About Harper House Restaurant

914 S Main St
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
View Larger Map

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main and 10th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: 6153000027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Worth the Drive (26)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Historic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Live Music (4)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service at a very fair pr ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service at a very fair price. The bartenders are some of the best around.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had never been before but are sure to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We had never been before but are sure to go again. The food was delicious with a menu different from what else is available in this area. The service was fantastic-friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say about the Harper House? ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What can I say about the Harper House? It consistently has fine food, excellent service, extensive wine list.

One would expect to find a restaurant of this quality in Louisville or Nashville, but quite a surprise in Hopkinsville. Can't wait for their move to Cadiz!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was fantastic. Enjoyed the li ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Atmosphere was fantastic. Enjoyed the live music and silent film. Our food was okay, however when I went to eat my leftover chicken the next day, I discovered the chicken was raw next to the bone. Cornbread they served with dinner was dry.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our special seating request was honored ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our special seating request was honored with no issue. Our server was excellent, with just the right amount of attention. He was very helpful and knew the menu well. The food was delicious as always. Will definitely return again and again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a little gem this place is! Ribs w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What a little gem this place is! Ribs were amazing! Ribeye was perfectly cooked. The ham and bean soup was deliciously spicy. Service could be picked up a touch but everyone was very nice. Really enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As always, we had a lovely dinner at Har ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, we had a lovely dinner at Harper House. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing. It was a good mixture of seeing some people we knew and saying hi but also being able to have a private conversation between the four of us. The drinks were also fun and varied. I literally do not think I have ever had a bad meal at Harper House.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service! A bit on ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing food and great service! A bit on the higher end of price and meal selection, but worth every penny!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an amazing nice evening! We love ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always an amazing nice evening! We love the "bar guys", management and hostesses!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good! Would highly recommend!! W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very good! Would highly recommend!! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and ambiance of Harper ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We love the food and ambiance of Harper House. It's always delicious and a great place to sit and have a great conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really delicious, service frien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was really delicious, service friendly. Loved the smokey pork in the Asian pork buns and the taste and quality of the beef locally sourced was outstanding. Homemade pumpkin ice cream was a big hit and Graham at the bar made some enjoyable recommendations for bourbon sampling.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely evening with friends. Th ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was a lovely evening with friends. The right ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Out of town business associates loved it ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Out of town business associates loved it!

Great Food and Awesome Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience on a Saturday night 10/ ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Super experience on a Saturday night 10/15/16. Try the cheese curds as an appetizer. The pork chop was massive and wonderfully cooked. The cajun pasta was smokey without ruining your tongue. Great date night place with excellent service. I am just sad they are moving from Hoptown to Cadiz.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It has a vintage feel to it. Very classi ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It has a vintage feel to it. Very classic and perfect for date night. Friendly and helpful waitresses. The food was very tasty and plenty. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lydia, as always was the perfect hostes ...

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Lydia, as always was the perfect hostess, and the food was outstanding, the special of the evening was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were passing through town and this re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were passing through town and this restaurant had good reviews. It was a reasonable place to have dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We live in Clarksville and made the driv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We live in Clarksville and made the drive and it was well worth it. This place was recommended to us and we make time to have a date night once a month and chose to try Harper House. We are so glad we did. We will be returning soon as it was such a joy to find a place where we felt relaxed and that had such wonderful food. The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the pianist as well. Thank you again for a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Harper House for our wedding ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We visited Harper House for our wedding anniversary. It was a great visit overall. The only negative was that the baby back ribs were just okay. I would not recommend them, but the RIBEYE was SUPERB!! It is seasoned all the way through and every bite was tender- no steak sauce required. I love the atmosphere. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that was at the bar. Very cool concept. Fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harp ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harper House because of the quality of food and for the ever changing menu that offers some fantastic choices!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down our favorite place in the Cla ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Hands down our favorite place in the Clarksville/Hopkinsville area. It's a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Harper House! Great for date nig ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Harper House! Great for date night with my husband. Food and service are always fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was SO goo ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great time. The food was SO good! It is one of my 2 favorite places to go! If it were a little quieter it would be perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had great time for a friend's birthday. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had great time for a friend's birthday. Service and food were great. Will be ad when they move out of town as it is great place dine

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing. My Filet was cooked to perfection. Great for a special date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening...super simple reservation ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great evening...super simple reservations. Wonderful food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Will contin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Will continue to dine here on a regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to be together as a family to en ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to be together as a family to enjoy a special evening together. Harper House never lets us down when we are wanting our night to be above the norm. The food is great and the people are always so welcoming. The best restaurant available in Hopkinsville and on par with much larger cities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Harper House for my son's 20t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Harper House for my son's 20th birthday. We were from out of town and found it on Yelp. We were not disappointed. Wonderful food, excellent service. Would go again the next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. I wish they would remain in this location. The food, service, and atmosphere are delightful. Graham always offers excellent mixology skills. The only item I would like to see return to the menu would be the crab dip from their earlier days.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambian ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambiance, service and quality of food and beverage is all top notch! By far my favorite restaurant around!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always top notch at Harpe ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service is always top notch at Harpers. I would like to commend our server for keeping us supplied with food and drink, and clearing the table, without hovering or constantly interrupting conversation. It was just the right mix of taking care of us without intruding. She did very well.

I could do with just a little less noise (acoustics, movies, et al), though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure, great food variety, a ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a pleasure, great food variety, always call us by name and know our preferences ....... :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous cocktails!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We were blown away by the service as well as the food. Beautiful gem of a restaurant - not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the area that is just ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best restaurant in the area that is just going to get better with its new venue in Cadiz, Ky

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists on American favorites. Great ribs and brussel sprouts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.