Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (36)
Business Meals (35)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (19)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Waterfront (11)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great. Very accommodating regarding preferences and restrictions.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy dining at Hennen’s. That staff are usually top notch and service spot on and food delicious. This time was a bit different. I was early, sat at the bar, service and food were great. Once in the dinning room, the service not so much. First let me say, our server was new and trying very hard. A few mistakes along the way, not the end of the world. It’s just not the caliber of service one is a acustom to in such a fine dining establishment. No bread was offered or provided. Maybe one must ask for it now? I don’t know. I certainly did not need it. Dessert nor coffee or after dinner drinks were offered at the end of the meal. However, I did get my check quickly. The only other thing I have to share is the salt and pepper grinders on not just our table but many tables were actually a pair of salt grinders. I had to ask for pepper as well did other quest. Also, our table looked dirty or had smudges on it. It may just be starting to have that worn look about it from time and usage. Like I said, not my normal experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good. The calamari was excellent as was the bread pudding. Both of us ordered seafood. The cost was reasonable for the generous portions. The chef accepted a request to add garlic to the spinach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful evening celebrating our 30th Anniversary! Our steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious! Dawn was our server. She was attentive without being intrusive. She made great recommendations which we appreciated. Great overall experience! We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

So good!! Wonderful dining experience and would visit again for sure! Loved Chattanooga!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at Hennen’s! Glad to be back and waiting for another opportunity. See you soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Hennen’s always have a great time and the food is great. And our waiter Chris was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Excellent as always , outstanding steaks, great location, outdoor river view!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Our sever spilled a glass of water on one of our guests. He was very slow in bringing cloths to the table for her to dry herself off. No manager came by the table to apologize.
The steaks were adequate at best. Mine was not medium rare as I requested but I didn’t feel like waiting for another one.
The worst part of the experience was at the end. The server asked for the bill while we were still sitting at the table. In all of my years as a server that was the number one no no. Then another sever came and asked for our wine glasses so that they could be washed and polished.... this was at 10:10, 10 minutes after closing which to me is inappropriate.
The decor is dated, service is not up to standard and the food is subpar at best. My last time dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went to Hennen's after Wine Over Water so the place was packed. We only waited a few minutes for a table but the hostess sat us for a reservation for 4 and only gave us two menus. We asked for more but never got them. We also had to ask for a wines by the bottle menu. The service was all over the place but as I said, the place was packed. The food was outstanding as usual. I had beef short ribs that were so tender and flavorful. Two others had ribeye steaks and the other person in our party had prime rib. The sides were great and they had a nice selection. We always go to Hennen's when we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our recent visit to Hennen's included a scallop dish with corn and potatoes, and a Creole pasta dish with sausage, shrimp, and chicken. Both were quite good. We had the creme brûlée for dessert. The service was very good from the front of the house to our very knowledgeable server, Dawn; she answered questions about the menu and made suggestions. We enjoyed it and we will stop by for dinner next time we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food! Great Service! Great Bar! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Meal was excellent! Kristie our server was fantastic! There with my two adult children for their birthdays.
Service and meal was great. I recommend the 20oz. Delmonico steak!!!

Had made a reservation and running 15 minutes late.....Hennen's was very accommodating!
Will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our server was excellent but the restaurant needs some decor updating.
We went for steaks and they were mediocre at best! One of our guest had the prime rib and it was grilled so much it curled up on the edges and it was ordered medium rare!
Don’t think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was excellent and prepared just as we asked. Service outstanding as well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 3, 2017

To celebrate my birthday, my wife suggested Hennen's, which we have visited in a few months. Their lunch menu was varied, very reasonable and tasty. A minor issue with vegetables was quickly rectified and the service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing food and even more amazing service. Will certainly be going back again soon!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome food ... great servers ... always cold so ladies take a sweater ...

