About Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

There’s a great place in Pineville to enjoy casual dining and the best of American-style cuisine – Harper’s Restaurant. Located in Carolina Place Mall, Harper’s menu is loaded with hickory grilled steaks, fresh seafood, Carolina BBQ, burgers, gourmet pizzas, huge salads and specialty sandwiches. Rendezvous with friends in the lounge where you can enjoy sports events on HD televisions while enjoying an array of beers on tap, a great glass of wine or a freshly shaken martini. Come on over…try Harper’s and get a taste of our heartfelt hospitality and great food!

11059 Carolina Place Parkway
Pineville, NC 28134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Sunday Brunch 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 51

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-5255

Website:
http://www.harpersrestaurants.com/

Catering:
Harper's offers a full range of catering services for guests interested in hosting an event in the restaurant or offsite. We create customized menus to meet our guests' needs while also providing a professional sales and service staff to attend to every detail of the event. For more information please contact Courtney Tatum at 704-541-5255 or 704-900-9300 or via email at ctatum@harpers-rest.com

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available in the lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Swyt

Private Party Facilities:
Our stunning private dining room can accommodate parties and special events up to 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Tatum, ctatum@harpers-rest.com: (704) 900-9300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Wood Oven (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Romantic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Limited food selections. Seems to have become more of a burger place?

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We have celebrated many occasions at Harpers over the years. The food is consistent, the service great, and the pricing reasonable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Frequent customers. Love the wood fired pizza and the nachos. Also had odouls beer thoday frosty mug

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were visiting out of town and chose this restaurant because of availability and nearby shopping. I ordered the ribs. They were awesome! Slaw good too. Different twist on the flavor. Great ambiance. My husband enjoyed his also.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great casual place to eat! Food is always good and the service is great

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Their brunch menu is very limited now, which was disappointing. However, what was even more disappointing was food that wasn't hot, except for the chicken - which they obviously made everything else first, and the chicken took longest to cook. Entire meal should be hot when it's first brought out. My husbands meal was the exact same. Ans we were there as soon as they opened at 11am. I will NOT dine here again for brunch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never disappointed here, either with the food or service. Erin did an outstanding job and the hostesses were quite accommodating and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We are regular customers at Harper's Carolina Place Mall and have menu favorites. This time everything was perfect. Pepperoni pizza with onions and kalamata olives, smoked chicken nachos, pulled pork slider, Odoul's beer.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The hostess was friendly but the place was dark and seemed dingy. The service was slow and the food was subpar especially considering the prices. We got a quesadilla and chipotle chicken nachos. The food was cold and all of the chicken was on the bottom of the nachos. I would not recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We are repeat customers of Harpers at Carolina Place. their wood fired thin crust pizza and smoky chicken nachos are best in the city

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place literally had 10 menu items to choose from..... very dissapointing

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a great time enjoying dinner with my 5 year old daughter before attending our first daddy daughter dance. The food was very good, prepared exactly by order and the beverages were truly exceptional. Looking forward to returning back to Harpers very soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Live Sports, Casual, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dined during Restaurant Week, an excellent value at Harpers. Many choices at a great price were offered to us. Our food is always well prepared and consistent, Harpers always provides good service. It's a convenient destination and we always leave satisfied.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked reservation on New Years eve. Not a lot of patrons in the restaurant. Service was good, but food was not up to expectations and was overpriced. Paid $34 for cool, overcooked filet mignon, 3 cold grilled jumbo shrimp and undercooked asparagus. Hopefully it was just a bad night. We do not plan to back anytime soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Disappointing visit !

The food was ok but the service was terrible. The server lacked any experience.
We ordered an appetizer (artichoke dip), two salads, and two dinners along with drinks. After a while, One salad arrived and we had to remind her that we ordered an appetizer. After a while that arrived and immediately afterwards, the second salad arrived. Within 1 minute (no kidding!) the dinners arrived ! There we were with an appetizer, salads, and our dinners all at the same time !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always love this place

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

we are frequent customers of Harper's Carolina Place and usually satisfied. we are fans of the thin crust pizzas and the nachos. This time we tried the smoky wings as appetizer and were disappointed. They were quite rubbery and chewy although had a nice sauce. I also noticed the Health Department grade was down to 91.something which is not good compared to others.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We are frequent customers of Harpers at Carolina Place which is superior to South Park Harpers. The pizzas are best in town for thin crust. the nachos are also among the best. the noise level of music was irritating and interfering with conversation but the waitstaff was able to get it turned down. The nachos were good but not great today, kind of a mess rather than more carefully layered. it was difficult to get the chip with the chicken, cheese, guac, and jalapeños all together

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

There are a few things Harpers at Carolina Place does better than others. The wood fired pizzas with very thin crispy crusts are outstanding. The smoked chicken nachos are outstanding. The pulled pork is excellent

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ordered the chicken and it was very bland. Ordered the artichoke dip and it was COLD and I had to send back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Hostess was friendly, however, our Waiter, Mark, was not personable at all. Other than the cook, we were the only black party and it appeared that Mark was uncomfortable. He did not give eye contact and he appeared uncomfortable. He gave his spill in a fast manner and there was no rapport. It was definitely routine for him.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

