About Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

10065 100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N6
View Larger Map

The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte,Express lunch,fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.Follow our executive chef,sergejost@chef_jost in twitter.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-12:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in the lounge)
Lunch: Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in Harvest room )
Lunch: Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday 12 pm - 2 pm
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-6424

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/GuestServices/Restaurants/HarvestRoom.htm

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Serge Jost

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Save the date for Champagne dinner May 5th 2016

Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (29)
See All
Scenic View (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Historic (26)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Waterfront (3)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The current lunch menu is very "meh" as ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

The current lunch menu is very "meh" as in nothing special. I've been there twice in the past couple of weeks and this time the service was lousy as well. It took forever to get our check at the end of the meal. I love Fairmont Hotels and so hope that the next time they refresh the menu and improve the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We chose an evening to dine at the Harv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

We chose an evening to dine at the Harvest Room when the restaurant was full of Holiday Parties. It is a fairly small space, and was busy and just a little too noisy. That said, service was prompt and friendly, and food service took an appropriate time to come out. Dinner was nice without being spectacular, and the menu was good value. I would dine there again, but there are clearly nicer places to dine in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service was mostly good. Love t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and service was mostly good. Love the crab cakes. The waffle was not fluffy at all. Would definitely expect a better quality waffle. The waffles I had at a a free breakfast from select service hotel is 10 time better. Spent $200 for a breakfast for 4. Would definitely expect a decent quality of waffle.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The express lunch menu is amazing!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The express lunch menu is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at the Harvest Room before the symphony. It was lovely!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and great tasting fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Exceptional service and great tasting food! Elegant and cosy!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great ambiance, attentiv ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Fantastic food, great ambiance, attentive service. My only comment is that they seemed a little understaffed when it was busy.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the best restaurant in Edmonton. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Edmonton. They have a way with everything and I will be more than happy to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere. Attentive service nev ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely atmosphere. Attentive service never hovering. Most delicious mushroom bisque. Honoured our anniversary with a beautifully decorated slice of cake for us to share.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner, as usual. The room is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous dinner, as usual. The room is one of the best in the city for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the express lunch at the Harvest ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had the express lunch at the Harvest Room. Everything from the appetizer, through to the desert was wonderful. Beautiful presentation, great flavour! And they held the promise of a 45 minute lunch

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I have had in a long time. Wel ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best food I have had in a long time. Well prepared, very friendly staff. Romantic. And actually not that expensive

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tenderloin was phenomenal! I would ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The tenderloin was phenomenal! I would highly recommend for a special occasion. Good choice for wine menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food were top quality. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service and food were top quality. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive and personable waitress. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very attentive and personable waitress. The meal ordered had a major component unavailable. A good substitution was offered.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

What an amazing experience - both the fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

What an amazing experience - both the food and service were fantastic. From valet, front desk, server, to restaurant manager, they all went above and beyond while remaining genuine (as in not "fake") - very impressive - we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gone is the graciousness of caring servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Gone is the graciousness of caring service to the guest. The service was abysmal. The manager was embarrassed .but lacked the experience or the skill to reign in the kitchen. Sad. Very sad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

We felt rushed and had to slow down the ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We felt rushed and had to slow down the service. Our appetizers arrived before our cocktails. This restaurant was a gem in Edmonton at one time but with so many other world renowned restaurants in Edmonton it doesn't hold its own anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place for dinner

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was disappointing and service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was disappointing and service was worst. The dinning room needs updating. I don't think I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We purchased a coupon from Groupon and i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We purchased a coupon from Groupon and interested to try it on their $67 three course meal. But we were told that because the three course meal is already discounted, therefore we are not allowed to use it on the three course meal.

We had two appetizers and two entrees. My girlfriend started with scallop, and seared salmon for entree. I had salmon poke and tenderloin. My girlfriend did not like the scallop as it was overcooked and the booth was really really oily. Her salmon with purple potato and veggies. The presentation was really beautiful but almost the whole plate was filled with butter underneath the salmon and veggies, extremely oily and lacking flavor.

My salmon poke with avocado and cucumber also lacking flavor. But I am very happy with my tenderloin, perfectly cooked.

