About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 10:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
17 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (89)
fit for foodies (84)
romantic (56)
See All
notable wine list (53)
hot spot (42)
neighborhood gem (32)
vibrant bar scene (28)
good for groups (24)
late-night find (23)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to restaurant

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My go to dish is the mushroom ravioli - always good and special. My wife was hoping for a halibut special and was not disappointed. Has to be prepared carefully - and was very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, and service was outstand ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was great, and service was outstanding. Had the ribeye that was cooked to profection. Our waitress was attentive , friendly and professional. Great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great place to eat. Not too bus ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a great place to eat. Not too busy but reservations are recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, drinks and service. Not sur ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, drinks and service. Not sure what else you could ask for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been customers of HQ for many year ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We've been customers of HQ for many years. We love the wine, appetizers, and especially the blackened prime rib!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if you have a larger group .... But worth every penny!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So amazing.

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time going here was a last minute change of plans for a friend and I. Boy are we ever glad the other restaurant was full. We showed up with out reservation and the hostess aid we could sit in the bar area and still be able to order from the full menu. We had an amazing time grea drinks and food. We then went home and told our husbands and took them the next weekend. They loved it as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is an awesome, comfortable place to ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an awesome, comfortable place to eat. Only problem is you can never tell if it's going to be packed or not. Recommend reservations!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Diverse Menu - hits all points

Dined on April 30, 2016

We managed a reservation at 9pm on a Friday evening and the place was still packed. Service was attentive and the server had a great approach in explaining the menu offerings and making relevant recommendations to us. My date has a severe nut allergy and not only was the kitchen accommodating the server was proactive enough to find out about nuts in all of the menu items we ordered, not just hers. Overall a great dining experience. Not cheap, but not exorbitantly expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Food and services was fabulous but the n ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and services was fabulous but the noise level is distracting for conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on April 27, 2016

It's the first time we've been to the Anchorage location. We are so sorry this restaurant left Eagle River. This time it was the same excellent food as what we had in Eagle River. It's always been OUTSTANDING in taste and in presentation. We love it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Will go again and again!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Phenomenal dishes; mushroom ravioli and blue cheese salad, calamari and jambalya were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Downtown Partnership Week Dining Deal

Dined on April 10, 2016

Saw it on Ch. 11 and thought we would try it out. We were told no deal, try the Bar Menu. Pretty insulting.Will be sure to bring it up as an 'Item' of discussion. 58 yr. Anch. resident.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Although I don't usually order pasta, I will definitely come back for the chicken mushroom pasta--outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Delicious food and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mid Week Celebration Spot On!

Dined on April 7, 2016

My 3 friends and I dined here mid-week to celebrate. The appetizer special was very nice. 2 of us had the the seafood pasta - talk about perfection! Noodles were thin and velvety, the seafood was fresh and delicious, and the sauce was perfectly balanced - not too creamy or broken or salty - just perfect. My other friends ordered steaks and were equally satisfied ~ cooked exactly as ordered and sides were all done very well. Desserts were pot de creme and berry cobbler - all freshly prepared, well-chilled, and not too sweet - just yummy! To me, it was worth every penny ~ I will be coming back when I feel like a splerging deliciously. ;-) Well done, Haute Quarter Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time going to this restaurant. Our wait staff was fabulous. She took good care of me and my two very difficult food allergies being extra sure to not expose me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were treating another couple to dinner. The wait staff was really good, though a tad slow but it was a very busy, bustling Friday night! The food was amazing. Great atmosphere! Love that it has a full bar with fun drinks to order. Wouldn't take small children, it's much more an adult, hip downtown restaurant and bar. I look forward to popping in with a friend or two to sit in the bar area to enjoy drinks and appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous Seafood Pasta

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

When I read the Seafood Pasta ingredients on the menu, I didn't want the tomatoes or capers. The server informed me that if I were to remove those, the artichokes would have to be removed also - they are all combined prior and then placed into the dish. I hesitantly agreed to keep the dish as is........I am so happy I did!!! The seafood pasta is amazing with all the included ingredients. I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were saddened by the move from Eagle River

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were saddened by the move the restaurant had made, going from Eagle River to Anchorage. But we're glad business seems to be doing well. We always enjoy dining at HQG and most times we order our faves: cab sav, blue maytag salad, med-rare pepper steaks and molten chocolate cake to wrap up the evening. I love that they have a child's menu so that our son can now can enjoy a good meal and hopefully continue to dine at HQG long after us.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, great drinks, a nice selec ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food, great drinks, a nice selection of wines. Very prompt service, knowledgeable staff. A great place to start that date night and a quick walk to the PAC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Outstanding service

