About Hennen's

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
6 More
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (94)
romantic (52)
fit for foodies (47)
See All
notable wine list (41)
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for outdoor dining (25)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for lunch (15)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Appetizer was good but main courses were ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 2 days ago

Appetizer was good but main courses were not, steak was over cooked and was very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

This was our second time here after havi ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time here after having driven in from Murfreesboro to celebrate our friend's 25 year anniversary. We had requested in advance to have a circular booth but was told there were none available despite seeing some open and across from us was a man and his 6 year old son in a booth. Oh well.

Our waiter Bo was a nice guy but couldn't get it together. Had to be reminded to bring things to the table and then forgot one of our desserts to bring and finally, forgot to bring us back our to go box until we reminded him as we were leaving. I will go somewhere else when we return to Chattanooga as this visit was not up to par with our trip last year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent services and good food.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent services and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We loved this place. The food was incred ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 3 days ago

We loved this place. The food was incredible. Our server was amazing. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic, and, if possible ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was fantastic, and, if possible, the food was even better! Best steak in Chattanooga!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a steak. Over cooked and tough t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ordered a steak. Over cooked and tough to chew. Was not worth the price charged. Waitress very polite and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, excellent service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I really liked Hennen's a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I really liked Hennen's and plan to return. Food was delicious!! Eugene, our server, was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Glad we met him. Not sure if our conversation could be heard by others, and that would be acoustics which are hard to control anyway. Definitely will come back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was not what we paid for. The filet's ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was not what we paid for. The filet's were extraordinarily delicious . And, the baked potatoes were from Heaven. Our 1 complaint was the 5 asparag spears ( a $ 7.00 side) were not enough for 1 person, let alone 2. The seating was weird. We were originally seated in a noisy place with lots of activity. The lighting should have been low and wasn't. They do nothing for birthdays. Great. Who knew? The waiter was so young, didn't even look 21, yet he asked for our I.D.. Mind you, this was my husband's 58th bday, and I am 55. it was not worth the 144.00 we spent for the mal. Yet, there was the filet & the baked potato!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Our Sunday evening visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our Sunday evening visit to the restaurant was overall not a bad experience. The service was average to slightly above average. The restaurant itself was clean and comfortable. In general the food quality was excellent and tasted very good. However, we had several small issues that would make me opt for another restaurant in the future.

1. My glass and silverware were dirty, with small bits of food stuck to them. Replacement glass was clean, and I used the one clean fork I had.

2. Another party at our table found a long blonde hair in her dish approximately 2/3 through her meal. The waiter was appropriately concerned and removed the item from the bill.

3. Drinks are served without ice. When we asked for ice, we were told that the drinking water was triple charcoal filtered, and that the ice was not. I am not sure why the ice machine could not use filtered water, and I wondered what was so bad with the domestic water supply that was apparently still used for washing dishes and food contact surfaces.

4. Two of the 4 chairs at our table were weak and shifted so much that they had to be replaced with more sturdy chairs from another table.

Overall and notwithstanding the issues above, we were impressed with the preparation and quality of the food. The taste and temperature was very good, and if I try this restaurant again the food will be the reason. But operationally they have much to improve upon, with cleanliness being at the top of the list. In consideration of everything, I would likely give this restaurant another chance to see if our experience was a fluke or typical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my 3rd visit to this local Stea ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to this local Steakhouse and each time has been fabulous. I have ordered fish once and the Ribeye 2 times. The fish was moist and translucent and the ribeye was cooked exactly as ordered both times and was tender and juicy. Their grits and asparagus are both great sides and the loaded potato is enough for 2. I have yet to have room for desert, next time my wife and I will split a meal so we can try desert. The only thing at Hennen's better than the food is the service. Brad was unbelievable, he took such great care of us. this is a place that you truly get Value for your money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennon's is supposed to be one of the ni ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Hennon's is supposed to be one of the nicest restaurants in Chattanooga. We went there to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The food was very good, but the service was very poor. We were so rushed it was not a celebration at all. The restaurant was not busy and there was no one waiting on a table. Our waitress delivered our cocktails, but had not put a lime slice on my vodka tonic, so I asked for a slice. By the time she brought it back, one of the kitchen runners was setting the salads on the table. I wanted to enjoy my cocktail before eating. The waitress came by to pick up the salad plates but saaw we were not finished "working on it" as she said ( I hate that phrase) before we finished our salads another kitchen runner showed up with our entrees. Now, my salad plate is still sitting in front of me and my husband's is too, so the runner just stood there and looked at me. I thought she might just set it on top of my salad plate, so I picked up my salad plate and held it in mid air for her to serve my dinner, my husband set his in the window. The waitress came by "everything great?" as she was rushing by and we said we would like "more water" My husband wanted a glass of wine with his dinner, but that never had a chance to order it. Before we were through with our entree, she showed up, and asked if we wanted dessert. My husband said we weren't through eating yet, we didn't know, so she said she had the dessert menu with her so she would just "leave it and let us take a look at it". We were trying to make the evening last a little longer, so we ordered dessert. The runner brought the dessert and set it in the middle of the table since we only ordered one and then picked up the dinner plates so we didn't have to clear the table. and again, before we had even finished the dessert the waitress came with the ticket and said "do you need your parking ticket stamped and I'll just leave this here for you" -- the bill. Yes, by then, we were ready to leave

