About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Private Party Facilities:
Thirty-Six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Strecker: (704) 595-7710

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (35)
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Tasting Menu (26)
Romantic (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (12)
Seasonal (12)
Organic (12)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Healthy (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great Birthday Dinner ~ steak was a bit overcooked but still delicious. Crab cakes were good as well. Pricey menu but the food portions are good. The desserts were Delish! The exterior of the building is not much to look at from the outside but cozy on the inside. The entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our dining experience extra special. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointing.

Had the Valentine's Day prix fix menu which looked really good on the menu but the execution was subpar. Poke was bland, steak half grizzle, dinner rolls didn't seem fresh.

Reasonably priced wine list, nice cocktails, desert very good.

Certainly possible we caught them on a bad night.

Wanted to love it but just didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to Heirloom many times and love Clark's tasting menu. We had friends in from RI and wanted to take them there, not realizing they were doing the Valentine's day 4 course menu. But it was still fantastic as expected!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything on their menu is local and "farm to table," and if it can't be sourced in NOrth Carolina, they won't include it on their menu. Even the spirits and alcohol (aside from wine) is local to NC. Gotta love and respect that! I was actually hoping to try their well known 6 course menu, but they were offering their 4 course Valentine's Day menu, so we tried that. The service was very good throughout our dinner. Your water will constantly be refilled, they pour the wine for you, and food is timely. For Valentine's Day, they offered 4 courses for $55.00. I started with the Poached Egg for my first course, which included toast porridge, lamb sausage, charred jalapenos and some greens. This was good, except a little too spicy for me with the charred jalapenos. I think next time I'll ask for those on the side! For the second course, I went with the NC Lump Crab Cake. These were delicious atop the beautifully colored sumac red rice. The crab cakes were tender and flavorful, and held together well. For my third course, I chose the crostini with goat cheese, apples, endive and a port wine reduction. This was perfectly light after the second course, but a great combination of flavors with the creamy goat cheese.

Lastly, for my 4th course, I chose the Cheerwine Pound Cake, served with chocolate buttercream,and pepper and beet cookie crumble. I love ordering "out of the box" idea dishes, and I was pleasantly surprised with this dish. The pound cake was light and airy, but the beet cookie crumble added a pleasant sweet crunch on top. I'm a sucker for buttercream, so I loved the chocolate buttercream as well. We also enjoyed the lemon smashed cheesecake, served with roasted blueberries, graham cracker and lemon curd. It was perfectly light and creamy.

I would definitely return to Heirloom to try their signature 6 courses sometime in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Food was great. Service was evenough better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have eaten at Heirloom in the past and tasting menus were creative and well prepared. This time the four of us decided to have starters and mains. The server and chef were very cooperative in altering some of the sides even though they were busy with an early Valentine's 4 course tasting menu.

Starters, oysters, soup and beet salad were excellent. The mains, on the other hand were all overcooked. My duck confit was a small potion, over salty and over cooked. I have had this dish dozens of times in US and In Europe and it was subpar. Both the wahoo fish of the day and fried chicken were also too well done and chicken was more breading than meat. Vegetable special was good but tomatoes were over breaded and over cooked even on second try.

