About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 10:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill
  • Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
11 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (60)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Romantic (41)
See All
Hot Spot (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful meal in Anchorage. Awesome coc ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal in Anchorage. Awesome cocktails and best wine list around town. Service was spot on and food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like everything about the place. Din ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

We like everything about the place. Dine there 10 or more times a year. Everything is great with one single exception. The wine is seriously overpriced for the selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful. The service wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner was wonderful. The service was excellent and the best part - the food was superb! They have a great wine list. The bar is fun and the drinks certainly well prepared! All in all, always a grand experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Haute Grill to celebrate ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We visited the Haute Grill to celebrate as a family and for a reunion. The grill was the perfect place to celebrate this occasion. The hostess greeted us immediately and offered to sit us right away as the rest of our party was still coming in. We made reservations ahead of time and they called 1.5 hours prior to confirm the reservation time, which was highly appreciated. Our server was friendly and shared with us the specials and made recommendations based on our particular taste preferences. The wine we had was excellent and complimented our meal perfectly. The king crab that I had was delicious and a true taste of Alaska. Portion sizes were moderate and was prepared well and was flavorful. I'd recommend folks go here to celebrate special occasions (as the noise level was appropriate to have casual conversations) and also had a nice bar area if you're on a date or for a romantic night out. I would come back here again if the occasion called for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favori ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite eateries! I have never had a bad meal there - the service is always excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

delish food, great service, overall just ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

delish food, great service, overall just enjoyed my dinner with friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I enjoyed the se ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and service. I enjoyed the service my waitress provided. Every experience there has great, regardless of the occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in anchor ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in anchorage!! The BEST food! Great service. Great atmosphere! Loved it! Definitely going again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. Quality ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service was great. Quality of the food was superb

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, the sitting was audible, ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great ambiance, the sitting was audible, the meal was prompt, the prime rib was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely experience dining at Hau ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a lovely experience dining at Haute Quarter Grill. The most recent experience was exceptional, having brought an out of town guest with us and she thoroughly enjoyed it. Arriving earlier in the evening is our preference due to the noise level being a bit elevated the busier they are; definitely not an excuse to not to go there though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food and service were bot ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always, the food and service were both AMAZING!! I love this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I visited Haute Quarter when ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I visited Haute Quarter when our flight home was cancelled. Dinner began with an innovative soup with red beans and duck confit, and a blue cheese/pear salad (standard but well executed). Entrees were mushroom ravioli with prosciutto in cream sauce (delicious) and a blackened prime rib with seafood hollandaise sauce. The prime rib was the perfect temperature and the sauce was a nice addition. Far and away the best food experience we had in Alaska during our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious - except that I b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious - except that I believe the chef dropped the cayenne jar into my jambalaya - it was so hot I could not finish it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service outstanding, as always. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service outstanding, as always. There is always something

new and interesting along with my favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local place! Terrific food, and lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great local place! Terrific food, and location downtown is very convenient. Creative use of fresh ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little spendy but good food. The servi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A little spendy but good food. The service was great! A little loud for us trying to have a date night but they were really busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Consistently great service and great foo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently great service and great food. I love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Seven of us had a wonderful relaxing din ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Seven of us had a wonderful relaxing dinner with drinks, appetizers, meals and desserts. It was a great opportunity to welcome home a family member.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Summer in Alaska is crazy with the influ ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Summer in Alaska is crazy with the influx of tourists to downtown and the Haute Quarter is in a prime location to snag a large portion of them. I believe even the most sophisticated diners will enjoy the menu. The food is always first class and this restaurant is one of my wife's and I's favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, good service, a positive expe ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, good service, a positive experience. The noise level was a little high, which made it difficult to hear by friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my absolute favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is my absolute favorite restaurant in Anchorage. Their calamari and a aioli is to die for. They always have attentive servers and excellent specials of the day. It's a little hard to find parking , as it's in the heart of downtown, but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In high school, I remember one of my eng ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

In high school, I remember one of my english teacher discussing with us the beaning of Robert Browning's line "a man's reach should exceed his grasp." This certainly sums up the Haute Grill; an ambitious menu that is full of promise, but the kitchen, unfortunately, cannot execute. I'm not saying that it was bad, just mediocre, disappointing, and certainly not really worth the price. Take for example the vegetable accompaniment of the evening; sautéed carrots and green beans. There is a line between al dente and raw. This line is unknown to the cook, just that the vegis should be "crunchy" This lack up culinary understanding was more or less pervasive. This trip (this was my second visit) I hd the pork belly sue vide, which could have been wonderful, but was rather bland and uninspired. And then there was the salad, presented with dressing on the side? Um, is this haute or Dennys?

Bright spots: The oysters were amazingly fresh and the vinaigrette just right. House made bread was very good, and the service was well meaning.

