Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Haydens Post

Serving as a beacon for the comfort–seeking traveler, Haydens Post, a restaurant and bar, at the newly renovated Snow King Hotel in Jackson, WY, encompasses all that is Wyoming. With a lively and vibrant atmosphere, Haydens Post is the heart, a basecamp and gathering place for the discerning customer. Evoking a sense of warmth, sophistication and authenticity, Haydens Post is a restaurant locals and hotel guests can enjoy year-round. A robust cocktail, beer and wine list rounds out the Wyoming-focused menu.

400 East Snow King Ave
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:30am to 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am to 3:00pm
Dinner: 5:00pm to 10:00pm (Friday & Saturday. 11:00pm)
Bar: 12:00pm to 2:00am
Lounge Dining: 2:00pm to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Snow King Loop Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-3187

Website:
http://www.snowking.com/restaurants/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Haydens Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.2

service

3.3

ambience

3.0

value

3.4

noise

Energetic

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (3)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
See All
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was really quite fine. Amy, our server, was attentive, friendly, but professional. Huge burger for my son-in-law. Salads quite nice. A private party in the bar area (Benchmark executives from other properties converged on Snow King) was awesome, with gun slingers, sushi chef, local gin/vodka tasting, western music. Only problem: pretty loud and kept us from having a good conversation with old friends visiting Jackson. We tried to crash the party with no luck.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the restaurant it was closed because the hotel was closed for the season. Apparently OpenTable had not been notified and allowed us to make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I've eaten at Hayden's Post many times and the food does not disappoint. The decor is what I would call "Jackson Hole Modern," totally made that up. From many seats, you can watch skiers coming down from one of Snow King's runs. Service is casual yet good. I have ordered or tasted almost everything on the breakfast menu, all solid. For dinner this last time, I had the pork chops on a bed of grits with okra and tomatoes, it was tender, unique, and delicious. My husband had the Bison NY Strip, and our friend ordered the St. Louis Ribs. Everything was cooked perfectly and nice portions. Great for apres-ski, a special dinner, or just cocktails. The bar is in the same, open space. Delicious cocktails, a cozy fireplace, and lively. The menu changes slightly with the seasons, so check out the menu on Snow King's website, not ones posted on 3rd-party websites. I have enjoyed live music here on weekend nights, but this last trip there wasn't any. Hopefully that was a fluke. Service while seated at the bar could improve, but dining area service was very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We Ordered old fashions for a beverage and they came out with grenadine as an ingredient in them. We ended up leaving after returning our drink order. not enough staff unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Shared a beet and pear salad...nicely presented and very generous portions and delicious. Butternut bisque soup was mild flavor and good for first course. Sea bass and pork chop entrees were tasty! Can't get over the panna cotta we ordered for dessert...had a layer on top with tiny amount of chocolate ganache drizzled. Removed the layer as we couldn't break it apart with a fork and knife and which we were told was white chocolate. It was frozen! Disappointment. The "pudding" was delicious. Person waiting on table should have removed dessert when we asked what was the HARD layer and zapped it in the microwave. Did nothing responding to us.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The Salad Nicoise was excellent, a nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I recently stayed at the resort that Haydens Post is located and with all the great dining options in Jackson I hadn't given much thought to eating there. After a late day at Jackson Hole I decided it was too cold to venture out and opted to eat "in". What an amazingly pleasant surprise! I'm an avid snowboarder and have been to most major resorts in North America and have had my share of mediocre resort restaurant meals. Not so at Haydens. Had the Bison NY steak as my main and it was cooked to perfection. Timing, temperature and presentation were perfect, including the sides. Highly recommend dining whether staying at the resort or not!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service very slow (restaurant half empty so not sure why)
Food good but not worth the price
$12 salad was not worth it
Despite this Drinks were good and service quite friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terrible service. Took over 20 minutes to be seated even though there were many open tables and servers. Turned out manager was the only one who could seat diners and he disappeared - staff couldn't find him. They were out of a lot of different dishes. Took forever for food to come out and it didn't come out all at once. To top it off, some of the food was barely warm. We will not be going back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Hostess is the worst. Messed up our reservations twice. Luckily no issues with getting table. Food was good and servers attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I got the double pork chops. When I started to eat, and tasted them, it reminded me when my father used to barbecue by squeezing starter fluid on the coal to get the fire going. And after doing that, it would leave an after taste and that's exactly what those pork chops reminded me of. The whole meal which included squash and okra, tasted all the same. I didn't bother to eat everything which I hate to do because I do not like to waste food. But this food was awful.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner at Hayden's Post. The restaurant was packed and they were extremely busy. The food was great and our server was very attentive even though she had many tables. Love the atmosphere at Hayden's Post: The big windows, high ceilings, and the gorgeous, big fireplace. It was the perfect restaurant for our Holiday dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was the most civilized Thanksgiving dinner I've ever (and I'm in my seventies). Our food was served to us! No standing in lines at a buffet; no catching up with conversations when returning to the table; this was the ultimate way to Thanksgiving! Prime rib and Turkey with traditional sides were excellent and plentiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This place is not open for the season yet so we wasted time and missed out on having a reservation for restaurants that are open because this one was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Host did not have our reservation, your fault? Waiter was friendly but untrained and hard to understand. Some of the dishes were luke warm. Not our best experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Not good service...took a long time for wait staff to get our drink order. Staff had a hard time communicating with each other & us.
We odered Caesar salad, special soup...not edible. My husband had the steak...that was ok! We had just come off of a 12 hour tour of Yellowstone...thought it was a good idea to eat at the hotel...should have gone into town like the night before, ate at Snake River Grill...excellent ! Go there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great steak at a reasonable price. Both our dinners were very good. Waitress was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our online reservation worked perfectly, and the manager had a special table selected and ready for us. The manager paid attention to us all evening long to make sure we were satisfied, and it was completely genuine attention. Our server was equally gracious and attentive, offering patient explanations to all of our questions regarding menu items. Her drink recommendations were spot on, and the dinner was excellent, from cheese board appetizer to complimentary dessert. The dinner offerings were creative and perfectly prepared. It was difficult to choose because they all looked appealing. It was a completely satisfactory dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2016

