About Herbsaint

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: 5045244114

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Butter Poached Tuna
Shrimp With Callaloo
Gumbo
Roasted Pork Belly With Red Curry Rice, Radish And Date Bbq
Chicken And Andoille Gumbo
Grilled Chicken With Crawfish Risotto
Vanilla Pot de Creme
Rabbit Fricasee
Bread
Squash And Zuccini
Pomme Frites
Teres Major Steak
Buratta And Grilled Eggplant
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Amuse Bouche
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti, Salsa Verde And Horseradish Cream
Louisiana Shrimp With Calasparra Rice, Artichoke And Maitake
Speckled Trout
Hangar Steak
Lamb Loin
Dirty Rice
Malted Milk Chocolate Mousse
Grilled Tuna Sandwich
Roasted Pork Belly
Warm Chocolate Pudding Cake with Salted Caramel, Cashew Ice Cream and Cocoa Nib Caramel Corn
House Made Spaghetti
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried-Poached Farm Egg
Kurobuta Pork Belly with Cajun Grain Risotto, Grilled Pok Choi and Shrimp Broth
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Gnocchi With Fava Beans & Pancetta
Sauteed Louisiana Jumbo Shrimp with Corn Arancini and Bacon
Lamb Neck
Housemade Spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried Poached Farm Egg
Jumbo Shrimp Grits And Greens
Grilled Top Cut Ribeye with Sea Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and French Fries
Gnocchi With Lamb Ragu And Pancetta
Soft Shell Shrimps
Banana Brown Butter Tart with Fleur de Sel Caramel
Mackerel And Spanish Risotto
Haitian Daquiri
Muscovy Duck Leg Confit with Dirty Rice and Citrus Gastrique
Pasta
Vegan Hookup!
Burrata
Rillete & Mixed Greens
Spanish Mackerel Crudo
Rustic Apple Tart With Caramel Ice Cream And Thyme Reduction
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Daquiri
Wagu Beef Belly
Mexican Chili Chocolate Cake And Raw Sugar Ice Cream
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank
Pork Loin Salad
Flounder W/creamed Mustard Greens
Sazerac
Louisiana Lump Crab With English Peas And Green Garlic Aioli
Lamb Ravioli
Lamb Shoulder With Tomato Salad
Flatbread W/ Shrimp, Cucumber And Provolone
Crabmeat
Spaghetti
Soppressata
Squash Salad
Shortribs
Corn And Cabbage Salad
Spagetti
Chicken Gumbo
Spaghetti w/guanciale & Fried-poached Egg
Short Rib With Pesto And Potato
Lump Crabmeat With Pumpkin Sauce
Lamb Neck With Wilted Spinch And Goat Cheese
Beef Short Rib With Potato Rosti And Salsa Verde
Mushroom Polenta
gnudi with tempura fried oyster mushrooms in a brown butter sauce
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Caramel Sauce And Cinnamon Ice Cream
Pommes Frites
Berkshire Pork Porterhouse
Homemade Spaghetti With Guanciale And Fried-Poached Egg
Butter Poached Tuna With Criolla Sella Chili
Chicken And Pancetta Angolotti
Grilled Chicken Rilettes
Shrimp and Grits

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Contemporary American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Warehouse District ›

fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (41)
neighborhood gem (37)
See All
great for lunch (27)
great for outdoor dining (23)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (21)
romantic (20)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The cuisine was top notch and exceeded o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

The cuisine was top notch and exceeded our expectations. We were seated right on time and service was attentive without being bothersome. Atmosphere was nice but loud. I would go again the next time I get down to NOLA.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small plates great, snapper entree not g ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Small plates great, snapper entree not good, wine by the glass selection pathetic, seating to tight for a nearly empty restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

By far, on all counts, the best meal of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

