About Hecho En Vegas - MGM Grand

3799 Las Vegas Blvd S
Las Vegas, NV 89109
View Larger Map

Revel in this lively Mexican restaurant presenting authentic Sonoran cuisine by the legendary Flores family that honors culinary tradition and excellence, restaurateurs known for their iconic Arizona outposts El Charro Café and Sir Veza's, the largely gluten-free menu will feature dishes inspired by generations of family recipes with a modernized twist. Located in The District, cantina-style restaurant offers guests a choice between airy, open lounge seating with a prime view of MGM Grand's bustling restaurant row or a seat within a vibrant, multi-colored dining room, both which boast a festive Mexican vibe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday 4:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday: 12 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday: 12 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
Tropicana

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 891-3200

Website:
http://www.mgmgrand.com/restaurants/hecho-en-vegas.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Reed Osterholt

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining area with flat screen TV and a/v hookup

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Reservation: 7028917433x

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Sauza Margarita
  • Taco Salad
Sauza Margarita
Taco Salad

Hecho En Vegas - MGM Grand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (1)
See All
Late-night Find (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great service. Table side ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Great service. Table side guac was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the host to the service at our tabl ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

From the host to the service at our table everyone was friendly and accommodating. The food was very tasty especially the shrimp and chicken fajitas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Danny from Mexico City (our waiter) made ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Danny from Mexico City (our waiter) made the experience amazing! He was so funny and excellent at his job. Order the 60 oz margaritas!! It comes with 4 straws and worth the money. Get the fish tacos. Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We did the option that lets you try a bu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We did the option that lets you try a bunch of different things for a group. It was an amazing deal for a group looking to try new things!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and build your own margaritas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and build your own margaritas! Our favorite Las Vegas restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-priced, under served, no one paying attention

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 6:00 reservations on a Saturday. When seared the hostess said our server would be right with us . But, that was incorrect. We were served water and chips and salsa, but waited to place our order for $14 margaritas. Everyone was in swimsuits and muscle shirts and we were in sports jacket and slacks. It did not matter. This is a food court restaurant. We had assorted tamales and enchiladas. They were okay but haute cuisine...a big no. Wanted another $14 drink but could never get our server. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Went on cinco de mayo, no wait sat right ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Went on cinco de mayo, no wait sat right down. Servers were there right away. I got the table side guac very delicious. My entree was the pork taco's and they were very good as well. Positive experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty ordinary

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We really found this restaurant pretty ordinary and unremarkable. Certainly not among the best Mexican food we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The fajitas dish had only 3 small tortil ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The fajitas dish had only 3 small tortilla which I think wasn't enough,(we had to over pack them & was already on 3rd when asked: too late) so be aware.. Surf & turf was value for money so would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was amazing. The wait staf ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The service was amazing. The wait staff was very helpful with giving us suggestions on what to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as Diego which was there bef ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Not as good as Diego which was there before. Food was good not great. Prices too high fur quality of food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

They need a new chef!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before a couple years ago. Per our server, they are under new management. I was completely impressed before, but they have now changed. The food felt very downscaled. I could have picked up the appetizers we ate, better and tastier, at Roberto's Taco Shop! The chef has no clue how Mexican food should be made or served. And I happen to be Hispanic and cooked all my life. Thankfully, there are other restaurants to choose from at MGM....and I will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Fun Mexican Restaurant.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great Margarita's, good food, fabulous location within the MGM Grand. Service was always timely and fun - good natured. Food recommendations were spot on and always presented with a smile. No downside here - my party wanted a repeat the next evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect for pre-event dinners at MGM Arena

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Great service - a little loud for group talking - great place to eat before a concert or event at the MGM Arena

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Layback and Relax

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant since it opened and hospitality and service have always been good. The hostess had a problem finding our reservation but it was resolved and open table kindly followed up. Otherwise we had a great server who made us feel right at home ordering a few of the tasty margaritas and the good food a good time was had by all. Good choices on the menu for all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We ate a bit late (9:00PM) after seeing ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We ate a bit late (9:00PM) after seeing a show in the MGM. Restaurant was nearly empty for a Saturday night (granted it was 26 December). The table was tiny for four people. It was a high top with stools but not in the bar? We got the table side guacamole and the portion was miniscule for $14, the 4 of us barely got a tablespoon. My wife and I shared a combo fajita (steak and shrimp) and our sons had combo plates. The Fajitas when they arrived crowded the table further and we had them perched on the corner. My wife had two wines, my sons and I had four beers. No desert and after the tip we paid $195 or approx. $50/person. So not worth it. Dining in the large casinos is generally expensive (we know, we live in Las Vegas) and in this case we would have been better off going to a more expensive restaurant and getting better value. We don't mind paying top dollar for good food.....This food in no way came close to being worth $50. I would not recommend this place nor go here again. It's Mexican food; flank steak, corn chips, beans, rice, cheese and salsa--price totally inflated. The service was fine, staff attentive and friendly but they don't make the prices for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Pre -Buffett Concert Dinner

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We ate here before the Jimmy Buffett concert at the MGM. Great place to see the Parrotheads pass by! Food was only okay, although the table side guacamole was delicious! My husband and I split the shrimp and steak fajitas. There were only three small shrimp. The steak was more plentiful, and because we'd had the guacamole, we got enough to eat. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Drinks took a long time to get because the bar was hopping. Would not go back for dinner, but maybe for a drink and an appetizer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Fabulous pre-concert dinner and drinks

