About Heirloom - Midway

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: 8598465565x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut
  • Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
  • Alaskan King Crab Capellini
  • Meyer Lemon Bar
  • Fraser Valley Duck Breast
  • Rib Eye Steak Special
  • Infamous Burger
Halibut
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin
Alaskan King Crab Capellini
Meyer Lemon Bar
Fraser Valley Duck Breast
Rib Eye Steak Special
Infamous Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
11 More
Best Value
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Great for Lunch
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Neighborhood Gem
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Midway ›

fit for foodies (76)
special occasion (63)
neighborhood gem (43)
See All
great for lunch (42)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely room. Delicious food. Attentive s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely room. Delicious food. Attentive service. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped here for lunch on a road trip to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Stopped here for lunch on a road trip to the Salato Wildlife Perserve. Really an unexpected high quality spot for a small town like Midway. Kind of pricey but the quality is up to par. Food was all excellent with service to match. Highly recommend the burger.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, Quiet and good ambience. F ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, Quiet and good ambience. Friendly servers!

Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner was fabulous. we have had dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

dinner was fabulous. we have had dinner at Heirloom in the past. Suggested it to some friends from Lexington. We meet for dinner on Saturday night. It was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a gem! Lovely food and attentive ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a gem! Lovely food and attentive service. Of particular note, a top-notch pastry chef who creates wonderful desserts. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heirloom is always EXCEPTIONAL! On this ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Heirloom is always EXCEPTIONAL! On this particular evening they were serving a watermelon salad was wonderful. Always feel free to follow the recommendations of the attentive and informed staff. It is not a large restaurant and seating is limited, which I think adds to the appeal, but it also means you have to plan ahead. But do so, you don't want to miss this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. You must try the cheese pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always good. You must try the cheese plate with the rosemary smoked grapes and house-cured olives. I am addicted.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you are in the Midway or Lexin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A must if you are in the Midway or Lexington Area a hidden Gem!

Food, presentation and service remarkable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great restaurant!!! Food and ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a great restaurant!!! Food and service was outstanding!! The Crab Cake was a very generous portion, and tasted fantastic, as did the Tenderloin!! We will be back for sure!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was beyond wonderful! The food was o ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was beyond wonderful! The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable and everything was just perfect. Now my very favorite place. Period.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, staff, and ambiance was top no ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food, staff, and ambiance was top notch. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guys in the kitchen are the best I e ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The guys in the kitchen are the best I ever seen as far as working together and putting out the most wonderful foods. The flavor combinations the produce are a masterpiece on every plate no matter what dish you choose. Add Bo as your professional server you a night to remember as well as looking forward to many wonderful nights to come

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, Heirloom provided one of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Simply put, Heirloom provided one of the best tasting meals I have had in years. On top of this, wonderful service and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A friend and I drove to Midway to spend ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A friend and I drove to Midway to spend the day . I found Heirloom on Open Table listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in Kentucky. All of our expectations of a wonderful, delicious, enjoyable lunch were met . We would highly recommend this restaurant and will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+++ Always a pleasure Look forward to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A+++

Always a pleasure

Look forward to returning

Wonderful destination for a delicious time

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ ye ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have been going to Heirloom for 7+ years taking local and out of state friends and there has never been a miss when it came to the food or service.

Matthew and Cameron are constantly looking for ways to out do themselves changing the menu, tweaking the menu with new and innovative recipes. Saturday night was no exception and our friends from Georgia who had been there once before we're totally delighted. There was a Pea salad which was more outrageous than you could imagine. The Duck breast was prepared perfectly (medium rare) with a Cherry sauce that you would kill for (I know you don't end a sentence with a preposition ). The Salmon was beautiful and the Chicken Livers (my wife's favorite), were wonderful as always.

Will we go back? Absolutely! As a matter of fact, we already made a reservation while there for my wife's birthday in 3 weeks.

Just as an aside, Heirloom is not the only restaurant we eat at (sorry Matthew) as we do eat out often; but if it wasn't a 30+ minute drive each way who knows?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very interesting menu. Quality of food ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very interesting menu. Quality of food is outstanding! Compliments to the Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was an excellent place to celebrate o ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was an excellent place to celebrate our anniversary. We each had a glass of wine, an appetizer (chilled carrot soup and chicken livers) and were able to split an entree, the tenderloin steak. The food was excellent. The steak was cooked just right for our differing tastes. We enjoyed the privacy of the booth. I wish we could afford to go there often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious food and excellent servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very delicious food and excellent service! Had the yummy Caesar salad with grilled chicken and we ended our meal with their homemade strawberry cheesecake ice cream! I've always loved coming here so much & we'll DEFINITELY be back!!! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Heirloom is always a lovely choice for d ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Heirloom is always a lovely choice for dinner after a day out in Lexington. The menu changes often with fresh, seasonal ingredients, but I have never been disappointed with my order, whatever the offering.

