Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Haydens Post

Serving as a beacon for the comfort–seeking traveler, Haydens Post, a restaurant and bar, at the newly renovated Snow King Hotel in Jackson, WY, encompasses all that is Wyoming. With a lively and vibrant atmosphere, Haydens Post is the heart, a basecamp and gathering place for the discerning customer. Evoking a sense of warmth, sophistication and authenticity, Haydens Post is a restaurant locals and hotel guests can enjoy year-round. A robust cocktail, beer and wine list rounds out the Wyoming-focused menu.

400 East Snow King Ave
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:30am to 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am to 3:00pm
Dinner: 5:00pm to 10:00pm (Friday & Saturday. 11:00pm)
Bar: 12:00pm to 2:00am
Lounge Dining: 2:00pm to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Snow King Loop Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-3187

Website:
http://www.snowking.com/restaurants/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Haydens Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Quiet

67% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place is fine. Nothing really special. We went for lunch so maybe dinner is better. The service was great and the waitress was friendly and efficient. Buy dang expensive to have food served in plastic baskets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the breakfast buffet which was disappointing and I thought the food was cold. Lite bites and drinks were good. Burgers, Club croissant fantastic.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our only negatives were slow service, but friendly. We asked for bread, she said they didn't have dinner rolls, but she would see what she could do. She brought us 2 slices of white bread cut in quarters.🙂 Our meal was great, trout and the bison steak. We also ate breakfast there are last day, again slow but friendly service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was the worst dining experience we have ever experienced. From the moment we entered the restaurant nothing was good. It was pleasant with nice outside seating but that was the extent of it.

I can't even begin to write all of the things that happened but we ended up waiting for drinks for over 25 minutes (mind you they weren't even that busy). Then they weren't what we ordered. Never did receive our 1st course Caesar Salad & just left at that point.

