Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Groups (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Casual (26)
Live Music (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (22)
Romantic (20)
Tapas (19)
Fun (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great Beer (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Spicy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Waterfront (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing!! Our server was nice, knowledgeable, and outgoing but we received SLOW service all night. I understand it was a busy night but we would have ordered more cocktails and bottles of wine had she been more attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I didn't want to complain
But I was there last year was awesome . I had the steak and was so excited go back . I went sept 16 for my bday and we waited almost hour for food others got there's before are table . The band is so loud trying talk was crazy
My potatos were cold and steak was so salty was disappointed this time . Everyone else enjoyed there meal

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Both my friend and myself agreed Hermanos offers little for what you spend. Every item on the menu is overpriced. If I am paying over 40$ for fish, that dish had better be excellent and yet, it was so disappointing. At least the alcohol was good and not overpriced...6.75 for a cocktail is reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent and meals superb. I have visited Winnipeg on several occasions from Scotland and this is the first time I have been here but it will NOT be the last visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Our anniversary dinner here was awsome and special...highly recommend!!

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I heard it was a nice restaurant, so I booked it for our 21 anniversary on Sept.14.

Pros :
-Nice outside décor , patio for seasonal nice. Quiet location
-First impression inside was nice. Rustic but modern
-Menu selection was nicely printed and easy to undestand
-Service was very good, helped with the translation on the menu of item description
-Meals were very tasteful and lots of flavor

Cons:
-No parking , I had to pay an extra $7 to eat , not happy with that. Could validate up to $5 .
-Hostess only read my reservation and request for a private table when we arrived even though I did an online reservation earlier that afternoon giving plenty of time to honour it.
- Warm water served with no ice, really !!! NO THANKS.
- Lounge entertainment was very loud for the little room, hard to talk to each other.
- No bread or salad served, optional to purchase is not hospitable ( I remind you I paid $7for parking)
- My $33.50 dollar meal with 1.5" piece of in season corn which costs 10 cents. Which was a feature from the chef selection. Thanks for the 50 pcs of corn. A half cob would make it look better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We love this place. Come often. Food and service fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Planned a dinner meeting for business. Food and service were great, although the noise level made it difficult at times to conduct business

Tags: Tapas, Live Music, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Hermanos never surprises you. food and service its always pleasent an delicious. the staff its very smily so it gets you feel welcoming from the moment you come in to the end of your experience. highly suggest the brazilian cocktail with lots of lime " i can't remember the name".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 4, 2017

my experience was fantastic, food was a superb. the place its beautiful and never disappoints. from service to quality it keeps you wanting more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very expensive but close to concert hall for pre show meal. Very small portion but very good pickerel. Came with a huge amount of chips to fill up plate no vegetable. Live band was a nice touch just found it too loud to talk Seated by the kitchen when many other tables open. Should have asked to be moved. Needs some paint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday and our anniversary. Service was top rate, our server was knowledgeable and very forthright. The food Amazing! Overall it was a great experience it was our first time here. It was highly recommended by our son. Will be coming back!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fantastic food and service always at Hermano's! Excellent portions. Service always friendly.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always a fun place great food great service great area!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The restaurant was bustling when we were there which was fine - service was not compromised. I ordered the steak salad and was disappointed. About a third of the steak portion was tough and gristly and I wasn't able to eat it. The rest of the salad was very good. I can'r recall what my friend ordered but she seemed satisfied with her meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our second time to Hermano's. The service was great. Our server was very attentive and was very helpful. The food was good- but I wasn't blown away- I feel that for the price of the menu items, the quality could have been a bit better. Two people ordered steaks and neither was cooked to the customers liking- but I will say that the server did take it back and return it properly cooked. Another guest who had the special didn't get the complete dish as they ran out- again- the server added an extra at no cost- so overall they made sure to treat us right and tried to make things right- so customer service was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall the experience was good but the starter which consisted of pickled vegetables, cheese and bread was very disappointing. A few mini slices of baguette and a few pieces of crumbled blue cheese was most definitely not worth the price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The dinner and service was really good. We have been to Hermano's a few times and have always enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Dinner was good however service was painfully slow and the server was hard to understand. We had to request drinks as the server forgot about us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A little disappointed! Brought friends who had never been before and they found it a bit pricey! The noise level was pretty intense too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Perfect central location for a special pre-theatre dinner. Delicious steak and milanesas, with excellent wine to accompany. Cannot wait to return to try out their sidewalk patio!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The steaks we received were very good. The rest of the plates were okay. My Long Island Iced tea tasted awful. The service was lacklustre but when you are automatically receiving a tip they don't have to work very hard or make an impression. We were almost late for our event afterwards because she couldn't get the bills right. And don't you have a cleaning service? Because my son wrote his name in the dust that was at the top half of the seats. He also wrote the number of the health department on it. And what restaurant that charges that much for food, doesn't give the Birthday person a free dessert? Really? I was not very impressed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the food came out really quick. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I loved the grilled sausage that we ordered! will definitely coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant was nice and was our first visit. We ate out on the patio which was was wonderful as the weather was perfect. The only issue was using the online reservation system that seemed to work, i got my confirmation email but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told there was no reservation for us. Fortunately they had open tables otherwise would not have been much of an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the paella. I have had this in Spain and this is very close to the real deal. He only complaint is that the appetizers were over priced for what you get

