About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Osso Buco
Pork Chop
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash
Pull Apart Bread
Shrimp and Grits
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan
Crabcake Benedict
Venison
Huevos rancheros
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella
Espresso Martini
Rum
Roasted Duck Hash
Buttermilk Fried Oysters
Beef Carpaccio
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck
Cornbread
Southern Mule
Chicken and Waffles
High Cotton Benedict
Short Ribs
New York Strip
Yellowtail Tuna Melt
Oysters Florentine
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping
Firetag
Cassoulet
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout
Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
3 More
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (274)
fit for foodies (228)
romantic (171)
See All
great for brunch (137)
neighborhood gem (106)
good for groups (99)
notable wine list (93)
hot spot (59)
great for lunch (52)
vibrant bar scene (51)
scenic view (22)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and even more amazing servi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and even more amazing service! We loved everything about our dining experience at High Cotton.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service are great. But, the be ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and service are great. But, the best part is visiting the lively bar scene after dinner and listening to the jazz quartet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Amazing experience!

food4
ambience5
service4

Scallops were amazing!

Dined 5 days ago

Scallops were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I ate at High Cotton for ...

Dined 7 days ago

My partner and I ate at High Cotton for the first time and fell in love with the whole experience. I'm so sorry, but we can't remember our waiter's name. Our waiter was so nice and took the the time to explain everything. He helped us pair the perfect wine with our meal and told us about the amazing dessert, a praline soufflé that you had to order before your entree. After we took the first bite of the soufflé we just starred at one another and said "Oh my God", it was heavenly. We had the scallops for our entree and I have to say these were by far he best I've ever had and I've eaten at restaurants in London, Paris and NYC. The decor and ambiance were so relaxing and classy, perfect atmosphere for a truly divine culinary experience. - Larry Davis

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good place to eat. Did not like the Cae ...

Dined 7 days ago

Good place to eat. Did not like the Caesar salad. I don't like anchovies and specifically asked for them not to put them on but the server failed to mention the dressing was anchovy based so I didn't eat any. They were good about it and didn't charge us for it. Overall, our meal was good and we would come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of Charleston's best restaur ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This is one of Charleston's best restaurants. I would recommend it to anyone! Wonderful staff.......delicious food.....great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal and service were terrific😃😃😃

Dined on June 20, 2016

The meal and service were terrific😃😃😃

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Probably won't return. Did not like my ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Probably won't return. Did not like my salmon - it was way overdone. We we 2 people put in a corner with 2 large tables in the room. Not sure why we weren't seated next to the window, since 2 tables were open for most of our meal. The noise level was so high, it was difficult for 2 people to have a conversation......

food5
ambience5
service5

Fried oysters were awesome! Plentiful po ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Fried oysters were awesome! Plentiful portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. The place is beautif ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. The place is beautiful. We had a reservation and they sat us down immediately.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch there for Father's Day wit ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had brunch there for Father's Day with 6 in our party. Service, food and drinks were all excellent. Definitely a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food excellent, service professional, li ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food excellent, service professional, live music a nice addition.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant- we have eaten here sev ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant- we have eaten here several times and the service and food is always great! Not really a place for young children though.-

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic brunch! Love the ambiance. T ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic brunch! Love the ambiance. This is a must if you're going to be in Charleston!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lived in Charleston for 4 years, first t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lived in Charleston for 4 years, first time here and it is a gem of a location for dinner. Does not disappoint!

food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic low country and excellent menu ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Authentic low country and excellent menu variety

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found High Cotton to be one of the bes ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I found High Cotton to be one of the best places I have eaten and we all enjoyed it Thank You

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Cotton exceeded our expectations. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

High Cotton exceeded our expectations. It was over all the best dining experience we had in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Blue Crab stuffed Mushrooms overpowered ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Blue Crab stuffed Mushrooms overpowered by cheese. the "special" Pole bean salad, stringy and not particularly tasty. Halibut had to be sent back - too salty and over cooked fish. They dealt with my complaint very well, next Halibut was still a bit overcooked but seasoning was much better. For a restaurant that serves fish regularly they should be better at cooking it. Other friends meals were good. Friendly staff and great ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before we went to Charleston, I asked my ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Before we went to Charleston, I asked my friends for some restaurant recommendations. High Cotton was at the top of the list and it did not disappoint. Great meal and fantastic service! Definitely order the soufflé!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at High Co ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This was my first time dining at High Cotton and I certainly hope it won't be the last! The ambience is perfect and the noise level allowed for easy conversation. Our server was pleasant, informative, and attentive but not in obtrusive way. The food was absolutely delicious!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service excellent. Overall cos ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service excellent. Overall cost a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

IMPRESSED!!!

