Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Haven

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car
Valet parking is available Thursday-Saturday

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: (813) 258-2233 ext. 447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Tapas (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

This place always seems to have great food coupled with a very friendly staff!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has an amazing and capturing design. The food and service was outstanding and their wine list is impressive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

The Haven was recommended for a special birthday dinner and it did not disappoint. The wine list was fabulous and the small plate menu was perfect. We enjoyed cheeses and champagne upon arrival and made a 2 hour event of it. We rarely do desserts but chose to Saturday night with a perfect cappuccino. The restaurant was worth the $$$$ but only for special occasions for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My daughter chose Haven for her birthday dinner because she likes the small plates concept and the menu appealed to her. The bison sausage, served with dijon mustard, was delicious, but be warned it is three half-dollar sized slices for $8.00. My small plate of snap peas was delicious. The himachi ceviche was basically large cubes of fish in a hot and spicy sauce, with a few pieces of avocado tossed about. It was disappointing. My husband and daughter tasted the fried okra dish and could not take another bite. The waiter, who provided outstanding service throughout our visit, took the okra off our bill without being asked, which was greatly apptreciated. I recommend the "bread service" for $4.00. It was a long loaf of fressh, hot french bread served with
herbed butter and dipping oil. The other server definitely needs practice pouring the oil and including enough herbs and spices, however; it turned out to be flavorless. We were there on a Friday night and the bar was very busy. There were several empty tables but it was still quite loud in the restaurant. Another negative is that the tables are wide and increase the difficulty of hearing your tablemates. We did not order alcohol and our bill for 3 people was $80 including the tip. We did not think it was a good value and the food would not draw us back for a second visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great ambiance, fantastic service, phenomenal food and drink selection!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Really enjoyed it. Food was very well executed. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Fantastic "small plates" restaurant. Expensive, but worth it. Try the great selection of 2.5 oz wine servings to match the various small plates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service was fenomenal .. good am amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Cheese plate was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food. Amazing selection of fine wine and bourbon. Fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Haven is one of Tampa's more interesting restaurants in terms of the menu and bar offerings. The menu items are quite different from any other place, which makes many foodies very happy! The bar offers many cocktails, and specializes in wines, whiskeys, and bourbons. The service is quite good, attentive and knowledgeable servers. I especially enjoy the idea of small plates- lots of different things to try!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very nice place. Unbelievable selection of cheese and charcuterie. We ordered heavier items tapas style. Drinks were the standard and also inventive. Very knowledgable server from Romania made the experience delightful. Only complaint was the noise which is to be expected at such a popular restaurant. Definitely would recommend (unless you want a quiet dinner)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've been wanting to try Haven for a long time and it didn't disappoint! The small plates are perfect for sharing and you get to try several things on the menu. My favorite part of the meal was the delicious cheese.

The building is gorgous on the inside but a bit loud due to the open floor plan. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

One of the better restaurants in Tampa which says more about tampas food scene than Haven itself. Still, left something to be desired... awkward placement of the host stand put a strange emphasis on the valet which is this day and age seems antiquated . Some Steps of service were missed, proper silverware was missed for two courses. Some random server was so eager to do our wine service despite never having been at the table. Matt, our server made the experience great. Will definitely be back, but only because the food scene here is mediocre

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place. Amazing charcuterie! Didn't like to beef ribs but the waiter was nice enough to remove the dish from the bill.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

(Table for 10) The ambiance was great. Food quality was good. Blend of spices and varied menu good. Octopus, Palm salad and shredded salad fantastic; chartreuserie boards could offer more options Instead of charging a la carte. Kitchen service was consistently off timing and disorganization of wrong dishes from other tables/other guests passed around does not justify paying $75 for a board of cheese/salami/grapes.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I thought I'd give Haven another chance for restaurant week and it did not blow me away once again. Food is expensive with no flare, very bland. I wouldn't recommended it for food. Happy hour seems decent but I'd prefer getting $5 glasses of wine at Berns. I wish I experienced a good meal there but unfortunetly I will not be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our server KJ was great. We dined on the prix fixe tasting menu for Creative Loafing's Restaurant Week and were not disappointed. I dined here a couple years ago and definitely intend to come back for charcuterie and cheese, those two menus looked amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our first impression was walking to the hostess with our reservation name. She greeted us but the. Said she was seating another party first. That would have been fine, however, the party was gathering all of their people from the bar so not sure why she couldn't have sat two people. Next, our waiter greeted us and we ordered from the restaurant week menu. I wanted to wait to order dessert so asked if that was ok- he said no problem. My friend did the same and he left a menu. He then came back and said to let him know when we were ready because he could t put any courses into the system without having all three chosen. Isn't that what I had just asked? After that we didn't see him again until the end. Someone else brought our salad, entree, and dessert. I was given a dessert I did not order. I'm fairly certain my chicken wasn't cooked so I barely ate any. At the end of our meal we asked for the checks twice- this was after him being gone for nearly 40 minutes. He then brought one check- we needed separate. That was another 10 minute wait. Needless to say I've had great experiences at haven in the past but not sure of the next time I'll be back after this one. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Once inside you could be on either coast - chic, comfortable, casual, elegant.
Engaging staff who converse if you wish, or disappear when not needed.
Rooms inside rooms - creative plates and delicious.
Wine and spirits - value top to bottom...

