Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Casual (18)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (7)
Scenic View (7)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 12 hours ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Steak was tough. The waitress was fabulous. That was the only redeeming service of the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything clicked. The service was attentive and informative. The menu had a lot of offerings. The food was very good. Well worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the scallops which were very tasty, but not hot enough. My wife had the filet
Which according to her was very tasty, but not hot enough. The service was not quite up to par for this type of establishment; for instance not having bread plates after the bread was served (they were brought late) and having to ask for a steak knife. There was some kind of disagreement with a customer seated behind us and a sever and the manager finally had to come to the table. This was distracting and was just a negative experience. We paid the bill in cash and waited a long time to receive our change; long enough that we wondered if the server thought we wanted to tip her what would have been a 45% tip. Overall this was not a great experience for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hennen's never disappoints and every aspect of dining there is consistent and exceptional. The menu and prices are varied so it is easy to find something you'll like at a price within your budget; portions are generous and always creative and delicious. They have a full bar and the wine list has many reasonable selections and a generous pour to boot. Both the hostesses and wait staff are friendly and professional and the noise level in the restaurant allows for easy conversation while the bar is more vibrant and has generous seating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wife and I dined on a Saturday night, and had an enjoyable experience overall. Service was excellent.
Food overall was ok. I had a strip ordered medium rare. Came out closer to rare but charred. Wife had the shrimp and grits, which was marvelous. Menu had the right balance, with a nice variety of offerings. Wine selection was admirable. Price was satisfying. Will likely return next time we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our service was good but the food was not up to the quality we have had there before. My wife had the shrimp and grits and the shrimp tasted like it was old, heavy fishy taste which is a sign of aged seafood. I had the Ribeye Steak and it was on the tough side. We have eaten there before and the food was better previuosly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was perfect... When it's a special occasion I always go to Hennen's as I know the food and service will be perfect.. So no disappointments...

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lobster Bisque and crisp cold Cesar salad are very good. Wish their dessert menu varies day by day.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic wait staff, delicious and expertly prepared food in a lovely setting, what more can a diner ask for, we highly recommend Hennens.

The calamari was tender and the ginger sauce a nice compliment. Steak was done exactly as requested, topped off dinner with profiteroles!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have eaten here many times and it has always been an excellent experience. Therefore, my friend was visiting from Florida and I took her there to have a nice dinner. She ordered the salmon which was excellent; however, my sister and I's food came out cold and we had to send it back, the table behind us sent their food back as well. The wine glasses our server brought us were dirty and our server was not very attentive. The manager walked by the tables several times but never stopped to address any tables even after we had sent our food back. The bathrooms were dirty and the restaurant just didn't seem up to the caliber I had previously seen. On our way out the Hostess asked us how our dinner was, we briefly told her about our experience and asked if it was under new management. She said yes and he was trying to do things differently than they had previously been done. Our suggestion was that maybe his new way of doing things wasn't the best way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food - prime rib was outstanding. Prepared as we had ordered and very little fat. The smoked salmon appetizer was delicious. Service was attentive but not overly so. Nice wine list - we found a number of choices that would not break the bank. Overall a very pleasant experience. Sorry it took us so long to try this place, but we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I made reservations at Hennen's because my wife and I were going to be in Chattanooga for our anniversary (we visit Chattanooga about 2-3 times a year). We had never been to Hennen's before, but it had good reviews online and the menu looked appealing. It also came highly recommended by a couple we met at an event earlier that day, so we were looking forward to our dinner date.

At Hennen's, our service was good but not great. Our server was friendly but not personable. Despite us telling them it was our anniversary, there was no mention of it by the hostess or the server. Not a huge deal, but when you make a reservation for a particular event, it's nice to have the staff acknowledge it. We were never offered a wine list. And we had to ask what certain specials were, instead of the server offering that info proactively.

The food at Hennen's was tasty, but not memorable. My wife ordered a burger which was cooked properly but the bottom bun was soaking wet, which made for a messy experience. I ordered the ribeye with Brussels sprouts. My steak was cooked properly, but not very flavorful. The sprouts, likewise, were OK, but undercooked.

For dessert, we were offered a blackberry cheesecake. When it arrived, it was garnished with strawberries. When I asked the server about this, he was completely dismissive and just said, "Oh, we were out of blackberry," and walked away. Not cool.

That said, the food was still good. It just wasn't great, and certainly not what I expected for the prices and the reviews I read. But where Hennen's shines is the ambiance. It is a lovely, modern restaurant on a busy corner in downtown Chattanooga. So there's plenty of people-watching to be done if you have the right window view.

