Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Herbsaint

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: (504) 524-4114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (88)
Creative Cuisine (80)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Special Occasion (66)
Local Ingredients (53)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Business Meals (42)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Hot Spot (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Authentic (25)
Fun (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Casual (20)
Good for Groups (19)
People Watching (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Historic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Spicy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 16 hours ago

Chef Wilcomb is amazing. Do not miss dining at Herbsaint. Make sure to try the homemade spaghetti, guanicle, and fried soft boiled egg. Outstanding wine list. Save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic service by Jessie !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Slightly underwhelmed for a previous James beard winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Long time ago great Nola menu and food but now something wired, not Nola. Bring back Nola!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great lunch as always. Herbsaint is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Historic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was alright but nothing off the charts. Meanwhile the service from Team 2 was awful and made for a less than pleasant meal. This place is living off its past reputation but the times have changed. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed everything. Sommelier picked out a great and unusual German Cab for us. A top 10 on my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my go to place for business lunches and the staff knows the two tables that I prefer whether I have a party of tow or four. Always great and creative dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered three small plates--fried oysters, gnocchi, and beef with anchovies and capers, one entree, the jumbo shrimp callalloo, and a dessert of apple pie profiteroles. Of these dishes, the dessert was by far the most successful and I would go back for just desert and after dinner drinks any time.

While the rest of the dishes were good, they were not up to the standards set for modern creole dining by places like August, and the service was spotty at best. Our server's familiarity with the menu seemed tenuous--she had to read from notes about the special of the day--and appeared to split her time between bar duties and table service. Three of the dishes--the gnocchi, beef, and shrimp--arrived after having clearly spent a fair amount of time waiting to be served based on their temperature.

I should note that I have friends I trust who swear by Herbsaint so it is possible that we just caught them on a bad night, but restaurants of this caliber shouldn't have nights this bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great attention from the staff. Fantastic food. Noise level was quite loud, but full of fun people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

the restaurant needs to fix its lights. they were flickering the entire time, and our table couldn't stop noticing how terrible the lighting was. the service was also a little off, fairly inattentive. otherwise, super fun, and had a great time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

A phenomenal gem around the corner from the Ace Hotel in New Orleans. Visiting from San Francisco, Herbsaint topped most upscale neighborhood restaurants in our hometown.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The space was very comfortable for conversation with our group of 6. The entrees were rather traditional. The next time I will order all the appetizers and skip an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant in every field. Would recommend to anyone dining in New Orleans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Herbsaint is a new classic for NOLA! The gnocchi with Parmesan and pancetta is amazing. The duck confit is simply the finest duck I have ever had. The brown butter tart for dessert is a taste pleasing treasure! We have been going to NOLA for years to some of the world's finest restaurants. Herbsaint is now a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Nice place, food was very good...
They advertised a daily special of roasted octopus, but the waiter stated they ran out & only had 5 servings. We found that rather strange...

The tables were too close together, the server serving the table next to us constantly had her backside in our space...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Just off a St. Charles street car stop and a pleasant 10 minute walk from Canal Street, this culinary gem in the historical and rejuvenating Warehouse district will introduce you to the creative cajun and New Orleans cuisine of Donald Link. Tucked away from the crowds and under some old trees, the cocktails, meals and wine flights soar to culinary heights. Even amidst all the extraordinary places to eat in New Orleans, this is a must.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This came recommended by a friend. It didn't disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Not sure what is up with Herbsant, but what a difference 1 1/2 years make.

1) Beet appetizer were lacklustre and a little bit bitter.
2) Fried oysters were fine quality and totally ordinary--nothing original or memorable about them. Could have gone to Deannie's for straightforward, good quality, fried oysters and spent way less money.
3) Housemade Tagliatelle with bacon and Trumpet mushrooms was very good. Tastes worked well.
4) Beef Short Rib with Rosti potatoes was very good.

Nothing was great, per our usual and historical experience of Herbsaint.

