About Harper House Restaurant

914 S Main St
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
View Larger Map

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main and 10th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: 6153000027

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Western Kentucky
Most Booked
Hopkinsville
Best Restaurants in Hopkinsville ›

Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Romantic (36)
Hot Spot (21)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing. My Filet was cooked to perfection. Great for a special date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening...super simple reservation ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great evening...super simple reservations. Wonderful food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Will contin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Will continue to dine here on a regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to be together as a family to en ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined 5 days ago

We came to be together as a family to enjoy a special evening together. Harper House never lets us down when we are wanting our night to be above the norm. The food is great and the people are always so welcoming. The best restaurant available in Hopkinsville and on par with much larger cities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Harper House for my son's 20t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Harper House for my son's 20th birthday. We were from out of town and found it on Yelp. We were not disappointed. Wonderful food, excellent service. Would go again the next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. I wish they would remain in this location. The food, service, and atmosphere are delightful. Graham always offers excellent mixology skills. The only item I would like to see return to the menu would be the crab dip from their earlier days.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambian ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambiance, service and quality of food and beverage is all top notch! By far my favorite restaurant around!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always top notch at Harpe ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service is always top notch at Harpers. I would like to commend our server for keeping us supplied with food and drink, and clearing the table, without hovering or constantly interrupting conversation. It was just the right mix of taking care of us without intruding. She did very well.

I could do with just a little less noise (acoustics, movies, et al), though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure, great food variety, a ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a pleasure, great food variety, always call us by name and know our preferences ....... :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous cocktails!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We were blown away by the service as well as the food. Beautiful gem of a restaurant - not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the area that is just ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best restaurant in the area that is just going to get better with its new venue in Cadiz, Ky

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists on American favorites. Great ribs and brussel sprouts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there for a wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went there for a wedding anniversary. We had a great time. The food, drinks and service were great! We had a romantic date that we would have otherwise had to go to Nashville to find. It's a little expensive for us to go there regularly, but it's great for a special date night. I wish it were a little more affordable so we could go more often! We go out to eat for date nights weekly, but can't afford this place every week. Still, we love it it for what it is.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In the five years that my husband & I ha ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

In the five years that my husband & I have been coming to this restaurant since moving to Cadiz KY, we have NEVER had one bad meal! The food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the 16th of July for Carol's birt ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was the 16th of July for Carol's birthday. My mother thought the lamb chops were marvelous. The sauce was really special.

The three lamb chops were generous cuts and the bones and left overs made a sumptuous home soup.

The salmon dish was excellent and eaten down to the last smidgen by the honored guest.

The rib-eye was nice but not noteworthy, The three layer chocolate cake desert was sumptuous. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were seated on time for our reservati ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were seated on time for our reservation. An extra family member arrived and the staff was very accommodating. Food was excellent. They seemed to be short on wait staff. Our waiter was polite and personable; however, he was serving too many tables to provide the individual attention necessary for the caliber of restaurant such as the Harper House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our table really enjoyed our dining expe ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our table really enjoyed our dining experience at Harper House. The food was delicious and the service excellent. It made us all want to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food!! You w ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service and great food!! You will love it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for any occas ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a great restaurant for any occasion. Great food; great service; great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! We have been twice and both t ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent! We have been twice and both times our meal was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy our meals when out of town rela ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoy our meals when out of town relatives come to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great menu and selections. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great menu and selections. Enjoyed the table-side prep of the guacamole appetizer as well as the seared Tuna sashimi. There were 3 of us dining and we all enjoyed our meals. Service was a little slower than we would have liked but adequate and server was pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious steaks from Blackhawk beef (lo ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delicious steaks from Blackhawk beef (locally owned) !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love Harper house have yet to be disappo ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love Harper house have yet to be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here multiple times in the ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined here multiple times in the 3.5 years we've been in the area & always loved it. We even have a favorite server, Byron. On this occasion, we took some friends with us. Sadly, it was nothing like what we're accustomed to. It was so hot that we were all sweating, including the babies in our party. The service (server was not Byron) & food were not at all typical. When I contacted Harper House via their Facebook page, the owners offered to send me a gift certificate. I'm more than willing to give it another try based on their responsiveness and our history. I'm impressed with their desire to make it right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Great gem in Hoptown! The food was wonde ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great gem in Hoptown! The food was wonderful - and they have a great selection of beer, wine, and more. My husband and I came for a date night, and we will definitely come again - it reminds of of restaurants we went to in Chicago, but also with unique dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love the variety on the menu! ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely love the variety on the menu! Everything I have ever enjoyed at Harper House has been amazing. ESPECIALLY the maple glazed brussel sprouts. I cannot have a meal without them! Service is always great & I love that the owners are on premises...it shows!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service from the fabulo ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Awesome food and service from the fabulous staff as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last couple visits noise level getting t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Last couple visits noise level getting to point to not being enjoyable could not hear the very excellent piano player !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in small town

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had reservations for 5:45 but got there when restaurant opened. We were told we had to wait awhile so that the waitress wasn't overwhelmed with new seatings. The deviled eggs with candy bacon were to die for. All of our meals were better than good! Will be back when we are in the area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we had a wait before being serv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Although we had a wait before being served we did not mind the wait as the atmosphere was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always looking for local restaurants thi ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Always looking for local restaurants this was mentioned to me by a co workers, I was extremely please with the staff the food the atmosphere it was a great place and I will totally be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. Our server S ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was impeccable. Our server Sam should receive a 10 out of a 5 star rating. The food is amazingly foodgasmic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always love Harper House every visit. ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We always love Harper House every visit. The food is fantastic and Graham is wonderful as is the rest of the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Totally Awesome!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Sam (Samantha) was an excellent server and the food was delicious!An absolutely delightful dining experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion or romantic date

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere were great. The wine is over priced for what it is. They also need to put in a beer tap. Overall great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not impressed at all.

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Seating was instant. Very nice atmosphere. Good service and friendly staff. If I am totally honest, I think the food is way over priced. I got the 12oz ribeye and it had a great taste to it, but was tough as a tire. I left about half on the plate. Not sure if it was a bad cut or what, but for about $27.00 I would defenitly not recommend it to anyone. I did enjoy the hashbrown casserole though. All in all; for my first time there I was not overly impressed where I would make another reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Holy taste buds!!! I can't wait to go back!!!

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We truly enjoyed our food. I had the shrimp & grits. My husband had the rib eye. He said it was the best steak he had ever had. I can't wait to go back and try their salmon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond impressed

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Had family in town and didnt know what to do for dinner. My wife's boss recommended the Harper house, so we gave it a try. Everything from appetisers, to entree, to dessert, and drinks were phenomenal. The hostess and waitress were on point, never letting our glasses drop pass half full. Definitely the best ribeye I've had in the South.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.