During the last meal, I had the Caesar salad (always a favorite here), and the lamb, which was served with quinoa. The spice used for the lamb had a bit of a kick to it (I personally loved it, but I could drink Tabasco), so that is something to be mindful of when choosing an entree.

From beginning to end, service was impeccable. Heirloom remains my favorite low-key, fine dining restaurant in the Bluegrass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom is always a gem to visit. From ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Heirloom is always a gem to visit. From it's eclectic menu items to their amazing staff, they always make the experience memorable. Thanks to Gretchen and Beth for a great lunch and for accommodating my request for a back booth. It was and continues to be a gem in Midway, KY. Please, all my foodies, take the time to experience the wonderful ambience, beautiful wine list, and tasty food at least once in your life. You will be hooked on the fine dining appeal that is so personal yet so up scale.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous food, cooked to perfection. Best roast lamb in the area! Amazing and complex flavors, definitely the place to go out on a limb and try something new. We always recommend Heirloom to anyone who loves food the joy it always brings

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

FANTASTIC!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Absolutely fantastic meal. Excellent service as well. You helped make a special day even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, beautifully prepared and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent food, beautifully prepared and served in very timely manner; superb cold soup and wonderful spinach salad.... server was superb....gracious, helpful

Noise level for part of the meal was not conducive to good conversation, however, after the center tables completed their meal and exited, the ambiance, all was fine

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Heirloom and know that guests wi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We love Heirloom and know that guests will always feel it is a very special treat. There are many regulars and it is somewhat small so reservations are essential.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceeded Expectations Again!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have enjoyed a handful of meals at this restaurant, and each time, the experience improves. Our last visit was out of this world! Lovely presentation, delicious food, and outstanding wine and service. For the price, this restaurant tops any dining experience I have had in the Lexington area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server was vert attentive and the food was great. I had a chicken liver appetizer and the pan roasted halibut that was excellent. The portion was large and the fish was fresh and done just right. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Halibut wonderful! WaIt staff know the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Halibut wonderful! WaIt staff know the menus ( food and wine) very well!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Dinner at Heirloom

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our dinner was fabulous from appetizer to dessert. We shared the Scallop appetizer. It was outstanding. For dinner I ordered the halibut and my partner the salmon. Both excellent. Dessert was homemade strawberry ice cream. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't skip dessert, even if you're very ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Don't skip dessert, even if you're very full!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We celebrated ananniversary at The Heirloom. The service was just right, gracious and attentive yet unhurried. The meal was full of details and pairings of ingredients that were interesting and delightfully appealing to the palate. The wine list had depth. It was a celebration of food and eating that made for a wonderful anniversary. We were impressed by The Heirloom and definitely will return before our next anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We eat at Heirloom often. This time some of the diners were so loud that had we not been with friends I would have left. There must be some way to get unruly guest to tone it down a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Recently visited Heirloom. The Carrot Or ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Recently visited Heirloom. The Carrot Orange chilled soup with crème fraise was creamy and refreshing. The Crabcake had great mild flavor and was a good size. I loved the seemingly bottomless container of French fries. Even the catsup was good! Our waiter offered us samples of wine to taste prior to selecting our drinks. I will definitely return to Heirloom for another great meal.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal! We went for lunch and loved ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great meal! We went for lunch and loved everything we tried. Can't wait to return for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about this place!!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved everything about this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bob

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Appetizers, entrees and desserts outstanding assortment of flavors for the mouth to appreciate. All presentations were superb. Best complete meal I've had in years. Just the best.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always Outstanding

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We frequently visit Heirloom when we have a special occasion. Their food is outstanding. It's honestly the best we've ever had. We always order a meal, wine and dessert is a must. It never disappoints! The uniqueness of the dishes make you come back for more. It was exciting to see a party that was seated behind us start eating and passing the plates around to taste everything since they couldn't believe how amazing everything tasted. They saw us get dessert, as we were seated prior to them, and inquired about what we had ordered. I told them and then said, you will need to save room for dessert for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our experience at Heirloom was the best

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We come from Michigan and always make a point to get to Heirloom for a fabulous meal. Great food, great service, great atmosphere, always a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom is an absolute MUST when dining in Midway

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our group of 3 had lunch at Heirloom on a busy Saturday during Keeneland's 2016 Spring Meet. We truly could not have had a better experience. Our table in a window gave us great views of the afternoon activities in downtown Midway as well as the tastefully decorated interior. Our server was exceptional, her extensive knowledge of the craft beer selection as well as the lunch menu was impressive.....she made all of the lunch entrees sound so delicious, which made our decisions difficult! We chose the fish and chips, the buttermilk-brined fried chicken, and the chicken livers with ricotta ravioli. All were perfectly plated and scrumptious, but the chicken livers were over the top outstanding! Go to Heirloom, you will not be disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

chicken livers with ravioli lemon cream ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

chicken livers with ravioli lemon cream sauce is a signature dish. It is absolutely to die for. The food here is consistently good. The ambiance is terrific. A real gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.