HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 1/23
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

3.9
242 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (4)
  • Special Occasion (4)
  • Good for Birthdays (3)
There’s a great place in Pineville to enjoy casual dining and the best of American-style cuisine – Harper’s Restaurant. Located in Carolina Place Mall, Harper’s menu is loaded with hickory grilled steaks, fresh seafood, Carolina BBQ, burgers, gourmet pizzas, huge salads and specialty sandwiches. Rendezvous with friends in the lounge where you can enjoy sports events on HD televisions while enjoying an array of beers on tap, a great glass of wine or a freshly shaken martini. Come on over…try Harper’s and get a taste of our heartfelt hospitality and great food!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Sunday Brunch 10:30am-2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 541-5255
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Swyt
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Harper's offers a full range of catering services for guests interested in hosting an event in the restaurant or offsite. We create customized menus to meet our guests' needs while also providing a professional sales and service staff to attend to every detail of the event. For more information please contact Courtney Tatum at 704-541-5255 or 704-900-9300 or via email at ctatum@harpers-rest.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 51
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self-parking is available in the lot adjacent to the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 242 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9
  based on recent ratings
3.8
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Punwilliams (Charlotte)
2.0
Dined 7 days ago

I will not return. The TX beef brisket was mostly fatty pieces and was tasteless except for the sauce. The waiter and manager both were unaffected as they noticed half a pile of inedible "meat". Texas would not have been proud of what Harpers is calling beef brisket. The food and service here are bland and not worthy of a visit. If you do go, stick to the bar for drinks.

Report
Helpful
vipBill (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on January 4, 2018

There menu is too limited....

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0
Dined on December 23, 2017

Food and service both exceptional! Did not feel rushed! Always enjoyable time at Harpers

Report
Helpful
beth (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined on December 18, 2017

Jim. our server is super! we try to get him every time, he works on weekends. we drive over an hour to eat here. they have a nice party room. good food, willing to make changes for food allergies. good drinks, nice wine, good tea. tables are not crammed together. nice bathrooms. parking can be a challenge. right at Carolina place mall in Pineville, near charlotte, NC. near the book store and rei.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0
Dined on December 16, 2017

My husband and I were taking some friends out for dinner. We went here because the ambience of the restaurant is good. Big mistake! Absolutely the worst service I believe I have ever experienced. The waitress was so rude that we were laughing (to keep from crying) every time she came too the table. One of our party had allergies. The waitress was so put out by the questions of what was OK to eat. It took her several trips to give such poor information, that our friend just ordered a side salad with olive oil and vinegar. We were there before the dinner hour, and were told we could not order off the dinner menu. So, our food options were limited. My food was OK, but one of the sides was very salty. One of our party had a very undercooked burger. No way would we complain to her, because we knew it would be useless. We had asked her if she would ask the kitchen staff a question and she told us they were too busy to be bothered. Most of the tables were empty. When it was time to pay, she did not offer coffee or dessert. After we paid, we stayed talking for over 30 minutes. She never came back to refill water. I would have gone to the manager if we had not been with friends we were “treating” to dinner. Some treat :( We will not go back.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0
Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food

Report
Helpful
lovemypens (Charlotte)
4.0
Dined on November 23, 2017

This was Thanksgiving dinner. Price point: $28 per person.
The reason we chose Harper's is that it was NOT a buffet. We've tried some (Red Rocks, New South Grill) South Charlotte Thanksgiving buffets that were quite unimpressive and buffets are difficult for my husband because of left hand issues. (Where do you set the plate down to fill it?!)
So Harper's was our choice as it was not $100 a plate like Ballantyne Resort! We had been there for dinner before, and it was really good. Not like, "mall food", though it is in Carolina Place mall.
We were happy we chose it. We were surprised that it took over 15 minutes for our food to come (you know everything's in vats back there waiting to be scooped out, and it wasn't packed at 2:00) but once it did, it was tasty. Plentiful, too. Large servings of everything except the delicious jalapeno cornbread, which was a tiny square.
The ham tasted suspiciously like Honey Baked, which is a good thing. The sweet potatoes were whipped and delicious. The green beans were overcooked ("Southern") but seasoned with lots of ham bits. Salad nothing to write home about but adequate; iceburg, cabbage, cucumbers and a few tasty croutons that didn't break my teeth. The house garlic ranch was delish. Not "Hidden Valley" sweet at all. Cheesecake didn't taste house made, but was rich and quite satisfactory.

One complaint, and it's not really a complaint, the prime rib was FATTY. I know, prime rib is fatty. But with only a butter knife to do combat, it was time consuming. Since the menu specifies 2 "entrees", I think I'd get ham and ham next time. Turkey is not my thing...

But on a 1-10 we'd give it a 7.8 or 8. Far above the below average buffets we can afford.

Server and manager were cheerful and friendly. Music not too loud. Large parties sat in their own area behind a partition, which was well thought out.

Thanks, Harper's, for having Thanksgiving dinner and a great attitude about it for us. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
3.0
Dined on November 23, 2017

My family decided to go out for Thanksgiving this year and after checking several different restaurants we chose Harper's. Mainly because they advertised prime rib as an option. For Thanksgiving you had the option of 2 out of 3 entrees and then pick 3 vegetables out of a decent list of options.

We arrived right before our reservation time and were promptly seated.

The waiter began taking our orders and my wife ordered the prime rib and Turkey. I found it kind of odd when he didn't ask her what temperature she wanted her prime rib to be. When it was my turn to order, I also ordered the prime rib with my turkey and I stated that I wanted mine "medium". The waiter told me they were all mixed up but he would do his best to bring it out medium... Ummmm WHAT????

When the food arrived, it was a generous portion and the plates were full. Everything tasted well prepared with the exception of the prime rib. When I think of prime rib I think of a hearty slice of meat, not thinly shaved meet like a roast beef would be. Well, unfortunately that's how the prime rib came out and it was nowhere near medium. Mine was cooked to the point of if you put any more heat to it it would have been cooked to death, as was my wife's. This was very disappointing as that is the part of the meal that I was looking forward to the most.

There was a manager waking around visiting tables and I told myself that when she stopped by our table I was going to mention my disappointment with the meat. Needless to say, she never stopped by our table.

Dessert was our choice of 3 different options. We chose the cheese cake and it was fine. Nothing extraordinary but it wasn't bad.

I learned that I will never just look at a menu and assume that what they say it is is what I think it is. I felt a little mislead.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0
Dined on November 11, 2017

Convenient location as part of Carolina Place Mall. Much more comfortable and quiet than food court.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on October 28, 2017

From the moment we walked it we were treated as very special guests. The seating was very comfortable, the menu was somewhat limited but we all found something and it was served very quickly and was fabulous!! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25