Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 6:15PM

Private Dining

Chef Clark Barlowe can create a custom menu or tasting for your guests, or choose from a la carte. Forty-six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Tasting Menu (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (15)
Organic (14)
Healthy (12)
Seasonal (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We came here for my birthday and had a wonderful time. I made the reservation online a few days in advance and noted special requests due to food allergies. Someone called me the following day to confirm the reservation and informed me that the chef would be happy to create 6 courses that would accommodate my needs. When we arrived, we were greeted immediately with a personalized menu. The staff was friendly and the ambiance was romantic and relaxing. The food was delicious!! We finished everything on our plates. We loved the experience and will definitely be returning with family and friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were really looking forward to this farm to table dining experience as we are major foodies and have dined in many high end restaurants all over Charlotte and the country. All in all it was just ok. The food really did not meet the beautiful descriptions given by our waiter. Two of our party had the fried chicken, which they did enjoy. One had the shrimp and grits and unfortunately did not like it at all as it seemed dry as there really was negligible sauce which seemed odd for shrimp and grits. One had the tasting dinner. Everything was pretty good, the pasta dish was the least favorite part with the lamb main course the favorite, very tasty. Too much food though, ended up taking two parts of the seven courses home and one did not travel well and ended up being thrown away. The beeswax mozzarella salad while sounding interesting and tasty ended up not liking this at all. The mozzarella had a funky taste that no one in our party cared for. Wish they had left the beautiful buffalo mozzarella alone. Did not have dessert. The meal was ok but disappointing, the biggest disappointment upon returning home was how much sodium we realized was in the food. One of our party is sensitive to sodium and had a very bad reaction and two others were extremely uncomfortable from the bloating and retention from the sodium. The service was exceptional, however. Surprised by all the 5 star reviews as this experience was most definitely not a 5 star for us. Were we left with a craving to return for another taste of something we ate, not really, so unfortunately, we most likely would not return. While their intentions are good they have much to work on.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our server was fabulous. He made great suggestions, very friendly and attentive but not too attentive. We will definitely go back again. The food was delicious 😋

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good, service and food were outstanding! Our waiter was awesome, the food was different and creative. Great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was good. Our server Paul was great! We'll be back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The best meal I had in 2017 so far. If you are in the Charlotte area I highly recommend eating here. In particular the fried chicken is delicious.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We did the tasting paired with wine to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Our menu even said "Happy Anniversary" on it, and the chef took the time to add a note and sign it.

We were concerned about attire (we went for dinner on a Thursday), but there were people dressed all kinds of ways. We saw people dressed up fancy, and people in tshirts and shorts. I would recommend at least business casual, though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, neat concept, awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

A wonderful experience. They gave us a commemorative menu wishing us a happy anniversary. We enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I went for an early dinner on Saturday night. The ambiance (at least before sundown) left a little to be desired. But the food and service more than made up for it. The service was spot on -- attentive but not overbearing, friendly but not unctuous. And the food was a revelation. Fresh mozzarella salad was lovely, with tomatoes juicy and sweet. The ribeye was huge and was accompanied by delicious garlic smashed potatoes and brussels sprouts. The duck confit was amazing and was accompanied by a surprisingly delicious onion pie (an old family recipe that I'd like to borrow). All in all, a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was divine, the atmosphere quiet and the service was great. Will definitely make this a go to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great food great staff just poor lighting overall it's and amazing restaurant. I always look forward to going. Again just poor poor lighting

