About Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

11059 Carolina Place Parkway
Pineville, NC 28134
View Larger Map

There’s a great place in Pineville to enjoy casual dining and the best of American-style cuisine – Harper’s Restaurant. Located in Carolina Place Mall, Harper’s menu is loaded with hickory grilled steaks, fresh seafood, Carolina BBQ, burgers, gourmet pizzas, huge salads and specialty sandwiches. Rendezvous with friends in the lounge where you can enjoy sports events on HD televisions while enjoying an array of beers on tap, a great glass of wine or a freshly shaken martini. Come on over…try Harper’s and get a taste of our heartfelt hospitality and great food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Sunday Brunch 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 51

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-5255

Website:
http://www.harpersrestaurants.com/

Catering:
Harper's offers a full range of catering services for guests interested in hosting an event in the restaurant or offsite. We create customized menus to meet our guests' needs while also providing a professional sales and service staff to attend to every detail of the event. For more information please contact Courtney Tatum at 704-541-5255 or 704-900-9300 or via email at ctatum@harpers-rest.com

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available in the lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Swyt

Private Party Facilities:
Our stunning private dining room can accommodate parties and special events up to 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Tatum, ctatum@harpers-rest.com: 704-900-9300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Pineville ›

great for lunch (13)
good for groups (9)
fit for foodies (7)
See All
kid-friendly (7)
special occasion (6)
great for brunch (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We are frequent repeat customers to Harp ...

Dined 4 days ago

We are frequent repeat customers to Harpers at Carolina Place which has been better than Harpers at South Park. The wood fired thin crust pizzas are the best in town as are the smoky chicken nachos.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accolades and applause to our server Han ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Accolades and applause to our server Hanna! She was amazing! Hanna was humble, very professional and demonstrated a sincere interest in all of our needs! All dinner selections were superb! Both my husband and I have patronized Harper's for many years when we lived in NC and now revisit our favorite lunch and dinner spot upon our many return visits to the area! Thanks to all employees who continue to make our visits most memorable! Our heartfelt thanks again to Hanna! We will return in the Fall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not up to Harper's Standards

Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been to Harper's many times...both locations. While this one was "good" overall it was the least enjoyable dining experience we have had at your restaurants. I got one of my usuals (brisket) and the other two in the party got pulled pork and rotisserie chicken. The brisket was very fatty and was dry...almost like leftover from lunch or the day before. The other two entrees were "ok" and their comments left it at that. We don't complain so we didn't mention it to the waitress. I'm not sure it would have made any difference to the waitress as she was not engaged in our service or needs...a first for service. Perhaps just a bad day...it happens to all of us.....though that is not suggest the service was 'bad' but rather to say it was 'adequate in that the waitress took the order, got the food out and brought the check. While we won't be in a rush to go to Harper's we will not let this experience diminish the long term dining relationship we have had. But, something WAS dramatically different and since you asked in good faith, I have responded in the same spirit.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

harper's brisket

Dined on May 21, 2016

the brisket was dry was tough, small portion and did not taste like brisket coming from ny we know brisket and it in no way represented brisket in any way shape or form. also did not have any brown gravy to put on the brisket!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for the Family

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and pre-teen daughters to Harper's for Mother's Day lunch. We liked the ambiance and smell of the BBQ as we walked. The inside uses reclaimed old brick and has a nice warm feel. We sat down right away thanks to our reservation. My wife and I split two BBQ dishes. The ribs were excellent, super tender, juicy, very flavorful. Possibly the best ribs I have had in Charlotte (and I eat at all of the BBQ places.) We also had the pulled pork. It was very lean, but juicy and tender. Really good. We loved the mac and cheese, too. The kids devoured their cheeseburger sliders and their rabbit food (celery, carrots, peppers, and ranch dressing.) The kids also loved the kids menu which had lots of fun activities on it. We all loved the dessert. The kids got homemade cookies with their meal and we split a dark chocolate flourless cake. We look forward to going back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the outside dining area for warm weather. Good food not great but as listed on menu. Easy to substitute items. Enjoyed this as well as other meals at this location. They are open late.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Go to choice.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We love coming to the Carolina Place Harper's and food is consistently good. My husband thinks their pizza is the best in town. We both agree they have the best nachos in town. And I had their guacamole burger last week which was delicious. We also like the key lime pie. Service is always good too. Only reason I did not give 5 stars overall is that the water is undrinkable. Our waitress offers to give us diamond springs from the bar, which is considerate.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun night out with friends

Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined out on Sunday evening. The restaurant was active, but not overly so. Our server was very pleasant and professional, not rushing us in any way. The noise level was low, enabling us to converse without raising our voices at all. All in all, an excellent experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice find

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

First time there and I liked the selection of food and pricing. Attractive interior and convenient to the mall for shopping before or after. The food was served in a timely manner and was Hot when delivered. Can't say the food was gourmet, but it was tasty, ample servings and good selection. A good place to eat!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Harpers is the best for certain menu items

Dined on March 25, 2016

wood fired pizza, nachos, smoked pulled barbecue. We have gone there many times and are usually pleased. We do request the pizza be served promptly from the oven and no burned edges

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Reminds me of an Applebee's or that type of chain

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was fine, nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. I got the guacamole burger and it was good. Reasonably priced. Our server was attentive. The feel of the place and the menu remind me of an Applebees, or a TGI Friday's. Something like that. It's fine, and I'd go back if I was in the mall and got hungry or wanted a beer or something, but I wouldn't make a special trip there. Not a date night type of place or special occasion place. Just somewhere to go if you're hungry and close by. One thing I just remembered as I'm typing this, is we ordered wings for an appetizer and the menu just said wings. When we got them they were grilled wings, not fried, and had no sauce on them at all or on the side. Just plain, grilled wings. They actually weren't bad but it wasn't what I was expecting. You'd think it'd describe that somewhere on the menu, or the server would mention it. Maybe it's me but when I get an order of wings, I'm expecting fried wings tossed in buffalo sauce. It's not a huge deal but just something to keep in mind if you plan on ordering wings.

food5
ambience5
service2

Food was Awesome! I had the Angus burger ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was Awesome! I had the Angus burger! Our waiter wasn't very friendly, the ones whom actually brought the food out was wonderful!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very small helping

Dined on February 27, 2016

I got the beef brisket, and was not very impressed. The meat was rather fatty, and a very small portion for 15 dollars. Got amy appetizer the crab dip, it was good, but not the best bang for your buck.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not good

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Waiter came took drink order then took food order ,food came ,never saw waiter again till check came had ask others to refill drinks an had to beg for steak sauce which I never got would not suggest this place to anyone service was terrible

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had brunch on Valentine ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had brunch on Valentine's Day here and it was fantastic. The French toast was amazing and my husband tried the chicken and waffles which were also very good. Each came with cheddar grits that were to die for! Will definitely go back.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always Hit or Miss here

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Harper's overall is not a bad establishment, but I have found their service model to be inconsistent whether at this location, or in Southpark. I get the feeling that Harper's is a J. Alexander's wannabe. The food is consistently pretty good, but on one visit you get good service, and the next visit, your waiter or waitress disappears on you, or seems clueless about what you ordered. Since it would appear that Harper's does a pretty good business, maybe good service is really not a priority to the Management team, and of course most people just seem to be happy to put up with a mediocre experience. So, for mediocre dining, come to Harper's.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The traffic and parking are horrible !!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I hate to say it but as much as we enjoy eating at Harper's this past weekend just turned us off completely. The mall is always crowded. It lacks parking space so to go there just for a restaurant can be a turnoff !! Now they are doing road construction to which it took us over 2 hours to do a normal 1/2 hour drive. There's nothing that makes it worth it to go to Pineville during rush hour or the weekends. I worked in Pineville for almost a year. During rush hour, it took a half hour to drive 4 miles !!! Perhaps if I get a day off during the week, we'll try it again, but it won't be for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Asparagus raw

