About HB Burger

127 West 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

The latest member of the Heartland Brewery family of restaurants, HB Burger is the only full-service burger-oriented restaurant in the Times Square area. It features comfortable and spacious seating, wrought-iron chandeliers, two bars and a compelling menu. Expect to find prime Angus beef burgers, a sashimi-grade tuna burger, specialty salads, “Must Fry’s” like tatter tots stuffed with bacon and Jack cheese, and homemade sodas on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Gastro Pub

Cross Street:
between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 575-5848

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/hb-burger2/

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

HB Burger offers 2 spacious private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 25-150 guests in the lower level of our restaurant. The entire restaurant is also available to buyout accommodating 300 guests. The options are limitless at Heartland.

HB Burger Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Great Beer (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We got stuck in Times Square traffic and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

We got stuck in Times Square traffic and were a few minutes late for our reservation. The hostess was very gracious, got us right to our table and settled quickly. The service was wonderfully efficient and the food terrific. The NY Steak Sandwich was a big hit with two of our party and the house-made tater tots were the best I've ever eaten. Even better they got us out the door in record time and to our Broadway show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for a pre show quick bite before go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Good for a pre show quick bite before going to Town Hall next door or the theatre district.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for a pre theatre dinner and ord ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for a pre theatre dinner and ordered 4 burgers and an appetizer. One of the burgers was cold/raw inside and was sent back. The others were satisfactory...however, given the cost for each burger they should be more than average...our service was poor...not attentive and the atmosphere is quite noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food is always well prepared here and th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always well prepared here and the beer is a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to HB Burger many times in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have been to HB Burger many times in the past and this time it was as great as always - the atmosphere, food, service, BEER - all wonderful. Met a group of friends who were in from Louisiana who had never been there before and they have a great time. Will of course return in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly efficient service for a pre-theat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Highly efficient service for a pre-theater crowd. And food was tasty. Nothing too fancy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fantastic burgers in Times Square. HB Bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fantastic burgers in Times Square. HB Burger has a great sports bar/pub atmosphere but it's very open and spacious. The burgers are great and very affordable for the TS area. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reasonable and comfortable! The t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Always reasonable and comfortable! The tuna burgers are divine.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We found this restaurant to be a great p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We found this restaurant to be a great place for a late lunch. It was at a great location and had a varied menu for all of us. Clean & convenient restroom! Burgers were great and so was the service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and great service. Must tr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Amazing food and great service. Must try the crab cake burger and tater tots. Best tater tots ever!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good casual well priced place in the the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good casual well priced place in the theatre district with pretty decent burgers. A little loud for our taste, but for a quick meal, I would recommend it. We had a very sweet young woman as our server. Efficient and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

great place for work lunch, fairly quick ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

great place for work lunch, fairly quick service, and good food. Amazing sweet potato fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

HB Burger is a terrific place for lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

HB Burger is a terrific place for lunch or dinner with friends, or a casual business meal. Burgers are GREAT (try the Bison burger - EXCELLENT). Fries are wonderful. Good service if you are on a timed lunch but you can hang out if you're not.

And if you are having a busy day, you can do take-out (like I do once a week).

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good hamburgers at reasonable price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very good hamburgers at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I took my mom here for her birthday befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I took my mom here for her birthday before we went to a show. The staff were so accommodating and pleasant. The food was fantastic and cooked perfectly. The French fries are life changing. The meals were reasonably priced and very filling. The waiter surprised my mom with a mini-sundae for her birthday complete with a candle and she was thrilled. I had mentioned that it was her birthday when I made the reservation but I certainly never expected a free sundae. It was a lovely surprise for both of us. Can't wait to go to HB Burger again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Hamburgers and good mixed drinks l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great Hamburgers and good mixed drinks llllllllllll

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place and great people thank god I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place and great people thank god I made a reservation. Walked in had table raft thank you open table.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hadn't been here in a few years when I u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Hadn't been here in a few years when I used to come fairly frequently. Was glad it was still around and the space remains the same. The food and beer are still very good at fair prices although on my deluxe burger you could hardly see or taste the fried onion rings so I asked for more. My friend and I had to continually look for the waiter for assistance; he seemed more involved with another table. Quite a contrast in service from previous times. I will go back when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Wir waren um 7:15 Uhr abends mit Reservi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wir waren um 7:15 Uhr abends mit Reservierung da. Der Laden war leer und sollte um 8 schließen Leider war das insgesamt auch zu spüren.

