About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 10am - 12am

Sunday Brunch featuring All You Can Eat Buffet 10 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Restaurant Photos

Gorgonzola French Fries - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Three Little Pigs - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Gorgonzola Fries - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Mac and Cheese - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Philly Cheesesteak - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Mushroom And Egg Pizza - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Henrys crispy orange glazed chicken - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
California Roll - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Asahi Salad - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Buffalo chicken wings - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Hank's Stuffed - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Onion Rings - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Calamari - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Kosher Filet Mignon - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Buffalo Chicken Sandwich - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Tortilla Chips with Spinach Artichoke Dip - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Local Greens - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Beer Flight - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Henry's Meatloaf - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Fish and Chips - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Big Sky Brewing Moose Drool - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Danish Blue Cheese & Gorgonzola Waffle Fries - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Cheddar Beer Soup - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Fennel Sausage, Apple And Blue Cheese Pizza - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Blue Moon - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Grilled Chicken Club With Onion Rings - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Sharp Chedder Cheeseburger - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Orange Chicken With Jasmine Rice - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Macaroni and Cheese With Prosciutto - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Oyster Shots - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Mussels - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Happy Hour - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Pepperoni Pizza - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Bloody Mary Bar - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Mac And Cheese & Southwest Chop Salad - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Tempura Prawns - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
SIGNATURE GORGONZOLA FRIES - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
PEAR, WALNUT, MANCHEGO SALAD - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Humus Platter - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Spicy Thai Roasted Chicken Flat Bread - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Crab Cakes - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Crispy Kosher Salt & Black Pepper Calamari - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Spicy Tuna Rolls - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger And Gorganzola Fries - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Beer Sampler - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Blue Cheese Apple Pizza - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Southwest Chicken Salad - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Hot Dog Sliders - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Tomato Basil Soup - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Henry Weinhard's Private Reserve - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Arnold Palmer - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Table Of Food - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Grilled Romaine Ceasar Salad - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Braised Short Ribs - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Seafood Cakes - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Southwest Chopped Salad - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Macaroni - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Young's Double Chocolate Stout & Raspberry Hard Cider - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR
Beers - Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Family Style (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Live Sports (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not the best place unless you can't get ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Not the best place unless you can't get a reservation/table anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Good american food but slightly overpric ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Good american food but slightly overpriced.

Nice quiet place. Good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We held our six person Company Christmas ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We held our six person Company Christmas party at Henry's. The waiter was very honest and knowledgeable about their drinks and even suggested against a drink one of our employees ordered. He recommended a fantastic cider as an alternative which the employee greatly enjoyed and even had two of. We had a variety of dietary restrictions among the group of six and the waiter verified and even double checked on the possibility of obscure ingredient usages in their dishes. The recommendations and attentive waiter made the difference in what could have made the difference in a wonderful dining experience and he prevented what could have been a long regrettable night for those with the sever allergies. In addition to the excellent service, we went all out with drinks, appetizers and entrees and the pricing was extremely reasonable. I actually double checked the bill thinking they must have missed something, but everything seemed to be there and we walked out spending about half of what we had expected. At the end of the mean we ordered deserts that everyone enjoyed while we did a White Elephant and it was the perfect end to a lovely, relaxing, delicious and fun Christmas Party. We highly recommend Henry's as a place just to grab a drink and an order of Gorgonzola Waffle Fries (ABSOLUTELY MUST HAVE) and a nice cider or for an event with a large group. I've also attended luncheon work shops in their upstairs conference/pool hall lounge area where they provided excellent service and food while being able to "enjoy" a presentation from a main speaker. A very versatile and accommodating place at an excellent price with excellent food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot for a quick, tasty bite before ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Good spot for a quick, tasty bite before attending any shows in the area. Good food, good, quick service, friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Comfortable seating, go ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great location. Comfortable seating, good food, beer and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Thanksgiving deal in Po ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is the best Thanksgiving deal in Portland. I enjoyed the turkey plate. Our waitress was very nice. We did ask for a booth and didn't get one, even though our reservation was early in the evening. Our table was a really awkward one, a weird angle and under harsh light. That was the only bad thing.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Loved it ! Great for a holiday gathering ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved it ! Great for a holiday gathering, very festive, casual enough. The thanksgiving dinner was a great value!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate in the dining room and then stayed f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ate in the dining room and then stayed for the steelers game in the bar. Both places smelled completely like bleach and disinfectant. Really detracted from the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

If you order the ribeye, it's great, but ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you order the ribeye, it's great, but don't eat the pepper it comes with! It's very, very, very hot! If you cannot handle hot food just one bite could ruin your meal! It seems like a strange pairing to me - steak and potato cakes with a searing hot pepper? The potato cakes are great too!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service - friendly, cheerful ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding service - friendly, cheerful, accommodating. Food is excellent, nicely seasoned with herbs, not salty, and served promptly, courteously and hot. Draft beer selection seems endless, and is served cold. Dessert is delicious too!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Henry's secret fries are memorable.

