About Hefner Grill

9201 East Lake Hefner Pkwy
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
View Larger Map

We offer an intimate yet casual dining experience accompanied by the best view in Oklahoma City! Hefner Grill is the perfect location for any occasion whether it is a prompt lunch with co-workers, a rehearsal dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Our menu boasts a wide variety of favorites, from hand – cut steaks and fresh seafood to signature salads, it’s sure to please any palate. All this paired with a knowledgeable and courteous staff; Hefner Grill will make you feel miles away.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 10:30am - 9:00pm *Brunch is served Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Britton Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 748-6113

Website:
http://www.hefnergrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in a private lot as well as off-site parking with a complimentary shuttle service.

Private Party Facilities:
A private lake-front room offering a full view of the sunset. The room will seat 55 people comfortably. A banquet menu will be available upon request. A perfect room for all occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Greenwood: 4057486113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone-in Pork Chop
Crab Dip
Haddock Fish Tacos
Pecan-Crusted Trout
Blackened Tilapia
Seafood Enchiladas
edamame
Caprese Salad
Creme Brulee
Eggs Baltimore
Key Lime Pie
fried chicken
Baked Tilapia
six layer chocolate cake
Fried Green Beans
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Baked Brie
Southern Eggs Benedict
Perfect Bloody Mary
Oysters

Hefner Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City

Scenic View (55)
Special Occasion (41)
Great for Brunch (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Great for Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was just alright, server didn't ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was just alright, server didn't know much about the menu or the drinks. I ordered chicken and it came out completely raw, waited 30 minutes and then finally asked for the check- the manager didn't take anything off of our tab for the food or the wait. We finally asked if she could do something as it was my 30th birthday, she reluctantly gave us a small discount. Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service, great lunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service, great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining experience - the food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dining experience - the food and service is always exceptional!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful as well as service. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was wonderful as well as service. Great view of the lake.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times for special occasions. Last Friday 8/5 some friends were in town so we took them here. We really enjoyed the great views and live music. Service seemed a bit off. I didn't like our waitress too well. She never came around and asked would I like another margarita. It seemed the other guys refilling water, cleaning off plates did a better job.

The food however was great as usual. At our table enjoyed squash Rockefeller, pecan trout, 2 pork chops and a cedar plank salmon. We finished off with the 7 layer chocolate cake. Glad there were 4 people to share because that is RICH.

Definitely make a reservation. It can get a little noisy, but it still is TONS better than Chili's and the like. Also, I made a reservation for 7pm, but there was not a table immediately available. We had to wait about 8-10 minutes.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience. One cannot go wrong d ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great experience. One cannot go wrong dining at Hefner Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to eat gluten free food and have ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have to eat gluten free food and have always had the best experience at Hefner Grill!! I LOVE the gluten free fish tacos!! We recently had a business dinner with 6 people in attendance; everyone loved their food. I overheard one of our guest tell the wait staff that he is a "steak" person and that was one of the best steaks that he had ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hefner Grill is one of our favorite plac ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hefner Grill is one of our favorite places to eat, partly because of its beautiful & relaxing location. The food is always fresh and always tastes great. Service is usually always great as well. My husband and I had a date night this past weekend, and the overall experience was good. However, our service was much slower than normal, and our waiter was not near as observant and hardly checked on us the entire time we were there. That is something we are not used to at Hefner Grill. Hopefully it was due to him being new or just having an off night. Otherwise, our food was great and the atmosphere was great as always. We will continue to come back and enjoy one of our fave restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was wonderful. We all ate too m ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was wonderful. We all ate too much. Portions overly generous and so reasonable!! Our table was facing the lake Beautiful sunset and so peaceful watching the sailboats. We had my 86 year old mother, she So enjoyed the water since she is from Florida

The service was top notch. Wonderful to see such teamwork in a happy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the private room for a birthday ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed the private room for a birthday group. The pecan crusted trout and key lime are to die for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we always enjoy the food and service; th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

we always enjoy the food and service; the problem is, if you want to talk without yelling, the area we were in was not conducive for table talk; too much loud laughter and noise from other tables. For a special occasion, I would recommend several other spots vs Hefner Grill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Loved all,kind staff,great food will ret ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved all,kind staff,great food will return. The view of the lake wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for my birthday dinner! ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great experience for my birthday dinner! Look forward to having my wedding dinner & reception here in a couple more months! I think everyone will love it for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience. Waiter was awes ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great experience. Waiter was awesome until end of meal, then we waited a long time (prob 20 min or so) for to go boxes because he was chatting with another table. Definitely want to go back though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and service were great definitely recommend but be sure to make a reservation loved the coconut shrimp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was luke warm and we had steak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was luke warm and we had steak and we did not get any bread, no baked potatoes, all in all it was okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklaho ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklahoma City - consistently great food, great service and great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is generally good and offers a wide ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is generally good and offers a wide range for various paletts. However, I wish they would beef up their starters menu. We had a party of 5 one of whom cannot eat cheese. When you have drinks to start it is nice to have a starter that is shareable for the group. The only easy share dips are both good but cheese oriented. They used to have a quesadilla but rest or starters do not lend themselves to sharing. I still like the blackened tilapia that I have seen critizied by others but my brown butter sauce with scallops and shrimp was great. My daughter was overwhelmed by the special LARGE ribeye. Our whole party of five was pleased. The dinner wine was pleasant and our wait staff met every need and kept us served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and meal

