Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Romantic (54)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Notable Wine List (32)
Business Meals (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Casual (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Waterfront (11)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Healthy (9)
Scenic View (8)
Private Room (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place. I got the filet and my husband got the special which was red snapper. Also got the French onion soup-not out of this world but better than average. Both came out well, reasonable prices and easy location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and the staff went above and beyond to make my night special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect all around. Our waiter Coleen was exceptional 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Table available early, tasty specials, fun craft cocktails! Overall great experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Thanks. Everything was great except for cleanliness of a bus boy, who kept running hand thru hair and then combing hair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Service staff was wonderful, food was great. The only thing that was not perfect was that the beer was from a bottle. Really great restaurant with great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous place! Ate there two nights in a row and going back this evening! There are enough great things on menu we are not repeating anything!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is a nice, urban, upscale steak and seafood restaurant. The biggest limiting factor in the past year or so has been service quality, which seems to have declined quite a bit, but the chef is capable and the ingredients fresh. This is the kind of restaurant where it is safe to order the chef's daily special and expect quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious Steak and Salads and Sides. Great service and very clean

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This may be my favorite restaurant in Chattanooga. It is locally owned and operated. The food and service quality is consistently good. The ambiance is upbeat and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cant go wrong here. The food in great every single time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, and food was excellent. Parking is free above the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service by our server Joshua. Joshua was very friendly, informative and an awesome addition to our Mother's Day meal. He suggested other places to visit while we were in town.

Super job Joshua & Hennen's!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my boyfriend & I's first time dining here. We have no complaints! Food was incredible, service was amazing, dessert was awesome.. keep up the good work! I will definitely be recommending you guys a lot!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Hennen's is a hidden gem in downtown Chattanooga. The food was amazing and very well priced. The service was impeccable as well. I will definitely come back even if it's just a weekend drive up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The people were friendly and the food was great! Thanks for a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Chattanooga! Never disappoints! Food is always delicious and the service is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fabulous food. Great waiter. Totally loved the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great prime rib and nightly seafood features. Great service consistently. We visit every time we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The portobello sandwich was bland as you can get. Plain cheese, few pieces of bell bepper and a few pieces of sweated white onion. The tuna starter was tasty, but not the best I've had. Not a bad experience in the restaurant, but the food was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I like garlic as much as the next guy or gal, unless that person prepares the vegetables in Hennen's kitchen! Then apparently they like it way more! Steak was excellent though!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful creative culinary charmer!! Outside dining was very pleasant. Fantastic service by Charlie & Casey. Great job by chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great meal. Sunday night dinner was excellent. Monk fish was prepared gluten free for myself and pasta for my date was fab. Convenient location to other activities. Nicely done seating floor plan with just enough privacy. Molly, our waitress, did an excellent job at service, being there when we needed her and not there when we didn't.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The good was great as always and Colton did a nice job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Hennen's is a good restaurant for fine dining and especially work dinners or special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Has yet to let me down! Food is fantastic and service and terrific. Worth every penny!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and fabulous service. Fun times at Hennen's!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our dinner was great, we had the daily special: halibut, and duck confit. We both loved our dishes. The only problem was our waiter. He was nice, but way too talkative and stopped by our table every few minutes. It was hard to eat without him standing over us and talking about, well everything. Should I keep eating while he's standing there talking, or do I wait until he leaves.... Think he was trying to be friendly and energetic, but it was too much, we just wanted to be left alone a bit more. The food was very good even though it was prom night and the place was full of teens in their gowns and suits. Lucky we had made reservations through Open Table! Thanks for the convenience of Open Table! Reservations seems like a very good idea on all nights though. Best creme brûlée I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Hennen's has been one of my favorite Chattanooga restaurants since they opened. Saturday was my birthday, and we wanted a special evening out, and we got it thanks to our server, Josh and Hennen's chef. We both had the red snapper that was the special, served over Israeli couscous with mushrooms and gruyere cheese. For dessert, my wife had bread pudding, which she loved, and I had the chocolate molten cake which was my chocolate fix for about 2 days. Josh took great care of us, and we enjoyed sitting outside on a pleasant evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice ambiance , good food and very gentle waiter. Prices on winelist unfortunately somewhat over the top. But we selected a good Chilean cabernet sauvignon with our steaks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

While the Duck was the best our friend ever had her husbands steak was so full of grizzle he left behind 25% of his meal. My wives scallops was wonderful but my NY Strip was over cooked. Server did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

In our neighborhood and we go there often. Service was not good compared to usual. No offer of bread, appetizers served with salad ..... rushed . My son ordered a cocktail with coke.... just got a coke... kind of crazy. Food was exceptional but felt very rushed. Neighborhood favorite place but getting tired of feeling like a number and rushed thru dinner. It was my birthday and I felt rushed.... dessert should have been an experience and it was so-so. Losing faith in Hennens to deliver an experience. They need to step it up for regulars in the neighborhood that support them .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food! We had the duck and steak and both were awesome. Steak was a little salty but once you scraped some of it off then it was great. A little pricey but well worth it. Great service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The waitress was very nice and actively served us. I was very pleased with the service.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I went to Hennen's for our 11th wedding anniversary and​ it was amazing. Everything we ate was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The experience was excellent overall. Our server was very personable and attentive The food was delivered hot and fresh and staged by the server with appropriate timing.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Calamari was cooked to perfection and paired with the sauce was amazing. Prime rib and salmon excellent and cooked to perfection. Bread pudding excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Colton took great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great time, me and wife celebrate three years of marriage. The waiter was outstanding do issues. Next time we visit Chattanooga must stop by Hennen's for diner.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The best prime rib I have eaten in the last three years. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.