About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Osso Buco
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash
Pull Apart Bread
Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan
Crabcake Benedict
Venison
Huevos rancheros
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella
Espresso Martini
Rum
Roasted Duck Hash
Buttermilk Fried Oysters
Beef Carpaccio
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck
Southern Mule
Cornbread
Chicken and Waffles
High Cotton Benedict
Short Ribs
New York Strip
Yellowtail Tuna Melt
Oysters Florentine
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping
Cassoulet
Firetag
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts
Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Charleston
3 More
Special Occasion
Charleston
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (262)
Fit for Foodies (206)
Romantic (168)
See All
Great for Brunch (122)
Neighborhood Gem (110)
Good for Groups (104)
Notable Wine List (101)
Hot Spot (64)
Great for Lunch (52)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Scenic View (29)
Kid-friendly (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dinning experience was excellent the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The dinning experience was excellent the service was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is, as usual, excellent. As it ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is, as usual, excellent. As it got busy later in the evening it was a bit more noisy, but High Cotton is totally dependable for a great meal, whatever you choose.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The people were warm and friendly as we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The people were warm and friendly as we walked into the restaurant. The friendliness continued with our server Melissa. She shared the specials of the day. The deviled eggs for the appetizer were excellent. The scallops were especially delicious and tasty. Since it was our anniversary, we enjoyed the delicious cheesecake. The atmosphere in the restaurant was nice. Service was well-timed. We have eaten here before on special occasions and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant was good, but did not meet my ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant was good, but did not meet my expectation for food taste or service. As I said good not excellent which I thought based on prices not really worthy or more than 3 stars. Too many great restaurants in Charleston to spend a night here. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Despite being busy my wife and I were ab ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Despite being busy my wife and I were able to converse with each other and our waiter without difficulty. Staff was very helpful in guiding us through the menu so as to avoid allergens and suggesting great wine pairings. Love the historic ambiance and decor.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered the scallops which he ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband ordered the scallops which he said were delicious. We both started with the Charleston crab soup which was pit of this world. I had the filet mignon which came perfectly prepared. We ordered the Brussel sprouts and mushrooms for side dishes. Best Brussel sprouts ever. The mushrooms were quite good. Our waiter Tony was personable and knew the menu. He was very attentive. Overall fabulous dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent, always good service, a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always excellent, always good service, a great place for any occasion...or excuse!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good: warm, attentive servi ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Consistently good: warm, attentive service, beautiful dining room and excellent food. We were here last year during the October flood, and they stayed open as long as they could to service the attached hotel; even the manager was waiting tables!! Our Sunday brunch this week was just as lovely as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for brunch. Some constru ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful place for brunch. Some construction outside was underway and the building was covered with a mesh so it blocked the view a bit. Everything else made up for that!! GREAT place!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Took some out of town guests to High Cot ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Took some out of town guests to High Cotton for dinner on Saturday. The food was excellent and our server was good. I had an outstanding tuna/watermelon appetizer...highly recommended. The other three guests had shrimp and grits and raved about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The atmosphere and Jazz were very good. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphere and Jazz were very good. The restaurant feels like old Charleston. Our waiter Sean did an excellent job, even though he was very busy. I think it's got a romantic atmosphere and a good place to impress your out of town friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected High Cotton for our 50th weddin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Selected High Cotton for our 50th wedding anniversary dinner based on the excellent OT reviews. We were not disappointed. When we made the reservation, we requested "a nice table in a quiet area." They gave us a very comfortable booth large enough for at least 4 people in a raised area at the rear of the main dining room, which had very high ceilings. It was indeed pleasantly quiet allowing conversation at normal volume. We had come in early to escape a sweltering and oppressive mid-August heat wave and had drinks and appetizer in the bar. The Portobello fries were delicious and were served with a tasty tarragon aioli.

Dinner started with a complimentary glass of champagne and a caprese salad with local yellow tomatoes served with fresh burrata cheese and basil pesto - simple but absolutely delicious. Entrees were baked halibut with Creole pirlou and filet mignon with grilled asparagus and bearnaise sauce. Both were perfectly cooked and seasoned just right. Dessert was triple chocolate cheesecake, also complimentary, and was a fitting ending to a terrific meal. In all everything was extremely well done and sophisticated enough without being too exotic or experimental.

All the staff were professional, informative, attentive, and extremely pleasant. Turned out our waiter, Tony, was, like ourselves, a transplant to the south from Connecticut. Combined with the fine food, they made the occasion the enjoyable evening we'd hoped it would be.

