About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

good for groups (115)
special occasion (106)
fit for foodies (101)
See All
neighborhood gem (62)
hot spot (54)
romantic (53)
late-night find (51)
notable wine list (40)
great for lunch (37)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Questionable Ribeye

Dined 4 days ago

Our dining experience at Hermanos on May 21st had its ups and downs. The service was very good but one of our ribeye steaks was of poor quality with an excessive amount of fat, perhaps 2/3 of the cut. The waitress did not charge us for that steak and that was the proper decision. The mushrooms were excellent! Hermanos isn't a cheap restaurant so we expect quality food at all times. Very pleasant ambience and music although all tables should be covered with tablecloths.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Shame about the tacos

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went out to celebrate a retirement. My friends chose the sirloin skewers and quite enjoyed them. I ordered the pickerel tacos which were bland and lacking any flavour. The potato chips were good. It's pricey but the service Is lovely and I will go back but I'll stay away from the tacos.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Myself and my 5 girlfriends dine out 6 t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Myself and my 5 girlfriends dine out 6 times per year for theatre. Hermanos is one of our favorites. We enjoy the easy going atmosphere and the happy hour prices.Food and service has been consistently good and we do enjoy sharing tapas. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Noise level

Dined on May 11, 2016

This noise level is such that only 3-4 can visit. Any more than that not all people could be part of the conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a great spot for friends to meet ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This is a great spot for friends to meet for pre-theatre lunch or dinner. The food and service are good and it is conventiently located close to the theatre.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was awesome, even though it cou ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was awesome, even though it could have been hotter. I was only warm like it had been sitting in a warming tray. The flavor was really good, though. The noise level was way too high. There was a group on the other side and we couldn't have a normal conversation because of the noise. I had the Milanesa Napolitina and the flavor of it reminded me of when I was in South America. It was made as it should be. The service was quick and friendly and everything arrived as ordered.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The steaks ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. The steaks we had melted in your mouth! Love the ambience of the place and noise levels were nice even when it was getting busy. Highly recommend this place. :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelent restaurant!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I like Hermanos for the quality of its food and the ambience too. I like the decoration, the light, and the music in it. I'm already a regular customer, and I hope to continue getting more satisfactory experiences there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

Dined on May 6, 2016

We usually come here before the theatre and they always make sure we receive our food in time so that we can arrive at our show on time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall experience was positive! Friend ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overall experience was positive! Friendly, knowledgeable server. Food was tasty and served in a timely fashion. No complaints:)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Food quality declining steadily.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service is great. The location is perfect. The ambiance is fun. The food is ordinary. We have been going to Hermano's just before our theatre night for a few years now as it is right across the street. The quality of the food has been declining over the past year. In our last visit, the steak salad was so tough it was inedible. The spicy paella wouldn't have upset a baby's tummy. The burger is reliable if ordinary.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food is consistent - steak was done to perfection. Our server, Sara, has extensive wine knowledge, and made excellent wine recommendations for our meals. The ambiance is a "happening" kind of place - also know as "noisy". But if you are ready for that - all is good.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions very substantial. Our waitress was very attentive, and made a good recommendation for an entree. The atmosphere and decor truly had a South American flavour, which we loved. And although we are not that familiar with South American wines, the selection was very good, and we thoroughly enjoyed our choice. This is our new favourite restaurant .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A lovely pre-opera experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our visit to Hermano's was a lovely pre-opera experience. The service was prompt, allowing us time for a leisurely meal before heading over to the Concert Hall. Our party of four really enjoyed the 5 tapas dishes and two desserts we shared that made for a satisfying meal. The 5 dishes provided us with a very nice variety to tempt our tastebuds. I am generally not a fan of sausage...but the sausage and peppers tapas dish turned out to be one of my favourites...a pleasant surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Friday Night at Hermanos

Dined on April 23, 2016

Entertainment was very good. Too noisy in restaurant - moved to lounge after meal to hear music. Waitress went out of her way to try and please us, as there was some disappointment with our meals. One of our party sent her meat back as was not prepared as she asked. After the 3rd try she gave up and only ate her french fries. She was not charged for the meal. Another one of our party was choking from the spice on his meal, and the waitress kindly replaced it with a blander version. 2 meals were supposed to have grilled veggies but only a large plate of dried potato chips came with the meat. Mousse dessert had large chunks of honeydew melon on top. It was served in a tall thin glass and you had to get past the melon to get to the mousse. which was difficult. The waitress brought us a plate of sliced strawberries which should have been used in the first place. I got the impression the regular chef was not there. I would not go back to that restaurant for a meal.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Enjoyable!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went there for our 34th wedding anniversary along with our adult children and their spouses. We all found the food to be very tasty and the energy in the room was vibrant. The menu selections were ample - something for everyone - we had two gluten intolerant guests with us and they were able to choose from many entrees and even dessert. The house wines were very good as well. Our waiter although very attentive, was very busy, perhaps the place was slightly understaffed, but all in all it was a very positive experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Out for special occasion

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food is always great, service is good, atmosphere is noisy but we enjoy that. If I had one beef... it would be the temperature in the restaurant... too hot for our liking, needed to be moved to the bar area near the entrance so we had the benefit of the door opening with a nice cool breeze coming in.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great night out with the girls before MTC.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the atmosphere. There is a nice wine selection. The entertainment was enjoyable and we could still enjoy catching up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Food was good, steaks tender and servers ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was good, steaks tender and servers were very knowledgeable about cuts and meat.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, great time.

