About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 - 10:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill
  • Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill
Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
15 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (71)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (43)
See All
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (32)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

It was the last night of a 2 week trip t ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was the last night of a 2 week trip touring Alaska with our daughters. There was a very noisy group of women and 2 men in the bar area who were so loud we couldn't hear each other talking. They completely dominated the bar area of the restaurant and were completely oblivious of other people dining in the restaurant. The staff did not ask them to be more considerate of other diners. We were extremely disappointed that our last evening in Alaska was ruined.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The jambalaya was very good, and the dri ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The jambalaya was very good, and the drink options were extensive as well, including a long list of single malts. Service was great and the atmosphere was energetic but easy to talk through.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great en ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Loved this place. Great drinks. Great entrees too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our part of 3 couples, were out for an e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

our part of 3 couples, were out for an evening of fine dining and drinks. our server was very knowledgeable about favorites and pairings of wine with our different meals. Everything that the server suggested was excellent. the prices were reasonable, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service we received was fantastic, o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service we received was fantastic, our server was knowledgeable, personable, and attentive. We made reservations for 7pm, arrived early, and we were seated right away on a Friday night. I am not exaggerating when I say it was probably the best steak I've had in my life, and they have my favorite beer on tap. It's worth braving parking issues downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place, quality food for the mo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Very nice place, quality food for the money!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

Dinner was good. My wife had the crab and really enjoyed it. I had the lamb which was a bit too gamey for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Chose "Haute Quarter Grill" from the Ope ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Chose "Haute Quarter Grill" from the Open Table scoring and reviews as well as proximity to our hotel. What a great decision!!! Everything was amazing! Waitstaff, food, service ambience - we loved it all! Halibut, salmon matched with a wonderful "J" Chardonnay! Couldn't have done better! We will return!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great background music, awesome service ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great background music, awesome service & food was phenominal.

food1
ambience1
service1

Don't order the prime rib. Worst cut of ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Don't order the prime rib. Worst cut of beef ever. When we complained,waiter, after conferring with chef said we were cutting the meat wrong, then said it was our fault for ordering it cooked medium well. Worst service experience ever.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood and steak. Good service - ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great seafood and steak. Good service - not too much or too little.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relax and enjoy this food and service.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Exceptionally good service and excellent food. Relaxing. No need to hesitate, it's dining and drinks done right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place

Dined on May 26, 2016

I thought everything was very good. The staff was professional and friendly. The atmosphere was classy without being stifling. There was lots interesting food and beverage choices on the menus. Our table had a beer, a cocktail, wine, gnocchi, soup, two prime rib steaks (one blackened) and mushroom ravioli. All were promptly served. Everything was tasty. The only drawback for me was the prices, $135 for our three dinners. I guess that's not too crazy, but definitely not something that I, personally, can stomach more often than once in a blue moon.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I definitely recommend

Dined on May 25, 2016

I had one night to spend in Anchorage, checked out Open Table and found Haute Quarter Grill an easy walk from our hotel. The food and service were great. Place has a nice vibe. Nice wine list. I had halibut grilled and my friend had the halibut bites (fried) - they were both excellent choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to restaurant

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My go to dish is the mushroom ravioli - always good and special. My wife was hoping for a halibut special and was not disappointed. Has to be prepared carefully - and was very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, and service was outstand ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was great, and service was outstanding. Had the ribeye that was cooked to profection. Our waitress was attentive , friendly and professional. Great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great place to eat. Not too bus ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a great place to eat. Not too busy but reservations are recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites in Anchorage!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, drinks and service. Not sur ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, drinks and service. Not sure what else you could ask for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been customers of HQ for many year ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We've been customers of HQ for many years. We love the wine, appetizers, and especially the blackened prime rib!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Alittle noisey if you have a larger group .... But worth every penny!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So amazing.

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time going here was a last minute change of plans for a friend and I. Boy are we ever glad the other restaurant was full. We showed up with out reservation and the hostess aid we could sit in the bar area and still be able to order from the full menu. We had an amazing time grea drinks and food. We then went home and told our husbands and took them the next weekend. They loved it as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is an awesome, comfortable place to ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an awesome, comfortable place to eat. Only problem is you can never tell if it's going to be packed or not. Recommend reservations!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Diverse Menu - hits all points

Dined on April 30, 2016

We managed a reservation at 9pm on a Friday evening and the place was still packed. Service was attentive and the server had a great approach in explaining the menu offerings and making relevant recommendations to us. My date has a severe nut allergy and not only was the kitchen accommodating the server was proactive enough to find out about nuts in all of the menu items we ordered, not just hers. Overall a great dining experience. Not cheap, but not exorbitantly expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Food and services was fabulous but the n ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and services was fabulous but the noise level is distracting for conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on April 27, 2016

