Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

CentoCento
(627)
$$$$
Italian | Madison, Madison
Booked 32 times today
Harvest - WisconsinHarvest - Wisconsin
(243)
$$$$
American | Madison, Madison
Booked 7 times today
MerchantMerchant
(648)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Madison, Madison
Booked 11 times today
Tempest Oyster BarTempest Oyster Bar
(163)
$$$$
Seafood | Madison, Madison
Booked 14 times today
Rare SteakhouseRare Steakhouse
(417)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Madison, Madison
Booked 28 times today
NostranoNostrano
(789)
$$$$
Italian | Madison, Madison
Booked 10 times today
Francesca's al LagoFrancesca's al Lago
(650)
$$$$
Italian | Madison, Madison
Booked 15 times today
Eno Vino Wine Bar and BistroEno Vino Wine Bar and Bistro
(779)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Madison, Madison
Booked 17 times today
FrescoFresco
(1615)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Madison, Madison
Booked 11 times today
EstrellonEstrellon
(310)
$$$$
Spanish | Madison, Madison
Booked 25 times today
Fleming's Steakhouse - MadisonFleming's Steakhouse - Madison
(238)
$$$$
Steak | Madison, Madison
Booked 6 times today
The StatehouseThe Statehouse
(257)
$$$$
Seafood | Madison, Madison
Booked 11 times today
Avenue Club and the Bubble Up BarAvenue Club and the Bubble Up Bar
(197)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Madison, Madison
Booked 7 times today
Vin Santo- WisconsinVin Santo- Wisconsin
(501)
$$$$
Italian | Middleton, Madison
Booked 8 times today
Johnny Delmonico'sJohnny Delmonico's
(355)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Madison, Madison
Booked 13 times today

About Heritage Tavern

131 E Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

With 2016 James Beard Award finalist chef Daniel Fox at the helm, Heritage Tavern successfully marries American culinary traditions with dashes of global inspiration. Small plate options are delectable, and diners often enjoy trying more than one. Popular choices include the foraged mushroom gnocchi with pine nuts in a creamy brie sauce, salmon char siu with crispy pork belly and roasted squash Thai coconut soup. Larger plate entrées include pan-seared scallops with pickled ginger, chicken confit and cauliflower tortellini, and the hickory nut pesto soba noodles with poached eggs. Heritage Tavern also has an extensive cocktail list to complement its unique culinary offerings, such as the Hunker Down with Milagro silver, allspice dram, blood orange, cranberry and lime.

Heritage Tavern also has nightly happy hour specials and live jazz on Wednesdays.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
must call for all reservations starting 4/13/16

Cross Street:
N. Webster Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 283-9500

Website:
http://www.heritagetavern.com/

Catering:
Catering for small and large-scale events-- please call us to discuss your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking available on street, or within city parking ramp just across the street: Capitol Square North Garage.

Public Transit:
Madison Metro Bus stops: #1495 (Pinckney & Mifflin) or #1663 (State & Mifflin)

Executive Chef:
Daniel Fox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking

Restaurant Photos

  • Heritage Tavern, Madison, WI
Heritage Tavern, Madison, WI
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very mediocre and our servi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was very mediocre and our service was subpar. They ran out of ketchup which seemed odd and didn't offer much to substitute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great Food, Abyssmal Service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2016

They honored our reservation without any delay, that was appreciated. Upon being seated, it took 15 minutes to get water. It took 20 minutes to get our first cups of coffee which were only offered to be refilled once during our 95 minute stay. I ordered a cocktail and it took almost 25 minutes to arrive from seating and it was delivered by a bartender who wandered around the dining room a bit before finding me.

Our order was not taken until well after 35 minutes from our seating. Given the delays already experienced, we specifically asked that the "appetizers" (ham/cinammon roll & donuts) be brought out before the meals. Of course they came out at the same time, over an hour after being seated. One of our party ordered a side of rosti potatoes with her egg sandwich. It never arrived.

The bill was finally brought out about 95 minutes after being seated. We never had follow up to our entrees to check satisfaction or ask if we wanted desert, more cocktails, etc. We were frustrated enough that we told the waiter when he brought the bill that he had to take our cards right then and there, which fortunately he did.

The dining room was only 2/3 full. There was a large party on the other side, but it wasn't oppressively large. There was no sense of urgency or organization to our waiter's service methods, I often saw him backtrack and change directions.

I am all for a leisurely brunch. If we had been attended to during the time it would have been better, but waiting over an hour for food with an empty coffee cup and no more mimosa was no fun. We would have ordered more food and libations to make it a leisurely brunch experience, but we were never asked.

