About Herons

100 Woodland Pond Drive
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm by reservation only

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 447-4200

Website:
http://www.theumstead.com/

Entertainment:
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.

Catering:
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.

Executive Chef:
Steven Devereaux Greene

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room for 12 provides the stage for extensive food and wine-paired tasting menus. Executive Chef Steven Devereaux Greene will both indulge and delight you during your dining experience. Reserve this space for lunch, for an evening with friends, colleagues or family.
Reservations in the Private Dining Room are highly recommended.

Private Party Contact:
Tammie Burdick: 8887787425

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Herons
Chestnut soup – quince, white chocolate sphere, bacon, brown butter, foie gras, crème fraîche
Kusshi oysters, onion gelée
Videri milk chocolate cremeux, calamansi sorbet and espuma, matcha chiffon cake, cocoa pearls
Milk chocolate matcha bonbons
Chocolate canelé
Smoked trout cannoli, American sturgeon caviar
Sweet potato purée and caramel, roasted grapefruit, cinnamon feuilletine, oat gelato
Quail corn dog, truffle ketchup, pickled cucumber
Beet salad, marinated, powder, glass; goat's milk meringue, pistachio, trout roe, purple sorrel
Diver scallop, caramelized cauliflower and purée, carbonized bamboo tapioca, black rice
Dessert Quartet
pear
Carrot Cake
Chocolate
Maine Lobster
Roasted Monkfish
Seared Foie Gras
Ceasar Salad
Cesar Salad
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches
Ice Creams And Sorbets
butterfish
Shrimp And Sunchoke
Goat Milk Marshmallow
Pheasant
Duck Consomme
Afternoon Tea
Chester White Pork
ahi tuna carpaccio
Peekytoe Crab
Morels
Meyer Ribeye
Prosciutto Wrapped Cobia With Risotto And Eggplant

Herons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
8 More
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Romantic (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Scenic View (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just a lovely spot. Really yummy food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Just a lovely spot. Really yummy food and amazing presentation. Service incredibly attentive. It is expensive.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience for our wedding ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dining experience for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience.... Beautiful food. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful experience.... Beautiful food. Enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and extremely attentive sta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food and extremely attentive staff. Looking forward to visiting herons again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for an outstanding di ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

If you are looking for an outstanding dining experience, this is the place. Staff was exceptional. All communication was professional, accurate and very easy to understand. The staff was also very knowledgeable in all areas related to the preparation of the meal.

The food was presented as you would expect at a restaurant of this quality. The presentation was unbeliebly fun and professional at the same time.

This is a great restaurant to visit when you are looking to improve your repertoire. I felt like I was a judge on Iron Chef.

I highly recommend Heron.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience at Herons is above ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The dining experience at Herons is above and beyond anything else you will find in the state of North Carolina. The food is incredible with a wine list to match.

If you are looking for a place to take a very important client or a date you really want to spoil, Herons is it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great setting for an enjoyable and rel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A great setting for an enjoyable and relaxing meal. The food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised by the variety, not surprised ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Surprised by the variety, not surprised by how delicious everything was. Lamb and halibut entrees were cooked to perfection.

Wine pairings spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service were impeccab ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The atmosphere and service were impeccable. We found the food choices to be a little too limiting. I lean towards vegetarian so my choices were very limited. I would have preferred a menu that didn't require I purchase 3 courses or more. Perhaps we should have gone for lunch instead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The meal was very delicious and special, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The meal was very delicious and special, and the service was extremely professional and attentive. We truly enjoyed the whole experience and are looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!! Best oatmeal known to man.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing!!!! Best oatmeal known to man.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Heron's for special occasions. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love Heron's for special occasions. The food and service at dinner are exquisite. They made our anniversary celebration very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with great setting ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great setting . Excellent food pleasant staff

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Atmosphere and service were excellent fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Atmosphere and service were excellent for a business meal, but the most expensive breakfast for two I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food & service & great ambie ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding food & service & great ambience

Great place for afternoon tea as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always, and our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing as always, and our server, Scott, made the evening even more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All dishes were excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

All dishes were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The kind of meal that I honestly didn't ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The kind of meal that I honestly didn't expect but remain still in awe of, even 72 hours later. The combinations were sublime, the presentation memorable and the service adding to the flavor of the evening without being overbearing or invisible. A great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heron's delivers on the Best Brunch, Bes ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Heron's delivers on the Best Brunch, Best Lunch, and now the Very Best Dinner anyone could ask for. The food was suburb. The service was absolutely the best. The ambiance was beautiful. If you want to make a statement or give your spouse the experience of her life, be sure to take her to Heron's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time we were seated until the e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

