Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Casual (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Waterfront (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Authentic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great Beer (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent choice for our 25 th Anniversary Dinner . Made reservations early in day , seated immediately upon arrival , waiter was prompt , refills prompt . Waiter described all specials of the day which prompted me to try the red snapper . Excellent choice , would definitely have again . My wife enjoyed her meal as well . Plan to return again in the future . Two thumbs up for us !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our Serving Eugene was amazing i will always recommend him when i come next time food was excellent he was very detailed love love love !!!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, People Watching, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Waterfront, Casual, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable & gave good recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Chattanooga. Nice evening so sat on patio. Scallops were excellent as was prime rib. Service excellent. Had after dinner coffee and liqueur in bar. Great bartender.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Can't say enough great things about our experience! From out of town & just what we needed after a long day of traveling!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our favorite place in Chattanooga. Great menu and no disappointments. Try the Calamari and the surf and turf. Knock your socks off!!! Top notch!! A+++++

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very much enjoyed our meal. Everything had a great taste. Waitress very attentive & responsive to our requests.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Husband and I specifically wanted steak so we relied entirely on the OpenTable reviews and picked Hennen's and we are SO glad we did! Our steaks were perfectly prepared, nicely presented and quickly served by a very attentive service team. The manager, I think his name was Paul, also stopped by and visited for a few moments. We will certainly return when in Chattanooga!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic meal at Hennen's celebrating our anniversary. Loved the filet with divers scallops, warm goat cheese appetizer, and the delicious bread that our wonderful server, Eugene, brought us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The restaurant was expensive for the amount of food per plate. Everything is a la carte and the bill for two, splitting a steak, was just shy of $100. Also, there was a table of 14 teenagers directly behind us so noise made it difficult for talking. It was nice to receive a complimentary dessert since 3 of our party of 4 were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Josh and Desiree did a great job making us feel welcome and special on our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Hennen's is a exceptional restaurant! It ranks in the top 10 dining experiences my wife and I have enjoyed. Ambience is sophisticated but comfortable and not stuffy
Suitable for all ages or any occasion but definitely for special times.
The menu is not huge, but all Seafood and vegetables are all fresh
Meats top quality and service always attentive .
We appreciated the time that Peter Rodriguez the manager spent talking with us not only about our experience at the restaurant but about ourselves ...
And our adventures in Chattanooga.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Kristy took great care of us tonight at Hennen's. She was delightful, warm, welcoming and attentive. The Bluecumber cocktail was very tasty and our steak was cooked to perfection. We would definitely come here again when we are back in town. We had a great walk by the river after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

hennen s was a very good place to eat . food was great< service was awesome. very pilite and very helpful with food and drink

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Chattanooga. I recommend it to everyone for amazing service, outstanding food and lovely atomosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Very good restaurant recommended by a friend. Steak prices rival Prime. That would be my only criticism. The steak was very good and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

As always, a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent as always. Our server, Josh, was great. Food well prepared. Great flavor. Choices for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hennen's is the place in Chattanooga for steaks. We had an excellent meal with outstanding service. Our next visit to Chattanooga will include a return trip to Hennen's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was wonderful. However, the drinks were over priced. Three drinks were over $60. Nearly half our bill. But, the food was completely worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is second to none in Chattanooga and our server, Josh, is the best we've had since moving to the city in 2012. The atmosphere is great and the location is perfect. I would highly recommend Hennen's for any setting, and especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Mussels, Rainbow trout and flounder were all exceptional! Caesar salad and house salad were wonderful. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Consistently good food, ambiance and service. Server'a recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Our server, Brad, was outstanding. The Seafood chowder was delicious, the pasta was fresh al dente and the shrimp, mushrooms and peppers added a really great flavor to the dish. My husband had the salmon and it was cooked to perfection, delicate and flavorful. We ended the evening with the profiteroles and they were so good. Love this restaurant. We ate outside with our 2 Yorkies!!! We all love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Hennon's, and a special night out for us -- no kids! At first I was concerned, because there were a lot of very casually dressed folks, and we were placed right beside a very large group having an event. But it was a great experience. The group behaved nicely, and we have a great date night dinner.

The service was GREAT! We started with the Warm Goat Cheese plate -- very yummy -- and they even made changes to accommodate a concern I had with the usual bread served with it. The Prime Rib was cooked perfectly and very tasty, as was the Duck. It was perfect. The roasted sweet potatoes was a perfect match for the duck and sauce.

For dessert we had bread pudding and puff pastries filled with ice cream and topped with chocolate and butterscotch sauces. It was all so delicious.

Everything was great -- the food, the wine, the service! We will definitely go back again whenever we can!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Service was excellent. Samantha was our server she was very knowledgeable and provided a great customer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We were visiting from Atlanta and chose Hennen's because of proximity to our hotel and because it is on Open Table. From the minute we entered, we were made to feel very welcome and not hurried in any way. My friend & I took the suggestion of our BEAUTIFUL waitress, Bailey, and ordered the specials of mushroom soup and the flounder fish. Dish. Both excellent, and just enough for the two of us. Or husbands were just as satisfied with their choices of crab cakes and trout dishes , respectively. It was a delightful meal and lovely ambience. We were able to talk comfortably. A lovely evening!! Have recommended it to friends and wil most definitely go there next time we are in 'Nooga.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Everything was very tasty. We had seared tuna appetizer, chicken marsala, prime rib, french onion soup, caesar salad, creme brulee at lunch. Would have been nice to know the "market price" of the tuna in advance, as it ended up being the most expensive item we ordered and didn't know it. Also, saw bread at other tables but didn't get any. Iced tea only okay, and even somewhat bitter. We expect great iced tea in the South. This wasn't. Put these are all picky complaints. The quality of the meal and service was solid.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great wine list. Exceptional steaks and seafood. Top choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great time at Hennen's where you can always count on great food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at Hennen's several times and always been pleased. A few years ago my sister and brother-in-law, who are from Atlanta, joined us for dinner there before our attending Riverbend. Now it's become an annual tradition. The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food is always excellent as is the service. I would definitely recommend Hennen's!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best steak I have ever eaten. Service was great and dessert was awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Prompt service by friendly knowledgeable staff with great wine list and menu. Had two chef specials and both were great and the dessert was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food and service were top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ordered the Braised Short Ribs and the meat was tough and it tasted like there was no seasoning on it. The beef was served on top of mashed potatoes that were runny and bland.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was good, but nothing spectacular. Our steaks were a bit overdone. The service was a slow. But they did give us a free dessert for our anniversary and I thought that was sweet.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food. Paul was a fun waiter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was fine except for vegetables not cooked well. Broccoli was undercooked and asparagus very plain. Dessert was mediocre for a restaurant of that caliber. Also overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was my first visit to Chattanooga and after doing a google search this restaurant came up with good reviews and we gave it a shot. We were not disappointed the food and service were excellent and inviting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.