About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill
  • Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
12 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Romantic (41)
See All
Hot Spot (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Good for a Date (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing! It was my first ti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing! It was my first time ever eating there, and I can't wait the go back! Service was perfect! Our waiter was there when we needrd him and had quick great service!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service as always! It w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and service as always! It was great to see the owner help out his staff by carrying dirty dishes! Not many would do that! He also chatted with his guests. Great experience! I love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice choice for dinner before t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a nice choice for dinner before the symphony. The waiter was attentive to our need to enjoy conversation, but be finished on a timely basis. It is always a very noisy place, but a nice menu and a cute decor.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently good food and service at th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently good food and service at the Haute Quarter Grill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm from out of town, but come to Anchor ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I'm from out of town, but come to Anchorage several times a year, but I've never been to HQG before! The meal was one of the best I've had in quite some time. I ordered the bleu cheese salad and prime rib. I thought it was fabulous! But the best part of the evening was the service!! My server greeted me as if she knew me and hadn't seen me in years! She was very friendly and happy! I enjoyed my time at HQG very much! Will I be back? Absolutely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a casual but well prepared me ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We enjoyed a casual but well prepared meal with excellent service from Mark. The atmosphere is comfortable and the menu offered many options for differing tastes. I saw at least 10 items on the menu I want to go back and try. HQ Grill is a good value for the quality of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had seafood jambalaya and special fil ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had seafood jambalaya and special filet mignon. Both were scrumptious! Service was great, atmosphere was relaxing and tasteful, and the restroom was clean and tidy (often the restroom is indicative of the sanitation and food safety practices in the kitchen).

We miss them in Eagle River and downtown parking sucks, but we will go again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't remember our waiter's name, but ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I don't remember our waiter's name, but he was the best. He had the perfect balance of letting us eat and asking if we needed anything. Very attentive. Food was delicious, as always. I got the scallops for my entree and my salad was a little overdressed. But other than that, everything was perfect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great place to meet for dinner ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was a great place to meet for dinner before heading to the PAC for a show. Nice place. We were seated at a high top table which was not the best but made it work, otherwise all was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining at "Haute" and ha ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We always enjoy dining at "Haute" and have been there many times dating back to their former location in Eagle River. The food is reliably good, great wine list, friendly staff and the downtown location is great for dinner prior to an event at the Performing Arts Center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our dinner here the other ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here the other night. The food and the service was outstanding and the fact that they ask us if we were going to the theater before we even sat down was really nice. I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly, our waiter was ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were seated promptly, our waiter was great, food delisious. Couldn't ask for anything more. Would recommend. The fresh oysters were awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place but it is pretty noisy ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love this place but it is pretty noisy and loud!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my favorite place for a night ou ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is my favorite place for a night out in Anchorage; just the right balance of comfort and pizazz in their food, classy and friendly in their service, privacy and party in the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night! This place is doing ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

What a great night! This place is doing it right!!! Great service, wonderful food, best cocktail and wine list in Anchorage!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh & Fun atmosphere with so many grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fresh & Fun atmosphere with so many great food choices it is difficult to select only one! This "problem" is remedied with return visits, which is what we plan to do. Servers are professionally friendly and don't cross that line of wanting to by your new friend- I value this a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at Haute Q ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our first experience at Haute Quarter Grill. We will definitely return. We had the most delicious grilled Alaskan oysters to start. Followed up with the bread salad. Great! We had a seafood pasta dish and the jambalaya. Both fantastic!!! The portions were quite adequate, enough that we weren't able to try dessert!! The service was also very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! The roasted garlic appetize ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food! The roasted garlic appetizer is a must order. This is in Anchorage, AK, so $$ is more expensive than the lower 48.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very enjoyable time. The waitr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a very enjoyable time. The waitress was knowledgeable and superb. We will go again. Our party of eight all enjoyed their food. One member would not order the hog belly again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing! We were celebra ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was amazing! We were celebrating a birthday and the restaurant had special candles and confetti on the table. Mel was lovely and took great care of us.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining experience with very ni ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent Dining experience with very nice menu options and wine list. We had not been before but our friends had and recommended it to us. Price was just about right. I will go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers need more variety. Underwhelm ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Appetizers need more variety. Underwhelming . Calamari was too lumpy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

What a great night! We were warmly welco ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

What a great night! We were warmly welcomed and seated by the manager, our server Mel was top notch, food was excellent- pepper steak is my husbands favorite and theirs didn't disappoint, I had a couple questions about wine that the manager (sorry can't remember her name...I think Kimberly) helped find me a perfect bottle. From start to finish this place shined. Can't wait to return with friends :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal in Anchorage. Awesome coc ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful meal in Anchorage. Awesome cocktails and best wine list around town. Service was spot on and food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like everything about the place. Din ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We like everything about the place. Dine there 10 or more times a year. Everything is great with one single exception. The wine is seriously overpriced for the selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful. The service wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful. The service was excellent and the best part - the food was superb! They have a great wine list. The bar is fun and the drinks certainly well prepared! All in all, always a grand experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Haute Grill to celebrate ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We visited the Haute Grill to celebrate as a family and for a reunion. The grill was the perfect place to celebrate this occasion. The hostess greeted us immediately and offered to sit us right away as the rest of our party was still coming in. We made reservations ahead of time and they called 1.5 hours prior to confirm the reservation time, which was highly appreciated. Our server was friendly and shared with us the specials and made recommendations based on our particular taste preferences. The wine we had was excellent and complimented our meal perfectly. The king crab that I had was delicious and a true taste of Alaska. Portion sizes were moderate and was prepared well and was flavorful. I'd recommend folks go here to celebrate special occasions (as the noise level was appropriate to have casual conversations) and also had a nice bar area if you're on a date or for a romantic night out. I would come back here again if the occasion called for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Haute Quarter Grill was wo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner at Haute Quarter Grill was wonderful! It was very easy to make a reservation on line. Our service was attentive without being overbearing. The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. I particularly enjoyed the layering of flavors which tempted my appetite. Portions were just the right size for me and my party.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favori ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite eateries! I have never had a bad meal there - the service is always excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

delish food, great service, overall just ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

delish food, great service, overall just enjoyed my dinner with friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I enjoyed the se ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and service. I enjoyed the service my waitress provided. Every experience there has great, regardless of the occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in anchor ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in anchorage!! The BEST food! Great service. Great atmosphere! Loved it! Definitely going again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. Quality ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service was great. Quality of the food was superb

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, the sitting was audible, ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great ambiance, the sitting was audible, the meal was prompt, the prime rib was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely experience dining at Hau ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a lovely experience dining at Haute Quarter Grill. The most recent experience was exceptional, having brought an out of town guest with us and she thoroughly enjoyed it. Arriving earlier in the evening is our preference due to the noise level being a bit elevated the busier they are; definitely not an excuse to not to go there though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food and service were bot ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always, the food and service were both AMAZING!! I love this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I visited Haute Quarter when ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I visited Haute Quarter when our flight home was cancelled. Dinner began with an innovative soup with red beans and duck confit, and a blue cheese/pear salad (standard but well executed). Entrees were mushroom ravioli with prosciutto in cream sauce (delicious) and a blackened prime rib with seafood hollandaise sauce. The prime rib was the perfect temperature and the sauce was a nice addition. Far and away the best food experience we had in Alaska during our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious - except that I b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious - except that I believe the chef dropped the cayenne jar into my jambalaya - it was so hot I could not finish it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service outstanding, as always. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service outstanding, as always. There is always something

new and interesting along with my favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local place! Terrific food, and lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great local place! Terrific food, and location downtown is very convenient. Creative use of fresh ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.