About Herons

Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.

100 Woodland Pond Drive
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm by reservation only

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 447-4200

Website:
http://www.theumstead.com/

Entertainment:
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.

Catering:
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.

Executive Chef:
Steven Devereaux Greene

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Took 2 speakers from a seminar I planned to dinner. Everyone loved it, & it also happened to be my b'day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing, you have to go each season at least!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always, Herons provided an excellent atmosphere to accompany their incredible food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was excellent and friendly! Food and presentation was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing service! 🙏🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

What an amazing dining experience! Everything was perfection. Started at the bar for pre-dinner cocktails that were expertly crafted, then 3 course dinner with amazing wine. The service was impeccable. We sat outside, such a beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I made a mistake adjusting the way the Chef prepared and presented the brioche French Toast. My choices did not improve the taste at all

I would never do that again

Also the de-caf coffee tasted ok. But it was not hot enough

Also I would never order smoked bacon again
Very very salty

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful service, beautiful--as well as delicious food, and a quiet elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The ambience is sophisticated.....the service is exceptional...the food presentation is elegant..the food and wine were interesting but not particularly memorable..ours was a special anniversary celebration and for that it fit the bill...Given is pricing,however, I doubt we would consider it for a normal Saturday night out...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The blueberry pancakes were average. The turkey bacon and orange juice were pretty good.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved my experience at Herons. Excellent food and service! Best brunch ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was FABULOUS! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great place to go in the triangle for Brunch. Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A remarkable meal by all measures. The oysters were amazing, as well as the foie and the steak. The "perfume" dessert was surprising, light and floral. The dishes were highly technical and executed perfectly. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely made our weekend, thank you so very much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Best dining experience ever. A great birthday celebration; service, presentation, taste and texture were superb. Prix Fixe menu has a good selection plus there are terrific treats between the courses. Don't leave off dessert- some interesting uses of liquid nitrogen.
Heron's lives up to its 5 star rating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was delicious. I wish I could say the same for the service and the ambiance. We've had various great dining experiences in the Triangle, nationally, and internationally. I would've hoped a restaurant with these bonafides (and price tag) would have stacked up. However, we had atrocious service -- soaking wet tablecloth and no attempt to move us, give us a new cloth, or any kind of attempt to make the situation better (would have preferred the bar), slowest meal coursing I have ever experienced (50 min before first food and at least 30 before a drink other than water was brought -- had to ask for it, was never offered), and the restaurant had very loud, obviously drunken patrons speaking so loudly it was impossible to dine comfortably. We did enjoy the food, but the other issues and the timing of the meal were too much. I would have loved to have left in the first 30 min, but they charge a $50 fee! for any reservation cancellation within 24 hrs -- we were their hostages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

By far best food presentation I've ever seen. GO experience it for yourself.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Herons always provides a wonderful atmosphere, with amazing food! My wife and I have had brunch here on three different occasions, and have njoyed each opportunity!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Hats off to our Service Professional, Scott Hoppmann! He made our dining experience the best we have ever had. I was very impressed that he took note on my Open Table reservation where I asked how the foie gras was prepared, that it was Ras' birthday and the foie gras was an important part of the meal. He made it very personal and directed the preparation and description to Ras. PERFECT~ He was very knowledgeable about the menu, wines, paring, etc. The food was to die for - presentation was very impressive. We went with the 3 and 4 course with wine paring option and it was the best decision we could have made. We will return to Herons and we will request Scott Hoppmann again! Thank you all for making this birthday celebration a memorable one. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

An event not just a meal. The food is creative, explodes with flavor and presented like a gift for a king. The produce is mostly grown locally so the menu is always different. The wait staff is superb. Knowledgeable and available when needed. It is expensive so for us it is a special occasion place, but worth saving up for an evening of total enjoyment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good service , unique food and great wine pairings. Special birthday dinner!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had brunch, a bit pricey but an excellent dining experience. Service was outstanding, gluten-free options were plenty. Only issue was, hubby ordered 3 hard-boiled eggs with English muffin; he got 2 hard-boiled eggs & 2 English muffins. Beautiful restaurant, destination hotel.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The experience was wonderful. Great wine list. Food is very interesting, creative, but sometimes under-salted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wow. We truly stumbled on this restaurant looking for a July 4th opening before boarding an afternoon flight. A stunning setting, innovative menu, not at all stuffy servers and management. Food was outstanding, service perfect. I'd consider flying back for another weekend to stay and dine at this lovely place!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Whimsical and delicious. Amazing as always. My husband and I attend every year for his birthday, and we look forward to it all year!! I love that the menu morphs into each new season and something always surprises you! For the most part they have grown everything and most everything is local! Top notch service! We drive 2 hours and grab a room for the evening just for dinner at Herons! Quail deviled egg, pheasant miniature corn dog, dark chocolate foie gras served as your in between courses treat... Perfectly done.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolute treat for a special occasion. Can't wait to be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Herons is now a top notch restaurant with the highest standards of the best restaurants of New York City, London and Paris. We are fortunate to have such a great restaurant to enjoy here in North Carolina. The four course tasting menu with the wine pairing, is a dining experience which will be long remembered for the wonderful food, perfect wine pairings by Casey, and her fellow server team members John and Tim who are all the best! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

All of the food was phenomenal. The staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This is my favorite lunch spot. It's a little pricey, but worth it for business or special occasions.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

From start to finish, the experience was amazing. The service was wonderful and attentive, the presentation was exquisite and creative, the food was delicious and the concepts were creative and surprising. Overall, lovely. Definitely fit for someone who likes a delicious, unique experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The appetizer was so salty, ruined my taste to all meal, for a 4 course meal gourmet restaurant I didn't spect something like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Best food and beverage experience in North Carolina by far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch was delicious. Atmosphere lovely.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food & drinks with a smooth & relaxing ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Exquisite fine dining with comfortable spacing between courses in lovely setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Heron's for my birthday. The service was outstanding and I loved how nearly every member of the service team addressed me by my name! A few of the food offerings struck me as a little odd (Chocolate foie gras? Miniature quail corn dogs?) but the phenomenal experience and knowledgeable service staff definitely made up for it. Highly recommended for a special occasion!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 3 year wedding anniversary. Herons is an absolutely perfect place for celebrating any occasion. The chef and servers took very good care of us. We loved the wine and beer selection, different flavors and presentations. This was our first time at Herons. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.