About Heirloom Restaurant

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Private Party Facilities:
Thirty-Six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Strecker: 7045957710x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Heirloom Restaurant
Heirloom Restaurant

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
1 More
Romantic
Charlotte

Fit for Foodies (56)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Clark Barlowe makes very interesting & s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Clark Barlowe makes very interesting & sometimes challenging selections for daily menu, always delicious, & very cognizant of local/regional products, used specifically to emphasize NC connections. Have dined there x 3, loved all my meals there, highly recommended, worth a drive if you are not lucky enough to live near it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten at Heirloom multiple times ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have eaten at Heirloom multiple times, and love the experience. We found the food this time to be a bit more uneven than usual--everything was good, but not everything was stellar. Several dishes also seemed saltier than usual. Because the menu constantly changes, this might have just been alignment between menu and our tastes. we'll still definitely be going back. Desserts were absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience to taste the wonderfu ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing experience to taste the wonderfully prepared seasonal foods.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the 12 course tasting menu and it ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We did the 12 course tasting menu and it was amazing. It was more than enough for two people and one of the best meals we've had in awhile. Glad that a place like this exist in Charlotte. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most unique dining experience in Charlot ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Most unique dining experience in Charlotte. We are foodies, and we are so happy with our choice. It is not a kid friendly restaurant, so don't do it. You will disturb the rest of us there on our night away from our kids enjoying amazingly good NC-sourced farm to fork. Relish!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Recommend sharing the 12-course. It's wo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Recommend sharing the 12-course. It's worth the price. And the hand crafted cocktails are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every dollar I spend on food and drink i ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every dollar I spend on food and drink is a vote for who I support and who I want to see succeed. I can't wait to spend another dollar at Heirloom! #cheersworthy

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was hands down in the top 5 best di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was hands down in the top 5 best dining experiences of my entire life and that's not an exaggeration. We were given custom menus to accommodate our dietary choices and they also said "Happy 30th Birthday" at the top, as it was my fiancee's birthday.

The service was phenomenal and the wait staff was extremely knowledgeable about the dishes.

I can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Heirloom and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our first time at Heirloom and we will definitely be going back. The food was amazing and the service was very good. The fried chicken course was my favorite and I'd also recommend the pork chop. We split the 5 course dinner and it was perfect for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The 9 course meal for two was good. We s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The 9 course meal for two was good. We shared all of the small plates.

We were seated at a table that was fairly dark. The food could not be seen well. Some of the plates were served in a dark bowl and you could not see the presentation of the dish which I feel is very important in a tasting course.

The building is old and needs some work. The bathrooms are terrible. My lasting impression is when leaving there was a terrible odor in the foyer which told me I would not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

tapas type menu, with some choices that ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

