Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Business Meals (17)
Romantic (17)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner, but it was pretty warm in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Had been wanting to try Haute Quarter Grill for awhile now, recommended by a friend of ours. So glad we did! Great food, even better service. Thank you for a great night out=)

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a solid place to go with some surprises on the menu. The service is smooth and welcoming. My wife and I look forward to going again for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Never had a disappointing meal here. Dinner only. Reservation would be a smart move...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Prompt service, good wine and cocktails, great service and delicious food. Mark, our server, was very attentive and humorous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been here before. Was satisfied so came back for a nice dinner before theatre. Staff was friendly and professional.

Example: Our large, shared salad was split before serving. // Server was knowledgeable about all the store's offerings.

This is now a Go To place for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It is becoming our favorite restaurant in town when we come in for events. Love the food and the service over the top.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our pre-theater dinner. We both had salads, which were excellent, followed by entrees. The mushroom ravioli and the kabobs with risotto were both very good. We both felt there was a bit too much cheese in our entrees - making the dishes somewhat "heavy". Still good, though. There are both gluten free and vegetarian menu options.

Service was excellent - we'd definitely go again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved the specials and the appetizer we got. Service was ok, but did receive the wrong check twice which then led to getting out of the restaurant later than anticipated.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went there for our Anniversay and had the best time. We normally get the specials and we weren't disappointed. We had every course from apps to dessert and coffee. Was just great. Our server though made our night. He truly was just amazing. He was funny and personable and just was on top of everything even though he was busy. He never rushed us or made us feel we weren't special, treated like VIP. Love it so much , best server I've ever had and that's saying a
To since we go out often.
We were there 4/1/17 7pm if you could let him know how Awsome he was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious meal, excellent service. Great beers & wines. Always a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was wonderful. I had the ravioli mushrooms, which was wonderful. We had a party of five and everyone loved their food. Parking can be tricky as it is downtown. If you are a wine drinker, which we are not, it seemed like their bar was stocked up. Friendly and quick service. Cost range from $25.00 to $45.00 depending on what you order. Great desserts also. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were looking forward to having dinner with friends after it was recommended to us- We were disappointed with Haute Quarter. Service (even though it was early) was SLOW- asked for bread three times before it was brought out. Hair found in one entrée, Ahi overdone in another entrée. Clams were cold. Two of us had a few appetizers and two drinks for dinner- almost 70 with tip. Pricey for what it is. The only good thing was the Gnocchi. Don't know if we will be back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife is very picky but this is her favorite restaurant in Anchorage. The portions are generous and even the mustard is fantastic. The king crab legs were enormous and delicious. The blackened prime rib was very satisfying and cooked just the way I asked for it . Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

There were eight of us so we had a variety mostly prime rib. Four different desserts. Very good service. Hated having to park so far away. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

lots of great choices on menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing service for a saturday night. Can't think of one negative thing to say about my experience. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent service, food was very good and a great experience as always!
One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was out 8th anniversary dinner. I left that note on the reservation and they had a candle with some small confetti preset on our table when we got there. The waitress knew as well, which was nice. The food was fantastic- halibut was crunchy and fresh, the mushroom ravioli was filling without being too much, Caesar salad was fresh, although a little overdressed, my husband's steak was good, but the bacon with it stole the show, an desert-beignets and creme brûlée, was worth saving room for. I drank the Donkey Night Out- a hibiscus version of moscow mule, and it was delightful. Overall, we were only there for a little under an hour and a half, but it was wonderful. VERY pricey though, so not an everyday thing. Great for the special night though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were out with friends we haven't seen in awhile. Mark was very cognizant of that - attentive service without pushing us through the meal. Food was great & Mark was excellent. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

French onion soup was great! Roasted oysters were excellent as was the seared tuna which were that night's special. One of the restaurants we regularly frequent because of the food. Try the mushroom ravioli!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious, the kabobs are my favorite paired with the white cheddar risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

HQ is one of our favorites for a Friday or Saturday night wind down. Their fries rock as a starter with spicy ketchup and Buerre Blanc sauce - definitely comfort food and satisfying. There is always a steak special that usually fits the bill (ribeye is especially delish here), but also enjoy the scallops, duck confit and they usually have a special salad with fresh seasonal ingredients (like tonight the salad had apples, celery and a crab apple vinaigrette). Cocktails come quickly and are well crafted to complement a fine dining experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, great fellowship with friends. Our waiter had some of the best service I am ever experienced in Anchorage. Great job! We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is generally good. Service was terrific. Jane, our waitress, did an outstanding job. She started by asking if we were on a schedule...yes, we had a concert to ttend. Actually, we scheduled dinner early so that we wouldn't be hurried.

