Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 30 times today

Haven

4.6
473 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Tapas
Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Bar: Full service hours match dinner hours
Haven Hour 5:00pm-7:00pm Monday- Saturday

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 258-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
1002 S. Howard Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is $3/car in North lot
Valet parking is available Monday-Saturday
South lot available for self parking, spots are limited
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
House Music, occasional live music for special events
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.
http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

We also hold an annual Whiskey Fest to benefit Operations First Response. Please learn more about next year's event at http://whiskeytampafoxtrot.com

Looking for an indulgent night that only comes around once a year? Start the holiday season off with Sunday Supper and know your ticket will help a James Beard scholarship recipient.
http://sundaysuppertampabay.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 473 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Casual setting with true fine dinning service! Our server LaMarl was one of the best I've had in any restaurant. He has a passion for his craft and a heart for service. We had a sommelier and cheese expert help us with our selections (they are considerable). Amazing food and wine to be expected from a Berns Sister restaurant. Berns is great but not somewhere you would go regularly. This is a great spot with try new dishes and the small plates are wonderful for sharing. Get outside your comfort zone and enjoy! Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the tapas feel for the group

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Would have rated this higher if we didn’t have to wait 35 min when we had a reservation. The wait kind of ruined the whole experience but other than that the food was good, nice cheese tasting menu and good Mac n cheese. Good date spot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We had not been to Haven in a while--for no other reason than we just sort of forgot it was there! What a pleasant surprise. Excellent menu upgrades and changes, and the entire menu is more cost-approachable than it originally was. And the food? Excellent. Across the board. From cocktails (yes, it's called a Rye-Tai, and yes, it works!)...to the Fried Brussels Sprouts salad (which is just amazing)...to the Octopus (which was perfect)...to the Spaghetti Squash (which is almost dessert.....)! Seriously, we forgot how enjoyable the food is...accompanied by attentive but not cloying service. (One hiccup---we were finished with the appetizer before cocktails arrived...so someone needs to stay on top of food and beverage pacing...but it's a small quibble). It's always nice to have the chance to be surprised and delighted by a restaurant after you re-discover it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food was fantastic. This was our first time at haven Our waiter - LaNarl (?sp) was amazing. He made our anniversary so special. He took his time exhaling the concept of the Resturant and all the dishes. He made great recommendations. Amazing service with amazing food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food was amazing and our server was wonderful. Can't wait to come back here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Always awesome, and a solid value. The combination of flavors and textures of the food are perfect. The sommelier, Gregory, has the best analogies and is as entertaining as he is knowledgeable. I've had a different server each time, and every one of them is one of the best servers I've ever had. Props to the head chef, management, training, and the Bern's empire. Tampa is lucky!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The service could've been better. We had to wait 15 minutes for a table when there were 3 open tables. I'm not sure why we were asked to wait so long and then finally seated at one of the empty tables. A bit of a hiccup.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very unique restaurant with excellent service. Extensive craft beer, wine and cheese selection. Pimento Cheese Bites were amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We loved the food and cocktails! Everything was super tasty and there was a myriad of things to try. I left feeling super inspired for cooking at home. We really enjoyed watching the jolly sommelier playing wine Santa as he moved around the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Best place in Tampa !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The difference between a good restaurant and an excellent restaurant is when you just want to go back there right away and if I wasn’t leaving Tampa, I would. We had a great A+ experience from service to food. Thank you Haven.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great night, great food. However, if your waiter has to carry a small flashlight to point out options on the menu, it might be a little too dark for the patrons to read the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food and drinks! Our favorite restaurant to go and enjoy a meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Have Tommy make you a charcuterie board! And that's just to start!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Had a great time for my husbands birthday. Cocktails were interesting, loved the smaller plates, and a great whiskey menu! Plus Abby, our server, was really knowledgeable and helped us work out way through all the options as new comers. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Hard tables, noisy. Find noise reduction solution, tablecloths? As creative as the menu was, everything was excellent, great service, interesting craft cocktails. All good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Second time we’ve been here. First time service was excellent. This time service was very slow, food came out staggered instead of together, so “small plates to share” feeling was lost, as we were dividing up each plate into thirds every time something came out to make sure we could eat it warm.

Will try again and hope for better timing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Small plate menu with lots of charcuterie, cheeses, salads and small plate entrees. Great Service. Upscale, open ambiance. Very enjoyable. Only area for improvement is on the wine "pour." Wines by the glass are priced on the high side of average, and there's a nice selection, but the pour was quite small compared with similar restaurants. Someone is "measuring" the pour and being frugal. I will return but I will not order wine by the glass again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Wonderful ! Our waiter Lamarl was excellent! The food! The drinks! Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Always a good and different experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Lamarl was the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wonderful dinner with good friends. Our server Lamar was very informative, entertaining, and excellent. The creativity in the menu never ceases to amaze.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our waiter was very informative and helped us select a great choice for appetizer and our meal. Service was exceptional and the food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great experience

The food is phenomenal. My favorite was the grilled cheese and foie gras torchon.

The Sommelier picked a wine with amazing complexity at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

As always, delicious food and drinks with excellent and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Went to Haven for the second time. The first time was for a business dinner, and it was quiet and comfortable, later evening during the week. This time was to meet our good friends who were in from out of town on a Saturday night. It was a much livelier scene, with some groups, and a lot of people in their 30s+ on dates. We had requested a good table, and were given a nice booth in the bar area, cozy with good people watching. It was definitely louder than I expected, but we could still converse. The food here consists of charcuterie and decent sized "small plates" for sharing. We tried the octopus, a filet dish, as well as duck, salad and another appetizer. All were tasty. They were also running a $1 per oyster special all day, which was a nice bargain. The service was a little spotty...our waiter made a good selection of cheeses for us, but it took a long time to get first cocktails and the charcuterie board, and food service was very slow. Cappuccinos were served after desert as opposed to with it. High note in service was the sommelier...he was in high demand and the sweat on his brow showed it! More importantly, he knew his wine and steered us to some unique, tasty and reasonably priced bottles. All in all, a fun meal with good friends. I just wish the wait service was a bit better this evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We went for an early dinner. Happy hour was great as usual. We got a burger, 3 apps, and some drinks. Everything was delish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

One of the best servers we’ve ever had, he was so knowledgeable and attentive. It was a fabulous experience overall and the food was also amazing! Really high quality and unique combinations of flavors, we loved it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our monthly "dinner club" thoroughly enjoyed Haven. We will be back !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Wonderful meal and service. We sat outside (nice landscaped patio) and was very pleasant and quiet. Good wine, beer & cocktail menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Best small plate experience in Tampa. Not cheap but worth the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

First time, service was excellent and food was spectacular! Will defiantly come again, we are excited to try other items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Amazing all around!!! Food is some of the best we have had and the service was impeccable!!!! Our server LaMarl was so attentive and made some great recommendations! Greg was able to suggest a great wine that suited our taste! Would definitely recommend this experience to anyone!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent place for a large group. Its nice to share the dishes and try new thingd

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Always a great place! Service could have been a little faster and consequently I probably would’ve spent more money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Best bartender in Tampa

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food was truly awful, and expensive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Gave this place another try - food is decent, but they basically kicked us out the minute it closed. We were enjoying a nice evening with friends when all of a sudden they turned off the music and

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Haven