Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Healthy (14)
Waterfront (14)
Fun (11)
People Watching (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great Beer (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Good news bad news at Hennen's. First the good news; Kristy was an excellent server and took GREAT care of us. She was very professional and very personable . Drinks, apps and salads came out fast and were delicious. The salmon dip with labosh was very tasty and the salads were excellent. Nice atmosphere and we were looking forward to the main course. Now the bad news. There must have been something happening in the kitchen. We waited over 30 minutes for our entrees and no one around us was served either. When the mains were served, we were somewhat disappointed. Although others had raved about the duck, the chef undercooked it and forgot to crisp the skin, so it was flabby, fatty and chewy. My husband's ahi tuna was supposed to be accompanied by "warm sushi rice" and bless their hearts, it was stone cold/ just out of the fridge cold and also it was not sushi rice. Evidently someone put the molded rice on the plate and forgot to warm it. When we ordered the profiteroles for dessert, we were informed that they were out. Evidently someone overcooked the chou pastry. Too bad, so we skipped the dessert. The lovely waitress apologized and explained that they were backed up in the kitchen. The manager did come over to apologize and comped one of our drinks. Kitchen needs fixin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

We are from out of town and knew nothing about Chattanooga restaurants. We took a chance and made a reservation for the night before the eclipse because we were afraid it would be difficult to get in a restaurant anywhere. However, the hostess was doing everything she could to accommodate walk-ins. It was a pleasant evening so we opted to sit outside where we could enjoy the fresh air and watch the world go by.
Our waitress was terrific and catered to our every request. The food was creative and delicious and for once we did not need a "doggy bag".

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

House filet was one of the best I've ever had, perfect crust on outside, herb mashed potatoes were excellent. Had the smoked salmon dip as a starter, nice mild flavor and the large cracker served with it was perfect match. Finished with bread pudding and a cappuccino, perfect evening. Parking is convenient, same building, cost us five dollars.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Steaks had no flavor, we ordered ribeyes and it appeared received sirloins, tough and over cooked as if cooked in a skillet with no seasoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Hennen's. We chose it because of the locally-sourced food, vegan/vegetarian options, relatively quiet atmosphere (great for conversation), and superb food quality. It's a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. If you go, try the duck. Cocktails were wonderful and service was great. Best anniversary dinner in a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I would have rated it a 10 until I saw they charges us split a meal onto two plates. So I'm spending $300 on 4 people and they want $4 for an extra plate.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I should have asked for a nice table when I made the reservation. I didnt and as a result got stuck in a corner up against a wall with a terrible very bad cushion. Loud people in the opposite cubby / corner.
My steak ordered medium came out cold and very rare, got sent back and in the time it took to reheat that my wife had to eat her meal before it went cold. So we both ate separately.

Salad was the best part for both of us.

Ive been here before and liked it and was disappointed for my wife. she had never been there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We drove from Birmingham for dinner. Great meal and service! Reservation definately helped.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Really a great place to eat and relax before going to see 1964 The Tribute at the Tivoli

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First visit and I was very impressed. Service and ambiance was outstanding in both the bar lounge and at a dining table. The food was excellent (I could probably have cut my filet with my fork) . I will definitely return on my next visit to Chattanooga.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Peter the restaurant manager was very accommodating! I had never made special requests before, but he helped make the evening run smoothly so I could surprise my fiancé with a nice birthday dinner! would highly recommend to anyone and we will most certainly be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Eaten at Hennen's many times. Never disappoints, great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was in Chattanooga for business with two clients ( husband and wife )that I was very concerned with making the evening relaxing with no drama. Hennens was recommended by a co worker that had been there a few months ago. I travel and entertain frequently and understand that noise level is something that is situational but we were seated next to a large party, and when I asked if we could sit somewhere else, I was told " well you could always sit in the bar" we should have left then. Our server was pretty much Casper the Ghost most of the night and we had great difficulty getting him to bring any sort of refreshment. At more than two occasions he kept blaming the bar for not getting this done sooner.
The food, COLD. I ordered a Ribeye and my clients ordered Filets. Their Filets were ( warm ) but their veggies were cold. My Ribeye was horrible. Is was cold and full of grissel. In fact my knife wasn't sharp enough to cut through it and the cut of meat was so thin it was like chasing a squid around my plate. The entire meal was expensive and poorly prepared. At the end of our meal, the server was asked to bring one Capachino, we waited 10 minutes then he came and explained the bar was not getting the capachino for him fast enough. At this point, he should not have been the one telling us this, it should have been the MOD.
Very sad to have sat through this, Downtown Chattanooga is fantastic with lots of choices. I made the wrong one on the evening of August 9th 2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I was a little disappointed that our waiter did ask, "Was this a special occasion"?
It was our 47th wedding anniversary and we had never been there before. He was nice and cordial (a little on the mechanical side...like he's been there for several years). He did ask had we been there before, but nothing past that. He disappeared a couple of times and we had to wait for more coffee (so we just asked whoever was passing by...and they were nice) and we waited on a dessert menu. He said he had a friend there and they were talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was okay. I wouldn't recommend to family & friends. My steak was scorch. :-( They ran out of baked potatoes. Mango-peach martini was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was excellent. The wait time for our 9:00 pm reservation was 20 minutes for them to "wipe down our table". Service was slow. I understand the restaurant being extremely busy on a Friday night, but it makes no sense to have quests wait 20 minutes after their reservation time to be when there were multiple empty tables available. However, it was a great dinner, therefore we will dine there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was great. The food was just "ok." Each dish was on the bland side. We dine out regularly, and we look for food that makes us say "wow." For the money ($160 for two including tip), we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As a couple we were seated next to a family with a loud whining toddler. These patrons should always be seated in a section containing other family groups, not intermingled with couples. Our server never offered information or specials which we may have ordered had we known there were specials. He also took our order while dangling over an adjacent step/railing rather than at our table and this is the method he used each time he visited our table The short ribs were tough and fatty and not of good quality. The rest of our meal was fine. The GM was observant to offer us a bit of seltzer water as he noticed us dabbing at stains from dripped sauce on our clothing Perhaps we would return, not sure though.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My first time dining at Hennen's but it won't be my last! Went with my daughter and her boyfriend. It was his first time too and he was equally impressed!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We each had different entrees. 3 great dishes.

