About Havana 1957 - Brickell

1451 South Miami Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Havana 1957 sets itself apart by creating a gastronomical experience that re-enacts the glorious and glamorous old Cuba of the 1950’s.
Each restaurant combines the flavors of authentic Cuban cuisine, classic music and vintage memorabilia bringing Cuba Nostalgia to each neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm (Also Open Late Night)
Happy Hour Everyday 4-8pm with Live Trio and After Dinner Performances Friday and Saturday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 381-6651

Website:
http://www.havana1957.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday

Happy Hour Trio
from 6PM - 10PM

After Dinner Performances
from 11PM - 2AM

Catering:
Catering and Delivery available

Private Party Facilities:
sublette@verestaurants.com

Private Party Contact:
Sublette Hernandez: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Venue available for special events

Havana 1957 - Brickell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
See All
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (2)
Fun (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was very friendly, the waite ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very friendly, the waiter tried to guide us to the best dishes. I didn't listen and my fillet of fish wasn't not very good. My friends meals were better.

They have live music on Friday's and Saturday's.

It was rather good. We sat outside and it was very quite though you could appreciate the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The staff was very attentive and the foo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was really well prepared.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El personal muy atento y servicial. El l ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

El personal muy atento y servicial. El lugar muy bonito y tranquilo. Muy agradable para pasar un buen rato

Tags: Estilo familiar, Comida reconfortante, Ideal para una cita, Ideal para aniversarios
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great everything!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food, great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food! The waitress was respons ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the food! The waitress was responsive but not too over bearing. If I ever visit Miami again I will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking to experience Cuban for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were looking to experience Cuban for while in Miami. Havana 1957 was highly rated so we took a long walk to give it a try. We were promptly seated just as they opened. At our table the water glasses were filthy with large food particles adhering to the sides of the glasses, which didn't whet the appetite. The waiter was good, but communication among the staff was lacking. For example, my wife ordered sparkling water; it was poured for her; and then another server came along and tried to pour tap water on top of it. We shared a Cuban Sampler for too, which was good, but a little heavy on the starches, which seemed to stay with us all afternoon. The drinks were good. It was pleasant to sit outside.

They should focus on simply getting basic cleanliness right. Without that, all else is suspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great authentic Cuban food! Awesome moji ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great authentic Cuban food! Awesome mojitos! Super waiter that recommended the perfect meal for each of our colleagues.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food,great Ambiance this resta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food,great Ambiance this restaurant is in lively NeighboNeighbourhood of Brickell .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food,beautiful place,great ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Excellent food,beautiful place,great service,clean,awesome decorations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my mom here with my family, inclu ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I took my mom here with my family, including my wife and two small children. We had a wonderful time and the service and food was great, they even brought her a special treat at the end of dinner. We loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not worth 18% nor the Cuban ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was not worth 18% nor the Cuban food in City of Miami. Server was very nice but less than average including food. Not a place that I would drive out of my way to go too. Thank you for trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Came for lunch on my own. There were onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Came for lunch on my own. There were only a few other tables. Ordered lechón asado and it was very juicy and tender. The waitress was super warm and friendly. You have 2 selections of sides with any entree, despise what are listed on the menu. The bill automatically added 18% gratuity. Price is towards the high side since it's in Brickell's financial district.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This was a first time experience for me ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a first time experience for me and the food was great. Seating was a bit challenging at first but the service made up for it. Our waiter answered our questions and provided options to satisfy our tastes which made for a great experience. We had the Enchilado de Mariscos which was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fun. Had a great visit with family. Atmo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fun. Had a great visit with family. Atmosphere was fun. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great - I loved the decoration ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great - I loved the decoration and they even play live music. Happy hour has really good $5 cocktails and the mariquitas were simply delicious and crunchy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly Good Cuban food. Friendly service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fairly Good Cuban food. Friendly service. Slightly pricey for what they serve.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious, you will be sat ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious, you will be satisfied just about with anything you order, I tried a bit of all of my family's orders, super tasty and the serve was amazing. I regret not having a mojito though. Hopefully next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Client told me food was great; only medi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Client told me food was great; only mediocre. Chicken with plantains and rice was just ok. Nothing special. Sampler appetizer was fair but nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Havana 1957 is Overhyped!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2016

My overall experience was of an institutionalized, sloppy kitchen and indifferent attitude to customer relations. When I was seated I looked forward to ordering and tasting a citrusy, spicy fresh fish ceviche and a deeply flavorful tamale with a hunk of delicious roasted pork in the middle but instead was served a day old fish ceviche that reeked of vinegar and a tamale that disappointedly had been prepared with pork soup and contained no pieces of roasted pork. The final straw was delivered with my order for the Cuban Steak that was advertised as flank steak and turned out to be skirt steak. I complained to the manager and he begrudgingly removed the steak from my final bill but I left Havana 1957 feeling as if I was an insignificant ingredient in the big plans for Havana 1957 to become a huge

South Florida tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Cubano just ok. Breaded chicken horrib ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Cubano just ok.

