About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: 8776241064

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Osso Buco
Bibb Lettuce Salad With Fried Green Tomatoes
Tequila Grapefruit And Lime
Shrimp And Oyster Gumbo
Swordfish With Sweet Potato Hash
Pull Apart Bread
Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Southern Mule And Top Shelf Manhattan
Crabcake Benedict
Venison
Huevos rancheros
Buffalo Mozzarella Panzanella
Espresso Martini
Rum
Roasted Duck Hash
Buttermilk Fried Oysters
Beef Carpaccio
Donuts With Pecan And Bacon Jam
Cassoulet With Pork Belly And Duck
Cornbread
Southern Mule
Chicken and Waffles
High Cotton Benedict
Short Ribs
New York Strip
Yellowtail Tuna Melt
Oysters Florentine
Warm Doughnuts With Bacon Topping
Firetag
Cassoulet
Filet Mignon With Fried Brussels Sprouts
Triggerfish With Local Bean Ragout
Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Charleston
3 More
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (279)
fit for foodies (239)
romantic (178)
See All
great for brunch (134)
good for groups (109)
neighborhood gem (109)
notable wine list (108)
hot spot (65)
great for lunch (55)
vibrant bar scene (51)
scenic view (28)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic. One of my favorite ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely fantastic. One of my favorite perks of Charleston are the many wonderful restaurants, and High Cotton never disappoints. From the ambience to the impeccable service to the perfectly prepared meal, it remains a favorite and I will return again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here for dinner and loved i ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been here for dinner and loved it. Brunch was a different story. The yolks were broken on my over easy eggs and the grits were dry. My fiancé ordered poached medium eggs for her Benedict, they came out with the egg whites slimy and uncooked, when we sent them back, they returned with basically a hard boiled egg. Too many bachelorette parties.

Recommend for dinner based on the last time we were there, but I cannot recommend for brunch since it seems like they can't properly cook an egg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Our trip to High Cotton for dinner was d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our trip to High Cotton for dinner was definitely a highlight of our 10 day stay in Charleston.

The food, wine, and service was fantasic. We will absolutely come back on our next visit to Charleston .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding! We thoroughl ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed it. Thx for making our visit to Charlestown special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the vegetarian entreechoices are sparse ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

the vegetarian entreechoices are sparse (one! ) therefore you doubt it is made fresh. The gazpacho soup though seasonal was below par.

The duck and crab soup was above average. I could get the same mela at half the price elsewhere.

Though I won't come back to this restaurant , I will recommend it for its location and ambience if at all.

Service at our table was very friendly and warm. Surely tried to make up for quality of food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The entrées (braised duck and filet mign ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

The entrées (braised duck and filet mignon) were excellent. The sides substandard. The wine selection was excellent with notable pairings. Service for evening lackluster.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Jonathan was excellent. Great care taken ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Jonathan was excellent. Great care taken with my food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVED High Cotton! We were visiting Char ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

LOVED High Cotton! We were visiting Charleston, one of our very favorite cities. High Cotton was a recommended dining spot. We were so pleased. The setting was fun, but sophisticated, with refined service and excellent food. We shared a bib salad with applewood bacon, a delicious memorable salad. I had a uniquely prepared Tuna filet mignon. It was fabulous.

We will surley return to High Cotton next time we visit Charleston. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food! Had table by windows. Loved ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

great food! Had table by windows. Loved the view and ambiance .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything from the ambiance, service an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything from the ambiance, service and food was outstanding! Many great restaurants in Charleston but don't miss High Cotton!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my top 3 restaurants in Charlesto ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of my top 3 restaurants in Charleston. Excellent food and service with a most comfortable dining experience. I really like the recent menu changes to include more choices of local seafood.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience at High Cotton ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great experience at High Cotton.. Very good fish and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service at High Cotton was excellent ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service at High Cotton was excellent. Our waitress provided detailed explanations of the dishes, made suggestions when requested, and was overall very friendly. The food was very good. I had duck and my wife king crab legs with a couple sides. I would recommend both dishes. Also, we actually decided to sit in the lounge area instead of at our reserved table because the music was great. So,why did I not give it 5 stars? I personally reserve 5 stars for restaurants that leave me in awe. Though the duck was clearly very good, and different from other similar dishes at downtown restaurants, it did not leave my palette screaming for just one more bite. This to me is the difference between good and great. I would definitely recommend High Cotton if you are looking to mark it off your list of restaurant experiences here in the Charleston area. If you are only here for a limited time, and do not return regularly, then there are other experiences I would recommend over High Cotton. Then again, I am clearly not a food critic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent. We really enjoy the Sunday br ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent. We really enjoy the Sunday brunch here every time we visit Charleston. However, I do wish they would bring the jazz music back as the blue grass they had was a little too loud and not very enjoyable

