About Heirloom - Midway

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: 8598465565x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut
  • Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
  • Alaskan King Crab Capellini
  • Meyer Lemon Bar
  • Fraser Valley Duck Breast
  • Rib Eye Steak Special
  • Infamous Burger
Halibut
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Alaskan King Crab Capellini
Meyer Lemon Bar
Fraser Valley Duck Breast
Rib Eye Steak Special
Infamous Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
10 More
Best Value
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Great for Lunch
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Midway ›

fit for foodies (61)
special occasion (49)
great for lunch (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
romantic (30)
notable wine list (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (8)
good for groups (8)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ ye ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ years taking local and out of state friends and there has never been a miss when it came to the food or service. Matthew and Cameron are constantly looking for ways to out do themselves changing the menu, tweaking the menu with new and innovative recipes. Saturday night was no exception and our friends from Georgia who had been there once before we're totally delighted. There was a Pea salad which was more outrageous than you could imagine. The Duck breast was prepared perfectly (medium rare) with a Cherry sauce that you would kill for (I know you don't end a sentence with a preposition ). The Salmon was beautiful and the Chicken Livers (my wife's favorite), were wonderful as always. Will we go back? Absolutely! As a matter of fact, we already made a reservation while there for my wife's birthday in 3 weeks. Just as an aside, Heirloom is not the only restaurant we eat at (sorry Matthew) as we do eat out often; but if it wasn't a 30+ minute drive each way who knows?

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting menu. Quality of food ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very interesting menu. Quality of food is outstanding! Compliments to the Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an excellent place to celebrate o ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was an excellent place to celebrate our anniversary. We each had a glass of wine, an appetizer (chilled carrot soup and chicken livers) and were able to split an entree, the tenderloin steak. The food was excellent. The steak was cooked just right for our differing tastes. We enjoyed the privacy of the booth. I wish we could afford to go there often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very delicious food and excellent servic ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Very delicious food and excellent service! Had the yummy Caesar salad with grilled chicken and we ended our meal with their homemade strawberry cheesecake ice cream! I've always loved coming here so much & we'll DEFINITELY be back!!! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom is always a lovely choice for d ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Heirloom is always a lovely choice for dinner after a day out in Lexington. The menu changes often with fresh, seasonal ingredients, but I have never been disappointed with my order, whatever the offering. During the last meal, I had the Caesar salad (always a favorite here), and the lamb, which was served with quinoa. The spice used for the lamb had a bit of a kick to it (I personally loved it, but I could drink Tabasco), so that is something to be mindful of when choosing an entree. From beginning to end, service was impeccable. Heirloom remains my favorite low-key, fine dining restaurant in the Bluegrass.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom is always a gem to visit. From ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Heirloom is always a gem to visit. From it's eclectic menu items to their amazing staff, they always make the experience memorable. Thanks to Gretchen and Beth for a great lunch and for accommodating my request for a back booth. It was and continues to be a gem in Midway, KY. Please, all my foodies, take the time to experience the wonderful ambience, beautiful wine list, and tasty food at least once in your life. You will be hooked on the fine dining appeal that is so personal yet so up scale.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always superb

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous food, cooked to perfection. Best roast lamb in the area! Amazing and complex flavors, definitely the place to go out on a limb and try something new. We always recommend Heirloom to anyone who loves food the joy it always brings

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

FANTASTIC!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Absolutely fantastic meal. Excellent service as well. You helped make a special day even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, beautifully prepared and ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent food, beautifully prepared and served in very timely manner; superb cold soup and wonderful spinach salad.... server was superb....gracious, helpful Noise level for part of the meal was not conducive to good conversation, however, after the center tables completed their meal and exited, the ambiance, all was fine

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Heirloom and know that guests wi ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We love Heirloom and know that guests will always feel it is a very special treat. There are many regulars and it is somewhat small so reservations are essential.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded Expectations Again!

Dined on June 1, 2016

We have enjoyed a handful of meals at this restaurant, and each time, the experience improves. Our last visit was out of this world! Lovely presentation, delicious food, and outstanding wine and service. For the price, this restaurant tops any dining experience I have had in the Lexington area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great food and experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server was vert attentive and the food was great. I had a chicken liver appetizer and the pan roasted halibut that was excellent. The portion was large and the fish was fresh and done just right. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Halibut wonderful! WaIt staff know the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Halibut wonderful! WaIt staff know the menus ( food and wine) very well!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner at Heirloom

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our dinner was fabulous from appetizer to dessert. We shared the Scallop appetizer. It was outstanding. For dinner I ordered the halibut and my partner the salmon. Both excellent. Dessert was homemade strawberry ice cream. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't skip dessert, even if you're very ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Don't skip dessert, even if you're very full!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on May 25, 2016

We celebrated ananniversary at The Heirloom. The service was just right, gracious and attentive yet unhurried. The meal was full of details and pairings of ingredients that were interesting and delightfully appealing to the palate. The wine list had depth. It was a celebration of food and eating that made for a wonderful anniversary. We were impressed by The Heirloom and definitely will return before our next anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very noisy

