About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Groups (43)
See All
Tapas (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Authentic (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Romantic (29)
Fun (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Late-night Find (18)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Cozy (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Live Music (15)
Historic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great Beer (5)
Spicy (5)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great, the service was good ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great, the service was good, the only thing that bothered me is that we reserved a table for 5pm, but they had a private event in the are I was at and we were talking and eating and they were rushing us to leave so they could use our table for the event that was happening. We ended up not finishing our food completely and could not even think about ordering dessert or coffee.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was beautifully cooked. A couple th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was beautifully cooked. A couple things were a little messy on the plate but taste more than made up for it. Server was friendly and very professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

More veggies would have been great. Too ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 25, 2016

More veggies would have been great. Too many onions on the skewer we had the rib steak. Great seasoning on the steak!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu did not mention that shrimp sk ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The menu did not mention that shrimp skillet was too spicy. Although the shrimp were large and cooked well, one member could not finish them because of this.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, knowledgeable service. Food c ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent, knowledgeable service. Food cooked exactly how it was ordered. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and awesome food. The Cach ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service and awesome food.

The Cachaca shrimp was very good.

My steak was perfect :)

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service. had reservatio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, good service. had reservations and table was ready when we got. Highly recommend. We have been several time and food is always great and consistent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappoints! Germain's is definite ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints! Germain's is definitely a bit on the procedure side, but the food, service and ambiance are always terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome place to go for an intimate nigh ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome place to go for an intimate night out ! Great service waitress was very polite and super knowledgable! Got our food very quickly and was impressed with the quality . price range is higher but you get big portions and it's not a lot to pay compared to anywhere else . Overall great experience !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Paella was soupy and not at all crispy l ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Paella was soupy and not at all crispy like it is supposed to be. Wife had the chicken and was sick fo two days. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The wine is very expensive. It would be ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The wine is very expensive. It would be nice to have cheaper options other than $18.00 per 9 oz glass.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Servings were good portions. Wine choic ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Servings were good portions. Wine choices were good. Server did not come back to ask us if we needed anything else, after we had paid the bill. Our water had been out for quite some time and simply would have liked it refilled.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

All was good. Staff very accommodating, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

All was good. Staff very accommodating, friendly. Food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Late-night Find, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at this establis ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our first time at this establishment and our expectations were greatly met and exceeded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, wine and excellent servi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food, wine and excellent service will be back again and again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food. Service was very slow. Wa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Fabulous food. Service was very slow. Waitress was very pleasant though. We will definitely return to Hermanos cause the food is soooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very much enjoyed the restaurant, the fo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very much enjoyed the restaurant, the food was very good and a reasonable portion. The service was very good, friendly and professional. We were there early so the restaurant wasn't busy, we enjoyed the quiet. I would go again and would recommend it to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very enjoyable experience befor ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a very enjoyable experience before walking over to the Concert Hall. The server was great, the atmosphere fun and the food delicious. We plan to return at the next opportunity.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too loud for a group of 2, found the tab ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Too loud for a group of 2, found the tables really close together (back to back). Would likely be better suited for large groups.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

was disappointed in the meal. Had the s ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

was disappointed in the meal. Had the same dish I have had several times before, and felt the quality of the food served had gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Party of nine for family birthday. Share ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Party of nine for family birthday. Shared paella and the mixed grill between three. Very enjoyable. In fact the whole group enjoyed their food.

Just thought it was slightly mean spirited to charge a dollar for tartar sauce for a fish dish, seemed a little like a cafeteria in that respect.

Apart from that very enjoyable, we will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted something different to celebra ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We wanted something different to celebrate a birthday... And it was. Great food, great drinks and a fantastic server. I will be returning again.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation. Do not know what happ ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had a reservation. Do not know what happened - it is usually so good. Waited for 15 minutes once seated - no service. Staff laughing in the bar - finally went and got a server. Both had Shorelunch - fish was in pieces like a taco - not filets as before and much less than usual serving. Served green tea with boiling water and ruined it.???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

we keep coming back - and enjoy some of ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 31, 2016

we keep coming back - and enjoy some of our repeat selections - and really like that we get to have our favourite place to sit and talk as well as eat!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great meal. The service was fri ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great meal. The service was friendly and efficient. My only criticism is that it is quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent as was service and a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was excellent as was service and ambience. Would definitley return. Entrance is not safe as is very dark with the dark brown stairs immediately inside the door and no stairway lighting and the handrails are very loose. We all had trouble seeing where we were going. Not good for vision impaired patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

expensive meal but very tasty. pink lady ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

expensive meal but very tasty. pink lady cocktail was ver yummy. coffee was disappointing. service was excellect and even made as fresh coffee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the Tango hall mixed grill for 2 ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had the Tango hall mixed grill for 2 or 3 people - definitely not enough for 3. It was just average (that's being kind) - fatty steak, cold shrimp, tough chicken. The server on the other hand was attentive and helpful. The place was inexplicably packed. Can't say I'd return, been there...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Your cooks and service staff always do a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Your cooks and service staff always do an exceptional job!! You are one of the few restaurants in the city that I walk away totally happy, everytime!! The womens bathroon could use a make over though. Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Good service. Not th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Good service. Not the place for a quiet conversation. Nice selection of wines. Will return soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fast, efficient, friendly service before ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fast, efficient, friendly service before theatre. Good very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend an I reserved our usual spot c ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My friend an I reserved our usual spot close to the front and we had a fabulous meal. Great service, ambience and it was a lovely evening. It was busy and the noise level was moderate, but not invasive. We'll be back soon! Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend came in from out of town to go ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My friend came in from out of town to go to MTC

We were looking for a restaurant within walking distance

Food was very good but I found that the cocktails were expensive!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Fun, People Watching, Quick Bite, Tapas, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another very good dining experience for ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Another very good dining experience for our group of 8. The hostess' greeting was cheerful and friendly. We had a reservation and were immediately taken to our table. Our server was friendly, attentive, and very efficient... excellent service, from the first (drinks) to the last (dessert and coffee). 3 couples had La Cabrera platters, 1 guest had Beef Milanesa Napolitana, and 1 had a Natal Salad. Everyone complimented the meals. Of special note was the "Soup of the Moment"... a creamy mushroom base. It was delicious! Overall, a very enjoyable meal and evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous as always! Continues to be our ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fabulous as always! Continues to be our favourite place to eat in Winnipeg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first visit to Hermanos. I enj ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was my first visit to Hermanos. I enjoyed the food, ambience and leisurely pace of the dinner . Our waitress Luise was attentive but not overbearing. I would Hermanos to my friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a restaurant that prides itself on it ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As a restaurant that prides itself on its beef I had to send my steak back. I asked for medium rare and got a rare steak that could not be chewed. They re-grilled slices of the meat so that when I got it back it had changed not only the texture of the steak but the taste. I was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great atmosphere! I would recommend it a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great atmosphere! I would recommend it as a date. Steak was a little over priced for what we got but thats only because I didn't enjoy the balsamic glaze that they use for their steak. That is my personal preference though.. Some salt and pepper is more than good enough for me. Sangria is a must, service was outstanding, overall good experience. Definetely a place to try but I feel like once is good enough.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaraunt . Food was excellent, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great restaraunt . Food was excellent, except the cheesecake. It was dry, and had a passion fruit geletain topping instead of actual passion fruit. Otherwise the steak and chicken that our group ordered was fantastic. Server was professional, music was a bit too loud for conversation. It was live music and wonderful singer, but she was a little loud. Overall a great restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. The house wines ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Good food and service. The house wines leave a little to be desired though.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.