About Herons

100 Woodland Pond Drive
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

Noted by Condé Nast Traveler as a "culinary gem," The Umstead Hotel and Spa's signature restaurant Herons features the refined American cooking of Executive Chef Steven D. Greene and Chef de Cuisine Spencer Thomson. With an extensive wine list spanning over 1,500 selections and 10,000 bottles, one is sure to find the perfect complement to their sophisticated dining experience. Guests will enjoy the elegant setting and exquisite art collection indoors as well as dining on the terrace, with panoramic views of the lake. The Umstead’s Bar is also available to local diners and hotel guests for a more casual experience. Herons, a Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily, weekend brunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thrursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm by reservation only

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 447-4200

Website:
http://www.theumstead.com/

Entertainment:
Our sumptuous surroundings are enhanced by live music every day of the week at The Bar and Lounge of The Umstead Hotel and Spa.

Catering:
Please contact Carrie Cassidy of The Umstead Hotel at 919.447.4131 or at carrie.cassidy@theumstead.com for catering in the Hotel Event Space.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for Herons; self-parking available as well.

Executive Chef:
Steven Devereaux Greene

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room for 12 provides the stage for extensive food and wine-paired tasting menus. Executive Chef Steven Devereaux Greene will both indulge and delight you during your dining experience. Reserve this space for lunch, for an evening with friends, colleagues or family.
Reservations in the Private Dining Room are highly recommended.

Private Party Contact:
Tammie Burdick: 8887787425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Herons, Cary, NC
Chestnut soup – quince, white chocolate sphere, bacon, brown butter, foie gras, crème fraîche - Herons, Cary, NC
Kusshi oysters, onion gelée - Herons, Cary, NC
Videri milk chocolate cremeux, calamansi sorbet and espuma, matcha chiffon cake, cocoa pearls - Herons, Cary, NC
Milk chocolate matcha bonbons - Herons, Cary, NC
Chocolate canelé - Herons, Cary, NC
Smoked trout cannoli, American sturgeon caviar - Herons, Cary, NC
Sweet potato purée and caramel, roasted grapefruit, cinnamon feuilletine, oat gelato - Herons, Cary, NC
Quail corn dog, truffle ketchup, pickled cucumber - Herons, Cary, NC
Beet salad, marinated, powder, glass; goat's milk meringue, pistachio, trout roe, purple sorrel - Herons, Cary, NC
Diver scallop, caramelized cauliflower and purée, carbonized bamboo tapioca, black rice - Herons, Cary, NC
Dessert Quartet - Herons, Cary, NC
pear - Herons, Cary, NC
Carrot Cake - Herons, Cary, NC
Chocolate - Herons, Cary, NC
Maine Lobster - Herons, Cary, NC
Roasted Monkfish - Herons, Cary, NC
Seared Foie Gras - Herons, Cary, NC
Ceasar Salad - Herons, Cary, NC
Cesar Salad - Herons, Cary, NC
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches - Herons, Cary, NC
Ice Creams And Sorbets - Herons, Cary, NC
butterfish - Herons, Cary, NC
Shrimp And Sunchoke - Herons, Cary, NC
Goat Milk Marshmallow - Herons, Cary, NC
Pheasant - Herons, Cary, NC
Duck Consomme - Herons, Cary, NC
Afternoon Tea - Herons, Cary, NC
Chester White Pork - Herons, Cary, NC
ahi tuna carpaccio - Herons, Cary, NC
Peekytoe Crab - Herons, Cary, NC
Morels - Herons, Cary, NC
Meyer Ribeye  - Herons, Cary, NC
Prosciutto Wrapped Cobia With Risotto And Eggplant - Herons, Cary, NC

Herons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
10 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Business Meals (11)
Scenic View (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our 24th anniversary dinner could not ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Our 24th anniversary dinner could not have been better. In fact, we both agree that this dining experience was the most exquisite of our lives. The food was prepared and presented to perfection and at an equally perfect pace...they just didn't hiccup on anything all night. Our waiter was extremely well spoken with a demeanor commensurate with the highest expectations of a fine dining establishment. He was accommodating, knowledgeable, and attentive to the uniqueness of US as a couple out on a special night. The ambiance was elegant, formal, and a pure delight. We plan to come back for the Kaiseki dining experience where we'll linger a while in Herons good hands, and see if they could possibly top themselves.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the food to be mediocre. I had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I found the food to be mediocre. I had eggs benedict with crab. The English Muffin was greasy and not tender. The eggs were way underdone. The crab cake was good, the pork belly was terrible.

Starter of donuts was excellent. Juice was not fresh as described by the waitstaff when asked.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine and service! This ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service! This was our choice to celebrate our anniversary and Herons really made this special for us. Lori took great care of us, and the entire experience was excellent from start to finish. Perfectly prepared scallop as a first course, and excellent wild boar for the main. Wine selection is quite extensive, and desserts are exceptional. Definitely a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the wine li ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was outstanding and the wine list is excellent, featuring old vintages and a first class European selection as well. We ordered a 3 course tasting and the time for meal was excessive, took 2 1/2 hours from start to finish. The time was not a problem for us, but would be considered to lengthy for many.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply amazing food and service. Beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply amazing food and service. Beautiful setting. A perfect place for a very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, first class facility ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Impeccable service, first class facility. Nice variety of menu choices, excellent presentation of the food. Food quality and portion size was superlative. Enjoyable and memorable event.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

True dining experience. Celebrating 47 a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

True dining experience. Celebrating 47 anniversary. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very rough week. Called a frie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was a very rough week. Called a friend & we decided we needed Herons. It did the trick! Fabulous food, served beautifully, by a very friendly waitress. We weren't hurried, and we were treated like valued guests. This place does elegant, but relaxed dining PERFECTLY!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed by the food or t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I am never disappointed by the food or the service at Heron's. It's one of my all time favorite restaurants!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We experienced the Kaiseki 8 course dinn ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We experienced the Kaiseki 8 course dinner. It was adventurous and delicious! The Heron's staff really go the extra mile to give you a great dining experience. The food was beautifully presented, and the taste lived up to the presentation. The wine pairs were right on, as well! We left completely stuffed and happy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was amazing! Food was great and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was amazing! Food was great and the service was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent View an Outstanding Service! I ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent View an Outstanding Service!

Incredible wait staff that pampered us throughout a very nice brunch. We had treats sent from the chef including baked goods and a delicious beverage of the day which was coconut milk, orange juice and cinnamon. Delicious! They sent GF items for me and regular ones for my dining partner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Truly wonde ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Truly wonderfuldining experience with a wonderful eye for detail. Great food, service and a killer wine list. Looking forward to my next visit already.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Presentation was amazing. I don't generally enjoy wine, but the pairings they selected for each course made me reconsider that stance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I went for a quiet lunch. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My friend and I went for a quiet lunch. It was perfect and the presentation of the meals were wonderful. The wait staff were very attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience. Truly, one of t ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Exceptional experience. Truly, one of the best restaurants in the United States.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Herons for a most memorable an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Thank you Herons for a most memorable and incredible evening. We arrived after getting up at 3:30 California time and flying across the country. After meeting our wonderful waiter, Scott, he calmed us, brought us drinks, and informed us how the dinner would progress. We chose the four course dining option with wine pairing. Wow! The three of us all enjoyed different dishes and they were each exquisite. The palate cleanser after the main course was over the top! In all our travels I have never seen such a presentation. Darling brown eggshells filled with white panda cotta and a spoonful of passion fruit purée. Just beautiful. Raleigh/Durham is blessed to have you in their midst!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's 40th bi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's 40th birthday and was very impressed. Service was impeccable; food was delicious! We did the 4-course option with no wine pairings. Having spent over 30 years in the restaurant industry, I can honestly say that Heron's deserves its accolades. It is a top-notch restaurant that I would definitely visit again. It is a bit pricey though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining at Herons for special occ ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love dining at Herons for special occasions. Our server Scott was spectacular and walked us through the newest seasonal menu. We started with the Hamachi and the Ricotta dishes. The medley of flavors were spectacular. We splurged on the Ricotta and added the truffles. We loved the presentation and especially enjoyed the visit from the executive chef to shave the truffles for us. For a second course, we had the Foie Gras. The waffle presentation was incredible and the flavors were sublime. For our third course, we tried the fowl and the beef. The fowl was especially incredible with quail, squab and duck. Each prepared in a unique manner. The beef was tender and featured a lion's head mushroom - which was a delightful surprise in flavor and consistency. We followed with the Marquis Dessert and the Cocoa Dessert. We overate, but isn't that what Herons does best? Each dish was beautiful, delicious and a singular experience. We appreciate the excellent service and attention to detail. The wine pairings were divine as well. Thanks for making our anniversary so special. See you next year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is perfect. Service is perfect. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food is perfect. Service is perfect. The setting is elegant. Price is very high, $100 per person for a four-course meal plus drinks, gratuity and tax. But it is definite worth it for special occasions and for treating VIP customers.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You can't go wrong at Heron's. From th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

You can't go wrong at Heron's.

From the food to the wine selection to the service - everything is outstanding. I almost don't want to write a review as I don't want the secret to get out.

The menu is tweaked with each season and no matter the season you will walk away knowing you had one of the best dinners.

Lori, our server was knowledgeable, professional and had fun assuring that guests enjoyed their dining experience.

