Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Henry's 12th Street Tavern

4.1
1296 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Great for Lunch
Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday 11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday 11am - 1pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 227-5320
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Carlton
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Event Coordinator: (877) 929-1021
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
97209
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1296 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This rating is because Henry’s said we were a no show on Open Table. We showed up! Were offered a choice between main restaurant and Bar and we chose the bar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and kids have been going to Henry's for Mother's Day for years. The kids enjoy it so we continue to go. However, the service, food and overall experience have declined drastically over the past few years. We have gone a few times in the past year and it is not just a one off. I really hope they find a way to turn it back around, it used to be a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As always, we enjoyed every minute at Henry's. And we'll never stop coming! We do Birthdays, Christmas, and any special occasion as well as just because! Love it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch. Food was just fair. We were there at 11:30 and it seemfor the food was cold and been sitting for quite a while. Omlet was excellent. This is the third year we’ve gone Mother’s Day there. Definitely the worst year we’ve gone as far as the food was concerned though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day off of the regular food was below expectations and rushed. Greasy and pre heated or not hot enough. Staff polite but not well groomed, one heavily had a sweat odor. Overall for what we paid it felt like smash and grab for the $ versus opportunity to impress for future business.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food looked great, but for the price it should've tasted better. Maybe because is was prom week they were busy? Waffle fries were lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a great meal before going to see "And So We Walked" at Portland Center Stage. We will come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Service and server excellent! Very busy when we were there. Food very good and arrived in a reasonable amount of time. It's impossible to leave Henrys hungry! Very generous portions! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Not the best food or service we’ve had in the past. We had drinks take 30min plus to come out. Our waitress seemed annoyed with all things the whole time. There was hair in our food, and they over charged us and argued about it. We’ve been here several times before, but this was definitely the worst.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had a great meal at Henry's Tavern before going to a show. The service was quick and the food was great. Our server checked in on us just the right amount. We both had the salmon Caesar and it was excellent. The drinks were good too. I'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Busy but great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Took a business party of 8 for dinner. Food was excellent. Prices were good for a quality restaurant in the Pearl! Server was very nice but a little confused.
Excellent experience overall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We were given a comfy booth in front of the kitchen, so we could see where the wait staff picked up the orders for all other tables in the restaurant. There was glass between us and the kitchen so it was fun to see the food coming out, though it was very busy and a bit distracting to have so many people next to us.

On the other side of our table was a huge (20 or so?) group of high school students who were there for a meal before their prom. The same type of group was also just above us on the 2nd level. Understandably, the noise level was high and they kept getting up so it was also very busy on the other side of our table.

However, our waiter was good natured about all the activity and kept up with our table so provided good service. I had the sirloin steak with asparagus and mashed potatoes. It was very tasty and tender.

This is one of our favorite west Portland restaurants, and though the menu is not huge, they have great beer selections. This is also a good place for a quick bite in the bar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food and service was tepid

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great server. Seated very quickly with a reservation. Huge menu with lots of options. Yummy food. Bartender, however, totally messed up making an old fashioned.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great restaurant for a loud evening with Friends and family. The food was good. The beer better. The service was good. We will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Went here for a Birthday Dinner with a friend!
Only hiccup we had was we didn’t receive our silverware before our meal came. We had to ask for it after the fact.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The ribeye steak was undercooked and it was very tough and chewy. Even if it was cooked properly would still have not been good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We ate here once before and were seated near the bar and could not carry on a conversation with our friends due to TV's blaring, people screaming, etc. Swore we would never go back, but alas we did go back and got seated on the other side in a nice quiet area away from the bar and TV's. Totally different experience.
Just need to request quiet seating if one of your goals is visiting with friends. Food was very good and service was very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Brunch on Easter. Food very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Henry's is good place for friends get together. If you have friends from out of town and need a meeting place for catching up and just visiting this is the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Had a great time at Henry's. Good menu selection and really tasty. Fun scene. Excellent pricing for yummy food, especially downtown. Friendly service. I'll definitely back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

A quiet night in the bar but food was good quality pub fare and beer selection excellent. Service very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Brunched here after Shamrock Run. Love me some Henrys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great evening on St. Patrick’s Day! Good service by Alberto. Fish and chips is a great meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We met with high end clients and I had to get the servers attention. However, this could have been because she thought we were waiting on a couple more individuals. I love this place and enjoy the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Nice first time at Henry’s downtown. We will put it on our list of good places to go in Portland.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great Food Great Service; quick and efficient. Came in for a business meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 5, 2018

It was good, but ordinary. The food was okay, the ambiance was amenable, but nothing really stood out. My wife's reaction was a kind "meh".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great atmosphere awesome sercice. The food was amazing. It was my first time in and I will be coming back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The evening started fine, our server was good. It took almost 45 minutes to our food, took almost 20 minutes for 2 drinks to be delivered. we had to ask for it, then it took additional time. The place wasn't overly crowded. My burger was so salty it was pretty much unpalatable. The onion rings were good, and so was my salad. We got the wrong receipt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

great all around, love Henry's they always have great food, drinks. Was real busy, so waiter was not as attentive as i would have liked but when there was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We met friends for lunch that we hadn't seen for a while. The restaurant was moderately busy, but the noise levels were such that conversation was easy. The wait staff was attentive and the service was prompt. All four of us were happy with our meal selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Busy/fun place on a Saturday evening, and the bar area was poppin'. Sit-down dinner was good: Parmesan-Crusted Chicken (special) and half-rack of BBQ Ribs (port). The Parm-Crusted Chicken special was delicious, and portions were pretty large. The Ribs were tender, and cooked perfectly to the point where they came off the bone very easily. They were also VERY rich (fat cap not trimmed), with a very sweet heat kind of BBQ sauce, with a solid smoke flavor, but no smoke ring, so these are restaurant-style (not smoked all day like a smokehouse BBQ place might). The Hericot Vert were surprisingly tasty, served in some bright, powerful glaze that I can't quite pin down - but delicious and cooked perfectly. The Mac-n-Cheese side was the disappointment: Grainy Bechamel sauce base without much in the way of gooey cheese. Service was very good, and the beer selections are (of course) excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food as usual was fantastic as was our server in the dining room. The server in the bar may have had too many tables to deal with as she was very hard to get back to our table to order additional drinks, etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We celebrated my boyfriend’s bday here and we reserved a table for 20 people. We weren’t really sure who would show up, but they were super accommodating. The food was great as well as the service. We ordered a few different appetizers and a couple entrees. Great all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

SO FUN! Great drinks. Came for a friends birthday from out of town. Had a great night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Overall a great atmosphere. Came here for the first time to celebrate a friend’s birthday. Really enjoyed the food and the variety on the menu. Tons of great beer to choose from and well priced. Wish our server didn’t rush us towards the end, we were patiently conversing and waiting to order another drink, and instead the server brought us the bill that we were not ready for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

A great last-minute find! We really enjoyed dinner there and they have an excellent selection of beers on tap.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The rib eye steak was melt in your mouth good !!! The service was great - overall a great experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33