Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant - Exchange District Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (182)
Special Occasion (164)
Good for Groups (129)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (117)
Good for Birthdays (113)
Tapas (110)
Pre/post Theatre (110)
Creative Cuisine (105)
Romantic (87)
Authentic (86)
Casual (84)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Live Music (74)
Fun (74)
Business Meals (64)
Notable Wine List (62)
Worth the Drive (62)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Hot Spot (59)
Cozy (57)
Late-night Find (51)
Modern Decor (48)
Great for Lunch (44)
Tasting Menu (43)
Comfort Food (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Historic (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
People Watching (26)
Spicy (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Happy Hour (18)
Great Beer (18)
Family Style (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quick Bite (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Waterfront (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Live Sports (6)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

The steaks we received were very good. The rest of the plates were okay. My Long Island Iced tea tasted awful. The service was lacklustre but when you are automatically receiving a tip they don't have to work very hard or make an impression. We were almost late for our event afterwards because she couldn't get the bills right. And don't you have a cleaning service? Because my son wrote his name in the dust that was at the top half of the seats. He also wrote the number of the health department on it. And what restaurant that charges that much for food, doesn't give the Birthday person a free dessert? Really? I was not very impressed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the food came out really quick. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I loved the grilled sausage that we ordered! will definitely coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant was nice and was our first visit. We ate out on the patio which was was wonderful as the weather was perfect. The only issue was using the online reservation system that seemed to work, i got my confirmation email but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told there was no reservation for us. Fortunately they had open tables otherwise would not have been much of an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the paella. I have had this in Spain and this is very close to the real deal. He only complaint is that the appetizers were over priced for what you get

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good ribeye beef skewers were chewy and grizzly for med rare. The lamb was amazing and the grilled vegetables were great too. Drink menu lots too choice from.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Overall it was good however antipasto and cheese boards are way too over priced for what you get.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Celebrated our 20th anniversary on august 9th. She had the baby cabrera, I had the seafood stew and the eggplant! All three dishes were perfect. Our waitress was friendly and courteous, she brought us a free dessert to share after our meal. Nice touch. Well done, Hermanos!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and service!
Only drawback was being accosted by panhandlers outside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic gem of a restaurant . The food was outstanding! Super frosted mug for beer! One of the best rib eye i ever had as well. My lovely date was very pleased as well.
I look forward to going again. Thanks Hermanos.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 4, 2017

PHENOMENAL!!! Food was amazing as always! Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Each dish look yummy! My friends enjoyed their meals. Mine looked like they ran out of hamburger meat and that they dressed my plate with lots of chips to disguise it. It was not like what I had before and the meat was a bit charred for the little amount there was. This was unfortunate for me as I usually enjoy bringing my friends there, especially before a WSO concert. Will try again and see.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our food which started with cheese and bread tapas as well as soup of the day. Ordered main courses from the menu 4 different steaks and a chicken dish and all were full of flavor, cooked exactly how requested and just melted in your mouth. Absolutely fantastic. Only draw back is how loud it can get especially once you have a live musician. It's a nice touch for sure but makes hearing conversation slightly more difficult. Our service was incredible too. She was very polite, attentive and communicated very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I would definitely recommend going, great food, wine and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great outing, good food and excellent service. First time to Hermanos and we were very pleased with the entire experience. We will defiantly return for a meal again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Was looking for a romantic, intimate type of setting . Although the food and service were outstanding being seated next to a table of eight men reminiscing about the stag they had once attended didn't really set the mood I was looking for.
Perhaps an option of a more private booth would have made for an excellent outing. Although using this service was convenient it didn't allow for the opportunity to make such a request.
I will probably phone the restaurant the next time I would like to make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