With that said, the food was fresh, delicious, inventive and amazing. The service soiled it and upset others in the party more than me. I may go back; they won't.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I ordered the scallops and they were not done correctly and they were very salty. I should have said something, but I did not want to be perceived as the complainer in our group so I said nothing. It was kind of difficult eating my dish, which I should have really sent back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Madgastro-1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful evening adventure in Madison, outstanding dining experience, loud, but very enjoyable environment, divine dessert, expert staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious meal good recommendations by our server

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 4, 2016

I was at Heritage with 3 colleagues for a business dinner. The food was wonderful and was served in a relaxed and competent fashion. We asked our server for recommendations on the drinks as well as the food. All of her suggestions were spot on. I loved the bouillabaisse that I ordered.

While the whole meal was excellent from beginning to end, the desserts were the most amazing. We had the citrus meringue and the chocolate mousse cake.

Can't wait to have a reason to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu Beef Skirt Steak Frites & Eggs is devine

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The Wagyu Beef Skirt Steak Frites & Eggs is amazing. Not only are the steak and frites delicious but the eggs are a special treat: They poach them, then roll them in crumbs (or panko?) and lightly fry them.

The service here is fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 29, 2016

We've been to Heritage Tavern a number of times and never had anything less than spectacular. We love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter experience not a Brunch but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Easter experience not a Brunch but a great breakfast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely wonderful!! And the service w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!! And the service was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic dining experience all around ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2016

A fantastic dining experience all around. Creative cocktails, food was fantastic, and service was great. Especially liked the tuna, pork belly, and seared fois gras appetizer! Highlight of our visit to Madison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and experience o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Wonderful food, service and experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Went here for a late Saturday morning Brunch. The food selections were awesome. Order the donuts with ganache to share. You'll love them. She had a bloody mary & I had a greyhound. The breakfast sandwich was very good.

I'm told this place is great for dinners too. When we get back to Madison we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great drinks, but our se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Delicious food, great drinks, but our service was slow. The maître d' did comp the drinks, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Delicious. Absolutely.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 7, 2016

We had a delicious meal. The pork belly/foie gras/tuna combo was unexpected and delicious as were the lemongrass-dusted mahi mahi and seared scallops. Can't wait to get back to indulge in the pork options. Service was appropriately attentive. Wish we hadn't been in a time crunch so we could try some desserts! It was noisy with the dining room half-full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebratory Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I came here to celebrate a special event and was not disappointed! The food is very fresh, unique, and delicious! I also love the decor and ambiance of the restaurant. Reservations can easily be made online, which is an added bonus. The only complaint was how often the server came to the table to ask questions, pick up/drop off dishes, etc. I found it to be slightly excessive/interrupting, but it is better having that then a non-attentive server! Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good overall, but some stingy portions

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The one diner I brunched with ordered an omlette, which was a good sized portion with a nice salad on the side. The quality was good, and the portion was appropriate. The second diner I brunched with ordered the french toast, which was two generous sized pieces of bread with a VERY TINY side of fruit syrup. The syrup should have been more generously portioned and the dish completely lacked any sides. MY brunch portion -- the Salmon and blini -- was a JOKE!!! The dish really should have been labeled an appetizer: the blini were 4 or 5 quarter sized pancakes, served with a baby pickle, a few slices of carrot, and a knife smear of mustard and cheese. It was basically garnishes served with a small portion of smoked salmon. A total rip off at $16!!! Beware that not all the entrees on the brunch menu are really a meal!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was great. Brunch items were del ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Service was great. Brunch items were delicious. Loved the lobster scramble! Extra bonus for taking reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much more than a Tavern!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The name does not do justice to the service and the food at the Heritage Tavern. Thinking burgers and a beer? Think again. Our food was interesting and cooked to perfection. Our server was really fantastic. And, the place was hopping! If you want a schnitzel -- this is your place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terribly noisy!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2016

And we were not in the room with the bar. We were very happy to be done and leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Love this place - bit of a wait

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I've had dinner here a few times and the food and experience was truly fantastic. Our last dinner here was nice but I think the long wait affected our enthusiasm. Being seated next to the bar was a bit noisy for conversation as well. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable and made excellent pairing suggestions. I'm a bit of a service snob so I really appreciated this. Having worked in fine dining for a long time I know the kitchen can get backed up - the saving grace is acknowledgement. Perhaps it was just too busy but I hate feeling avoided because the food is taking too long. I just want an update, or if you really want a nice tip perhaps a little amuse or a glass of wine to break up the wait. Overall - no qualms whatsoever in recommending this place since I will be back I just felt it fell a bit below the lofty standards I have for the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant. Staff was knowlega ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Staff was knowlegable and very helpful. The menu is full of fantastic options as well as the nightly specials. Schnitzel was good, not great. A little over cooked. Beer selection was really unique. Deviled egg selection was unexpectantly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Love Heritage but probably won't do prix fixe

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Love Heritage, especially for weekend brunches. Dinner is nice and well-prepared but a little over-priced. For Valentine's Day, there was a fixed price menu, 4-courses for $75. It was all done well and as advertised. However, the small portions and mediocre dessert felt like not enough for the price. This is a common problem in Madison on holidays such as this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Had brunch for the first time, really go ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had brunch for the first time, really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's day brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The brunch met and exceeded my every expectation starting from the setting, craft cocktails, attentive service, and on to two wonderful entrees (lobster scramble and seafood cakes), finishing with coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food & ambiance, portions a bit small

