About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
  • Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB

Report a photo problem

Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB
Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant, Winnipeg, MB

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (62)
Tapas (59)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Authentic (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Casual (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Fun (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Live Music (25)
Romantic (24)
Late-night Find (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Historic (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Business Meals (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Healthy (11)
Spicy (11)
People Watching (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Waterfront (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pricey, which would be fine if portions ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Pricey, which would be fine if portions were of value. Small portions, high price. Will not go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food .. Great service !! I will de ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food .. Great service !! I will definitely return again. I love the menu choices !! Our particular waitress was helpful and very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was far too hot. The ser ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant was far too hot. The server was kind but quite disheveled (her bra was falling out of her little black dress and got progressively worse over the course of the meal). My dates salad dressing was simply oil (no spices) which was disappointing. My seafood stew on the other hand was delicious..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The Steak Salad was excellent,,,,,though ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

The Steak Salad was excellent,,,,,though would have preferred a half braised tomato rather than the half braised lemon which few likely use and thus is a waste as I noticed it on several "finished" plates.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our visit to Hermanos. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

We really enjoyed our visit to Hermanos. It was our second time there. The food was delicious and the service fabulous. Our meals were a chicken dish, a steak and the paella. All were wonderful. We even left room to try a few desserts which did not disappoint. Delicious meals, wonderful service , an all-round great experience. We will definitely return

to try more dishes.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice atmosphere. Great food. too noisy t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Great food. too noisy though. Good wine selection. Service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our reservation was found without delay, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our reservation was found without delay, and we were comfortably seated in a semi-banquette with a coat hook and live music nearby.

Our service was fast and attentive, the meals plated and presented attractively.

As we enjoyed our date, we found the service discreet and unobtrusive.

The prices were moderate, the flavours mellow and hearty.

Although it was one of the coldest nights of the year, we were treated to Hermanos warmth and hospitality.

Nor were we alone! Others were enjoying good food and drinks, which just goes to prove what a draw the restaurant is, and also says something about the citizens of Winnipeg!

Unstoppable!

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Live Sports, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Spicy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was prompt and friendly. Food wa ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was prompt and friendly. Food was wonderful as usual. We had a very romantic dinner prior to going to MTC. One of our favourite restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit on our daughter ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was our first visit on our daughters birthday. Our server was great and she made some good recommendations for our table. I really like the decor and large windows, also nice bar area. Our main dishes, especially the ribeye steaks were cooked perfectly and very tasty. We

found the appetizers ordered the antipasto, cheese board and side bread expensive for the quantity although the quality is very nice.

Overall the atmosphere is very nice,our service was great, just found the appetizer and salad part of the menu expensive for what you receive. I would return, but would order differently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Initially hesitated about going back bec ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Initially hesitated about going back because last time we were seated in the back by the band and it was sooooo loud we quickly ate and left. This time was a completely different experience, food and service was excellent and not nearly as loud. Very nice time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Dancing, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for pre MTC theater meal. La ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went there for pre MTC theater meal. Large capacity. Appears to serve authentic Argentinian food. Wine prices in medium range and you can get a half-liter of some of the house wines. My steak was cooked to spec (between medium and medium well) and this was impressive. Came sliced up (very nice). My wife had paella and she liked it. A bit high-end for retirees, but the food is good and atmosphere fairly nice for a night out. Entertainment starts at 8:00pm on Saturdays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Live Music, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a go to place for meat lovers. O ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a go to place for meat lovers. One goes there for the beef which is what they do best. Vegans need not consider this establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome overall! Great food and service. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome overall! Great food and service. Tasty! Definitely coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hermano's is our "go to" restaurant for ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hermano's is our "go to" restaurant for date nights, dinner with friends, anniversaries... basically any reason I can think of. It is locally owned and since one of the owners wives is from South America the food is authentic and VERY delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been o Hermanos several times with ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been o Hermanos several times with friends.It is a very noisy restaurant so wouldn't recommend it for a romantic dinner. The food was good except the mealy mussels. The service is quite knowledgeable about wines, and very friendly

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Hermanos is bit expensive but we would g ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hermanos is bit expensive but we would go again. My only problems were the table next to us was a little close (not a lot of privacy, kept bumping their table when getting up) and the restaurant was a bit loud for conversation. Love the decor - brick, wood, low lighting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I attended dinner for my ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I attended dinner for my birthday the evening of Jan 6/17 at 6 pm. We had been to Hermanos multiple times in the past. This time we found the food service quite rushed. We barely finished our calamari appetizer when the main courses arrived. The calamari were tasty but not a lot of them on the plate - mostly deep fried crumbs. Our steaks were excellent however when we ordered we were not given our choice of starch, which usually there is a choice. We were served a bowl each of the mashed potatoes, which my husband liked but I would not have chosen this, preferring baked potato. I did not eat mine - gave them to my husband. Also, I cannot eat corn, however I gave my husband my corn portion as well. While our server was professional and pleasant, the restaurant was so busy that by the time she came around to see how everything was, we were done eating so of course what could we say at that point. For a special evening out, we were in, served all the items we ordered, including the cheesecake dessert we ordered, given the bill and out the door within an hour - we arrived at 5:50 pm and we left at 6:50 pm. Again, the steaks were good but we knew they would be but we were disappointed this time around.

