About Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building

350 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10118
View Larger Map

New York City’s most famous landmark, the Empire State Building, now houses New York’s number one brewery, a two-story 450-seat Heartland equipped with two large bars and four giant flat-screen TV’s. Our full-service restaurant breathes new life into an area overrun with fast food chains. More than just a watering hole with great beer, we offer both visitors and locals excellent food and a feeling of home that only Heartland can offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
34th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 563-3433

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/

Public Transit:
B,D,F,N,R,Q to 34th Street and 6ave

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Heartland Brewery Empire State location offers 2 spacious semi-private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 10-75 guests. The lower level and entire restaurant are also available for full buyouts for groups ranging 250-750 guests. The options & menus are limitless at Heartland!

Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (21)
great for lunch (16)
kid-friendly (7)
See All
vibrant bar scene (6)
fit for foodies (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
special occasion (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hostess stated that after 15 mins we let ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Hostess stated that after 15 mins we let the reservation go. We were less than 10 mins past the time and we waited on her talking with a colleague. She then put us in the basement. Our waiter, Kelvin, I think, was terrific which made up for her.

It's convenient if you're touring the Empire State Building but would not recommend otherwise.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The beer selection is excellent. The se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The beer selection is excellent. The service is always attentive and good.

The food is varied and delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were quickly ushered downstairs to a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were quickly ushered downstairs to a booth. Reading the menu, the priches seemed anything but cheap but both lunches were delicious, a spicy chicken salad and quesedillas.

We had prompt service from a friendly staff.

The only problem was that neither person on the reservation desk checked us in and I received a text thirty minutes after our 1:30 reservation saying our table was (still) ready.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, excellent homemade beer. Nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Good food, excellent homemade beer. Nice ambiance upstairs. Claustrophobic downstairs.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good steak with frites. Not expensive. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good steak with frites. Not expensive. Good service. Very good local beer.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent service and food. Hubb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always excellent service and food. Hubby said it was one of the best burgers he has had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good cost benefit!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very good cost benefit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great fish tacos!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great fish tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

bad food

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Really low quality food and high prices. Beers are good but the hamburger was nothing special.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

WAITER FORGOT SALADS, STEAK WAS FULL OF ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

WAITER FORGOT SALADS, STEAK WAS FULL OF FAT, FOOD OVERALL WAS HORRIBLE, THE WINE SELECTION WAS THE CHEAPEST WINE AROUND. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Amazing place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Staff were so friendly, food was delicious, drinks were on point and we liked it so much we went back the night after for a second helping of dessert!! :)

John S -best waiter!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is very good. Overpriced (especia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food is very good.

Overpriced (especially kid meals and drinks...my 5 year old asked for apple juice and it was 4.95 for a kiddie cup) but that's expected for 5th Av.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, horrible waiter

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My mom and I were in NYC for a weekend, stopped here for dinner. The food was excellent, but it took over 30 min to pay for our check. Our server seemed inconvenienced by us and was not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great Meal - Amazing Service

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Made a quick reservation on open table (Saturday of Easter Weekend), and stopped in for lunch after visiting the Empire State Building. The restaurant is literally located next to the visitor's entrance to the Empire State Building.

The food was very good (recommend rotisserie chicken), the beer was cold (recommend the Harvest Wheat) and the spicy bloody mary was outstanding.

The food & drinks were only surpassed by the service that we received. Our server Carlos was probably the best that we encountered, while visiting NYC for the weekend... Attentive, professional, and he seemed to anticipate whatever we needed. He was simply outstanding!

As a person that travels for a living, I eat in a lot of restaurants... this place is vibrant, yet comfortable, and casual. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We visited this restaurant as it had been recommended by a friend. It didn't disappoint. A lovely friendly atmosphere. It has a great varied menu and is very reasonably priced. The home brewed beer was tasty. Staff very knowledgable too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food, not too special, great lica ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Decent food, not too special, great lication

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Even though it's located at the base of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Even though it's located at the base of one of the biggest tourist attractions in NYC, this particular Heartland Brewery has the nicest ambiance of those I've been to. On a Friday night we weren't rushed, and even though seated in the bar area could still carry on a conversation. Food was good, beer was tasty, all in all a nice night out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good the tuna burger.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Very good the tuna burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We had an awesome waiter and a wonderful ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had an awesome waiter and a wonderful lunch as usual. Great for working weekends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good Beer and Atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We were able to get a seat at the bar at 6pm on a Saturday night and had a few beers prior to heading to our table for dinner. We sampled 3 different beers and all of them were very good. The food and the service were good and the chocolate chip cookie pie dessert was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Have been there before and their food quality unfortunately wasn't up to par. The rotisserie chicken was over cooked making it dry and the mashed potatoes were highly mediocre. The Fettuccini Alfredo was tasteless. The pretzel appetizer however was awesome as was out waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

It is what you would expect!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

It was ok .. and as the title above states it is what you would expect for a restaurant right next to a big tourist trap Iike the Empire State Building. The food was average and over priced ( How hard is it not to overlook chicken wings?) but I guess they are not that bothered with repeat business as the next lot of tourists in town will still fill the place up.

