About Havana 1957 - Brickell

Havana 1957 sets itself apart by creating a gastronomical experience that re-enacts the glorious and glamorous old Cuba of the 1950’s.
Each restaurant combines the flavors of authentic Cuban cuisine, classic music and vintage memorabilia bringing Cuba Nostalgia to each neighborhood.

1451 South Miami Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm (Also Open Late Night)
Happy Hour Everyday 4-8pm with Live Trio and After Dinner Performances Friday and Saturday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 381-6651

Website:
http://www.havana1957.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday

Happy Hour Trio
from 6PM - 10PM

After Dinner Performances
from 11PM - 2AM

Catering:
Catering and Delivery available

Private Party Facilities:
Venue available for Private Parties, please contact to Lucia Dijulio
lucia@verestaurants.com 786.527.1613

Private Party Contact:
Lucia Dijulio: (786) 527-1613

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Venue available for special events please contact to Lucia Dijulio 786.527.1613 lucia@verestaurants.com

Specials

Happy Hour - 50% Off All Drinks

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Complimentary Dessert With Your Meal

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Happy Hour - 50% Off All Drinks

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour - 50% Off All Drinks. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Complimentary Dessert With Your Meal

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

Complimentary Dessert With Your Meal. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Havana 1957 - Brickell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Live Music (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

If you want good food with a lot of people and noise, this is your place.
Seafood is a specialty and preparation of several dishes was great. Oysters were 1/2 price during happy hour but the popularity of this venue makes seating a challenge.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall disappointed with both service and food. 18% gratuity automatically added to my bill even though theservice was no good. Food was dry, waiter did not have an iterest after we ordered.
Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My colleague and I enjoyed a fantastic meal here. The mojitos were great; the empanadas were excellent; the sampler platter was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Ok don't choose the financial district for a Sunday night. If you do, come here. The live music was a treat, the food good enough (mixed starters was very bland but the main courses were enjoyed by all - especially the fish of the day).

But beware the $5 mojito scam. They are not $5 if you sit down for dinner. We complained and got some money off as we twice asked our server that they were 5.

Very enjoyable evening out though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Spent a night in Miami before boarding a cruise ship for a bachelorette weekend & had dinner here. We were a group of 6 ladies. The food, drinks & ambiance were great. I would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Parking was available, $8 for the area is cheap. Food was reasonably priced. Location was good. Decor looked authentic. Drinks (mojitos) were very good. My plate was fried pork chunks, somewhat tough and overlooked. The server, Henry, was excellent, did his best to make up for the few flaws. The appetizers (marriquitas, croquetas, etc) were better than the main dishes. I would rate a 3.5 out of 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent food and the prices were spot on. We also liked the fresh plantin chips.

Tags: Spicy, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was really good and VERY reasonably priced. It is a fun place, live music, loud, and the service was excellent. Very authentic taste.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing food and amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed Havana 1957!! We were in town, passing through, heading to Dominican Republic. The food is delicious and the staff was able to surprise my husband with a nice dessert with sparklers and chocolate decoration. We enjoyed the sampler platter (so sorry I do not recall what it's called). If I end up in Miami again, save me a seat on the patio 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

If you're from Miami, don't dine at Havana 1957.
The food is not that good and the service was just ok.
There's so many other places with better Cuban food.
We ordered white rice and beans with our meals. When the food arrived they all had congri. The waiter told us the restaurant ran out of white rice!! What???
My masitas de puerco were dry and the mojito was runny. Portions were average.
Don't waste your time & money!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Chicken Vaca Frita was sooo good!! We had a party of 8 and the service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The staff is amazing and make up for the OK food. Worth a try.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Loved this place. We dined early so it was very quiet, which I love. Our wait staff was fabulous and the food excellent!!!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The waiter was very friendly. He did "highly" suggest their specials even after I asked about a different item and he actually stated the entree that I intended to order (shredded chicken) would be dry. Appetizers, three entrees, two desserts, three drinks and $234 later... I was happy for the Cuban experience, but do not feel the food measured up to the price. PLEASE note that the gratuity is automatically added to your bill.

The previous night, my family ate at the Edge located at the Four Seasons and enjoyed a fabulous dinner that I would have paid $$$. The food and ambience exceeded the cost. Will eat there again!

Glad I had the Havana 1957 experience, but would not return.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Another terrific meal and evening at Havana 1957. As usual the food was terrific and the "skinny Cuban" menu options are a great opportunity for two people to share appetizers and a meal without having way too much food. The happy hour is always a great deal and this time the service was especially good, very friendly, cordial and accommodating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best cuban food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good value mohitos during happy hour. Terrible service - we waited for ~1 hour before even having our order taken.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome presentation of all the food, but the food was even better than the presentation

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good quality food for reasonable money. V. friendly staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome service, food delicious !!! Waitress funny and very talented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent Cuban food... exactly what we wanted on our visit to Miami.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The place was busy outside but quiet inside. Took a while for waiters to come over for our drinking order then gave our food! We ordered appetisers and a main but half hour after the order was taken our main shows up first! Apologies then the scramble to get appetisers first with the drinks. Appetisers were cold and the main that followed straight after was overcooked!
We were very disappointed with the lack of service and the quality of service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We tried a few dishes and all were delicious. A variety of spices and flavor combinations. Empenadas, cuban sandwich, real coke and rum, chicken soup, sampler, steak,....all good. Old music and lots of old history to look at while dining. The servers were very friendly too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent experience while visiting Miami. Food was wonderful and wait staff was very accommodating regarding my gluten allergy. Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Cuban style food that tastes fabulous. I ordered the House Special - rotisserie style chicken with Cuban seasonings, fried plantains, rice, black beans and a house salad. The chicken was "fall off the bone" moist and the seasonings were perfect. They also have a "skinny" menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Warm, welcoming neighborhood spot with great food and very friendly servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had dinner on the patio: cocktails, appetizers, entrees, but no desert. Everything was delicious and we would gladly eat there again. Only significant blemish on the evening was that it started to rain after we were seated and the patio isn't fully covered, so the staff had to quickly move our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good Cuban food in a fun setting with 1950's Cuba memorabilia. Our family of four had dinner while visiting Miami. Everyone enjoyed the meal and loved snacking on the plantain chips while waiting for our dinner. Our server was exceptionally friendly and helpful. A bit pricey. Convenient Brickell location and valet parking available.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice place! Cool, where people can get together, have a drink, discuss and then eat something. It is in the heart of Brickell, authentic Cuban cuisine.
Very nice Mojito.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Mediocre food. Friendly service but a little lacking in execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I had a great experiemce at this restaurant . The food was great and our waiter was very friendly and did an excellent job making sure she met any special request we had. Thank You for the delicious cuban food. I hope to come back soon to visit .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Outstanding Cuban food surrounded by memorabilia of Old Cuba and its fantastic musical history. Excellent service and the food is flavorful and abundant. They have live music on specific evenings. The ambiance is casual but you feel you are in a different time. Highly recommend to anyone looking to get an authentic Cuban experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The service was very friendly, the waiter tried to guide us to the best dishes. I didn't listen and my fillet of fish wasn't not very good. My friends meals were better.
They have live music on Friday's and Saturday's.
It was rather good. We sat outside and it was very quite though you could appreciate the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was really well prepared.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

El personal muy atento y servicial. El lugar muy bonito y tranquilo. Muy agradable para pasar un buen rato

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great food, great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the food! The waitress was responsive but not too over bearing. If I ever visit Miami again I will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.