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are teaching the art of brunch. We no ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We are teaching the art of brunch. We not disappointed. All three of us left very happy food, atmosphere & personal from our waiter Eric were !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend in Summerville. We had a total of 6 people, and everyone loved their food. I had the shrimp and grits; it is the best I have had. The service was superb. The speakers were right over our table, and it was a bit loud, but the sound was turned down when we asked.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation here for a Saturday ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I made a reservation here for a Saturday night at 8pm, about 3 days in advance. I was hesitant due to some reviews of the noise level, but on the reservation I specifically requested a quiet table and added that it was my wife's birthday. Our table was excellent, in a corner of the front room, and was perfect for comfortable conversation while also allowing us to people-watch. Our hostess and our waitress each made a point to wish my wife a happy birthday. Also, both managers stopped by to surprise us each with a complimentary glass of champagne along with happy birthday well-wishes. My wife thought that was great, as she was not expecting it. I had the shrimp and grits, which was a little spicy/hot for me but was still delicious and well-presented. My wife had the Filet Oscar, which was cooked to her liking and we both enjoyed it as well. We shared the peach cobbler with ice cream for desert, and although not as good as Mom's (we are from the South), it was very respectable (peach cobbler is like BBQ--it all depends on what kind you were raised on!). I will say that while most websites listed the dress code here as "casually elegant," we did see the full spectrum of dress, from suits and dresses to shorts, polo's and ball caps. My wife wore a dress and some sparkly jewelry and I wore dress pants, a navy blazer, and a button down dress shirt, but from our experience it looks like most anything would be acceptable. We had a fantastic experience and would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and fabulous, friendly se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious food and fabulous, friendly service. Thanks Melissa.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancier than we were expecting for brunc ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fancier than we were expecting for brunch, dressy attire is accurate! Amazing food and service. Shrimp and Grits are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Charleston restaurant, food qualit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Charleston restaurant, food quality exceptional, very professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Having dinner at High Cotton makes a spe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having dinner at High Cotton makes a special occasion extraordinary. The attention to detail is superb! We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived until the close of the meal. I have been to this restaurant for business meetings in the past and enjoyed the friendly wait staff and amazing food, but dinner in the dining room ups the game and exceeded all our expectations. Thanks to everyone for a kickoff celebration to a fabulous weekend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony, our server, was phenomenal. Knew t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tony, our server, was phenomenal. Knew the menu, offered suggestions, great personality!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a table of five. Clients with fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were a table of five. Clients with friends. The menu selection was very nice, we ordered a few items to share along with entrees and dessert. . Low country ambiance, well appointed bar with nice music. Our server, Jessica, was very helpful, pleasant and patient with a few of our "livelier" guests. A lovely evening in the Holy City. Our guests were very pleased with High Cotton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must go for the foodie. Food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is a must go for the foodie. Food and service was fantastic from start to finish. Enjoyed great crab bisque to start. The yellowfin tuna was fantastic and my wife loved the duck. I'd book your reservation now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to High Cotton before. Quick b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have been to High Cotton before. Quick birthday trip which was noted in the reservation. At brunch, doughnuts took forever. We were told they were being remade because they were not up to their

standards. No plates for doughnuts or cornbread for quite awhile. We finally asked another server. Potatoes both French fries and

home style were cold. Our brunch reservation was at 1:00 so really not even at the end of brunch. Birthday was mentioned as we ordered champagne but was never addressed. Overall, not the experience we were hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great place to enjoy high quality food. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to enjoy high quality food. Stellar service and the doughnut holes are a must have for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous. Brunch was amazing.

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous. Brunch was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the most flavorful dinner I have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the most flavorful dinner I have ever had! Love it. Service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice jazz music in a wonderful setting w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice jazz music in a wonderful setting with very good food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This used to be one of my favorite place ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite places in Charleston. Looks like they have lost their magic touch. Meat and duck both way over cooked. Nothing was extremely good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our experience was amazing! Service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our experience was amazing! Service was top notch and the food was incredible. I enjoyed the triggerfish with collard greens and my husband had the scallops and lobster. Every course was delicious and I'm so glad we saved the best for last on our trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Charleston restaurant for ov ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My favorite Charleston restaurant for over 10 years

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing We had our two gi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was amazing We had our two girls with us (8 & 10). It was family friendly while still being very nice. Melissa our server was awesome and made us feel at home

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding time. The shrimp and grits w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Outstanding time. The shrimp and grits were amazing! Wife got some type is fish w pesto sauce. Very unique and she loved it. Great service. Very nice people. Jazz in bar good touch. Pushed the fried oysters. They were good but raw might've been better. Still would highly recommend this place for a high end dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner on the Fourth of July and had ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had dinner on the Fourth of July and had an outstanding time! Food, service and atmosphere was incredible. Highly recommended this establishment! Steaks were unbelievable!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was awesome! And the entire staf ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was awesome! And the entire staff is friendly. The gazpacho was good --a perfect starter on a hot July afternoon in Charleston. Salads were great-- loved the fried green tomato. Caesar was good-- just the right amount of dressing to keep in light but flavorful. Lobster tail and scallops were awesome and the crab cakes some of the best I have tasted. The halibut was fresh but a bit dry-- was poached but a bit over done. Nonetheless, was a fantastic dining experience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jeremy (our server) was outstanding (eng ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Jeremy (our server) was outstanding (engaged, attentive, helpful)!!! We sat in the back going through the bar (first time and it was very pleasant back there). Three of us knew the menu and two didn't. He was superb with the 2 new diners. Had a very long brunch and the food was outstanding, too. Jeremy represents the restaurant well and I consider him a valuable asset for you guys. My guests were severely impressed with the service, food, and our table location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend and her husband to Sunda ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took a friend and her husband to Sunday's brunch. She and I enjoyed our salmon. He was unhappy with his grits being clumpy - such together. Our waiter brought us another bowl and he still was not pleased. I tasted them and thought they tasted great! Otherwise, we had a wonderful time! we were given the birthday girl's choice of dessert, which I thought was so nice, and were offered free champagne, which I thought was very special and generous. I was the only one who took one! Our waiter was on his last day of training and was wonderful and we also appreciated his trainer who also came to check on us and him. We had a great time and I hope to be back soon. Do you ever have gospel singers on Sunday?

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch on Sunday was excellent as wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our brunch on Sunday was excellent as was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It may seem impossible to have imaginati ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It may seem impossible to have imaginative and fresh fare, within a southern comfortable environment, that is impressive without being pretentious...High Cotton hits all 5s.

We experienced a great meal while being well cared for by a very good staff.

Shawn is at the top of his game. The food was prepared with very interesting layers of flavor, yet didn't lose its identity.

We quite literally made reservations for a return trip before we left the restaurant. You will too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.