Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Private Dining

Chef Clark Barlowe can create a custom menu or tasting for your guests, or choose from a la carte. Forty-six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (46)
Tasting Menu (42)
Creative Cuisine (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Romantic (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Seasonal (18)
Organic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Healthy (14)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (6)
Great Beer (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (4)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for dates as well. Unique menu with tasty options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my fiancee there for her birthday and the experience could not have been better. The staff printed HAPPY BIRTHDAY and her name on our menus and Clark, the chef and owner, signed a personal note on one of them before we left.

Adam, our server, was the best I've had in Charlotte. Knowledgable, fun, friendly, and totally accommodating. This is the best restaurant in Charlotte, folks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

What a treat to find this restaurant north of Charlotte. The staff is friendly and helpful and all of their suggestions were delicious! Great cocktails too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I visited here on a Friday night. I opted for the chef's tasting menu while my wife had the crab cakes. In short, we loved our meals! The tasting menu was six courses consisting of a salad, soup, two mains, a cheese dish, and, of course, dessert. The beeswax mozzarella salad was very good and fresh. The soup was a Bermuda fish chowder and was also excellent. For the 3rd course, I opted for fried chicken. I probably wouldn't get that again. It had nice flavor, but the chicken was dry. Ribeye steak was the 4th course and was amazing! One of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Our dessert was a turtle cheesecake which was more than enough to share (especially after the feast preceding it!) and was excellent. My wife enjoyed her crab cakes. They had jalapeños on top, so expect some heat with those. If you're thinking of getting the tasting menu, budget about 2 hours for dinner, but I highly recommend it. All in all, it was a great evening. The service was also very good. With each dish that came out, they gave a little explanation about the ingredients which are all locally grown. Our waiter also gave us good suggestions as were trying to decide what to get.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wow. I've eaten at some of the best restaurants in the world from Manhattan to Paris. Berlin to Barcelona and I have to say tonight was the best dining experience I've ever had. Surprising bc the place looks like it belongs in an episode of DDD with Guy but the low key, unpretentious and relaxed environment was all just a set up. Did the chef's tasting menu. You should too. The roasted duck with rainbow cauliflower and garlic mashed potato was the best dish I've ever had. Anywhere. Maybe the bbq ribs at Bobby Flay's Mesa Grill in the city make me think twice about that statement but nothing else does.... we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wow! What a find!! Chef Clark Barlow is one of Charlotte's best! Everything is locally sourced. I had the tasting menu and my wife had the "fried chicken". It was SO much more than typical fried chicken. Marinated for 3 days! Amazing. My tasting menu was so creative and delicious. We kidded our server and the bartender about the weird bluegrass(?) music. But it was NC talent. That was my only complaint. Still, You MUST try this place!! We're definitely planning being regulars.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Enjoyed the unique cocktails. Dishes were fresh and flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

13th Birthday

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food at Heirloom gets better and better this was our 3d visit and it wont be the last the shrimp and grits is excellent (and very filling), while the fish (cooked in a veggie medley with an amazing sauce) was outstanding. The bourbon ice cream is highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love the concept, nice decor inside. Great service. However, they should expand menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Heirloom was great. It is an experience and one to be enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary and the staff made our celebration even more special! We enjoyed our first time at Heirloom and will definitely visit again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

World-class dining experience. Top-notch service, cozy ambience, and unique and indescribably good dishes at surprisingly affordable prices. 10/10. Must eat here before you die.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 16, 2017

I took my husband here for Father's Day and we went all out with the tasting menu and pairings. It was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave good recommendations. My husband loved the rib eye and it was cooked perfectly. I had the shrimp and grits and it was a tad dry and so were the shrimp. We ordered the truffle mac & cheese but it was disappointing and bland. We let the server know and she blamed it on a bad yelp review. We were not sure why we did not receive the complimentary chef prepared cookies when we left even though other tables around us did. The PB & jelly roll was also dry which seemed to kind of be a theme. Overall it was good not just sure it would be worth the drive to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

