About Herbsaint

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: 5045244114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Butter Poached Tuna
Shrimp With Callaloo
Gumbo
Grilled Chicken With Crawfish Risotto
Roasted Pork Belly With Red Curry Rice, Radish And Date Bbq
Vanilla Pot de Creme
Louisiana Shrimp Ceviche
Squash And Zuccini
Teres Major Steak
Buratta And Grilled Eggplant
Pomme Frites
Chicken And Andoille Gumbo
Rabbit Fricasee
Bread
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti, Salsa Verde And Horseradish Cream
Speckled Trout
Amuse Bouche
Lamb Loin
Louisiana Shrimp With Calasparra Rice, Artichoke And Maitake
Dirty Rice
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Hangar Steak
Malted Milk Chocolate Mousse
Grilled Tuna Sandwich
Roasted Pork Belly
Warm Chocolate Pudding Cake with Salted Caramel, Cashew Ice Cream and Cocoa Nib Caramel Corn
House Made Spaghetti
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried-Poached Farm Egg
Kurobuta Pork Belly with Cajun Grain Risotto, Grilled Pok Choi and Shrimp Broth
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Gnocchi With Fava Beans & Pancetta
Sauteed Louisiana Jumbo Shrimp with Corn Arancini and Bacon
Lamb Neck
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried Poached Farm Egg
Jumbo Shrimp Grits And Greens
Grilled Top Cut Ribeye with Sea Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and French Fries
Gnocchi With Lamb Ragu And Pancetta
Soft Shell Shrimps
Banana Brown Butter Tart with Fleur de Sel Caramel
Mackerel And Spanish Risotto
Haitian Daquiri
Muscovy Duck Leg Confit with Dirty Rice and Citrus Gastrique
Pasta
Vegan Hookup!
Burrata
Rillete & Mixed Greens
Spanish Mackerel Crudo
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Rustic Apple Tart With Caramel Ice Cream And Thyme Reduction
Daquiri
Wagu Beef Belly
Mexican Chili Chocolate Cake And Raw Sugar Ice Cream
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank
Pork Loin Salad
Flounder W/creamed Mustard Greens
Lamb Ravioli
Louisiana Lump Crab With English Peas And Green Garlic Aioli
Sazerac
Lamb Shoulder With Tomato Salad
Flatbread W/ Shrimp, Cucumber And Provolone
Spaghetti
Crabmeat
Soppressata
Corn And Cabbage Salad
Shortribs
Squash Salad
Spagetti
Chicken Gumbo
Short Rib With Pesto And Potato
Spaghetti w/guanciale & Fried-poached Egg
Lump Crabmeat With Pumpkin Sauce
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti And Salsa Verde
Lamb Neck With Wilted Spinch And Goat Cheese
Mushroom Polenta
gnudi with tempura fried oyster mushrooms in a brown butter sauce
Berkshire Pork Porterhouse
Pommes Frites
Homemade Spaghetti With Guanciale And Fried-Poached Egg
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Caramel Sauce And Cinnamon Ice Cream
Chicken And Pancetta Angolotti
Butter Poached Tuna With Criolla Sella Chili
Grilled Chicken Rilettes
Shrimp and Grits

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Contemporary American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Warehouse District ›

Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic Gumbo, try the homemade spaghe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic Gumbo, try the homemade spaghetti with panko coated egg.

Congenial and non intrusive service in the Warehouse District. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiters come around a little too often b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Waiters come around a little too often but otherwise great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Herbsaint is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Herbsaint is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. The food is consistently well prepared and they do fish better than just about any other restaurant in the city

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was terrific except one glitc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Everything was terrific except one glitch with the hostess. When arriving at the restaurant, the hostess did not greet us, but continued to examine her computer screen. This did not last long, but was long enough to register to me. Food was terrific, drinks were good and a very good recommendation from the waitress, seating and atmosphere was comfortable. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always absolutely amazing! Never disapp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always absolutely amazing! Never disappoints. Will definitely be back sooner than later.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food! We loved every single item ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food! We loved every single item we ordered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding lunch!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outstanding lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Initially good service however after foo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Initially good service however after food started being delivered waitress was scarce. Not what I expect from $30/ entree restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It was a simple set up and nice windows ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was a simple set up and nice windows with a view of the city. The food was amazing. The lamb and mushroom lasagna was so good! The crab gazpacho with watermelon was refreshing. And my friend and I had the flourless choc cake with Vietnamese coffee ice cream. The chocolate was dark and yummy but in all honesty the ice cream was the highlight. I would have just asked for the ice cream! Great experience !! Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gumbo over salted. Grilled teres major ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Gumbo over salted. Grilled teres major over salted. Fries over salted. Sorry but a kitchen at this level adding too much salt to dishes is inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great place for higher end food in New O ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great place for higher end food in New Orleans. Great special occasion or date night. Just keep in mind not the place for Cajun/creole food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great start to our NO trip. We love Herb ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great start to our NO trip. We love Herbsaint,and although there are many wonderful restaurants here, we always include Herbsaint. The food,ambiance and service are top notch. We've never had even a mediocre meal here. Put it on your list for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Herbsaint with our daughter a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were at Herbsaint with our daughter and her 16-month-old son, and the wait staff was incredibly welcoming and sweet to all four of us. The food was incredible from the watermelon gazpacho to the fresh drum and banana chocolate dessert. I love this restaurant!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was maybe one of the top three meal ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was maybe one of the top three meals I've had in my 51 years. From the fresh watermelon gazpacho mixed with the sublime olive oil and the jumbo crab.............one of the best soups ever! Then we had the spaghetti (basically a take on carbornara) with the divine panko dipped poached egg that was fried and placed on top....exquisite! To the duck confit...... excellent as well. I didn't care that much for the desert...banana butter tart??? Not memorable enough for me to rave about. I liked it so much that I brought back a party of 7 the next night. And I had the tuna small plate......most excellent. Service was also perfect!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not great for birthdays. But outstanding ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Not great for birthdays. But outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything is soo good. Can't go wrong w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything is soo good. Can't go wrong with anything

On the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was good!! Wine selec ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and service was good!!

