Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Good for Groups (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Tapas (26)
Casual (26)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Live Music (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (12)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (8)
Historic (8)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Spicy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

we has an excellent evening the service and the server was fantastic the company had a terrific timed and we enjoyed ourselves very much We tried a few new things on the menu and were pleasantly surprised- everything as very tastefull . One had the rib eye steak and the rest of us went tappas Definitely will go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the large boards, it is a great sampling of all the different entree items.
This visit 2 guests tried the pasta dishes and they were mediocre .
Stick to the grill items :)
side note// requested a nice table to celebrate a special occasion.
One would hope that maybe being seated by the window would have happened , but we sat against a wall near the back :( disappointed this was not taken into consideration especially because it was a non busy weekday

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Definitely will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and service were great, and overall the experience was fantastic. I would check if there are any large parties booked the same night you plan to go, however, as my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and couldn't talk to each other. The was a large birthday party beside our table, and the noise level was unbelievable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We ordered the fish special and it tasted too lemony. The chicken dish I ordered wasnt too my liking either. The empanadas to start were the highlight of the meal. $100 for just food (no alcohol or drinks) did not feel like a $100 meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was a birthday dinner. The service was wonderful, friendly and attentive. The food came incredibly quickly and was amazingly delicious. I would recommend this place anytime.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have a lot of meat eaters in our group so the menu was great for them. Everyone enjoyed the cheese board so much that we needed to order another one. The seafood dish I ordered wasn't really my favourite, it was a bit dry and the clams were all closed tightly but all the other beef dishes were very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food that we ordered was good and tasty. I was happy that the lunch menu was still available even after 5:30pm. I found the steak dinners a bit pricey. The service we received was excellent! The decor of the restaurant gave me the good impression that this was indeed a classy restaurant to dine in. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Steak is always a good choice. Hermonos is a great place to take friends or family who are visiting Winnipeg. Also a great place for business lunches or dinners.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My dinner and date and I had the lamb burger and gringo burger they were good. Very disappointed with the sides of potato chips and dill pickle. For the cost of $14& $18 each they could offer complimentary sides French fries or a small side salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We have dined at your restaurant many times. The last 2 times have been less (much) than stellar. To begin with, we were seated beside a really loud and not tooo happy table - and the restaurant was virtually empty - they were so loud it was distracting. In hindsight, we should have asked to move. My wine glass was full of grit, like the dishwashing water needed to be changed, and there were lots of dirty dishes piled up on the bar, not a very appetizing walk to our table. I always order the natal cashew salad and usually the melanesa bites (which the last time we were there were absolutely dreadful), so I ordered the cream of fire roasted tomato soup. The salad was was poor, the lettuce had bits of spoiled leaves throughout and the melon was virtually fermented - I did not even eat it. The soup was good, not hot enough, but good. My partner had the soup of the day which was 'less that she had hoped for' and the empanada's - which were grim - I am sorry to say we will not likely be returning, twice in a row seems like a trend. ... ... hopefully the kitchen problems get sorted out. The service was really friendly and prompt; no complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food. Very good service. Great atmosphere

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had the watermelon salad & empenadas It was very good. It was nice that you could choose how many empenadas you wanted but even 2 was too much. Excellent leftover though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food. Great service! The food was well prepared. Flavors were outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I took my boyfriend out for dinner and he absolutely loved the food. ( It is not an easy task to please him) The atmosphere was great and lively, I must admit that musing might be a little too loud if you are planning for a romantic heart-to-hear dinner. Food was delicious and sauces served with meats were little should I say outstanding and unique. I also ordered a white wine sangria and was completely astonished by the fruit flavour combination. For the desert we've shared 'Black Gold' (I've actually previously read someone mention that dessert in their comment and decided to give it a try) and we loved it. It was one pricey dinner shall I say at the end.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My steak was cooked to perfection. A perfectly delicious meal with great friends before the theatre. Hard to do better.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The location is central, and the decor is very nice. The food was delicious and there is a variety of prices. You can order off of the lunch/late night menu at dinner which was a really nice feature if you're not looking for a big dinner. Service was average, nothing spectacular but nothing terrible. Wine was delicious though a bit pricey. 32$ for the least expensive red/white bottle. Would go back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We dine here approx 4 times a year and are never disappointed with our meals or the service. A great place to bring out of town guests.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A few major hiccups. Did not have any record of our reservation on open table. Brought us out the wrong entrees. Not a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went for my birthday supper and the food was fantastic. Steaks were cooked perfectly and even my wife's vegetarian entree was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Booked a table for 10 on a Thursday for 7:15pm. Very tough to find street parking! The restaurant was full and loud. Not a great place to bring kids. They didn't have a kid menu. Food took long to come out since it was a busy time of night, and the kids were getting restless waiting to eat. Food was tasty! Next time will leave kids at home and come later when it's less busy and maybe easier to find a spot to park in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I have always loved coming to Hermanos but this visit, the food was definitely not as good as in all my previous visits. The potatoes were virtuallu uneatable and the chimichuri was simply oil. Steak was good, but prepared med rare, instead of medium. Hopefully just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We enjoyed our evening overall... The food was tasty, served hot, and the portions were generous. We had the Shrimp Skillet and Fruto do Mars. .. very nice but my pasts was under-cooked and tough. Next time I'll order something other than pasta. Our server was not as attentive as we would have liked, but she obviously had many tables to handle and was quite rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome! Food was great and the boyfriend loved everything!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was our first time at Hermanos. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive and knowledgeable. We were very impressed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a great experience. It was our first visit to Hermano's and were impressed with the ambience, the live entertainment and the great food for good value. Hermano's is now our favourite restaurant and we will become regular customers. Thank you for a wonderful meal and dining experience!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Tapas, Organic, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 12, 2017