Dined on January 30, 2016

We ate here during the Charlotte feast event. The service was ok. The waitress wasn't very friendly. The asapargus tips didn't appear to be steamed at all...they were raw. My husband's steak he asked for medium well & it was medium rare. I wasn't impressed at all with the food or the service. I wouldn't recommend Harper's to anyone else at this time.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We were there from 5 to 9. Service was t ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

We were there from 5 to 9. Service was terrible! We waited a good hour on our apps and salads and then at least an hour and a half for our main dish afterwards.

food3
ambience4
service4

Family friendly. Very accommodating with ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Family friendly. Very accommodating with food request (kid food out first). Would return to try additional menu items.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice lunch.

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for a late lunch/early dinner, following a movie. The mall was very busy. We had reservations and were surprised, even given the odd time, that the place was pretty empty. The food was excellent as well as the draft beer selection. Will certainly go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good experience on New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

We took out-of-town friends here and had delicious food and excellent service. There's a little pressure when you choose the restaurant for others and Harper's sure came through for us. We will certainly be back.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Harpers has best pizza and nachos in town

Dined on December 31, 2015

We are frequent customers of Harpers, Carolina Place, which is consistently better than Harpers at South Park. The wood fired thin crust pizza is outstanding. I request no burned edges and served right from the oven. Wait staff are accommodating. The smoked chicken nachos are the best nachos in the city. Incredible flavor and texture and thin crisp chips.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Please don't eat at Harper for the Holidays.......

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

On this Day after Christmas the staff made it clear they din't want to be there and they wanted to get us in and out a quickly as possible . I kind of get it but it was still a holiday celebration for us I would encourage them to find other jobs that don't force them to work on weekends and holidays.

food4
ambience4
service3

food was good as usual.

Dined on November 24, 2015

The grill was not working so my oriental salad had shredded chicken instead of grilled. It was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience5
service5

Great time at Harper's! Food was great a ...

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

Great time at Harper's! Food was great and staff was very friendly! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken supreme entrée was absolutel ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

The chicken supreme entrée was absolutely delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on October 17, 2015

This dinner was for 4 people to celebrate our son's birthday. The hostess greeted us warmly and we were seated immediately. Our server, Matt, was fantastic. He took care of all of our food & drink needs; returned to the table several times for refills and to ensure we were enjoying our meal. We split two appetizers; the hummus and chips & salsa trio. Both were very good and there was practically nothing left of either appetizer. Two of us tried the ribs & BBC combo which was fantastic (with sweet potato fries); another had just the barbecue plate and the other had the chicken. The food was well prepared and very tasty. Each of us enjoyed our meal and overall experience. Matt was terrific and would want him again as our server when we return. Plan to ask for him the next time we return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Harpers offers best versions of unique dishes

Dined on August 22, 2015

We are frequent patrons of Harpers because they excel at certain dishes: thin crust pizza, smoked chicken nachos, pulled pork barbecue. We give very specific instructions because service in inconsistent. We want food served hot and pizza crust not burned, both of which have been a problem occasionally. Last night was good, nachos were excellent, the pizza was warm but not hot from the oven. Family friendly sounds good but the table next to us had two noisy and overly active young children and parents who paid no attention to how disruptive they were to nearby tables. So last night was acceptable but not at all up to the best standards.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant week-worth a repeat!

