About Heirloom - Midway

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: 8598465565x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seared Scallops, Lump Crab, Caviar - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Agnolotti Pasta - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Halibut - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Berkshire Pork Tenderloin - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Alaskan King Crab Capellini - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Fraser Valley Duck Breast - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Rib Eye Steak Special - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Meyer Lemon Bar - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
  • Infamous Burger - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Seared Scallops, Lump Crab, Caviar - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Agnolotti Pasta - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Halibut - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Berkshire Pork Tenderloin - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Alaskan King Crab Capellini - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Fraser Valley Duck Breast - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Rib Eye Steak Special - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Meyer Lemon Bar - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY
Infamous Burger - Heirloom - Midway, Midway, KY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
8 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Best Value
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Midway ›

Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Romantic (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Historic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been wanting to try this restauran ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while, you will need a reservation. TMy husband had the beef tenderloin medallions and I had the grouper. Both meals were exceptional. This restaurant is a little expensive, would consider it a fine dining experience. We will be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal and service - as usual! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome meal and service - as usual! The butternut risotto and bisque were outstanding. The dessert menu is also extra special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is always spectacular at Heir ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Everything is always spectacular at Heirloom. Hanna insures her guests have the best of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food around!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Best food around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heirloom is a great place for a business ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Heirloom is a great place for a business lunch with colleagues around central Kentucky..fresh and tasty local menu, with a mixed of traditional favorites and newer options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. A must-visit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful food and service. A must-visit near Lexington, KY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We live in Louisville but make the drive ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We live in Louisville but make the drive to Midway because Heirloom is exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bo, our server, was attentive as ever an ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Bo, our server, was attentive as ever and the grouper delicious. Don't miss the bisque or the bourbon ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten twice at Heirloom. Both times ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have eaten twice at Heirloom. Both times have been great for food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always great. Love the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food here is always great. Love the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heirloom is always exceptional. Our grou ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Heirloom is always exceptional. Our group loved the new chicken skins enticement, the sauce was outstanding! Hanna our server was professional, attentive and helpful. Just really the best overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the drive to Midway.

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Worth the drive to Midway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening! The front of the hous ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic evening! The front of the house was great and the food was even better! Chef Cameron is doing great things in the kitchen and I would recommend Heirlooms to anyone

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found Heirloom sort of by accident se ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We found Heirloom sort of by accident several years ago and now make it a regular stop in our trips to Lexington. Their Autumn Bisque is so delicious, we considered having it for dessert after our meal but we're just too full. We hope the chef never changes or removes it from the fall menu! Worth the drive to Midway just for that soup! Our server "Bo" was delightful as always! Wonderful dinner, as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was surprised by the quality of the fo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was surprised by the quality of the food this last visit. We had eaten at Heirloom before and the food was always excellent. This time we went for lunch. We had fish and chips and salads. The breading on the fish was soft and not very tasty. The chips were exactly that, little bits of potato mostly charred. The salad was drowned in dressing. I'm guessing they had the backup cooking team in. We like Heirloom and Midway so we'll go back. You can't be on everyday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Every bite was amazing! Great service, g ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Every bite was amazing! Great service, great everything!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My entre and salad were overwhelmingly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My entre and salad were overwhelmingly salty. Fish tacos should be a multi flavored option. The avocado was but a tiny sliver. The sauce was spicy with garlic but the salt level was way over the top. The arugula with lemon dressing again was too salty. It missed the opportunity to refresh the palate. All in all, it was an opportunity missed by a heavy salty hand.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed this very wonderful restaurant i ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyed this very wonderful restaurant in the very unlikely town of Midway, Ky. Quite a find. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in Northern Virginia and we are ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We live in Northern Virginia and we are currently on a project in Kentucky. We have been very pleased to get introduced to the local KY cuisine by a dear friend. We have dined three times in this lovely restaurant in Midway. It is such a wonderful discovery to taste delicious food in a little town with a big history. We are used to major cities and excellent restaurants all over the world but we can say that Heirloom is worldly when it comes to its dishes. We found the pastry chef to be more than a chef - he is an artist with such passion that each of his creations reflect grace, elegance and balance of tastes. Rocco simply rocks! We would come back from another country just to have a dessert made by Rocco. He is a world class pastry chef who can be easily found in any top Michelin restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious from start to finish. Had wond ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious from start to finish. Had wonderful service and wonderf wine. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heirloom is a first call restaurant in t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Heirloom is a first call restaurant in the cute little town of Midway, in the heart of horse country in Kentucky. The drive from Lexington is spectacular, the food at Heirloom, amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with every item thoughtfu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent meal with every item thoughtfully prepared. This has become our favorite dining out experience when we're in the Lexington area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite for special occasions ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a favorite for special occasions as well as just to treat ourselves.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the chef prepared an incredible vegan di ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

