About Herbsaint

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: 5045244114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Butter Poached Tuna - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp With Callaloo - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Gumbo - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Chicken With Crawfish Risotto - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Vanilla Pot de Creme - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Louisiana Shrimp Ceviche - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Squash And Zuccini - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Teres Major Steak - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Buratta And Grilled Eggplant - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Pomme Frites - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Pork Belly With Red Curry Rice, Radish And Date Bbq - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Amuse Bouche - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Chicken And Andoille Gumbo - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Rabbit Fricasee - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Bread - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti, Salsa Verde And Horseradish Cream - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Speckled Trout - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Loin - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Louisiana Shrimp With Calasparra Rice, Artichoke And Maitake - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Dirty Rice - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Hangar Steak - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Duck Leg Confit - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Malted Milk Chocolate Mousse - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Tuna Sandwich - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Pork Belly - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Warm Chocolate Pudding Cake with Salted Caramel, Cashew Ice Cream and Cocoa Nib Caramel Corn - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
House Made Spaghetti - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried-Poached Farm Egg  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Kurobuta Pork Belly with Cajun Grain Risotto, Grilled Pok Choi and Shrimp Broth - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Fried Brussels Sprouts - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Gnocchi With Fava Beans & Pancetta - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Sauteed Louisiana Jumbo Shrimp with Corn Arancini and Bacon  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Neck - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried Poached Farm Egg - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Jumbo Shrimp Grits And Greens - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Top Cut Ribeye with Sea Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and French Fries  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Gnocchi With Lamb Ragu And Pancetta - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Soft Shell Shrimps - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Banana Brown Butter Tart with Fleur de Sel Caramel  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Mackerel And Spanish Risotto - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Haitian Daquiri - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Muscovy Duck Leg Confit with Dirty Rice and Citrus Gastrique - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Pasta - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Vegan Hookup! - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Burrata - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Rillete & Mixed Greens - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Spanish Mackerel Crudo - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Rustic Apple Tart With Caramel Ice Cream And Thyme Reduction - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Daquiri - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Wagu Beef Belly  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Mexican Chili Chocolate Cake And Raw Sugar Ice Cream - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Pork Loin Salad - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Flounder W/creamed Mustard Greens - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Ravioli - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Louisiana Lump Crab With English Peas And Green Garlic Aioli - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Sazerac - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Shoulder With Tomato Salad - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Flatbread W/ Shrimp, Cucumber And Provolone - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Spaghetti - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Crabmeat - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Soppressata - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Corn And Cabbage Salad - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Shortribs - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Squash Salad - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Spagetti - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Chicken Gumbo - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Short Rib With Pesto And Potato - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Spaghetti w/guanciale & Fried-poached Egg - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lump Crabmeat With Pumpkin Sauce - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti And Salsa Verde - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Neck With Wilted Spinch And Goat Cheese - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Mushroom Polenta - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
gnudi with tempura fried oyster mushrooms in a brown butter sauce - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Berkshire Pork Porterhouse - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Pommes Frites - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Homemade Spaghetti With Guanciale And Fried-Poached Egg - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Caramel Sauce And Cinnamon Ice Cream - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Chicken And Pancetta Angolotti - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Butter Poached Tuna With Criolla Sella Chili  - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Chicken Rilettes - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp and Grits - Herbsaint, New Orleans, LA

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Business Meals (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (9)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed our entire dining expe ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We really enjoyed our entire dining experience. The service and food were so impressive! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On our last trip to New Orleans we ate h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

On our last trip to New Orleans we ate here and throughly enjoyed it. Once more we had a fabulous meal, friendly servers and a most enjoyable evening. While not cheap we felt it was worth it as we are on vacation and don't get French food at home.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in New O ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans! Food was delicious. I would highly recommend this wonderful venue to anyone visiting NOLA who is looking for a fabulous meal, great service at an affordable price point.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a great experience. The one thin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall a great experience. The one thing I feel though, the server/bartender seemed a bit slighted by the fact that we were not drinking or ordering entrees (disappointed that it would not be a large bill?). We had just come from a cocktail tour, and had a big night out the previous night, so alcohol was the last thing on our mind. Also, whenever we visit New Orleans, we try to have many different cuisines and dining experiences. For that, we thought their small plates menu was perfect. We did not think we would be judged for ordering exclusively off that menu ("That's ALL you're ordering?")

