About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 10am - 12am

Sunday Brunch featuring All You Can Eat Buffet 10 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Restaurant Photos

Gorgonzola French Fries
Mac and Cheese
Three Little Pigs
Gorgonzola Fries
Philly Cheesesteak
Mushroom And Egg Pizza
Henrys crispy orange glazed chicken
California Roll
Asahi Salad
Buffalo chicken wings
Hank's Stuffed
Onion Rings
Calamari
Kosher Filet Mignon
Buffalo Chicken Sandwich
Tortilla Chips with Spinach Artichoke Dip
Local Greens
Beer Flight
Big Sky Brewing Moose Drool
Fish and Chips
Henry's Meatloaf
Danish Blue Cheese & Gorgonzola Waffle Fries
Cheddar Beer Soup
Blue Moon
Fennel Sausage, Apple And Blue Cheese Pizza
Grilled Chicken Club With Onion Rings
Sharp Chedder Cheeseburger
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger
Macaroni and Cheese With Prosciutto
Orange Chicken With Jasmine Rice
Oyster Shots
Mussels
Happy Hour
Pepperoni Pizza
Bloody Mary Bar
Mac And Cheese & Southwest Chop Salad
Tempura Prawns
SIGNATURE GORGONZOLA FRIES
PEAR, WALNUT, MANCHEGO SALAD
Spicy Thai Roasted Chicken Flat Bread
Humus Platter
Crab Cakes
Crispy Kosher Salt & Black Pepper Calamari
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger And Gorganzola Fries
Beer Sampler
Southwest Chicken Salad
Blue Cheese Apple Pizza
Tomato Basil Soup
Hot Dog Sliders
Henry Weinhard's Private Reserve
Arnold Palmer
Table Of Food
Grilled Romaine Ceasar Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Young's Double Chocolate Stout & Raspberry Hard Cider
Macaroni
Southwest Chopped Salad
Seafood Cakes
Beers

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (49)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for lunch (24)
See All
special occasion (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (20)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (9)
romantic (9)
great for brunch (8)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a party of 16 people and they man ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a party of 16 people and they managed us very well. Was great to have my birthday party there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a group of 12, 5 of which we kids ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a group of 12, 5 of which we kids, and one adult in a wheelchair. The hostess and waitress were very accommodating regarding the children and the wheelchair. The waitress was attentive and very nice. She even set up candles on the cake we had brought, lit them, and brought it out to the table. I go to Henry's whenever I'm in town because of the food and on Sundays for the awesome bloody mary bar and $5 mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Henry Weinhard Beer in the 70's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We loved Henry Weinhard Beer in the 70's. OK, we are old. We did not expect much of a corporate restaurant chain. We were surprised. 120 drafts on tap, indoor and outdoor eating, great service and very good food. All but the sauteed ceaser salad were extremely good. THis is not gourmet fare, but a good dinner, fairly priced and a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed dinner with out of town guests. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with out of town guests. Happy atmosphere and busy Friday. Food was delicious but a little slow getting to the table. Not a complaint but the result of a busy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We reserved a table for a bachelorette p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We reserved a table for a bachelorette party. The server was great and attentive. The food was good. Not a huge cocktail or wine list but if you're looking for beer, obviously this is the place to go. Only down side was one person in the group had a big piece of plastic in their hummus. I'm not sure how the kitchen staff could miss that. The server and manager were quick to apologize and gave two big desserts for the group, on the house. All in all, it was worth it and helped make the night great! Thank you!!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Henry's! We were seated upstairs ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Henry's! We were seated upstairs at a somewhat awkward table, so our experience wasn't quite as wonderful as usual - but it is always worth it! Great location, delicious food with lots of choices and fabulous libations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had a party of 8 w/kids and definitel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a party of 8 w/kids and definitely enjoyed our Father's Day meal at Henry's!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

went there for Fathers day with my husba ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

went there for Fathers day with my husband and Daughters!

Great food and service ! and great beer !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice selection for Sunday brunch either ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

nice selection for Sunday brunch either the buffet or off the regular menu. Father's day wasn't crowded, but it seemed to take a little long to get the order from the kitchen to the table. Once there, it was presented very well and tasted great. Very nicely done.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing!! Had a group of 10 in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing!! Had a group of 10 in for my birthday and every single person was very happy with their meal! All of the orders were right and went to the correct person so that was also a plus.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was seated in a pretty loud area but may ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was seated in a pretty loud area but maybe that is just the atmosphere of the place. The food itself was good, service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

We had a good meal. Henry's was much lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a good meal. Henry's was much louder than in the past visits. It was difficult to carry on a conversation. We expected that in the bar, not in the restaurant area.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Yummy food, great selection of beer, sea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Yummy food, great selection of beer, seating can be cozy or communal. We were early in the evening and got a cozy booth to our liking. Terrific server!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seared tuna with coconut rice was DE ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The seared tuna with coconut rice was DELICIOUS! Best version of this idea I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average pearl district Brew pub food. Se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Average pearl district Brew pub food. Service was nice but not the A team. But big space makes it a good choice for larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wide selection of beers to go with their ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wide selection of beers to go with their food. Burgers were good and gorgonzola fries were a great appetizer.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. We were able to get ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great time. We were able to get a reservation for 7 at a reasonable time with little advance notice. Noise level is higher than I'd like but it worked out just fine. We'll go back.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Henry's is an historic building, old bri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Henry's is an historic building, old brick, rather dark inside, but cozy. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a wedge salad (good), tempura cheese curds (OMG), and burgers (cooked med-well as requested and delicious). Their beer and cider menu is extensive, and some seasonal selections. Also worth mentioning that it is located near Powell's and lots of boutique shopping.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to hang out

