Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 10am - 12am

Sunday Brunch featuring All You Can Eat Buffet 10 am - 2 pm

EASTER WEEKEND HOURS 2017
Saturday, April 15: Lunch 11am-3pm. Dinner 3pm-11pm.
Easter Sunday, April 16: All-You-Can-Eat Brunch Buffet 10am-3pm. Dinner 3pm-11pm. Bar open ‘til midnight.

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Great Beer (20)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Fun (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Sports (4)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Great food and easy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overrated. Mediocre Easter Buffet but I guess you get what you pay for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We couldnt have asked for a better brunch and service. Lots of Choices, Seated a few mins early, Food was all very flavorful, Service was Great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch. Loved the peach cobbler. Good variety of breakfast and lunch items. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family was in for the Easter Buffet. The food was great and the mimosas were a treat. Our waiter was excellent. We wish you would bring back the Sunday brunch buffet as a regular option. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the Easter brunch and it did not disappoint for food choices. Great selection of food options, carved ham and made to order omelets. The only thing I felt it was a bit light on was the end of meal sweets, but what they had was fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was slow and the waiter had an attitude. Food was very bad, i ordered a steak medium rare and it came rare. Too rare to eat. Sent it back and they wanted to microwave it to bring it up to temp. I told them no id like a new one and the second one that came was a big piece of fat. Not the best night for a friends birthday dinner.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Their menu has something for everyone regardless of dietary restrictions or preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Location is convenient, space is eccentric and interesting, service was great and food was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were celebrating our son's 25th birthday with a dinner party of 8. Gina was our server and she was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Although our server was great, and once we got the food it was great, it took an hour and a half to get our food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Celebrating my son's 38th birthday on their visit home with family. Great food and a great server. Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We used to come here all the time until my gluten-free diet restricted me to only a few salads. I was pleased to see additional gluten-free options (but not celiac-friendly). It is a pleasure to be able to order something other than a salad.

The service was outstanding. I was impressed that multiple people were involved because it seemed like an efficient process, rather than having one overworked server.

Our reserved table was ready when we got there, even though they were busy and we were about ten minutes early.

We will be coming back soon and often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Henry's continues to be a solid restaurant with great service, great menu, and great atmosphere. Will continue to come back regularly.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A little spendy but generally very good. Comfortable seating and wait staff very accommodating

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was great. The chicken wings were slightly under cooked. Our meal was good but nothing to write home about. A pint of blue moon and a run&coke shouldn't cost $15 + tip.
Probably going to find a different place next time

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They have a ton of beers on tap, but the problem is, both beers I ordered were very watery. I thought it was strange so I sent one back and ordered a different draft. Same thing, very watery tasting. My wife had the same experience, something was quite off with their taps. Waitress was having a bad night and was very indifferent to us. Won't go out of my way to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Henry's restaurant is decent. There is a decent selection of food most of which is mediocre. It is over priced and always packed. In the area it is a decent option that I've gone to a couple of times. It's one of my sister's favorites. I personally don't understand why. My good was okay, wasn't anything special for the price. The doughnut holes were still partially raw.

Overall nothing special it's seems to be more of a name than good food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great beer. Good food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is always good at Henry's and usually we have a pretty good experience. However, this time we made reservations for 6:30 p.m. for five and didn't get seated until about 7:00 p.m. Then the service was poor on top of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for my birthday and had great food and service. Everything was freshly cooked to perfection. Nice selection of beer too. I will be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

we love this place. the food oh my...amazing! you will not be disappointed. they also have sushi there for appetizer. soooooooo good! we been there many times but first time trying out the sushi appetizer. highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great time. Food and drinks came at a perfect pace. Not shoved down our throats but not waiting forever either. Everyone enjoyed their food and we had a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. Atmosphere was good. This place is really big. Food was really underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ordered the Mac and cheese burger. It was quite salty in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent and the service impeccable. I highly recommend for casual dining, dates, special events or a fun night of music in the bar. We had dinner in the restaurant but the bar is very nice and has music. Great spot.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and beer. The service was quick and food came out quick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Henry's has a wonderful atmosphere that allows for both a fancy date night or a more relaxed dinner outing. The combination of the music, the lighting, and the various food options invite different but similar crowds. Not to mention the food never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great! I preferred the top sirloin it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wait staff was friendly, the food was good and the atmosphere was fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Liked both fish dishes. Steelhead and crab stuffed fish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good convenient location for business meals. Very large and varied menu accommodates everyone. The menu is a bit pricey but works well for business meals. I had a southwest chopped salad and was able to substitute buffalo style chicken for barbeque chicken which was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Highly recommend. They can make everything from pizza to burgers to pasta! If there's a special occasion coming up, this is the place to go. Also, the bathrooms have a full body mirror that's perfect for pictures.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Super disappointed in a place we had high hopes for based on other reviews and the menu. But it was basically a local "Cheesecake Factory" lacking some of the taste of CF. the appetizers were excellent (crab & avocado sushi and poutine waffle fries) but we all wish we had stopped there. Pizza tasted no better than frozen. Crispy cod street tacos were soggy. Orange chicken was not great. Only person who said they would come back ordered a burger. Otherwise this place was a let down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

No Appetizers were offered. The entrees came out very quickly. The top sirloin was a little dry. Service slowed and desert came out quite slowly.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It is always my favorite place to visit when we are around the Portland area. Wish there was one closer to where I live. Id eat there everyday! We had a medium size family dinner and it was everything and more. My family said they will be coming back most definitely! Thank you so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I found a hair in my potatoes... Definitely was not mine. I still enjoy this place and they took 1/2 the price off my entree but I was still pretty disappointed with it being such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great job by server. Fantastic chili! Great job of being open during snow storm!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service was pretty bad. The hostess was kind of weird and certainly not professional; the manager had paperwork spread out while working at one of the large booths in the front; the server wasn't available again after taking our initial order; and we got our meal served five minutes before table settings were provided (as I finally got up to go flag someone down because none of the four staff on the floor ever noticed us waiving for their attention).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of my favorite Portland restaurants. Love the decor and servers are well trained and friendly. Always a great menu to pick from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.