Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Private Dining

Chef Clark Barlowe can create a custom menu or tasting for your guests, or choose from a la carte. Forty-six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (55)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (41)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Tasting Menu (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Romantic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Seasonal (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (18)
Organic (17)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Healthy (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

It's been way too long since we visited Heirloom. Tuesday night is a pretty quiet time in most restaurants. That was a major benefit for us. We had great service from Jodie. She was very helpful and personable. We really enjoyed her. And then there was the food. AMAZING!!! We did the 6 course tasting menu. It was all chef's choice and we were right to put ourselves in chef's hands. I won't detail everything but you just need to get to Heirloom. You and your taste buds will be SO happy you did. The restaurant also started an a la carte menu so you don't have to do a tasting if you want a smaller meal. We will be back to try it. Still highly recommende!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

First visit but will not be our last. Easy drive not far off I-485. Local food sources, all from NC. All NC beers and mostly NC wines. I had 6 course meal--all courses were delicious. Best duck I've ever had. My wife had fresh fish and onion pie.
Attentive, knowledgeable and friendly service.
If you enjoy & support local food and the concept of farm to table (& even if you do not) I highly recommend Heirloom!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing! We've been a few times over the past few years and each trip is better than the last.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Organic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Farm to table done well. The bar tender was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about mixology. Took the time to show us the bitters and extracts they produce. Excellent local foods creatively prepared. Our server wasn't up to the level of the food. Maybe she was just having a bad day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner and it didn't disappoint. We each did the 6 course tasting menu. It was a lot of food, but fun to try everything. I would have never ordered turnip soup, but it was delicious. The roast chicken and steak were also really good, but one of my favorite parts was the cheese course. Local cheese over local Dijon mustard and strawberry jam...the perfect salty, spicy and sweet combo. While the decor isn't great, it wasn't as bad as I expected based on what I had heard...it was comfortable and truthfully I'd rather have amazing food than amazing atmosphere. And the food really was delicious. I guess the only thing I'd say is to update the bathrooms. It's cute and quirky that they encourage graffiti on the walls, but the toilet was wobbly and I felt like I was in a rundown high school bathroom. You can be quirky, but still offer standard accommodations. Otherwise, we really enjoyed ourselves -- definitely a great fit for foodies.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went on a Thursday night with another couple for our anniversary. The menu was not for people who like familiar selections. I do not like sour beer, hot green sauce for my fried chicken, the blackened shrimp cocktail was cold and the sauce was a weird puree. Worst appetizer I ever had.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and went with the tasting menu. Everything was so good and it was a lot of fun to try. It was all perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was our first time at Heirloom. The food was good, not extraordinary like we had thought it would be. It was apparent they don't do brunch often. The portions were too big for 3 courses. We would like to give them another chance and try dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

What a treat. We lived the tasting menu! The staff was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything there is always prepared perfectly. There isn't even salt at the table.
We splurged on the special Chef's tasting menu of 6 small plates includes salad, soup, pasta with a protein, main with a protein, cheese and dessert. Although you don't know what will be prepared, you can give input to your server on your likes and dislikes. We had caprese salad with heirloom tomatoes and homemade mozzarella , green tomato bisque with chili oil, homemade pasta with bay scallops, tile fish and vegetables, cheddar cheese with crustini and grainy mustard, and strawberry mousse with lemon curd and Chantilly creme. Although some of this sounds simple, the preparation was unusual and totally delicious and his vegetable choices are always unusual.
Our server, Jody, was exceptional. She was very informative and wonderful to talk with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

On a Saturday night there was little traffic taking us 25 minutes from Ballantyne. What a fun place to find "in the middle of nowhere". The concept of farm to table is great however I would have thought more vegetables and vegetarian/vegan dishes would have been featured since farms also grow produce, not just meat. But this was a very meat focused menu. I do give the chef credit for making a vegan dish especially for me (thank you) but it was a tiny amount of food swimming in oil and oversalted. It was supposed to be rice and beans on top of sautéed spinach and nowhere could we find any rice until the waiter explained it was mixed in with the beans. I finally found a few rice grains. This tiny amount of food was served on a huge plate and was pushed off to the side, making the portion look even smaller. A nice touch was chicken of the woods mushrooms fried to a golden brown placed on top. The way they normally serve it is with an egg on top which I had them omit. When I got home the first thing I did was get a snack. My husband's shrimp and grits were a nice portion but he felt it was too rich. The servers were always standing close to our table which felt a little uncomfortable and the water was filled too many times. The host guy at the front was friendly and welcoming, a real asset to this restaurant. The interior was strange with a large hole in the middle and the tables to the side. The couch seat however was very comfortable. We ended up having a wonderful and adventurous evening anyway. While I don't think we will be back many of my friends enjoy meat, butter and heavier foods and they would absolutely love this place. I will highly recommend it to them...it just wasn't for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing customer service and the chefs are super creative. Awesome experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Private Room, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This meal did not live up to expectations. It was definately not gourmet or innovative. It was not even well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The waiter, Jodie wasn't giving great feedback at all while we ate afterwards nor were there but later on Charlie Wing was giving us an educational and feedback that we were asking for which was overdue during his duty. Jodie didn't noticed the one missing of orders as mac and cheese till we asked.. Jodie didn't showed passionate about the restaurant or food like Charlie did. When I return, I would ask for Him. I brought my bother there for first time and he felt standoff with our waiter however he felt so comfortable with Charlie and we chat a lot and she kept unfriendly so I never experienced that service before. Hostess lady explained about the restaurant history which was good.. only one problem is Jodie: terrible sorry.. She didn't stopped by our table a lot either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

