Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Cozy (18)
Casual (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Waterfront (12)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was satisfactory, not a knock, manager was great, server was cool, just didn't feel like the food lived up to the atmosphere... the food was decent and all notthing wrong, just didn't leave wowed... prolly try a different upscale location next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food is great and service very attentive. We always request Paul who serves wonderfully.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful! We picked this location for our post-marriage dinner and it was fabulous! I dont remember our servers name, but he was very accommodating.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a great night at Hennen's . Our server, Gabriel was excellent. He offered great advice on food and drinks, making suggestions for extras without ever being pushy. Our food was hot and delicious and the fresh bread before the meal was fantastic. We were too full for dessert but plan to go back soon just for that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was fair, the waitress was non-existent and overall it was mediocre at best. There are many other better choices in Chattanooga that are so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The seating organization promotes a quiet, cozy feeling. The staff is very attentive and answers all your questions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Gus was an excellent waiter, and the food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great Food! Cassidy, our server, provided excellent service! She was knowledgeable about the menu, had great recommendations and helped to make it a great experience for our Anniversay dinner.

EXCELLENT Creambrulle that we took with us and was still wonderful an hour later.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very disappointing all around. The food was not cooked properly and the service was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was amazing. We got the warm goat cheese appetizer. For dinner my wife got the Delmonico Ribeye and I got the Pan Seared Duck Breast. The service was amazing and for dessert we got the bread pudding. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Gus was our server tonight and he was excellent! Our food came out very quickly. I had one of the daily specials, Filet with Scallops, and my wife had the Filet. I added the Boursin topping to my steak. Both of our steaks were perfectly cooked to medium rare. In our experience of eating around Chattanooga - Hennens is one of the most consistent restaurants. On top of the great food, you also get great service - the staff at this restaurant are not pretentious like they are at other nearby restaurants! We can't wait to go back again. One note, we made reservations ahead of time for Saturday dinner - I would highly recommend doing the same if you are going to eat here because it is very popular in this area.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server and food was outstanding!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The price was very expensive and I won't be able to go there unless a very important celebration. Just too expensive to enjoy for no reason!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Drinks has too much alcohol, waiter unapologetic , steak not good , fish soggy, waiter tried to steal our Parking refund.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food & service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Super good food for a casual yet upper class feel.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Unbelievable food at great price, very good service

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was really good and service was outstanding. Definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Matt, our server, did a great job. He was professional and pleasant and checked on us often. Food was great. It was our 25th anniversary and we chose Hennen's on a recommendation. It was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Good news bad news at Hennen's. First the good news; Kristy was an excellent server and took GREAT care of us. She was very professional and very personable . Drinks, apps and salads came out fast and were delicious. The salmon dip with labosh was very tasty and the salads were excellent. Nice atmosphere and we were looking forward to the main course. Now the bad news. There must have been something happening in the kitchen. We waited over 30 minutes for our entrees and no one around us was served either. When the mains were served, we were somewhat disappointed. Although others had raved about the duck, the chef undercooked it and forgot to crisp the skin, so it was flabby, fatty and chewy. My husband's ahi tuna was supposed to be accompanied by "warm sushi rice" and bless their hearts, it was stone cold/ just out of the fridge cold and also it was not sushi rice. Evidently someone put the molded rice on the plate and forgot to warm it. When we ordered the profiteroles for dessert, we were informed that they were out. Evidently someone overcooked the chou pastry. Too bad, so we skipped the dessert. The lovely waitress apologized and explained that they were backed up in the kitchen. The manager did come over to apologize and comped one of our drinks. Kitchen needs fixin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We are from out of town and knew nothing about Chattanooga restaurants. We took a chance and made a reservation for the night before the eclipse because we were afraid it would be difficult to get in a restaurant anywhere. However, the hostess was doing everything she could to accommodate walk-ins. It was a pleasant evening so we opted to sit outside where we could enjoy the fresh air and watch the world go by.
Our waitress was terrific and catered to our every request. The food was creative and delicious and for once we did not need a "doggy bag".

