About Havana 1957 - Brickell

Havana 1957 sets itself apart by creating a gastronomical experience that re-enacts the glorious and glamorous old Cuba of the 1950’s.
Each restaurant combines the flavors of authentic Cuban cuisine, classic music and vintage memorabilia bringing Cuba Nostalgia to each neighborhood.

1451 South Miami Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Cuban

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm (Also Open Late Night)
Happy Hour Everyday 4-8pm with Live Trio and After Dinner Performances Friday and Saturday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 381-6651

Website:
http://www.havana1957.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday

Happy Hour Trio
from 6PM - 10PM

After Dinner Performances
from 11PM - 2AM

Catering:
Catering and Delivery available

Private Party Facilities:
Venue available for Private Parties, please contact to Lucia Dijulio
lucia@verestaurants.com 786.527.1613

Private Party Contact:
Lucia Dijulio: (786) 527-1613

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Venue available for special events please contact to Lucia Dijulio 786.527.1613 lucia@verestaurants.com

Havana 1957 - Brickell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (6)
Family Style (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The waiter was very friendly. He did "highly" suggest their specials even after I asked about a different item and he actually stated the entree that I intended to order (shredded chicken) would be dry. Appetizers, three entrees, two desserts, three drinks and $234 later... I was happy for the Cuban experience, but do not feel the food measured up to the price. PLEASE note that the gratuity is automatically added to your bill.

The previous night, my family ate at the Edge located at the Four Seasons and enjoyed a fabulous dinner that I would have paid $$$. The food and ambience exceeded the cost. Will eat there again!

Glad I had the Havana 1957 experience, but would not return.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Another terrific meal and evening at Havana 1957. As usual the food was terrific and the "skinny Cuban" menu options are a great opportunity for two people to share appetizers and a meal without having way too much food. The happy hour is always a great deal and this time the service was especially good, very friendly, cordial and accommodating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Best cuban food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good value mohitos during happy hour. Terrible service - we waited for ~1 hour before even having our order taken.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Awesome presentation of all the food, but the food was even better than the presentation

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good quality food for reasonable money. V. friendly staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome service, food delicious !!! Waitress funny and very talented

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent Cuban food... exactly what we wanted on our visit to Miami.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The place was busy outside but quiet inside. Took a while for waiters to come over for our drinking order then gave our food! We ordered appetisers and a main but half hour after the order was taken our main shows up first! Apologies then the scramble to get appetisers first with the drinks. Appetisers were cold and the main that followed straight after was overcooked!
We were very disappointed with the lack of service and the quality of service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We tried a few dishes and all were delicious. A variety of spices and flavor combinations. Empenadas, cuban sandwich, real coke and rum, chicken soup, sampler, steak,....all good. Old music and lots of old history to look at while dining. The servers were very friendly too.

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent experience while visiting Miami. Food was wonderful and wait staff was very accommodating regarding my gluten allergy. Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cuban style food that tastes fabulous. I ordered the House Special - rotisserie style chicken with Cuban seasonings, fried plantains, rice, black beans and a house salad. The chicken was "fall off the bone" moist and the seasonings were perfect. They also have a "skinny" menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Warm, welcoming neighborhood spot with great food and very friendly servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had dinner on the patio: cocktails, appetizers, entrees, but no desert. Everything was delicious and we would gladly eat there again. Only significant blemish on the evening was that it started to rain after we were seated and the patio isn't fully covered, so the staff had to quickly move our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good Cuban food in a fun setting with 1950's Cuba memorabilia. Our family of four had dinner while visiting Miami. Everyone enjoyed the meal and loved snacking on the plantain chips while waiting for our dinner. Our server was exceptionally friendly and helpful. A bit pricey. Convenient Brickell location and valet parking available.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very nice place! Cool, where people can get together, have a drink, discuss and then eat something. It is in the heart of Brickell, authentic Cuban cuisine.
Very nice Mojito.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Mediocre food. Friendly service but a little lacking in execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had a great experiemce at this restaurant . The food was great and our waiter was very friendly and did an excellent job making sure she met any special request we had. Thank You for the delicious cuban food. I hope to come back soon to visit .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Outstanding Cuban food surrounded by memorabilia of Old Cuba and its fantastic musical history. Excellent service and the food is flavorful and abundant. They have live music on specific evenings. The ambiance is casual but you feel you are in a different time. Highly recommend to anyone looking to get an authentic Cuban experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The service was very friendly, the waiter tried to guide us to the best dishes. I didn't listen and my fillet of fish wasn't not very good. My friends meals were better.
They have live music on Friday's and Saturday's.
It was rather good. We sat outside and it was very quite though you could appreciate the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was really well prepared.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

