About Hefner Grill

9201 East Lake Hefner Pkwy
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
View Larger Map

We offer an intimate yet casual dining experience accompanied by the best view in Oklahoma City! Hefner Grill is the perfect location for any occasion whether it is a prompt lunch with co-workers, a rehearsal dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Our menu boasts a wide variety of favorites, from hand – cut steaks and fresh seafood to signature salads, it’s sure to please any palate. All this paired with a knowledgeable and courteous staff; Hefner Grill will make you feel miles away.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 10:30am - 9:00pm *Brunch is served Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Britton Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 748-6113

Website:
http://www.hefnergrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in a private lot as well as off-site parking with a complimentary shuttle service.

Private Party Facilities:
A private lake-front room offering a full view of the sunset. The room will seat 55 people comfortably. A banquet menu will be available upon request. A perfect room for all occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Greenwood: 4057486113

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hefner Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

scenic view (93)
special occasion (81)
romantic (66)
See All
great for outdoor dining (42)
great for brunch (36)
good for groups (35)
great for lunch (33)
fit for foodies (31)
neighborhood gem (23)
late-night find (17)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz ...

Dined 6 days ago

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz and The Lemon Drop Martinis Were Absolutely Fabulous! Make A Point To Have Outside Dining To Enjoy The Water, Sailboats and Sunset. A Must Place For A Date, Double Date or A Good Friends Night Out For Dinner :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the blackened tilapia and it was amazing, I substituted the rice for fries, here's a tip, order blackened seasoned fries, yum. Too full for dessert but sounded good

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was great! I drove 2 1/2 hrs., it was a surprise anniversary gift for my husband, he loves the water. The waitress very hospitable, the atmosphere was perfect for our occasion. Lakeside dining was romantic, we started with appetizers, our favorites spinach dip and calamari both tasty and seasoned to perfection. The main course was served hot and delicious as well. I have recommended Hefner Grill to my family for future dining.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is amazing and serving sizes are gr ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is amazing and serving sizes are great. They offer a military discount of 10-15% Service was a bit slow but it was Mother's Day. Once ordered food came out quickly and was great and cooked correctly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in OKC

Dined on May 8, 2016

Hefner Grill is a great restaurant in OKC. It is consistent in quality and service, prices are fair and you can always expect to leave satisfied. It is our family "go to" place when we have out of town guests, just want a good meal or for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2

We started with a waitress, then a waite ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We started with a waitress, then a waiter introduced himself. We received drinks from both, we ordered separately, and then they both disappeared. I had to go find a manager to get service. After that everything was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! Food is always wonderful as well! One of our favorite places!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and staff was great a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great and staff was great as well. Everyone seemed happy and professional which made the dining experience even better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!!! Great service!!! Terrible ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food!!! Great service!!! Terrible parking!!!

food1
ambience2
service2

The food was cold. We sent it back and t ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was cold. We sent it back and they replaced 2 of the meals, but by time food came back no one really wanted it and although the food was hot ,this time, it tasted awful. Will not return!!!!

food4
ambience4
service3

A nice jazz band. Great oysters. Servi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A nice jazz band. Great oysters. Service a little sporadic

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio dining!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Hefner Grill offers a beautiful patio to enjoy great food and an amazing view. Our servers were attentive and personal. The food was very good! We will definitely return soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The calamari is outstanding! I also went ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The calamari is outstanding! I also went with the ribeye special. Perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. This is the perfect place to eat with the added view of the beautiful lake Hefner.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A nice surprise!

Dined on April 16, 2016

First, I rated the service and value a 5 because they gave us an incredible military discount of 50% off our food. 50%! This was a really nice surprise, and frankly, for those young military who couldn't normally afford to go to a nice restaurant like this, it makes it possible. We thank Heffner Grill for honoring the military in such a great way! The food was what I'd consider simple. I'm sure it depends on what you get as well. We started with the crab bisque. It was very good. We asked for bread with it, and their standard bread if a crispy garlic bread. Not what I would expect, but it no complaints. We also ordered a salad, which was a good portion and fresh. My husband and I ordered the blackened halibut special with rice and the mixed vegetables. The halibut was supposed to be 8 ounces and seemed smaller than that. We did not get a big portion. But it was cooked right, and the blackened seasoning wasn't too salty, which was nice. The rice was bland and didn't have a lot of flavor. The veggies were fresh and simple but good. The waitress, Mia, was super sweet and had a great personality and attitude. We did request a table outside to view the sunset. When we arrived, it was too windy, but we still wanted a nice view for the sunset. They put us at a table where the sunset was blocked by a large post and then a window frame. The only way we could see the sunset was by twisting our bodies in an uncomfortable way. That was a bummer. Overall, a pretty decent dining experience. When we got the bill with the huge discount, though, we were super impressed. Would go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

