About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Special Occasion (58)
Tapas (57)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (55)
Good for Groups (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Authentic (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Casual (37)
Modern Decor (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Live Music (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Late-night Find (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Fun (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Business Meals (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Historic (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Spicy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Family Style (10)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Waterfront (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Come hungry. The portions are huge. Deci ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 9 hours ago

Come hungry. The portions are huge. Decided to share one of the boards (with all the different kinds of meats) couldn't finish because we had to make room for dessert. (Try the crepes, I would go back just for that).

Know that you have 2 hours allocated and you'll be using all that time. I think it's wonderful to not be rushed eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Four of us had supper here. We all had t ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Four of us had supper here. We all had the Cabrera steaks. The were perfectly cooking to our liking. Service was awesome. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Next to my husband's rib eye this one wa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Next to my husband's rib eye this one was pretty damn good. Garlic mashed potatoes were amazing as were the mushrooms. I was quite disappointed by the choice of seasonal vegetables. ..a skewer of grilled onions and green pepper. ..pretty sad really for the caliber of establishment . never touched the corn cob either ..I'm not a big fan of cob but my husband tried it and said it tasted weird. ... but the rest of the dish was well worth the trip. Definetly will go back. ..that paella was calling me. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hermanos is great! Such a unique vibe i ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Hermanos is great! Such a unique vibe inside. We have been once before and we were just as happy this time around. Consistently great food and service. We will most definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time to Hermano's and af ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my first time to Hermano's and after hearing nothing but great reviews I had the same experience. Our server was very knowledgeable which was good as we had someone who was gluten free in our party. The food was delicious from the salads, to the apps to the steaks to the desserts- we're already planning our next visit. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great! Tried the Tango Hall Mix ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great! Tried the Tango Hall Mixed Grill and Gianduia for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the service was really good and we didn' ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

the service was really good and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Although the steak was a bit on rare rather than medium-rare, I didn't mind since overall the food was great. Will come back to try out the seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was great as was the meal

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great as was the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my husband and my first vist to ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my husband and my first vist to Hermanos, for our 30th pre- wedding anniversary coming up.The groupon was to expire in March 2017,therefore we went before the expired date.

My husband had the seafood stew,he really like it however he was disappointed for a small portion at the value for the price,it was very expensive.I had the paella,at first it was very spicy for me,the waitress was so kind to have another one made for me without the spicy taste,the second paella was very good,and not spicy.I am Spanish,born in Madrid....I cook the paella myself over the years for family and friends.Let me tell you, even though it wasn't the REAL PAELLA,it was still good and next to the closest paella you could find in Winnipeg.Everything else was good.I will return someday again,and try something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Good overall food, service was very good ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good overall food, service was very good. We had the ribeye skewers and gnocchi. I would recommend, but it's not a knockout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a birthday celebration for my hus ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a birthday celebration for my husband! Food was excellent, and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fabulous! Waitress (Julienne) w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was fabulous! Waitress (Julienne) was outstanding. Where we were seated there was quite a cool winter breeze coming from the front door whenever someone excited or entered. The noise level is higher likely due to all the brick work I suspect. Because of the noise level I wouldn't recommend for the getting to know someone dating. But if you don't want to talk as much it is just perfect. Unfortunately we left before the band started. Will come back again for the food and the music!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have been before a long time ago. Decide ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have been before a long time ago. Decided to go because of a groupon.

Paid a lot for a steak that had to be sent back because it was ice cold in middle and it was extremely tough for a ribeye as they didn't trim the meat before cooking it. It had huge tendons running through steak that shouldn't be there for a $73 steak. Won't be back as no one even came by to even at least acknowledge that we sent the steak back. The waitress didn't even apologize.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice food but the dress style of waitres ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice food but the dress style of waitresses there puts me off. I would rather be served by staff who look comfortable. When I see tight clothes on women servers but not men, I suspect management is trying to sell their looks along with the food and I suspect the waitresses are not free to choose what they wear. For every man you attract to the restaurant with that approach, you'll lose a woman customer.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was delicious. The ambience was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was delicious. The ambience was wonderful. The only problem I had was that we felt rushed. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it all felt to rushed. We finished eating and after that it was game over. The waitress only came to check on us once and it was right as we were taking our last bites. Not the experience I was expecting.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food is always excellent, service is ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is always excellent, service is very professional and the ambiance all combine to keep us coming back. Our favourite restaurant, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress sat myself and a friend with no ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Waitress sat myself and a friend with no issues. Then when a second friend & third friend arrived, she was unable to find out reservation. Both people had to call me to see where I was seated? My last name is STARR, it's not complicated.

