About Hennen's

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
5 More
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made reservations for the wife and I for ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Made reservations for the wife and I for our 45th anniversary. What an outstanding choice for a special celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening there. Really nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service. Perfec ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Perfect location for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sides were meh. Filet was cooked perfect ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Sides were meh. Filet was cooked perfectly but cut was marginal at best.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband took me to Hennen's for my bi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband took me to Hennen's for my birthday and the food and service were both superb.

We had the white bean hummus dip with warm flat bread and it was wonderful. His steak was great and my halibut and fennel risotto was outstanding. Very pleased and would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent. Easily the best steak in Cha ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent. Easily the best steak in Chattanooga. The chefs are able to cook to order, and I am always impressed by the quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything except the location of ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Loved everything except the location of our table - up towards the door. If we had planned a romantic evening instead of ones with friends I would have. Even very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ,nice way to celebrate my wif ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food ,nice way to celebrate my wife's birthday

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservations and walked in and didn ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Made reservations and walked in and didn't have to wait at all which was great! The staff were all very friendly and the restaurant was nice and quiet. We ordered the steaks and they came out cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful. We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with an old friend. Excel ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great dinner with an old friend. Excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat with friends or have ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place to eat with friends or have a date. Wonderful service and so many great choices on the food. Well worth the trip. You will need to make reservations, this place gets busy on the weekends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eugene is always our favorite server!. H ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Eugene is always our favorite server!. He always knows what we like and is quick! The food is phenomenal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, drinks and service. My frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, drinks and service. My friend's steak was a little cool when it arrived and they were very apologetic and fixed it immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Fantastic service. Ask for Eu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food. Fantastic service. Ask for Eugene, super knowledgeable and very attentive. He made the entire experience great !!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So not impressed. I handed my ID to the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

So not impressed. I handed my ID to the waitress and she looked at it and couldn't read the box that said under 21 until 2012! Not because it was faded or anything but because she couldn't do math. So she was gonna have to get a manager to look at it. So instead I handed her my handgun carry permit. Second my steak was cooked medium rare after I ordered medium well so that was fixed but a manager never apologized. Third my card was charged three times my bill and the waitress didn't even notice. I had to point it out! Thank goodness I was paying attention! So she goes to fix the problem and it takes 25 minutes. She comes back with it ran for the correct amount and didn't bring the copy where she had voided it. She had to dig it out of the trash. That should be expected. I shouldn't have to ask for that. FINALLY a manager came and apologized but that was it. Nothing taken off my bill and a half hearted apology. We went for my boy friends birthday. Would NEVER go back. Super disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

Visited for a dinner with friends. Menu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Visited for a dinner with friends. Menu was varied with enough for everyone. Service was on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here on several occasions, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We have eaten here on several occasions, birthdays, New Year's Eve and business dinners and we have never been disappointed. A must for locals to frequent, as well as visitors to our city. Great atmosphere and value, yet moderately upscale. Love it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Dawn, was great! Kept us lau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our server, Dawn, was great! Kept us laughing and we relied on her to recommend drinks and dishes. I had a part 5 and a filet. Both were amazing. Since moving to Tennessee we've had a hard time finding good food and we were very happy with hennens. We went back the next night and had the ahi. This is a great place and being able to make reservations was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience. Food really good. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely experience. Food really good. Ambience very nice. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and was thrilled it was within 2 blocks of our hotel. Easy walk to river area and other attractions. We wanted to watch the Notre Dame football game and we got perfect seats at the bar with an accommodating bartender who turned it on for us! Great food and ambiance - will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was one of the best I've had.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The filet was one of the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My bride and I eat at Hennen's each time ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My bride and I eat at Hennen's each time we make a trip to Chattanooga. Wonderful place, great service, outstanding food and good value. It is one of the highlights of our trips.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The service was excel ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good. The service was excellent. I selected midrange for the value because this is not a cheap place and it is not supposed to be one. Two people with drinks should set you back $100-$150 and it did. We would repeat

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food was outstanding! And th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service and food was outstanding! And the meal was not too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was personablepersonable,well ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our waiter was personablepersonable,well versed about the food. Hissuggestions were delicious. Probablywouldn't have gotten desert if his main course hadn't been spot on

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was friendly, but not overly. She ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Server was friendly, but not overly. She left us alone to be able to have our business conversation as needed.