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place is good to hangout and relax. Food - not the best in town but they have a great beer selection.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved our meal here. The menu is div ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved our meal here. The menu is diverse, something for everyone. The cheese curds with pepper jelly were awesome! This place is great for gatherings, or dinner before an event downtown. If you are going for a romantic or quiet dinner, this isn't the place.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Henry's is a consistent Portland dining staple.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A large menu and a large restaurant combine for a great Portland night out. Henry's has long been a Portand food staple and will continue for many years. Their menu has a wide range and the Gorgonzola fries are a must have app. I never have anything bad at henrys however I am never leaving there ranting and raving about it. You know what you are going to get with Henry's and we often take out of towners here for dinner. It's reliable and pleasing to people with a vast variety of tastebuds. Until we meet again...

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wouldnt go for brunch again. Everything ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wouldnt go for brunch again. Everything had been out a while and was cold, soggy, dried out. My daughter was rubbing the fresh fruit on her cookie to soften it. Bacon was good but was very disappointed of quality for 25.00 a person and didn't include anything to drink. Shouldn't have ordered off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Terrible meal

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ordered a toasted chicken club sandwich and apparently toasted meant slathered with a stick of butter and warmed, and it had an inch of mayo on each side of the bread with the smallest piece of chicken, which was about 1/4 the size of the bread. My son's chicken fingers were crisp to nearly burned. My daughter had the brunch buffet and I realize a buffet is always a gamble, but this was worse than usual. The server saw me scraping mayo off the bread and saw the huge pile on my plate with most of the bread left, and never asked how the meal was. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Henry's is one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Henry's is one of our favorite restaurants in Portland. We will keep coming back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great buffet on Mother's Day! Everythin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great buffet on Mother's Day! Everything we ate was excellent and the Grand Marnier Mimosa was killer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always good.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was noteable. We asked to be mo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was noteable. We asked to be moved due to large, vocal group next to us, and hostess gladly moved us to much quieter area. Server was quite knowledgeable about beers and ales on list and gave good recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious and huge portions

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I had not been to Henry's in a long time.

I was attending a play at the Gerding Theater, 1 block away.

I easily made OpenTable reservations for 3, and we were seated immediately upon arrival.

We ordered 2 entries and split them among the 3 of us.

The large portions of salmon and chicken were moist, tender, perfectly cooked. The mashed potatoes were unusual and delicious. I really thought I was done with mashed potatoes, but I loved these. The asparagus was also a large portion and cooked just right.

I will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great beer on tap

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Food is ok....my salmon was absolutely terrific, but my husband's pizza was bland, flavorless. My salad didn't arrive before my meal, it actually went to the wrong person at our table, then when we told the waitress that my salad was missing, it never arrived until our dinner came. Very limited menu....most things are fried or sauced....i wouldn't recommend it other than for a pub style dinning experience...

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday Disappointment

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I decided to come here for my birthday this year, and have dined at Henrys at the past so was very excited to come back. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and went ahead and seated me at our table even though I was a couple of minutes early. It took 30 minutes and telling the hostess that we still haven't been seen yet by our waiter, for her to show up and take drink orders. There wasn't even water on the table! I decided to just let it go since they were busy, but when our food arrived one of my friends dish didn't come out until 10 minutes after everyone else, so they just had to sit there and watch the rest of us eat our food. We had to ask 3 times for more silverware and they never came by to refill our water glasses. I'm not an unreasonable person and realize that sometimes people just have a bad night, but I was pretty disappointed in Henrys-- I've always enjoyed their food and have never had issues in the past but I likely will not be returning. Hopefully they can improve their service in the future!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Amazing!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I came for my 22nd birthday with my dad for lunch and it was his first time at Henry's and he loved it! Our server Austin was great and he was so nice and friendly. Then I came later that evening with a bunch of my friends and we went to the bar and it was such a blast! The music was great, the staff was fun and helpful and the food is without question AMAZING!! I'm from Los Angeles and have been to a ton of nice restaurants but Henry's is by far my favorite restaurant to go to and my favorite bar to go to. Whenever anyone asks me to recommend a restaurant to them, I never hesitate to say Henry's. Thank you for always making my visits wonderful!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine when visiting Portland. Our daughter took us there originally and we have been back several times since. Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet up with friends an m ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to meet up with friends an my go to spot in town to show my out of town friends a nice place in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I love Henry's.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I love Henry's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Easter Brunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A great brunch with choices for breakfast, lunch or both. You can always count on Henry's brunches to be great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

easter brunch

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food for an Easter brunch buffet. Glad to see the bloody mary bar back. Haley was a great server. Very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostess staff very unprofessional

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early and the hostess staff declined to seat us until our exact reservation time even though numerous tables were available. The hostess staff generally dressed very sloppy and were not professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Decent casual dinner venue

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Henry's is usually a reliable stopover for drinks and dinner with friends. Menu/food not as good this visit, 3-18-2016 as in the last several years. May or may not return depending how convenient it is for the rest of the evenings plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Pretty good

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I'm sure this place is pretty great, but as a gf person I won't have the best take. They did have gf buns for burgers so I was satisfied.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

on-line checkin

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We made reservations on-line for a hour later and when we arrived were seated immediately. So easy and fast. Being on the west side, parking was difficult and prices were a bit high. Food was good and waiter was attentive but it was mentioned it was my birthday and no acknowledgment for that and not even a dessert. Table across the isle was acknowledged with cake. So that was disappointing. I belong to Restaurants Unlimited and was using my Birthday points for this occasion.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.