About Heirloom Restaurant

8470 Bellhaven Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216
View Larger Map

To make a reservation for parties larger than 6 people, please call the restaurant at (704) 595-7710.

Please include any dietary restrictions or other special requests in your reservation. We are able to special order most wines (including those from outside of North Carolina) for your enjoyment with at least 5 days notice.

Heirloom Restaurant is the product of Chef Clark Barlowe's North Carolina farm community upbringing and years of global travel. All ingredients that are brought in to Heirloom come from NC farms or producers, prompting a style best described as: Locally Sourced, Globally Inspired. This style of farm to table dining at Heirloom extends far beyond simply the food. From the Cocktail list focused strictly on NC distilleries, the wine list made up completely of NC vintages, the beer list sourcing only local craft breweries from Charlotte and the surrounding area, to the house music supplied from NC artists, Heirloom is North Carolina's restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 16/Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 595-7710

Website:
http://www.heirloomrestaurantnc.com/

Parking Details:
31 Space lot with 2 additional van accessible handicap spaces. Restaurant is located in shopping center in a free standing building so ample additional parking is also available.

Public Transit:
88x Mountain Island express CATS park and ride stop located at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clark Barlowe

Private Party Facilities:
Thirty-Six seat private dining room with additional lounge style seating at one end of the room. Capable of being arranged for presentations, meetings, or functions.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Strecker: 7045957710x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Heirloom Restaurant
Heirloom Restaurant

Heirloom Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charlotte
Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
3 More
Best Service
Charlotte
Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte

fit for foodies (60)
special occasion (53)
romantic (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, service was great ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was amazing, service was great but it was a little slow. We got the 12 course meal and we had to wait a bit on the last 5 courses and by the last 3 we were full. Would I do it again? DEFINITELY! No questions asked we will go back but will only get the 9 course meal. On top of the delicious food all the servers were amazing and they customized the menus with "Happy Anniversary" which made us feel extremely special and the Chef even signed them. For a FOODIE like me that meant the world!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was absolutely fantastic!!! My ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic!!! My husband and I really enjoyed our first visit! We took the waiter's recommendation and shared the 12 course meal. It allowed us to sample everything and the portions were the right size for sharing. Thanks for a wonderful meal! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. My wife and I did th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. My wife and I did the 12 courses, shared, with the wine pairings. We are not big eaters and it was just right. The staff was very friendly and more knowledgeable than expected. We will definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unusual format but interesting way to pr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Unusual format but interesting way to present a large variety of specially prepared dishes. Obviously liked some dishes better than others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

food ok, service good...but expensive

Dined on June 4, 2016

The bar tender was great. Only wine and spirits from North Carolina, interesting but NC is not known for its Bourbon!! Food was good, not great which I would expect with the prices they charged! Good service, rustic decor ....just not what I was expecting and surely not for the money they charge.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service3

Although I have heard great things, I am ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Although I have heard great things, I am sad to say I was underwhelmed. The restaurant was not busy at all but still took between 30 and 40 minutes between courses (and there wee up to 12 courses available). Our group ordered between 3 and 5. The wines by the glass selection is all NC wines and the amount poured was ridiculous. I would estimate between 3 and 4 oz. but still charged $14/ glass for an NC wine. The table next to us was served very substantial pours so that was very upsetting. Uneven is the word I would use to describe our experience. Some of the courses were good but nothing great. The only main course fish option was swordfish which was also just OK. I wish there had been another fish option. The owner/chef was not at the restaurant the night we dined so don't know if that made a difference. I would have appreciated it if the server would have forewarned us about the time between courses. 3 1/2 hours is too long for dinner to be served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience in Charlotte!

Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Heirloom to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. Our experience could not have gone any better. I originally made our reservation online but received a call the day before our reservation by the Chef de Cuisine to confirm and to make sure neither my wife nor I had any dietary restrictions or food allergies. I simply told Nate "no," and that we were just out to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived at 7, we were promptly taken to a beautiful table for 2 in the corner that had a bit of a private feel to it. Madison, our server, gave us our menus and we were surprised to find, printed on the top of the menu, "Happy Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. Hawkins!" What a nice personal touch! We proceeded to do the 12 course tasting menu which we shared upon Madison's recommendation. Each course was delivered to our table by either Madison or the Chef de Cuisine (Nathan), and they took the time to explain to us how the dish was prepared and answer any other questions we had about the food. As "foodies," my wife and I loved that they explained things to us, and every employee we encountered had an incredible depth of knowledge about the food they were serving. The food was absolutely amazing and well worth the price. They even brought us a sorbet course before dessert that wasn't included on the menu as an anniversary gift. At the end of the meal, Madison presented us with a menu for the evening that was signed with a short handwritten message by Executive Chef Clarke. This place is such a gem! It is off the beaten path (we should know, we live just around the corner!), but if you live in uptown or even south of Uptown, COME TRY THIS PLACE! You will NOT be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever..best cooking practices!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant should be more recognized for its boldness to have a new menu daily, using NC product in every part of the meal, and overall taste and service! I see this restaurant being a rising star in the restaurant industry!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off the beaten path, but well worth the visit!

Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been reading about Heirloom for a while and decided to take my husband for his birthday. He was greeted with warm birthday wishes from the staff and they even brought personalized menus for our table. Later in the evening he received a menu with a birthday message from the Chef. What a nice touch! The food was incredible and we were happy we opted to split the 12-course menu. Everything was perfectly timed and everyone did a thorough job explaining what we were about to eat, where it came from, etc. It was a unique opportunity to sample a diverse offering of delicious food - all from our great state of NC. We very much enjoyed all of the courses and some we absolutely LOVED. My husband said the duck was the best he had ever tasted. My in-laws were a little disappointed with the size vs. price ratio for their cocktails, but everything else was totally spot on. Fantastic service, fantastic food and a fantastic night! We look forward to visiting again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great evening! Not just dinner, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

What a great evening! Not just dinner, but also a food experience! I loved that all the foods are prepared with NC products. Every dish was creative. We did the 12 Course Tasting Menu. I have a couple of food allergies and the chef was fabulous to accommodate (Please call ahead and give him a heads up so he can be prepared). This is a greaat way to try new foods, NC native items and even NC wines and beers that can be expertly paired with each course for you. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my husband's and my favorite res ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my husband's and my favorite restaurant in Charlotte, bar none. The food is amazing - delicious and beautifully plated. The service is wonderful - the staff is so knowledgeable, friendly, and engaging. And there is always at least one course that forces us out of our comfort zone in the best possible way. We can't praise it enough. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything including liquor sourced from ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything including liquor sourced from NC. Menu changes daily. A great dining experience

food5
ambience4
service5

Chef Amy the pastry chef is delightful a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Chef Amy the pastry chef is delightful and her beet infused red velvet cake is to die for. The food as always was amazing. full of flavor and delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had!!! ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had!!!! fantastic all around. Staff was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed the amazing variety of food a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

we enjoyed the amazing variety of food and the personalized service... Jodie was our main server (I think that was her name) and she was very attentive and told us about each course as we were served... I came about a month ago with my daughter and our experience was excellent too... I will definitely come back when I am in the area again... :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed every last bite! We had been wanting to go for a while and we were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Won't Disappoint

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fourth time we've been, just about each season and the consistency of unique, high quality, interesting and very well prepared dishes remains!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyable!

Dined on April 19, 2016

This is my second time going to Hierloom and I was blown away again! They offer a fresh menu with a unique twist. The food is local, often foraged, and you will most likely try something that you've never had before. Our waiter, Madison, was attentive & knowledgeable and well supported by the rest of the staff. Our food courses were served at an enjoyable pace. While we opted for the seven courses, I was quite full after the first five and will only chose five next time. Please note that this is a tasting menu so the portions are small so that you can have anywhere from 3 -5-7-12 courses depending on your preferences. Hierloom is on the pricey side, so I tend to go only for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We enjoy eating at Heirloom. The food is delicious and always very inventive. With the menu changing so frequently you can always try something new. It is a tasting menu so the portions are small but the 3 course meal is enough for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Trips and Counting

Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our third visit, don't do that often to any restaurant. We've been in the summer, fall and now spring and the menu perfectly supports the season. An overall outstanding experience from arrival to reliving it on the way home. Strongest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have been here twice so far and will definitely be back. The food and staff and excellent. Awesome chef! You have got to try this restaurant it is a rare find.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ordered the 12 course pairing to share along with the drink pairing option and had a great time trying all of the creative options. All locally sourced - even the wine and beer. The neighborhood is unexpected but only adds to its charm. The staff all work together to make sure your experience is the best possible. They were in top of everything. Well worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place and all the staff!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love this place and all the staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bountiful creativity!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Love the chef's creativity and the foraged products he finds and incorporates so seamlessly. Such a lovely evening with perfect attention and outstanding food. Thanks to you all. And, one of our party found the "green center" in her dessert...fun all around! We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is wonderfully flavorful and the service is exceptional. My wife & I went to Heirloom to celebrate our anniversary. We split the 12 course meal and we were beyond impressed. There wasn't a single course we did not absolutely love, but we would have been fine with 9 courses - 12 was too many. It was so delicious we plan to go back every anniversary. Go with an appetite and you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem for Foodies

Dined on March 6, 2016

The one thing my husband and I miss most about our days in New York City is the lack of unique restaurants in Charlotte. Located on the outskirts, Heirloom is definitely worth the trip. Tasting menus are our favorite and you can't beat the $120 12-course menu that's meant to be shared. $60 per person is unheard of for such a fresh, farm to table dinner made of only local ingredients. The server and bartender were passionate about every ingredient and each dish had its own story. I ordered a "mocktail" because I'm pregnant and even that was carefully created and delicious. Considering the fact that the menu changes daily we will definitely be back soon to see what's being created in the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom continues to amaze

