About Herons

Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.

100 Woodland Pond Drive
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm by reservation only

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 447-4200

Website:
http://www.theumstead.com/

Entertainment:
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.

Catering:
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.

Executive Chef:
Steven Devereaux Greene

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Scenic View (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Honestly, disappointed. We have dined here a number of time- but that last time was 4 years ago- All were amazing experiences. Dinner was good. Presentations were beautiful. Flavors were underwhelming. I had the abalone- flavorless, other than the chewy fishy tasting fish. My husband had the ricotta crab- also disappointing. Foie gras was excellent, entrees were good, but not near the same class of Herons of the past. Sommelier and wait staff were outstanding, but for the price and the experience we were looking for and expecting, we will chose to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinners here are very expensive so we went to lunch. For $80 we got two appetizers, two main courses and a desert. Every one was epic. We got to see what they could do without the big bill.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our night before wedding meal was so amazing that we came back for Valentine's Day. It was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2018

It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Beautiful restaurant in a stunning hotel. Great food, service and ambiance. Formal without being stuffy. Menu is traditional yet inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Somelia was fantastic, and really explained the wines that were being served.
Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2018

I am well-versed at dining at this establishment as my wedding reception was at this hotel. Seems to have gone slightly downhill as far as service and.. The chair that I was originally sitting in had Dried coffee all over it. Seems like the bare minimum is going unnoticed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Fabulous. A truly memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Our food was wonderful. I had the kale salad with shrimp. The shrimp were large and very tasty. My friend had the sea bass and she said it too was very good. We shared the sweet potato dessert which came in a small glass terrarium type bowl. The presentation was amazing. The taste was very different but enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2018

The service and food were both phenomenal. Fantastic presentation of the food and an amazing experience. It could not have been any better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Of the 8 or 9 times I've dined at Heron's this was probably the best. Presentation of entrees was beautiful and creative and the desserts were beyond comparison. Simply gorgeous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Heron’s is a world class restaurant. Every detail has been designed and orchestrated for an exceptional experience. An international contender that should show up on the Michelin list pretty soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2018

We enjoyed brunch and have done so on several different occasions. It has always been delicious. Service was excellent. Love that they offer local products even the coffee. Brunch is a better fit for my budget than dinner. Also, they make everything so special right down to the flowers on the tables. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

There is nothing better than a meal at Herons. The service staff is extraordinary. The food is sublime. Ambiance is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Met a girlfriend for lunch. We had a delightful time. The service was impeccable though it did take a little time to get out iced tea. The food was amazing. I had the butternut squash soup and crab salad. The food was well seasoned and super fresh. Loved the apple in the soup and the fried scallions on the salad. Very refreshing. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We love Herons and we have dined before . We were celebrating our anniversary and decided to go to Herons. The food is amazing , the place is stunning and the service very good but a few little things were not Herons standard. I ordered steak and eggs, the steak took longer than usual because the first time it was over cooked so the chef made a new one but the wait was longer. I also ordered wheat toast and never got them. The sugar bowl was stained, it wasn’t impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We go for all our special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Reservation was for 9:30...supposedly sold out for brunch. Had requested a later time, with no avail. Not seated until after 10:00. Service good but very slow kitchen, with half the tables empty. Took an unusually long time to get served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Fabulous experience as always. The only small complaint the waitress wasn't able to properly describe the wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2017

During December 2017 I had the pleasure of dining at Herons at the Umstead Hotel 4 times during 4 separate weeks. Each time the floral displays were different--including the live flowers in the holiday trees. Food is always high quality and prepared beautifully and served artfully by the staff. The complimentary bread and chef's treat of the day are consistently gourmet creations. On this most recent visit I enjoyed the crab cakes, and my friend selected the lobster roll--both excellent choices. The Chihuly crystal art sculpture, the special art exhibits and pottery, the floral arrangements, and the addition of live music on some occasions--all make dining at Herons my top choice.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We went here for a Christmas lunch, and it was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent Christmas day brunch, everything was wonderful. May God bless us all. / Mark