Dined on April 13, 2016

My gf wanted meto rate the food 10 out of 5. So good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Friends dinner

Dined on April 13, 2016

My group was ladies night out. Everything was pretty great, but our waitress seemed a bit stressed. It was very busy and she seemed overwhelmed a few times. Nothing terrible, she was very pleasant. My only critique about the restaurant itself is that the restaurant was extremely hot. Uncomfortably so.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Export Marketing Manger

Dined on April 13, 2016

At times the lounge side is very noisy and due to the design of the building the noise spills over into the restaurant. There are a lot of benches at the tables and I prefer chairs for slightly more formality in a business meeting. The food is great, especially the steaks. Keep the quality up or you are just another restaurant. (of which there are many.)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wondeful, as usual

Dined on April 10, 2016

Hermanos is one of our regular hangouts. It has all the components that we are looking for: - Good food, - live music - 90% can accommodate even without reservation for 2-4 people - Central

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Give it a try!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed the food (good portions) and the close proximity to the theater. The service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant. A 'keeper'.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

disappointing this time.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Noisy room. Bottle of red wine arrived warm and was poured into a glass even warmer from the dishwasher. Paella served in a cast iron pan was lukewarm. Usually it is steaming hot. Service was attentive. We are regular guests, but will give one more chance.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pre-Theatre Dinning Option

Dined on March 29, 2016

Great location for lunch. It would also be a dynamic location for a pre-theatre meal given it's proximity to the Centennial Centre home of the Centennial Concert Hall and Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great appetizers!

Dined on March 28, 2016

The mussels with orange and rosemary sauce were some of the best I have had. The Pickerel ceviche was very nice , fresh and light tasting. The Empenadas and the steak were a good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ok experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

I went there last year and it was great Went down hill- fish tacos had no flavor , and the rest of the food was to greasy. Won't be recommending again

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

delicious birthday meal

Dined on March 25, 2016

We had a great experience. Ambiance was beautiful despite noisy tables around. I've read reviews about bad service there, but our waitress was fine. Not amazing, but fine. We tried a few whiskeys and had a couple glasses of white sangria. My friend had the paella and said it was great and filling, but not spicy as it suggested. I had the frutos De Mar and HIGHLY recommend. It became an instant favorite. We will back despite the neighbor. Our car was broken into and we parked just a block away, not the restaurants fault but did end our great experience on a rather crummy note.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Birthday Party

Dined on March 24, 2016

Hermano's is a wonderful little gem in the heart of the exchange district, fantastic menu options for both food and drinks. Atmosphere is lovely, however the service has been extremely slow and almost disengaged to do the minimum. Having been at least a dozen to 15 times from a nice date night to my last experience with bringing 18 people in for my birthday meal, I have finally reached a limit on making this a place to come with a group larger then 3-4 people. The food is usually consistent, however on this last occasion the steak was so tough and approximately 8 of the 12oz was gristle or tough fat. The meal was removed from the bill but was unable to be addressed as we sat without drinks because she was nowhere in sight. From a group of very easy going and easily pleased people many were left wondering if anyone was even working and disappointed having come out to enjoy a nice meal with drinks and no one to ask if they would like to order much more beyond their first one. Overall, I do like to support unique restaurants and if the service was improved Hermano's could be top 3 of my favourite exchange places to gather.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Found this to be very expensive. It was ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Found this to be very expensive. It was also very noisy the night we were there. Food was good though.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistent food quality/ambiance good

Dined on March 20, 2016

Seven of us dined at Hermanos for a family birthday celebration. The food was terrific and enjoyed by all. The service was ok as our waiter appeared distracted and not as attentive as we're accustomed to at this location. Overall positive evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service and food were both excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable of the different menu items.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed This Time

Dined on March 19, 2016

I love this restaurant, but I was disappointed at my last visit. I shared the antipasto which came with meat, bread, and pickled vegetables. I found the pickled vegetables to be lacking, there was no oil or butter for the bread, the meats were delicious, but there were no cheeses (which I feel is a must for antipasto). Overall, the dish was not a hit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Terrible service

Dined on March 18, 2016

Very poor service at lunch time. Waiter took forever to first come over to bring water. Took drink order, finally came with that, then was about to leave again so I had to ask if we could order . Food order finally came at 12:50 (group of 3 of us were there for a 12:00 reservation on our lunch hour). Never came back to see how food was, no refill on drink. Considering this is a lunch work crowd, this is very poor service.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4

Had to send my first fish back as it was ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Had to send my first fish back as it was overcooked, but the second was done perfectly. Calamari was also overdone so chewy, but the steaks were great. Overall, the food was good, but not wow. The atmosphere was lovely with the live music. A nice place to have a relaxing dinner, just don't expect too much of the food.

food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Not a good spot for business dinners.

Dined on March 15, 2016

I typically enjoy Hermanos, the food and atmosphere. However, I took two business clients in from out of town there the other night and we were very disappointed in the service. We came in from the cold, walked past the coat rack and were not once asked to give our coats to the hostess or waitress. They were hanging off the backs of our chairs and touching the floor. After taking 25 minutes to take our drink order we asked for an order of chips (their signature) and to place our orders for dinner, the waitress said 'I can put an order of chips for you but i can't take your order right now' and then ran off. After returning 15 min later with chips and to take our order we had been sitting there for quite some time. She also rudely bumped each person to remove the extra plates and glasses at the table. Further, she did not come back to check on us as often as she should. It was our guests first time to Winnipeg and I regret them having this as their first dining experience. The waitress was not accommodating, very rushed and rude. I will not consider this restaurant for future business dinners.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect for a group of 5 ladies before theatre

Dined on March 15, 2016

Food, ambiance, service great. Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere, service and food is fabulous.

Dined on March 13, 2016

The shrimp dish was so tasty. Paella also received fabulous reviews. Great atmosphere for a ladies night out. Have also been for the evening entertainment in the bar - fabulous choice for a night out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great meal and good service. The restau ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great meal and good service. The restaurant is very noisy and thus not a romantic setting for couples. Extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.