About Harper House Restaurant

914 S Main St
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
View Larger Map

Opened in Oct, 2009 by proprietors Chris and Nelson Daniels…Harper House is an independent small town dining establishment in Hopkinsville, Kentucky with a big attitude. We know you don’t have to travel to a metropolitan area to experience elevated cuisine. On the contrary … get off the beaten path and come visit us. Our Historic building and charming community is a welcome respite from the fast paced lifestyle. Harper House is a simple and kind place….full of the joyfulness of friends and family gathered around the dinner table making lasting memories. We look forward to having you to our house …. Harper House.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main and 10th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(270) 874-2858

Website:
http://www.harperhouseky.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Thursday and Friday nights

Parking Details:
Private lot with 30 spaces + lots of street parking

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Facility seats 100....mezzanine seats 40

Private Party Contact:
Chris Daniels: 6153000027

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Harper House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Western Kentucky
Most Booked
Hopkinsville
Best Restaurants in Hopkinsville ›

Special Occasion (64)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Romantic (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Groups (34)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Historic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Deviled eggs are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We live in Clarksville and made the driv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We live in Clarksville and made the drive and it was well worth it. This place was recommended to us and we make time to have a date night once a month and chose to try Harper House. We are so glad we did. We will be returning soon as it was such a joy to find a place where we felt relaxed and that had such wonderful food. The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the pianist as well. Thank you again for a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Harper House for our wedding ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We visited Harper House for our wedding anniversary. It was a great visit overall. The only negative was that the baby back ribs were just okay. I would not recommend them, but the RIBEYE was SUPERB!! It is seasoned all the way through and every bite was tender- no steak sauce required. I love the atmosphere. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice place. Loved being in a booth that was at the bar. Very cool concept. Fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harp ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent meal as always! We enjoy Harper House because of the quality of food and for the ever changing menu that offers some fantastic choices!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down our favorite place in the Cla ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Hands down our favorite place in the Clarksville/Hopkinsville area. It's a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Harper House! Great for date nig ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Harper House! Great for date night with my husband. Food and service are always fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was SO goo ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great time. The food was SO good! It is one of my 2 favorite places to go! If it were a little quieter it would be perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had great time for a friend's birthday. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had great time for a friend's birthday. Service and food were great. Will be ad when they move out of town as it is great place dine

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very lovely. Food was absolutely amazing. My Filet was cooked to perfection. Great for a special date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening...super simple reservation ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great evening...super simple reservations. Wonderful food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Will contin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Will continue to dine here on a regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to be together as a family to en ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to be together as a family to enjoy a special evening together. Harper House never lets us down when we are wanting our night to be above the norm. The food is great and the people are always so welcoming. The best restaurant available in Hopkinsville and on par with much larger cities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Harper House for my son's 20t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Harper House for my son's 20th birthday. We were from out of town and found it on Yelp. We were not disappointed. Wonderful food, excellent service. Would go again the next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a fantastic gem in Hopkinsville. I wish they would remain in this location. The food, service, and atmosphere are delightful. Graham always offers excellent mixology skills. The only item I would like to see return to the menu would be the crab dip from their earlier days.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambian ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely love Harper House! The ambiance, service and quality of food and beverage is all top notch! By far my favorite restaurant around!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always top notch at Harpe ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service is always top notch at Harpers. I would like to commend our server for keeping us supplied with food and drink, and clearing the table, without hovering or constantly interrupting conversation. It was just the right mix of taking care of us without intruding. She did very well.

I could do with just a little less noise (acoustics, movies, et al), though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure, great food variety, a ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a pleasure, great food variety, always call us by name and know our preferences ....... :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual! Fabulous cocktails!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was absolutely fantastic. We were blown away by the service as well as the food. Beautiful gem of a restaurant - not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the area that is just ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best restaurant in the area that is just going to get better with its new venue in Cadiz, Ky

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great ambience, enjoyed the new twists on American favorites. Great ribs and brussel sprouts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there for a wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went there for a wedding anniversary. We had a great time. The food, drinks and service were great! We had a romantic date that we would have otherwise had to go to Nashville to find. It's a little expensive for us to go there regularly, but it's great for a special date night. I wish it were a little more affordable so we could go more often! We go out to eat for date nights weekly, but can't afford this place every week. Still, we love it it for what it is.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In the five years that my husband & I ha ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

In the five years that my husband & I have been coming to this restaurant since moving to Cadiz KY, we have NEVER had one bad meal! The food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the 16th of July for Carol's birt ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was the 16th of July for Carol's birthday. My mother thought the lamb chops were marvelous. The sauce was really special.

The three lamb chops were generous cuts and the bones and left overs made a sumptuous home soup.

The salmon dish was excellent and eaten down to the last smidgen by the honored guest.

The rib-eye was nice but not noteworthy, The three layer chocolate cake desert was sumptuous. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were seated on time for our reservati ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were seated on time for our reservation. An extra family member arrived and the staff was very accommodating. Food was excellent. They seemed to be short on wait staff. Our waiter was polite and personable; however, he was serving too many tables to provide the individual attention necessary for the caliber of restaurant such as the Harper House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our table really enjoyed our dining expe ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our table really enjoyed our dining experience at Harper House. The food was delicious and the service excellent. It made us all want to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food!! You w ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service and great food!! You will love it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for any occas ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a great restaurant for any occasion. Great food; great service; great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! We have been twice and both t ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent! We have been twice and both times our meal was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy our meals when out of town rela ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoy our meals when out of town relatives come to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great menu and selections. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great menu and selections. Enjoyed the table-side prep of the guacamole appetizer as well as the seared Tuna sashimi. There were 3 of us dining and we all enjoyed our meals. Service was a little slower than we would have liked but adequate and server was pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious steaks from Blackhawk beef (lo ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delicious steaks from Blackhawk beef (locally owned) !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love Harper house have yet to be disappo ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love Harper house have yet to be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here multiple times in the ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined here multiple times in the 3.5 years we've been in the area & always loved it. We even have a favorite server, Byron. On this occasion, we took some friends with us. Sadly, it was nothing like what we're accustomed to. It was so hot that we were all sweating, including the babies in our party. The service (server was not Byron) & food were not at all typical. When I contacted Harper House via their Facebook page, the owners offered to send me a gift certificate. I'm more than willing to give it another try based on their responsiveness and our history. I'm impressed with their desire to make it right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Great gem in Hoptown! The food was wonde ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great gem in Hoptown! The food was wonderful - and they have a great selection of beer, wine, and more. My husband and I came for a date night, and we will definitely come again - it reminds of of restaurants we went to in Chicago, but also with unique dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love the variety on the menu! ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely love the variety on the menu! Everything I have ever enjoyed at Harper House has been amazing. ESPECIALLY the maple glazed brussel sprouts. I cannot have a meal without them! Service is always great & I love that the owners are on premises...it shows!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service from the fabulo ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Awesome food and service from the fabulous staff as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last couple visits noise level getting t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Last couple visits noise level getting to point to not being enjoyable could not hear the very excellent piano player !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in small town

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had reservations for 5:45 but got there when restaurant opened. We were told we had to wait awhile so that the waitress wasn't overwhelmed with new seatings. The deviled eggs with candy bacon were to die for. All of our meals were better than good! Will be back when we are in the area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.