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my first time to visit High Cotton. Definitely will not be my last. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. Great wine menu and cocktails. The server was GREAT! He recommended a house specialty cocktail that was amazing. The menu had a great selection of low country and traditional cuisine. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Due to the great offerings, I struggled to narrow down my options to just three options and had difficulty making up my mind. After talking with the server, I ordered the duck and could not have been happier. Crispy on the outside, warm and tender on the inside. Melted in my mouth. We also ordered the scallops -- again -- AMAZING!! I chose the creme brulee and was very pleased. The service and staff was impeccable. I cannot wait to eat here again. Incredible food, incredible service, great atmosphere!! Definitely a Charleston gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, waiter, ambiance. The ba ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food, waiter, ambiance. The bar had live music that was fantastic. The oyster appetizer was out of this world so was the chocolate cherry flan. Everything was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Shrimp and Grits cannot be beat.

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Shrimp and Grits cannot be beat.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

High Cotton is an excellent restaurant. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

High Cotton is an excellent restaurant. Great food and ambiance. We have ate there twice. Once in 2015 and again 6/12/2016. We were a group of 4 and ate a variety of entrees. Everyone was totally pleased and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was nothing special. Just okay. Pri ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was nothing special. Just okay. Price was too high for the quality.

food4
ambience4
service5

Decor was very nice. Table for 2 is smal ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Decor was very nice. Table for 2 is small so a bit tough to get everything arranged but doable. Service was excellent -attentive but not smothering. The cornbread they brought was moist if you got a center piece. The cinnamon roll was tasty but not warm. Crab cake benedict was good but I prefer not so much breading and my poached wggs were a bit overcooked. The grits were good - great texture and flavor. Portions are large but it was hard to stop eating! I would go again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best shrimp and grits I've had - good sh ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Best shrimp and grits I've had - good shrimp, real vegetables and not oily like other versions. We also enjoyed the South Carolina peach and chicken salad and the watermelon gazpacho. Service was excellent. The only thing that would be better would be to have the band perform in the dining room - its not really a "Jazz brunch" as advertised when you can hardly hear the music because they are in another room altogether to the diners. However we took our coffee in the bar afterwards so we could listen to the last half hour of music.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great brunch destination. Loved t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

What a great brunch destination. Loved the fresh made doughnut holes. The part we loved more than the food and more than the service was the live band. It was just a three man band in the corner, but we really loved listening to them while eating. It was just loud enough to hear, but not loud enough that we couldn't talk comfortably. It's definitely worth a repeat.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an outstanding restaurant . We had ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

What an outstanding restaurant . We had a corner window table that was great for people watching. Can't wait to go back when we are in Charleston.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our special request received thoughtful ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our special request received thoughtful attention. Pleasant ambience. Menu offered ample choices. Attractive presentation. Food well prepared and well seasoned.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We started at bar with friendly service, ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We started at bar with friendly service, great drinks, nice live music. Moved to dinner with a lovely window table, excellent service, and delicious meal. The staff made our anniversary dinner delightful in every way... for at least the fifth year in a row!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner with phenomenal ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an amazing dinner with phenomenal service. I give them 10 stars!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. It mad ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. It made a perfect date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Bloody Mary, crab cake Benedict, White L ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Bloody Mary, crab cake Benedict, White Lily Flower biscuit, cornbread - perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best scallops I've ever had an ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I had the best scallops I've ever had and the service was great. I'm very picky about scallops.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love to visit High Cotton when we are ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I love to visit High Cotton when we are in town. Food and service is always outstanding. Difficult to decide on what to eat as ALL meals are delicious. A wide variety of choices and an attentive staff makes the evening quite enjoyable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the ravioli.was outstanding

Dined on June 10, 2016

an excellent spot for a great meal and.good.value. the waitstaff was great. we are a rather critical group and we found it to be an awsone dining experiwnce. presentation was impeccable. only complaint was the asparagus bernaise was a little overdone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.