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good ribeye beef skewers were chewy and grizzly for med rare. The lamb was amazing and the grilled vegetables were great too. Drink menu lots too choice from.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Overall it was good however antipasto and cheese boards are way too over priced for what you get.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Celebrated our 20th anniversary on august 9th. She had the baby cabrera, I had the seafood stew and the eggplant! All three dishes were perfect. Our waitress was friendly and courteous, she brought us a free dessert to share after our meal. Nice touch. Well done, Hermanos!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and service!
Only drawback was being accosted by panhandlers outside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic gem of a restaurant . The food was outstanding! Super frosted mug for beer! One of the best rib eye i ever had as well. My lovely date was very pleased as well.
I look forward to going again. Thanks Hermanos.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 4, 2017

PHENOMENAL!!! Food was amazing as always! Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Each dish look yummy! My friends enjoyed their meals. Mine looked like they ran out of hamburger meat and that they dressed my plate with lots of chips to disguise it. It was not like what I had before and the meat was a bit charred for the little amount there was. This was unfortunate for me as I usually enjoy bringing my friends there, especially before a WSO concert. Will try again and see.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our food which started with cheese and bread tapas as well as soup of the day. Ordered main courses from the menu 4 different steaks and a chicken dish and all were full of flavor, cooked exactly how requested and just melted in your mouth. Absolutely fantastic. Only draw back is how loud it can get especially once you have a live musician. It's a nice touch for sure but makes hearing conversation slightly more difficult. Our service was incredible too. She was very polite, attentive and communicated very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I would definitely recommend going, great food, wine and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great outing, good food and excellent service. First time to Hermanos and we were very pleased with the entire experience. We will defiantly return for a meal again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Was looking for a romantic, intimate type of setting . Although the food and service were outstanding being seated next to a table of eight men reminiscing about the stag they had once attended didn't really set the mood I was looking for.
Perhaps an option of a more private booth would have made for an excellent outing. Although using this service was convenient it didn't allow for the opportunity to make such a request.
I will probably phone the restaurant the next time I would like to make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

First time dining for us. Very enjoyable. Will come again with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every time we come, the steak is perfectly tender and done exactly to order. Sides and appetizers are wonderful as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was VERY slow, but granted it was extremely busy due to fringe. Water was only refilled after we were done our meals, no one checked on us while eating, and food took almost an hour to come out. Food was okay...some dishes better than others. My cousins who shared one of their large plates were still hungry afterwards. My soup was not good at all (everyone at the table tried it but no one wanted it), but the empanadas were good. Paella was good (not amazing) and my moms chicken was fabulous, clear winner of the table. Best part of the meal was dessert, which was spectacular. Ambiance and location are great. Overall an okay but not amazing experience considering how much money we spent, and we were wanting to take our cousins who were visiting from Korea to one of Winnipeg's best restaurants, which we have heard it was. A bit overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.