Dined on May 18, 2016

We eat at Heirloom often. This time some of the diners were so loud that had we not been with friends I would have left. There must be some way to get unruly guest to tone it down a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Recently visited Heirloom. The Carrot Or ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Recently visited Heirloom. The Carrot Orange chilled soup with crème fraise was creamy and refreshing. The Crabcake had great mild flavor and was a good size. I loved the seemingly bottomless container of French fries. Even the catsup was good! Our waiter offered us samples of wine to taste prior to selecting our drinks. I will definitely return to Heirloom for another great meal.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal! We went for lunch and loved ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great meal! We went for lunch and loved everything we tried. Can't wait to return for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about this place!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved everything about this place!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bob

Dined on April 30, 2016

Appetizers, entrees and desserts outstanding assortment of flavors for the mouth to appreciate. All presentations were superb. Best complete meal I've had in years. Just the best.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding

Dined on April 29, 2016

We frequently visit Heirloom when we have a special occasion. Their food is outstanding. It's honestly the best we've ever had. We always order a meal, wine and dessert is a must. It never disappoints! The uniqueness of the dishes make you come back for more. It was exciting to see a party that was seated behind us start eating and passing the plates around to taste everything since they couldn't believe how amazing everything tasted. They saw us get dessert, as we were seated prior to them, and inquired about what we had ordered. I told them and then said, you will need to save room for dessert for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our experience at Heirloom was the best

Dined on April 28, 2016

We come from Michigan and always make a point to get to Heirloom for a fabulous meal. Great food, great service, great atmosphere, always a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Heirloom is an absolute MUST when dining in Midway

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our group of 3 had lunch at Heirloom on a busy Saturday during Keeneland's 2016 Spring Meet. We truly could not have had a better experience. Our table in a window gave us great views of the afternoon activities in downtown Midway as well as the tastefully decorated interior. Our server was exceptional, her extensive knowledge of the craft beer selection as well as the lunch menu was impressive.....she made all of the lunch entrees sound so delicious, which made our decisions difficult! We chose the fish and chips, the buttermilk-brined fried chicken, and the chicken livers with ricotta ravioli. All were perfectly plated and scrumptious, but the chicken livers were over the top outstanding! Go to Heirloom, you will not be disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

chicken livers with ravioli lemon cream ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

chicken livers with ravioli lemon cream sauce is a signature dish. It is absolutely to die for. The food here is consistently good. The ambiance is terrific. A real gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe the best lamb dish I've had. Smoke ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Maybe the best lamb dish I've had. Smoked quinoa? Outrageous!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great place to eat!

Dined on April 20, 2016

We eat here often - sometimes for a special occasion, sometimes to entertain friends, sometimes just to enjoy a meal out. The food is always delicious and the service is "the best." The chefs pride themselves on creativity; use of fresh, seasonal fruits, vegetables, fish and meats; and amazing desserts. I have never talked to anyone who has had a meal at Heirloom who has been disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were there for a birthday celebration. The day was beautiful so we opted to dine outside. Our server was courteous, well versed on the menu choices and gave us just the right amount of attention. The food was delicious and prepared and served in an elegant manner.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in the Bluegrass.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The best restaurant in the Bluegrass.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

YES!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always fantastic & very enjoyable ! A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Very friendly st ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food and service. Very friendly staff who want to make your experience positive. Food was great and very flavorful. A Gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is an outstanding restaurant. I hig ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. I highly recommend it. Creative and exceptionally prepared menu delivered with friendly, relaxed but professional service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Central Kentucky winner!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We selected this restaurant as a midpoint between Louisville and Danville for a college sister mini-reunion. An excellent choice. We loved the food and the food choices, drinks were available, desserts were decadently good, and the service was outstanding. With nearby shopping, easy access from the interstate, parking outside the front door, we enjoyed a terrific day. And the restaurant might even let us return!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Heirloom is easily one of the best restaurants anywhere. What a gem to have in central Kentucky! The food is creative, beautiful and delicious. I love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Every time we go. This place is ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Amazing. Every time we go. This place is consistently amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Surprising t ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Surprising to see so many baseball hats and jeans in a high end restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in the state

Dined on March 5, 2016

We are spoiled in Louisville for restaurants. Even so, with my love of Mayan Cafe and Jack Fry's and on and on, I really believe the consistently best food in the state is at Heirloom. Their autumn bisque is perfection. The buttermilk fried chicken, the burger and the fish and fries are the same. Our last visit was Saturday, March 5 for our wedding anniversary. The service was impeccable, my manhattan was lovely, food was great and the triple citrus dessert was perfect. We will return again and again and would recommend Heirloom to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service with incredible food!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I were greatly surprised by the fresh ingredients, generous portions, and beautiful presentation of food. The server was helpful in making suggestions, all were delicious! Elegant atmosphere, high back booths made for cozy date night. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Most consistent restaurant I have been t ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Most consistent restaurant I have been to. Fantastic food and one of the best deals around for lunch. The buttermilk brined chicken is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Post Va!entine Dinner

Dined on February 18, 2016

Due to several factors we did not dine out on Valentines Day. However, the Thursday after worked well for us so we finally made the trip to Midway to dine at Heirloom. We were welcomed and seated immediately. Our server was pleasant, knowledgeable, and efficient. For drinks, my wife enjoyed a glass of 1000 Stories Zinfandel, and I tried a generous pour of Basil Hayden bourbon. Our dinners were superb. My wife had the beef fillet and I had an appetizer of lamb meatballs on rice grits that was generous enough to qualify as a main course. Finally, the dessert, a lemon tart topped with fresh raspberries and sauce completed a perfect dinner. We think we have found a new favorite restaurant in the Bluegrass.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.