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 22, 2017

This was my second trip to Heron's. My first trip to Herons, about 3 years ago, was amazing. One of the best meals I've ever had. My most recent trip was a bit...disappointing. The chef made plenty of interesting items, but none of them jumped out at me. I ordered the duck. 3 years ago it was the best duck I ever ate. This time? Not so much. Fat was not properly rendered off the duck, the duck was bit too chewy and it arrived luke-warm. The dessert for our latest trip was the biggest disappointment. The "autumnal" dessert is a mish-mash of chocolate, fruits, and other items on the plate. A complete miss. Service during my latest trip was still top-notch. For 3 years I considered Heron's the best restaurant in NC. Now? Not so sure. The food simply isnt as tasty as it use to be. Nothing I ate on my latest trip to Heron's makes me want to quickly return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Food very innovative and attractively presented but too much added salt. V good wine selection. Service was disappointing. Each ordered a drink one wine one cocktail, the cocktail was served at least 5 mins after the wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The offerings for the weekend brunch are beautifully prepared quality ingredients served artfully. Attention is given to any diet requests diners may need. This Sunday Brunch was the occasion of friends meeting before heading to RDU for travel to holiday destinations. It is so relaxing to begin a journey with fine dining and excellent service at Herons before leaving home.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Heron’s is classy but not ostentatious, food is delicious, service is pleasant but not hovering, and the lighting and art work add just the right touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2017

This is one of our "go to" places in Raleigh for a nice meal. The service has always been impeccable and the staff more than attentive; except on this occasion. Our waiter seemed preoccupied and if it hadn't been for Karla, our backup wait staff person, we would have been left in the lurch. We were hosting two of our favorite people and had built up expectations of what to expect, but the waiter, Gian, blew that out of the water. Luckily, the whole thing came together with the food and Ms. Karla. We will go back, just because we know that this was just a fluke and it's always a pleasure to be pampered the way that they do at Heron's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2017

This is the total experience in beautiful dining! The meals selected at my table were the cooked to order steaks. My daughter selected a beautiful fancy cocktail, and the recommended red wine--both outstanding choices. The complimentary breads are unique recipes and a real treat. Attention is given by chef and wait staff for special diet requests--and a prior call from restaurant before the reservation also makes notes of diet requests. The quality, preparation, and presentation of the meal is art. As it was my birthday, a complimentary small plate of 2 cookies & a chocolate was presented. And, if that were not enough, the flowers are always gorgeous on the dining tables and throughout the restaurant and hotel.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2017

When considering a very special meeting Herons is always at the top of my list.
Herons staff, ambience and interesting menue combined make a formidable
statement for special occasions. Obviously Herons staff is extremely Guest
Oriented, works hard to maintain this quality and we appreciate this!
Mr and Mrs Ramon Everts

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The food was outstanding and presented beautifully. T atmosphere was pleasant with no pretense.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Extraordinary restaurant - by far the best in the Triangle!
Great for very special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Herons top chef always creates quality food presented as art. Servers and staff are outstanding. The floral arrangements and art in the hotel make this restaurant a joy to visit. Great place to meet people from all over the Triangle and dine before flights from RDU.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. They make you feel special as soon as you walk through the door. Their attention to detail is something most restaurants do not do.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Wine pairings too sweet, otherwise wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 22, 2017

This was my first visit to Herons so I didn’t know what to expect. Wow was I surprised! This was the best dining experience I have had in a very long time. Everything was amazing from the service, the wine selection, to the food! It is obvious there is a ton of thought put into every detail! Looking forward to the next visit to try the new menu, that changes every 3 months.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2017

You have to experience this 5 star hotel/ restaurant. It is an amazing experience every time I go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Great dinner service! A nice balance of presentation and quality. Definitely worth the bucks. My wife and I had a 3-course with about 6 complimentary plates of goodness and some bread and butter plus madelines to go. Btw, awesome wait staff too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Amazing front start to finish, worth the drive for us. The Kaiseki menu was the way to go.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in the area. It is pretty pricy, but compared to similar restaurants (Fearrington House, perhaps Second Empire) in the area, Herons is by far the best .

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.