Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Waterfront (10)
People Watching (9)
Fun (9)
Private Room (8)
Scenic View (8)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

In our neighborhood and we go there often. Service was not good compared to usual. No offer of bread, appetizers served with salad ..... rushed . My son ordered a cocktail with coke.... just got a coke... kind of crazy. Food was exceptional but felt very rushed. Neighborhood favorite place but getting tired of feeling like a number and rushed thru dinner. It was my birthday and I felt rushed.... dessert should have been an experience and it was so-so. Losing faith in Hennens to deliver an experience. They need to step it up for regulars in the neighborhood that support them .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food! We had the duck and steak and both were awesome. Steak was a little salty but once you scraped some of it off then it was great. A little pricey but well worth it. Great service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

The waitress was very nice and actively served us. I was very pleased with the service.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I went to Hennen's for our 11th wedding anniversary and​ it was amazing. Everything we ate was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The experience was excellent overall. Our server was very personable and attentive The food was delivered hot and fresh and staged by the server with appropriate timing.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Calamari was cooked to perfection and paired with the sauce was amazing. Prime rib and salmon excellent and cooked to perfection. Bread pudding excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Colton took great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great time, me and wife celebrate three years of marriage. The waiter was outstanding do issues. Next time we visit Chattanooga must stop by Hennen's for diner.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The best prime rib I have eaten in the last three years. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This restaurant has great food and a wonderful wait staff. My husband and I like to eat here whenever we are downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was ok, but I was not impressed. I expected better service, and good, considering the price of the meal. Basically average.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant has gone downhill. It used to be fancy and you dressed up for dinner. Now, they let people in flip flops, t-shirt, and shorts. It completely ruined the atmosphere. And the booths desperately need to be reupholstered. My dad was in so much pain he had to get up and go walk around for a while.
The food and the service are still excellent, but for the prices they charge the atmosphere does not match.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have dined here before and the service and quality of food has been great every time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food! We frequently eat at Hennen's and it is always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Hennen's no it was delicious! My 17 year old daughter and myself dined. She loves the filet mignon which she and I both ordered and she loves the French fries. My wilted spinach and house salad were great! Molten chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream was yummy!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:00, but we had to wait 25 minutes to be seated. The service was good, but the steak was burned pretty badly. Very disappointing and poor value for a restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Convenient to downtown tourist area. Service was god although a bit sluggish (surprising as restaurant was not crowded). French onion soup was strangely seasoned - nothing I had ever experienced in Use or France. Trout was good although vegetables that accompanied were flat. Shrimp and grits were much too spicy (with no mention on the menu that it was highly seasoned).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service was good. The waitress knew the menu well and was very helpful in selecting items from the menu. Food was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I enjoyed this dinner. I had the ribeye steak and she had the seared scallops. The ribeye was overcooked and small, however her dish was excellent. Service was excellent, Dawn was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My daughter, granddaughter and I enjoyed a delicious dinner at Hennen's Friday evening. All of our meals were outstanding! Scallops, Shrimp and Grits, and seared Salmon were all very good! Great wine list and great desserts!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times and have always had a very enjoyable experience. This time my steak was a but cold. Cooked perfectly but a large very cold pat of herb butter was placed on top and it definitely cooled my medium rare NY strip.
Service was excellent and overall the food was good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Terrrrrrrrrrrrrific, gr8 menu, service and food preparation. A welcome break from the hype and tourism of a gr8 city.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! Best Old Fashioned ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Gus and paul are always wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My friends and I wentb to Hennen's Sunday 3.26.17 for dinner to celebrate a friend's birthday. Once Waitress was Samantha you and she was such a pleasure. She was so nice and patient with our indecisiveness. She made suggestions on what we might like we went with it and it was wonderful bliss. Not only was she nice but there was another waiter and Waitress that stopped by our table as well and we're just so friendly. We shared cake and had big laughs. The manager also came over and greeted us. I love love love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our waitress, Dawn, was excellent. The food was great. We were there for our anniversary dinner. All was excellent with the exception of the kitchen noise and was not very quiet and romantic where we were seated. The lights could've been dimmed and could've had a better or no view other than the loud group celebrating a birthday and a family with 2 young children.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious and interesting food. Easily managed one diner's dairy allergy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was great food and great service. Open table was great for reservation

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hennen's never disappoints. Always great food and great service. It is our restaurant of choice for fine dining when visiting downtown Chattanooga.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Outstanding as usual... great ambiance and great for business lunch

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Steak was tough. The waitress was fabulous. That was the only redeeming service of the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful service and food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Everything clicked. The service was attentive and informative. The menu had a lot of offerings. The food was very good. Well worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the scallops which were very tasty, but not hot enough. My wife had the filet
Which according to her was very tasty, but not hot enough. The service was not quite up to par for this type of establishment; for instance not having bread plates after the bread was served (they were brought late) and having to ask for a steak knife. There was some kind of disagreement with a customer seated behind us and a sever and the manager finally had to come to the table. This was distracting and was just a negative experience. We paid the bill in cash and waited a long time to receive our change; long enough that we wondered if the server thought we wanted to tip her what would have been a 45% tip. Overall this was not a great experience for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hennen's never disappoints and every aspect of dining there is consistent and exceptional. The menu and prices are varied so it is easy to find something you'll like at a price within your budget; portions are generous and always creative and delicious. They have a full bar and the wine list has many reasonable selections and a generous pour to boot. Both the hostesses and wait staff are friendly and professional and the noise level in the restaurant allows for easy conversation while the bar is more vibrant and has generous seating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wife and I dined on a Saturday night, and had an enjoyable experience overall. Service was excellent.
Food overall was ok. I had a strip ordered medium rare. Came out closer to rare but charred. Wife had the shrimp and grits, which was marvelous. Menu had the right balance, with a nice variety of offerings. Wine selection was admirable. Price was satisfying. Will likely return next time we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our service was good but the food was not up to the quality we have had there before. My wife had the shrimp and grits and the shrimp tasted like it was old, heavy fishy taste which is a sign of aged seafood. I had the Ribeye Steak and it was on the tough side. We have eaten there before and the food was better previuosly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was perfect... When it's a special occasion I always go to Hennen's as I know the food and service will be perfect.. So no disappointments...

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lobster Bisque and crisp cold Cesar salad are very good. Wish their dessert menu varies day by day.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.