About Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

11059 Carolina Place Parkway
Pineville, NC 28134
View Larger Map

There’s a great place in Pineville to enjoy casual dining and the best of American-style cuisine – Harper’s Restaurant. Located in Carolina Place Mall, Harper’s menu is loaded with hickory grilled steaks, fresh seafood, Carolina BBQ, burgers, gourmet pizzas, huge salads and specialty sandwiches. Rendezvous with friends in the lounge where you can enjoy sports events on HD televisions while enjoying an array of beers on tap, a great glass of wine or a freshly shaken martini. Come on over…try Harper’s and get a taste of our heartfelt hospitality and great food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Sunday Brunch 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 51

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-5255

Website:
http://www.harpersrestaurants.com/

Catering:
Harper's offers a full range of catering services for guests interested in hosting an event in the restaurant or offsite. We create customized menus to meet our guests' needs while also providing a professional sales and service staff to attend to every detail of the event. For more information please contact Courtney Tatum at 704-541-5255 or 704-900-9300 or via email at ctatum@harpers-rest.com

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available in the lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Swyt

Private Party Facilities:
Our stunning private dining room can accommodate parties and special events up to 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Tatum, ctatum@harpers-rest.com: 704-900-9300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
  • Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place
Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place

Harper's Restaurant - Carolina Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Pineville ›

Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we are frequent customers of Harper's Ca ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

we are frequent customers of Harper's Carolina Place and usually satisfied. we are fans of the thin crust pizzas and the nachos. This time we tried the smoky wings as appetizer and were disappointed. They were quite rubbery and chewy although had a nice sauce. I also noticed the Health Department grade was down to 91.something which is not good compared to others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We are frequent customers of Harpers at ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We are frequent customers of Harpers at Carolina Place which is superior to South Park Harpers. The pizzas are best in town for thin crust. the nachos are also among the best. the noise level of music was irritating and interfering with conversation but the waitstaff was able to get it turned down. The nachos were good but not great today, kind of a mess rather than more carefully layered. it was difficult to get the chip with the chicken, cheese, guac, and jalapeños all together

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

There are a few things Harpers at Caroli ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

There are a few things Harpers at Carolina Place does better than others. The wood fired pizzas with very thin crispy crusts are outstanding. The smoked chicken nachos are outstanding. The pulled pork is excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Ordered the chicken and it was very blan ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ordered the chicken and it was very bland. Ordered the artichoke dip and it was COLD and I had to send back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The Hostess was friendly, however, our W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Hostess was friendly, however, our Waiter, Mark, was not personable at all. Other than the cook, we were the only black party and it appeared that Mark was uncomfortable. He did not give eye contact and he appeared uncomfortable. He gave his spill in a fast manner and there was no rapport. It was definitely routine for him.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

WE went during restaurant week in July , ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

WE went during restaurant week in July , and I was disappointed with my

pecan crusted trout....There was not pecan crust...just a piece of fish.

Calamari was well done...My husband's piece of Salmon was super small.

Our friend had the combo ribs and brisket, and he said is was ok.

and the Pasta dish was just ok.

We might give the restaurant another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, ambiance, everything was amazi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food, ambiance, everything was amazing ####!!!. I would recommend this resturant to everyone. The wait staff was very attentive and courteous

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Harper ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Harper's and were pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Ambiance was ideal for our date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Along with 2 other couples we celebrated ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Along with 2 other couples we celebrated our shared wedding anniversary. They had not been to Harper's and they were sold on the service and the ambiance. We had a wonderful memorable evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent repeat customers to Harp ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We are frequent repeat customers to Harpers at Carolina Place which has been better than Harpers at South Park. The wood fired thin crust pizzas are the best in town as are the smoky chicken nachos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Accolades and applause to our server Han ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Accolades and applause to our server Hanna!

She was amazing! Hanna was humble, very professional and demonstrated a sincere interest in all of our needs! All dinner selections were superb!

Both my husband and I have patronized Harper's for many years when we lived in NC and now revisit our favorite lunch and dinner spot upon our many return visits to the area! Thanks to all employees who continue to make our visits most memorable!

Our heartfelt thanks again to Hanna! We will return in the Fall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to Harper's Standards

 
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been to Harper's many times...both locations. While this one was "good" overall it was the least enjoyable dining experience we have had at your restaurants. I got one of my usuals (brisket) and the other two in the party got pulled pork and rotisserie chicken. The brisket was very fatty and was dry...almost like leftover from lunch or the day before. The other two entrees were "ok" and their comments left it at that. We don't complain so we didn't mention it to the waitress. I'm not sure it would have made any difference to the waitress as she was not engaged in our service or needs...a first for service. Perhaps just a bad day...it happens to all of us.....though that is not suggest the service was 'bad' but rather to say it was 'adequate in that the waitress took the order, got the food out and brought the check.