I try out local restaurants all over Charlotte and when we travel. We will return down the road because I love the concept but will stick to the tasting menu and pick a night when the kitchen is not overtaxed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The concept is cool, but the building looks like an old run down fish camp. Someone gifted my family a Groupon to use for my nearing graduation and they wouldn't accept it because we didn't notify them ahead of time. Which is difficult to do seeing that I made reservations via open table. When I got a confirmation call the same day of my reservation they didn't ask if we had a Groupon only if there were dietary restrictions (which is nice to ask) but when we got there they denied our Groupon. The chicken wasn't the best I've had considering the price. probably wouldn't go back to other than to redeem our gifted Groupon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Unique experience for first time diners at Heirloom. The ingredients are fresh, and you can definitely taste the difference than other restaurants. The oysters were the best and freshest I've ever tasted! The dessert we shared, was excellent, too! A deconstructed carrot cake. My wife's fresh catch, Wahoo, perhaps a little over-cooked, and her average beet salad, turned an otherwise great experience, into just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Third time to Heirloom, and continues to be a delight. Wonderfully prepared food, local/North Carolina ingredients, excellent service, and a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. Continues to feel like a very special hidden discovery every time. I'll be sad to see this place go from being a quiet neighborhood sleeper to a major player on the Charlotte restaurant scene, but it certainly deserves to be. The menu changes slightly according to season, and what sort of local ingredients have become available that week, which is a real pleasure. Special credit to the chef and kitchen staff, as well as to the service staff and management… everyone, without exception, is courteous, friendly, very familiar with the menu, and more than willing to talk through tasting options and special items. I can't recommend this place highly enough; without a doubt one of the top restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Organic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary at Heirloom and lived every minute of it. From the minute we walked in we were treated special and loved the romantic ambiance. We had the brussel sprouts, sweet potato soup, the chicken dumplings, duck confit and the ribeye. All were delicious! Our hostess and waiter were excellent! We love the farm to table presence of this restaurant. The restaurant was very accommodating of my gluten and dairy allergies. We highly recommend Heirloom.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very accommodating staff and delicious food. Generous portions and delicious flavor combinations. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, innovative food, attentive capable service and the quiet country atmosphere all make this a great spot for dinner. They are almost entirely local farm to table, and they clearly know their sources because everything was fresh, appetizing in appearance and very tasty. The cheese and charcuterie appetizer was excellent, especially the cheese selection. My rib steak was done perfectly, and the brussel sprouts were tender and flavorful. They put a lot of thought into every stage of the meal from the menu through to preparation and presentation; the staff did an excellent job of answering questions, making helpful suggestions and providing us with insight into what Heirloom is all about. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My friends were very happy with their meals. All 3 of them ordered the beet salad and crab cake entree and loved everything.

I, however, was very disappointed. I ordered the chicken & dumplings and the ribeye (which had a $12 upcharge). The chicken & dumplings was served to me lukewarm but it was flavorful so I ate it and did not complain about it. I ordered my steak medium-well and it was served to me pretty rare. I think the waitress must have misunderstood me and thought that I said medium-rare. I sent it back; they asked me if I wanted a whole new steak or just cook that piece more and I chose the latter, I didn't want to waste the food. It was brought back and it was still pretty red in the middle; I ate half and took the rest home. Yesterday when I took it out to heat it up for lunch I could see that it really was very red still and it made me think that they didn't even attempt to cook it more.

I personally will not go back; for the money and the restaurant's reputation, I expected more. My friends loved it and they would definitely go back and for this I give it a fair review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I may have been there on an off night but the food was just mediocre. The service was outstanding, I was just a bit disappointed in the food itself. I would give it another try but the cocktails were way too strong, and the dessert was inedible in my opinion.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Heirloom made my birthday special! It was a great atmosphere. The food was delicious, all farm to table, and the service was excellent. I cannot wait to return and try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was exceptional! Before our reservation we received a call reminding us about the reservation as well as asking about any accommodations or special events. When we arrived we were sat right away and given the story of the restaurant. To our surprise, they had custom printed menus reflecting the event we were celebrating which was a nice touch. The staff was very attentive, and the food was beyond delicious and presented beautifully. Overall we received great service, and exceptional food! We will definitely be returning, and recommending to all of our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was really looking forward to this dinner, the reviews were stunning. Unfortunately the food was (at best) flavorless and uninspired, plating was messy and the decor and service-ware (plates etc) was too homey for the menu pricing. The locally farm-to-table doesn't need to mean you feel like you are eating in an old (and tastelessly decorated) farm house; and it doesn't need to mean that the food needs to lack inspiration, ingredients and combinations. Old standards should be elevated and presented with some new or extremely refined flavors. We felt that our money would have been better spent at a 'family restaurant' - the crab cakes were good but not special, the fried chicken was well fried... but not special. I was really expecting a high level palate, service and presentation - we found none of these. Very overpriced and stingy portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

