Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Romantic (43)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (10)
Waterfront (10)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Scenic View (6)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We were visiting from Atlanta and chose Hennen's because of proximity to our hotel and because it is on Open Table. From the minute we entered, we were made to feel very welcome and not hurried in any way. My friend & I took the suggestion of our BEAUTIFUL waitress, Bailey, and ordered the specials of mushroom soup and the flounder fish. Dish. Both excellent, and just enough for the two of us. Or husbands were just as satisfied with their choices of crab cakes and trout dishes , respectively. It was a delightful meal and lovely ambience. We were able to talk comfortably. A lovely evening!! Have recommended it to friends and wil most definitely go there next time we are in 'Nooga.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was very tasty. We had seared tuna appetizer, chicken marsala, prime rib, french onion soup, caesar salad, creme brulee at lunch. Would have been nice to know the "market price" of the tuna in advance, as it ended up being the most expensive item we ordered and didn't know it. Also, saw bread at other tables but didn't get any. Iced tea only okay, and even somewhat bitter. We expect great iced tea in the South. This wasn't. Put these are all picky complaints. The quality of the meal and service was solid.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great wine list. Exceptional steaks and seafood. Top choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great time at Hennen's where you can always count on great food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at Hennen's several times and always been pleased. A few years ago my sister and brother-in-law, who are from Atlanta, joined us for dinner there before our attending Riverbend. Now it's become an annual tradition. The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food is always excellent as is the service. I would definitely recommend Hennen's!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best steak I have ever eaten. Service was great and dessert was awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Prompt service by friendly knowledgeable staff with great wine list and menu. Had two chef specials and both were great and the dessert was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food and service were top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ordered the Braised Short Ribs and the meat was tough and it tasted like there was no seasoning on it. The beef was served on top of mashed potatoes that were runny and bland.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was good, but nothing spectacular. Our steaks were a bit overdone. The service was a slow. But they did give us a free dessert for our anniversary and I thought that was sweet.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food. Paul was a fun waiter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was fine except for vegetables not cooked well. Broccoli was undercooked and asparagus very plain. Dessert was mediocre for a restaurant of that caliber. Also overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was my first visit to Chattanooga and after doing a google search this restaurant came up with good reviews and we gave it a shot. We were not disappointed the food and service were excellent and inviting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent service and the food never disappoints. My husband think the Delmonico is the best steak in Chattanooga. It is our choice for out of town guests, special occasions or business dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We went here for our anniversary and the food was amazing. I personally had the pork chop with mashed sweet potatoes. Those sweet potatoes were the best thing I've probably ever eaten. However great the food was though, the atmosphere was tainted by the servers just standing and talking the entire dinner right in front of our booth. Not exactly romantic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Fantastic evening dinner place! We enjoyed our drinks and menu choices. Vast wine selection. Get the Prefiterols for dessert. Delish. Our waiter, Colton, was a delight. Will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Chose this spot for dinner while on vacation based on the good reviews. I was not disappointed. My sirloin with blue cheese was amazing! Our waitress was so helpful. While sitting at our table by the window, we noticed horse drawn carriages going down the street. When we asked her where they started from, she didn't know, but went above and beyond by finding out for us and trying to call ahead and get us on the list. I highly recommend Hennen's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I took my two elementary age children to celebrate the end of the school year because they love steak and seafood. Hennen's has great traditional flavors that my kids really enjoyed. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always great food and service. Bar staff was friendly and attentive too. Fantastic evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We ate at Hennen's for my sister's bachelorette party. The food was amazing and the service was great! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Could not have been better.
It was a reunion with friends.
Tuna Burger was superb.
Can't wait to return when next in Chattanooga!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was fabulous, was quiet enough for conversation and the service was excellent; just right, personal but not invasive. Our server Gus was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Overall, Hennen's is pretty good. Steaks are average to above average, service is average, good selection of wine at reasonable prices. It is a pretty good value, though, as menu prices are reasonable for the quality and service. As long as you're not going expecting a top end steakhouse, you'll be very happy.

Steaks aren't prime, but you're not paying prime prices either, so I appreciate that it's not oversold. I thought that (price at the time of this review) the $25 range paid for a 16oz ribeye with a side was very reasonable. Execution was good, too. Some sides are better than others, I'm sure, as my fries looked like they were from frozen.

Wine selection by the glass is very solid, and reasonably priced - bottles were ~3x retail, which is pretty standard, and glasses were about a quarter of the bottle price, so no additional markup on a glass which looked to be on the heavy end of 6oz. I'd stop back for a glass of wine any time.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Fish (main course) was stone cold.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Spicy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place. I got the filet and my husband got the special which was red snapper. Also got the French onion soup-not out of this world but better than average. Both came out well, reasonable prices and easy location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was great and the staff went above and beyond to make my night special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Perfect all around. Our waiter Coleen was exceptional 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Table available early, tasty specials, fun craft cocktails! Overall great experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Thanks. Everything was great except for cleanliness of a bus boy, who kept running hand thru hair and then combing hair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service staff was wonderful, food was great. The only thing that was not perfect was that the beer was from a bottle. Really great restaurant with great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fabulous place! Ate there two nights in a row and going back this evening! There are enough great things on menu we are not repeating anything!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is a nice, urban, upscale steak and seafood restaurant. The biggest limiting factor in the past year or so has been service quality, which seems to have declined quite a bit, but the chef is capable and the ingredients fresh. This is the kind of restaurant where it is safe to order the chef's daily special and expect quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious Steak and Salads and Sides. Great service and very clean

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This may be my favorite restaurant in Chattanooga. It is locally owned and operated. The food and service quality is consistently good. The ambiance is upbeat and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cant go wrong here. The food in great every single time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, and food was excellent. Parking is free above the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service by our server Joshua. Joshua was very friendly, informative and an awesome addition to our Mother's Day meal. He suggested other places to visit while we were in town.

Super job Joshua & Hennen's!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my boyfriend & I's first time dining here. We have no complaints! Food was incredible, service was amazing, dessert was awesome.. keep up the good work! I will definitely be recommending you guys a lot!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.