You would have gotten a 5-star review and I get that you're going for the hipster eclectic angle , but I've honestly been in nicer bathrooms on bars with $1 dollar beer night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Amazing!!! Farm to table, all local NC farms and produce!! Loved it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a hidden gem, a great place to have outstanding food. The food not only tastes exceptional with layers of flavors, but the presentation is like a work of art. We would recommend the chef's tasting menu to get an experience of what Heirloom has to offer. The service is great, the staff all know the menu in detail and are extremely enthusiastic about the food. We travel just over 35 mins to get to the restaurant, but we would travel twice that distance if we had to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience! Food and service were excellent. Enjoyed all of the creative dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a wonderful experience, food and service. One of the best restaurants in the area and also one of the best in the country. We have traveled in Europe and around the US and we rank this in our top 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time and compared the layers of flavour to Blackberry Farm .
We had the tasting menu and loved every course and intend to return with friends in May. All of the servers had an extensive knowledge of the menu and made us feel very welcome on our first visit to Heirloom .

Regards Ian

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

As always, the food was great- prepared well, served by a knowledgeable and attentive server. The chef has added a selection of entrees in addition to the tasting menu. I think this is a great move, because it gives a wide selection of special dishes, with various price targets. Should make the restaurant even more enticing for patrons.
We normally do a five-course tasting menu, but this time my wife and I decided on the entree of farm-raised, grass-fed ribeye with mashed potatoes. We had had something similar when we were there on Valentine's Day as part of a tasting menu. It was fantastic, as usual. Don't know how the chef prepares the brussels sprouts that are served as a side, but they really have a unusual, special taste.
All in all, this is our favorite restaurant in the Charlotte area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food. Very knowledgeable and confident staff. One of if not the best restaurants in Charlotte! A+

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in Charlotte. The unique dishes, quality, and freshness of the cuisine blew me away. The proof was seeing the chef/owner in a beekeeper outfit outside of the window. Now that's going the extra mile for fresh honey.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best dining experience! First, started with the reservation confirmation, when they asked if we were celebrating anything. When I said yes, he asked, then had the menus personalized for us!! Our waiter was friendly, informative and seemed to enjoy the concept of the restaurant as much as we did. The menu was varied and reasonably priced with main dishes from $16 - $40. Drinks were great tasting, with good pours. The food... Simply amazing! Good portion size, elegant plating and fantastic on taste! The manager came around and personalized the occasion which was impressive and much appreciated. This will be a meal we'll talk about for a long while! Thank you to the Manager, our Server, Charlie, and the Cook Staff - you've set the bar for celebrating our anniversary extremely high!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a fantastic anniversary dinner. Top notch food and experience in a relaxed environment. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent chef choice meal. Wine parings perfect. Our server, Michael, was knowlegeable, attentive and professional. Over all, exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Easily one of the top dining experiences in the Charlotte area. While expensive, the tasting menu is a lot of fun (and neither of us received a dish we didn't like). I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our meal was outstanding, and the service was excellent. Our fish and steak were cooked to perfection. The staff is warm, friendly, and attentive. They personalized the menu in honor of my husband's birthday and then had the chef autograph it. We love knowing that we are supporting local farmers and resources when we dine at the Heirloom Restaurant. We are looking forward to bringing our friends next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As always an excellent experience at Heirloom. One of our top 3 restaurants in Charlotte! Tonight was the first night I felt the waiter was rushed but I could see they were pretty busy. Excellent food, drinks, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary there having the Chef's Tasting Menu. Everything was superb. Although I 'm not a fan of duck, it was actually pretty tasty. The soft shell crab was excellent. The hostess, the waiter, the atmosphere all were fantastic. I would recommend the Heirloom in a heartbeat.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and service. Loved to eat and support locals. Highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was my first time eating at Heirloom, and I was completely blown away. We are so lucky to have this restaurant in Charlotte! Chef Barlowe has worked at El Bulli and French Laundry; you can't really get better training than that. His commitment to local ingredients goes above and beyond _ there's an apiary on the roof, for crying out loud! Go here - you won't regret it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Such an awesome dinner experience! Food, ambience and staff was beyond exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wonderful service - from the hostess to the bartender to the wait staff - excellent people, who are concerned with your dining enjoyment. Obviously, the chef and cooking staff is as well, since the food is wonderful. I love the experimental things they do, constrained by your list of likes and dislikes for the tasting menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Outstanding, original, amazing! You won't find service and food like this anywhere in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Local food in Charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food was fresh. It was my husband's birthday. He ordered the chef's tasting menu with pairings and I ordered the soup of the day along with the crab cakes and tile fish; we wanted to have options. Everything that came out was delicious. The crab cakes were by far the best crab cakes I have ever had. We will definitely be returning to Heirloom.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal and perfect service. Heirloom has fantastic food and the ambiance is quiet and relaxed. Definitely happy for the fixed menu now and portion sizes were just right. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the six course testing menu along w/wine pairings. A fabulous experience. One of the best parts is only having a vague notion of what's coming next. Wines were excellent except I don't do port.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.