About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos
  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Scallops
  • Bricklayer's Board
  • Chicken Milanesa Sandwich
  • Gringo Burger
  • La Cabrera
  • Watermelon And Cucumber Salad
Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos
Butternut Squash Soup
Scallops
Bricklayer's Board
Chicken Milanesa Sandwich
Gringo Burger
La Cabrera
Watermelon And Cucumber Salad

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Groups (73)
Fit for Foodies (67)
See All
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Late-night Find (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food took longer to prepare than eat ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food took longer to prepare than eat, my wife ordered well done steak, but once it arrived, it was burned outside, but ping inside.. She is not one to complain, but doesn't like pink inside..

Overall the atmosphere is good, it took a bit of time to get the food to the table, i enjoyed my steak, but can't say the same about my wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed the food and ambience at lunchti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the food and ambience at lunchtime outdoors, but perhaps the presence of wasps was a downer.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was very good and reasonably pr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was very good and reasonably priced too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hermanos is very good. This was my secon ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Hermanos is very good. This was my second visit. The service was excellent and we were not rushed. The wine list was very good and our steaks were well prepared. Both times I've been, if found it a bit noisy. Overall, I really like this place and will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meal was excellent . I would defini ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our meal was excellent . I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Interesting use of Latin American spices ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Interesting use of Latin American spices and cooking methods. Servers very knowledgeable about the dishes. Latin American band playing behind the bar was drowned out by the noise of the restaurant. Lots of energy and vibe. Not the place to go for a quiet romantic evening!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Booked a reservation. Server rushed us o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Booked a reservation. Server rushed us out of our table in an empty dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a birthday The music was so loud ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a birthday

The music was so loud we asked to sit outdoors, which was pleasant

My 3 Rd visit to this restaurant.

The steak Brazilian was not as tender as on previous visits.

Wine and drinks were good.

My recommendation is to stop the live music or not as loud.

Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was excellent. The knowledg ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service was excellent. The knowledge the menu and wine list was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of first timers in our group and th ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Lots of first timers in our group and they really enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good and the service was friendly. They had a nice drink menu with the usual wine, beer and spirits and some nice specialty drinks. The service was slow but we weren't in s rush so didn't mind. The live background music was a nice touch too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were looking for a restaurant in Winn ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant in Winnipeg that we had not tried before. We found Hermanos on Trip Advisor and per the reviews, tried the tenderloin steak with house rub. It was very good. Also tried wine, which was good as well. We were visiting the area and generally go out to dinner with friends there twice a year. Hermanos did not disappoint. It was a little difficult to find a parking spot, and our server tried to rush us a bit, but to no avail. Other than that I would definitely recommend this place. Not inexpensive, but worth it for the atmosphere and good steaks and wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of noise / very loud talking, hard ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lots of noise / very loud talking, hard to hear the music. Don't like having to yell at the person I'm dining with.

Waitress to busy to attend to our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent service app was ready quick an ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service app was ready quick and was excellent our server was great haven't had a good steak at a restaurant in a while it met all my expectations

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been there a couple times, each time the ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Been there a couple times, each time the food and service was good. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined here early prior to a concert a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dined here early prior to a concert at Centennial Hall and chose to do small plates and salads. My husband enjoyed the cucumber and melon salad with balsamic dressing. It was very refreshing with a gorgeous presentation. I had the chicken skewers with mango dipping sauce which were a good sharing item with four pieces total. The natal salad was just excellent with a mix of both veggies and fruits and huge cashews. There were many other small plates and entrees we would like to try on a future visit. The wine list was extensive with many South American choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dining experience. We will de ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. We will definitely be back with our kids sometime! Friendly staff! Live music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting and unique menu. Varied wit ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Interesting and unique menu. Varied with interesting flavors. Multiple breads nicely pared with different offerings. I am a Ciopinno fan, their coconut broth seafood soup is an interesting and tasty variant that I would surely have again. Many options for red meat fans, or you could make a meal out of two or three appetizers. A place that I will surely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 3rd visit and, as usual, we ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit and, as usual, we were warmly greeted upon our arrival and immediately taken to our reserved table.

Our server was very friendly and cheerful... very helpful with our menu item questions.

The ladies' started with a glass of red sangria, which they enjoyed thoroughly... Each couple ordered the "La Cabrera" Ribeye to share... both done exactly as ordered... The main meal was delicious!!!... followed up by a "Latin Crepe" for dessert... it was fabulous!!!

