Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

About Harper House Restaurant

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

123 DJ Everett Dr.
Cadiz, KY 42211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: (615) 300-0027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Historic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went here the night of being married and it was wonderful!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Possibly the saddest person to see this great restaurant move out of downtown Hopkinsville. The old building had great character but I'm sure the new place will be outstanding also.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We reserved this restaurant for a friend's pre-wedding drinks and appetizer get together. The waiter was fantastic-energetic and attentive, and joked with us throughout our time there. BUT...the hostess left something to be desired. Approximately 35 minutes into our time there, she came to the table to inform us that she had our table booked for another party of 12, and that we would have to clear out before they got there. Mind you, our reservations were for 5:30, and it was about 6:20 when she came to the table to tell us this. The waiter seemed to be as shocked by her behavior as we all were. She honestly has the personality of a wet towel, and had it not been for the waiter, she would most certainly have ruined our entire night. Come to find out, the party either never arrived, or was sat elsewhere (the restaurant was not crowded) because she came to us later on and said, not to worry....we could stay as long as we wanted. Harper House is moving to Cadiz, KY over the next month. My advice to the owners would be to find themselves a new hostess. She certainly cannot be good for business.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed it but could not afford to eat there very often. Prices were too expensive for our budget!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always excellent!! We enjoy the food, the service AND the servers. We have been made to feel like family. I'm looking forward to dining at the new location and inviting friends to try the experience of fine cosmopolitan dining, small town version.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always very good. Looking forward to the new location.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Once again the Harper House did not disappoint. Drew and Brian were great, cocktails were perfect and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Grant, Brian and Drew are amazing. Best service and bartenders north of Nashville. The food is always amazing. It is quickly becoming our go to place for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always amazing experience! Everyone knows us and strives to take care of our needs.... Bar guys are great, hosting was nice! We love Harper House! We had beautifully done prime rib with tasty mac and cheese and the salmon was wonderful. We also had a flatbread for a nice interlude to dining... drinks always made well and reasonable!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our first time to eat here . We had always heard good things about it. So we drive hour and we were pleased with most all the food we ordered and our waitress was very good. After dinner & dessert we were relaxing talking with our friends and one of the staff came and told us they needed table for a reservation that we could move to the empty table right beside us? Thought it seems rude and odd never have had that happen before

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Outstanding food and exceptional service. The bar tenders are the best in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Exceptional service and Delicious food! We are never disappointed by the service or Chef. Best bar north of Nashville.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The BEST restaurant in town! As usual EVERYTHING was fantastic. We left so stuffed and had to take food home. Harper House leftover lunches are the best! lol

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and service. The folks at the bar, we're very helpful and courteous. Always a great place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Server was very attentive and helpful with explanations. Food was excellent and not the usual run-of-the-mill choices. Would highly recommend this place for anyone seeking a hidden gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Historic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Super delicious and always a treat. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. I had the delicious scallop special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our favorite! Food, service, and ambience are always excellent!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a great surprise as I had not heard of Harper House before looking for a place in Hopkinsville. It was about a 40 minute drive and worth it! Very good food, loved the atmosphere. Prices were fair, food was better than goods and service was just OK. In fairness, the server was relatively new to HH.
The bad news is they are moving and will be further away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The waiter was great and the drinks and food were too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The atmosphere is wonderful; the food was delicious and the service was excellent! I would go back again and again if they were not moving to Cadiz next month.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best dinner ever! Can't wait until the next dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went there for our anniversary, staff was very helpful and several took the time to congratulate us on 35years. Food was very tasty and good value, arrived perfectly cooked.
We will be eating here again, even after they move to Cadiz.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had read positive reviews which prompted my wanting to try this restaurant. We drove an hour to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were not disappointed. The Ahi Tuna appetizer and Roasted Oysters were wonderful. We all had different crafted cocktails which we loved. The Trout and Shrimp and Grits entrees were great. Try this restaurant out before they move to Cadiz to enjoy the current ambience. We will be going back after they move.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was excellent, ambiance great. Entrees were good, however sauces were a little too "heavy" and salty. Not a knock but an opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server, Will, provided outstanding service and is a definite plus to the restaurant. Great food, amazing Old Fashion drink, and good atmosphere. I am definitely returning in the near future. A+ restaurant that is a rarity these days, with the big chain restaurants. Do not change a thing other than give Will a bonus!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I absolutely loved eating here. I just wish you weren't moving. The service was great and they knew what was gluten free.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good meal! Pork belly was not as good as we have had before. Sitting was cramped for us. Cornbread was not as tasty tonight . My filet was delicious!! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is our go-to special dinner place. The food is absolutley amazing. You can tell that there is a lot of time put into making the experience and the food memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cocktails were great, appetizers so-so (oyster shucker needs training), entrees amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The VP of our company came in town from Ohio to present an award at dinner. It was a perfect setting. The table chosen for us could not have been more perfect. I mentioned the purpose of our dinner when I made the reservations and couldn't have been more pleased with the seating, waiter, food, drinks and ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food but very long wait to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Minimal waiting, Excellent service & Excellent food. My recommendation is to make a reservation days in advance.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Harper House staff were fabulous! Very attentive and helpful in every way. It's a fun night out, and easy to access. The filet with mashed potatoes was great, brussels sprouts were too sweet for me to enjoy. My husband had the rack of ribs which has a lot of good meat, but was dry on top. We both liked the tempura roll appetizer. Overall a fun time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had dinner at Harper House for Valentine's Day were they had a special 6 course meal. The ambiance downstairs seemed lovely but unfortunately we got seated upstairs where the mood was more conference-like. There was no piano upstairs and the decor was cheap looking. Not worth what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to Harper House for Valentines Day. We had a wonderful experience. The service was wonderful, the food was tasty, and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Felt we were a little crammed in for the crowd of Valentine's Day. Would have liked to been able to talk without someone directly behind me talking loudly to their date!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious fixed menu for Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best restaurant in town! We are always impressed with the unique cuisine - it's amazing and delicious! Service is second-to-none. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We are always made to feel so welcome, great staff! But the food is even better!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Me and my wife use this as our date night location. This was our second time going there and it gets better every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.