Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

About Harper House Restaurant

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

123 DJ Everett Dr.
Cadiz, KY 42211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: (615) 300-0027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (60)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Good for Birthdays (49)
Worth the Drive (45)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Fun (29)
Casual (28)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (24)
Authentic (22)
Live Music (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Great Beer (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

FRIST TIME VISIT.. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING AND FOOD WAS VERY GOOD . PIANO PLAYING IN THE BACK GROUND WAS AWESOME

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The Food was OK. The steak was tough. It is pricy for what you get. The waitress was nice but the food took a long time to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience here was phenomenal! The service by Drew was excellent, our food was very tasty as well as our drinks. The deviled egg appetizer was great, the coconut shrimp special as well as the grits were an awesome dish. The appetizer pork belly was super tasty! Excellent restarsunt to go to for any occasion! The ambience was complete with the addition of the live piano playing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

ORDER MY FILLET MEDIUM---BROUGHT IT OUT BARELY COOK--THEY TOOK THE STEAK AND PUT BACK IN THE BROILER--STILL CAME OUT MEDIUM REAR AGAIN--BLOOD ALL OVER MY PLATE--TOOK ABOUT 10 MINS, REST OF THE TABLE WAS JUST ABOUT DONE EATING--THEY DID COMP MY STEAK, BUT I WOULD HAVE RATHER BEEN BILLED FOR MY STEAK AND THE STEAK COME TO THE TABLE AS I ORDERED IT. I UNDERSTAND THAT THINGS HAPPEN, BUT IT JUST RUINS YOUR NIGHT WHEN ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO A GOOD MEAL, AND YOU GET WHAT YOU GET FROM A CHAIN RESTURANT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow! All I can say is...wow! This restaurant could fit in downtown Nashville or any other big city and would be packed constantly. This is one of the finest dining establishments in Western Kentucky! My wife and I went for the first time for our anniversary and the service was quick, our waiters were prompt and the food was just right. The atmosphere, architecture, and the interior design set the right mood. Not to mention the live piano and silent films make this a truly unique atmosphere. The hardest decision you'll have is trying to decide what to eat, and so far everything on the menu looks amazing.

We started off with the Steakhouse Tempura Rolls for the appetizer and it included two different dips based in teriyaki and siriacha. I highly recommend as the dips complemented the rolls perfectly. Next was the herb focaccia bread with an basil olive oil dip and a chimi churri, which is a house special and was very soothing to the taste palette. My main course was the pork chop on a Texas toast with mashed potatoes and asparagus. I cannot begin to describe how well the flavors and seasonings complimented each other. On the other side of the table, my wife was giving rave reviews for her Thai bowl and gave me some shrimp to sample and it was perfect. We finished everything off with the chocolate cake and it hit all the right spots. Needless to say, we will be back again and would recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Miss the quaint atmosphere of the d Harper House but the food was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I only wish my steak was nice and tender. For a $26 steak it was pretty tough. My wife got the same thing and hers was pretty tough as well. The steak did have pretty good flavor. The service was great, as well as their new building. I'm hoping it will be better the next time.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely had a wonderful meal, loved the ambiance, felt like a high end restaurant without the fuss. Definitely returning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent however I thought it was a bit pricey, the wood interior was stunning!!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our server was generally non attentive. The food nothing special. Over priced. My steak was cooked too much. The ribs and sauce so-so. Probably will not be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Overall good experience, food was hot and delicious, atmosphere was great. Service was a bit slow, waited on our food for an hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food as always! This is one of the best places around! If you are in cadiz or close by you have to stop and give Harper House a try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was great. The atmosphere was nice and the bar area was cool. The furniture was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice and very unique absolutely loved the bar area. Loved the décor and the piano player on the second floor above the bar. Very pricey and portions were kind of small. Very good bread, overall very nice meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was wonderful! The food was amazing and the waiters were so nice and helpful! They all had smiles on their faces :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great Food! Great Service! Great Atmosphere! Loved everything except it took a little long to get our food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I booked a reservation for my husband and our 6 kids for his birthday. This is a pricey restaurant so for the 8 of us to eat would have been near $200 and it's a 45 minute drive one way. We got there and waited 15 minutes passed our reservation and then once seated we waited 1.5 hours for our food. We never got our food so we asked for our tab for appetizer and drinks because we were tired of waiting and had 6 hungry kinds. The manager went to get our check and then came back to tell us the tab was on them. I was appalled that there was even a thought to make us pay the tab after we wasted almost 2 hours in driving and 2 hours waiting for our food. Our kids were crying, my husbands birthday dinner was ruined and we had to eat Taco Bell. Sorry's doesn't undo special occasions that can't be undone. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing meal! New favorite local place to dine. Service was first class.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