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

From the warm hello and congratulations (we were celebrating a special occasion) at the door, to exciting new cocktails at the bar (I love the red kale margarita), and knowing about our dietary needs when we sit down at the table and letting us know what dining options we could have that night before we even ask, Heirloom's staff continue to exceed all expectations. Each course is beautifully plated and you hesitate to touch it, because it's so gorgeous, but once you take that first bite you are glad you did....the products utilized are so fresh, grown with such care, and prepared with expertise and restraint so that the NC products shine. I could shop all day long at the farmers market, but my food will never taste that good, which is why we come back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The 12 course tasting menu was exceptional. I would highly recommend the experience to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great farm-to-table experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Visited for the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday. We each ordered the 7 course menu, it was just enough food without being too full. I like that if you don't order all 12 courses, you can pick which of them you would like for a smaller tasting menu, as opposed to chef's choice. This makes it very diner-friendly, especially if you've never tried a tasting menu before. Everything was delicious, very fresh and beautifully presented. The quality of the ingredients is amazing. I loved that the chef had foraged for the walnuts that were on the salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the most sophisticated and varied menus

Dined on February 20, 2016

We've dined at some amazing restaurants around the world, with leading chefs at the helm, and were so thrilled to find this gem in our own backyard here in Charlotte. The chef's creativity and exquisite care with local, fresh ingredients, translated to a dining experience that was deeply enjoyable and incredibly memorable. We will definitely be back for our next special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wow, Wow, Wow!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

This is one fine restaurant. Location is a bit odd and when you pull-up out front you will question your choice, but open the door and your mind to some incredibly creative and well-done cuisine! I literally can't say enough great things about this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff was very friendly. The food w ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The staff was very friendly. The food was art! Love the commitment to NC products. Amazing what you can do. We had the 12 course tasting menu shared by two people and the wine pairings. It was a perfect about of food. We were impressed with the NC wines (except the Chardonnay). They do allow you to bring your own wine for a small corkage fee.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful experience at Heirloo ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Heirloom. The staff was extremely welcoming and all seemed to be very happy and passionate about explaining the concept (farm to table with a specific focus on North Carolina products) and the dishes. They allow you to choose a 12 course, or 9, 7, 5 or 3 courses which changes daily. All of the dishes were extremely delicious and great care went into the preparation. This was just a very very exciting and refreshing restaurant that was all about delicious, local food. Awesome will be back as soon as possible.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All locally sourced and delicious!

Dined on February 18, 2016

First, I will say if you are a meat and potatoes person, not interested in a variety of flavors or expect the menu to be the same each visit, this is not your restaurant. Heirloom is quiet, the wait staff very knowledgable with the menu and they made our choices very simple. We had all 12 courses (table of 5) and the portions were perfect. It's 'Tapas style' , smaller plates but with 12 courses we all got our share. The drink menu is eclectic and on the pricey side, but well worth it for the flavors we tasted in our cocktails. I will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A top-notch experience from start to finish

Dined on February 13, 2016

Don't be put off by the drive or the exterior of this place; it is worth every mile traveled and every penny you spend. From the host to the wait-staff to the infamous tableside bread-man, we were treated great and educated on everything we were eating and experiencing. The backstory of the place as well as this chef is truly fascinating. The fact that he literally forages in the woods for ingredients just blew my mind, not to mention the honeycombs and gardens that are tended to on the roof! I cannot recommend enough how special of a place this is. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Heirloom -- Fun to Try!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed our meal -- the food was good, but the explanation of how the 12-course works needs improvement. The sausage and the duck confit in particular were delicious. The menu is always changing, so each time you dine is a new experience. The layout of the restaurant is fun, but the bar lighting clashed with the overall ambiance. Way too bright.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not your ordinary meal

Dined on February 12, 2016

The farm to fork tasting course menu is fabulous. A definite good choice for a special night out. It beats the ordinary chain restaurant. There are also plenty of beverage items and suggested pairings with their courses. The waiters are very friendly and knowledgable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 10, 2016

Our party of 4 made a reservation over a month in advance to celebrate a birthday. Upon checking in with the restaurant regarding some food allergies, which they kindly accommodated, we were notified that the evening we were dining was going to be a special menu for the restaurant's anniversary. Our reservation was for 6:30PM and we did not depart until shortly after 10PM after a 9 course tasting menu. There were a few courses that were good (1st course salad, the Ranch pasta course and dessert course,) however, many of the courses strangely came to the table at room temperature (the soup, duck,) and were underseasoned. It was unfortunate as we were very much looking forward to dining at Heirloom with all of the great things we'd heard about it. In short, the meal was underwhelming and the service was quite slow. While I can give room for a restaurant preparing an unfamiliar menu for a special occasion, this establishment changes their menu daily so it should not likely have been an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Special Evening

Dined on February 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening at Heirloom. I think it is really neat what they are trying to do-serve food and drink from the area. It can be tricky with the wine and liquor, but I applaud them for doing it and thought it was well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Unique

Dined on January 31, 2016

Unique preparations with interesting ingredients including chef foraged foods. Definitely a foodie experience. Don't bring the meat and potatoes crowd. Looking forward to coming again for the full experience with the tasting menu. Went during restaurant week where the abbreviated menu was available. Smaller sized portions but delicious and adventurous taste combinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.