About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Saturday and Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am,
Happy Hour: Daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm (in bar only)
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner seven days a week.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: (877) 624-1064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Elk Osso Buco - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Pull Apart Bread - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Crabcake Benedict  - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Venison - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Pork Chop - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Huevos rancheros - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Espresso Martini - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Rum - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Roasted Duck Hash - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Oysters - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Beef Carpaccio - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Southern Mule - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cornbread - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Chicken and Waffles - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
High Cotton Benedict - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Short Ribs - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
New York Strip - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Yellowtail Tuna Melt - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Oysters Florentine - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Cassoulet - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Firetag - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC
Ribeye - High Cotton - Charleston, Charleston, SC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on this romantic day when we'll be featuring a 3 course Prix Fixe Menu for $75.00/person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Good for a Date (88)
See All
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Historic (62)
Local Ingredients (60)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Live Music (59)
Great for Brunch (56)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Business Meals (42)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Authentic (38)
Cozy (38)
Comfort Food (36)
Worth the Drive (34)
People Watching (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fun (20)
Healthy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Scenic View (13)
Seasonal (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Private Room (8)
Great Beer (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed another Charleston Restaurant We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed another Charleston Restaurant Week meal on Sunday. Once again food and service were very good. Seated in the East Bay Room this time which is our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was phenomenal!! Fried oyster ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was phenomenal!! Fried oysters. Crab stuffed mushrooms and shrimp n grits we among the best I've ever tasted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service for a lovely brunch for me ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service for a lovely brunch for me and my 7 girlfriends. The music was fantastic. Food was very good-everyone enjoyed. Cornbread moist.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the perfect Sunday brunch!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the perfect Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch with music and food

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful brunch with music and food

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Girls weekend trip. Took friends for the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Girls weekend trip. Took friends for the first time. The wait was long butime worth it. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We came to Charleston for the weekend fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We came to Charleston for the weekend from Southport NC for a sweet 16!

Us 3 moms took our 5 daughters total! Jonathan was our waiter and what a delightful young man he was! He knew all our names with in minutes and continued to address us each by our name the rest of the evening! We just know he is going to be a fun loving dad come February!

We were thrilled by everything at High Cotton!

Thank you!

Nichole, Kellie, Tina, Mikayla, Reynolds, Brianna (bday girl) Chandler and Nyah!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing. Our first visit the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was amazing. Our first visit there & we will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. Defi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was excellent. Definitely recommended! Great selection of wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and decor! Second to Halls a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and decor! Second to Halls as my all-time fav for CHS Restaurants!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

White table cloth dining, a Charleston c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

White table cloth dining, a Charleston classic. Lovely understated service with some classic dishes on the menu done extremely well. We had the crab cake Benedict which was VEY filling and delicious. Quite a formal atmosphere, so dress nicely and have a special meal. The cornbread was also amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great experience on all visits. Food is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience on all visits. Food is outstanding with dynamic menu and professional staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RestaurNt week great value with 4 option ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

RestaurNt week great value with 4 options from menu with dessert for 40.00! Great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We like to take our own wine and find a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We like to take our own wine and find a $35 corkage fee very off-putting. Only truly outsanding food and service could overcome that initial cloud. But HC's kitchen definitely broke through. The fillet we enjoyed during Restaurant Week was just great, especially with béarnaise sauce. The coconut cake was spectacular, and bread pudding was excellent. Combined with helpful and attentive service, we left very happy.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

From the start with gentile greeting and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

From the start with gentile greeting and exceptional, engaging service - Thank You Seth- we were courted to a fine example of upscale Charleston brunch. We would return invite friends to enjoy the live music, wonderful food and outstanding service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived early for Sunday Brunch to he ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We arrived early for Sunday Brunch to hear the blue grass trio. They were good. Our bar server, Stephanie, was wonderful. We never felt rushed. Moved to the dining room, seat by the street. Elegant setting to celebrate the two birthdays we were celebrating. The Brunch selection was varied enough to meet a variety if palates. Serving size was ample without being too large. Our server was attentive and pleasant. We received all our meals at exactly the same moment which is always a sign of a good restaurant. One of our favorite special occasion places downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience at the Sunday ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall a great experience at the Sunday brunch. The stuff was extremely cordial and attentive. Cornbread was served instead of bread, which definitely set the tone for the Southern theme (as well as live Bluegrass music) that runs throughout the restaurant. I ordered a Smoked Salmon & Lobster Omelette with a side of Fresh Fruit. The portions were a bit large in my opinion.