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner here, Saturday, March 12, 2016 before a performance at the Performing Arts Center. We are old fans of Haute Quarter Grill since they were located out in Eagle River. The food is just as outstanding now as when they were located just north of anchorage as is the service. We shared the Duck Confit appetizer. What a dish! Tender duck, creamy cambazola cheese, tasty chutney and crostini. Very nice! My wife had the Seafood pasta and I had the Seafood Jambalaya. Both dishes were very good. My only criticism would be that they used marinated artichoke hearts in the Seafood Pasta dish. I think we would have preferred the non-marinated variety. The Jambalaya was also very tasty. Both entree's were loaded with seafood and seasoned just right. Our server was very timely with everything without hovering, was very knowledgeable about the dishes, cocktails, and wine, and was very pleasant. The Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite places for fine dining in Anchorage and this meal was one that did not disappoint. One final note here is that the Haute Quarter Grill begins serving dinner at 4:30 PM, which enabled us to have a leisurely meal and still have plenty of time to walk to the PAC. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have Eaten about everything they have to offer and have never been less than amazed! The ambiance is classy, romantic, relaxing and the service is top notch

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is good - service is hit and miss

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been to Haute Quarter Grill many times, and love the food and atmosphere. Unfortunately the service is either a hit or a miss. Some servers are excellent others leave a lot to be desired.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service

Dined on March 6, 2016

This is a great place to dine. Service is excellent, menu choices are good. Having said that, this time the noise level was way up from previous experiences. Not sure the cause of that. I still think the wines are overpriced and the $20.00 corking fee to bring a nice bottle of wine of your own is at least double what it should be. But the food was excellent, we enjoyed our dinner and our wine and had a good time. We'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

Dined on March 6, 2016

We were warmly welcomed and server was very knowledgeable about wine and menu. Salad was fresh and dinner was delicious. Since this was our first visit, really don't know too much about the restaurant as far as who would enjoy it, but we did, and when in Anchorage again will definitely visit again. Love the convenience of OpenTable. Thanks!

food4
ambience4
service4

While the food was good, the salad lacke ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

While the food was good, the salad lacked dressing/flavour. The ambiance is nice but noise got to be too loud for conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat downtown Anchorage

Dined on March 4, 2016

Haute Quarter Grill is consistently delivers great service and awesome food. The wine list is one of the best in Anchorage...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Haut Grill is hot!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We are in and out of Anchorage a lot. Haut Quarter is one of two restaurants that are musts. Food is excellent, service is wonderful (thank you Sophie), and we never feel rushed even when it's busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time here. My husband ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our first time here. My husband and I came here for our anniversary dinner and we were not disappointed. We ordered the calamari which comes with a garlic aioli sauce for our appetizer. I ordered the scallops entrée which was probably one of the best scallop dishes I've ever had. My husband ordered the filet special they offered. He said it was delicious and so very tender. For desert we split a crème brûlée which was a perfect size to split. We will for sure come back!

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Great atmosphere, subpar service

Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for a date with another couple, and though we were seated promptly it took nearly two hours to receive our food. Now I understand had we been talking and not ordered promptly, but we ordered shortly after sitting down. A larger top was seated next to us after we ordered and they were paying their bill by the time we received our food. And after all the waiting we had to send back a meal due to very rare meat, which was ordered medium well. Overall my food was tasty and I was lucky to be enjoying great company but the service was extremely lacking.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Anchorage

Dined on February 25, 2016

We absolutely love this place, and it never disappoints. The food is fantastic. Last night we shared the gnocchi and halibut appetizers with our friends and then shared entrees of scallops, prawns and the rockfish special. Each dish was wonderful. Our server, Taylor, was great. Haute Quarter has a very good wine list, and I especially like their large selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were their on a very busy night and t ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We were their on a very busy night and the service was excellent! Very attentive and the food was delivered fast and was top notch. .. very nice portions ...would definitely recommend for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and Service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was very good, prepared well and nicely presented. Our waiter Colby provided good service with the appropriate amount of attention. Our only complaint is regarding the level of noise which makes conversation difficult.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3

Pork belly is awesome! But the rest of t ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Pork belly is awesome! But the rest of the items on the plate are awful.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food.

Dined on February 20, 2016

If you want a perfect duck leg, get the duck confit appetizer. You'll be guaranteed that sublime, crackly duck fat mouth happiness. All the food flavors were good; my friend said her shrimp pasta was best she ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wished you were still in Eagle River - f ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wished you were still in Eagle River - fabulous food and aviance. Well worth the money to dine at your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute Quarter is awesome

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been going to Haute Quarter for years and always had a great experience. Everything on the menu is good I have never had anything I didn't love including cocktails! Top notch restaurant and will be back as soon as we can! Thank you Haute Quarter for years of great dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We ate at the Haute Quarter Grill on Valentine's Day. What a great dining experience. Wonderful appetizers (we had ahi tuna). The entrees were exceptional. My wife had the scallops with jasmine rice and buerre blanc sauce. I had the pepper crusted New York steak. The wine list is very good. Unfortunately, we were too full to consider dessert...but it looked wonderful. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.