El personal muy atento y servicial. El lugar muy bonito y tranquilo. Muy agradable para pasar un buen rato

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food, great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the food! The waitress was responsive but not too over bearing. If I ever visit Miami again I will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were looking to experience Cuban for while in Miami. Havana 1957 was highly rated so we took a long walk to give it a try. We were promptly seated just as they opened. At our table the water glasses were filthy with large food particles adhering to the sides of the glasses, which didn't whet the appetite. The waiter was good, but communication among the staff was lacking. For example, my wife ordered sparkling water; it was poured for her; and then another server came along and tried to pour tap water on top of it. We shared a Cuban Sampler for too, which was good, but a little heavy on the starches, which seemed to stay with us all afternoon. The drinks were good. It was pleasant to sit outside.

They should focus on simply getting basic cleanliness right. Without that, all else is suspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great authentic Cuban food! Awesome mojitos! Super waiter that recommended the perfect meal for each of our colleagues.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food,great Ambiance this restaurant is in lively NeighboNeighbourhood of Brickell .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Excellent food,beautiful place,great service,clean,awesome decorations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I took my mom here with my family, including my wife and two small children. We had a wonderful time and the service and food was great, they even brought her a special treat at the end of dinner. We loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was not worth 18% nor the Cuban food in City of Miami. Server was very nice but less than average including food. Not a place that I would drive out of my way to go too. Thank you for trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Came for lunch on my own. There were only a few other tables. Ordered lechón asado and it was very juicy and tender. The waitress was super warm and friendly. You have 2 selections of sides with any entree, despise what are listed on the menu. The bill automatically added 18% gratuity. Price is towards the high side since it's in Brickell's financial district.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a first time experience for me and the food was great. Seating was a bit challenging at first but the service made up for it. Our waiter answered our questions and provided options to satisfy our tastes which made for a great experience. We had the Enchilado de Mariscos which was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fun. Had a great visit with family. Atmosphere was fun. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great - I loved the decoration and they even play live music. Happy hour has really good $5 cocktails and the mariquitas were simply delicious and crunchy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fairly Good Cuban food. Friendly service. Slightly pricey for what they serve.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious, you will be satisfied just about with anything you order, I tried a bit of all of my family's orders, super tasty and the serve was amazing. I regret not having a mojito though. Hopefully next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Client told me food was great; only mediocre. Chicken with plantains and rice was just ok. Nothing special. Sampler appetizer was fair but nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2016

My overall experience was of an institutionalized, sloppy kitchen and indifferent attitude to customer relations. When I was seated I looked forward to ordering and tasting a citrusy, spicy fresh fish ceviche and a deeply flavorful tamale with a hunk of delicious roasted pork in the middle but instead was served a day old fish ceviche that reeked of vinegar and a tamale that disappointedly had been prepared with pork soup and contained no pieces of roasted pork. The final straw was delivered with my order for the Cuban Steak that was advertised as flank steak and turned out to be skirt steak. I complained to the manager and he begrudgingly removed the steak from my final bill but I left Havana 1957 feeling as if I was an insignificant ingredient in the big plans for Havana 1957 to become a huge
South Florida tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Cubano just ok.
Breaded chicken horrible.
Service indifferent.

Would never recommend for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.