I enjoyed the jazz band and food was as ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I enjoyed the jazz band and food was as expected from a Hal Smith resturant....great.

food4
ambience3
service1
value4

POOR SERVICE, Great Manager

Dined on April 3, 2016

We ordered our starters, and never received them. The manager took care of our meal because of our experience. It is not a customers job to question the kitchen it is the servers need to pay attention.

food4
ambience5
service5

Always tasty food and great sunsets.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Always tasty food and great sunsets.

food4
ambience5
service5

Izzy, our server was outstanding!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Izzy, our server was outstanding!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Romantic sunset at the lake

Dined on March 24, 2016

Nice view, good food , good service. Surely one of the best places to dine in OKC.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Great Service

Dined on March 14, 2016

Although this mainly is a seafood place, they have several other items that are excellent!! It is a great place for friends to meet and eat. The ultimate margarita is awesome!! Our waitress was very nice and efficient. I wish I could remember her name, but all I remember is that she had a 7 year old brother who always asked why she came home with food all over. Ha ha. I was there for a friends birthday who happened to be in town from Houston and she had a fantastic time. In addition, the young lady at the front too a few pics for us. Very friendly environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Birthday

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Hefner Grill. We were celebrating my wife's birthday. This met and exceeded our expectations. We have shared the good news with family & friends and will return soon.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and great service as alwa ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent meal and great service as always!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

lunch w/friend

Dined on March 4, 2016

met girlfriend for lunch . had reserved a table by the window. worked out perfectly. private conversation and great view.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overrated

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

While the location is great, that's about the only positive. The food isn't bad. However, there are plenty of better places in OKC. Not to mention, cheaper. Also, if you're going for the lake view, only go during the day. There is nothing good about eating near the window or outside when it's dark.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Find the right server!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food, Service, View, Great! Server Seth, Fantastic! The people that deliver food to your table are lost souls. Don't ask them for anything as you will NOT get it. This has happened to me 100 times out of 100 at this restaurant. Yes, shame on me. I should have learned. If you get the right server, your visit will be close to perfect. They typically do not say no to anything, even down to ordering items that are no longer on the menu.....(trout), and that makes them a rare entity in the resto business in OKC now 'days. HG is a standby local great view good food restaurant that i'm not embarrassed to take out of towners to.... and you don't empty your wallet..........!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Choose your time wisely

Dined on February 26, 2016

My family loves Hefner Grill, we really love the brunch and would recommend brunch for sure. The food is always great however, in the evenings it is extremely noisy. We thought we could ask for a seat away from the bar area and was told the best that they could do was to sit us next to the bar. There were plenty of open tables not near the bar but they informed us those table were not available. Hefner grill has a great setting, great food but needs to be sensitive to people who would like to enjoy the experience where they did not feel they had to raise their voice to a yell in order just to have a conversation. So I would recommend it but would suggest you pick your time you chose to go there wisely.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and a great view with tab ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Delicious food and a great view with tables that offer privacy.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

24th Wedding Anniversary

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took my wife here for our 24th Wedding Anniversary date, and we had a wonderful time. The overall feel and look of the restaurant was very nice. We used Open Table to reserve a time and we loved that it worked so well! We were a little dissapointed with the selections for the Appetizers they had however that was a minor issue. We had a Server Trainee with our Server and both of them did very well. Unfortunately there was a small problem with what I ordered however the Server handled it well for me. They also relayed that it was our Anniversary and to our great surprise the Manager took care of our desserts for us! (Which were delicious by the way) The live music was very good and we enjoyed that a lot. Overall we had a pretty good experience and will try to come back when we can and will recommend it to our friends and family :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, amazing view, and an amazi ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing food, amazing view, and an amazing time! Perfect for a date or nice celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5

