About Haven

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car.

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: 8132582233x447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Restaurant Photos

  • Haven
Haven

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Fit for Foodies
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Late-night Find (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

excellent service and food. friendly an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

excellent service and food. friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was terrible. Our waitr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and service was terrible. Our waitress didn't know the menu or the cheeses, didn't return to fill drinks for 15 mins and didn't clear plates for the next course. Food was underseasoned and overcooked. Chocolate dessert tasted like a chewy protein bar...not good.

I would only return for wine and cheese, never again for dinner... too many other far better options in the area.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We enjoyed the food very much. However, ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. However, our server had a bit of an edge to him and made us feel as if he was doing us a favor by serving us. He had minimal personality and spoke as little to us as was necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

The menu is too exotic for some. No ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The menu is too exotic for some. No serving spoons were ever brought put and yet the dishes are for sharing. They did bring when requested but then failed to supply on next 3 shared dishes. Other patrons are seated very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were seated in a location adjacent to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were seated in a location adjacent to the women's restroom and a servers station. We didn't realize this until after we were seated. No one wants to be the girl demanding to move after seating. Further, the light is harsh. Another small point, however I will be reluctant to bring a date here. I hope this helps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terrible experience. Service and food we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Terrible experience. Service and food were not good. It was a huge waste. We should have kept our reservations at Burns. Place looked great though! But that was not enough to ever get me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great food. Horrible service. Don't go t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Horrible service. Don't go there expecting the level of service you'd receive at Bern's or Elevage. From the hostess to manager to the waiter...everyone came off as pretentious and unwelcoming. They have a great happy hour but the website and staff fail to mention it is only available if you sit at the bar. There also secret bar offerings (beer, wine, spirits) not listed on the menu that you have to know to ask for. All in all, it makes you feel like an outsider and unwelcome if you haven't been there before. Normally you'd expect the waiter to ask if you'd been there before and take the time to explain things to you...especially at a place with small plates and daily offerings that changed. Our waiter didn't do that at all which forced us to keep asking questions to get him to tell us each special/daily offering. It was like pulling teeth. Again...the food is amazing if a bit pricey. But the service is the worst of any restaurant we've been to in Tampa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great place for cheese Mongers

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for cheese Mongers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary, our waiter Felix, was great! All his recommendations were very good. Great place

Very relaxing great food and wine, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. We will be going back more frequently.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plates are to die for, best i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The cheese plates are to die for, best in Tampa! fantastic wine and aperitif choices, highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small shareable plates...not full on mea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Small shareable plates...not full on meals...quite expensive for this...everything tastes great but $20/small plate is more than I want to spend.

Happy hour is awesome tho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Decor and ambiance are very nice. Less i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Decor and ambiance are very nice. Less impressed with the small plate concept and the offerings. It's good to have drinks and an appetizer, but if you are looking for a filling dinner, I would go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. From the charcuterie plate selections to the tapas-style dishes such as the octopus, tuna and striped bass ... our meal was amazing. The service was also first class. I will certainly return to this restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and selection were great. Wine ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and selection were great. Wine selection limited to Napa mainly, very little exposure to Sonoma, too bad. Service was slow and seemingly disorganized. We waited too long between courses, our waitress was all over the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Interesting cheese and meat selections, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Interesting cheese and meat selections, unigue tapas plates but too loud for dining conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Servers were very attentive. They make ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Servers were very attentive. They make a great margarita. The duck ham was very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Haven continues to hold itself to high s ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Haven continues to hold itself to high standards of food and service. Our recent visit started out in a VERY NOISY part of the restaurant, but our request to move was quickly accommodated. As we perused the new menu, we ordered the baguette, as we usually do. This is the one item I would not have again. This was nothing like those previously enjoyed and definitely not a change for the better. Our other choices were wonderful, each served properly and well timed. Haven's new menu is terrific and offers a variety of food to delight different palates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The new menu is fantastic, especially th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The new menu is fantastic, especially the veggie options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very unique food selections. Best to sha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very unique food selections. Best to share multiple plates. Waiters are HIGHLY knowledgeable. Fun place for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we had a great time. thanks for allowing ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

we had a great time. thanks for allowing that to happen

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible restaurant with an emphasis o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Incredible restaurant with an emphasis on pure enjoyment of the senses. Dined there for the first time on our anniversary and will be heading many times. The options for the cheese course were staggering and our server walked us in to an amazing offering. Chef changes the menu based on what is fresh and available and you certainly are able to find the perfect dish for the occasion. My shrimp stuffed squid (think manicotti) was subtle but perfect. I highly recommend visiting Haven.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not like food at all. Was nicely dec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Did not like food at all. Was nicely decorated. Wish I hadn't spent so much money and went home hungry

