About Hennen's

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
8 More
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (118)
romantic (76)
notable wine list (71)
See All
fit for foodies (58)
good for groups (42)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for outdoor dining (23)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for lunch (21)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (15)
scenic view (15)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never a disappointment. Excellent menu a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never a disappointment. Excellent menu and wine list. My wife and I entertained an out of state client on this occasion. They were very impressed with their experience at Hennen's as we always are.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Very pleasant surprise.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved it. Very pleasant surprise.

food5
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed going out to eat and Hennen's ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed going out to eat and Hennen's is a favorite of ours. The meal was excellent as always. We sat up front with a nice view of downtown. Our server was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service, entrees, desserts, and cock ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service, entrees, desserts, and cocktails were all top-notch. Eugene, our sever, was the best. Will definitely return. The organic chicken is recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. I had the Halibut....s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

First time visit. I had the Halibut....stone seared. Fabulous. Also, the Cosmopolitan Doctor know their business. Will be back when I return to Chattanooga. Good Job Folks! Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food excellent in preparation and presen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food excellent in preparation and presentation and wine list was good and fairly priced Our server did an excellent job and we will return.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent food, high price, grumpy staff!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and two teenage boys here for a Mothers day dinner. The food was good but the service was slow. The wait staff did not smile or even speak at times, they just placed the food on the table and walked away. The price for the overall meal was high compared to other restaurants in the area.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Our server Whitney started out ok but th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Whitney started out ok but then acted like she really was bothered to wait on us. Acted like we shouldn't ask for bread or ice for our water. Never asked if we would Like another glass of wine.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not very special

Dined on May 8, 2016

We typically have had great meals here and for the first time, tried the mother's day brunch. The food was good, but very lackluster, the meat was overcooked meat and not the usual excellent fare that we expect from Hennens, especially for a special Brunch menu. Will probably not return for a special brunch again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat in Chatt!

Dined on May 7, 2016

A great place to celebrate with family! We always enjoy our meals at Hennen's. Great Menu with great food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing time!!! Food was great. Just wen ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing time!!! Food was great. Just went with the recommended wine and food - did not lead us astray!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Date Night

Dined on May 6, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, the waiter was great. They gave us plenty of time between our appetizer and the main course. I was not impressed with the shaved prime rib sandwich. It was bland and there was barely any horseradish sauce on it. My husband enjoyed his burger though, which was perfectly cooked to medium (not easy to find in my experience). We thought it was pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it.

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took my parents here for their anniversary and we very much enjoyed it. Everything we ordered was fantastic. The filet, scallops, snapper, seared tuna, and calamari were fantastically prepared. We also really appreciated Eugene, our waiter; as he was very friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about the menu. Overall we had a great experience and would love to come back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Eugene was our waiter and he left the mo ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Eugene was our waiter and he left the most incredible impression on my boyfriend and I. By far the best waiter I have ever had, he was very personable and really knew how to make one feel welcomed. Every time we go back, were specifically asking for Eugene. Furthermore, the food was impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overnight stay with hubby

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food husband had the red snapper special, he claimed it was one the best he has had I ordered the salmon Cobb salad it was wonderful the homemade pesto dress was delicious light but very flavorful, the salmon was lightly smoked not over bearing. Service by Christy was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Just Okay

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outside seating was nice, potatoes tasted like instant potatoes, short ribs were not short ribs but a chunk of pot roast as it was dry and not fatty as short ribs should be. Service and management was good.

food3
ambience2
service4
value1

OFF THEIR GAME

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to Hennen's a few times and while always pricey nevertheless in the past they have been spot on with the quality of the food, service, and upscale casual ambiance. Not this visit. My wife and I made reservations for 8:30 for our anniversary, arrived at 8:25, and had to wait 15 minutes to be seated AFTER a reservation-less foursome that walked in ahead of us. A bad omen. Our table was in the back of the restaurant, by the kitchen, in an elevated section located directly adjacent to the bathrooms and inline with the pass-through to the bar. We had no view of either the street or wine cellar, for which Hennen's are justly renown. The noise was just short of deafening and my wife and I had to lean in and shout at one another to be heard. The bright spot was our server, Culton, who promptly greeted us, took our drink orders and was attentive throughout our meal. After our drinks arrived, my wife ordered the stone seared salmon with creamy spinach risotto and I ordered the 14-ounce prime rib with grilled asparagus. We both had the house salad, she with balsamic vinaigrette and I with the buttermilk herb dressing. The salad was nothing out of the ordinary, and if I was a betting man I'd wager it arrived at the restaurant premixed in a plastic bag. The greens were dry and leathery. Our entrees arrived and, again, we were less than impressed. My wife's salmon was overcooked and her risotto was pasty, not creamy, although it did have a good flavor. My prime rib was a joke. It was barely half an inch thick and I'm sure far from the advertised 14 ounces. I ordered it medium but it looked like had been thrown on the flattop to reheat and was definitely closer to well done than medium. Desert was equally uninspiring. We probably should have complained but Culton was doing a great job and neither of us felt like giving him grief. Bottom line: $158 later, I felt like it had been a great night for Hennen's but not so much for us. Next time, we'll go to Longhorn.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service i ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent and the service impeccable!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Steak Done Well