From the time we were seated until the end of our meal. It was superb. The food was great and we were treated like queens. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general the food was good. The bread ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

In general the food was good. The bread was stale and we did not know it had a cost of $4.00 associated with it. the breakfast was too expensive for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Breakfast Crabcake Benedict was wonderfu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Breakfast Crabcake Benedict was wonderful but next time, I will order it without the bacon that comes under the crabcake. (The bacon is a rather repulsive chunk of gamey fat.) The chicken sausage was wonderful as were the peaceful ambiance and friendly service. I question if the orange juice was fresh squeezed and should have skipped it because the taste was not worth the calories. The walk after breakfast around the pond was lovely and viewing the hotel's artwork and floral displays is a joy. The price is high for what breakfast provides, but the overall experience is worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Herons is a fine dining experience that ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Herons is a fine dining experience that has no equal in the area. We were there to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. It was memorable in that we had the Chef's menu and each course was just a bit better than the one before. Beautiful presentation !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Herons is a treat. It was my ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always, Herons is a treat. It was my birthday, and I was pampered and made to feel very special. I did the 4 courses with wine pairings, and everything was more than delicious. The presentation of each course is beautiful, and service couldn't be better. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very best restaurants in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One of the very best restaurants in the country. Not cheap but really fine food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third visit to Herons..! We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my third visit to Herons..! We enjoyed food, ambience and Great Staff..! Service was excellent. Best place for special memorable occasions and events in your life.. it will be treasured forever..!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place with delicious food and a v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lovely place with delicious food and a very attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food did not live up to the hype. G ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food did not live up to the hype. Great wine selection but not worth the price for the food

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We previously visited Herons for a Mothe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We previously visited Herons for a Mother's Day celebration May 2016 and had such a marvelous time that we decided to return for our Father's Day celebration. Coincidentally, we had the same 2 dynamic waiters that we had on our first visit, Scott and Scott. 😃 We were thrilled by this because we knew without a doubt that we would be well taken care of, which we were. It is not often that we have the same exceptional service and impressive food quality, display, and taste that we've had on a previous visit, but we've concluded that this restaurant only knows how to demonstrate exceptional and exquisite service. This is still on our #1 list, and we will return again in the future. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that would like to experience fine and sophisticated dining, quality and tasteful food, and unmatched service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss this breakfast! Shout out to ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Don't miss this breakfast! Shout out to Season for impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy Heron's. The menu and th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I always enjoy Heron's. The menu and the service are always great. I have eaten there many times, and have never had a bad experience or a disappointing entre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service at Heron' ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As always the food and service at Heron's were beyond reproach. We hadn't been in a while and had forgotten how nice the dining experience there has always been. We won't wait so long before we go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unique experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Service is incredible. Food is unique and wonderful. A great night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the chef is trying hard to impress other chefs.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This restaurant has a great reputation but really under impressed both myself and my out-of-town guests

The menu is overly complicated and the food is not very good

I appreciate creativity but not when it makes the dishes inedible.

Wait looked really pretty but the food was not good

I would scrap the entire minion start over. Simplify, focus on taste and not trying to impress food writers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had a lovely table with a view. Decided to stay inside instead of outside. The food was very good . This is the first time my friend was at Herons. She enjoyed it a lot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely place...but disappointed somewhat

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Every year, we make a trip to Heron's for breakfast. For some reason, they are no longer serving bagels with cream cheese and salmon lox on the weekends. I even asked the waitress if it would be possible to make an exception and have the chef make this exemption. No sirreee.

Everything else was good, especially the crab benedicts. But, it would have been nice if a tiny request was honored. Oh well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Truly exceptional food, wine pairings an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Truly exceptional food, wine pairings and service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always memorable

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here, as we knew it would be another wonderful experience. A cucumber apertif began the memorable lunch. The bread presented (without an extra charge) included a whole wheat and a garlic/cheese selection; the latter was exquisite, with a very subtle and delicious flavor. Two first course (salad and ceviche) whetted our appetite. The salmon was perfectly prepared with the accompaniments. Of course, service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinary creativity and world-class service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I recommend ordering three or four courses and allowing the sommelier to pour his pairings. The food is celestial and the wines that are chosen complement the food perfectly. Yes, it is expensive. And it is worth every nickel.

If the weather is nice, sit outside and you will see into a beautiful courtyard. It is a perfect setting. You will also espy a spunky cardinal who comes to inspect all in his domain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but First Class Experience!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Dined here for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. The food was wonderful (especially enjoyed the lamb), the ambiance was quiet and elegant. However, the service was spectacular....attentive, knowledgeable but never intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.