About Haven

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car.

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: (813) 258-2233 ext. 447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Tapas (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reasonable portion size. Great place to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Reasonable portion size. Great place to try several different menu options on each trip.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cheese was superb. The waitress help ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The cheese was superb. The waitress helped navigate us through.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu. The small plates were gr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent menu. The small plates were great for sharing. The cheese board as an appetizer was a great choice. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice environment. Great servers. Unique ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice environment. Great servers. Unique menu. Terrible valet service (guy needs an enema). Rude as hell. Glad I went, but I won't be back. Too many other great restaurants nearby.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited on a Wednesday evening to (qu ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited on a Wednesday evening to (quietly) celebrate some birthdays. Haven has a great selection of both wine and cheeses and the service was outstanding. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my new favorite place! I went he ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my new favorite place! I went here for the first time on Valentine's day and I was pleasantly surprised. Cory was amazing. The food was fantastic. The ambiance could not have been better. There was a tasting menu that was reasonably priced that blew my taste buds away. What a gem of a place! I have already made my next reservation for this weekend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bel endroit. Mon mari et moi avons appré ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Bel endroit. Mon mari et moi avons apprécié le cadre, la nourriture et le service. Bon rapport qualité prix.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, , Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu, well balanced and thought ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great menu, well balanced and thought out dishes, our server was very knowledgeable and nice, would love to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Provocative presentation, exceptional un ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Provocative presentation, exceptional union of flavors and a wine and cheese list with great depth. Exactly what you should expect from a Bern's concept. Worth frequenting. Bon appetit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cheese menu is very diverse and food was ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Cheese menu is very diverse and food was overall good, but what I ultimately took away from the dining experience was very slow service for what appeared to be a slow, middle of the week night.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

My company and I enjoyed a delicious din ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My company and I enjoyed a delicious dinner in this beautiful, quiet restaurant. Beautiful.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experience at Haven was fantastic! M ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our experience at Haven was fantastic! My family and I came here to celebrate an engagement and the Haven staff made it so special. With no prior notice of the occasion, they set up a private room for us. The food was delicious! I would highly recommend the sirloin, duck egg, and oysters, but the charcuterie is a must have! Our server, Felix, was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating of many different food allergies in the group. The amazing service and food made for the perfect evening. A Tampa native, I haven't been to the restaurant since it was SideBerns, but I will definitely be coming back to Haven!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ribeye was amazing! And loved how it ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ribeye was amazing! And loved how it was cut to be shareable off one plate. Also loved the mini ice cream sliders to end the evening. Our server too was so nice!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing restaurant. The food and the w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing restaurant. The food and the was absolutely perfect. So fresh and everything made with care and love. The quality of the food is superb. The service could not have been better , even after we asked to be moved to a more quite part of the restaurant because it was happy hour and very noisy with a packed bar. If you love cheese this is your place. We can't wait to go back and try new dishes.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt is an excellent server - very atten ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Matt is an excellent server - very attentive and a nice guy too. Food was really good with choice of tapas portion or entree portion. Also really like the varying price points on the wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at the Haven to celebrate a 34t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined at the Haven to celebrate a 34th wedding anniversary. Overall, I would say that we were impressed by the food and attention to detail. The table split the cheese plate and charcuterie board - both of which were stellar. We also enjoyed the vegetable dish and roast duck, but the dessert fell short. We ordered the sticky toffee dish and it was borderline inedible; it appeared as if homemade butterscotch was used and it was overwhelmingly smokey. That being said, dinner was overall enjoyable.

