Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Haven

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car
Valet parking is available Thursday-Saturday

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Tapas (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and the wine was the only saving grace for this meal. The food was bland and incredibly overpriced. We chose to go here on a date night and I’m glad we tried it but we won’t be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the food. Hated the television screen right in our faces, commercials and all

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Lamarl was excellent! Very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Went for the Legacy 4 beer promo (amazing beer) paired with their burger (delicious burger) and got some ceviche, mussels, and dirt pie to fill us up (all great/memorable). Our server, Lamar, made the meal special as well. Friendly, professional. Really good at what he does... Ask for him by name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was amazing and the bourbon was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had Lamar, he was absolutely incredible! I am a self appointed service snob, and he could not have been more perfect! His suggestions were spot on, we never had to look for him when wanting to order something else and was as charming as ever! And for that matter, EVERYONE that was working at Haven was wonderful! They were able to seat us 15 mins early, the food runner was friendly and the bartenders were even kind when we were headed out! I will absolutely be back and request Lamar again! Thank you for making our “best friends night,” amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Haven was outstanding. Formerly Sideberns, it definitely upholds the Bern's brand of exquisite food, phenomenal drinks (the Whiskey selection is unbeatable in Tampa), and ambiance. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We've beeen here now a handful of times for myriad reasons and it literally has NEVER disappointed. The only competition the food has is to outshine the other menu items you decide to indulge in.

I was a small but surprised my runs were slightly overcooked, but even there taste was phenomenal. My father a longtime wine maker and connoisseur raves of there deep wine menu.

We had a great time - again and we can only hope we'll be back soon!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food is fantastic and lots of choices . Service was awesome! They have a lot of wine selection per country and prices range from $112-25. Expensive wines doesn't necessarily mean good wine for you, it depends on your taste. You can get a $35 wine and still be enjoyable. We got Germany white for $27. and we enjoyed it.:)

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Perfect for our girls night out celebration. Great cocktails, food, atmosphere and of course service. Would recommend anyone looking for something different to try that offers a verity of options.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food. Very accommodating staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was great. Our server was excellent. He was not bothersome but was attentive and really knew the menu and provided great recommendations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This place always seems to have great food coupled with a very friendly staff!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This restaurant has an amazing and capturing design. The food and service was outstanding and their wine list is impressive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Haven was recommended for a special birthday dinner and it did not disappoint. The wine list was fabulous and the small plate menu was perfect. We enjoyed cheeses and champagne upon arrival and made a 2 hour event of it. We rarely do desserts but chose to Saturday night with a perfect cappuccino. The restaurant was worth the $$$$ but only for special occasions for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My daughter chose Haven for her birthday dinner because she likes the small plates concept and the menu appealed to her. The bison sausage, served with dijon mustard, was delicious, but be warned it is three half-dollar sized slices for $8.00. My small plate of snap peas was delicious. The himachi ceviche was basically large cubes of fish in a hot and spicy sauce, with a few pieces of avocado tossed about. It was disappointing. My husband and daughter tasted the fried okra dish and could not take another bite. The waiter, who provided outstanding service throughout our visit, took the okra off our bill without being asked, which was greatly apptreciated. I recommend the "bread service" for $4.00. It was a long loaf of fressh, hot french bread served with
herbed butter and dipping oil. The other server definitely needs practice pouring the oil and including enough herbs and spices, however; it turned out to be flavorless. We were there on a Friday night and the bar was very busy. There were several empty tables but it was still quite loud in the restaurant. Another negative is that the tables are wide and increase the difficulty of hearing your tablemates. We did not order alcohol and our bill for 3 people was $80 including the tip. We did not think it was a good value and the food would not draw us back for a second visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great ambiance, fantastic service, phenomenal food and drink selection!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Really enjoyed it. Food was very well executed. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Fantastic "small plates" restaurant. Expensive, but worth it. Try the great selection of 2.5 oz wine servings to match the various small plates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service was fenomenal .. good am amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Cheese plate was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food. Amazing selection of fine wine and bourbon. Fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Haven is one of Tampa's more interesting restaurants in terms of the menu and bar offerings. The menu items are quite different from any other place, which makes many foodies very happy! The bar offers many cocktails, and specializes in wines, whiskeys, and bourbons. The service is quite good, attentive and knowledgeable servers. I especially enjoy the idea of small plates- lots of different things to try!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very nice place. Unbelievable selection of cheese and charcuterie. We ordered heavier items tapas style. Drinks were the standard and also inventive. Very knowledgable server from Romania made the experience delightful. Only complaint was the noise which is to be expected at such a popular restaurant. Definitely would recommend (unless you want a quiet dinner)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've been wanting to try Haven for a long time and it didn't disappoint! The small plates are perfect for sharing and you get to try several things on the menu. My favorite part of the meal was the delicious cheese.

