satisfied me. We walked out with a small shopping bag of goodies: the bread we could not finish (a large assortment was provided at the beginning of the meal), the portion of the pork chop my wife could not finish and the portion of the steak I could not finish, plus the portion of the asparagus we could not finish. Also on top of all this was a large portion of chocolate. At the end of the meal we were given two pieces of really good chocolate. We commented on that fact and as a result we were given a large container of this chocolate. The wait for our car at the valet was not too long and we had nothing but great memories. When we got home we were surprised to see that all these take home items where packaged in plastic tupper-ware-type boxes. A+

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great setting, fantastic meal! Deconstru ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great setting, fantastic meal!

Deconstructed Beef Wellington was one of the best we've eaten. Good wine selection , good service, amoosh booce was great. This meal was accompanied with seasoned mashed potatoes and Crimini mushrooms. Sat on the patio for a evening cocktail, great setting, 4 times we've ate here, great each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.