Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Herbsaint

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: (504) 524-4114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for a Date (60)
Creative Cuisine (57)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Local Ingredients (36)
Business Meals (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Romantic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Casual (19)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Historic (10)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, the good was very good. However, there were at least three items on the menu that were either not the correct items being sold, or sold out. It also took a rather long time to get our food after placing our orders; especially dessert. It wasn't a horrible experience, but I had hoped for more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

All I had hoped for and more. Impressive taste profiles. Attention to detail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This was some of the rudest service we have experienced dining out. Got there early for an 8:30 reservation, were told they were running behind and were very polite about it. We didn't even check on things until 8:45. When it got past 9:00, and we were getting restless the hostess told us, "what do you want me to do, tell people to finish dessert?" No, I want you to get us the table that we booked weeks in advance in a professional manner.

Once we finally did sit down, and we asked about a bread plate after 20 minutes, we were told "Yea that's not happening." Until we got sassy enough that they came back apologizing with fresh bread 2 minutes later. The food here is great. Why isn't the service?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

In my 67 years, I have had 2 meals I would consider as close to perfect as one could get. One was at Fleming's Steakhouse in Memphis on New Year's Eve and the other was to my recent visit to Herbsaint. I took the plunge and ordered the Wagyu steak which had been raised on a farm in West Monroe, Louisiana. The steak's appearance was between a ribeye and a New York strip. I relished every bite. Each bite was like butter melting in my mouth. It was so incredibly delicious I did not want to finish it. Never have I eaten a steak this delicious!! My wife had the Turkey, Tasso and Andouille Gumbo. It was rich, dark and incredible. My wife ordered the fried oysters for her entrée and my son got the same dish as an appetizer. The oysters were to die for. They were cooked perfectly in lightly breaded flour and meal. The outside was perfectly crunchy with a soft center for the perfect taste. My son ordered the fish of the day which was swordfish. It was also impeccable with delicious vegetables and creative sauces. For dessert we ordered Coconut Custard Pie with Buttermilk Chantilly and Orange Caramel and Banana Brown Butter Tart with Fleur de Sel Caramel. Both were outrageously perfect. The crust for the Banana Brown Butter Tart was an experience all by itself. Needless to say the food was perfect but what made the night so perfect was the wait staff. Our waitress constantly checked on us with recommendations and helpful hints. Her assistants also had their eyes on us throughout the meal and were at the table for refills, removal of plates, and other assistance which elevated the experience. The chefs at this restaurant (executive and pastry) are two of the finest cooks we have ever had the privilege of enjoying their wares. It was a perfect night, with perfect food, with perfect people to support us through this one of a kind journey.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Catfish was best we have ever eaten. The fried oysters were great. We can see why you won a James Beard award.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved Herbsaint! They should ne proud of their work and staff. Great service and delicious food! Gnocchi appetizer with pancetta and parmesan was wonderful. I'll take 3 more! Duck confit fell off the bone and came with lovely spiced peapods. Good wine and beer options. Malted chocolate cake was a perfect and delicious end to a great and solid meal at Herbsaint. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

excellent food, creative, incredible service from people who care to discuss food and drink. fantastic meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful menu selections - tried the crispy goat - excellent! The staff was seamless in their service, with great attention to detail!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic! The food and beverage menus are creative and delicious. Try the Gumbo. It was great. Fries were tasty, order 2 orders or more, they come in small portions. The best part of the dinner was our waitress who gently and comically guided us through the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Only get there once a year when we go to NO but wouldn't miss it - food is delicious - we were there for lunch - wonderful cornmeal crusted fried oysters followed by deeply yummy beef short ribs with roti potatoes then the apple pie profiteroles! Wonderful wine and great wait person - Elizabeth!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

So good!!!! Definitely worth a visit. One of the best meals we'be had. The dessert - coconut pie - was a little stale. But everything else was fantastic. Service was attentive and seamless, despite having a couple different people tableside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our best meal hands down while in New Orleans!! Fresh and brilliantly prepared! We will definitely return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This restaurant is on a couple different lists for best in America and it's not even close. From the screaming baby to the lackluster service (sat for 45 minutes before someone took our order) the food is average for this price point. My favorite dish was actually a side dish. I had high hopes but was severely disappointed- there are far too many superior restaurants that deserve the accolades that this one gets

