Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.99mi
  2. Distance: 3.15mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 4.20mi

About Heirloom Restaurant

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Chef Clark Barlowe can create a custom menu or tasting for your guests, or choose from a la carte. Forty-six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Local Ingredients (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Seasonal (17)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (9)
Fun (8)
Organic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Food had great flavor but lacked execution and service was a little slow. A group of us went there for the beginning of restaurant week. Oysters were great, raw. The lightening cakes were good but they were a little bitter from being burnt. The ribeye was a great but was overcooked from the requested temp. The fried chicken had great flavor and crunch but dry. The porcini mac and cheese was very earthy but pasta overcooked. Chocolate cake was very good. Duck fat funnel cake was good, tad greasy but the sauce was great. They use all local ingredients for everything. We do recommend Heirloom as everything had great flavor but I am guessing the rush from restaurant week attributes to execution errors. Will go back again though.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The exterior of this suburban location provides no clue about the creative and outstanding dining found inside, until you notice the oyster shells integrated into the landscaping. Mushrooms of multiple varieties were delicious in every course (yes, including dessert). Every item we ordered was delicious and distinctive. Even the focaccia was unusually light and flavorful. Our server was very knowledgeable about the ingredients (who knew that lightning was responsible for an appetizer) and friendly without veering into overly familiar territory. And, with our food sourced from NC, we decided to include NC wine. The server recommended a wine of tenant grape which was full-bodied and tasty...and he shared the grape’s history. Great place for anyone wanting local ingredients creatively prepared. But, if you hate mushrooms, the menu choices may be somewhat reduced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Service and food were phenomenal! Wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

After hearing so much hype, we were sorely disappointed with our visit. (Note: We went during restaurant week.) The service and ambiance was great but the food was slow and not great. The fried chicken was overcooked. It didn't have any taste and was chewy. I ordered the NC Catch after seeing an image on Instagram. The huge piece of fish was absent and instead I had 2, maybe 1.5 oz filets. With a fresh rotating catch, I understood there may be some variance. The filets were cooked crisp on one side, but the filets were so thin, the entire fish was overcooked. The fish was on top of a bland rice cake. The lightning cakes were the best part of the meal. The desserts left a lot to be desired. $150 and 2 hours laters (two top, only 3 courses), we had some leftovers packaged to go. The server forgot to bring them before we left, but we didn't say anything. We weren't sad to leave the restaurant and leftovers behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent. The waitstaff was very knowledgeable as to the ingredients and preparation of the dishes. The outside appearance of the restaurant had us wondering, but the inside was much better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Clark outdoes himself with local ingredients and suppliers. Where else can you have honey from the roof and chocolate cake made mostly from mushrooms! And it all tastes and looks great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

Wonderful staff, did six course chefs tasting and wine pairing. Would highly recommend going here if you don’t want to have to break the bank to fancy and really nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Wow, Heirloom was fantastic. We did the Chef's Tasting and Wine Pairing, that's 6 courses with 6 wines. The service and knowledge of the servers was outstanding. Each course was crafted, inventive and delicious. I was even introduced to ingredients I've never heard of, Turtle Weed?! The wines were outstanding and portions were perfect. Their push is to use locally sourced ingredients (90%) and with each dish it was described and referenced perfectly. Most of the dishes were served on Carolina made pottery. Even the Avett brothers were playing in the background! What an amazing experience. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Fabulous food experience. Love the North Carolina vibe

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We visited Heirloom on New Year's Eve and had the 6 course Tasting Menu with the wine pairings. After being warmly greeted at the door, we began the night with a cocktail at the bar with Dexter, the cocktail menu is ever evolving, but his negroni is perfection! This year's menu (we make it a point to come each year for New Year's Eve) was indulgent, but light and portion sizes were perfect. I mean we started the night with duck prosciutto how can you go wrong with that? It was everything you want in a New Year's Eve Menu. The wine pairings worked magnificently with each course. Service was on point and not rushed. This is how a tasting menu and a fine dining restaurant should be executed. So if you haven't tried Heirloom, or it's been a while.....what are you waiting for? You are truly missing out!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Was not aware the menu for NYE was tasting menu only with price fix. Food was good, small portions of steak for main course. For price of meal, was a little disappointed. Would go back to try regular menu some point.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We did the tasting menu with wine pairings and it was perfection!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2017

This is a local place for us, and we try to visit often. We have tried the tasting course dinners and have very much enjoyed those. We have recently been getting the entrée choices, and our most recent visit I had the catch special which was swordfish. The chef nailed the preparation as the swordfish steak was perfectly cooked and delicious! I must say the serving portion was very generous, and the fish was very fresh.
My wife ordered the pork Milanese, and she very much enjoyed it and gnocchi side along with the protein. I tried some of it, very nice simple preparation, but very tasty!
Check this place out!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Charlotte restaurant gem. Chef Clark outdoes himself everytime! We got the Groupon for the tasting and left full, happy, and chatting about the meal! Imagine experiencing a NEW flavor- the oysters had a pickled vinegar that changed the entire experience for us- what an amazing flavor. Everything is bursting with flavor- even eating fried chicken was a new flavor experience. Heirloom is definitely a treasure for foodies. Even if you're just in the mood for a burger- there's a burger board that had me salivating! Soups are fantastic and served in beautiful earthy-tree trunk bowls. Staff is courteous, helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the menu and how each item is prepared. You can tell that the staff is proud to work here. Chef went out of the way to ensure that our birthday celebrations were special and even autographed our menus. Gotta, GOTTA go if you have not yet experienced this gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Had one of the best meals of my life. Tried the chef's tasting menu and it was perfect. Wine parings were excellent, service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

