About Havana 1957 - Brickell

Havana 1957 sets itself apart by creating a gastronomical experience that re-enacts the glorious and glamorous old Cuba of the 1950’s.
Each restaurant combines the flavors of authentic Cuban cuisine, classic music and vintage memorabilia bringing Cuba Nostalgia to each neighborhood.

1451 South Miami Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm (Also Open Late Night)
Happy Hour Everyday 4-8pm with Live Trio and After Dinner Performances Friday and Saturday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 381-6651

Website:
http://www.havana1957.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday

Happy Hour Trio
from 6PM - 10PM

After Dinner Performances
from 11PM - 2AM

Catering:
Catering and Delivery available

Private Party Facilities:
Venue available for Private Parties, please contact to Lucia Dijulio
lucia@verestaurants.com 786.527.1613

Private Party Contact:
Lucia Dijulio: (786) 527-1613

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Venue available for special events please contact to Lucia Dijulio 786.527.1613 lucia@verestaurants.com

Havana 1957 - Brickell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Fun (7)
Live Music (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

we really enjoyed the Cuban sandwhich and red sangria. Would go back again when in Brickell.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great atmosphere, excellent service, good food! The only thing I didn't like is the automatic 15% service charge. I like to decide myself on how much I give for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The menu gave us a great overview of Cuban cuisines s in the main it was all delicious! The cremated deep fried fresh red snapper was however a disappointing take on what could have been great seafood. The live music and ambience was great. We felt a little rushed by the waiting staff to begin with but we resisted their nudging to take our own pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Tasty food. Great happy hour $5 mojitos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Yoandrey was amazing!! He made sure our party was meeting all their needs. We will definitely come back! Food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Loved it, the wait staff was wonderful. The live Cuban band was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

THE AMBIANCE WAS GOOD AND THE SERVICE, BUT THE FOOD QUALITY WAS VERY POOR AND SUPER EXPENSIVE. I PREVIOUSLY WENT TO THE BROADWARD LOCATION AND IT WAS FAR BETTER IN TERMS OF FOOD QUALITY AND ITS WORTH VALUE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Loved this place! The food was DELICIOUS! Probably one of my new favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A must visit gem! Cuban food and mojitos are phenomenal! Seasoning on the food is perfect. Love love love the setting and scene of the restaurant. Must visit if you are in Miami!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

If you want good food with a lot of people and noise, this is your place.
Seafood is a specialty and preparation of several dishes was great. Oysters were 1/2 price during happy hour but the popularity of this venue makes seating a challenge.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall disappointed with both service and food. 18% gratuity automatically added to my bill even though theservice was no good. Food was dry, waiter did not have an iterest after we ordered.
Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My colleague and I enjoyed a fantastic meal here. The mojitos were great; the empanadas were excellent; the sampler platter was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Ok don't choose the financial district for a Sunday night. If you do, come here. The live music was a treat, the food good enough (mixed starters was very bland but the main courses were enjoyed by all - especially the fish of the day).

But beware the $5 mojito scam. They are not $5 if you sit down for dinner. We complained and got some money off as we twice asked our server that they were 5.

Very enjoyable evening out though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Spent a night in Miami before boarding a cruise ship for a bachelorette weekend & had dinner here. We were a group of 6 ladies. The food, drinks & ambiance were great. I would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Parking was available, $8 for the area is cheap. Food was reasonably priced. Location was good. Decor looked authentic. Drinks (mojitos) were very good. My plate was fried pork chunks, somewhat tough and overlooked. The server, Henry, was excellent, did his best to make up for the few flaws. The appetizers (marriquitas, croquetas, etc) were better than the main dishes. I would rate a 3.5 out of 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent food and the prices were spot on. We also liked the fresh plantin chips.

Tags: Spicy, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was really good and VERY reasonably priced. It is a fun place, live music, loud, and the service was excellent. Very authentic taste.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing food and amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed Havana 1957!! We were in town, passing through, heading to Dominican Republic. The food is delicious and the staff was able to surprise my husband with a nice dessert with sparklers and chocolate decoration. We enjoyed the sampler platter (so sorry I do not recall what it's called). If I end up in Miami again, save me a seat on the patio 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

If you're from Miami, don't dine at Havana 1957.
The food is not that good and the service was just ok.
There's so many other places with better Cuban food.
We ordered white rice and beans with our meals. When the food arrived they all had congri. The waiter told us the restaurant ran out of white rice!! What???
My masitas de puerco were dry and the mojito was runny. Portions were average.
Don't waste your time & money!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Chicken Vaca Frita was sooo good!! We had a party of 8 and the service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The staff is amazing and make up for the OK food. Worth a try.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Loved this place. We dined early so it was very quiet, which I love. Our wait staff was fabulous and the food excellent!!!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The waiter was very friendly. He did "highly" suggest their specials even after I asked about a different item and he actually stated the entree that I intended to order (shredded chicken) would be dry. Appetizers, three entrees, two desserts, three drinks and $234 later... I was happy for the Cuban experience, but do not feel the food measured up to the price. PLEASE note that the gratuity is automatically added to your bill.

The previous night, my family ate at the Edge located at the Four Seasons and enjoyed a fabulous dinner that I would have paid $$$. The food and ambience exceeded the cost. Will eat there again!

Glad I had the Havana 1957 experience, but would not return.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Another terrific meal and evening at Havana 1957. As usual the food was terrific and the "skinny Cuban" menu options are a great opportunity for two people to share appetizers and a meal without having way too much food. The happy hour is always a great deal and this time the service was especially good, very friendly, cordial and accommodating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best cuban food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good value mohitos during happy hour. Terrible service - we waited for ~1 hour before even having our order taken.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome presentation of all the food, but the food was even better than the presentation

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good quality food for reasonable money. V. friendly staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome service, food delicious !!! Waitress funny and very talented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent Cuban food... exactly what we wanted on our visit to Miami.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The place was busy outside but quiet inside. Took a while for waiters to come over for our drinking order then gave our food! We ordered appetisers and a main but half hour after the order was taken our main shows up first! Apologies then the scramble to get appetisers first with the drinks. Appetisers were cold and the main that followed straight after was overcooked!
We were very disappointed with the lack of service and the quality of service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We tried a few dishes and all were delicious. A variety of spices and flavor combinations. Empenadas, cuban sandwich, real coke and rum, chicken soup, sampler, steak,....all good. Old music and lots of old history to look at while dining. The servers were very friendly too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent experience while visiting Miami. Food was wonderful and wait staff was very accommodating regarding my gluten allergy. Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Cuban style food that tastes fabulous. I ordered the House Special - rotisserie style chicken with Cuban seasonings, fried plantains, rice, black beans and a house salad. The chicken was "fall off the bone" moist and the seasonings were perfect. They also have a "skinny" menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Warm, welcoming neighborhood spot with great food and very friendly servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had dinner on the patio: cocktails, appetizers, entrees, but no desert. Everything was delicious and we would gladly eat there again. Only significant blemish on the evening was that it started to rain after we were seated and the patio isn't fully covered, so the staff had to quickly move our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good Cuban food in a fun setting with 1950's Cuba memorabilia. Our family of four had dinner while visiting Miami. Everyone enjoyed the meal and loved snacking on the plantain chips while waiting for our dinner. Our server was exceptionally friendly and helpful. A bit pricey. Convenient Brickell location and valet parking available.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.