About Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte,Express lunch,fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.Follow our executive chef,sergejost@chef_jost in twitter.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE

10065 100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-12:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in the lounge)
Lunch: Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in Harvest room )
Lunch: Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday 12 pm - 2 pm
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-6424

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/GuestServices/Restaurants/HarvestRoom.htm

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Serge Jost

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Harvest Room will only be offering a special Valentine’s Day menu for this evening, please contact the restaurant directly

Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Historic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Romantic (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Scenic View (22)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely evening. Our meals were delicious ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely evening. Our meals were delicious and beautifully presented. Great wine list !

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply exquisite. Staff are refined and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Simply exquisite. Staff are refined and the meal and setting were elegant. I have been there many times and will certainly be back many more....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with great food. Servic ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice restaurant with great food. Service was also good. Recommend this place for an enjoyable evening. Parking is typical for the downtown area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food portions are in ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service. Food portions are in line with cost. The foie gras, tenderloin, and creme brulee were spectacular. We were surprised that there were no table cloths, given the historic setting, price points, and professional service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly and attentive, r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was nice but a bit cold. Appetizers were terrible. Walnut salad was just a costco salad with walnuts and shaved parmagan for $17, and when they say 'scallop', it is literally one small scallop, which was cooked well but for $23 I expect more than one tiny scallop in tepid broth with what tastrd like frozen vegetables. As for the main course the salmon was cooked perfectly, but then everything on the plate was coated in way too much beurre blanc sauce, to the point that you could not eat it. The lobster was overcooked and again, far too much butter on the plate. Finally the house wine is not worth the money, get something you know instead. We had a Groupon and when at half the price I would not go back. I am also done with Groupon, experience is always the same. Failing restaurants wasting their last chance to salvage themselves. Too bad, as I said the area is nice if you like nostalgic and the staff was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Great meal in a historic hotel located d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great meal in a historic hotel located downtown Edmonton. The dining room is set-up for smaller parties, mostly tables of 2 or 4. The noise level is acceptable & the room has a relaxed atmosphere. In summer there is a large patio overlooking the river valley.

The had two differing entrees, the lobster duo and the venison. Both presented professionally, and cooked well. The venison was cooked perfectly & was fork tender. Prices are a bit high, but they do have a 3 course meal with any appetizer, main and dessert which works out cost wise to getting the dessert free. great value.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

delicious steak frites.....steak was ju ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

delicious steak frites.....steak was juicy and done to perfection....fries were very tasty with the cracked pepper aioli sauce on the side being very unique and tasty.

Caesar salad was too large for two people to share....and not enough dressing

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand old hotel is a feast for eyes used ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Grand old hotel is a feast for eyes used to chrome and plastic. And the Patio and Lounge are superb with fine food and accoutrements.

But the Harvest Room, though it has upgraded its seat cushion, remains behind its partners at the MacDonald Hotel: our food was good but spice-less. Our soup bowls clashed with the old heavy white plates. The tables and chairs show gouges and scrapes. The crabcakes fell to pieces, the Asian noodle bowl was pepper-free. The wine was acid-heavy. The birthday dessert was free and deeply appreciated, but its brownie-sized cake was bland. The crème brulee was hard-skinned and tasteless. We had long ago reserved a window table and though several were empty when we showed up, we were told there were not available -- was that because we had produced a coupon when asked to upon arrival? We once loved the Harvest Room. Now, after 2 bland lunches in a year, we accept that a dozen superb restaurant lunches, with real tablecloths and tasty foods, have passed it by. But try the Patio in warm weather and the classic Lounge in cold. They remain great choices. And tour the gorgeous castle-like hotel and its palatial gardens.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was good. A bit expensive, but overall, a pleasant experience for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

For a brunch we would like to see some m ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 9, 2017

For a brunch we would like to see some more breakfast options, like different pastry or musli.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating my 49+1 birthday. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were celebrating my 49+1 birthday. We had great service and the buffet was very tasty.

Thank you so much!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but not very memorable ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good but not very memorable for the price we paid for lunch.

The service was fantastic though. Excellent waiter

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great lunch

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was average at best, hot water f ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was average at best, hot water for tea left to become cold. Had to ask server to refresh plates for clean ones after scones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

i had an awesome day ! i did had a good ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

i had an awesome day !

i did had a good service and good food !

i had a suprise conplement cake that was my birthday!

thank u so much!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service: The waiter gave excellent serv ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service: The waiter gave excellent service. Had the buffet and was not please with how it was kept up. There were out potatoes, pancakes, had ask for them to replenish the trays had to wait, and by the time the food on the plate was cold

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The brunch was a lovely way to treat my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The brunch was a lovely way to treat my parents on Christmas Day. The food was delicious, and the service was top-notch. The ambience is lovely as well. Definitely worth every penny charged!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Harvest Room f ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been going to the Harvest Room for Christmas brunch for a few years. We love the buffet options. Food, service and ambiance has been fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinning room was a bit cold but quality ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dinning room was a bit cold but quality of food was excellent. Service was great. Top quality ingredients prepared beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was good and the service was gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was good and the service was great but i was still disappointed.i was looking for a really great place and i had thought of the Harvest Room as being the formal dinning room of a 5 Star hotel but the room is small and seems like it has being divided into two as though it was temporarily under renovation---it felt like one of those large hotel ballrooms that are divided into two by a screen to create two smaller venues--high---but narrow and plain. The lack of linen table clothes just added to this. The kitchen looked semi open---with lovely large Copper pots hanging over the counter---maybe like a local Italian trattoria--but they did not really fit the ambience of the The Hotel Macdonald,plus with high bare white walls and no cornicing, this created/set a bland+confusing tone. We had the three course lunch which was good. The salmon was great--the wild mushroom soup +creme brulee were good as was the assorted sorbets(except for the tiny pistachio meringue,which was horrible).But the problem was that the menu indicates three courses---but only two came! The first course was just the side dish of the main course! Thus with a soup or even salad etc---the main course could get cold by the time you get to it! But i did really really enjoy myself and that was due to my guest-who is absolutely amazing company.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

