Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Chef Fredy's TableChef Fredy's Table
(513)
$$$$
American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 20 times today
Olive Lucy's Kitchen TableOlive Lucy's Kitchen Table
(452)
$$$$
Portuguese | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 10 times today
George & Martha'sGeorge & Martha's
(250)
$$$$
American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 13 times today
End of ElmEnd of Elm
(245)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 8 times today
Jockey Hollow Bar and Kitchen - The Oyster BarJockey Hollow Bar and Kitchen - The Oyster Bar
(370)
$$$$
American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 24 times today
The Rathskeller at Jockey Hollow Bar & KitchenThe Rathskeller at Jockey Hollow Bar & Kitchen
(29)
$$$$
American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 8 times today
Sushi Lounge - MorristownSushi Lounge - Morristown
(58)
$$$$
Japanese | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 8 times today
Washington St. BistroWashington St. Bistro
(194)
$$$$
American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 4 times today
Ming IIMing II
(355)
$$$$
Southeast Asian | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 14 times today
Blue MorelBlue Morel
(678)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 18 times today
H2Ocean Restaurant & Raw BarH2Ocean Restaurant & Raw Bar
(355)
$$$$
Seafood | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 17 times today
MehndiMehndi
(427)
$$$$
Indian | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 20 times today
ProvesiProvesi
(269)
$$$$
Italian | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 3 times today
Nunzio's Dolce VitaNunzio's Dolce Vita
(35)
$$$$
Italian | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 12 times today
J&K Steakhouse of MorristownJ&K Steakhouse of Morristown
(709)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Morristown, New Jersey - North
Booked 27 times today

About Havana Koi

90 South St
Morristown, NJ 07960
View Larger Map

We are an upbeat friendly, casual Cuban-Fusion Restaurant, located right in the heart of Morristown, adjacent to the Mayo Performing Arts Center.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 998-8939

Website:
http://havanakoi.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. We offer a full selection of catering options.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is right off of the Morristown train station stop.

Executive Chef:
Timothy Fields

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not worth going.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2014

Service was adequate. Food was totally bland and tasteless. Portion size was small for cost and presentation was ordinary. Take your money somewhere else. There are many terrific restaurants in Morristown. This place will be gone before too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great Concept. Poor Execution.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2014

Great concept b/c there isn't much competition for a Cuban style eatery in the Mo-town area. Nice decor helped to heighten my anticipation. We ordered a variety of tapas, empanadas, & skewers which were mediocre at best. Pork belly was at temperature (safe to eat) but very much undercooked w/ the top layer being excessively chewy/tacky. The rest of our plates were far from cult status leaving plenty of room for improvement. Next, we ordered the tempura whole bass, but were told that they didn't have it in stock (on a Friday night??). Then we ordered the Miso crusted fish & were again disappointed that there was none in stock. That's when we started doubting the freshness of our tapas (tuna crudo & scallops). They need a better chef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

very inconsistent

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2014

We've eaten at Havana Koi twice now. The first time the food was excellent: interesting choices, and everything we tried was really good. We especially loved the mango and Asian pear salad: crisp, delicious, with clear flavors of mango and Asian pear. The second time was a strong disappointment: we shared 6 of the smaller dishes (a mix of salads, small plates, and sides); two were good, three were so-so, and the mango and Asian pear salad was dismal: a barely detectable trace of mango, a slimy dressing, and so much raw onion that we couldn't taste the Asian pear at all. We'll wait a while and try them again -- maybe this last time was the chef's night off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great to try

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2014

Our waiter was very pleasant. I liked the fusion. Menu was a bit small. Loved the flank steak appetizer. Would go back for those.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner Alfresco at Havana Koi

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2014

We had dinner on the outside terrace the other night. The appetizer lettuce wedge salad with chorizo and blue cheese, crackling pork and miso fish entrees were fabulous! For dessert we tried the dulce de leche cheesecake which did not have any caramel taste. When we told the server, she brought a flan in its place which was wonderful! The setting was nice, although the table was a bit rocky and unstable. One recommendation is to have candles or lighting of some kind as it gets dark. It was very difficult to see what we were eating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Some small plates before the show!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2014

A refreshing change from the usual Italian or Steak house in Morristown! Great to sit outside on a nice summer night and enjoy some interesting Cuban style small plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Poor

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2014

The employees were so nice I'm sad to write a bad review. The food was terrible fried calamari was the only edible item, even the virgin mojito and desert was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

If going on a show night, be sure to let ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2014

If going on a show night, be sure to let your server know immediately and get there earlier. We observed many disgruntled patrons who were still waiting for food and had a show to get to.

