About Harpers Landing

481 Cornwall Rd
Oakville, ON L6J 7S8
View Larger Map

Harpers Landing is an upbeat, casual North American bar & grill, serving market-fresh cuisine, made from scratch & borrowing from the myriad of global cuisines. We offer a satisfying & wide-ranging menu augmented by a deep wine list, 36 by the glass, 16 beers on tap & an extensive selection on liquors. Eight large video monitors broadcast sports, mood-enhancing DJs on weekends & a spectacular heated seasonal patio create an ambiance like no other in the Oakville area.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Trafalgar

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 338-0707

Website:
http://harperslanding.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ Friday & Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Ample

Public Transit:
Cornwall Rd; 10 minutewalk to Oakville "Go"

Executive Chef:
Marco D'Angelo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room accommodates 24 seated. Partitions are drawn to separate this space from the main DR.

Private Party Contact:
Miako: 9053380707x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Harpers Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Global, International
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Lunch
Halton
Most Booked
Halton
Best Restaurants in Oakville ›

good for groups (60)
great for outdoor dining (59)
hot spot (49)
See All
great for lunch (39)
vibrant bar scene (36)
neighborhood gem (35)
fit for foodies (29)
great for brunch (24)
special occasion (20)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (14)
notable wine list (11)
romantic (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waiter Jamie was outstanding.

Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter Jamie was outstanding.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was ambivalent, hostess effi ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service was ambivalent, hostess efficient, bartenders lacking in personality and the waitress was friendly. Food mediocre.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3

Love the open-air atmosphere but it is e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Love the open-air atmosphere but it is extremely noisy! The food is very good- our service was quite slow.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went on a date with my husband. We sat ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I went on a date with my husband. We sat next to the fireplace. It was hip & happening! Love the food, our server was outstanding, and the vibe was great! Will come back again. Loved it!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place but it was very LOUD! Wonder ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place but it was very LOUD! Wonder if lunch is as LOUD? When I meet friends for a meal I enjoy talking to them, rather than listening to LOUD canned music . The wait staff was very impressive. Not sure that I needed to be contacted 3 times after making the reservation. ( kinda like how the dentist bugs you)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

way too loud. they did not build this pl ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

way too loud. they did not build this place wl in terms of noisan agent on tpof the regular din of noise they had a loud offkey band. service was incredibly slow

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I had been to Harper's Landing several t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I had been to Harper's Landing several times, and although the noise level tends to be high, I thought it would be a good venue for a group luncheon. Service was exceedingly slow (more than an hour to get our lunch order of salads). One order that included a sandwich was botched by the kitchen, and involved about 20 more minutes of waiting after I asked for the manager. Quality of food was fine. It could be a very good restaurant with a little tweaking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. Quick and attentive ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was fantastic. Quick and attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant, with a wonderful patio ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great restaurant, with a wonderful patio. Food was great. My only complaint with the restaurant is that it is very noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great venue and dining experience , grea ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great venue and dining experience , great layout with outside seating

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my second visit and overall we ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my second visit and overall we enjoyed our evening. We ate on the patio I did find the service rather hasty to start with....our appetizer was out before our drinks were served, but things slowed down after that and we were able to enjoy our evening. Another observation is the size of the tables...tables for 4 are simply not big enough. They are only big enough for 2 people. We struggled to find room for wine glasses, water glasses, a shared appetizer, a salad and plates. It meant constant juggling and moving things around, several dropped forks, and some frustration. Our waiter was rather low key to start with, not very social, but seemed to warm up as time went on. The food was very good though!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was lovely; informative, atte ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our server was lovely; informative, attentive and sweet. Two of us had the steak frite - one medium-well, one medium-rare - both came out perfect. Fries are GREAT!!!. My friend had the fish special, cajun swordfish with veg. She was also very happy with her meal. We sat on the patio and were very well tended to.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was really good but service was kin ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was really good but service was kinda slow. Would've liked the service to be as good as the food but unfortunately a bit disappointing. Drinks from the bar weren't that great either. Just ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great hot spot

Dined on June 2, 2016

Went for dinner with some friends and sat on the patio. The place was hopping, great spot for patio dining. The food was good and the portions were excellent. Good value Service was great, parking is a little tight but we found a spot. Can't wait to go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

This was our third visit and it was very ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

This was our third visit and it was very busy for a Tuesday night. Overall it was a good night, but the service was a bit off on this visit. Not sure if it was the waiter or the kitchen. We were not in a great hurry so we just enjoyed our table by the patio and relaxed. We'll be back.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was very overpriced for what wa ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was very overpriced for what was received.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great atmosphere! Gorgeous decor! Awesome patio! Service was fantastic, he was present enough that we were never looking for him, but definitely didn't disturb our conversation. I ordered the salmon salad. It was delicious, I really liked the toasted chickpeas, but it was way overdressed. I would definitely return, and would even order it again but ask for dressing on the side.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service good/reliable. Good cho ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Food and service good/reliable. Good choice for a yummy meal with friends/family (less of a date night or kids kind of place). Great patio except a bit noisy from the road/plaza.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Funky place with Scandinavian style décor. Creative and healthy menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing, we were very happy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing, we were very happy with the meals. The raptors game was on it was very loud, probably too loud - enjoyable setting super nice bar. Hostess was friendly but even with a reservation we waited a long time for our table to be cleaned and set up, with two tables ready for parties of 8 they weren't cleared quickly enough for a restaurant of that caliber. But all that said food was great, menu was good, our server was good and the bartenders were friendly. High volume the night we were in. Cheers. (From Ottawa and Calgary bar staff)

