Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Hazie's

A culinary delight with an incredible view. Lunch served daily throughout the ski season. For dinner, enjoy our 3 course culinary experience served most Thursdays - Saturdays . Appetizers and cocktails are also available at the bar.Please see Steamboat.com/hazies for pricing information. A gondola pass is required for lunch. Guests riding the gondola without equipment can purchase a foot pass for $25 (plus a $5 QuickTrax processing fee) at the gondola entrance. Present the foot pass at lunch and receive 10% off lunch for your table. Reservations recommended. (Alcohol excluded from discount.)




2305 Mt Werner Circle
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
WINTER:
Dinner:
Most Thursdays - Saturdays: 6:00pm - 8:30pm With additional nights during the holidays.
Winter Lunch served daily.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 871-5170

Website:
http://www.steamboat.com/things-to-do/dining/hazies

Parking Details:
Summer Lunch and Dinner: Free parking in the structure lot and the Knoll lot.
Winter Lunch: Parking in the structure lot is $25. Free parking is available from the Meadow's Shuttle Lot.
Winter Dinner: Parking in the structure lot is $7 or take the free city bus to the transportation center. Your reservation time is your gondola load time.

Public Transit:
Free city buses and hotel shuttles stop at the Transportation Center. Walk through gondola square and check-in with a reservation agent at the gondola.

Executive Chef:
Joe Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your special event at the top of the gondola and enjoy Hazie"s signature cuisine and ambiance.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsey Yochem: (970) 871-5162

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hazie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Really great service from Courtney! The turkey sandwich and french dip were great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The view is what your going there for. The food is really no better than the food courts on the mountain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Have been dining here for years but unfortunately, I'm no longer going to waste my money. This was just the last hope that my previous experiences would have been different. The service was slow and the food was brought home for the dog to enjoy. Last straw was the coffee. Come to the table stone cold. 2 mins later - hot coffee. Did not think you could make coffee in two minutes. Thinking it was just put in the microwave. My husband who never sends anything back did for the first time in our 25 year marriage. Too bad we were celebrating our daughter's 16th birthday by not enjoying our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was good but not great. My entree was undercooked but, more important, both of ours were delivered at room temperature. The biggest issue was time - we were seated at 7:15, drinks were delivered about 20 minutes later, soup/ salad arrived at 8:15, entrees did not arrive until just before 9:00--fully 30 minutes after our first course was done. My wife and kids ate very quickly and then left to catch the last 9:30 gondola to Trailhead while I stuck around to bring dessert home, which arrived at 9:25. It then took 20 minutes to pay and I was headed down the gondola, alone, at 9:45. A three course meal should not take 2.5 hours when the bulk of that time is spent waiting for tepid food. The waitress was apologetic but a $250 meal for two adults and two kids shouldn't be this flawed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience during the gondola ride, dining, atmospheric scenery. However, finding the location to get on the gondola was tricky. I think it is taken for granted that the dining customer is familiar with the location. We were not skiers. We were only dining customers and not from the area. There was just a hand written sign to signify where to catch the gondola to Hazie's. We had to overlook the loud noise of patrons as well, but overall it was an experience to recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My family skis Steamboat every year. And every year I book a Hazie’s reservation every day for lunch. This year after the first three days, I cancelled the remaining three reservations and lunched at Stoker's instead. In years past, when we needed a change from the menu, we were able to choose the soup/salad bar as a change, but last week the soup/salad bar was closed. This was rather disappointing. I did enjoy the beet salad, soup of the day, Hamachi Crudo, and the duck wings were also consistently good. The Caesar salad was small considering the price tag and the Mac and Cheese had too strong of a fish taste from the caviar (and I like caviar). Overall disappointing from what we have experienced in the past. The service was consistently outstanding. I hope that next year the food will return to the greatness it once was and that we spend all of our lunches dining at Hazie's once again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was good but not what I would have chosen for two families. Only option is a three course meal for adults and kids is optional entree or three course meal. I and my friends couldn't tell
That by the menu or looking online or else we wouldn't have made reservations. It ended up a very expensive dinner for our first dining experience in Steamboat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

An eclectic menu doesn't overcome poor cooking skills. My medium steak was seared rare. I didn't send it back, but cooking a filet isn't that hard. The sides were equally flawed. They worked hard to accommodate our kids, and the service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The took special care to make my daughters birthday amazing! The wait staff is friendly and attentive. Food is delicious and creative! View is beautiful. No detail was overlooked. Highly recommended for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Exquisite meals! This chef is awesome and unfortunately leaving after this season. Come before he leaves. The view is spthat ctacular and so was the service. 5 stars

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our favorite restraurant in The Boat! Love getting to see Jack!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Hazel is amazing!! Best chef ever! The food will delight and astound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food, high quality ingredients, great view and excellent service.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Tenderloin was cut in w r ird crosswise manner and was tough and poorly cooked
Dessert was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful place with friends and or family. Fantastic view too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We dined in the evening, and it was so delightful to have the lights below both obscured by clouds and then viola! Lights! A nice, romantic dinner with my husband.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was really slow. Unfortunately, we didn't love the food.