Wine selection by the glass was not that impressive.. Table for 2 is kind of small.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal from start to finish. Had the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great meal from start to finish. Had the fish of the day, was great. Pork belly was probably best dish at the table. Everything was prepared fresh, not overly rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome food. Very helpful Bartenders. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome food. Very helpful Bartenders.

Not really business casual, its really casual clothes, I was wearing a blazer and there were folks in shorts and tee shirts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third visit. All around grea ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my third visit. All around great food and tastes. The ceviche is by far my favorite. Save room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great vibe. Our best ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food and great vibe. Our best meal in NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food, the wine and the service were ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food, the wine and the service were all excellent. My only issue is that the noise level is a little too energetic for my taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was as good as I remember, I'm ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was as good as I remember, I'm a local, and it's not as noisy as it used to be. Great mean and experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique flavors and menu choices Elegant ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique flavors and menu choices

Elegant cuisine and worth the wait

Tables are a tad close but did it interfere

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Average. Much better options in NOLA.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Average. Much better options in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This is a great restaurant! An absolute ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a great restaurant! An absolute must if in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a wonderful meal. This ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful meal. This restaurant has been on our list of places to try for some time. The entire experience was excellent. The roasted beet salad was outstanding, balancing the flavors of the beets, orange/grapefruit, yogurt and nuts. The butter poached tuna was cooked perfectly with a slight bit of heat from the chillies. My wife had the duck confit and I had the Baked Drum Provencal. Both dishes were delicious. Service was timely and friendly. The wine list is very diverse and includes several very affordable selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Drinks were well put together ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food. Drinks were well put together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The cuisine was top notch and exceeded o ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The cuisine was top notch and exceeded our expectations. We were seated right on time and service was attentive without being bothersome. Atmosphere was nice but loud. I would go again the next time I get down to NOLA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small plates great, snapper entree not g ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Small plates great, snapper entree not good, wine by the glass selection pathetic, seating to tight for a nearly empty restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

By far, on all counts, the best meal of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

By far, on all counts, the best meal of our food-centered trip to New Orleans...every dish, including their home-made ciabatta, from small plates to desserts, was perfectly prepared & toe-curling delicious. It was just the two of us, good thing we always share since we had trouble deciding from the menu's temptations. Had two small plates for starters-- Louisiana Shrimp & Brabant Potatoes & House-made Spaghetti with Guanciale & Fried-Poached Farm Egg (a culinary wonder!), followed by entrees of Moscovy Duck Leg Confit( succulent meat, irresistibly crispy skin), Dirty Rice, & Citrus Gastrique and Teres Major(a not-so-easy- to-find cut of buttery-tender, full-flavored beef),served as requested a bit less done than medium-rare, with fries. For desserts, the silky texture and deep flavor of the flourless chocolate cake set a new standard,& was beautifully balanced with Vietnamese Coffee Ice cream & Hazelnut Brittle, the Banana Brown Butter Tart served with a Fleur de Sel Carmel Sauce was as satisfying as it was unique. Our serving team was terrific, and had a great part in making this such a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always loved Herbsaint. Its ambianc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have always loved Herbsaint. Its ambiance and food never disappoints. The menu is always interesting with a wide variety of choices, small plate and large plates and I had a special salad that was very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner. Very tasty food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious dinner. Very tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Herbsaint is amazing. Great food, great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Herbsaint is amazing. Great food, great wine list, great service, cool vibe, consistent, beautifully plated, not stuffy. Make it one of your stops in New Orleans for a wonderful meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid. Not as striking as some of the ot ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Solid. Not as striking as some of the other places we hit while eating our hearts out in NOLA, but food was tasty, bartender friendly, and I would go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Donald Link's flagship restaurant is all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Donald Link's flagship restaurant is all that and more!

Great flavors and creative pairings. Excellent service and friendly staff.

Our favorite in New Orleans.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food was good, and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The quality of the food was good, and the ingredients tasted fresh. However, the entree selections seemed to lack a clear direction -- there was a bit of this and that. The restaurant appeared to be a local favorite as evident by the number of guests/patrons that seemed familiar with the staff and each other. I liked the restaurant, but I think there are better restaurants for out-of-towners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The décor has been freshened since my l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The décor has been freshened since my last visit . The spare rib small plate was fantastic. I still believe that they have some of the best gumbo in town. That night it was chicken and Andouille, a favorite for me. I think that the new bar area would be fun for a drink and a small plate if you are not in the mood for a full meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A must in New Orleans. The food is seco ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A must in New Orleans. The food is second to none with a very knowledgable staff there when you need them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.