About Haven

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car.

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: 8132582233x447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Restaurant Photos

  • Haven, Tampa, FL
Haven, Tampa, FL

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Tapas (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A Tampa restaurant that is the full pack ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

A Tampa restaurant that is the full package. Many in Tampa have great concepts and menu descriptions but lack the follow-through and that hard to describe element that knits flavors from idea to description to flavor on pallet. Haven does a great job of providing ambiance, selection, description, cocktail, wine, food, and service - beginning to the end. The only mistake I made was choosing a loved wine(Rioja) before my meal - pick a dry bubbly / white if you order the Duck. A little on the pricey side for "just a Wed dinner" but the choices, flavors, and service are worth it! If you are a foodie, like cocktails and / or wine get to Haven

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Th ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal with friends. The cocktails were great especially the pumpkin spice old fashioned and the bourbon flights. the pork chop was spectacular as well. our waitress was competent but had too many tables to manage and was not as attentive as we like. we would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tun ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tuna was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmopshere service and food were all fir ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Atmopshere service and food were all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, well done Tampa!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Haven a couple of times ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been to Haven a couple of times in the past, but this time really made my wife and me miss the old Sideberns when the menu had amazing dishes like the duck confit. This time the only really special dishes were the fried tomatoes and the Mumm sparkling. The beef rib was ok, but the cheese balls were horrible- cool/cold and with more breading than cheese.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was decent. I was expecting it ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was decent. I was expecting it to be better. The wahoo had a delicious, flavorful sauce but the rabbit pasta was pretty lack luster.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We loved the cheese selection and ordere ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We loved the cheese selection and ordered 3 that were brand new to us. They were served with crispy bread slices, but the fruit chutney was to die for with the cheeses. We will definitely return to try more.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. Incredible selection of wine and cheeses and a great place to go whether you're looking for a big meal or a tapas/wine and cheese experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck on bright, otherwise I'd have given a higher rating but the place is nice and the staff is on point.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, great atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, bustling place upon entry, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Beautiful, bustling place upon entry, and the food looks great. A bit too bright inside, just right outside for a romantic evening. Friendly and professional front desk. However, the food tended to be salty, bland, and was cold. Service was painfully slow and armature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Too wonderful to describe, you must expe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Too wonderful to describe, you must experience for yourself.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar meal out at Haven, as usual. On ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Stellar meal out at Haven, as usual. One of my favorite in Tampa Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From John the Valet guy to our Waiter Ma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

From John the Valet guy to our Waiter Matt and everyone in between- just a great Dining experience. Best Fried green tomatoes in Tampa!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Haven. They ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Haven. They have incredible choices for vegetarians! We loved the cheese selection and the wines!! We will definitely be going back! Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you like cheese and wine, Haven has s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

If you like cheese and wine, Haven has so many options it's mind-blowing. We enjoyed a night out with friends - had an amazing cheese platter. The dishes are small and fun to pass around and share. The cocktails were finely crafted, well-balanced drinks. The atmosphere is loud and energetic on a Friday night, so not the place for a quiet evening. We really enjoyed the food, drinks and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place. A little complicated. A litt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice place. A little complicated. A little expensive for just a casual night out

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was amazing, particularly the m ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was amazing, particularly the macaroni and cheese, skirt steak, and pork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe one of my favorites spots in Tampa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Maybe one of my favorites spots in Tampa. The small plates, charcuterie, wine list are all fantastic and pair together well. The staff is always well trained and I've never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine!!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! We will defin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! Our waiter was a b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing! Our waiter was a bit pretentious but ultimately helpful. The valet had a terrible attitude so our night started off on a bad note. This shows how wonderful the food was because we left satisfied.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our service was amazing! We loved the en ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our service was amazing! We loved the entire experience: server, food, drinks, vibes. Overall great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed at dinner much more than happy h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Enjoyed at dinner much more than happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lyndi was the best server! Amazing knowl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Lyndi was the best server! Amazing knowledge of her menu/ wines. Attentive, nice. We will be recommending her to others we know.

The food was amazing! Loved all the small

Plates. Chacuterie was amazing. The bar manager also came over. He was very pleasant. Also the pastry chef/bartender, she was so nice and made a mean ice cream sandwich. We will definitely go back. I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service and food. friendly an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

excellent service and food. friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was terrible. Our waitr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and service was terrible. Our waitress didn't know the menu or the cheeses, didn't return to fill drinks for 15 mins and didn't clear plates for the next course. Food was underseasoned and overcooked. Chocolate dessert tasted like a chewy protein bar...not good.

I would only return for wine and cheese, never again for dinner... too many other far better options in the area.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We enjoyed the food very much. However, ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. However, our server had a bit of an edge to him and made us feel as if he was doing us a favor by serving us. He had minimal personality and spoke as little to us as was necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

The menu is too exotic for some. No ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The menu is too exotic for some. No serving spoons were ever brought put and yet the dishes are for sharing. They did bring when requested but then failed to supply on next 3 shared dishes. Other patrons are seated very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were seated in a location adjacent to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were seated in a location adjacent to the women's restroom and a servers station. We didn't realize this until after we were seated. No one wants to be the girl demanding to move after seating. Further, the light is harsh. Another small point, however I will be reluctant to bring a date here. I hope this helps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terrible experience. Service and food we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Terrible experience. Service and food were not good. It was a huge waste. We should have kept our reservations at Burns. Place looked great though! But that was not enough to ever get me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great food. Horrible service. Don't go t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Horrible service. Don't go there expecting the level of service you'd receive at Bern's or Elevage. From the hostess to manager to the waiter...everyone came off as pretentious and unwelcoming. They have a great happy hour but the website and staff fail to mention it is only available if you sit at the bar. There also secret bar offerings (beer, wine, spirits) not listed on the menu that you have to know to ask for. All in all, it makes you feel like an outsider and unwelcome if you haven't been there before. Normally you'd expect the waiter to ask if you'd been there before and take the time to explain things to you...especially at a place with small plates and daily offerings that changed. Our waiter didn't do that at all which forced us to keep asking questions to get him to tell us each special/daily offering. It was like pulling teeth. Again...the food is amazing if a bit pricey. But the service is the worst of any restaurant we've been to in Tampa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great place for cheese Mongers

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for cheese Mongers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary, our waiter Felix, was great! All his recommendations were very good. Great place

Very relaxing great food and wine, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. We will be going back more frequently.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plates are to die for, best i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The cheese plates are to die for, best in Tampa! fantastic wine and aperitif choices, highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small shareable plates...not full on mea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Small shareable plates...not full on meals...quite expensive for this...everything tastes great but $20/small plate is more than I want to spend.

Happy hour is awesome tho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Decor and ambiance are very nice. Less i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Decor and ambiance are very nice. Less impressed with the small plate concept and the offerings. It's good to have drinks and an appetizer, but if you are looking for a filling dinner, I would go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Fr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. From the charcuterie plate selections to the tapas-style dishes such as the octopus, tuna and striped bass ... our meal was amazing. The service was also first class. I will certainly return to this restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and selection were great. Wine ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and selection were great. Wine selection limited to Napa mainly, very little exposure to Sonoma, too bad. Service was slow and seemingly disorganized. We waited too long between courses, our waitress was all over the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.