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The restaurant has a good ambiance for business dinners where conversation is important. The restaurant uses multiple levels of seating that really cuts down the noise of other conversations. The food was very good and the wait staff very attentive. We asked for additional time between courses and the waiter timed everything out perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

House filet was one of the best I've ever had, perfect crust on outside, herb mashed potatoes were excellent. Had the smoked salmon dip as a starter, nice mild flavor and the large cracker served with it was perfect match. Finished with bread pudding and a cappuccino, perfect evening. Parking is convenient, same building, cost us five dollars.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Steaks had no flavor, we ordered ribeyes and it appeared received sirloins, tough and over cooked as if cooked in a skillet with no seasoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Hennen's. We chose it because of the locally-sourced food, vegan/vegetarian options, relatively quiet atmosphere (great for conversation), and superb food quality. It's a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was great. If you go, try the duck. Cocktails were wonderful and service was great. Best anniversary dinner in a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I would have rated it a 10 until I saw they charges us split a meal onto two plates. So I'm spending $300 on 4 people and they want $4 for an extra plate.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I should have asked for a nice table when I made the reservation. I didnt and as a result got stuck in a corner up against a wall with a terrible very bad cushion. Loud people in the opposite cubby / corner.
My steak ordered medium came out cold and very rare, got sent back and in the time it took to reheat that my wife had to eat her meal before it went cold. So we both ate separately.

Salad was the best part for both of us.

Ive been here before and liked it and was disappointed for my wife. she had never been there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We drove from Birmingham for dinner. Great meal and service! Reservation definately helped.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Really a great place to eat and relax before going to see 1964 The Tribute at the Tivoli

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First visit and I was very impressed. Service and ambiance was outstanding in both the bar lounge and at a dining table. The food was excellent (I could probably have cut my filet with my fork) . I will definitely return on my next visit to Chattanooga.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Peter the restaurant manager was very accommodating! I had never made special requests before, but he helped make the evening run smoothly so I could surprise my fiancé with a nice birthday dinner! would highly recommend to anyone and we will most certainly be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Eaten at Hennen's many times. Never disappoints, great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was in Chattanooga for business with two clients ( husband and wife )that I was very concerned with making the evening relaxing with no drama. Hennens was recommended by a co worker that had been there a few months ago. I travel and entertain frequently and understand that noise level is something that is situational but we were seated next to a large party, and when I asked if we could sit somewhere else, I was told " well you could always sit in the bar" we should have left then. Our server was pretty much Casper the Ghost most of the night and we had great difficulty getting him to bring any sort of refreshment. At more than two occasions he kept blaming the bar for not getting this done sooner.
The food, COLD. I ordered a Ribeye and my clients ordered Filets. Their Filets were ( warm ) but their veggies were cold. My Ribeye was horrible. Is was cold and full of grissel. In fact my knife wasn't sharp enough to cut through it and the cut of meat was so thin it was like chasing a squid around my plate. The entire meal was expensive and poorly prepared. At the end of our meal, the server was asked to bring one Capachino, we waited 10 minutes then he came and explained the bar was not getting the capachino for him fast enough. At this point, he should not have been the one telling us this, it should have been the MOD.
Very sad to have sat through this, Downtown Chattanooga is fantastic with lots of choices. I made the wrong one on the evening of August 9th 2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I was a little disappointed that our waiter did ask, "Was this a special occasion"?
It was our 47th wedding anniversary and we had never been there before. He was nice and cordial (a little on the mechanical side...like he's been there for several years). He did ask had we been there before, but nothing past that. He disappeared a couple of times and we had to wait for more coffee (so we just asked whoever was passing by...and they were nice) and we waited on a dessert menu. He said he had a friend there and they were talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was okay. I wouldn't recommend to family & friends. My steak was scorch. :-( They ran out of baked potatoes. Mango-peach martini was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was excellent. The wait time for our 9:00 pm reservation was 20 minutes for them to "wipe down our table". Service was slow. I understand the restaurant being extremely busy on a Friday night, but it makes no sense to have quests wait 20 minutes after their reservation time to be when there were multiple empty tables available. However, it was a great dinner, therefore we will dine there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was great. The food was just "ok." Each dish was on the bland side. We dine out regularly, and we look for food that makes us say "wow." For the money ($160 for two including tip), we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As a couple we were seated next to a family with a loud whining toddler. These patrons should always be seated in a section containing other family groups, not intermingled with couples. Our server never offered information or specials which we may have ordered had we known there were specials. He also took our order while dangling over an adjacent step/railing rather than at our table and this is the method he used each time he visited our table The short ribs were tough and fatty and not of good quality. The rest of our meal was fine. The GM was observant to offer us a bit of seltzer water as he noticed us dabbing at stains from dripped sauce on our clothing Perhaps we would return, not sure though.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My first time dining at Hennen's but it won't be my last! Went with my daughter and her boyfriend. It was his first time too and he was equally impressed!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.