About Haydens Post

400 East Snow King Ave
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Serving as a beacon for the comfort–seeking traveler, Haydens Post, a restaurant and bar, at the newly renovated Snow King Hotel in Jackson, WY, encompasses all that is Wyoming. With a lively and vibrant atmosphere, Haydens Post is the heart, a basecamp and gathering place for the discerning customer. Evoking a sense of warmth, sophistication and authenticity, Haydens Post is a restaurant locals and hotel guests can enjoy year-round. A robust cocktail, beer and wine list rounds out the Wyoming-focused menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
6:30am to 11pm Daily

Cross Street:
Snow King Loop Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-3187

Website:
http://www.snowking.com/restaurants/

Executive Chef:
Matt Arter

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Haydens Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
special occasion (2)
See All
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (1)
fit for foodies (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good for groups (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steak at a reasonable price. Both ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great steak at a reasonable price. Both our dinners were very good. Waitress was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Anniversary dinner exceeded expectations

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our online reservation worked perfectly, and the manager had a special table selected and ready for us. The manager paid attention to us all evening long to make sure we were satisfied, and it was completely genuine attention. Our server was equally gracious and attentive, offering patient explanations to all of our questions regarding menu items. Her drink recommendations were spot on, and the dinner was excellent, from cheese board appetizer to complimentary dessert. The dinner offerings were creative and perfectly prepared. It was difficult to choose because they all looked appealing. It was a completely satisfactory dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was marvelous, and our waiter w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The food was marvelous, and our waiter was really engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime rib quality has slipped

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We really liked the smoked prime rib. The recent product is really quite flavorless and the price was increased from $20 to $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Interesting New Years Eve Dinner

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I am sure the food on a normal night would have been great. But the dinner for new years was very amateur, with rare table service for drinks and water, tables not receiving proper sides like bread ect. Then food not being prepared properly like rare steak instead of medium.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Only OK

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

The staff were warm and accommodating. The menu items looked like high end menu choices. Unfortunately, the taste didn't match the description.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, beautiful view

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We are visiting Jackson, Wy and staying at the Snow King Lodge, so Haydens Post was a perfect choice for dinner with good food and service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

We were staying in the hotel, so we thought we would eat at this hotel restaurant for convenience, rather than going into Jackson. We should have picked one of the restaurants in town. The prime rib for the special was pretty good, but the rest of the food was disappointing. The service at this dinner was largely inattentive. At breakfast the next day, it was a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Menu error

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2015

The menu on line was very different than the dinner menu we were given. The entrees were different and much less appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great spot with good food and a laid back feel

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

grab a relaxed beer with a great view, and a burger that hits the spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

none

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

Good food and great atmosphere. A little confusion with the menu since we were early diners but got past it and had an enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Prime rib special was EXCELLENT! I have ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Prime rib special was EXCELLENT! I have never had a bad meal here and am looking forward to many more...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Entertainment

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

Blaze and Kelly were great both nights, but your sound system is not very good. Had fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Girl server(SARA)hates her jobs(ski shop/serving)

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

All wait staff can be overheard talking bad about their guests from the computers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great breakfast, grumpy service

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We loved our breakfast here, but our server was less than pleased to be serving us. Scenic view as the snow came down on snow king.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Holiday Dining

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. Enjoyed our Christmas dinner with friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere, very good food and nice presentation. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Corbie1224

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 22, 2014

Bus load of elderly people in dining room eating a smorgasbord and obnoxiously loud band. But food was better than we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

oops

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2014

With the many great restaurant choices in Jackson, you could find a better choice. Seemed like a good idea at the time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Not so good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Very disappointing. Food was prepared very poorly. Bison burger was asked for med/we'll. it came cold and charged. It was so dry it was impossible to swallow. the 2 bites I tried. Produce in both spinach salad and Caesar was wilted. Mahogany BBQ chicken had been brined and smoked(not stated on menu) and was so salty it couldn't be eaten. Wine and beer were great.

On a good note, we did speak to the manager who insisted not only on taking no payment for the awful meal, but asked us to come back free of charge. He assured us that this was not standard service and he would check on the kitchen.

Other people shared that they have had good food and service. If we were in town longer we would give them a 2nd chance with the managers offer.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Very disappointing for the price. Short ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2014

Very disappointing for the price. Short ribs were basically all fat/no meat and the polenta was lumpy and disappointing. My wife's trout was not only small (seemed like only one side of a fillet), it was overcooked and dried out. Good service and atmosphere couldn't overcome mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Over rated

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 6, 2014

Food quality was very average. Below average for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Not your typical hotel restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

We had dinner here last weekend and were incredibly surprised by everything, considering this is a hotel restaurant. The food was unique & different. The Bison chili was amazing, the Elk Bolognese - delicious and the market tasting of vegetables was a huge portion and freshly prepared & wonderful! We asked the Bartender to recommend a couple drinks and ended up with a Sage & vodka cocktail that was like nothing I've ever had before (going to try and make this one at home) and a Rye whisky cocktail that was perfect for a summer day. The entertainment in the bar was a surprise and was top notch. Definitely recommend this place if you are in Jackson! The staff was friendly, service was spot on and clearly, they have a great chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, nice decor!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 29, 2014

Came in for Mother's Day brunch and had a wonderful time, so I wanted to come back to try the dinner menu. Really liked the music and the interior decor. We dined inside but the outdoor area looked very nice and spacious. A lot of nice wines on the wine menu that I was familiar with and thought the prices were fair. Started with the kettle mac n cheese, which was delicous, and the ceasar salad, which was a very nice ceasar dressing. Had the Elk for my meal, which was wonderful, it was really nice to see a game option on the menu for people who are visiting the area. I hear they have live music on Friday and Saturdays, so I definitely want to check that out sometime!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the first time I have visited H ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 28, 2014

This was the first time I have visited Hayden's Post. I liked the openness. I was a little disturbed with the yard work that was being done. We were there about 12:00 and I do not think the lunch time is the best time to be using a weed string trimmer. It took away from the atmosphere.

The server was very positive and very pleasant. I would return. I am assuming the string trimming doesn't take place daily. If I did experience it again, I would not be back a third time.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Had a wonderful evening here. Great food, wonderful, friendly staff and service. New Chef is doing great things here. Loved it and will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food. Hot Women.

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

I have eaten here a few times. The food is always good and the servers are usually hot. Service is good a

and is definitely improving. Also, the hostess is really hot. The deck was a great choice on a nice. Also, beautiful bussers and bartenders. I will be coming back!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for Dinner on the Deck

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

We had a table of four out on the deck and the view was amazing. We could see the entire town of Jackson and the surrounding mountain range. Would definitely have the salmon flatbread and kettle mac & cheese. These were off the charts. Great food and service and the price was definitely right by Jackson standards.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sevice Needs Help

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

We really like this place and have been several times. Our most recent trip was awful, so bad in fact we left before our food arrived. Once seated, thirty minutes went by before anyone came to take a drink order. It was another fifteen minutes before the drinks arrived. We ordered an appetizer of french fries when our drinks finally came and when they failed to come after another thirty minute wait we left. A table next to us arrived after us and had two rounds of drinks and their food and were done with the meal during our time sitting there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Rustic but played safe

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 7, 2014

We had an early reservation but the servers were already declaring that they were slammed. Decided to try the deviled egg app as it seemed quite a bold statement to put it on the menu, it paired well with the salad we had (ordered separately) probably a note to the chef that a small composed salad would be an improvement to the egg dish. In all the comfort food was well done but the service was at times cold (distant with a European feel, not quite the friendly American west that I would expect) and definitely slow. The wine list is not worth the look, one step above the typical bar choice of "red or white"...though it probably is a dream for the restaurateur when it comes to "no thinking + high margin." Decor is western country club.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great Service!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 7, 2014

