About Heavy Seas Alehouse - VA

1501 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209
View Larger Map

Our menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients that we source locally whenever possible. The dishes are simple in appearance with bold and assertive flavors that stand up to the intense beers we are known for…ARRRRGGGHHHH!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N Oak St & Wilson Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 879-4388 ext. 711

Website:
http://www.heavyseasalehouse.com/

Parking Details:
We offer $5 Parking at 1501 WIlson Blvd after 5pm Monday-Friday, and all day Saturday & Sunday. Valet is available after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Rosslyn Metro Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From a rowdy crew to captains of industry, Heavy Seas Alehouse is the perfect venue to host your next gathering! We have a separate private dining area with its own bar and a menu to fit any occasion and budget. Our staff is available to assist you in planning your special occasion from beginning to end.

You will be in ship shape for any after work Happy Hour, rehearsal dinner, birthday party, anniversary or any occasion requiring a good time with great food!

For catering menus and to discuss your party needs, contact our party captain at arlevents@heavyseasalehouse.com or call 703-879-4388

Heavy Seas Alehouse - VA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great, multi-generational famil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great, multi-generational family dinner at Heavy Seas.

We had asked to be seated in the separate dining room at the back of the restaurant so that we could talk without the distraction of football playoffs on the televisions.

All of our meals (from the crab pretzel appetizer to the cheesecake dessert) were exceptional. The discriminating beer lovers in our group were more than pleased with the selection and quality of the offerings.

Our waiter, James B, went out of his way (literally and figuratively) to be attentive without being overbearing.

All in all, we had an exceptional evening.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Gideon was great! Jimmie was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waiter Gideon was great! Jimmie was also hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House salad with Ahi tuna was delightful ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

House salad with Ahi tuna was delightful; however, I don't think the waitress heard me when I said no tomatoes. Tons-o-tomatoes! The flavor of the ahi tuna made up for it. My boyfriend ordered the crab cake sandwich and was very pleased with the choice. The Winter beer was good as well. Solid dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Decided to go on the spur of the moment ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Decided to go on the spur of the moment to dinner with my daughter and did not think we would get a reservation for 20 minutes later. Upon arrival, lots of available street parking for FREE. It was a Saturday after 6pm. I was a little concerned as we walked up and the place seemed empty - less than half the tables were occupied. Turns out that this is the norm for Saturdays. Our server indicated that it can get very busy during the week.

I got a flight of 4 beers, some Heavy Seas-some not, aided by my server. All were great. I also learned that it's half price growler fills on weekends.

I ordered a House salad, which we ended up sharing due to the size. We both ordered burgers. I got the one with bacon and short rib on it. Everything about it was great - grilled bun, cooked to right temp, toppings - probably in the top 2 burgers I have ever had. It was huge, so get it if you are hungry. Also, there were just the right amount of fries to go along with it - they lasted to the end of the meal.

We talked about it afterward and rated the meal/service a 9.5. We will definitely be going back...on a Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for happy hour beers and appetiz ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went for happy hour beers and appetizers, and Heavy Seas didn't disappoint on either front! The smoked wings were delicious and so was the calamari. Good variety of beers. We were seated immediately. Would go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my personal go to brewery on eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my personal go to brewery on every trip to Rosslyn. I love love love their Peg Leg Stout.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was a little loud but the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The place was a little loud but the food was ok. But the thing that really impressed me was our

waiter BYRON. He was the most patient and energetic waiter I've ever had.

THANK YOU BYRON !!!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fine but the four meals came ou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Food was fine but the four meals came out at different times

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

perfect little corner spot for our vacat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

perfect little corner spot for our vacation dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Tried this place for the first time and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Tried this place for the first time and was disappointed. Food was only average, and they made multiple mistakes with our order, and then charged us incorrectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was OK. Decent choice of beers. F ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was OK. Decent choice of beers. Fish & Chips should be cod filet, not fish sticks. Should come with malt vinegar also and not piled on top of the chips.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fish sandwich was OK. French fries were ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Fish sandwich was OK. French fries were nicely golden but cold. Server was inattentive and not at all engaging. It was as if he had too many tables that day but the place was empty. We had to ask to get served, ask for drinks, ask for the check etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good food, very slow service, very ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good food, very slow service, very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