First time dining for us. Very enjoyable. Will come again with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every time we come, the steak is perfectly tender and done exactly to order. Sides and appetizers are wonderful as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service was VERY slow, but granted it was extremely busy due to fringe. Water was only refilled after we were done our meals, no one checked on us while eating, and food took almost an hour to come out. Food was okay...some dishes better than others. My cousins who shared one of their large plates were still hungry afterwards. My soup was not good at all (everyone at the table tried it but no one wanted it), but the empanadas were good. Paella was good (not amazing) and my moms chicken was fabulous, clear winner of the table. Best part of the meal was dessert, which was spectacular. Ambiance and location are great. Overall an okay but not amazing experience considering how much money we spent, and we were wanting to take our cousins who were visiting from Korea to one of Winnipeg's best restaurants, which we have heard it was. A bit overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Friends in from Ireland and wanted to take them to dinner somewhere nice. They were really impressed. Great meal, great restaurant, service was a little slow but it was really busy at the time and she was run off her feet so understandable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Hermanos is always one of my must-do restaurants in Winnipeg. Food is authentically South American, very tasty flavours & combinations. Chips with Aioli dip are amazing, as is the Heart of Palm salad, the chivito, and on and on. Top it off with a delicious Original 16 Copper beer, and your night has been made.

Highly recommend this place for dinner (reservations essential), and for post-theatre.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Decided to make a last minute reservation when a friend came to visit from Florida. Was surprised that we got in last minute. Restaurant was not busy. Server was very friendly. Our order took only about 15 min to prepare. We had the fish tacos. They were excellent. Two were very filling, especially with chips on the side. I ordered the tortilla soup. I couldn't finish it. It was also very filling. It was a very pleasant experience. My friend really liked the ambience. Only down side was that there were a few flies hanging around that began to annoy us but can't do much about that!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We love the food and atmosphere. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was very good but the portions were very small for the value. The service wasn't that great either.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

First time here & would not go back. We had fruit flies all over our food. My husband quietly spoke to the manager & they told us they were aware they had fruit flies and there wasn't much they could do. It was disgusting seeing about 5 fruit flies in my food. I did not finish my meal. They only offered to take 2 beers off of our bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Overpriced, under delivered. Service was mediocre at best. Small portions, bland taste. Limited wine options.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was Great. Live music. If I were ever committed to death row....the surf and turf would be my last meal. Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Dinner was ok. I ordered the same item as I had at a previous dinner here but it wasn't nearly as tasty. We were celebrating my sons 18th bday and the restaurant did absolutely nothing to make it special. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

wonderful Brazilian menu
good cocktails
love the Brazilian music on Saturday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always amazing!!! Our go to date night restaurant and we always leave very happy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went to Hermanos a second time because on our first visit we were very impressed. This time unfortunately the food wasn't that good. We ordered French fries instead the starch and those friese were not very crispy . For a restaurant this class I expect better then that. The meat on the burger was not tender, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We celebrated our 47th wedding anniversary at Hermano's ....It was our first time there and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Because of the cost, we will only be able to come for special occasions. Thank you for a delightful evening

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time eating there. Was amazing. Great steaks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food, never had a steak melt in my mouth till tonight. Wonderful experience if you're looking to take someone to a nice dinner for a birthday, anniversary, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have been there several times and have always had a great dinning experience. Will come back time and time again for those " Special" evenings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Attentive staff but not too in your face. Very tasty meal. Asked for a quiet area and it was perfect! We were very impressed! Would go again and would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were all awesome for a fun date night out. The live music was great and we really enjoyed ourselves. The only disappointment was the antipasto which had 3 pieces of prosciutto, two tiny pieces of cheese, a hunk of blue cheese and a bowl of olives and pickled vegetables. For $20, there should have been a much larger selection and amount of cheese and meat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a wonderful time with our friends! Food was excellent and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very alive and fun! Great choice for everyday occasions!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Delicious food and friendly staff. Great location and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vegan, Hot Spot, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My fiancé and I were there for a special date. We had our first date at Hermano's and we wanted our last date before we become husband and wife to be there too. The food was phenomenal and our server was fantastic, she was very attentive and made sure our glasses were never empty. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.