Service? I hadn't finished my starter (half way through and still chewing the overcooked chicken wings) and the main dishes were brought out with the server just happy to get rid of them and move on to the next customer.

In house beer was ok and was good to have to try something different.

Wouldn't go back .......

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Top red-velvet and veeery good music

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Super red-velvet (xxxxxxxlllll portion and gorgeous taste!!!!) and veeeery good music

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Decent American pub food with good serve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

Decent American pub food with good serve staff. My sesame seed tuna salad was crisp and fresh. Nothing out of the ordinary but seems clean and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Yuck - save your money

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

This place horrible, other than the location being convenient in the Empire State Building. Service was inattentive, food was almost inedible. My friend ordered the chili and said it was the worst she ever had. The Mac n Cheese was very dry. It was a complete overpriced and unappetizing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was so-so. The waiter talked a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food was so-so. The waiter talked a good game but was not on the top of his game. Took for ever to get some water and get noticed.

Took family from out of town and would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good variety of options when dining with a group

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

A group of 7 visited for lunch yesterday. The menu has a good variety of options, especially when there are several people in the group who tend to stick to traditional/basic food. It took us about 15 minutes to get our drink order, but other than that, our server was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and atmosphere. Had the Ma ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Great service and atmosphere. Had the Maui fish tacos. Just wish they came in a soft shell. Pretty good place and in a great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

The service was excellent, friendly. Noise level was low so conversation at table was enjoyable. Food was good. For a quick bite or a longer lunch it was perfect. Not rushed. Different types of beer was fun and interesting.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wait

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We made a reservations for 7:pm. Open Table showed all time slots open. They still made us wait 30 minutes to get seated. The food was ok, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Fabulous! In every way!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Fabulous! In every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner with friends from out-of-country.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Chose Heartland to provide "American" dining experience with friends from UK and Amsterdam. Excellent food and truly great service and atmosphere. We had a downstairs table and it was very pleasant for conversation. Waiter brought samples of beer before my guests ordered and that was fun for all. Probably not a super choice for vegetarians, but some great salads. Burgers and steaks were great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was OK

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Food was OK, bar staff friendly although did charge $1 over the odds for a 23oz beer costing $11. Beer was tasty but of the bright variety most popular in the 70's and 80's back home in England. The takeaway counter staff member which we were sat to the side of was pretty rude and unhelpful in a "it's not my job" type of attitude. Overall not bad, but could have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good place for a quick burger or casual ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Good place for a quick burger or casual food. Very good and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The beer was pretty good--I like IPAs an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

The beer was pretty good--I like IPAs and they had a pretty good one. Mixing it with the red offset the astringency from the toasted malt.

Service was pleasant, but a bit slow. They also didn't communicate well with the kitchen: parsley on the kids mac&cheese when they acknowledged our request for none, a well done bugler when we asked for medium. They steak southwest salad and the fish tacos were great. Overall a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

A Wonderful Dining Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

I enjoyed everything about my dining experience, the location was easy to find in a historic location, the food was wonderful and the ambiance was perfect, not noisy at all. The waiter we had was helpful in recommending my meal and it was great, chicken breast with lemon and the nachos appetizer was full of meat and a large portion as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tourist spot with OK food and drinks.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Tourist spot with OK food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Worth a visit

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

The ambiance was lively and in a perfect location to people watch. The beer is a real treat- lots of variety that could satisfy any palate. I was pleasantly surprised by the food and its presentation. No doubt the noise and closeness of the tables upstairs make it more lively than the restaurant itself downstairs. Downstairs is wonderful and a nice place for a quiet dinner before a show. I like the location and the food was great. A recommended place for all types of diners!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Celebrating my boyfriend's bday so wante ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Celebrating my boyfriend's bday so wanted to take him to the top of the Empire State Building. The food at the Heartland Brewery was okay and so was the service, but the experience after the meal was the main attraction.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Decent food and beer, mostly went just to get the in house brewed beer. Wasn't thrilled by anything but wasn't disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.