Crying child a bit of an environment killer, but not an easy issue for a restaurant to solve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good but not what I expected. Waiter never explained specials to us and I felt as if we were being rushed. Our food came out before we finished our salads.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The prime rib was AWESOME! The crab cakes were even better! However, my wife's steak was very tough and dry. Overall it was a great meal and had great service. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very nice, quiet atmosphere. The food was good. The salads were cold, crisp and really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food, went for our anniversary. Pricey on the drinks but will go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Second visit was as great as the first. Their daily specials are worth trying, but don't look past their melt-in-your-mouth steaks. Everyone is friendly and the atmosphere is casual elegant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We waited and hr and a half for our food after ordering it. We ordered our steaks medium well, they were so well that they were dry and burnt. We will never dine here again. Not worth the experience nor the price. $64 for burnt steak, we've had better at Long Horns!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is a very good restaurant in a very good location. The bar is nice as well as the ambience. You should definitely get reservations in advance unless you want to sit in the bar or hope for a non crowded time. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food! We had Josh as our server and from start to finish, he made lovely recommendations from wine selection to dessert! We had a great night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent choice for our 25 th Anniversary Dinner . Made reservations early in day , seated immediately upon arrival , waiter was prompt , refills prompt . Waiter described all specials of the day which prompted me to try the red snapper . Excellent choice , would definitely have again . My wife enjoyed her meal as well . Plan to return again in the future . Two thumbs up for us !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Martini, was way too strong. We could not take 2 sips. That was $20 down the drain. Prim rib was tasty, but stringy. The sauce was not gluten free as promised, therefore, I was sick.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our Serving Eugene was amazing i will always recommend him when i come next time food was excellent he was very detailed love love love !!!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, People Watching, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Waterfront, Casual, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable & gave good recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Chattanooga. Nice evening so sat on patio. Scallops were excellent as was prime rib. Service excellent. Had after dinner coffee and liqueur in bar. Great bartender.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Can't say enough great things about our experience! From out of town & just what we needed after a long day of traveling!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our favorite place in Chattanooga. Great menu and no disappointments. Try the Calamari and the surf and turf. Knock your socks off!!! Top notch!! A+++++

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal. Everything had a great taste. Waitress very attentive & responsive to our requests.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Husband and I specifically wanted steak so we relied entirely on the OpenTable reviews and picked Hennen's and we are SO glad we did! Our steaks were perfectly prepared, nicely presented and quickly served by a very attentive service team. The manager, I think his name was Paul, also stopped by and visited for a few moments. We will certainly return when in Chattanooga!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic meal at Hennen's celebrating our anniversary. Loved the filet with divers scallops, warm goat cheese appetizer, and the delicious bread that our wonderful server, Eugene, brought us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The restaurant was expensive for the amount of food per plate. Everything is a la carte and the bill for two, splitting a steak, was just shy of $100. Also, there was a table of 14 teenagers directly behind us so noise made it difficult for talking. It was nice to receive a complimentary dessert since 3 of our party of 4 were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.