About Hennen's

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
5 More
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (56)
Fit for Foodies (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Groups (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Scenic View (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous meal. It was our anniversary a ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous meal. It was our anniversary and we drove to Chattanooga for the weekend. The dinner at Hennen's was the highlight of our trip. Exquisite! Fantastic food...especially dessert. Great steaks too!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location was great; right downtown. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The location was great; right downtown. The food was very good but pricey. Not very kid friendly; no kid's menu. The waiter was kinda stuffy. Not a place to for for everyday dining; a little stuffy overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Seated immediately, service was efficien ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seated immediately, service was efficient, experienced and professional. Food and wine recommendation was perfect. My business associates were very pleased. I plan on visiting again next time I'm in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food was amazing, the service ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

While the food was amazing, the service was terrible. My boyfriend and I had a blonde waitress with glasses and she barely said one word to us. The very first thing she said when she came up was "Can I get you some waters?" We overheard another waiter going on about the specials and being very friendly to the customers. She was so unfriendly that we would feel uncomfortable when she would come to the table. It was very disappointing because this was our first time there and it was our one year anniversary. I didn't get her name (she did not introduce herself) so all I can give was the physical description above.

As I said before, the food was amazing. I just wish the service was just as amazing considering the price we paid for the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Service was f ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was fair. Great location. Steaks pricy. I would eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Food excellent - service great . Scallo ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food excellent - service great . Scallops and steak s are excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Recently moved to Chattanooga and slowly ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Recently moved to Chattanooga and slowly trying each upscale restaurant. There is absolutely nothing negative to be said. Outstanding service and the food, well I could have cut my steak with a toothpick. We will be back!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening and food were good. My husb ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The evening and food were good. My husband's filet was dry and over cooked. The group that sat across from us was OBNOXIOUS!!!! Very drunk and the language was not exceptable.....There were children that were in the next booth that also had to hear it....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Took Grandson out for a 10th birthday ce ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Took Grandson out for a 10th birthday celebration. He wanted steak and it was very good cooked to prefection. I had the snapper which was very nice. The meal was very enjoyable and the service was very attentive. I would return when in that area again and recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a 7pm reservation, arrived a litt ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a 7pm reservation, arrived a little early and were seated immediately. Our Waiter Charlie was very good. Only issue was my steak was undercooked, sent back and came out still undercooked but seared. This is the second time my steak has been under cooked, Hennens was my spot to take dates but I am slowly leaning towards another venue due to these inconsistencies in cooking a medium steak, always comes out medium rare. I have been coming there for over 4 years and I date a lot, I have no problem paying premium prices but not for under cooked food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall, very nice restaurant located ri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall, very nice restaurant located right near the aquarium; it was clean inside and didn't seem too busy for a Saturday night.

Supposedly, you can park in the parking deck, but when we went, it was full due to an event in the area (sports event and free concert), so we had to find parking elsewhere. We were a little late because of it, but the staff was nice and said it was no problem when I called ahead to let them know.

Food was pretty good and service was decent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It's always a great place for dinner. My ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It's always a great place for dinner. My wife and I have enjoyed coming here for several years now...We visit Chattanooga on a regular basis for our special occasions or just a date weekend to get away... Thanks for all you offer and the quality of food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A pleasant surprise to find a restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A pleasant surprise to find a restaurant with good quality food, affordable and right across street from the Aquarium! This could be a regular stop when visiting Chattanooga!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Highly recommended. Service was excepti ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Highly recommended. Service was exceptional, food was delivered in a timely manner, and was delicious. Great for all sorts of occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennen's offers the whole experience. Fr ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hennen's offers the whole experience. From their friendly staff to the delicious entrees this first visit convinced me that it would not be my last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eugene was our server and all of his win ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Eugene was our server and all of his wine and food suggestions were spot on. Service was impeccable. Restaurant was not too cold but a comfortable indoor temp for a hot summer day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. The service (Tara) w ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was excellent. The service (Tara) was amazing! General Manager came to check how everything was and seemed like he really cares.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizer was good but main courses were ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Appetizer was good but main courses were not, steak was over cooked and was very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My wife and I were in Chattanooga to cel ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I were in Chattanooga to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Hennen's was recommended to us by someone who had eaten there before, and since the restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel we walked. We both had the Prime Rib (which was excellent), and our waiter was very good. The next time we visit Chattanooga, we will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time here after havi ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our second time here after having driven in from Murfreesboro to celebrate our friend's 25 year anniversary. We had requested in advance to have a circular booth but was told there were none available despite seeing some open and across from us was a man and his 6 year old son in a booth. Oh well.