An Heirloom is a special piece that is passed down from generation to generation. This Heirloom has some of those characteristics, i just wish a little more restoration went into the overall restaurant to make it as special as an Heirloom should be. The decor reminds me of an upscale southern fish camp (not an upscale restaurant). The food is uber creative but seems to be over the top towards the foraging aspect inserted all over the menu. I appreciate the respect given to local ingredients, in this case sourced in NC. But not all NC ingredients are the best choice, as can be clearly tasted when experimenting with NC whiskies. Heirloom has the potential to be a top tier Charlotte restaurant; a fresher more inviting interior, an expansion to the best local not just NC ingredients and a more conplimenting wine and bar selection. With a little renovation here and there this Heirloom could be a real treasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was impeccable. The food, while acceptable, was surprisingly unremarkable. Such a disappointment as so many friends had recommended it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Got reservations for my wife's 34th birthday. The service was great, out waitress Morgan was prompt and extremely personable, the staff printed out a personalized menu for my wife wishing her a happy birthday. The food was excellent, we ordered off the taste of charlotte 3 course menu, my wife had the purple sweet potato soup/ heirloom fried chicken/ apple cake, I had the chicken& dumplings/ house made pasta/ elderberry smashed cheesecake, we both cleaned our plates. We were served complimentary chocolate burden ice cream and got homemade cookies to go. Made a special night, all that much more memorable. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went to Heirloom last night and came away unimpressed. I've heard good things about it and was excited, however the experience itself did not live up to my expectations. Even though after reading some of the reviews, my expectations had diminished. We arrived and contrary to some reviews thought the decor was kind of nice. Clearly can use an update, but was kind of unique and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hostess and most everybody else was extremely pleasant and truly demonstrated a desire to make a pleasurable experience. The server himself was ok. When trying to find the right wine asked to taste a couple. Describing our preferred taste as oaky, he came back with an unoaked wine to taste. When asking to try others, he seemed frustrated as we were bothering him, but in the end, found some wine that we enjoyed. Next was the food. I had the chicken and dumplings and she had the beets and butter lettuce. Both were very good. Next came the entrees. The crab cakes were really good. However, I had the Heirloom Fried Chicken. To say I was unimpressed would be an overstatement. They were glorified chicken tenders that were bland and greasy. It was accompanied by a Truffle Mac 'n Cheese dish. Again, very little taste. I didn't finish the Mac 'n Cheese as it tasted just like plain pasta. Finished the dinner with their apple cake and elderberry smashed cheesecake. Both were blah. Did not finish either. The cheesecake had 3 small dollops of a light cream cheese product that were so tiny, you could not really taste whether it was good or bad. The elderberry smash had a good taste, but was odd to eat on it's own without more of the cheesecake. The apple cake was OK, again, kind of tasteless. We came during restaurant week which I'm thankful for. Our bill ended up being $120 and we ended up not finishing several of the items served. I don't understand how they charge their higher tasting prices. The intent is there, just poorly executed.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Met friends there for supper. 2 fried chicken meals, one steak and one crab cakes. Salads were good. Desserts were good. The wine complemented the meal well. The young lady taking care of us took note of allergy concerns. Did a great job of keeping an eye on us and tending. Answered our questions and everything came out as she said it would.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was excellent as was our server!! Will definitely go back especially for the fried chicken, kale salad, ribeye and prop belly! So tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We chose Heirloom as part of the Queens Feast celebration. I was really looking forward to trying it as it enjoys a very good, hard-earned reputation in a competitive fine dining market. Positives? Warm hostess greeting, cozy (but dark) atmosphere, eclectic table ware, friendly folks that brought the food. Could be better? Our waiter wasn't on his game, crab cakes were a disappointing ratio of bread-to-crab. Only ate about 1/3 of the entrée. My companions had fried chicken and a vegetable plate. Our experience was "not bad, but not great either". May give it one more try before calling it a day. It's a great restaurant concept and really enjoy seeing local small business owners succeed -- I hope to be a converted Heirloom fan one day.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

On a scale of 1-10 we'd give Heirloom a 7. Good. Great service. Like the location and we hear they are going to remodel which will be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent quality, locally sourced and foraged food. All within the state of NC. Food was nicely crafted. Was relatively quiet when we arrived for dinner, and was nice for quiet conversation. Service was very friendly from entering the restaurant to leaving, and very helpful.