Besides what we may have only interpreted as a snooty comment, there were many pluses. We got held up on a parade route, so we approximately 15 minutes before reservation time to inform the hostess we were running 10 minutes behind schedule. She kindly held our table. Water and bread was refilled promptly and with a smile from someone other than our server. The food. Oh my the food. We had the curried goat soup, spaghetti small plate, gnocchi small plate, and dirty rice. The rice was a bit dry, but flavorful. Everything else was amazing. We do plan to return for another visit and be able to enjoy the extensive wine list and craft cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my second time to dine at this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my second time to dine at this unique and delicious restaurant !I live in Dallas but will go back to New Orleans just to eat at herb saint !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't eaten here in years, and the pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I hadn't eaten here in years, and the place and menu had been completely redone. I like the ambiance better now. However, I can't believe my porkbelly cassoulet is not on the menu. I did have the best duck I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Spicy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous meal and a very special occasio ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fabulous meal and a very special occasion with friends. Definitely would like to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW.. In a 4 night stay in the city, all ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

WOW.. In a 4 night stay in the city, all dinners were great, this was exceptional. Food, service, ambiance were so good this visit fell into my spouses (chef) Top 5 dining outings in recent memory as we travel and dine out frequently. Gnocchi and Spaghetti appetizers were just outstanding, main entrée was a Japanese steak special, also fabulous and desert, the Meyer Lemon doughnuts were over the top. Brought our own wine, corkage allowed in New Orleans even though the wine list is strong. Will absolutely return next time in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My NOLA favorite for years. Except now t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My NOLA favorite for years. Except now the atmospheric lighting has been altered to be like a surgical operating room.

However the food and service is still wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wife and I played hookie on NYD Monday a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wife and I played hookie on NYD Monday and grabbed lunch at Herbsaint, our favorite place to have weekday lunch together. Despite Sugar Bowl being in town, restaurant was not overcrowded (most tourists don't seem to know about Herbsaint). Many regulars from the CBD and Warehouse District business community were there. Food was excellent. I strayed from my typical flatbread lunch to try the duck and mushroom lasagne. My wife had the shrimp Callaloo. Both were amazing. Since it was a hookie day, we each had a glass of their one Pinot they offered by the glass, also amazing. One of the best restaurants in NOLA, which is saying a lot...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, waiter knew menu and win ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food, waiter knew menu and wines. It was a fabulous experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to HerbSaint on the recommendation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went to HerbSaint on the recommendation of a good friend and was not disappointed. Strongly recommend HerbSaint for any special occasion. Great drinks too!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so disappointed that the poached ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were so disappointed that the poached tuna appetizer was no longer on the new menu. Otherwise, the entire New Year's Day dining experience at this establishment was quite tasty and the service (as always) was professional and dependable.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

loved it; The food and ambiance were out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

loved it; The food and ambiance were outstanding. We had a large table of 6 with different palates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible, original & artistic small pl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible, original & artistic small plates (appetizers), but not just cute for cute's sake. Chef clearly is a "mixologist" when it comes to use of herbs, nuts, colors. Our group of 3 ordered multiple items from the menu and all were delicious, especially the beet & pistachio salad, the fried oysters, the calaloo and a HUGE shout-out to the fideos with tomato confit. (All of our group enjoyed their tastes of mine so much that another of our party ordered it so he would have his own!) Small criticism: we had left-over special port from New Year's menu, and our Portuguese guest was appalled that the port glass was only half filled -- he said a bar would be laughed at, then boycotted, if a bar tried to charge for half a glass of port in Portugal. But from my perspective, that was just a talking point. Really enjoyed the meal, will go back next time we are in New Orleans. Lovely outside tables. Appreciate the restaurant being open on New Year's Day/Sunday -- I understand not normal for this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A fantastic evening at Herbsaint! Superb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A fantastic evening at Herbsaint! Superbly prepared food for everyone at the table, expert service, and a friendly atmosphere made this a night we'l remember for a long time. My mother-in-law's 80th birthday was perfectly executed by the staff and the restaurant surpassed our high expectations! Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I was expecting. Very good f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not what I was expecting. Very good food but very limited menu. Had to book a 430 dinner but the place was empty when we left. No later times were available? Strange

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal--I had the crispy goat--and e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great meal--I had the crispy goat--and excellent, friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent preparation and presentation. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent preparation and presentation. Menu was creative and delicious. Great service.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Herbsaint several times. W ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Have been to Herbsaint several times. We no longer live in New Orleans. Herbsaint is the one place we visit whenever we are home. As is generally the case it was a fantastic experience with great food and ambiance.

We highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!Food was carefull ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and service!Food was carefully prepared with a great variety of flavors. We had the Tuna, beef short ribs, gnocchi, shrimp cerviche, lamb lasagna, and teres major steak. All were very good. Service was very attentive but not over bearing. This place lives up to its reputation. Good job team 4T!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a delicious lunch while sitting ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious lunch while sitting outside and watching the streetcar go by. The service was fast and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some dishes were very good such as the v ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Some dishes were very good such as the veal and mushrooms lasagna. Some dishes were just ok, for example the shortrib. As for the gnocchi, these were bland and really poor. Our lead waiter was neither polite nor a good listener. This was a shame as the rest of the staff was awesome. What ended up making our dinner were the desserts. We ordered three different desserts and all where amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We went for our anniversary and our daug ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went for our anniversary and our daughter called ahead and told them of the occasion. She ordered a bottle of champagne for us. The servers were some of the best I've ever encountered and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience. Expertly prepar ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A delightful experience. Expertly prepared but in rather small portions which was great for a multi course lunch.

Waitress sure tried but she was not the highlight of the day. The food was the star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

It is always consistent and great. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It is always consistent and great. The cuisine is always an impressive surprise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but fish tasted fishy which w ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food but fish tasted fishy which was not the norm

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A wonderful experience; we were glad we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A wonderful experience; we were glad we came; I would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined alone at Herbsaint last night. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I dined alone at Herbsaint last night. I was seated outside, which was nice as I am from Chicago and it is freezing here... nice to enjoy a warm evening.

The food was wonderful. I had the gumbo (delish), spaghetti with the fried egg (decadent) and the banana dessert (sooo good!). Enjoyed a flight of red wine with dinner and a cappuccino with dessert.

It did get a little loud with the streetcar running by, but I did not mind...

Only thing that I would change is to provide a coaster for the water glass if sitting outside. There was water all over the table from the condensation, and the glass dripped on my clothes when taking a sip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was by far our best dinner in New O ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was by far our best dinner in New Orleans. The drinks were inventive and yummy. The salad was crisp and our entries were unique and wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience and GREAT dining! ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful experience and GREAT dining! Was recommended by a native of New Orleans, I would recommend this to anyone! We are from Tampa, found out from a good friend who lives in the city that the food here is superb - boy was he correct! Do not miss this restaurant if you are heading to New Orleans!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was one of the best meals I've ever h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was one of the best meals I've ever had. If you're expecting typical New Orleans food, this is not it. We kept thinking it couldn't get better but every dish was fabulous. I'm not a gumbo fan but I really enjoyed it. The beet, pistachio, yogurt salad was amazing. The ceviche had one of the best dressings I've ever had. Period. My husband ordered the mushroom lamb lasagna. It did not sound appealing especially since it didn't have red sauce. Wow. Delicious. Very decadent but truly phenomenal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all...just ok...Not sure of the d ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was all...just ok...Not sure of the direction of the menu...a little all over the place. Had to send my fish back...just wasn't anything to write home about...Staff didn't seem to be very excited to be there...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We always enjoy Herbsaint! The lamb las ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We always enjoy Herbsaint! The lamb lasagna is fabulous! Everything was yummy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowded, noisy, fun urban ambience with ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Crowded, noisy, fun urban ambience with excellent service and inventive, wonderful flavors. For a night of light-hearted fun and fine dining, Herbsaint is an ace in the hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I really enjoyed my meal at Herbsaint, a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal at Herbsaint, as did my colleagues. We ended up sharing everything at the table. Highlights include the gnocchi appetizer, the steak, as well as the beans side dish. The service was polite and efficient. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classy and delicious! Excellent small p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Classy and delicious! Excellent small pates and best gumbo in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As a local, had been wanting to go to He ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As a local, had been wanting to go to Herbsaint for quite some time so decided to book a reservation for my husband's birthday. We were a little late due to being stuck in traffic from an accident, but once we arrived were promptly seated at a small 2-top table in the back room. Although there were just two of us, I strongly dislike when restaurants seat you at such small tables because the tabletop quickly gets crowded. Service was prompt and friendly. Because we were seeing a show at the Saenger later and didn't want to be overly full, we decided to order several small plates so that we could try multiple things. We had the spaghetti with fried poached egg, the gnocchi, the short rib and beet salad. All of it was....... good. Not great. We enjoyed the meal, but overall it didn't stand out as anything we'd remember or would be dieing to go back to eat again. I'd recommend Herbsaint as a cozy place to have a nice dinner with friends or a date, but not sure I'll be running back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal at Herbsaint and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always a great meal at Herbsaint and the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.