About Herons

100 Woodland Pond Drive
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm by reservation only

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 447-4200

Website:
http://www.theumstead.com/

Entertainment:
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.

Catering:
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.

Executive Chef:
Steven Devereaux Greene

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room for 12 provides the stage for extensive food and wine-paired tasting menus. Executive Chef Steven Devereaux Greene will both indulge and delight you during your dining experience. Reserve this space for lunch, for an evening with friends, colleagues or family.
Reservations in the Private Dining Room are highly recommended.

Private Party Contact:
Tammie Burdick: 8887787425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Herons
Chestnut soup – quince, white chocolate sphere, bacon, brown butter, foie gras, crème fraîche
Kusshi oysters, onion gelée
Videri milk chocolate cremeux, calamansi sorbet and espuma, matcha chiffon cake, cocoa pearls
Milk chocolate matcha bonbons
Chocolate canelé
Smoked trout cannoli, American sturgeon caviar
Sweet potato purée and caramel, roasted grapefruit, cinnamon feuilletine, oat gelato
Diver scallop, caramelized cauliflower and purée, carbonized bamboo tapioca, black rice
Quail corn dog, truffle ketchup, pickled cucumber
Beet salad, marinated, powder, glass; goat's milk meringue, pistachio, trout roe, purple sorrel
Dessert Quartet
pear
Carrot Cake
Maine Lobster
Roasted Monkfish
Ceasar Salad
Chocolate
Seared Foie Gras
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches
Cesar Salad
butterfish
Ice Creams And Sorbets
Shrimp And Sunchoke
Goat Milk Marshmallow
Pheasant
Duck Consomme
Afternoon Tea
Chester White Pork
Peekytoe Crab
ahi tuna carpaccio
Prosciutto Wrapped Cobia With Risotto And Eggplant
Morels
Meyer Ribeye

Herons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
11 More
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Fit for Foodies
Cary
Special Occasion
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

special occasion (67)
fit for foodies (60)
romantic (49)
See All
notable wine list (40)
scenic view (28)
great for lunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for brunch (20)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food & service & great ambie ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food & service & great ambience

Great place for afternoon tea as well

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always, and our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing as always, and our server, Scott, made the evening even more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All dishes were excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

All dishes were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The kind of meal that I honestly didn't ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The kind of meal that I honestly didn't expect but remain still in awe of, even 72 hours later. The combinations were sublime, the presentation memorable and the service adding to the flavor of the evening without being overbearing or invisible. A great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heron's delivers on the Best Brunch, Bes ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Heron's delivers on the Best Brunch, Best Lunch, and now the Very Best Dinner anyone could ask for. The food was suburb. The service was absolutely the best. The ambiance was beautiful. If you want to make a statement or give your spouse the experience of her life, be sure to take her to Heron's

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time we were seated until the e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

From the time we were seated until the end of our meal. It was superb. The food was great and we were treated like queens. Very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general the food was good. The bread ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

In general the food was good. The bread was stale and we did not know it had a cost of $4.00 associated with it. the breakfast was too expensive for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Breakfast Crabcake Benedict was wonderfu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Breakfast Crabcake Benedict was wonderful but next time, I will order it without the bacon that comes under the crabcake. (The bacon is a rather repulsive chunk of gamey fat.) The chicken sausage was wonderful as were the peaceful ambiance and friendly service. I question if the orange juice was fresh squeezed and should have skipped it because the taste was not worth the calories. The walk after breakfast around the pond was lovely and viewing the hotel's artwork and floral displays is a joy. The price is high for what breakfast provides, but the overall experience is worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Herons is a fine dining experience that ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Herons is a fine dining experience that has no equal in the area. We were there to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. It was memorable in that we had the Chef's menu and each course was just a bit better than the one before. Beautiful presentation !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Herons is a treat. It was my ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always, Herons is a treat. It was my birthday, and I was pampered and made to feel very special. I did the 4 courses with wine pairings, and everything was more than delicious. The presentation of each course is beautiful, and service couldn't be better. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very best restaurants in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One of the very best restaurants in the country. Not cheap but really fine food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third visit to Herons..! We ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my third visit to Herons..! We enjoyed food, ambience and Great Staff..! Service was excellent. Best place for special memorable occasions and events in your life.. it will be treasured forever..!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place with delicious food and a v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lovely place with delicious food and a very attentive staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food did not live up to the hype. G ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food did not live up to the hype. Great wine selection but not worth the price for the food

