About Hefner Grill

9201 East Lake Hefner Pkwy
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
View Larger Map

We offer an intimate yet casual dining experience accompanied by the best view in Oklahoma City! Hefner Grill is the perfect location for any occasion whether it is a prompt lunch with co-workers, a rehearsal dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Our menu boasts a wide variety of favorites, from hand – cut steaks and fresh seafood to signature salads, it’s sure to please any palate. All this paired with a knowledgeable and courteous staff; Hefner Grill will make you feel miles away.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 10:30am - 9:00pm *Brunch is served Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Britton Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 748-6113

Website:
http://www.hefnergrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in a private lot as well as off-site parking with a complimentary shuttle service.

Private Party Facilities:
A private lake-front room offering a full view of the sunset. The room will seat 55 people comfortably. A banquet menu will be available upon request. A perfect room for all occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Greenwood: (405) 748-6113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hefner Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Waterfront (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and the best salmon I' ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent service and the best salmon I've had in a while.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service are always top notc ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food and service are always top notch. Watching the sun set at the lake is enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So I went to this place with my boyfrien ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

So I went to this place with my boyfriend to celebrate our anniversary which we never had before, the staff was welcoming, the food was delicious. One bite of the fish and my boyfriend claimed it was so good it turned him religious for a second. I liked the colors of the place, it's comfortably warm and the place wasn't too far nor too expensive surprisingly. We went after dark so the lake wasn't much of a view but I'm sure in the day or at sunset it would be just gorgeous. I'm glad I chose Hefner Grill for that special day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Organic, Family Style, Authentic, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Waiting until the last minute to book a ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waiting until the last minute to book a 6 top on NYE is stupid, but that's what the boys did this year! I really like Hefner Grill for brunch rather than dinner. The menu is more interesting and better executed and the lake view can be taken advantage of. Unfortunately at night you can't see the water - they've never installed lights that shine out, and it's been a known issue for years. Our server, Addy, was excellent, especially considering it was a busy night and the food was good, certainly nothing to complain about, it just wasn't great. All in all, we still had a decent meal with drinks for around $100 a couple.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice place for a special occasion especi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice place for a special occasion especially if you sit in the large booths facing the lake. The creme brûlée was the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had the pork chop for $18. It was fine ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had the pork chop for $18. It was fine no problems but nothing special except the view of the lake before dark. After dark could not see anything and was worse of a scenic view as of normal restaurants not on a lake. But all was fine, not great.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband went to Hefner Grill to celeb ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband went to Hefner Grill to celebrate our 44th anniversary. For some reason we had never been there before. I made a reservation and we got the seating I asked for with a very nice view of the sun setting over the lake. Our waiter was fantastic and very attentive. He suggested a great appetizer, the crab dip. Our meals were very good, cooked just right and to order. We will return very soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great and the food was sp ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was great and the food was spectacular. I had never tried the trout or crab bisque until this last visit. I generaly get the fish tacos or coconut shrimp. I highly recommend the trout! Wow, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great service & meal! The co ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, great service & meal! The cocktail was refreshing & delicious too!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Romantic, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ww were disappointed this visit. Our fa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ww were disappointed this visit. Our favorite menu selections were not as good as previously. One very loud waitress in an adjacent area destroyed the ambiance with her loud, chatty "best friend" approach to service. Christmas Eve dinner out, but not so special. We will make another choice next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Hefner Grill is always a great place for ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Hefner Grill is always a great place for a business lunch or date night. Honestly, the quality of the food had nosedived a few months back so I had stopped frequenting the place. I am happy to say that the food was very good and the service was outstanding. Glad to have one of my fave places back on top of the list!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. I e ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food and service were very good. I enjoy this restaurant and frequent it as often as possible. During warmer weather sitting outside near the water is a great place. At night the ambiance is warm and inviting. I recommend it for almost any occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, , Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were very good. Large ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service were very good. Large portions of food. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here many times, food is very ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Have been here many times, food is very good. Unfortunately, this time they did not recognize my reservation via OpenTable, but were able to sit us anyway.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great date night dinner! Service was th ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great date night dinner! Service was the best I have seen !! Will go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a family member bir ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We came to celebrate a family member birthday. He had never been to Hefner Grill and LOVED the pecan crusted trout. Hefner Grill is our absolute favorite and we go at least once a month.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food. The southern eggs Benedict i ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Yummy food. The southern eggs Benedict is fantastic. The perfect bloody Mary is the best. And the mimosas are perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed Hefner Grill for my husb ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have enjoyed Hefner Grill for my husband's birthday, a special Valentine's meal & now a double date with friends. I LOVE that I can make reservations so easliy! It's a beautiful location, with great food & drinks. And the last couple times we were there the live music was great! My husband loved that he could watch his sports while dining from almost anywhere in the restaurant! The servers are always spectacular & we are personal friends with the General Manager! One of my favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were six of us Every entree was ov ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There were six of us

