About Haute Quarter Grill

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:30 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK
  • Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK
Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK
Haute Quarter Grill, Anchorage, AK

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
10 More
Best Value
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Modern Decor (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Romantic (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Business Meals (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Authentic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have loved Haute Quarter Grill since ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

We have loved Haute Quarter Grill since their Eagle River days. This is our go-to restaurants for special occasions as a couple and for when we take special family and friends out for dinner. Mark always gives great customer service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an amazing dinner, one of the best R ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was an amazing dinner, one of the best Rib-eyes I have ever had. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. We were impressed with c ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food. We were impressed with combinations of flavors and freshness. Service was friendly and efficient but a bit of a wait due to being super busy on a Friday night. We had a chef's table and really enjoyed watching the food prep and coordination. Food portions were just right. Enjoyable evening and would go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the service quite goo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good, the service quite good. It was a little noisier than I like. And it was fairly expensive compared to the food and surroundings. It was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service. It was pretty lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and service. It was pretty loud and difficult to hear my family while we were talking to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! We got a bottle of Moscato an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful! We got a bottle of Moscato and started with the French Onion soup. So good. Cant beat the rip plate with fries!! Then ended it with the creme brulee! So good and so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was disappoi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was disappointing. Description for the sauce on the blackened prime rib special and what was presented were not in the same ballpark. The entree itself was stone cold. Charcuterie was bland and lacked imagination. Gnocchi was very good. My wife' filet was good. Description said it was served with butternut squash. Turned out the butternut squash was a baby food consistency puddle on one side of the plate. It too was rather bland. First time for us there and we will not be coming back. For $200 there are many many better options out there. Sad because the service staff were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A wonderful meal and excellent cocktails ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful meal and excellent cocktails. The move from Eagle River actually seems like the place has improved just because of the ambiance. Visit here often if you live in Anchorage. Its a great choice for excellent food in town.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Our serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Our server was wonderful and the food was, as always, great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing. I loved ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. I loved the octopus appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, an outstanding meal. Our serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual, an outstanding meal. Our server wasn't the best but he was trying. We love this place; Mark is our favorite server, always polite, attentive and eager to please. Your front end is amazing, always quick to greet us and make us feel welcome. We love the fact that we always get a quiet table away from the hustle and bustle of a busy evening and that we can always get seating at the "chef's table" if we ask. We WILL be back, next week and the week after and the week after and........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love this place and have never been d ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this place and have never been disappointed in the food or service. It's our date night go-to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had great food again, fourth visit to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had great food again, fourth visit to this establishment and I have yet to find something that I or my guests do not like. They have great options for Gluten free food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten here a few times and never h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've eaten here a few times and never had a bad experience. However, had never ordered the prime rib. I had requested it medium rare, but received it medium well. I let the server know and he insisted it be sent back. He also promised a new plate in 3 minutes. My dish arrived faster than that and perfectly prepared. Excellent customer service all around. Highly recommend for a semi fancy night out.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best places I've ate ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was one of the best places I've ate at since I've been here in anchorage

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this restaurant. Love t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant. Love the Pork belly dish and the many creative cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business dinner and was reall ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went for a business dinner and was really impressed with how accommodating the restaurant was with one of our members in our group who has celiac disease.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Long time customer. Food always reliably ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Long time customer. Food always reliably good. Service was a bit slow but the place was packed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a step up from the Eagle River loca ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2016

What a step up from the Eagle River location...so sad that it's not back in Eagle River. The overall look and feel was cozy and warm - love it... food amazing as ever. Our waiter did a great job.. Thanks for the great night

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere but I think we got ther ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great atmosphere but I think we got there a little late. The food was mediocre at best, the seafood was undercooked. This was not our first time dining there but it will be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Made a reservation on Open Table. Once ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Made a reservation on Open Table. Once we arrived were seated immediately. The service and food was excellent. My husband and I shared the filet. The drinks were delicious

and while proportioned. Our server was always attentive but not overbearing. We all enjoyed or evening very much.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our food was great and so was the service. I can not wait to go back and try something different. I think it will be hard to beat the pork belly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoy the food and wine. Good spot when ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoy the food and wine. Good spot when attending show at the PAC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Eaten here many times and plan to contin ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Eaten here many times and plan to continue to do so. consistently great service and amazing food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great. Service was good ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The ambience was great. Service was good also. I will go back and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful time! The service wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time! The service was excellent and the food couldn't have been better!

Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food as always. We got a booth and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Good food as always. We got a booth and it was quiet, which is what we we're looking for. The calamari starter was excellent and my wife and I then had the yellow fin tuna special, which was seared and rare - just right. Out friend had the ribs and mountain of fries. All food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went here for my husband's birthday. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went here for my husband's birthday. They put a candle and confetti on the table for him and the waiter said happy birthday. It was a Saturday night so the place was pretty noisy, but the atmosphere and ambience were good. The food and cocktails we had were fantastic. I definitely recommend this restaurant for higher-end dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were excellent for my h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service and food were excellent for my husbands birthday party with several friends, everyone had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was good, but unfor ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food and service was good, but unfortunately my wife asked to have her chicken diced in her Caesar salad by the kitchen and they refuse to do so. Which we thought was kind of weird and then their manager went on to explain that was against the owners orders to have chicken diced. Which we thought was a little rude and for a $17.00 salad they should dice your chicken. The waiter was great and felt embarrassed by the whole thing. We feel if you spend over 200 dollars on a meal they should dice your chicken as a small request and not spend 5 minutes dicing chicken at the table with a butter knife. I guess we won't be ordering chicken Caesars from here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The steaks were perfectly cooked and Nat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The steaks were perfectly cooked and Natalie (our server) was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was unreasonably priced. Spent $95 ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was unreasonably priced. Spent $95 on two drinks, 1 app and entrees (jambalaya and ribs). App was horrible. It was called ceviche but it was a scant about of seafood dollops on 4 stale nachos. Ribs were ok but you get the same at Applebee's for $16....not $28!!! jumbalya was good but again, not a $28 dish. Will not go again and never recommend due to the crazy pricing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

As always, the restaurant met our expect ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

As always, the restaurant met our expectations as it has since opening. It is one of our top three choices for downtown Anchorage dining. The service is top notch, the place is quiet enough to have a good conversation without difficulty, the food is excellent and the portions are appropriate.

My only complaint is still, as it has been since their opening. The wine is seriously overpriced.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

High-end food experience, as my family a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

High-end food experience, as my family and I went out for dinner before taking in a show at the Performing Arts Center. We enjoyed extremely well prepared food, excellent cocktails, and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time going back after they abandon ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time going back after they abandoned Eagle River. It was just as good , but I still wish there was a place to eat close by.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine list, great food. Servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent wine list, great food. Service was good, too. Did not like bar-height table though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We called ahead because we were running ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We called ahead because we were running late, the host was very respectful and kind. We were seated promptly, greeted kindly, and the service was exceptional. The food was even better. There are several restaurants in Anchorage advertising similar dining experiences, but this delivers with service and quality well worth the price. If you're bored with underwhelming and overpriced dining, put this on your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A great place to take the family. Food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A great place to take the family. Food is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere! Wonderful service with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great atmosphere! Wonderful service with no wait time for party of 4 with reservations!! We eat here often so we were very surprised that our steaks were a 10 like normal. The steaks were more like a 5, they were pretty fatty and the temp ordered wasn't what we received. The salad, halibut chunks, mashed potatoes and veggies were amazing! They catered kindly to gluten and dairy allergies which isn't always the case with most restaurants. Our waiter was extremely sweet and efficient! They decorated the table as we were celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.