Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Haven

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car
Valet parking is available Thursday-Saturday

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: (813) 258-2233 ext. 447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Modern Decor (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Tapas (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

We return again and again. The menu always seems to have something new, whether it's a local beer, an unusual cocktail, or an entree that we haven't tried yet. My husband and I often get two plates each and try to save room for a shared dessert. The waiters can always describe a dish or drink in detail and steer us towards the choice that fits us best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

had a great meal a few months ago but not this time. The meat was overpriced for what you got, the Pasta was great with She-Crab. Elk - not so much. Pork Belly? not good - too expensive for the 3 little pieces of pork that do NOT cost that much for the restaurant to buy. The wine was great as were the cocktails - different and refreshing. The cheese course was good too. The biggest disappointment was the dessert. The scotch something with the chocolate semi-fredo was awful - it tasted like soap. and the so-called butter cake was 3 little slivers of pound cake with some crunchy coconut on top or something. for 8 dollars? I really wanted a piece of cake. too bad it was so uneven. some good some bad - and the NOISE! we really couldn't talk without practically yelling- wow.
The server was very nice and informative about everything. he knew all of the dishes and ingredients so we could choose but still - next time I think I will just go to Bern's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Haven was delightful. We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday. The cheeses, she crab linguine, steak, hotel epicurean cocktail and motorworks barrel age was delectable. The portions were just right. The grand finale was the dirt pie with soaked infused scotch gummy worm. It was heavenly. To top it off, and candle was glued on to wish my boyfriend a happy birthday. Service and menu items are always top notch. I definately want to frequent at Haven more often. I can't stop thinking of the cheeses.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 18, 2017

First time there - we St Peters rarely cross the bridge due to the wonderful number of great restaurants here but There are so many now in Tampa, I am making it a point to try more on a regular basis. Definitely would go back to this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was great but food was subpar for the price (cold beer cheese? Wtf) and virtually no vegetarian options. Wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The drinks were not good and did not even give you a full glass and if it was full it had a ton of ice. For the price of the drink should be better. Food was good. Could use some more light over table difficult to see menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The menu is quite eclectic. Our waiter was great about guiding us through the charcuterie choices and size of the entrees. Food was excellent. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food selection & cocktails were lovely however we had a party of six in honor of a friend's birthday and of the six her entree (fish) came out well after we finished ours. Same with 3 of the side dishes we ordered. The waiter (who was up to that point very nice & knowledgeable) never acknowledged or apologized for the delay. When my friend commented about how long the dishes took he mumbled an excuse about the kitchen but my theory is he forgot to enter in those orders. Disappointing since we're frequent diners at Bern's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to the original Side Berns which is now Haven for many years. This is our first visit for a full meal since it became Haven. When we first arrived, the valet was exceptionally polite, We were both primed for a great meal, but we were seated right next to the men's john, which does not bode well for the $250 bottle of wine we ordered ($455.00 dinner billing). Asked to be moved to the quieter side of the restaurant. The only time the waitress offered to refill our water glasses was just as we had paid the bill and were standing up to leave. No bread & butter came to the table, but that may be normal. The food was very good and we finished with a very nice selection of cheeses - the rabbit tagliatelle and the sous vide elk were exceptional. Waitstaff needs help desperately, but the food was wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great cheese and whiskey/scotch collection. Beautiful space and good service. Worth a visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is our 3rd visit and experience at Haven is always fantastic. The vast wine list is expected as they're owned by Berns, but the cheese list and small plates are impressive as well. Go with a group and order many items to share or sit at the bar with a date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We truly enjoyed our dining experience at Haven. Both the food and the service was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Haven always exceeds expectations. From the charcuterie and cheese boards, to the soups to the freshest seafood and excellent wine selection, the team at Haven -- front of house and kitchen team -- are all on their game. The menu changes regularly, which is one of the reasons every experience is unique. What makes it most special is how well trained the service staff is. True professionals across the spectrum. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, great service...had the Elk and it was excellent but strangely enough the grilled cheese sandwich stole the show.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food quality was very good
However, food tasted greasy and salty.The type of food is certainly Mediterranean but should be cooked with less salt and fat to be considered healthy

