About Hazie's

2305 Mt Werner Circle
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

A culinary delight with an incredible view. Daily lunch service for skiers and non-skiers. (Lift ticket or footpass required.) For dinner service board the Gondola from 6:00pm – 8:30pm for an elegant dinner with the best views in the valley. Hazie's features a prix fixe three course dinner and a la carte lunch. Appetizers and cocktails are also available at the bar. Please see Steamboat.com/hazies for pricing information.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 8:30pm With additional nights during the holidays.

Winter Lunch served daily.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 871-5170

Website:
http://www.steamboat.com/things-to-do/dining-details/hazies.aspx

Parking Details:
Lunch: Parking in the structure lot is $25. Free parking is available from the Meadow's Shuttle Lot.
Dinner: Parking in the structure lot is $7 or take the free city bus to the transportation center. Your reservation time is your gondola load time.

Public Transit:
Free city buses and hotel shuttles stop at the Transportation Center. Walk through gondola square and check-in with a reservation agent at the gondola.

Executive Chef:
Joe Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your special event at the top of the gondola and enjoy Hazie"s signature cuisine and ambiance.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsey Yochem: 9708715162x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hazie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Steamboat Springs ›

scenic view (27)
special occasion (17)
romantic (15)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food with a great view

Dined on April 3, 2016

We weren't expecting to be blown away by the food after reading some of the reviews. We were eating there for the gondola ride and the view during dinner. However, the food was excellent and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely build this in each trip back to steamboat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The food at Hazies is creative, beautifu ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food at Hazies is creative, beautiful, and delicious. I've had lunch and dinner there, on separate occasions, and they both were excellent visits! The buffalo tartare is a must-have. The beet salad was divine. I cannot stop thinking about it. Don't let the outdated decor fool you, this place is on their game.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

HAZIES AT THE TOP OF STEAMBOAT'S GONDOLA

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Extraordinary food, service and ambiance! Can't beat the sunset and view of the Steamboat valley at the top off the Gondola! It was our grand finale to our wonderful Springbreak week in Steamboat Colorado! Highly recommend Hazies for a high-end dinner or a lunch/brunch while you are skiing or in the summer!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Can't say enough great things about it. Spectacular view, wonderful food, (kale salad was to die for), excellent service (we had two under 6 with us). All in all wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Dishes were not as expected. Smoked salm ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Dishes were not as expected. Smoked salmon Caesar had chunks of salmon and too much cheese. Squash appetizer was Small but good. Chicken and waffles was dry and wasn't served with syrup.

food2
ambience5
service5

Great view and service. Food definitel ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Great view and service. Food definitely not the best on the mountain

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The way to eat while skiing

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food, great view. Sitting on top of the mountain enjoying finer dining while skiing will spoil you for life. And what a view!!!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The better the view the worse the food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great view, but food wasn't what I'd expect for the price. My steak was actually straight up cold as were my vegetables, not to mention it was bland... Our crab legs were supposed to come out with our meal, but came out after, at least they were warm though. Our dessert was something that came out of a frozen package or perhaps a costco deal. I'll never recommend or go to this place again.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Go for the view

Dined on March 13, 2016

From the moment one boards the gondola to the restaurant, the view is magnificent. Alas, the restaurant is not comparable to the view. Our party of 4 adults was non-plussed by the meal. The menu tries too hard to deliver a gastronomic delight, but the kitchen isn't up to the task. The food combinations were unusual, rather than delicious. Some offerings on the plate were downright mysterious and not rewarding. We ordered the duck, the bison and the scallops. No one felt any of these entrees were "top caliber". The desserts suffer the same fate: ornate, but not tasty. Definitely a place to visit once for the view, but not a place to return to for a delicious meal.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Very slow service even though not busy

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Hazies used to be fantastic food on the mountain. We always made a point to go for lunch periodically when skiing. Our last lunch last season was at Hazies and it was great. This time was our visit this season The service was slow, menu limited, portions small. We waited for 40 minutes for our meal, and the soup came with the entrees. The food was tasty although the soup was flat. Definitely up to the standards or the last 25 years. We were very disappointed. It is now off our list.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Hazie's in Steamboat Springs, CO