The prices are surprisingly reasonable considering that it is a semi-formal restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was absolutely incredible. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible. The waitress was very nice and very attentive. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! The entire ex ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food! Great service! The entire experience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and I love ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is always delicious and I love the comfortable ambience. The service is incredible too!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely friendly and well-behaved staf ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Extremely friendly and well-behaved staff. Amazing food. There was nothing to complain about whatsoever other than it's on the expensive side. The food was amazing, non-the-less. Can't wait to be able to afford it again for another special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food and service. Creme brulee i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Superb food and service. Creme brulee is the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a wonderful evening. The staff was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such a wonderful evening. The staff was amazing - went above and beyond for our anniversary celebration. Food was excellent, as always. Thanks for the experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!! Friendly, acoomidating, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service!! Friendly, acoomidating, patient

Food was also good but left alittle to be desired for downtown Charleston. Disappointed there was no changing table in the restroom.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal and a super frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and a super friendly waitress who offered us information about Charleston and of course the movie The Notebook, where a scene took place there. Food and drinks were fantastic. Enough choices to make everyone happy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for an evening meal. St ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent place for an evening meal. Staff is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were here during restaurant week on d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We were here during restaurant week on date night and our server Ashley was very prompt and nice the entire time. The other servers that came with bread and water were all great and very in sync, so we never had an empty glass. It's funny because it's the small things like my glass being full or empty that I pay attention to . The food was amazing, except the dessert.. I didn't care for my particular choice which was the chocolate bread pudding I think that's what it was. I was under the impression that it was new to the menu. Anyway, overall we really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Jeremy was a great server. Made dinner f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Jeremy was a great server. Made dinner fun with our 2 young daughters and his interaction with our group overall. Food was good and came out pretty quickly. Definitely would go back and have Jeremy serve us again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch. Try the house bloody, it' ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great brunch. Try the house bloody, it's excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister was visiting from NYC and want ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My sister was visiting from NYC and wanted to have brunch downtown on New Year's Day. We had a variety of restaurants to choose from in the area and decided to try High Cotton. We were not disappointed. The service was great! The atmosphere was relaxing with a scenic view of the street life of visitors casually strolling by. The wait staff was very attentive. The doughnut holes and stuffed mushrooms were awesome. My sister demolished her crab benedict and I devoured my shrimp and grits. Looking forward to coming back for dinner. Wonderful culinary experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with incredible food! The ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service with incredible food! The brunch is a must when in Charleston. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service by friendly knowledgea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service by friendly knowledgeable wait staff. Great menu to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service was wonderful ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service was wonderful. Went for brunch New Years Day and had a great time. Everything was perfect and everyone was so friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 4 for NYE. Our reserva ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a party of 4 for NYE. Our reservations were for 11:30. We were seated immediately. This was a prix fix menu at 90.00 a person plus tax, drinks, gratuity. As soon as we sat, our server announced they were out of several items, narrowing our choices. For 90.00 a person they should have ensured all items were available. We selected 4 different starters: the shrimp and lob ster cocktail was delicious, the fried oysters and the raw oysterswere also very good, The she crab soup however was horrible and sent back. It should have never beenreleased from the kitchen. We were told it was the "bottom ofthe pot". We were supposed to each receive a glass ofchampagne for a midnight toast but noone inour entire dining room received anything. Entrees consisted of crab stuffedflounder which was marginal; rack of lamb which was perfectly prepared but had a horrible,dry, tasteless rice/pea accompaniment; and a filet Oscar that was sent back TWICE because it was way overcooked. Desserts were applecobbler which was dry andtasteless and creme brule which was good. After the steak was sentback, the manager appeared and we toldhim we were upset about the quality ofthe food and the missing champagne and limited menu. He seemed unconcerned. A couple of minutes later, an overly effusive woman showed up with a trayand said " To help you celebrate NYE have this champagne ON US". This made us even madder because the champagne was included in our 90.00! So the champagne was actually on US. Afterthe steak went back for the second time and we were the last party in the restaurant, they finally removed 1 entree from the bill. The bill was 340.00 plus tip which was still outrageous for what we received. NEVER AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

A great New Years Eve ,fabulous ambiance ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great New Years Eve ,fabulous ambiance, lovely jazz combo and service.

We enjoyed fried oysters ,steak Oscar,wonderfulas always😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Just wish I had kn ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great. Just wish I had known earlier it was a set menu. Was looking forward to other items on the regular menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE HAVE EATEN AT HIGH COTTON ON NUMEROUS ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

WE HAVE EATEN AT HIGH COTTON ON NUMEROUS TRIPS TO CHARLESTON AND HAVE CONCLUDED THE BAR IS THE BEST PLACE TO SIT WHERE YOU ARE NEVER DISSAPOINTED IN SERVICE, FOOD, ETC WE MADE A RESESRVATION MONTHS AGO TO DINE NYE AND WERE SEATED IN THEIR SMALL DININGROOM THAT IS LIKE SITTING IN A NURSINGHOME PARLOR WE WERE SURPRISED AT THE SET MENU OF $90.00 EA AND ONE OF OUR MEALS CAME OUT COLD. THE SOUP WE ORDERED THAT WASNT ON THE MENU CAME OUT WITH ABSOLUTELY NO FLAVOR AT ALL. VERY UNHAPPY WITH OUR EXPERIENCE. DON'T MIND PAYING FOR A WONDERFUL MEAL BUT SO DISAPPOINTED.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Love this place. We did New Years for t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place. We did New Years for the third yr straight. The food, wine, & service were top notch! Thanks Fabian. Silver Oak went well with the prime rib & filets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a perfect New Years Eve dinner!!!! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What a perfect New Years Eve dinner!!!! Food was outstanding, service top shelf, ambiance lovely. We dined there last New Year's Eve and will be back next year!!!! Excellent !!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbeatable combination of really good fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unbeatable combination of really good food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.