About HB Burger

127 West 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

The latest member of the Heartland Brewery family of restaurants, HB Burger is the only full-service burger-oriented restaurant in the Times Square area. It features comfortable and spacious seating, wrought-iron chandeliers, two bars and a compelling menu. Expect to find prime Angus beef burgers, a sashimi-grade tuna burger, specialty salads, “Must Fry’s” like tatter tots stuffed with bacon and Jack cheese, and homemade sodas on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Gastro Pub

Cross Street:
between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 575-5848

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/hb-burger2/

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

HB Burger offers 2 spacious private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 25-150 guests in the lower level of our restaurant. The entire restaurant is also available to buyout accommodating 300 guests. The options are limitless at Heartland.

HB Burger Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (38)
good for groups (31)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (4)
special occasion (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Close by all the bway shows and easy to find

Dined 4 days ago

Has a very limited menu. What they have is very well presented and taste good. The service was friendly and a bit slow. This is what you can expect in the city. Very close to Broadway and all the shows.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The burgers are always excellent here wi ...

Dined 7 days ago

The burgers are always excellent here with many toppings and sides to choose from. I've always left happy! The service is generally very good but can be a bit slow when it gets really busy, but overall I recommend HB to anyone looking for a great burger!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went with my daughters, and sister we ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I went with my daughters, and sister we enjoyed the food the burger was done perfect. The service was very good. My daughter got a shake and she loved it. They have an option for everyone! I would definitely go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Going Back

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great burger, tatter tots are a must! Wife loved her salad. Great Root beer. Highly recommend. A little pricey for a burger place but convenient if you are going to a play near Times Square.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

At the end of the day, it's a bar atmosp ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

At the end of the day, it's a bar atmosphere with good burgers and great service. Had the buffalo chips which honestly, I would have drizzled blue cheese and buffalo sauce over vs serving it up with a side of ranch dipping sauce. Bison burger was great, flavor throughout.

food4
ambience4
service5

An bit of an oasis from the crowds of Ti ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

An bit of an oasis from the crowds of Times Square. Comfortably laid out without tables too close to each other. A place to find reasonably priced food (depending on what you order). Service was excellent and food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre theater dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Picked this place based on reviews and proximity to the theater, enjoyed the meal and drinks, no complaints!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food, quick service, very fun ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very good food, quick service, very fun and friendly waiter

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best burger ever!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was by far the best hamburger I've ever eaten. I got the Deluxe Burger and I am still thinking about it 4 days later. Fabulous!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pre-theater spot!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent burgers, veggie burger and beers. Nice staff. Good value for NYC. Great spot for dinner before theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great selection of burgers - Ruben sprin ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great selection of burgers - Ruben spring rolls were great. House brewed sodas are also cool

food4
ambience3
service5

Great service and great beers

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service and great beers

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good burger!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Any place that offers a burger with an ale-battered onion ring, bacon and cheddar is a-ok in my book. Really good burger, cooked well. And the egg cream was the perfect way to wash it down.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

HB Burger Rocks!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Love the atmosphere as well as their Sashimi Tuna Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries. Pair this with a shared side salad and a glass of wine and this is great!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I used to eat here quite a bit but was v ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

I used to eat here quite a bit but was very disappointed when I saw that their "free items" like pickles and other condiments were no longer free and everything had a charge. Burger was good but not overly filing and more food had to be ordered. Good point is that it is near the theater district. May or may not return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Craft Beer and Burgers in Times Square!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My family and I really enjoyed this place. Their craft beers brewed in house were fantastic. Burgers were spot on. Nothing fancy here. Good value, great place to take kids. Service was impeccable. Best service we had while in NYC and we did everything from fine dining to lunch in chinatown.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant in a great location

Dined on March 24, 2016

HB Burger is on our short list of pre-theatre restaurants that delights all members of my family. The food and service are always great, and it's a bargain for the location.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great with kids.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We took 4 girls ages 3-5 for lunch before "The Lion King". They loved it. The food is fun and more than anyone can eat. The ice cream sodas and egg creams (for dessert) were scrumptious. Prices are not low; but the staff was excellent . Prompt service. Nice atmosphere and warm reception. Definitely try it; with or without kids. Not your romantic spot, ,however.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Was looking for the best burger with my teens

Dined on March 13, 2016

My boys love a good burger. We were in the city to see a play. I saw the reviews and thought awesome. It was a good meal but not the best burger I've had. The service was great. I forgot the girls name who took care of us. It was a quiet Sunday afternoon for the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best burger I ever had

