Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

cityhousecityhouse
(245)
$$$$
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 3 times today
Farmers Fishers BakersFarmers Fishers Bakers
(5408)
$$$$
American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 262 times today
Filomena RistoranteFilomena Ristorante
(8574)
$$$$
Italian | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 152 times today
Clyde's of GeorgetownClyde's of Georgetown
(2060)
$$$$
American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 84 times today
Chez Billy SudChez Billy Sud
(796)
$$$$
French | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 38 times today
Il CanaleIl Canale
(1504)
$$$$
Italian | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 104 times today
Tupelo Honey - ArlingtonTupelo Honey - Arlington
(274)
$$$$
Southern | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 78 times today
Barley MacBarley Mac
(257)
$$$$
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
Tony & Joe's Seafood PlaceTony & Joe's Seafood Place
(973)
$$$$
Seafood | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 32 times today
The SovereignThe Sovereign
(243)
$$$$
Belgian | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 24 times today
Peacock CaféPeacock Café
(1114)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 34 times today
Pinstripes - GeorgetownPinstripes - Georgetown
(263)
$$$$
American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 24 times today
Ristorante PiccoloRistorante Piccolo
(1561)
$$$$
Italian | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 34 times today
SequoiaSequoia
(3800)
$$$$
American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 94 times today
Ray's The SteaksRay's The Steaks
(1153)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 56 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Heavy Seas Alehouse - VA

Our menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients that we source locally whenever possible. The dishes are simple in appearance with bold and assertive flavors that stand up to the intense beers we are known for…ARRRRGGGHHHH!

1501 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
N Oak St & Wilson Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 879-4388 ext. 711

Website:
http://www.heavyseasalehouse.com/

Parking Details:
We offer $5 Parking at 1501 WIlson Blvd after 5pm Monday-Friday, and all day Saturday & Sunday. Valet is available after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Rosslyn Metro Station

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From a rowdy crew to captains of industry, Heavy Seas Alehouse is the perfect venue to host your next gathering! We have a separate private dining area with its own bar and a menu to fit any occasion and budget. Our staff is available to assist you in planning your special occasion from beginning to end.

You will be in ship shape for any after work Happy Hour, rehearsal dinner, birthday party, anniversary or any occasion requiring a good time with great food!

For catering menus and to discuss your party needs, contact our party captain at arlevents@heavyseasalehouse.com or call 703-879-4388

Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Since we enjoy beers and have has Heavy Seas beers before we decided on a beer and burger. The beer was great My husband liked his beef burger but my turkey burger was dry and came on a soggy roll. And while the wait staff was friendly, service was slow.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I would come here for the brewery and the beers but I won't be coming back for a meal. Over the course of our dinner we had 5 different servers that alternated out. My spinach salad had none of the toppings that were listed on the menu and my friends fried chicken sandwich was a burned chicken sandwich. We waited 30 minutes after eating for someone to come and bring us the check. Mediocre food, which might have been okay, but in combination with truly terrible service it was unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great beer. Great food. Staff is helpful and fun. Many good times had here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They should stick to beer. The hostess was more like a bouncer, never smiling and barely saying hello. Waiter was better but not very attentive to the point our drinks showed up halfway through our meal. Meal was lukewarm and lump meat crab cakes were lumpless.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was you standard upscale bar fare. What set them apart was the service - very personable and approachable, from the wait staff to the hosts...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good for a large group

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fish and chips not great. Fish reminded me of frozen fish sticks from grocery store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The team was way under cooked (almost raw..I asked to be medium) but the appetizer was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My fourth visit to Heavy Seas, and I've neve been disappointed. Great beer selecion, and knowledgeable staff. The fish tacos and burgers are awesome. Design and atmosphere of the place is really cool as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The mahi tacos had almost no filling, like nearly empty shells, it was odd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

too noisy, though I think if you're a beer drinker, it's probably a good place to meet with a group of friends

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Ahi tuna was excellent. Service was exceptional. A bit noisy, but bar scene was fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Extremely accommodating of our large group, great service, and kind enough to do separate checks. I would reserve here again for a group event. And great beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good thing we had reserved a table, because they were very busy. We received a friendly welcome when we got there, and they had our table ready for us. Our server, Gideon, was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

First time here, but definitely will be back for an event or happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great, multi-generational family dinner at Heavy Seas.

We had asked to be seated in the separate dining room at the back of the restaurant so that we could talk without the distraction of football playoffs on the televisions.