We dined at Hayden's Post the night before they closed for the off season. We scored the table by the big windows and were able to watch the beautiful snow falling on the mountains. The food was fabulous! The service was attentive. We had a wonderful time. My husband LOVED the steak and fries. They were delectable!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Pretty Good

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 3, 2014

Haydens Post seems to be really trying to do it right. The interior is modern western, the view's great, and the ambiance is inviting. The service was undeniably excellent. We had steaks, mashed potatoes, truffled parmesan fries, roasted potatoes, mussels, and a bottle of Sean Minor Pinot Noir. All the items we ordered were excellent. All the items were far more reasonably priced than they would otherwise be elsewhere in Teton County. For whatever reason, our roasted mushrooms were forgotten. They brought them out quickly and comped them. I can only make one complaint; the bread. I didn't look at the bill that closely, but I think you may have to pay for the bread, which I can live with. But it wasn't very good in my opinion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Well done steak

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2014

We ordered the steak medium , my sons steak was perfect mine however was overcooked and tough. Overall the price did not match the service or food very disappointed:(

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Where is our server?

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Ok....totally understand being busy and maybe taking a litle longer

than one would like, to get served, but 25 minutes to get our drinks

and 45 to get our food...

Heads up Hayden's....ATLEAST give us some bread and

our drinks immediately....sitting there for 25 for

a glass of wine..REALLY...how long does it take

to pour a glass of wine?

Isn't that service 101..give them bread and drinks asap

and you'll be forgiven for the SLOW service and

average food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

LOVED this restaurant!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 24, 2014

Met my girlfriends for drinks and dinner. Loved the views, the fireplace, and the cozy, fun atmosphere in the bar! We all had the house salad and the salmon special. The salad was incredible! I'll have to say the salmon was the BEST I have ever eaten in my life! I eat salmon in restaurants because I know it's healthy, but I can rarely finish it because it's so rich. The salmon at Hayden's Post was prepared perfectly. I ate every bite! My friends and I vowed to return in a few weeks. We had a wonderful, delicious time!! Kudos to the chef and our wonderful waiter!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant, good food

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 18, 2014

I've eaten a few times at Hayden's Post. This night, service was slow but prior visits have been fine. Food is good, good selection for kids too. Food should have been served a bit hotter, but flavor and presentation excellent. Overall I do recommend and would give it solid 4 star if service was a bit more prompt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Hayden's Post Perfect

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 26, 2013

Excellent place, beautiful room, creative menu and excellent service, easily we'll go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on October 27, 2013

Located at the foot of Snow King ski resort and part of the hotel, Hayden's Post have had great all around reviews -- we were not disappointed..

Food was plentiful, hot, esthetically arranged and tasty, as well as reasonably priced and served with a smile; definitely a keeper!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Upscale and renovated

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 8, 2013

A fresh updated and comfortable look, very modern and mountain-esque. Service was very pleasant and helpful. Views of Snow King Mountain and forest were very nice. Food excellent. i had the burger with cheddar and carmelized onions - very tasty and fries were out of this world. Husband had steak, he enjoyed. Friend had vegetable filled pastry. salads had interesting garnishes and a kick of chipotle honey dressing. We had the bread pudding for dessert, great to share and was really excellent. We will definitely be back.A huge improvement from the former tired and dank bar / restaurant this used to be. Gorgeous and fresh and the food is very good. I'd be back anytime for a burger....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

try it, it very good!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 8, 2013

food was great. we enjoyed the side dishes as well as our entrees. we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Lovely Evening!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 22, 2013

This was our first dinner at the new Hayden's Post and we were pleasantly surprised! Snow King Resort has undergone a huge remodel. This restaurant was part of the big change. We loved sitting outside on the new deck. It was beautiful and peaceful! The service was excellent. I had a delicious salad and the salmon special. Wow! The presentation was fabulous and I thought it was the BEST salmon I had ever tasted. My husband had the steak and fries. Delicious! I can't WAIT to go back and sample some more delicious culinary treats!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.