About Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

10065 100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N6
View Larger Map

The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte,Express lunch,fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.Follow our executive chef,sergejost@chef_jost in twitter.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-12:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in the lounge)
Lunch: Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in Harvest room )
Lunch: Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday 12 pm - 2 pm
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-6424

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/GuestServices/Restaurants/HarvestRoom.htm

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Serge Jost

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Save the date for Champagne dinner May 5th 2016

Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (45)
Scenic View (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A must repeat evening for those special ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

A must repeat evening for those special occasions. Great service from arrival and valet parking, to dinner service. Menu options were varied and creative. Even though there were people seated at tables close to us, we could hold an easy conversation. The waiter was especially accommodating about wine options. We were given sparkling wine and a dessert, free, as it was our wedding anniversary. A nice touch to end the evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad was fresh and the dressing of ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

The salad was fresh and the dressing of pear & cranberry salad was excellent. The pan seared salmon was nicely seared. The sorbet trio was a bit too sweet to me. My other two friends had different salads, entrees and desserts, and they all liked and enjoyed their food. The service and the restaurant atmosphere were very good. Sure, I would recommend the Harvest Room to my friends for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic fine dining ! The waiters very ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic fine dining ! The waiters very attentive was great would surely go again !!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an extremely dissapointing expe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was an extremely dissapointing experience. The decor is dated, the service was bad (waiter had no personality and we were offered a glass of champagne when we were done dinner. Apparently because it was a disorganized evening but the manager did not come by to explain.) The food was NOT good. Bland. I did make a formal complaint and the Hotel Manager did get back to me right away and resolved the issue so that was impressive.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We dined on the patio with the beautiful ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dined on the patio with the beautiful view of the river valley. There was a party beside us that was a little loud but manageable. The manager came by to make sure we were happy. If not we could be moved to a quieter location. We always enjoy eating at the Harvest Room patio. We got really lucky with the wedding quartet playing when we first got there.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio is a must, and delicious eggs ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The patio is a must, and delicious eggs Benny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our time. The patio wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our time. The patio was beautiful, the garden was beautiful and everyone was very pleasant. Would absolutely go here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's "The Harvest Room". Service and foo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It's "The Harvest Room". Service and food quality are impeccable. The wine list is excellent and the atmosphere for a late evening business dinner was ideal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had been looking forward to this spec ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had been looking forward to this special night out for weeks to celebrate some family birthdays and a wedding anniversary as well and were not disappointed. We were able to sit on the Terrace and even though it was a bit brisk were quickly offered blankets and were seated next to a heater. The 3 course menu was our choice and everyone was excited from the range of choices. The only issue we had is one of our family members received a different entre than he had originally ordered. The server was quick to offer a solution and everyone was pleased with their meal. Our favorite part was, of course, dessert which for myself was the Coconut Crème Brule with Mango Sorbet. It was perfectly delightful. We also were pleasantly surprised with birthday cake and a glass of champagne for those celebrating birthdays and anniversaries. Fantastic night, great service and a beautiful view. It is one of those places that I highly recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We sat on the patio as it was a nice eve ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat on the patio as it was a nice evening but dining inside is much nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The meal was well done & presentation wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The meal was well done & presentation was well done, our server was excellent & very attentive but not in our face. It was my husbands birthday & they presented him with a nice dessert and a glass of champagne for both of us on the house. The only disappointment was our appetizer.

Overall experience was great & wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were there for our 40th anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were there for our 40th anniversary celebration. Our waitress was friendly and took the time to visit and explain items on the menu. The food was good, we had the three course special. We got a surprise with extra dessert on a plate that had "happy 40th anniversary " and two glasses of wine. The evening was very special to both of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I do not think I have had seafood this f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I do not think I have had seafood this fresh before, this side of the rockies.

My server informed me that their seafood is flown in daily from B.C.. From my personal observation, it is then cooked, seasoned, and presented in a deliciously satisfying and visually attractive form, creating a truly memorable dining experience.

The view of the North Saskatchewan river valley from the outdoor dining area in the hotel's garden terrace was stunning.

The service was exceptional, my waiter accommodating my every whim: questions for the chef/bartender regarding the details of the menu choices and my selected menu-items, special attention paid to my dietary restrictions, the resulting substitutions to my food and liquor selections, water refills, table bussing, dealing with the check, giving me a written copy of the recipe for the amazing cocktail I had ordered.

My server, as well as the other restaurant staff, treated me with respect and dealt with all of my needs with quick and unflappably energetic and friendly service.

A truly memorable dining experience, and well worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service by Douglas was great. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service by Douglas was great. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was ok. It took quite a while to ge ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

food was ok. It took quite a while to get our drinks. They all came at different times. The waitress didn't seem to know which wines were on her menu and then after 20 minutes came and poured my wine directly into the glass from a half empty bottle. It wasn't even chilled (white sav blanc) We were the only patrons in the restaurant. The bill was brought to the table before the desserts arrived. Not what I would call a fine dining experience. We were there with our adult children to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The first table sat at was too cold as t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The first table sat at was too cold as the door to the patio was open. We asked to be moved up a level and that was better. Our waiter was serving alot of tables that evening so we had to wait for service as well we had to ask for a coffee. Otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Eggs Benedict was ordered soft and came ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Eggs Benedict was ordered soft and came cooked hard, Bacon was left over from the breakfast buffet that closed for the day as it was hard to chew, cold and dried out.