Window seating overlooking the beach was ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Window seating overlooking the beach was amazing! Crab bisque and seafood enchiladas were awesome! Server, Kirby, was very friendly and attentive!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Running low on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife & I went to the Hefner Grill for dinner on Valentine's Day. We enjoyed what we ate. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant ran out of several popular menu items we wanted to order including the crab cakes, crab dip, pecan crusted trout, seafood enchiladas, and coconut shrimp. I recommend they increase their inventory on days they know will be more busy than usual.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service5

Yes, it was Valentine's Day, but I made ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Yes, it was Valentine's Day, but I made the reservation 2 weeks in advance. We were seated at what could only be described as a bar top, not a table in a back room with no view. To make matters worse, we were seated at the back of the room almost in the hallway for the kitchen. Every time the staff cane out, they had to brush by me as I would not let my fiancée have that seat. The table was barely big enough to fit our entrees and drinks. All in all, the most disappointing dining experience I've had in years. I wish I hadn't gone.

food2
ambience3
service3

Ordered pasta it had very little meat sa ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Ordered pasta it had very little meat sauce. Asked for extra and was told there would be a extra charge for the meat sauce. Unbelievable, never, ever had a restaurant do that especially when they put so little sauce on in the first place. Never going back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

I had flowers delivered to the Hefner Grill earlier the same day. When we arrived nothing was said about the flowers as not to spoil the surprise for my bride. When we were seated the flowers were already on the table waiting for her. It took her a minute to figure out that not all the tables had flowers... We were seated in front of the band so it was noisy, but I like jazz so it didn't bother me as much. The oysters were very tasty, and my salmon was great. Her filet however wasn't the best cut we've ever had, and the streamed broccoli was a little tough as well. We were looking forward to the six layer cake for dessert, but sadly they were out of that and the cream brûlée. I found it odd to be out of dessert as we had arrived at 7pm. The overall experience was satisfying, and this was the first time we've been back since Hal Smith has taken over.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the fried chicken

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food. Some of the best I've had in OKC. The fried chicken was amazing and the 6 layer chocolate cake finished the meal perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Oysters were awesome!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Oysters were awesome!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

I used open table to reserve our table. When I mad the reservation I requested a table away from any entrances or exits and the bar. Little did I know that this would push or reservation back 30 minutes. This was fine with me. Our food was great. I had the Seafood Enchiladas which were amazing, but they were warm. I would have liked them a lot more if they had right out of the oven. My fiancees dish was the Fried Chicken. It was right out of the fryer. It was amazing. I wished I had ordered it on taste alone. Our waitress was coming by every 5 to 10 minutes to check on us. She was very good at bringing a drink and not being noticed or interrupting. I have had wait staff like to ask me questions right as I take a bite. She did not, and that was a big plus for me. We were seated with a view of Lake Hefner at sunset. It was amazing. Overall I loved it, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a new place.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One of our favorite OKC places!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Hefner Grill has become one of our "go to" places when we want a great long meal, good service and a fantastic, romantic sunset view. The beer and the glasses are cold. The dishes are hot. Try the crab cakes as an entree! Mmmmm!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, Relaxing, Fun, Great Food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

First of all, I love the fact that you can make a reservation for Valentine's Day or any other holiday! That's a huge plus for me! We were running a few mins late because we live an hour & 30 mins away. I called & they were very accommodating & got us right in when we arrived! The atmosphere was relaxing & energetic at the same time! The view of the lake was serene & beautiful; especially as the sun was setting! I haven't been there on a warm enough evening to desire to sit or go outside, but plenty of couples were outside just enjoying the beauty of the view! Our server was very attentive & the rest of the servers were quick to help when ours was not available! The management is very involved & were visibly assisting the servers & their staff! The food was the perfect temperature & tasted great! I loved the live music they provided for the special evening! This restaurant has quickly become one of my all-time favorites!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Not as good as previous visits

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our reservation was on Valentine's Day. We got seated promptly. Food was OK but not of the quality that we have gotten there before. Service was poor. It took a long time to get our food, but not because it was so busy. We noticed that other diners that were seated after we placed our order, received their appetizers and meals before we did. Several parties that came in and ordered after we did, were finished with their meals and left the restaurant by the time our food arrived. Then at the end of the meal, it took about 20 minutes for us to get our check and pay. We were going to have dessert, but decided it would take way too long. Overall not a good experience this time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.