Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hermanos Restaurant

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Groups (49)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Tapas (37)
Romantic (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Casual (27)
Live Music (26)
Business Meals (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Fun (23)
Authentic (23)
Cozy (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Historic (15)
People Watching (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Spicy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Waterfront (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Sports (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for my birthday supper and the food was fantastic. Steaks were cooked perfectly and even my wife's vegetarian entree was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Booked a table for 10 on a Thursday for 7:15pm. Very tough to find street parking! The restaurant was full and loud. Not a great place to bring kids. They didn't have a kid menu. Food took long to come out since it was a busy time of night, and the kids were getting restless waiting to eat. Food was tasty! Next time will leave kids at home and come later when it's less busy and maybe easier to find a spot to park in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our evening overall... The food was tasty, served hot, and the portions were generous. We had the Shrimp Skillet and Fruto do Mars. .. very nice but my pasts was under-cooked and tough. Next time I'll order something other than pasta. Our server was not as attentive as we would have liked, but she obviously had many tables to handle and was quite rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome! Food was great and the boyfriend loved everything!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was our first time at Hermanos. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive and knowledgeable. We were very impressed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a great experience. It was our first visit to Hermano's and were impressed with the ambience, the live entertainment and the great food for good value. Hermano's is now our favourite restaurant and we will become regular customers. Thank you for a wonderful meal and dining experience!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Tapas, Organic, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 12, 2017

WE were a little disappointed with the service.
Could have been more attentive. Had to summon our server for each interaction.
She seemed to be more occupied with her other patrons.
Also, our cuts of steak were on the tough side and my Brazilian steak wasn't cooked evenly.
The Paella and the Shore lunch were very good.

It was interesting that this was as it was, I had heard some great reviews from friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went prior to the theatre and the service was perfectly timed and very good. The steak ended up being a bit overdone but still tasted good. The kitchen accommodated my food allergy and the chicken was excellent. May I suggest additional chicken selections? The house wine was just okay - we'll try a different one next time. It was difficult to carry on a conversation due to the noise level so it's definitely not the place for a quiet romantic dinner. However a great place for an energetic night out with friends ... as we could hear from the birthday party going on at the other end of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Hermanos has always been one of my fave Winnipeg restaurants. though the noise level is a lot when you walk it, it changes when you are seated. you can hear the noise but it feels like it is in the background, not around you at all. the food is always exquisite. baby cabrera never fails!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The service was nice, too.
It as a little bit noisy, but in general was nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Dancing, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good was awesome and so was the service!
The wine they recommended was also very much enjoyed!!!!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome service.got in early..food was amazing.yes I would recommend it

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It was very busy and loud when we were there - 7:30pm on a Thursday.
The piano and singer seemed to just add to the noise.
Food was excellent... but service was slow.
We will go back again, just maybe a bit earlier in the day.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a nice time, thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the steak salad and the dressing was delicious. My husband had the New York Steak and he was happy with it. Was expecting a nice quiet dinner with my husband and even though the restaurant was somewhat empty they seated another couple right beside us.

There was a movie taping happening when we dined here. This created confusion when finding the restaurant. When we did find it, we had to wait until the entrance was cleared and we had to rush in. Thankfully there was a rear exit that was easier to exit from. Overall the experience would've been good had it not been for the inconvenience of the film crew in the front and it looked like they had their equipment and supplies in the restaurant as soon as you walked in.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Birthday dunner

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very much a night club vibe. Some patrons feel comfortable making as much noise as they want which detracts a little. We were told the band tends to get very loud but we thought the band had an appropriate noise level.

Decent size portions which make it a great value if you and your guest split meals. That is very worthwhile as every dish seems worth trying.

The paella was a must although it was only later that we discovered the shrimp was only on one side of the dish. The roasted palm heart salad was well worth satisfying one 's curiosity. Dessert menu begs to say "one of each" but we split the mousse. Exquisite.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner last night at Hermanos. Service was friendly and efficient. We shared the mixed grill plate, mussels, and watermelon salad. Meats were flavourful although we did find the ribeye skewers quite fatty and the chicken skewers were quite small. The chorizo was excellent! Watermelon salad was very good but I thought the presentation was lacking. The actual watermelon portion is generous and well presented but the greens and cashews look like they are just thrown on the plate as an afterthought . Our mussels appetizer was tasty but definitely not the 1lb that they advertise. Very underwhelming. We enjoyed the fact that the server did not try to rush us along even on a Saturday night. Food prices are fair although I think that they're drink prices are on the higher side and usual keep us from ordering a second cocktail

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best meal both of have had in a long time. Everything cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Live Music, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic curried lamb burger and tomato soup. Both were absolutely delicious!!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Have been here many times. Always enjoy the experience. Service could be stronger. But great food and Great friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have had the opportunity to frequent Hermanos a couple of different times I the past couple of months! The food is always good....fish tacos and paella this time was delicious. Service is excellent and the waitress was very friendly! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good steak or to try something new!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We've been to Hermano's before but got a gift certificate for our 25th anniversary which prompted us to go again. We both had ribeye steaks and they were tasty and cooked to our liking. Waitress very attentive. Lovely meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have been to Hermanos many times for a pre-play dinner. It is always very good. I did think they could lower their prices on their wine list though!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My first time with friends there, and It was really good.
Amazing service and very friendly waitress.
We like to try food from different places.( paella)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first time to Hermanos and it was wonderful. Great service. The server answered all our questions and made recommendations. Food was great!! We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good service and food. Pricey but you definitely get what you paid for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 10, 2017

More spacing between occupied tables would have been ideal. Seemed all tables were sat all together, not allowing private conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great dining experience. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Tables were a little close, hard to have a private conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food great service!! Overall great experience

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 1, 2017

First time experience just two days ago. Making a reservation on the website was incredibly easy. Located the restaurant itself with no problem and got seated immediately (6:30 reservation on a Tuesday). The waitreds was courteous, and knowledgable of the menu.
Only downside seemed to be that of all the empty tables for two available, we were seated with the door immediately behind me, so when the door banged from being opened and closed, it was a frequent but minor annoyance. From time of seating to receiving our entre, it was at/over an hour.
We had ordered the large 24oz steak platter that says feeds 2-3 people, and it was delicious, but easily polished off by my husband and I, with room for dessert!
All of the food tasted great, fresh, and the steak was cooked exactly how I like it. Very impressed, and the menu has several items that I want to try in the future! We will definitely return, and I have already suggested it to my employer for our next dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The steaks were perfectly cooked great seasoning and the asparagus was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The steak was perfect. All the sides were barely luke warm and bland. I will give it one more try and would recommend it to others as it has been so much better in the past. Love their White Sangria!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was very busy on Sun ev, very loud due to before theatre crowd, waitresses very busy! Was there for 65th birthday. Food very good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was a bit slow but that was mostly because nearly all the reservations arrived at same time and wanting to go to same event.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love Hermanos. The food and service is always great! If you can find a Groupon it is more than worth it. Great for dates and friend get together. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was very good. We found the seating a little tight. It felt like my elbows were in the adjacent tables space. We had excellent staff looking after our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, great service. Steak was the best We have had in the city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.