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Heritage for a night out with friends and had an awesome time. The cocktails are fantastic and unique, the food is delicious (faves were the bacon wrapped tempura cheese curds, squash soup and brandy float), and the ambiance is warm and hip. Our only complaint was that the entrees were really good, but not incredibly exceptional to be worth the price/ portion size; we ended up spending $150 per couple and could have snacked again about an hour after we left. It's still one of the best restaurants downtown, however, and the service is great at the bar and table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Birthday Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday brunch. I love the feel of the restaurant. Very comfortable. We shared a cinnamon roll that was delicious, had a great Bloody Mary (they even provided my husband with a back other than a Miller product). Our omelet was delicious and our coffee never ran low. Thanks for a great brunch! We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Madison

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Everything about this place is everything good about Wisconsin. The charcuterie offerings are substantial and local. We tried the beet salad and the macadamia nut butter was a flavorful unique accent. The Thai soup was balanced and the added lobster put it over the top. I ordered the Bootlegger Manhatten and cocktail menu had unique offerings. The scallops were our entree and they were perfectly cooked and plated with crunch and color. I'd go back anytime. Great meal and perfect service. The pig plates were an adorable touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Go-to place to bring out-of-town visitors

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2016

This is my go-to place to bring out-of-town visitors. My three favorites from the starter menu are the beet salad, the deviled eggs and the pork belly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eh...not so good

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2016

This restaurant was VERY NOISY - don't go if you want to have a conversation. We practically had to shout to be heard and our waitress had to speak individually to everyone at the table.

There was a longish wait for our food, not excessively long, but long. When the food arrived the "large plate" looked more like an appetizer. My steak was ordered medium rare and it arrived medium well. The flavor and quality was good.

The service was so so. Overall, a big disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Flawless.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Flawless. We had the best brunch we've ever had. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch very much. The bloody mary's were just right, not too spicy. The eggs benedict were superb. An excellent ham choice so much more tasty than Canadian bacon. The sauce was just the right amount, not so much to drown the real flavor and reason you order this dish. The only down side was the rosti. Pattys were too thick to get well browned and crisp enough. Overall, will definitely return...the menu looked like I needed to try more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Suckling pig special was excellent, staff was tops

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Suckling pig special was excellent, staff did an outstanding job, place was filled so a bit loud

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

You can't go wrong at Heritage. Love chef Dan Fox!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant any time of day. Beautiful interesting locally sourced menu items will delight you. Knowledgable, friendly, helpful servers are very professional and appealing. Interesting cuts and preparation of meats, but the seafood is dynamite too. The Thai squash soup was so good. Felt like ordering a second bowl. Pork belly and tuna small plate was delicious. Loved the char small plate too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

been here before, will be back

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2016

As always - the food was delicious. Must remind ourselves to ORDER LESS. One cheese, an appetizer and main course was too much food. The salad was gigantic - could have shared it.

But as always the service was impeccable. And we stopped after the theatre for a drink and had great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good stuff, just ask for pics

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2016

Excellent lighting, handled my reservation request great, great alcohol selection, food was 50/50 but the 50% I liked, I actually LOVED. Definitely want to try more items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience d ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience during Restaurant Week: delicious food and pleasant service in a lively and attractive setting. That's what we look for when dining out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful experience from beginning to end.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2016

The service was warm and genuine. The food was delicious and served all at the right temperatures. I had the roasted beet salad, pumpernickel crusted trout, and Caramel-Pecan Profiterole. My husband had the Lamb Tartare with Green Mustard Whipped Cream, Grilled Beef Sirloin & Tamarind Glazed Ox-Tail, and the Dark Chocolate Beet Cake. All were delicious. I loved the way the trout smelled and it was the best fish I have had in years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant Week is special at Heritage

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Heritage Tavern. We had the beet salad and lamb tartare for appetizers. We liked both but the lamb tartare was really excellent. Since pork is the speciality we had the pork trio. All three cuts were extremely good. The sausage might have been the best I have ever tasted. The pork culet was just a little over salted in one area but that was our only complaint of the evening and that was only for two bites. The beet ice cream and cake was fantastic. Watching the owner, Dan Fox, personally plate and garnish each plate showed the care that is given to very meal. The restaurant is a great choice for wonderful, innovative food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfectly wonderful

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2016

I went to Heritage for restaurant week. Every item that came to our table was meticulously prepared and tasted fantastic. It was a wonderful value. I was with a person from the Chicago Suburbs and he was super impressed with the quality of the food for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

2016 Restaurant Week

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 18, 2016

Went with mom and sisters for restaurant week. Heard the beet salad was to die for and did not disappoint. Good options and portions for restaurant week. Drinks were quite expensive at $11 each. The cheese curds looked awesome. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.