You could do worse for a meal in Anchorage, but you can do a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best prime rib anywhere. The creole seaf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best prime rib anywhere. The creole seafood sauce is to die for. Thanks for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, the food and place were all ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service, the food and place were all great. I would definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fine food, extra friendly service, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very fine food, extra friendly service, super convenient location across from the visitor center. Seems pricey but so is everything else in Anchorage! Definitely worth dining there if you are downtown and your budget allows for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was the second time that I have eat ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was the second time that I have eaten at this restaurant and was not disappointed on either occasion. I really like the lighting and decor for casual dining. We had 4 people in our party and ordered 4 different appetizers, salads, and main courses. All of the food was exceptional and filling. We were overstuffed but still needed to try the flour-less chocolate cake as a dessert. The dinner was a little spendy but in my opinion it is well worth the price for a really nice night out with friends and spouse.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently had dinner at Hau ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I recently had dinner at Haute Quarter Grill to celebrate our anniversary. It has always been one of our favorite places to dine. Once again, they did not disappoint! The service was excellent , Mark took great care of us! The ambience was perfect and the food outstanding 😊! We will be back soon with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a local spot that we frequented ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is a local spot that we frequented when operated previously as a little local diner. This was our first time in since it was remodeled and opened as a more upscale establishment. We were VERY impressed. Looks nothing like the old place; you'd never know it was anything other than what you see now. Very current, great food, fine service. We've got a new place to enjoy when we dine out! I personally ordered the prime rib, and the cook on it (medium rare, of course) was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner started out great with a love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The dinner started out great with a lovely cocktail made with blackberry, vodka and egg white, prepared well and served in the proper glassware. We kicked off our meal with a tuna poke that was delicious then entree's came out. I wasn't overly hungry so I had a gnocchi that was the perfect portion size and my partner who was hungry had a fresh caught halibut.

The disaster came at the end of the meal. We ordered the chocolate lava cake. 10 minutes go by, no cake, no follow up. 15 minutes go by, no cake, no follow up, 20 minutes go by and some server, not ours noticed us sitting and stopped by to check up, he then mentioned that there was some sort of pastry disaster happening with the cakes and it should be out. then another 5 minutes and our server, finally came to us to explain there would be no cake anytime soon but really didn't apologize or make it right by comping the drinks we ordered specifically for this cake.

So in the end I am not so hot on haute. Maybe next time when the pastry chef is failing to produce, they should have servers empowered to deal with the issue proactively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We sat for nearly 20 min before anyone e ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We sat for nearly 20 min before anyone even spoke to us. My wife was super hungry and she was ready to just walk out. I felt we should give it a few minutes more. There were tables seated after us with bread, water, drinks, appetizers, and menus already taken away!! The only thing that saved our evening was the server who finally saw us. He was very apologetic, had our appetizer and drinks out quickly and gave us a few free items. In the future Perhaps you should have a system in place to ensure that doesn't happen. However, for now, I really appreciate the hard work of your server. (I wish I remembered his name)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Haught Quarter Grill has become our favo ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Haught Quarter Grill has become our favorite go to for a special night out. Fantastic food and wine, great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all ways! Great service, gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent in all ways! Great service, great food, great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very good. Food is expensive ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waiter was very good. Food is expensive for what you get. My client's halibut was overcoooked, not good for how much you pay. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

As I have come to expect, the dining exp ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As I have come to expect, the dining experience at Haute Quarter Grill was excellent! The atmosphere was fun and the food was flavorful and filling. I miss having you out here in Eagle River, and it's well worth the drive to come into Anchorage. From the moment we walked into the restaurant we were treated like royalty and like family. The waitstaff was attentive to our needs and our waiter made recommendations before we ordered our food. Your ribeye steak is to die for! The only complaint we had was that we were so full we couldn't order dessert… 👍🏼😊

Greg Gillquist

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the last night of a 2 week trip t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was the last night of a 2 week trip touring Alaska with our daughters. There was a very noisy group of women and 2 men in the bar area who were so loud we couldn't hear each other talking. They completely dominated the bar area of the restaurant and were completely oblivious of other people dining in the restaurant. The staff did not ask them to be more considerate of other diners. We were extremely disappointed that our last evening in Alaska was ruined.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The jambalaya was very good, and the dri ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The jambalaya was very good, and the drink options were extensive as well, including a long list of single malts.

Service was great and the atmosphere was energetic but easy to talk through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great en ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great entrees too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our part of 3 couples, were out for an e ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

our part of 3 couples, were out for an evening of fine dining and drinks. our server was very knowledgeable about favorites and pairings of wine with our different meals. Everything that the server suggested was excellent. the prices were reasonable, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service we received was fantastic, o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service we received was fantastic, our server was knowledgeable, personable, and attentive. We made reservations for 7pm, arrived early, and we were seated right away on a Friday night. I am not exaggerating when I say it was probably the best steak I've had in my life, and they have my favorite beer on tap. It's worth braving parking issues downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.