the chef prepared an incredible vegan dinner even though nothing vegan on the menu. creative and wonderful flavors. my otherwise carnivorous guest ordered the same and was equally pleased and stunned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I stumbled upon Heirloom on the Open Tab ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I stumbled upon Heirloom on the Open Table website. We were staying in a B &B nearby and decided to give it a try instead of going into Lexington. Our experience was amazing! Probably one of the best meals I've ever eaten! Heirloom is located on Midway's cute little Main Street. Our dinner was absolutely amazing! Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. I had the grouper on top of butternut squash risotto and my husband had a porck chop on top of gnocchi. The service was great and the decor of the restaurant was contemporary and cool, I would have never expected to see this place on this tiny Main Street. I would recommend Heirloom to anyone over any place in Lexington. It was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Historic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, whether lunch or supper, Heir ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As always, whether lunch or supper, Heirloom delivers a great meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with good friends!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Dinner with good friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal very much and especiall ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Enjoyed our meal very much and especially like going on a Wednesday for half-price wine bottles . Our only complaint and it really wasn't terrible was we sat near the front entrance and because of the nice evening waitresses were constantly going in and out the front door which slammed each time (it needs an air pressure closer) which was very noisy and disturbed conversation-hopefully they will look into that.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good was excellent. They have an extensi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Good was excellent. They have an extensive bourbon list.

We had a reservation, but our table wasn't available on time, but they bent over backwards to make us comfortable until a suitable table opened up. My only complaint is the time it took for the dinner to be served. Even the bread was not brought out until after our appetizer. Perhaps they were short staffed, or simply forgot. A minor slip up. However, our waitress checked on us frequently and was friendly. T

he ambience is quaint, small town cozy. Clean. Relaxing. And although the menus is limited, it is well worth the 20-mile drive from our house. It is also situated close to several small antique stores. And there are a couple local wineries in the area. Kentucky is not exactly known for its excellent grape-friendly weather, but a beautiful afternoon on a shaded patio sipping vino is a lovely pre-dinner affair.

Will definitely go again.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is a spot we like to go to for a spec ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It is a spot we like to go to for a special occasion, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed the food. It was absolutely delicious. The only complaint is we were charged higher prices than were listed on the drink menu for my husband's bourbon. All around a great experience and worth the drive from Frankfort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The dishes are always the most interesti ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The dishes are always the most interesting and exciting.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time at Heirloom but ou ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Heirloom but our 1st for lunch and it didn't disappoint. It was our anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere we could count on to be good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

GO TO HEIRLOOM. It is sincerely one of t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

GO TO HEIRLOOM. It is sincerely one of the very best restaurants in the area. The food is spectacular -- they have a way of blending so many notes to create such a delicious flavor profile. Everything has depth and is cooked perfectly. Fresh, delicious. Service is outstanding. Great for dates and special occasions. Romantic, fun. And I think the pricing is competitive. You wont regret it. Only problem is wanting to try everything!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Heirloom continues to excel in every pha ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Heirloom continues to excel in every phase from starters to desserts. Service is the best in the Lexington area. Imaginative eating options, terrific wine selection, convenience, quality. It is the best restaurant in the Lexington area. Exceeds Tony, Gratz, Dudleys by multiple lengths. The only Grade 1 restaurant available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the drive to Midway. The scen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Well worth the drive to Midway. The scenic view of Frankfort Pike and the delicious food made a very relaxing evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heirloom is always exceptional! Hannah's ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Heirloom is always exceptional! Hannah's recommendations on food and wine are always helpful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely superb and our s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was absolutely superb and our service was the perfect speed. We ate leisurely over two hours and never felt rushed. Eating at heirloom is always a joy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was FANTASTIC. We we ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 31, 2016

As always, the food was FANTASTIC. We were celebrating a going-away party and the service and drinks were prompt and delicious. We tried the new duck plate, the textures and tastes were truly unique and delicious. Desserts are always a must! We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food great service

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 31, 2016

As always great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.