About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 10:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
2 More
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (245)
fit for foodies (215)
romantic (174)
See All
great for brunch (120)
neighborhood gem (93)
good for groups (87)
notable wine list (86)
vibrant bar scene (56)
hot spot (56)
great for lunch (51)
scenic view (20)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (12)
 (7)
 (5)
 (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great crab cake Benedict! Live jazz Sund ...

Dined a day ago

Great crab cake Benedict! Live jazz Sunday brunch.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great special occasion restaurant

Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated a friend's birthday with a trip to Charleston and dinner at High Cotton. Great restaurant. The only draw back is a very high noise level.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from the minute we walked in, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything from the minute we walked in, to the desert was outstanding! Delicious meal and Quaint environment!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best wedge salad I have ever had! The du ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best wedge salad I have ever had! The duck was fabulous. Great date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Charleston for our 1st weddin ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were in Charleston for our 1st wedding anniversary. I made the reservation in advance and told them it was our anniversary. The entire staff, at least everyone that we interacted with told us congratulations. The manager and waitress that we had made sure that we had an exceptional experience. They gave us complimentary champagne, a tasting of poached lobster with mango chutney from the chef, and my wife got her dessert for free. The food was perfectly cooked, and I am kind of a food snob so that's saying a lot! I got the filet oscar, my wife got jusy the filet, and we shared the crawfish gnocci and the potatoes au gratin. The best steak I've ever eaten hands down. The staff was very attentive and I don't think that my water glass was ever less than half full. I cannot say enough to how much we appreciated this place and if you need a great place to go, this is the only one I can imagine recommending.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top 10 dinners I've had in my ...

Dined 7 days ago

One of the top 10 dinners I've had in my life the low country cuisine was fantastic the service was great and it gave us a chance to visit Halls mgmt groups restaurants including the chophouse which is also amazing best steakhouse in the country and now I know why!!! If you go to Charleston and don't end up at one of Halls establishments your doing it all wrong

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Food was delicious and ...

Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful dinner! Food was delicious and ambiance was perfect for the occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best carpaccio we have ever eat ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The very best carpaccio we have ever eaten. We also enjoyed the duck breast. The wine selection was fabulous and the server(Jessica) was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and cocktails. Service co ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful food and cocktails. Service couldn't be better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to High Cotton many times as it is one of my go to spots in Charleston. I have always had great food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best shrimp and grits that I have had. D ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best shrimp and grits that I have had. Delicious brunch!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful from start to finish. Had a b ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish. Had a birthday celebration there, and the table was set with a special birthday card from the staff at High Cotton. The artichoke and spinach ravioli was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever eaten. Very light but flavorful and dressed in a delicate fresh tomato sauce. We pre-ordered the praline souffle and I suggest you do as well. Not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sarah

Dined on May 21, 2016

The staff was so friendly and our group dining experience was very special!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Little over-priced, but food was pretty ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Little over-priced, but food was pretty good. Good service, quiet. We were there at 5:30 though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect special occasion visit

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have enjoyed High Cotton for over 5 years. Food has always been great , two exceptional dishes this trip, a spicy "Shrimp n Grits " and the ahi tuna. We would recommend these for your next visit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and awesome food and se ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and awesome food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab stuffed mushrooms, caprese salad sp ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Crab stuffed mushrooms, caprese salad special w/green tomatoes and seared scallop entre were excellent as well as server Kim and her team. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were anxious to try High Cotton based ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were anxious to try High Cotton based on a favorable review read in the "Washington Post". High Cotton more than met our expectations for its food, presentation, atmosphere, and excellent service. Definitely try some of their specialty drinks which were very tasty. My heirloom caprese salad was one of the best I've ever had and the generous sized filet mignon was perfectly cooked and tender. My husband enjoyed his duck also but the large portion was more than he could eat. You definitely won't leave hungry. Our only regret was that we were too full after the dinner to have room for what looked like potentially wonderful desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Shrimp and grits were awesome! Check ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Shrimp and grits were awesome! Check out the lounge for some live music and craft cocktails after dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch here. We originally booked High Cotton because they have a jazz band in th bar area playing during their brunch. We ended up sitting in a lovely,bright room near the bar as opposed to in the bar because HC thoughtfully pipes the music in, at a good volume. There is another dining room on the other side so diners have plenty of pretty options of where to sit. Food was tasty. Server Melissa extremely attentive. Water glasses and coffee cups kept full....always a good sign.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for lunch, and would go back for dinner !