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was fantastic. Food was very good. Decor could be improved but the service made up for it. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place is a hidden gem that is easily accessible from I-485. Have been here twice. Fantastic food and friendly, knowledgeable service. I have had chef's tasting menu both times--each time all courses were delicious. My wife has had fresh fish both visits and both meals were delicious. All food and most drinks are from NC. This is a great example of farm to table eating. Excellent choice both for a date night or a special occasion. Heirloim is definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Lovely experience ! This was our second time. First was a romantic dinner and this was a gathering of friends for a birthday. Great concept of all local ingredients. Excellent food great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I love fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. This is the best of both worlds. The wait staff was incredibly well educated and every person who approached our table added to our overall experience. The chef is inspired! I would love to go back to try the full tasting menu (which changes daily based on locally available ingredients and the chef's explorations), perhaps for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This is a fantastic eating experience. The food is all locally sourced and the dishes are interesting and delicious. I highly recommend the Chef's 6 Course dinner. While a bit pricey, it is worth every penny. Courses are typically salad, soup, entre 1, entre 2, cheese and then dessert. The menu changes often ... so it makes no sense to talk about specific dishes. The only thing I'll say is that the chef is a genius. If you enjoy surprises and high quality food, then you'll love this place. Note that the ambiance is very low key. The restaurant seems to have been a fish camp or something like it in the past so the decor fails to match the quality of the food. It is also in a strange part of town that would be more suited for a grocery store, laundry mat or strip mall. But you'll forget about all that once you start eating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Chef Clark has hit his stride! The perfect blend of innovation and taste.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was our 4th time and it was wonderful as always. The dishes are delicious and unique. We never leave disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Heirloom is a great farm to fork restaurant with excellent food. Was a bit disappointed in the steak I had but the rest of the food was great. Restaurant is cool and I look forward to visiting again soon both with my wife and/or business associates.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Its always a pleasure to dine here . Cliff is so creative with his menus . They have added some spices from Savory Spices ( their spices are irrdadiated ) and they have a new pastry chef. Her style is not as flexible as the previous pastry chef. But its still a great restaurant that keeps the farm to form theme. I think though in the future I will avoid Restaurant Week though ....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We came during restaurant week. Being new to Charlotte, we thought that Heirloom delivered the freshest versions of flavor on some of the most typical southern cuisine. We began the meal with a bottle of BYOB (YAY!) wine. The men ordered beers off the menu. The waiter came around with fresh wheat biscuits and well salted butter. The biscuits were a little dry for my taste, but tasty none the less. We ordered the beeswax mozzarella salad, which was burst with fresh flavor from the smoked cauliflower and the ripest tomatoes. I actually thought the mozzarella left little to be desired. My fiance and my friends fiance ordered the shrimp cocktail which looked like it had been blackened to perfection. For entrees, we ordered the eggplant lasagna, the shrimp and grits, the fried chicken, and the steak. Each meal was expertly delivered and pretty on the eyes. We finished our meals with 3 orders of the salted caramel cheesecake, which was presented deconstructed beautifully on slate and 1 order of the cheerwine reduction pound cake, which was just "meh". As we paid the bill we were each presented with wrapped elderberry cookie -- it was divine! Overall the ambiance was great, the food was tasty-- we had a great time and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went during Restaurant week, and had anticipated ordering from the items listed on the Queens Feast website menu that Heirloom submitted. They replaced two out of the four main courses, and we really weren't that interested in what they had in place of them. Started with two small dry wheat biscuits which were delivered with such pomp and circumstance we thought they would be awesome, but no. For $35 per person, we only get two biscuits? Appetizers were pretty good. I had the fried chicken for dinner, was mostly fried skin, and the meat part was wrapped in a layer of fat. Couldn't cut through it with a knife. It was atop a slaw that was bitter. The side of truffel mac and cheese was pretty good, but not that tasty. Most disappointing was when the waiter looked at my plate that was pretty full of uneaten food he didn't bother to ask if something was not good, to which I most definitely would have replied. He pretty much grabbed my plate and scooted. The dessert just confirmed that we will never go back. Had the turtle cheesecake, which was smeared on a plate , so it really was like 1/3 of a portion of cheesecake you would normally get with chocolate sauce drizzled over top sprinkled with a few pecan pieces. Very disappointed. We drove a good ways to get there, it is off the beaten path for sure, and had such good reviews. I think the chef has missed the boat with restaurant week. Make people want to come back!! Do it well or don't participate. We will never go back. Way too expensive for not that great of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Three and half years it's been in the area and this was my first time there! It definitely won't be my last!! Amazing how they are all about NC and local farmers!! This will be a go to from now on! Our server was the best!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was amazing! The service was fantastic! I will definitely take more clients there when I am back in Charlotte! Thanks for a terrific evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was excellent our server Hannah made excellent recommendations. The ambience is so cool with all the plants and crops which is used in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Exceptional service, food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

It's like having Husk and Sean Brock right down the road. Best restaurant in North Charlotte area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great experience and love the concept! NC everything! E

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Don't be dissuaded by the exterior of this restaurant, which could really use a coat of paint, especially the roof, (which houses several bee hives!). The food is creative and all native to North Carolina. The wait staff was very informative and the service was quick. We overheard a couple of tables complaining about the limited selections, due to restaurant week, but they should have investigated before making a reservation. We will return. You should too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

With the reviews I expected something memorable. Maybe it is because it is restaurant week, but there wasn't one thing I ate that I would order again. Everything was just okay. Not sure that I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food, fantastic service! The food was fresh and cooked perfectly. The service from the bar to the wait staff was excellent and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Exceptional food and great setting. Loved the Shrimp and Grits as well as the desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was wonderful. Food falls short. Shrimp and grits were just awful. The grits had no taste and a glue-like consistency. Shrimp were extra salty and chewy. The worst part was the gummy, canned "roasted" corn in the grits. I have never been so excited to go to a restaurant and so let down in my life. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Speechless!! Everything was amazing... literally everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This is one of the best meals I have ever had. From the personalization of the menu and the impeccable service, it seemed that the entire staff wanted to make sure it was a special evening for us. The food was unbelievable as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great for dates as well. Unique menu with tasty options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I took my fiancee there for her birthday and the experience could not have been better. The staff printed HAPPY BIRTHDAY and her name on our menus and Clark, the chef and owner, signed a personal note on one of them before we left.

Adam, our server, was the best I've had in Charlotte. Knowledgable, fun, friendly, and totally accommodating. This is the best restaurant in Charlotte, folks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What a treat to find this restaurant north of Charlotte. The staff is friendly and helpful and all of their suggestions were delicious! Great cocktails too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I visited here on a Friday night. I opted for the chef's tasting menu while my wife had the crab cakes. In short, we loved our meals! The tasting menu was six courses consisting of a salad, soup, two mains, a cheese dish, and, of course, dessert. The beeswax mozzarella salad was very good and fresh. The soup was a Bermuda fish chowder and was also excellent. For the 3rd course, I opted for fried chicken. I probably wouldn't get that again. It had nice flavor, but the chicken was dry. Ribeye steak was the 4th course and was amazing! One of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Our dessert was a turtle cheesecake which was more than enough to share (especially after the feast preceding it!) and was excellent. My wife enjoyed her crab cakes. They had jalapeños on top, so expect some heat with those. If you're thinking of getting the tasting menu, budget about 2 hours for dinner, but I highly recommend it. All in all, it was a great evening. The service was also very good. With each dish that came out, they gave a little explanation about the ingredients which are all locally grown. Our waiter also gave us good suggestions as were trying to decide what to get.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.