Location is beautiful. After waiting so long for expensive food we didn't enjoy, our ability to appreciate the magnificent view waned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Incredible views! Hostess was great and we were seated right away. Loved the setting a nice mid-day break from skiing. Food pricey and ok, but would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was amazing. Due to lighting the huge windows reflect the light and we didn't get a chance to enjoy the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was absolutely one of the best meals I have ever had! We started with cocktails at the bar that were all wonderful. Then when we were seated we began the meal with two appetizers before the set three courses. Both the squash and calamari are must haves! They were incredible! After that all four of us had the chefs creation of a salad that was Thai inspired, everyone of us absolutely loved it! For our entrees one had the beef tenderloin, which I have had at hazies before it is to die for, and two had the elk which they said was perfectly cooked and very tasty. I had the duck and let me just say, if you find yourself in here for dinner, GET THE DUCK!! It was delicious. Onto dessert, the destructed cheesecake is so good you must try it. I mean there's politics in it!! When you leave instead of the usual after dinner mint they give you house made cotton candy, which I think is a nice touch. Overall I would say, if you are looking to have a nice dinner that will please everyone of your taste buds in every course, book your reservation for Hazies now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We've been coming up skiing every year for the past 25 years, Ragnars was our lunch spot until we learned the Chef had moved to Hazie's. We could definitely see the difference and now we eat lunch, every day that we ski, at Hazie's. We love the consistency in service, ambience and the food. We especially love the creativity of the chef!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentine's dinner ( married for 40 years) and it was a very good choice.The food was very good ( not superlative) but very good.Everybody made a real effort to make this evening enjoyable for the guests and looking over the Yampa valley and Steamboat at night adds a special ambience.The gondola ride, especially, the ride down adds a little fun excitement and makes the evening memorable.Perhaps something different than just going to one of the usual Steamboat restaurants.Overall something I recommend as a once and while experience.
300-400$ includes the gondola ride/2 people

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Incredible atmosphere, excellent service, food was good and unique, but prices are outrageous.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great way to warm up and enjoy this view and great food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Perfect view, food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I always enjoy Hazie's as a midday rest on a great ski day in the 'boat. The food was delicious, they have a great wine list, and the service was outstanding. I look forward to my next Hazie's lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for our anniversary and had a great experience. Food and service were wonderful and the views of the town below were spectacular.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Rachel and Matt made our dining experience very enjoyable. Thank you so much!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

All the ingredients of a good restaurant, but poor execution on most fronts. Totally overpriced for what you get in the end. The service and staff were very polite, but that's where the good ends. Having now been, I have no desire to ever revisit this establishment & would urge others to go to one of the many other fine eateries in town - this one is not worth your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful view, gondola ride was sweet with blankets and nice crew, the waitstaff was educated and accommodating about the menu and wines. Best Creme Brûlée in Steamboat....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great views over the valley after a cold ride on the Gondola (They DO give you a blanket). WHile the food is great, It is $$$$ .

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice view, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best view and chef created food. A must do in Steamboat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The view from Hazie's is spectacular, and the menu is varied and generally quite good. For a modest premium over eating in the food court at Thunderhead, you can have a relaxing sit-down meal at the restaurant. The quality and value of Hazie's and Ragnar's (at Rendezvous Saddle) make mid-mountain dining at Steamboat a pleasure rather than a hassle to be endured.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was delightful. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The evening was clear and beautiful making the gondola ride awesome with the view of Christmas lights all over Steamboat Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great as always but very disappointed in the changes in the salad bar. Used to love all of the salad options . Not crazy about the heavy entrees that have over taken the "salad options." There was only a very small bowl of Ceaser salad offered and two pasta options loaded with onions and sauce. This is what has kept our crew coming back in the past.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The view is spectacular. And the service is great. Try the soup/salad bar at lunch during ski season. It's pricey but it's all you can eat.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

From Pop Rocks on Patè paired with excellent service to incredible views, this has to be one of the best and most creative meals I've ever had with my family. My family and I are all hospitality industry rats and we were completely blown away.

Everything else in the Boat is incomparable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you go to Steamboat and you don't visit this place, you have definitely cheated yourself! Between the beautiful gondola ride up the mountain and the stunning views of the Yampa Valley, to the service and food, everything about this place is special! I loved the pork belly appetizer, and the duck that I had for my entree was outstanding! The service was impeccable as well. Can't say enough great things about my experience!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This place came highly recommended by a friend so I finally made it up to try it out. Even though my date never showed I was not disappointed. I started with a butternut squash soup which was more or a seafood stew that was poured table side. It had clams, mussels, radish, and baby turnips and was plated beautifully. I loved every bite of it!
Next I had the compressed melon salad which came highly recommended by my waiter. It had watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew and some other melon I wasn't familiar with. It also had walnuts, blue cheese and multiple dressings drizzled beautifully around the plate, At first sight you may not know where to begin, but once you do you realize that every flavor works together so well.
For dinner I had the smoked scallops and was pleasantly surprised to have the executive chef himself delivered it to my table under a glass dome with the smoke still trapped underneath. I couldn't wait to start eating it, it was so good I can't recall all the other ingredients. The scallops were cooked perfectly!
Then for dessert I told my waiter to surprise me they had 3 choices and all of them sounded delicious. He came out with the deconstructed cheesecake. And let me tell you even with how full I was I probably could have eaten 4 of these! Not because they are small but because they are amazing. It had a bed of crumbled crust, a scoop of cheese cake that was actually surprisingly light and a scoop of sorbet. There was a few different things crumbled on top too. The waiter had told me it had pop rocks (YES POP ROCKS) on top as well. Sounds odd, but once I took my first bite, even with knowing they were there I was surprised at how it played off the dish.
I was there days ago and I am still raving about it to my friends and showing them pictures or how beautiful everything was! If you are coming to Steamboat during the summer or winter season this is a place you really just have to make time for. It is perfect for a romantic date night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.