While we won't be in a rush to go to Harper's we will not let this experience diminish the long term dining relationship we have had. But, something WAS dramatically different and since you asked in good faith, I have responded in the same spirit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

harper's brisket

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

the brisket was dry was tough, small portion and did not taste like brisket coming from ny we know brisket and it in no way represented brisket in any way shape or form. also did not have any brown gravy to put on the brisket!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great for the Family

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and pre-teen daughters to Harper's for Mother's Day lunch. We liked the ambiance and smell of the BBQ as we walked. The inside uses reclaimed old brick and has a nice warm feel. We sat down right away thanks to our reservation. My wife and I split two BBQ dishes. The ribs were excellent, super tender, juicy, very flavorful. Possibly the best ribs I have had in Charlotte (and I eat at all of the BBQ places.) We also had the pulled pork. It was very lean, but juicy and tender. Really good. We loved the mac and cheese, too. The kids devoured their cheeseburger sliders and their rabbit food (celery, carrots, peppers, and ranch dressing.) The kids also loved the kids menu which had lots of fun activities on it. We all loved the dessert. The kids got homemade cookies with their meal and we split a dark chocolate flourless cake. We look forward to going back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good Food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed the outside dining area for warm weather. Good food not great but as listed on menu. Easy to substitute items. Enjoyed this as well as other meals at this location. They are open late.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Go to choice.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We love coming to the Carolina Place Harper's and food is consistently good. My husband thinks their pizza is the best in town. We both agree they have the best nachos in town. And I had their guacamole burger last week which was delicious. We also like the key lime pie. Service is always good too. Only reason I did not give 5 stars overall is that the water is undrinkable. Our waitress offers to give us diamond springs from the bar, which is considerate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun night out with friends

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined out on Sunday evening. The restaurant was active, but not overly so. Our server was very pleasant and professional, not rushing us in any way. The noise level was low, enabling us to converse without raising our voices at all. All in all, an excellent experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice find

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

First time there and I liked the selection of food and pricing. Attractive interior and convenient to the mall for shopping before or after. The food was served in a timely manner and was Hot when delivered. Can't say the food was gourmet, but it was tasty, ample servings and good selection. A good place to eat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harpers is the best for certain menu items

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

wood fired pizza, nachos, smoked pulled barbecue. We have gone there many times and are usually pleased. We do request the pizza be served promptly from the oven and no burned edges

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Reminds me of an Applebee's or that type of chain

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was fine, nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. I got the guacamole burger and it was good. Reasonably priced. Our server was attentive. The feel of the place and the menu remind me of an Applebees, or a TGI Friday's. Something like that. It's fine, and I'd go back if I was in the mall and got hungry or wanted a beer or something, but I wouldn't make a special trip there. Not a date night type of place or special occasion place. Just somewhere to go if you're hungry and close by. One thing I just remembered as I'm typing this, is we ordered wings for an appetizer and the menu just said wings. When we got them they were grilled wings, not fried, and had no sauce on them at all or on the side. Just plain, grilled wings. They actually weren't bad but it wasn't what I was expecting. You'd think it'd describe that somewhere on the menu, or the server would mention it. Maybe it's me but when I get an order of wings, I'm expecting fried wings tossed in buffalo sauce. It's not a huge deal but just something to keep in mind if you plan on ordering wings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was Awesome! I had the Angus burger ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was Awesome! I had the Angus burger! Our waiter wasn't very friendly, the ones whom actually brought the food out was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Very small helping

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I got the beef brisket, and was not very impressed. The meat was rather fatty, and a very small portion for 15 dollars. Got amy appetizer the crab dip, it was good, but not the best bang for your buck.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Not good

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Waiter came took drink order then took food order ,food came ,never saw waiter again till check came had ask others to refill drinks an had to beg for steak sauce which I never got would not suggest this place to anyone service was terrible

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

My husband and I had brunch on Valentine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had brunch on Valentine's Day here and it was fantastic. The French toast was amazing and my husband tried the chicken and waffles which were also very good. Each came with cheddar grits that were to die for! Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Hit or Miss here

