About Hazie's

2305 Mt Werner Circle
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

A culinary delight with an incredible view. Join us for Sunday Brunch at the top of the gondola, prepared by our Hazie's culinary experts. For dinner, enjoy our 3 course culinary experience served Thursday - Saturday . Appetizers and cocktails are also available at the bar.Please see Steamboat.com/hazies for pricing information.




Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER:
Sunday Brunch:
9:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Beginning Father’s Day June 19 through Sep 4th, 2016

Dinner:
June 23rd - September 3rd, board the Gondola from 5.45 – 8:30 pm

WINTER:
Dinner:
Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 8:30pm With additional nights during the holidays.

Winter Lunch served daily.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 871-5170

Website:
http://www.steamboat.com/things-to-do/dining/hazies

Parking Details:
Summer Lunch and Dinner: Free parking in the structure lot and the Knoll lot.
Winter Lunch: Parking in the structure lot is $25. Free parking is available from the Meadow's Shuttle Lot.
Winter Dinner: Parking in the structure lot is $7 or take the free city bus to the transportation center. Your reservation time is your gondola load time.

Public Transit:
Free city buses and hotel shuttles stop at the Transportation Center. Walk through gondola square and check-in with a reservation agent at the gondola.

Executive Chef:
Joe Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your special event at the top of the gondola and enjoy Hazie"s signature cuisine and ambiance.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsey Yochem: 9708715162x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Hazie's
Hazie's

Hazie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Scenic View
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Steamboat Springs ›

scenic view (8)
special occasion (6)
romantic (5)
See All
great for lunch (3)
fit for foodies (3)
great for brunch (2)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, very creative chef! Beauti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food, very creative chef! Beautiful views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I feel like I'm being overly-finicky, bu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I feel like I'm being overly-finicky, but Sunday brunches like the one we had at Hazie's always fail to meet high expectations (and price tags). As I reflect back the food was decent enough, but I'm not going back to the office to tell anyone about the small slice of prime rib they carved out for me at the meat station, etc. We paid $50 pp, 20 of that got us the mountain but even at $30 pp all I can write is, "ehhhh".

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Love the Sunday brunch at the top of the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the Sunday brunch at the top of the gondola. We go at least twice every summer. A great thing to do with out-of-town guests.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality food and the scenery i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent quality food and the scenery is breathtaking. Service was friendly and gracious. Brunch on the Mountain at Steamboat is a summer tradition in our family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food over priced for quality. Great serv ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food over priced for quality. Great service and views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and presentation of a ver ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great ambiance and presentation of a very note worthy meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hazie's not only has a fantastic view on ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hazie's not only has a fantastic view on top of the mountain in Steamboat Springs but the brunch was incredible. We had 4 teens who all said it was the best food they've ever had (then again they were dipping their bacon in chocolate but also enjoyed the omelettes, french toast, prime rib, smoked salmon benedict, the list goes on . . . ) Definitely a meal they'll never forget! Nate was a friendly and informative server!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a vacationing couple in Steamboat, we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As a vacationing couple in Steamboat, we found the gondola ride, the mountain and the brunch a fun adventure. Additionally, the brunch food was very, very good. In fact it was the best meal we experienced during our four day stay.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place was phenomenal !! First time ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This place was phenomenal !! First time there and for sure we will be back!!!! Great view, incredible service and attention not just from our waiter but from everyone. told them ahead it was our anniversary and like 5 people said something plus there was a card on the table. Can't say enough good things. Food was fantastic too.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is awesome and view is incredib ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service is awesome and view is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was on crutches and all the staff went ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was on crutches and all the staff went out of their way to help me navigate the way to our table. We had a fantastic view of the sunset with delicious appetizers and inventive beverages.

Our server (Adriea??) was outstanding with advice and information regarding the menu. The chef, Joe, even took time out to come to our table and answer a question my sone had about his entree.