If I were you I wouldn't even want to be associated with this incompetent group! By the way you forced me to give at least one star for each category which was way too high of a rating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We stayed at the hotel and ate at Haydens post for breakfast, lunch and dinner! We really enjoyed all of it! Great food and service and rustic but good quality atmosphere! Loved it!!!! Thanks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Early season blues. We were promptly seated in a fairly empty restaurant. It took 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive. Waiter didn't know the difference between short ribs and prime rib. Salads arrived with dinner, not before and pizza was burned. I hope the staff can pick up the pace for summer.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was really quite fine. Amy, our server, was attentive, friendly, but professional. Huge burger for my son-in-law. Salads quite nice. A private party in the bar area (Benchmark executives from other properties converged on Snow King) was awesome, with gun slingers, sushi chef, local gin/vodka tasting, western music. Only problem: pretty loud and kept us from having a good conversation with old friends visiting Jackson. We tried to crash the party with no luck.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the restaurant it was closed because the hotel was closed for the season. Apparently OpenTable had not been notified and allowed us to make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've eaten at Hayden's Post many times and the food does not disappoint. The decor is what I would call "Jackson Hole Modern," totally made that up. From many seats, you can watch skiers coming down from one of Snow King's runs. Service is casual yet good. I have ordered or tasted almost everything on the breakfast menu, all solid. For dinner this last time, I had the pork chops on a bed of grits with okra and tomatoes, it was tender, unique, and delicious. My husband had the Bison NY Strip, and our friend ordered the St. Louis Ribs. Everything was cooked perfectly and nice portions. Great for apres-ski, a special dinner, or just cocktails. The bar is in the same, open space. Delicious cocktails, a cozy fireplace, and lively. The menu changes slightly with the seasons, so check out the menu on Snow King's website, not ones posted on 3rd-party websites. I have enjoyed live music here on weekend nights, but this last trip there wasn't any. Hopefully that was a fluke. Service while seated at the bar could improve, but dining area service was very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We Ordered old fashions for a beverage and they came out with grenadine as an ingredient in them. We ended up leaving after returning our drink order. not enough staff unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Shared a beet and pear salad...nicely presented and very generous portions and delicious. Butternut bisque soup was mild flavor and good for first course. Sea bass and pork chop entrees were tasty! Can't get over the panna cotta we ordered for dessert...had a layer on top with tiny amount of chocolate ganache drizzled. Removed the layer as we couldn't break it apart with a fork and knife and which we were told was white chocolate. It was frozen! Disappointment. The "pudding" was delicious. Person waiting on table should have removed dessert when we asked what was the HARD layer and zapped it in the microwave. Did nothing responding to us.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Salad Nicoise was excellent, a nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I recently stayed at the resort that Haydens Post is located and with all the great dining options in Jackson I hadn't given much thought to eating there. After a late day at Jackson Hole I decided it was too cold to venture out and opted to eat "in". What an amazingly pleasant surprise! I'm an avid snowboarder and have been to most major resorts in North America and have had my share of mediocre resort restaurant meals. Not so at Haydens. Had the Bison NY steak as my main and it was cooked to perfection. Timing, temperature and presentation were perfect, including the sides. Highly recommend dining whether staying at the resort or not!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service very slow (restaurant half empty so not sure why)
Food good but not worth the price
$12 salad was not worth it
Despite this Drinks were good and service quite friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terrible service. Took over 20 minutes to be seated even though there were many open tables and servers. Turned out manager was the only one who could seat diners and he disappeared - staff couldn't find him. They were out of a lot of different dishes. Took forever for food to come out and it didn't come out all at once. To top it off, some of the food was barely warm. We will not be going back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Hostess is the worst. Messed up our reservations twice. Luckily no issues with getting table. Food was good and servers attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I got the double pork chops. When I started to eat, and tasted them, it reminded me when my father used to barbecue by squeezing starter fluid on the coal to get the fire going. And after doing that, it would leave an after taste and that's exactly what those pork chops reminded me of. The whole meal which included squash and okra, tasted all the same. I didn't bother to eat everything which I hate to do because I do not like to waste food. But this food was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner at Hayden's Post. The restaurant was packed and they were extremely busy. The food was great and our server was very attentive even though she had many tables. Love the atmosphere at Hayden's Post: The big windows, high ceilings, and the gorgeous, big fireplace. It was the perfect restaurant for our Holiday dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was the most civilized Thanksgiving dinner I've ever (and I'm in my seventies). Our food was served to us! No standing in lines at a buffet; no catching up with conversations when returning to the table; this was the ultimate way to Thanksgiving! Prime rib and Turkey with traditional sides were excellent and plentiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This place is not open for the season yet so we wasted time and missed out on having a reservation for restaurants that are open because this one was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Host did not have our reservation, your fault? Waiter was friendly but untrained and hard to understand. Some of the dishes were luke warm. Not our best experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Not good service...took a long time for wait staff to get our drink order. Staff had a hard time communicating with each other & us.
We odered Caesar salad, special soup...not edible. My husband had the steak...that was ok! We had just come off of a 12 hour tour of Yellowstone...thought it was a good idea to eat at the hotel...should have gone into town like the night before, ate at Snake River Grill...excellent ! Go there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great steak at a reasonable price. Both our dinners were very good. Waitress was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our online reservation worked perfectly, and the manager had a special table selected and ready for us. The manager paid attention to us all evening long to make sure we were satisfied, and it was completely genuine attention. Our server was equally gracious and attentive, offering patient explanations to all of our questions regarding menu items. Her drink recommendations were spot on, and the dinner was excellent, from cheese board appetizer to complimentary dessert. The dinner offerings were creative and perfectly prepared. It was difficult to choose because they all looked appealing. It was a completely satisfactory dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was marvelous, and our waiter was really engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We really liked the smoked prime rib. The recent product is really quite flavorless and the price was increased from $20 to $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2015

I am sure the food on a normal night would have been great. But the dinner for new years was very amateur, with rare table service for drinks and water, tables not receiving proper sides like bread ect. Then food not being prepared properly like rare steak instead of medium.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2015

The staff were warm and accommodating. The menu items looked like high end menu choices. Unfortunately, the taste didn't match the description.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2015

We are visiting Jackson, Wy and staying at the Snow King Lodge, so Haydens Post was a perfect choice for dinner with good food and service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2015

We were staying in the hotel, so we thought we would eat at this hotel restaurant for convenience, rather than going into Jackson. We should have picked one of the restaurants in town. The prime rib for the special was pretty good, but the rest of the food was disappointing. The service at this dinner was largely inattentive. At breakfast the next day, it was a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2015

The menu on line was very different than the dinner menu we were given. The entrees were different and much less appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2015

grab a relaxed beer with a great view, and a burger that hits the spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 13, 2015

Good food and great atmosphere. A little confusion with the menu since we were early diners but got past it and had an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 23, 2015

Prime rib special was EXCELLENT! I have never had a bad meal here and am looking forward to many more...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 27, 2015

Blaze and Kelly were great both nights, but your sound system is not very good. Had fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 29, 2014

All wait staff can be overheard talking bad about their guests from the computers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 25, 2014

We loved our breakfast here, but our server was less than pleased to be serving us. Scenic view as the snow came down on snow king.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. Enjoyed our Christmas dinner with friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere, very good food and nice presentation. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 21, 2014

Bus load of elderly people in dining room eating a smorgasbord and obnoxiously loud band. But food was better than we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2014

With the many great restaurant choices in Jackson, you could find a better choice. Seemed like a good idea at the time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.