Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Henderson Castle

3.4
32 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
Located on the steep slope of West Main Hill, this historic work of architecture is none other than The Henderson Castle, established in 1895.
Here at H Prime Chop House we take pride in offering prime beef from local farmers in South West Michigan whenever possible. Only the best cuts are selected to enter our dry aging locker. We are proud to offer to you a sampling of the bounty harvested in this great state, whether grape jam and wine from our own vineyard, or fresh caught Great Lakes Walleye.
Dining Style
Elegant Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily 8:00 am–9:30 am
High Tea
Daily 12:00 pm–3:00 pm
Dinner
Wed–Sun 5:00 pm–8:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(269) 344-1827
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Francois Moyet
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
W Main St
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Visit our website for information about our monthly public events: Murder Mystery Dinners and Princess Tea.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 32 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.4based on all time ratings
3.6
food
3.5
service
3.9
ambience
2.4
value
Noise · Quiet
59% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food is delicious and each course is perfectly timed. Lobster bisque is a must. Lobster entree was slightly over cooked, but the Filet Mignon was superb, exactly to medium rare. The Castle has beautiful woodworking throughout, but the curtains need a good dusting. It is a very quiet setting. Service is always perfect. After tip and tax, expect to pay $100 per person.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We ordered ribeyes, and asked for them to be cooked medium. They were more well don5e, dried out and didn't taste well. It was too late in the evening to have them redone as she offered, so she gave us free dessert. Well that wasn't much because you could get free dessert if you filled out a survey. No manager came to talk to us and they offered no money off.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Atmosphere was beautiful and that is the only good thing about eating there. Food was SLOW and mediocre. Our order went to another table, they did not tell us about but it we saw it happen. It took another 1/2 hour to remake our food and we were not informed of what was going on. Will not go back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Frozen oysters - over promised, under delivered. The menu depicts a fine dining experience which was a nightmare. No chef. Not good

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

As a "prime chop house" you have an expectation for a high quality meal for the chop house price. Steaks lacked flavor. Appetizer never came and was removed from bill. One sauce was missing. Salad and dessert were good. Went on a Sunday evening and was disappointed and unlikely to revisit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The Brie appetizer & Tomato Bisque soup were excellent as was the salad. The Filet Mignon was horrible. Chewy, tough, no flavor not what you expect for $59.00. Told the chef/owner our experience and did not have the entrees removed from the bill. We did receive a bottle of Michigan Cab which was not good either.

I won't be returning. And you should reconsider if thinking of dinning there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Waits are long due to the setup not a traditional restaurant. Entree was delicious. Staff was very nice but understaffed and not the talent expected for the prices. Expect a long dining experience - gives you a lot of time to enjoy your company though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Steaks came med rare, even thou ordered med we’ll, and waitress said that happens 9 of 10 Times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

The staff was overly accommodating. Steven was helpful, kind and thoughtful. I would recommend this B & B to everyone. We truly loved it and can't wait to return in the summer.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Stay away. Worst service ever! It was so bad they didn’t even ask us to pay our bill.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 6, 2017

My husband & I went for a date night hoping for exceptional service & food in a unique setting. We walked in to someone in a rehearsal dinner party shouting at either a server or manager about customer service. Our host seating us was gracious and apologized and gave us multiple seating options. After seating us we waited for our waitress, the bartender checked on us but did not take our drink order. After a significant wait our waitress arrived, took our drink order & appetizer order (the cocktail shrimp - her recommendation). I ordered the Henderson Castle Chardonnay & my husband the Frank Henderson. Both were decent and as expected. Dinner was ordered next and our wedge salads & lobster bisque arrived together, which was awkwardly placed on the table. Again the salad was average but the lobster bisque was outstanding. Different than what we'd had before & exceptional in flavor. I ordered the Filet with Au Poivre sauce on the side and my husband the Ribeye both dry aged 65 days. Those came after quite a wait & no offer to refill our beverages. When our main course arrived they were definitely something to write home about - they steaks were cooked perfectly to order & exceeded our highest expectations. Unfortunately we can not tell you how the Shrimp cocktail was as it was never brought.
The 2 tables around us seemed to be having issues either getting their questions answered, their drinks brought promptly & another table had their appetizer forgotten as well. I also over heard a woman ask for toilet paper when she used to rest room (at the beginning of our meal), my husband also noted the restroom was out. I thought for sure I'd be safe going at the end of our meal but alas, the restroom was still out of toilet paper.
So to sum up the trip: Steaks were outstanding but the service left a lot to be desired. And NEVER should the public restroom be out of paper products for 2 hours. That leads me to believe it was like that for the entire night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food, great service. Inn staff was very chatty, a little too much so. But waitperson was excellent. I do not like the tablet menus at all. Hard to read in dim light and a little hard to navigate. You have to scroll all the way back to the end to see the wines. Should be more user friendly. Also, tablets should be very clean and not all smudgy and fingrtprinty. Nice overall experience, the bisque was divine and steaks were perfect.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 10, 2017