Thank you to al of the staff doe making our evening particularly special. (July 7, 2016)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a wonderful evening. Imaginativ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall a wonderful evening. Imaginative chef, however, food was not as hot as should have been when arrived at table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the opening weekend for Hazie's ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was the opening weekend for Hazie's so things were a bit off I.e. the plates could have been hotter as well as the entree. BUT it is a great place to dine and "Tom" the bartender was terrific.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food with a great view

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We weren't expecting to be blown away by the food after reading some of the reviews. We were eating there for the gondola ride and the view during dinner. However, the food was excellent and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely build this in each trip back to steamboat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Hazies is creative, beautifu ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food at Hazies is creative, beautiful, and delicious. I've had lunch and dinner there, on separate occasions, and they both were excellent visits! The buffalo tartare is a must-have. The beet salad was divine. I cannot stop thinking about it. Don't let the outdated decor fool you, this place is on their game.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

HAZIES AT THE TOP OF STEAMBOAT'S GONDOLA

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Extraordinary food, service and ambiance! Can't beat the sunset and view of the Steamboat valley at the top off the Gondola! It was our grand finale to our wonderful Springbreak week in Steamboat Colorado! Highly recommend Hazies for a high-end dinner or a lunch/brunch while you are skiing or in the summer!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Easter Brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Can't say enough great things about it. Spectacular view, wonderful food, (kale salad was to die for), excellent service (we had two under 6 with us). All in all wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dishes were not as expected. Smoked salm ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Dishes were not as expected. Smoked salmon Caesar had chunks of salmon and too much cheese. Squash appetizer was

Small but good. Chicken and waffles was dry and wasn't served with syrup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great view and service. Food definitel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Great view and service. Food definitely not the best on the mountain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The way to eat while skiing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food, great view. Sitting on top of the mountain enjoying finer dining while skiing will spoil you for life. And what a view!!!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The better the view the worse the food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great view, but food wasn't what I'd expect for the price. My steak was actually straight up cold as were my vegetables, not to mention it was bland... Our crab legs were supposed to come out with our meal, but came out after, at least they were warm though. Our dessert was something that came out of a frozen package or perhaps a costco deal.

I'll never recommend or go to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Go for the view

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

From the moment one boards the gondola to the restaurant, the view is magnificent. Alas, the restaurant is not comparable to the view. Our party of 4 adults was non-plussed by the meal. The menu tries too hard to deliver a gastronomic delight, but the kitchen isn't up to the task. The food combinations were unusual, rather than delicious. Some offerings on the plate were downright mysterious and not rewarding. We ordered the duck, the bison and the scallops. No one felt any of these entrees were "top caliber". The desserts suffer the same fate: ornate, but not tasty. Definitely a place to visit once for the view, but not a place to return to for a delicious meal.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very slow service even though not busy

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Hazies used to be fantastic food on the mountain. We always made a point to go for lunch periodically when skiing. Our last lunch last season was at Hazies and it was great. This time was our visit this season The service was slow, menu limited, portions small. We waited for 40 minutes for our meal, and the soup came with the entrees. The food was tasty although the soup was flat. Definitely up to the standards or the last 25 years. We were very disappointed. It is now off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Dining at Hazie's in Steamboat Springs, CO

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

A unique setting featuring a 10 minute gondola ride up to mid-mountain where the restaurant is perched overlooking the Yampa Valley and downtown Steamboat Springs. Game is most heavily featured on the price fix 3 course menu and while the food is above average it's not spectacular. The attentive service and overall ambiance, however, offset that for me and make it very worthwhile. I always get a reservation there when in Steamboat and have dined there at least a dozen times. One of those places where you could have a great time with a large group or just have a romantic dinner for two, not to mention, that on that long gondola ride back down to the base you could technically join the mile high club.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

MIND = BLOWN

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We arrived around 6pm and started our evening out with a few apps. Each dish had deep complex flavors that made for inspired culinary conversation around the table. Our wine paired perfectly with our meal, and the service was excellent all night despite a completely packed house.

Steaks were cooked to perfection, seafood was fresh, the duck entree was mind blowing. Definitely an experience to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were rushed to sit only to have servi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were rushed to sit only to have service be slow. We waited longer than normal at every step of the dining experience. Empty drinks, empty water, finished plates in front of us even as our server walked past empty handed. The view isn't worth all of that.

This is the second year in a row we were less than pleased. We go to Steamboat every year and will not be returning to Hazies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

My husband and I went back to Steamboat Springs to celebrate out 40th wedding anniversary as we spent our honeymoon there in 1976. We decided to go out for a special dinner and chose this special restaurant for the ambiance and food. I was disappointed by the food, but the atmosphere was lovely! I would not go back again as the food was not worth the price.