Dined on March 4, 2016

A unique setting featuring a 10 minute gondola ride up to mid-mountain where the restaurant is perched overlooking the Yampa Valley and downtown Steamboat Springs. Game is most heavily featured on the price fix 3 course menu and while the food is above average it's not spectacular. The attentive service and overall ambiance, however, offset that for me and make it very worthwhile. I always get a reservation there when in Steamboat and have dined there at least a dozen times. One of those places where you could have a great time with a large group or just have a romantic dinner for two, not to mention, that on that long gondola ride back down to the base you could technically join the mile high club.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MIND = BLOWN

Dined on February 28, 2016

We arrived around 6pm and started our evening out with a few apps. Each dish had deep complex flavors that made for inspired culinary conversation around the table. Our wine paired perfectly with our meal, and the service was excellent all night despite a completely packed house. Steaks were cooked to perfection, seafood was fresh, the duck entree was mind blowing. Definitely an experience to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service1

We were rushed to sit only to have servi ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We were rushed to sit only to have service be slow. We waited longer than normal at every step of the dining experience. Empty drinks, empty water, finished plates in front of us even as our server walked past empty handed. The view isn't worth all of that. This is the second year in a row we were less than pleased. We go to Steamboat every year and will not be returning to Hazies.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 26, 2016

My husband and I went back to Steamboat Springs to celebrate out 40th wedding anniversary as we spent our honeymoon there in 1976. We decided to go out for a special dinner and chose this special restaurant for the ambiance and food. I was disappointed by the food, but the atmosphere was lovely! I would not go back again as the food was not worth the price. Slow service!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I say "Wonderful Experience", because that's what it truly was. From the gondola ride up the mountain at night seeing the entire valley glowing below like a golden river, to the incredible dishes executive chef Joe Campbell prepares. It was fantastic. The way the serving staff showed such enthusiasm about each course highlights the skill with which each dish was prepared. The balance between ingredients is akeen to a painter using just the right color to bring forth an emotion. What Joe creates here is what every other restaurant attempts, and rarely achieves. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

First time here - I think the best thing ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

First time here - I think the best thing you can say about this restaurant is that the views from the mountain can be nice and riding up the gondola is also fun. Aside from that though, the restaurant is old and out of date, the bar selections are mediocre and the food and service is below par for the steep prices that they charge.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dinner!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Every course of food was wonderfully presented with true artistry. The flavors and preparation were all top notch and the service was excellent. The wine list is great and the gondola ride up the mountain with the view of the town is always a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, and total experience!

Dined on February 16, 2016

My first experience at Hazie's was satisfying from start to finish!!! I would recommend Hazie's to EVERYONE that lives here and all the visitors have to experience what this Chef has to offer. I have been in the restaurant industry for a very long time and I would have to say that this experience has surpassed all others. From the start, we were greeted with fresh and happy faces. Every step of this night seemed so seamless and relaxed. We sat at a table with a view to die for. Jeremy was our server and he knew all the answers, timed out all of our wine and food perfectly and was very enjoyable. Now on to the food! I will attempt to put into words how beautiful, creative and delicious everything was, but my suggestion is to try it for yourself!!! We tried several appetizers including a duck sausage that was an explosion of flavor and like nothing I had taste before. I would order this every time. The beet salad, which was beet 3 ways (pickled, roasted and pureed) included creamy goat cheese. The preparation, plating and taste were all so perfect. I enjoyed the lobster bisque and we had the sea bass and the elk dish. We went back and forth tasting each others entrees, never decided which was better and enjoyed every single bite! To top it all off, we were able to fit a chocolate tort that was creamy, decadent and a perfect ending to an experience I will never forget. Since I have moved to Steamboat, I haven't had anything that compares to what the chef and his team have been able to create. You can feel the passion, experience and patience that is put into every part of what Hazie's has to offer. Trust me, and then trust the staff at Hazie's to blow your mind with incredible food, service and view!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful Romantic Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful Romantic Valentine Dinner. Each course of the five course dinner was exquisitely prepared and presented. The entire staff was most friendly and very helpful. We live in Steamboat and make sure the we go to Hazie's as often as possible. The entire evening from the gondola ride up to the amazing view and the exquisite dining is a must do dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The dinner and atmosphere was extraordinary. We were there on vacation and didn't know anything about Hazie's. Glad we chose this restaurant to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on February 7, 2016

