Herons

4.8
1644 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Romantic
Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm by reservation only
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 447-4200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Devereaux Greene
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Harrison Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1644 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant, great food, many menu options,
Service could have been better. Waited a long time to place food order, server did not clear plates, had to ask for the check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The service was outstanding. The food was both delicious and artful. Definitely a great “special occasion” destination.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Once again, a fantastic dinner...!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

You can't find a more elegant setting in the Triangle for an impeccably served lunch...outside on the terrace, the lounge or dining room. The menu and food preparation never disappoints. Perfect spot for a power lunch or a romantic meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Amazing experience ! There are no words to describe the food...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Beautiful atmosphere and interiors. You feel transported to another world. Service is impecable and food is presented beautifully and tastes incredible. We are so fortunate to have Heron's and the Umstead Hotel right around the corner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We are had a different item which was fun. I do remember a previous time when I never had to ask for my coffee to be refilled. This was lacking this time because I had to ask several time.
All our items were very good. The presentation was beautiful. We had a window table which I always enjoy. The harp player was next to us but he was just loud enough. It was very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I love dining at Herons. The food, the service, the ambiance -- everything is always excellent. So many delicious menu choices that I have a hard time deciding! The breads are also remarkable, as is the amuse that the chef send out - surprising and delightful every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Celebrating my sisters birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Heron's never disappoints. Our breakfast was elegant and delicious and the service was impeccable in a lovely, peaceful and artistic environment

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Great food as always with perfect service. Wonderful place for celebrations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Everything was Amazing, food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Lovely lunch on the terrace amidst the peaceful wooded landscape. Service is always top notch with every detail considered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had a great time and the Herons atmosphere is always top quality. Thank you for a wonderful lunch with friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

The hotel and restaurant were fabulous. The dishes were presented by a wonderful staff. The staff were dressed professionally and the dishes and flowers were stunning.
The presentation of the food was obviously done by a true chef.
This was a special treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Everything was perfection!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I was very impressed with the menu selection and the flavor of the items we tried. The shrimp and grits were surprising and wonderful. I would order them again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The only negative was the assumption was that my companion was my wife. She is my deceased wife's daughter by a previous marriage, the only family I have within 100 miles. Otherwise, being called by name was a pleasant surprise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Eating at Herons is always a unique experience. Cannot say anything negative! Expensive, but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The dinner was superb and a culinary delight. A blend of flavors and combinations of food that would never have occurred to us in our four course meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had been meaning to visit the Umstead for some time and were able to secure a breakfast reservation on a busy Mother’s Day and graduation weekend. The venue is a treat, very quiet and sleek. Had it been less humid, we would have dined outside. The food was good but not great — the chicken & waffles, special omelette and lox were serviceable. (Hard to get a good bagel outside of NYC.). The French toast was the hit. Overall, we felt well taken care of.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Pre-graduation breakfast at Heron's. Crab Cake Eggs Benedict, fresh squeezed OJ and coffee along with other delicious treats was a great way to start the day full of pomp and circumstance at UNC-CH Law graduation ceremonies. Only thing missing was champagne, which was my fault!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Everything was fantastic. The menu choices were great including the speciality drinks. Expesive but worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great, food and service and fair price for brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The Umstead never fails at making the most simple event, a spectacular experience. I made reservations for 1 at Herons for breakfast the night before, to kick off a spa day I planned. From the bell staff to the waiters and waitresses, they made my last minute breakfast plans into an hour of pure enjoyment and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was delicious! The service was attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

My husband commented that the leek soup and the complimentary cookies were in fact the best part of the meal, and I'd have to agree. While the food was lovely to look at on arrival, the flavor combinations (soup excepted) were not particularly remarkable, and at these prices and ambiance one can expect remarkable. Wandering around the Umstead is always a treat, and the service was attentive and personal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

AMAZING as always. The staff is extremely attentive and the food is beyond devine. They truly care about any food allergies or adversions. When sitting outside, you are transported to another world. It’s very impressive considering an international airport is only miles away and an 8-lane interstate is adjacent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our overall experience was really good at Herons. It was myself, my wife and my mother-in-law.