$200 dinner was inedible because of the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

$200 dinner was inedible because of the SALT content.Manager and a waitress were great for service.Highly overpriced for the actual food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We finally tried the Harvest Room after ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We finally tried the Harvest Room after hearing some good things about it, and while it was pretty good, it wasn't really anything special. Perhaps because we went on a weeknight when it wasn't 'overly' busy they didn't have their 'A' staff on, but our service was shockingly average considering the price and location. We expected much more attentive and friendly service for a higher end restaurant like this one.

The food was good (I had the beef tenderloin, my wife had the salmon) but not 'spectacular'. Again, I don't mind paying a premium for a good meal, but when I do, I expect it to knock my socks off. That goes hand in hand with the service - there are certain expectations that come with a place like this, and I don't feel they were met.

Lastly, they should be embarrassed about the insane markups on their wine selection. Wines that we regularly pay around thirty-forty dollars per bottle for, they're charging sixty-90.

SO in the end, we had a lovely evening and really did enjoy our meals, but they did nothing remotely special to make us consider a return visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My fiancée and I have always had a great ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My fiancée and I have always had a great time at Hotel MacDonald. It is an iconic staple in our city and we will continue to visit this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my husband here for some much nee ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I took my husband here for some much needed adult time. The room was lovely and the waitstaff took very good care of us. The food was AMAZING...we had the lobster and venison which were flavorful and cooked to perfection. Very reasonable prices, and an excellent wine list. Gift cards the Harvest Room will be my new favorite gift to give!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had issues with our reservation. We w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had issues with our reservation. We were pushed to take a table in the lounge even though we had made reservation weeks earlier. The term rude comes to mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Flawless as usual. Everything was spot ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Flawless as usual. Everything was spot on....as usual. You cannot go wrong here, I love it

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was great, but I th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service and food was great, but I thought the tour portion could have been better. The hotel is supposed to be haunted, they could include that on the tour. Again all in all a good experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, service and ambiance. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very good food, service and ambiance. They provided a nice vegan option for my spouse. Only suggestion would be to add more non-dairy dessert option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended the special Christmas lunch ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We attended the special Christmas lunch buffet. We were happy to be fit in at such late notice. When we had to change our time, there was confusion between the online scheduling (very handy to have) and the phone call we had to make to change the time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Th express lunch is excellent value and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Th express lunch is excellent value and had wonderful food selections. Ordered the salmon and it was done perfectly. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Lovely setting, Especially nice at Christmas with all the decorations. Express lunch was $25 including salad/soup, entree and dessert. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First the soup was excellent lobster bis ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 14, 2016

First the soup was excellent lobster bisque very tasty. For the main course I had the beef tenderloin although the presentation was very nice the tenderloin was extremely small in size maybe four fork portions at best, my wife had the lamb shank cooked differently than other restaurants in as much as it was quite dry and without flavour. We ordered two side dishes cheddar potatoes and asparagus both where very good this made up for the rather small serving of the main course. We shared the bread pudding that was a mistake as the portion was not very big.

Overall big bucks small portions. Definitely not valve for money.

Over the years we have frequently come into the lounge for drinks and had lunch with friends also brought family for Sunday brunch even that was beginning to loose its charm and culinarily excellence.

Sorry this has been a bad review but we were truly not satisfied with the experience offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Although the dining experience was pleas ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Although the dining experience was pleasant . I was confused on the choice of the dinner plating and wine/beer list.

I left feeling confused whether the chef was going for the elegant fine dining or rustic dining experience .

The "crossing over " dining experience seems to missed the mark given the price point, location, white linen service, plating choices and the beer / wine list

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ivan was a super server. Being my husba ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Ivan was a super server. Being my husband's birthday Ivan went the extra mile to have a special desert plate created. His suggestions for our entries were appreciated. The 3 course meal was very good. Being a very cold night having valet service was great as the car was toasty warm when we were leaving as the front door fella started it when we gave the 15 minute departure notice.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just an absolutely great dining experien ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2016

just an absolutely great dining experience - really enjoyed and will return for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The current lunch menu is very "meh" as ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The current lunch menu is very "meh" as in nothing special. I've been there twice in the past couple of weeks and this time the service was lousy as well. It took forever to get our check at the end of the meal. I love Fairmont Hotels and so hope that the next time they refresh the menu and improve the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Our waitress was very attentive and the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and the service was great. Love their fig bread so yummy... the seafood appetizers and main courses we ordered were better than expected. my friend and I had a fun time chatting and dining there. overall it was great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose an evening to dine at the Harv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We chose an evening to dine at the Harvest Room when the restaurant was full of Holiday Parties. It is a fairly small space, and was busy and just a little too noisy. That said, service was prompt and friendly, and food service took an appropriate time to come out. Dinner was nice without being spectacular, and the menu was good value. I would dine there again, but there are clearly nicer places to dine in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service was mostly good. Love t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and service was mostly good. Love the crab cakes. The waffle was not fluffy at all. Would definitely expect a better quality waffle. The waffles I had at a a free breakfast from select service hotel is 10 time better. Spent $200 for a breakfast for 4. Would definitely expect a decent quality of waffle.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The express lunch menu is amazing!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The express lunch menu is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at the Harvest Room before the symphony. It was lovely!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.