Dined on May 14, 2016

party of five for lunch on a Saturday. It was fantastic on every level.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday brunch was great with live jazz ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Saturday brunch was great with live jazz band playing in background. Wonderful table by the window with excellent service and food! Will definitely return in the future!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy Ladies Night Out

Dined on May 13, 2016

Returning to Charleston after working there almost 20 years ago is always fun! High Cotton is still there and never disappoints! They gave us a round table in the corner of their back room which was perfect for our group of girls. Wine list is great, food delish, reservation was honored on time, and our server Jeremy was impeccable! Yum! Fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleased with everything about Hig ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always pleased with everything about High Cotton after multiple visits.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Special night was not so special....

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I like to celebrate our wedding anniversary at High Cotton when we are visiting Charleston. We had dinner there on Thursday, May 12. I made the reservation on March 8...yes, more than TWO MONTHS in ADVANCE. I requested to be seated in the East Bay Room. When we arrived for dinner, we were told that there was a private group in that room and that we couldn't be seated there...so, we were seated in the larger dining room right next to a group of 14 very loud people. You would think that someone from the restaurant would have had the common sense and courtesy to contact me and let me know that they could not accommodate my seating request thereby giving me the option to change the date of our reservation or cancel it....especially since, as I said earlier, the reservation was made more than 2 months in advance. I was VERY disappointed and it took me quite a while to get into our 'special dinner mood'. There was a small piece of paper on the table with 'Happy Anniversary' handwritten on it. Other years we received complimentary glasses of bubbly...not this time. The food was very good...the server was adequate. Based on this experience at High Cotton, we will not be returning to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

High Cotton is highly recommended

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had flown all day and arrived half an hour before they began to serve. We were starving. We were shown to their very nice bar and enjoyed a very good cheese tray and shrimp cocktails. They serve excellent cocktails and we settled in nicely. Dinner was lovely, great steak and fish. Desserts varied and rich. We loved it!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's all about the details...

Dined on May 12, 2016

It's all about the details in the way they prepare the food. The subtle flavors and carefully seasoned extra touches are what keeps High Cotton consistently a cut above their competition in downtown Charleston - and there's a lot of serious competition there, too. Reservations made well in advance via the opentable website are strongly recommended. My other recommendation? Try the shrimp and grits. It's superb.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Delicious food. Fried ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent service. Delicious food. Fried oysters excellent starter.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT IN QUALITY, TASTE ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT IN QUALITY, TASTE AND PRESENTATION. THE STAFF WAS COURTEOUS AND VERY EFFICIENT.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always great but I do find the n ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is always great but I do find the noise level to be the biggest negative, it is very hard to hear in the dining room when you have softer talking people. Other than that we always enjoy the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Bad seating, SLOW delivery from kitchen

Dined on May 8, 2016

Despite the availability of other two-tops, we were initially seated in "waiter's alley", all hustle-bustle. My dinner partner had a view of nothing but frenetic kitchen and waitstaff. I'm guessing our table was a "Mother's Day addition" to the floor. It should have been removed after brunch; in fact, a table should not live there. Our request to move after delayed delivery of appetizers was granted, but we then waited overlong for entrees. I ordered Filet Oscar. It arrived cold; the quality of the filet for $48 was definitely downscale. The crabmeat was sufficient, asparagus and sauce nice. Go for a seafood entree. These people apparently can't recognize a good cut of beef from a bad. We had a 6:30 reservation; our entrees arrived a little after 8:00. Friendly peeps - but with all of the other Charleston options, keep looking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had an awesome brunch on Mothers Day wit ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an awesome brunch on Mothers Day with a party of 10, good was delicious, our waiter was awesome and it was by far the best Mother's Day yet!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Expresso Martini

