Hennen's

4.6
1342 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(423) 634-5160
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Marcus
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Paul was our server and he was amazing. Enjoyed the cocktails, entrees, and dessert. I can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great server Maddie. Steaks outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Consistent, high quality food and service in an upscale environment are the reasons we choose Hennen's. They hit the mark again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was fantastic and service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent. Only complaint was New York Strip was ordered Medium Well and was more Medium Rare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Wonderful experience! Food was incredible and wine was PERFECTLY paired to our food selections!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

My husband had the halibut special which he loved. I had the chopped salad with grilled chicken. The server recommended mixing it all up after adding the dressing and he was right on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We had another great experience at Hennen's, celebrating my sister's and my birthdays. I especially appreciate their ability and willingness to customize an entrée to accommodate my need for a salt-free diet. We will definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Prime rib was bland, croutons in the French onion soup were stale, short ribs were tough and the meat tasted off (I sent it back). The two things we had that were good was the white bean dip and my son had tortellini with cream sauce.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 16, 2018

After being there for 15 mins and seeing 3 different waitresses and waiters come by to other tables having lengthy conversations, I decided to go and ask about my table in which I had been sitting at with my boyfriend waiting for a cup of water or anything at all. Many employees past by not even asking has anyone helped you. I had a reservation, but may as well came without one. After walking to the counter to ask a guy about our table; he went to the lady who was suppose to wait on our table. The same waitress who had stood there in deep conversation and stared at our table for at least 3.5 mins asking the group next to us numerous times, did they need anything? I had enough it was my boyfriends birthday and I was embarrassed to be treated as if we were not there. I guess due to our age and being African American we were looked at as if we wouldn't leave a tip. I hated the whole experience, but we enjoyed ourselves downtown in other bars and restaurants. I would not recommend this establishment to any one else!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

A nice date night dinner. The steak was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Dining lunch with hubby. Their unsweetened tea is perfect. Always fresh and bold. Hubby had the spinach salad. This salad is a go-to. Fresh crisp ingredients and good amount in dressing. Very enjoyable. I had French dip and house salad combo. House salad is good/ dependable. Would prefer less iceberg lettuce. French dip is tasty and moist. But the roll was hard on the end like it had been heated up in microwave. Still service is fast, friendly and professional

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Terrible service food was cold manager didn’t care

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Good steaks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The service was excellent, however, I was not impressed with yh steaks. In all honesty, I’ve had better from The Chop House. My steak was rather tough her and the creamy horseradish was bland and lacking taste. The salad was amazing though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This was our second visit to Hennen's. My wife and I carried my parents and we had a superb dinner at a reasonable price. Our servers (Eugene and David) were splendid, very friendly, conversational, very knowledgeable about menu choices and specials. My ribeye was cooked perfectly medium (as ordered) and my wife's red snapper dish was cooked perfectly with excellent taste and texture. We had a great time and will be back soon!

Jack F.
Rome, GA

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Pretty good food but a bit overpriced. Went on a special date but got seated in the bar section with the tvs and loud guests. Service was good but nothing spectacular. Not a bad place, but I won't likely be going again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Fantastic service as aways. The staff made our special evening perfect. The food was delicious! I would recommend to anyone that wants a good experience not just a meal. The wine pairing was spot on, as was the timing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great place close to all activities and full of all the things you want in fine dinning! Location is great, staff was outstanding , food was excellent! Price was on line with chain steak operations! If you want to make a memory, make it Hennins! You will not be disappointed !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Service was excellent, wife enjoyed the atmosphere best steaks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I had the Poached Pear and blue cheese flatbread and it was AMAZING! Riley gave great service! 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent steak and scallops. The shrimp appetizer is very good also.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our server was not attentive and there were long wait times between us being checked on. Another server brought us bread and refreshed our drinks. Longhorn serves a better New York Strip. What kind of restaurant does not have Amaretto for an after dinner drink?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Went for 20th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Steak was over cooked and I had a hair in my food. Gross. Lost my appetite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food was good. Server had no personality!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent food, excellent location, excellent waitress. Recommended by friends and will now be recommended by us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent meal. I ate at Hennen’s three nights in a row while staying in downtown Chattanooga. The Red Snapper, South by Southwest Shrimp and Ribeye were all phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

It was amazing! Food was great...we had the best server...he recommended great food choice. First time and wont be the last.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were referred to this venue as the place to go. Terrible disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our meals were excellent! My wife had the salmon and I had the split bone ribeye which was described as more marbled than the regular ribeye. It was the most enjoyable steak I’ve had in years! Pricey but worth it. The extensive wine list was fairly priced in my opinion. Our wines by the glass were fine and generous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our 2nd Mothers Days visit to Hennen's. I believe it will become a tradition for my Husband and I. The food is outstanding, and our server Tarah was quite accomodating. Answering all our questions and making helpful suggestions. She was attentive, in a non obtrusive way, and made our experience that much better. Hennen's is fortunate to have her on their staff. We will definately return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner with an atmosphere that allowed great conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our waiter was wonderful. He had just the right amount of friendliness and described the dishes very accurately. Our cocktail, a Manhattan was one of the best I've ever had. When we first were seated at our table, I was concerned the large party of students dressed in prom gowns and tuxes would be too noisy. But it turned out to be fine and fun to see all the dresses. The food was very good. I am an accomplished cook myself so I tend to be critical. The steak and scallops was excellent except for the Bordelaise. That seemed thickened with corn starch instead of reduced and I didn't care for it. Everyone had the salmon with spinach risotto. That was beautiful and delicious. Overall, a very enjoyable time and dinner at Hennen's.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Server was great! Food overall was ehhh. Prime rib was extremely fatty and chewy, filet was dry, and the sides were just ok. No plans to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Beautiful outdoor dining area
Food was great: fried shrimp hot and spicy. Pear flatbread delectable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I really want like Hennen's. The atmosphere is nice and the service was very good and I've heard good things from others. However, the food was bland and frankly, it didn't seem worth the cost. I had the special for the day which was tasteless at best. The cocktail I had tasted like cheap coolaide and vodka. I would try it again because it's always possible that it was a "bad day" and the regular menu is better. I would recommend trying it with some reservations...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34