tapas type menu, with some choices that are uncommonly found in restaurants, much appreciated, & delicious. My wife & I did the entire 12-plate tasting menu, w/ wine pairing, very full at end. Glad we have reservations to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Heirloom is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Heirloom is one of the best restaurants that I have been to in Charlotte. Not only was the food fresh and tasty , it was presnted in a unique and beautiful manner. The service was increible. All staff seemed to love their jobs and the place. We look forward to going back to Heirloom to enjoy the 12 course tasting menu (it was only 3 for restaurant week). Meals change daily based on what organic NC food the reestaurnt can obtain. Love the concept and everything about the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week for the firs ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for restaurant week for the first time and had no idea what to expect. The outside looks very rustic and it's in a strange location, so we had some concerns, but once inside it was decorated pretty nice. I did feel like our table was uncomfortably close to the lady beside us (2ft) and really we could not talk with out her hearing us, so that was no fun. The menu is normally a pre-fix 12 course menu, but for restaurant week they did three. I had the pineapple tomato appetizer which was very good. My wife had the beef tartar, which she judged as just ok. The bread they serve you is not good. The entree was a blue fish, which was very fishy and I could not eat it. My wife had the pork chop and it was so much better, very tasty. The house merlot by the glass is excellent. The dessert was a triple chocolate moose, but it was served in a glass so the presentation was poor. The other one was a blueberry dessert which was a better presentation, but still nothing fancy. Both desserts where good, but not great. The service was excellent. Our waitress and the hostess were very attentive and helpful. While I'm glad we went to try it, it's just not a concept that I like. I'm not a big eater so 12 courses, even though they are small, is too much food. They said the menu changes daily and it's all farm to table. They have bee's on the roof which is very cool and the chef sources everything on the menu from NC. All that is wonderful, but for the money I have places I'd rather go. It's in Coulwood (west charlotte) so not convenient for everyone, but you should try it at least once to see for yourself. Cheers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I was a little disappointed with what th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was a little disappointed with what this restaurant advertises itself as and what was produced for us to eat. The pork was over cooked and tough, the sweet corn was nothing impressive or flavorful. The wine list was very minimal and overpriced for North Carolina selection. The service was quick and polite but not over the top. Everything was just fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Farm to table perfection!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Farm to table perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live in Matthews and it was a very lo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We live in Matthews and it was a very long drive. We went for restaurant week. The food was good, but nothing special. I do not think we will be returning.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant Week Review: I've wanted to t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Restaurant Week Review: I've wanted to try Heirloom for a while as I was intrigued by the all-Carolina sourced menu, and talked my girlfriends into trying it during the Queens Feast. Our party tried everything on the menu and we enjoyed it. Highlights were the steak tartare and the pork chop, plus dessert. Good NC wines, too. Trying during restaurant week (3 courses) was a lot less intimidating than committing the 12-course tasting menu. Now that I've dipped my toe in the water, I'm ready to take the plunge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been here 3 times before this an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We have been here 3 times before this and it was an absolutely amazing experience...the food and the service were impeccable...especially the food. The variety of choices and the fun of creating your own meal was a huge draw for us to keep returning.

When we made the reservation, we did not know Heirloom was participating in Charlotte Restaurant Week but we decided to go even with the limited menu since we assumed they would certainly put their "best food forward". We had been raving about the restaurant to friends so 2 other couples joined us.

The food was so disappointing that my husband said he's not even sure if he wants to return on a normal dining night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The service was wonderful, the cocktails ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was wonderful, the cocktails where on point and the food was fantastic. Thanks to Madison and the rest of the staff for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at Heirloom was a real di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our experience at Heirloom was a real disappointment. We went during restaurant week and I understand that this is often a tough week as restaurants are very busy. However, our experience was really poor. The food portions were very small. I have eaten in very fine restaurants the world over and understand small portions. But, this was crazy. A starter of a tomato salad had exactly 6 small pieces of tomato with a dressing. That was it. For my main dish, the fish was ok, but it was surrounded by broccoli that was desiccated. I mean I am sure the preparation was as intended, but it was very unappetizing...nearly inedible.

I am prepared to pay what 'farm to table' food is worth, but this not worth nearly what we paid. Even at restaurant week prices...which are usually a bargain. Very disappointed. Will not be recommending. Not worth the drive to northern Charlotte IMHO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great locally sourced food. We'll traine ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great locally sourced food. We'll trained and passionate staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I went here for our an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My girlfriend and I went here for our anniversary and were very impressed by the quality and taste of the food served and the detail and attentiveness of the staff. We will definitely go back there when we have another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service - Madison was fantasti ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent service - Madison was fantastic - knowledgeable and fun. Food was delightful. The pork chop was delicious, the rice was delightful. As was the mousse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A very unexpected find in quaint Coulwoo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A very unexpected find in quaint Coulwood. The food was as good If not better as many restaurants in Uptown Charlotte

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an affordable tasting menu – for $1 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Such an affordable tasting menu – for $120 you get 12 courses to share between two people. Chef Clark Barlowe is a true visionary and redefining North Carolina cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I very much like the concept of a restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I very much like the concept of a restaurant where EVERYTHING is from North Carolina. In practice though, it is problematic, mostly in regards to the wine. NC wine is just not ready for prime time yet.

