About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 10:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill
  • Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
15 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (68)
fit for foodies (63)
romantic (42)
See All
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seven of us had a wonderful relaxing din ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Seven of us had a wonderful relaxing dinner with drinks, appetizers, meals and desserts. It was a great opportunity to welcome home a family member.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Summer in Alaska is crazy with the influ ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Summer in Alaska is crazy with the influx of tourists to downtown and the Haute Quarter is in a prime location to snag a large portion of them. I believe even the most sophisticated diners will enjoy the menu. The food is always first class and this restaurant is one of my wife's and I's favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, good service, a positive expe ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, good service, a positive experience. The noise level was a little high, which made it difficult to hear by friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my absolute favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is my absolute favorite restaurant in Anchorage. Their calamari and a aioli is to die for. They always have attentive servers and excellent specials of the day. It's a little hard to find parking , as it's in the heart of downtown, but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In high school, I remember one of my eng ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

In high school, I remember one of my english teacher discussing with us the beaning of Robert Browning's line "a man's reach should exceed his grasp." This certainly sums up the Haute Grill; an ambitious menu that is full of promise, but the kitchen, unfortunately, cannot execute. I'm not saying that it was bad, just mediocre, disappointing, and certainly not really worth the price. Take for example the vegetable accompaniment of the evening; sautéed carrots and green beans. There is a line between al dente and raw. This line is unknown to the cook, just that the vegis should be "crunchy" This lack up culinary understanding was more or less pervasive. This trip (this was my second visit) I hd the pork belly sue vide, which could have been wonderful, but was rather bland and uninspired. And then there was the salad, presented with dressing on the side? Um, is this haute or Dennys?

Bright spots: The oysters were amazingly fresh and the vinaigrette just right. House made bread was very good, and the service was well meaning.

You could do worse for a meal in Anchorage, but you can do a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best prime rib anywhere. The creole seaf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best prime rib anywhere. The creole seafood sauce is to die for. Thanks for a great dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, the food and place were all ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service, the food and place were all great. I would definitely go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fine food, extra friendly service, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very fine food, extra friendly service, super convenient location across from the visitor center. Seems pricey but so is everything else in Anchorage! Definitely worth dining there if you are downtown and your budget allows for it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was the second time that I have eat ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was the second time that I have eaten at this restaurant and was not disappointed on either occasion. I really like the lighting and decor for casual dining. We had 4 people in our party and ordered 4 different appetizers, salads, and main courses. All of the food was exceptional and filling. We were overstuffed but still needed to try the flour-less chocolate cake as a dessert. The dinner was a little spendy but in my opinion it is well worth the price for a really nice night out with friends and spouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently had dinner at Hau ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I recently had dinner at Haute Quarter Grill to celebrate our anniversary. It has always been one of our favorite places to dine. Once again, they did not disappoint! The service was excellent , Mark took great care of us! The ambience was perfect and the food outstanding 😊! We will be back soon with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a local spot that we frequented ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is a local spot that we frequented when operated previously as a little local diner. This was our first time in since it was remodeled and opened as a more upscale establishment. We were VERY impressed. Looks nothing like the old place; you'd never know it was anything other than what you see now. Very current, great food, fine service. We've got a new place to enjoy when we dine out! I personally ordered the prime rib, and the cook on it (medium rare, of course) was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner started out great with a love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The dinner started out great with a lovely cocktail made with blackberry, vodka and egg white, prepared well and served in the proper glassware. We kicked off our meal with a tuna poke that was delicious then entree's came out. I wasn't overly hungry so I had a gnocchi that was the perfect portion size and my partner who was hungry had a fresh caught halibut.

The disaster came at the end of the meal. We ordered the chocolate lava cake. 10 minutes go by, no cake, no follow up. 15 minutes go by, no cake, no follow up, 20 minutes go by and some server, not ours noticed us sitting and stopped by to check up, he then mentioned that there was some sort of pastry disaster happening with the cakes and it should be out. then another 5 minutes and our server, finally came to us to explain there would be no cake anytime soon but really didn't apologize or make it right by comping the drinks we ordered specifically for this cake.