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Noise Level

Dined on May 15, 2016

We found the noise level to be too high. We were shouting at each other across the table and this was in the dining area (not the bar area). I suggest they need better soundproofing.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommended for creative menu, fun ambiance

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was a new discovery via Open Table and it did not disappoint. The menu was creative without being weird and the service was exceptional. I think we had Samantha on a Sunday. I would visit again and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A fun atmosphere with interesting food options.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is fine, and the place is expensive, but it is a good time with great wait staff. I would go back. The patio/open concept is a pleasure to sit in.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Week Night Dinner "Out"

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good Food, pleasant waiters or waitress. On the patio "took awhile before being served, almost thought we were forgotten". Once we were served things went very smooth. This is a weekly stop for us.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall great spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

Date night there, was great with nice bar area with nice cocktails prior to dinner. Food was great and even though not a huge selection the quality and choices was great. There was a playoff basketball game so probably noisier than usual but there was a great mix of families and younger crowd watching the game and supporting the Raptors. Great energy in the bar and great night overall.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great gem in the area.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been there 3 times now and it's always great service and amazing food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place for business meetings to family outings, to just having a drink with friends. The staff is always great and remembers my drink orders as soon as I walk in.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service was great. We went duri ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service was great. We went during the week and it was packed so make sure and make reservations.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day supper

Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything was great. As first time visitors we were welcomed by the manager and given a free dessert. I would definatly go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch in a family friendly enviro ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great brunch in a family friendly environment. Super kids menu and excellent food for adults. Will definitely return.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Service was slow @ beginning We're given ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was slow @ beginning We're given 2 menus for 4 guests One entree was sent back ( under cooked) Under staffed Meal was discounted Waitress was training a new employee her comment was " don't give her a hard time, it's her first day" we just wanted menus & a glass of wine Discounting the meal & sending the manager over doesn't really make things better The first impression is what counts! Jackson's Landing in Burlington was a much better experience :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch with girlfriends to cele ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went for brunch with girlfriends to celebrate a 10k run. Service was great, mimosas were great, it can get noisy when very full.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server Wally was great. Loved sitti ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server Wally was great. Loved sitting outside in the sun and thank goodness we could or this review would b much different. Noise level inside was insane. We didn't stay for a drink at bar as planned cuz of the noise. Food was v good although the salmon dish needs to come with more variety of legume. Too much bland lentil. Salmon itself was perfect.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service, really enjoyed the meal.

Dined on April 22, 2016

First visit and would certainly go back! Service was perfect. steak and Frits was very good. Didn't have appetizers as most On the menus didn't appeal to me, but if you like seafood I'm sure you would like something from the selection. Sangria was delicious. We didn't try anything fro. The dessert selection this time , but maybe next time. Ambiance was great, a little loud and maybe not the place for a romantic dinner. Two large windowed walls that open onto the two patio's are great on the warmer days. Very open and relax feel. On the night we went it was a little chilly sitting near the open area as the breeze was cool in April.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great menu choices! Simpler fare if that ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great menu choices! Simpler fare if that is your wish, right up to quite upper scale dishes. The whole wall opens to the patio for when the weather permits. Extremely loud /highly energetic, but for me and my brood this was perfect. Service was extremely attentive and this was the case even though the place was packed! We were very pleased with our night out.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Lively and welcoming

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service is always good with enthusiastic and efficient staff with great attitude towards customers. Food depends on your own likes and dislikes with Starters above average and the main menu offering a reasonable variety of options typical for a Sports Bar. The noise level prevents reasonable conversation ( one has to shout most of the time) so if weather permits outside seating is recommended for socializing. Surprisingly they cater well for kids of all ages. I prefer lunchtimes which are a little less hectic and a much lower noise level. The wines are overpriced relative to other similar establishments but the wine list at least offers a good selection. It really buzzes Friday's and Saturday's...ambiance much like the West Coast eatery's.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Usually the food and service are excelle ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Usually the food and service are excellent. I don't think staff were prepared for the warm weather and influx of people wanting to sit on the patio. Hopefully that will improve. The food and service was still good but it definitely could have been faster.

food3
ambience3
service3

Can't always count on the best here. So ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Can't always count on the best here. Sometimes its awesome service and food and other times it seems the staff completely drop the ball on service

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Eats - Good Sized Portions

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our evening out was very enjoyable. We met friends and wanted a chance to catch up. Jason (our server) was excellent as he gave us the right amount of time to talk between drinks, appetizers, main & dessert. The food was excellent and the portions were generous and exceeded our expectations. The only downside was the restaurant was noisy at their but not too bad the further away you were seated.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New to the Area

Dined on April 15, 2016

We have just moved to Canada and were looking for something local, with good food and a good vibe for weekend hanging out. We had a favorite bar in Cleveland, OH that we were regulars at and want to find something in Oakville to replace it. Looks like we may have done just that. Harper's Landing has great food, good service, a lively weekend and evening crowd, and a fantastic patio. All key ingredients to a great local place. Looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.