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice setting and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occasions and always find it delicious and the service is usually spot on. That being said on this particular trip the service was below our expectation! The wait staff seemed to be rushing us through our entire meal! This occasion happened to be on our anniversary so it became annoying fast! The nicest service we recived was from the server that brought our food out from the kitchen he was very nice completimented us on the food selections we made and asked us if we needed any thing else which was more service than we received from our waiter the whole date. The meal was capped off by our waiter picking up my empty plate and grabbing my wife's plate mid-bite while she was still eating and had food left on her plate! Then stated without an apology oh I thought you were done with that! We have ate at Hefner grill many times in the past and will again. However not when it's important or we have guests with us I just can't take that chance!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had brunch outside and it was a beaut ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had brunch outside and it was a beautiful day, the service was good. The food, however, was mediocre at best. I had the Eggs Baltimore. The "crab cakes" were deep fried and probably from frozen. The eggs were way over done and so perfectly shaped it's impossible to believe they were actually poached that day. If it weren't for the patio on the lake, I would not eat there at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great live music to enjoy with great foo ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great live music to enjoy with great food and outstanding service. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was very good, the food ok b ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service was very good, the food ok but a little pricey. Unfortunately, there was a very loud group near our table which put a damper on the evening. From what we could tell, management did nothing to ask them to dial it back. This occasion was for my wife's birthday. We also went here Mother's Day when the service was not good. All in all, I would recommend Hefner Grill but it's record with us has been uneven. I would avoid it on big events.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Fantastic food and nice venue. Loved it.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fantastic food and nice venue. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here 3 or 4 times and enjoy ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have been here 3 or 4 times and enjoy it every time we go!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the lake is lovely, and our ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The view of the lake is lovely, and our food was fantastic! We will definitely return and try other entrees that looked good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hefner grill offers a laid back ambiance ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Hefner grill offers a laid back ambiance with a touch of class. Service was top notch. Our server Seth took outstanding care of us. Drinks were always full and table maintenance was neved ignored. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a bridal luncheon at Hefner Grill!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

All the staff was wonderful and the food was awesome too. GREAT service!! Wonderful time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, excellent view, excellent food.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Call ahead for reservations, you are more likely to be seated up front with a beautiful view of Lake Hefner. The special was well presented and very flavorful. I particularly like that they use an interesting combination of flavors that is innovative and delicious. The portions are generous and I have rarely been able to make it to dessert, so I can not speak to that part of their menu. Salmon, coconut shrimp, and the salad special on Tuesdays and Thursdays are hits. All are worth a try for a very reasonable price. Truly an enjoyable weekday lunch experience I have repeated when I am in OKC.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our 44 anniversary. W ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were there for our 44 anniversary. We enjoyed the view of the lake, the food, and our server was great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I booked our reservation for a party of five online using the Open Table app and really loved that convenience. I requested a window seat and they confirmed but gave no guarantee on the seating. When we arrived at the restaurant, our party of five was seated in the most perfect location, by the windows with a great view. We had the most amazing waiter named Richard, who met our every need. His suggestions on the menu were spot on and his attentiveness to our party was truly fantastic!!! We were so lucky to have him. And the manager also checked on us several times to make sure everything was ok. I cannot tell you how refreshing it is to have such great customer service.

The food was delicious and faultlessly prepared. The grilled tuna was perfect, the swordfish was fresh and prepared wonderfully, the pork chop was amazing and tender and the pasta and crab salad were also amazing. We also shared delicious calamari and rich crab dip for our appetizers and ended with a slice of key lime pie, which we all agreed was the best we had ever tasted. Truly, this was a wonderful dining experience. Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table was ready as promised and the ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our table was ready as promised and the service was efficient and the food was very good.

We are in our 60's and the noise level is a loud for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to the Hefner Grill to enjoy ja ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Hefner Grill to enjoy jazz artist Justin Echols. Unfortunately we couldn't be accommodated with a table in the bar, despite having a reservation. Other than the table location, it was an enjoyable meal. Service was a team effort and was quite good. The GM was helping out in the kitchen but came by and checked on us during our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The View, Good, Waiter Live Piano Jazz and The Lemon Drop Martinis Were Absolutely Fabulous! Make A Point To Have Outside Dining To Enjoy The Water, Sailboats and Sunset. A Must Place For A Date, Double Date or A Good Friends Night Out For Dinner :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Spinach dip was really good. Ordered the blackened tilapia and it was amazing, I substituted the rice for fries, here's a tip, order blackened seasoned fries, yum. Too full for dessert but sounded good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special occasion

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was great! I drove 2 1/2 hrs., it was a surprise anniversary gift for my husband, he loves the water. The waitress very hospitable, the atmosphere was perfect for our occasion. Lakeside dining was romantic, we started with appetizers, our favorites spinach dip and calamari both tasty and seasoned to perfection. The main course was served hot and delicious as well. I have recommended Hefner Grill to my family for future dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing and serving sizes are gr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is amazing and serving sizes are great. They offer a military discount of 10-15% Service was a bit slow but it was Mother's Day. Once ordered food came out quickly and was great and cooked correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best restaurants in OKC

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Hefner Grill is a great restaurant in OKC. It is consistent in quality and service, prices are fair and you can always expect to leave satisfied. It is our family "go to" place when we have out of town guests, just want a good meal or for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started with a waitress, then a waite ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We started with a waitress, then a waiter introduced himself. We received drinks from both, we ordered separately, and then they both disappeared. I had to go find a manager to get service. After that everything was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a wonderful, relaxing experience! Food is always wonderful as well! One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.