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We previously visited Herons for a Mothe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We previously visited Herons for a Mother's Day celebration May 2016 and had such a marvelous time that we decided to return for our Father's Day celebration. Coincidentally, we had the same 2 dynamic waiters that we had on our first visit, Scott and Scott. 😃 We were thrilled by this because we knew without a doubt that we would be well taken care of, which we were. It is not often that we have the same exceptional service and impressive food quality, display, and taste that we've had on a previous visit, but we've concluded that this restaurant only knows how to demonstrate exceptional and exquisite service. This is still on our #1 list, and we will return again in the future. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that would like to experience fine and sophisticated dining, quality and tasteful food, and unmatched service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss this breakfast! Shout out to ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Don't miss this breakfast! Shout out to Season for impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy Heron's. The menu and th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I always enjoy Heron's. The menu and the service are always great. I have eaten there many times, and have never had a bad experience or a disappointing entre.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service at Heron' ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As always the food and service at Heron's were beyond reproach. We hadn't been in a while and had forgotten how nice the dining experience there has always been. We won't wait so long before we go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unique experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Service is incredible. Food is unique and wonderful. A great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the chef is trying hard to impress other chefs.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This restaurant has a great reputation but really under impressed both myself and my out-of-town guests

The menu is overly complicated and the food is not very good

I appreciate creativity but not when it makes the dishes inedible.

Wait looked really pretty but the food was not good

I would scrap the entire minion start over. Simplify, focus on taste and not trying to impress food writers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had a lovely table with a view. Decided to stay inside instead of outside. The food was very good . This is the first time my friend was at Herons. She enjoyed it a lot.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely place...but disappointed somewhat

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Every year, we make a trip to Heron's for breakfast. For some reason, they are no longer serving bagels with cream cheese and salmon lox on the weekends. I even asked the waitress if it would be possible to make an exception and have the chef make this exemption. No sirreee.

Everything else was good, especially the crab benedicts. But, it would have been nice if a tiny request was honored. Oh well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Truly exceptional food, wine pairings an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Truly exceptional food, wine pairings and service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always memorable

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here, as we knew it would be another wonderful experience. A cucumber apertif began the memorable lunch. The bread presented (without an extra charge) included a whole wheat and a garlic/cheese selection; the latter was exquisite, with a very subtle and delicious flavor. Two first course (salad and ceviche) whetted our appetite. The salmon was perfectly prepared with the accompaniments. Of course, service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinary creativity and world-class service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I recommend ordering three or four courses and allowing the sommelier to pour his pairings. The food is celestial and the wines that are chosen complement the food perfectly. Yes, it is expensive. And it is worth every nickel.

If the weather is nice, sit outside and you will see into a beautiful courtyard. It is a perfect setting. You will also espy a spunky cardinal who comes to inspect all in his domain.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but First Class Experience!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Dined here for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. The food was wonderful (especially enjoyed the lamb), the ambiance was quiet and elegant. However, the service was spectacular....attentive, knowledgeable but never intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I expected awonderful meal but I was di ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I expected awonderful meal but I was dissapointed by the quality of foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The best dining experience ever!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Can certainly understand why Herons comes so highly recommended Beautiful dining experience. Delicious food well presented. Meal introduced us to new flavors paring interesting ingredients. Service was top notch Attention to detail as well as making us feel pretty darn special was off the charts. Definitely would visit Herons again. Our waiter "Scott" was amazing. Thought of everything to make our anniversary dinner one to be remembered.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Very Good but not quite Outstanding

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

First visit in around a year. The food was very, very good, just not quite as outstanding as in previous visits. Service was attentive but not necessarily as smooth or polished as in the past. What I'm saying here is everything was great but in general not at the level of past visits. That said, one of the finest lunch experiences you can have in the Triangle.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at Herons is always a special and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Dining at Herons is always a special and memorable experience. This visit was even more so because we ordered the Chef's choice and were treated to numerous courses of extraordinary culinary delights which were not only delicious but visually stunning to behold! It was an experience we will always remember! Our waiter John was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible presentation, impeccable serv ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Incredible presentation, impeccable service, and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I had brunch Sunday with family at Heron's and unfortunately, brunch is not something they do very well. I have eaten there several times and have attended many functions at the hotel. Dinner has always been superb, but, like my last couple of experiences, brunch is not impressive. I keep thinking, maybe brunch has gotten better, so I try again, since the setting is so gorgeous - but it hasn't. The food is mediocre at best. The omelet of the day was so rubbery that it was inedible. My daughter had the BLT with fried green tomato and pimento cheese and that was tasty. Don't waste your money on the warm doughnuts and biscuits, neither were edible. This time, I have learned my lesson and will not return for another brunch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the ambiance

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As always Herons is fantastic. Never a disappointment. If you haven't been you need to put Herons on your list!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem of a find

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We moved here from phoenix Arizona, where the restaurant scene is vibrant with a great selection of restaurant's from Scottsdale to Palm desert, California. Moving here to the Raleigh area was disappointing in the selection of fine restaurants. Finding Herons was a great experience for us. The staff was excellent, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was fantastic. We are planning on making it one of our favorite places to dine.

John F. Ellis

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting the right table is hard!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Reservation for 1PM Sunday, using Open Table, requested window seating. Arrived to mostly empty dining room and offered banquette seating next to a table with diners. We dislike banquette seating because the inside bench is never quite comfortable for any of us, we feel like we are in the conversation of the next table (or they are in ours) and that is the darkest part of your restaurant. We were told that window seats were not available. Took an outdoor table when promised shade. Two seats were in shade, 2 were not. (The screen above does not provide shade when the sun is on an angle!) No one offered to set up an umbrella and we were discouraged. Adding to our annoyance, a group of young ladies in very high spiritswere also on the terrace. If they had stayed and no action was taken on providing shade, we would have left. Fortunately they left, leaving us with lovely silence and we stayed for a very good meal.

We live in Pittsboro and coming to Herons is a special treat. Over the years we have had similar problems getting a table we requested at Herons, so it is not the fault of an individual hostess. I do wonder if the young people acting as hostesses are trained to seat people according to some secret formula that has nothing to do with what was requested. Sometimes I think it is because I come with another older woman and you don't want older ladies getting good seats, but this time we were two couples. And, I do understand that good brunch seating is reserved for hotel guests, but that is why I took a later time and there were plenty of tables at 1:00.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Triangle Dining

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Every time I go to Herons I am impressed by their high standards. From the moment I telephone and speak to the charming and competent hostesses to the moment we leave, the ladies in the party usually clutching some little extra gift, it is a wonderful experience! Of course, the food is without a doubt some of the best we have eaten anywhere; innovative, fresh, flavorful and beautifully presented. Who would pair white asparagus soup with white chocolate? The chefs did and it was amazing! The service is always polite and congenial without being stuffy and the staff seem genuinely pleased to see us. When I speak to Hai about wines, his enthusiasm and knowledge are a joy to observe. We usually have a car pick us up so that we can enjoy his and our selections! The ambiance is very comfortable, the noise level subdued which is what we like and, whether it is for business or pleasure, I don't believe there's a better place to dine in the area. Some come close but none quite reach Herons' very high standards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast at Herons

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The setting inside and outside is lush, beautiful and serene - a place to calm the soul. I could fall asleep there. Otherwise, Herons was disappointing, especially given its five-star rating. The coffee lacked richness in its flavor, the orange juice had not been recently squeezed and the omelet was not hot. And neither was the service. While the waitresses were efficient, pleasant and polite, one reached right in front of one diner's face to serve coffee to a neighboring diner, plates were cleared before everyone finished eating. The check was brought too promptly and its bottom line shattered the tranquility that the ambience of the place had worked so hard to create. Breakfast may not be Herons' strong suit.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Great High End Lunch Option

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Very good lunch experience. Food and service was exceptional.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Phenomenal dining experience. We had originally planned to do the 4-course option with wine pairing, but at a last minute decided on the Kaiseki experience. Having 8-courses each paired with a fantastic beverage was the best choice! Absolutely amazing cuisine and fantastic presentation. High praise to the culinary team, waiters/waitresses, and hosts at Herons.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Heron's cuisine and service are far above Triangle

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

30th Anniversary celebration and enjoyed great service

and unique courses .. deep wine list and romantic atmosphere ..

highly recommend The Umstead Hotel due to its great art,

scenic views, privacy and great bar with music.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.