Wir das Lokal nicht weiterempfehlen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We had a very attentive and pleasant wai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a very attentive and pleasant waiter. 😄

Ordered the bison burger. Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great burgers, enjoyed the beer sampler, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great burgers, enjoyed the beer sampler, servers were friendly...we'll definately be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in New York City with our 2 gran ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were in New York City with our 2 granddaughter and need a dinner that was casual and within walking distance to our hotel. Found HB on trip advisor and booked through open table. Great choice!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt very comfortable. It was a relaxe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I felt very comfortable. It was a relaxed and calm atmosphere in the middle of time square.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent burgers! Sides are a la cart. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent burgers! Sides are a la cart. Portions are on the smaller side but everything is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good burgers and amazing fried cheese! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good burgers and amazing fried cheese! It's not healthy but it's tasty! Good pre-theater place before a matinee or for a casual dinner or post show drink. I would not go out of my way for this place but if you are in the neighborhood its a reliable choice!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a fabulous waitress (Kelly) and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a fabulous waitress (Kelly) and the food was great. Had a wonderful time. Great option for the area!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went on a Friday night at 7pm to try out ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went on a Friday night at 7pm to try out the burgers and was seated immediately. Whole table of 4 of us got the HB Burger cooked differently and with different toppings and everyone was very satisfied - cooked to our preference. The tater tots I got as the side was surprisingly amazing! Our server was friendly and processed all of our food orders accurately. Got a Strawberry Shot Cake Hard Shake as a dessert and while delicious, definitely needed to walk it off afterwards - very filling!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good beer. Overall decent food, althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good beer. Overall decent food, although my chicken sandwich was dry and tasteless, like it had been frozen and was unseasoned. But my friends had a burger and a crab cake sandwich that they said was good. Friendly service. Reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was over prIced. Their menu on-line ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was over prIced. Their menu on-line had different prices. It tasted like fast food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Everything was 5 star, will go back agai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was 5 star, will go back again! Fried pickles was outstanding and so was service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced drink - I know its NYC and Ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overpriced drink - I know its NYC and Times Square but come on. Upcharged for fries I didnt receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service was very good....very attent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was very good....very attentive wait staff. Was there for lunch before a Broardway show....quite a gem. Glad to have chosen on Open Table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location for the theater district. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great location for the theater district. Not too noisy. Good burgers. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Screams chain and everything is fried an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Screams chain and everything is fried and I mean everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very good food and service! We only visi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good food and service! We only visit NYC 2-3 times a year, but always plan a visit to HB burger. The burgers are cooked perfectly. My wife rarely eats burgers, so the excellent salads make this restaurant a good idea for both of us. Since the restaurant is also a brewery, there are great beers/ales to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never was a fan of Heartland Brewery, bu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Never was a fan of Heartland Brewery, but I really liked this place. We all got different items on the menu, and they were all very good. The Ahi Tuna Burger is amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was nice, the place is typical Amer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was nice, the place is typical American mix between Irish and baseball bars with screen on the wall. The air conditioning is just horrible to to to cold

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Handled our large group of 10 well. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Handled our large group of 10 well. Food good, service timely. Little mini sundaes excellent way to end the meal. Excellent value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice server. Kobe beef burger was p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very nice server. Kobe beef burger was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

In theatre land this was a vibrant place ...

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on July 15, 2016

In theatre land this was a vibrant place to eat and drink. The burger was 10/10!

Beers are tastey. Wed go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.