About Harper House Restaurant

914 S Main St
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
View Larger Map

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main and 10th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: (615) 300-0027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Valentines Menu: Harper House will be offering a Six Course Pre Fixe Chefs Dinner for Two. Please note that this will be the only menu available on Valentines Evening. Dinner is $50 per person plus tax and gratuities. Complimentary Champagne Toast Included. menu details on our home page!

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Historic (14)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love the Harper House!!! The only thi ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the Harper House!!! The only thing remotely negative in my response to the questionnaire.... Was noise level. It is rather noisy in there, but where there are people there is noise. It is easy to over look when the food is that good!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance. ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We plan to visit again soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs were a little overcooked and dr ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ribs were a little overcooked and dry. We were surprised no side sauce was served with the ribs, nor was a steak sauce or horse radish served with the steak.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

First, this was very good. I don't pass ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

First, this was very good. I don't pass out 5's lightly, so my scoring could probably be higher.

We ate there for the first time with friends this week. My wife and I are from Louisville, a foodie town. This was on par with what we find at upscale casual restaurants at home and I thought the prices were inline.

My wife had the chicken piccata. It was pleasantly filling with the right balance of cream and lemon. It was a big hit, including the left overs the next day.

I ordered the shrimp and grits. This was very filling with lots of bacon hunks and mushrooms to round out the flavors. This is more of a cajun preparation , so it may be a bit spicy for those who gravitate to the county ham/red-eye gravy based recipes. I liked it.

The other couple ordered the chicken ( a big hit for them too) and the salmon. The salmon was cooked perfectly. Good manners kept my friend from licking the plate.

The bartender gives a reasonable pour, which increased our enjoyment of the evening.

Hated to learn that they're moving, but if they keep up this good experience, it will be worth the extra drive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance, as usual!!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and ambiance, as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Harper House for a ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been going to Harper House for almost 5 years and NEVER had a bad meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lived In the area in highschool but, n ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I lived In the area in highschool but, not being back for over 6 years I didn't know what was around. I didn't want your avaerage dinner at your franchise restaurants because there noisy and obnoxious when your trying to have a great night with your significant other. Recommended this place and was reserved walking in but I can tell you immediately you felt the romantic atmosphere and the dim lighting really set the mood. The food was amazing and there was a lot to choose from. The Harper house is famous for there Brussels sprouts.......try them! Even if you don't like them , my wife hates them and she fell in love. The wine selection is very diverse. Waitress was amazing and due to my wife being pregnant was very flexible. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family. Truly a great experience and I will be going again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters were amazing and food was delici ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waiters were amazing and food was delicious! We will be back...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the atmosphere, food and servi ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always the atmosphere, food and service were great! Nelson does an outstanding job with this restaurant and its creative menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 4 sisters, sister-in-law, and Mom had ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My 4 sisters, sister-in-law, and Mom had our annual Christmas gift giving and fellowship together ( half come from out of town). This was a perfect evening! Piano playing Christmas songs, our waitress, Sam, was excellent!

Sam was very attentive and made the evening so pleasurable. Food was excellent . Great atmosphere. Love this place. So nice to have reservations for a month, come from out of town ,and have such a perfect experience. Thanks for the excellent customer service. A lost art most anywhere else.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting my sister-in-law and sh ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were visiting my sister-in-law and she highly recommended the restaurant. Upon entering you are greeted in a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our waiter was excellent and very helpful. The food is outstanding. We have lived in the Bay Area of Florida, Denver and Florida and this chef is top-notch. We heard you are leaving that location and what a shame.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint was the guy who sat peopl ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Only complaint was the guy who sat people. I walked in told him I had a reservation along with my last name and he acted as if my reservation was bogus and I had no idea what I was doing. I showed him my phone along with confirmation and he continued to show his level of douchebaggery with his p-coat over a t-shirt and his attitude about my reservation. Also the waitress was pushing her new business on me because Harper house is moving to Cadiz KY

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Great Downtown Restaurant. Delicious Fo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great Downtown Restaurant. Delicious Food ! Had pianist playing the night we dined.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Harper House, and I love the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I love the Harper House, and I love the owners, Nelson and Chris. Food is delicious, and it is so much fun to see friends out on the town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Historic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! We were al ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and great service! We were all very happy.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, , Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never been before but are sure to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had never been before but are sure to go again. The food was delicious with a menu different from what else is available in this area. The service was fantastic-friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service at a very fair pr ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and service at a very fair price. The bartenders are some of the best around.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say about the Harper House? ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What can I say about the Harper House? It consistently has fine food, excellent service, extensive wine list.

