About Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

10065 100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N6
View Larger Map

The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald has a reputation for excellent cuisine and warm hospitality in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Our beautifully-appointed restaurant, The Harvest Room, overlooks the fabulous North Saskatchewan River Valley in Edmonton, the largest urban parkway in North America, and upholds Canadian tradition in grand style. The menu brims with the best Alberta beef -- all the bounty for which Alberta's heartland is famous -- and our superb wine list complements any selection. At The Harvest Room, enjoy everything from our quick start breakfast buffet and A La Carte,Express lunch,fine dining to family meals to Afternoon Tea and snacks. After a magnificent dinner, treat yourself in the Confederation Lounge to one of our many single malt scotches or a decadent Mac martini. With a wide range of specialties, our executive chef always prepares outstanding dining experiences.Follow our executive chef,sergejost@chef_jost in twitter.
LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast Buffet : Mon - Fri 6:30am-10:00am , A La Carte untill 11 am
Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday Breakfast Buffet & A la Carte 7:00am-12:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in the lounge)
Lunch: Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ( served in Harvest room )
Lunch: Sat,Sun & Stat.Holiday 12 pm - 2 pm
Royal Tea & Tour : Saturday & Sunday 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-6424

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/GuestServices/Restaurants/HarvestRoom.htm

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Fee of $22 for 4 hours. Other parking available at Impark Parking lots near the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Serge Jost

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Save the date for Champagne dinner May 5th 2016

Harvest Room - Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
5 More
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (47)
scenic view (35)
romantic (31)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (14)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To the Harvest room... I say Excellent f ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

To the Harvest room... I say Excellent food and service. Will definitely come back and enjoy the experience all over again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2

Reservations were running late. We were ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Reservations were running late. We were accommodated in a smaller table rushedly set up too close to other tables. Noise level were high due to wedding party on the other side of the restaurant. Staff were attentive but clearly distracted by the high number of patrons. Appreciated the token of appreciation provided due to the long wait to get to our table.

food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Unfortunately we got seated with a large ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Unfortunately we got seated with a large wedding. First they had to scramble to find us a table (even though we had a reservation). Then the wedding was very loud and it took away from our experience (two anniversary's). Food was great but had they told us ahead of time we would have ate somewhere else. Maybe that's why they didn't?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined for lunch at The Harvest Room p ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We dined for lunch at The Harvest Room prior to my daughter's convocations. It was a lovely afternoon and thanks to Michelle for making it such an amazing experience. We definitely recommend The Harvest Room for lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Have been to the Harvest Room many times ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Have been to the Harvest Room many times in the past 20+ years and have to say it is no longer the high end restaurant it once was. Food was just ok and service was not bad but just not up to the standards it once was. It is sad to say as I have a lot of special memories of this place but I do not think I will be eating at the Harvest Room any more.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

food was poor

Dined on June 6, 2016

was my husbands birthday he didn't eat anything at all I guess I ruined his special date I really felt bad for him I wasn't expecting the food to be not tasty and not good at all

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were very friendly and accommo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The cranberry and pear salad was amazing and well balanced. The foie gras was very good quality and seared perfectly. And again, the burger was top notch. We will definitely be back again.

food5
ambience2
service5

We have always gone to the Harvest room ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have always gone to the Harvest room for special occasions. Was easy to book through Open Table...but a nightmare to get a hold of anyone after to set up special requests...four phone calls later...no one called me back. I finally phoned the front desk, and they said they would put my requests on file...come two days later...nothing is on file. I was also shocked how much the dining room has changed! Nothing special about the Harvest Room anymore...no table cloths, no arrangements. Very cold reception...and freezing room. We did end up sitting outside, which I had requested....but confusion about that too...said they did not take reservations for outside.... Really miss the Brian Welsh times! Nothing was ever over looked. The food was fantastic, but not as extensive as it use to be. And there were no daily specials. The service from our waitress was also very good! Will probably not be back for special occasions to the Harvest Room but will visit the bar and outside patio.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service