By far, on all counts, the best meal of our food-centered trip to New Orleans...every dish, including their home-made ciabatta, from small plates to desserts, was perfectly prepared & toe-curling delicious. It was just the two of us, good thing we always share since we had trouble deciding from the menu's temptations. Had two small plates for starters-- Louisiana Shrimp & Brabant Potatoes & House-made Spaghetti with Guanciale & Fried-Poached Farm Egg (a culinary wonder!), followed by entrees of Moscovy Duck Leg Confit( succulent meat, irresistibly crispy skin), Dirty Rice, & Citrus Gastrique and Teres Major(a not-so-easy- to-find cut of buttery-tender, full-flavored beef),served as requested a bit less done than medium-rare, with fries. For desserts, the silky texture and deep flavor of the flourless chocolate cake set a new standard,& was beautifully balanced with Vietnamese Coffee Ice cream & Hazelnut Brittle, the Banana Brown Butter Tart served with a Fleur de Sel Carmel Sauce was as satisfying as it was unique. Our serving team was terrific, and had a great part in making this such a memorable meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always loved Herbsaint. Its ambianc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have always loved Herbsaint. Its ambiance and food never disappoints. The menu is always interesting with a wide variety of choices, small plate and large plates and I had a special salad that was very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner. Very tasty food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious dinner. Very tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Herbsaint is amazing. Great food, great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Herbsaint is amazing. Great food, great wine list, great service, cool vibe, consistent, beautifully plated, not stuffy. Make it one of your stops in New Orleans for a wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid. Not as striking as some of the ot ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Solid. Not as striking as some of the other places we hit while eating our hearts out in NOLA, but food was tasty, bartender friendly, and I would go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The quality of the food was good, and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The quality of the food was good, and the ingredients tasted fresh. However, the entree selections seemed to lack a clear direction -- there was a bit of this and that. The restaurant appeared to be a local favorite as evident by the number of guests/patrons that seemed familiar with the staff and each other. I liked the restaurant, but I think there are better restaurants for out-of-towners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The décor has been freshened since my l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The décor has been freshened since my last visit . The spare rib small plate was fantastic. I still believe that they have some of the best gumbo in town. That night it was chicken and Andouille, a favorite for me. I think that the new bar area would be fun for a drink and a small plate if you are not in the mood for a full meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A must in New Orleans. The food is seco ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A must in New Orleans. The food is second to none with a very knowledgable staff there when you need them.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Engaged service. Great food. Great time. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Engaged service. Great food. Great time. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a lovely dining experience. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was a lovely dining experience. The music choice seemed a bit odd. Other than that. All good. Don't expect any special treatment though even if it is your 25th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought it was good. Though It's beco ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I thought it was good. Though It's becoming more and more difficult for these high end gourmet restaurants to distinguish themselves. They all seem to be doing the same things: small plates, unusual parings of ingredients and food, etc., etc.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was our 48th anniversary and every th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was our 48th anniversary and every thing was superb from start to finish!

They even comp'd our desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Celebrated my Birt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was amazing. Celebrated my Birthday and they were great. Lasagna (Mushroom & Lamb) and apps were great! They had an awesome Reisling flight too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my last day in New Orleans and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This was my last day in New Orleans and I enjoyed my farewell dinner. The menu is eclectic and the chef and wait staff are willing to accommodate. I recommend the grilled flatbread with pancetta.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had multiple wait staff (4-5) differe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had multiple wait staff (4-5) different people. None were friendly or appeared to be enjoying their jobs. The hostess was friendly, the only person. It seemed as if we were a nuisance to all the wait staff. Very haughty, full of attitude. The food was very good, wait staff not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Amazing dinner and amazing service!!! Wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Amazing dinner and amazing service!!! Will definitely be going back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

This is the second time I've eaten at he ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the second time I've eaten at herbsaint, and it remains one of the best restaurants I have eaten at in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The razor clams and Kentucky Cat-5 were ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The razor clams and Kentucky Cat-5 were excellent. The coconut pie was a bit too sweet. Overall a very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

From the start of the amazing bread thro ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

From the start of the amazing bread through the delicious dessert, Herbsaint was top notch through and through!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything we had was fantastic, great service too! No complaints

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing, Painful, and Underwhelming

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to other of the Link restaurants and had high expectations for Herbsaint but unfortunately, those expectations were not even close to being met. The meal started off very promising when we were seated; however, it was downhill from there (sorry). Our server seemed noticeably irritated when we asked for a recommendation from the menu and then for a suggested drink pairing.

The roux for the gumbo was burnt and left a bitter aftertaste. My wife had the shrimp and fish ceviche but was over spiced and left a red rash on her lips and corners of her mouth. When we brought it to the attention of the server, her only comment was, "It has pepitas in it."

I am not sure what disappoints me more, the food and service or that I paid $200 for such a poor and painful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not just another Thursday evening meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Guests from out of town where depending on my wife and I as locals to help deliver a memorable dining experience. We booked Herbsaint and the wait staff and kitchen there did the rest...and boy did they serve up an incredible tasting experience!! From the tuna appetizer to the duck confit entire and evening special featuring local red snapper, the food and wine pairings were awesome. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the strawberry pot de creme which completed the festivities. The service was flawless. We have eaten here many times and always enjoyed our meals. But, this time lingering pleasant memories were created leaving us to plan our next meal here very, very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This was not my first trip to Herbsaint nor will it be my last. The restaurant offers such good value. Excellent, delicious food at a price more reasonable than some fine-dining peers. The service was also very good, both attentive and casual without being stuffy. Oh, and if they still have it when you go there, get the lamb lasagna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative, comfortable and excitingly delicious

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our third visit to Herbsaint and all our experiences were outstanding. This time we were there for lunch. It was not crowded and so there was relative peace and quiet to better enjoy the creative offerings. I had an offering of catsfish that was at the same time familiar and comforting and novel and exciting. I think this is the combination of factors that makes Herbsaint outstanding. Service was attentive without being intrusive - this is seldom experienced elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Herbsaint

