About Hefner Grill

9201 East Lake Hefner Pkwy
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
View Larger Map

We offer an intimate yet casual dining experience accompanied by the best view in Oklahoma City! Hefner Grill is the perfect location for any occasion whether it is a prompt lunch with co-workers, a rehearsal dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Our menu boasts a wide variety of favorites, from hand – cut steaks and fresh seafood to signature salads, it’s sure to please any palate. All this paired with a knowledgeable and courteous staff; Hefner Grill will make you feel miles away.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 10:30am - 9:00pm *Brunch is served Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Britton Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 748-6113

Website:
http://www.hefnergrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in a private lot as well as off-site parking with a complimentary shuttle service.

Private Party Facilities:
A private lake-front room offering a full view of the sunset. The room will seat 55 people comfortably. A banquet menu will be available upon request. A perfect room for all occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Greenwood: 4057486113

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Enchiladas
Southern Eggs Benedict
Perfect Bloody Mary
Bone-in Pork Chop
Crab Dip
Haddock Fish Tacos
Pecan-Crusted Trout
Blackened Tilapia
edamame
Caprese Salad
Creme Brulee
Key Lime Pie
Eggs Baltimore
six layer chocolate cake
Fried Green Beans
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Baked Tilapia
fried chicken
Baked Brie
Oysters

Hefner Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
1 More
American
Oklahoma City

scenic view (45)
special occasion (38)
romantic (27)
See All
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for brunch (19)
fit for foodies (17)
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great experience. Waiter was awes ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great experience. Waiter was awesome until end of meal, then we waited a long time (prob 20 min or so) for to go boxes because he was chatting with another table. Definitely want to go back though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and service were great definitely recommend but be sure to make a reservation loved the coconut shrimp!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was luke warm and we had steak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was luke warm and we had steak and we did not get any bread, no baked potatoes, all in all it was okay.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklaho ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklahoma City - consistently great food, great service and great ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is generally good and offers a wide ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is generally good and offers a wide range for various paletts. However, I wish they would beef up their starters menu. We had a party of 5 one of whom cannot eat cheese. When you have drinks to start it is nice to have a starter that is shareable for the group. The only easy share dips are both good but cheese oriented. They used to have a quesadilla but rest or starters do not lend themselves to sharing. I still like the blackened tilapia that I have seen critizied by others but my brown butter sauce with scallops and shrimp was great. My daughter was overwhelmed by the special LARGE ribeye. Our whole party of five was pleased. The dinner wine was pleasant and our wait staff met every need and kept us served.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and meal

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice setting and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occasions and always find it delicious and the service is usually spot on. That being said on this particular trip the service was below our expectation! The wait staff seemed to be rushing us through our entire meal! This occasion happened to be on our anniversary so it became annoying fast! The nicest service we recived was from the server that brought our food out from the kitchen he was very nice completimented us on the food selections we made and asked us if we needed any thing else which was more service than we received from our waiter the whole date. The meal was capped off by our waiter picking up my empty plate and grabbing my wife's plate mid-bite while she was still eating and had food left on her plate! Then stated without an apology oh I thought you were done with that! We have ate at Hefner grill many times in the past and will again. However not when it's important or we have guests with us I just can't take that chance!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had brunch outside and it was a beaut ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had brunch outside and it was a beautiful day, the service was good. The food, however, was mediocre at best. I had the Eggs Baltimore. The "crab cakes" were deep fried and probably from frozen. The eggs were way over done and so perfectly shaped it's impossible to believe they were actually poached that day. If it weren't for the patio on the lake, I would not eat there at all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great live music to enjoy with great foo ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great live music to enjoy with great food and outstanding service. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was very good, the food ok b ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service was very good, the food ok but a little pricey. Unfortunately, there was a very loud group near our table which put a damper on the evening. From what we could tell, management did nothing to ask them to dial it back. This occasion was for my wife's birthday. We also went here Mother's Day when the service was not good. All in all, I would recommend Hefner Grill but it's record with us has been uneven. I would avoid it on big events.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Fantastic food and nice venue. Loved it.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fantastic food and nice venue. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here 3 or 4 times and enjoy ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been here 3 or 4 times and enjoy it every time we go!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the lake is lovely, and our ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The view of the lake is lovely, and our food was fantastic! We will definitely return and try other entrees that looked good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hefner grill offers a laid back ambiance ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Hefner grill offers a laid back ambiance with a touch of class. Service was top notch. Our server Seth took outstanding care of us. Drinks were always full and table maintenance was neved ignored. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a bridal luncheon at Hefner Grill!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

All the staff was wonderful and the food was awesome too. GREAT service!! Wonderful time!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, excellent view, excellent food.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Call ahead for reservations, you are more likely to be seated up front with a beautiful view of Lake Hefner. The special was well presented and very flavorful. I particularly like that they use an interesting combination of flavors that is innovative and delicious. The portions are generous and I have rarely been able to make it to dessert, so I can not speak to that part of their menu. Salmon, coconut shrimp, and the salad special on Tuesdays and Thursdays are hits. All are worth a try for a very reasonable price. Truly an enjoyable weekday lunch experience I have repeated when I am in OKC.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our 44 anniversary. W ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were there for our 44 anniversary. We enjoyed the view of the lake, the food, and our server was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I booked our reservation for a party of five online using the Open Table app and really loved that convenience. I requested a window seat and they confirmed but gave no guarantee on the seating. When we arrived at the restaurant, our party of five was seated in the most perfect location, by the windows with a great view. We had the most amazing waiter named Richard, who met our every need. His suggestions on the menu were spot on and his attentiveness to our party was truly fantastic!!! We were so lucky to have him. And the manager also checked on us several times to make sure everything was ok. I cannot tell you how refreshing it is to have such great customer service.