A really good gourmet restaurant, with excellent and friendly service, at the top of ski mountain with a 50-mile view?! Wow!! And you don't even need skis to get there (gondola accessible)!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

From the bar, their cucumber Cosmopolit ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

From the bar, their cucumber Cosmopolitan with their own cucumber infused vodka and the oysters with caviar... plus outstanding ambiance, delightful service and gourmet food combined to make a very memorable evening our special occasions!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Overall Dining Experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The service was fantastic - waitstaff very friendly and informed about the menu. The timing of the meal was perfect - enough time to enjoy each course without feeling rushed or hungry when the next course arrived. The food was amazing! Everything was perfectly prepared, and flavor parings were delicious, traditional course with a modern taste flair. We had Sea Bass, Lamb, Beef Tenderloin and all were cooked as ordered to perfection. The Cesar salad was great - traditionally made with anchovy paste and an anchovy on the fresh greens; perfect amount of dressing tossed in, so fresca! We had 3 kids with us, there was a children's menu option with good variety and reasonably priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

I love Hazie's, but the portions were a bit small.

Dined on January 17, 2016

I was bummed to be the only person who had to remind the waitress - twice - that I was waiting for my drink. Otherwise, the experience was great because we were able to make a reservation, and meet our group of 11 for a mid-day meal. We had too many people to ski together - and varying skill levels, but we were all able to meet and have a table waiting for us for lunch with a terrific view which was great.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great food and attentive service!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Our reservation was for 2:30 and we were delayed because all parties did not have ski passes and we needed a Gondola ticket. The Management was wonderful and kept the kitchen open for us. We had a wonderful experience that I worried would be rushed, but it was not. Pricey, but worth every penny and the food was totally photo worthy!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing!

Dined on January 9, 2016

We thought this would be a great experience, taking the gondola and eating on the mountain but it was really disappointing. The food was average but really expensive. The noise level was so high that we couldn't hear each other talking and in the end we gave up trying to have a conversation. The waiter made a huge deal out of the fact that we did not want water with our meal? He also made it pretty obvious that we were 2nd class citizens because we were only drinking coke and not ordering expensive alcohol drinks.

food4
ambience5
service

The venue and food was great. The servic ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

The venue and food was great. The service was terrible from checking in to paying. The wait staff was great however the manager was "over his skis" and the back of the house was apparently out of control.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on January 2, 2016

We dined at Hazie's for dinner on New Year's Day 2016. It was such a disappointment. The service was unbelievably slow. We waited about an hour after arrival for the first food to appear on our table. (We ordered appetizers with our drink order soon after sitting down). Salads took another hour to arrive. Our entrees were almost as slow. The restaurant was pretty full and there were times when we didn't see a single server on the floor. Our appetizers/entrees were cooked well and had excellent flavor but were only lukewarm or even on the cold side. We didn't dare send anything back...we didn't want to wait any longer! Our desserts also had good flavor but lacked imagination. Of the three choices, two were of a "deconstructed" theme and two had pop rocks (!) on them. Also, the decor of the restaurant is very dated. As I said we were very disappointed with our meal at Hazie's. The view on the gondola ride is spectacular to be sure but doesn't offset the negatives.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended - we really enjoyed a ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Highly recommended - we really enjoyed a nice dinner for New Years Eve. The food was outstanding as was the service.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced 3 1/2 hour dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined at Hazie's on New Year's Eve. This restaurant was the slowest I have ever ate at. Our waiter was very helpful and the other waitresses were on it with water and bread but the courses took and hour in between each one. It was billed as a 6 course prefix dinner. I think they counted bread and cocktails as two of the courses. I enjoyed my meal and my company. I've ate at the best restaurants in the US so paying $700 for 4 people want shocking. This restaurant needs a major overhaul in decor and they need to figure out a faster way to serve the meals.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

