About HB Burger

127 West 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

The latest member of the Heartland Brewery family of restaurants, HB Burger is the only full-service burger-oriented restaurant in the Times Square area. It features comfortable and spacious seating, wrought-iron chandeliers, two bars and a compelling menu. Expect to find prime Angus beef burgers, a sashimi-grade tuna burger, specialty salads, “Must Fry’s” like tatter tots stuffed with bacon and Jack cheese, and homemade sodas on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Gastro Pub

Cross Street:
between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 575-5848

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/hb-burger2/

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

HB Burger offers 2 spacious private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 25-150 guests in the lower level of our restaurant. The entire restaurant is also available to buyout accommodating 300 guests. The options are limitless at Heartland.

HB Burger Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (16)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great Beer (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Veggie burger was spicy, which I inquire ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Veggie burger was spicy, which I inquired about before ordering. Was told it is not and I can just have the chutney on the side. The chutney was not the source of the spice within the burger. Also came with a sad little pickle and nothing else. Since I got it without the bun, it was a sad dinner plate - no lettuce, onion, tomato, coleslaw, fries, etc. Didn't realize it came with nothing so we didn't order anything else. Waitress never mentioned the lack of sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

What a delicious burger! I had the HB B ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

What a delicious burger! I had the HB Burger Deluxe and it was sooo good. Love the crispy texture of the fried onion ring, and the sauce was yummy. This is the place for a great burger!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place but they don't offer a side ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great place but they don't offer a side of onion rings.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go here for lunch often because it's ver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Go here for lunch often because it's very close to my job. Love their burgers! The Kobe Burger is the best ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ordered medium cooked burger. Was burnt. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Ordered medium cooked burger. Was burnt. Fries were lukewarm. Bad food. Waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Perfect place to grab a delicious burger ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfect place to grab a delicious burger and catch the show Beautiful across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service is great and the location is ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service is great and the location is great. I have been hear multiple times and find it to be a but inconsistent. Sometimes the burgers are great and others, like this past time it was just okay. The fries are great and good for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The waiter was terrible!!! Would not rec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The waiter was terrible!!! Would not recommend at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great burgers! If you are in the mood fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great burgers! If you are in the mood for a classic hamburger, this is a great place!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I took our three boys to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I took our three boys to NYC for the day and HB Burger could not have been a better place to stop at for lunch. Upon other user reviews I found that HB Burger was a very family-oriented restaurant and it did not disappoint. The service was fast and friendly, portions were large and the noise level was perfect for three young kids. Not to mention the food was delicious and there were plenty of fun adult drinks to choose from. I highly reccommend the mozzarella sticks :) If you are looking for a restaurant near Times Square that is child friendly and caters to adults, HB Burger is your only choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, I have been to NYC plent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was great, I have been to NYC plenty of times, and so glad we tried this place this time. Excellent apps, Ruben spring rolls. The burgers were fantastic, and the service was very good. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

HB beef burger topoed with cheddar and b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

HB beef burger topoed with cheddar and bacon .... cheap and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great for burgers, pub food done exactly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great for burgers, pub food done exactly the way it should be. Beer is great and always switching. Service is quick and friendly!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food! Great service! I may have bee ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good food! Great service! I may have been a bit chatty but fries got cold faster than I anticipated. But truly a 4+ star kind of place! Good for business lunch or friend catch up lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Setter us b4 all of our party was there!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Setter us b4 all of our party was there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terrific food, great tasting (and good v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrific food, great tasting (and good variety) of beers brewed onsite. It was a busy Saturday lunch when we dined, so service was good, but slow as the waiter was assigned too many tables without enough support staff to help him. We really enjoyed our lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The burgers were very good. Milkshakes t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The burgers were very good. Milkshakes too. Tater tots were awesome. Quick bite before a show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

I came here with a rather large group. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I came here with a rather large group. When I arrived the place was packed. The hosts assured me they had my table, and they would seat us as soon as we were ready. They were super busy, (the location is across from a Broadway theatre) and they still took care of me. When we sat down the food was superb, burgers galore! Or you could get a salad, but who wants to do that when there are burgers?