The purple sweet potato soup was on point, the rib eye to die for, and the apple cake was delicious. Worth checking this place out when they're open for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service and food were excellent. The lighting however was awful. Feels like a spotlight in the middle of the room with all of the corners darkened. Needs re-working. Not necessarily a deterrent from going though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Heirloom was our choice for Charlotte Restaurant Week and it more than lived up to it's (growing) reputation. Chef Clark Barlowe and his more-than-knowledgeable, welcoming staff make dinner more of an experience than a meal. Our table of 6 (4 new to the restaurant) savored every bite of their entrees. But the supporting cast of bibb salad, cornbread and molasses, salt 'n pepper cookie and carrot ice cream (for reals) had us talking all the way home. My description does not even begin to describe all the ingredients. Get thee to this restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had a great time on a date at Heirloom! The food was really good and the waitress Hannah was great! It was really dark in the restaurant but it just added to the overall ambiance! Would totally go back again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dined at Heirloom during restaurant week, first course was good, crab cakes were a little dry and I kept biting on shells. Apple cake was very good but others did not enjoy the cheesecake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved the theme of the restaurant and that is to serve local not only with the food but the service ware, art work and musicians. The chef himself goes out and forages local foods in addition to visiting each of the local farms to build relationships with the farmers. Only foods that are in season will be on the menu and the flavor of the food is intense compared to your run of the mill restaurant. This is one of the few restaurants I will frequent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the food here! Went during restaurant week and got the beet salad, fried chicken, and elderberry cheesecake!! Did not disappoint! Will definitely be going back here for years to come!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We heard so much about this restaurant and was really looking forward to enjoying. Very disappointing to say the least.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My wife and I went there for restaurant week and both the service and food were amazing, we look forward to going there again.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Grossly overpriced... They are trying to pull off upscale dining in an old Fish Camp restaurant... note of caution... in my case it was the old bait-and-switch routine they had a Groupon coupon advertised yet when you switch on their menu it clearly states they had the chef's taste item 3 course for $35 however conveniently when you go to the restaurant they don't offer the three-course anymore they only have A6 that is $70 plus any extras... I thought it was upgrading from the normal franchises however I should have stayed with what I knew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Not as good as you I had hoped. Great reviews but food was inconsistent: soup good, salad good, entree fair to good, dessert good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience. The tasting menu was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Service was great and they took really great care of us to help celebrate a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wasn't really impressed by Heirloom. Went on New Year's Eve, even used a groupon, and the meal was still $150! There also seemed to be some confusion on using the groupon, even though the fine print that I could find, didn't indicate we couldn't use it. I was pretty disappointed overall as the food was mediocre. It also took around 2 hours total, and an hour and a half . Near the end my date and I had to rush the staff. Maybe it was just our menu for the evening or I'm not used to fine and overpriced somewhat ehh dining. Wont' be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food here is fantastic. They can't make speciality drinks and the wine isn't great because everything is NC. They made a Kir Royal with moscato and blackberry vinegar with simple syrup. Grossest thing I've had in a long time. Food is great though. Staff was helpful on menu, again not helpful in just telling us not to order drinks and making it up as they went- poorly.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We finally tried Herloom for New Year's eve on the recommendation of raving friends and other review. We were quite dissipointed, and wouldn't return.

First, I have to say that our server was amazing! Truly the best part of our meal. We did the 7 course tasting menu, and she was careful to explain every dish as it was served and ensure that we didn't have any allergy or taste issues.