Slow service!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I say "Wonderful Experience", because that's what it truly was. From the gondola ride up the mountain at night seeing the entire valley glowing below like a golden river, to the incredible dishes executive chef Joe Campbell prepares. It was fantastic. The way the serving staff showed such enthusiasm about each course highlights the skill with which each dish was prepared. The balance between ingredients is akeen to a painter using just the right color to bring forth an emotion. What Joe creates here is what every other restaurant attempts, and rarely achieves. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here - I think the best thing ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

First time here - I think the best thing you can say about this restaurant is that the views from the mountain can be nice and riding up the gondola is also fun. Aside from that though, the restaurant is old and out of date, the bar selections are mediocre and the food and service is below par for the steep prices that they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A great dinner!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Every course of food was wonderfully presented with true artistry. The flavors and preparation were all top notch and the service was excellent. The wine list is great and the gondola ride up the mountain with the view of the town is always a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, and total experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

My first experience at Hazie's was satisfying from start to finish!!! I would recommend Hazie's to EVERYONE that lives here and all the visitors have to experience what this Chef has to offer. I have been in the restaurant industry for a very long time and I would have to say that this experience has surpassed all others. From the start, we were greeted with fresh and happy faces. Every step of this night seemed so seamless and relaxed. We sat at a table with a view to die for. Jeremy was our server and he knew all the answers, timed out all of our wine and food perfectly and was very enjoyable.

Now on to the food! I will attempt to put into words how beautiful, creative and delicious everything was, but my suggestion is to try it for yourself!!! We tried several appetizers including a duck sausage that was an explosion of flavor and like nothing I had taste before. I would order this every time. The beet salad, which was beet 3 ways (pickled, roasted and pureed) included creamy goat cheese. The preparation, plating and taste were all so perfect. I enjoyed the lobster bisque and we had the sea bass and the elk dish. We went back and forth tasting each others entrees, never decided which was better and enjoyed every single bite! To top it all off, we were able to fit a chocolate tort that was creamy, decadent and a perfect ending to an experience I will never forget. Since I have moved to Steamboat, I haven't had anything that compares to what the chef and his team have been able to create. You can feel the passion, experience and patience that is put into every part of what Hazie's has to offer. Trust me, and then trust the staff at Hazie's to blow your mind with incredible food, service and view!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful Romantic Valentine Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful Romantic Valentine Dinner. Each course of the five course dinner was exquisitely prepared and presented. The entire staff was most friendly and very helpful. We live in Steamboat and make sure the we go to Hazie's as often as possible. The entire evening from the gondola ride up to the amazing view and the exquisite dining is a must do dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The dinner and atmosphere was extraordinary. We were there on vacation and didn't know anything about Hazie's. Glad we chose this restaurant to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

A really good gourmet restaurant, with excellent and friendly service, at the top of ski mountain with a 50-mile view?! Wow!! And you don't even need skis to get there (gondola accessible)!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the bar, their cucumber Cosmopolit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

From the bar, their cucumber Cosmopolitan with their own cucumber infused vodka and the oysters with caviar... plus outstanding ambiance, delightful service and gourmet food combined to make a very memorable evening our special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Overall Dining Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The service was fantastic - waitstaff very friendly and informed about the menu. The timing of the meal was perfect - enough time to enjoy each course without feeling rushed or hungry when the next course arrived. The food was amazing! Everything was perfectly prepared, and flavor parings were delicious, traditional course with a modern taste flair. We had Sea Bass, Lamb, Beef Tenderloin and all were cooked as ordered to perfection. The Cesar salad was great - traditionally made with anchovy paste and an anchovy on the fresh greens; perfect amount of dressing tossed in, so fresca! We had 3 kids with us, there was a children's menu option with good variety and reasonably priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Hazie's, but the portions were a bit small.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I was bummed to be the only person who had to remind the waitress - twice - that I was waiting for my drink. Otherwise, the experience was great because we were able to make a reservation, and meet our group of 11 for a mid-day meal. We had too many people to ski together - and varying skill levels, but we were all able to meet and have a table waiting for us for lunch with a terrific view which was great.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

great food and attentive service!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Our reservation was for 2:30 and we were delayed because all parties did not have ski passes and we needed a Gondola ticket. The Management was wonderful and kept the kitchen open for us. We had a wonderful experience that I worried would be rushed, but it was not. Pricey, but worth every penny and the food was totally photo worthy!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointing!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We thought this would be a great experience, taking the gondola and eating on the mountain but it was really disappointing. The food was average but really expensive. The noise level was so high that we couldn't hear each other talking and in the end we gave up trying to have a conversation. The waiter made a huge deal out of the fact that we did not want water with our meal? He also made it pretty obvious that we were 2nd class citizens because we were only drinking coke and not ordering expensive alcohol drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The venue and food was great. The servic ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2016

The venue and food was great. The service was terrible from checking in to paying. The wait staff was great however the manager was "over his skis" and the back of the house was apparently out of control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.