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have had lunch/dinner at Hennen's severa ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Have had lunch/dinner at Hennen's several times- consistently good food and service. Noise level at peak hours can be a bit high depending on seating, but this would be true for most restaurants. Recommend %^)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good selection across the menu. Servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good selection across the menu. Service was grest

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE WENT TO HENNENS WHEN WE WERE DOWNTOWN ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2016

WE WENT TO HENNENS WHEN WE WERE DOWNTOWN VISITING CHATTOONOOGA AHD THE FOOD WAS GREAT! THE SERVER WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL LIKE IN A BIG CITY LIKE NEW YORK. THE SEATING WAS GOOD WITH SUPER CASUAL PEOPLE I THE BACK AND THOSE DRESSED MORE FORMAL IN THE FRONT OF THE RESTURANT WHICH WE LIKED SO WE DID NOT CLASH WITH THE WRONG DRESS. OVERALL WAS A GOOD VALUE IN LIGHT OF THE SERVICE.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous meal. It was our anniversary a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous meal. It was our anniversary and we drove to Chattanooga for the weekend. The dinner at Hennen's was the highlight of our trip. Exquisite! Fantastic food...especially dessert. Great steaks too!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location was great; right downtown. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The location was great; right downtown. The food was very good but pricey. Not very kid friendly; no kid's menu. The waiter was kinda stuffy. Not a place to for for everyday dining; a little stuffy overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Seated immediately, service was efficien ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seated immediately, service was efficient, experienced and professional. Food and wine recommendation was perfect. My business associates were very pleased. I plan on visiting again next time I'm in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food was amazing, the service ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

While the food was amazing, the service was terrible. My boyfriend and I had a blonde waitress with glasses and she barely said one word to us. The very first thing she said when she came up was "Can I get you some waters?" We overheard another waiter going on about the specials and being very friendly to the customers. She was so unfriendly that we would feel uncomfortable when she would come to the table. It was very disappointing because this was our first time there and it was our one year anniversary. I didn't get her name (she did not introduce herself) so all I can give was the physical description above.

As I said before, the food was amazing. I just wish the service was just as amazing considering the price we paid for the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Service was f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was fair. Great location. Steaks pricy. I would eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Food excellent - service great . Scallo ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food excellent - service great . Scallops and steak s are excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Recently moved to Chattanooga and slowly ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Recently moved to Chattanooga and slowly trying each upscale restaurant. There is absolutely nothing negative to be said. Outstanding service and the food, well I could have cut my steak with a toothpick. We will be back!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening and food were good. My husb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The evening and food were good. My husband's filet was dry and over cooked. The group that sat across from us was OBNOXIOUS!!!! Very drunk and the language was not exceptable.....There were children that were in the next booth that also had to hear it....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Took Grandson out for a 10th birthday ce ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Took Grandson out for a 10th birthday celebration. He wanted steak and it was very good cooked to prefection. I had the snapper which was very nice. The meal was very enjoyable and the service was very attentive. I would return when in that area again and recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a 7pm reservation, arrived a litt ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a 7pm reservation, arrived a little early and were seated immediately. Our Waiter Charlie was very good. Only issue was my steak was undercooked, sent back and came out still undercooked but seared. This is the second time my steak has been under cooked, Hennens was my spot to take dates but I am slowly leaning towards another venue due to these inconsistencies in cooking a medium steak, always comes out medium rare. I have been coming there for over 4 years and I date a lot, I have no problem paying premium prices but not for under cooked food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall, very nice restaurant located ri ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall, very nice restaurant located right near the aquarium; it was clean inside and didn't seem too busy for a Saturday night.

Supposedly, you can park in the parking deck, but when we went, it was full due to an event in the area (sports event and free concert), so we had to find parking elsewhere. We were a little late because of it, but the staff was nice and said it was no problem when I called ahead to let them know.

Food was pretty good and service was decent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It's always a great place for dinner. My ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It's always a great place for dinner. My wife and I have enjoyed coming here for several years now...We visit Chattanooga on a regular basis for our special occasions or just a date weekend to get away... Thanks for all you offer and the quality of food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.