Dined on July 23, 2015

The restaurant was featuring a special menu for Charlotte Restaurant week. The food was VERY fresh with subtle creative touches. The steak was tender and well-cooked; tomato bisque soup was amazing; shrimp dish was delicious. Our desserts were parties for our taste buds, too! Service was extraordinary, to boot. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice family dinner out

Dined on July 22, 2015

I liked Harper's. We enjoyed the grilled salmon, baked chicken, baby back ribs and the chicken tenders and fries. The pulled pork was kind of dry but overall everyone enjoyed their food. The dinner salad was bigger than the average dinner salad. The desserts were tasty but tiny. However Key lime pie lovers will love their version made with real key lime. The dining area was dimly lit with dark brown decor. The booths had high walls so you could not see across the floor. There was a baby shower party and family groups but we could still hear our own table conversations without any trouble. The waitress was friendly, professional and accommodating. The price was cheaper than expected and a good amount of main dish food for the price. Harpers has something on the menu for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

I went to Harper's for Queen's Feast.

Dined on July 19, 2015

Comfortable seating and muted lighting provided an atmosphere conducive for a great dining experience. The Queen's Feast menu had a generous variety of menu items. I particularly enjoyed the Duo Dip appetizer which consisted of one scoop of pimento cheese dip, one scoop of guacamole and tortilla chips. It was enough for our table of four to enjoy. The Cobb salad was well portioned and included a delicious variety of ingredients. Our entrees were equally appetizing. I had the half chicken with roasted vegetables. It was scrumptious. All of our desserts apple pie, chocolate chip cookie and key lime pie were superior. We all agreed that we will return to Harper's the next time and any time we want a special meal and dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service2

FIrst and Last

Dined on July 18, 2015

First time at Harpers. We started out sitting on the patio. All was well until we began seeing snails on our table. We went to the front to ask to be seated somewhere else, and was told by the hostess, without checking with anyone, that there was nowhere else for us to be seated. We then asked for the manager, who came outside. He told us that he could sit us at a tabletop near the bar and said he would have someone come to move all of our things. At that time, we had an appetizer, salad's and drinks, which had been sitting while we tried to get some assistance. We told him we did not want what was on the table and he said he would start our meal over. We get seated inside and found service to be extremely slow! A beer was initially ordered, which was never delivered once inside, but it was on the bill. A quick "sorry about all this" was said, by the manager, but it didn't appear to be genuine. This was my first and last time visiting Harpers.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and meal

vip
Dined on July 15, 2015

Excellent experience tonight at Harpers. We had the beef brisket and the pork ribs and both were as tender as could be! Our server was incredibly sweet. My only constructive criticism would be that the servers in the kitchen know what is in sauces or the food. I specifically asked if the sauce contained an ingredient I react to, was told it did not, but that was def not the case. My server did offer to replace the meal, but I just traded entrees with hubby and we were fine. Both were still tender and fresh. Certainly will be returning!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great date!

Dined on June 10, 2015

Myself and my friend came here for lunch and it was absolutely delicious. The food came out hot and fresh. My friend had never been to Harper's before, and it was a great experience for him. He wants to go back next week. Also the outside dining was perfect! The ambience was really pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2

Brunch?

Dined on May 10, 2015

We went for Mother's day "brunch". I called ahead and they said it was brunch, well its actually a menu order brunch... so lets just call breakfast. I had the crab cake Benedict and Im pretty sure it was missing the hollandaise sauce. The bacon was terrible, tasted like it was cooked on an old fish pan. It came with fruit.... to be exact... two black berries, one strawberry.... The rest of the group ordered waffles and they were great. The chicken with the waffles were great as well. So its nots not your regular brunch or anything special for Mom's day here. Someone needs to open an epic brunch location in Charlotte..

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service4

Very Nice

Dined on May 1, 2015

Harper's was very nice. We had a good time. The food was good and the services was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

I took my friend out to supper for her birthday. The food was great and the service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!!!!

Dined on February 1, 2015

This is our second time visiting Harper's and we left equally satisfied each time. The six cheese penne pasta is out of this world! We also loved the crab and spinach dip. Would absolutely fine here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Highly recommend

Dined on January 16, 2015

Our table was ready right on time with our reservation. Hostess was excellent. Our server was on top of everything. Food was better than I expected and we were very pleased. Will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.