Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Hemispheres Restaurant & Bistro

3.7
44 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups
Hemispheres Restaurant is taking part in Winterlicious 2017 this year and is offering lunch for $23 pp Monday-saturday and dinner for $38 pp from Mon to Sun. Hemispheres Restaurant is located in The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and is open daily for breakfast lunch and dinner. Our dinner menu offers some of Chef Cheung's specialties such as cider glazed salmon, butter chicken, seafood pasta and many more mouth watering dishes. Hemispheres Restaurant will be taking part in Winterlicious 2017 and you can find our menu posted in the menu section. Hemispheres offers a special prix fix menu for lunch and dinner that changes weekly. Our Bistro is the perfect spot for a cozy drink or delicious meal with friends.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am -11:30am, Saturday and Sunday from 7am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday -Sunday 11:30am -2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Bistro open daily from 11am to 11 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 599-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Raymond Cheung
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dundas St. W
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complementary parking is offered to our guest.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
St. Patrick station (3 minutes), Dundas station (5 minutes)
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Special requests and large parties are very welcome
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 44 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on all time ratings
3.7
food
4.0
service
3.5
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great staff. Excellent food. Needs some new menu items !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Great service. Very patient and accommodating waiter.
A good quiet restaurant for a get together for conversation. Close to the Textike Museum whuchbwas great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The hostess and server were very nice. Their selection of wines were very limited. The menu was small and I expected more for a new years eve meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Positive experience. Good food, great service, nice atmosphere. Good go to place for conversations.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Service was great. Food was ok. Nothing special. Incredibly over priced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 4, 2017

I made a reservation expecting to be in the dining area but for some reason they did not have the dining area open at 6:00 pm so four of us were crammed around a small cafe style table for dinner in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2017

We visited the restaurant on a number of occasions given we were in Toronto for five nights. One reason we chose to stay at the DoubleTree was the bar and restaurant. We LOVE the bartender, Dennis and the staff. Superb!! 5 STARS!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2017

After our orders were placed, I never saw our server again until we got the check. Dinner took an hour to be served, during that time, no one stopped in and checked on us or apologized for the wait. Our drinks were never refilled and no one bothered to ask us how our meals were. To top it off, patrons that were seated after us received their meals before us. The food was ok, but not worth the money or the poor service. We felt as though we were on a candid camera TV show, because we couldn't imagine the service could be that bad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2017

Good selection with specials for the particular night. Reasonable wine and beer menu. It was very quiet the night we were there so good for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food! Great service! Very pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed the evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2017

Win terlicious early! lunch with collegue who ordered mushroom soup( very salty and barely warm) salmon pot au feu ( very enjoyable, delicate and balaced in flavour and ingredients, good satisfying portion) and desert which we had to take to go after 90 minutes
At the start my guest ordered hot water with lemon and a teapot and 3 sevments of lemon arrived promptly just as I arrived and asked cor same...what I was brought was a an empty cup, not a pot of hot water or any lemon; did the server decide that One pot and lemon = 2 ?!?
I had the vegetable tart that came with a small frisee salad....very nice presentation and taste, except for crust- thick and heavy, looked store bought, instead od a lighter ,maybe filo or a rolled out mille feuilles to match the delicate frisee lightly seasoned salad
The salmon pot au feu was very good, light,satisfying,most enjoyable
The opera cake was not worth its name
The server was not attentive, short in responding our question and had helitosis
The restaurant is very nice and in the past I 've had good experiences at Hemispheres
If salmon pot au feu is not on the menu, it should be and I would gladly return for that
Thank you for following up and asking for feedback

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a first visit - went for lunch during summerlicious. Had the most delicious and imaginative salad made with pickled pears and papaya vinaigrette,. Main course was something new to me - salmon poached in a light broth with vegetables , again delicious. Dessert was opera cake - nice but not made at the restaurant so doesn't really count. Sent the main course back because it wasn't hot despite waiting quite awhile between salad and main course. Got back a beautifully heated replacement with a smile and apology.
Service was friendly, great waiter but needed another person on the floor to cut the wait times. Overall the restaurant left a good impression.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for Winterlicious lunch on a Saturday. The food was very average. There were not many customers, either. Service was just ok.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 19, 2016

The restaurant was CLOSED - despite having a confirmation # and several reminder emails from open table/hemispheres. So embarrassing. Never again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was yummy and delivered fast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2016

This was a first visit for lunch after seeing an exhibit at the TextileMuseum. The room was well appointed and quiet, and the service prompt and efficient. We all were very pleased with our food choices and will definitely return -- perhaps coupled with a visit to the AGO.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent food. Attentive service by all staff and quiet comfortable atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Another Centre Street Gem located with the other one in the Double Tree Hotel on Centre Street. Hemisphere is bright and cafe-life with window seating at street level. My Thai Salad with grilled shrimp was fresh and delicious with just the right amount of heat for me. The service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. Someone from the restaurant called earlier in the day to verify the reservation and was there to greet us when we got there . The evening turned out great, relieving my mind since I had made the reservation and we were all from out of town.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2016