The building is gorgous on the inside but a bit loud due to the open floor plan. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

One of the better restaurants in Tampa which says more about tampas food scene than Haven itself. Still, left something to be desired... awkward placement of the host stand put a strange emphasis on the valet which is this day and age seems antiquated . Some Steps of service were missed, proper silverware was missed for two courses. Some random server was so eager to do our wine service despite never having been at the table. Matt, our server made the experience great. Will definitely be back, but only because the food scene here is mediocre

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place. Amazing charcuterie! Didn't like to beef ribs but the waiter was nice enough to remove the dish from the bill.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

(Table for 10) The ambiance was great. Food quality was good. Blend of spices and varied menu good. Octopus, Palm salad and shredded salad fantastic; chartreuserie boards could offer more options Instead of charging a la carte. Kitchen service was consistently off timing and disorganization of wrong dishes from other tables/other guests passed around does not justify paying $75 for a board of cheese/salami/grapes.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I thought I'd give Haven another chance for restaurant week and it did not blow me away once again. Food is expensive with no flare, very bland. I wouldn't recommended it for food. Happy hour seems decent but I'd prefer getting $5 glasses of wine at Berns. I wish I experienced a good meal there but unfortunetly I will not be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our server KJ was great. We dined on the prix fixe tasting menu for Creative Loafing's Restaurant Week and were not disappointed. I dined here a couple years ago and definitely intend to come back for charcuterie and cheese, those two menus looked amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our first impression was walking to the hostess with our reservation name. She greeted us but the. Said she was seating another party first. That would have been fine, however, the party was gathering all of their people from the bar so not sure why she couldn't have sat two people. Next, our waiter greeted us and we ordered from the restaurant week menu. I wanted to wait to order dessert so asked if that was ok- he said no problem. My friend did the same and he left a menu. He then came back and said to let him know when we were ready because he could t put any courses into the system without having all three chosen. Isn't that what I had just asked? After that we didn't see him again until the end. Someone else brought our salad, entree, and dessert. I was given a dessert I did not order. I'm fairly certain my chicken wasn't cooked so I barely ate any. At the end of our meal we asked for the checks twice- this was after him being gone for nearly 40 minutes. He then brought one check- we needed separate. That was another 10 minute wait. Needless to say I've had great experiences at haven in the past but not sure of the next time I'll be back after this one. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Once inside you could be on either coast - chic, comfortable, casual, elegant.
Engaging staff who converse if you wish, or disappear when not needed.
Rooms inside rooms - creative plates and delicious.
Wine and spirits - value top to bottom...

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was really slow. Server was not attentive. Second course of pre fix menu was overcooked. Probably from sitting under heat lamps in kitchen because time between courses was so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We tried Haven because they were participating in Restaurant Week. We had wanted to try this restaurant anyway, and this was the perfect excuse. We opted for the Restaurant Week tasting menu, assuming they would do something special to attract new clientele. The stake tartare was phenomenal - the star of the evening. The Mussels with kimchee were very good. We even liked the seafood tagine - though it could have used a lot more ras el hanout. The veal carbonara was not worth the calories. It tasted like diced ham and spaghetti - not Bern's worthy. They graciously took it back and exchanged it for the miso glazed chicken. That entree was only marginally better. The rice cake tasteless, the chicken dry. The desert of cheeses was outstanding, but the toffee bread pudding had a burnt taste and was inedible. Overall disappointing, because the menu looks so promising.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waiter was great, friendly and knowledgeable. Receptionist was borderline unfriendly. We arrived early and registered at the reception. After 45 minutes at the bar, we enquired about our table and the receptionist explained she did not know we were there as her colleague had not told her we had registered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the third time I've been to Haven and the third time I've been disappointed. We ordered off the restaurant week menu and the was extremely slow. The steak tartare was a massive portion but did not taste right. The veal carbonara was good but on the salty side. I had the cheese plate to close and the bread and almonds were stale, and the cheeses unappetizing. We were also over charged for a cocktail.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Haven was Heaven! We loved everything about it, but the food was amazing. Every course was just the perfect blend of taste, texture and spice. We went back the next night just for drinks. Will definitely be a regular stop for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was my first time dining at Haven and although it is completely different then berns it's just as amazing. There menue is huge consisting of smaller portions to share! This is my kind of place almost like it's a menue on apps which I love! We ended up getting the 18 cheese board and some meats this was for 2 adults and a 2yr old so unfortunately we filled up on cheese and even had some to take home. I cannot wait to go back we actually are booked this weekend ! I have to say I had my 2yr old and 2mo boys with me and this place was awesome not just to me but to my kids!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Once a huge Sidebern's fan, I had never gotten around to dining at Haven and was really looking forward to it. I was surprised to find a Saturday evening 7 pm table still available on Friday afternoon, but reserved anyway. I was very diasppointed in the corporate, hotel style decor, mildly disappointed in the scallops I saw on the online menu to be missing from the real time menu. On a positive note, entrees we ordered were beautifully prepared and picture-perfect and service was flawless. Dessert was mediocre. With so many exceptional choices like Edison Food Lab, Rooster and the Till, Ichicoroya, BT, Boca, Roux, and more, doubt I will return soon.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great ambiance and craft cocktails. Fair service. Food disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.