Our server was very helpful, he ran almost half of the restaurant by himself which I feel bad for him. Although he messed up our food every time, but we can see that because he was the only one doing all the job, I don't complaint on him but I would complaint on the management team who manage only 2 staffs to run the whole restaurant on Thursday night right before long weekend.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

sorry can't recommend this place ... the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

sorry can't recommend this place ... the price was high but the quality was moderate ! the host was friendly that's about it ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value5

I like fine dining. But I've always beli ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I like fine dining. But I've always believed that fine dining does not mean less food. My wife's plate was supposed to come with a walnut salad. It ended up being a few sprigs of greenery on her plate. The lighting was dull and created a not very unappealing ambience. I expected to meal to be expensive but I also expect to get value for my money. Most of the entrees on the menu were in the mid $30's to mid $40's. I've enjoyed the food at Moxie's or the Keg much more than here and this was more expensive. The only thing that I appreciated about this restaurant was that I felt the service was exceptional. I would not recommend this restaurant though.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Outstanding food and services...had no d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding food and services...had no disappointment at all. Great place to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a reservation for 1030 am, but h ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We made a reservation for 1030 am, but had to wait 45 min to be seated at a table, defeating the purpose of having a reservation. The server was also over-extended between the restaurant and the lounge, resulting in very slow service. To top it off, the food is not up to usual standard for Fairmont...the berries with the breakfast dishes were dry and not fresh and took a long time to be served.

Overall it felt like a chaotic understaffed restaurant, not worth the prices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We were over charged for what we had onl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were over charged for what we had only realized this when we got home main waiter didn't seem to know what he was doing!

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overall good dining experience. Busy eve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall good dining experience. Busy evening for the Wait Staff and I'm sure the kitchen as well. The Main Course was presented 35 minutes after the starter dishes had been cleared. Our group all felt that was far from acceptable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I had our date night here ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I had our date night here this past weekend and enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The wine was excellent and the beef tenderloin was melting in my mouth. My husband had the salmon and he's not a big fish eater so he ordered it with the understanding that if it was "too fishy" I would trade him for my tenderloin. I ate the entire tenderloin. My husband raved about the salmon being one of the best he has ever had including mine. The total bill was expensive but we knew that going in. It was worth the experience and quality of the food. Service was also amazing, friendly, and the recommendations excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food was delicious, g ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent service, food was delicious, great place to take a client for lunch. No surprises of course we come to expect excellent for the Fairmont and of course they didn't disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great supper, very good food, Service wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great supper, very good food, Service was a little slow, the server disappeared for long periods of time.

The temperature was cold both my wife and I wish we would have wore our jackets

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

A friend and I met for dinner this week. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A friend and I met for dinner this week. Jacob was lovely and helpful. We both tried the cod which was very tasty. The kitchen provided us with extra vegetables - which were a very nice selection - given that we had declined the potatoes. I would dine here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good selection of wines but the bottle b ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good selection of wines but the bottle but some are very over priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was great, great food and amb ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server was great, great food and ambiance. I would definitely comeback and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful afternoon tea - great selectio ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful afternoon tea - great selection of tea treats and delicious scones! Service was good and the view spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great choice to help celebrat ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was a great choice to help celebrate my brother's 43rd birthday with our family. It was wheelchair accessible and the manager and staff were extremely accommodating to my dad's physical needs and the spirit of the celebration. The staff even brought over a slice of cake with a candle and tastefully decorated plate in honor of his birthday. The food was delicious - the selection was amazing. Both healthy and "sinful" options - truly delicious. The ambience was perfect for an opportunity for a family to get together and celebrate my brother and catch up as a family. Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there for lunch and had the crab cak ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Was there for lunch and had the crab cakes which were simply to die for. For desert I had the red velvet cake which was the best slice of cake I have had in years. This place is pricey but no complaints about anything else.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While staying in the Hotel MacDonald, we ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

While staying in the Hotel MacDonald, we were happy to be able to enjoy the beautiful dining room for a delicious lunch. The bonus was the 3 course meal for only $25! Highlights included a pasta dish with bison and the other selected main of salmon with quinoa.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated my friend's birthday here. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We celebrated my friend's birthday here. The food was superb and the service was even better. My friend said it was her best birthday lunch, ever! Special thanks to Michelle!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food.MY STEAK was one of the b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful food.MY STEAK was one of the best I have ever had.

Service was also very good.Only negative was the room temperature could have been a little warmer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went to the Harvest Room on a Sunday ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went to the Harvest Room on a Sunday night to celebrate a birthday and had another phenomenal meal. The service is impeccable, plating on the dishes is beautiful, and yet, I don't find the environment intimidating or pretentious. I really appreciate that Chef Jost has a menu that can accommodate Celiacs (as well as many other allergies). I think the Harvest Room is a hidden gem downtown and one of Edmonton's most underrated restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.