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Henry's secret fries are memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We took our family here for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took our family here for Thanksgiving and absolutely loved it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu had few options for locally sou ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The menu had few options for locally sourced products other than beer. Lots of beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service was great

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at a cute place. Service was e ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food at a cute place. Service was excellent! The menu is varied and reasonably priced. Great place for dinner before a show. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

very good food huge portions plenty to t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

very good food huge portions plenty to take home great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Met a new friend for a quick dinner. It ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Met a new friend for a quick dinner. It is a cool interior. And they have pretty good selection of adult beverages. Unfortunately, the nose level was high making it a challenge to have a conversation. The service was very attentive and friendly. But they didn't get my order correct.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My wife and I have been here several tim ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I have been here several times and we have always had a great time. This visit was especially good as the food and service were even better than usually. Which was a god thing as we had brought some friends with us. The restaurant was not too loud, great for conversation. Everyone enjoyed their drinks and entree's. Great job tonight!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and creative menu. Nic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great atmosphere and creative menu. Nice variety of food from grilled salmon and steaks to hamburgers. Excellent beer selection.

Tags: Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the pretzel and the bacon/peanut but ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Get the pretzel and the bacon/peanut butter dip. Then split a burger. You'll both go home full. Great beer selection too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience for my son's 14th birth ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience for my son's 14th birthday. Our server was amazing – love this restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great server who knew the menu, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a great server who knew the menu, upsold us on a wine special, and was attentive which I find is more and more hard to find. Seems most restaurants don't bother to train or monitor their wait staff. The food selection is great and always well prepared. I always look for something unusual that you can't find just anywhere and they always deliver. We got to sit within sight of the food service window and were awed by the dishes we saw coming up! GO HUNGRY!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Portland place and great beer and ch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fun Portland place and great beer and cheese fries! Despite our reservation for 6 on a Sat night, took 20 min to get in post reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Vibrant bar atmosphere, comfortable dini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Vibrant bar atmosphere, comfortable dining area with 5 star service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting Portland with my nephew f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was visiting Portland with my nephew from Brazil. A friend of mine told me to visit this restaurant, but we were disappointed. Food was okay, not great and I order a Moscow mule that came in a glass cup instead of the traditional Moscow mule.

I don't recommend and I would go back. there are a lot of more nice restaurants in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

All the food was great. Bangers and Mash ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All the food was great. Bangers and Mash was awesome. I also had the Pear cider and Pinapple cider, both very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place well worth it very good pla ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great place well worth it very good place for gathering also to watch sporting events on tv great service and all different kinds tap beer

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Family Style, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good but service was fair, had t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Overall good but service was fair, had to ask for silverware after the food arrived. Mahi mahi was ok but ribs were better.

Would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We celebrated my grandson's birthday (a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We celebrated my grandson's birthday (at his request) and we're quite happy with the food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely great place to dine if you ar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

absolutely great place to dine if you are in Portland or visiting. great service and always feel like home when you are there. we dine there at least once a month. try their sirloin steaks. you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud and our waiter was completely ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Very loud and our waiter was completely oblivious. Large beer selection and the Gorgonzola fries are awesome, but outside of that would not recommend. Very spendy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our waitress was nice. but hostess was n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our waitress was nice. but hostess was not too nice. first, our reservations was at 8:15 and we had to wait 30-45minsutes to get our table. Second, this hostess pointed out the table next to the front entrance was supposed to be our table but there were still lots of people sitting there and not even ready to leave. so she told me we can go sit at the bar and they will text us when the table is ready. She never did. we had to check every 10mis if our table was ready. and she ended up giving us a smaller table where we were all sitting so close to each other. I asked her why we couldn't get the bigger table she originally promised and she gave me attitude =/

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We both had the planked salmon and loved ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We both had the planked salmon and loved it. The asparagus and mashed potatoes were perfect. It was a very satisfying meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and great service. Our server ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good food and great service. Our server was very helpful and friendly, with absolutely no pressure to get out the door so the table could turn over.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very tasty Steak & Blue Cheese salad.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very tasty Steak & Blue Cheese salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, a little spendy. Our waitress ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, a little spendy. Our waitress was very attentive but a little obnoxious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The was friendly and prompt. Huge assor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The was friendly and prompt. Huge assortment of beers on tap.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I brought my boyfriend there for a birth ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I brought my boyfriend there for a birthday celebration and dinner. I ordered the fish and it was terrible. I had to send it back and did not order anything else. I believe the fish was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Checked open table around noon- was all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Checked open table around noon- was all booked for the evening, decided to check back on open table later that afternoon and behold! A table for 8 had opened up!

Nice to not have to keep calling restaurant to check on tables!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Party of three. Seated in the furthest b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Party of three. Seated in the furthest back table, away from other diners and live music. Poor quality food left two with food poisoning. Don't get the 3 little pigs or fish & chips!

Mixed drinks were warm. Melted ice.

Beer was all foam

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.