Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte,Express lunch,fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.Follow our executive chef,sergejost@chef_jost in twitter.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE

10065 100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-12:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in the lounge)
Lunch: Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in Harvest room )
Lunch: Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday 12 pm - 2 pm
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-6424

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/GuestServices/Restaurants/HarvestRoom.htm

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Serge Jost

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (31)
See All
Scenic View (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Historic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Wow! Did not disappoint. Great meal from beginning to end. So happy to have eaten with the Mac.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and there was a lot. We went for dining week so the value was even better but would like to go again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was amazing. Definitely worth the printer centre for the high tea. Don't be afraid to ask them to pack some of the food to go. It was a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nice place to enjoy a bit of fine dining especially with the ongoing groupon and ebates.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Would have given higher rating if the windows had been washed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Harvest Room never fails: food was excellent, service exemplary, and ambiance relaxing. We had the express lunch which was outstanding. The carrot risotto was creamy and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We arrived to a fairly empty restaurant. We ordered from the 45 minute express lunch. We would have been out in close to 45 minutes had the server completed our bill in a timely manner. There were too many tables for the number of staff. After we drank our waters they were not refilled. On the upside the food was delicious and enjoyed by all.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We spent a weekend at the Hotel Mac and had a wonderful dinner at the Harvest Room. It was cozy and romantic. The dinner was delicious and they accomodated my husband's requests to modify his meal a little. Our server was very friendly and knowledgable about the wine list. We really enjoyed our weekend and our dinner was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went to the Harvest room for my husband's 40th birthday. The meals and service were excellent. We liked the menu offered wine pairings. It is a creative menu and both of our meals were cooked perfectly. We will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The entire experience was as to be expected for the price point apart from one detail. The waiter kept addressing my wife and I as "you guys". This is the kind of greeting I'd expect at a Boston pizza in a shady neighbourhood where people let their kids smear ketchup all the way out the front door, NOT in a distinguished dining establishment such the Harvest Room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding experience yet again. The Fairmont dining experience has always been meeting our expectations for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We waited a long time to be seated. Then placed in a corner when nice tables were open the rest of the night. Informed them we had a groupon when we were seated. At the end of the meal were told it was not good for what we had ordered. So we never got the full value of it. Our server was lovely, the steak was good. That was about it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have previously had some very good dinners here, but this one was just ok. The waiter seemed pushy. We were looking at wine by the glass -- he told us that we should get a bottle since it would be better value, even before we had ordered. Even though we each only wanted a single glass of wine.
Both salads arrived without and salad dressing on them. We complained and the issue was resolved with us receiving new salads within 5 or 10 min. The entrees were just so-so.
My salmon was a little under cooked for my taste and was a little fishy ... only very fresh salmon would be good this way, which was not the case. The portion was smaller than I would expect for $38 (and the same size as the lunch salmon I ate here back in December) and didn't seem to be pistachio crusted as the menu described. The beurre blanc was overly salty.
My husbands' venison was also just ok.

They did make up for the salad by offering us each a glass of sparkling wine, which was appreciated. Overall this was ok, but not what I expect for the price or for the fairmont reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Waiter-premium Fairmont ambassador. Current Harvest Room Manager has some customer relation Fairmont-style learning. She must have missed the module on how to treat loyal Fairmont customers with grace and respect.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Waited 45 min for our main dish, waiter tried avoiding us during our wait. No explanation as to why it was late. Restaurant was not even busy. Food wasn't bad. But not good enough for me to return to this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, great service and friendly staff. Will definitely be back and recommending to friends

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been here before and again it was VERY cold in the room. The food is totally first rate and a very good price. It is no more an elegant dining experience . People seem to dress in everything and anything. Staff to be honest were not very good at all. Many mix ups with food etc. Parking near the venue a nightmare.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious. The disappointing thing was the long wait. It almost felt as if we were forgotten at times. Server was nice but it seemed as though, given the non-busyness, food took much too long (our entrees took 30 minutes after our appetizers were removed).