I Didn't complain as daughter's birthday and didn't want to ruin the moment. Disappointing for this price point and caliber of hotel and restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our reservation was for noon on Sunday, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our reservation was for noon on Sunday, July 3, our 40th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and asked us if there was a reason for our lunch date. We told her. Soon after, she appeared carrying a platter with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate and a lovely slice of cake. Nice gesture, very thoughtful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server, Natalii, was amazing and acc ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our server, Natalii, was amazing and accommodating and intuitive. She was simply wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a fabulous lunch on the beautiful ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a fabulous lunch on the beautiful patio! Great service and menu selection for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. Highly recommend.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful view. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Selection was limited. Eggs Benedict was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Selection was limited. Eggs Benedict was not up to par with other restaurants in the city.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

To the Harvest room... I say Excellent f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

To the Harvest room... I say Excellent food and service. Will definitely come back and enjoy the experience all over again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations were running late. We were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Reservations were running late. We were accommodated in a smaller table rushedly set up too close to other tables. Noise level were high due to wedding party on the other side of the restaurant. Staff were attentive but clearly distracted by the high number of patrons. Appreciated the token of appreciation provided due to the long wait to get to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Unfortunately we got seated with a large ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unfortunately we got seated with a large wedding. First they had to scramble to find us a table (even though we had a reservation). Then the wedding was very loud and it took away from our experience (two anniversary's).

Food was great but had they told us ahead of time we would have ate somewhere else. Maybe that's why they didn't?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Was so amazing!!! We were celebrating my ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was so amazing!!! We were celebrating my daughter's birthday ! We so enjoyed it ... Felt like princesses! Food was awesome and we felt so special ! We will definitely be going back! Our waitress Michelle and Mr Hernandez were so great! Thanks for helping make our memory so special!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined for lunch at The Harvest Room p ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We dined for lunch at The Harvest Room prior to my daughter's convocations. It was a lovely afternoon and thanks to Michelle for making it such an amazing experience. We definitely recommend The Harvest Room for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to the Harvest Room many times ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Have been to the Harvest Room many times in the past 20+ years and have to say it is no longer the high end restaurant it once was.

Food was just ok and service was not bad but just not up to the standards it once was.

It is sad to say as I have a lot of special memories of this place but I do not think I will be eating at the Harvest Room any more.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

food was poor

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

was my husbands birthday he didn't eat anything at all I guess I ruined his special date I really felt bad for him I wasn't expecting the food to be not tasty and not good at all

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

The staff were very friendly and accommo ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The cranberry and pear salad was amazing and well balanced. The foie gras was very good quality and seared perfectly. And again, the burger was top notch. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always gone to the Harvest room ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have always gone to the Harvest room for special occasions. Was easy to book through Open Table...but a nightmare to get a hold of anyone after to set up special requests...four phone calls later...no one called me back. I finally phoned the front desk, and they said they would put my requests on file...come two days later...nothing is on file.

I was also shocked how much the dining room has changed! Nothing special about the Harvest Room anymore...no table cloths, no arrangements. Very cold reception...and freezing room.

We did end up sitting outside, which I had requested....but confusion about that too...said they did not take reservations for outside....

Really miss the Brian Welsh times! Nothing was ever over looked.

The food was fantastic, but not as extensive as it use to be. And there were no daily specials.

The service from our waitress was also very good!

Will probably not be back for special occasions to the Harvest Room but will visit the bar and outside patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Amazing food and service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our meals were amazing ! Tenderloin was perfect, interesting wine pairings with each course. The meal was substantial, we barely had room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy Mac Steak and Eggs. I will order t ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Yummy Mac Steak and Eggs. I will order this again.

My friend had the crab cake Benedict - also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

anniversary hit

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

we had such a wonderful evening at the harvest room. they helped us celebrate our anniversary with style and such delicious food. the service was excellent, it was a delightful evening, thanks for all your help!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant in Special Hotel

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Harvest Room is THE place for special occasions and for entertaining guests who appreciate good food and who want a taste of Edmonton's elegant history. Service is second to none, the view spectacular, and, of course, the food is amazing both in taste and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a wonderful part of our History.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a wonderful and beautiful hotel... I am proud to say that I am a born and raised Edmontonian and love this hotel..

Our Server Douglas was very helpful and attentive.

Great service. We were well taken care of.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely evening. Our server Jaco ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a lovely evening. Our server Jacob was very attentive. The food was very good. The tables were well spaced so didn't feel like we were sitting with the next table. The plate with Happy Anniversary including year was a very nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Harvest room has the prettiest patio ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Harvest room has the prettiest patio in Edmonton. I love the mid-day break on a nice day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pear salad was amazing, I love the berry ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pear salad was amazing, I love the berry tea. Fish and chips looked good. great service, beautiful view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch service. Enjoying lunch overlo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Top notch service. Enjoying lunch overlooking the river in warm sunny day was an ultimate experience.

It was so relaxing and perfect.

I would definitely recommend Harvest Room to my family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.