About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Osso Buco
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash
Pull Apart Bread
Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan
Crabcake Benedict
Venison
Huevos rancheros
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella
Espresso Martini
Rum
Roasted Duck Hash
Buttermilk Fried Oysters
Beef Carpaccio
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck
Southern Mule
Cornbread
Chicken and Waffles
High Cotton Benedict
Short Ribs
New York Strip
Yellowtail Tuna Melt
Oysters Florentine
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping
Cassoulet
Firetag
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts
Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
3 More
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (214)
Fit for Foodies (163)
Romantic (147)
See All
Great for Brunch (98)
Notable Wine List (86)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Good for Groups (79)
Hot Spot (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Historic (26)
Scenic View (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Live Music (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (19)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Business Meals (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Attentive service-historical ambiance- v ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Attentive service-historical ambiance- very good food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, good wine selections, an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, good wine selections, and great service. The Low Country cuisine is an excellent choice. I would definitely come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. When we are in Charleston, it is one of our favorite restaurants to enjoy a delightful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Saturday brunch with my husband ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Saturday brunch with my husband. We were in Charleston for a long weekend. Bloody Mary, champagne, eggs Benedict, live Blue grass band. Enjoyed it so much came back Sunday for round 2 brunch. Just as perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was very warm and friendly! ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was very warm and friendly! Also the food was amazing and everyone was very welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With out even planning, we went to all t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

With out even planning, we went to all the Hall Family restaurants while visiting Charleston this time. All were great, provided excellent service and good quality food. We highly recommend High Cotton as stop on your list while visiting town.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and top-notch staff. It ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and top-notch staff. It did get a little noisey but that was most likely because two large groups were seated nearby. The live music was a really nice, unexpected, bonus.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Can't wait t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Finished up Charleston SC restaurant wee ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Finished up Charleston SC restaurant week at High Cotton. Meal was very good as well as the service. I think next time I will request seating in the East Bay Room as that looked to be a more intimate. Defining the Hall Restaurant Group did well by acquiring both High Cotton and SNOB where we dined the previous week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As a local, I always enjoy treating out ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

As a local, I always enjoy treating out of town guests to High Cotton!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian made our experience Great! We enj ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brian made our experience Great! We enjoyed the Blues music at the bar also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was truly wonderful. Fast wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was truly wonderful. Fast when needed but not intrusive.

The food was excellent.

Swordfish and the crab soup stood out.

The room we were in which is off to the right of the entry way got a tad noisy as it filled up.

But overall our group had an excellent time and the food was wonderful.

The band in the bar played some sweet jazz as well.

A good ambience and experience.

We will be back and we would recommend it to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High Cotton simply felt dated. Seemed l ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

High Cotton simply felt dated. Seemed like it had served the same menu for a long time. That's not a problem if you have classic dishes that are delicious, but we did not seem to find those. Did the restaurant week menu and I had crab cakes as an entree. I don't normally order crab cakes as an entree but thought they may be one of High Cotton's signature dish. While they did feature more crab than usual, they were somewhat bland. Appetizers and deserts were also bland. All in all, restaurant was a disappointment as compared to other Charleston staples.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service! Good food! Shrimp and gri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service! Good food! Shrimp and grits lacks flavor but the rest was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to High Cotton during Restaurant We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went to High Cotton during Restaurant Week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The steak was melt-in-your-mouth good, and the swordfish was outstanding as well. Highly recommend the fried green tomatoes napoleon, which was topped with shrimp, and the pear salad with yellow beets was a standout too. Too full for the desserts but took them home and they were excellent the next day! Splurged on cocktails that were delicious and strong! Plus there was a live jazz band playing in the bar area. Great ambiance, very attentive service, and a true fine dining experience in the heart of Charleston. Will definitely return!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening, great service, elega ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delightful evening, great service, elegant decor and delicious food. What more does one need?

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to High Cotton for ov ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have been going to High Cotton for over 10 years. It is consistent in the quality of food and outstanding service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose High Cotton during Restaurant W ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We chose High Cotton during Restaurant Week. From the moment we walked in until we left, we experienced exceptional customer service. The staff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Our meals were perfectly prepared and delicious. I had the pear salad, seafood ravioli and bread pudding for dessert. Definitely don't skip dessert here!

