Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

4.4
825 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte, fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE. We also offer complimentary Wifi for our Diners.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Afternoon Tea, Contemporary Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-10:30am
Lunch à la carte: 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 12:30pm and 2:30pm
Weekday Afternoon Tea: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 429-6424
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mridul Bhatt
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jasper Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 825 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful dinner out with my husband. The set menu was thoughtful and well portioned as part of the classic series: a culinary journey, Hawaii.
The light and refreshing tuna and watermelon was delightful. While the pork did not shine, our server and the manager were very quick to replace the pork with a stunning, beautifully seasoned beef tenderloin that was cooked to perfection.
And I cannot forget the coconut and Passion fruit dessert! A beautiful way to spend an evening together
Thank you

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great except maintenance people were drilling near us during. We could. It hear our conversation. They did slop when asked. The portions of the emspecisl were smaller Than we expected and smaller than we have had other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

A lovely elegant spot for a special occasion, like our anniversary. The service was outstanding - friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. We ordered the "Beast" to share, and enjoyed a lively red wine with it. We'll definitely recommend it to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Lunch with a colleague, the restaurant had selected an outdoor table as requested. Lovely setting with great view of the river valley. Rinha provided charming service, efficient and timely. Carlos, the Mâitre d', came by a couple of times to see that everything was fine. Great lunch, excellent menu and drinks options and actually terrific value. It is amazing how many people don't realize that fine dining restaurants have great food at very affordable prices. Our lunch was just a perfect break in the middle of a busy day. As I expect of this venue: outstanding setting, excellent food and impeccable service - the staff on duty were fabulous. Thank you again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went to Royal High Tea to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday.... it was a very lovely way to celebrate. Delicious food, and we left feeling quite full!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We were treated royally! It was a bit too chilly for the patio (we were inside) but we did note that blankets were offered to those who braved the patio. Food was exceptionally good, and we were surprised with a birthday treat and a complimentary beverage. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

A very nice place to celebrate a special occasion. The portions are not enormous but sized just right so that you don't overkill yourself by eating too much. The food is flavorful and excellent. My wife and I went to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and they brought us a glass of champagne and cheese cake. We went for the 3 courses for one price which is a good deal (for one price you can choose any appetizer, entrée and a dessert). I had the crispy soft shell crab (I recommend this!), the Bison short rib (very tender), and bread and butter pudding while my wife had the scallops, heritage beef tenderloin (very tender!) and Mac Signature chocolate crunch cake. Everything was delicious. The wine selection was very good. We ordered a bottle of Malbec. To begin we had Moscow mules (extremely chilled in a copper cup) the way mules should be served. Excellent service was provided by our waiter Dew Johnny who was very cordial, attentive and provided good suggestions and kept our wine glasses filled. I had an allergy and he made sure that my food didn't contain anything which I was allergtic to. The Restaurant is located in the Hotel MacDonald and everything was first class.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

High tea at the Hotel MacDonald was a pleasant surprise. I won’t say I’m a connoisseur of high teas, but I’ve been to my share around the world, and this was one of the best. The selection of teas was good, if a little quirky (it included “Ontario icewine”). But the food was where the Harvest Room shone, from buttery scones with homemade preserves to miniature roast-beef and pesto-chicken sandwiches to a tasty cinnamon cannoli. The room was lovely, and the view was superb—surely one of the very best in Edmonton. At $29 CAD a head, a great value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

A bit disappointed with the scones... we come a time or two every year, but the scone sizes seem to keep diminishing. Otherwise, the tea selection has improved, & the other tea items have improved in taste. However the proportion of sweets far outweighs the savouries, leaving the flavours a bit unbalanced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

My family enjoyed the food and the friendly attentive staff,particularly Douglas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Celebrating a graduation. Great food service friendly and prompt lovely atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Amazing care from the moment we were seated. Carlos and Nathalii took the very best care of us. They truly make you feel like a princess, that you are the very most important person to walk through the door.
A very big Thank you !!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Very good food .... a little over price $ service was excellent , should have more range price wine the cheapest was 65 $ maybe a house wine that would be more affordable... but overall good experience !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Patio cushions and table place mats need cleaning or replacing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We celebrated my birthday and our anniversary with afternoon high tea on Tuesday. It was very tasty. Thank you for the champagne, that was unexpected and delightful. That just topped the day for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The view from the patio is very nice. The food was very good. Never understand why sweet potato fries are $3.00 more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Great service, good food. Will go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Parking expensive. Deliscious soup and bisque! EXCELLENT food! Very good service. Wine list expensive. Pricey but worth it! Will come again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Belated Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I was a bit disappointed in the ambiance They had lovely teas but it cost more for the specialty teas. Also the teas service used white coffee cups not pretty tea cups. Are server was polite but not attentive. And the little sandwiches were underwhelming