Every entree was overcooked

Sent one back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was great and the food bette ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was great and the food better than average - I would have given this restaurant 5 stars but this beautiful lake front setting was hard to look at due to the visible dirt and other material all over the floor to ceiling windows on the entire back of the dining area. Obvious to anyone the windows had not been cleaned in a very long time, really disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for dinner or brunch. Sittin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place for dinner or brunch. Sitting on the patio looking over the lake is a really nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hefner Grill is a great place with a ple ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Hefner Grill is a great place with a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Hefner Grill ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was my first visit to Hefner Grill and my and I really enjoyed it. Excellent food, good music and another beautiful Oklahoma sunset. Well done and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday brunch. Great portions ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. Great portions but also, very flavorful. Will definitely return. Judging by the crowd, I'd recommend always making brunch reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great view!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It was awesome as usual. The lake view a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was awesome as usual. The lake view and sunsets take you away to another place.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit- excellent food ! Coconut s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

First visit- excellent food ! Coconut shrimp was the best! Our server was attentive and the view amazing. Will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our lunch with friends. W ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch with friends. We were waited on promptly and we enjoyed our wait person. We had spinach dip and it was delightful, the to large tasty salads and a salmon dish.

All were delightful, I'd recommend it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious! I got the fried ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was delicious! I got the fried chicken and loved it. The first time it came out, it was undercooked- so I had to wait..but it was worth it. Wish they'd had gravy for the mashed potatoes, but it was still good. Server was very attentive and the atmosphere was much nicer than we were imagining. The view of the lake at 7 30 was gorgeous. I think we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always delicious food and nice service.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always delicious food and nice service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Hefner grill but I always take time ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love Hefner grill but I always take time to make a reservation and ask for a window table. So far I have never gotten a window. My only compliant would be to honor reservation request before seating walk ins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location and view of Lake Hefner, a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Nice location and view of Lake Hefner, and an all around pleasant experience. The food was good, though not spectacular, the prices were affordable, without the inflation typically seen at other places with a view, and the staff was efficient & pleasant, even if not as attentive & gregarious as we would have preferred.

There are certainly some things that could be done better, but for the price, it wasn't bad at all. And the fresh oysters were pretty great for an eatery in the middle of landlocked Oklahoma!

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I've had a business lunch here on 2 sepa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I've had a business lunch here on 2 separate occasions in the last couple of weeks. Both times the service was impeccable. The food was outstanding. The first time I had their coconut fried chicken salad with a Thai dressing. It is a lunch special they have on Tuesday and Thursday. It's huge and tasty with large pieces of perfectly fried chicken. There was plenty left over and I took it home. On the 2nd visit I had their signature Shrimp Louie salad.. It is improved over what it had previously been. It was a large iceberg lettuce wedge with 6 large shrimp on top and on top of that was thousand island dressing. Around the edges of the plate were various small tomatoes drizzled with an Italian dressing or an olive oil. We had a nice view of the lake. It was a windy day, and the water was clear with choppy with small waves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was just alright, server didn't ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was just alright, server didn't know much about the menu or the drinks. I ordered chicken and it came out completely raw, waited 30 minutes and then finally asked for the check- the manager didn't take anything off of our tab for the food or the wait. We finally asked if she could do something as it was my 30th birthday, she reluctantly gave us a small discount. Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service, great lunch

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service, great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining experience - the food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dining experience - the food and service is always exceptional!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful as well as service. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was wonderful as well as service. Great view of the lake.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times for special occasions. Last Friday 8/5 some friends were in town so we took them here. We really enjoyed the great views and live music. Service seemed a bit off. I didn't like our waitress too well. She never came around and asked would I like another margarita. It seemed the other guys refilling water, cleaning off plates did a better job.

The food however was great as usual. At our table enjoyed squash Rockefeller, pecan trout, 2 pork chops and a cedar plank salmon. We finished off with the 7 layer chocolate cake. Glad there were 4 people to share because that is RICH.

Definitely make a reservation. It can get a little noisy, but it still is TONS better than Chili's and the like. Also, I made a reservation for 7pm, but there was not a table immediately available. We had to wait about 8-10 minutes.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience. One cannot go wrong d ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great experience. One cannot go wrong dining at Hefner Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to eat gluten free food and have ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have to eat gluten free food and have always had the best experience at Hefner Grill!! I LOVE the gluten free fish tacos!! We recently had a business dinner with 6 people in attendance; everyone loved their food. I overheard one of our guest tell the wait staff that he is a "steak" person and that was one of the best steaks that he had ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.