Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Haute Quarter Grill

Haute Quarter Grill - contemporary American cuisine in a casual relaxed atmosphere where locals come to enjoy innovative and fun food. Chef Alex uses fresh seasonal Alaska grown ingredients to create unique dishes sure to please any palate. We offer a full bar, a great wine list and nightly innovative additions to our menu. Come in and join us for some great food, friendly faces and an unforgettable experience.

525 W. 4th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5 - 9 PM, Friday & Saturday: 5 - 10 PM
Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Between E & F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 622-4745

Website:
http://www.hautequartergrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Alex Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Haute Quarter Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (42)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great Beer (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

FOOD WAS GREAT, WAITER VERY FRIENDLY. ONE OF THE HOSTESS WAS A BIT SNARKY BUT AN OVERALL PLEASANT EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant! We always have our Anniversary dinner here. The scallops are delicious! Cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food good prices. Great choice before symphony, show or just dinner out

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The server Mark, was extremely attentive and made sure or experience was excellent. The food was great and definitely try the Gnocchi! Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 8, 2017

So I can’t really leave a bad review because this is an all time favorite!!! But I do have to say the food this time was not up to par. Hope it was just a one time issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2017

One of our favorites. Reliable food, service and affordable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food and drinks are always amazing here. We come here a couple times a year and we always leave happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food is amazing. The service is great. It’s extremely clean. The only downside is how loud it is. Which could be a plus if you don’t want to talk ;)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. We were late for our reservation and they held it for us on a busy Friday night! Will go again for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2017

An excellent date night! Food was delicious, infused with local ingredients and creativity. We opened with the lemon butter oysters which were fantastic, setting the tone of the entire meal. We only regret not saving room for dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great downtown restaurant in Anchorage. Great food and staff very well worth a visit anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2017

As always, the service was prompt, fun, friendly and very professional. We each had a different dish and all were pleased with taste, texture and presentation. This is a choice for a dependable quality evening out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Fantastic food! Had the scallops they were perfect. Couldn’t think of a better place to spend a birthday 🎈

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Haute Quarter continues to be one of our favorite places to dine. For the most part the wait staff is friendly and attentive. The drinks, appetizers, and dinner were spot on. Our only complaints was the French Onion soup was too sweet. They have a good wine selection but would recommend they offer more wines by the glass!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Tuna appetizer was so so. Salads delicious. Special was over priced. Crab cakes were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Had the Kabobs this time. They were amazing. Last time had the Pork Belly which was also delicious. Haven't had anything I didn't thoroughly enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great find in Anchorage, I was very pleased with the meal and the service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 20, 2017

My wife and I are patrons from when it was in eagle river. I had oysters and mushroom ravioli. Excellent again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This was our first time in the new restaurant since they relocated from Eagle River. Loved it...they retained their elegance, menu, ambiance, etc. Definitely a must-go place for those who have been considering going. Our server Mark was top-notch and could tell you anything you wanted to know about the menus, drinks, desserts, etc. The food was perfect. It was the ideal date-night for us while the kids were with a sitter. We will be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing as always! Great food, great service. I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Scenic View means the wonderful wine "cellar" which can be adored from any spot inside the restaurant!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our server, Mark, remembered us from a previous visit even though that was several months ago. He again provided great service. We told him we were going to a show at the Performing Arts Center and he kept an eye on the time and made sure our meal was prepared and delivered promptly. The food was excellent as always. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was a disappointment. Usually we have a great meal here, but on this occasion it was off. The filet (both entrees) were seriously overcooked . The wait staff was non existent. We reached the point of just wanting to be able to leave. I'm hoping it was a one time off night, but it was easy to get a reservation in what should have been a busy night, so I'm fearful they are going through some growing pains.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Prime rib was cold and for $40 I would like my food hot. Then the power went out and we sat there for 45 min waiting for our tab. The process for an emergency like that, the manager could have stepped in and offered his services to the guests.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I love Haute Quarter, it never disappoints! The food is always outstanding, the cocktails are tasty and the service is wonderful. Do I wish it was a little less spendy? Sure, but it's worth it for special occasion dinners or for a great date night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was good (especially the Pork Belly dinner), as was the service. Even if our server was busy, someone took our dishes or brought our dishes. We never felt abandoned or too bothered. Only issue was that, as is the norm in restaurants these days, for some reason owners feel compelled to have music playing that must be talked over, which raises the noise level. We had to lean in to each other to hear the 3 people at the table. Other than that, it was a great meal and a great evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have always loved this restaurant, and recommended to friends that we go. Told waiter we had a show. He said food would arrive no later than 15 minutes. Our dinners arrived 50 minutes after ordering! They put plates down 10 minutes before show was to begin at PAC. We had to wolf the meals down and run. Really bad service last Saturday. That should never happen. Very disappointed! I have to say, server was very nice, but no real reason given as to why so late!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Girls night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great service and delicious food, as always! This is a favorite date night spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had been here once before and thought it was too noisy, with too many people crammed into too small a space. Sadly, the problem remains. We had a lovely server and a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir. Again, sadly, the service was slow, the food was average. There were four of us, and only one person was really enthusiastic about their entreé. The salads were good. At dessert the bananas foster was served with the ice cream already melted to soup consistency, and the coffee was cold. We will not be coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had an Awesome dinner, the food was excellent and the service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was delicious, and our server was great. The only negative aspect was that when we arrived right on time for our reservation (made on Open Table 3 weeks prior), the hostess could not find our reservation. She said no problem, but then we were seated at a high top right next to the kitchen, which felt like a consolation prize for walk-ins. This was a special occasion, and definitely was not what we had in mind when we had planned and made the reservation so far in advance. We asked to be moved to a booth, but the hostess click-click-clicked on the computer and made a big fuss about having to shift people around for later reservations to make that work, making me feel like this was my fault and certainly not making us feel welcome to be there. It was embarrassing for me in front of my guest, as if I hadn't made a reservation BUT I HAD! To see if maybe it was my mistake, I double checked on my Open Table app and on the email confirmations, and it was for that date and time. I never did know why they couldn't find it. They did seat us at a booth and from then on the evening was great. Our server was welcoming and helpful and our dinner was wonderful. So bummed about the rocky start.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved our waiter, the wine selections and pricing and the creative / quality foods.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Haute Quarter never disappoints. This was our 3rd time there. We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary tonight and we definitely were not let down. The food was amazing and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service, great food! Fancy or casual, interesting cocktails, good wine and beer choices. I'm not vegan, but will convert most menu Items in vegetarian. Great ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the wine. Two of my guests from Houston area, commented it reminded them of a classy places they frequent in Houston with clients. Our server Sharon was cordial and informative. Enjoyed the Ahi (ordered a second serving) and three of us enjoyed the lamb shank. I'll be visiting again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Another FABULOUS meal. Took clients and they loved it! Thank you!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.