i loved this restaurant when it was in Hopkinsville and I love it even more now. Much more room and I like that there is a bar b que option as well (great for taking some home) classy decor and it has a friendly and professional staff with wonderful food. This is a hit.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Loved the food choices. I loved that the menu was creative and not like other places I have been in the area. Great ambiance, great food, great service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great Food Great Music Great Atmosphere, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The atmosphere was nice but the service sucked we were seated at 6:48 at didn't eat until 8:40 my grandkids were getting very impatient , well in all the owner tried to help but no cigar and also the prices on the menu are outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

My wife and I went to Harper House for our 14th anniversary, and it was a home run! We started with the fried pickles and agreed that they are some of the best we have had. For the main course, I had the Mediterranean scallops and she had the pork chop. We were both very impressed! Everything was cooked and seasoned wonderfully and the plating was beautiful. We finished up with the chocolate eruption cake - super rich and definitely big enough for two. The entire meal with a generous tip was about $85. The food was delicious, the server was attentive and helpful, the prices were reasonable, and the atmosphere was sophisticated but fun. We will definitely be back soon and will eagerly recommend it to others!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service and food was five star. Have already made reservations for labor day weekend with daughter, son in law and 4 grandchildren.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was excellent. Drinks were also good. The table we were seated at was far to small. It took over 30 minutes to get seated for a 6:00 reservation. I am hoping the kinks get worked out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was lovely evening. Food delicious. It is an outstanding place to celebrate someone's birthday as we were doing. We are happy this restaurant is located in our home county. Wishing the owners much success.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came to Harper House from Lexington, KY, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Ansley was out serverabd was extraordinary! She made our special date very memorable. We loved our meal. The food was fabulous and the service was the best. I hope the people in this area will visit Harper House and keep it going! This is a true gem for this area!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food. Piano was a little loud but great player.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We are patrons that followed this establishment from down town Hopkinsville. It is, without a doubt, one of the best restaurants in the area. The menu has something for everyone and every price range. They have a bourbon menu that is remarkable. I had the Trout Special and it was superb. My friend had ribs and raved over them. My wife had meatloaf and loved it. I managed to get a bite of the meatloaf and I'm having it when I go back! Highly recommend this place and the BBQ out back. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great environment, excellent service, delicious food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Now that we've been there three times since your opening, we feel like regulars, this will definitely be our "date night" go to. Love the ambiance, food, service, & pianist!!! You all have it going on....Cadiz REALLY needed this!!! Congratulations! !!




.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We love their everchanging flatbread- my favorite is the sliced prime rib with cheese !
Tonight I tried their fried trout special . It had a really good flavor and nice , crisp bite to the crust. My husband had the filet and hashbrown casserole which he raved about.

For the appetizer we had the pork buns. These have pillowy buns with the goodness of smoked pork and a spicy tanginess of the Vietnamese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and service were awesome. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food and the service was very good. The price was reasonable. I look forward to going there again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing. Food was perfect. It was hot inside but it's hot outside too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had a 7:15 reservation but weren't seated until 7:30. Once we got beyond that, it was great. Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very good, meal was delicious. Loved the Mussel appy.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was the first time we tried Harper House. Reservations were a must and we made ours 3 weeks in advanced. The atmosphere was unique and we enjoy the live piano instrumental music. Our server Sam, was friendly and she knew what she was doing in describing the specials and the rest of the menu items. Food was prompt and the we ordered 4 different items: Hamburger, Steak Wrap, Shrimp and Grits, and Ribeye. All items were top notch and the Ribeye may have been the best I had. I would recommend this to anyone that is wanting a special meal to go along with special people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very good restaurant that pays attention to the details. The first two times we ate here was when it was in Hopkinsville, right before they moved to Cadiz. We were sold on it then and even happier to find out it was moving closer to us. We've been three times since it's been in Cadiz and would have been three more could we afford it. Out of our 5-6 visits, everything has been wonderful, from the filet to the thai bowl. The cocktails are wonderful and the craft beer selection includes local and national favorites on tap, cans or bottles.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very Unique and good atmosphere , great service, not rushed, excellent smoked prime rib, reservations needed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.