Dined on May 31, 2016

Our meals were amazing ! Tenderloin was perfect, interesting wine pairings with each course. The meal was substantial, we barely had room for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy Mac Steak and Eggs. I will order t ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Yummy Mac Steak and Eggs. I will order this again. My friend had the crab cake Benedict - also very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary hit

Dined on May 26, 2016

we had such a wonderful evening at the harvest room. they helped us celebrate our anniversary with style and such delicious food. the service was excellent, it was a delightful evening, thanks for all your help!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant in Special Hotel

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Harvest Room is THE place for special occasions and for entertaining guests who appreciate good food and who want a taste of Edmonton's elegant history. Service is second to none, the view spectacular, and, of course, the food is amazing both in taste and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is such a wonderful part of our History.

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a wonderful and beautiful hotel... I am proud to say that I am a born and raised Edmontonian and love this hotel.. Our Server Douglas was very helpful and attentive. Great service. We were well taken care of.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening. Our server Jaco ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a lovely evening. Our server Jacob was very attentive. The food was very good. The tables were well spaced so didn't feel like we were sitting with the next table. The plate with Happy Anniversary including year was a very nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Harvest room has the prettiest patio ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

The Harvest room has the prettiest patio in Edmonton. I love the mid-day break on a nice day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pear salad was amazing, I love the berry ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Pear salad was amazing, I love the berry tea. Fish and chips looked good. great service, beautiful view.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch service. Enjoying lunch overlo ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Top notch service. Enjoying lunch overlooking the river in warm sunny day was an ultimate experience. It was so relaxing and perfect. I would definitely recommend Harvest Room to my family and friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heritage Setting Contemporary Menu

Dined on May 2, 2016

People forget we have a beautiful heritage setting in the MacDonald Hotel, and the Harvest Room combines both the traditional old setting with contemporary and food savvy menu choices. The 45 minute lunch selections offer a 3 course meal, for those needing to rush away to work. With a lovely outdoor patio option and a scenic view window table, perfect escape during the summer months.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pleasant experience for an Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I recently celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary at the Harvest room and would rate our experience as good, but not stellar. The Hotel MacDonald has made some changes to the Harvest Room and made the room less formal and open to a broader range of diners. Prices have been lowered slightly and patrons were dressed in a broader range of attire, from fairly formal to very casual. White tablecloths are gone, and the meticulous attention to detail from a dedicated server has given way to a somewhat more relaxed approach where a number of servers seem to cover the entire room. Sometimes, its nice to go to a very formal restaurant for a special occasion; the Harvest Room no longer meets this goal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Treatment

Dined on April 25, 2016

My Daughter's 18th birthday and she wanted a very special experience. The staff was fantastic. making 1st drink recommendations, bringing her a very special desert. I was very happy to treat my little girl to such a fabulous experience. Thanks Hotel Mac. you did an outstanding job.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another memorable meal

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We ordered the chef's three course meal which was outstanding. The service at The Harvest Room is always professional yet approachable, each dish is plated beautifully, and I think the value is great. Looking forward to another meal on the patio here soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great service

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Hit and miss

Dined on March 29, 2016

My hubby and I celebrated Easter in Fairmont's harvest room. I ordered the Beef Tenderloin and my hubby ordered the butternut squash ravioli. My tenderloin was oh so good. Well seasoned, cooked to perfection. I had my husband try it and he liked my meal as well. It wasn't the same for the butternut squash. The pasta was too aldente for our liking. It actually seems that the pasta cooked, and then dried. Not sure why it was. The flavours wasn't too my liking for the pasta. So it was a 50/50 experience for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great style from turn of previous century

Dined on March 20, 2016

The room could use some updating. Ceiling sponge paint (great in the 80's, not so much now) - perhaps return to how it was in 1916.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. Dishes were unique ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Dishes were unique and delicious. Very accommodating for gluten free.