Will we go back to Hennen's next time we're in Chattanooga? Maybe. I'd like to try some different menu items, and hopefully get a different server, one who actually makes an effort. But based on this first experience, Hennen's isn't at the top of my list.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was not impressive, not well seasoned, soup was not hot, and the service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good. they got the steaks wrong the first time around but the second time they were perfect. Waiter was great. He was very helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server was fabulous. Our food tasted great, everything was perfect. Unfortunately I went to take a forkful of pepper and noticed the produce sticker still on the pepper. I've never made that mistake while cooking at home and I don't want anyone else to make it when cooking for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

AMAZING FOOD! Awesome, knowledgable waitress :) Would definitely go back again and recommend to all my friends. Pricing wasn't bad at all but I'm from San Francisco so everything here was pretty cheap to me :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We first visited Hennen's several years back as we were in Chattanooga for a friend's wedding. From that first visit, we were immediately hooked by the friendly service, comfortable atmosphere, and the extraordinary food. We actually live a good distance away in another state, but anytime we are even close to Chattanooga, on business or pleasure, one of our main priorities is to treat ourselves with a trip to Hennen's. This was our 5th or 6th trip to Hennen's and we were equally impressed as we were on our first visit. Great restaurant!! Highly recommend if you are anywhere close to Chattanooga.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very friendly, quick to seat us even though we were early. Professional server who was knowledgeable and friendly.
Food was cooked great. Would recommend to my family and friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great dining experience. Staff was knowledgeable and attentive. Restaurant manager was very personable and made sure everything was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere were all excellent. This was our second time to eat at Hennon's. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The menu offers a lot of variety and the seafood is outstanding. I would highly recommend dining there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Trout and ribeye were excellent!! Josh was a great waiter!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The only disappointment was the servers were near us and visiting got a little loud. We never got bread for our meal and the sever overcharged us for a beer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was my first visit to Hennen's and I was pleasantly surprised. My whole experience was excellent. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was exceptional. I will return in the near future and tell my friends about Hennen's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Casual, Disabled Access, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Dined here a few nights ago to celebrate a birthday and was pleasantly surprised. I've lived in Chattanooga for over 10 years now and have always heard good things about Hennen's, but have never actually eaten here. We were greeted immediately and seated just seconds after we arrived. Our server, I believe her name was Christine, was the perfect example of "present, but not intrusive." She was able to sell me on a bottle of Pinot noir, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and I also went with her recommendation of the crab cakes. We ordered steaks as entrees and the steaks were cooked perfectly. I have no complaints at all about the food, ambiance, or service. I had an amazing experience here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to have a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Great menu and great server.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food wasn't good at all but the ambiance and the service was great. The steak was burnt and I ordered it medium. I sent it back and they brought out another burnt steak

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Was an amazing meal and great atmosphere. Will return for many more meals.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The total experience was excellent! The food was outstanding. The lobster bisque was fantastic and my date's salad was excellent. Service and attention to detail was superb and it was nice that a manager came by to ask about our experience,

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great duck breast and lamb shank. Server was very attentive but not overly so.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dawn was a great waitress! Attentive and enjoyable server

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was AMAZING! Our server, Tara, was outstanding! Very attentive and made us feel so special! It was our anniversary and everybody just went above and beyond to make it a real occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful dinner at Hennen. The wait staff was courteous and friendly and the food was amazing. We enjoyed the poached pear and blue cheese flatbread for an appetizer. The group or special was phenomenal. We finish with dessert of profiteroles and crème brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always, Hennen's provides some of the best service in the area. The most friendly servers, with great attention. Love going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food , reasonably priced our server was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered my Ribeye medium. The first one came out severely charred on the outside. The second one came out and it was some better, but still charred. I am not a fan of that taste at all. The lobster bisque was really good and the crème brulee was the best we have had.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I truly enjoy dining there. A family member came from out of town and we dined there and we both thought it was great so I always try to come back as much as possible. The waitress, however, did not announce herself which would have been very nice to have known her name without asking. That is about it, overall great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A good place for steak and cocktails. Nice wine and cocktail selection. It's a good restaurant, but it's difficult for me to point out anything spectacular about our dining experience, other than it's close to the Aquarium and they validate parking. Culton, our waiter, was attentive and polite. The owner enjoyed teasing him, by calling him Trump Jr. Note: booths sit very low - I'm 5-11 and the table came up to my chest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, the service was GREAT, and the food was AWESOME.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.