Our salad was good, the sweet potato soup was not flavorful but okay, and the main (goose) and sides, and the brie were fantastic. But the clam risotto was completely lacking in flavor, even salt. We asked for some to make it edible, but they only had some in a small jar that a spoon couldn't quite get into enough. This is a safety concern, someone could have easily gotten frustrated and put their fingers in it. I should have, instead I wound up with too much salt in my food. The bread and leaf jelly were tasteless. Having been fresh baked, I'm not sure how it was so bland and just not good. It was the dessert that really left a bad taste in my mouth though, literally. Chocolate cake, dry, seemingly a few days old, with again, lack of taste. It was accompanied with roasted strawberries which sound better than they tasted, and did nothing to help the state of the cake. It's not that hard to get cake right, but this was a major fail.

For the price and lack of taste we won't repeat this restaurant. I really wanted to like it, the idea of sourcing local is fantastic, but not at the expense of good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent, unique, local food and knowledgeable staff. What more could you ask?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great experience again. Even though they list their multiple course menu as 6 items, they still do the entire 12 course menu on request. We did so for a party of 6 adults and each couple shared their own 12 courses so we could sample each plate ( they bring 2 entrees at a time per couple and you exchange plates to try different things if you want). Everything was well put together and you can expect some dishes better than others but mostly everything was uniquely prepared with great flavors. Service was great as well and our waitress was well versed on all ingredients being used as well as the preparation techniques. Definitely a unique experience you cannot get anywhere else in Charlotte and worth the 20miin drive from the city center if you want to do something out of the ordinary and impress your out of town friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very nice place. Excellent food, reasonably priced. Ambiance is a bit out-of-date (southern supper club passe). Front of house manager takes great care of diners. Will be back more often in the future. Appreciate that they have added a la carte offerings in addition to their tasting menu(s).

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I took my husband to Heirloom for our 9th wedding anniversary. The food was delicious and wines were paired wonderfully. From soup and salad to desert everything from the tasting menu was scrumptious. Dimly lit intimate setting. The staff was very attentive. As a special touch we were given a menu with a signed note from the chef thanking us for dining at Heirloom. The staff knows how to make you feel special!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Best chef using North Carolina ingredients!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic as always. They have started with a lacarte ordering though I prefer the course offerings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had an exceptional dining experience at Heirloom. The service felt very personal, and the food was presented well and tasted delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Highly disappointing. I read nothing but great reviews and heard nothing but glowing remarks from friends who had been. From start to finish it was sadly a poor experience. I went with the "I trust you" cocktail option, gave the waiter my preferences, and was served something awful that didn't match my tastes at all. My wife's tea was low quality-- some sort of rose petal based type that is technically not tea (she is from a tea centric culture and knows what is good and what is not). My wife ordered the pheasant, it came lukewarm as if it had been sitting out for 15 min before being served. I ordered fried chicken which was hot when served, but was extremely bland... when you have to ask for salt for fried chicken, you know it's a problem. The slaw it was sitting on tasted old. The mac & cheese served with my chicken was room temp, and all the pasta was stuck together like it had been sitting our for a while, similar to my wife's pheasant. We couldn't get out the door fast enough. We drove 40 min away to 131 Main and had nice cocktails and an appetizer to take the sting away. Just very very unfortunate, I really wanted to like this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall a very good restaurant and experience. This was my first time dining at Heirloom. The Website is very insightful, I would recommend spending a few minutes reading through it before visiting.

The atmosphere is great and the wait staff are very knowledgable with menu items. It may have been that this was my first time, but the waiter stopped by a little too often. He was very polite and eager to help but I did almost feel a little rushed. Again, probably because it was my first time.

All of the food we had was terrific. Everything was cooked right, all the ingredients were fresh and well-seasoned, and the presentation was great. This is without a doubt a fine dining experience.

Only reason I gave 3 stars for 'value' was because I feel that the cocktails were a little overpriced. The food was priced appropriately. Overall, very good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.