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great spot in downtown New Orleans! We got the ceviche, curried chicken, and goat. All of it was amazing! Great view of the streetcar line.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't Miss the Brown Butter Banana Tart

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Vibrant but not obnoxious. This neighborhood gem has indoor and outdoor seating and I chose the former due to it being a tad on warm and humid side. I appreciated the casual atmosphere that rocks some of NOLA's best eats. The service was fine, not stellar, but did not distract from the overall experience. The small plate special, cobia (a meaty fish seared like tuna) was outstanding. The baked drum (a whitefish) was quite good and another new fish for me. The special side, summer squash, had a nice kick and would be good to share, as all this was too much for one, especially since I saved room for dessert. My meal was paired with a solidly decent glass of Arcadian chardonnay. But the crown jewel was the brown butter banana tart with fleur de sel caramel. Hands down....this is now on the short list of the best things Ive ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The ceviche was divine! The gumbo is far ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The ceviche was divine! The gumbo is far lighter than other sampling a while in NOLA, but it didn't drown out the rest of the meal.

The Drum Fish was light, clean, with no after taste with a complimenting sauce that doesn't over power. Refreshing in NOLA where most meals are very heavy.

The restaurant and staff are wonderful. Good service, helpful, know the menu, but don't hover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the butter poached tuna and the fi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I had the butter poached tuna and the fish of the day, as well as an awesome cheese plate for dessert. Everything was great, including service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and loved it!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We sat outside and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely worth all of the buzz and acc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Definitely worth all of the buzz and accolades. Had squash blossoms for the first time, and they were delicious. The place had a hip New York or San Francisco vibe to it, but I knew I was in New Orleans when I tasted that amazing chicken and andouille gumbo. The staff was really hip and on top of their game also. Herbsaint is definitely one of my new favorites, and I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Energetic space.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food. Energetic space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Big reputation, freezing room

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was good but dinner felt rushed. It was so cold with air conditioning I needed to borrow an extra shawl. ( I had bought one already.). I had asked they turn it don,much they did but guess they turned it up later. Appetizers v good. Hubbie had Butter poached tuna and I had gulf shrimp w a very crispy potatoe cube in an aioli sauce. Both excellent. I had a small bowl of gumbo for my main as we'd been eating a lot. Hubbie had the steak frites so not a really exciting order. The dessert was great. Apple pie profiteroles with brown sugar ice cream and calvados caramel sauce. Generous portion.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Two of the three dishes I had at Herbsaint were outstanding.

Mr. Link is from a small town in the same parish of Louisiana in which I am from.

His gumbo was very similar to the one my grandparents made...smoky,dark and

just plain old delicious!

However, the banana/caramel desserts was one of the three most outstanding I've

ever had...and I've been fortunate to eat at some of the most famous restatsurants in

Europe and in the U.S. It was amazing!

I highly recommend this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in New Orleans!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Best Restaurant in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

despite some recent reviews of poor service, we had a decent service experience. We had about a 10 minute wait for our reservation which was okay. We sat in the back room near the wine storage and its a bit quieter than the front room, but still noisy. We could hear ourselves and have a conversation. I would not want to sit in the bar area, people would be on top of you. The food was all delicious and we brought a bottle of wine and bought a bottle from their list so the corkage fee was waved. Had the gnocchi and duck confit, recommend both

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Food, So-So Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Nearly everything we ordered was a standout. The grilled shrimp starter, drum main, and tuna sandwich were truly fabulous. The coconut custard pie and flourless chocolate cake were absolutely incredible. Really- this food speaks for itself. The curried chicken main was a complete miss, served on the bone- it was all skin and fat, nearly no actual chicken, and the chili couscous did nothing to help it. That said- everything else was amazing.

Service, however, was a real miss. We arrived to a hostess who never smiled, a waitress who seemed aloof and unfortunately stood very near our table talking to another server the whole time about how she was so ready to go home and didn't want to be there. The lovely guy who brought our desserts, however, was awesome, and as we looked around, the only person on staff who ever cracked a smile. The food sells itself, and I would absolutely return and recommend it to a friend- but the staff needs a definite shakeup. Definitely not up to New Orleans' standard of friendliness.

Tags: fit for foodies, lunch, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Herbsaint is consistently wonderful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Herbsaint is the most consistently great restaurants in New Orleans. The location is nice on the St Charles street car line and has nice front porch seating. When the weather is pleasant, you can't beat it. The gumbo is the best in town-rich and delicious. We also enjoyed the beef short rib, Louisiana shrimp and baked drum. Will definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another gem of the Link restaurant project

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great drinks, delicious food, and an excellent wine list make Herbsaint a must when in New Orleans

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.