What a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary. The service was tremendous, food delicious and the pace of the meal was just perfect - not too many rushed and not too slow. It felt really good to be supporting local businesses and farms, as well. Thanks to the chef for signing out menu for the occasion. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Heirloom would kill it if it were in the middle of a trendier spot, like NoDa or South End. But it seems to be doing just fine and maintaining its authenticity by staying out Hwy 16. It's not bad of a drive, and you may drive right by the place if you're not looking. But the food experience and how they source their ingredients is worth the trip and kind of makes you feel like you are in on a bit of a secret spot (but one you want to share with others). Amazing food experience and service was personalized and made it that much more special. Chapeau!

Tags: Authentic, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our first visit to Heirloom and we plan to return. The duck confit was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent farm-to-table, "95% of everything in the restaurant comes from NC" meal. The seasoning was on point!!! #farmtotable #wineflight #chickenchips #friedpickles #cornbreadandmolasses #friedchicken #shrimpandgrits #homemadesausage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

All of the food was presented in a professional and genuine way, explanation given when necessary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was amazing! Service was great. The drinks were delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went here for our first year anniversary. We live near west Charlotte so we had to see what this place was all about considering how surprising it is something like this exists here!

Honestly I don't understand people saying the decor is off. Instead of critiquing certain elements.. people should be amazed they were able to turn a crappy looking plaza building into what it is now. It's way better that reviews described.

Expect to get outside of the box a little bit, and appreciate farm to table and I can't imagine you wouldn't enjoy it here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Missed the mark.
Great concept and atmosphere however the food was subpar.
We came in prior to a concert for date night & just wanted some drinks and apps. So we ordered the shrimp cocktail, charcuterie board, and crab cake.
Shrimp cocktail-great flavor but extremely over cooked, to the point it was almost hard.
Charcuterie- each individual flavor was great however there were too many overpowering flavors on the board including the blood bread, as delicious as that was it would have been better with a milder selection of cheeses.
Crab cake- little fishy tasting, but a good structure. Paired with mushroom Ravi was odd and overwhelming. The beefy jeartiness did not compliment the crab cake whatsoever

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday and it was the perfect spot for a special treat. We had the tasting menu and we loved every single bite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It's been way too long since we visited Heirloom. Tuesday night is a pretty quiet time in most restaurants. That was a major benefit for us. We had great service from Jodie. She was very helpful and personable. We really enjoyed her. And then there was the food. AMAZING!!! We did the 6 course tasting menu. It was all chef's choice and we were right to put ourselves in chef's hands. I won't detail everything but you just need to get to Heirloom. You and your taste buds will be SO happy you did. The restaurant also started an a la carte menu so you don't have to do a tasting if you want a smaller meal. We will be back to try it. Still highly recommende!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We'd had our eye on Heirloom for some time and finally made a reservation and the drive. We expected a creative, progressive menu with an cool and eclectic vibe a la The Admiral in Asheville ... but it fell short and we were disappointed. Once a Mexican restaurant, the dining room is a bit schizophrenic. Effort has been put in to upcycle the atmosphere into a cozy, romantic space, but the flooring, the ceiling, the walls give the history away. The bathroom tries to be punk rock with markers inviting people to tag and write notes, but the juxtaposition from the attempts in the dining room make it extra lame. Our appetizers were so-so (oysters and shrimp cocktail); mains were very good (steak and duck confit); cocktails were too sweet. We're glad we went, but we won't be back unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