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hennen's made our steaks perfectly. Our waiter was very knowledgable, drinks were overpowers and the service was even better than the food. We went when it was Prom night and there were several teens having their special meal. It would have been nice not to have all the kids, but we were all young once.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Eugene as a server. Efficient an ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Ask for Eugene as a server. Efficient and knowledgeable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food

Dined on April 23, 2016

They ready for us and made us feel special. The food and service was phenomenal.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow... Simply amazing!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Words cannot describe how amazing this place was. I scheduled a reservation here for my boyfriend and I to celebrate his birthday, and let me tell you, we were NOT disappointed. Everything was delicious. We ordered the shrimp as an appetizer, and the sirloin and baked potato as our entree. The shrimp was divine, the sirloin was cooked to perfection, and the potato was cooked perfectly. Everything was brought out hot and fresh, even the bread that they brought to us with our appetizer. The sweet tea was even amazing, it wasn't too sweet, and it wasn't bitter at all. Absolutely loved it, and I cannot wait to come back again!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding as alw ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food and service were outstanding as always great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Dinning here is always a pleasure. Lobster bisque is awesome. Duck and fillet are fabulous. Desino malbec wine too berry tasting

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great svc & good menu choices

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Our server was really friendly and informative about the food and drinks. We enjoyed the dining experience expect that the outside seating although nice in itself,is noisy because it is on a main street downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennen's Restaurant - FRESH seafood and steak

Dined on April 9, 2016

I enjoyed a lovely artisan cheese platter with bread and unusual -but yummy -preserves. The cheeses were all delicious! My chardonnay wine was perfectly chilled. I had an attentive waiter. The best part? My FRESH snapper dish! It was a special, not on the menu, served with a shrimp risotto. Thanks to Luke, my Uber driver, for recommending this restaurant to me!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good time

Dined on April 9, 2016

Every time we are in the city we have a dinner here. The food is always very good. It's a relaxing atmosphere and a good time. Always look at the specials but the menu is excellent. Service is always well done and not invasive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always excellent.

Dined on April 6, 2016

It is always excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday, outstanding wine list, shared an Aussie Shiraz. She had Prime Rib, cooked perfect, I had New York 14oz strip, w/onions, also cooked perfect. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for a Saturday night.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was pretty good, ambience was perfect. My only qualm would be the limited beer selection. Otherwise, highly recommend if you're looking to impress friends/fam.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood at its best

Dined on March 25, 2016

This is always a wonderful resturant for fresh seafood inChattanooga, TN. A wonderful waitstaff with all of youyour favorite cocktails and wine selctions accompanied along with rare fresh appetizers and entres inthe area. Always Great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dining experience

Dined on March 22, 2016

Hennen's is our go to place for special occasions. We know everything will be perfect, and it always is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough positive things about H ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Can't say enough positive things about Hennen's! My husband and I are regulars and it's so nice that the entire staff (hostess, servers and managers) always make us feel right at home. As if the staff and ambiance aren't enough the food is fantastic! The seafood dishes are by far my favorite. I typically choose the salmon but you can't go wrong with any of the seafood specials. I'm a picky eater when it comes to preparation but they are always willing to accommodate any special requests. I highly recommend this neighborhood gem!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice downtown spot

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Had dinner here while we were in Chattanooga. Started with Calimari that came out piping hot. My husband got the mussells as a main course. Probably needed more to eat than just that. I had the trout with the lentils. It was cooked with Lemon slices inside, and the whole dish was really tasty. Service was very good. Prompt and friendly. Would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st time there! 10 Year Anniversary! AWESOME FOOD

Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed the food! Our waitress Tara was awesome, so was her sister! :-) Tara took care of us for the majority of the time. Sister stepped in when Tara was taking care of a bigger party in the adjoining room. We tried new things from appetizers to desserts! Tara was very knowledgeable with the entire menu. Only part of the meal I didn't enjoy was my Chocolate Cheesecake... it had a funny taste to it, but that's okay! I would come back again, it was the best part of our short get away, to be honest our Hotel was horrible - no more Choo Choo for us! Thanks for making out dining experience awesome on our 10 year anniversary!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always enjoyable

Dined on March 12, 2016

Have been going to Hennens ever since it opened and have never had a bad experience food and service both have always been great

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We ate outside and it was vey nice. Exce ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

We ate outside and it was vey nice. Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Service

Dined on March 9, 2016

We treated ourselves to dinner for our anniversary. The food was wonderful and the service even better. Our server was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu items and wine list. We highly recommend Hennen's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Steaks were overcooked. The food was ove ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Steaks were overcooked. The food was overpriced. Service was adequate, but could have been more attentive, especially as the restaurant wasn't that busy. Overall, not really impressed, considering Hennen's is listed as a "top 10" restaurant in Chattanooga.

food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday and wanted ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday and wanted a quiet place downtown. First time at this restaurant although we tried to get their one time before. First our waiter - Gus was just perfect, providing a solid dining experience, available when needed and not overbearing. Decent wine list, with a nice light Calamari. The wedge salad was adequate- but the main dish (I had a Delmonico steak, my wife had Lamb Shank); both quite good. Our dessert- warm chocolate cake with ice cream too much. We will be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.