WE went during restaurant week in July , and I was disappointed with my
pecan crusted trout....There was not pecan crust...just a piece of fish.
Calamari was well done...My husband's piece of Salmon was super small.
Our friend had the combo ribs and brisket, and he said is was ok.
and the Pasta dish was just ok.
We might give the restaurant another try.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food, ambiance, everything was amazing ####!!!. I would recommend this resturant to everyone. The wait staff was very attentive and courteous

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Harper's and were pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Ambiance was ideal for our date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Along with 2 other couples we celebrated our shared wedding anniversary. They had not been to Harper's and they were sold on the service and the ambiance. We had a wonderful memorable evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We are frequent repeat customers to Harpers at Carolina Place which has been better than Harpers at South Park. The wood fired thin crust pizzas are the best in town as are the smoky chicken nachos.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Restaurant was completely empty and they still sat us all the way at the back right were the servers came out. Worst table in the place? Food was OK?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Accolades and applause to our server Hanna!
She was amazing! Hanna was humble, very professional and demonstrated a sincere interest in all of our needs! All dinner selections were superb!
Both my husband and I have patronized Harper's for many years when we lived in NC and now revisit our favorite lunch and dinner spot upon our many return visits to the area! Thanks to all employees who continue to make our visits most memorable!
Our heartfelt thanks again to Hanna! We will return in the Fall!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been to Harper's many times...both locations. While this one was "good" overall it was the least enjoyable dining experience we have had at your restaurants. I got one of my usuals (brisket) and the other two in the party got pulled pork and rotisserie chicken. The brisket was very fatty and was dry...almost like leftover from lunch or the day before. The other two entrees were "ok" and their comments left it at that. We don't complain so we didn't mention it to the waitress. I'm not sure it would have made any difference to the waitress as she was not engaged in our service or needs...a first for service. Perhaps just a bad day...it happens to all of us.....though that is not suggest the service was 'bad' but rather to say it was 'adequate in that the waitress took the order, got the food out and brought the check.

While we won't be in a rush to go to Harper's we will not let this experience diminish the long term dining relationship we have had. But, something WAS dramatically different and since you asked in good faith, I have responded in the same spirit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2016

the brisket was dry was tough, small portion and did not taste like brisket coming from ny we know brisket and it in no way represented brisket in any way shape or form. also did not have any brown gravy to put on the brisket!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and pre-teen daughters to Harper's for Mother's Day lunch. We liked the ambiance and smell of the BBQ as we walked. The inside uses reclaimed old brick and has a nice warm feel. We sat down right away thanks to our reservation. My wife and I split two BBQ dishes. The ribs were excellent, super tender, juicy, very flavorful. Possibly the best ribs I have had in Charlotte (and I eat at all of the BBQ places.) We also had the pulled pork. It was very lean, but juicy and tender. Really good. We loved the mac and cheese, too. The kids devoured their cheeseburger sliders and their rabbit food (celery, carrots, peppers, and ranch dressing.) The kids also loved the kids menu which had lots of fun activities on it. We all loved the dessert. The kids got homemade cookies with their meal and we split a dark chocolate flourless cake. We look forward to going back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the outside dining area for warm weather. Good food not great but as listed on menu. Easy to substitute items. Enjoyed this as well as other meals at this location. They are open late.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We love coming to the Carolina Place Harper's and food is consistently good. My husband thinks their pizza is the best in town. We both agree they have the best nachos in town. And I had their guacamole burger last week which was delicious. We also like the key lime pie. Service is always good too. Only reason I did not give 5 stars overall is that the water is undrinkable. Our waitress offers to give us diamond springs from the bar, which is considerate.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined out on Sunday evening. The restaurant was active, but not overly so. Our server was very pleasant and professional, not rushing us in any way. The noise level was low, enabling us to converse without raising our voices at all. All in all, an excellent experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 27, 2016

First time there and I liked the selection of food and pricing. Attractive interior and convenient to the mall for shopping before or after. The food was served in a timely manner and was Hot when delivered. Can't say the food was gourmet, but it was tasty, ample servings and good selection. A good place to eat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2016

wood fired pizza, nachos, smoked pulled barbecue. We have gone there many times and are usually pleased. We do request the pizza be served promptly from the oven and no burned edges

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was fine, nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. I got the guacamole burger and it was good. Reasonably priced. Our server was attentive. The feel of the place and the menu remind me of an Applebees, or a TGI Friday's. Something like that. It's fine, and I'd go back if I was in the mall and got hungry or wanted a beer or something, but I wouldn't make a special trip there. Not a date night type of place or special occasion place. Just somewhere to go if you're hungry and close by. One thing I just remembered as I'm typing this, is we ordered wings for an appetizer and the menu just said wings. When we got them they were grilled wings, not fried, and had no sauce on them at all or on the side. Just plain, grilled wings. They actually weren't bad but it wasn't what I was expecting. You'd think it'd describe that somewhere on the menu, or the server would mention it. Maybe it's me but when I get an order of wings, I'm expecting fried wings tossed in buffalo sauce. It's not a huge deal but just something to keep in mind if you plan on ordering wings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was Awesome! I had the Angus burger! Our waiter wasn't very friendly, the ones whom actually brought the food out was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I got the beef brisket, and was not very impressed. The meat was rather fatty, and a very small portion for 15 dollars. Got amy appetizer the crab dip, it was good, but not the best bang for your buck.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Waiter came took drink order then took food order ,food came ,never saw waiter again till check came had ask others to refill drinks an had to beg for steak sauce which I never got would not suggest this place to anyone service was terrible

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.