About Herbsaint

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: (504) 524-4114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Authentic (17)
Romantic (15)
Casual (15)
Fun (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Came highly recommended and did not disappoint! Food and service were both outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service excellent food pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Standout cocktails and really great execution of the plates. Loved the lamb lasagna and seasonal vegetable items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I just hate to write a negative review but our experience was unfortunate. The service we had made us feel like we were a second thought and almost in the way of the staff. We ordered the gumbo, fried oysters & redfish. The gumbo was burnt and was a poor reflection of what one expects when traveling and staying in New Orleans. The oysters were good but, not fresh, not plump. The slaw was pre-made, sour and most likely from a bag. The redfish was amazing. My hope is that this review doesn't hurt but will fill in the weak spots in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Herbsaint is one of many wonderful places to eat in New Orleans. We keep going back because it's a more intimate setting than most and the food and service are excellent. They put their own touches on New Orleans cuisine. Always a special evening...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

If not the best restaurant in New Orleans, then one of the top three. Always deliciously reliable. Perfect service.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made reservations at Herbsaint for Valentine's Day based on reviews and living in New Orleans. The service was very good but the food was very disappointing. We ordered several small plates as that is how their menu is construed. If you enjoy spaghetti with a fried egg, gnocchi with bacon strips, or a tiny piece of a short rib with a gourmet hash brown at approximately $ 15.00 per plate, this is your place. Even the crab bisque was thin and tasted like fish stock. Expect to leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was great but they happened to be out of 2 of the 3 bourbons I ordered

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Crispy goat was perfect! Our entire dinner was great. The chef driven menu covered several styles of cooking. Everything was on point. Dave room for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

oyster appetizer was great. The chicken entree was delicious.

The wine list is impressive with a number of unusual offerings, although a few more at a reasonable price would have been better.

clearly one of best restaurants in New Orleans year after year

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and great service. Would recommend it when in NOLA.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

During one week in NOLA for a conference, I ate here 3 times, not only because it was good, but it was conveniently near my conference site. I went with friends one evening for small plates and wine and by myself, twice for lunch. The Friday lunch hour was very busy and a bit noisy inside. The food was outstanding each time. Note, wine by the glass was excellent and affordable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The oysters were excellent and the duck never fails! Delicious food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have eaten at Herbsaint every time we've come to NOLA in the past few years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I split the Baked Asiago, Shrimp Ceviche, and Gnocci. Along with it I had a White Wine and she had the Mexican Fireball cocktail. Everything was perfect. We dined outside along St Charles Street; and while there was traffic and the street car service was running at full strength, it did not detract from a wonderful happy hour dinner with our server "Em".

We'd go back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Have been coming here for years - and never disappointing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We have eaten at Herbsaint several times over the years when visiting New Orleans. On this visit we sat outside as it was a pleasant evening. The service was okay, but not special. The vegetarian choices for my wife were okay but not special. It was not quite what I remembered it to be. We ate 3 dinners in New Orleans on this trip and this one ranked third.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good food, nice wait staff. The apple profiteroles were really wonderful and I'm not even a dessert person in general. The winter salad also was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything from the service, the wine, the entrees and dessert were exceptional.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Love Herbsaint!! Always fresh and creative... never "over done".. love bringing my out of town guests here...

Tags: Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My boyfriend and I went on a recent trip to New Orleans. We had a wonderful meal with a vast wine selection. We ordered the spaghetti with the poached egg, which was amazing! Also, the short ribs were perfectly prepared. Only complaint is the table we were sat at was in the corner of the bar and my boyfriend didn't have enough room to maneuver in and out of the table, even though we had reservation made over a week in advance. It is probably the table they save for walk ins. The restaurant is beautiful and the service was on point. I will definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unbelievable food and value. The service is impeccable. I suggest the blood orange salad and tuna ceviche. Chef Christina is the best! Yum!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a fabulous experience, we are mainly off the small plate menu which was substantial and very tasty.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

9 of us dined here for my daughter's 30th birthday. We sat at a wonderful round table in the back dining area which was quiet (the front room very noisy as we left). The food was exceptional. I had the lamb and mushroom lasagna which was unique and amazing! A good size portion as well. Service was also very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing! Just when I thought that I have eaten at every great restaurant in New Orleans, I find Herbsaint. In keeping with sister restaurants Cochon and Peche, the food is incredible and the service is off the hook. The best duck Gumbo ever was just the start of a fabulous meal that I will not soon forget!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic dinner! We would've been very happy to just've had the appetizers for dinner but the steak was fantastic. The apple pie profiteroles were to die for. Excellent service. The only drawback was the noise level which is typical for even the nicest restaurants.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was there to visit with friends had not seen in a very long time but could not hear what anyone was saying. Food very good but wine expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food!swordfish was excellent! Crispy goat was outstanding

Tags: Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Exquisite food with excellent service. Beautiful little spot that seems to be filled with locals. The blood orange salad was incredible, a really unique dish. "Small plates" are a decent size, so an app/salad + small plate is a good sized meal. Their desserts are definitely not to be missed, some seasonal touches (like local satsuma on the pot de creme) were very good. Try the flourless chocolate cake or malted milk chocolate mousse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, beautifully presented, fun service and pretty relaxed. We had a great time!