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best gumbo I have eaten...duck,tasso,andouille. It was the darkest roux I've ever seen. I'm a big fish consumer and I tend to avoid swordfish as I find it normally a little too dry for my taste but they served a grilled swordfish wrapped in fig leaves that was moist and delicious. All the food was first class . I would highly recommend this restaurant ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was quite mediocre, surprising given the restaurant's reputation. Many restaurants in NO have a better gumbo, the shrimp entree was unimaginative and the dessert, profiteroles, looked and tasted as if from Basking Robins. Overall a very disappointing evening and a bit of an embarrassment vis a vis our out of town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely meal at Herbsaint. The cocktails were inventive and deftly executed. I greatly enjoyed the fried oysters. The cornmeal breading had great texture and was fried to perfection. The oysters remained moist and flavorful. The beef short rib was tender and flavorful. It was wonderful to see goat on the menu and in this case the crisping provided a wonderful textural contrast. The fleur de sel caramel accented the banana wonderfully in our tart. Our service was excellent--attentive without being overbearing. We would highly recommend Herbsaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Low key but first class food, service, and ambiance. An A-list restaurant in my book.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was great but the higher end California Cabernets that we ordered were out of stock after each first bottle. Some we had 3 or 4 one offs. There were also no large format opportunities. Service was very good but we had a party of 8 placed by the door at a round table that would have seated 6 more comfortably. It felt like we were in the middle of the traffic pattern. I mentioned to the individual that confirmed our reservation that we were in town for a special birthday and while the individual seemed to document the occasion it was never acknowledged at the restaurant. The experience felt more like a transaction than a celebration but I can assure you was spent celebration money. Overall ok but I was disappointed because I bragged about the Link association to Cochon in our hometown of Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Great area of town. Must go if you've never been.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoyed the drinks at the bar, however, we had an 8:30 reservation, and were not seated for at least an hour. Good if you're drinking a lot, but we had two younger people with us, and they were tired from traveling.
It was a 3 people birthday celebration.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Recently we had excellent bucatini appetizer and a redfish main course. Only the dessert was so-so. Excellent, attentive service, but the restaurant is rather loud. Overall a very positive impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Three of us made a reservation here on Lundi Gras because they had a balcony. We decided to get a variety of dishes and share them. We shared the duck gumbo, beef short rib and housemade spaghetti and they were all amazing and for an entree we shared the Duck Leg Confit and this Banana dessert that was to.die.for! Probably my favorite meal while we were in NOLA!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food. Fine dining in a semi-casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food was average at best. Dirty rice with Duck Confit was very poor. Duck Confit was not on par as has been in past . For one of the best restaurants in the city this was a very poor evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food is always interesting and consistently fresh. Nice wine list and full service bar. Small plates are great if you want to try several items.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

better than anything we tried in the French Qtr., including most of the big names in the Qtr. A memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely the best! We have dinner here every time we are in town because it is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very good food! Worth every penny! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Wonderful food - dirty rice was the best I ever had. Fried oysters were delicious and served with Coleslaw

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Came highly recommended and did not disappoint! Food and service were both outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great service excellent food pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Standout cocktails and really great execution of the plates. Loved the lamb lasagna and seasonal vegetable items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I just hate to write a negative review but our experience was unfortunate. The service we had made us feel like we were a second thought and almost in the way of the staff. We ordered the gumbo, fried oysters & redfish. The gumbo was burnt and was a poor reflection of what one expects when traveling and staying in New Orleans. The oysters were good but, not fresh, not plump. The slaw was pre-made, sour and most likely from a bag. The redfish was amazing. My hope is that this review doesn't hurt but will fill in the weak spots in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Simply delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Herbsaint is one of many wonderful places to eat in New Orleans. We keep going back because it's a more intimate setting than most and the food and service are excellent. They put their own touches on New Orleans cuisine. Always a special evening...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

If not the best restaurant in New Orleans, then one of the top three. Always deliciously reliable. Perfect service.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made reservations at Herbsaint for Valentine's Day based on reviews and living in New Orleans. The service was very good but the food was very disappointing. We ordered several small plates as that is how their menu is construed. If you enjoy spaghetti with a fried egg, gnocchi with bacon strips, or a tiny piece of a short rib with a gourmet hash brown at approximately $ 15.00 per plate, this is your place. Even the crab bisque was thin and tasted like fish stock. Expect to leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was great but they happened to be out of 2 of the 3 bourbons I ordered

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Crispy goat was perfect! Our entire dinner was great. The chef driven menu covered several styles of cooking. Everything was on point. Dave room for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.