About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Saturday and Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am,
Happy Hour: Daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm (in bar only)
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner seven days a week.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Osso Buco - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Pull Apart Bread - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Crabcake Benedict  - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Venison - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Pork Chop - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Huevos rancheros - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Espresso Martini - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Rum - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Roasted Duck Hash - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Oysters - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Beef Carpaccio - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Southern Mule - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cornbread - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Chicken and Waffles - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
High Cotton Benedict - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Short Ribs - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
New York Strip - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Yellowtail Tuna Melt - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Oysters Florentine - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cassoulet - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Firetag - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Ribeye - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Eve Dinner at High Cotton from 3:00pm-9:00pm!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year at High Cotton!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Charleston
2 More
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (112)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Romantic (80)
See All
Good for a Date (79)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Historic (61)
Local Ingredients (55)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Great for Brunch (52)
Live Music (49)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (45)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Authentic (37)
Business Meals (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Comfort Food (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Bar Seating (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fun (23)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
People Watching (21)
Casual (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I live in Columbus, OH and w ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I live in Columbus, OH and were visiting Charleston which we do as often as possible. We would very much like to live in Charleston when the time is right in our lives and our experience at High Cotton makes us want that even more. The friendliness, the attentiveness and the quality of the atmosphere and of the meal are all indicative of the culture there. Very laid back and comfortable. Thank you for a great experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time back in High Cotton for quite ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

First time back in High Cotton for quite a while and boy was I impressed! This continues to be one of Charleston's best dining experiences year after year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations for two at 5:45 ass ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

We made reservations for two at 5:45 assuming we would be in the main dining room. They took us thru the bar and in a back room to be seated. It was very noisy and no atmosphere. We were right by the door where the musician was playing in the bar. We asked to be moved and were moved to another room to the left of the entrance (still not in the main dining room). This was okay but not what we had expected. When we looked into the main dining room, we could see there was a private event going on. We only wish we had been told ahead of time so we could have come back another evening. We love the ambiance of the main dining room!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful food. Was a little nervous tak ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food. Was a little nervous taking my two-year-old son and niece, but everyone was so nice. And, the bluegrass band helped wth the entertainment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent personal service--our waiter a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent personal service--our waiter already knew what we liked as we had dined there before. Makes one feel special!! Excellent food and wine!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High Cotton was such a pleasure! The ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

High Cotton was such a pleasure! The service and food were beyond compare. Perfect for an intimate special occasion dinner or a night out with friends. We enjoyed our evening completely.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and table overlooking the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great location and table overlooking the street scene. Food was excellent particularly the filet mignon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The onion soup was fabulous with the oni ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The onion soup was fabulous with the onion rings on top!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a delicious pear, beet and feta sala ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had a delicious pear, beet and feta salad with a pumpkin purée; and a breast of duck with local root vegetables. Service was excellent without being intrusive. My husband a "yuge " shrimp cocktail, filet mignon with potato and guyere gratin that w.as outstanding.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melissa was more than what we could have ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Melissa was more than what we could have asked for. She was great and made wonderful recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for a celebration. Thank y ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A great place for a celebration. Thank you for making sure that his day was special. The food was awesome. My waitress knew about the menu and constantly made sure that we wanted for nothing. Thanks again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our visit to Charleston over the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

During our visit to Charleston over the Thanksgiving holiday, we were provided with a few recommendations for restaurants and High Cotton was considered "not to be missed" for their Sunday jazz brunch. Unfortunately by the time we've arrived by 2:00pm, that ship has sailed. Womp womp. The crowd must have already cleared by then because there were ample seating in the restaurant. Both my partner and I can't really comment much on their food since we only had breakfast there. It was good but it's breakfast, you know? The rotating service was on point, we must've encountered almost everyone on staff attending to us. When we're in Charleston again, we'll make it a point to not miss out on the Sunday jazz brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

While a beautiful restaurant with great ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

