Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Private Party Facilities:
Thirty-Six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Strecker: (704) 595-7710

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (45)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Tasting Menu (29)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (16)
Organic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Healthy (8)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable and the food was fresh. It was my husband's birthday. He ordered the chef's tasting menu with pairings and I ordered the soup of the day along with the crab cakes and tile fish; we wanted to have options. Everything that came out was delicious. The crab cakes were by far the best crab cakes I have ever had. We will definitely be returning to Heirloom.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a delicious meal and perfect service. Heirloom has fantastic food and the ambiance is quiet and relaxed. Definitely happy for the fixed menu now and portion sizes were just right. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the six course testing menu along w/wine pairings. A fabulous experience. One of the best parts is only having a vague notion of what's coming next. Wines were excellent except I don't do port.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I spent our 22 Anniversary dinner here since we have heard great things about Heirloom. They made our evening special by giving us a personalized menu that said "Happy 22nd Anniversary" , a tasty scoop of chocolate truffle ice cream and then a signed personalized menu by the chef.
It was a wonderful experience with great food to top it off. Thank you Heirloom! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Shaky start, but staff and food totally made it better. Relaxed dinner, perfect wine accompaniments to the food! Highly recommend for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Much less than expected. Relatively remote location, unattractive setting (dark, plain), ordinary food, acceptable but certainly not "foodie" quality or imaginative. We had to use a flush light to see the menu and the food. Tasting menu probably the best option, but certainly not above average. Farm to table hype not worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Drinks are all creative, but usually don't quite come together, and may be because local bourbons and whiskeys are actually quite harsh. However, VERY locavore, won't use anything from outside NC. Food is usually great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The service was fantastic until we had to wait for the bill. I took off a point for waiting for check. I had the wild game ravioli. While the sauce was Spicey and good I found it messy. I dropped some on my dress. The ravioli was put in a bowl which made it hard to cut and eat. My husband had the ribeye steak which was perfectly cooked . What he did not like was the presentation. The steak was stacked on top of the sides. So, it was steak, then brussel sprouts and then sweet potato puree. He hates stacked food. The flavors intermingled too much. I did not like my wine. I felt that the wine was flat . I also felt that the pour was too short. The lighting in the diining room sucks. The manager told us that they plan to renovate soon. Lighting will be first to change. I did not like the desert I choose. The menu said smashed lemon cheesecake. It was literally smashed. There was two smears of lemon curd, then a mound of lumpy cheesecake filling , then two dollops of whipped cream followed by sprinkles of graham crackers. While it tasted okay it was a mess. The coffee was great. We expecially liked the way all staff pitched in to serve.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The place is so unique. The setting was beautiful, all the dishes and utensils unique and interesting. The food was pricey but fabulous. My date and I each did the tasting menu which was WAY too much food. Next time will split a tasting menu and get additional sides if we want more of something!! Definitely a great place for a special occasion and a memorable experience

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I'm quite the regular at Heirloom, but this is the first time I've had the tasting menu since the menu revamp in November and I was NOT disappointed! I love the new a la carte menu, it allows me to stop in and have a favorite dish anytime, but the foodie side of me loves Heirloom's creative tasting menu. Chef Barlowe and his staff cater the tasting menu to your preferences, but since I love everything they do, I just let them go wild and surprise me! It's never a disappointment (especially when purple sweet potatoes are involved)! We opted for the wine pairings with each course, which are always phenomenal. We started with a seasonal flower power salad (yes, a salad of flowers) which was almost to beautiful to eat, then a soup course, I had the almost famous Bermuda Fish Chowder, my husband had the purple sweet potato soup, next came pork steak over grits with grilled lettuce (yum!), then for entrees, goose breast with purple sweet potato mash and brussel sprouts (my fav of the night..so rich and decadent), the cheese course was a mild bleu cheese paired with pickled green tomatoes, spicy yellow mustard, and popcorn or crostini. Then came dessert, which was a creamy honey (custard consistency) pie that tasted exactly like a honeycomb. SO GOOD! The honey of course was sourced right from the hives off of the rooftop. Come on....where else are you going to get that variety?!
Laura was our server, she did an excellent job ensuring our wine was promptly delivered right before our next course arrived and that we had adequate silverware. Her service was spot on. All courses were expertly described by Laura or Suzette and it was great to see their enthusiasm for the product they were serving. Dexter has some great new cocktail features on the menu right now as well, I think he is really finding his creativity and comfort zone. If it's been a while since you've visited Heirloom, stop in and see the new changes that they have made, I don't think you will be disappointed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had an excellent dining experience at Heirloom. The ambiance in the dining room strongly reinforces the farm to fork menu with plenty of wood and green tones. Stars of the meal included the cornbread and molasses, fried chicken, and roasted beet salad. The fried chicken alone I would come back for as the seasoning was perfect and the sauces made from the honey coming from the restaurant's own live beehive. My only complaint was the pace at which the entrees were brought out as it was too soon after we had finished our starter plates. I also recommend ordering the French press coffee and any of the desserts. All top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent service and food and very accommodating for clients with dietary restrictions.. we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was beautiful, interesting and delicious. The service was attentive without being burdensome. We absolutely loved the restaurant and plan to come back. Since the menu changes seasonally, don't get your heart set on an item you see online. Next time we go, we will try the chef's tasting menu .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have read many reviews for Heirloom and have looked for an opportunity to try it out. Sat eve we had a delightful experience with great staff- Morgan was an excellent server and it was GREAT to see all the former and current JWU students being successful there. Great job Heirloom! I will be back. Karen