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

My husband and I had pre-concert dinner and drinks here before going into the Arena. Roberto was our server who was very helpful, friendly and attentive. We had delicious margaritas on the rocks, accompanied by the "made at the table" guacamole - superb! I ordered the Sea Bass fish with a tropical salsa and was amazed at how fresh, delicate and tasty it was. My husband had the shrimp fajitas and they were perfect. We enjoyed a delightful meal in great, fun surroundings and would definitely go back. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

unforutnaltey, this place has some weird ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

unforutnaltey, this place has some weird hours - not open on Mondays (at least at the time). overall though, great food - great nachos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food excellent service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We had a large group and they were very accommodating. The food tasted good, quality was good but it was way to loud in the restaurant. Its open to the MGM "hallway" so if you have anyone that experiences sensory overload - this place is not for them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great food/drinks with ok service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

We had a large group (12 people) for a business dinner. It took a little while to get our drinks but once we had them we were content. The food took quite awhile, which I can understand because it was such a large group. Overall we were very pleased

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

simply good

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

not spectacular, but good, solid food, good service and conisistent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food but the highlights were the ma ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Good food but the highlights were the margaritas (mango for me) and the service! If Benjamin is working ask for him - great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Me like food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Me like food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mex in Vegas...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Very nice place! Good food, good service. You have to try guacamole (Best), and Sangria ;)...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Recommended

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2015

The service was good, friendly and moderately responsive. It took some time to get water to start. The chips and salsas were good and the entrees came out fast. The food was not well seasoned and I had to request salt, which was not on any table. It was expensive for three people, three entrees and one drink, the cost was over $80. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for anything more than drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ole, ole

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Incredible atmosphere, staff, and Mexican food. If you are at the MGM Grand it is a must go. Our server called each of us by name, made modifications to one meal after a request, and shared insight on some traditional meals. Ask for the HOT salsa if you like things extra spicy. You will only receive a small bowl but that's all you need. Table side guacamole is a must have - fresh, tasty, and catered to your desire of spice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sort of expensive for Mexican Cuisine!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

Food was good but prices were High!

Could have eaten at a Taqueria for about $30.00 less.

Last note DON'T order frozen Margarita it's out of

one of these macjines and WAY TOO SWEET!

Get a regular margarita on the rocks poured by the battender

way better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Pretty bad

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

Poor food, tasteless not even hot. Tables side Guacamole was the best. Too expensive for what you got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Notworththemoney

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Expensive, OK Mexican fare with more expensive, mediocre margaritas. The online menu suggested all-you-can-eat street tacos for $18 and a deal on drinks during Happy Hour but when we arrived (during the advertised Happy Hour window), we were told Happy Hour was discontinued a few weeks prior. We stayed because we expected something special but were pretty disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good for drinks and snack

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

I scheduled a reservation on Opentable for Hecho en Vegas MGM Grand for dinner during the Legalshield convention. Based upon Yelp reviews, I had high expections. Needless to say that got shot down quick. While one waiter was very friendly another waitress was sent to take our order after the first waiter said he'd return for our order. We were provided water while we reviewed the menu. Our order was taken and the waitress never asked us which drinks we'd like to order. The food was bland and seemed to have an ingredient or spice missing from the preparation. The guacamole was bland considering that it's freshly made. After we finished dinner, we were asked if we'd like dessert but we declined.

While it's a great idea to offer water to the customers while reviewing the menu for their meal, do NOT forget to take a drink order from the customer.

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

ASK FOR LEO!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2015

Leo was one of the best servers I have had in a long time. He was darned near perfect! He made the night fun! He was funny, made great recommendations, and was passionate about making us feel good, but not in a hokey way. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fancy but not particularly good Mexican

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

We met some friends at Hecho en Vegas. The food was just OK. Our drinks were often empty. I'm not in a rush to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Just OK

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

Just OK mexican food, but on the pricey side. You'd do better spending $10 more per person at a more upscale restaurant....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This was one of the best Mexican restaur ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

This was one of the best Mexican restaurants I've ever been to in my entire life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mexican Food!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

We have been here several times and always enjoy the food and service. Menu has a choice for every taste and it is delicious. Chips and two kinds of salsa are great. The choices of cocktails and beers well chosen. We always order the hecho en vegas margarita. Try one you will like it!

Will come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Dining Experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

The restaurant was amazing! Everything from the ambiance to the service to the food! Our server, Leonardo was so prompt and helpful with deciding what to order, he took such great care of us and was so upbeat and always one step ahead of us. The table side guacamole was out of this world amazing and so was our food!! I would highly recommend this place to family and friends!! We will definitely be visiting Hecho again next time we are in Vegas!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cinco de Mayo Jackpot

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 6, 2015

We hit the jackpot on Cinco de Mayo! Hecho En Vegas was perfect for this occasion. We could barely finish all of our perfectly cooked food. Two delicious salsas came with the chips. The menu had a great variety. The Tower of Nachos were the best I've ever had. We were in and out of the restaurant in about 45 minutes...and that was because we were taking our time. The staff was very friendly and attentive...but not over bearing. The atmosphere is great for a date night or group setting. I would recommend this restaurant to all of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening dining location

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 3, 2015

The food, especially the guacamole, was quality. The staff were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Don't Eat Here

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

Very disappointing and overpriced for all the hype. My daughter and I were very close to being one of the several tables of customers we saw leave because of the dismal service at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.