We had dessert, totally unmemorable, because we can't even remember what we had. I suggest you bring back your dazzling, caramel corn dessert, from three years ago, even if you have to rehire your former pastry chef. Even a well-executed, key lime pie will do, preferably topped with soft meringue instead of whipped cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of my small plates was forgotten, arriving after everyone else in my party finished their meals and it arrived cold. I was surprised as I had always had a good experience in the past. I will think twice about coming back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A bit slow. Also, one hour after eating I called to order a dessert to take out. They would not accommodate us, saying that they don't do take out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service was excellent but I was not amazed by the food. We started out with Sazarac cocktails, which were too bitter and also too sweet (if that makes sense), slightly disappointing. We had two small plates, a beef with capers and anchovies, which was excellent, and the gnocchi with panchetta, which was good, but underseasoned. We split the duck confit for dinner and again I was underwhelmed. The skin was amazingly crisp, but it was so salty it overwhelmed the taste the meat. For $30 it was not the flavor experience I was hoping for. There are lots of food experiences in New Orleans, next time for that price I would go somewhere else.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I never get chicken, but I did at this place. The reduction included crawfish and yummy flavors. My dirty martini was delicious. I recommend the spaghetti appetizer that includes a battered, deep fried poached egg that somehow has a perfect yolk. My husband loved his swordfish. The James Beard awards hanging on the wall are a great reminder of why everything is so delicious here. Our service was top-notch, the waiter's description of all of the food was dead on. He explained how the dishes were prepared and cooked to help us understand why specific selections should be at the top of our list. It was like talking to the chef. The ambiance is warm and peaceful, perfect for a date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Outstanding! It was one of the best meals we ever had. Would HIGHLY recommend it. Try their spaghetti as the small plate. Out of this world! What a wonderful experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

How much are you willing to suffer through for great food? Small table with a communal bench and a chair, in the far back? Overburdened waitstaff, two of whom wait on you, and one of whom keeps hoping the other one will take care of you because he doesn't have time? Food that takes over 30 minutes to arrive, when you were warned not to order the chicken because it takes 20-30 minutes (and you didn't order it)? An overcrowded room, a noise level so great that you cannot talk to one another without raising your voice to an uncomfortable level (so you don't), and music piped in on top of it all? If none of this matters to you, then the food is great. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great meal
Terrific atmosphere
Would recommend
Service was attentive and explanation of dishes was helpful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food, ambience, and cocktails were all outstanding. That's why we stop in on every visit to New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was simply outstanding as was the service. The cocktails and wine options were terrific also!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic!!!! Staff, food, seating. Everything!! We started with the gnocchi which was everything as great as people said it would be. The duck was crispy and flavorful. The swordfish was cooked absolutely perfectly. The banana tart dessert was heaven on our tongues. Will definitely go back when we return to New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was great, the service not so wonderful. I thought it was pricey for what we got. In regards to the wait staff, they were not particularly warm and friendly.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

What a great spot. Casual, fun environment well designed to provide a room with great "restaurant energy." The food was terrific, some of the best we have had in the week we have been in New Orleans. the beet salad was wonderful and the cornmeal battered oysters were perfection, I had to stop myself from ordering a second round. Every dish we had was delicious and the service was fun, friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

my wife wasn't feeling great but despite that still enjoyed healthy salad for her and i think the tuna sandwich was best tuna dish i have had and i have had many. cocktails kentucky 5- was tasty and strong. desert menu strong and enjoyed the coconut cream pie. nice service and friendly. nice walk from french quarter

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had another great experience at Herbsaint. Excellent food and good service. Will definitely go their again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had lunch on a recent family vacation - food was very good and desserts were outstanding !
Definitely recommend it if you are a goodie and not looking for the standard American fare

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I was excited to try Herbsaint after reading about all their accolades, but it was surprisingly our least favorite dining experience in NOLA. Proof that service can make or break your experience, our service was just off (and slow) - we had one new server and one experienced server tag-team. The new server should have been shadowing instead, but I can't say for sure that the experienced server was any better. Both seemed overwhelmed by how busy the restaurant was. Our dinner selections from the regular menu were good, but the special was underwhelming. We had high hopes, but Herbsaint didn't deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice ambiance, great service, good food that ranged from stellar spaghetti carbonara to bland, but tender short ribs and disappointing gumbo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous as always! Herbsaint NEVER disappoints! Service is awesome too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Unfortunately, my entree (fish, the special of the day) was really bad. Lukewarm, slimy, with an uninspired side. My husband's small plate, short ribs, was greasy. We had so been looking forward to this restaurant, and it was a massive disappointment. Tables were smashed together (my husband got to look into a back corner, never appealing) and service was crazy slow.

The restaurant comped us for my inedible fish, but we still spent a lot for a memorably bad experience. Maybe it was an off night, maybe we ordered the wrong dishes, but....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We sat outside on the patio to enjoy the beautiful weather. The trolley goes by every so often, as do people using the sidewalk in between the two rows of tables. We ordered the champagne cocktail and a beer to go with three rounds of shared small plates. Tip: We should have probably included a salad to balance out all of the richness or the five dishes and desserts that we suffered for later on. The warm bread and sweet butter that was brought out was perfection. Crusty and nicely chewy. If you can take heat, the Sicilian Beef was a favorite. The gnocchi was surprisingly our least favorite, but still good. Loved the desserts. Could have had one of each it was so hard to choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing, fresh dishes. The fish of the day was excellent and we loved the vanilla pot de creme.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.