About Haven

2208 W. Morrison Ave.
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Haven features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's, and Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed and casual atmosphere. Haven offers guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created in a crafted, cultured and cellared atmosphere. Haven specializes in artisan cheese, house-made and imported charcuterie, as well as small composed plates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Bar:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm Cheese & Charcuterie Menus Available at the bar
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: Closed
Please call to reserve parties of 8 or larger.

Cross Street:
1002 S. Howard Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 258-2233

Website:
http://www.haventampa.com/

Entertainment:
House Music, occasional live music for special events

Catering:
For information, please contact Jeffrey Gould, Group Sales and Catering Manager, at 813.258.2233, or jgould@haventampa.com.

Parking Details:
Valet is $3/car.

Executive Chef:
Chad Johnson with Chef de Cuisine Courtney Orwig

Private Party Facilities:
Let Haven create your next crafted, cultured and cellared event. We offer sophisticated, seasonal dining with private and semi-private space to choose from for formal business events or private celebrations. Private outdoor space and entire restaurant rental are also available

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Gould: 8132582233x447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bern's Steak House, Haven, Bern's Fine Wines and Spirits, and The Epicurean Hotel present an annual event of food and wine. Five days to indulge in all your wildest culinary and wine fantasies.

See more at: http://www.bernswinefest.com/#home_slideshow

Restaurant Photos

  • Haven, Tampa, FL

Report a photo problem

Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Tapas (18)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing restaurant. The food and the w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing restaurant. The food and the was absolutely perfect. So fresh and everything made with care and love. The quality of the food is superb. The service could not have been better , even after we asked to be moved to a more quite part of the restaurant because it was happy hour and very noisy with a packed bar. If you love cheese this is your place. We can't wait to go back and try new dishes.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt is an excellent server - very atten ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Matt is an excellent server - very attentive and a nice guy too. Food was really good with choice of tapas portion or entree portion. Also really like the varying price points on the wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at the Haven to celebrate a 34t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined at the Haven to celebrate a 34th wedding anniversary. Overall, I would say that we were impressed by the food and attention to detail. The table split the cheese plate and charcuterie board - both of which were stellar. We also enjoyed the vegetable dish and roast duck, but the dessert fell short. We ordered the sticky toffee dish and it was borderline inedible; it appeared as if homemade butterscotch was used and it was overwhelmingly smokey. That being said, dinner was overall enjoyable.

What was severely lacking was the service. When we first pulled in to the restaurant it was unclear where the valet service was located. We pulled into the parking lot and while it appeared as if we were not the only ones to have made this mistake, there was no one in sight to redirect us. Once we were seated, our waiter was borderline nonexistent. We were left to fill our wine glasses for the entire night, had to ask the busboy to place the order for the next course, delivered dessert before our other course arrived, etc. Again, with the exception of dessert the food was wonderful, but the service was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Unique style of restaurant whose menu is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Unique style of restaurant whose menu is full of wonderful tastings and a great wine menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great new years eve dinner, fine dinning ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great new years eve dinner, fine dinning, tasting menu with good portions, worth the price for elegant dinning

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Brittany was very helpful and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server Brittany was very helpful and knowledgeable of the menu. The overall ambiance of the restaurant was cozy. The Elk was to die for! The Wiskey Burbon and Scotch menu was superb! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Wine list is impressive. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but the portion ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was really good but the portions were very small and abbot expensive for what you got.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and service. Waitstaff ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Waitstaff was very helpful and accommodating. Very unique dishes. Great charcuterie choices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food was amazin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was amazing and service was outstanding. Cory is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating birthdays and it was ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were celebrating birthdays and it was Christmas Eve. We made reservations and were seated when we arrived in a nice booth. Our waiter was excellent - he was attentive, offered suggestions but didn't push.

We had a couple of cheeses and olives, a crab pasta and sausages and sauerkraut. It was all great. Of course we had desert which was very good, too.

We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Eve ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Eve experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed and remarkably kid friendly experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Small Plates, very creative. L ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Delicious Small Plates, very creative. Loved the charcuterie, the char and the Steak. Service was excellent, attentive, friendly and professional. Booth was very comfortable and nice wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great and our dinner was ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was great and our dinner was delicious!

