Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District

4.1
1612 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
South American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 947-5434
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mark Pichette
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bannatyne & Rorie
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 1612 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Good food and service. However, the hostess first seated us in among a loud group when there were many other options. We moved to the lounge area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Very good sevice. They were out of a few selections. However it was Sunday night. Food came out vey hot which is important to me. Cucumber watermelon salad very good and great presentation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Thought the food was great mysteak was cooked perfectly ...the only issue was it was very noisy and there were a lot of parties and people were screaming out loud at each other.. Maybe a different night would be better than a weekend ...we ate and left

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Never a disappointment at Hermanos! It is a go to spot in my family for all our special events.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Food and the service were excellent. Watermelon salad was terrific and the beef was exceptional. Only issue is the prices are a bit high as compared to the competition, otherwise a terrific experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Had a great meal and topped it off with coffee and desert. The coffee was exceptional and asked what kind it was. Server check into it and came back with a packet for us to take home!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Amazing food, great ambiance, fantastic service and decor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We’ve been to Hermanos before and enjoyed it so much we decided to return again. Our server did not ask us if we would like any beverages to start after bringing us water. He didn’t provide us with the same service that he gave the other three tables in his section. He did check back on us and asked us how our meals were but he just wasn’t as attentive to us. The food for the most part was delicious but the chicken skewers were very small in portion and overdone. The ribeye skewers were also very grissly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

As always, I had a fantastic meal, and great service at Hermanos. You never seem to disappoint

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The food was great! But the service was quite slow at lunchtime, and when we queried the server about the food (45 mins later) she was quite rude. Not sure that I will be back to this location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food, parking is horrible especially because you need change to pay in the lot across the street. The mens bathroom is disgusting and needs a good cleaning. On Saturday at around 8 got really loud, hard to have a conversation and turned into a whole different atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The waitress was very dismissive. The food that we asked for was unavailable and the waitress was all to quick to say that she would not recommend the steaks. We left feeling very disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Enjoyed our evening, but wine list a bit overpriced. 3x the Liquour Store price!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Pre show meal.

Great service and food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went there after theater for mothers day and it seemed the moment we told the waitress we were not drinking we were her last concern. Even though our bill was 100 dollars that apparently wasnt enough for her. Food was fantastic though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We had a great meal, friendly service, the one thing we were disappointed with was that the expreso machine was broken.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Always enjoy dinner at Hermano's prior to going to Manitoba Theatre Cente. Too bad they don't have the discount anymore for MTC season ticket holders. That was appreciated but we will still go. Reliable food and service and great location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

1. Steaks were good as usual. But all of the various vegs arrived lukewarm, like they had been set aside waiting for us for some time.

2. The usual good service was marred by a considerable delay in receiving our food. We did not order cocktails or appetizers, and it took over 1 hour 20 minutes from our arrival for our orders to arrive. Our guests pointed out a number of times how tables that arrived after us had received their meals. As a result we literally had to wolf down our food so as to avoid being late for the theatre. (We had not informed our server of a deadline as, based on past experience, we had more than sufficient time.) No explanation from our server.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 9, 2018

My husband and I book this for a luncheon date at the exchange district. We arrived 12:15, and our orders were taken 15mins after. By 1:30we were told we still have to wait for another 10-15 mins. We left by 2pm and have to take our food out instead of enjoying it at the restaurant. Very upset, as parking fees not cheap by downtown. More disappointments as we ate our Paella - despite of good taste, portion of rice were bit uncooked. What a waste of time and money.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Everything was fantastic. The only thing that bothered us was why they sat us where they did. There were three tables in a row. The end table was taken and they sat us right next to them (middle table). Why they didn't seat us at the other end - leaving us with some privacy? The other table didn't get used at all. I guess we could have asked for it, but we just assumed it would be filled and by the time we realized no one was going to be seated there, we were already being served.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Always very good food and service, and very consistent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

As always, a great meal and welcoming staff. Our service was quick. A wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

I went for lunch with 3 co workers and 3 of us had the civita sandwich special and one had the veggie chimichurri wrap. it took 45 mins for our lunch to come. Nobody came to give us an update during this time. Our drinks were refilled lunch, with still no mention of our lunch.
The only time we received a comment about the delay of our lunch was when it finally arrived at our table and they stated it was due to a 10 person table.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We waited a very long time to get our meals. Waitress did not once return to the table to ask if everything was okay or if there was anything else we needed. Waitress brought our bills to the table without asking if we wanted any dessert or coffee. She did provide complimentary coffee but we had to ask for and wait for cream.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was timely and delicious. Would go there again for a special dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great as always 👍 food and service always great and coincidence