So in the end I am not so hot on haute. Maybe next time when the pastry chef is failing to produce, they should have servers empowered to deal with the issue proactively.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We sat for nearly 20 min before anyone e ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We sat for nearly 20 min before anyone even spoke to us. My wife was super hungry and she was ready to just walk out. I felt we should give it a few minutes more. There were tables seated after us with bread, water, drinks, appetizers, and menus already taken away!! The only thing that saved our evening was the server who finally saw us. He was very apologetic, had our appetizer and drinks out quickly and gave us a few free items. In the future Perhaps you should have a system in place to ensure that doesn't happen. However, for now, I really appreciate the hard work of your server. (I wish I remembered his name)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Haught Quarter Grill has become our favo ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Haught Quarter Grill has become our favorite go to for a special night out. Fantastic food and wine, great service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all ways! Great service, gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent in all ways! Great service, great food, great ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very good. Food is expensive ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waiter was very good. Food is expensive for what you get. My client's halibut was overcoooked, not good for how much you pay. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

As I have come to expect, the dining exp ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As I have come to expect, the dining experience at Haute Quarter Grill was excellent! The atmosphere was fun and the food was flavorful and filling. I miss having you out here in Eagle River, and it's well worth the drive to come into Anchorage. From the moment we walked into the restaurant we were treated like royalty and like family. The waitstaff was attentive to our needs and our waiter made recommendations before we ordered our food. Your ribeye steak is to die for! The only complaint we had was that we were so full we couldn't order dessert… 👍🏼😊

Greg Gillquist

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the last night of a 2 week trip t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was the last night of a 2 week trip touring Alaska with our daughters. There was a very noisy group of women and 2 men in the bar area who were so loud we couldn't hear each other talking. They completely dominated the bar area of the restaurant and were completely oblivious of other people dining in the restaurant. The staff did not ask them to be more considerate of other diners. We were extremely disappointed that our last evening in Alaska was ruined.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The jambalaya was very good, and the dri ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The jambalaya was very good, and the drink options were extensive as well, including a long list of single malts.

Service was great and the atmosphere was energetic but easy to talk through.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great en ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great entrees too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our part of 3 couples, were out for an e ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

our part of 3 couples, were out for an evening of fine dining and drinks. our server was very knowledgeable about favorites and pairings of wine with our different meals. Everything that the server suggested was excellent. the prices were reasonable, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service we received was fantastic, o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service we received was fantastic, our server was knowledgeable, personable, and attentive. We made reservations for 7pm, arrived early, and we were seated right away on a Friday night. I am not exaggerating when I say it was probably the best steak I've had in my life, and they have my favorite beer on tap. It's worth braving parking issues downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice place, quality food for the mo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very nice place, quality food for the money!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Dinner was good. My wife had the crab and really enjoyed it. I had the lamb which was a bit too gamey for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose "Haute Quarter Grill" from the Ope ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Chose "Haute Quarter Grill" from the Open Table scoring and reviews as well as proximity to our hotel. What a great decision!!! Everything was amazing! Waitstaff, food, service ambience - we loved it all! Halibut, salmon matched with a wonderful "J" Chardonnay! Couldn't have done better! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great background music, awesome service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great background music, awesome service & food was phenominal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't order the prime rib. Worst cut of ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Don't order the prime rib. Worst cut of beef ever. When we complained,waiter, after conferring with chef said we were cutting the meat wrong, then said it was our fault for ordering it cooked medium well. Worst service experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great seafood and steak. Good service - ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great seafood and steak. Good service - not too much or too little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Relax and enjoy this food and service.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Exceptionally good service and excellent food. Relaxing. No need to hesitate, it's dining and drinks done right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I thought everything was very good. The staff was professional and friendly. The atmosphere was classy without being stifling. There was lots interesting food and beverage choices on the menus. Our table had a beer, a cocktail, wine, gnocchi, soup, two prime rib steaks (one blackened) and mushroom ravioli. All were promptly served. Everything was tasty. The only drawback for me was the prices, $135 for our three dinners. I guess that's not too crazy, but definitely not something that I, personally, can stomach more often than once in a blue moon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I definitely recommend

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had one night to spend in Anchorage, checked out Open Table and found Haute Quarter Grill an easy walk from our hotel. The food and service were great. Place has a nice vibe. Nice wine list. I had halibut grilled and my friend had the halibut bites (fried) - they were both excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our go to restaurant

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My go to dish is the mushroom ravioli - always good and special. My wife was hoping for a halibut special and was not disappointed. Has to be prepared carefully - and was very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, and service was outstand ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was great, and service was outstanding. Had the ribeye that was cooked to profection. Our waitress was attentive , friendly and professional.

Great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great place to eat. Not too bus ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a great place to eat. Not too busy but reservations are recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, drinks and service. Not sur ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, drinks and service. Not sure what else you could ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been customers of HQ for many year ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We've been customers of HQ for many years. We love the wine, appetizers, and especially the blackened prime rib!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if y ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if you have a larger group .... But worth every penny!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

So amazing.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

First time going here was a last minute change of plans for a friend and I. Boy are we ever glad the other restaurant was full. We showed up with out reservation and the hostess aid we could sit in the bar area and still be able to order from the full menu. We had an amazing time grea drinks and food. We then went home and told our husbands and took them the next weekend. They loved it as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an awesome, comfortable place to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an awesome, comfortable place to eat. Only problem is you can never tell if it's going to be packed or not. Recommend reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.