One would expect to find a restaurant of this quality in Louisville or Nashville, but quite a surprise in Hopkinsville. Can't wait for their move to Cadiz!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was fantastic. Enjoyed the li ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Atmosphere was fantastic. Enjoyed the live music and silent film. Our food was okay, however when I went to eat my leftover chicken the next day, I discovered the chicken was raw next to the bone. Cornbread they served with dinner was dry.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our special seating request was honored ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our special seating request was honored with no issue. Our server was excellent, with just the right amount of attention. He was very helpful and knew the menu well. The food was delicious as always. Will definitely return again and again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a little gem this place is! Ribs w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What a little gem this place is! Ribs were amazing! Ribeye was perfectly cooked. The ham and bean soup was deliciously spicy. Service could be picked up a touch but everyone was very nice. Really enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As always, we had a lovely dinner at Har ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, we had a lovely dinner at Harper House. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing. It was a good mixture of seeing some people we knew and saying hi but also being able to have a private conversation between the four of us. The drinks were also fun and varied. I literally do not think I have ever had a bad meal at Harper House.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service! A bit on ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food and great service! A bit on the higher end of price and meal selection, but worth every penny!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an amazing nice evening! We love ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always an amazing nice evening! We love the "bar guys", management and hostesses!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, , Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good! Would highly recommend!! W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very good! Would highly recommend!! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and ambiance of Harper ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We love the food and ambiance of Harper House. It's always delicious and a great place to sit and have a great conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really delicious, service frien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was really delicious, service friendly. Loved the smokey pork in the Asian pork buns and the taste and quality of the beef locally sourced was outstanding. Homemade pumpkin ice cream was a big hit and Graham at the bar made some enjoyable recommendations for bourbon sampling.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely evening with friends. Th ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was a lovely evening with friends. The right ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Out of town business associates loved it ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Out of town business associates loved it!

Great Food and Awesome Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience on a Saturday night 10/ ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Super experience on a Saturday night 10/15/16. Try the cheese curds as an appetizer. The pork chop was massive and wonderfully cooked. The cajun pasta was smokey without ruining your tongue. Great date night place with excellent service. I am just sad they are moving from Hoptown to Cadiz.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It has a vintage feel to it. Very classi ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It has a vintage feel to it. Very classic and perfect for date night. Friendly and helpful waitresses. The food was very tasty and plenty. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lydia, as always was the perfect hostes ...

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Lydia, as always was the perfect hostess, and the food was outstanding, the special of the evening was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were passing through town and this re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were passing through town and this restaurant had good reviews. It was a reasonable place to have dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We live in Clarksville and made the driv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We live in Clarksville and made the drive and it was well worth it. This place was recommended to us and we make time to have a date night once a month and chose to try Harper House. We are so glad we did. We will be returning soon as it was such a joy to find a place where we felt relaxed and that had such wonderful food. The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the pianist as well. Thank you again for a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Harper House for our wedding ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We visited Harper House for our wedding anniversary. It was a great visit overall. The only negative was that the baby back ribs were just okay. I would not recommend them, but the RIBEYE was SUPERB!! It is seasoned all the way through and every bite was tender- no steak sauce required. I love the atmosphere. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that was at the bar. Very cool concept. Fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harp ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harper House because of the quality of food and for the ever changing menu that offers some fantastic choices!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down our favorite place in the Cla ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Hands down our favorite place in the Clarksville/Hopkinsville area. It's a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Harper House! Great for date nig ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Harper House! Great for date night with my husband. Food and service are always fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.