Very good food, even better beer, fun se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food, even better beer, fun service people. It is loud, not a place for an intimate dinner, but a great place for friends to meet. Definitely will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nothing special, service wasn't great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nothing special, service wasn't great. I ordered the salmon medium which was a little undercooked but good enough, came with veggies which was a nice surprise.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Happy hour was loud and wait staff was v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Happy hour was loud and wait staff was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was expensive, and really not worth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was expensive, and really not worth the price. Plenty of better options for seafood in Alexandria. Service was great and beer was excellent and not at all overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Waited 45 minutes for a simple hamburger ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Waited 45 minutes for a simple hamburger that turned out to be medium rare when ordered medium well and of poor quality. Service was nonexistent. Not coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, good location but quite noi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food, good location but quite noisy makes conversation a little hard.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK! my family and I weren't st ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was OK! my family and I weren't starving at the time, we would have kept looking for another eatery. Crab cakes were dry, mashed potatoes were bland and texture was off. The dinner plate is surely NOT worth $29. I do not mind paying $$ for great food and this restaurant was NOT close to even being good, let alone OK. The buffalo burger with short rib and bacon fell very short of my expectations. I could have ordered the same quality burger from any fast food joint if one was close by our hotel. Another member of our party, who loves mac n cheese, ordered the short rib mac n cheese and honestly, velvetta would have sufficed if we had known this plate would have sucked that bad. The cheese was very watery and there was not enough beef in the meal. The beef that was in the plate, was mostly fatty. The kids menu was nothing to brag about and the waitress was just clueless and not helpful at all.

Really, the best part of the meal was just leaving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent good. Service and growler to t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent good. Service and growler to take home toped off Father's Day! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is fine for a normal day

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I found the onion rings to have a ton of breading to the point that there was still uncooked dough in them when they were served. Their draft beer was unavailable due to a problem. Overall, the food was decent, though. The waiter was very nice and attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Happy Hour

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Happy Hour is definitely the best deal at Heavy Seas. Discounts on already great beer and food make good for groups to hang out and share plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Upscale restaurant with great staff and menu

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2016

My third time dining at this restaurant and second for their new location. The happy hour option is great and the variety of entrees met everyone's needs at our business dinner. Great service too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good choice in Rosslyn. Fish and Chips ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good choice in Rosslyn. Fish and Chips were excellent, and a good beer selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 3, 2016

I ate here while in D.C. on a business trip and staying in the area. I had the salmon. The dinner was good. The service was average at best but, not what I would call bad.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good beer, loud environment

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We enjoyed the beer, and the burgers were tasty and unique. Unfortunately, the design of the interior ensures that the noise level borders on deafening. Not a place to go to have a conversation, but if you are looking to drink beer and yell at each other, this is a perfect spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food, good beer. It's loud and a b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food, good beer. It's loud and a bit pricey, but overall worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was great and the staff most he ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was great and the staff most helpful. I am definitely coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beer was tasty. Our appetizer was delive ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Beer was tasty. Our appetizer was delivered the same time as our entrées. The spinach artichoke dip was very average. It was served with deep fried pita chips. The chips were over-fried...hard and greasy. The staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Walking distance to hotel. Food was overpriced for portion size. Staff was friendly but not on the ball. Had a much better meal for the same price in Georgetown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server was great. Beer and food wer ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Our server was great. Beer and food were timely and we felt very well take care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's an ale house and the server could n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2016

It's an ale house and the server could not explain the different offerings besides lots of pointing to the menu.

The prime rib, ordered rate, came well done and the manager admitted the meat was "pre-cooked" elsewhere and came medium. The substitute meatloaf came with a glob of gravy. Tasteless.

No offer of compensation. I guess the manager did not have a degree with a hospitality management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Above average bar food, great beers, sup ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Above average bar food, great beers, super kid-friendly. The wild mushroom ravioli was a big mess of things (in a bad way), but the crab cake was awesome. Cuban sandwich and fish and chips were decent. The service was a bit slow, but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We have incredible service. Our waiter w ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We have incredible service. Our waiter was personable and truly fun. He got everyone's meal correct and there was 14 of us. The meatloaf and burgers are amazing. The caramel corn is addictive and their beer is so easy to drink. They have so many, there is something for everyone. The sound level was good enough for conversation although we were sitting in the back room. I've been here around 10 times and enjoy it everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Coming Back:

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2016

I love their food menus. I love to coming back there very often because I always bring my friend(s) to be here and enjoy it to make them happy. I placed an order for Chip & Fish. That's my favorite all the time. Apple pie with vanilla ice cream, yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too Heavy

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Arrived a bit early for 6 p reservation. Place was packed, seated in back of the house. Slow service, mediocre food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Great meal, awesome service!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I dined there this week with two of my teens and a friend from out of town who was staying in the area. We got seated right away. Our server was amazing! The food was really delicious, but the service was terrific!!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good lunch spot.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I went to Heavy Seas Alehouse for lunch. This is the 4th or 5th time I have been there for lunch. I was not with a group this time. The service was good. The food was good also. I ordered the paella. My only complaint is that is was a little salty. I have found that most restaurants use too much salt in the preparation of their food. Since I use very little salt when preparing my own food it is very noticeable to me. I recommend all restaurants use less food and stop hiding the natural flavor of the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great burgers

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2016

Went to Heavy Seas Alehouse on a whim Sunday night with two finicky kids. Everyone found something to eat and my son raved about how nice and helpful our server was. The food is delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.