Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.02mi
  2. Distance: 3.02mi
  3. Distance: 4.52mi
  4. Distance: 4.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.02mi
  2. Distance: 3.02mi
  3. Distance: 4.52mi
  4. Distance: 4.52mi

About Harper House Restaurant

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

914 S Main St
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main and 10th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: (615) 300-0027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Cozy (29)
Historic (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Authentic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Business Meals (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great Beer (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Live Music (9)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 8 hours ago

Super delicious and always a treat. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. I had the delicious scallop special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great surprise as I had not heard of Harper House before looking for a place in Hopkinsville. It was about a 40 minute drive and worth it! Very good food, loved the atmosphere. Prices were fair, food was better than goods and service was just OK. In fairness, the server was relatively new to HH.
The bad news is they are moving and will be further away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 6 days ago

The waiter was great and the drinks and food were too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The atmosphere is wonderful; the food was delicious and the service was excellent! I would go back again and again if they were not moving to Cadiz next month.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best dinner ever! Can't wait until the next dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went there for our anniversary, staff was very helpful and several took the time to congratulate us on 35years. Food was very tasty and good value, arrived perfectly cooked.
We will be eating here again, even after they move to Cadiz.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had read positive reviews which prompted my wanting to try this restaurant. We drove an hour to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were not disappointed. The Ahi Tuna appetizer and Roasted Oysters were wonderful. We all had different crafted cocktails which we loved. The Trout and Shrimp and Grits entrees were great. Try this restaurant out before they move to Cadiz to enjoy the current ambience. We will be going back after they move.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was excellent, ambiance great. Entrees were good, however sauces were a little too "heavy" and salty. Not a knock but an opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server, Will, provided outstanding service and is a definite plus to the restaurant. Great food, amazing Old Fashion drink, and good atmosphere. I am definitely returning in the near future. A+ restaurant that is a rarity these days, with the big chain restaurants. Do not change a thing other than give Will a bonus!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I absolutely loved eating here. I just wish you weren't moving. The service was great and they knew what was gluten free.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good meal! Pork belly was not as good as we have had before. Sitting was cramped for us. Cornbread was not as tasty tonight . My filet was delicious!! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is our go-to special dinner place. The food is absolutley amazing. You can tell that there is a lot of time put into making the experience and the food memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cocktails were great, appetizers so-so (oyster shucker needs training), entrees amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The VP of our company came in town from Ohio to present an award at dinner. It was a perfect setting. The table chosen for us could not have been more perfect. I mentioned the purpose of our dinner when I made the reservations and couldn't have been more pleased with the seating, waiter, food, drinks and ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food but very long wait to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Minimal waiting, Excellent service & Excellent food. My recommendation is to make a reservation days in advance.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Harper House staff were fabulous! Very attentive and helpful in every way. It's a fun night out, and easy to access. The filet with mashed potatoes was great, brussels sprouts were too sweet for me to enjoy. My husband had the rack of ribs which has a lot of good meat, but was dry on top. We both liked the tempura roll appetizer. Overall a fun time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had dinner at Harper House for Valentine's Day were they had a special 6 course meal. The ambiance downstairs seemed lovely but unfortunately we got seated upstairs where the mood was more conference-like. There was no piano upstairs and the decor was cheap looking. Not worth what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to Harper House for Valentines Day. We had a wonderful experience. The service was wonderful, the food was tasty, and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Felt we were a little crammed in for the crowd of Valentine's Day. Would have liked to been able to talk without someone directly behind me talking loudly to their date!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious fixed menu for Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best restaurant in town! We are always impressed with the unique cuisine - it's amazing and delicious! Service is second-to-none. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We are always made to feel so welcome, great staff! But the food is even better!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Me and my wife use this as our date night location. This was our second time going there and it gets better every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is always great! Service is good too. Worth the drive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere and great service . Awesome restaurant. Recommend to anyone

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant opened at 5pm. We had a 5 pm reservation, arrived a few minutes before and had to wait (approx 10-15 mins) with others that had 5pm reservations. We didn't like the fact that people that arrived after us were seated before us; they had 5 pm reservations as well, one couple had a 515 reservation. The hostesses seemed extremely unprepared to receive guests. Not sure what the issue was but there just seemed to be a disconnect with customer care. This was a pre Valentine date (like most there that night) and if it wasn't for that we probably would've left due to the unwarranted wait.

The waitress was nice and attentive, and the food was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

John had wonderful service and our food was amazing as always. Can't get enough of the sweet pork buns and ahi tun. We will be back soon!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is amazing and the servers are very nice. Going to be sad when you move.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been twice now and have loved it each time. The music isn't too loud and it's very serene. The drinks are great and the food is absolutely amazing! Service is always wonderful and we never have to wait long.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Difficult review. Very good food and physical environment. The proprietors have done a great job with the menu, training their staff and dressing up the building.

However, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone from outside Hopkinsville. The patrons all were clearly from the same economic group of Hopkinsville, and I felt a less than friendly vibe while us "outsiders" were present. But for locals of Hopkinsville, this is a great venue for dinner.

For outsiders of different socio-economic backgrounds, I am sure the restaurant at its new location in Cadiz (not sure when they move) will hold a friendlier vibe. This includes military patrons. The proprietors have a winning menu and restaurant model.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our choices from the menu were the Burger and Ribs. The meat on the ribs literally fell off the bone;hashbrown casserole,coleslaw and porknbeans were superb. Burger was cooked perfectly; and served with skinny fries. Service was excellent. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The best non-chain restaurant in the area! Well worth the drive from Clarksville. Good choice of food and drinks on the menu and the food was excellent!
Hubby and I stumbled upon on accident~not sure why not more people rave about it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The atmosphere was good, a little loud for my taste. Service was excellent! Food was ok, ribeye was tough and bland, appetizers were great just not enough of the brisket. If they had brisket as a meal I would have chosen it over the ribeye. My wife had the fillet and it was not cooked to her liking and her mashed potatoes were not delicious,they tasted sweet to her. Overall it was an ok dinner, but great customer service. I would have rather gone to Longhorns for a better steak dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a wonderful family evening. Started with a Hibiscus martini, a pink moscato, and a KY whiskey. We enjoyed sharing our entrees. We had ribeye, shrimp & grits, and a special of smoked prime rib with red potatoes and chimicurri cauliflower... delicious. Just wished the prime rib was more tender. Definitely not cooked properly, yet flavorful! Tasty side shares of hash brown casserole, bacon green beans, and the most delicious Gouda mac'n cheese. Sam was an exceptional server. She was detail and confident in her menu.
We don't go often enough, but enjoy HH every time we go.
You should go also :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

You must check out Harper House if passing through the Hopkinsville/Cadiz area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great waiter! Good food and drinks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I had the Red Snapper and it was the best fish dinner I have ever had and I have had a lot in the Gulf.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved it! We will be back soon! Can't wait to see the new restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife and I made reservations for 20 January at the Harper House based on a recommendation from a friend. This was our first visit and certainly will not be our last. The menu options were plentiful, the portions were gracious and the taste/flavors were truly amazing. When we received the check, my wife and I were reminded that good eateries still exist that that provide great food with great prices. The folks working the front reception desk were absolutely wonderful and very much in tune with good PR. This was evident by the way they interacted with everyone who walked in . Our table was the two person table near the bar. Our waiter, Andrew (Drew), was very helpful and it showed he really knows and enjoys his job. We love the overall atmosphere of the restaurant but understand the location will soon be changing. We do look forward to eating there again

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.