Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Herbsaint

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: (504) 524-4114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (134)
Creative Cuisine (119)
Special Occasion (91)
See All
Good for a Date (87)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Local Ingredients (69)
Hot Spot (68)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Notable Wine List (54)
Business Meals (52)
Authentic (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Romantic (35)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
People Watching (28)
Casual (26)
Fun (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Healthy (13)
Cozy (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (12)
Historic (11)
Tapas (7)
Spicy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I went with a group of fellow foodies and we left very pleased. I highly recommend sharing because you are going to want to try everything. The food was perfectly prepared, the service was attentive, and the ambiance was comfortable. It was a little noisy (and they seemed to have the dropsies in the bar area) but we were still able to converse pleasantly. A must visit spot in downtown NOLA.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfectly prepared & tasted out of this world, from small plates appetizers to main dish to the to-die-for choc mousse. Wine was wonderful . Service was knowledgeable & just right.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Still our absolute fave in NOLA (and we have tried them all).

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

About the noisiest restaurant I have ever been in and greatly reduced my enjoyment of the visit. food. Conversation was nearly impossible among our party of four. We greatly enjoyed the cobia and the duck. Those who partook in the cocktails greatly enjoyed them. The flourless chocolate cake with homemade strawberry ice cream was one of the best I've had in my life. The waitstaff was personable and friendly and our water glasses were filled without asking. It was a busy weekend night to be sure, but some noise baffling structural improvements are in order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

First visit to this amazing restaurant. We shared plates. The tomato salad, the gnocchi, the spaghetti, the grilled shrimp, the lamb lasagna were all outstanding. Service was very attentive despite having two six top tables next to us at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Shared lots of different plates family-style and enjoyed all the great flavors. Everything was perfect from the first cocktail to the desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about Herbsaint is great. From the moment we were greeted at the front door we knew it would be a special night. Our waitress was amazing and the food was as good as it gets. I'd highly recommend the Mexican firing squad if you like tequila! Don't visit New Orleans without taking in this true dining experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Herbsaint and its James Beard Award-winning chef deserve all the praise they receive. It is simply tops. On a recent lunch visit, two menu standards — the chicken-and-andouille gumbo and the seasonal greens salad — were perfect. A daily special, fried catfish with green rice, was superb, brought to the table steaming hot with a delightfully crunchy and flavorful crust. A grilled tuna sandwich on olive bread was spot on. If I lived in New Orleans, I would eat there frequently.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

First time here and had a Fantastic meal. Started off with the watermelon gazpacho. Outstanding. The catfish and lasagna were also great. Will want to come back next time we are here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dinner. I had the goat and it was excellent. Would highly recommend it and the restaurant. The side of lentils was the best. Service was excellent. My husband is hard of hearing so that was the only slight negative.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb. Crabmeat, Goat, Cobia--everything prepared to perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

What a great spot. the food ranged form NOLA classics like gumbo and fried oysters to non-traditional plates like lamb cheeks. The space, food, and service were second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We came for my birthday on a very rainy stormy day. The food and service were great and we were glad we made the effort even in the rain. We rarely order dessert these days but they were exceptionally good too. So glad we did not miss this very special meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Outstanding culinary experience. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful wine list. Perfect ambiance. We will be returning on our next visit to New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and service! The duck confit was amazing! Our server was exceptional and so knowledgeable. Fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This place is a lot of hype. My meal of (WAY too) crispy goat was 1/2 the price of my husbands $30 shrimp dish and his was 1/2 the size. His meal mentioned rice which wasn't a side it was a "garnish"...rice as a garnish? Parsley is a garnish. Chive is a garnish. Orange zest...not rice. Skip this place. In a town of so many other fabulous places to eat this is totally skip worthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a wonderful evening celebrating our anniversay. Food was outstanding. Would go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

When we were first seated we felt a bit rushed to order, but when our server realizes we were in for a dining experience and not a quick one hour dinner, she quickly adapted her style. Lovely long list of wines and the seasonal watermelon gazpacho with lump crab was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

All food was very fresh. Lamb lasagne was absolutely delicious!. Banana tart and flourless chocolate cake were incredible!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Livia was very fishy tasting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic, fresh, original recipes with perfect presentation! Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere and staff was knowledge and entertaining. Fast service but not rushed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Superb preparations of food and drinks
Flavorful but not too rich so freshness of ingredients shown

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food just as every other time we've been here. Gumbo was great and cobia was perfectly cooked. Wait staff very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had absolutely wonderful service and a fantastic meal! The gnocchi and pepperdelle special were phenomenal!!! We had great cocktails and lively main entrees of duck confit and grilled chicken!!! The service team was very attentive to the entire restaurant not just their own section.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing dinner! All of the food was excellent! Service was good! Restaurant was high energy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Liz was our server and made the evening extra special. She knew the menu and guided us to each dish based on our questions.
The duck rillettes were fabulous for an appetizer.
Each person in our group raved about their meal. The chocolate malt dessert was amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lively atmosphere without overpowering a table for two. The duck entree was outstanding-perfectly roasted & not overseasoned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Recently ate her with my husband and daughter while visiting the city. Enjoyed our meal and the service was very good. We were sat right next to the entrance but had a view of the street. I would recommend this restaurant for a special nights out.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Lunch was great. The daily specials are always fresh and new. Always just enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Enjoyed the restaurant. Food was excellent and wait staff very helpful. Would definitely go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This is a great place for lunch with friends or a business meeting. The food is fabulous. I'd certainly recommend the short ribs and oysters. The waitstaff are knowledgeable and friendly and service was great. Not sure i would sit outside since there was some construction going on in the area, but inside was cool and inviting.
Highly recommend Herbsaint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Outstanding service The chicken dish was great and the fish dish was ok

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had in New Orleans, knowledgeable wait staff who seem to really enjoy working there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful dinner out to celebrate my sister's birthday. Guests at our table enjoyed the salad, gazpacho, gnocchi and cobia. All were excellent. Best cheesecake I've ever had - would definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Awesome experience. Prompt. Beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We thought the food and ambience were great. However, we were very disappointed to be seated in the very last table in the 3rd dining room of the restaurant. It has been extremely frustrating to use open table for fine dining and time after time my party has been seated in the most undesirable table in the restaurant. We will look forward to our next visit but will not use Open Table again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My girlfriend tried to surprise me with a preordered dessert. We were presented with menus and decided to pass. She thought that the dessert would have come out right after, unfortunately we were presented with a bill. I noticed she became upset and asked why. She said that she had called the restaurant earlier and talked to the hostess for several minutes about dessert offerings and preordered a chocolate cake for my birthday. I then informed our server who said she forgot. She said that she would bring out the dessert right away but at this point we didn't want it anymore. She then said she would take something off our check. When she went to the manager he didn't really seem to care all that much himself. No table touch. It was like, " just comp their appetizer and get them out of here." With the reputation that this place has, we just expected more. The food was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Friend and I went here for a 9:00 p.m. reservation. Very much enjoyed the food and ambiance. Because our reservation was so late, they were rushing us out of the restaurant when they closed the doors, which tainted our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was innovative and delicious. The service was great. The space was too noisy to converse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.