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This was my girlfriends 44th birthday. I’d heard time & time again that Hermanos was the place to go, nope, sure was not. The first impression was excellent as we walked into the door. After that? Same as any other restaurant, just a whole lot more money. The best I had was the Long Island Ice Tea. Service? Same as any other restaurant. We were there at 5:00 April 28. Once our waitress left our table, there was no way of contacting her again, she wouldn’t check on us, make eye contact, or even look in our direction. Maybe it’s not her fault, possibility of being short staffed. Food? Not at all South American, except flavours and a few dishes. The steak I had was awesome but so is steak at some other restaurants. Money? It’s all to expensive for what you get.
I guess it’s back to Brazilian Carnival :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was delicious! Pleasantly surprised by the watermelon salad, and live Spanish music was an added bonus

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Went for my birthday - the food was amazing, the staff were great and the music made the night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We found the wait till between ordering and meal being delivered very long as well as our starters came with the meal
Which we ask to have first. When food came we cold but as we waiting so long we were not sending it back mean while no one even came to ask how the food was.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Came in for lunch and the restaurant was fairly busy. We waited for about an hour for our food and the bun on my sandwich was completely black. All I could taste was the burnt bread, how this is even sent out by the kitchen is quite poor, it was so burnt you could tell without even lifting the bread up. Server never came by during the wait letting us know about the delay etc nor did she come by to do a standard quality check after we received our food. I had to get the servers attention to replace the bun after about 20 minutes as she never stopped by our table as mentioned, leaving my sandwich to get cold. I’ve eaten at Hermanos previously and it is usually good, however today was a poor experience to put it nicely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The ambiance was good but a little loud for conversations. The food was awesome, Brazilian Steak, one word, Yummy! The service was good but the tables for food and "things" you bring into your establishment (Phone, wallet, etc.) was a bit small, still no big thing! Great Job, Bravo!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was delicious (Caesar salad, steaks, corn on the cob, grilled zucchini, garlic mashed potatoes, cheese cake and white chocolate mousse) and the server was knowledgeable and friendly. The timing of the courses was nice so as not to make us feel rushed. The noise level was too high for an intimate dinner (it was our wedding anniversary). Sometimes we couldn't hear each other across the small table for two. For this reason, I would recommend this restaurant for groups of friends, rather than couples wanting a quiet, romantic dinner. The music, by the live band, was enjoyable, but contributed to the noise level. Tasty meal though, and for convenience, there is a parking lot across the street.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We have dined at Hermanos many times and have been very happy with the whole experience from wait service to the delicious food. However, our experience last week was not so. We ordered the tenderloin steak meal to share. I could hardly eat the meat as it was tough and chewy...I would expect a $50 piece of steak to be melt in your mouth tender. When I pointed it out to the wait person she shrugged her shoulders and said nothing. This will not stop me from returning to this restaurant because all the other times the experience was excellent. It is just that last Saturday night was a dissapointment in both the food and the wait service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

First I have to say the food was excellent! My steak was perfect and delicious along with the garlic mashed potatoes and the mushrooms with bacon! Our server was very professional and knowledgeable about the menu items and the wine list. I would definitely recommend Hermanos for a high quality meal anytime.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Food was fantastic. Service was great. Only issue was they wouldn’t take our visa gift card... said it doesn’t work there? Been to many different restaurants and grocery stores, etc. They all take them. I believe they just don’t know how to use them. So that was a little disappointing. But that’s the only thing I can negatively say.

Great food, great service, will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The Best Authentic Resturant In Winnipeg Fabulous Fresh Delecious Food. Ambiance Wonderful too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great service .. have always order the same meal, however this time the ribeye was very tough and I was disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I have always loved Hermanos from the food to ambiance and the unique vibe especially in the lounge area. My husband and I planned a date night and had dinner there this past weekend. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the food and did not bring this to our servers attention as we were starving and don't like complaining. Of note, we had the calamari to start - which was very hard to chew. It was extremely tough and rubbery. I ordered the gnocchi, expecting a creamy dish and thought i was served mushrooms. Not sure why the sauce and gnocchi were dark in color itself = but seemed like i had ordered a stew of some sort, rather than a white wine butter sauce. My husband's beef tenderloin was under cooked although tasty and our server attended our table 3 times while his empty drink sat on the edge of the table. We asked for a refill eventually.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
41

Tweets by Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District