Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5 - 9 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5 - 10 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Casual (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (20)
Romantic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Great Beer (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Another FABULOUS meal. Took clients and they loved it! Thank you!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Lovely, overall. Great service. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is great. The raw oysters from local oyster farms are delicious. The fresh catch of the day was spectacular. The bar has friendly staff and great service. The noise level is very loud. This place gets crowded on weekends. Recommend you go on a week night. But, the upside to the crowds, "the food must be good"!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The waiter was not friendly, was slow and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a lovely dinner, the service was fantastic, and the food was fabulous. I'd definitely recommend stopping in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Halibut over cooked. Garden salad good. Overpriced and mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food and outstanding service. Highly recommended

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service was perfect. Kim was very attentive and had a wonderful welcoming personality.
Food was excellent. My husband and I shared a wedge salad then we each had the filet mignon special. This was a beautiful tender cut of steak on mashed potatoes with cab reduction under it. On the steak was a walnut butter and a pear. Excellent. And beautifully played.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service always superb and friendly with Mark. Enjoy the chefs variations with the seasonal salads and they know how to cook scallops to perfection! This restaurant is always a 'must go to' on my yearly trip to Anchorage!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Salads as first course were welcomed by all. Entres disappeared with quick relish. Deserts were found adequate but lacking in choice. Service was a little slow but very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 30, 2017

4th visit. Still wonderful. I like the 2 person booths for date night. The food presentation is great and the food is better.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

A regular spot for meeting special friends. Great food, ambiance, and service. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were seated at the Chef's table with a great view of the kitchen. Staff were polite and professional. Our NYC guests commented that this venue was like a place out of midtown Manhattan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My husband and I were wrapping up our Alaska vacation with one more dinner out, and this was a great choice! From the friendly, prompt service to the well-made, tasty drinks to the delicious dinner, everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love it!! We love going to dinner there!! Great food and wine!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Prime rib was recommended and certainly was a high ranking meal. Quite the plate for you big eaters. Also, mushroom ravioli bursted with many different flavors, and oysters with a red pepper vinaigrette complimented the overall experience. Very comfortable, and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and service. Had the seafood pasta which was very tasty and with fresh ingredients. Very filling.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My boyfriend and I made a reservation for Haute Quarter Grill in order to celebrate a promotion. We love the outstanding cuisine and consistently stellar service. The ambiance is beautiful too. There was a large party of young persons who made for a very loud environment on that particular night, but it's understandable they were having a great time. We will most certainly return for future celebrations. The bubbly was fabulous and the dining was exquisite!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was good though a bit over priced. We both had a seafood dish which was cooked to perfection and a great variety but would have preferred less tomatoe flavor. The major downside was the noise - could hardly hear yourself! I've lived here all my life so I've eaten all over this town, not sure if I would go back. However, everybody is different so you should try it yourself and make your own decision. You may love it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food- every course! And great service too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was great and everyone - from the front to the waiter - was extremely friendly. Food was terrific! It was a little noisy (Friday evening) but the high-backed booths helped provide privacy and made it so we could hear each other without issue. I love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. We always order the scallop or duck entrees. Delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and waiter was very attentive but not obnoxious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had great service, and food was a good selection of varied for any type of food group. Full well rounded menu. Nice wine selection... basic - fine wine list. Ambience was moving just right.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was amazing. And service was impeccable. My girlfriend and I went for the first time the other night for an anniversary dinner and were blown away. It exceeded my expectations by leaps and bounds. We ordered the seafood pasta and a ribeye for myself. The locally made pasta was flawless and my steak was cooked perfectly. Great wine and beer list too. Mostly specializing in local beers. Also had a well crafted cocktail menu. We are going back for another meal without question and I would highly reccomend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went here on a date night and had a great time! Our server was great and food was hot, tasty and perfect as always. Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite places to go to and never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food Service was slow, but server was friendly. Spent about $150.00 for three meals. Over all a decent meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of our 2 favorite places, everything is always fantastic, especially seafood and aged beef and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had one night in Anchorage and wanted to go to a good local restaurant that wasn't full of tourists. This was a good find. Obviously very popular with locals, very pleasant service and a good vibe. We had the halibut special which was a delicious meal. $34.
We would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very good meal, great service & a good vibe! Somewhat pricey. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had not been here in a year or so and then went two nights in a row. The first was for a family dinner for six (it's my younger brother's favorite restaurant) and the next night with good friends ( a couple) who are foodies from Louisiana. They had not been before and wanted to try it. Both nights the food was wonderful, the service was wonderful and the ambience was nice. The wine list has something for everyone, both in terms of taste and pricing. This is one of the only restaurants I know of in Anchorage that can make a good martini that isn't dilute. I can recommend the Roast Duck and the Scallops ... my little brother swears by the Blackened Prime Rib. Our server highly recommended and my husband had the Seafood Pasta which was lovely- even though I'm low carb, I will get that next time, because it is a soft, complex, beautiful dish and will be worth every wheat-filled bite. : ) Looking forward to it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was outstanding and highly knowledgeable, making our dining experience even better than it would've been just based on the great ambiance and fantastic food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

What a great experience. The food was amazing and so was the service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I've dined here a number of times since Haute Quarter Grill opened in downtown Anchorage. We had a good, knowledgeable and attentive server, good food and a nice bottle of wine. But what I really appreciated was that, when I was distracted and missed my own math error on my credit card receipt before leaving, the staff later corrected it to ensure the server was properly tipped, but I wasn't overcharged because of my carelessness. Good, honest service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great meal! We had a large group, but the accommodations were great. The food was terrific, and served in reasonably timely manner - particularly given the crowd. Staff was very understanding in terms of our groups staggered arrival. Overall a terrific dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

This place is awesome. Amazing food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere. We have eaten here multiple times and have always had the same excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food and wine selection. Staff is friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Nice environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We ordered a bottle of wine, cocktails, apps, dinner, and dessert at our visit. The hostess came over, snorted and rolled her eyes multiple times making us feel unwelcome and that we needed to "hurry our dessert." It was an uncomfortable atmosphere due to the staff behavior.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Haute Quarter Grill is a favorite for my boyfriend and I. It's one of our first choices when we have someone visiting that has never been there before. Food and service are always exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.