Breaded chicken horrible.

Service indifferent.

Would never recommend for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Not Recommendable

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was ok, the service was spotty, and the location was very warm. I do not see myself choosing this location for any future event, lunch or dinner. A bit disappointing that a restaurant of this caliber has such spotty service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Cuban Food

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food, live music and great atmosphere! Get the pork roast and a mojito. We went back a second night. Reasonably priced and more food than you can eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and drinks were exquisite, but ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and drinks were exquisite, but the service was top of the line, it exceeded all my expectations. The staff was very detailed oriented, pleasant, simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT - authentic - personable

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I took a group of 10 there for a business-peer meeting , It was a great experience. Our server was a knowledgeable friendly Cuban gentleman that was awesome to work with our large group and had great suggestions. Interior is so beautiful and the outside dining looked great as well. Cuban steaks for many of us were the highlight of our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was acceptable, but not what I'd co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was acceptable, but not what I'd consider authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great Ropa Vieja

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2016

There was a lot of construction nearby, and several rumbling cement mixers rolled by the establishment, mitigating some aspects of sitting outside on a nice evening. Still, good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very very loud. Not a place for conversa ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Very very loud. Not a place for conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Worst cuban food in Miami.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Worst cuban food in Miami. Palomilla is very dry and no taste at all. Noise of orchestra is so loud you can not even talk. Service is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Too loud!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Outside is for smoking but we found this preferable to the noise inside! We could not talk to each other due to the band! Would not recommend for talking with dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was almost non-existent, even th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2016

Service was almost non-existent, even though the place was fairly empty. And you would think a Cuban restaurant would make a decent mojhito, but not here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Service was great. Food recommendations ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2016

Service was great. Food recommendations were good, generally speaking. I loved my entrée, but my friend found his a little tepid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome Cuban!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Even though this is a semi-chain, it is outstanding! We were staying in the area and stumbled upon it. Absolutely loved the tamale and a beef dish. Very authentic flavors, and the flan is not to be missed! Craving it already... if only we lived in Miami!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

no chance to try the food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2015

The service was awful. Sat for nearly 15 minutes and no staff even brought us water. Notified the manager, who then was very rude. Decided against giving any of my hard earned money and irreplaceable time to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious food! ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious food!! Fabulous mojitos!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2015

we had an amazing dining experience our waiter was great!!!....we loved

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this place. House specialty chic ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 2, 2015

I loved this place. House specialty chicken is amazing as are the mojitos. My waiter was awesome and was from Cuba and was such a joy to speak to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nite out at Havana 1957.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2015

I had a wonderful time, food was excellent and reasonably priced. I would recommend friends and family. Ambience was very nice service was great and music was awesome. The mojitos were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2015

We were here for dinner and really enjoyed it. I would recommend this to friends and family and defintely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sorry, Underwhelmed by the food

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2015

Saw a number of really good reviews for this Cuban Restaurant; Was in town for business so thought we'd give it a try. Good? Not so much... I had the Lobster the 'Enchilado de Mariscos' - it was over cooked and the secret spices in the sauce? Should have keep them secret... Chef definitely was not on his game during our visit. Just awful! Sorry... So wanted to find a good Cuban meal during our visit. Nice Mojito's though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Uneven

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Wanted to enjoy a Cuban dinner within walking distance of my Brickell area hotel and noted Havana 1957.

The restaurant itself felt a bit tired. It has both outdoor (noisy) and indoor seating. We were early so there was no one in the dining room.

We enjoyed some friend plantain chips and a pitcher of very good Sangria. Our party ordered the House Special Chicken which was really delicious. We opted for desert (coconut flan) also very good.

As we ate the restaurant got busy and the dining room filled. Service then deteriorated. We had to ask for things over and over and finally (after requesting the check repetitively), just stand up and go get the check.

I've eaten at a lot of Cuban restaurants and really enjoy the cuisine. This restaurant felt like a formula / chain. Next time I'll seek out a smaller cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.