Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 11am - 12am

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fun (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Live Sports (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Historic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 17 hours ago

Still the best burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but overpriced. I was told by Henry's that all appetizers would be half priced all day Sunday. When I asked waitress about this, she said they were only available in the bar area. We had made reservations with this in mind but we were unaware of the "bar" being the only place for this. We had two 20 year old grand daughters with us and they were not allowed in the bar. Alas...no half priced items for us. This was disappointing to all.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Delicious food, drinks and the service was amazing. Definitely will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It's perfectly acceptable. Food is quantity over quality, but again, straight forward and acceptable. Service is very polite but you just get the feeling they wish they were somewhere else. Nice to be able to reserve a table as so many restaurants don't anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Its a comfortable place, a little noisy, with a varied menu.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service and meal were awesome... as it ALWAYS is at Henry's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Server only came to check on us once right when we got food. My bf spilled his drink on accident and it took 20 minutes before we got up and asked to manager for us to get a new drink and if we could have towels to clean up the mess. One server actually came over to take our plates looked right at the spill and walked away like she pretended not to notice. From that point on only the manager took care of us because our server was no where to be found. My steak salad was amazing but service not so much.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, great service, great first experience. We can't wait to come back

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Servers and food were good,but unfortunately the Hostess was rude, first person you encounter sets the lasting impression...we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We've dined here many times, however the service, food & drinks this past Saturday night was poor at best. The hostess was irritated when we asked to sit at a specific table, which wasn't occupied, & we were absolutely fine with waiting for it to be ready. The waitress, seemed annoyed that we were there, and the drinks we ordered seemed like flavored water with ice cubes. I don't think this bad experience will prevent us from coming back, though it'll be awhile for sure

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We recently had a pre-theater dinner at Henry's. I can't think of a single thing that wasn't first rate. The food was excellent, the service was attentive and the ambiance was inviting. I chose a very well dressed pear and walnut salad and the trout special of the day. My husband had the more comforting bangers and mash. The plates were attractive and the food perfectly prepared. I would go here for a date night or just for a good meal. It would be fun with a group of friends as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent food, enjoyable ambiance, and always great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Bangers & mash. Fish & chips. Steak salad. Grilled chicken sandwich. Gorgonzola potatoes. That's what we ordered. Comfort food. Big beer selection. Cocktails. Wine not a huge choice. If you have food issues go elsewhere. Although I think anyone could find something, the range of offerings is wide. And honestly it's one of my favorite places for straightahead, no nonesense, solid pub food offerings. Big portions. Monday early evening pretty quiet. But I've been here at happy hour and it's packed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Everything was great with exception of noise. Very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great time! Great food and good service. I hope to go again soon.

Only weird thing - we arrived 15 minutes before our reservation. We were told to wait until our reservation to be seated...but the restaurant was NOT full! There were tables open everywhere and several large ones (including the one they sat us at). Not sure why we had to stand in the entry as long as we did.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Oh my goodness this place was loud. Service was decent, food was mediocre. Lots of beer choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoy Henry's each time we come. Our server was particularly good this time around, very attentive and friendly. Our drinks never went empty and he was able to give us good insight into menu items.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been going to Henry's for years. We actually have made this a Mother's Day tradition the last 5 years because the kids like going. However. The service has drastically declined and it seems if you're seated upstairs, your service is even worse. The food is good, though a bit over priced for the quality, but if the service is good, it's worth it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day buffet. Will be back for Fathers Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very enjoyable way to spend Mother's Day! Our server was very attentive. Appreciated the flower and appetizer discount coupon too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was well timed and our waitress was very good! (Love that one can reserve a spot for Saturday night before a play!!) My cocktail was delicious, and my dining companion enjoyed her craft beer. Both of us had the Salmon, garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus entre...DELICIOSO!! We even came back after the play for dessert! You can never get too much of a good thing.... Fun evening!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We were in Portland on vacation and enjoyed a fun casual dinner at Henry's. It's in a fun part of the city and in an old restored building--very nice atmosphere. We didn't order beer but clearly they have an incredible selection. The food was outstanding and service was good. Very nice people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was impressive, well plated & great quality. Server was not even pretend friendly, but made a point of upselling (sides, deserts, etc) every time she spoke with us - she made it a much less pleasant experience. Again, excellent chow though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Been here a few times and always a pleasant experience. Food and ambience is on par with a busy Pearl pub. Staff are timely, friendly and helpful. Gets kind of noisy at the usual peaks so not quiet or intimate dining. I recommend a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lunch on a Sunday. We were visiting from out of town and we wanted great food and no bar scene. We were leery about Henry's only because of the emphasis on the establishment's reputation for good drink and energetic crowds. We checked the menu online and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. Hubby had the bacon burger, I had the ahi salad after starting with the hummus and finishing with the brownie sundae. Yes, we ate well and yes, we at it all and yes, it was completely enjoyable. The restaurant booth we had was quiet, our server was attentive and helpful, the food all tasted great, and we had the Sunday lunch we were looking for. Henry's exceeded our expectations and left content and happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was absolutely wonderful! The draft beer selection was so large it was hard to decide on just one so we had a few different samples. The food was outstanding. Local steelhead with a maple syrup glaze was fresh and perfectly cooked. Our server was busy with a large 20 top but we still felt very taken care of and had his full attention!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service was helpful and prompt overall. Drinks were awesome, great selection. Nice without being too fancy. Waffle fries with gorgonzola was delicious. Food was mixed - overall happy with one or two minor complaints (burgers overwhelmed with giant buns, onion rings just meh), but pork tacos and grilled fish was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

After hours business dinner- nice location! great burgers and drink selection! Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and easy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overrated. Mediocre Easter Buffet but I guess you get what you pay for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We couldnt have asked for a better brunch and service. Lots of Choices, Seated a few mins early, Food was all very flavorful, Service was Great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch. Loved the peach cobbler. Good variety of breakfast and lunch items. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family was in for the Easter Buffet. The food was great and the mimosas were a treat. Our waiter was excellent. We wish you would bring back the Sunday brunch buffet as a regular option. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the Easter brunch and it did not disappoint for food choices. Great selection of food options, carved ham and made to order omelets. The only thing I felt it was a bit light on was the end of meal sweets, but what they had was fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was slow and the waiter had an attitude. Food was very bad, i ordered a steak medium rare and it came rare. Too rare to eat. Sent it back and they wanted to microwave it to bring it up to temp. I told them no id like a new one and the second one that came was a big piece of fat. Not the best night for a friends birthday dinner.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Their menu has something for everyone regardless of dietary restrictions or preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Location is convenient, space is eccentric and interesting, service was great and food was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We were celebrating our son's 25th birthday with a dinner party of 8. Gina was our server and she was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Although our server was great, and once we got the food it was great, it took an hour and a half to get our food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.