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food. Always good. The waitress was exceptional - she was there when we needed something but not intrusive. Our food was timely but not fast. This place is a date place. You have time between courses for talking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent food, incredible service. Thank you for the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My friend and I were in town for Ironman Chattanooga and we had our prerace meal at Hennens. Our food was excellent, but our server was not exactly attentive. She didn't even bring us bread for the table - an essential before the race! I can't recommend the warm chocolate cake highly enough; I would kill for it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We went here to celebrate a birthday as we had heard good things about Hennen's. When we arrived we were greeted at the door and our table was ready that we had reservations for. This is where the great experience ended. We sat in our booth, which the seat was uneven, someone came by and stated our waiter would be by soon and asked us if we wanted Wine. We do not drink so we declined. We usually only drink water and were told they do not use ice because they filter and refrigerate their water so we said that is fine. If there is a refrigeration of the water it must be done before they open because our water was room temp. I had called ahead and stated that there was a birthday and asked if anything special can be done, and was told yes, they would bring a desert with a candle to surprise them, however instead as soon as the waiter arrived he said, oh someone has a birthday... well happy birthday, and was never mentioned again. We looked over the menu, and ordered their ribeye and salmon. The ribeye was thin and slightly burnt on the outside (ordered medium) and was very overpriced. I have had much better quality rib eyes at lower priced restaurants. Our server.. he seemed as though since we ordered water to drink that we automatically were not top tier customers and didn't deserve any attention. We did see him after our food arrived, as he calmly walked right past our table laughing with another server. We were about halfway done eating when he finally decided to come and ask how our food was. We asked for a togo box, paid for our food, and left. Then were overcharged in the parking garage, as we were there for 50 mins and charged for a 3 hour stay, by the way there is no valid number to call for the parking garage as it has been disconnected. Overall i would not recommend Hennen's to anyone, unless you plan to drink multiple bottles of wine, where you might receive better treatment, and the food may taste better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Celebrated my Birthday & had a totally awesome experience. The menu selection was wonderful and everything we had was delicious and perfectly cooked. Tara, our server was amazing!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was satisfactory, not a knock, manager was great, server was cool, just didn't feel like the food lived up to the atmosphere... the food was decent and all notthing wrong, just didn't leave wowed... prolly try a different upscale location next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food is great and service very attentive. We always request Paul who serves wonderfully.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful! We picked this location for our post-marriage dinner and it was fabulous! I dont remember our servers name, but he was very accommodating.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a great night at Hennen's . Our server, Gabriel was excellent. He offered great advice on food and drinks, making suggestions for extras without ever being pushy. Our food was hot and delicious and the fresh bread before the meal was fantastic. We were too full for dessert but plan to go back soon just for that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was fair, the waitress was non-existent and overall it was mediocre at best. There are many other better choices in Chattanooga that are so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The seating organization promotes a quiet, cozy feeling. The staff is very attentive and answers all your questions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Gus was an excellent waiter, and the food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great Food! Cassidy, our server, provided excellent service! She was knowledgeable about the menu, had great recommendations and helped to make it a great experience for our Anniversay dinner.

EXCELLENT Creambrulle that we took with us and was still wonderful an hour later.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very disappointing all around. The food was not cooked properly and the service was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was amazing. We got the warm goat cheese appetizer. For dinner my wife got the Delmonico Ribeye and I got the Pan Seared Duck Breast. The service was amazing and for dessert we got the bread pudding. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Gus was our server tonight and he was excellent! Our food came out very quickly. I had one of the daily specials, Filet with Scallops, and my wife had the Filet. I added the Boursin topping to my steak. Both of our steaks were perfectly cooked to medium rare. In our experience of eating around Chattanooga - Hennens is one of the most consistent restaurants. On top of the great food, you also get great service - the staff at this restaurant are not pretentious like they are at other nearby restaurants! We can't wait to go back again. One note, we made reservations ahead of time for Saturday dinner - I would highly recommend doing the same if you are going to eat here because it is very popular in this area.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server and food was outstanding!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The price was very expensive and I won't be able to go there unless a very important celebration. Just too expensive to enjoy for no reason!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Drinks has too much alcohol, waiter unapologetic , steak not good , fish soggy, waiter tried to steal our Parking refund.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food & service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Super good food for a casual yet upper class feel.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.