Our server, Oscar, along with Johnathan and the other wait staff made our experience very relaxed and enjoyable.

The amuse-bouche of tuna tartare on a crispy wonton was delicious.

We tried the spring gazpacho and beet salad - both of which were flavorful.

My wife got the lobster roll which she said was one of the best lobster rolls she has had.

I ordered the beef tenderloin. The beef was cooked perfectly to medium rare. I ate it with a Spanish wine from their wine list (quite extensive with some rare wines). I enjoyed every bite of the beef along with its accompaniments.

My mother-in-law got the vegetarian pasta dish and it was well-balanced. She said she would order it again.

We tried all the desserts on the menu which included creme brulee, pannaa cotta, red velvet cake, and one other . The desserts were good but we were not blown away. Some of the plating of the dessert also made it difficult to eat.

Overall, we were glad to have tried Herons and may be back in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It's always a treat to dine at Herons. The ambience is elegant and the food delicious. Brunch is reasonably priced too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent! Heron's is beautiful! And the food was better than anything else you can get in Cary. It was a truly memorable lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It’s impossible to feel stress in this place. Every bite was incredible, and service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had heard of Herons before but never made the trip out assuming it was $$ based on the awards and amazing reviews. On the night before our 9th anniversary I hurried to find a lunch reservation at somewhere nice that fit into our crazy schedule that day. I bit the bullet and reserved a table at Heron based on its proximity to errands we had to run the next day. I honestly wasn’t even looking forward to it because i was so stressed with leaving town that day.
Words can not express how quickly my stress dissipated upon arrival and how happy i am that i made that reservation. First off let me say that we were happily welcomed into the hotel as if we were the owners. The staff was extremely friendly leaving my partner to whisper (these people must make bank to be giving this kind of service). I instantly forgot about everything i had to do that day. We were treated like we were the only people in the hotel much less the restaurant. We were sat outside with a beautiful view of the tree line. We were given bread and butter. Ordered 2 cocktails. My partner said it was the best Old fashioned she had ever had. I was nursing my drink (honestly just to get a pick up in with my food for IG) and the bartender popped up with a second cocktail so that i could taste test (at no charge) and pick which one i liked best because she had noticed i wasn’t drinking mine. Amazing service. Amazing drinks. We were bought a tasting of a tuna tartar with pickled cucumber and almonds that the chef was working on. Everything arrived quickly but nothing felt rushed. I ordered the salmon and it was cooked to perfection. She ordered a lobster roll with the best French fries I’ve ever had. We’ve been at home trying to figure out the secret ingredient, haha . Then the check came and i cringed. But i didn’t have to!!! For 2 meals, 2, cocktails, 2 drinks, gratuity, the tab came to 67$ We still left tip because the experience exceeded our gratuity. This is the best meal you’ll ever have.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We came for a once in a lifetime experience and left very satisfied. The full tasting menu with wine pairings was a masterful blend of adventures in molecular gastronomy, new twists on classic dishes, and unique wines. There are not many places in the world where you can find a meal like this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Our meal was delicious. I ordered a salad and a tuna small plate. The tuna was good but honestly was a little bit lacking in the flavor department. The salad however was outstanding. Every time I go to herons it’s like I can read the menu description and think I know what I’m getting, but really what I get is what I expected but elevated to a new level. The service was excellent as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

5 Star for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We come here about 3-4 times a year and every time we are blown away not only by the food but by the service. There is nowhere else in NC that comes close Heron’s. With 3 small children we rarely get nights out. We look at other restaurants but inevitably decide that nothing will ever be as good as Herons. Thank you for always providing not only a meal but an experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My salmon was fantastic. The pasta dish I wanted to get was not as good as my salmon. It had too many noodles for me. I should have had more mushrooms as I looked at the others plate.
The waitress got slammed with other tables and could not give us full attention. That was a
little disappointing. One in the party ordered dessert. It looked very very good. It was a beautiful presentation, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Kaiseki was delightful and kept us our edge. Every course exceeded my expectations. Quick tour of the kitchen and meeting Chef Green was an amazing experience. See you again very soon.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
42

Tweets by Herons