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The beef tenderloin practically melted in my mouth. The rest of the meal was tasty but not memorable except for the one small caramelized pearl onion I found on my plate. I told the waiter how delicious it was and he brought me three more. The elegant patio overlooking the river valley was lovely despite a few mosquitoes. A nice experience but the food was not nearly as good as when we came a few years ago. Service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We went for a special occasion and the family enjoyed everything. Although we requested a table outside, the mosquitos were quite aggressive. They noticed we were disturbed by the bugs and moved us inside. It was very nice as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Had a great meal at the Harvest Room! Food was delicious though definitely on the pricey side!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I came with a dietary restriction so was given a different menu. I was very excited that the staff were so willing to accommadate my vegan lifestyle. I was a little disappointed that all of my dessert options were subbed out with fresh fruit. I expected a little more for the price. I would not recommend to the vegan community to go for afternoon tea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great breakfast on the patio and genuinely friendly/top level service by Nathalie.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Unfortunately, with such historical venue and the opportunity to sell the experience to match the price. The Fairmont MacDonald doesn’t provide the level of service or food you would expect. The service was not much better than what you would get from a Denny’s restaurant. Servers don’t know what high end service is, not the servers fault, not the manager, but it is the hotels’. The buffet on mother’s day had dried out food and was unkept. For a $150 breakfast for 4 you are paying for ambience with high end classy service for a special day. Didn’t deliver Hotel MacDonald!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

If you go for high tea do not get seated in the lounge. Not the same as the Harvest Room. Poor service and the ambiance was just not there. You go for the experience and food, when you get seated in the lounge paying $55 a person it just isn’t worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Harvest room never disappoint
From service to food and view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Food, service, ambiance were all wonderful. Patio seating gave us an amazing backdrop to enjoy dinner. The rack of lamb came in a little over at first, but they promptly replaced it and the test of the meal was absolutely fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Jacob was a great server! The patio is amazing and the sirloin is never a let down!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food service and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

I took my granddaughter to high tea. The service was awesome, the food delicious. We felt very comfortable and having a one-on-one conversation which meant so much to both of us. We have not been able to spend time for five years. I live in the US and she lives in Ottawa. The ambiance encouraged us to have a deep heartfelt conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The High Tea was a real treat! You receive a lot of items to eat, but they were all nice and light so that you didn't get too full too quickly. It's definitely on the pricier side and would be more for a special occasion rather than a casual afternoon out, but I would recommend this to anyone to try for a treat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food with a good selection in the buffet, I ordered a la carte which was also good. The price is reasonable for the quality of food that you receive. Waitress was attentive and helpful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Started out to be a very nice dinner, at the beginning we received very good service, but then at some point our waiter stopped serving us (although was still serving other people) and another waiter would check on us infrequently. Dinner took two hours, mostly due to waiting to be served. Prices here are not cheap, so you expect better service than that. My wife's bison steak was also nearly too sinewy to cut through with the substandard, dull steak knives we were given. She really struggled to cut it. Food was alright, but nothing special, not particularly worth the high prices in my opinion. View of the kitchen action was interesting, except when your view from their raised seating area includes a view of the butt crack from one of the chef's track pants being half way down his butt. Doesn't exactly add to the ambiance. Asked our second 'replacement' waiter about their Mac 'signature' chocolate cake, wondering what made it worth $15...and was told it was made in house, and then he explained that 'in house' meant right there (thanks, we get it), and then added it was sprayed all around with gold. Gold cake?? I'm in. Had to see that. No, as we found out, what he actually meant was (and probably an honest mistake as he seemed to struggle with English a bit) there was a small chocolate on it with a gold flake covering. Cake was nothing special and quite small. If you go there, do not pay $15 for that dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We had the meat platter and it was one of the best meals between trying to get the things you wanted and the laughter was great.
Stickey toffee with ice cream -- excellent and we will be back agaib

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Good food in a nice place. It was quite place that we can catch up with a friend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very enjoyable experience. Piping hot food, well presented and tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Always a wonderful time! We came for high tea and Carlos is a gem. Service was superb and food fantastic. Love coming to the hotel as they make everyone feel super special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The evening at the Harvest Room was outstanding; the service and the staff's attention to detail made this a memorable dinner for a very special occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald