About Hefner Grill

9201 East Lake Hefner Pkwy
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
View Larger Map

We offer an intimate yet casual dining experience accompanied by the best view in Oklahoma City! Hefner Grill is the perfect location for any occasion whether it is a prompt lunch with co-workers, a rehearsal dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Our menu boasts a wide variety of favorites, from hand – cut steaks and fresh seafood to signature salads, it’s sure to please any palate. All this paired with a knowledgeable and courteous staff; Hefner Grill will make you feel miles away.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm Sunday: 10:30am - 9:00pm *Brunch is served Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Britton Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 748-6113

Website:
http://www.hefnergrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in a private lot as well as off-site parking with a complimentary shuttle service.

Private Party Facilities:
A private lake-front room offering a full view of the sunset. The room will seat 55 people comfortably. A banquet menu will be available upon request. A perfect room for all occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Greenwood: 4057486113

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone-in Pork Chop - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Crab Dip - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Haddock Fish Tacos - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Pecan-Crusted Trout - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Blackened Tilapia - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Seafood Enchiladas - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
edamame - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Caprese Salad - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Creme Brulee - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Eggs Baltimore - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Key Lime Pie - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
fried chicken - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Baked Tilapia - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
six layer chocolate cake - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Fried Green Beans - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Baked Brie - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Southern Eggs Benedict - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Perfect Bloody Mary - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK
Oysters - Hefner Grill, Oklahoma City, OK

Hefner Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City

Scenic View (29)
Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Romantic (15)
Waterfront (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Live Music (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have been here many times, food is very ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Have been here many times, food is very good. Unfortunately, this time they did not recognize my reservation via OpenTable, but were able to sit us anyway.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great date night dinner! Service was th ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great date night dinner! Service was the best I have seen !! Will go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a family member bir ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We came to celebrate a family member birthday. He had never been to Hefner Grill and LOVED the pecan crusted trout. Hefner Grill is our absolute favorite and we go at least once a month.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food. The southern eggs Benedict i ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Yummy food. The southern eggs Benedict is fantastic. The perfect bloody Mary is the best. And the mimosas are perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed Hefner Grill for my husb ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have enjoyed Hefner Grill for my husband's birthday, a special Valentine's meal & now a double date with friends. I LOVE that I can make reservations so easliy! It's a beautiful location, with great food & drinks. And the last couple times we were there the live music was great! My husband loved that he could watch his sports while dining from almost anywhere in the restaurant! The servers are always spectacular & we are personal friends with the General Manager! One of my favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were six of us Every entree was ov ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There were six of us

Every entree was overcooked

Sent one back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was great and the food bette ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was great and the food better than average - I would have given this restaurant 5 stars but this beautiful lake front setting was hard to look at due to the visible dirt and other material all over the floor to ceiling windows on the entire back of the dining area. Obvious to anyone the windows had not been cleaned in a very long time, really disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for dinner or brunch. Sittin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place for dinner or brunch. Sitting on the patio looking over the lake is a really nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hefner Grill is a great place with a ple ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Hefner Grill is a great place with a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Hefner Grill ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was my first visit to Hefner Grill and my and I really enjoyed it. Excellent food, good music and another beautiful Oklahoma sunset. Well done and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday brunch. Great portions ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. Great portions but also, very flavorful. Will definitely return. Judging by the crowd, I'd recommend always making brunch reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great view!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It was awesome as usual. The lake view a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was awesome as usual. The lake view and sunsets take you away to another place.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit- excellent food ! Coconut s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

First visit- excellent food ! Coconut shrimp was the best! Our server was attentive and the view amazing. Will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our lunch with friends. W ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch with friends. We were waited on promptly and we enjoyed our wait person. We had spinach dip and it was delightful, the to large tasty salads and a salmon dish.

All were delightful, I'd recommend it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious! I got the fried ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was delicious! I got the fried chicken and loved it. The first time it came out, it was undercooked- so I had to wait..but it was worth it. Wish they'd had gravy for the mashed potatoes, but it was still good. Server was very attentive and the atmosphere was much nicer than we were imagining. The view of the lake at 7 30 was gorgeous. I think we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always delicious food and nice service.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always delicious food and nice service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Hefner grill but I always take time ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love Hefner grill but I always take time to make a reservation and ask for a window table. So far I have never gotten a window. My only compliant would be to honor reservation request before seating walk ins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location and view of Lake Hefner, a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Nice location and view of Lake Hefner, and an all around pleasant experience. The food was good, though not spectacular, the prices were affordable, without the inflation typically seen at other places with a view, and the staff was efficient & pleasant, even if not as attentive & gregarious as we would have preferred.

There are certainly some things that could be done better, but for the price, it wasn't bad at all. And the fresh oysters were pretty great for an eatery in the middle of landlocked Oklahoma!

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I've had a business lunch here on 2 sepa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I've had a business lunch here on 2 separate occasions in the last couple of weeks. Both times the service was impeccable. The food was outstanding. The first time I had their coconut fried chicken salad with a Thai dressing. It is a lunch special they have on Tuesday and Thursday. It's huge and tasty with large pieces of perfectly fried chicken. There was plenty left over and I took it home. On the 2nd visit I had their signature Shrimp Louie salad.. It is improved over what it had previously been. It was a large iceberg lettuce wedge with 6 large shrimp on top and on top of that was thousand island dressing. Around the edges of the plate were various small tomatoes drizzled with an Italian dressing or an olive oil. We had a nice view of the lake. It was a windy day, and the water was clear with choppy with small waves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was just alright, server didn't ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was just alright, server didn't know much about the menu or the drinks. I ordered chicken and it came out completely raw, waited 30 minutes and then finally asked for the check- the manager didn't take anything off of our tab for the food or the wait. We finally asked if she could do something as it was my 30th birthday, she reluctantly gave us a small discount. Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service, great lunch

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service, great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining experience - the food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dining experience - the food and service is always exceptional!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful as well as service. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was wonderful as well as service. Great view of the lake.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've eaten at Hefner Grill several times for special occasions. Last Friday 8/5 some friends were in town so we took them here. We really enjoyed the great views and live music. Service seemed a bit off. I didn't like our waitress too well. She never came around and asked would I like another margarita. It seemed the other guys refilling water, cleaning off plates did a better job.

The food however was great as usual. At our table enjoyed squash Rockefeller, pecan trout, 2 pork chops and a cedar plank salmon. We finished off with the 7 layer chocolate cake. Glad there were 4 people to share because that is RICH.

Definitely make a reservation. It can get a little noisy, but it still is TONS better than Chili's and the like. Also, I made a reservation for 7pm, but there was not a table immediately available. We had to wait about 8-10 minutes.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience. One cannot go wrong d ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great experience. One cannot go wrong dining at Hefner Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to eat gluten free food and have ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have to eat gluten free food and have always had the best experience at Hefner Grill!! I LOVE the gluten free fish tacos!! We recently had a business dinner with 6 people in attendance; everyone loved their food. I overheard one of our guest tell the wait staff that he is a "steak" person and that was one of the best steaks that he had ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hefner Grill is one of our favorite plac ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hefner Grill is one of our favorite places to eat, partly because of its beautiful & relaxing location. The food is always fresh and always tastes great. Service is usually always great as well. My husband and I had a date night this past weekend, and the overall experience was good. However, our service was much slower than normal, and our waiter was not near as observant and hardly checked on us the entire time we were there. That is something we are not used to at Hefner Grill. Hopefully it was due to him being new or just having an off night. Otherwise, our food was great and the atmosphere was great as always. We will continue to come back and enjoy one of our fave restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was wonderful. We all ate too m ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was wonderful. We all ate too much. Portions overly generous and so reasonable!! Our table was facing the lake Beautiful sunset and so peaceful watching the sailboats. We had my 86 year old mother, she So enjoyed the water since she is from Florida

The service was top notch. Wonderful to see such teamwork in a happy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the private room for a birthday ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed the private room for a birthday group. The pecan crusted trout and key lime are to die for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we always enjoy the food and service; th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 28, 2016

we always enjoy the food and service; the problem is, if you want to talk without yelling, the area we were in was not conducive for table talk; too much loud laughter and noise from other tables. For a special occasion, I would recommend several other spots vs Hefner Grill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Loved all,kind staff,great food will ret ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved all,kind staff,great food will return. The view of the lake wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for my birthday dinner! ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great experience for my birthday dinner! Look forward to having my wedding dinner & reception here in a couple more months! I think everyone will love it for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience. Waiter was awes ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great experience. Waiter was awesome until end of meal, then we waited a long time (prob 20 min or so) for to go boxes because he was chatting with another table. Definitely want to go back though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent resturant on lake ! Food and service were great definitely recommend but be sure to make a reservation loved the coconut shrimp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was luke warm and we had steak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was luke warm and we had steak and we did not get any bread, no baked potatoes, all in all it was okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklaho ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Oklahoma City - consistently great food, great service and great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is generally good and offers a wide ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is generally good and offers a wide range for various paletts. However, I wish they would beef up their starters menu. We had a party of 5 one of whom cannot eat cheese. When you have drinks to start it is nice to have a starter that is shareable for the group. The only easy share dips are both good but cheese oriented. They used to have a quesadilla but rest or starters do not lend themselves to sharing. I still like the blackened tilapia that I have seen critizied by others but my brown butter sauce with scallops and shrimp was great. My daughter was overwhelmed by the special LARGE ribeye. Our whole party of five was pleased. The dinner wine was pleasant and our wait staff met every need and kept us served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and meal

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice setting and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been to Hefner Grill on many occasions and always find it delicious and the service is usually spot on. That being said on this particular trip the service was below our expectation! The wait staff seemed to be rushing us through our entire meal! This occasion happened to be on our anniversary so it became annoying fast! The nicest service we recived was from the server that brought our food out from the kitchen he was very nice completimented us on the food selections we made and asked us if we needed any thing else which was more service than we received from our waiter the whole date. The meal was capped off by our waiter picking up my empty plate and grabbing my wife's plate mid-bite while she was still eating and had food left on her plate! Then stated without an apology oh I thought you were done with that! We have ate at Hefner grill many times in the past and will again. However not when it's important or we have guests with us I just can't take that chance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.