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have met Chef Barlow on a few occasions, farmer's markets & workshops, and was excited to try Heirloom. I was not disappointed. I went with a chef friend & we were very impressed. We had the tasting menu (6 courses) each one was delicious & unusual. The service was great, they made you feel very welcome, like a hometown place & the serving staff was informative & attentive without being annoying. Only downside was the lighting - hard to see the lovely presentation & colors of the foods & menu was difficult to read. Looking forward to returning soon!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I decided to check this out after needing a place that offered healthy, local alternatives that was equal travel distance for all parties. Heirloom fit the bill. It was easy to get a reservation and my friends were greeted warmly and seated quickly. I arrived a short time later and got the same treatment. The server (I wish I'd gotten his name) was great! We had a TON of questions about the menu which he was quick to answer and never once got testy...I would have gotten testy with us. ;) The restaurant is a little noisy because the the tables are placed close together in a large area, but it's manageable.
The food was unimaginable amazing! I had the rib-eye steak which was cooked to perfection along with roasted brussel sprouts and mashed potatoes. I also got the truffle mac and cheese as an extra side to share. It was all amazing and a very large portion. Yes, it was expensive but every last morsel was full of taste texture and just the right mixture of flavor. Even the leftovers the next day were amazing. And the best part, they gave me my steak trimmings to take home to my pups. Nothing wasted! That's refreshing considering the amount of the food that is thrown out daily by restaurants across America!
Overall--a 4.5 star establishment. I'd give them a 5 but they are way out off the beaten path and the while the noise is manageable, it can still be an annoyance. I'd highly recommend this place for anyone looking for local cuisine that changes almost daily with unsurpassed service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Heirloom is the best thing since EVER in farm-to-fork Charlotte and I cannot wait to go back! I am so glad they now have a an à la carte menu. The 7 course tasting menu with pairings was an exquisite experience and they made my birthday dinner so special! My only "note" is that it was a bit dark --it could be a little brighter without loosing the vibe, I think.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Date night with the hubby! I found this hidden treasure on OpenTable. The ambience is really nice and surprising from the exterior! The crafted cocktails were amazing! The bartender was very knowledgeable and shared great stories and ingredient combinations that you would never expect to make any drink memorable! I love the local NC "farm to the table" concept! Everything was fresh and piping hot when it arrived on our table! The food was good although could have used a little more seasoning and/or more creativity and craft to pair with the outstanding drink choices! Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and the entire staff was wonderful! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a great time and really enjoyed the chief's 6 course tasting. Great find.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Charlotte, hands down. Always unbelievably amazing. I go here as much as I can for special occasions. I seriously am in love with Heirloom.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Started following this restaurant (accidentally, thought it was one with a similar name) and was very intrigued by all the great photos of the food creations! After lots of anticipation, we finally went for my birthday.
The host greeted us by name when we entered the restaurant, seated in a nice quiet corner, then handed us our menus, mine personalized with a typed happy birthday note! It just got better and better from there.
Our server was spectacular, always available but never overbearing. We were on a slight time-crunch, needing to leave for a concert in about an hour, and she was excellent in orchestrating our tasting menu, almost always setting down the next course as we were taking the last bite of the previous one. The entire staff was also very accommodating with food preferences- when the host called to confirm the reservation, he asked if there were any diet restrictions. I told him ours, and the server reiterated these when we arrived, then the dishes that had to be altered for us, she matter-of-factly reassured us when describing the course.
The food was creative and delicious, some recognizable and very delightful foods like duck breast with fried brussels sprouts on garlic crushed potatoes, along with playful and inventive but always delicious courses like purple sweet potato soup with reindeer moss.
Would highly recommend for any occasion, even if you just want to dress up and make it one! Will definitely be back, and bring friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great Birthday Dinner ~ steak was a bit overcooked but still delicious. Crab cakes were good as well. Pricey menu but the food portions are good. The desserts were Delish! The exterior of the building is not much to look at from the outside but cozy on the inside. The entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our dining experience extra special. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointing.
Had the Valentine's Day prix fix menu which looked really good on the menu but the execution was subpar. Poke was bland, steak half grizzle, dinner rolls didn't seem fresh.
Reasonably priced wine list, nice cocktails, desert very good.
Certainly possible we caught them on a bad night.
Wanted to love it but just didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to Heirloom many times and love Clark's tasting menu. We had friends in from RI and wanted to take them there, not realizing they were doing the Valentine's day 4 course menu. But it was still fantastic as expected!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything on their menu is local and "farm to table," and if it can't be sourced in NOrth Carolina, they won't include it on their menu. Even the spirits and alcohol (aside from wine) is local to NC. Gotta love and respect that! I was actually hoping to try their well known 6 course menu, but they were offering their 4 course Valentine's Day menu, so we tried that. The service was very good throughout our dinner. Your water will constantly be refilled, they pour the wine for you, and food is timely. For Valentine's Day, they offered 4 courses for $55.00. I started with the Poached Egg for my first course, which included toast porridge, lamb sausage, charred jalapenos and some greens. This was good, except a little too spicy for me with the charred jalapenos. I think next time I'll ask for those on the side! For the second course, I went with the NC Lump Crab Cake. These were delicious atop the beautifully colored sumac red rice. The crab cakes were tender and flavorful, and held together well. For my third course, I chose the crostini with goat cheese, apples, endive and a port wine reduction. This was perfectly light after the second course, but a great combination of flavors with the creamy goat cheese.
Lastly, for my 4th course, I chose the Cheerwine Pound Cake, served with chocolate buttercream,and pepper and beet cookie crumble. I love ordering "out of the box" idea dishes, and I was pleasantly surprised with this dish. The pound cake was light and airy, but the beet cookie crumble added a pleasant sweet crunch on top. I'm a sucker for buttercream, so I loved the chocolate buttercream as well. We also enjoyed the lemon smashed cheesecake, served with roasted blueberries, graham cracker and lemon curd. It was perfectly light and creamy.

