About Herbsaint

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: 5045244114

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Contemporary American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Warehouse District ›

fit for foodies (82)
special occasion (51)
neighborhood gem (44)
See All
great for outdoor dining (32)
great for lunch (30)
notable wine list (28)
romantic (28)
hot spot (21)
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Herbsaint

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great spot in downtown New Orleans! We got the ceviche, curried chicken, and goat. All of it was amazing! Great view of the streetcar line.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Don't Miss the Brown Butter Banana Tart

Dined on May 18, 2016

Vibrant but not obnoxious. This neighborhood gem has indoor and outdoor seating and I chose the former due to it being a tad on warm and humid side. I appreciated the casual atmosphere that rocks some of NOLA's best eats. The service was fine, not stellar, but did not distract from the overall experience. The small plate special, cobia (a meaty fish seared like tuna) was outstanding. The baked drum (a whitefish) was quite good and another new fish for me. The special side, summer squash, had a nice kick and would be good to share, as all this was too much for one, especially since I saved room for dessert. My meal was paired with a solidly decent glass of Arcadian chardonnay. But the crown jewel was the brown butter banana tart with fleur de sel caramel. Hands down....this is now on the short list of the best things Ive ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The ceviche was divine! The gumbo is far ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The ceviche was divine! The gumbo is far lighter than other sampling a while in NOLA, but it didn't drown out the rest of the meal. The Drum Fish was light, clean, with no after taste with a complimenting sauce that doesn't over power. Refreshing in NOLA where most meals are very heavy. The restaurant and staff are wonderful. Good service, helpful, know the menu, but don't hover.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the butter poached tuna and the fi ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

I had the butter poached tuna and the fish of the day, as well as an awesome cheese plate for dessert. Everything was great, including service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside and loved it!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We sat outside and loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely worth all of the buzz and acc ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Definitely worth all of the buzz and accolades. Had squash blossoms for the first time, and they were delicious. The place had a hip New York or San Francisco vibe to it, but I knew I was in New Orleans when I tasted that amazing chicken and andouille gumbo. The staff was really hip and on top of their game also. Herbsaint is definitely one of my new favorites, and I can't wait to return.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food. Energetic space.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food. Energetic space.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Big reputation, freezing room

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was good but dinner felt rushed. It was so cold with air conditioning I needed to borrow an extra shawl. ( I had bought one already.). I had asked they turn it don,much they did but guess they turned it up later. Appetizers v good. Hubbie had Butter poached tuna and I had gulf shrimp w a very crispy potatoe cube in an aioli sauce. Both excellent. I had a small bowl of gumbo for my main as we'd been eating a lot. Hubbie had the steak frites so not a really exciting order. The dessert was great. Apple pie profiteroles with brown sugar ice cream and calvados caramel sauce. Generous portion.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Two of the three dishes I had at Herbsaint were outstanding. Mr. Link is from a small town in the same parish of Louisiana in which I am from. His gumbo was very similar to the one my grandparents made...smoky,dark and just plain old delicious! However, the banana/caramel desserts was one of the three most outstanding I've ever had...and I've been fortunate to eat at some of the most famous restatsurants in Europe and in the U.S. It was amazing! I highly recommend this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in New Orleans!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Best Restaurant in New Orleans!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Will be back

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

despite some recent reviews of poor service, we had a decent service experience. We had about a 10 minute wait for our reservation which was okay. We sat in the back room near the wine storage and its a bit quieter than the front room, but still noisy. We could hear ourselves and have a conversation. I would not want to sit in the bar area, people would be on top of you. The food was all delicious and we brought a bottle of wine and bought a bottle from their list so the corkage fee was waved. Had the gnocchi and duck confit, recommend both

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Amazing Food, So-So Service

Dined on April 27, 2016

Nearly everything we ordered was a standout. The grilled shrimp starter, drum main, and tuna sandwich were truly fabulous. The coconut custard pie and flourless chocolate cake were absolutely incredible. Really- this food speaks for itself. The curried chicken main was a complete miss, served on the bone- it was all skin and fat, nearly no actual chicken, and the chili couscous did nothing to help it. That said- everything else was amazing. Service, however, was a real miss. We arrived to a hostess who never smiled, a waitress who seemed aloof and unfortunately stood very near our table talking to another server the whole time about how she was so ready to go home and didn't want to be there. The lovely guy who brought our desserts, however, was awesome, and as we looked around, the only person on staff who ever cracked a smile. The food sells itself, and I would absolutely return and recommend it to a friend- but the staff needs a definite shakeup. Definitely not up to New Orleans' standard of friendliness.

