About Hennen's

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
7 More
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (50)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (44)
good for groups (37)
great for outdoor dining (27)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

They did many things right, but my steak ...

Dined 5 days ago

They did many things right, but my steak was cold, not cooked properly (I ordered medium rare and it came out rare) and the lobster bisque was lobsterless and bland. We had a good experience, but I wasn't blown away. The bread was excellent and the crab cakes were pretty good! I get the whole "no salt on the table" thing, but you have to have well seasoned food in order to be that bold.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated Golden Anniversary and was no ...

Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated Golden Anniversary and was not disappointed with Hennen's as the place to do so. The waiter was attentive, the steaks were cooked to perfection and the loaded baked potatoes were tasty. My wife enjoyed a glass of Zinfandel. We shared a salad and grilled asparagus. As a gift to us on our special evening the restaurant provided a delicious chocolate swirl cheesecake-slice. Plan to enjoy Hennen's again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I had been here before, on a ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had been here before, on a weekday. We were not aware of the shorter hours on weekends so we had to stand in the heat after walking 5 blocks due to no parking available nearby, that we were aware of. Since there weren't more than about 4 couples waiting to go in, it would have been nice if they would open the door an let people in until they started serving. The do have seating in the front. Especially when several employees just hung around the front desk doing nothing discernable. My wife and I are over 60 and we were miserable. We almost went somewhere else just to get into air conditioning. Food was good and the service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good overall. Sirloin Steak was a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very good overall. Sirloin Steak was a little tough. I asked for rare on prime rib and it was a little more on the rare side than I liked- however, I just know now to ask for it to be done a little more. Great atmosphere. Validating our parking was a nice touch. We plan to take friends there in the near future.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in Chattanooga with great ser ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Best steak in Chattanooga with great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul was my waiter and he was very effic ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Paul was my waiter and he was very efficient and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good, server was very plea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good, server was very pleasant but a bit inexperienced or may have been hampered by timing of food coming from the kitchen. I have been here several times and the fish dishes have always been excellent. Also had a chopped salad which was a bit different from usual offering and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

You can never go wrong here. The service ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

You can never go wrong here. The service was not as good as usual but that may be because of the last day of riverbed was when we went.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and great Fren ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food, great service and great French Onion soup, a must have if you go there!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I were there for the first ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My friend and I were there for the first time. The service was excellent. We both had a filet and potatoes. They were excellent. We both had a coctail with dinner. Both were great ... And the alcohol to mix ratio was perfect. We chose a chocolate martini for dessert, and ended up having two. The location was perfect for a pre-Riverbend dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent dinner. A bit on the noisy si ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent dinner. A bit on the noisy side.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. This was the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service. This was the second time we have dined here. As good as we remembered. Wish we lived closer to enjoy it for all our special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We travel back and forth between Chicago ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We travel back and forth between Chicago and Marathon in the Keys. Wouldn't miss a opportunity to stop in Chattanooga and dine in Hennens. Great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blucucumber cocktail was fantastic, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Blucucumber cocktail was fantastic, the steak was delicious and our server, Brittney, was absolutely the best!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely anniversary evening

Dined on June 8, 2016

Came here for our anniversary and it was perfect! Excellent food, romantic ambiance, wonderful staff...overall fantastic! And we didn't spend too much money! Have the shrimp and grits!!! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambiance. Food was outstanding.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Loved the relaxed feeling of the restaurant. Our waiter was outstanding and very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and impressive menu. S ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service and impressive menu. Salmon entrée with spinach risotto was on point. Beef filet was extra tender and herb mashed potatoes were creamy and fluffy. And try the chocolate cake. It's flourless and yummy.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I stayed in chattanooga for ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I stayed in chattanooga for our anniversary. We chose to eat at Hennen's over every other restaurant. We were so glad we did! The food was outstanding and the service excellent. I would highly recommend Hennen's to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time and we lived the food and the ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

First time and we lived the food and the facilities

food4
ambience5
service5

The server was great and the food was gr ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The server was great and the food was great!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was great, Lamb was tough/ gammie,

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first time, we thought it was a little more upscale, but it was a mix casual and business casual . We loved the crab cakes and salmon dip, rib eye steak was juicy and cook perfectly. We were disappointed in the lamb as it was a little tough and gammie tasting ( for the price we expected more). Desserts were awesome. Our service was awesome and made our celebration a nice experience. Wine list was nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 27, 2016

