About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 10am - 12am

Sunday Brunch featuring All You Can Eat Buffet 10 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Restaurant Photos

Gorgonzola French Fries
Three Little Pigs
Mac and Cheese
Gorgonzola Fries
Philly Cheesesteak
Mushroom And Egg Pizza
Henrys crispy orange glazed chicken
California Roll
Asahi Salad
Buffalo chicken wings
Hank's Stuffed
Onion Rings
Calamari
Kosher Filet Mignon
Buffalo Chicken Sandwich
Tortilla Chips with Spinach Artichoke Dip
Local Greens
Beer Flight
Henry's Meatloaf
Fish and Chips
Big Sky Brewing Moose Drool
Danish Blue Cheese & Gorgonzola Waffle Fries
Cheddar Beer Soup
Fennel Sausage, Apple And Blue Cheese Pizza
Blue Moon
Grilled Chicken Club With Onion Rings
Sharp Chedder Cheeseburger
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger
Orange Chicken With Jasmine Rice
Macaroni and Cheese With Prosciutto
Oyster Shots
Mussels
Happy Hour
Pepperoni Pizza
Bloody Mary Bar
Mac And Cheese & Southwest Chop Salad
Tempura Prawns
SIGNATURE GORGONZOLA FRIES
PEAR, WALNUT, MANCHEGO SALAD
Humus Platter
Spicy Thai Roasted Chicken Flat Bread
Crab Cakes
Crispy Kosher Salt & Black Pepper Calamari
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy
Sharp Cheddar Cheeseburger And Gorganzola Fries
Beer Sampler
Blue Cheese Apple Pizza
Southwest Chicken Salad
Hot Dog Sliders
Tomato Basil Soup
Henry Weinhard's Private Reserve
Arnold Palmer
Table Of Food
Grilled Romaine Ceasar Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Seafood Cakes
Southwest Chopped Salad
Macaroni
Young's Double Chocolate Stout & Raspberry Hard Cider
Beers

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud and our waiter was completely ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Very loud and our waiter was completely oblivious. Large beer selection and the Gorgonzola fries are awesome, but outside of that would not recommend. Very spendy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our waitress was nice. but hostess was n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our waitress was nice. but hostess was not too nice. first, our reservations was at 8:15 and we had to wait 30-45minsutes to get our table. Second, this hostess pointed out the table next to the front entrance was supposed to be our table but there were still lots of people sitting there and not even ready to leave. so she told me we can go sit at the bar and they will text us when the table is ready. She never did. we had to check every 10mis if our table was ready. and she ended up giving us a smaller table where we were all sitting so close to each other. I asked her why we couldn't get the bigger table she originally promised and she gave me attitude =/

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We both had the planked salmon and loved ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We both had the planked salmon and loved it. The asparagus and mashed potatoes were perfect. It was a very satisfying meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and great service. Our server ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good food and great service. Our server was very helpful and friendly, with absolutely no pressure to get out the door so the table could turn over.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very tasty Steak & Blue Cheese salad.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very tasty Steak & Blue Cheese salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, a little spendy. Our waitress ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, a little spendy. Our waitress was very attentive but a little obnoxious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The was friendly and prompt. Huge assor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The was friendly and prompt. Huge assortment of beers on tap.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I brought my boyfriend there for a birth ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I brought my boyfriend there for a birthday celebration and dinner. I ordered the fish and it was terrible. I had to send it back and did not order anything else. I believe the fish was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Checked open table around noon- was all ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Checked open table around noon- was all booked for the evening, decided to check back on open table later that afternoon and behold! A table for 8 had opened up!

Nice to not have to keep calling restaurant to check on tables!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Party of three. Seated in the furthest b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Party of three. Seated in the furthest back table, away from other diners and live music. Poor quality food left two with food poisoning. Don't get the 3 little pigs or fish & chips!

Mixed drinks were warm. Melted ice.

Beer was all foam

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We had a great dinner! Food and service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great dinner! Food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we had a reservation we had to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Although we had a reservation we had to wait for 15 minutes for our table, then it was another 20 minutes before our server arrived. Food took a very long time to arrive and then isn't was only warm. We have dined here a number of times without any complaints. Hopefully, this time was an exception - they did seem to have a number of large parties, which also made it very noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We've been to Henry's several times and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We've been to Henry's several times and decided to take our out of town guests to a place with great beer and cocktails. We were looking for a laid back fun place that still provided a good environment.

The food and drink were good and we had a nice time. The only thing I wasn't a fan of was the service. We had a reservation and ended up waiting for almost 15 minutes even though there were 8-10 tables and booths available and open. I specifically requested a table and not a booth and when we were finally seated she took us straight to a booth. I paused and she said "Oh is a booth OK? If not, you could wait for a little bit longer for a table." I already felt bad for our guests since we had already been waiting, so I said it was fine.

We had barely been there 45 minutes and everyone was on their second drink and finishing up dinner. I was just about to order my second drink when our waitress brought over the check and asked if I wanted a to go box while I was still chewing... I felt rushed even though several of the other tables and booths were still open and free. I ordered my second drink and finished my dinner and about 5 minutes after my second drink came so dropped off another check. We probably would have stayed there drinking if we didn't feel rushed out. We ended up going to another place for more drinks afterards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Both the booze and food were amazing and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Both the booze and food were amazing and reasonably priced. We all ordered different items and tasted each other's plates and drinks and were impressed with each one. We have found our new go to place in the pearl district.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was less than friendly and re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter was less than friendly and really gave the sense that he would rather have been anywhere else but there. He made the experience less enjoyable and caused everyone in our group to feel like we had to be careful if we had any request.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our waitress Cassidy was so polite, atte ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waitress Cassidy was so polite, attentive, friendly and nice that it made the special meeting of my sweetheart with the parents that much more less nerve wracking :) Could be a little more quiet for such affairs but it was 7:30pm on a Friday so to be expected. I hadn't had an entree or non-happy hour there in years and enjoyed the food too. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Henry's used to be a favorite of mine wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Henry's used to be a favorite of mine when it opened years ago. I was in town on business and decided to take a group of coworkers out for dinner. The service was great and the facility has been well maintained but the food was awful.