food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Not worth it at half the price.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We had been looking forward to trying this restaurant, and found it extremely underwhelming. Maybe if the food had been outstanding, the extremely loud people at the next table would have been less challenging. Maybe it was just a bad night for the place, but it was really not worth a high price tag, or even medium. The whole experience was poor and we will likely never be back.

food5
ambience5
service4

We loved everything. service. food. sett ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We loved everything. service. food. setting. food presentation was amazing and the flavor of the food provided such a lovely blend. Every flavor complimented the others. Wonderful experience

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was terrible. We should have ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everything was terrible. We should have asked for our money back. We go out all the time to good restaurants and have never experienced such horrible food and service. The waiter was so uncaring. Never again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined on March 6, 2016

We could not have asked for a better evening! The food was absolutely perfect and the staff were wonderful. It was also a nice change from the loudness of the more trendy/new restaurants we have been to. We always find coming back to the Harvest Room is a step above in food, atmosphere and service. A very special Thank You to our server that night "Santana".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner with wine pairing.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great variety on menu. Very generous wine servings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service and attentive to dietary needs

Dined on March 4, 2016

Two of our party of 4 needed to eat gluten-free. The staff took our request very seriously and we were never in doubt that there was going to be a problem. At a classy restaurant, you expect dim lighting, and this was no different, but I would preferred it slightly brighter.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really attentive service.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Really attentive service.

food4
ambience5
service4

For the money, the buffet was a little b ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

For the money, the buffet was a little basic, but considerations were made for allergies and the service was generally great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

A very pleasant experience. Service and menu was excellent. This was a special Valentine's outing and booking through Opentable was good. However, there was no clear indication of the price, the prices shown at Opentable was their regular menu, but this special meal was far more. Our meal for two with one cocktail surpassed $350. Had I know this in advance, I would have chosen another venue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harvest Room not just for Farmers. :P

Dined on February 14, 2016

Decided to book a table at the Harvest Room for Valentines Day. I lucked out in getting a 17:30 reservation 1 week before the day. On line booking was quick and easy. I was also able to order flowers to suit the occasion. Everything was perfect. When we arrived, we took advantage of Valet parking. We were seated by the window, which faced the patio and River Valley behind. It was a perfect evening. Our waiter Santana was very polite and hospitable. He took care of us like we were family. His professionalism was outstanding. Acknowledged me by last name always. The food was above our expectations. The chef did an amazing job on the presentation and timing of delivery between courses. The dessert was to die for!! The wine list was also quite extensive. You definitely have choices. All in all, a very pleasant evening. We shall return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Celebration!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Celebrated a family member's 21st birthday. The staff were very attentive, the presentation was awesome and the food was delicious and perfect for a special occasion. Ours was a quiet table with a great view of the river valley. We knew going in that the evening would be pricey so we were prepared to splurge. Took advantage of valet parking as it can be a challenge parking a truck downtown.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Upscale Breakfast at The Hotel Mac

Dined on February 10, 2016

Went for breakfast to celebrate a co-workers birthday. Everything was perfect and the ambience is just great there. The waitress must have overheard that we were celebrating a birthday and ended up bringing over a piece of cake on a plate with Happy Birthday written on it. What a great surprise. You pay a little more for food, but it's worth it if you want fine dining, top notch service and a great place to spend time with friends and family. There was something on the menu for everyone, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I each had the three cour ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

My husband and I each had the three course dinner and both were very happy with all the courses! The service was awesome and the portion sizes of everything were perfect! They helped make my birthday celebration a bit extra special and made a special dessert with a candle. I will for sure be back! Loved our experience!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not What We Expected

Dined on January 26, 2016

The evening didn't start off right, but staff were attentive and fixed things along the way.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonbderful evening

Dined on January 25, 2016

We invited our daughter, our son and his special guest from California. She loved the Harvest Room and the view. As always Jacob was very attentive and looked after all of our requests. Everything was excellent. Complements to the staff in the Harvest Room, the Valet station and the staff in the lounge. Rick and Linda Belanger

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.