Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Henry's 12th Street Tavern

Henry's Tavern is an upscale urban eatery located in an historic building located in the hip Pearl District of Portland Oregon. Henry's features over 100 beers on tap as well as a diversified upscale menu.

10 NW 12th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 12am
Thursday - Saturday 11am - 2am
Sunday 11am - 12am

Cross Street:
97209

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-5320

Website:
http://www.henrystavern.com/page/home

Entertainment:
Henry's Tavern offers an upscale billiards room and bar featuring 3 regulation pool tables.

Catering:
Private Party contact: Dave Crawford (503) 227-5320

Email: Events@Henrystavern.com

Parking Details:
Underground city parking lot covering a 2 square block area of the Pearl District. We do not validate parking. Significant street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The max public transit trains have several stops within a few blocks of Henry's. The most accessible is the Trolley Stop on 11th and Couch streets.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Carlton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Sunday Brunch featuring our All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet 10 am - 2 pm. We open at 10 am Sundays including our Billiards room with 7 Big Screens to watch the games. Try our $3 Bloody Mary Bar

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us this Father's Day Weekend to celebrate Dad! Featuring special added Prime Rib selections Sunday, June 18th.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Henry's rich history, chic decor and urban feel elevates Henry's above the stereotypical and creates a private dining experience that is unlike any other.

Henry's 12th Street Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (22)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Fun (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Historic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Sports (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Oh my goodness this place was loud. Service was decent, food was mediocre. Lots of beer choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We enjoy Henry's each time we come. Our server was particularly good this time around, very attentive and friendly. Our drinks never went empty and he was able to give us good insight into menu items.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day buffet. Will be back for Fathers Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very enjoyable way to spend Mother's Day! Our server was very attentive. Appreciated the flower and appetizer discount coupon too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was well timed and our waitress was very good! (Love that one can reserve a spot for Saturday night before a play!!) My cocktail was delicious, and my dining companion enjoyed her craft beer. Both of us had the Salmon, garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus entre...DELICIOSO!! We even came back after the play for dessert! You can never get too much of a good thing.... Fun evening!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were in Portland on vacation and enjoyed a fun casual dinner at Henry's. It's in a fun part of the city and in an old restored building--very nice atmosphere. We didn't order beer but clearly they have an incredible selection. The food was outstanding and service was good. Very nice people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was impressive, well plated & great quality. Server was not even pretend friendly, but made a point of upselling (sides, deserts, etc) every time she spoke with us - she made it a much less pleasant experience. Again, excellent chow though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Been here a few times and always a pleasant experience. Food and ambience is on par with a busy Pearl pub. Staff are timely, friendly and helpful. Gets kind of noisy at the usual peaks so not quiet or intimate dining. I recommend a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lunch on a Sunday. We were visiting from out of town and we wanted great food and no bar scene. We were leery about Henry's only because of the emphasis on the establishment's reputation for good drink and energetic crowds. We checked the menu online and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. Hubby had the bacon burger, I had the ahi salad after starting with the hummus and finishing with the brownie sundae. Yes, we ate well and yes, we at it all and yes, it was completely enjoyable. The restaurant booth we had was quiet, our server was attentive and helpful, the food all tasted great, and we had the Sunday lunch we were looking for. Henry's exceeded our expectations and left content and happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was absolutely wonderful! The draft beer selection was so large it was hard to decide on just one so we had a few different samples. The food was outstanding. Local steelhead with a maple syrup glaze was fresh and perfectly cooked. Our server was busy with a large 20 top but we still felt very taken care of and had his full attention!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was helpful and prompt overall. Drinks were awesome, great selection. Nice without being too fancy. Waffle fries with gorgonzola was delicious. Food was mixed - overall happy with one or two minor complaints (burgers overwhelmed with giant buns, onion rings just meh), but pork tacos and grilled fish was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food and easy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overrated. Mediocre Easter Buffet but I guess you get what you pay for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We couldnt have asked for a better brunch and service. Lots of Choices, Seated a few mins early, Food was all very flavorful, Service was Great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch. Loved the peach cobbler. Good variety of breakfast and lunch items. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family was in for the Easter Buffet. The food was great and the mimosas were a treat. Our waiter was excellent. We wish you would bring back the Sunday brunch buffet as a regular option. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the Easter brunch and it did not disappoint for food choices. Great selection of food options, carved ham and made to order omelets. The only thing I felt it was a bit light on was the end of meal sweets, but what they had was fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was slow and the waiter had an attitude. Food was very bad, i ordered a steak medium rare and it came rare. Too rare to eat. Sent it back and they wanted to microwave it to bring it up to temp. I told them no id like a new one and the second one that came was a big piece of fat. Not the best night for a friends birthday dinner.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Their menu has something for everyone regardless of dietary restrictions or preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Location is convenient, space is eccentric and interesting, service was great and food was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were celebrating our son's 25th birthday with a dinner party of 8. Gina was our server and she was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Although our server was great, and once we got the food it was great, it took an hour and a half to get our food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Celebrating my son's 38th birthday on their visit home with family. Great food and a great server. Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We used to come here all the time until my gluten-free diet restricted me to only a few salads. I was pleased to see additional gluten-free options (but not celiac-friendly). It is a pleasure to be able to order something other than a salad.

The service was outstanding. I was impressed that multiple people were involved because it seemed like an efficient process, rather than having one overworked server.

Our reserved table was ready when we got there, even though they were busy and we were about ten minutes early.

We will be coming back soon and often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Henry's continues to be a solid restaurant with great service, great menu, and great atmosphere. Will continue to come back regularly.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A little spendy but generally very good. Comfortable seating and wait staff very accommodating

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was great. The chicken wings were slightly under cooked. Our meal was good but nothing to write home about. A pint of blue moon and a run&coke shouldn't cost $15 + tip.
Probably going to find a different place next time

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They have a ton of beers on tap, but the problem is, both beers I ordered were very watery. I thought it was strange so I sent one back and ordered a different draft. Same thing, very watery tasting. My wife had the same experience, something was quite off with their taps. Waitress was having a bad night and was very indifferent to us. Won't go out of my way to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Henry's restaurant is decent. There is a decent selection of food most of which is mediocre. It is over priced and always packed. In the area it is a decent option that I've gone to a couple of times. It's one of my sister's favorites. I personally don't understand why. My good was okay, wasn't anything special for the price. The doughnut holes were still partially raw.

Overall nothing special it's seems to be more of a name than good food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great beer. Good food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is always good at Henry's and usually we have a pretty good experience. However, this time we made reservations for 6:30 p.m. for five and didn't get seated until about 7:00 p.m. Then the service was poor on top of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for my birthday and had great food and service. Everything was freshly cooked to perfection. Nice selection of beer too. I will be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

we love this place. the food oh my...amazing! you will not be disappointed. they also have sushi there for appetizer. soooooooo good! we been there many times but first time trying out the sushi appetizer. highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great time. Food and drinks came at a perfect pace. Not shoved down our throats but not waiting forever either. Everyone enjoyed their food and we had a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. Atmosphere was good. This place is really big. Food was really underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ordered the Mac and cheese burger. It was quite salty in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent and the service impeccable. I highly recommend for casual dining, dates, special events or a fun night of music in the bar. We had dinner in the restaurant but the bar is very nice and has music. Great spot.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and beer. The service was quick and food came out quick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Henry's has a wonderful atmosphere that allows for both a fancy date night or a more relaxed dinner outing. The combination of the music, the lighting, and the various food options invite different but similar crowds. Not to mention the food never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.