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is delicious, service is great- and the Expresso Martini makes every brunch date even more delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best of Charleston

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first visit to High Cotton and certainly not our last. The food was above and beyond anything we've had in Charleston. The service was top notch and the dinner was incredible. We had two seafood entries (Scallops & Trigger Fish), which were perfectly executed and cooked. What a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We drive to Charleston just to go to High Cotton

Dined on May 6, 2016

High Cotton is one of the best restaurants in Charleston. The menu is great and the food is delicious. Our waitress Kim on Friday evening was exceptional. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had

Dined on May 5, 2016

My partner and I had dinner at High Cotton - Charleston and it was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. I had asked in advance to be seated at a table where we'd be served by their most fun, energetic server and our server that evening, Melissa, was just that -- fun, energetic, attentive, and took very good care of us during our dining experience. My partner had a filet mignon -- cooked to perfection. I had the wreckfish, which was a special on their menu that evening, and it was absolutely spectacular. Perhaps because we were there on Mother's Day weekend, the restaurant was very busy and there were lots of large groups dining, but there's an area towards the back where you go up a few steps and there are about three or four tables tucked away from the main dining area, which may be nice to request if you're seeking a more intimate, quiet dining experience. A tall gentleman that was all suited up, most likely the manager, would go around to every table to ask how everyone was doing. He would pour wine whenever he noticed a glass was almost empty at tables with a bottle, which is a good sign as you know that means the manager has his eye on everything going on in the dining area. After I got back from Charleston, I received a hand written card from our server that evening, Melissa, who thanked us for dining with them. That was the very first time I had ever received a thank you note from a server. It's quite clear that High Cotton takes really good care of their guests. Would I go back to High Cotton if I'm in Charleston again? Most definitely.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TexasMama

Dined on May 4, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful and the Shrimp n' Grits was absolutely incredible! Very pleasant dining experience. Nice people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Noise Center

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We had booked the dinner 3 weeks in advance. We were given a small 2-person table next to 3 extremely large round tables. The noise level was so loud that we had to stand up and bend over the table to talk to each other. Either Charleston natives are extremely free-spirted and do not care about other dining guests, or people visiting were louder than trying to dine in a Texas Steak House. We had ordered our selections 'well-done' but were delivered raw and rubbery. The manager did take them back and they were returned well-done. And in between time, they did serve soup that we had not ordered. At the end they did bring a couple of glasses of champagne. So the night was saved. But, if you want to be able to speak to you partner and have a memorable evening, it would be best to lean how to read lips before you book a reservation.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Why make reservations if you still have to wait?

Dined on May 1, 2016

We made Brunch reservations on Sunday for 4 adults and one child at 11:30 am. We arrived around 11:20am and were told that it would be right at 11:30 because the table that was reserved for us was still occupied. We were not seated until 12:05 pm. People came in and were seated upon arrival while we waited and waited. Once seated, our server took a very long time getting our drink order. She was not very friendly and not very attentive to our table. The food was good and we enjoyed visiting with our family, however it was not a good experience. We own a timeshare at Lodge Alley and stay there several times a year. It is very easy to walk downstairs and enter the restaurant, however we will be happy to walk several blocks to Halls Chophouse or Husk during our next visits. Because it carries the Hall family name, I assumed that the service and friendliness would be transparent. My mistake!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

The live music was a nice touch. High Steppin' Cocktails were nicely presented. Crab Cake Benedict was a delicious choice. Grits were a bit bland but that happens on occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.