Loved sharing several small plates! Wine selection was very impressive. Definitely a 5 Star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fritto misto was disappointing. Heav ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The fritto misto was disappointing. Heavy, fried veg with no flavor. We bit into something very bitter only to find out it was a fried lemon. Yeh nobody wants to eat fried lemons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Really extensive menu that didn't mean " ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really extensive menu that didn't mean "spread too thin". A large selection of charcuterie and an enormous cheese selection. Thrilled with the selection of both aperitifs and amaro. Great job!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Tampa restaurant that is the full pack ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A Tampa restaurant that is the full package. Many in Tampa have great concepts and menu descriptions but lack the follow-through and that hard to describe element that knits flavors from idea to description to flavor on pallet. Haven does a great job of providing ambiance, selection, description, cocktail, wine, food, and service - beginning to the end. The only mistake I made was choosing a loved wine(Rioja) before my meal - pick a dry bubbly / white if you order the Duck. A little on the pricey side for "just a Wed dinner" but the choices, flavors, and service are worth it! If you are a foodie, like cocktails and / or wine get to Haven

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Th ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with friends. The cocktails were great especially the pumpkin spice old fashioned and the bourbon flights. the pork chop was spectacular as well. our waitress was competent but had too many tables to manage and was not as attentive as we like. we would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Going into this, my girlfriend and I exp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Going into this, my girlfriend and I expected a tradition, sit down, order an entree, pay, and leave type place. While that's isn't what we got, we were amazed by Haven. This is a one of a kind restaurant with a unique and creative menu. They offered something like 60 cheeses you could order a la carte and it was divine. I noticed that the restaurant had around 300 different bourbons and I can imagine that if bourbon doesn't suit your taste, the bar will absolutely have something for you.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tun ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Cheese and wine list was phenomenal! Tuna was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmopshere service and food were all fir ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Atmopshere service and food were all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A great ambiance and great charcuterie, well done Tampa!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Haven a couple of times ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been to Haven a couple of times in the past, but this time really made my wife and me miss the old Sideberns when the menu had amazing dishes like the duck confit. This time the only really special dishes were the fried tomatoes and the Mumm sparkling. The beef rib was ok, but the cheese balls were horrible- cool/cold and with more breading than cheese.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was decent. I was expecting it ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was decent. I was expecting it to be better. The wahoo had a delicious, flavorful sauce but the rabbit pasta was pretty lack luster.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We loved the cheese selection and ordere ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We loved the cheese selection and ordered 3 that were brand new to us. They were served with crispy bread slices, but the fruit chutney was to die for with the cheeses. We will definitely return to try more.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Second time to Haven. Really enjoyed it. Incredible selection of wine and cheeses and a great place to go whether you're looking for a big meal or a tapas/wine and cheese experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The lights were malfunctioning and stuck on bright, otherwise I'd have given a higher rating but the place is nice and the staff is on point.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great vibe at Haven. Wish I like the men ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great vibe at Haven. Wish I like the menu a little more. The selection, especially for vegetarians, is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great atmosphere

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, bustling place upon entry, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Beautiful, bustling place upon entry, and the food looks great. A bit too bright inside, just right outside for a romantic evening. Friendly and professional front desk. However, the food tended to be salty, bland, and was cold. Service was painfully slow and armature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Too wonderful to describe, you must expe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Too wonderful to describe, you must experience for yourself.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar meal out at Haven, as usual. On ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Stellar meal out at Haven, as usual. One of my favorite in Tampa Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From John the Valet guy to our Waiter Ma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

From John the Valet guy to our Waiter Matt and everyone in between- just a great Dining experience. Best Fried green tomatoes in Tampa!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Haven. They ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Haven. They have incredible choices for vegetarians! We loved the cheese selection and the wines!! We will definitely be going back! Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you like cheese and wine, Haven has s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

If you like cheese and wine, Haven has so many options it's mind-blowing. We enjoyed a night out with friends - had an amazing cheese platter. The dishes are small and fun to pass around and share. The cocktails were finely crafted, well-balanced drinks. The atmosphere is loud and energetic on a Friday night, so not the place for a quiet evening. We really enjoyed the food, drinks and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place. A little complicated. A litt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice place. A little complicated. A little expensive for just a casual night out

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was amazing, particularly the m ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was amazing, particularly the macaroni and cheese, skirt steak, and pork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe one of my favorites spots in Tampa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Maybe one of my favorites spots in Tampa. The small plates, charcuterie, wine list are all fantastic and pair together well. The staff is always well trained and I've never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine!!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! We will defin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.