TO say the atmosphere was "energetic" is incorrect. It was downright VERY NOISY!!! Almost impossible to have a conversation!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time at Haute Quarter Grill - friendly and capable service from our server. The food was excellent. My wife had the scallops with buerre blanc. They were seared lightly and flavor of the entire dish was delicate and nuanced - she loved it. I had the roast duck and he shared a taste of it with my wife - the citrus flavor was bright and the skin crispy. We were there before a show at the PAC and the restaurant was filled - this is good for the restaurant but it was way too noisy for enjoying a dinner for two... I guess at this price point, was hoping for a little more quieter, intimate ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love this place! The food is always wonderful. My wife loves the steak kebabs with white cheddar risotto, while I can never make up my mind. Make a meal out of appetizers--the halibut chunks are the best in Anchorage and the gnocchi are wonderful. I am sad that they took their Brussel sprouts off the menu, though. Pretty decent wine by the glass selection. Service is always outstanding and friendly. It was Iditarod Ceremonial start day, so the place was packed. The only downside is that this space can be loud if it's crowded.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There were six of us for a pre-concert dinner. We had 5:45PM reservations and were seated right on schedule. Dinner special was great, three of us enjoyed the filet on special. Everyone liked their meals and we had plenty of time to enjoy a great meal, visit and still be on time for the concert at 8:00PM. We didn't feel rushed, pushed to get done and out of there and the service was excellent. It's one of the reasons we keep coming back.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

only found 2 scallops in my scallops shrimp pasta. Need more scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The best part was the location. Downtown just around the block from our hotel. I was not too hungry, so I ordered a Caesar's salad and a cup of seafood soup. The salad was below average lettuce, with a few tiny flavorless croutons. The dressing was unremarkable. The soup was a white sauce, full of potatoes and seafood; texture was good; taste was average. My husband had the seafood pasta. It was the night's special. He said it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fairly loud and active, maybe too much for our group. Good range of types and sizes of servings that satisfied everyone in the group. Will return for lunch to see how it is then...

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I have been a customer of the Haute Quarter Grill for quite some time, and I have never had a bad meal there. I held a family dinner at the restaurant on February 28th (Fat Tuesday) and everything was spectacular. The environment was themed to the occasion and the menu matched with wonderful Creole/Cajun offerings. My family thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My reviews are because my steak wasn't cook a the right temperature and i eat in you restaurant before and my steak was way different taste different even the presentation of the plate was different before my last time i was in love with you guys but now i don't know but thanks anyway

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went back here a week later and got the ribs and fries. Gf and I love the fries and sauces that come with the app. Was charged extra to get those sauces with the plate of fries that came with the ribs. Still a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went on a date with my girlfriend to celebrate Valentine's Day a few days after because she had to work all day that day and we couldn't have been more happy. We had our reservation for 8:30 and it took a little bit of time to get seated but we didn't mind the wait at all. After being seated the waiter came quickly and told us that they had a free surprise appetizer on the way to apologize for the wait. We were of course very happy with that. Our waiter introduced himself after, his name was mark and he was very knowledgeable of the menu and drinks. The food was absolutely delicious and it was some of the best service I have ever had! I would recommend it to everyone and told my parents about it and they will be there soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Eh, nothing terribly noteworthy. Solid but not outstanding. Menu needs to be changed-up from time-to-time. No specials were offered. Service capable but felt like an afterthought. Still, we'll be back. Probably just an off night.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food quality is pretty much a given. Have dined here numerous times and the wife and I have enjoyed and sampled most of the menu. Very good kitchen and maintain very high standard at a very high pace. I have never been at the restaurant when it was not close to maximum capacity. High standard throughout. Clean, great service, excellent quality, and wonderful bar. Reservations on weekends are I suspect a must. Noisy so if you want a very quiet evening look elsewhere, otherwise, an easy recommendation.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was ok. Disappointed in French onion soup - too sweet. Dessert of Bananas Foster wasn't- just bananas served over ice cream. Overall, aside from the service everything else was a disappointment and lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a nice place to spend Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.