I would definitely return to Heirloom to try their signature 6 courses sometime in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Food was great. Service was evenough better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have eaten at Heirloom in the past and tasting menus were creative and well prepared. This time the four of us decided to have starters and mains. The server and chef were very cooperative in altering some of the sides even though they were busy with an early Valentine's 4 course tasting menu.

Starters, oysters, soup and beet salad were excellent. The mains, on the other hand were all overcooked. My duck confit was a small potion, over salty and over cooked. I have had this dish dozens of times in US and In Europe and it was subpar. Both the wahoo fish of the day and fried chicken were also too well done and chicken was more breading than meat. Vegetable special was good but tomatoes were over breaded and over cooked even on second try.

I try out local restaurants all over Charlotte and when we travel. We will return down the road because I love the concept but will stick to the tasting menu and pick a night when the kitchen is not overtaxed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The concept is cool, but the building looks like an old run down fish camp. Someone gifted my family a Groupon to use for my nearing graduation and they wouldn't accept it because we didn't notify them ahead of time. Which is difficult to do seeing that I made reservations via open table. When I got a confirmation call the same day of my reservation they didn't ask if we had a Groupon only if there were dietary restrictions (which is nice to ask) but when we got there they denied our Groupon. The chicken wasn't the best I've had considering the price. probably wouldn't go back to other than to redeem our gifted Groupon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Unique experience for first time diners at Heirloom. The ingredients are fresh, and you can definitely taste the difference than other restaurants. The oysters were the best and freshest I've ever tasted! The dessert we shared, was excellent, too! A deconstructed carrot cake. My wife's fresh catch, Wahoo, perhaps a little over-cooked, and her average beet salad, turned an otherwise great experience, into just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Third time to Heirloom, and continues to be a delight. Wonderfully prepared food, local/North Carolina ingredients, excellent service, and a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. Continues to feel like a very special hidden discovery every time. I'll be sad to see this place go from being a quiet neighborhood sleeper to a major player on the Charlotte restaurant scene, but it certainly deserves to be. The menu changes slightly according to season, and what sort of local ingredients have become available that week, which is a real pleasure. Special credit to the chef and kitchen staff, as well as to the service staff and management… everyone, without exception, is courteous, friendly, very familiar with the menu, and more than willing to talk through tasting options and special items. I can't recommend this place highly enough; without a doubt one of the top restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Organic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary at Heirloom and lived every minute of it. From the minute we walked in we were treated special and loved the romantic ambiance. We had the brussel sprouts, sweet potato soup, the chicken dumplings, duck confit and the ribeye. All were delicious! Our hostess and waiter were excellent! We love the farm to table presence of this restaurant. The restaurant was very accommodating of my gluten and dairy allergies. We highly recommend Heirloom.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very accommodating staff and delicious food. Generous portions and delicious flavor combinations. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, innovative food, attentive capable service and the quiet country atmosphere all make this a great spot for dinner. They are almost entirely local farm to table, and they clearly know their sources because everything was fresh, appetizing in appearance and very tasty. The cheese and charcuterie appetizer was excellent, especially the cheese selection. My rib steak was done perfectly, and the brussel sprouts were tender and flavorful. They put a lot of thought into every stage of the meal from the menu through to preparation and presentation; the staff did an excellent job of answering questions, making helpful suggestions and providing us with insight into what Heirloom is all about. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My friends were very happy with their meals. All 3 of them ordered the beet salad and crab cake entree and loved everything.
