Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 9:30 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (43)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Casual (25)
Business Meals (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (16)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Great Beer (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Always eat and drink at the bar here. Good conversation with bartenders (Tanya & Zach). Food and drinks are always very good. One of my go-to places when I'm downtown, regardless of occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We shared the New York Steak on the menu. It was tender and tasty with an amazing sauce/gravy over it. It was a nice send off from Anchorage to Scottsdale. Definitely worth the value with attentive service .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great service and delicious eats! Their appetizer selection alone are fantastic and so are their cocktails. HQG is MUST dining experience in Anchorage!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Haute Quarter! It was date night for us and the waiter was fantastic. We shared the calamari for an appetizer and I had two of the raw puss tees on the specials menu. They were fantastically fresh and delish. We shared the Caesar salad and you could tell the dressing was homemade. For dinner we shared the pork belly at the waiter's recommendation and it was very tender and tasty. One of my favorite places to go!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were so impressed from the moment we walked in the doors to when we left glowing with good food, drink and memories. So good that we came back the next night for another treat. Must-go spot. Thank you Peggy, Walter and Alex!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food, drinks, and atmosphere. Enjoyed the pork belly which was very flavorful and the mushroom ravioli which was scrumptious! Looking forward to eating here again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Good food, nice staff. A little pricy but in keeping with other highend, downtown restaurants.
Wine list is very pricy. Noisy and busy, bur worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very good meal, fresh ingredients, nice drink selection

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The Roast Duck was delicious and they had Bananas Foster for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Some of the food was excellent (calamari, fish chunks) others good but not great (ravioli, duck, scallops). Waitress was good but overall service was pretty slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was excellent, had the oysters and king crab legs. Waiter was terrific, service was great. I really enjoyed dinner, will go back again, when visiting anchorage Alaska.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We loved our experience. Super server, great food with good choices. So glad we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Menu items can be simplified and served in classic style if you are not a fan of heavy spiced items..great Alaskan crab legs but pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We went here for a birthday dinner and was completely impressed with the quality of the food and the service. They carry an extensive wine list and good selection of mixers. Similarly, the food options were sure to please any taste. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, food was excellent and the portions were appropriate. Server was friendly and attentive. Made a special night even more memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is the sixth time we have been to this restaurant and it has been consistently good every time. Food is always excellent and the service is fast and friendly. We live 60 miles away but when we come to town for an event or special occasion, this is always the place we want to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food prepared well. Very good. Lovely place. Loved the calamari!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best halibut l have ever had. The service by Mark was outstanding. Excellent!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was really excellent and service attentive. Prices advertised at $$ but really $$$. Only problem was the noise level, much too high for conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great wine, great server, great food and they were flexible with our somewhat unusual table request.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We all were very happy with food we ordered. I ordered scallops and they were delicious. I would add more sauce on the rice though. My husband had blackened steak and he was happy with it. Drinks were pretty good too. I had mojito and blood orange. Mojito was a little too sweet for me but blood orange was perfect. It is a stronger drink and it is pretty balanced in taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First time here, best experience ever. Definitely ordered the Alaskan King crab legs they are rich and delicious. We also had the copper River salmon and it was amazing as well. Sharon was a great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I think that this was the best meal that we had in Alaska. The crab legs were fantastic. Wine list was pricey but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Quality food, will be returning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great cocktail menu! Friendly service. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service and food. Never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I have a dietary restriction and asked the server if they could make the seafood pasta without the pasta and he said no problem, they added extra asparagus and it was delicious. I really appreciate them being accommodating and gracious when I asked to make the change. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 15, 2017

First time there and pleasantly surprised. My wife was very pleased and happy with the way the evening went. Server was very knowledgeable of the menu, which allowed us to make awesome choices.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I wanted to try something new and the Haute Quarter Grill did not disappoint! Everything we ordered was delicious. I recommend starting with a Manhattan and an appetizer. The calamari is great! The rib eye and mushroom ravioli are awesome and finish it with a dessert and Spanish coffee! Yum!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Haute Quarter is a go to must visit whenever we are in Anchorage now that we no longer live in AK. We love the creative food choices and the daily specials.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great place if you want to avoid the cruise ship masses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great appetizers especially the cheesy gnocchi, a must. Nice selection of entrees and well prepared.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have been patrons of Haute Quarter for many years and we will not be returning. Ever since the move to downtown Anchorage, the ambiance, service, and food have been steadily sliding downhill. We were charged for a spoonful of additional creole sauce. There was very little on the prime rib. The steamed clams are now spiced with kimchi rather than the excellent garlic broth of the past. My pasta noodles were stuck together and doughy with 3 small scallops and 4 shrimp. An overall disappointment. A true sign of the times was a nearly empty restaurant at 6 pm on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Enjoyed a truly fantastic meal at Haute Quarter Grille. Our steak was prepared perfectly, the service was outstanding, and the wine selection was very nice. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Love this place! Awesome happy hour, best cocktails and wine list in Anchorage and the staff is the awesome! Every date night or girls night this is where we go and it always hits the spot. The restaurant is clearly well run cause the service is always good and the menu never disappoints. In the summer they have an outdoor patio and for the winter they are only a block from the PAC. Haute Quarter is always my first recommendation to anyone looking for a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent, friendly, funny service! Waiter was Shawn? Food was good too! Alaskan oysters! Yum!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Such an awesome restaurant. GREAT service and even better food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always, the food and service were amazing!! They made us feel very special on our wedding anniversary! This is our absolute favorite restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They put birthday confetti on the table and that was a nice surprise. Also our server Mel was amazing!!! Wonder food and great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.