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Harper's overall is not a bad establishment, but I have found their service model to be inconsistent whether at this location, or in Southpark. I get the feeling that Harper's is a J. Alexander's wannabe. The food is consistently pretty good, but on one visit you get good service, and the next visit, your waiter or waitress disappears on you, or seems clueless about what you ordered. Since it would appear that Harper's does a pretty good business, maybe good service is really not a priority to the Management team, and of course most people just seem to be happy to put up with a mediocre experience. So, for mediocre dining, come to Harper's.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The traffic and parking are horrible !!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I hate to say it but as much as we enjoy eating at Harper's this past weekend just turned us off completely. The mall is always crowded. It lacks parking space so to go there just for a restaurant can be a turnoff !! Now they are doing road construction to which it took us over 2 hours to do a normal 1/2 hour drive. There's nothing that makes it worth it to go to Pineville during rush hour or the weekends. I worked in Pineville for almost a year. During rush hour, it took a half hour to drive 4 miles !!! Perhaps if I get a day off during the week, we'll try it again, but it won't be for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Asparagus raw

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We ate here during the Charlotte feast event. The service was ok. The waitress wasn't very friendly. The asapargus tips didn't appear to be steamed at all...they were raw. My husband's steak he asked for medium well & it was medium rare. I wasn't impressed at all with the food or the service. I wouldn't recommend Harper's to anyone else at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

We were there from 5 to 9. Service was t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We were there from 5 to 9. Service was terrible! We waited a good hour on our apps and salads and then at least an hour and a half for our main dish afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Family friendly. Very accommodating with ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Family friendly. Very accommodating with food request (kid food out first). Would return to try additional menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very nice lunch.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for a late lunch/early dinner, following a movie. The mall was very busy. We had reservations and were surprised, even given the odd time, that the place was pretty empty. The food was excellent as well as the draft beer selection. Will certainly go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good experience on New Years Eve

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We took out-of-town friends here and had delicious food and excellent service. There's a little pressure when you choose the restaurant for others and Harper's sure came through for us. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Harpers has best pizza and nachos in town

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We are frequent customers of Harpers, Carolina Place, which is consistently better than Harpers at South Park. The wood fired thin crust pizza is outstanding. I request no burned edges and served right from the oven. Wait staff are accommodating. The smoked chicken nachos are the best nachos in the city. Incredible flavor and texture and thin crisp chips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Please don't eat at Harper for the Holidays.......

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

On this Day after Christmas the staff made it clear they din't want to be there and they wanted to get us in and out a quickly as possible . I kind of get it but it was still a holiday celebration for us I would encourage them to find other jobs that don't force them to work on weekends and holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

food was good as usual.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

The grill was not working so my oriental salad had shredded chicken instead of grilled. It was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great time at Harper's! Food was great a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Great time at Harper's! Food was great and staff was very friendly!

I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The chicken supreme entrée was absolutel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The chicken supreme entrée was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

This dinner was for 4 people to celebrate our son's birthday. The hostess greeted us warmly and we were seated immediately. Our server, Matt, was fantastic. He took care of all of our food & drink needs; returned to the table several times for refills and to ensure we were enjoying our meal.

We split two appetizers; the hummus and chips & salsa trio. Both were very good and there was practically nothing left of either appetizer.

Two of us tried the ribs & BBC combo which was fantastic (with sweet potato fries); another had just the barbecue plate and the other had the chicken. The food was well prepared and very tasty. Each of us enjoyed our meal and overall experience.

Matt was terrific and would want him again as our server when we return. Plan to ask for him the next time we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Harpers offers best versions of unique dishes

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We are frequent patrons of Harpers because they excel at certain dishes: thin crust pizza, smoked chicken nachos, pulled pork barbecue. We give very specific instructions because service in inconsistent. We want food served hot and pizza crust not burned, both of which have been a problem occasionally. Last night was good, nachos were excellent, the pizza was warm but not hot from the oven.

Family friendly sounds good but the table next to us had two noisy and overly active young children and parents who paid no attention to how disruptive they were to nearby tables.

So last night was acceptable but not at all up to the best standards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Restaurant week-worth a repeat!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

The restaurant was featuring a special menu for Charlotte Restaurant week. The food was VERY fresh with subtle creative touches. The steak was tender and well-cooked; tomato bisque soup was amazing; shrimp dish was delicious. Our desserts were parties for our taste buds, too! Service was extraordinary, to boot. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice family dinner out

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

I liked Harper's. We enjoyed the grilled salmon, baked chicken, baby back ribs and the chicken tenders and fries. The pulled pork was kind of dry but overall everyone enjoyed their food. The dinner salad was bigger than the average dinner salad. The desserts were tasty but tiny. However Key lime pie lovers will love their version made with real key lime.

The dining area was dimly lit with dark brown decor. The booths had high walls so you could not see across the floor. There was a baby shower party and family groups but we could still hear our own table conversations without any trouble. The waitress was friendly, professional and accommodating. The price was cheaper than expected and a good amount of main dish food for the price.

Harpers has something on the menu for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.