Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (43)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Live Music (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Tapas (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (21)
Casual (21)
Business Meals (20)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Cozy (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Spicy (9)
Great Beer (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Recommended by many friends, and it did not disappoint. Staff was friendly, food came out in a timely manner and was delicious. First time going, and it will definitely not be my last!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

It can be quite loud in some sections on a busy night. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and asked to be seated in a quieter section than originally offered.
Great to hear the live music though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The meal was excellent. Our server was very informative, courteous, and took care a of all our meal needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I love Hermano’s and we have enjoyed groups for work and family occasions and never been disappointed in the stellar food and service. Your waitresses are the BEST. Love the musicians.
Many thanks for making our son’s grad a memorable experience.
I often recommend Hermano’s to friends.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Possibly the best restaurant in Winnipeg never a bad meal here ! I've been here over 10 times and we went for the 50% off lunch special, it was paella and it was great.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tapas, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Atmosphere was nice. Food was enjoyable, not overly flavorful but still solid. Nice size servings, you don't walk away hungry. Dessert was very good. Service was well paced and attentive. I will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had two very special guests from out of town in for a special event. Great service, delicious food, wonderful ambience. Parking was a challenge for some in town attendee’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Always amazing. The steak was to die for. Just the overall feel of the place. I’m definitely coming back and suggesting this place. Hidden gem I would say.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 3, 2017

we have always been at Hermanos, its always nice to enjoy the music and the vibrant ambience. our favourite spot for a special dinner and celebrations. we just recently went for our anniversary and really enjoy a none expected complement glass of sparkling. thank you Hermanos!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Hermanos its an amazing place to bring my clients as it is always consistent, from service to our meal. I will definitely be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The weekly lunch deal was amazing! Freshly made burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great ambience, Great Food!
Still our fav restaurant in Wpg!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our experience was great for the food and service. The ambience is great. However we were seated near an engagement party of 20
To 30 people. Very very noisy. I would have preferred not be seated next that large party, I feel the seater have warned us and gave us a table further away or have separate area for large parties.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing food. Wasn't expecting much as it's hard to create a "wow" with a steak centred Restaraunt but, we were very surprised.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Dined at Hermanos last night and was very disappointed. The food was alright - not great or exceptional in any way, but OK.

I had the Natal Cashew Salad with an add-on grilled chicken breast. Interesting, but at $21.50, very overpriced. The small chicken breast was pounded thin to give the illusion of size, and was grilled nicely. Sadly there was no sign of the promised Dijon dressing. Instead the greens seemed to have been drizzled with some sort of flavourless oil (not even a good-quality olive oil).

My partner had the Steak Salad ($19.50) which was OK, again not great. The small steak chunk was not a great piece of meat - kind of gristly. The greens were very wilty, like they had been sitting under a heat lamp for some time. He said "I think they grilled the whole salad!"

Dessert and coffee were excellent. The Black Gold was rich and VERY chocolatey. The Passionfruit cheesecake also received a thumbs-up.

The ambiance in the place SUCKS! There was an oily smelling smoky haze that I assume was coming from the kitchen, and was very irritating to the eyes. An upgrade to the ventilation system is definitely needed.

The noise level was unbearable. Given that it was a Friday evening, you expect the decibels to rise, however it was so loud that conversation was impossible. Most annoying was the staff working at the bar who were literally throwing cutlery into some sort of container for a full 15 minutes, creating a loud clanging accent to the general roar of the place. Our ears were ringing for some time after leaving.

There are so many really excellent restaurants in Winnipeg with a far more comfortable atmosphere that we will not be returning to Hermanos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The service was good and food came fast. The food as always was delicious as well!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Quality of NY steak was very disappointing-meat was sinewy Atmosphere too loud. Server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 25, 2017