Our waiter wasn't the most attentive, but he let us have out space, and brought us our food in a timely manner. When we split the bill (a pain for any waiter I'm sure) he took our 6 cards with a tenative smile and worked it out for us. It was an overall good experience and I would recommend again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first time there & the burgers were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our first time there & the burgers were great! Our waiter David D. was very friendly and informative - great choice of beer...We had a good meal with good service and atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend was visiting the city only for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My friend was visiting the city only for a few hours (bus tour) so it was great to be able to make reservations at HB Burger rather than spend time waiting someplace in line. Cozy atmosphere, great burger, attentive service, reasonable prices- in short, everything we wanted for a quick, casual lunch. I think start to finish it was 45 minutes. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We got stuck in Times Square traffic and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We got stuck in Times Square traffic and were a few minutes late for our reservation. The hostess was very gracious, got us right to our table and settled quickly. The service was wonderfully efficient and the food terrific. The NY Steak Sandwich was a big hit with two of our party and the house-made tater tots were the best I've ever eaten. Even better they got us out the door in record time and to our Broadway show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only drawbacks were flat soda and having ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Only drawbacks were flat soda and having a party of 6 squeezed into a booth that had been shrunk to accommodate a 2 person table behind us. Burgers were excellent and waiter was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a pre theatre dinner and ord ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We went for a pre theatre dinner and ordered 4 burgers and an appetizer. One of the burgers was cold/raw inside and was sent back. The others were satisfactory...however, given the cost for each burger they should be more than average...our service was poor...not attentive and the atmosphere is quite noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good for a pre show quick bite before go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Good for a pre show quick bite before going to Town Hall next door or the theatre district.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is always well prepared here and th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food is always well prepared here and the beer is a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to HB Burger many times in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have been to HB Burger many times in the past and this time it was as great as always - the atmosphere, food, service, BEER - all wonderful. Met a group of friends who were in from Louisiana who had never been there before and they have a great time. Will of course return in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly efficient service for a pre-theat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Highly efficient service for a pre-theater crowd. And food was tasty. Nothing too fancy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fantastic burgers in Times Square. HB Bu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fantastic burgers in Times Square. HB Burger has a great sports bar/pub atmosphere but it's very open and spacious. The burgers are great and very affordable for the TS area. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: , Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reasonable and comfortable! The t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Always reasonable and comfortable! The tuna burgers are divine.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We found this restaurant to be a great p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We found this restaurant to be a great place for a late lunch. It was at a great location and had a varied menu for all of us. Clean & convenient restroom! Burgers were great and so was the service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and great service. Must tr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Amazing food and great service. Must try the crab cake burger and tater tots. Best tater tots ever!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good casual well priced place in the the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good casual well priced place in the theatre district with pretty decent burgers. A little loud for our taste, but for a quick meal, I would recommend it. We had a very sweet young woman as our server. Efficient and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

great place for work lunch, fairly quick ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

great place for work lunch, fairly quick service, and good food. Amazing sweet potato fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

HB Burger is a terrific place for lunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

HB Burger is a terrific place for lunch or dinner with friends, or a casual business meal. Burgers are GREAT (try the Bison burger - EXCELLENT). Fries are wonderful. Good service if you are on a timed lunch but you can hang out if you're not.

And if you are having a busy day, you can do take-out (like I do once a week).

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, , Casual, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good hamburgers at reasonable price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very good hamburgers at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I took my mom here for her birthday befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I took my mom here for her birthday before we went to a show. The staff were so accommodating and pleasant. The food was fantastic and cooked perfectly. The French fries are life changing. The meals were reasonably priced and very filling. The waiter surprised my mom with a mini-sundae for her birthday complete with a candle and she was thrilled. I had mentioned that it was her birthday when I made the reservation but I certainly never expected a free sundae. It was a lovely surprise for both of us. Can't wait to go to HB Burger again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Hamburgers and good mixed drinks l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great Hamburgers and good mixed drinks llllllllllll

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place and great people thank god I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place and great people thank god I made a reservation. Walked in had table raft thank you open table.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hadn't been here in a few years when I u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Hadn't been here in a few years when I used to come fairly frequently. Was glad it was still around and the space remains the same. The food and beer are still very good at fair prices although on my deluxe burger you could hardly see or taste the fried onion rings so I asked for more. My friend and I had to continually look for the waiter for assistance; he seemed more involved with another table. Quite a contrast in service from previous times. I will go back when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Wir waren um 7:15 Uhr abends mit Reservi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wir waren um 7:15 Uhr abends mit Reservierung da. Der Laden war leer und sollte um 8 schließen Leider war das insgesamt auch zu spüren.

Wir das Lokal nicht weiterempfehlen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.