What was severely lacking was the service. When we first pulled in to the restaurant it was unclear where the valet service was located. We pulled into the parking lot and while it appeared as if we were not the only ones to have made this mistake, there was no one in sight to redirect us. Once we were seated, our waiter was borderline nonexistent. We were left to fill our wine glasses for the entire night, had to ask the busboy to place the order for the next course, delivered dessert before our other course arrived, etc. Again, with the exception of dessert the food was wonderful, but the service was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Unique style of restaurant whose menu is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Unique style of restaurant whose menu is full of wonderful tastings and a great wine menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great new years eve dinner, fine dinning ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great new years eve dinner, fine dinning, tasting menu with good portions, worth the price for elegant dinning

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Brittany was very helpful and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server Brittany was very helpful and knowledgeable of the menu. The overall ambiance of the restaurant was cozy. The Elk was to die for! The Wiskey Burbon and Scotch menu was superb! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Wine list is impressive. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but the portion ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was really good but the portions were very small and abbot expensive for what you got.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and service. Waitstaff ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Waitstaff was very helpful and accommodating. Very unique dishes. Great charcuterie choices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food was amazin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was amazing and service was outstanding. Cory is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating birthdays and it was ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were celebrating birthdays and it was Christmas Eve. We made reservations and were seated when we arrived in a nice booth. Our waiter was excellent - he was attentive, offered suggestions but didn't push.

We had a couple of cheeses and olives, a crab pasta and sausages and sauerkraut. It was all great. Of course we had desert which was very good, too.

We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Eve ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Eve experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed and remarkably kid friendly experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Small Plates, very creative. L ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Delicious Small Plates, very creative. Loved the charcuterie, the char and the Steak. Service was excellent, attentive, friendly and professional. Booth was very comfortable and nice wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great and our dinner was ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was great and our dinner was delicious!

Loved sharing several small plates! Wine selection was very impressive. Definitely a 5 Star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fritto misto was disappointing. Heav ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The fritto misto was disappointing. Heavy, fried veg with no flavor. We bit into something very bitter only to find out it was a fried lemon. Yeh nobody wants to eat fried lemons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Really extensive menu that didn't mean " ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really extensive menu that didn't mean "spread too thin". A large selection of charcuterie and an enormous cheese selection. Thrilled with the selection of both aperitifs and amaro. Great job!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Tampa restaurant that is the full pack ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A Tampa restaurant that is the full package. Many in Tampa have great concepts and menu descriptions but lack the follow-through and that hard to describe element that knits flavors from idea to description to flavor on pallet. Haven does a great job of providing ambiance, selection, description, cocktail, wine, food, and service - beginning to the end. The only mistake I made was choosing a loved wine(Rioja) before my meal - pick a dry bubbly / white if you order the Duck. A little on the pricey side for "just a Wed dinner" but the choices, flavors, and service are worth it! If you are a foodie, like cocktails and / or wine get to Haven

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Th ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with friends. The cocktails were great especially the pumpkin spice old fashioned and the bourbon flights. the pork chop was spectacular as well. our waitress was competent but had too many tables to manage and was not as attentive as we like. we would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Going into this, my girlfriend and I exp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Going into this, my girlfriend and I expected a tradition, sit down, order an entree, pay, and leave type place. While that's isn't what we got, we were amazed by Haven. This is a one of a kind restaurant with a unique and creative menu. They offered something like 60 cheeses you could order a la carte and it was divine. I noticed that the restaurant had around 300 different bourbons and I can imagine that if bourbon doesn't suit your taste, the bar will absolutely have something for you.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tun ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tuna was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmopshere service and food were all fir ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Atmopshere service and food were all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, well done Tampa!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Haven a couple of times ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been to Haven a couple of times in the past, but this time really made my wife and me miss the old Sideberns when the menu had amazing dishes like the duck confit. This time the only really special dishes were the fried tomatoes and the Mumm sparkling. The beef rib was ok, but the cheese balls were horrible- cool/cold and with more breading than cheese.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was decent. I was expecting it ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was decent. I was expecting it to be better. The wahoo had a delicious, flavorful sauce but the rabbit pasta was pretty lack luster.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We loved the cheese selection and ordere ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We loved the cheese selection and ordered 3 that were brand new to us. They were served with crispy bread slices, but the fruit chutney was to die for with the cheeses. We will definitely return to try more.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. Incredible selection of wine and cheeses and a great place to go whether you're looking for a big meal or a tapas/wine and cheese experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck on bright, otherwise I'd have given a higher rating but the place is nice and the staff is on point.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.