Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Herbsaint

Chef Donald Link's Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant on historic Saint Charles Avenue features an acclaimed menu with French and Italian-inspired, yet distinctive Southern dishes and a dynamic wine list in a modern bistro setting. Private dining with customized menu is available for up to 50 guests.

701 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM Bistro: Monday - Friday: 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Girod Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 524-4114

Website:
http://www.herbsaint.com/

Parking Details:
2 public lots close to restaurant

Public Transit:
streetcar stop at St. Charles & Girod

Executive Chef:
Donald Link

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining seats up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Colin O'Neill or Sean Perkins: (504) 524-4114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Herbsaint Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (115)
Creative Cuisine (98)
Special Occasion (81)
See All
Good for a Date (77)
Local Ingredients (68)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Hot Spot (53)
Authentic (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Romantic (30)
Great for Lunch (24)
People Watching (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Casual (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Fun (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Seasonal (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Tapas (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent meal, ever better service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable on the menu and his recommendations were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

I loved Herbsaint! I ordered the home made pasta with guanciale, and a watermelon gazpacho that was incredibly tasty. The ice cream of the day was brown sugar. Very creative menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I highly recommend Herbsaint. I have eaten at two other of Link's restaurant and I think this is the best one (loved the other two also but this one was above the grade). Menu items were wonderful and the staff so friendly and helpful. Can not speak highly enough of this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had the most delicious meal ever. Best wine and food in New Orleans. They forgot to acknowledge the birthday we had repeatedly said we were celebrating. Otherwise it was a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We liked Herbsaint but the menu can be challenging. I was hoping for some better seafood options (we had dined at Peche the night before and loved the seafood). The fish of the day was not highly recommended by the waiter so I got the shrimp small plate which I did not like at all. I do not like cucumbers with fish.
The rest of the diners in our party were happy but some felt as if they had to struggle to find something on the menu that wasn't so eclectic.
Desserts were wonderful Great wine selection, great ambiance and professional wait staff.
I just wish I could get a grilled piece of fish or shrimp!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This is the only restaurant where I always get the gumbo since it is so good, dark and smoky. The grilled cobia was perfection. Salads are always tremendous. A great restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great staff! Most of the food was excellent, okra appetizer was mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The Noise Level was extreme. The guy at the next table was the loudest man I have ever encountered. We asked our Waitress to move us, and she did it. That was terrific of her. After the move, we regained our Sanity. / Jim Baldwin

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food, always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went with my wife while in town on vacation on the recommendation of a foodie friend. Service was great, drinks were great - had a couple specialty cocktails
Appetizers were great- had the Sicilian Beef with Anchovies and a seared Calamari on Black Rice (calamari dish was awesome)
Main courses were just good, not great. I had the Crispy Goat and my wife had the Cobia special. The goat was the better of the two, but both underwhelmed us a little bit. I still recommend the restaurant, overall meal was really good, but I'll leave some time before returning to Herbsaint if it's up to me - too many fantastic options in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We dined at Herbsaint to celebrate a special birthday with family. Our food and service were wonderful. This is definitely one of the best meals (and experiences) that we had in New Orleans. I loved the innovative, seasonal menu (don't be afraid of the Crispy Goat!) The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, willing to answer questions and make recommendations. Make sure you save room for the wonderful desserts. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was fair but not exceptional. The service, however, was the worst I've experienced in New Orleans. The waitress seemed genuinely inconvenienced by our presence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The salmon and the steaks were so raw we could barely enjoy, let alone eat the entire meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I always try to have at least one meal at Herbsaint when I'm in New Orleans! Service and food are always exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Outstanding. Will plan to return next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went here for our anniversary dinner. The service was exceptional and the food was amazing. Great appetizers paired with an awesome wine list. The steak was cooked to perfection. Possibly the best steak I have ever had in my life.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food, but a terrible table - be sure to sit in the main dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Hello Fellow Foodies and Wine Connoisseurs ! We all have our Favorite New Orleans spot but I must give a shout out to Herbsaint. This James Beard award winning restaurant with Chef de cuisine Rebecca Wilcomb won our heart this weekend. The food is special. Fisherman and farm to table French-Southern with an impressive wine list. Loud inside so sit outside! Must try: Housemade spaghetti with Guanciale and Fried-Poached Farm egg

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always a great dining experience. Food and service are impeccable and the atmosphere is suitable for all occasions. Great dining experience in New Orleans!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food, table was small and cramp and the service was poor. Either the waiter had too many tables or the kitchen was slow. We will return but will want to sit in the front room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always on my list to stop when I'm in Nola. Food is always on point!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Amazing all around. Great spot. Somewhat hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 17, 2017

OMG. Such great composition of every dish (that we ordered, at least). A must revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Definitely ask not to be seated near door as constant opening and closing of the door for outdoor seating service makes the area extremely warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Quite delicious! Excellent fried oysters. Every dish we had was prepared perfectly with lovely sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great restaurant, very attentive and friendly staff. Excellent tasting and fresh food combinations. Nice wine list.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great drinks, kind service, and good food! We had a great dinner with the exception of being placed at a table underneath a dripping vent. We requested to be moved and were moved to the front of the house to a small table that was uneven, crowded, and very very loud. While we enjoyed our food and drink we could have been seated at a better table with a reservation made in advance.

The Asiago cheese small plate, lamb mushroom lasagne, and fried peach pie were the standout dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Herbsaint never disappoints. The food was excellent and the service great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Awesome experience Our server was very good I believe Renee was his name. Great food and wine and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The waiters were all very knowledgeable about the menu and the food did not disappoint! Perfect portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Herbsaint never fails to deliver - always the very best!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Innovative, Gumbo and short ribs were very good, the side of Fideo took it over the top.
The goat was a little too dry, The Gnocchi almost all potato. French fries on the other hand were sinful, couldn't stay away from them. The ending with the peach pie was absolute satisfaction

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Very innovative but not off the scale. Very flavorful combinations, great service and vibe.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was creative and fresh and delicious. The "team waiter" concept is an old idea that most restaurants have abandoned due to customer dissatisfaction. We had, no exaggeration, 5 different servers that night. It was intrusive and annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was poor. Usually a great dinner but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Herbsaint is our new favorite restaurant. We loved it so much that we went back the next day, and have been raving about it to all our friends.
The food is a revelation, and the service is exceptional.
Everything we've had on the menu has been spectacular, and we intend to go back this week to try something new.
I can't recommend this place enough. It is truly one of the very best restaurants in New Orleans.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and service were unbelievably great! The duck confit was the best I ever had. I was never a big fan of rice, but the rice that came with this dish was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We loved everything about Herbsaint. The decor and service are fabulous and the food was truly wonderful. We shared numerous small plates. The pasta was just incredible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Tapas, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is our third visit in a four year span. The food and service have been consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.