About Heirloom - Midway

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: 8598465565x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seared Scallops, Lump Crab, Caviar
  • Agnolotti Pasta
  • Halibut
  • Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
  • Alaskan King Crab Capellini
  • Fraser Valley Duck Breast
  • Rib Eye Steak Special
  • Meyer Lemon Bar
  • Infamous Burger
Seared Scallops, Lump Crab, Caviar
Agnolotti Pasta
Halibut
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Alaskan King Crab Capellini
Fraser Valley Duck Breast
Rib Eye Steak Special
Meyer Lemon Bar
Infamous Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
13 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Best Value
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Great for Lunch
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Neighborhood Gem
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Midway ›

Fit for Foodies (67)
Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (40)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Lunch (33)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dishes are always the most interesti ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

The dishes are always the most interesting and exciting.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time at Heirloom but ou ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our 2nd time at Heirloom but our 1st for lunch and it didn't disappoint. It was our anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere we could count on to be good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Heirloom continues to excel in every pha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Heirloom continues to excel in every phase from starters to desserts. Service is the best in the Lexington area. Imaginative eating options, terrific wine selection, convenience, quality. It is the best restaurant in the Lexington area. Exceeds Tony, Gratz, Dudleys by multiple lengths. The only Grade 1 restaurant available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the drive to Midway. The scen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Well worth the drive to Midway. The scenic view of Frankfort Pike and the delicious food made a very relaxing evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heirloom is always exceptional! Hannah's ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Heirloom is always exceptional! Hannah's recommendations on food and wine are always helpful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely superb and our s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was absolutely superb and our service was the perfect speed. We ate leisurely over two hours and never felt rushed. Eating at heirloom is always a joy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was FANTASTIC. We we ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As always, the food was FANTASTIC. We were celebrating a going-away party and the service and drinks were prompt and delicious. We tried the new duck plate, the textures and tastes were truly unique and delicious. Desserts are always a must! We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food great service

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As always great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and superior food. It is ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great ambiance and superior food. It is worth a trip to Midway, Kentucky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful friendly staff and the food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful friendly staff and the food was delicious! All around great experience. We will definitely dine here again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible as always. Service w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was incredible as always. Service was very slow on this visit. It took about 10 minutes to get water and then another 10 for drinks; 10 more to have order taken. However once it was, food arrived quickly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was extremely warm outside. The dinin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was extremely warm outside. The dining was warm as well. I prefer to eat in a slightly cooler room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Heirloom! We are from the Colum ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We love Heirloom! We are from the Columbus, Ohio area and have been there 3 times and look forward to returning in early October. We have been with friends and family and have recommended to several friends, who have enjoyed Heirloom as well!

The food is absolutely top notch and outstanding! The chef/owner has such a presentation with each dish that he prepares and serves!

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make a point to stop here when ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We always make a point to stop here when we are traveling to or from Illinois..love the atmosphere , food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time dining, and it was ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining, and it was every bit as good as the 1st one. Food and service was outstanding. The Crab Cake was very delicious, and the Tenderloin is one of the best you'll have. We look forward to returning again!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible experience for all ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience for all four of us. Exceptional service from a knowledgeable and friendly waitperson, good wine list, fantastic food and wonderful ambiance. Midway is a foodie's paradise and an easy drive from either Louisville or Lexington. We're recommending Heirloom ( and its Lexington sister, Distilled) to everyone we know

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time visit, everything was wonderf ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time visit, everything was wonderful. Henry is an outstanding ambassador for first-time visitors. My wife and I really enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to dine here!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best little gem around!!! We love! W ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The best little gem around!!! We love! We go often everything about Heirloom is original including Henry😘

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service, pleasant ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service, pleasant ambiance, and fair pricing. Quite a find for anyone wanting a genuine causal dining experience away from the chain food restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After many great dining experiences at H ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

After many great dining experiences at Heirloom I would not have been disappointed if things were not up to par. We brought my brother and sister-in-law from New Jersey for a special dinner as they insisted on experiencing our favorite dining spot and they were over the top pleased with their experience. From the top notch service where Bo our server made them feel more than welcome (along with the other staff), to the quality and presentation of the food, it was a great evening for all.