I look forward to going back and trying this place again in different seasons, but I think I will stick to beer (which NC does great!) and cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our 4th visit was not a bright as the ot ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our 4th visit was not a bright as the other 3. Reason was the enormous amount of time gap between some courses. At one point a whole 30minutes! The overall rhythm was super slow and we spent almost 3 hours on the 12 course meal between 4 people. There were a few large parties that night so that probably challenged the kitchen a bit. Still, good experience and looking forward to visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This NC-sourced fresh local food restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This NC-sourced fresh local food restaurant is outstanding in menu and preparation and service. My wife and I enjoyed the 12-course meal which is 12 sharing samples. I highly recommend it. The building, which seems to be a reformed fish camp, definitely does not prepare you for the delicious meal inside. We're going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Every bite was AMAZING ... my husband an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Every bite was AMAZING ... my husband and I shared the 9 course tasting menu and skipped the dessert options. What a great experience! We will definitely do it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So we've been thinking king about going ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

So we've been thinking king about going to Heirloom for a while, and we are so glad that we made it there! It was a fantastic evening of great food, all from NC farms and waters. Multiple courses....all were a hit. My husband has a food allergy, and they went through the menu both indicating dishes which contains his allergen, and offering substitutions. Such care at every step. We'll definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Excellent! Great for a Business M ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great! Excellent! Great for a Business Meal! Very Original!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This isn't just dinner - but it's an exp ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This isn't just dinner - but it's an experience...The food was unbelievable and the staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful throughout the evening. The Duck Confit was divine as well as the mushroom soup...Everything was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything ( except the chocolate, I ass ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything ( except the chocolate, I assume) is from North Carolina. The servers were warm and friendly. They were happy to explain all the details of the tasting menus - which sounded complicated but turned out to be just right. It is a selection of varied numbered tasting menu courses; some options are better than others. The portion sizes vary significantly. The food is carefully and thoughtfully made. It's presented on slate slabs and hand thrown pottery - very nice. If someone at your table orders less courses than others, "fillers" are supplied - pickled cucumbers, chocolate mousse with pecans were fillers for the 3 course person at our table.

The decor was rustic at best. - the building looks like it was a former Denny's or Aunt Sarah's Pancake House. It's sort of fixed up. The best part are the apiaries on the roof.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful and welcoming. It was our firs ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful and welcoming. It was our first time being there, but the atmosphere was just what we were looking for and we immediately knew we would want to come back. The meals were paired very well especially for a scope of just NC! I had no idea NC had so much to offer! So many favors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience! Heirloom ble ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What an amazing experience! Heirloom blew us away with their service, menu, and overall dining experience. We will be back, many more times. If you're looking for a unique experience that provides a farm-to-table menu with a wide selection of dishes and a variety of flavor profiles, I could not recommend any better option. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and Heirloom delivered. This has taken the spot of #1 restaurant in Charlotte for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went here to celebrate ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I went here to celebrate a special occasion recently and were blown away by the experience. We split a 7 course meal and were satisfied when we left by how much we ate-it wasn't too much or too little. The portions were perfect and were exquisite pieces of art. There was more than one dish I hated to even cut into due to how beautiful it was! Knowledgeable and attentive staff and amazing chef and bartender-SPOT ON! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the 11 course dinner and it was n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had the 11 course dinner and it was not disappointing the food was absolutely fabulous and the service was great. This Chef is absolutely one of the best if not the best Chef Charlotte!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, service was great ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was amazing, service was great but it was a little slow. We got the 12 course meal and we had to wait a bit on the last 5 courses and by the last 3 we were full. Would I do it again? DEFINITELY! No questions asked we will go back but will only get the 9 course meal. On top of the delicious food all the servers were amazing and they customized the menus with "Happy Anniversary" which made us feel extremely special and the Chef even signed them.

For a FOODIE like me that meant the world!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely fantastic!!! My ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic!!! My husband and I really enjoyed our first visit! We took the waiter's recommendation and shared the 12 course meal. It allowed us to sample everything and the portions were the right size for sharing. Thanks for a wonderful meal! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent. My wife and I did th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. My wife and I did the 12 courses, shared, with the wine pairings. We are not big eaters and it was just right. The staff was very friendly and more knowledgeable than expected. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.