I don’t usually comment but for Heirloom In a word “Fabulous”!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Very interesting and unique Farm and Forest to Table dishes. Excellent flavors, staff was superb and great recommendations to meet our interests in both the food and drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great service. Great food. Great wine paring. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Great place and a very laid back experience. We did the tasting menu which was amazing. Looking forward to trying the regular menu items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The appetizers and entrees were all fantastic. Our server, Hannah, was a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Heirloom has become a part of my monthly routine.... if not more! Exquisite menu and service. Dining there is an experience that I haven’t had in a long time.. maybe ever! The thought and preparation that go into the food is beyond anything I’ve ever seen! Thank you Clarke and Patrick for opening my eyes and palate to a whole new world!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Many personal touches made my wife’s birthday celebration extra special. So many great menu options to choose from...we both chose the 6 course tasting menu, and enjoyed every course. The selections were not anything we would have normally chosen from the menu, but the Chef, waiter and staff did a wonderful job explaining and preparing each selection.

We enjoyed the Restaurant and the cuisine education. We left very happy and quite full. Thanks to all of the Heirloom staff, you did everything right!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere, great food with many choices, excellent service.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2017

A truely wonderful experience, we each had the tasting menu, 3 of the 4 of us had to have a special version due to dietary requirements and they did a fantastic job. Loved it, and will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2017

First visit and will return. Thank you! The taste of our appetizer and entree was spot on. Next time we will come looking forward to the chiefs inspired 6 course meal. We just were not hungry enough this time!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

GO! This is by far my favorite restaurant in the Charlotte area! Go!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food was cold when served, service was less than what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2017

My husband and I had a Groupon to use so we booked a table at Heirloom on a Friday night. There was a large group having it seemed like a Christmas party in the main area but we were seated in a smaller room off to the side which kept the noise level down. Our servers were very prompt and attentive. We split the tasting menu and had it paired with wine. In addition, we started off with a special cocktail each and shared the lightning cakes, delicious mushroom based nibbles. The wine paired with the tasting menu was excellent and each course was so tasty! By the end, I was so full and very happy that we shared the tasting menu. I would recommend Heirloom in a heartbeat to anyone who has a special occasion because they do make it very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We made a reservation for Friday night for anniversary (drove from wingate to experience NC’s finest local cuisine) and they neglected to mention 1/2 of the restaurant was reserved for a Christmas party. We spent most of our meal paying attention to the loud fun they were having instead of enjoying our anniversary dinner. We also waited about ten minutes to be greeted by our server which was frustrating. Ordering the tasting menu was probably a mistake, while it was good, it wasn’t very exciting and seemed like the most basic items from their menue.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Good local farm to fork experience Excellent food and service. Will go back for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2017

This place is truly a hidden gem. Tonight was our first time dining here and we were very pleased. The service was outstanding, the food was delectable, and the ambiance was very nice; it was such a welcome change from the majority of restaurants in the area, where table conversation competes with loud music, where service is lacking, and where the menu offerings are unimaginative and, oftentimes, unpalatable. Heirloom is more than a cut above the rest; it's an experience, not a trough. Looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times over the last few years.
The food has always been spectacular and the service was top notch.
They went through some reshuffling apparently in January 2017. The food is still pretty good but not quite on par with what it was previous. The service wasn't quite as good. There use to be a bread cart and you could select what you liked. Now they bring you each one piece of bread and that is it.
For the $100 per person it isn't really worth it anymore.
Your results may vary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Went with a group of 8 to celebrate a smoky birthday and we couldn’t have had a better experience. Food and service were immaculate. It was an amazing experience! Thanks so much to Clark and the team for a wonderful night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love this place. We had our wedding reception here and just celebrated our first wedding anniversary there as well. The food is and excellent and the handcrafted cocktails from the bartender Dexter are on point. They also say that any dietary restrictions can be accommodated with enough of a heads up. This is a place that should definitely be in the rotation if you enjoy good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Everything was good. The food was mediocre. Nothing exceptional. Chicken needed more seasoning. The ambiance was great and customer service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Staff was excellent and the food was spectacular. Cozy place with all local food including cocktails. A pretty special place.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very creative menu and wonderful service. Chef Barlowe does a superb job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Fantastic. One of the better meals/experiences I have had in some time. 6 course meal was better than I expected. No idea what was coming, which made the experience even better....as it would usually be something I would not order off a menu on my own. I was experiencing new things. And they were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Heirloom just keeps getting better! The food is creative, service is casual yet professional. Ambiance is warm and inviting. In our opinion, the best food in Charlotte!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

Exiting and fun dinning experience, we chose the 7 course Chefs menu - everyone loved it!
Lots of variation in flavors, ingredients and compositions -
Different dining experience than anything else in Charlotte - A Must to visit

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.