Table service was excellent throughout the evening.

A very enjoyable experience... we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never been there before so not sure what ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never been there before so not sure what to expect. Everyone enjoyed the food (4 of us).

The service was lacking. To be honest, it looked like she didn't want to be there.

She was pleasant enough, but really never came around to see if everything was good.

Two of us had colas. Not ONCE did she ask if we wanted a refill. I had to ask. Really she was not attentive. Other than that very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We've been to Hermanos in numerous occas ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We've been to Hermanos in numerous occasions for the last 5 years. It used to be a great hot spot with great food and nice ambiance/music. Over the last year almost every time we've been we've had an issue with our food. Either over cooked, cold, chewy steak to name a few. Doubtful we'll return unfortunately and we used to love it there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Don't work downtown anymore, so I hadn't ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Don't work downtown anymore, so I hadn't been here in a while. Food and service were, as always, outstanding. I will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I enjoyed every aspect ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience. The food was amazing. We will definitely be coming back every time we're in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and I really enjoyed the atmosph ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

my wife and I really enjoyed the atmosphere

the food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time there and we lo ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our second time there and we love it!

We went there for our anniversary this time and it was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Have been many times ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was very good.

Have been many times.

Recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food great service and wonderful ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food great service and wonderful location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only bad thing I could say would be ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The only bad thing I could say would be about their wine prices. They were a little outrageous

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall the experience was excellent. Th ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall the experience was excellent. The food was great. We came earlier than our reservation and we were seated early. The wait for the food was very short. The waitress was excellent.

The only issue was that there was live music(which was awesome in itself) but we got seated right in front of it and were unable to hear each other during the meal. Next time we will be asked to be seated away from the live band.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As always a delicious meal.... we had ou ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always a delicious meal.... we had out of town guests (from Argentina) and wanted something unique to Winnipeg that wasn't a chain. My only complaint was that we waited nearly an hour for our meals... there were 6 of us. The waitress was kind enough to give us 10% off, but unfortunately I might reconsider future business meals there if we have time constraints.

The restaurant was quite empty with some patrons on the patio. I was surprised that the kitchen was as backed up as it was... these things happen.

Despite all that, everyone was very happy with their meals (I was the only one who had been before)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I was recommended to go for the steak by ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I was recommended to go for the steak by several friends. My husband and I found the steak bland. Too much olive oil was used on the dishes. The potatoes are seasoned well but needed a butter and gravy option at least. There was nothing that stood out about the vegetables. The desert we ordered was rubbery in texture. We ordered the caramel apple dessert. I think the waitress should have checked in on us once while we were eating to see if we needed anything. The atmosphere was loud but mostly because the house music was on while the wonderful jazz band played live.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was awful.i didn't even want ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service was awful.i didn't even want to finish my meal

By far the worst birthday dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The meal was very tasty,portion sizes we ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The meal was very tasty,portion sizes were appropriate,waitress was knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was too slow Steaks were a littl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service was too slow

Steaks were a little chewy .

Tacos on fish tacos were soft and tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We had relatives visiting from out of to ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had relatives visiting from out of town and had heard this was a great restaurant with Latin music. The food was very good, the service and staff were amazing, but we found the noise a bit loud, and could hardly hear the guitar player, which we were looking forward to to. We would still go back, but try to avoid the busy weekend. The parking was difficult to find and expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went to Hermanos on a Frid ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I went to Hermanos on a Friday night for a rare date/celebration evening.

Our service was great. Our waitress was very nice and took good care of us. I had a perfectly cooked and delicious rib eye and my wife had the paella. We were both extremely happy with our food.

The group beside us were a little annoying and loud but otherwise the ambiance was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great albeit a little expen ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great albeit a little expensive. The service was good and we were lucky enough to get a great seat on the patio on a friday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This would be a great venue for our offi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This would be a great venue for our office lunches. We have lunches after tax season, Christmas break and for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I absolutely loved my "surf and turf" di ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I absolutely loved my "surf and turf" dinner and the white sangria was delicious!! I would go back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to celebrate our A ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our Anniversary. We were incredibly disappointed. We dealt with three people and they were all rude. We shared Apps, the Calamari ( which was overwhelmed by breading and was overlay chewy ) and the shrimp ( which was fishy and tasteless). When my husband mentioned the food was not to the standard we expected the waitress seriously rolled her eyes and walked away.

We were so disappointed and will never go there again. This restaurant is seriously overrated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.