Our waiter Bo was a nice guy but couldn't get it together. Had to be reminded to bring things to the table and then forgot one of our desserts to bring and finally, forgot to bring us back our to go box until we reminded him as we were leaving. I will go somewhere else when we return to Chattanooga as this visit was not up to par with our trip last year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent services and good food.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent services and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We loved this place. The food was incred ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We loved this place. The food was incredible. Our server was amazing. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic, and, if possible ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service was fantastic, and, if possible, the food was even better! Best steak in Chattanooga!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a steak. Over cooked and tough t ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Ordered a steak. Over cooked and tough to chew. Was not worth the price charged. Waitress very polite and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, excellent service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I really liked Hennen's a ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I really liked Hennen's and plan to return. Food was delicious!! Eugene, our server, was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Glad we met him. Not sure if our conversation could be heard by others, and that would be acoustics which are hard to control anyway. Definitely will come back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was not what we paid for. The filet's ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was not what we paid for. The filet's were extraordinarily delicious . And, the baked potatoes were from Heaven. Our 1 complaint was the 5 asparag spears ( a $ 7.00 side) were not enough for 1 person, let alone 2. The seating was weird. We were originally seated in a noisy place with lots of activity. The lighting should have been low and wasn't. They do nothing for birthdays. Great. Who knew? The waiter was so young, didn't even look 21, yet he asked for our I.D.. Mind you, this was my husband's 58th bday, and I am 55. it was not worth the 144.00 we spent for the mal. Yet, there was the filet & the baked potato!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Our Sunday evening visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our Sunday evening visit to the restaurant was overall not a bad experience. The service was average to slightly above average. The restaurant itself was clean and comfortable. In general the food quality was excellent and tasted very good. However, we had several small issues that would make me opt for another restaurant in the future.

1. My glass and silverware were dirty, with small bits of food stuck to them. Replacement glass was clean, and I used the one clean fork I had.

2. Another party at our table found a long blonde hair in her dish approximately 2/3 through her meal. The waiter was appropriately concerned and removed the item from the bill.

3. Drinks are served without ice. When we asked for ice, we were told that the drinking water was triple charcoal filtered, and that the ice was not. I am not sure why the ice machine could not use filtered water, and I wondered what was so bad with the domestic water supply that was apparently still used for washing dishes and food contact surfaces.

4. Two of the 4 chairs at our table were weak and shifted so much that they had to be replaced with more sturdy chairs from another table.

Overall and notwithstanding the issues above, we were impressed with the preparation and quality of the food. The taste and temperature was very good, and if I try this restaurant again the food will be the reason. But operationally they have much to improve upon, with cleanliness being at the top of the list. In consideration of everything, I would likely give this restaurant another chance to see if our experience was a fluke or typical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my 3rd visit to this local Stea ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to this local Steakhouse and each time has been fabulous. I have ordered fish once and the Ribeye 2 times. The fish was moist and translucent and the ribeye was cooked exactly as ordered both times and was tender and juicy. Their grits and asparagus are both great sides and the loaded potato is enough for 2. I have yet to have room for desert, next time my wife and I will split a meal so we can try desert. The only thing at Hennen's better than the food is the service. Brad was unbelievable, he took such great care of us. this is a place that you truly get Value for your money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennon's is supposed to be one of the ni ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Hennon's is supposed to be one of the nicest restaurants in Chattanooga. We went there to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The food was very good, but the service was very poor. We were so rushed it was not a celebration at all. The restaurant was not busy and there was no one waiting on a table. Our waitress delivered our cocktails, but had not put a lime slice on my vodka tonic, so I asked for a slice. By the time she brought it back, one of the kitchen runners was setting the salads on the table. I wanted to enjoy my cocktail before eating. The waitress came by to pick up the salad plates but saaw we were not finished "working on it" as she said ( I hate that phrase) before we finished our salads another kitchen runner showed up with our entrees. Now, my salad plate is still sitting in front of me and my husband's is too, so the runner just stood there and looked at me. I thought she might just set it on top of my salad plate, so I picked up my salad plate and held it in mid air for her to serve my dinner, my husband set his in the window. The waitress came by "everything great?" as she was rushing by and we said we would like "more water" My husband wanted a glass of wine with his dinner, but that never had a chance to order it. Before we were through with our entree, she showed up, and asked if we wanted dessert. My husband said we weren't through eating yet, we didn't know, so she said she had the dessert menu with her so she would just "leave it and let us take a look at it". We were trying to make the evening last a little longer, so we ordered dessert. The runner brought the dessert and set it in the middle of the table since we only ordered one and then picked up the dinner plates so we didn't have to clear the table. and again, before we had even finished the dessert the waitress came with the ticket and said "do you need your parking ticket stamped and I'll just leave this here for you" -- the bill. Yes, by then, we were ready to leave

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great service we were seated fast on a f ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service we were seated fast on a friday night the food came out very quickly our waiter was helpful and knowledgeable the food was good but a piece of my duck was undercooked. Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great salads & great steaks! Wonderful ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great salads & great steaks! Wonderful options for toppings for your steak. We cannot wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a excellent choice. This restaura ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a excellent choice. This restaurant has the finest steak cuts in this area. The hosts are gracious and pleasant. Always come here for that special dinner or to entertain out of town guests. Chattanooga's best !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great ambiance, location and food. Waitr ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

great ambiance, location and food. Waitresses were friendly and knowledgeable

Manager seated us, carried dirty dishes and whatever it took to make things happen for the place to run its best on the 4th of July. thank you for the experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, wonderful atmosphere, ou ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great location, wonderful atmosphere, outstanding food and service. My bride and I eat here each time we make a weekend trip to Chattanooga. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Delmonico steak was the best ribeye ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Delmonico steak was the best ribeye I have had in years. My wife had the scallops and they were awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The steak was wonderful and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The steak was wonderful and the service was exceptional. The vegetables were good however, I prefer them to be cooked a little longer. Just a personal preference. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

When we come to town this one of our sto ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

When we come to town this one of our stops great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hennen’s lived up to its reputation. Gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Hennen’s lived up to its reputation. Great food, a relaxed atmosphere and our waiter was a pro. Food was prepared perfectly, and we weren’t rushed at all. I wouldn’t hesitate to return the next time I’m visiting Chattanooga.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a nice dinner, wine, and excelle ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner, wine, and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.