Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (80)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Good for Groups (53)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Tapas (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Casual (39)
Romantic (33)
Authentic (33)
Modern Decor (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Live Music (29)
Cozy (28)
Business Meals (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Fun (25)
Late-night Find (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Historic (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Family Style (10)
Spicy (10)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Waterfront (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Sports (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been here many times. Always enjoy the experience. Service could be stronger. But great food and Great friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

I have had the opportunity to frequent Hermanos a couple of different times I the past couple of months! The food is always good....fish tacos and paella this time was delicious. Service is excellent and the waitress was very friendly! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good steak or to try something new!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to Hermano's before but got a gift certificate for our 25th anniversary which prompted us to go again. We both had ribeye steaks and they were tasty and cooked to our liking. Waitress very attentive. Lovely meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have been to Hermanos many times for a pre-play dinner. It is always very good. I did think they could lower their prices on their wine list though!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My first time with friends there, and It was really good.
Amazing service and very friendly waitress.
We like to try food from different places.( paella)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first time to Hermanos and it was wonderful. Great service. The server answered all our questions and made recommendations. Food was great!! We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good service and food. Pricey but you definitely get what you paid for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 10, 2017

More spacing between occupied tables would have been ideal. Seemed all tables were sat all together, not allowing private conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great dining experience. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Tables were a little close, hard to have a private conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food great service!! Overall great experience

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 1, 2017

First time experience just two days ago. Making a reservation on the website was incredibly easy. Located the restaurant itself with no problem and got seated immediately (6:30 reservation on a Tuesday). The waitreds was courteous, and knowledgable of the menu.
Only downside seemed to be that of all the empty tables for two available, we were seated with the door immediately behind me, so when the door banged from being opened and closed, it was a frequent but minor annoyance. From time of seating to receiving our entre, it was at/over an hour.
We had ordered the large 24oz steak platter that says feeds 2-3 people, and it was delicious, but easily polished off by my husband and I, with room for dessert!
All of the food tasted great, fresh, and the steak was cooked exactly how I like it. Very impressed, and the menu has several items that I want to try in the future! We will definitely return, and I have already suggested it to my employer for our next dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The steaks were perfectly cooked great seasoning and the asparagus was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The steak was perfect. All the sides were barely luke warm and bland. I will give it one more try and would recommend it to others as it has been so much better in the past. Love their White Sangria!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was very busy on Sun ev, very loud due to before theatre crowd, waitresses very busy! Was there for 65th birthday. Food very good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was a bit slow but that was mostly because nearly all the reservations arrived at same time and wanting to go to same event.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love Hermanos. The food and service is always great! If you can find a Groupon it is more than worth it. Great for dates and friend get together. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was very good. We found the seating a little tight. It felt like my elbows were in the adjacent tables space. We had excellent staff looking after our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, great service. Steak was the best We have had in the city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Come hungry. The portions are huge. Decided to share one of the boards (with all the different kinds of meats) couldn't finish because we had to make room for dessert. (Try the crepes, I would go back just for that).
Know that you have 2 hours allocated and you'll be using all that time. I think it's wonderful to not be rushed eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been there many times, always fabulous. Very loud boisterous atmosphere. Service was better than the previous occasion we were there. Thumbs up all around.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have been many times. I enjoyed very much and definitely will be back. Can't go wrong with any cut of steak, always prepared exactly how you want it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, warm and vibrant enviroment.
Excellent service Better than what is to be expected.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love this place!!! Food is amazing and the ambience is perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place is alright. Great for appetizers and drinks before heading out for a fun night with the girls. Or a nice after a movie type place for drinks as they have live music.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Four of us had supper here. We all had the Cabrera steaks. The were perfectly cooking to our liking. Service was awesome. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Next to my husband's rib eye this one was pretty damn good. Garlic mashed potatoes were amazing as were the mushrooms. I was quite disappointed by the choice of seasonal vegetables. ..a skewer of grilled onions and green pepper. ..pretty sad really for the caliber of establishment . never touched the corn cob either ..I'm not a big fan of cob but my husband tried it and said it tasted weird. ... but the rest of the dish was well worth the trip. Definetly will go back. ..that paella was calling me. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Hermanos is great! Such a unique vibe inside. We have been once before and we were just as happy this time around. Consistently great food and service. We will most definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Winnipeg has a lot of great dinning options....and Hermanos makes the 'favorite ' list!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was my first time to Hermano's and after hearing nothing but great reviews I had the same experience. Our server was very knowledgeable which was good as we had someone who was gluten free in our party. The food was delicious from the salads, to the apps to the steaks to the desserts- we're already planning our next visit. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great! Tried the Tango Hall Mixed Grill and Gianduia for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

the service was really good and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Although the steak was a bit on rare rather than medium-rare, I didn't mind since overall the food was great. Will come back to try out the seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place and menu. Never disappointed and it was great to also use my Groupon.
See you soon M & B

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was great as was the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my husband and my first vist to Hermanos, for our 30th pre- wedding anniversary coming up.The groupon was to expire in March 2017,therefore we went before the expired date.
My husband had the seafood stew,he really like it however he was disappointed for a small portion at the value for the price,it was very expensive.I had the paella,at first it was very spicy for me,the waitress was so kind to have another one made for me without the spicy taste,the second paella was very good,and not spicy.I am Spanish,born in Madrid....I cook the paella myself over the years for family and friends.Let me tell you, even though it wasn't the REAL PAELLA,it was still good and next to the closest paella you could find in Winnipeg.Everything else was good.I will return someday again,and try something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good overall food, service was very good. We had the ribeye skewers and gnocchi. I would recommend, but it's not a knockout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a birthday celebration for my husband! Food was excellent, and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was fabulous! Waitress (Julienne) was outstanding. Where we were seated there was quite a cool winter breeze coming from the front door whenever someone excited or entered. The noise level is higher likely due to all the brick work I suspect. Because of the noise level I wouldn't recommend for the getting to know someone dating. But if you don't want to talk as much it is just perfect. Unfortunately we left before the band started. Will come back again for the food and the music!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have been before a long time ago. Decided to go because of a groupon.
Paid a lot for a steak that had to be sent back because it was ice cold in middle and it was extremely tough for a ribeye as they didn't trim the meat before cooking it. It had huge tendons running through steak that shouldn't be there for a $73 steak. Won't be back as no one even came by to even at least acknowledge that we sent the steak back. The waitress didn't even apologize.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.