WE were a little disappointed with the service.
Could have been more attentive. Had to summon our server for each interaction.
She seemed to be more occupied with her other patrons.
Also, our cuts of steak were on the tough side and my Brazilian steak wasn't cooked evenly.
The Paella and the Shore lunch were very good.

It was interesting that this was as it was, I had heard some great reviews from friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went prior to the theatre and the service was perfectly timed and very good. The steak ended up being a bit overdone but still tasted good. The kitchen accommodated my food allergy and the chicken was excellent. May I suggest additional chicken selections? The house wine was just okay - we'll try a different one next time. It was difficult to carry on a conversation due to the noise level so it's definitely not the place for a quiet romantic dinner. However a great place for an energetic night out with friends ... as we could hear from the birthday party going on at the other end of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Hermanos has always been one of my fave Winnipeg restaurants. though the noise level is a lot when you walk it, it changes when you are seated. you can hear the noise but it feels like it is in the background, not around you at all. the food is always exquisite. baby cabrera never fails!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The service was nice, too.
It as a little bit noisy, but in general was nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Dancing, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good was awesome and so was the service!
The wine they recommended was also very much enjoyed!!!!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome service.got in early..food was amazing.yes I would recommend it

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It was very busy and loud when we were there - 7:30pm on a Thursday.
The piano and singer seemed to just add to the noise.
Food was excellent... but service was slow.
We will go back again, just maybe a bit earlier in the day.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a nice time, thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the steak salad and the dressing was delicious. My husband had the New York Steak and he was happy with it. Was expecting a nice quiet dinner with my husband and even though the restaurant was somewhat empty they seated another couple right beside us.

There was a movie taping happening when we dined here. This created confusion when finding the restaurant. When we did find it, we had to wait until the entrance was cleared and we had to rush in. Thankfully there was a rear exit that was easier to exit from. Overall the experience would've been good had it not been for the inconvenience of the film crew in the front and it looked like they had their equipment and supplies in the restaurant as soon as you walked in.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Birthday dunner

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very much a night club vibe. Some patrons feel comfortable making as much noise as they want which detracts a little. We were told the band tends to get very loud but we thought the band had an appropriate noise level.

Decent size portions which make it a great value if you and your guest split meals. That is very worthwhile as every dish seems worth trying.

The paella was a must although it was only later that we discovered the shrimp was only on one side of the dish. The roasted palm heart salad was well worth satisfying one 's curiosity. Dessert menu begs to say "one of each" but we split the mousse. Exquisite.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner last night at Hermanos. Service was friendly and efficient. We shared the mixed grill plate, mussels, and watermelon salad. Meats were flavourful although we did find the ribeye skewers quite fatty and the chicken skewers were quite small. The chorizo was excellent! Watermelon salad was very good but I thought the presentation was lacking. The actual watermelon portion is generous and well presented but the greens and cashews look like they are just thrown on the plate as an afterthought . Our mussels appetizer was tasty but definitely not the 1lb that they advertise. Very underwhelming. We enjoyed the fact that the server did not try to rush us along even on a Saturday night. Food prices are fair although I think that they're drink prices are on the higher side and usual keep us from ordering a second cocktail

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best meal both of have had in a long time. Everything cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Live Music, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic curried lamb burger and tomato soup. Both were absolutely delicious!!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.