Heirloom Restaurant (Charlotte, NC)

4.6
752 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Local Ingredients
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 595-7710
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Clark Barlowe
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Chef Clark Barlowe can create a custom menu or tasting for your guests, or choose from a la carte. Forty-six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Clark Barlowe: (704) 595-7710
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 752 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Awesome! Staff was on point with attention to details.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Father's Day brunch 2018 was very disappointing. Seated alone in separate room and could hear vibrant life of groups in other room. Servers were brand new and seemed to have no experience. Did not know menu and gave inaccurate answers to questions, even giving 2 different answers when asked the same question twice. Felt rushed with zero ambiance...was 30 minutes from the time we sat down to the time we left (facility was only half full). Food came to the table within 2 minutes of ordering. Woman greeter did not seem to care that we had a bad experience. After working hard to give Dad an appreciative day, I felt very let down by Heirloom.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We loved doing the chef's tasting. They were able to accommodate all of our preferences and dietary needs. We ventured outside of their normal tasting menu and had costails instead of wine pairings and agreed it would be better either with wine pairings or without pairing at all. Overall it was a lovely dinner and then having a personalized happy birthday on the menu was a beautiful touch. Would love to celebrate anything with these guys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Delicious dinner and amazing service! Such a wonderful dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Unbelievable food, trust Chef Clark!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We were in awe of each course that we had. Our server Dexter was great helping us make choices throughout the night and providing background on the dishes. Definitely will be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Wonderfully helpful and attentive staff, yummy food!! Fabulous evening!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Each visit to Heirloom is a unique gastronomic experience. If you are adventurous, try the tasting menu. Chef prepared an exceptional 6 course dinner which was paired with outstanding wines. If you are not adventurous, get the fried chicken or shrimp and grits if they are on the menu. No matter what you order, you are in for a treat. Staff anticipates your every need and makes you feel right at home. My new favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great dining experience ....all local (NC) .... meaningful service and great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great food, great environment, and friendly staff. We were celebrating a birthday and we got special menus that said “Happy Birthday”, as well as a special birthday dessert delivered by the chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

All around great place for excellent food in a quiet atmosphere.
Make the trip!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Very unique preparations and food combinations that worked on all levels. This is a first class restaurant. I only wish I could have tried the chef's tasting menu but it was too much for my expense account.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our server Clark was excellent and was very attentive. The food was excellent as well. It was our first time but we will come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Service was excellent and the food was very good. I had the chicken and substituted the mac and cheese for the mashed potatoes. All very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Can’t say enough good about Heirloom. Clark’s food is exceptional and they can accommodate any dietary needs. This is the best locally sourced farm to table restaurant in Charlotte and we have been dining here religiously for all special occasions. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

I love Heirloom. The food is amazing. The chef is incredibly creative and super personable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent place to bring a significant other on occasions you don't mind spending some money. If you are a picky eater, keep an open mind when you eat here. I am often a picky eater, but here I tried everything and loved it all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Amazing food as always, recommend that you splurge on the chefs tasting menu