Waitress was okay - not overly attentive. But pleasant

We will be back to give Hermano's another shot. The food was incredible

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I'm from Chicago, and I'm amazed that on ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm from Chicago, and I'm amazed that one of the my favorite steakhouses is in Winnipeg, MB. Service and sides are solid, but what really makes Hermanos unforgettable is the wonderfully seasoned and perfectly cooked steaks. There are lots of great steakhouses out there but it's the seasoning that sets Hermanos apart. Not cheap, but perfect for a business dinner or special occasion and it's in a fun, funky spot in The Exchange District. Give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved our dining experience. The foo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We loved our dining experience. The food and service were just great! We highly recommend Hermanos to everyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, , Family Style, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food here; great steaks, grille ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love the food here; great steaks, grilled veggies. Dessert was a little weak but otherwise everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy and very lo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant was very busy and very loud. It would be a better location for a large group. We had trouble hearing the waitress and each other. The food was decent. I would prefer less breading. The pickerel would have been nicer lightly grilled.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Hermanos. It's location is great ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We love Hermanos. It's location is great if going to either MTC theatre, and the food can be counted on to be delicious and hot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing to write home about, and brought ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Nothing to write home about, and brought all of our tapas at once. Makes you feel pretty rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Just a few comments - one of our party o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Just a few comments - one of our party of 6 is disabled and struggled with the stairs at the entrance . One person had quite a tough steak and likely would have sent it back had it not been that we were on a tight time line for the theatre. One person also indicated their steak was too salty. Wine was good and reasonably priced. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. We would rate 7 out of 10.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic, not overly salty ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was fantastic, not overly salty, surf and turf melted in your mouth. Our server was professional, knowledgeable and prompt, not once calling us "guys". We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not go anywhere else in winnipeg f ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Would not go anywhere else in winnipeg for a steak than here also add the surf and turf if you like sea food. Will fill you up for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, tasty. Service was very ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good, tasty. Service was very good and friendly. Price is a bit above average. Hermanos is probably one of top Winnipeg restaurant. Definitely, we will be back for the good food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Visiting from out of town. Amazing steak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Visiting from out of town. Amazing steak and seafood stew! It was extremely hot and humid inside. Everyone (ourselves included) around us was sweating. Made for a little bit of an uncomfortable dinner. Started off with calamari. Our server said the computer crashed so she rushed the calamari but it was soggy and could have definitely cooked longer. The flavouring on them was good and the dipping sauces were nice, but too soggy. I had the seafood stew. Great flavours!! Didn't like the addition of the fish of the day. It didn't mesh well with the crustations inside. The broth was delicious! Clams, crab, muscles and shrimp cooked to perfection. My boyfriend had the steak. Wow! Hats off to the chef! Great salt crunch on the outside! Perfectly cooked rare/med-rare with a chimichurri sauce. Superb! We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been several times over the yrs. I ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've been several times over the yrs. I was quite disappointed that as soon as our party sat down we were told we needed to be out by 830pm. We asked for her to line up a table in the lounge afterward. She said ok. When the time came she said it was full. Why couldn't they save us a table? This place has ZERO customer service. Maybe they have so much business they don't care? I think Wpg has some great restaurants that are far superior to this place. I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Atmosphere is too loud and busy. Seems ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Atmosphere is too loud and busy. Seems to be better for 45 and under. We are seniors, so younger people would probably rate the restaurant more favorably than we did. Would recommend it for a younger crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We loved Hermanos--service was excellent ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We loved Hermanos--service was excellent and the food was outstanding--we had the seafood stew and the house signature chicken dish. Despite the business on a Saturday night, we were served promptly. The wine list is interesting and varied. The only caution is that it is a noisy venue but if you know that going in and are ok with that, it's a fun spot. We'd recommend it and will be back ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had a date night for my ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband and I had a date night for my birthday. Our server was fabulous.. attentive and helpful. Our food was tasty! We enjoyed our dinner prior to our symphony evening. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

only problem was that we had reservation ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

only problem was that we had reservations for 8:15 and did not get seated till 8:45. this should have been good for a free drink. Otherwise food and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very hot environment. Noisy groups aroun ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very hot environment. Noisy groups around us. Meal wasn't as good as it normally is

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic as always! Brought out of town ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fantastic as always! Brought out of town guests and they're still raving. There's a good read that Hermanos is my fave restaurant!!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, which would be fine if portions ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Pricey, which would be fine if portions were of value. Small portions, high price. Will not go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food .. Great service !! I will de ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food .. Great service !! I will definitely return again. I love the menu choices !! Our particular waitress was helpful and very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was far too hot. The ser ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The restaurant was far too hot. The server was kind but quite disheveled (her bra was falling out of her little black dress and got progressively worse over the course of the meal). My dates salad dressing was simply oil (no spices) which was disappointing. My seafood stew on the other hand was delicious..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The Steak Salad was excellent,,,,,though ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The Steak Salad was excellent,,,,,though would have preferred a half braised tomato rather than the half braised lemon which few likely use and thus is a waste as I noticed it on several "finished" plates.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was on point! Didn't catch her ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Waitress was on point! Didn't catch her name but made for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.