My Duck was prepared exactly to order, and my brother could not stop raving about the Pork Chop. The Spinach salads were perfect and the Chicken Livers w/Ravioli were Devine as always (my wife's favorite ).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It is pricey but well worth it. Service ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It is pricey but well worth it. Service is top notch and the restaurant is well decorated but the food overshadows everything else. It's so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef Mark Wombles is a phenom! Food an ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Chef Mark Wombles is a phenom! Food and service both outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely room. Delicious food. Attentive s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lovely room. Delicious food. Attentive service. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped here for lunch on a road trip to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Stopped here for lunch on a road trip to the Salato Wildlife Perserve. Really an unexpected high quality spot for a small town like Midway. Kind of pricey but the quality is up to par. Food was all excellent with service to match. Highly recommend the burger.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, Quiet and good ambience. F ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food, Quiet and good ambience. Friendly servers!

Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner was fabulous. we have had dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

dinner was fabulous. we have had dinner at Heirloom in the past. Suggested it to some friends from Lexington. We meet for dinner on Saturday night. It was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a gem! Lovely food and attentive ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a gem! Lovely food and attentive service. Of particular note, a top-notch pastry chef who creates wonderful desserts. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heirloom is always EXCEPTIONAL! On this ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Heirloom is always EXCEPTIONAL! On this particular evening they were serving a watermelon salad was wonderful. Always feel free to follow the recommendations of the attentive and informed staff. It is not a large restaurant and seating is limited, which I think adds to the appeal, but it also means you have to plan ahead. But do so, you don't want to miss this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. You must try the cheese pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always good. You must try the cheese plate with the rosemary smoked grapes and house-cured olives. I am addicted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you are in the Midway or Lexin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A must if you are in the Midway or Lexington Area a hidden Gem!

Food, presentation and service remarkable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great restaurant!!! Food and ser ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a great restaurant!!! Food and service was outstanding!! The Crab Cake was a very generous portion, and tasted fantastic, as did the Tenderloin!! We will be back for sure!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was beyond wonderful! The food was o ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was beyond wonderful! The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable and everything was just perfect. Now my very favorite place. Period.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, staff, and ambiance was top no ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food, staff, and ambiance was top notch. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guys in the kitchen are the best I e ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The guys in the kitchen are the best I ever seen as far as working together and putting out the most wonderful foods. The flavor combinations the produce are a masterpiece on every plate no matter what dish you choose. Add Bo as your professional server you a night to remember as well as looking forward to many wonderful nights to come

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, Heirloom provided one of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Simply put, Heirloom provided one of the best tasting meals I have had in years. On top of this, wonderful service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A friend and I drove to Midway to spend ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A friend and I drove to Midway to spend the day . I found Heirloom on Open Table listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in Kentucky. All of our expectations of a wonderful, delicious, enjoyable lunch were met . We would highly recommend this restaurant and will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+++ Always a pleasure Look forward to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A+++

Always a pleasure

Look forward to returning

Wonderful destination for a delicious time

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ ye ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ years taking local and out of state friends and there has never been a miss when it came to the food or service.

Matthew and Cameron are constantly looking for ways to out do themselves changing the menu, tweaking the menu with new and innovative recipes. Saturday night was no exception and our friends from Georgia who had been there once before we're totally delighted. There was a Pea salad which was more outrageous than you could imagine. The Duck breast was prepared perfectly (medium rare) with a Cherry sauce that you would kill for (I know you don't end a sentence with a preposition ). The Salmon was beautiful and the Chicken Livers (my wife's favorite), were wonderful as always.

Will we go back? Absolutely! As a matter of fact, we already made a reservation while there for my wife's birthday in 3 weeks.

Just as an aside, Heirloom is not the only restaurant we eat at (sorry Matthew) as we do eat out often; but if it wasn't a 30+ minute drive each way who knows?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.