While a beautiful restaurant with great attention to detail, the food was surprisingly disappointing. The presentation of the food, however, was beautiful. I ordered a beet salad that was okay, but a bit heavy on the salt. For the entree I ordered scallops and lightly fried lobster tail with rice. Each bite I took of all items was full of a very intense salt flavor. I really tried to eat it, but finally gave up and sent it back (only 2nd time in life I've done that). The server made the swap for another entree very easy, which I appreciated. However the replacement crab cake entree I ordered came out one crab cake at a time. I have to say, I found the crab cakes almost flavorless, but at least edible. The server brought parmesan fries to my dining companion for something to eat while I ate my new entree. That was a nice touch, but the server mentioned they would have been thrown out if she did not bring them to us. In summary, this is a beautiful restaurant with very attentive staff. However, if you are going to charge $44 for an entree, it needs to be right the first time. I have no plans to return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing service and excellent food! We l ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing service and excellent food! We love High Cotton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a GREAT vegan meal so I really ap ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a GREAT vegan meal so I really appreciate your chef being fabulous and creative with that request. Great wine selection as well!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, our waiter was great! Beauti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, our waiter was great! Beautiful view of East Bay St in Charleston added to a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent choice for Thanksgiving dinner. Varied menu for those who had already had enough Turkey. We were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue with marvelous food and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful venue with marvelous food and service. We went their for our Thanksgiving meal and could not have been happier with the experience.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Thanksgiving Day in Charleston..W ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was Thanksgiving Day in Charleston..We drove from Myrtle Beach and spent the day there...I had a $20 Open Table coupon and I decided to see which restaurants would honor it....High Cotton was one...After I checked their website and saw that their restaurant's decor was just what I love, I decided to make a reservation there...We were so happy...beautiful music playing, fantastic service, 5 different sweet women served us....water, butter, appetizer.....dessert.....wine......very attentive staff and very friendly....our server was Melissa and she was super efficient, accommodating, friendly and generous....didn't flinch at any of our requests...like my glass of ice that I requested....the dinner was served nice and hot....everything delicious...the only thing I can say is that the free range turkey's consistency was not flaky but a bit rubbery..........we ordered extra gravy which we got...and loved it....

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. We ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. We had to wait about 10 minutes for our table but that was the only glitch in our evening. Our server Jonathan was attentive and friendly. There were 8 of us so he had his hands full. The food was yummy and portions were a reasonable size without being way too much. We were all happy with our experience here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time I have eaten at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was the first time I have eaten at high cotton since we moved to Charleston in august 2016. I would highly recommend High Cotton for any event. I worked at Marriott for many years and they exceed Marriott standards. We had Thanksgiving dinner and scallops which I thought were excellent .From the time you walk through the front door the staff is extremely attentive. I noticed Zachary Dennis the general manager from the web site and introduced myself . He was very professional and made sure that everyone's needs were taken care of. My family will definitely return to High Cotton in the near future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Thanksgiving and came awa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there for Thanksgiving and came away very disappointed with the food. The atmosphere and server were fantastic! For the prices we paid for the price fixe meal, I was expecting so much more. Food arrived warm not hot and the taste was just OK.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our thanksgiving dinner. I chos ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our thanksgiving dinner. I chose the turkey menu plate and my wife had the fillet. Both were great . Thanks to the waitress in the bar area, she kept us informed when our table was ready. Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten here before and since I liv ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have eaten here before and since I live in Charleston I must say I was surprisingly very disappointed. We were celebrating my son's 24th birthday who was only in town for a few days. The wait staff was very well aware of our celebration (he was carded) plus we told everyone including the hostess upon arrival. In comparison we celebrated my daughter's 22nd birthday a month earlier at Hall's in Greenville and we were greeted with champagne - a complimentary desert and food that was top notch. Our food at High Cotton was barely edible, from the chef's special wreck fish that was overcooked to the crab cakes that we honestly should have sent back to the kitchen. We left plenty of food on our plates, so it should have been apparent there was a problem. Yet, no one said a word. And no mention of desert for my son - we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Our first night in Charlestown we had di ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our first night in Charlestown we had dinner here. Great start to a memorable getaway. Excellent atmosphere, great food. My husband loved the lobster!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I loved our brunch date on a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I loved our brunch date on a Saturday afternoon in Charleston. The feel of High Cotton is relaxing yet professional. Our favorite foods were anything that was baked (corn bread, cinnamon roll, bread for the french toast). My wife had the shrimp and grits and I had the french toast. We got a cinnamon roll for a starter. The cinnamon roll was our favorite, but we thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in Charle ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Charleston. Food is always excellent and this one was no exception. Our waiter made the evening that much better for my friend, who was making his first appearance in Charleston and at High Cotton. This place is special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in Charleston for the Fisher Hou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We were in Charleston for the Fisher House Charleston groundbreaking ceremony and chose High Cotton because we liked the menu and had walked past it on several other occasions. Service was prompt and efficient. We each had a salad and I had the filet mignon oscar. My wife has a locally caught fish called the wreck fish. The wine list was extensive but very pricey so we opted for an inexpensive ($8) Bordeaux from the drink by the glass list. We both enjoyed our meal and it was one of the highlights of our short visit to Charleston.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place! This was my second ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I love this place! This was my second time to Charlestown and my second visit to High Cotton! I took friends there for their first time and they went back the next night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best shrimp and grits!