It's the first time we've been to the Anchorage location. We are so sorry this restaurant left Eagle River. This time it was the same excellent food as what we had in Eagle River. It's always been OUTSTANDING in taste and in presentation. We love it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Will go again and again!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Phenomenal dishes; mushroom ravioli and blue cheese salad, calamari and jambalya were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Downtown Partnership Week Dining Deal

Dined on April 10, 2016

Saw it on Ch. 11 and thought we would try it out. We were told no deal, try the Bar Menu. Pretty insulting.Will be sure to bring it up as an 'Item' of discussion. 58 yr. Anch. resident.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Although I don't usually order pasta, I will definitely come back for the chicken mushroom pasta--outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Delicious food and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mid Week Celebration Spot On!

Dined on April 7, 2016

My 3 friends and I dined here mid-week to celebrate. The appetizer special was very nice. 2 of us had the the seafood pasta - talk about perfection! Noodles were thin and velvety, the seafood was fresh and delicious, and the sauce was perfectly balanced - not too creamy or broken or salty - just perfect. My other friends ordered steaks and were equally satisfied ~ cooked exactly as ordered and sides were all done very well. Desserts were pot de creme and berry cobbler - all freshly prepared, well-chilled, and not too sweet - just yummy! To me, it was worth every penny ~ I will be coming back when I feel like a splerging deliciously. ;-) Well done, Haute Quarter Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time going to this restaurant. Our wait staff was fabulous. She took good care of me and my two very difficult food allergies being extra sure to not expose me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were treating another couple to dinner. The wait staff was really good, though a tad slow but it was a very busy, bustling Friday night! The food was amazing. Great atmosphere! Love that it has a full bar with fun drinks to order. Wouldn't take small children, it's much more an adult, hip downtown restaurant and bar. I look forward to popping in with a friend or two to sit in the bar area to enjoy drinks and appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous Seafood Pasta

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

When I read the Seafood Pasta ingredients on the menu, I didn't want the tomatoes or capers. The server informed me that if I were to remove those, the artichokes would have to be removed also - they are all combined prior and then placed into the dish. I hesitantly agreed to keep the dish as is........I am so happy I did!!! The seafood pasta is amazing with all the included ingredients. I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were saddened by the move from Eagle River

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were saddened by the move the restaurant had made, going from Eagle River to Anchorage. But we're glad business seems to be doing well. We always enjoy dining at HQG and most times we order our faves: cab sav, blue maytag salad, med-rare pepper steaks and molten chocolate cake to wrap up the evening. I love that they have a child's menu so that our son can now can enjoy a good meal and hopefully continue to dine at HQG long after us.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, great drinks, a nice selec ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food, great drinks, a nice selection of wines. Very prompt service, knowledgeable staff. A great place to start that date night and a quick walk to the PAC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Outstanding service

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner here, Saturday, March 12, 2016 before a performance at the Performing Arts Center. We are old fans of Haute Quarter Grill since they were located out in Eagle River. The food is just as outstanding now as when they were located just north of anchorage as is the service. We shared the Duck Confit appetizer. What a dish! Tender duck, creamy cambazola cheese, tasty chutney and crostini. Very nice! My wife had the Seafood pasta and I had the Seafood Jambalaya. Both dishes were very good. My only criticism would be that they used marinated artichoke hearts in the Seafood Pasta dish. I think we would have preferred the non-marinated variety. The Jambalaya was also very tasty. Both entree's were loaded with seafood and seasoned just right. Our server was very timely with everything without hovering, was very knowledgeable about the dishes, cocktails, and wine, and was very pleasant. The Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite places for fine dining in Anchorage and this meal was one that did not disappoint. One final note here is that the Haute Quarter Grill begins serving dinner at 4:30 PM, which enabled us to have a leisurely meal and still have plenty of time to walk to the PAC. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have Eaten about everything they have to offer and have never been less than amazed! The ambiance is classy, romantic, relaxing and the service is top notch

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is good - service is hit and miss

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been to Haute Quarter Grill many times, and love the food and atmosphere. Unfortunately the service is either a hit or a miss. Some servers are excellent others leave a lot to be desired.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service

Dined on March 6, 2016

This is a great place to dine. Service is excellent, menu choices are good. Having said that, this time the noise level was way up from previous experiences. Not sure the cause of that. I still think the wines are overpriced and the $20.00 corking fee to bring a nice bottle of wine of your own is at least double what it should be. But the food was excellent, we enjoyed our dinner and our wine and had a good time. We'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.