Don't miss the fried oysters and the spaghetti and egg!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Her saint is a fabulous restaurant with amazing food, drinks, and atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. We tried MANY things on the menu as a table and everyone enjoyed every dish. Service was extremely friendly and excellent. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Group of 8 had all the small plates which were fabulous plus gumbo and several desserts. Everything was great!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Herbsaint is a reliable restaurant when you're looking for a nice culinary experience. The ingredients are always fresh and the dishes are always creative and delicious. Good spot when taking folks from out of town when they would like a high end dining experience that is true to New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The whole staff went out of their way to make my father comfortable (uses a walker) and to get my mother an amazing meal despite her laundry list of food allergies. This was by far my favorite dining experience in Mew Orleans yet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed this dining experience! Very good ambiance and the food and service was exceptional! Definitely will come here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Starters, Small plates and entrees....all very very good. Desserts (especially Banana Brown Butter Tart) superb!...Decor...very hip and tasteful. The bar is stellar too!....but by far, the best aspect of Herbsaint is the staff...from the greeter, to bar staff & waitstaff...could not have been any more professional, helpful and friendly. Courses were perfectly timed and presented....great food experience and vibe!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Organic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Amazing service, everyone we encountered was friendly and attentive. Loved the Gnocchi and spaghetti appetizers in particular, had an outstanding meal/experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 17, 2017

While the restaurant is very noisy and the servers at times seemed aloof the food is spectacular.

It was as described on the menu but especially as described by the server when asked. Our server was first class.

The wine list is extensive, expensive and overwhelming. I am in touch with very good lower priced west coast wines and there were few if any to be had.

This was my second time visiting and I went back because of the food. And I will go back because of the food.

Finally, it's so good to find a restaurant whose food actually matches or even exceeds the often vividly appetizing descriptions on the menu. Sadly, that's getting harder and harder to find these days.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It's a fun and vibrant place with memorable cuisine. Consistently good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our entire dining experience. The service and food were so impressive! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

On our last trip to New Orleans we ate here and throughly enjoyed it. Once more we had a fabulous meal, friendly servers and a most enjoyable evening. While not cheap we felt it was worth it as we are on vacation and don't get French food at home.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans! Food was delicious. I would highly recommend this wonderful venue to anyone visiting NOLA who is looking for a fabulous meal, great service at an affordable price point.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall a great experience. The one thing I feel though, the server/bartender seemed a bit slighted by the fact that we were not drinking or ordering entrees (disappointed that it would not be a large bill?). We had just come from a cocktail tour, and had a big night out the previous night, so alcohol was the last thing on our mind. Also, whenever we visit New Orleans, we try to have many different cuisines and dining experiences. For that, we thought their small plates menu was perfect. We did not think we would be judged for ordering exclusively off that menu ("That's ALL you're ordering?")

Besides what we may have only interpreted as a snooty comment, there were many pluses. We got held up on a parade route, so we approximately 15 minutes before reservation time to inform the hostess we were running 10 minutes behind schedule. She kindly held our table. Water and bread was refilled promptly and with a smile from someone other than our server. The food. Oh my the food. We had the curried goat soup, spaghetti small plate, gnocchi small plate, and dirty rice. The rice was a bit dry, but flavorful. Everything else was amazing. We do plan to return for another visit and be able to enjoy the extensive wine list and craft cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my second time to dine at this unique and delicious restaurant !I live in Dallas but will go back to New Orleans just to eat at herb saint !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I hadn't eaten here in years, and the place and menu had been completely redone. I like the ambiance better now. However, I can't believe my porkbelly cassoulet is not on the menu. I did have the best duck I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Spicy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fabulous meal and a very special occasion with friends. Definitely would like to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

WOW.. In a 4 night stay in the city, all dinners were great, this was exceptional. Food, service, ambiance were so good this visit fell into my spouses (chef) Top 5 dining outings in recent memory as we travel and dine out frequently. Gnocchi and Spaghetti appetizers were just outstanding, main entrée was a Japanese steak special, also fabulous and desert, the Meyer Lemon doughnuts were over the top. Brought our own wine, corkage allowed in New Orleans even though the wine list is strong. Will absolutely return next time in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My NOLA favorite for years. Except now the atmospheric lighting has been altered to be like a surgical operating room.

However the food and service is still wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.