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lovely evening. Our meals were delicious and beautifully presented. Great wine list !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Simply exquisite. Staff are refined and the meal and setting were elegant. I have been there many times and will certainly be back many more....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nice restaurant with great food. Service was also good. Recommend this place for an enjoyable evening. Parking is typical for the downtown area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent service. Food portions are in line with cost. The foie gras, tenderloin, and creme brulee were spectacular. We were surprised that there were no table cloths, given the historic setting, price points, and professional service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was nice but a bit cold. Appetizers were terrible. Walnut salad was just a costco salad with walnuts and shaved parmagan for $17, and when they say 'scallop', it is literally one small scallop, which was cooked well but for $23 I expect more than one tiny scallop in tepid broth with what tastrd like frozen vegetables. As for the main course the salmon was cooked perfectly, but then everything on the plate was coated in way too much beurre blanc sauce, to the point that you could not eat it. The lobster was overcooked and again, far too much butter on the plate. Finally the house wine is not worth the money, get something you know instead. We had a Groupon and when at half the price I would not go back. I am also done with Groupon, experience is always the same. Failing restaurants wasting their last chance to salvage themselves. Too bad, as I said the area is nice if you like nostalgic and the staff was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great meal in a historic hotel located downtown Edmonton. The dining room is set-up for smaller parties, mostly tables of 2 or 4. The noise level is acceptable & the room has a relaxed atmosphere. In summer there is a large patio overlooking the river valley.

The had two differing entrees, the lobster duo and the venison. Both presented professionally, and cooked well. The venison was cooked perfectly & was fork tender. Prices are a bit high, but they do have a 3 course meal with any appetizer, main and dessert which works out cost wise to getting the dessert free. great value.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Disappointed that the three course meal wasn't part of the Groupon. The dessert was good but tiny.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

delicious steak frites.....steak was juicy and done to perfection....fries were very tasty with the cracked pepper aioli sauce on the side being very unique and tasty.
Caesar salad was too large for two people to share....and not enough dressing

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Grand old hotel is a feast for eyes used to chrome and plastic. And the Patio and Lounge are superb with fine food and accoutrements.
But the Harvest Room, though it has upgraded its seat cushion, remains behind its partners at the MacDonald Hotel: our food was good but spice-less. Our soup bowls clashed with the old heavy white plates. The tables and chairs show gouges and scrapes. The crabcakes fell to pieces, the Asian noodle bowl was pepper-free. The wine was acid-heavy. The birthday dessert was free and deeply appreciated, but its brownie-sized cake was bland. The crème brulee was hard-skinned and tasteless. We had long ago reserved a window table and though several were empty when we showed up, we were told there were not available -- was that because we had produced a coupon when asked to upon arrival? We once loved the Harvest Room. Now, after 2 bland lunches in a year, we accept that a dozen superb restaurant lunches, with real tablecloths and tasty foods, have passed it by. But try the Patio in warm weather and the classic Lounge in cold. They remain great choices. And tour the gorgeous castle-like hotel and its palatial gardens.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was good. A bit expensive, but overall, a pleasant experience for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 9, 2017

For a brunch we would like to see some more breakfast options, like different pastry or musli.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were celebrating my 49+1 birthday. We had great service and the buffet was very tasty.
Thank you so much!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good but not very memorable for the price we paid for lunch.

The service was fantastic though. Excellent waiter

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was average at best, hot water for tea left to become cold. Had to ask server to refresh plates for clean ones after scones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

i had an awesome day !
i did had a good service and good food !
i had a suprise conplement cake that was my birthday!
thank u so much!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service: The waiter gave excellent service. Had the buffet and was not please with how it was kept up. There were out potatoes, pancakes, had ask for them to replenish the trays had to wait, and by the time the food on the plate was cold

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The brunch was a lovely way to treat my parents on Christmas Day. The food was delicious, and the service was top-notch. The ambience is lovely as well. Definitely worth every penny charged!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been going to the Harvest Room for Christmas brunch for a few years. We love the buffet options. Food, service and ambiance has been fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dinning room was a bit cold but quality of food was excellent. Service was great. Top quality ingredients prepared beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was good and the service was great but i was still disappointed.i was looking for a really great place and i had thought of the Harvest Room as being the formal dinning room of a 5 Star hotel but the room is small and seems like it has being divided into two as though it was temporarily under renovation---it felt like one of those large hotel ballrooms that are divided into two by a screen to create two smaller venues--high---but narrow and plain. The lack of linen table clothes just added to this. The kitchen looked semi open---with lovely large Copper pots hanging over the counter---maybe like a local Italian trattoria--but they did not really fit the ambience of the The Hotel Macdonald,plus with high bare white walls and no cornicing, this created/set a bland+confusing tone. We had the three course lunch which was good. The salmon was great--the wild mushroom soup +creme brulee were good as was the assorted sorbets(except for the tiny pistachio meringue,which was horrible).But the problem was that the menu indicates three courses---but only two came! The first course was just the side dish of the main course! Thus with a soup or even salad etc---the main course could get cold by the time you get to it! But i did really really enjoy myself and that was due to my guest-who is absolutely amazing company.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.