In the fall be sure to ask for the Dark & Cloudy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and just as won ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my second visit and just as wonderful as the first!

We ate outside but it was a hard decision because there was

A harpist playing inside.

It is just lovely!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the most amazing meal I have ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Absolutely the most amazing meal I have ever had. The creatively of the dishes outstanding. The artistic plating was spectacular. Accolades to the Chef, staff, and our server Laura. An incredible anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family went to the restaurant as we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our family went to the restaurant as we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. Lori was our server and she was fun, professional, knowledgeable and personable. Thank you for such a fun evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the Umstead on our wedding ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We stayed at the Umstead on our wedding night and had a lovely brunch the following morning. The French toast was soaked in custard overnight. Fantastic grits and drinks. A lovely ambiance and attentive service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here once a year when in town an ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We come here once a year when in town and Herons never disappoints! I have celiac so my options most places aren't spectacular. Herons made me the most creative and amazing meal that would wow even the professional critics. So beautifully presented and wonderful to the palate! Make sure you have the time because it is an experience that can't be rushed. I am looking forward to next year already!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was very good. The service was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The meal was very good. The service was good. But for the price I would have expected a bit more intricacy and complexity to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Consistently good food and this time was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Consistently good food and this time was no exception. Service immaculate. Excellent wine list. The wines are not inexpensive but reasonably priced for a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been coming to Heron's for years ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have been coming to Heron's for years. Better than most Michelin rated restaurants. Absolutely phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third visit to Heron's and I ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is my third visit to Heron's and I honestly don't get what all the fuss is. Most recent visit was Sunday brunch. I had shrimp and grits which were good, but certainly not the best I've ever had. I had a bloody Mary, which was excellent. My companions had a burger, french toast and the egg white omelet with salad. All had the same reaction I did...good...but not fantastic. Service is always pleasant and the space is lovely. There's nothing not to like here, just not sure the price is justified.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Absolutely loved my dining experience. F ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Absolutely loved my dining experience. Food was beautifully prepared and presented. Dining room is gorgeous. Service was thoughtful and not overwhelming when I asked for a slow-paced evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing service and exquisite f ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The most amazing service and exquisite food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best restaurant in Raleigh ar ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2016

By far the best restaurant in Raleigh area. Period.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrated my wife's birthday dinning in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday dinning in Herons. We enjoyed overall - Excellent Service. Great Ambience. Uniqueness of food and it's taste. Definitely will go back if we get a reservation :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and excellent service. Ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service. Had a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Restaurant has a nice atmosphere, but does look like a lot of other fancy hotel restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Herons is absolutely top notch in cuisin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Herons is absolutely top notch in cuisine, service, wine & comfort level. It's worth just going for dessert to experience Pastry Chef Jonathan Fishers incredible creations. The Triangle is fortunate to have this restaurant and Hotel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am certainly not a food snob - I enjoy ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I am certainly not a food snob - I enjoy P, B & J and spaghettios every now and then - but I do like good food and like to try every venue in the area to see what's what with eating out. Herons is on my top 5 list and maybe my top three. This is based on dining all over the Northeast (including New York City) and outside the country as well. The service was probably number one - flawless! The food was exciting, different and presentation artful. Every bite worth the price (this is not a cheap date)!

Tables were comfortable with a good amount of space in between our neighbors - quiet, cozy and romantic. I highly recommend it for a special splurge. It is expensive but just imagining how much time and effort goes into each dish and the thought, talent and craftsmanship behind the presentation and service makes it a surreal experience. I want to go back next week!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me just start by saying: I am a meat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Let me just start by saying: I am a meat-and-potatoes type of girl. My husband, however, is a foodie and he treated me to an exquisite meal at Heron's last night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We have been there previously for brunch but not for dinner. The ambiance is very upscale, quiet, low lightening but not too low. I love the fact that you can watch the chefs prepare your food from afar behind the glass partition. The service was impeccable, as it should be for a five-star dining experience. We had the kaiseki with wine pairing. The food, while not necessarily my thing, was definitely outstanding! Every thing was cooked to perfection and the flavors were very complimentary, right down to the wines that were chosen by the sommelier. The presentation was delightful; truly edible art. Pictures do not do it justice. It was more than a meal, it was an event! A 3-hour long event!!! Consider it entertainment for your taste buds. You will pay good money for it, though. I am somewhat prudent so perhaps the expense was the thing I liked least. However, I am overjoyed to have had the experience and look forward to doing it again in the distant future. Would definitely recommend for special occasions!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a lovely spot. Really yummy food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Just a lovely spot. Really yummy food and amazing presentation. Service incredibly attentive. It is expensive.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience for our wedding ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dining experience for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.