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great service we were seated fast on a f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service we were seated fast on a friday night the food came out very quickly our waiter was helpful and knowledgeable the food was good but a piece of my duck was undercooked. Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great salads & great steaks! Wonderful ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great salads & great steaks! Wonderful options for toppings for your steak. We cannot wait to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a excellent choice. This restaura ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a excellent choice. This restaurant has the finest steak cuts in this area. The hosts are gracious and pleasant. Always come here for that special dinner or to entertain out of town guests. Chattanooga's best !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great ambiance, location and food. Waitr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

great ambiance, location and food. Waitresses were friendly and knowledgeable

Manager seated us, carried dirty dishes and whatever it took to make things happen for the place to run its best on the 4th of July. thank you for the experience

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, wonderful atmosphere, ou ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great location, wonderful atmosphere, outstanding food and service. My bride and I eat here each time we make a weekend trip to Chattanooga. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Delmonico steak was the best ribeye ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Delmonico steak was the best ribeye I have had in years. My wife had the scallops and they were awesome.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The steak was wonderful and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The steak was wonderful and the service was exceptional. The vegetables were good however, I prefer them to be cooked a little longer. Just a personal preference. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

When we come to town this one of our sto ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

When we come to town this one of our stops great food and service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hennen’s lived up to its reputation. Gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Hennen’s lived up to its reputation. Great food, a relaxed atmosphere and our waiter was a pro. Food was prepared perfectly, and we weren’t rushed at all. I wouldn’t hesitate to return the next time I’m visiting Chattanooga.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a nice dinner, wine, and excelle ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner, wine, and excellent service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Hennen's is consistently good and the am ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Hennen's is consistently good and the ambience is very nice but not stuffy. The steak and seafood selections are always prepared well. We dine here with business colleagues and always have a great experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fours of us enjoyed all parts of our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The fours of us enjoyed all parts of our meals, from appetizers to entrees...too full for desert!

Enjoyed our drinks as well...tried a new( for me) IPA...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did many things right, but my steak ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They did many things right, but my steak was cold, not cooked properly (I ordered medium rare and it came out rare) and the lobster bisque was lobsterless and bland.

We had a good experience, but I wasn't blown away. The bread was excellent and the crab cakes were pretty good! I get the whole "no salt on the table" thing, but you have to have well seasoned food in order to be that bold.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated Golden Anniversary and was no ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Celebrated Golden Anniversary and was not disappointed with Hennen's as the place to do so.

The waiter was attentive, the steaks were cooked to perfection and the loaded baked potatoes were tasty.

My wife enjoyed a glass of Zinfandel. We shared a salad and grilled asparagus.

As a gift to us on our special evening the restaurant provided a delicious chocolate swirl cheesecake-slice.

Plan to enjoy Hennen's again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had been here before, on a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I had been here before, on a weekday. We were not aware of the shorter hours on weekends so we had to stand in the heat after walking 5 blocks due to no parking available nearby, that we were aware of. Since there weren't more than about 4 couples waiting to go in, it would have been nice if they would open the door an let people in until they started serving. The do have seating in the front. Especially when several employees just hung around the front desk doing nothing discernable. My wife and I are over 60 and we were miserable. We almost went somewhere else just to get into air conditioning. Food was good and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good overall. Sirloin Steak was a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good overall. Sirloin Steak was a little tough. I asked for rare on prime rib and it was a little more on the rare side than I liked- however, I just know now to ask for it to be done a little more. Great atmosphere. Validating our parking was a nice touch. We plan to take friends there in the near future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best steak in Chattanooga with great ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Best steak in Chattanooga with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Paul was my waiter and he was very effic ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Paul was my waiter and he was very efficient and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, server was very plea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good, server was very pleasant but a bit inexperienced or may have been hampered by timing of food coming from the kitchen. I have been here several times and the fish dishes have always been excellent. Also had a chopped salad which was a bit different from usual offering and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You can never go wrong here. The service ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

You can never go wrong here. The service was not as good as usual but that may be because of the last day of riverbed was when we went.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service and great Fren ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, great service and great French Onion soup, a must have if you go there!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennen's is a must when visiting Chattan ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Hennen's is a must when visiting Chattanooga. Highly recommend the crab cakes and Shrimp and Grits. We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were there for the first ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My friend and I were there for the first time. The service was excellent. We both had a filet and potatoes. They were excellent. We both had a coctail with dinner. Both were great ... And the alcohol to mix ratio was perfect. We chose a chocolate martini for dessert, and ended up having two. The location was perfect for a pre-Riverbend dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. A bit on the noisy si ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent dinner. A bit on the noisy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food and service. This was the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service. This was the second time we have dined here. As good as we remembered. Wish we lived closer to enjoy it for all our special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We travel back and forth between Chicago ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We travel back and forth between Chicago and Marathon in the Keys. Wouldn't miss a opportunity to stop in Chattanooga and dine in Hennens. Great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Blucucumber cocktail was fantastic, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Blucucumber cocktail was fantastic, the steak was delicious and our server, Brittney, was absolutely the best!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely anniversary evening

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Came here for our anniversary and it was perfect! Excellent food, romantic ambiance, wonderful staff...overall fantastic! And we didn't spend too much money! Have the shrimp and grits!!! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.