The food was marvelous, and our waiter was really engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We really liked the smoked prime rib. The recent product is really quite flavorless and the price was increased from $20 to $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I am sure the food on a normal night would have been great. But the dinner for new years was very amateur, with rare table service for drinks and water, tables not receiving proper sides like bread ect. Then food not being prepared properly like rare steak instead of medium.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The staff were warm and accommodating. The menu items looked like high end menu choices. Unfortunately, the taste didn't match the description.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2015

We are visiting Jackson, Wy and staying at the Snow King Lodge, so Haydens Post was a perfect choice for dinner with good food and service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2015

We were staying in the hotel, so we thought we would eat at this hotel restaurant for convenience, rather than going into Jackson. We should have picked one of the restaurants in town. The prime rib for the special was pretty good, but the rest of the food was disappointing. The service at this dinner was largely inattentive. At breakfast the next day, it was a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2015

The menu on line was very different than the dinner menu we were given. The entrees were different and much less appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2015

grab a relaxed beer with a great view, and a burger that hits the spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 13, 2015

Good food and great atmosphere. A little confusion with the menu since we were early diners but got past it and had an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 24, 2015

Prime rib special was EXCELLENT! I have never had a bad meal here and am looking forward to many more...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 28, 2015

Blaze and Kelly were great both nights, but your sound system is not very good. Had fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 30, 2014

All wait staff can be overheard talking bad about their guests from the computers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 25, 2014

We loved our breakfast here, but our server was less than pleased to be serving us. Scenic view as the snow came down on snow king.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. Enjoyed our Christmas dinner with friendly staff, enjoyable atmosphere, very good food and nice presentation. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2014

Bus load of elderly people in dining room eating a smorgasbord and obnoxiously loud band. But food was better than we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2014

With the many great restaurant choices in Jackson, you could find a better choice. Seemed like a good idea at the time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 16, 2014

Very disappointing. Food was prepared very poorly. Bison burger was asked for med/we'll. it came cold and charged. It was so dry it was impossible to swallow. the 2 bites I tried. Produce in both spinach salad and Caesar was wilted. Mahogany BBQ chicken had been brined and smoked(not stated on menu) and was so salty it couldn't be eaten. Wine and beer were great.
On a good note, we did speak to the manager who insisted not only on taking no payment for the awful meal, but asked us to come back free of charge. He assured us that this was not standard service and he would check on the kitchen.
Other people shared that they have had good food and service. If we were in town longer we would give them a 2nd chance with the managers offer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2014

Very disappointing for the price. Short ribs were basically all fat/no meat and the polenta was lumpy and disappointing. My wife's trout was not only small (seemed like only one side of a fillet), it was overcooked and dried out. Good service and atmosphere couldn't overcome mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2014

Food quality was very average. Below average for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2014

We had dinner here last weekend and were incredibly surprised by everything, considering this is a hotel restaurant. The food was unique & different. The Bison chili was amazing, the Elk Bolognese - delicious and the market tasting of vegetables was a huge portion and freshly prepared & wonderful! We asked the Bartender to recommend a couple drinks and ended up with a Sage & vodka cocktail that was like nothing I've ever had before (going to try and make this one at home) and a Rye whisky cocktail that was perfect for a summer day. The entertainment in the bar was a surprise and was top notch. Definitely recommend this place if you are in Jackson! The staff was friendly, service was spot on and clearly, they have a great chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 29, 2014

Came in for Mother's Day brunch and had a wonderful time, so I wanted to come back to try the dinner menu. Really liked the music and the interior decor. We dined inside but the outdoor area looked very nice and spacious. A lot of nice wines on the wine menu that I was familiar with and thought the prices were fair. Started with the kettle mac n cheese, which was delicous, and the ceasar salad, which was a very nice ceasar dressing. Had the Elk for my meal, which was wonderful, it was really nice to see a game option on the menu for people who are visiting the area. I hear they have live music on Friday and Saturdays, so I definitely want to check that out sometime!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 28, 2014

This was the first time I have visited Hayden's Post. I liked the openness. I was a little disturbed with the yard work that was being done. We were there about 12:00 and I do not think the lunch time is the best time to be using a weed string trimmer. It took away from the atmosphere.

The server was very positive and very pleasant. I would return. I am assuming the string trimming doesn't take place daily. If I did experience it again, I would not be back a third time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.