Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 9:30 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Romantic (23)
Casual (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great Beer (7)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food and service were amazing!! They made us feel very special on our wedding anniversary! This is our absolute favorite restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

They put birthday confetti on the table and that was a nice surprise. Also our server Mel was amazing!!! Wonder food and great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Haute Quarter Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. There is plenty to choose from on the menu. The service and atmosphere are excellent! you get plenty of food for the price. I would go there again, anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food! Service is polite and professional. Hope to visit again on my next trip to Anchorage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Making reservations was so easy. We got seated quickly! Our waiter was knowledgeable and kept our drinks full. We are already planning our next trip to this restaurant. Highly recommended! !

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Our server was good but not up to the standard we usually get from Natalie or Mark.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Jane our waitress was exceptional. My wife dined in the sous-vide pork belly while I cleaned my roasted duck plate. The food was delectable and we thoroughly enjoyed the creative imbibery. We don't normally drive to Anchorge for dinner, but from here on out, when we do, this restaurant will be at the top of our list!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Casual, Seasonal, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Was a very good meal at a reasonable price. The service was very good and the special Alaskan Halibut was very tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always good food - love to eat here
New menu items are fun and enjoy beautiful meal presentation

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Eagle River misses you! Great food as always. I had the halibut special and my husband had the prime rib. It was all cooked to perfection. The mixed drinks and beer were all excellent. Everything was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overpriced and not very well done. Inundating everything with garlic will not change the fact that your food isn't very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good service great food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The menu was excellent the pork belly and duck on the menu we fantastic. Our favorite keep in Anchorage. Keep it up. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome service! Great food! Little noisy but was also Prom night so it was understandable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was great except for the high chairs. I would have preferred to sit at a normal height chair

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience for dining. I appreciate the new specials along with the continuity of old favorites.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great, service was terrible. I had to ask another waiter to run my card. We felt ignored. We were not even offered bread at the beginning when we sat down. I had two starving teenagers with me.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food, try the duck. Ambiance was so so, beyond that the service was great the food was great and that's what I was looking for. I will go back and I will recommend it to my friends. You can't go wrong with this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My husband and I had never been here before but decided to to try it out before seeing a play. We had a reservation for 6:15 but showed up right before 6:00 and were seated right away, our waitress came and asked for our drink order but we hadn't had a chance to look at the wine list yet so we just asked for water. By the time our waters had arrived we had already looked over the menu and knew what we wanted to drink as well as eat. Our waitress took our drink order and just walked off before we could tell her we were ready to order. We waited a good 10+ minutes for a glass of wine and a beer and ordered as soon as we got those. Our appetizer came out quickly, as well as our salads right after. However after our salad plates were picked up we waited over 20 minutes without our entrees and no one stopping by for drink refills, our waitress finally shows up again and just says she will go check on our dinners, our dinners come out about 5 minutes later and she then asks if we want any refills, we declined because we only had 15 minutes to eat before we had to leave to catch our show. We asked for a received our bill when our dinners arrived so we didn't have to sit around waiting for her to come back and check on us. The food was excellent, I had the halibut special and my husband had the seafood jambalaya, not dishes were fresh and well made, we just wish we had more than 15 minutes to eat them before having to leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The menu was creative and the meal exceptional. We enjoyed the gnocchi appetizer followed by the blue cheese salad. The filet shish-kabob was on a bed of cheese risotto; a perfect combo. Service was personable and professional. Overall, an excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dinner, but it was pretty warm in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had been wanting to try Haute Quarter Grill for awhile now, recommended by a friend of ours. So glad we did! Great food, even better service. Thank you for a great night out=)

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A great dinner with fabulous wait staff! This is our restaurant of choice downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a solid place to go with some surprises on the menu. The service is smooth and welcoming. My wife and I look forward to going again for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Never had a disappointing meal here. Dinner only. Reservation would be a smart move...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Prompt service, good wine and cocktails, great service and delicious food. Mark, our server, was very attentive and humorous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been here before. Was satisfied so came back for a nice dinner before theatre. Staff was friendly and professional.

Example: Our large, shared salad was split before serving. // Server was knowledgeable about all the store's offerings.

This is now a Go To place for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It is becoming our favorite restaurant in town when we come in for events. Love the food and the service over the top.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our pre-theater dinner. We both had salads, which were excellent, followed by entrees. The mushroom ravioli and the kabobs with risotto were both very good. We both felt there was a bit too much cheese in our entrees - making the dishes somewhat "heavy". Still good, though. There are both gluten free and vegetarian menu options.

Service was excellent - we'd definitely go again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved the specials and the appetizer we got. Service was ok, but did receive the wrong check twice which then led to getting out of the restaurant later than anticipated.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went there for our Anniversay and had the best time. We normally get the specials and we weren't disappointed. We had every course from apps to dessert and coffee. Was just great. Our server though made our night. He truly was just amazing. He was funny and personable and just was on top of everything even though he was busy. He never rushed us or made us feel we weren't special, treated like VIP. Love it so much , best server I've ever had and that's saying a
To since we go out often.
We were there 4/1/17 7pm if you could let him know how Awsome he was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious meal, excellent service. Great beers & wines. Always a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was wonderful. I had the ravioli mushrooms, which was wonderful. We had a party of five and everyone loved their food. Parking can be tricky as it is downtown. If you are a wine drinker, which we are not, it seemed like their bar was stocked up. Friendly and quick service. Cost range from $25.00 to $45.00 depending on what you order. Great desserts also. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were looking forward to having dinner with friends after it was recommended to us- We were disappointed with Haute Quarter. Service (even though it was early) was SLOW- asked for bread three times before it was brought out. Hair found in one entrée, Ahi overdone in another entrée. Clams were cold. Two of us had a few appetizers and two drinks for dinner- almost 70 with tip. Pricey for what it is. The only good thing was the Gnocchi. Don't know if we will be back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife is very picky but this is her favorite restaurant in Anchorage. The portions are generous and even the mustard is fantastic. The king crab legs were enormous and delicious. The blackened prime rib was very satisfying and cooked just the way I asked for it . Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

There were eight of us so we had a variety mostly prime rib. Four different desserts. Very good service. Hated having to park so far away. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

lots of great choices on menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing service for a saturday night. Can't think of one negative thing to say about my experience. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent service, food was very good and a great experience as always!
One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was out 8th anniversary dinner. I left that note on the reservation and they had a candle with some small confetti preset on our table when we got there. The waitress knew as well, which was nice. The food was fantastic- halibut was crunchy and fresh, the mushroom ravioli was filling without being too much, Caesar salad was fresh, although a little overdressed, my husband's steak was good, but the bacon with it stole the show, an desert-beignets and creme brûlée, was worth saving room for. I drank the Donkey Night Out- a hibiscus version of moscow mule, and it was delightful. Overall, we were only there for a little under an hour and a half, but it was wonderful. VERY pricey though, so not an everyday thing. Great for the special night though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.