About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 10am - 12am

Sunday Brunch featuring All You Can Eat Buffet 10 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Great Beer (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and beer. The service was quick and food came out quick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Henry's has a wonderful atmosphere that allows for both a fancy date night or a more relaxed dinner outing. The combination of the music, the lighting, and the various food options invite different but similar crowds. Not to mention the food never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great! I preferred the top sirloin it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wait staff was friendly, the food was good and the atmosphere was fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Liked both fish dishes. Steelhead and crab stuffed fish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good convenient location for business meals. Very large and varied menu accommodates everyone. The menu is a bit pricey but works well for business meals. I had a southwest chopped salad and was able to substitute buffalo style chicken for barbeque chicken which was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Highly recommend. They can make everything from pizza to burgers to pasta! If there's a special occasion coming up, this is the place to go. Also, the bathrooms have a full body mirror that's perfect for pictures.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Super disappointed in a place we had high hopes for based on other reviews and the menu. But it was basically a local "Cheesecake Factory" lacking some of the taste of CF. the appetizers were excellent (crab & avocado sushi and poutine waffle fries) but we all wish we had stopped there. Pizza tasted no better than frozen. Crispy cod street tacos were soggy. Orange chicken was not great. Only person who said they would come back ordered a burger. Otherwise this place was a let down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

No Appetizers were offered. The entrees came out very quickly. The top sirloin was a little dry. Service slowed and desert came out quite slowly.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It is always my favorite place to visit when we are around the Portland area. Wish there was one closer to where I live. Id eat there everyday! We had a medium size family dinner and it was everything and more. My family said they will be coming back most definitely! Thank you so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I found a hair in my potatoes... Definitely was not mine. I still enjoy this place and they took 1/2 the price off my entree but I was still pretty disappointed with it being such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great job by server. Fantastic chili! Great job of being open during snow storm!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service was pretty bad. The hostess was kind of weird and certainly not professional; the manager had paperwork spread out while working at one of the large booths in the front; the server wasn't available again after taking our initial order; and we got our meal served five minutes before table settings were provided (as I finally got up to go flag someone down because none of the four staff on the floor ever noticed us waiving for their attention).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of my favorite Portland restaurants. Love the decor and servers are well trained and friendly. Always a great menu to pick from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Greeted promptly and got our drinks right away. Server was very nice and made our experience upbeat. Enjoyed the meal as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great time. Our server Chloe was fantastic! The food was great and the atmosphere was relaxing and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great staff with food at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went out for a New Year's eve celebration. The restaurant was packed but the service was excellent, prompt and engaging. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We will gladly return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Server was great, overall very accomidating and considering it was NYE, and some of our group was later than the others, thye were great to us and easy to work with.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful brick building in the Pearl District. Food meh. Very crowded. My middle name is Henry.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have gone to Henry's a number of times as a base for attending Portland Center Stage performances. In two words, Henry's is VERY CONVIVIAL!!! The menu has great variations, the food is good, the service is GREAT, and there is a fantastic menu for those who love ale and beer!!! Henry's will inspire future visits and good memories!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Server Chris was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Steak sandwich needs to be thinner. Not eaten with a knife.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent meal but no real options for vegans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

While I loved the atmosphere of Henry's, I was disappointed with the service. 10 minutes went by after we were seated before our waiter came to greet us. We asked for waters right away but it took another 10 minutes for him to bring them to us and it was not even that busy. By the time he had brought it to us all 5 of us knew what we wanted to drink and eat. Service after that was fine but I was also a little disappointed that I paid $15 for a chicken sandwich and some French fries - there was nothing special about it that made it worth that price. 3 of my friends ordered the pizza and it looked really good and they said it was really good. I would go back and try it again and I would recommend the restaurant since the food and drink menu was good but if I have a similar experience with the service I wouldn't go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas dinner with my two adult children and their significant other's. It was a great meal. The server was a delight, very friendly and engaged. Service was prompt, drinks were good.

