Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Casual (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

There were eight of us so we had a variety mostly prime rib. Four different desserts. Very good service. Hated having to park so far away. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

lots of great choices on menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing service for a saturday night. Can't think of one negative thing to say about my experience. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent service, food was very good and a great experience as always!
One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was out 8th anniversary dinner. I left that note on the reservation and they had a candle with some small confetti preset on our table when we got there. The waitress knew as well, which was nice. The food was fantastic- halibut was crunchy and fresh, the mushroom ravioli was filling without being too much, Caesar salad was fresh, although a little overdressed, my husband's steak was good, but the bacon with it stole the show, an desert-beignets and creme brûlée, was worth saving room for. I drank the Donkey Night Out- a hibiscus version of moscow mule, and it was delightful. Overall, we were only there for a little under an hour and a half, but it was wonderful. VERY pricey though, so not an everyday thing. Great for the special night though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were out with friends we haven't seen in awhile. Mark was very cognizant of that - attentive service without pushing us through the meal. Food was great & Mark was excellent. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

French onion soup was great! Roasted oysters were excellent as was the seared tuna which were that night's special. One of the restaurants we regularly frequent because of the food. Try the mushroom ravioli!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious, the kabobs are my favorite paired with the white cheddar risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

HQ is one of our favorites for a Friday or Saturday night wind down. Their fries rock as a starter with spicy ketchup and Buerre Blanc sauce - definitely comfort food and satisfying. There is always a steak special that usually fits the bill (ribeye is especially delish here), but also enjoy the scallops, duck confit and they usually have a special salad with fresh seasonal ingredients (like tonight the salad had apples, celery and a crab apple vinaigrette). Cocktails come quickly and are well crafted to complement a fine dining experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, great fellowship with friends. Our waiter had some of the best service I am ever experienced in Anchorage. Great job! We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is generally good. Service was terrific. Jane, our waitress, did an outstanding job. She started by asking if we were on a schedule...yes, we had a concert to ttend. Actually, we scheduled dinner early so that we wouldn't be hurried.

TO say the atmosphere was "energetic" is incorrect. It was downright VERY NOISY!!! Almost impossible to have a conversation!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time at Haute Quarter Grill - friendly and capable service from our server. The food was excellent. My wife had the scallops with buerre blanc. They were seared lightly and flavor of the entire dish was delicate and nuanced - she loved it. I had the roast duck and he shared a taste of it with my wife - the citrus flavor was bright and the skin crispy. We were there before a show at the PAC and the restaurant was filled - this is good for the restaurant but it was way too noisy for enjoying a dinner for two... I guess at this price point, was hoping for a little more quieter, intimate ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love this place! The food is always wonderful. My wife loves the steak kebabs with white cheddar risotto, while I can never make up my mind. Make a meal out of appetizers--the halibut chunks are the best in Anchorage and the gnocchi are wonderful. I am sad that they took their Brussel sprouts off the menu, though. Pretty decent wine by the glass selection. Service is always outstanding and friendly. It was Iditarod Ceremonial start day, so the place was packed. The only downside is that this space can be loud if it's crowded.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There were six of us for a pre-concert dinner. We had 5:45PM reservations and were seated right on schedule. Dinner special was great, three of us enjoyed the filet on special. Everyone liked their meals and we had plenty of time to enjoy a great meal, visit and still be on time for the concert at 8:00PM. We didn't feel rushed, pushed to get done and out of there and the service was excellent. It's one of the reasons we keep coming back.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

only found 2 scallops in my scallops shrimp pasta. Need more scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The best part was the location. Downtown just around the block from our hotel. I was not too hungry, so I ordered a Caesar's salad and a cup of seafood soup. The salad was below average lettuce, with a few tiny flavorless croutons. The dressing was unremarkable. The soup was a white sauce, full of potatoes and seafood; texture was good; taste was average. My husband had the seafood pasta. It was the night's special. He said it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fairly loud and active, maybe too much for our group. Good range of types and sizes of servings that satisfied everyone in the group. Will return for lunch to see how it is then...

