About Hennen's

Hennen's is an upscale yet casual restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and certified Angus steaks, using the freshest local ingredients available...

Hennen's is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga, next to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX Theater & within walking distance of several area hotels.
An elegant ambiance is centered around the 2,400 bottle wine cellar located in the middle of the main dining area.
Hennen's also features a full bar, patio dining and dedicated private dining room.

193 Chestnut Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 634-5160

Website:
http://www.hennens.net/

Parking Details:
Parking validation in the Riverpier Parking Garage located directly above the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Electric Shuttle and Bus depot is located within 100 yards of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hennen's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have eaten here twice both romantic oc ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I have eaten here twice both romantic occasions and the atmosphere is well suited for this type occasion

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding as ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service was outstanding as it always is.Henans is our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with excellent serv ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent service and food. We choose to eat in the bar area even though we had a reservation because we like this area and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service was fabulous as alw ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The meal and service was fabulous as always. My favorite place to get a steak in Chattanooga. Delicious filet and a great warm chocolate cake. Yum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pretty good, wait staff was ver ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was pretty good, wait staff was very good. Excellent location in downtown Chattanooga. Fairly expensive for entrees but sides & salads were reasonably priced. Probably won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant. Service was excellent. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaurant. Service was excellent. Food also very good. Duck breast was outstanding. Great wine list. Food comes quick so be sure to let your server know if you want to take your time. Creme brulee was the best I've had in years. Thanks for a superior experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good food and servic ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always consistently good food and service!

We have been coming to Hennen's since it

opened.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hennen's again met our expectations. Se ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hennen's again met our expectations. Server was outstanding. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ist time there & we found it to be a nic ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Ist time there & we found it to be a nice place to celebrate our anniversary. Our waitress was excellent as well as our food! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Christmas Eve

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an early "pre-theatre" dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed an early "pre-theatre" dinner for 4. The wait staff was very attentive to our time requirements and served us well. The food and wine were delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine there.

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had reservations for 8:15pm, but we w ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had reservations for 8:15pm, but we were not seated until 9pm. We sat at the bar and had a great time. Busy busy busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is always cooked as ordered. Server ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food is always cooked as ordered. Servers are great@

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Salad came before appetizers . Salad ca ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Salad came before appetizers .

Salad came before cocktails

Alicia server was great.

Eaten there many times, live in neighborhood. It was a Christmas event for us. Good food, horrible sequence and we were rushed out. Very very disappointed!

Supposed to be nice experience. Never been disappointed before. This was a major disappointment.

Have manager all me 217-801-2128

Larry schumacher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Red snapper and shrimp risotto was devin ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Red snapper and shrimp risotto was devine... do not miss!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service is excellent and the food o ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service is excellent and the food outstanding. The Hennen's filet is tasty, tender and juicy and prepared exactly as requested. The Trout was also excellent. We always eat in Hennen's when we visit Chattanooga.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for the wife and I for ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Made reservations for the wife and I for our 45th anniversary. What an outstanding choice for a special celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening there. Really nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service. Perfec ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Perfect location for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sides were meh. Filet was cooked perfect ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Sides were meh. Filet was cooked perfectly but cut was marginal at best.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband took me to Hennen's for my bi ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband took me to Hennen's for my birthday and the food and service were both superb.

We had the white bean hummus dip with warm flat bread and it was wonderful. His steak was great and my halibut and fennel risotto was outstanding. Very pleased and would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent. Easily the best steak in Cha ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent. Easily the best steak in Chattanooga. The chefs are able to cook to order, and I am always impressed by the quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything except the location of ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Loved everything except the location of our table - up towards the door. If we had planned a romantic evening instead of ones with friends I would have. Even very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ,nice way to celebrate my wif ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food ,nice way to celebrate my wife's birthday

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservations and walked in and didn ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

Made reservations and walked in and didn't have to wait at all which was great! The staff were all very friendly and the restaurant was nice and quiet. We ordered the steaks and they came out cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful. We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with an old friend. Excel ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great dinner with an old friend. Excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat with friends or have ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place to eat with friends or have a date. Wonderful service and so many great choices on the food. Well worth the trip. You will need to make reservations, this place gets busy on the weekends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eugene is always our favorite server!. H ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Eugene is always our favorite server!. He always knows what we like and is quick! The food is phenomenal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, drinks and service. My frien ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, drinks and service. My friend's steak was a little cool when it arrived and they were very apologetic and fixed it immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Fantastic service. Ask for Eu ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food. Fantastic service. Ask for Eugene, super knowledgeable and very attentive. He made the entire experience great !!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So not impressed. I handed my ID to the ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

So not impressed. I handed my ID to the waitress and she looked at it and couldn't read the box that said under 21 until 2012! Not because it was faded or anything but because she couldn't do math. So she was gonna have to get a manager to look at it. So instead I handed her my handgun carry permit. Second my steak was cooked medium rare after I ordered medium well so that was fixed but a manager never apologized. Third my card was charged three times my bill and the waitress didn't even notice. I had to point it out! Thank goodness I was paying attention! So she goes to fix the problem and it takes 25 minutes. She comes back with it ran for the correct amount and didn't bring the copy where she had voided it. She had to dig it out of the trash. That should be expected. I shouldn't have to ask for that. FINALLY a manager came and apologized but that was it. Nothing taken off my bill and a half hearted apology. We went for my boy friends birthday. Would NEVER go back. Super disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

Visited for a dinner with friends. Menu ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Visited for a dinner with friends. Menu was varied with enough for everyone. Service was on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here on several occasions, ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We have eaten here on several occasions, birthdays, New Year's Eve and business dinners and we have never been disappointed. A must for locals to frequent, as well as visitors to our city. Great atmosphere and value, yet moderately upscale. Love it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Dawn, was great! Kept us lau ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our server, Dawn, was great! Kept us laughing and we relied on her to recommend drinks and dishes. I had a part 5 and a filet. Both were amazing. Since moving to Tennessee we've had a hard time finding good food and we were very happy with hennens. We went back the next night and had the ahi. This is a great place and being able to make reservations was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience. Food really good. ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely experience. Food really good. Ambience very nice. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and was thrilled it was within 2 blocks of our hotel. Easy walk to river area and other attractions. We wanted to watch the Notre Dame football game and we got perfect seats at the bar with an accommodating bartender who turned it on for us! Great food and ambiance - will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, , Hot Spot, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was one of the best I've had.

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The filet was one of the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My bride and I eat at Hennen's each time ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My bride and I eat at Hennen's each time we make a trip to Chattanooga. Wonderful place, great service, outstanding food and good value. It is one of the highlights of our trips.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The service was excel ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good. The service was excellent. I selected midrange for the value because this is not a cheap place and it is not supposed to be one. Two people with drinks should set you back $100-$150 and it did. We would repeat

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food was outstanding! And th ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service and food was outstanding! And the meal was not too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.