About HB Burger

127 West 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

The latest member of the Heartland Brewery family of restaurants, HB Burger is the only full-service burger-oriented restaurant in the Times Square area. It features comfortable and spacious seating, wrought-iron chandeliers, two bars and a compelling menu. Expect to find prime Angus beef burgers, a sashimi-grade tuna burger, specialty salads, “Must Fry’s” like tatter tots stuffed with bacon and Jack cheese, and homemade sodas on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Gastro Pub

Cross Street:
between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 575-5848

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/hb-burger2/

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

HB Burger offers 2 spacious private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 25-150 guests in the lower level of our restaurant. The entire restaurant is also available to buyout accommodating 300 guests. The options are limitless at Heartland.

HB Burger Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Kid-friendly (11)
Late-night Find (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent burgers! Sides are a la cart. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent burgers! Sides are a la cart. Portions are on the smaller side but everything is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fabulous waitress (Kelly) and t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a fabulous waitress (Kelly) and the food was great. Had a wonderful time. Great option for the area!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went on a Friday night at 7pm to try out ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went on a Friday night at 7pm to try out the burgers and was seated immediately. Whole table of 4 of us got the HB Burger cooked differently and with different toppings and everyone was very satisfied - cooked to our preference. The tater tots I got as the side was surprisingly amazing! Our server was friendly and processed all of our food orders accurately. Got a Strawberry Shot Cake Hard Shake as a dessert and while delicious, definitely needed to walk it off afterwards - very filling!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good beer. Overall decent food, althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good beer. Overall decent food, although my chicken sandwich was dry and tasteless, like it had been frozen and was unseasoned. But my friends had a burger and a crab cake sandwich that they said was good. Friendly service. Reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was over prIced. Their menu on-line ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was over prIced. Their menu on-line had different prices. It tasted like fast food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Everything was 5 star, will go back agai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was 5 star, will go back again! Fried pickles was outstanding and so was service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced drink - I know its NYC and Ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overpriced drink - I know its NYC and Times Square but come on. Upcharged for fries I didnt receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service was very good....very attent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was very good....very attentive wait staff. Was there for lunch before a Broardway show....quite a gem. Glad to have chosen on Open Table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location for the theater district. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great location for the theater district. Not too noisy. Good burgers. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food and service! We only visi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good food and service! We only visit NYC 2-3 times a year, but always plan a visit to HB burger. The burgers are cooked perfectly. My wife rarely eats burgers, so the excellent salads make this restaurant a good idea for both of us. Since the restaurant is also a brewery, there are great beers/ales to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never was a fan of Heartland Brewery, bu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Never was a fan of Heartland Brewery, but I really liked this place. We all got different items on the menu, and they were all very good. The Ahi Tuna Burger is amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was nice, the place is typical Amer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was nice, the place is typical American mix between Irish and baseball bars with screen on the wall. The air conditioning is just horrible to to to cold

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Handled our large group of 10 well. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Handled our large group of 10 well. Food good, service timely. Little mini sundaes excellent way to end the meal. Excellent value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice server. Kobe beef burger was p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very nice server. Kobe beef burger was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

In theatre land this was a vibrant place ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

In theatre land this was a vibrant place to eat and drink. The burger was 10/10!

Beers are tastey. Wed go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food wasn't that great and the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food wasn't that great and the service sucked. Was disappointed how I choose to go there when I was only in New York for a few days, and it was a let down.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food good prices excellent service ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good food good prices excellent service right across from our evening theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to HB based on the online review ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We went to HB based on the online reviews and were not disappointed. The service and food were both great. There is a very good selection of beers to choose from. Anyone looking for a friendly place to have a drink or a great burger should stop in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're looking for a reasonably price ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

If you're looking for a reasonably priced burger in the Theater District, this place is it. Nothing to write home about, but it was functional and not awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Good evening out to catch a great bite b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good evening out to catch a great bite before a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Given it's location (close to theaters a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Given it's location (close to theaters and Times Square), prices were reasonable and the burgers were very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a pleasure! Love their tuna burg ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always a pleasure! Love their tuna burgers❤️! Service is always so friendly! At times, it can get too noisy. Early evening works to avoid this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was exactly what ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The overall experience was exactly what I was looking for. Tasty food, good atmosphere, friendly service, and medium price. We started with sppetizers. The onion straws were crisp, light and flavorful. So good we ordered a second batch. The buffalo chips stole the show - crunchy, large seasoned chips with a zingy dipping sauce. We also had the fries which were hand cut but did not leave an impactful impression. The burgers were great. Everything was cooked as ordered and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience and service was outstanding ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambience and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

HB Beef Burger was excellent! Ambiance w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

HB Beef Burger was excellent! Ambiance was great - had to reschedule reservation due to a traffic problem and management was most accommodating - the only reason I lowered the service score was because we had an overzealous waiter who cleared my appetizer and drink while I was still eating 😀

Will definitely come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great customer service and food.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great customer service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This is one of our favorite pre-theater restaurants. Great location, great menu, great service great prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Close by all the bway shows and easy to find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Has a very limited menu. What they have is very well presented and taste good. The service

was friendly and a bit slow. This is what you can expect in the city. Very close to Broadway and

all the shows.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The burgers are always excellent here wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The burgers are always excellent here with many toppings and sides to choose from. I've always left happy! The service is generally very good but can be a bit slow when it gets really busy, but overall I recommend HB to anyone looking for a great burger!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went with my daughters, and sister we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I went with my daughters, and sister we enjoyed the food the burger was done perfect.

The service was very good. My daughter got a shake and she loved it. They have an option for everyone! I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Going Back

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great burger, tatter tots are a must! Wife loved her salad. Great Root beer. Highly recommend. A little pricey for a burger place but convenient if you are going to a play near Times Square.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

At the end of the day, it's a bar atmosp ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

At the end of the day, it's a bar atmosphere with good burgers and great service. Had the buffalo chips which honestly, I would have drizzled blue cheese and buffalo sauce over vs serving it up with a side of ranch dipping sauce. Bison burger was great, flavor throughout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

An bit of an oasis from the crowds of Ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

An bit of an oasis from the crowds of Times Square. Comfortably laid out without tables too close to each other. A place to find reasonably priced food (depending on what you order). Service was excellent and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pre theater dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Picked this place based on reviews and proximity to the theater, enjoyed the meal and drinks, no complaints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, quick service, very fun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very good food, quick service, very fun and friendly waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best burger ever!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was by far the best hamburger I've ever eaten. I got the Deluxe Burger and I am still thinking about it 4 days later. Fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre-theater spot!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent burgers, veggie burger and beers. Nice staff. Good value for NYC. Great spot for dinner before theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great selection of burgers - Ruben sprin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great selection of burgers - Ruben spring rolls were great. House brewed sodas are also cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and great beers

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service and great beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good burger!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Any place that offers a burger with an ale-battered onion ring, bacon and cheddar is a-ok in my book. Really good burger, cooked well. And the egg cream was the perfect way to wash it down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.