We'll definitely go back again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent but pretty noisy. Food was goo ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent but pretty noisy. Food was good as well as service. Need to put up some noise barriers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I went to High Cotton with a small group ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I went to High Cotton with a small group of friends during Restaurant Week. The food was amazing and I love the décor. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived early and headed for the bar. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We arrived early and headed for the bar. Our waitress was attentive/friendly and our drinks good; which made for an enjoyable time. After being seated for diner, our waiter arrived to take our drink order, explaining the special restaurant week menu(3 course meal with wine pairing). Three in our party opted for the special. The appetizers arrived fairly quickly. Then we sat. Over 25 minutes later, our entries finally arrived (even though others were getting their food). Then we sat again. Another seeming long time passed before deserts arrived. To boot, the wine pairings were not brought on time and not fully explained (no bottle to show label). Mostly our waiter ignored us (even thought the wait station was nearby). So, on the plus side, the food was excellent (and warm) when it finally arrived. The dining rooms and bar have a great ambiance. On the negative side, our waiter was horrible (resulting in the worst tip I have left in over 40 years). Even the waiter refilling our water look visibly embarrassed. People I have talked to have had high praise for High Cotton. It goes to show how one bad employee can ruin your establishment. We will never go back as Charleston has too many other great restaurants to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Don't be put off by the construction ca ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Don't be put off by the construction canopy and scaffolding around the restaurant. My Husband and I went to High Cotton on Sunday evening as part of Charleston Restaurant week and a continuation of a celebration of good news from tests run at MUSC. The filet was delicious! My pear salad with beets , spiced pecans and goat cheese was awesome. My husband enjoyed the crab soup which was thick and filled with crab meat. For dessert we both had the chocolate bread pudding. That was a bit of disappointment for me. My expectations were in conflict with reality. For me, it was a mound of brown fairly tasteless mush.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding brunch. Being owned by Hall ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding brunch. Being owned by Halls has improved the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was outstanding! My husband and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Brunch was outstanding! My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary there, and the overall experience was one of the best we've had. He ordered the crab cakes benedict and I had the french toast w/ bacon. We also ordered mimosas. We shared our meals, and both were phenomenal. In addition, the service was top notch. We beat the rush going at 10 a.m. and the ambiance was quiet and romantic. Our waitor didn't miss a beat and even referred to us as Mr. and Mrs. the entire time. It's a nice touch to be addressed by your name. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!! We went durning restaur ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food!! We went durning restaurant week and were able to do the wine pairing with each course- it was not only delicious but fun!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthda ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthday at High Cotton. The food was very good and the service (by Brian) was well above average. This would seem to be more of a special occasion place for us but thanks for a very special evening

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the restaurant week choice beef tend ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had the restaurant week choice beef tenderloin. Pear salad and key lime tart. Steak was done to perfection. Excellent first class service. Will return.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here during restaurant week. Our ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We ate here during restaurant week. Our menu selections were very good. Unfortunately we waited longer than the norm to receive our deserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Service as well. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Service as well. The ambiance was lovely, well maintained, menu selection was great with something for everyone. Great for a date, friendly get together. I would say a place to dine if you are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal with colleagues. Excellent fo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good meal with colleagues. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Outstanding food and service. Servers al ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Servers all, good team work! All staff were on their game.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Charleston with a friend and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Visiting Charleston with a friend and we both found our dinners to be great and the service was professional & friendly. The location was perfect too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice place with outstanding food. G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very nice place with outstanding food. Great for a date or occasion. Not for kids.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved it here! Would come back again ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We loved it here! Would come back again the next time we visit CHS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had "high" expectations for High Cott ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had "high" expectations for High Cotton. It's a pretty restaurant in a great location with an interesting local menu. What we experienced was a 15 minute+ wait for our table even though there were several empty tables in view, extremely slow service, several menu items were "sold out" and over priced wine. The price tag for such an experience was even worse at over $150 a head. We hear the brunch is great so perhaps we will give them a second try some morning but it is doubtful we would return for dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service and food were amazing. Our w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service and food were amazing. Our waiter answered all of our questions, made recommendations, and took care of all of needs quickly. The atmosphere of the restaurant was both classy and quaint. While the dining room was large and encompassed a large number of guests, we still experienced a cozy and private brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious but a bit overpri ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was delicious but a bit overpriced. The service was extremely slow. We waited an hour and a half for our meal to arrive after ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

service was remarkable slow - all of our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

service was remarkable slow - all of our expectations for timing were left unmet, this was from the earliest drink delivery, to the appetizers, to the wine (over an hour for 1 bottle), to the main course (probably 2 hours from when we set down). i noted the slownest to the server, who made an excuse and apologized. another in our party brought it to the managers attention - they gave us free deserts.

Food is always great here.

the timing essentially ruined a an outing of family from three cities who met in Charleston.

Carl Hughes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Went here for 30th wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went here for 30th wedding anniversary. Food, service atmosphere and entire evening simply the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time visiting Charleston ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my 3rd time visiting Charleston and every time I visit, my bf and I make it a point to go to High Cotton. The service and food is always top-notch. No complaints whatsoever. It's one of my favorite restaurants! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.