New Years eve

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I along with our 12 year old son had a early New Year's Eve dinner during our week in steamboat. The view was amazing and the restaurant was quiet and pleasant. The food was above average for the adults and s bit overpriced. But given the view we were okay with it. The children's meal was a joke. $80 for undercooked small bowl of pasta and a salad and a small dessert. Really - should.have been half or even free with adult meals. Would recommend hazies for drinks and the view.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service and food very poor, nice gondola ride

Dined on December 31, 2015

The Gondola ride was nice, but the service and food very poor. They came with the main dish when the appetizers were still on the table. They didn't clean out the table. They didn't bring us the bread with the appetizer (soup and salad), just after asking 3 times with the main dish when we didn't need it anymore. The potatoes where like bricks, so undercooked and we had to wait a very long time with all the mess on the table (we asked them 3 times to clear the table) before we had our deserts, while we were with a 7 year old who really needed to go to bed after 2,5 hours sitting and waiting.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Hazies was a disappointing expensive experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

We are locals here in Steamboat and have been to Hazies before and have had a great experience. We took our parents for a Christmas celebration. The gondola ride was fun. The service staff was completely inexperienced to work at what should be a high caliber restaurant. Our aperitif (sparkling wine) was served after the appetizer was on the table. There was no soup spoon set when soup was ordered for the first course. We ordered a bottle of wine with our main course which we we were still waiting for when the food arrived. All at our table ordered meat main courses and we had to request knives and wait for their delivery before we could begin eating. The menu was very limited. The dessert menu was a joke, like their audience was preschool aged. it included a "deconstructed" cheese cake with a blob of uncooked sweet cheese filling next to a mound of crushed graham crackers and a small scoop of raspberry sorbet. The next choice was two ice cream sandwiches, one of which was rolled in PoP Rocks candy, the third was a "deconstructed" s'more. Quite disappointing. The salads and entrees were fine, but nothing special. It was certainly not worth the price at the end of the meal!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful views! They did a great job w ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Wonderful views! They did a great job with our large group. Food was good and presentation was beautiful. If you are not skiing, just be prepared to pay for a gondola ticket to get up there.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Sassylassy

Dined on December 29, 2015

While the overall experience was very good, the menu is limited with few vegetarian options. I usually get the buffet, however, the options on this particular day were not to my liking. They do offer gluten free options which were quite good. The waitstaff were very friendly and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. Excellent service.

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Great brunch. Excellent service.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great location

Dined on December 25, 2015

We went here for brunch on Christmas Day. It's a lovely gondola ride up the mountain and a great spot for a restaurant. The setting is perfect and the staff are lovely. It was a buffet though and the food was very average. They were continually replacing the food so I'm not sure what the problem was but it was lukewarm to cold and really not enjoyable. Some of it looked great and it probably would've been quite nice if hot and fresh. Even the hot water for the tea was only just warm and no one enjoys a cold tea. It was very disappointing at $69 per person and some members of our group were quite upset with it. The chocolate fountain was awesome.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Worst brunch ever

Dined on December 25, 2015

Let me first say I NEVER write reviews (good or bad). This was the smallest, nastiest brunch I have ever had. There was a very limited amount of food and what was available was just not good. At $70 a pop for Christmas brunch I was expecting a little more than hard, flat french toast.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the ambiance was superb. Unfortunately our server was very busy with multiple tables and checked back with us 'Did you get your food?', 'Did you get your soup?' ... The beef tenderloin was under cooked and frozen in the middle. It was overpriced for the quality of service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Disappointment

Dined on December 24, 2015

We have dined at Hazie's every year for the last ten ski vacations. The food choices were slim, but the view is spectacular. This year, service was slow, the order was inaccurate and much of the steak was not edible.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.