About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos
  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Scallops
  • Bricklayer's Board
  • Chicken Milanesa Sandwich
  • Gringo Burger
  • La Cabrera
  • Watermelon And Cucumber Salad
Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos
Butternut Squash Soup
Scallops
Bricklayer's Board
Chicken Milanesa Sandwich
Gringo Burger
La Cabrera
Watermelon And Cucumber Salad

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

good for groups (104)
special occasion (94)
fit for foodies (86)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
romantic (50)
hot spot (47)
late-night find (43)
notable wine list (39)
great for lunch (33)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I went to Hermanos on a Frid ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I went to Hermanos on a Friday night for a rare date/celebration evening. Our service was great. Our waitress was very nice and took good care of us. I had a perfectly cooked and delicious rib eye and my wife had the paella. We were both extremely happy with our food. The group beside us were a little annoying and loud but otherwise the ambiance was nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great albeit a little expen ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great albeit a little expensive. The service was good and we were lucky enough to get a great seat on the patio on a friday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This would be a great venue for our offi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This would be a great venue for our office lunches. We have lunches after tax season, Christmas break and for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved my "surf and turf" di ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I absolutely loved my "surf and turf" dinner and the white sangria was delicious!! I would go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My husband and I went to celebrate our A ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our Anniversary. We were incredibly disappointed. We dealt with three people and they were all rude. We shared Apps, the Calamari ( which was overwhelmed by breading and was overlay chewy ) and the shrimp ( which was fishy and tasteless). When my husband mentioned the food was not to the standard we expected the waitress seriously rolled her eyes and walked away. We were so disappointed and will never go there again. This restaurant is seriously overrated!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, excellent food. Grea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Greatly recommended!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food. Lots of choices on the menu. ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food. Lots of choices on the menu. Don't expect the basket of bread. When we asked for bread with the meal out unfriendly server returned with 3 loonies size pieces of bread and no butter. She mentioned she had to beg the chef for the bread. A bit expensive.....not sure if I will return anytime soon.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner date

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, beautiful date. I had high expectations for my steak for the high price. Didn't really bother me that it was under cooked but the fact that I had to chew each piece for 10 minutes did. I never ever send food back. To be brutally honest I've had a similar meal for roughly the same price that was not even caparable to this. Would I go back? Yes, but only to impress a date since it's a very romantic setting. Id probably order chicken or pasta, something easier to cook.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Moody waitress spoiled a special occasion

Dined on June 8, 2016

We came for my daughters 18th birthday. The food and restaurant were very good but unfortunately our waitress was not very personable from the first encounter. We thought she may warm up as time went on but this was not the case. The food was served promptly as were the drinks. We told her it was an 18th birthday and she responded "oh happy birthday" which didn't come off and genuine in the least. When I paid the bill I found the value very good, but left feeling disheartened that I left behind a $28.00 tip to this waitress who shouldn't have gotten a dime.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a good evening.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We enjoyed the food, chosen from an interesting menu. We were well-served by our waiter. The "energetic" noise level was an incumbrance to our being able to listen to each other comfortably.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Can't say enough about the steak, especially the spice rub.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Meal

Dined on May 29, 2016

A group of 8 of us arrived for a Sunday reservation to find the restaurant rather quiet, which suited us fine. The meal was presented very visually and everyone enjoyed all that was ordered. Our service was also very good. I recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a good meal. Only recommendation I have for the restaurant is to dust the tops of the vinyl booth seats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere!! Been here 3 ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!! Been here 3 times and it's been amazing each time. Will definitely be back again!!:)

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience celebrating a cowor ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating a coworker's retirement

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Full tummy without the upse ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Full tummy without the upset from fillers and other additives. Very satisfying

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Questionable Ribeye

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our dining experience at Hermanos on May 21st had its ups and downs. The service was very good but one of our ribeye steaks was of poor quality with an excessive amount of fat, perhaps 2/3 of the cut. The waitress did not charge us for that steak and that was the proper decision. The mushrooms were excellent! Hermanos isn't a cheap restaurant so we expect quality food at all times. Very pleasant ambience and music although all tables should be covered with tablecloths.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Shame about the tacos

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went out to celebrate a retirement. My friends chose the sirloin skewers and quite enjoyed them. I ordered the pickerel tacos which were bland and lacking any flavour. The potato chips were good. It's pricey but the service Is lovely and I will go back but I'll stay away from the tacos.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Myself and my 5 girlfriends dine out 6 t ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Myself and my 5 girlfriends dine out 6 times per year for theatre. Hermanos is one of our favorites. We enjoy the easy going atmosphere and the happy hour prices.Food and service has been consistently good and we do enjoy sharing tapas. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Noise level

