About Hermanos Restaurant

179A Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R4
View Larger Map

South American style tapas and wine bar, high energy atmosphere and unique dining experience in the historical Ashdown Warehouse building amongst the hottest theater and nightclub district.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
South American, Brazilian Steakhouse, Argentinean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
(We don't close the lounge between lunch and dinner)

Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Lounge one hour extra

Cross Street:
Bannatyne & Rorie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 947-5434

Website:
http://www.hermanos.ca/

Entertainment:
Fridays and Saturday evenings from 8pm to 11pm, come listen to the tunes of warm South American BossaNova and Salsa music.

Executive Chef:
Mark Pichette

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant
  • La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant
  • Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant
Beer Battered Pickerel Tacos - Hermanos Restaurant
Butternut Squash Soup - Hermanos Restaurant
Scallops - Hermanos Restaurant
Bricklayer's Board - Hermanos Restaurant
Chicken Milanesa Sandwich - Hermanos Restaurant
Gringo Burger - Hermanos Restaurant
La Cabrera - Hermanos Restaurant
Watermelon And Cucumber Salad - Hermanos Restaurant

Hermanos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Groups (64)
Fit for Foodies (59)
See All
Romantic (45)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Hot Spot (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Late-night Find (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Tapas (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fun (9)
Authentic (7)
Live Music (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Historic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak is superb..service only Ok. Yj ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The steak is superb..service only Ok. Yje noise level is a bit too high.

The meat is fabulous so I will return,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had an amazing time, service and food ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had an amazing time, service and food outstanding! We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our food, every bite w ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 7 days ago

We really enjoyed our food, every bite was delicious from the shrimp appetizer, to the steaks and ending with a very satisfying dessert. However, we did make a special request to have a quiet area since it was our anniversary. We felt like we were in the middle of everything and were seated right beside the lounge, which was loud because of the bomber game. When we asked to be moved they told us that wasn't possible. There were other seats along the brick wall that would have been more private. Our server was very pleasant and attentive in the beginning, but didn't come back often to pour our wine or water. For the price, more attention to detail would be appreciated!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I really enjoyed my dining experience. O ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 7 days ago

I really enjoyed my dining experience. One thing I would like to mention would be that the lighting isn't the best. I had a hard time reading the menu and I mentioned so to the waitress. Otherwise, I would recommend Hermanos to friends and I, myself, would return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

We were looking for somewhere different ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were looking for somewhere different to go for dinner Friday night and knew of Hermanos Restaurant. My friend who was with me had never been before and he loves eating beef. He said it was an excellent choice, quality, flavor and pricing, on the tops of his list!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a nice table, good service. It is ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a nice table, good service. It is very loud in there, evem though it was not full

Enjoyed the music, good vibe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We were celebrating my daughter's birthd ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and the value for the food received wasn't great. The food was very average tasting and very pricey. We will not be going to this restaurant again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I did not enjoy my first visit at this r ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I did not enjoy my first visit at this restaurant. It was very loud, particularly where we were seated, and it was difficult to communicate with my friends. I had no idea it was that type of atmosphere there (i.e similar to Earls). The food was also not good, the vegetarian empanadas were extremely spicy, nothing like typical empanadas. Thankfully the server was very nice and deducted it from my bill. And while she did offer to have another dish made for me, the rest of my party was already finished eating and we were nearly ready to leave; I couldn't make my friends wait. So I left hungry. I realize this is not my type of restaurant, as it is mostly meat dishes, so I won't be returning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

Just that a small number of people for ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Just that a small number of people for reservations are always put in the back (4x for me) and that bigger groups who come in (approx. 12) for eight and its in the front! They should be put in the back. I protested and asked if that they could accommodate us by switching the later reservation. Then we were told we must be out 8 pm. Well will return again but would like the option to say if possible to be along the side or up front. There was no way to say so on the site.

Thanks

Charlene van Schijndel

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

-Great food! -Less than outstanding ser ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

-Great food!

-Less than outstanding service as server only came 5 times, 1) water+food order, 2) deliver plate+ fork, 3) delivery of food, asking how food taste, bringing the bill

-My wife and I were trying to have a conversation as we were celebrating our 13th anniversary; however, we were placed at a table in the middle of a party of 30. It was so loud that we were not able to hear what each other was saying. We asked if there were other tables available but they said there were not even-though there were small tables without anyone till an hour after we arrived.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was delicious and portion sizes wer ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was delicious and portion sizes were very generous! Outside seating was nice; great evening enjoying one of the last nice evenings of the season!

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent meal. Only complaint is we we ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent meal. Only complaint is we were seated alongside a very long table which seated a group of 25 shortly after we arrived. Needless to say, it was very noisy although they weren't being rowdy--just very loud when you have such a large group. One man who appeared to be in charge of the group came to our table and apologized. There were other empty tables in the restaurant and since the long table was set up when we arrived, the restaurant was obviously expecting this large group. I feel they should have seated us elsewhere.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Unbelievable noise level. We were looki ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Unbelievable noise level. We were looking forward to having a romantic anniversary dinner. It was anything but. There was no conversation other than yelling and listenening to everyone yell around us. There was a band that could barely be heard over the din. The food was fantastic however the ambiance and experience over all was terrible. A guest shouldn't have to yell at a server to choose from the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Meat very salty . Excellent quality that ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Meat very salty .

Excellent quality that has been ruined by overzealous addition of salt: Full stop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Our visit to Hermanos was good. Definite ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our visit to Hermanos was good. Definitely not as good as the first but still enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Antipasto was overpricerd for what w ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Antipasto was overpricerd for what we were served... Mussels lacked the bottom juices...