i had an incredible experience, thank you the staff and more important the chef!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Lovely space and wonderful food, for sure I'll come back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We went with a group of friends to Hermano's. We used to go all the time and loved it. We were so excited to go and were so disappointed while we were there. The atmosphere is good but very loud. It was hard to talk to all the people at our table. There were only 8 of us! The server was terrible. She was rude and didn't bring us the correct orders. We shared food. The empanadas were dry and tasteless. The salads were so small; not shareable. For entrees, some of us had paella which came out cold and had to go back. The classic Argentinian steak was chewy and the chimichurri sauce was so salty I had to scrape it off. The chicken milanese was dry and tasteless. We didn't eat it. I would not go back and would not recommend it. Really disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Busy vibrant atmosphere. Food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We are big lovers of Hermanos, and come as ofter as we can get a sitter for the kids. The food is always perfect and it's a great atmosphere, however, tonight was a very off night. The cut of steaks were very fatty and unchewable at parts for a New York. The only vegetable was corn/carrots, which we are unable to eat and so we subbed the vegetable and potato for a salad...it was TINY...and an additional $4. The steaks were also quite bland compared to what we usually get. Almost no seasoning and my husband's was almost burnt on the outside. My salad was way over dressed with balsamic to the point of not being able to eat it. I would have mentioned it, however our server never checked on us and never brought the drink I ordered. We will be back and hope for a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was amazing!! Our server was nice, knowledgeable, and outgoing but we received SLOW service all night. I understand it was a busy night but we would have ordered more cocktails and bottles of wine had she been more attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I didn't want to complain
But I was there last year was awesome . I had the steak and was so excited go back . I went sept 16 for my bday and we waited almost hour for food others got there's before are table . The band is so loud trying talk was crazy
My potatos were cold and steak was so salty was disappointed this time . Everyone else enjoyed there meal

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Both my friend and myself agreed Hermanos offers little for what you spend. Every item on the menu is overpriced. If I am paying over 40$ for fish, that dish had better be excellent and yet, it was so disappointing. At least the alcohol was good and not overpriced...6.75 for a cocktail is reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Service was excellent and meals superb. I have visited Winnipeg on several occasions from Scotland and this is the first time I have been here but it will NOT be the last visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our anniversary dinner here was awsome and special...highly recommend!!

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I heard it was a nice restaurant, so I booked it for our 21 anniversary on Sept.14.

Pros :
-Nice outside décor , patio for seasonal nice. Quiet location
-First impression inside was nice. Rustic but modern
-Menu selection was nicely printed and easy to undestand
-Service was very good, helped with the translation on the menu of item description
-Meals were very tasteful and lots of flavor

Cons:
-No parking , I had to pay an extra $7 to eat , not happy with that. Could validate up to $5 .
-Hostess only read my reservation and request for a private table when we arrived even though I did an online reservation earlier that afternoon giving plenty of time to honour it.
- Warm water served with no ice, really !!! NO THANKS.
- Lounge entertainment was very loud for the little room, hard to talk to each other.
- No bread or salad served, optional to purchase is not hospitable ( I remind you I paid $7for parking)
- My $33.50 dollar meal with 1.5" piece of in season corn which costs 10 cents. Which was a feature from the chef selection. Thanks for the 50 pcs of corn. A half cob would make it look better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We love this place. Come often. Food and service fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Planned a dinner meeting for business. Food and service were great, although the noise level made it difficult at times to conduct business

Tags: Tapas, Live Music, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Hermanos never surprises you. food and service its always pleasent an delicious. the staff its very smily so it gets you feel welcoming from the moment you come in to the end of your experience. highly suggest the brazilian cocktail with lots of lime " i can't remember the name".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 4, 2017

my experience was fantastic, food was a superb. the place its beautiful and never disappoints. from service to quality it keeps you wanting more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very expensive but close to concert hall for pre show meal. Very small portion but very good pickerel. Came with a huge amount of chips to fill up plate no vegetable. Live band was a nice touch just found it too loud to talk Seated by the kitchen when many other tables open. Should have asked to be moved. Needs some paint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday and our anniversary. Service was top rate, our server was knowledgeable and very forthright. The food Amazing! Overall it was a great experience it was our first time here. It was highly recommended by our son. Will be coming back!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fantastic food and service always at Hermano's! Excellent portions. Service always friendly.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always a fun place great food great service great area!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The restaurant was bustling when we were there which was fine - service was not compromised. I ordered the steak salad and was disappointed. About a third of the steak portion was tough and gristly and I wasn't able to eat it. The rest of the salad was very good. I can'r recall what my friend ordered but she seemed satisfied with her meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our second time to Hermano's. The service was great. Our server was very attentive and was very helpful. The food was good- but I wasn't blown away- I feel that for the price of the menu items, the quality could have been a bit better. Two people ordered steaks and neither was cooked to the customers liking- but I will say that the server did take it back and return it properly cooked. Another guest who had the special didn't get the complete dish as they ran out- again- the server added an extra at no cost- so overall they made sure to treat us right and tried to make things right- so customer service was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall the experience was good but the starter which consisted of pickled vegetables, cheese and bread was very disappointing. A few mini slices of baguette and a few pieces of crumbled blue cheese was most definitely not worth the price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The dinner and service was really good. We have been to Hermano's a few times and have always enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.