Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Worth the Drive (31)
Romantic (30)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Waterfront (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We can always count on Hennen's for great food, great service, and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Retirement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

This was my second time at Hennens. I knew I’d be back, this time with a date. The atmosphere is perfect for casual conversation. The service is beyond exceptional. Naturally the food is beyond words can describe. This has become my favorite go-to spot for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The service was excellent. After we ordered server recommended several wines to accompany our food (and allowed us to sample a few before making a final decision). Her recommendation enhanced the meal. I had a perfectly prepared NY strip while my wife’s duck was cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 28, 2017

We were traveling. Decided to get steak and this was an option. Easy to book and convenient to our hotel. The minute we walked in, I noticed this place smelled like a steak house. High level, not overwhelming, just good restaurant smell. Then came the two most delightful young folks to wait on us. Obviously a pro and a trainee, but really not so. Tarah, and the other young woman, were very engaging with us, personable and friendly. Because it wasn’t busy, we had time to share and they left us with a wonderful impression of Chattanooga, the restaurant and themselves. Got to mark it up as one of my finest steakhouse experiences in 64 years. It’s about the people, that make the experience. I’ll never forget this place and will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

The staff was very nice and welcoming. Food was cooked perfectly and everything tasted perfect. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very relaxing atmosphere. Perfect setting for our anniversary.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Wow, the food here is amazing and the service was just great. My husband ordered a NY Strip and I ordered the duck breast. It was all so delicious. Our waiter, Matt, was very attentive. We would definitely go here again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was good, can recommend the Creme Brulee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was okay.. the host told us that we didn't have reservations although I made them on OpenTable.. someone else had to help him find our name. That was almost a disaster. I would suggest that if you are dining with friends and there will be laughter and good conversation, ask to be in the main dining room. We were evidently in the quiet, romantic area so it seemed as if we were disturbing the lovebugs around us. Waitress was nice.. because of the special occasion it ended up being a great dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Always a neighbor favorite place to go. Steaks and scallops are excellent. Very good appetizers especially calamari and fried shrimp options. Waiter we had, an older gentleman was simply delightful !

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Service and Food are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Amazing food and outstanding service, we will be visiting Hennen’s again on our next trip to Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Had a great time spending our Anniversary with the folks at Hennens. We are from out there f town but will definitely be back. Thanks to Gus for being a fantasy server!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal and drinks, my daughter and I we love to go to Hennens restaurant for a nice dinner at least twice a month, now she and friends likes to get together for special occasions.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Service, food and ambience excellent ! Would highly recommend! Will be on our list when we return to Chattanooga!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Steak cooked to perfection. Prime rib price very reasonable for such a nice restaurant. Very professional wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2017

It was very good. It was very quiet. The food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Hennen's for our anniversary. Service was great and the food was very enjoyable. We had a pleasing and a fairly quiet ambiance. We would definitely plan to have another visit when we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We went here during our anniversary visit to Chattanooga. The food and service were excellent! The pricing was also reasonable for the quality of food

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Hostess was rude and the service was poor. Food was good. I really like this restaurant but the associates are not as good as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Overall good dinner experience with excellent wait staff but I was disappointed that they didn't offer or bring my wife a special dessert with us celebrating her 70th birthday and I had put that on the reservations.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We were in town for a Regatta and chose Hennens based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was delicious! Our waiter was super helpful and friendly. My husband ordered shrimp and grits and I had a steak- both were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Hennen’s is one of our favorite restaurants in Chattanooga. We have dinner there at least once whenever we are in the city. The food is perfectly prepared, servings are generous, wine list is extensive, and service is excellent. Paul, who is a sommelier and who has many years experience in the service industry, has been our server on several occasions. We have never been disappointed in Hennen’s and have recommended the restaurant to friends traveling in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The meal was delicious as always. We enjoy eating there when we go to Chattanooga on a weekend trip. It is easy to ride the trolley from the hotel and take a short walk to Hennen's. Service was only fair on this visit. I think our waitress may have been inexperienced. She had trouble remembering facts about the menu and failed to share some of the specials with us that we later over heard a waiter describing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here. The service was grand. Our waitperson was helpful and continued to check in on us without disrupting our conversation. She made certain a special request I had for an item was taken care of. We all enjoyed our meals. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great service always. Wine menu excellent for Chattanooga. Wonderful presentation, correct proportion size, and fuss over the quality, which makes a great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Food and service were incredible, took no time to be waited on and the server brought food out in a timely manner. Provided good details on the specials and also off the menu specials that were running.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I took my fiancé there for a romantic engagement dinner. The food was great and our server went above and beyond expectations. So pleased from our experience on a special night!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My server that night was his. He was amazing and attentive to what ever we needed. It was my anniversary with my girlfriend. She felt special which in turn made me feel special. Will def. We back for more special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had an awesome dining experience at Hennen's. My brother and sister-in-law from Atlanta were impressed with the wine list, menu, quality of the food, and the prices. Highly recommend Hennen's for any special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Hennen’s instantly became a favorite of ours on our first date. Maybe it was the magic that was surrounding us that day but, it has been difficult to match our first experience when we’ve returned for subsequent dinners there. The caliber of servers seems to have decreased and the hostess tried to seat us at the wrong booth when I had requested our special booth a month in advance. But they switched our booth when requested and the food was still good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The overall was a very good experience. However, we each ordered the 7 ounce filet the taste and tenderness was perfect is was very dry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Service was great. Very accommodating regarding preferences and restrictions.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Hennen’s. That staff are usually top notch and service spot on and food delicious. This time was a bit different. I was early, sat at the bar, service and food were great. Once in the dinning room, the service not so much. First let me say, our server was new and trying very hard. A few mistakes along the way, not the end of the world. It’s just not the caliber of service one is a acustom to in such a fine dining establishment. No bread was offered or provided. Maybe one must ask for it now? I don’t know. I certainly did not need it. Dessert nor coffee or after dinner drinks were offered at the end of the meal. However, I did get my check quickly. The only other thing I have to share is the salt and pepper grinders on not just our table but many tables were actually a pair of salt grinders. I had to ask for pepper as well did other quest. Also, our table looked dirty or had smudges on it. It may just be starting to have that worn look about it from time and usage. Like I said, not my normal experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was very good. The calamari was excellent as was the bread pudding. Both of us ordered seafood. The cost was reasonable for the generous portions. The chef accepted a request to add garlic to the spinach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful evening celebrating our 30th Anniversary! Our steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious! Dawn was our server. She was attentive without being intrusive. She made great recommendations which we appreciated. Great overall experience! We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

So good!! Wonderful dining experience and would visit again for sure! Loved Chattanooga!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Another great meal at Hennen’s! Glad to be back and waiting for another opportunity. See you soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.