First of all we did enjoy ourselves. I a reservation 2 months in advance for the restaurant. We were sat in the bar. Waiter was really nice. Food was really good. Just a little noisier than I would have liked.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2016

I was visiting from Vancouver, stayed at Doubled and had a get together dinner at Hemisphere with family living locally. The restaurant has a lovely ambience, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the meals we ordered but not wowed by it. A very pleasant evening.
Betty

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2016

I needed a quiet restaurant that was easy to get to from the Textile Museum as I was with a couple of seniors. The University/Dundas area has many restaurants but I wanted to get my companions out of melee for a truly peaceful meal and this was the perfect spot. Plus, the Green P parking under City Hall was just down the road. So perfect for logistics. Plus the food was good - nice fresh ingredients and the usual fare but with a bit of a twist. The service was super friendly and patient.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was only just ok. It was a disappointment. I expected better quality. Decor has also dropped from the last time I went there. (A few years ago). Probably won't go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Lack of service.
Servers took forever to bring order

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2016

Good service, menu, and value.
Always great choices for lunch and the service is great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 6, 2016

This restaurant was so bad that me and my boyfriend almost broke up!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2016

The food was very good and our main waiter was efficient and very personable, but the atmosphere was lacking and other service staff were not up to the level of class the restaurant was trying to achieve. There was very little wrong with the overall experience, but also nothing to make it stand out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2016

Although the actual restaurant was closed and they were serving dinner in the bar area, the service and food were excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was slow. Food was decent. Would eat again in a pinch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 19, 2015

Waited several minutes to be seated because the sign asked me to....no one came so eventually I just sat myself. I had booked on open table and the waiter said he had no reservations that day (after I wanted to ensure seating myself did not give me a 'no show'). Ordered a Pepsi that took 5 minutes to arrive. I was the only person in the restaurant otherwise 5 minutes would not have been an issue. Waiter then went AWOL and I was in a rush to get back to work. I walked up to the bar and paid for my Pepsi which was $4 and then walked out. Bought a hot dog off the street on the way back to office. I had to give a food score here so I listed it as 'Good' but I did not actually eat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We booked Hemisphere's as we were staying at the Hilton and wanted to eat in-house after a busy day of touring the art gallery etc. We were hoping it would be good but weren't expecting it to be excellent! The dinner menu was outstanding and well priced. Everything prepared and presented to perfection, The wait staff were friendly and attentive and discreet. The Hilton was also outstanding so we were very pleased all round.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2015

Dined at the restaurant on a Tuesday night. The place wasn't packed so service was fairly quick.
The monk fish was really good and dessert was awesome. The decor was nice and it's on the ground of a hotel.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2015

I was really excited to try this place out. The review wasn't bad and it was easy to get to. Overall it wasn't too bad. But a few things were a bit disappointing. For noise level, we were there at the wrong time perhaps but this big group of 10 or so people at the back of the restaurant was very very loud which made everyone in the hall looking at the direction at them but the manager on duty didn't seem to care. The food was actually great. But after appetizers, we had to wait for almost 30 minutes or more and we saw that people who came later than us were actually served with the mains before us. We weren't too thrilled to see that. Otherwise the servers were very friendly. Their bar menu wasn't too extensive. Only Trius for both white and red wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2015

It's my first visit to Hemisphere for the Winterlicious menu. Very friendly services. The food is tasty and reasonable size. Great presentation. Will come back and recommend to my friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 21, 2015

The waitstaff were all over us when we arrived and then disappeared. Twice I had to go find someone to help us, to take our order and to collect payment for the cheque.

The food was not of the same quality that I had enjoyed at Xmas. The "roasted"veg. soup tasted like pureed vegetable with no distinct roasted flavour. The quality of the steak in my salad was poor- stringy and the paprika marinade did not add any flavour.

I was disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2014

The location is good. The menu for the occasion was properly arranged even though some requests were not covered, but that was understandable. What we hope to be improved is price adjustment based on number of guests and possible reward on volume of sale. In all it was a great outing for my family and daughter who celebrated her 18th birthday on the 25th December.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 22, 2014

There really isn't anything unique or special about this place. The reviews are better than the actual restaurant. It's fine if there is nothing else opened.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2014

Fabulous food. Great service Comfortable elegantl decor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 17, 2014

Though service could have been a little more prompt at times, this was a good dinner in an enjoyable atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2014

I ate at Hemispheres while at a conference in Toronto. It is a classy place close to the U of T residence where I was bileted. I thoroughly enjoyed the house salad of spinach greens, arugula, baby golden and red beets, dried cranberries and goat cheese with a white balsamic dressing. The brined chicken was also well prepared and presented. My server was excellent; he was both attentive and friendly. I sat fairly close to the bar and enjoyed the comradarie the bartender seemed to enjoy with her clients.

Report
Helpful
1
2