Paela was dry and too much rice (or risutto) served in a bowl rather than ina a deep large plate.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was great however my steak h ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was great however my steak had to be sent back as I ordered well done and it was still red in the centre. When I got it back it was a little better but still not great.

My husband ate by himself while my meal had to be sent back. For the price of my meal I don't think it was worth the price at all.

Again, the service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

It was my first visit- nothing overly im ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It was my first visit- nothing overly impressive. The antipasto plate was disappointing, and my water glass had lipstick on it (not mine). The staff were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had the Argentinian steak and it was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had the Argentinian steak and it was one of the best steaks I've had. I've only had Argentinian food once before in Mexico City on a business trip with some colleagues from Argentina thought that restaurant was authentic and I found the dishes I had comparable at Hermano's comparable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food took longer to prepare than eat ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food took longer to prepare than eat, my wife ordered well done steak, but once it arrived, it was burned outside, but ping inside.. She is not one to complain, but doesn't like pink inside..

Overall the atmosphere is good, it took a bit of time to get the food to the table, i enjoyed my steak, but can't say the same about my wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed the food and ambience at lunchti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoyed the food and ambience at lunchtime outdoors, but perhaps the presence of wasps was a downer.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was very good and reasonably pr ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was very good and reasonably priced too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hermanos is very good. This was my secon ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Hermanos is very good. This was my second visit. The service was excellent and we were not rushed. The wine list was very good and our steaks were well prepared. Both times I've been, if found it a bit noisy. Overall, I really like this place and will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meal was excellent . I would defini ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our meal was excellent . I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Interesting use of Latin American spices ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Interesting use of Latin American spices and cooking methods. Servers very knowledgeable about the dishes. Latin American band playing behind the bar was drowned out by the noise of the restaurant. Lots of energy and vibe. Not the place to go for a quiet romantic evening!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Booked a reservation. Server rushed us o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Booked a reservation. Server rushed us out of our table in an empty dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a birthday The music was so loud ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a birthday

The music was so loud we asked to sit outdoors, which was pleasant

My 3 Rd visit to this restaurant.

The steak Brazilian was not as tender as on previous visits.

Wine and drinks were good.

My recommendation is to stop the live music or not as loud.

Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was excellent. The knowledg ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service was excellent. The knowledge the menu and wine list was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of first timers in our group and th ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Lots of first timers in our group and they really enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good and the service was friendly. They had a nice drink menu with the usual wine, beer and spirits and some nice specialty drinks. The service was slow but we weren't in s rush so didn't mind. The live background music was a nice touch too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were looking for a restaurant in Winn ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant in Winnipeg that we had not tried before. We found Hermanos on Trip Advisor and per the reviews, tried the tenderloin steak with house rub. It was very good. Also tried wine, which was good as well. We were visiting the area and generally go out to dinner with friends there twice a year. Hermanos did not disappoint. It was a little difficult to find a parking spot, and our server tried to rush us a bit, but to no avail. Other than that I would definitely recommend this place. Not inexpensive, but worth it for the atmosphere and good steaks and wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of noise / very loud talking, hard ...

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lots of noise / very loud talking, hard to hear the music. Don't like having to yell at the person I'm dining with.

Waitress to busy to attend to our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent service app was ready quick an ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service app was ready quick and was excellent our server was great haven't had a good steak at a restaurant in a while it met all my expectations

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been there a couple times, each time the ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Been there a couple times, each time the food and service was good. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined here early prior to a concert a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dined here early prior to a concert at Centennial Hall and chose to do small plates and salads. My husband enjoyed the cucumber and melon salad with balsamic dressing. It was very refreshing with a gorgeous presentation. I had the chicken skewers with mango dipping sauce which were a good sharing item with four pieces total. The natal salad was just excellent with a mix of both veggies and fruits and huge cashews. There were many other small plates and entrees we would like to try on a future visit. The wine list was extensive with many South American choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dining experience. We will de ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. We will definitely be back with our kids sometime! Friendly staff! Live music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting and unique menu. Varied wit ...

vip
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Interesting and unique menu. Varied with interesting flavors. Multiple breads nicely pared with different offerings. I am a Ciopinno fan, their coconut broth seafood soup is an interesting and tasty variant that I would surely have again. Many options for red meat fans, or you could make a meal out of two or three appetizers. A place that I will surely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 3rd visit and, as usual, we ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit and, as usual, we were warmly greeted upon our arrival and immediately taken to our reserved table.

Our server was very friendly and cheerful... very helpful with our menu item questions.

The ladies' started with a glass of red sangria, which they enjoyed thoroughly... Each couple ordered the "La Cabrera" Ribeye to share... both done exactly as ordered... The main meal was delicious!!!... followed up by a "Latin Crepe" for dessert... it was fabulous!!!

Table service was excellent throughout the evening.

A very enjoyable experience... we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never been there before so not sure what ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never been there before so not sure what to expect. Everyone enjoyed the food (4 of us).

The service was lacking. To be honest, it looked like she didn't want to be there.

She was pleasant enough, but really never came around to see if everything was good.

Two of us had colas. Not ONCE did she ask if we wanted a refill. I had to ask. Really she was not attentive. Other than that very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We've been to Hermanos in numerous occas ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We've been to Hermanos in numerous occasions for the last 5 years. It used to be a great hot spot with great food and nice ambiance/music. Over the last year almost every time we've been we've had an issue with our food. Either over cooked, cold, chewy steak to name a few. Doubtful we'll return unfortunately and we used to love it there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.