The food was delicious and faultlessly prepared. The grilled tuna was perfect, the swordfish was fresh and prepared wonderfully, the pork chop was amazing and tender and the pasta and crab salad were also amazing. We also shared delicious calamari and rich crab dip for our appetizers and ended with a slice of key lime pie, which we all agreed was the best we had ever tasted. Truly, this was a wonderful dining experience. Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table was ready as promised and the ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our table was ready as promised and the service was efficient and the food was very good.

We are in our 60's and the noise level is a loud for us.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to the Hefner Grill to enjoy ja ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Hefner Grill to enjoy jazz artist Justin Echols. Unfortunately we couldn't be accommodated with a table in the bar, despite having a reservation. Other than the table location, it was an enjoyable meal. Service was a team effort and was quite good. The GM was helping out in the kitchen but came by and checked on us during our meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz and The Lemon Drop Martinis Were Absolutely Fabulous! Make A Point To Have Outside Dining To Enjoy The Water, Sailboats and Sunset. A Must Place For A Date, Double Date or A Good Friends Night Out For Dinner :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the blackened tilapia and it was amazing, I substituted the rice for fries, here's a tip, order blackened seasoned fries, yum. Too full for dessert but sounded good

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special occasion

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was great! I drove 2 1/2 hrs., it was a surprise anniversary gift for my husband, he loves the water. The waitress very hospitable, the atmosphere was perfect for our occasion. Lakeside dining was romantic, we started with appetizers, our favorites spinach dip and calamari both tasty and seasoned to perfection. The main course was served hot and delicious as well. I have recommended Hefner Grill to my family for future dining.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing and serving sizes are gr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is amazing and serving sizes are great. They offer a military discount of 10-15% Service was a bit slow but it was Mother's Day. Once ordered food came out quickly and was great and cooked correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best restaurants in OKC

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Hefner Grill is a great restaurant in OKC. It is consistent in quality and service, prices are fair and you can always expect to leave satisfied. It is our family "go to" place when we have out of town guests, just want a good meal or for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started with a waitress, then a waite ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We started with a waitress, then a waiter introduced himself. We received drinks from both, we ordered separately, and then they both disappeared. I had to go find a manager to get service. After that everything was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! Food is always wonderful as well! One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and staff was great a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great and staff was great as well. Everyone seemed happy and professional which made the dining experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!!! Great service!!! Terrible ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food!!! Great service!!! Terrible parking!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was cold. We sent it back and t ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was cold. We sent it back and they replaced 2 of the meals, but by time food came back no one really wanted it and although the food was hot ,this time, it tasted awful. Will not return!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

A nice jazz band. Great oysters. Servi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A nice jazz band. Great oysters. Service a little sporadic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Beautiful patio dining!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Hefner Grill offers a beautiful patio to enjoy great food and an amazing view. Our servers were attentive and personal. The food was very good! We will definitely return soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari is outstanding! I also went ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The calamari is outstanding! I also went with the ribeye special. Perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. This is the perfect place to eat with the added view of the beautiful lake Hefner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A nice surprise!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

First, I rated the service and value a 5 because they gave us an incredible military discount of 50% off our food. 50%! This was a really nice surprise, and frankly, for those young military who couldn't normally afford to go to a nice restaurant like this, it makes it possible. We thank Heffner Grill for honoring the military in such a great way! The food was what I'd consider simple. I'm sure it depends on what you get as well. We started with the crab bisque. It was very good. We asked for bread with it, and their standard bread if a crispy garlic bread. Not what I would expect, but it no complaints. We also ordered a salad, which was a good portion and fresh. My husband and I ordered the blackened halibut special with rice and the mixed vegetables. The halibut was supposed to be 8 ounces and seemed smaller than that. We did not get a big portion. But it was cooked right, and the blackened seasoning wasn't too salty, which was nice. The rice was bland and didn't have a lot of flavor. The veggies were fresh and simple but good. The waitress, Mia, was super sweet and had a great personality and attitude. We did request a table outside to view the sunset. When we arrived, it was too windy, but we still wanted a nice view for the sunset. They put us at a table where the sunset was blocked by a large post and then a window frame. The only way we could see the sunset was by twisting our bodies in an uncomfortable way. That was a bummer. Overall, a pretty decent dining experience. When we got the bill with the huge discount, though, we were super impressed. Would go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed the jazz band and food was as ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I enjoyed the jazz band and food was as expected from a Hal Smith resturant....great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

POOR SERVICE, Great Manager

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We ordered our starters, and never received them. The manager took care of our meal because of our experience. It is not a customers job to question the kitchen it is the servers need to pay attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Always tasty food and great sunsets.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Always tasty food and great sunsets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Izzy, our server was outstanding!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Izzy, our server was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic sunset at the lake

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Nice view, good food , good service. Surely one of the best places to dine in OKC.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Food and Great Service

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Although this mainly is a seafood place, they have several other items that are excellent!! It is a great place for friends to meet and eat. The ultimate margarita is awesome!! Our waitress was very nice and efficient. I wish I could remember her name, but all I remember is that she had a 7 year old brother who always asked why she came home with food all over. Ha ha. I was there for a friends birthday who happened to be in town from Houston and she had a fantastic time. In addition, the young lady at the front too a few pics for us. Very friendly environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.