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The portions of locally sourced plates were ample. The meal fell short in terms of flavor. Most of the plates were just average, while a few rose to an excellent level.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Discovered Heirloom by internet search. Met by polished, friendly young, hip employees, and delightful chef/owner served our table. Three of us each loved our menu choices! Wish we would have had room for their dessert but we were too full. Inviting atmosphere and memorably delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food is innovative and different. We all had something different and everything was delicious. The staff very courteous and attentive. Did not feel rushed. Loved how each dish was explained Nd how all ingredients are from NC. Can't wait til my next time it was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We had a fabulous meal....love this farm to fork option!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Absolutely fabulous from beginning to end. These folks know food, service and hospitality. While we were there for a special occasion, we won’t wait for one of those to return to Heirloom.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Heirloom has an atmosphere and taste that we have not found elsewhere. Chef Clark has done an amazing job with his food pairings. This was our first time trying the tasting menu, but will not be the last. The food, drinks and service were some of the best we've had in the Charlotte area. This is one of the area's best kept secrets. Definitely worth the short drive out of the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great find! Will definitely return the next time we stay in Charlotte!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I chose this restaurant because it was about half way between my daughter's home and ours. When we pulled up to the restaurant, we wondered what we were getting ourselves into! The exterior was totally unkempt, rusted Mansard roof,exterior needing paint, empty or weedy window boxes and planting and a boarded-up bank next door. There are two entrances and the first one we tried was locked. Inside it was extremely dark (with very good eyesight we had to use our cellphone lights to read the menu) and very cold. However, the waiter was great, the food was excellent, and we had a good time after the waiter turned down the AC. I certainly would recommend it for the food, but the ambiance was a zero.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had always had good dining experiences at Heirloom until this visit. We willingly would drive 40 minutes one way to dine here on special occasions. The meal started off great with a tomato basil soup but quickly declined. After waiting an hour for our entrees, they arrived burnt, overcooked and dry. Complaints to the waiter resulted in the comment to us " please do not come back!" Talked to the head chef and she just said that we got a free entree upon return. Well, that won't be happening. Very unfortunate as we were trying to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The duck was excellent, and the service was great. Loved the creativity of the dishes. The price tag gave a little indigestion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Heirloom came highly recommended to us by a friend. My husband and I live in the community and never knew of this quaint little restaurant. The service was outstanding and the food was fresh and delicious. The staff made my husband and I feel very special as we celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary on the evening of May 11, 2018. Thank you Heirloom for making our evening one to remember! We will be back and will recommend you to everyone we know.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

From the time you are greeted at the door until you leave, the staff makes you feel at home. The rustic decor gives you that homey feeling and then they place rolls or biscuits in front of you transporting you to grandmother’s house. Ordered the fried chicken which comes with a buttermilk or spicy sauce. Paired with a wonderful Mac and cheese makes dinner like Sundays at Grandmas. The wine list has great N.C. wines and the wait staff provides unmatched service. As they say in the south, y’all go visit, you hear.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Amazing find, all local, authentic, culinary inspired dishes, very nice atmosphere inside, it was kind of quite but Thursdays seem to be slow for them, charcuterie and salads were phenomenal
And so were duck and tuna dishes

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Absolutely awesome! Must go. Wonderful food. Great atmosphere! Terrific service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had a great experience and will definately come back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Heirloom is unique, food quality is great, staff is courteous and attentive, ambience is good but we feel it's quite overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Love love love love this place. Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

It was my significant other’s birthday and we had a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I loved Heirloom. The menu features all NC ingredients which I thought was really special. The chef clearly takes pride in showcasing our state and I loved the creative and thoughtful food. The cocktails were incredible as well and also highlight NC ingredients. I loved knowing where my food was from and that the restaurant really wanted the diners to have a special meal. My only complaint was service was a little slow but the servers were wonderful. Can't wait to go back and try the tasting menu!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Overhyped and very very average food. We were placed in the back dining room even though there was plenty of room in the main area and we had made reservations - the main dining area never ever got full!! Might as well have dined at home - better ambiance as no one else was placed in the back dining room the whole evening while we were there. Ordered a couple of appetizers - a cornbread and a mushroom hot dish. the cornbread had no taste - our kids would not take more than one bite and they really love cornbread. The mushroom fritter was a non event. For the entrees, we ordered two of the fried chicken dinners, a shrimp and grits and a New York Strip Steak - all was very average. Too much thick hard breading on the fried chicken, steak was just OK. Brussel sprouts were burned and cold. The shrimp and grits was better with lots of shrimp. For the price, this should have been a much better experience. One and done. Service was just OK.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The staff is very attentive and proud of their restaurant and story.
We had a very tasty meal and enjoyed learning about the vinegars and honey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Food was outstanding and service was excellent! We did the chefs tasting, wait staff explained every dish and where the ingredients came from. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Heirloom Restaurant (Charlotte, NC)