This was seriously the absolute service I have ever experienced! A couple of weeks ago, my husband booked dinner for two on Open Table. A few hours later, an employee left a voice message to inform us that the reservation wasn't available because they were hosting a wedding. My husband called back to reschedule and was on hold for over ten minutes. He hung up and tried calling back later. An employee answered the phone and asked to call him back in a few minutes but never did. A different employee called the next day to inform us that there was nothing they could do about the reservation.The manager apologized and sent us a $35 gift certificate for our troubles.

Fast forward to yesterday: We visited to redeem our gift certificate. Our food didn't arrive until an hour into our service; we were the first and only customers in the dining room at the time, and what did arrive was soup (which was cold), wedge salads and bread. We still waited another twenty or so minutes for our entrees. My husband ordered his steak well done only to discover a blonde hair in he steak (the waiter observed this as he watched my husband cut into his steak). The steak was also very rubbery and the fat wasn't well-trimmed. We clearly expected a better quality steak for the price! The manager offered to prepare his steak again and offered half off our order, so my husband agreed to have the meal prepared again, thus waiting even longer. When the server brought his steak back, it was dripping blood! Had there been pink, my husband would have eaten it even though he ordered it well done; however, the steak wasn't even medium--it was rare. At that point, my husband said he was no longer hungry and we asked for the bill. The server did apologize again, while the manager quickly retreated to another table. We paid the remaining balance of the bill and left. No one said a word or apologized as we left. Needless to say, we will never, ever, ever be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 25, 2017

The waiter made us uncomfortable. We ordered an appetizer and when our dinner arrive it hadn't come out yet. I asked and he said it was coming. We finished our dinner and waited another 30 minutes until our appetizer appeared. We then finished that and wait 40 minutes for some service. There were 3 couples in the whole restaurant and the server was no where to be seen. We finally went and found him and asked for service. We were going to get dessert but it had already been 2 hours + and we were afraid it would take another hour for the dessert. The food was good - very pricey but good but unfortunately everything else spoiled it for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2014

What a gorgeous place, inside and out. We were greeted right away by a very nice gentleman. We did the 11 course tasting course & I don't think any one of us was disappointed with any of it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 25, 2014

It was nice to be able to say you have dined here! Nice story, however not somewhere i would eat again. The sorbet was the best thing i had from the 11 course meal. The bread was warm and crusty which is a plus. Lobster bisque was nice my date ate the whold bowl and that was his first time having it. Was a great birthday celebration for him.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2014

We celebrated my daughter's 25 birthday at the Castle and it was a memorable experience. From the time we walked into the front door you treated us like VIP's and that was so special to my daughter. Franklin was a gracious host and Micheal was an awesome waiter with a vibrarant and professional personality.

The food was fantastic and I really appreciated the special touch of the Birthday Cake. We will be return guests, and I have told several friends about our Kalamazoo Gem.

Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2014

Very nice. Would recommend to everyone as it is a one of a kind experience. Limited menu. Pricey but worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2014

We'll to start off they served sparkling water and we had to ask for tap water. The pork tenderloins were the size of a half dollar and you get two with a round scoop of potatoes. The flounder was a 3x3 piece and super mushy and it's flavor was bland with a scoop of rice. The steak was ok and a good size. If you pay the extra 9.99 and get the lobster tail its 2 inches wide and 5 inches long. There were crumbs under the white linens from a previous meal. We got a bottle of Henderson wine 32.00 and it was ok. All in all...we will not be back. The castle is not taken care of, it's dirty and there is not proud ownership or well management of the castle which is sad because it's a great part of Kalamazoo history.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2014

The food was fabulous! Our waiter (squirrel) was a lot of fun.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 16, 2014

We went here because of the Groupon for the 11-course meal for 4. We thought it would be a good deal to try somewhere new and different. What we found was bland and average-at-best food, subpar service, and an added-in 18% gratuity for a group of 4. Now I am normally a very good tipper, but it also depends on the service. The fact that they add in the gratuity on the actual amount of the bill before the Groupon is taken off meant our not-so-great waitress got a $65 for basically doing nothing. The food was much worse than I would expect for somewhere that normally charges $70/person for their 11-course menu, which is actually about 8 courses. We will never go back and will advise friends to avoid as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2014

Great building and location. Delicious food. Inattentive staff at times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2014

We celebrated our Anniversary here and we had the 11 course meal, which was fantastic. Our Waiter was always attentive to our needs and was a great waiter. We hope to come back on another anniversary and enjoy what they have to offer.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2014

I made reservations and four of us went to Henderson Castle for lunch for the first time. I order the pork tenderloin dinner; the fresh green beans were cold, and the pork and mash potatoes were heated up left overs. (bone dry) We mentioned the problem to the waitress, and she stated she would advise the owner/chef. He must have had something else on his mine, because we saw him several times in the restaurant but he never spoke. I guess there is a reason for us being the only four customers in the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2014

Had the 7 course meal. Very well done, each course was great, beef was tender, perfect dessert.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 24, 2014

This was my second time at the restaurant. I wanted it be better than my first experience; unfortunately it was not. I find the quality of the food inconsistent both times and not worth the cost. Tomato soup was ok, presentation of my chicken was excellent but the chicken was too tough to cut. I have never experienced chicken like that before, the bread rolls reminded me of store bought vs. bakery, and the dessert - chocolate mousse was excellent. Overall, the experience was ok - Megan, the server is outstanding - great customer focus, friendly, responsive. After living in France for a year and then just returning from a three-week vacation, the food at Henderson Castle is uneventful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2014

Enjoyed a great brunch with friends in a lovely setting. We all enjoyed our meals and our server was excellent. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2014

My family and I from the south side of Chicago were visiting our other daughter at WMU, and decided that having a memorable pre-Easter dinner was the perfect gift we could give our daughters at The Henderson Castle. A beautiful table setting and atmosphere, our friendly and accommedating waitress Megan, answered all are questions. We had the four course dinner this time, but, will definitely will try the other dinners offered next time. Compliments to the Chef and we definitely will pass the word on for a Special Stop for those parents that plan to visit WMU in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2014

Food was good, but portions were VERY small. Ex. Normally escargot would be 5 or 6, I received 2. I would have expected a more elegant dessert than just a cup of chocolate mouse and perhaps a choice would be nice. Not a good return for the money paid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2014

The dining area is romantic and beautiful, the staff is over the top friendly, food was excellent and in good portions. They grow their own grapes for their wine which is delicious. You have go there at least once, everyone should experience this kind of dining.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2014

We went for a nice dinner as had heard that it was quite nice. There was no hand rail going up the icy steps which made it difficult. We were handed hangers and shown the coat closet. After being seated, we were greeted by our server. We were immediately asked if we wanted the 11, 7, or 4 course dinner. We asked to be able to look at the menu 1st. Within 1 minute, we were asked again. Same response. There were 3 wines to choose from by the glass. The unmatched flatware was placed incorrectly at our place, the wines were brought 5 mins later and served to the wrong person as were the entrees. The food was DELICIOUS. The lack of service ruined the entire experience. Not offered coffee.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 1, 2014

Although the food was good, and the ambience unique and historical, we found the meal overpriced for the quality. We ordered tje 11 course menu for $79/person. The entrees and appetizer lobster bisque were fantastic, but most of the rest of the meal was not particularly special. Our wait staff was helpful and friendly and even clued us in to a Groupon coupon which helped. Dining at the castle was a one-time event for us.

Report
Helpful