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants in Charl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Charleston. The food was amazing! The restaurant has a really warm and pretty atmosphere. Generous drinks and perfectly prepared fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing good, good fun experience and lo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing good, good fun experience and lovely atmosphere.

Love the food and the vibe here. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable and the foot was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was impeccable and the foot was fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Talk about Romantic, this was, by far, o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Talk about Romantic, this was, by far, our favorite dinner reservation. Angela and I came down to Charleston, SC for our first trip together. I wanted to book everything as a surprise for her birthday. She had no idea where we were going and the trip itself was a big enough surprise for her! She absolutely loved High Cotton and so did I. The service was extremely professional and knowledgeable, the waiter gave us space to enjoy a romantic evening but was always there at the perfect times, and the attention to detail was incredible. The knowledge about all of the foods we tried, ate, and loved was astounding as well! Everything tasted incredible and fantastic! This is a wonderful dining space, live music, private, relaxing, comfortable, southern dinner experience. Everything was fantastic, and the culinary experience was truly worth the investment! I love Charleston and I will be coming back to high cotton when we come back to Charleston together!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited HC for the first time in quite a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visited HC for the first time in quite a while. Ambience and service continue to be fabulous. Surprised that the menu has become so compressed but it's apparent that those are the dishes they prepare incredibly well.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved this place! The staff w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely loved this place! The staff was amazing and so friendly. The food and drinks were delicious and well worth the money and drive. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been going there for years and I a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've been going there for years and I always order the exact same meal. We have always enjoyed it immensely. This particular trip the food was terrible. I ate maybe 4 bites in total. The cost of the entree was $30. Not only that, I thought it was incredibly tacky that they flipped the light switch to hint that it was time to leave. It was 10:45 and they closed at 11:00. I think the tradition of going to this restaurant is over. I told my friend about the experience about the trip and she said "I wish you had told me you were going there. Th food has gone way downhill." I'm really sad the experience was terrible. We went to this restaurant after our engagement and we have hosted baby showers there. It has been a special place for us. Oh and they now only have one type of soufflé. It was like nothing could go right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was excellent. I had the tuna a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the tuna and my husband had the shrimp and grits and both were excellent. We were celebrating a 40th birthday and the staff made it special by giving us a fantastic table at the corner of the restaurant surrounded by windows. They also provided a complimentary dessert with candle. Highly recommend for great experience and fabulous food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to dinner the last night of our ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went to dinner the last night of our trip to Charleston and it was a case of saving the best for last- impeccable service

and food. A real celebration of all Charleston is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary service and food. I highl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Extraordinary service and food. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.