Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5 - 9 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5 - 10 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Business Meals (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Casual (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Great Beer (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

We had been here once before and thought it was too noisy, with too many people crammed into too small a space. Sadly, the problem remains. We had a lovely server and a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir. Again, sadly, the service was slow, the food was average. There were four of us, and only one person was really enthusiastic about their entreé. The salads were good. At dessert the bananas foster was served with the ice cream already melted to soup consistency, and the coffee was cold. We will not be coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Had an Awesome dinner, the food was excellent and the service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious, and our server was great. The only negative aspect was that when we arrived right on time for our reservation (made on Open Table 3 weeks prior), the hostess could not find our reservation. She said no problem, but then we were seated at a high top right next to the kitchen, which felt like a consolation prize for walk-ins. This was a special occasion, and definitely was not what we had in mind when we had planned and made the reservation so far in advance. We asked to be moved to a booth, but the hostess click-click-clicked on the computer and made a big fuss about having to shift people around for later reservations to make that work, making me feel like this was my fault and certainly not making us feel welcome to be there. It was embarrassing for me in front of my guest, as if I hadn't made a reservation BUT I HAD! To see if maybe it was my mistake, I double checked on my Open Table app and on the email confirmations, and it was for that date and time. I never did know why they couldn't find it. They did seat us at a booth and from then on the evening was great. Our server was welcoming and helpful and our dinner was wonderful. So bummed about the rocky start.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved our waiter, the wine selections and pricing and the creative / quality foods.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Haute Quarter never disappoints. This was our 3rd time there. We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary tonight and we definitely were not let down. The food was amazing and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, great food! Fancy or casual, interesting cocktails, good wine and beer choices. I'm not vegan, but will convert most menu Items in vegetarian. Great ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the food and the wine. Two of my guests from Houston area, commented it reminded them of a classy places they frequent in Houston with clients. Our server Sharon was cordial and informative. Enjoyed the Ahi (ordered a second serving) and three of us enjoyed the lamb shank. I'll be visiting again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Another FABULOUS meal. Took clients and they loved it! Thank you!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Lovely, overall. Great service. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is great. The raw oysters from local oyster farms are delicious. The fresh catch of the day was spectacular. The bar has friendly staff and great service. The noise level is very loud. This place gets crowded on weekends. Recommend you go on a week night. But, the upside to the crowds, "the food must be good"!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The waiter was not friendly, was slow and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a lovely dinner, the service was fantastic, and the food was fabulous. I'd definitely recommend stopping in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Halibut over cooked. Garden salad good. Overpriced and mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food and outstanding service. Highly recommended

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service was perfect. Kim was very attentive and had a wonderful welcoming personality.
Food was excellent. My husband and I shared a wedge salad then we each had the filet mignon special. This was a beautiful tender cut of steak on mashed potatoes with cab reduction under it. On the steak was a walnut butter and a pear. Excellent. And beautifully played.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service always superb and friendly with Mark. Enjoy the chefs variations with the seasonal salads and they know how to cook scallops to perfection! This restaurant is always a 'must go to' on my yearly trip to Anchorage!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Salads as first course were welcomed by all. Entres disappeared with quick relish. Deserts were found adequate but lacking in choice. Service was a little slow but very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 30, 2017

4th visit. Still wonderful. I like the 2 person booths for date night. The food presentation is great and the food is better.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

A regular spot for meeting special friends. Great food, ambiance, and service. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were seated at the Chef's table with a great view of the kitchen. Staff were polite and professional. Our NYC guests commented that this venue was like a place out of midtown Manhattan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My husband and I were wrapping up our Alaska vacation with one more dinner out, and this was a great choice! From the friendly, prompt service to the well-made, tasty drinks to the delicious dinner, everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love it!! We love going to dinner there!! Great food and wine!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Prime rib was recommended and certainly was a high ranking meal. Quite the plate for you big eaters. Also, mushroom ravioli bursted with many different flavors, and oysters with a red pepper vinaigrette complimented the overall experience. Very comfortable, and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and service. Had the seafood pasta which was very tasty and with fresh ingredients. Very filling.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My boyfriend and I made a reservation for Haute Quarter Grill in order to celebrate a promotion. We love the outstanding cuisine and consistently stellar service. The ambiance is beautiful too. There was a large party of young persons who made for a very loud environment on that particular night, but it's understandable they were having a great time. We will most certainly return for future celebrations. The bubbly was fabulous and the dining was exquisite!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was good though a bit over priced. We both had a seafood dish which was cooked to perfection and a great variety but would have preferred less tomatoe flavor. The major downside was the noise - could hardly hear yourself! I've lived here all my life so I've eaten all over this town, not sure if I would go back. However, everybody is different so you should try it yourself and make your own decision. You may love it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food- every course! And great service too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was great and everyone - from the front to the waiter - was extremely friendly. Food was terrific! It was a little noisy (Friday evening) but the high-backed booths helped provide privacy and made it so we could hear each other without issue. I love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. We always order the scallop or duck entrees. Delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and waiter was very attentive but not obnoxious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had great service, and food was a good selection of varied for any type of food group. Full well rounded menu. Nice wine selection... basic - fine wine list. Ambience was moving just right.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was amazing. And service was impeccable. My girlfriend and I went for the first time the other night for an anniversary dinner and were blown away. It exceeded my expectations by leaps and bounds. We ordered the seafood pasta and a ribeye for myself. The locally made pasta was flawless and my steak was cooked perfectly. Great wine and beer list too. Mostly specializing in local beers. Also had a well crafted cocktail menu. We are going back for another meal without question and I would highly reccomend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went here on a date night and had a great time! Our server was great and food was hot, tasty and perfect as always. Haute Quarter Grill is one of our favorite places to go to and never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food Service was slow, but server was friendly. Spent about $150.00 for three meals. Over all a decent meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of our 2 favorite places, everything is always fantastic, especially seafood and aged beef and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had one night in Anchorage and wanted to go to a good local restaurant that wasn't full of tourists. This was a good find. Obviously very popular with locals, very pleasant service and a good vibe. We had the halibut special which was a delicious meal. $34.
We would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very good meal, great service & a good vibe! Somewhat pricey. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had not been here in a year or so and then went two nights in a row. The first was for a family dinner for six (it's my younger brother's favorite restaurant) and the next night with good friends ( a couple) who are foodies from Louisiana. They had not been before and wanted to try it. Both nights the food was wonderful, the service was wonderful and the ambience was nice. The wine list has something for everyone, both in terms of taste and pricing. This is one of the only restaurants I know of in Anchorage that can make a good martini that isn't dilute. I can recommend the Roast Duck and the Scallops ... my little brother swears by the Blackened Prime Rib. Our server highly recommended and my husband had the Seafood Pasta which was lovely- even though I'm low carb, I will get that next time, because it is a soft, complex, beautiful dish and will be worth every wheat-filled bite. : ) Looking forward to it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was outstanding and highly knowledgeable, making our dining experience even better than it would've been just based on the great ambiance and fantastic food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.