Thanks for a terrific evening!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great service! Salmon was really well done, loved the pretzel. The black bean burger was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were searching for a spot for Christmas dinner, and Henry's popped up on OpenTable as open on Christmas Day. Perfect. They had a special holiday menu, but you could order off the menu. I had the Prime Rib special, and everyone else ordered off the standard menu. Food was excellent. Service was good even though it was very busy. It's not the standard place you'd think of for Christmas dinner, but I would go to Henry's again for Christmas. It was fun! Glad we went there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great pre-theater choice. Beer knowledgeable. Astonishing number on tap. Food was great too.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I had a bacon cheese burger with the gorgonzola fries, and the Rogue Dead Guy Ale. The burger and the ale were very good, but the fires, in particular, were amazing. I live several hundred miles from Portland, but the next time I visit, I will make sure to eat there again.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was very busy and and loud. Service was quite slow. I had the mac and cheese and it was dry. Pretty expensive! $150 for 4 people, only 1 of us had a steak, others had mac & cheese, tacos and a sandwich. Each had a drink one of us had 2.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Henry's is our first choice before Portland Center Stage plays. Good food, prices and location. Noisy and usually crowded, especially on the weekends. Make a reservation.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

There is nothing special about Henry's. Food is average, service is OK. Ambience is moderate to noisy. Good for a quick bite and getting together for a beer or two.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great place with great food! Very overpriced though! Great for a date night or a special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not the best place unless you can't get a reservation/table anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good american food but slightly overpriced.

Nice quiet place. Good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We held our six person Company Christmas party at Henry's. The waiter was very honest and knowledgeable about their drinks and even suggested against a drink one of our employees ordered. He recommended a fantastic cider as an alternative which the employee greatly enjoyed and even had two of. We had a variety of dietary restrictions among the group of six and the waiter verified and even double checked on the possibility of obscure ingredient usages in their dishes. The recommendations and attentive waiter made the difference in what could have made the difference in a wonderful dining experience and he prevented what could have been a long regrettable night for those with the sever allergies. In addition to the excellent service, we went all out with drinks, appetizers and entrees and the pricing was extremely reasonable. I actually double checked the bill thinking they must have missed something, but everything seemed to be there and we walked out spending about half of what we had expected. At the end of the mean we ordered deserts that everyone enjoyed while we did a White Elephant and it was the perfect end to a lovely, relaxing, delicious and fun Christmas Party. We highly recommend Henry's as a place just to grab a drink and an order of Gorgonzola Waffle Fries (ABSOLUTELY MUST HAVE) and a nice cider or for an event with a large group. I've also attended luncheon work shops in their upstairs conference/pool hall lounge area where they provided excellent service and food while being able to "enjoy" a presentation from a main speaker. A very versatile and accommodating place at an excellent price with excellent food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good spot for a quick, tasty bite before attending any shows in the area. Good food, good, quick service, friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great location. Comfortable seating, good food, beer and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is the best Thanksgiving deal in Portland. I enjoyed the turkey plate. Our waitress was very nice. We did ask for a booth and didn't get one, even though our reservation was early in the evening. Our table was a really awkward one, a weird angle and under harsh light. That was the only bad thing.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved it ! Great for a holiday gathering, very festive, casual enough. The thanksgiving dinner was a great value!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you order the ribeye, it's great, but don't eat the pepper it comes with! It's very, very, very hot! If you cannot handle hot food just one bite could ruin your meal! It seems like a strange pairing to me - steak and potato cakes with a searing hot pepper? The potato cakes are great too!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ate in the dining room and then stayed for the steelers game in the bar. Both places smelled completely like bleach and disinfectant. Really detracted from the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding service - friendly, cheerful, accommodating. Food is excellent, nicely seasoned with herbs, not salty, and served promptly, courteously and hot. Draft beer selection seems endless, and is served cold. Dessert is delicious too!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Henry's secret fries are memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took our family here for Thanksgiving and absolutely loved it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The menu had few options for locally sourced products other than beer. Lots of beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food at a cute place. Service was excellent! The menu is varied and reasonably priced. Great place for dinner before a show. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

very good food huge portions plenty to take home great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.