All of our meals (from the crab pretzel appetizer to the cheesecake dessert) were exceptional. The discriminating beer lovers in our group were more than pleased with the selection and quality of the offerings.

Our waiter, James B, went out of his way (literally and figuratively) to be attentive without being overbearing.

All in all, we had an exceptional evening.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waiter Gideon was great! Jimmie was also hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

House salad with Ahi tuna was delightful; however, I don't think the waitress heard me when I said no tomatoes. Tons-o-tomatoes! The flavor of the ahi tuna made up for it. My boyfriend ordered the crab cake sandwich and was very pleased with the choice. The Winter beer was good as well. Solid dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Decided to go on the spur of the moment to dinner with my daughter and did not think we would get a reservation for 20 minutes later. Upon arrival, lots of available street parking for FREE. It was a Saturday after 6pm. I was a little concerned as we walked up and the place seemed empty - less than half the tables were occupied. Turns out that this is the norm for Saturdays. Our server indicated that it can get very busy during the week.

I got a flight of 4 beers, some Heavy Seas-some not, aided by my server. All were great. I also learned that it's half price growler fills on weekends.

I ordered a House salad, which we ended up sharing due to the size. We both ordered burgers. I got the one with bacon and short rib on it. Everything about it was great - grilled bun, cooked to right temp, toppings - probably in the top 2 burgers I have ever had. It was huge, so get it if you are hungry. Also, there were just the right amount of fries to go along with it - they lasted to the end of the meal.

We talked about it afterward and rated the meal/service a 9.5. We will definitely be going back...on a Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went for happy hour beers and appetizers, and Heavy Seas didn't disappoint on either front! The smoked wings were delicious and so was the calamari. Good variety of beers. We were seated immediately. Would go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my personal go to brewery on every trip to Rosslyn. I love love love their Peg Leg Stout.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The place was a little loud but the food was ok. But the thing that really impressed me was our
waiter BYRON. He was the most patient and energetic waiter I've ever had.

THANK YOU BYRON !!!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Food was fine but the four meals came out at different times

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

perfect little corner spot for our vacation dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Tried this place for the first time and was disappointed. Food was only average, and they made multiple mistakes with our order, and then charged us incorrectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was OK. Decent choice of beers. Fish & Chips should be cod filet, not fish sticks. Should come with malt vinegar also and not piled on top of the chips.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Fish sandwich was OK. French fries were nicely golden but cold. Server was inattentive and not at all engaging. It was as if he had too many tables that day but the place was empty. We had to ask to get served, ask for drinks, ask for the check etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good food, very slow service, very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food, even better beer, fun service people. It is loud, not a place for an intimate dinner, but a great place for friends to meet. Definitely will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nothing special, service wasn't great. I ordered the salmon medium which was a little undercooked but good enough, came with veggies which was a nice surprise.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Happy hour was loud and wait staff was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was expensive, and really not worth the price. Plenty of better options for seafood in Alexandria. Service was great and beer was excellent and not at all overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Waited 45 minutes for a simple hamburger that turned out to be medium rare when ordered medium well and of poor quality. Service was nonexistent. Not coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food, good location but quite noisy makes conversation a little hard.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was OK! my family and I weren't starving at the time, we would have kept looking for another eatery. Crab cakes were dry, mashed potatoes were bland and texture was off. The dinner plate is surely NOT worth $29. I do not mind paying $$ for great food and this restaurant was NOT close to even being good, let alone OK. The buffalo burger with short rib and bacon fell very short of my expectations. I could have ordered the same quality burger from any fast food joint if one was close by our hotel. Another member of our party, who loves mac n cheese, ordered the short rib mac n cheese and honestly, velvetta would have sufficed if we had known this plate would have sucked that bad. The cheese was very watery and there was not enough beef in the meal. The beef that was in the plate, was mostly fatty. The kids menu was nothing to brag about and the waitress was just clueless and not helpful at all.
Really, the best part of the meal was just leaving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent good. Service and growler to take home toped off Father's Day! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I found the onion rings to have a ton of breading to the point that there was still uncooked dough in them when they were served. Their draft beer was unavailable due to a problem. Overall, the food was decent, though. The waiter was very nice and attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Happy Hour is definitely the best deal at Heavy Seas. Discounts on already great beer and food make good for groups to hang out and share plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2016

My third time dining at this restaurant and second for their new location. The happy hour option is great and the variety of entrees met everyone's needs at our business dinner. Great service too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good choice in Rosslyn. Fish and Chips were excellent, and a good beer selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.