Tags: fit for foodies, lunch, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Herbsaint is consistently wonderful

Dined on April 26, 2016

Herbsaint is the most consistently great restaurants in New Orleans. The location is nice on the St Charles street car line and has nice front porch seating. When the weather is pleasant, you can't beat it. The gumbo is the best in town-rich and delicious. We also enjoyed the beef short rib, Louisiana shrimp and baked drum. Will definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another gem of the Link restaurant project

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Great drinks, delicious food, and an excellent wine list make Herbsaint a must when in New Orleans

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible wine list and great small plates

Dined on April 19, 2016

Superb wine list and good variety of small plates. Limited variety of entrees. Great service and very attentive servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2Foodies

Dined on April 15, 2016

Beet salad, short ribs small plate, grilled trout, and terres major were all fantastic! Good wine list and cocktails. Service was great. Happy to know they will seat a party of 10 because we'll be back with out gourmet group. We sat in back room and quiet enough to have a conversation. Front bar section was quite noisy but people having fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding, the service at ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was outstanding, the service attentive but not hovering, the room was well appointed. We were a party of four with some dietary restrictions. They handled all very well, with a range of wine and dish pairings that ran the gamit.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food way exceeded our expectations. I never had a more delicious grilled tuna sandwich. My husband had crispy goat with lentils and some sort of cucumber salad - very mediterranean - was exceptional. We'll be back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

The gumbo is superlative

Dined on April 12, 2016

The gumbo is superlative

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overpriced, small, only OK food

Dined on April 12, 2016

I went with friends for my birthday and our meals were all very very small and around $30 per entree. I could have gotten more and better food somewhere else, like Bacchanal. To top it off, my friend baked me my favorite cake. They wanted to charge us each $7 plating fee just to eat the cake in the restaurant!! They were also very rude to us and less attentive after that. They stopped refilling our water, etc. I had high hopes for Herbsaint that were not met. Ambiance is also only OK.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! In and out for lunc ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was great! In and out for lunch for 1hour:) We are locals and love the dark roux gumbo with seared okra. The flatbread was delicious! The waiter had good suggestions and comfortable atmosphere to relax. This has been a fav spot for years now.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our lunch

Dined on April 11, 2016

My husband and I had lunch at the bar and it was fabulous. Don't miss the pasta with egg on top. My husband loved his chicken sandwich too. Said it was the best he has eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice enough.

Dined on April 9, 2016

I think my expectations were too high. The food was good, but not exceptional. The space was nice, but the smoke that exuded from the kitchen was disconcerting, the server was professional and knowledgeable but not friendly. A good experience, but not as over-the-top as I had been led to expect.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and amazing service!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, service, and location. Love ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food, service, and location. Love the spicy sauce that accompanied the fried oysters!

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was very salty which diminished the ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was very salty which diminished the flavors. Disappointing

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and service!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Incredible food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside, service was cordial and fla ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Sat outside, service was cordial and flawless. Great European feel to the patio. Ordered 6 small plates, The Spaghetti and the Ceviche were the highlights to mw, but everything was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and original dishes

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Delicious and original dishes

food5
ambience4
service3

Reservation took extra 30 minutes. Nothi ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Reservation took extra 30 minutes. Nothing was offered, apology included

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Herbsaint

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

It was a good meal. Nothing special though . Atmosphere was good

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ho Hum at Lunch

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Dropped in for late lunch recently. The lunch service was winding down. Service was mediocre with the server seemingly pre-occupied. The meal was ok -fried goat-but didn't have the usual Herbsaint specialness to it. I am sticking to the proven mainstays next time I do lunch here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food and service were great. Had the roasted beets, beef short ribs and Louisiana shrimp with rosti to start. All 3 were amazing! The rosti was perfect! For mains we had the pork belly and duck. Everything was cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal .. Food was good Service was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Got there too early for dinner, but ord ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Got there too early for dinner, but order ed from Bistro menu. Got an expensive cocktail Kentucky cat that was ok. The gumbo was fantastic and the shrimp were very good, but tasted like spicy sausage. The winner of the day was the brown tart dessert. Hands on best!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Everything we had was excellent and the service and ambiance were equally terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great small plates!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great small plates!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't wait to return.

Dined on March 8, 2016

One of those restaurants think about between visits. I went with clients, service was impeccable food was superb. A foodies dream....

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lot of Bests

Dined on March 7, 2016

It is unusual to find a restaurant that delivers the best that one has experienced in a number of categories. The duck and lamb gumbo, the catfish, and the truly unbelievable custard pie are among those that take their place in my top lists. The food is really out of this world, the servers do well in explaining the options and in discussing the choices. This is truly a find for a visitor to New Orleans, but clearly a very well appreciated place for locals who were quite present.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Been going here since it o ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Always great. Been going here since it opened and it is always great. Menu keeps changing and is never dull.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.