About Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building

350 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10118
View Larger Map

New York City’s most famous landmark, the Empire State Building, now houses New York’s number one brewery, a two-story 450-seat Heartland equipped with two large bars and four giant flat-screen TV’s. Our full-service restaurant breathes new life into an area overrun with fast food chains. More than just a watering hole with great beer, we offer both visitors and locals excellent food and a feeling of home that only Heartland can offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
34th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 563-3433

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/

Public Transit:
B,D,F,N,R,Q to 34th Street and 6ave

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Heartland Brewery Empire State location offers 2 spacious semi-private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 10-75 guests. The lower level and entire restaurant are also available for full buyouts for groups ranging 250-750 guests. The options & menus are limitless at Heartland!

Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (13)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It has a very cool view of the streets a ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined 6 days ago

It has a very cool view of the streets and good food. Had a good time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It was very busy due to pre party for UN ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was very busy due to pre party for UND vs. BC game at Madison Square Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Crazy pre-game crowd handled by our serv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Crazy pre-game crowd handled by our server with no problems. Thank's Britain, you were awesome.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

it was our second time in one week. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

it was our second time in one week. Very good service. Good food. Excellent homemade beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great location. Service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food and great location. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good steak & fries. Very good service. N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good steak & fries. Very good service. Nice ambiance in the ground floor . Special and tasteful homemade draft beer.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding. My husband and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was outstanding. My husband and I each had the Angus beef NY strip steak and they were cooked perfectly. A lot of food for the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Southwestern salad with grille ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent Southwestern salad with grilled shrimp. Excellent service. Great location

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was very in touch with our needs. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Waiter was very in touch with our needs. The food was extremely mediocre and the "award winning" Oatmeal Stout was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Pricey Picked this because it was typica ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Pricey

Picked this because it was typical "American" comfort food, and we wanted to have a fairly quick dinner.

We both ordered fish and chips (which was good), but overall the prices were high, even for NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The downstairs receptionist was difficul ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The downstairs receptionist was difficult to find and rude. I've come here many times and this is the first negative item I've written about this place. Willing to give one more try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food, Good beer,Good cocktails,Good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good food, Good beer,Good cocktails,Good location.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined here during a short break in NYC. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dined here during a short break in NYC. Decent sized plates & good value (especially considering its at the foot of the Empire State Building!)

Food quality was really good, I had the JD BBQ glazed Pork Shank which was awesome!

Good selection of draught & bottled Beers too, not so much if you wanted Wine though (no wine options at all!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lively chain type restaurant in the base ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lively chain type restaurant in the base of the Empire State building. Have a great selection of craft type beers as they are a brewery. Food American diner type with burgers, ribs and steaks. Style was casual / informal. I had one of the burgers with sweet potato fries and my wife a salad with slices of tuna. Both were good and so was the service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Thought everything about it was great! E ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Thought everything about it was great! Easy to make a reservation. Excellent food and it didn't take long to get. Our waiter was awesome!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible experience. will never go back ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Terrible experience. will never go back again. Unfriendly people and bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place for having some very tasty b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place for having some very tasty beers and food with friends

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good. Nothing to write home abo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was good. Nothing to write home about, but for a quick last minute find it worked. Service was fast. Having the two levels helped with noise, as we were seated downstairs which was not as busy. Waitress was great about giving recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

When we arrived for hostess was rude. Th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2016

When we arrived for hostess was rude. Then someone who arrived as a walk in right before us was seated over my table who had a reservation. Not only was my reservation at 730... I did not get seated till 8. Then we sat there at the table for another hour waiting for our server. Horrible horrible time at the brewery. Poor service and poor treatment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

It was ok . Typical chain restaurant. F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was ok . Typical chain restaurant. Food was not impressive. Loaded fries came out with a chunk of frozen sour cream. We had to tell the waiter and he looked at us like we had 3 heads. Then just gave us another side. While the ice melted on our fries. Not as GF friendly as they say. It's ok. But we won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had booked a table for dinner and tur ...

 
 (Bristol)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had booked a table for dinner and turned up... and there was a private party! Nice of them to tell us :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Stopped in after touring the Empire Stat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Stopped in after touring the Empire State Building and had the best fish tacos and our server was too sweet! We would definitely go back if we lived here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good value brewery with excellent craft ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good value brewery with excellent craft beers. This is a small chain we visited the one within the a Empire State Building. Staff pleasant , nice ambiance, the burger was very good and the tuna sandwich very tasty. Good value.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best part of the meal was the beer and t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best part of the meal was the beer and the appettizers....

Need overhaul menu and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Waiter was not friendly at all! Never go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Waiter was not friendly at all! Never got a welcome or thank you. Worse customer service ever

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

It was really great the place looked awe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was really great the place looked awesome and the staff was excellent .the food was delicious me and my brothers had a great time especially that we where actually celebrating my bachelor night heartland brewery was the beginning of the celebration.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hostess stated that after 15 mins we let ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Hostess stated that after 15 mins we let the reservation go. We were less than 10 mins past the time and we waited on her talking with a colleague. She then put us in the basement. Our waiter, Kelvin, I think, was terrific which made up for her.

It's convenient if you're touring the Empire State Building but would not recommend otherwise.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The beer selection is excellent. The se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The beer selection is excellent. The service is always attentive and good.

The food is varied and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were quickly ushered downstairs to a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were quickly ushered downstairs to a booth. Reading the menu, the priches seemed anything but cheap but both lunches were delicious, a spicy chicken salad and quesedillas.

We had prompt service from a friendly staff.

The only problem was that neither person on the reservation desk checked us in and I received a text thirty minutes after our 1:30 reservation saying our table was (still) ready.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, excellent homemade beer. Nice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Good food, excellent homemade beer. Nice ambiance upstairs. Claustrophobic downstairs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good steak with frites. Not expensive. G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good steak with frites. Not expensive. Good service. Very good local beer.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent service and food. Hubb ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always excellent service and food. Hubby said it was one of the best burgers he has had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good cost benefit!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very good cost benefit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great fish tacos!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great fish tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

bad food

 
 (London)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Really low quality food and high prices. Beers are good but the hamburger was nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

WAITER FORGOT SALADS, STEAK WAS FULL OF ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2016

WAITER FORGOT SALADS, STEAK WAS FULL OF FAT, FOOD OVERALL WAS HORRIBLE, THE WINE SELECTION WAS THE CHEAPEST WINE AROUND. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Amazing place

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Staff were so friendly, food was delicious, drinks were on point and we liked it so much we went back the night after for a second helping of dessert!! :)

John S -best waiter!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is very good. Overpriced (especia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food is very good.

Overpriced (especially kid meals and drinks...my 5 year old asked for apple juice and it was 4.95 for a kiddie cup) but that's expected for 5th Av.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, horrible waiter

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

My mom and I were in NYC for a weekend, stopped here for dinner. The food was excellent, but it took over 30 min to pay for our check. Our server seemed inconvenienced by us and was not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great Meal - Amazing Service

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Made a quick reservation on open table (Saturday of Easter Weekend), and stopped in for lunch after visiting the Empire State Building. The restaurant is literally located next to the visitor's entrance to the Empire State Building.

The food was very good (recommend rotisserie chicken), the beer was cold (recommend the Harvest Wheat) and the spicy bloody mary was outstanding.

The food & drinks were only surpassed by the service that we received. Our server Carlos was probably the best that we encountered, while visiting NYC for the weekend... Attentive, professional, and he seemed to anticipate whatever we needed. He was simply outstanding!

As a person that travels for a living, I eat in a lot of restaurants... this place is vibrant, yet comfortable, and casual. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.