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Haven's service is outstanding! Food is very good, but a bit slow out of the kitchen. Would recommend for cocktails/wine and a light meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went to Haven for my husbands Birthday. It was a terrific experience. The cheese choices were outstanding and the meats accompanied them well. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Incredible wine list. Best service I've had in a long time. Food was beyond amazing. Really wish there was one in Philly. Tampa you are so lucky to have this incredible gem!!! GO THERE NOW!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Noisy and crowded, but expect any place in SoHo to be on a Friday night. Fun menu and good service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great date night and fun with friends. Staff was great, fun drinks amazing food. Thanks team Haven!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I loved the ambiance and outdoor seating here. We had the Cheesemonger plate which was exceptional and came with a guide - so handy. Our waiter, David, provided such amazing service it's hard to define. He was knowledgeable, kind and welcoming. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Reasonable portion size. Great place to try several different menu options on each trip.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The cheese was superb. The waitress helped navigate us through.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent menu. The small plates were great for sharing. The cheese board as an appetizer was a great choice. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice environment. Great servers. Unique menu. Terrible valet service (guy needs an enema). Rude as hell. Glad I went, but I won't be back. Too many other great restaurants nearby.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We visited on a Wednesday evening to (quietly) celebrate some birthdays. Haven has a great selection of both wine and cheeses and the service was outstanding. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my new favorite place! I went here for the first time on Valentine's day and I was pleasantly surprised. Cory was amazing. The food was fantastic. The ambiance could not have been better. There was a tasting menu that was reasonably priced that blew my taste buds away. What a gem of a place! I have already made my next reservation for this weekend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Bel endroit. Mon mari et moi avons apprécié le cadre, la nourriture et le service. Bon rapport qualité prix.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great menu, well balanced and thought out dishes, our server was very knowledgeable and nice, would love to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Provocative presentation, exceptional union of flavors and a wine and cheese list with great depth. Exactly what you should expect from a Bern's concept. Worth frequenting. Bon appetit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Cheese menu is very diverse and food was overall good, but what I ultimately took away from the dining experience was very slow service for what appeared to be a slow, middle of the week night.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My company and I enjoyed a delicious dinner in this beautiful, quiet restaurant. Beautiful.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our experience at Haven was fantastic! My family and I came here to celebrate an engagement and the Haven staff made it so special. With no prior notice of the occasion, they set up a private room for us. The food was delicious! I would highly recommend the sirloin, duck egg, and oysters, but the charcuterie is a must have! Our server, Felix, was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating of many different food allergies in the group. The amazing service and food made for the perfect evening. A Tampa native, I haven't been to the restaurant since it was SideBerns, but I will definitely be coming back to Haven!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ribeye was amazing! And loved how it was cut to be shareable off one plate. Also loved the mini ice cream sliders to end the evening. Our server too was so nice!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing restaurant. The food and the was absolutely perfect. So fresh and everything made with care and love. The quality of the food is superb. The service could not have been better , even after we asked to be moved to a more quite part of the restaurant because it was happy hour and very noisy with a packed bar. If you love cheese this is your place. We can't wait to go back and try new dishes.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Matt is an excellent server - very attentive and a nice guy too. Food was really good with choice of tapas portion or entree portion. Also really like the varying price points on the wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined at the Haven to celebrate a 34th wedding anniversary. Overall, I would say that we were impressed by the food and attention to detail. The table split the cheese plate and charcuterie board - both of which were stellar. We also enjoyed the vegetable dish and roast duck, but the dessert fell short. We ordered the sticky toffee dish and it was borderline inedible; it appeared as if homemade butterscotch was used and it was overwhelmingly smokey. That being said, dinner was overall enjoyable.

What was severely lacking was the service. When we first pulled in to the restaurant it was unclear where the valet service was located. We pulled into the parking lot and while it appeared as if we were not the only ones to have made this mistake, there was no one in sight to redirect us. Once we were seated, our waiter was borderline nonexistent. We were left to fill our wine glasses for the entire night, had to ask the busboy to place the order for the next course, delivered dessert before our other course arrived, etc. Again, with the exception of dessert the food was wonderful, but the service was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Unique style of restaurant whose menu is full of wonderful tastings and a great wine menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great new years eve dinner, fine dinning, tasting menu with good portions, worth the price for elegant dinning

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server Brittany was very helpful and knowledgeable of the menu. The overall ambiance of the restaurant was cozy. The Elk was to die for! The Wiskey Burbon and Scotch menu was superb! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.