About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal and service. Great menu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal and service. Great menu and great server.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food wasn't good at all but the ambi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The food wasn't good at all but the ambiance and the service was great. The steak was burnt and I ordered it medium. I sent it back and they brought out another burnt steak

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Was an amazing meal and great atmosphere ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Was an amazing meal and great atmosphere. Will return for many more meals.

Tags: Family Style, , Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The total experience was excellent! The ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

The total experience was excellent! The food was outstanding. The lobster bisque was fantastic and my date's salad was excellent. Service and attention to detail was superb and it was nice that a manager came by to ask about our experience,

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great duck breast and lamb shank. Server ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great duck breast and lamb shank. Server was very attentive but not overly so.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dawn was a great waitress! Attentive an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Dawn was a great waitress! Attentive and enjoyable server

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was AMAZING! Our server, Tara, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was AMAZING! Our server, Tara, was outstanding! Very attentive and made us feel so special! It was our anniversary and everybody just went above and beyond to make it a real occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner at Hennen. The wait sta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dinner at Hennen. The wait staff was courteous and friendly and the food was amazing. We enjoyed the poached pear and blue cheese flatbread for an appetizer. The group or special was phenomenal. We finish with dessert of profiteroles and crème brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, Hennen's provides some of the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, Hennen's provides some of the best service in the area. The most friendly servers, with great attention. Love going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food , reasonably priced our s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food , reasonably priced our server was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered my Ribeye medium. The first o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered my Ribeye medium. The first one came out severely charred on the outside. The second one came out and it was some better, but still charred. I am not a fan of that taste at all. The lobster bisque was really good and the crème brulee was the best we have had.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I truly enjoy dining there. A family me ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I truly enjoy dining there. A family member came from out of town and we dined there and we both thought it was great so I always try to come back as much as possible. The waitress, however, did not announce herself which would have been very nice to have known her name without asking. That is about it, overall great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was very friendly and knowledg ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, the service was GREAT, and the food was AWESOME.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend at work suggested a few locatio ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A friend at work suggested a few locations in Chattanooga for dinner. I was looking for a place to celebrate Valentine's Day with my wife. After looking at the online menus and reviews, we decided on Hennens. Both of us truly enjoyed the experience there. The tables were cozy and allowed us to sit close to each other. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and made suggestions and provided options not listed on the menu. She kept both our glasses full and was very friendly. Both of us ordered the Delmonico Ribeye and it was excellent. Thank you for making our celebration wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is I the second year in a row we ha ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is I the second year in a row we have stayed in Chattanooga and enjoyed Hennen's for Valentines. We love food and atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, , Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for "date night." The s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great restaurant for "date night." The steaks were wonderful and so was the service! With our reservation we were able to walk in and be seated right away. The martinis were also fabulous!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I would have given the food five stars. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I would have given the food five stars. The steak was great, it was the horseradish crust that seem a little bland to me but that's just my opinion. I know next time that will not be an option for me. My lady had the shrimp and grits that was wonderful and I really don't like grits but that was great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Eugene and he was very he ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was Eugene and he was very helpful and patient with us as we tried to decide what to get from the menu. We had never been to Hennens before but will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent time with friends at Hennen's. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent time with friends at Hennen's. Waiter was prompt and courteous to our needs. The food was delicious and prepared well. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always wonderful. We go each ti ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is always wonderful. We go each time we visit Chattanooga. Seafood and steaks are always constantly good. Nice selection of wines, but with all the great craft beers in the area, this would be the only opportunity to improve.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were under the gun to see a show, so ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were under the gun to see a show, so we asked the waiters assistance in getting our meals and still make the show, he was excellent. All the meals came out very hot and were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved Hennen's . And Gus our server wa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I loved Hennen's . And Gus our server was awesome as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped here with my wife and another co ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Stopped here with my wife and another couple for dinner before a show at the Tivoli. I had the lobster bisque, and it was delicious! For dinner I had the shrimp and grits...very good!! Shared a slice of cheesecake with my wife, and it was so light and delicious!...service was awesome as well. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good experience besides the hos ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a good experience besides the hostess who's seated us. We had reservations and asked to be away from kitchen and high traffic areas and the hostess was very rude to me when I brought that to her attention about where we were sitting. Even the waitress was apologizing and said she was rude I even told the manager before we left and nothing was done for us or nothing was compensated for. Such a disappointment. Especially for it to be 5 pm hardly anyone In there and to have reservations. It was also our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I had a wonderful meal, f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal, fantastic, friendly service, and wonderful ambiance. Hennen's is always a sure thing! I never hesitate to go there and to recommend it!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 16 oz. Delmonico steak would have be ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The 16 oz. Delmonico steak would have been delicious if it was cooked as ordered. Chef tried twice and couldn't get it right. Scallops were cooked perfectly and were very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome tenderloin steak. Really, really ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Awesome tenderloin steak. Really, really good! Hotel referred us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great! Server was nice and food fantasti ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great! Server was nice and food fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was top notch. Our server, Eugene, was friendly, informative and attentive. This is my third visit to Hennen's and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed. Will be returning. Sta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very impressed. Will be returning. Staff was beyond courteous yet sincere. Very professional with the perfect amount of interaction. The atmosphere was quiet and not overdone. Moderately priced but portioned and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for girl's weekend with my si ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for girl's weekend with my sister. As foodies we love to try new restaurants. We started with the calamari, if you're a calamari lover this is a must. It was probably the best thing we ordered. Second there is a certain Moscato that can't be ordered (or at least I haven't found it) and I was more than pleased to find they had it on the menu (we may or may not have ordered a bottle ;) Before dinner we ordered the lobster bisque and the French onion soup, honestly I've had better of both, much better actually. For dinner I ordered the lamb shank and my sister ordered the Ribeye. I guess I was assuming lamb shank would taste like lamb chops...well it didn't. I ate like 2 or 3 bites and pushed it to the side. When our waitress asked if everything was ok I said yes but she noticed that I hadn't eaten my meal. I told her that I didn't like it, but it was nothing they did, it just wasn't for me (way too gamey). She immediately took my plate and said she would take care of it. The next thing I know the manager was at our table and when I again told him it was nothing they did that I just didn't like it he said he would take it off our bill which was extremely nice, great customer service on that one. My sister and I ended up sharing her Ribeye and broccolini which was fabulous. The broccoli was cooked in garlic and it was delicious. I ordered the crème brulee for dessert and that did not disappoint. All in all I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special night out. The atmosphere was very relaxed. Although it was a very nice restaurant I didn't find it stuffy at all, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steak and sides. The pre-dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent steak and sides. The pre-dinner drink was substantial and perfectly made. Very good wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband LOVES your bread pudding. I' ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband LOVES your bread pudding. I've tried to make it but according to him, "Nothing compares to Hennen's bread pudding. So on occasion, we visit Hennen's for either dessert and coffee or a dinner with dessert. We had an outstanding waitress, Lindsey, and a very enjoyable meal. We'll be back. (Just don't take bread pudding off the menu, please.)

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh, delicious food! Awesome ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful fresh, delicious food! Awesome service! We had the delicious lobster bisque, the halibut (me) with local mushrooms and roasted broccoli, the prime rib (my husband) and the local bread. The drinks and food could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Wine recommendation was sp ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great steaks. Wine recommendation was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both myself and one other guest had the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Both myself and one other guest had the Ribeye and it was disappointingly tough and dense.

The filet had by my wife was excellent.

The Orange Peel Manhattan is one of my favorite drinks in town.

Service was excellent, attentive and orders and timing right on point.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not a lot to add - service was very good ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not a lot to add - service was very good, food was very average. Nothing specific to complain about, just kind of a "blah" experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We use to love coming on Saturday and Tu ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We use to love coming on Saturday and Tuesday for the lobster bisque. Unfortunately, they changed the recipe. It was okay but not as good as the original

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service was spectacular! Prepar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food and service was spectacular! Prepared to perfection, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Hennen's did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As usual, Hennen's did not disappoint. Our salads, main course and desert were all excellent. I personally look forward to the chef specials with regards to fish dishes. They are always wonderful and have a lot of variety from week to week. The wait staff is unbelievably knowledgeable and friendly. Can't go wrong with this restaurant for a nice meal and for any special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.