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I have been a customer of the Haute Quarter Grill for quite some time, and I have never had a bad meal there. I held a family dinner at the restaurant on February 28th (Fat Tuesday) and everything was spectacular. The environment was themed to the occasion and the menu matched with wonderful Creole/Cajun offerings. My family thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My reviews are because my steak wasn't cook a the right temperature and i eat in you restaurant before and my steak was way different taste different even the presentation of the plate was different before my last time i was in love with you guys but now i don't know but thanks anyway

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went on a date with my girlfriend to celebrate Valentine's Day a few days after because she had to work all day that day and we couldn't have been more happy. We had our reservation for 8:30 and it took a little bit of time to get seated but we didn't mind the wait at all. After being seated the waiter came quickly and told us that they had a free surprise appetizer on the way to apologize for the wait. We were of course very happy with that. Our waiter introduced himself after, his name was mark and he was very knowledgeable of the menu and drinks. The food was absolutely delicious and it was some of the best service I have ever had! I would recommend it to everyone and told my parents about it and they will be there soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Eh, nothing terribly noteworthy. Solid but not outstanding. Menu needs to be changed-up from time-to-time. No specials were offered. Service capable but felt like an afterthought. Still, we'll be back. Probably just an off night.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food quality is pretty much a given. Have dined here numerous times and the wife and I have enjoyed and sampled most of the menu. Very good kitchen and maintain very high standard at a very high pace. I have never been at the restaurant when it was not close to maximum capacity. High standard throughout. Clean, great service, excellent quality, and wonderful bar. Reservations on weekends are I suspect a must. Noisy so if you want a very quiet evening look elsewhere, otherwise, an easy recommendation.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was ok. Disappointed in French onion soup - too sweet. Dessert of Bananas Foster wasn't- just bananas served over ice cream. Overall, aside from the service everything else was a disappointment and lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a nice place to spend Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I dined for Valentine's Day dinner. Our first time @ the restaurant. Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. The taste and portions for the price were perfect. The online menu and actual menu do not exactly match up and they did have a kids menu which I could not find any evidence of online. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fiance and i love this place so much! The food is great and also the staff is awesome. The staff knows their stuff. We had a photo of a steak dish from the last time we ate there and we showed the waiter it. She knew what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always outstanding. One of our favorite places to dine. Please bring the bread salad back on the menu! So disappointed it's not available any more. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Haute Quarter Grill has the most consistently delicious food we've had in Anchorage. We've been several times now and never had a disappointment with an appetizer, entree, dessert, or the service. The ribs are delicious, and even though I don't normally order creme brûlée since it's kind of boring, theirs is magically delicious. This is our go-to place for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We arrived early, and we seated right away. Mark took great care of us, was professional, knowledgeable, and concerned about our dining experience. After a minor kerfuffle, Mark quickly took care of.

I would recommend dining at Haute Quarter Grill on Fourth Avenue, and if you can have Mark as your server accept no other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went here with a group of friends as part of a girl's night. Every dish and drink we ordered was excellent, and we all had a fantastic time! There were a few small service issues (one person's order was put in incorrectly so she had to wait while the rest of us had been served and water refills were slow) but considering it was a busy Friday night, the staff were all great. For us, it was a bit pricy to be a usual haunt, but we highly recommend it for special occasions or just a night of great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappointed with the food or the service. We love celebrating our special occasions there. Only place to be.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

noise level the several times I have been there has been too high, and seating is awful. Its designed for a party of two and never more.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dinner was excellent as always! They accommodated our party of 8 flawlessly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Simply outstanding -- the food, the service and the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing experience. Hadnt been there in 10 years. last time I had been there they were still in Eagle River. The food is amazing as always. glad to see they have stuck to their identity. one of my favorite places to eat in Anchorage. Top 3 easily

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a very busy restaurant. Every time I've dined here, the place has been packed. The Roasted Oyster appetizer was delicious. I decided on the 1 lb of King Crab as a main course. The crab turned out to be several large legs & claws, all very meaty. The crab was very tender and flavorful, as were the medley of fresh vegetables & shoestring fries that accompanied them. The server recommended the rose wine special, very refreshing. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place! One of my favorite restaurants in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.