Dined on May 11, 2016

This noise level is such that only 3-4 can visit. Any more than that not all people could be part of the conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a great spot for friends to meet ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This is a great spot for friends to meet for pre-theatre lunch or dinner. The food and service are good and it is conventiently located close to the theatre.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was awesome, even though it cou ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was awesome, even though it could have been hotter. I was only warm like it had been sitting in a warming tray. The flavor was really good, though. The noise level was way too high. There was a group on the other side and we couldn't have a normal conversation because of the noise. I had the Milanesa Napolitina and the flavor of it reminded me of when I was in South America. It was made as it should be. The service was quick and friendly and everything arrived as ordered.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The steaks ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. The steaks we had melted in your mouth! Love the ambience of the place and noise levels were nice even when it was getting busy. Highly recommend this place. :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelent restaurant!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I like Hermanos for the quality of its food and the ambience too. I like the decoration, the light, and the music in it. I'm already a regular customer, and I hope to continue getting more satisfactory experiences there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

Dined on May 6, 2016

We usually come here before the theatre and they always make sure we receive our food in time so that we can arrive at our show on time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall experience was positive! Friend ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overall experience was positive! Friendly, knowledgeable server. Food was tasty and served in a timely fashion. No complaints:)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Food quality declining steadily.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service is great. The location is perfect. The ambiance is fun. The food is ordinary. We have been going to Hermano's just before our theatre night for a few years now as it is right across the street. The quality of the food has been declining over the past year. In our last visit, the steak salad was so tough it was inedible. The spicy paella wouldn't have upset a baby's tummy. The burger is reliable if ordinary.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food is consistent - steak was done to perfection. Our server, Sara, has extensive wine knowledge, and made excellent wine recommendations for our meals. The ambiance is a "happening" kind of place - also know as "noisy". But if you are ready for that - all is good.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions very substantial. Our waitress was very attentive, and made a good recommendation for an entree. The atmosphere and decor truly had a South American flavour, which we loved. And although we are not that familiar with South American wines, the selection was very good, and we thoroughly enjoyed our choice. This is our new favourite restaurant .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A lovely pre-opera experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our visit to Hermano's was a lovely pre-opera experience. The service was prompt, allowing us time for a leisurely meal before heading over to the Concert Hall. Our party of four really enjoyed the 5 tapas dishes and two desserts we shared that made for a satisfying meal. The 5 dishes provided us with a very nice variety to tempt our tastebuds. I am generally not a fan of sausage...but the sausage and peppers tapas dish turned out to be one of my favourites...a pleasant surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Friday Night at Hermanos

Dined on April 23, 2016

Entertainment was very good. Too noisy in restaurant - moved to lounge after meal to hear music. Waitress went out of her way to try and please us, as there was some disappointment with our meals. One of our party sent her meat back as was not prepared as she asked. After the 3rd try she gave up and only ate her french fries. She was not charged for the meal. Another one of our party was choking from the spice on his meal, and the waitress kindly replaced it with a blander version. 2 meals were supposed to have grilled veggies but only a large plate of dried potato chips came with the meat. Mousse dessert had large chunks of honeydew melon on top. It was served in a tall thin glass and you had to get past the melon to get to the mousse. which was difficult. The waitress brought us a plate of sliced strawberries which should have been used in the first place. I got the impression the regular chef was not there. I would not go back to that restaurant for a meal.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Enjoyable!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went there for our 34th wedding anniversary along with our adult children and their spouses. We all found the food to be very tasty and the energy in the room was vibrant. The menu selections were ample - something for everyone - we had two gluten intolerant guests with us and they were able to choose from many entrees and even dessert. The house wines were very good as well. Our waiter although very attentive, was very busy, perhaps the place was slightly understaffed, but all in all it was a very positive experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Out for special occasion

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food is always great, service is good, atmosphere is noisy but we enjoy that. If I had one beef... it would be the temperature in the restaurant... too hot for our liking, needed to be moved to the bar area near the entrance so we had the benefit of the door opening with a nice cool breeze coming in.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great night out with the girls before MTC.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the atmosphere. There is a nice wine selection. The entertainment was enjoyable and we could still enjoy catching up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Food was good, steaks tender and servers ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was good, steaks tender and servers were very knowledgeable about cuts and meat.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, great time.

Dined on April 13, 2016

My gf wanted meto rate the food 10 out of 5. So good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Friends dinner

Dined on April 13, 2016

My group was ladies night out. Everything was pretty great, but our waitress seemed a bit stressed. It was very busy and she seemed overwhelmed a few times. Nothing terrible, she was very pleasant. My only critique about the restaurant itself is that the restaurant was extremely hot. Uncomfortably so.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Export Marketing Manger

Dined on April 13, 2016

At times the lounge side is very noisy and due to the design of the building the noise spills over into the restaurant. There are a lot of benches at the tables and I prefer chairs for slightly more formality in a business meeting. The food is great, especially the steaks. Keep the quality up or you are just another restaurant. (of which there are many.)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wondeful, as usual

Dined on April 10, 2016

Hermanos is one of our regular hangouts. It has all the components that we are looking for: - Good food, - live music - 90% can accommodate even without reservation for 2-4 people - Central

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Give it a try!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We enjoyed the food (good portions) and the close proximity to the theater. The service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant. A 'keeper'.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

disappointing this time.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Noisy room. Bottle of red wine arrived warm and was poured into a glass even warmer from the dishwasher. Paella served in a cast iron pan was lukewarm. Usually it is steaming hot. Service was attentive. We are regular guests, but will give one more chance.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.