Dined on March 12, 2016

Best burger I ever had

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, delicious food,

Dined on March 8, 2016

Great service, delicious, basic bar, burger, salad type food. Reasonably priced. Nice portions. You could hear each other speak which was a nice plus.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent burger

Dined on February 27, 2016

One of the best hamburgers I've had in NYC at a good price. Cooked just the way I like rare. The lettuce, tomato and onions used were fresh not wilted like at many places.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great burgers

Dined on February 22, 2016

Been here many times. Convenient to the Town Hall and other theaters. Great burgers, fries, etc. For a treat have the mini hot fudge sundae $1.75 for desert. Yum!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location - good burgers, sandwiches and beer

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great location with good sandwich and burger fare. Decent selection of brews. Service was friendly and prompt. May not be a fine dining experience but if you're looking for a quick bite or a place to grab a couple of appetizers and beers before or after the show, HB fits the bill.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

Selected this restaurant for special day in the city and had a fabulous meal and great time.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, amazing beer, service wa ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Delicious food, amazing beer, service was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burger

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and myself were looking for a great burger near Time Square and HB really hit the spot. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Casual Find

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were looking for a casual restaurant close to our theater on W. 41st St. on a freezing cold Saturday evening. We normally avoid chain restaurants, but we were very pleasantly surprised with our experience at HB Burger. Our server, Lauren, was very helpful and delivered all we requested. The beef barley soup was rich and delicious and the salad was large and fresh. The burgers were exactly as ordered,and they were huge and delicious . We will definitely return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Burgers and beer were outstanding. Our ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Burgers and beer were outstanding. Our server was very pleasant and attentive to our needs. I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch with my wife and niece on Janu ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Had lunch with my wife and niece on January 29. As a surprise for them I had ordered flowers to be delivered to them and when we arrived the flowers were waiting for us right behind the hostess stand. The hostess was very kind and welcoming. My niece was held up at work so she was ten minutes late so while we waited the staff checked on us several times to make sure our drinks were fine and we didnt need anything. Food was great and service above expectation. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Burgers

Dined on January 21, 2016

We were in the mood for burgers after the theater so we decided to give HB Burger a try. The burgers were juicy and very good - generously sized and cooked to order. We had sweet potato fries that were absolutely delicious. Our server, Ryan H. was delightful. Even though it was late, he was very attentive and didn't rush us at all. My only negative comment is about the hostess, Joanne. The restaurant was quite empty (it was late) so when I asked her if we could be seated in a booth instead of the table she led us to, she reacted as though it was a bother. We did have a reservation and there were parties of one seated in a booth. If it weren't for that, I would have given an outstanding for service. To her credit, she did greet us nicely when we came in. Other than that, we enjoyed the burger, fries and dessert very much.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back

Dined on January 16, 2016

I could not have been happier with our experience at HB Burger. My husband and I met two friends after the matinee theatre on Saturday. My 12 yo son was with us as well. The food was great and the service was excellent. It's a nice atmosphere - lots of life but not so noisy that we couldn't all talk and catch up. I will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Broadway ease.

Dined on January 16, 2016

We use HB Burger on a regular basis on Saturdays for a good, quick meal between matinee and evening performances.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

HB Burger exceeded our expectations and ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

HB Burger exceeded our expectations and its location cannot be beat if you're seeing a show. The Reuben spring rolls are unique and delicious. Our burgers were tasty as well and we enjoyed the onion straws. A Cornhuskers lager for me & a glass of wine for my wife complemented our meal perfectly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Ate here before seeing a 7:00 show.. Ar ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Ate here before seeing a 7:00 show.. Arrived at 6:00. Food was good , service was great ..in and out in under an hour ! Perfect!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Met with a friendly receptionist, seated ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Met with a friendly receptionist, seated in a nice location, excellent and attentive waitress. Food was okay, hamburger could be a bit bigger, fries were fine. Wine list sufficient. We were able to get out quickly to make curtain time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Good burgers and beer

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

We ate here while in NY with the family. Kids wanted burgers and they delivered.Good atmosphere, good burgers and beer. The sodas were also solid. Try the Orange Crème. Good location off Times Square.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great burgers and shakes

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

We stopped by with our 5 year old for dinner and we were pleasantly surprised by the great burgers, fries and shakes! The beer was tasty, too! Service was helpful and quick.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with our 3 kids, 17, 10 and 6. I ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

We went with our 3 kids, 17, 10 and 6. It was great.

food4
ambience4
service5

Better than Expected!

Dined on November 14, 2015

Hopped in here for a fast meal before a show. Staff was great and got us in and out quickly, and the food was surprisingly tasty. Both the beef burger and tuna burgers were yummy. Would definitely go back...bar area was crowded and folks were watching sports and having a good time.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.