Tags: Organic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had great service. It's too bad the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had great service. It's too bad the food was not at the same level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We wanted low country cooking and we pic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We wanted low country cooking and we picked the right place. First off, the soups were delish. We had both the mushroom bisque and the watermelon and cucumber gazpacho. Both were excellent. I went to the crab cakes next. No fillers just crab and seasonings the way it should be. We finished with the key lime pie. It was more creamy and custardy than usual and that was a good thing. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High cotton was the perfect place for my ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

High cotton was the perfect place for my 30th bday dinner! They really made me feel special ...the staff was excellent but if that wasn't enough the food was fantastic and I know good food! Drinks were great, dessert was delicious, ambiance just right, and they even had a band in the bar area that played nice music not too loud perfect for dinner! I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just an amazing dining experience, great ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Just an amazing dining experience, great service, food was incredible and my wife hasn't stopped talking about the soufflé!! A "must do" when Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we walked into high cotton the plac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

When we walked into high cotton the place smelled like mold- just not a great vibe. Moving on... The place just opened we had 8 people including my 2 kids so it was empty just say they sat us at the worst table not near a window but in the middle of the resy closest to the kitchen okay trying to be optimistic. We order cocktails some bus girl keeps asking me if I want I kiddie cup for my 3 year um yes they bring her drink in a coffee cup - my "Charleston" cocktail was just bad.. Fried oysters lacked sauce too much breading, kids meals & salads horrible presentations for the adults meals just fine; Oscar steaks, trout, crab cakes, Bibb salads, heirloom salad's..nothing was excellent when I travel to Charleston I want excellent not mediocre plus they r not kid friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Heard great reviews of High Cotton. Our ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Heard great reviews of High Cotton. Our dining experience was no different. Food was absolutely outstanding. Everyone in our party of 6 commented that it was one of the best restaurants any of us had dined at.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable and food was deli ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was impeccable and food was delicious. We never felt rushed and loved having a corner table in one of the quieter rooms. It was a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we have enjoyed dining at High Cot ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

While we have enjoyed dining at High Cotton for many years, we were disappointed with this visit. The food and quality of wait staff was good, it took much to long to get our food. The restaurant was busy, but not overly crowded so it was hard to understand why it took so long to get our food. It will be awhile before we return to see if this has become the standard or if was just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Entertained two business clients for din ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Entertained two business clients for dinner and as always the atmosphere, food, and wait staff were excellent. This was their fist time at High Cotton and they were very impressed. Best Restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were there for our 57th we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My wife and I were there for our 57th wedding anaversary and every employee was so gracious and considerate and they made the occasion even more special. I have traveled the world and dined at many very nice restaurants, many with exceptional menues and service, but High Cotton has it all in one attractive package. Be sure to include it in your visit to Charleston, SC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Charleston on our honey ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were visiting Charleston on our honeymoon and were referred to High Cotton by our hotel. I'm so glad we found this restaurant. It was an amazing atmosphere with delicious food and awesome service. We had the oysters and beef tartar to start, then duck and the filet with truffle butter. Everything was so yummy and we had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, knowledgable friendly sta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service, knowledgable friendly staff, variety of high quality meals, great desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for Sunday br ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service for Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating the grandfather's bi ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were celebrating the grandfather's birthday. Having grandkids from 13 to 3 isa challenge. Evan, our waiter, handled the logistics well. Great evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch I've ever had. Bar none!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The best brunch I've ever had. Bar none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and grits are very good!!!!!! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The shrimp and grits are very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Get. The. Doughnut hol ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was amazing. Get. The. Doughnut holes. I can't stress this enough. The French toast were HUGE slices and the American breakfast was as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent 4 nights in Charleston celebra ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We spent 4 nights in Charleston celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and ate at several very nice restaurants. This was a favorite and one of the best meals we had. Our waiter, Eric, provided excellent service and helped us with our menu choices. The trout stuffed with crab (husband's meal) was excellent and my grouper was very good. Eric insisted on sending us out with a huge slice of chocolate cheesecake that we enjoyed the next morning with sliced peaches for breakfast!

Before dinner, we enjoyed the world Famous Espresso Martini and it was fabulous but next time would have it after dinner!

Prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is my 2nd visit and it was just as ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is my 2nd visit and it was just as good as the first time. One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely experience at High Cotto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a lovely experience at High Cotton. Staff were warm, efficient, and professional. The food was so delicious! The overall experience was a very positive one!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was outstanding. He was atten ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding. He was attentive but not overbearing; he was engaging and personable. The cocktails and food were extraordinary. The shrimp and grits were beyond my usual expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely night in Charleston. We had a d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A lovely night in Charleston. We had a delicious meal - I started with oysters and had the flounder stuffed with blue crab for the main entree. Delicious. Great and attentive service. Would highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits were fabulous and the r ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Shrimp and grits were fabulous and the roasted Brussels Sprouts a must. Save room for the praline ice cream!! We loved sitting in the corner on the upper banquette. A lovely evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful creative cuisine. Mushrooms st ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful creative cuisine. Mushrooms stuffed with crabmeat and cheese exceptional Lovely wine list and attentive service (Jennifer).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Date night meal! Pleasant and attentive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Date night meal! Pleasant and attentive staff; impeccable surroundings; great ambience with the 3-piece jazz band playing. Though my husband's gin and tonic was NOT a successful part of the evening, the shrimp cocktail app was lovely. For dinner the halibut was perfectly cooked and flavorful; as was my husband's 16oz ribeye. Au gratin (Gruyere) potatoes were AMAZING, also had a delectable side of Brussels sprouts. In-season peach cobbler finished our meal beautifully. An extremely enjoyable evening out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best places we ate at while i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of the best places we ate at while in Charleston! If you have a gluten allergy they have a ton of options and are super careful about it as well! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Folks, this was by far the best restaura ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Folks, this was by far the best restaurant I have ever been to. Neither my wife or myself have ever had a tastier steak or shrimp and grits. Absolute wow for these folks. Super friendly, and quick service! GET THE STEAK!! You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.