The arepas and empanadas were good. I wouldn't recommend the crispy beef appetizer. It had an unusual texture and flavor. The ropa vieja and braised chicken entrees were both enjoyable. Great red sangria. Service wasn't very attentive. Overall it was a decent experience and would consider returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A real treat!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 12, 2014

We took a chance on this one after reading mixed reviews. Three of us filled up on tapas, sitting outside on a beautiful night. We arrived at 7:30, with a reservation. It was crowded but the service was just fine. We were visiting from out of town and wish this one was closer to our home. The only glitch was it doesn't serve alcohol, but they volunteered to run out to the store down the street for wine or beer. Ove of our party ran out instead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2014

Horrible service which ruined the experience. Food was ok but the horrible service ruined everything. The sangria was awful as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Fun!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2014

The appetizers where very good - angry clams and beef kebab. The pork shank was very good, but the creole chicken was just OK. We would not recommend the Cuban fries. limp and sugary.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Fun but not romantic

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2014

Delicious food, proficient staff, but we went on friend's referral and booked for romantic night out. This is more a place for groups, we'll definitely go back though

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Tyy

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2014

Vhfutyhvxhjfkbnlkjngbfbyjfahjfutehbcunbfnnkjjhkbjjhmnjkbmbknvclvgjnbjhjnb

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always Fun

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2014

This is my third visit. The food and service have been consistently good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice addition to Morristown

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2014

My wife and I ate there last Sat night and was over all pleased. Unfortunately, it was a bit too cool to sit outside, and with the dining room packed its a bit loud, but folks are enjoying themselves. We had Angry Clams, a wedge salad, Ropa Vieja with a side of black beans, and Pork Shank. All very good, but really liked the clams, and Ropa with the beans. Would definitely go back especially to sit outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I t was very crowded and noisy because p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2014

I t was very crowded and noisy because people were there for dinner before going to a performance in the theater next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great spot, great location

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2014

Really cute restaurant in a perfect location! The staff was super nice and attentive. Food was very good and nice size portions. Appetizers are a good size (enough to share with someone else). Sangria was ok. Desert (flan) was amazing! Cuban coffee is so good! Wasnt really a fan of the seating in the back, but everything else was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Head Chefs Matter

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2014

This was our second trip to Havana Koi, the first earning the newly opened restaurant strong admiration from my family. The second time around, things were a bit different, although, as I later discovered, for very understandable reasons. On our first trip, food was prepared by the restaurant's executive chef, and the experience was very impressive -- food quality, flavor and texture combinations, preparation, plating, service, overall ambience. This time, as it turned out, the executive chef was out due to a death in his family, and the restaurant fell down on service (substantially), preparation (somewhat) and plating (moderately). We will return, but only after checking to make sure the chef is in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Who would have thought?

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2014

Cuban fused with Asian really works! After overcoming an initial inability to work the OpenTable system, the team at Havana Koi made our evening very pleasant. I had the mussels and the grilled romaine salad, Linda had the Asian pumpkin and chicken spring rolls and the beef picadillo empanada. Flavors worked together -- sauces complimented rather than dominated, food was perfectly prepared (except for the mussels which could have been served warmer) and very well-plated, and an inventively-designed interior finished off the effect. I must say the grilled romaine salad was the best I have had anywhere - a real treat if you are enticed by the fusion of pineapple, mango salsa and roasted garlic. Strong launch bodes well for future visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Diverse Menu

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2014

There is a wide selection and every menu item is well presented, prepared, and tastes good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good for a 1st time, will be back

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2014

Restaurant is just 3 weeks openned. Many good things going for them and a great potential due to the incredible care of the owners and wait staff. Our food came out on the cold side and way too fast (most restaurants ask you how you want the food to come out, we were not but we should have asked....my bad). When ordering, tell them how you want food to come out and insist on it being served hot.

The Tres Leches and the Flan are incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Not very good at all......

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2014

I took my 5 year old daughter here after a show next door. Ordered calamari with sweet sauce which my she loves and got calamari with some sort of vinegar flavored salsa/salad on top of it. It was horrible and made the calamari soggy and inedible. The sauce was spicy hot and not sweet. I ordered churrasco skewers and shrimp/scallop skewers. They were not bad, but both had very, very small pieces of meat. I ordered the $30 skirt steak as an entree and after 40 mins. got 5 very thinly sliced pieces of skirt steak, paper thin maybe 1/8" thick on a plate with 2 cheese and bread puffs of some sort. The food was very disproportionate to the pricing. $100 meal for 2 was expensive and very disappointing. Service was ehh..would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.