First visit but will not be our last. Easy drive not far off I-485. Local food sources, all from NC. All NC beers and mostly NC wines. I had 6 course meal--all courses were delicious. Best duck I've ever had. My wife had fresh fish and onion pie.
Attentive, knowledgeable and friendly service.
If you enjoy & support local food and the concept of farm to table (& even if you do not) I highly recommend Heirloom!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing! We've been a few times over the past few years and each trip is better than the last.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Organic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Farm to table done well. The bar tender was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about mixology. Took the time to show us the bitters and extracts they produce. Excellent local foods creatively prepared. Our server wasn't up to the level of the food. Maybe she was just having a bad day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner and it didn't disappoint. We each did the 6 course tasting menu. It was a lot of food, but fun to try everything. I would have never ordered turnip soup, but it was delicious. The roast chicken and steak were also really good, but one of my favorite parts was the cheese course. Local cheese over local Dijon mustard and strawberry jam...the perfect salty, spicy and sweet combo. While the decor isn't great, it wasn't as bad as I expected based on what I had heard...it was comfortable and truthfully I'd rather have amazing food than amazing atmosphere. And the food really was delicious. I guess the only thing I'd say is to update the bathrooms. It's cute and quirky that they encourage graffiti on the walls, but the toilet was wobbly and I felt like I was in a rundown high school bathroom. You can be quirky, but still offer standard accommodations. Otherwise, we really enjoyed ourselves -- definitely a great fit for foodies.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went on a Thursday night with another couple for our anniversary. The menu was not for people who like familiar selections. I do not like sour beer, hot green sauce for my fried chicken, the blackened shrimp cocktail was cold and the sauce was a weird puree. Worst appetizer I ever had.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and went with the tasting menu. Everything was so good and it was a lot of fun to try. It was all perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was our first time at Heirloom. The food was good, not extraordinary like we had thought it would be. It was apparent they don't do brunch often. The portions were too big for 3 courses. We would like to give them another chance and try dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

What a treat. We lived the tasting menu! The staff was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything there is always prepared perfectly. There isn't even salt at the table.
We splurged on the special Chef's tasting menu of 6 small plates includes salad, soup, pasta with a protein, main with a protein, cheese and dessert. Although you don't know what will be prepared, you can give input to your server on your likes and dislikes. We had caprese salad with heirloom tomatoes and homemade mozzarella , green tomato bisque with chili oil, homemade pasta with bay scallops, tile fish and vegetables, cheddar cheese with crustini and grainy mustard, and strawberry mousse with lemon curd and Chantilly creme. Although some of this sounds simple, the preparation was unusual and totally delicious and his vegetable choices are always unusual.
Our server, Jody, was exceptional. She was very informative and wonderful to talk with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

On a Saturday night there was little traffic taking us 25 minutes from Ballantyne. What a fun place to find "in the middle of nowhere". The concept of farm to table is great however I would have thought more vegetables and vegetarian/vegan dishes would have been featured since farms also grow produce, not just meat. But this was a very meat focused menu. I do give the chef credit for making a vegan dish especially for me (thank you) but it was a tiny amount of food swimming in oil and oversalted. It was supposed to be rice and beans on top of sautéed spinach and nowhere could we find any rice until the waiter explained it was mixed in with the beans. I finally found a few rice grains. This tiny amount of food was served on a huge plate and was pushed off to the side, making the portion look even smaller. A nice touch was chicken of the woods mushrooms fried to a golden brown placed on top. The way they normally serve it is with an egg on top which I had them omit. When I got home the first thing I did was get a snack. My husband's shrimp and grits were a nice portion but he felt it was too rich. The servers were always standing close to our table which felt a little uncomfortable and the water was filled too many times. The host guy at the front was friendly and welcoming, a real asset to this restaurant. The interior was strange with a large hole in the middle and the tables to the side. The couch seat however was very comfortable. We ended up having a wonderful and adventurous evening anyway. While I don't think we will be back many of my friends enjoy meat, butter and heavier foods and they would absolutely love this place. I will highly recommend it to them...it just wasn't for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing customer service and the chefs are super creative. Awesome experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This meal did not live up to expectations. It was definately not gourmet or innovative. It was not even well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.