Traveled from TX to visit our son who lives in that area. Wanted to take him and his GF to a nice dinner. The food was superb.. The only flaw in the evening was our waitress. . her mood was sour, she wouldn't smile, despite our attempts to be kind to her. I even told her I loved her earrings. She had a grim look on her face, and there was not a smile to be had! We watched other servers, and they were all happy and pleasant. Every other restaurant we went to during our stay, be it, bar, breakfast, etc.. the servers were friendly... We dropped $300.. here. BE FRIENDLY! that's all.. it never hurts to smile. But the steaks were VERY good!!!! So go for the food..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good meal at reasonable prices.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food selection was great, from lamb shanks to good selection of sea food. Something for everyone. Quality wine but not extravagant wine list. Super desserts and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Been there about 6 times over the past 3 ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Been there about 6 times over the past 3 yrs. I'm not a full time resident or we would go more often. Everything was very good as usual. We usually go for special occasions and they do not disappoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never a disappointment. Excellent menu a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Never a disappointment. Excellent menu and wine list. My wife and I entertained an out of state client on this occasion. They were very impressed with their experience at Hennen's as we always are.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Very pleasant surprise.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved it. Very pleasant surprise.

food5
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed going out to eat and Hennen's ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed going out to eat and Hennen's is a favorite of ours. The meal was excellent as always. We sat up front with a nice view of downtown. Our server was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service, entrees, desserts, and cock ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service, entrees, desserts, and cocktails were all top-notch. Eugene, our sever, was the best. Will definitely return. The organic chicken is recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. I had the Halibut....s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

First time visit. I had the Halibut....stone seared. Fabulous. Also, the Cosmopolitan Doctor know their business. Will be back when I return to Chattanooga. Good Job Folks! Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food excellent in preparation and presen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food excellent in preparation and presentation and wine list was good and fairly priced Our server did an excellent job and we will return.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent food, high price, grumpy staff!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and two teenage boys here for a Mothers day dinner. The food was good but the service was slow. The wait staff did not smile or even speak at times, they just placed the food on the table and walked away. The price for the overall meal was high compared to other restaurants in the area.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Our server Whitney started out ok but th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Whitney started out ok but then acted like she really was bothered to wait on us. Acted like we shouldn't ask for bread or ice for our water. Never asked if we would Like another glass of wine.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not very special

Dined on May 8, 2016

We typically have had great meals here and for the first time, tried the mother's day brunch. The food was good, but very lackluster, the meat was overcooked meat and not the usual excellent fare that we expect from Hennens, especially for a special Brunch menu. Will probably not return for a special brunch again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat in Chatt!

Dined on May 7, 2016

A great place to celebrate with family! We always enjoy our meals at Hennen's. Great Menu with great food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing time!!! Food was great. Just wen ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing time!!! Food was great. Just went with the recommended wine and food - did not lead us astray!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Date Night

Dined on May 6, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, the waiter was great. They gave us plenty of time between our appetizer and the main course. I was not impressed with the shaved prime rib sandwich. It was bland and there was barely any horseradish sauce on it. My husband enjoyed his burger though, which was perfectly cooked to medium (not easy to find in my experience). We thought it was pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it.

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took my parents here for their anniversary and we very much enjoyed it. Everything we ordered was fantastic. The filet, scallops, snapper, seared tuna, and calamari were fantastically prepared. We also really appreciated Eugene, our waiter; as he was very friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about the menu. Overall we had a great experience and would love to come back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Eugene was our waiter and he left the mo ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Eugene was our waiter and he left the most incredible impression on my boyfriend and I. By far the best waiter I have ever had, he was very personable and really knew how to make one feel welcomed. Every time we go back, were specifically asking for Eugene. Furthermore, the food was impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overnight stay with hubby

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food husband had the red snapper special, he claimed it was one the best he has had I ordered the salmon Cobb salad it was wonderful the homemade pesto dress was delicious light but very flavorful, the salmon was lightly smoked not over bearing. Service by Christy was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Just Okay

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outside seating was nice, potatoes tasted like instant potatoes, short ribs were not short ribs but a chunk of pot roast as it was dry and not fatty as short ribs should be. Service and management was good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.