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was great. We thoroughly enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great. We thoroughly enjoyed the charcuterie and cheeses. The mushrooms and sun-chokes were amazing. Our waiter was helpful and attentive. It was a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was very helpful and knowledg ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server was very helpful and knowledgeable. She helped direct our choices and they were a hit. Food was excellent. More suitable for groups comfortable with sharing many different food choices. Noise level was high, sometimes making conversing a challenge, but for foodies it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved everything about this place and ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Loved everything about this place and can't wait to get back. Excellent cheese offerings; they were out of Brillat Savarin that night. We chose "Oregonzola", nice find, we were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed dinner - especially chees ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner - especially cheese selection. Well thought out restaurant with an interesting (and different) menu. Service was also excellent. All in all a unique place to eat that we really enjoyed. Nothing else like it that I've found here in Tampa Bay area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with good friends And fun conc ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food with good friends And fun concept of Small plates. I am kind of unsure what category the restaurant is in since it was pretty rustic inside. The food was good some of it I would call outstanding. Would return again it's fun and different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our first time at Haven and we loved it! ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our first time at Haven and we loved it! Will definitely go back and have already recommended this restaurant to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

our first time and we were impressed in ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

our first time and we were impressed in every way...eugene was our waiter and he did an outstanding job as well as other servers who were attentive also... little surprise on the 3 dollars parking fee ... but over all we loved our experience and service and the food was just most perfect...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding bu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were outstanding but the ambiance was so disappointing that I don't know if I'll be back unfortunately. It was a Friday evening and the noise level was so loud we had to basically yell the entire time. Couldn't hear the server either. Also, a tv on the wall of a restaurant of this caliber? Disconcerting. No solid design. Either be rustic, or be modern. If noise doesn't bother you, by all means go...it's very tasty creative food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

As usual excellent. It is a pleasure to ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual excellent. It is a pleasure to eat somewhere the staff is knowledgeable about the drink and food menu. Always an adventure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great SoHo "must eat at" locatio ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Another great SoHo "must eat at" location- always have excellent service and food. The bartending is exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Imaginative reincarnation for Side Berns

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent cheeses, meats and "hoofs" at this trendy spot that sources it's offerings locally when available. Service is professional and friendly without being "in your face." this was my second time and I enjoyed it much more this time,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience! There was a unique ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful experience! There was a unique ambiance which would be perfect for almost any occasion. The dishes were delicious, especially the Dry- Aged Delmonico and Pulled Pork Tacos (pulled pork was substituted for the pork belly).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service (Brittany) was excellent, th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service (Brittany) was excellent, the food choices were fresh and interesting. We really had a lot of fun discussing and debating which cheeses and charcuterie were we going to order, and delighted that everything was wonderful. We are already making plans to make another meal, and a trip to the bar! Needless to say, we had a wonderful evening at Haven, and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gracious

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were there for my daughter's graduation. Traffic delayed us way past our reservation. The staff was so gracious and acvommadating. They found space for us on a busy Friday night. So appreciative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary, great food and service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated in a section of the restaurant that was more loud and open than quiet and chic. I wished for our anniversary we were on the other side of the restaurant. We felt we were there for lunch than dinner but it was still very very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Still Hungry

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A very nice remodeling of the old SideBerns. They have an extensive wine, bourbon, and crafted cocktail list. We started with a cheese plate for for our party of 4 to share. We each picked a cheese but you only get 3 pieces to share between 4 people which we thought was odd. We all ordered salad (beet salad was excellent) and an entree. We thought the food was good but not great. We each ordered a dessert and again, just ok. The absolute highlight of the evening was Waki our server. She took extra time with us explaining in detail all about the cocktails, the wine and food selections. She was also very attentive throughout the evening. We understood that Haven is a small plate restaurant ,but after a $285 check before gratuity we thought there would be plenty of food to fill up on. I stopped for a snack on the way home.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Wow!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had never been there when it was Side Berns, but our server went through this whole dissertation about the changes...

Very hip food. There is so much on the menu, it's hard to decide what to order. Our server was helpful in explaining the menu to us. She swore she would tell us if we were over-ordering. (Something that happens all the time, since you want to try some of everything.)

We tried the Summer Sausage -- with mustard seeds within spicy brown mustard, some bread and apple slices. All those fit together so you can make a nice little sandwich if you'd like. The Grilled cheese sandwich cheeses change all the time, but it was a nice combination especially if you combined it with the tomato "soup." Brings back memories, but even better than those we had as children. The Chicken Thigh had wonderful flavor. We had more, but why spoil the surprise for everyone... It will take multiple visits to work through the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and even better cocktails ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and even better cocktails! Outstanding place to get together and catch up with old friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.