Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Casual (25)
Authentic (22)
Live Music (22)
Fun (21)
Tapas (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (6)
Spicy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Waterfront (4)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 20 hours ago

Food was Great. Live music. If I were ever committed to death row....the surf and turf would be my last meal. Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was ok. I ordered the same item as I had at a previous dinner here but it wasn't nearly as tasty. We were celebrating my sons 18th bday and the restaurant did absolutely nothing to make it special. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always amazing!!! Our go to date night restaurant and we always leave very happy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went to Hermanos a second time because on our first visit we were very impressed. This time unfortunately the food wasn't that good. We ordered French fries instead the starch and those friese were not very crispy . For a restaurant this class I expect better then that. The meat on the burger was not tender, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We celebrated our 47th wedding anniversary at Hermano's ....It was our first time there and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Because of the cost, we will only be able to come for special occasions. Thank you for a delightful evening

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time eating there. Was amazing. Great steaks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food, never had a steak melt in my mouth till tonight. Wonderful experience if you're looking to take someone to a nice dinner for a birthday, anniversary, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have been there several times and have always had a great dinning experience. Will come back time and time again for those " Special" evenings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Attentive staff but not too in your face. Very tasty meal. Asked for a quiet area and it was perfect! We were very impressed! Would go again and would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were all awesome for a fun date night out. The live music was great and we really enjoyed ourselves. The only disappointment was the antipasto which had 3 pieces of prosciutto, two tiny pieces of cheese, a hunk of blue cheese and a bowl of olives and pickled vegetables. For $20, there should have been a much larger selection and amount of cheese and meat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a wonderful time with our friends! Food was excellent and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very alive and fun! Great choice for everyday occasions!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Delicious food and friendly staff. Great location and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vegan, Hot Spot, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My fiancé and I were there for a special date. We had our first date at Hermano's and we wanted our last date before we become husband and wife to be there too. The food was phenomenal and our server was fantastic, she was very attentive and made sure our glasses were never empty. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The server, Sara, was one of the most helpful and attentive we have had in a very long time. The food, amazing steaks, and sides, perfect accompaniment to the mains and the Latino crepes were to die for!!
A night that won't soon be forgotten!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We had a great time, everyone loved their meals and the service was great as per usual

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Faultless - all our group were complimentary about the food and especially the portions. We have all eaten there before so we're not surprised at the service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was our first time at Hermanos. Food and service was exellent. Being born and raised in South America, this was a great taste of home. The experience was wonderful. We will definitely come back. Thank you!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The steak was cooked to the perfection. Overall we had a very nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was amazing! All my friends as well as myself loved our meals and the service was great. Live music just adds to the ambiance and overall feel of the place. Felt very authentic and I loved the decor

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The shrimp dish and the seafood skillet were superb! An easy walk to Burton Cummings Theatre for a concert after dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Took my parents there for their 30th anniversary. Our server was great with putting the cake in the fridge for us first thing, very attentive. Everyone ordered something a little different and it was all delicious. Proper wine service was very much appreciated too. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was meant to be an outing to celebrate my wife's birthday. However, the noise level in the restaurant was so loud that we were literally screaming at one another to be heard and, despite the screaming, maybe only every third word was discernible. We tried to tough it out, but gave up and left after five minutes of fruitless yelling. Unless you like an experience where virtually no communication is possible, then I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner but we would have liked a bun or salad included in our entire. We ordered the cheese for an appetizer. There was four of us and although it was delicious there was not enough Melba toast. We asked for more and we were charged $2.00 extra for 6 pieces. We though that was very chinchy. Our dinner was excellent and we were taking our friends out to thank them for a favour they did for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Everything was great as usual...except the hostess was quite rude when trying to explain that there were 2 reservations made under 2 different names. When I went to point to the names on the screen she got immediately angry and shoved my hand away. Very abrupt and quite ignorant. I told the business people we were with we should go elsewhere due to her attitude and after discussion we decided to stay since we have never had a problem previously.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Was recommended by a friend and definitely was worth the visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is our favourite steak restaurant. It's a consistent experience every time. If you like steak, come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Was expecting a great steak, a little disappointed. Food was good, not fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was excellent. Great atmosphere. Najara runs a fantastic crew!!
Steak melted in our mouths and the server was attentive to our needs! Great job everyone. We will absolutely return and bring more friends!!! I suggest this restaurant for a date night or to celebrate a special occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our third time there so we wanted to introduce 2 couple friends to Hermones. We were seated right beside the live band, talking while they were playing was near impossible. After asking the waitress if there were other tables available to move to, we were told no as there was no room. They did ask the band to turn down the music which made it slightly more tolerable to finished the meal. What I found frustrating was after being told no tables were available, I saw a table set for 6 across the room sit empty all evening even as we left. I didn't feel like our request was given enough weight to make sure we were having the best evening we could have while giving our guests the best first impression. The food was great, wine list was wonderful, if we book again
I will call in and ask for a table furthest away from the band area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The outdoor patio is great, but the road is busy (loud) and it's next to an automatic garage door for underground parking (also loud). This detracts from the overall ambiance. Best to sit inside.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal. Food was very good. Good value.
Waitress was bit preoccupied and forgot friend's salad.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 25, 2017

we has an excellent evening the service and the server was fantastic the company had a terrific timed and we enjoyed ourselves very much We tried a few new things on the menu and were pleasantly surprised- everything as very tastefull . One had the rib eye steak and the rest of us went tappas Definitely will go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Love the large boards, it is a great sampling of all the different entree items.
This visit 2 guests tried the pasta dishes and they were mediocre .
Stick to the grill items :)
side note// requested a nice table to celebrate a special occasion.
One would hope that maybe being seated by the window would have happened , but we sat against a wall near the back :( disappointed this was not taken into consideration especially because it was a non busy weekday

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Definitely will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service were great, and overall the experience was fantastic. I would check if there are any large parties booked the same night you plan to go, however, as my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and couldn't talk to each other. The was a large birthday party beside our table, and the noise level was unbelievable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We ordered the fish special and it tasted too lemony. The chicken dish I ordered wasnt too my liking either. The empanadas to start were the highlight of the meal. $100 for just food (no alcohol or drinks) did not feel like a $100 meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was a birthday dinner. The service was wonderful, friendly and attentive. The food came incredibly quickly and was amazingly delicious. I would recommend this place anytime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have a lot of meat eaters in our group so the menu was great for them. Everyone enjoyed the cheese board so much that we needed to order another one. The seafood dish I ordered wasn't really my favourite, it was a bit dry and the clams were all closed tightly but all the other beef dishes were very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Second visit within six months, food and service as excellent as on first visit. Good ambience, live music, desert and after dinner drinks in a relaxing environment made the evening exceedingly enjoyable. We will go back and recommend to friends. A little mix up with reservation was made good with a drink of champaign on the house !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food that we ordered was good and tasty. I was happy that the lunch menu was still available even after 5:30pm. I found the steak dinners a bit pricey. The service we received was excellent! The decor of the restaurant gave me the good impression that this was indeed a classy restaurant to dine in. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.