I, however, was very disappointed. I ordered the chicken & dumplings and the ribeye (which had a $12 upcharge). The chicken & dumplings was served to me lukewarm but it was flavorful so I ate it and did not complain about it. I ordered my steak medium-well and it was served to me pretty rare. I think the waitress must have misunderstood me and thought that I said medium-rare. I sent it back; they asked me if I wanted a whole new steak or just cook that piece more and I chose the latter, I didn't want to waste the food. It was brought back and it was still pretty red in the middle; I ate half and took the rest home. Yesterday when I took it out to heat it up for lunch I could see that it really was very red still and it made me think that they didn't even attempt to cook it more.
I personally will not go back; for the money and the restaurant's reputation, I expected more. My friends loved it and they would definitely go back and for this I give it a fair review.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I may have been there on an off night but the food was just mediocre. The service was outstanding, I was just a bit disappointed in the food itself. I would give it another try but the cocktails were way too strong, and the dessert was inedible in my opinion.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Heirloom made my birthday special! It was a great atmosphere. The food was delicious, all farm to table, and the service was excellent. I cannot wait to return and try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was exceptional! Before our reservation we received a call reminding us about the reservation as well as asking about any accommodations or special events. When we arrived we were sat right away and given the story of the restaurant. To our surprise, they had custom printed menus reflecting the event we were celebrating which was a nice touch. The staff was very attentive, and the food was beyond delicious and presented beautifully. Overall we received great service, and exceptional food! We will definitely be returning, and recommending to all of our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was really looking forward to this dinner, the reviews were stunning. Unfortunately the food was (at best) flavorless and uninspired, plating was messy and the decor and service-ware (plates etc) was too homey for the menu pricing. The locally farm-to-table doesn't need to mean you feel like you are eating in an old (and tastelessly decorated) farm house; and it doesn't need to mean that the food needs to lack inspiration, ingredients and combinations. Old standards should be elevated and presented with some new or extremely refined flavors. We felt that our money would have been better spent at a 'family restaurant' - the crab cakes were good but not special, the fried chicken was well fried... but not special. I was really expecting a high level palate, service and presentation - we found none of these. Very overpriced and stingy portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

An Heirloom is a special piece that is passed down from generation to generation. This Heirloom has some of those characteristics, i just wish a little more restoration went into the overall restaurant to make it as special as an Heirloom should be. The decor reminds me of an upscale southern fish camp (not an upscale restaurant). The food is uber creative but seems to be over the top towards the foraging aspect inserted all over the menu. I appreciate the respect given to local ingredients, in this case sourced in NC. But not all NC ingredients are the best choice, as can be clearly tasted when experimenting with NC whiskies. Heirloom has the potential to be a top tier Charlotte restaurant; a fresher more inviting interior, an expansion to the best local not just NC ingredients and a more conplimenting wine and bar selection. With a little renovation here and there this Heirloom could be a real treasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.