Gayle Harrow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ragout de poissons, très petite portion ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Ragout de poissons, très petite portion ....

Je m'aime pas les chips du restaurant

Goût de l' autre nourriture très bonne

Tags: Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was wonderful as was the foo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The service was wonderful as was the food. We had shrimp appetizers and empanadas. The shrimp

Were delicious. We shared a regular paella for our main meal and it was also amazing. The three dishes were enough to fill us up. We ordered two cocktails each. Both of which were very good! Would totally recommend Hermanos!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere is very nice. The portions are a little on the small side but otherwise very good

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for New Years eve and were a bit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for New Years eve and were a bit worried that we would be rushed through with a limited menu. This definitely was NOT the case. We were able to sit, relax and have a full menu option. The food was amazing...again. After dinner we sat and visited both our group and were never once rushed. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was near perfect, however the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was near perfect, however the cheese board was underwhelming and overpriced for what we paid for. I would definitely recommend Hermanos to friends though and have. : )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was served quickly. The Paella ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was served quickly. The Paella we ordered was not hot seems to be reheated not freshly cooked. It was soupy which shouldn't be the case. Some of the items on the Tango Hall were overcooked.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I drove out from Edmonton to Gimli to sp ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I drove out from Edmonton to Gimli to spend the holidays and New Year with my beautiful girlfriend. I wanted to take her out for a romantic dinner and memorable evening. I looked online and of all the places, Hermanos was the one restaurant that looked like it would be the perfect place for an evening to remember.

... I was right! We arrived early for our reservation and they seated us regardless. The atmosphere was amazing, with live music and great service. Our waitress was very attentive to both me and my girlfriend. This quality goes a long way in service as paying attention to both people at the table creates a very comforting atmosphere. Our food came in timely fashion and was nothing less than AMAZING! Every bite was heaven! :)

Thank you to the staff for such a great evening at your establishment. It was one of the best nights weve ever had and our hats go off to you!!!

Happy New Year!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent meal at Hermanos. Did ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Another excellent meal at Hermanos. Did the tapas menu with wife and kids - favourite dishes were the sausage and peppar board and the ceviche but enjoyed all dishes ordered. Our server was super friendly and directed us well when ordering. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lacks in value. Their $7 soups come with ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lacks in value. Their $7 soups come with only 3 small pieces of bread and if you ask for more they will charge you $2 for another 3 small pieces of bread. Sandwiches and burgers are good but the homemade chips that they come with are not good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food and service was excellent. Found it ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Found it odd that the server didn't return to the table after she asked if we wanted the machine to pay. The hostess showed up, completed the transaction and there was no other contact with our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrive a bit early for our reserved t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We arrive a bit early for our reserved time and were seated quickly. Our server, Louisa ( I think that's her name) was awesome, attentive and recommended a very good wine. great place to take a date as she was impressed...:)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak was very tasty, but very fatty ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The steak was very tasty, but very fatty and sinewy. I have had better there before.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over priced, steak was cooked properly a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Over priced, steak was cooked properly and very tender.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice evening! We enjoyed the South Ameri ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Nice evening! We enjoyed the South American style steaks and the bottle of wine from Argentina was great! We will be back

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped in for a light supper prior to t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Stopped in for a light supper prior to the MTC. Very accomodating staff, great tapas and an excellent wine list. Would love to come back and enjoy a drawn out multi-course dinner so as to sample rest of an interesting menu and to be taken care of by the attentive staff.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb and service was exce ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was superb and service was excellent. Our only complaint was the level of the music made it hard to converse without yelling. Wouldn't hesitate to go here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We decided to eat somewhere close to the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We decided to eat somewhere close to the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre in hopes that we could eat and relax before the evening's play. We're glad we chose Hermanos Restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Two of us shared a large steak salad and a tasty paella dish. We found the portions to be generous. The service was friendly and efficient. We would recommend this place for anyone wanting to dine before attending events in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Disappointed ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Disappointed only one Groupon coupon was allowed at the table. Why bother offering the discount on Groupon if they are going to make it difficult for patrons to use.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Argentinian steak and Calamari ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent Argentinian steak and Calamari. Really enjoyed the house wines.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

If you go, get the steak. I don't eat be ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

If you go, get the steak. I don't eat beef, so I usually get eggplant millanesa which is quite good. This time I ordered the gnocchi. Poor choice, do not order it. It was bland with no flavour at all and very goopy. My partner usually has steak which he enjoys, but this time he had paella. He was underwhelmed as it was more of the consistency of jambalaya rather than paella. Overall, I was very disappointed with this visit. I have been there a number of times, but am not sure if I will be going back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Overall everything was fine. The fish ta ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall everything was fine. The fish tacos was missing something (flavour and moisture-wise) so the table ordered aioli which made the difference - we would recommend it automatically be served with this or another sauce. Steak sandwich was ok, a bit chewy. The person who had the seafood stew said it was great.

Good service, good atmosphere for group dining.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food and service as always! Look ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awesome food and service as always! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriends and I had a great time th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My girlfriends and I had a great time there on Saturday evening! Good wine, good food and a fun, vibrant atmosphere! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.