About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK
  • Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK
  • Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We look forward to seeing you and your sweetheart February 14th!

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Casual (22)
Romantic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a very busy restaurant. Every ti ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a very busy restaurant. Every time I've dined here, the place has been packed. The Roasted Oyster appetizer was delicious. I decided on the 1 lb of King Crab as a main course. The crab turned out to be several large legs & claws, all very meaty. The crab was very tender and flavorful, as were the medley of fresh vegetables & shoestring fries that accompanied them. The server recommended the rose wine special, very refreshing. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place! One of my favorite rest ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! One of my favorite restaurants in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very delicious, but it was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very delicious, but it was about $10 overpriced for every entre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

We are pretty regular at Haute Quarter a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are pretty regular at Haute Quarter and typically order the rib eye. We've noticed a decline in the quality of the Rib Eye the past couple times we've ordered it - thinner cut of meat and not cooked to our specifications. This visit was particularly unsatisfying as the rib eye was over done and thin - what I would expect at a much lower quality dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was excellent along with the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was excellent along with the meals. We all enjoyed the atmosphere, great lighting, clean restrooms. Thanks for a fun Saturday night in Anchorage. We drove from Seward just to have dinner with a friend, you provided a fantastic fun evening for all!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food featuring Alaska grown vegeta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food featuring Alaska grown vegetables and delicious entrees. Service was excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, great atmosphere & servi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere & service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, friendly service perfect for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food, friendly service perfect for our pre-theater dinner or a nice night out on the town.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Served the best filet mignon I have ever ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Served the best filet mignon I have ever had! The food is fairly expensive, but understandably so due to the quality and creativity of the meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great food. Excellent service. Our ser ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Our server was amazing. A great experience for our office Christmas party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine, excellent food and excel ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent wine, excellent food and excellent service. Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & very good food, esp ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent service & very good food, esp the maytag blue salad. We were hoping for holiday decorations but none....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As usual, the prime rib and ahi were pre ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As usual, the prime rib and ahi were prepared perfectly. Typically the service is warm and comforting but this time our waiter appeared overwhelmed with how busy things were this night and slightly anxious. But overall it was a great experience and I fully appreciate and respect how difficult waiting can be on a Saturday nights. I'll be back❤️

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Parking is a real hassle but restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Parking is a real hassle but restaurant is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have loved Haute Quarter Grill since ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have loved Haute Quarter Grill since their Eagle River days. This is our go-to restaurants for special occasions as a couple and for when we take special family and friends out for dinner. Mark always gives great customer service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an amazing dinner, one of the best R ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was an amazing dinner, one of the best Rib-eyes I have ever had. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. We were impressed with c ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food. We were impressed with combinations of flavors and freshness. Service was friendly and efficient but a bit of a wait due to being super busy on a Friday night. We had a chef's table and really enjoyed watching the food prep and coordination. Food portions were just right. Enjoyable evening and would go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the service quite goo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good, the service quite good. It was a little noisier than I like. And it was fairly expensive compared to the food and surroundings. It was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service. It was pretty lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and service. It was pretty loud and difficult to hear my family while we were talking to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! We got a bottle of Moscato an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful! We got a bottle of Moscato and started with the French Onion soup. So good. Cant beat the rip plate with fries!! Then ended it with the creme brulee! So good and so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was disappoi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was disappointing. Description for the sauce on the blackened prime rib special and what was presented were not in the same ballpark. The entree itself was stone cold. Charcuterie was bland and lacked imagination. Gnocchi was very good. My wife' filet was good. Description said it was served with butternut squash. Turned out the butternut squash was a baby food consistency puddle on one side of the plate. It too was rather bland. First time for us there and we will not be coming back. For $200 there are many many better options out there. Sad because the service staff were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A wonderful meal and excellent cocktails ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful meal and excellent cocktails. The move from Eagle River actually seems like the place has improved just because of the ambiance. Visit here often if you live in Anchorage. Its a great choice for excellent food in town.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Our serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Our server was wonderful and the food was, as always, great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing. I loved ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. I loved the octopus appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, an outstanding meal. Our serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual, an outstanding meal. Our server wasn't the best but he was trying. We love this place; Mark is our favorite server, always polite, attentive and eager to please. Your front end is amazing, always quick to greet us and make us feel welcome. We love the fact that we always get a quiet table away from the hustle and bustle of a busy evening and that we can always get seating at the "chef's table" if we ask. We WILL be back, next week and the week after and the week after and........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love this place and have never been d ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this place and have never been disappointed in the food or service. It's our date night go-to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had great food again, fourth visit to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had great food again, fourth visit to this establishment and I have yet to find something that I or my guests do not like. They have great options for Gluten free food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten here a few times and never h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've eaten here a few times and never had a bad experience. However, had never ordered the prime rib. I had requested it medium rare, but received it medium well. I let the server know and he insisted it be sent back. He also promised a new plate in 3 minutes. My dish arrived faster than that and perfectly prepared. Excellent customer service all around. Highly recommend for a semi fancy night out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best places I've ate ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was one of the best places I've ate at since I've been here in anchorage

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this restaurant. Love t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant. Love the Pork belly dish and the many creative cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business dinner and was reall ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went for a business dinner and was really impressed with how accommodating the restaurant was with one of our members in our group who has celiac disease.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Long time customer. Food always reliably ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Long time customer. Food always reliably good. Service was a bit slow but the place was packed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a step up from the Eagle River loca ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2016

What a step up from the Eagle River location...so sad that it's not back in Eagle River. The overall look and feel was cozy and warm - love it... food amazing as ever. Our waiter did a great job.. Thanks for the great night

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere but I think we got ther ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great atmosphere but I think we got there a little late. The food was mediocre at best, the seafood was undercooked. This was not our first time dining there but it will be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Made a reservation on Open Table. Once ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Made a reservation on Open Table. Once we arrived were seated immediately. The service and food was excellent. My husband and I shared the filet. The drinks were delicious

and while proportioned. Our server was always attentive but not overbearing. We all enjoyed or evening very much.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our food was great and so was the service. I can not wait to go back and try something different. I think it will be hard to beat the pork belly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoy the food and wine. Good spot when ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoy the food and wine. Good spot when attending show at the PAC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Eaten here many times and plan to contin ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Eaten here many times and plan to continue to do so. consistently great service and amazing food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great. Service was good ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The ambience was great. Service was good also. I will go back and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.