About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Casual (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

I went on a date with my girlfriend to celebrate Valentine's Day a few days after because she had to work all day that day and we couldn't have been more happy. We had our reservation for 8:30 and it took a little bit of time to get seated but we didn't mind the wait at all. After being seated the waiter came quickly and told us that they had a free surprise appetizer on the way to apologize for the wait. We were of course very happy with that. Our waiter introduced himself after, his name was mark and he was very knowledgeable of the menu and drinks. The food was absolutely delicious and it was some of the best service I have ever had! I would recommend it to everyone and told my parents about it and they will be there soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

Eh, nothing terribly noteworthy. Solid but not outstanding. Menu needs to be changed-up from time-to-time. No specials were offered. Service capable but felt like an afterthought. Still, we'll be back. Probably just an off night.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Food quality is pretty much a given. Have dined here numerous times and the wife and I have enjoyed and sampled most of the menu. Very good kitchen and maintain very high standard at a very high pace. I have never been at the restaurant when it was not close to maximum capacity. High standard throughout. Clean, great service, excellent quality, and wonderful bar. Reservations on weekends are I suspect a must. Noisy so if you want a very quiet evening look elsewhere, otherwise, an easy recommendation.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was ok. Disappointed in French onion soup - too sweet. Dessert of Bananas Foster wasn't- just bananas served over ice cream. Overall, aside from the service everything else was a disappointment and lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a nice place to spend Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I dined for Valentine's Day dinner. Our first time @ the restaurant. Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. The taste and portions for the price were perfect. The online menu and actual menu do not exactly match up and they did have a kids menu which I could not find any evidence of online. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fiance and i love this place so much! The food is great and also the staff is awesome. The staff knows their stuff. We had a photo of a steak dish from the last time we ate there and we showed the waiter it. She knew what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always outstanding. One of our favorite places to dine. Please bring the bread salad back on the menu! So disappointed it's not available any more. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Haute Quarter Grill has the most consistently delicious food we've had in Anchorage. We've been several times now and never had a disappointment with an appetizer, entree, dessert, or the service. The ribs are delicious, and even though I don't normally order creme brûlée since it's kind of boring, theirs is magically delicious. This is our go-to place for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We arrived early, and we seated right away. Mark took great care of us, was professional, knowledgeable, and concerned about our dining experience. After a minor kerfuffle, Mark quickly took care of.

I would recommend dining at Haute Quarter Grill on Fourth Avenue, and if you can have Mark as your server accept no other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went here with a group of friends as part of a girl's night. Every dish and drink we ordered was excellent, and we all had a fantastic time! There were a few small service issues (one person's order was put in incorrectly so she had to wait while the rest of us had been served and water refills were slow) but considering it was a busy Friday night, the staff were all great. For us, it was a bit pricy to be a usual haunt, but we highly recommend it for special occasions or just a night of great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappointed with the food or the service. We love celebrating our special occasions there. Only place to be.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

noise level the several times I have been there has been too high, and seating is awful. Its designed for a party of two and never more.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dinner was excellent as always! They accommodated our party of 8 flawlessly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Simply outstanding -- the food, the service and the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing experience. Hadnt been there in 10 years. last time I had been there they were still in Eagle River. The food is amazing as always. glad to see they have stuck to their identity. one of my favorite places to eat in Anchorage. Top 3 easily

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a very busy restaurant. Every time I've dined here, the place has been packed. The Roasted Oyster appetizer was delicious. I decided on the 1 lb of King Crab as a main course. The crab turned out to be several large legs & claws, all very meaty. The crab was very tender and flavorful, as were the medley of fresh vegetables & shoestring fries that accompanied them. The server recommended the rose wine special, very refreshing. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place! One of my favorite restaurants in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very delicious, but it was about $10 overpriced for every entre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are pretty regular at Haute Quarter and typically order the rib eye. We've noticed a decline in the quality of the Rib Eye the past couple times we've ordered it - thinner cut of meat and not cooked to our specifications. This visit was particularly unsatisfying as the rib eye was over done and thin - what I would expect at a much lower quality dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was excellent along with the meals. We all enjoyed the atmosphere, great lighting, clean restrooms. Thanks for a fun Saturday night in Anchorage. We drove from Seward just to have dinner with a friend, you provided a fantastic fun evening for all!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food featuring Alaska grown vegetables and delicious entrees. Service was excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere & service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food, friendly service perfect for our pre-theater dinner or a nice night out on the town.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Served the best filet mignon I have ever had! The food is fairly expensive, but understandably so due to the quality and creativity of the meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Our server was amazing. A great experience for our office Christmas party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent wine, excellent food and excellent service. Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent service & very good food, esp the maytag blue salad. We were hoping for holiday decorations but none....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As usual, the prime rib and ahi were prepared perfectly. Typically the service is warm and comforting but this time our waiter appeared overwhelmed with how busy things were this night and slightly anxious. But overall it was a great experience and I fully appreciate and respect how difficult waiting can be on a Saturday nights. I'll be back❤️

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Parking is a real hassle but restaurant is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have loved Haute Quarter Grill since their Eagle River days. This is our go-to restaurants for special occasions as a couple and for when we take special family and friends out for dinner. Mark always gives great customer service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was an amazing dinner, one of the best Rib-eyes I have ever had. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food. We were impressed with combinations of flavors and freshness. Service was friendly and efficient but a bit of a wait due to being super busy on a Friday night. We had a chef's table and really enjoyed watching the food prep and coordination. Food portions were just right. Enjoyable evening and would go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good, the service quite good. It was a little noisier than I like. And it was fairly expensive compared to the food and surroundings. It was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and service. It was pretty loud and difficult to hear my family while we were talking to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful! We got a bottle of Moscato and started with the French Onion soup. So good. Cant beat the rip plate with fries!! Then ended it with the creme brulee! So good and so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was disappointing. Description for the sauce on the blackened prime rib special and what was presented were not in the same ballpark. The entree itself was stone cold. Charcuterie was bland and lacked imagination. Gnocchi was very good. My wife' filet was good. Description said it was served with butternut squash. Turned out the butternut squash was a baby food consistency puddle on one side of the plate. It too was rather bland. First time for us there and we will not be coming back. For $200 there are many many better options out there. Sad because the service staff were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful meal and excellent cocktails. The move from Eagle River actually seems like the place has improved just because of the ambiance. Visit here often if you live in Anchorage. Its a great choice for excellent food in town.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Our server was wonderful and the food was, as always, great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. I loved the octopus appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual, an outstanding meal. Our server wasn't the best but he was trying. We love this place; Mark is our favorite server, always polite, attentive and eager to please. Your front end is amazing, always quick to greet us and make us feel welcome. We love the fact that we always get a quiet table away from the hustle and bustle of a busy evening and that we can always get seating at the "chef's table" if we ask. We WILL be back, next week and the week after and the week after and........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this place and have never been disappointed in the food or service. It's our date night go-to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had great food again, fourth visit to this establishment and I have yet to find something that I or my guests do not like. They have great options for Gluten free food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've eaten here a few times and never had a bad experience. However, had never ordered the prime rib. I had requested it medium rare, but received it medium well. I let the server know and he insisted it be sent back. He also promised a new plate in 3 minutes. My dish arrived faster than that and perfectly prepared. Excellent customer service all around. Highly recommend for a semi fancy night out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was one of the best places I've ate at since I've been here in anchorage

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant. Love the Pork belly dish and the many creative cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went for a business dinner and was really impressed with how accommodating the restaurant was with one of our members in our group who has celiac disease.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.