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was really slow. Server was not attentive. Second course of pre fix menu was overcooked. Probably from sitting under heat lamps in kitchen because time between courses was so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We tried Haven because they were participating in Restaurant Week. We had wanted to try this restaurant anyway, and this was the perfect excuse. We opted for the Restaurant Week tasting menu, assuming they would do something special to attract new clientele. The stake tartare was phenomenal - the star of the evening. The Mussels with kimchee were very good. We even liked the seafood tagine - though it could have used a lot more ras el hanout. The veal carbonara was not worth the calories. It tasted like diced ham and spaghetti - not Bern's worthy. They graciously took it back and exchanged it for the miso glazed chicken. That entree was only marginally better. The rice cake tasteless, the chicken dry. The desert of cheeses was outstanding, but the toffee bread pudding had a burnt taste and was inedible. Overall disappointing, because the menu looks so promising.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waiter was great, friendly and knowledgeable. Receptionist was borderline unfriendly. We arrived early and registered at the reception. After 45 minutes at the bar, we enquired about our table and the receptionist explained she did not know we were there as her colleague had not told her we had registered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the third time I've been to Haven and the third time I've been disappointed. We ordered off the restaurant week menu and the was extremely slow. The steak tartare was a massive portion but did not taste right. The veal carbonara was good but on the salty side. I had the cheese plate to close and the bread and almonds were stale, and the cheeses unappetizing. We were also over charged for a cocktail.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Haven was Heaven! We loved everything about it, but the food was amazing. Every course was just the perfect blend of taste, texture and spice. We went back the next night just for drinks. Will definitely be a regular stop for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was my first time dining at Haven and although it is completely different then berns it's just as amazing. There menue is huge consisting of smaller portions to share! This is my kind of place almost like it's a menue on apps which I love! We ended up getting the 18 cheese board and some meats this was for 2 adults and a 2yr old so unfortunately we filled up on cheese and even had some to take home. I cannot wait to go back we actually are booked this weekend ! I have to say I had my 2yr old and 2mo boys with me and this place was awesome not just to me but to my kids!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Once a huge Sidebern's fan, I had never gotten around to dining at Haven and was really looking forward to it. I was surprised to find a Saturday evening 7 pm table still available on Friday afternoon, but reserved anyway. I was very diasppointed in the corporate, hotel style decor, mildly disappointed in the scallops I saw on the online menu to be missing from the real time menu. On a positive note, entrees we ordered were beautifully prepared and picture-perfect and service was flawless. Dessert was mediocre. With so many exceptional choices like Edison Food Lab, Rooster and the Till, Ichicoroya, BT, Boca, Roux, and more, doubt I will return soon.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great ambiance and craft cocktails. Fair service. Food disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Love Haven....been numerous times and it is always awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service was great. Our only complaint was the quality of the lamb. It was tough and the cut had a bit more gristle than what we would have liked. We ordered several more items off the menu and all of those were exceptional especially the ribeye which was at the perfect tenderness. The wine list was very pleasant and provided us with plenty of options. The sommelier was quite knowledgeable and very helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Nice upbeat atmosphere with unique menu selections. This restaurant leans toward small plates that an be shared. The service was wonderful and our server was very attentive as well as knowledgeable about each menu item. Wine selection is adequate. The restaurant is priced on the high side for small portions. It is a nice spot for trying new and different types of food but not for those who are conservative in their eating preferences.

Tags: Vegan, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I'm all about sharing plates but the small plates and large are all intermingled on the menu. Menu is not reader friendly.
Also I consider myself pretty open to new and different options but they need more for the not adventurous eaters.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Third time at Haven. Cheese and Charcuterie were amazing. Food service bar everything to notch. Loved every minute

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service was good, but food came out very slow. Tapas was tasty, but not enough for a meal.
drinks are small and do not fill glass.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Matt are server was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Hit or miss with some of the dishes, back waiter was AWESOME

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always, the meal was very good. The rabbit pasta was perfect followed with a nice cheese plate selection for desert. Vast improvement from the last dinner a couple of months ago when we had a disastrous waitress. We will definitely go back when we are in Tampa.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was unique and it was very good, but I was disappointed that the restaurant menu did not match the menu online. I was looking forward to something on the online menu, but the waiter said it has not been available for about a year. The portions, although it is tapas, were very small and quite expensive, but the presentation was beautiful and our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. He knew everything about every cheese, and every menu item. He made it worth it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Exceeded my expectations. Only negative was very loud, perhaps Fri bar scene....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a fabulous time at Haven! Our server, Matt (aka: Hugh Grant) was wonderful. The food was AMAZING! I could have eaten a whole bowl of escargot in the tarragon cream sauce, but the Cobia was fantastic as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.