Waffle fries were covered in thick goop and had no flavor.

Chicken tenders were drenched in grease and over cooked.

Fish and chips were barely warm. The fish was actually tough and the fries were bland and cold.

I could go on but why bother...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Definitely needs more vegetarian and veg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Definitely needs more vegetarian and vegan options. The restaurant is sorely lacking in this area. Please, more gorgonzola cheese on the +1.50 upgrade to add to the waffle fries when ordering a sandwich. There was just a dribble of the sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a party of 16 people and they man ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a party of 16 people and they managed us very well. Was great to have my birthday party there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a group of 12, 5 of which we kids ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a group of 12, 5 of which we kids, and one adult in a wheelchair. The hostess and waitress were very accommodating regarding the children and the wheelchair. The waitress was attentive and very nice. She even set up candles on the cake we had brought, lit them, and brought it out to the table. I go to Henry's whenever I'm in town because of the food and on Sundays for the awesome bloody mary bar and $5 mimosas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Henry Weinhard Beer in the 70's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We loved Henry Weinhard Beer in the 70's. OK, we are old. We did not expect much of a corporate restaurant chain. We were surprised. 120 drafts on tap, indoor and outdoor eating, great service and very good food. All but the sauteed ceaser salad were extremely good. THis is not gourmet fare, but a good dinner, fairly priced and a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed dinner with out of town guests. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with out of town guests. Happy atmosphere and busy Friday. Food was delicious but a little slow getting to the table. Not a complaint but the result of a busy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We reserved a table for a bachelorette p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We reserved a table for a bachelorette party. The server was great and attentive. The food was good. Not a huge cocktail or wine list but if you're looking for beer, obviously this is the place to go. Only down side was one person in the group had a big piece of plastic in their hummus. I'm not sure how the kitchen staff could miss that. The server and manager were quick to apologize and gave two big desserts for the group, on the house. All in all, it was worth it and helped make the night great! Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Henry's! We were seated upstairs ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Henry's! We were seated upstairs at a somewhat awkward table, so our experience wasn't quite as wonderful as usual - but it is always worth it! Great location, delicious food with lots of choices and fabulous libations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had a party of 8 w/kids and definitel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a party of 8 w/kids and definitely enjoyed our Father's Day meal at Henry's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

went there for Fathers day with my husba ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

went there for Fathers day with my husband and Daughters!

Great food and service ! and great beer !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice selection for Sunday brunch either ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

nice selection for Sunday brunch either the buffet or off the regular menu. Father's day wasn't crowded, but it seemed to take a little long to get the order from the kitchen to the table. Once there, it was presented very well and tasted great. Very nicely done.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing!! Had a group of 10 in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing!! Had a group of 10 in for my birthday and every single person was very happy with their meal! All of the orders were right and went to the correct person so that was also a plus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was seated in a pretty loud area but may ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was seated in a pretty loud area but maybe that is just the atmosphere of the place. The food itself was good, service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

We had a good meal. Henry's was much lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a good meal. Henry's was much louder than in the past visits. It was difficult to carry on a conversation. We expected that in the bar, not in the restaurant area.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Yummy food, great selection of beer, sea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Yummy food, great selection of beer, seating can be cozy or communal. We were early in the evening and got a cozy booth to our liking. Terrific server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seared tuna with coconut rice was DE ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The seared tuna with coconut rice was DELICIOUS! Best version of this idea I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average pearl district Brew pub food. Se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Average pearl district Brew pub food. Service was nice but not the A team. But big space makes it a good choice for larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wide selection of beers to go with their ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wide selection of beers to go with their food. Burgers were good and gorgonzola fries were a great appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. We were able to get ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great time. We were able to get a reservation for 7 at a reasonable time with little advance notice. Noise level is higher than I'd like but it worked out just fine. We'll go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Henry's is an historic building, old bri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Henry's is an historic building, old brick, rather dark inside, but cozy. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a wedge salad (good), tempura cheese curds (OMG), and burgers (cooked med-well as requested and delicious). Their beer and cider menu is extensive, and some seasonal selections. Also worth mentioning that it is located near Powell's and lots of boutique shopping.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to hang out

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The place is good to hangout and relax. Food - not the best in town but they have a great beer selection.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved our meal here. The menu is div ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved our meal here. The menu is diverse, something for everyone. The cheese curds with pepper jelly were awesome! This place is great for gatherings, or dinner before an event downtown. If you are going for a romantic or quiet dinner, this isn't the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Henry's is a consistent Portland dining staple.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A large menu and a large restaurant combine for a great Portland night out. Henry's has long been a Portand food staple and will continue for many years. Their menu has a wide range and the Gorgonzola fries are a must have app. I never have anything bad at henrys however I am never leaving there ranting and raving about it. You know what you are going to get with Henry's and we often take out of towners here for dinner. It's reliable and pleasing to people with a vast variety of tastebuds. Until we meet again...

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wouldnt go for brunch again. Everything ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wouldnt go for brunch again. Everything had been out a while and was cold, soggy, dried out. My daughter was rubbing the fresh fruit on her cookie to soften it. Bacon was good but was very disappointed of quality for 25.00 a person and didn't include anything to drink. Shouldn't have ordered off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.